View Full Version : The 'Who Am I?' Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

02-01-2015, 11:45 AM
Thought I'd start a similar thread to the old 'internet scavenger hunt' thread whereby the winner gets to pose the next question. Like that thread, it's pure fun so please go off memory as google is far too easy to crack the case.

(1st) Who Am I?

I was born in the 1970's.
I only ever played for Footscray FC (Not Western Bulldogs).
I was a fan favourite.
I played between 30 and 100 games.
I kicked between 70 & 120 goals at the dogs.
I was awarded a Rising Star nomination at Footscray.
I was not a one club player.

Who Am I?

02-01-2015, 01:06 PM
The monster, ijlia Grgig.

02-01-2015, 01:17 PM
Ilija Grgic

(2) Who am I?

- I played for 3 clubs
- I played for WB in the 1997 prelim
- I wore a coloured mouthguard
- I was our leading goalkicker twice
- My Father played AFL as well but not for the Bulldogs

02-01-2015, 01:17 PM
Took too long to hit post, beat me to it Twodogs. You need to set the next one though

02-01-2015, 01:56 PM
Ilija Grgic

(2) Who am I?

- I played for 3 clubs
- I played for WB in the 1997 prelim
- I wore a coloured mouthguard
- I was our leading goalkicker twice
- My Father played AFL as well but not for the Bulldogs

Paul Hudson. But TwoDogs has the next.

02-01-2015, 02:20 PM
I played in more premierships for this club than anyone else in our history.

02-01-2015, 03:22 PM
I played in more premierships for this club than anyone else in our history.

I've got Vic Samson and William Harris on 5

02-01-2015, 04:47 PM
I've got Vic Samson and William Harris on 5

Forgot about poor old Ching.

Over to you.

02-01-2015, 05:35 PM
Forgot about poor old Ching.

Over to you.

(4) Who am I?

- Drafted to the club as a Father/Son
- Father retired only 8 years before I was drafted
- Both left footers
- Both successful players but wore numbers above 20
- Both play the same position on the ground

02-01-2015, 07:48 PM
(4) Who am I?

- Drafted to the club as a Father/Son
- Father retired only 8 years before I was drafted
- Both left footers
- Both successful players but wore numbers above 20
- Both play the same position on the ground

Tommy Liberatore.

02-01-2015, 08:21 PM
Tommy Liberatore.

Yes, tag you're it

02-01-2015, 08:43 PM
I am the last player to win a Gardiner Medal playing for Footscray.

02-01-2015, 09:36 PM
I am the last player to win a Gardiner Medal playing for Footscray.

I am also the only player in history to win a Brownlow, Gardiner and Morrish medal.

I am Tony Liberatore.

02-01-2015, 09:55 PM
I am also the only player in history to win a Brownlow, Gardiner and Morrish medal.

I am Tony Liberatore.

Over to you.

02-01-2015, 10:26 PM
I was recruited from Mildura Imperials in 1950.
I played in 130 games for Footscray, including the 1954 premiership.
I retired in 1958, having never kicked a goal.
I was named in the Bulldogs team of the century.

02-01-2015, 10:37 PM
Herb Henderson?

03-01-2015, 12:57 AM
I was recruited from Mildura Imperials in 1950.
I played in 130 games for Footscray, including the 1954 premiership.
I retired in 1958, having never kicked a goal.
I was named in the Bulldogs team of the century.

Herb Henderson.

I am the son of a former player. I played between 30 and 50 games. I played finals and was drafted in the last ten years.

#edit# sorry Gary I didn't see your post mate. Do you want to have a go?

03-01-2015, 04:11 AM
Herb Henderson.

I am the son of a former player. I played between 30 and 50 games. I played finals and was drafted in the last ten years.

This one will be fine

03-01-2015, 08:41 AM
Herb Henderson.

If it's Tim Callan, I'm happy for Gary to take his turn.

03-01-2015, 09:06 AM
If it's Tim Callan, I'm happy for Gary to take his turn.

It's not Tim Callan.

03-01-2015, 10:30 AM
Sorry for jumping in but is it Cam Wight? His old man played for Richmond I think although did Cam play in a final with us? Cam was also drafted about 12 years ago now but can't think of anyone else. It's a good who am I.

03-01-2015, 10:41 AM
Sorry for jumping in but is it Cam Wight? His old man played for Richmond I think although did Cam play in a final with us? Cam was also drafted about 12 years ago now but can't think of anyone else. It's a good who am I.

Cam Wight fits the bill except for the "within 10 year draft''.

His dad Terry Wight did play for us with a total of 3 games in 1981. Terry also played 39 games at Collingwood.

03-01-2015, 10:58 AM
Cam Wight fits the bill except for the "within 10 year draft''.

