View Full Version : CEO - What's Happening?

02-03-2015, 01:20 AM
Have I missed anything?

Does anyone know what the latest is with our search for a new CEO?

02-03-2015, 02:34 AM
I haven't heard anything from when the club said they wouldn't be rushed into anything.

But I have noted that Brian Waldron has made his first public appearance about a week after Garlick's departure.

02-03-2015, 03:04 AM
I did hear that we were being linked with Justin Reeves from Collingwood but we have been interviewing candidates from sporting and non-sporting backgrounds. Not sure how far we are along with this but I believe I heard on the radio we had a large number of applications.

02-03-2015, 05:11 AM
I did hear that we were being linked with Justin Reeves from Collingwood but we have been interviewing candidates from sporting and non-sporting backgrounds. Not sure how far we are along with this but I believe I heard on the radio we had a large number of applications.

The Justin Reeves rumour got a run on SEN during the week.

02-03-2015, 01:30 PM
Justin Reeves announced as the new Geelong commercial officer this morning.

Avoid the rush
04-03-2015, 09:57 AM
Praying that we are just waiting till Melbourne Victory has finished their season!!!!!!!

04-03-2015, 10:50 AM
Praying that we are just waiting till Melbourne Victory has finished their season!!!!!!!

Could you elaborate please.

04-03-2015, 02:13 PM

Could you elaborate please.

I think ATR may be implying that we're chasing Ian Robson's services.

04-03-2015, 02:23 PM
I think ATR may be implying that we're chasing Ian Robson's services.

That's what I took it to mean.

04-03-2015, 10:14 PM
Peter Jackson may also be available

05-03-2015, 02:28 AM
Peter Jackson may also be available

How's that? He's stilll at Melbourne.

05-03-2015, 08:23 AM
How's that? He's stilll at Melbourne.

i think his contract expires some time this year & i'm hearing that he and the president have some differences. he might come onto the market.

05-03-2015, 10:17 AM
i think his contract expires some time this year & i'm hearing that he and the president have some differences. he might come onto the market.

I cant see this ever happening, they love him down there! He actually quit his post with the VFL last year to devote more time to the MFC.

05-03-2015, 07:20 PM
Peter Jackson would be a great get. He's helped completely transform Melbourne's finances in one year despite another poor on field season. It's 28 minute long but his address to the Melbourne AGM is very impressive:

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2015-02-05/agm-peter-jackson

Avoid the rush
05-03-2015, 11:07 PM
My money is on Robson and i'm rarely rong. ( Joking I know small i should be capital and wrong is spelt this way)

05-03-2015, 11:22 PM
Brian Waldron anyone??;)

06-03-2015, 01:09 AM
Brian Waldron anyone??;)

I notice he's been getting a bit of public recognition going since our job became available.

Avoid the rush
06-03-2015, 11:21 AM
brian waldron anyone??;)

oh god nooooooo!!!!!!!!

06-03-2015, 04:07 PM
Michael Brown has been linked to the CEO position, he has a fairly impressive resume:

2012 - Current: Asian Cup CEO
2002 - 2012: Cricket Australia General Manager
1997 - 2003: Hawthorn CEO

LinkedIn Profile (https://au.linkedin.com/in/michaelbrown57)

From Twitter:
Sam McClure: 'Industry sources suggest that Michael Brown (Asian Cup, former Hawks CEO) has come up as someone in line for Bulldogs CEO'

06-03-2015, 06:09 PM
Michael Brown has been linked to the CEO position, he has a fairly impressive resume:

From Twitter:

Don't mind that at all.

06-03-2015, 06:48 PM

From Twitter:

Don't mind that at all.

And he can hold down CHB.

07-03-2015, 02:39 PM
I think Andrew Catterall formerly of the AFL would be an excellent choice..... Very bright guy who is a footy nut..

07-03-2015, 05:23 PM
I think Andrew Catterall formerly of the AFL would be an excellent choice..... Very bright guy who is a footy nut..

Not accrording to yesterday's Age which indicated he was associated with bullying and erratic behaviour

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/andrew-catterall-and-the-afl-boys-club-20150305-13wgp3.html

07-03-2015, 07:43 PM
Not accrording to yesterday's Age which indicated he was associated with bullying and erratic behaviour

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/andrew-catterall-and-the-afl-boys-club-20150305-13wgp3.html

A very smart guy.......
I wouldn't let crap like this get in the way of hiring a very very talented person.

07-03-2015, 08:08 PM
A very smart guy.......
I wouldn't let crap like this get in the way of hiring a very very talented person.

Seriously?

09-03-2015, 05:01 PM
Absolutely......
Very talented....too talented for clubland...... I wouldn't worry what the likes of Caroline Wilson report. If he had put a few noses out of joint. We can all change our ways if we learn as we go.

He drove establishing the Gold Coast Suns when still under 40. The AFL would only give that job to a highly competent person.

09-03-2015, 06:44 PM
If its correct, not really "crap like this" type of person we want. The search continues....

09-03-2015, 07:06 PM
Absolutely......
Very talented....too talented for clubland...... I wouldn't worry what the likes of Caroline Wilson report. If he had put a few noses out of joint. We can all change our ways if we learn as we go.

He drove establishing the Gold Coast Suns when still under 40. The AFL would only give that job to a highly competent person.

I would. She's often on the money when it comes to the political side of football.

09-03-2015, 08:25 PM
It wasn't simply Caroline. A 200k bullying settlement against this guy !!
he is not the answer for us.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/afl-paid-200000-settlement-to-staff-member-after-bullying-complaint/story-fni0fiyv-1227248354323

09-03-2015, 11:23 PM
A very smart guy.......

We don't need bullies at the club doesn't matter how talented they are.

20-03-2015, 09:47 AM
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-executive-sam-graham-lands-big-nsw-job-20150319-1m2qhr.html)

Sam Graham, the AFL executive recently sounded out for the top job at the Western Bulldogs, will instead take over the crucial job of running football in NSW.Graham, the AFL's strategy and club services boss, worked at the AFL for a decade, and replaces former Sydney Swans premiership player Craig Bolton as the general manager of AFL NSW/ACT.
Bolton quit the position to work in the private sector late last year. Graham's new role will see him charged with running the game in the competition's toughest market against the growing threat of soccer and with the league's newest club, Greater Western Sydney, still fighting for recognition.
He is the second member of Gillon McLachlan's executive team to depart head office over the past six days, with the retirement of the game's long-serving finance boss Ian Anderson last week.

20-03-2015, 11:31 AM
We should get Tom Waterhouse.

20-03-2015, 04:21 PM
Good God id rather Robbie Waterhouse

20-03-2015, 04:36 PM
What about Gai?

20-03-2015, 04:37 PM
Personally I would prefer Clive
http://s11.postimg.org/aj8bvmzxv/867987_clive_waterhouse.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

20-03-2015, 04:49 PM
We should get Tom Waterhouse.

I'd prefer a water closet!

20-03-2015, 05:47 PM
http://s11.postimg.org/aj8bvmzxv/867987_clive_waterhouse.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

My favourite non bulldogs player ever. I loved watching Clive play, anything could happen when he had the ball in his hands.

21-03-2015, 01:08 AM
My favourite non bulldogs player ever. I loved watching Clive play, anything could happen when he had the ball in his hands.

Would loved to have seen what a decent club could have done with him from the start of his career.

09-04-2015, 03:03 PM
We can expect an announcement in the next few days according to SEN.

09-04-2015, 03:22 PM
'Saturday Night Clive' - one of the best banners I've seen at the footy. Right up there with 'No Moore Filth', 'Lockett's The Key' and 'I Honestly Luff You'

09-04-2015, 05:16 PM

Gotta luv the Mullett!, Business at the front, Party at the back

09-04-2015, 05:45 PM
They're just engraving my name now for the door plaque. Once this is done, will be announced.

#TopJobForTheScragger #BeMooreBulldog

(Yes, I know hashtags don't work in here, just humour me).

09-04-2015, 06:11 PM
We can expect an announcement in the next few days according to SEN.

There's a rumour that the new CEO could be Kelvin Templeton! No idea if it's credible.

09-04-2015, 06:13 PM

Clive Waterhouse was sitting a few rows behind me at the World Cup Cricket match Eng vs Bang last month!

09-04-2015, 08:12 PM
There's a rumour that the new CEO could be Kelvin Templeton! No idea if it's credible.

CHF to CEO

Gotta love a TLA!

09-04-2015, 08:22 PM
If Kelvin Templeton gets the job that is a huge get ! Massive for the club.
He is extremely well credentialed and very smart.

09-04-2015, 09:30 PM

And if it doesn't work out we could sell him off. ;)

09-04-2015, 09:50 PM
And if it doesn't work out we could sell him off. ;)

Hopefully those days are gone.

09-04-2015, 09:52 PM

Could you elaborate on his work post footy? I am aware he was CEO at Sydney for a time, but not much more than that.

09-04-2015, 09:59 PM
Could you elaborate on his work post footy? I am aware he was CEO at Sydney for a time, but not much more than that.

Works and lives in UAE

Also see here: http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?3000-Interview-with-Kelvin-Templeton

09-04-2015, 10:06 PM
Works and lives in UAE

Also see here: http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?3000-Interview-with-Kelvin-Templeton
Thanks BAD

10-04-2015, 12:45 AM
How old is Kt now? Must be 65 +.

And quick side note, he's my first ever footy hero

10-04-2015, 01:07 AM
How old is Kt now? Must be 65 +.

And quick side note, he's my first ever footy hero

He's 59.

10-04-2015, 03:55 PM

Intersesting!

Just recieved an email from the club about a trainers night on the 22 May and KT will be there.

10-04-2015, 06:14 PM
He's 59.

Intersesting!

Just recieved an email from the club about a trainers night on the 22 May and KT will be there.

We just need to push those two twos together and see if it adds up to five.

10-04-2015, 06:47 PM
I heard a rumour that Julia Gillard was in line for the job but my source is unreliable

10-04-2015, 10:58 PM
We just need to push those two twos together and see if it adds up to five.

it does

you take KT's age (59) and add it to the date of the trainers night (22) and add it to the month of may (5)

59+22+5 = 86
8+6 = 14
1 + 4 = 5 ;)

10-04-2015, 11:49 PM
it does

you take KT's age (59) and add it to the date of the trainers night (22) and add it to the month of may (5)

59+22+5 = 86
8+6 = 14
1 + 4 = 5 ;)

It is written in the stars.

NoName
11-04-2015, 09:03 PM
An announcement about the CEO was due today - I haven't heard anything, has anyone else?

11-04-2015, 09:05 PM
An announcement about the CEO was due today - I haven't heard anything, has anyone else?

Who said it was due today?

11-04-2015, 09:07 PM

I thought it supposed to be sometime next week.

NoName
11-04-2015, 09:08 PM

I either heard it on the radio or read it somewhere - could be wrong though.

11-04-2015, 09:12 PM
Last I heard was from Gordon himself on Sen Saying that it's virtually done - barring a few final minor elements. I'm intrigued, now. The KT rumour has me suddenly very, very interested...