His dad Terry Wight did play for us with a total of 3 games in 1981. Terry also played 39 games at Collingwood.

Collingwood was it? Yeah thought Cam was drafted around 03. I'm out.

03-01-2015, 11:47 AM
Herb Henderson.

If trades are out and we drafted, it goes back to 2004 at most. That's the RG and Tommy Williams draft. The tense 'played' I take it means no longer playing. We have a window of finals of a few years. So draft year 2010 might be the last... Need more time.

03-01-2015, 04:08 PM
This is tricky. Did the father & son both play exclusively for us? Did they play finals for us and were they drafted by us?

A few guesses:

Andrew McDougall
Barry Hall
Andrejs Everitt

Tim Callan seems a better fit than all of those but he's been ruled out already

03-01-2015, 05:25 PM
Sorry guys my bad. I thought I read Cam's draft date as 04 when it was 02. But anyway it ws Cam Wight. So Bulldog Joe it's all yours.

03-01-2015, 05:59 PM
Sorry guys my bad. I thought I read Cam's draft date as 04 when it was 02. But anyway it ws Cam Wight. So Bulldog Joe it's all yours.

It was actually my get but happy for BJ to take the stage :)

04-01-2015, 10:58 AM
I came from Western Victoria on a 6 game permit but only played 4 times in my initial season. Impressed as a young full forward with 6 goals in the last of the 4 games before returning to my country club.

Returned the following year for an additional 12 games but that was the end of my career in the big league at the age of 22.

04-01-2015, 11:25 AM
Shane Loveless?

04-01-2015, 02:04 PM
Shane Loveless?

No, Pinhead was from the la Trobe Valley.

This is a good one. I will have to find my copy of Unleashed and sit in my thinking chair..

04-01-2015, 03:20 PM
Georgiades?

04-01-2015, 03:25 PM
Georgiades?

He was from WA.

04-01-2015, 07:05 PM
Additional clue is from close to South Australian border.

04-01-2015, 07:24 PM
He was from WA.

That'd be it, I had western in my head. Just too far!! :)

04-01-2015, 07:29 PM
i came from western victoria on a 6 game permit but only played 4 times in my initial season. Impressed as a young full forward with 6 goals in the last of the 4 games before returning to my country club.

Returned the following year for an additional 12 games but that was the end of my career in the big league at the age of 22.

hmmmm??????

04-01-2015, 07:57 PM
Full forward, you would think is a tall. If it was a permit it would be prior to 1990. A country lad. Gone early in his career. Maybe forced out by KT or SB???

I'm on struggle street.

04-01-2015, 08:01 PM
Full forward, you would think is a tall. If it was a permit it would be prior to 1990. A country lad. Gone early in his career. Maybe forced out by KT or SB???

I'm on struggle street.

We need to go back to the 60s. I believe he just went back to the country as many did in those days.

04-01-2015, 08:05 PM
We need to go back to the 60s. I believe he just went back to the country as many did in those days.

I have to pass. Without using Google I'm no shot. Interested to see who it is and who picks him.

04-01-2015, 08:06 PM
Who am I?

I was recruited from Williamstown (VFA)
I kicked 139 goals for Footscray
I retired in the 1994 season
After retiring from the AFL I played in the SANFL with South Adelaide.

04-01-2015, 08:19 PM
Danny DelRe?

04-01-2015, 08:26 PM
Danny DelRe?

You got it 39 Memories spot on.

04-01-2015, 08:28 PM
hmmmm??????

Could it be Rod Coutts. Played 63/64 and was from Kaniva. Played a total of 16 day games for 22 goals total.

04-01-2015, 08:30 PM
Who am I?

I was recruited from Williamstown (VFA)
I kicked 139 goals for Footscray
I retired in the 1994 season
After retiring from the AFL I played in the SANFL with South Adelaide.

Read the rules Eastie, to start a question you need to get the previous question correct. :)

04-01-2015, 08:32 PM
Next one:
Recruited from Traralgon in 1969
Played 177 games for Footscray wearing No. 2
Won a Brownlow
Who am I?

04-01-2015, 08:34 PM
Sorry for posting a new one. Thought I got one right. But it shouldn't have been there. Oops. Mine's easy though.

04-01-2015, 08:45 PM
Could it be Rod Coutts. Played 63/64 and was from Kaniva. Played a total of 16 day games for 22 goals total.

Correct. Didn't think it would be so difficult.

04-01-2015, 08:49 PM
Read the rules Eastie, to start a question you need to get the previous question correct. :)

Sorry BT I should of done that :) :)

04-01-2015, 08:51 PM
Correct. Didn't think it would be so difficult.
As I got this correct too does my 'Who Am I?"' back a page still stand?