11-04-2015, 09:18 PM

I thought the same. I think I read it somewhere.

11-04-2015, 09:23 PM

on KB's show Thursday said he would announce this week.

11-04-2015, 11:54 PM
We're doing bloody beautifully without one. Leave the post vacant. :P

12-04-2015, 12:21 AM
it does

59+22+5 = 86
8+6 = 14
1 + 4 = 5 ;)

And if you add (His number) 31 and 22 (the age his best footy was behind him then divide it by 3 (the number of major VFL awards He won) then divide it by 3 again (the, ummm, number of letters in his full initials Kelvin Lindsay Templeton) which not only adds up to five it also equates to KT making a come back to playing and holding down CHF for the rest of the year.

12-04-2015, 12:31 AM
I thought the same. I think I read it somewhere.

I'm almost certain I saw this posted on the Bulldog's official Facebook page, can't find it now. Does this ring a bell for anyone else?

13-04-2015, 11:40 PM
I'm almost certain I saw this posted on the Bulldog's official Facebook page, can't find it now. Does this ring a bell for anyone else?
Yes definetly read from club would be announced at the Richmond game.

14-04-2015, 03:28 PM
A poster on that other website said this, take it for what you will.

"Found out who the new CEO is today and Gordon has pulled off a coup.

You won't have heard of the guy as he doesn't have a public profile but he is operating at the pointy end of a very well known organisation. He's young but has spent many years with his current outfit and I'm told they are very disappointed to to be losing him.

He is heavily involved in sport but perhaps not in the way you might think and will be returning to Australia to take up the role.

Has all the credentials and more to be a success in the job but his background makes me think that he will have bigger things in mind further down the track and will use the CEO role as a stepping stone to get there.

Apologies for the slightly cryptic post but I'm revealing as much as I can at this stage."

14-04-2015, 03:52 PM
Very cryptic.

Can't for the life of me imagine who it is if this mail is on the mark.

Bring on the announcement.

14-04-2015, 04:01 PM
I attended a function before the West Coast game and Gordon spoke to Rick Kennedy who was MC. He said it would be announced that week, and they had received applications from all over the world. I guess that could make that bigfooty post more credible and I read it as such. Still hasn't been announced though must be some red tape to wade through.

14-04-2015, 09:13 PM
Maybe Gordo might take it on?

15-04-2015, 12:44 AM
The guessing begins. I'll take a stab and say maybe someone from a sporting goods company like Nike or Adidas, maybe their sponsorship arm. The "He is heavily involved in sport but perhaps not in the way you might think" line suggests something like that, and Gordon has said he is looking for someone with a strong commercial focus

15-04-2015, 01:06 AM
Press conference tomorrow arvo apparently

15-04-2015, 01:51 AM
The guessing begins. I'll take a stab and say maybe someone from a sporting goods company like Nike or Adidas, maybe their sponsorship arm. The "He is heavily involved in sport but perhaps not in the way you might think" line suggests something like that, and Gordon has said he is looking for someone with a strong commercial focus

Hopefully it's Tinker Hatfield, and we can get all the players in those cool looking flyknit boots that go up to their ankles.

15-04-2015, 09:29 AM
Rumour has it Bonts is taking the role, not a thing the kid can't do.:D

15-04-2015, 09:53 AM
Julia Gillard! :D

15-04-2015, 10:01 AM

Yeah, sounds like it's an overseas appointment, however my (completely speculative) guess is that perhaps it's someone from a sports gaming background. Perhaps a sports betting executive. This is just based on the fact that my understanding is that the club is looking for someone with a bit of a background in gaming with a view to the Edgewater development.

It'll be very interesting to see who it is. I'm tipping it's not Kelvin Templeton! :)

15-04-2015, 10:06 AM

On the money!

After a comprehensive global search, the Western Bulldogs are proud to announce the appointment of David Stevenson as the Club’s new Chief Executive Officer.

Stevenson comes to the Club with a highly credentialed professional background, most recently occupying the position of Vice President of Sales for Nike’s Emerging Markets, based at Nike’s world headquarters in Oregon, USA.

Over the past 17 years, Stevenson has risen steadily through management ranks at Nike, first in Australia, then various Global and Regional leadership roles in Hong Kong, China and most recently at the company’s Portland headquarters where he led the commercial business for over 150 countries.

Stevenson has managed an aggressive growth agenda for some of the fastest growing businesses around the world and has had extensive dealings with many professional sporting organisations, teams and athletes from soccer, basketball, football and Olympic sports. Continues here http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-04-15/senior-nike-exec-new-top-dog

15-04-2015, 10:22 AM
A left field choice, but sounds well credentialled and enthusiastic.. Hope he goes well!

15-04-2015, 10:22 AM
Teddy will be rolling in his grave. A Nike man running an Adidas club. Blimey.

Good get though.

15-04-2015, 10:23 AM
Sounds like a good appointment.

All this positivity out of the Whitten Oval has me feeling a little uneasy. Not sure how to handle it ;)

15-04-2015, 10:29 AM
I have it on pretty good authority...

http://media.filmschoolrejects.com/images/bush01.jpg

15-04-2015, 10:35 AM
From the high street to Perennial battler street.

It will be interesting to see how he goes. Certainly a far mor challenging environment at the dogs.

15-04-2015, 11:56 AM
^ I'm just going to like every post you ever do because of that Lego thing ReLoad:)

15-04-2015, 12:12 PM
Go Davo, you sound like an ambitious appointment and as you say, an aligning of the stars, at least of your professional and personal ambitions and our ours as well.

15-04-2015, 02:07 PM
On the money!

That was a complete guess I swear :D

It will be interesting to see how he goes. Certainly a far more challenging environment at the dogs.

That was my first thought too. In many respects he won't have the same resources he would have had at Nike, or the same flexibility with regards to the AFL (home ground, fixture, stadium deal). I can see him getting frustrated by this but I have high hopes

15-04-2015, 02:12 PM
That was a complete guess I swear

Bloody good guess

home ground, fixture, stadium deal

Should be a priority to fix.

15-04-2015, 02:16 PM
That was a complete guess I swear :D

That was my first thought too. In many respects he won't have the same resources he would have had at Nike, or the same flexibility with regards to the AFL (home ground, fixture, stadium deal). I can see him getting frustrated by this but I have high hopes

I'd say that's exactly why we have bought someone from outside the industry in. He won't come with all the assumptions about how things are done inside footy and will hopefully start asking why we aren't actually seeing any action on Equalization depite all the fine rhetoric.

15-04-2015, 02:43 PM
Bloody good guess

Should be a priority to fix.

And membership too I hope is a huge priority.

15-04-2015, 02:51 PM
I'd say that's exactly why we have bought someone from outside the industry in. He won't come with all the assumptions about how things are done inside footy and will hopefully start asking why we aren't actually seeing any action on Equalization depite all the fine rhetoric.

He'd also have some exposure to US sports and understand the NFL's staunch (and understandable) stance on equalisation. The understanding that an even competition produces the best product and grows the overall pie - which is good for everyone.

I always found it perplexing that blokes like Eddie McGuire claim socialist leanings, yet push a very different line with their footy clubs. Meanwhile, captains of industry in the most capitalist country on earth take a far, far more socialist approach to their sporting "franchises".

I think Mr Stevens is in a good position to come back from the US and politely ask the "Columbo" questions... "Why is this so, fellas?"
He can also back it up with some genuine nous on sports markets and their revenue streams..

Looks a nifty appointment, to me.

15-04-2015, 10:49 PM
And membership too I hope is a huge priority.

Equalising the fixture would be a big step in the right direction

16-04-2015, 12:23 AM
Sounds like a good appointment.

All this positivity out of the Whitten Oval has me feeling a little uneasy. Not sure how to handle it ;)

haha i thought exactly the same thing

25-07-2016, 10:40 AM
Has he just quit the club? KB just said Mark Stevens just tweeted it.

25-07-2016, 10:42 AM
Caroline Wilson has confirmed via The Age website.

Saw him looking pleased as punch at the Sydney airport a few weeks back.

This is a surprise.

25-07-2016, 10:44 AM
Wtf....

25-07-2016, 10:45 AM
Caroline Wilson has confirmed via The Age website.

Saw him looking pleased as punch at the Sydney airport a few weeks back.

This is a surprise.

Yeah you just beat to the link. Heard it in the distance over the radio. Not great timing, especially after this weekend.

25-07-2016, 10:46 AM
What the hell...had a great talk to him and wife in Cairns...they loved us!

25-07-2016, 10:47 AM
Very difficult to know what has gone on from the outside but I can't think of one single substantial off field achievement since August last year when DS became the CEO.

Failing to secure a coaches sponsor until after round 13 (despite the far better commercial draw and on field performances) and some poor membership decisions (e.g. the Charles Sutton Premiership club introduced mid season) hasn't filled me with a lot of confidence.

Didn't see that one coming.

This is really, really bizarre.... Could only think that it's a personal reason. Maybe his wife didn't settle or something...

25-07-2016, 10:50 AM
This is really, really bizarre.... Could only think that it's a personal reason. Maybe his wife didn't settle or something...

Yeah I'm thinking personal reasons as well.

25-07-2016, 10:50 AM
Hang on, he officially commenced with us on the Monday following the Essendon game last year. I reckon that was almost 12 months ago to the day.

There's either a termination clause inside of 12 months, or just the other side of 12 months. He definitely started that day. Might've been early August..

25-07-2016, 10:51 AM
He was still up in Palm Cove on the Monday following game, just put it down to spending some extra time with the family but in hindsight may have been weighing up his future. Looked quite happy on the Saturday night post game was having a kick to kick with some of the staff.

25-07-2016, 10:54 AM
Wilson reporting 'difficult' relations with PG as a key reason. Left Friday. What a horror few days.

25-07-2016, 10:55 AM
- Record membership
- Big increase in crowd numbers
- Women's license granted
- Ballarat region locked in
- Finals for 2nd straight year

Why would the CEO quit when, at face value, our off field prospects are as good as ever.

Something doesn't smell right. I know PG checks in here from time to time, would be great if he gave us some insight. We deserve it.

25-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Is he a big loss? What did he actually do/bring to the club?

He came in with a big reputation but I'm not sure he made any great strides.

25-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Monday Aug 3, 2015 was his first day on the job. He's resigned 51 weeks in.

Maybe it's personal reasons and the honourable thing to do, contractually. Or maybe something else has gone down... Will be interesting to see.

PG is a pretty hands on president who was acting CEO prior to DS's appointment.... So he's familiar with the role..
Perhaps that was the issue. Perhaps he was micro managed, perhaps it's personal? Don't know. In any case, a 12 month tenure as a CEO is the equivalent of one month in regular parlance.... A real surprise!

What a prick of a weekend!

25-07-2016, 10:57 AM
Is he a big loss? What did he actually do/bring to the club?

He came in with a big reputation but I'm not sure he made any great strides.

Our off field prospects are as good as they have ever been. Now he may not have had a big say in that but a CEO quitting in those circumstances, when he has a great base to make real progress, is strange to say the least.