04-01-2015, 08:52 PM
As I got this correct too does my 'Who Am I?"' back a page still stand?

If its the one I gave and you answered I'm not sure if it counts. BT will inform us :)

04-01-2015, 08:55 PM
But I got the other one correct too.

04-01-2015, 08:57 PM
This is now the Who Am I?

Next one:
Recruited from Traralgon in 1969
Played 177 games for Footscray wearing No. 2
Won a Brownlow
Who am I?

04-01-2015, 09:14 PM
This is now the Who Am I?

Bernie Quinlan

04-01-2015, 09:16 PM
Bernie Quinlan

04-01-2015, 09:17 PM
No you're right 39memories you got the answer. Your answer is is Bernie Quinlain

04-01-2015, 09:18 PM
Bernie Quinlan

If it's right jeemak you get it as I edited my post then you had it up while I was editing.

04-01-2015, 09:20 PM
Got a question hotdog?

04-01-2015, 09:20 PM
Sorry, Jeemak.

04-01-2015, 09:21 PM
Who am I?

I began my career with the Bulldogs in 1984
My first and surnames are non-common and contain multiple uses a letter from the second half of the alphabet not commonly used
Knee injuries hindered my career

04-01-2015, 09:23 PM
Who am I?

My first and surnames are non-common and contain multiple uses a letter from the second half of the alphabet not commonly used

Zeno Tzatartis

04-01-2015, 09:24 PM
Zeno Tatsaris.

Incorrect! :)

04-01-2015, 09:26 PM
Incorrect! :)

Zeno Tzatzaris :)

04-01-2015, 09:26 PM
Ding ding ding ding.........

Doesn't get enough of a mention in these parts.

04-01-2015, 09:27 PM
Ding ding ding ding.........

Doesn't get enough of a mention in these parts.

So now I can form a question :)

04-01-2015, 09:28 PM
Who am I?

Alan Edwards.

04-01-2015, 09:30 PM
So now I can form a question :)

yes mate

04-01-2015, 09:30 PM
I debuted in 1994?
A first time in the history of AFL at senior level?
I kicked no goals in my AFL career?

04-01-2015, 09:35 PM
Bernie Quinlan

Correct. You were first. Congrats.

Sedat Sir

I debuted in 1994?
A first time in the history of AFL at senior level?
I kicked no goals in my AFL career?

Sedat Sir

04-01-2015, 09:36 PM
Sedat Sir

Yep you got it jeemak :) Over to you.

04-01-2015, 09:36 PM
I'm out for now BTW - someone pose a question on my behalf.

04-01-2015, 09:44 PM
Take it Eastie!

04-01-2015, 10:00 PM
Ok here goes on behalf of jeemak

I debuted in the late 90s and played mainly in the late 90s retiring in 2001
I am a keen Cricketer and captained Royal Park Brunswick in the Victorian Turf Cricket Association until our relegation in 2012?
I kicked 8 goals in my entire Western Bulldogs career?

04-01-2015, 10:48 PM

I am a keen Cricketer and captained Royal Park Brunswick in the Victorian Turf Cricket Association until our relegation in 2012?

Adam Contessa.

04-01-2015, 10:59 PM

Eastdog you must have (not 'of') been a nightmare for your English teacher, unless you had a young teacher, which would explain your expression, punctuation and grammar, or lack of it.

04-01-2015, 11:08 PM
Adam Contessa.

That's correct Twodogs.

04-01-2015, 11:10 PM
Eastdog you must have (not 'of') been a nightmare for your English teacher, unless you had a young teacher, which would explain your expression, punctuation and grammar, or lack of it.

English at VCE certainly wasn't a strong subject for me. Some people have got it and some don't with English but I got through it in the end.

05-01-2015, 12:10 AM

Well, way to be an ageist and a grammar (insert sympathetic but just as cutting word for Nazi) all at once! :)

05-01-2015, 12:12 AM
English at VCE certainly wasn't a strong subject for me. Some people have got it and some don't with English but I got through it in the end.

It's something you can always improve upon my man. That's the beautiful thing about language and its use, there's never a point where it's too late to start improving.

05-01-2015, 12:40 AM
Well, way to be an ageist and a grammar (insert sympathetic but just as cutting word for Nazi) all at once! :)

I'll put my hand up for that. Thanks for supporting Eastie. I've had a private word with him a while ago. However I think his English, especially as a student, is of a level that needs address. Otherwise it will have an effect on his professional life. A tutor would be money well spent. I would be happy to privately edit his posts if Eastie, you are open to it. I am not a grammar Nazi in that no one else on WOOF has suffered my grammar teaching in years on WOOF and I comment on Eastie only because I think he would greatly benefit from improving his grammar, as a student and soon to be professional. Also because of his importance to WOOF.

05-01-2015, 12:48 AM
I'll put my hand up for that. Thanks for supporting Eastie. I've had a private word with him a while ago. However I think his English, especially as a student, is of a level that needs address. Otherwise it will have an effect on his professional life. A tutor would be money well spent. I would be happy to privately edit his posts if Eastie, you are open to it. I am not a grammar Nazi in that no one else on WOOF has suffered my grammar teaching in years on WOOF and I comment on Eastie only because I think he would greatly benefit from improving his grammar, as a student and soon to be professional. Also because of his importance to WOOF.

I would definitely be open to that BIDS. It would be a great help and as you say when I do soon become a professional it's very important to make sure it's right.

05-01-2015, 12:58 AM
I respect you Eastie for that and your openness to it will make it easy. Just caring about it is the most important thing.

05-01-2015, 01:08 AM
I respect you Eastie for that and your openness to it will make it easy. Just caring about it is the most important thing.

For sure it's an important skill to get better as I think a lot out there struggle with it.

05-01-2015, 01:20 AM
For sure it's an important skill to get better as I think a lot out there struggle with it.

If I can offer some advice too.

Would sound better as

It certainly is an important skill. I will get better at it. I don't want to be like a lot of others and struggle with it

Make full use of full stops. Use a lot of short sentences rather than a long one.

05-01-2015, 01:29 AM
If I can offer some advice too.

Would sound better as

It certainly is an important skill. I will get better at it. I don't want to be like a lot of others and struggle with it

Make full use of full stops. Use a lot of short sentences rather than a long one.

Yes that is better.

05-01-2015, 02:33 AM
Anyway who's turn is it?

05-01-2015, 02:37 AM
Who am
I am the last Footscray (he was never a western bulldog) player to have also played first class cricket?

This might take a while. If you know it straight off could you hold off in until the morning.

05-01-2015, 02:43 AM
Of you know simply post the Number one. That's all one. Anything else will be penalised.

05-01-2015, 03:15 AM
Anyway who's turn is it?

Yep it is your turn now TD.

05-01-2015, 03:55 AM
Yep it is your turn now TD.

Thanks Easty.

05-01-2015, 04:01 AM
Who am
I am the last Footscray (he was never a western bulldog) player to have also played first class cricket?

This might take a while. If you know it straight off could you hold off in until the morning.

Robert Rose?

05-01-2015, 10:31 AM
Cullen?

05-01-2015, 10:53 AM
Robert Rose?

Nope.

05-01-2015, 10:53 AM
Cullen?

Mark Cullen? No.

05-01-2015, 11:46 AM
Nope.

Les Stillman?

05-01-2015, 01:22 PM
Les Stillman?

No.

Does anyone want a clue?

05-01-2015, 01:43 PM
No.

Does anyone want a clue?

Harry Frei is the only other one I could find who is recent, but Bob Rose played more recently.

05-01-2015, 02:36 PM
Harry Frei is the only other one I could find who is recent, but Bob Rose played more recently.

I think you win

05-01-2015, 02:50 PM

Ding ding.

Actually Gary got Robert Rose earlier. I went back and checked and Rose played with us last in round 10 1973 and Harry Frei last played with us in round 6 1973 so it was pretty close. I thought Frei had played with us in 1974 because I thought hed played with a guy I knew.

05-01-2015, 03:05 PM
I was drafted from the country, I made a big impact very early in my career, but despite several impressive performances, my career was a short one.

05-01-2015, 03:08 PM

Interesting conundrum. Rose was more recent as a Footscray player, but Frei has the more recent cricket career.

05-01-2015, 03:49 PM
Ding ding.

Actually Gary got Robert Rose earlier. I went back and checked and Rose played with us last in round 10 1973 and Harry Frei last played with us in round 6 1973 so it was pretty close. I thought Frei had played with us in 1974 because I thought hed played with a guy I knew.

I don't remember much about those hippy days.

05-01-2015, 04:45 PM
I was drafted from the country, I made a big impact very early in my career, but despite several impressive performances, my career was a short one.

Chris Grant

05-01-2015, 04:49 PM
Chris Grant

No... My career was a very short one... How long did you want the man to play for? ;)

05-01-2015, 04:58 PM
No... My career was a very short one... How long did you want the man to play for? ;)

400 to 450, easily. It's not like he was run over by a golf buggy or anything. :)

05-01-2015, 05:06 PM

Chris Grant

How about Jamie Grant then? :) Just kidding, i'll try Shane Loveless?