25-07-2016, 11:16 AM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/western-bulldogs-chief-executive-david-stevenson-resigns-20160724-gqcv68.html

This is disasterous timing - and a real kick in the guts to lose a CEO who appeared to be really top notch.

I hope the reports about it being related to PG don't have any real foundation....but I fully expect that it will be true.

25-07-2016, 11:34 AM
Unless it is a serious personal issue, surely we could manage any internal relational problems to see if they could be resolved.

They're all adults and professionals.

Unless Webby is on the mark, and the 12 month threshold had some meaning.

25-07-2016, 11:37 AM
It said it happened Friday and we will already have a new one from inside the club today who will get it in a permanent role .. If this is the case we are doing OK as a club .. Plans were already in place.. Maybe he Was just a good talker and got found out ,

25-07-2016, 11:55 AM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/western-bulldogs-chief-executive-david-stevenson-resigns-20160724-gqcv68.html

This is disasterous timing - and a real kick in the guts to lose a CEO who appeared to be really top notch.

I hope the reports about it being related to PG don't have any real foundation....but I fully expect that it will be true.

I was a little surprised he got the role in the first place. His background shows he was in charge of sales and had never worked in a CEO role at a sporting club. However, that doesn't mean he never fitted the role and he was no doubt a good candidate at the time.

Hopefully the next guy will take over and the changeover will be seamless.

25-07-2016, 11:56 AM
I was a little surprised he got the role in the first place. His background shows he was in charge of sales and had never worked in a CEO role at a sporting club. However, that doesn't mean he never fitted the role and he was no doubt a good candidate at the time.

Anyone know who the likley internal candidate would be?

25-07-2016, 12:08 PM
Anyone know who the likley internal candidate would be?

Maybe Michael Quinn who was acting CEO after Garlick?

25-07-2016, 12:13 PM

A couple of people close to me have had dealings with David, one of which has a role at the club - and without going into detail, their feedback was that he couldn't have been much more impressive, competent and across all areas of the footy club.

It would come as a significant shock to me if the resignation was based on the club pushing him out due to performance.

25-07-2016, 12:16 PM
A couple of people close to me have had dealings with David, one of which has a role at the club - and without going into detail, their feedback was that he couldn't have been much more impressive, competent and across all areas of the footy club.

It would come as a significant shock to me if the resignation was based on the club pushing him out due to performance.

Well hopefully a Club Statement comes through soon.

25-07-2016, 12:20 PM
Was DS responsible for the BS statement about Boyd & Cordy? If so, a rift could've been brewing.

25-07-2016, 12:39 PM
Yeah, this has all the hallmarks of a power struggle.

25-07-2016, 01:34 PM
Now the Sun is going with the angle that we are currently reviewing his position and will announce a decision shortly.

More mixed messages.

What is going on behind the scenes?

25-07-2016, 01:59 PM
What ever happened to the good old days when journos & editors wanted to be the first to correctly break a story, rather than be the first to say something which is going to be wrong?

25-07-2016, 02:00 PM
Now the Sun is going with the angle that we are currently reviewing his position and will announce a decision shortly.

More mixed messages.

What is going on behind the scenes?

Wouldn't be the first time the media go early on something. Was it Caro or Robbo who sacked Terry Wallace?

25-07-2016, 02:00 PM
Maybe they all got it wrong and he had a 12 month contract and we are just reviewing it

25-07-2016, 02:02 PM
Sun is reporting that he's not at the club today and we've been reviewing his performance for weeks.

Fair to say, sounds like he's on the way out regardless and we're trying to reframe it as our decision rather than Stevenson resigning as reported by Caro.

25-07-2016, 02:21 PM
What ever happened to the good old days when journos & editors wanted to be the first to correctly break a story, rather than be the first to say something which is going to be wrong?

The digital age happened my friend, the digital age.

25-07-2016, 02:24 PM
I hope this isn't another case of our club sitting on its own balls.

25-07-2016, 02:26 PM
The digital age happened my friend, the digital age.

Digital or not, journos no longer check their facts.

25-07-2016, 02:30 PM

The race to be first, far out weighs the race to be right.

25-07-2016, 02:33 PM
The race to be first, far out weighs the race to be right.

Yep, hence the problem with the modern media. And of all the people, I'd think Caro or Barrett would be the last to have inside info from our club.

25-07-2016, 02:38 PM

Although partly true - I don't think it is quite as simple as that. Part of the problem with the reporting is each of the clubs being desperate to break their own stories first and control the narrative.

I guess that's most clubs. Our club just completely botches everything in this regard, and ends up with a convoluted and vague version of the 'truth' that they release at some point...and then scurry around trying to get their stories straight.

Our communications and media this year, at every level apart from the players, in footy stats parlance - would be ranked 18th in the league this season.

25-07-2016, 03:05 PM
I don't agree with that , I think we are very good at keeping our cards close to our chest .. The Cordy/Boyd bust up which wasn't took two weeks for anyone to know and the media blew it up to more than it was because they couldn't find out the real story.
The Boyd signing had the media completely by surprise as well.

25-07-2016, 03:15 PM
I don't agree with that , I think we are very good at keeping our cards close to our chest .. The Cordy/Boyd bust up which wasn't took two weeks for anyone to know and the media blew it up to more than it was because they couldn't find out the real story.

It was blown up because we said nothing. That was a story we should have easily gotten ahead of, instead it was a saga that spun for 3 weeks.

25-07-2016, 03:24 PM
It was blown up because we said nothing. That was a story we should have easily gotten ahead of, instead it was a saga that spun for 3 weeks.