05-01-2015, 05:11 PM
How about Jamie Grant then? :) Just kidding, i'll try Shane Loveless?

Nope. Jamie Grant never made a big impact at any level :)

05-01-2015, 05:15 PM

Can we have a decade to work between? If he was drafted, that's around 1990 to now. I can think of a lot of players that didn't make the grade that came from back of yonda.

05-01-2015, 05:16 PM

Mark West?

05-01-2015, 05:31 PM
Mark West?

No.

Can we have a decade to work between? If he was drafted, that's around 1990 to now. I can think of a lot of players that didn't make the grade that came from back of yonda.

He was drafted so 1990 onwards. He was a key position player.

05-01-2015, 05:41 PM
Luke Penny?

05-01-2015, 05:42 PM
Luke Penny?

No.

He played less than 50 games in his career.

05-01-2015, 06:22 PM
No.

He played less than 50 games in his career.

Ben Sexton!

05-01-2015, 07:15 PM
Ben Sexton!

Correct.

05-01-2015, 09:41 PM
Give us an easy one.

05-01-2015, 09:47 PM
Correct.

I was going to go with Alan Jennings. From memory he kicked 5 in each of his first 2 games in 1982 but only ended up playing 9 games and was back playing country footy the year after.

06-01-2015, 02:57 AM
So it's MRM's turn for a question then.

06-01-2015, 03:07 AM
So it's MRM's turn for a question then.

Yep MRM fire away :)

06-01-2015, 11:20 AM
I was recruited locally.

I won the leading goal kicker award, and another award outside the seniors for Footscray.

My career also never progressed to any great length, just like my height.

As the clincher, i coached MRM to a memorable U12A grand final win in the early 90's

I am.....

06-01-2015, 12:32 PM
I was recruited locally.

I won the leading goal kicker award, and another award outside the seniors for Footscray.

My career also never progressed to any great length, just like my height.

As the clincher, i coached MRM to a memorable U12A grand final win in the early 90's

I am.....

I am Mark Cullen?

06-01-2015, 12:37 PM
Not Mark Cullen. I always get these two mixed up.

06-01-2015, 12:38 PM
I am Mark Cullen?

Not Mark Cullen mate

06-01-2015, 12:56 PM
Jason Watts?

06-01-2015, 12:57 PM
Jason Watts?

Not JW

06-01-2015, 12:58 PM
Not JW

Kevin Jackman?

06-01-2015, 12:59 PM
Kevin Jackman?

Stache with the win. WD.

06-01-2015, 01:06 PM
My father also played for the club. I was initially a battling tagger, but eventually played my best football as a midfield accumulator.

06-01-2015, 01:19 PM
My father also played for the club. I was initially a battling tagger, but eventually played my best football as a midfield accumulator.

Darren Baxter

06-01-2015, 01:21 PM

Mitch Wallis (circa 2016+)

06-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Darren Baxter

Well hotdog, we have a wiener!

http://deadhomersociety.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/dj3000_thumb.png?w=512&h=384

06-01-2015, 01:38 PM
Hot dawg!

06-01-2015, 01:38 PM
Cold pie!

06-01-2015, 01:58 PM
Something of a cult figure, my career at the Dogs was split between two separate stints.

06-01-2015, 02:18 PM
Something of a cult figure, my career at the Dogs was split between two separate stints.

any more clues such as decade?

06-01-2015, 02:43 PM

Bones McGhie.

06-01-2015, 02:51 PM

Monty

06-01-2015, 03:09 PM
Wheeler

06-01-2015, 03:27 PM
any more clues such as decade?

1990s

Bones McGhie.

Nope

Monty

Nope

Wheeler

Nope

06-01-2015, 03:31 PM
Tony 'Gloves' Campbell!

We traded the current coach for a pick to get him back.

06-01-2015, 03:44 PM
Tony 'Gloves' Campbell!

We traded the current coach for a pick to get him back.

Correct. Great bit of trivia re the Beveridge trade.

06-01-2015, 03:55 PM
Feel free to jump in with a Q

06-01-2015, 04:01 PM
Feel free to jump in with a Q

Can I take it MRM?

06-01-2015, 04:04 PM
Can I take it MRM?

I'm not MRM - but go for it

06-01-2015, 04:09 PM
Questions are getting better. Keep up the good work and research guys.

06-01-2015, 04:13 PM
Who am I?

I debuted for the Dogs in 2002.
I have only played with the Dogs and no one else in the AFL.
I kicked 7 goals in my career with the Dogs.

06-01-2015, 04:14 PM
Who am I?

I debuted for the Dogs in 2002.
I have only played with the Dogs and no one else.
I kicked 7 goals in my career with the Dogs.

Kieran McGuinness

06-01-2015, 04:17 PM
Kieran McGuinness

Correct Greystache.

06-01-2015, 04:33 PM
Who am I?

A local Western Suburbs boy who had a largely forgettable career but who is best remembered for his finals performances. Ended up playing at 2 clubs.

06-01-2015, 04:38 PM
Shane Ellen?

06-01-2015, 04:56 PM
Shane Ellen?

Bang.

Not cryptic enough..

06-01-2015, 04:57 PM
Justin Charles?

06-01-2015, 04:58 PM
Over to you BAD.

06-01-2015, 05:07 PM
I played for six seasons with Footscary and only managed less than 30 games, however, I did manage to play finals footy. I was let go and went on to play with two other clubs, but still didn't pass 30 games.

06-01-2015, 05:22 PM
Good one BAD.

06-01-2015, 05:33 PM
I played for six seasons with Footscary and only managed less than 30 games, however, I did manage to play finals footy. I was let go and went on to play with two other clubs, but still didn't pass 30 games.

Anthony Darcy - although I think he came to us from somewhere else?

06-01-2015, 05:34 PM
I know this one, but I'll hold off for a while.

06-01-2015, 05:35 PM

Not him

06-01-2015, 05:37 PM

Fits most of it, but he wasn't with the Dogs for six years. I thought he was taller.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Darcy

06-01-2015, 05:40 PM
Fits most of it, but he wasn't with the Dogs for six years. I thought he was taller.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Darcy

This is a skinny running player if it's who I'm thinking of.

06-01-2015, 05:40 PM
I know this one, but I'll hold off for a while.

Just found it. C'mon Topdog, one of these might be Mark Cullen.

06-01-2015, 05:42 PM
This is a skinny running player if it's who I'm thinking of.

182cm and 80kg

06-01-2015, 05:42 PM
Just found it. C'mon Topdog, one of these might be Mark Cullen.

Not Mark

06-01-2015, 05:43 PM
Not Mark

I know that, but Twodogs wants it to be ;-)

S.C

06-01-2015, 08:11 PM
Just got it...I think.

Corcoran?

06-01-2015, 11:17 PM
Just got it...I think.

Corcoran?

Spot on - your turn

07-01-2015, 09:07 AM
I was undersized for the position I played. I had a brother with more talent however I eked out a better career than him. Who am I?

07-01-2015, 09:37 AM
Dimma? Brian Cordy?

07-01-2015, 10:06 AM
Dimma? Brian Cordy?

Which one :D

07-01-2015, 10:18 AM
Which one :D

Neither I reckon.

07-01-2015, 10:22 AM
The clue is in undersized for position I played.

Dimma played wing/Midfield so he was ok and Brian Cordy played HBF, so size wise he was ok. Must be another player?

07-01-2015, 10:31 AM
Neither I reckon.

Correct.

The clue is in undersized for position I played.

That's the clue. Yes it's another player.

07-01-2015, 10:41 AM
So both brothers played for FB/WB's?

07-01-2015, 10:50 AM
I was undersized for the position I played. I had a brother with more talent however I eked out a better career than him. Who am I?
Ben Sexton?

07-01-2015, 10:51 AM
Ben Sexton?

Surely not

07-01-2015, 11:00 AM

Struggling with this.

I can come up with Neil Cordy but didn't see him as undersized. Would be subjective to consider him less talented than Brian.

Super MacPherson, but don't see him as undersized or his brother as more talented.

We have had quite a few of the less talented brothers but can't think of any who eked out successful careers.

I think the answer may be Michael Ford.

07-01-2015, 11:08 AM
Apologies, my Cousin had more talent than I did but I ecked out a more successful career. I always thought they were brothers but they weren't they were cousins. Both payed for the Bulldogs. Many apologies all that should make it a bit easier :o

07-01-2015, 11:10 AM
Struggling with this.

I can come up with Neil Cordy but didn't see him as undersized. Would be subjective to consider him less talented than Brian.

Super MacPherson, but don't see him as undersized or his brother as more talented.

We have had quite a few of the less talented brothers but can't think of any who eked out successful careers.

I think the answer may be Michael Ford.

That's who I was thinking of BJ. Alistair was his cousin not his brother. My bad.

07-01-2015, 11:22 AM
Sorry to jump in Bulldog Joe, but here goes:

During my career I was at numerous clubs, however I only played senior football for two of them. I would not be considered a legend/star at any of the clubs.

I did not come to the Bulldogs via the national draft.

As an indigenous player, I possessed a reasonable goal-sense and my healthy average return of goals/games played reflected this.

I am...

07-01-2015, 11:27 AM
Alan Thorpe?

07-01-2015, 11:29 AM
Alan Thorpe?