Yep, come clean early, and its done and dusted. As is, everyone still suspicious that something worse happened. Certainly the punishment seems harsh compared to what the club statement said.

25-07-2016, 03:46 PM

I'd never noticed ;).

The other thing about it is the political leanings of their employers - it's more important to write something that fits the narrative than tell the truth - regardless of who it hurts.

25-07-2016, 03:51 PM

Both examples were actually handled quite poorly - media wise.

The Boyd signing may have caught people by surprise at the time - but it is still clouded by this whole Peter Gordon's involvement, discussion - where he's just avoided actually putting it to bed, by step around it like a well rehearsed politician.

The Boyd/Cordy incident happened over a month ago - and our vague ramblings about it did nothing to stamp out any of the rumours regarding how or why it occurred. I have no problem in them keeping it in house - but once it gets out, was there any danger at all in getting our stories straight (including when the players would be available for senior selection).

As for the reporting of injuries...don't get me started. Although Bevo is quite obviously a ripping bloke and good to listen to in press conferences, perhaps it wouldn't hurt for someone in a meeting to tell him to stop saying straight after games that players 'should be right for next week' - before they routinely end up missing several.

25-07-2016, 04:50 PM
Well saying they will be right next week keeps the opposition guessing and that's what's it's about confusing the opposition.
Why does anyone have to tell the press anything ? Rather we were quiet than let things leak like a sieve.
Why is it the medias business to know everything anyway , they only make it negative.
Who cares if Gordon was involved in the Boyd signing ?
I would think he would have to be being president and knowing the money situation. He is the one giving money he is president. If I was him i would want to know where it's going and have a say in it to some degree. My opinion is the media just want a story and will even make ones up to sell it.
We don't have to respond.
Most of the stories they pick up are rumours they heard off websites with hardly any substance and then they add dramatic words like its the death knell.

25-07-2016, 04:53 PM
Well saying they will be right next week keeps the opposition guessing and that's what's it's about confusing the opposition.
Why does anyone have to tell the press anything ? Rather we were quiet than let things leak like a sieve.
Why is it the medias business to know everything anyway , they only make it negative.
Who cares if Gordon was involved in the Boyd signing ?
I would think he would have to be being president and knowing the money situation. He is the one giving money he is president. If I was him i would want to know where it's going and have a say in it to some degree. My opinion is the media just want a story and will even make ones up to sell it.
We don't have to respond.
Most of the stories they pick up are rumours they heard off websites with hardly any substance and then they add dramatic words like its the death knell.

I certainly am happy we got him and I don't care who brokered the deal.

25-07-2016, 04:57 PM
I certainly am happy we got him and I don't care who brokered the deal.

So you don't care about me making it happen. Well that's just plain mean to say on an open forum.

25-07-2016, 04:58 PM
So you don't care about me making it happen. Well that's just plain mean to say on an open forum.

I do care. :D

25-07-2016, 05:00 PM
I do care. :D

That's better. :D

25-07-2016, 05:14 PM
I tend to agree. We aren't playing very well by their rules, but perhaps it s because we are putting our processes above the need to play that game. Bound to be poorly received by people who make a living out of PR spin and mass media muck raking, but I am OK with that, they are scumbags.

25-07-2016, 06:28 PM
Current board member Gary Kent will be named new CEO. He has been around the club for awhile and has previously been CFO of Coles, and Skilled Group.

25-07-2016, 06:39 PM
So what's our version of events then?

25-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Here's a link to Jake Niall piece http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/western-bulldogs-to-appoint-board-member-gary-kent-as-new-chief-executive-after-david-stevenson-quit/news-story/ace61025ed0386364fe37dabd1a0e584

25-07-2016, 06:42 PM
So what's our version of events then?

Unsure, but this is Fox Sports' (Jake Niall) bizarre summation...

"It is understood that when the Bulldogs' board appointed Stevenson they knew they were taking a risk."

Riiiiight.

25-07-2016, 06:45 PM
Here's a link to Jake Niall piece http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/western-bulldogs-to-appoint-board-member-gary-kent-as-new-chief-executive-after-david-stevenson-quit/news-story/ace61025ed0386364fe37dabd1a0e584

What's with the final line I wonder? (The Bulldogs knew they were taking a risk appointing Stevenson)????

25-07-2016, 06:48 PM
First time CEO being the risk?

The bloke quits his job with one of the biggest companies in the world, upends his family from China, moves to Australia to take up the job and is pushed out within 12 months and replaced by someone we already had on the board.

What's the point?

25-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Maybe untried CEO ? Hard to work it all out really. Gordo was definitely quite pleased with the appointment this time last year; I recall he spoke at a function and was very excited. Not sure it was a risk at that stage.

25-07-2016, 06:54 PM
First time CEO being the risk?

The bloke quits his job with one of the biggest companies in the world, upends his family from China, moves to Australia to take up the job and is pushed out within 12 months and replaced by someone we already had on the board.

What's the point?

I said something like this about 20 minutes to someone. I'm not sure about the answer. I can guess only two things:

1. We want yes men/women in the role only.
2. He's pissed off and lost the trust of the players/coach/others, he if was seen as responsible for hanging Boyd & Cordy out to dry with the shockingly mishandling of that non-event turned trial by media.

I do wonder if he had a contract or extended notice period built into his contract bearing in mind his uprooting. If so, how much will this exit cost us?

25-07-2016, 06:56 PM
However this ends up it's messy and unfortunate timing on top of the injuries. The perception will be that we are showing signs of unravelling and that's a distraction we don't need.

25-07-2016, 06:58 PM
Unfortunately, the best case scenario is Stevenson was just crap at his job and we've replaced him with someone better, despite the fact that the person replacing him helped select him. Really bizarre and like usual, we've heard nothing from the club as yet.