Jesus christ, thought it'd last a bit longer.

07-01-2015, 11:33 AM
Jesus christ, thought it'd last a bit longer.

I was always a bit of a fan. I thought if he was given an extended run he could've been something.

07-01-2015, 11:37 AM
Who am I?

A key position player, I was very much a journey man, and despite a very impressive goal kicking record, I regularly found myself playing reserves over my career.

07-01-2015, 11:39 AM
Who am I?

A key position player, I was very much a journey man, and despite a very impressive goal kicking record, I regularly found myself playing reserves over my career.

Ballantyne?

07-01-2015, 11:41 AM
Ballantyne?

No...

07-01-2015, 11:47 AM
Who am I?

James Cook

07-01-2015, 11:48 AM
James Cook

No...

07-01-2015, 11:48 AM
Adrian Campbell

07-01-2015, 11:51 AM
Minton-Connell

07-01-2015, 11:51 AM
Adrian Campbell

No...

07-01-2015, 11:52 AM
Minton-Connell

Ding ding ding... It was The Loaf!

305 goals from only 112 games, but it took him 12 years to play 112 games across 4 clubs!

07-01-2015, 11:54 AM
Minton-Connell?

Bugger.

07-01-2015, 11:57 AM
Someone feel free to jump in. I'm at work and can't think of one at the moment.

07-01-2015, 12:03 PM
Sorry to jump in Bulldog Joe, but here goes:

During my career I was at numerous clubs, however I only played senior football for two of them. I would not be considered a legend/star at any of the clubs.

I did not come to the Bulldogs via the national draft.

As an indigenous player, I possessed a reasonable goal-sense and my healthy average return of goals/games played reflected this.

I am...

No worries. I would have needed to ask someone to follow through for me.

07-01-2015, 12:07 PM
I will jump in Aza, but will be offline for a couple of hours but will try check in along the way.

I am another mediocre performer having only played a few games at two clubs. Originally drafted by West Coast I ended up at Footscray. I was very good at the State comps and in fact after leaving Footscray I played in a premiership.

07-01-2015, 12:07 PM
Robbie West?

07-01-2015, 12:08 PM
I debuted in the WAFL at the age of 16 and was a Premiership player, represented W.A in State of Origin and won All Australian selection at the age of 23. I move to Victoria and player four seasons with another club and became a cult figure there. I joined the Bulldogs for one season and played in three finals. After leaving the Bulldogs I returned to W.A and became a long-standing board member with an AFL club.

Take yours, mine can be used later.

07-01-2015, 12:13 PM
Take yours, mine can be used later.

I think I got yours. I remember hearing about West after his assault and found out he came from WCE. Is my answer right?

07-01-2015, 01:39 PM
I think I got yours. I remember hearing about West after his assault and found out he came from WCE. Is my answer right?

Too easy - Robbie West

07-01-2015, 02:53 PM
Ok here's mine.

I debuted in the WAFL at the age of 16 and was a Premiership player, represented W.A in State of Origin and won All Australian selection at the age of 23. I move to Victoria and player four seasons with another club and became a cult figure there. I joined the Bulldogs for one season and played in three finals. After leaving the Bulldogs I returned to W.A and became a long-standing board member with an AFL club.

07-01-2015, 02:59 PM
Brad Hardie

Nope - Misread the question.

07-01-2015, 03:29 PM
Ok here's mine.

Tony Buhagiar

07-01-2015, 03:34 PM
yes it's Budgie.

07-01-2015, 03:55 PM
Which AFL club is/was Budgie a board member at?

07-01-2015, 03:56 PM
Take it away Azabob.

07-01-2015, 04:09 PM

Fremantle.

07-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Take it away Azabob.

Can you or Eastie step in? About to jump into another meeting

07-01-2015, 04:24 PM

He was at Freo for many years. When asked what his greatest regret in football was he replied that he retired prior to the inception of the Eagles in 1987. Bad timing for him. It's hard to believe that the Eagles have been in the competition that long.

07-01-2015, 04:39 PM
Can you or Eastie step in? About to jump into another meeting

Sure thing azabob.

07-01-2015, 04:44 PM
On behalf of azabob.

Who am I?

I played in the early 80s.
I only played a single digit number of games with the Dogs.
I finished up with the Dogs in the same year.

07-01-2015, 04:52 PM
Good question there would have been a few. I'm no chance without Google so I'm out.

07-01-2015, 05:00 PM
Good question there would have been a few. I'm no chance without Google so I'm out.

Yes that could be 20 to 50 players. 10 years is a long time (80's)

07-01-2015, 05:01 PM
So he played a handful of games in the early '80s? But all in one year?

Terry Love.

07-01-2015, 05:01 PM
I give a clue between 1980-1985.

07-01-2015, 05:02 PM
So he played a handful of games in the early '80s? But all in one year?

Terry Love.

Incorrect.

Yes that could be 20 to 50 players. 10 years is a long time (80's)

Early '80s. I'm assuming 80-83.

Glenn Sampson.

07-01-2015, 05:03 PM
Brian Wilson.

07-01-2015, 05:04 PM
Nope.

07-01-2015, 05:06 PM
H played just one game?

07-01-2015, 05:09 PM
H played just one game?

Only ever played a single digit number of games and finished in the same year - between 1980-1985 early 80s.

Is it Alan Jennings?

Con Gorozides

07-01-2015, 05:11 PM
John Bennett.

07-01-2015, 05:12 PM
Not correct guys.

07-01-2015, 05:40 PM
Not correct guys.

More clues please could be lots of players

07-01-2015, 05:46 PM
Allan Edwards,

edit, actually he played too many

John Riley

07-01-2015, 05:57 PM
More clues please could be lots of players

He kicked only 2 goals and played only ever in the 1980 season.

07-01-2015, 07:20 PM
Emmett Dunne?

07-01-2015, 07:21 PM
Emmett Dunne?

Not correct 1eyedog.

07-01-2015, 08:00 PM
Which woofer will get it.

07-01-2015, 08:09 PM
Matt Byrecheski

07-01-2015, 08:16 PM
Matt Byrecheski

You got it TD. Well done.

07-01-2015, 08:29 PM
Interesting player was Matt. He went from playing for his local club, West Footscray or Maidstone I think, to playing VFL reserves, to playing senior VFL games, back to the reserves and finished the year playing back at his local club.

Anyway

I played one year after some good years playing in the VFA. My season yielded 13 games and 18 goals but despite a pretty good first season I was dropped from the list prior to the next season. I went back to the VFA and became a star, finishing my career premiership player and a VFA competition B&F winner.

07-01-2015, 08:34 PM
Interesting player was Matt. He went from playing for his local club, West Footscray or Maidstone I think, to playing VFL reserves, to playing senior VFL games, back to the reserves and finished the year playing back at his local club.

Anyway

I played one year after some good years playing in the VFA. My season yielded 13 games and 18 goals but despite a pretty good first season I was dropped from the list prior to the next season. I went back to the VFA and became a star, finishing my career premiership player and a VFA competition B&F winner.

Kevin Sait.

07-01-2015, 09:12 PM
Correct. He was far too good a player to have not played more VFL footy.

07-01-2015, 09:15 PM
Correct. He was far too good a player to have not played more VFL footy.

Why did they drop him?

07-01-2015, 09:20 PM
I kicked no goals in my Bulldog career
I was a member of the 1990 Swan Districts WAFL premiership team
My father played footy but not at AFL level.

07-01-2015, 09:26 PM
Why did they drop him?

No idea Easty. He didnt exactly look like a footballer. He was very skinny, balding and pale but he could really play.

Maybe it was his decision? Willy probably offered him more cash than he was getting with us. And we were a pretty tragic club in 1980, IIRC we lost our first eleven games.

07-01-2015, 09:28 PM
No idea Easty. He didnt exactly look like a footballer. He was very skinny, balding and pale but he could really play.

Maybe it was his decision? Willy probably offered him more cash than he was getting with us. And we were a pretty tragic club in 1980, IIRC we lost our first eleven games.

I was born deep late 80s and reading our history we were really struggling at that time. 85 was a very good year for us.

07-01-2015, 09:32 PM

Andrew Wills ;)

07-01-2015, 10:35 PM
Andrew Wills ;)

Jimmy Jess / KB

07-01-2015, 10:45 PM
Jimmy Jess / KB

Salty looked like KB actually. Even down to the playing style. Even had the combover.

07-01-2015, 10:48 PM
Has anyone solved Easty's question?

07-01-2015, 11:07 PM
The only person I can really think of is Brad Wira

07-01-2015, 11:14 PM
The only person I can really think of is Brad Wira

Not quite.

07-01-2015, 11:47 PM
I kicked no goals in my Bulldog career
I was a member of the 1990 Swan Districts WAFL premiership team
My father played footy but not at AFL level.

Paul Gow

07-01-2015, 11:48 PM
Robbie West? Can't have kicked many and was from W.A

07-01-2015, 11:50 PM
Paul Gow

You are correct azabob.

07-01-2015, 11:55 PM
Twodogs always gets me confused with another former Bulldog.

Who am I?

08-01-2015, 12:37 AM
Twodogs always gets me confused with another former Bulldog.

Who am I?

Jason Watts.