25-07-2016, 06:59 PM
Peter Gordon on SEN soon

25-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Went to high school with Gary Kent (Footscray High). Solid western suburbs citizen.

25-07-2016, 07:12 PM
Club statement http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-07-25/bulldogs-and-stevenson-part-ways

25-07-2016, 07:29 PM
Underneath the positive spin, everything PG intimated in that SEN interview suggested the working relationship became fractious...

Why, remains a mystery.

25-07-2016, 07:44 PM

Western Bulldogs 2016 PR strategist.

25-07-2016, 07:46 PM
Why does he keep looking off to the left? Does PG have his child at gun point?

25-07-2016, 07:47 PM
Could be a case of two strong personalities not getting on.

25-07-2016, 07:50 PM

Enter the cue sheet. Think of Dylan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Mb3CoWwNyY

25-07-2016, 07:55 PM

Because like total amateurs we've put his speaking notes off to the left of screen, rather than behind camera like a professional organisation. Honestly such simple things, yet can't get it right.

25-07-2016, 07:58 PM
So it's quite obvious that PG and Stevenson didn't get along, so he was pushed. Really disappointing.

Hopefully Gary Kent will do precisely what PG asks, so that we don't have to turf another CEO in the near future.

25-07-2016, 07:58 PM
It's a very tough gig being a CEO, you need to be very good at a number of facets of a big business including the operational, the commercialization aspects and being able to manage and deliver complex outcomes from projects and endeavours the business, or in this case the club, expects you achieve.

While no CEO can deliver all the results themselves, they certainly need the team to hit the benchmarks and targets

From what I've heard, Stevenson was behind on some of those deliverables which caused some angst. Lets leave it at that.

His CV is very sales and commercial focused which are just part of the scope of the position.

Now for Gary Kent, his background is very CFO focused which is not an ideal fit. He will handle the financial and administrative functions easily and hopefully he has enough experience in managing people already in place to achieve the other aspects of the position.

Challenging times ahead. We rolled the dice 12 months ago and we now need to move into another direction. It happens

25-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Could be a case of two strong personalities not getting on.

I'd be confident in saying it won't be a personality issue between the two.

25-07-2016, 08:01 PM
One thing I can be pretty confident of and that's we'll make a total hash of this PR exercise, and once speculation mounts, we'll do nothing to address it thinking if we say nothing it'll just go away. We did it with the Boyd/Cordy fiasco, we did it Talia spygate, and we continue to do it with Boyd/Griffen contract structures, and it's caused nothing but continued negative public speculation, so why would we change it.

Honestly I'm tempted to draft a press release and hack the club's website so we can actually for once put out a coherent narrative.

25-07-2016, 08:03 PM
I'd be confident in saying it won't be a personality issue between the two.

Fair enough, that what you get from the outside looking in and too much media speculation.:)

25-07-2016, 08:07 PM
Fair enough, that what you get from the outside looking in and too much media speculation.:)

It's an easy bow to draw but people in senior positions tolerate others if everyone is getting results.

25-07-2016, 08:10 PM
It's hard to pick whether Stephenson got another offer and left or we turfed him . Whichever way it was we seemed to have had other plans in place ,all sorted in two days ?
That's a good think media wise . Done and dusted before they even knew it was happening.As I said before I like how this club keeps things close and doesn't lower itself to media muck raking by being ambushed by people like Barrett.
This club is a very tight ship and seems to be on a serious push to be successful on and off the field . If your not in it 100% your out !
Something special is going on at this club it's cultural change and it's good.

25-07-2016, 08:17 PM
Because like total amateurs we've put his speaking notes off to the left of screen, rather than behind camera like a professional organisation. Honestly such simple things, yet can't get it right.

It's OK. We've sacked the bloke responsible

25-07-2016, 09:07 PM
I have full confidence in what the club is doing. If you think it is just PG then you are wrong, these decisions cannot be made by the Chairman alone, he must get the full support of the board.

Gary will make a good CEO, he has worked in some very large companies and has been at our club for quiet a few years now so knows the workings of how it is run.

Good luck Gary, and here is to a successful future.

25-07-2016, 09:29 PM
Enter the cue sheet. Think of Dylan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Mb3CoWwNyY

Now if they'd taken Bob's approach, that would have at least been funny!

25-07-2016, 09:30 PM
I think it's clear that the new CEO is a behind the scenes man that should stick to bean counting.

25-07-2016, 09:49 PM
I think it's clear that the new CEO is a behind the scenes man that should stick to bean counting.

Don't know anything about the guy except his last job was as a CFO. I don't know what he did before that. He may be great, he may be lousy but i will back him and the club in for now.

25-07-2016, 09:54 PM

I honestly don't know how you have come to this conclusion.

25-07-2016, 09:56 PM
Good luck to him . We're all just speculating on what transpired to be honest

25-07-2016, 10:05 PM
Question: Do you agree with the club?
BT Answer: Of course I agree with the club. Absolutely I do.
Question: What were the reasons for the decision for which you agree with?
BT Answer: I don't know, but because I support the leader & this club, I know I agree.

25-07-2016, 10:09 PM
I honestly don't know how you have come to this conclusion.

The fact that he couldn't ad lib a simple 2 minute video and looked like a complete amateur in front of the camera suggests he's better off staying behind the scenes, if that's his best effort.

25-07-2016, 10:15 PM
The fact that he couldn't ad lib a simple 2 minute video and looked like a complete amateur in front of the camera suggests he's better off staying behind the scenes, if that's his best effort.

I think you need to give the guy a go before you come to a conclusion.

Here is his CV:

Chief Financial Officer (https://www.linkedin.com/title/chief-financial-officer?trk=mprofile_title)

SKILLED Group (http://www.linkedin.com/company/11731?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

April 2012 – Present (4 years 4 months)melbourne

http://m.c.lnkd.licdn.com/media/p/5/005/08e/242/258e336.png (http://www.linkedin.com/company/124190?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

Non Executive Director (https://www.linkedin.com/title/non-executive-director?trk=mprofile_title)

Western Bulldogs (http://www.linkedin.com/company/124190?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

November 2011 – Present (4 years 9 months)Footscray

CFO (https://www.linkedin.com/title/cfo?trk=mprofile_title)

Healthscope (http://www.linkedin.com/company/74479?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

August 2008 – November 2010 (2 years 4 months)Chief Financial Officer

http://m.c.lnkd.licdn.com/media/p/6/000/268/098/0860069.png (http://www.linkedin.com/company/163144?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

CFO (https://www.linkedin.com/title/cfo?trk=mprofile_title)

Coles Group (http://www.linkedin.com/company/163144?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

June 2007 – February 2008 (9 months)

Group Financial Controller & Deputy CFO (https://www.linkedin.com/title/group-financial-controller-%26-deputy-cfo?trk=mprofile_title)

ColesMyer (http://www.linkedin.com/company/163144?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

November 2005 – May 2007 (1 year 7 months)

General Manager Finance & Admin (https://www.linkedin.com/title/general-manager-finance-%26-admin?trk=mprofile_title)

Kmart Australia (http://www.linkedin.com/company/383546?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

2001 – 2005 (4 years)

General Manager Finance & Admin (https://www.linkedin.com/title/general-manager-finance-%26-admin?trk=mprofile_title)

Myer Grace Bros (http://www.linkedin.com/company/288900?trk=prof-exp-company-name)

1994 – 2000 (6 years)

25-07-2016, 10:22 PM
Nothing about that resume suggests he's anything but a behind the scenes administrator, rather than a public figure head.

Doesn't mean he won't be a good CEO - though I have major doubts - just means his strengths are definitely not public speaking and promoting the club publicly, as evident in his amateurish video.

25-07-2016, 10:27 PM
Nothing about that resume suggests he's anything but a behind the scenes administrator, rather than a public figure head.

Doesn't mean he won't be a good CEO - though I have major doubts - just means his strengths are definitely not public speaking and promoting the club publicly, as evident in his amateurish video.

Do you know anything about what CFO's do, especially in public companies? They have to present to shareholders, to investors, to institutions, to staff etc.

Come on Comrade, I am surprised you are bagging the club, with little knowledge.

Let's give the guy a go and see what happens.

25-07-2016, 10:34 PM
Do you know anything about what CFO's do, especially in public companies? They have to present to shareholders, to investors, to institutions, to staff etc.

Come on Comrade, I am surprised you are bagging the club, with little knowledge.

Let's give the guy a go and see what happens.

Questioning the club and bagging them are not the same thing, BAD.

I am generally an optimist and try to see every decision we make through a positive lens but it is ok to have doubts.

25-07-2016, 10:41 PM

I have full confidence in what the club is doing. If you think it is just PG then you are wrong, these decisions cannot be made by the Chairman alone, he must get the full support of the board.

Gary will make a good CEO, he has worked in some very large companies and has been at our club for quiet a few years now so knows the workings of how it is run.

Good luck Gary, and here is to a successful future.

BAD, are you contradicting yourself?

25-07-2016, 10:43 PM
The video was ordinary, in all likelihood rushed, and the guy has been thrust into the role. I'll give him the chance to settle, and to show his skills. We've been belted around since Saturday, I say let's back him in. #bemorebulldog

25-07-2016, 10:45 PM
Just on the video, from memory Beveridges first club videos were not much to write home about.

25-07-2016, 10:48 PM
Just on the video, from memory Beveridges first club videos were not much to write home about.

Yep, very true. He was a shocker first up.

25-07-2016, 11:42 PM
BAD, are you contradicting yourself?

Not at all.

25-07-2016, 11:47 PM
I've been considering all of this and can't help but think there's a couple of things at play here:

1. PG's passion for the club is a double edged sword. His love of the club helped to save it. We're forever indebted to him for that. However, I suspect he'd be a difficult character to work for. A bit of a micro manager who would struggle to have the reins held by someone else... Therefore being that very "someone else" would be a tough, tough gig.

2. David Stevenson's background was not as a sports administrator, nor was it in Aussie Rules. He was from a sales background in the apparel industry. He worked his way up on the back of being a shoe salesman and never moved out of the sales stream within the company. Yes, Nike are a sports apparel company, but I think we all get carried away by Nike at times. They're essentially rag trade. When you consider all of the variables and nuances involved in running a football club in a red hot media driven furnace like Melbourne, was he really all that qualified?

He was a novice in the running of a footy club. He had little experience in dealing with the media. That was evident with the dealings with the Talia-gate and Boyd-Cordy episodes. He was a bit of an outside-the-box type appointment. One in which the club was reaching for a bit of something different. A bit of gold dust. Perhaps it just didn't work out and he underwhelmed - despite being a nice guy.

Perhaps after that experience, it became apparent that Gary Kent had the respect of the organisation, the working knowledge and a more appropriately rounded skill set for the job.... Albeit less slick to the outside observer.

I think we'll draw a line below it and move on pretty swiftly. I actually couldn't name more than two CEO's from any other club..!

26-07-2016, 02:06 AM
Agree with Webby on this. A CEO's job is to agree the strategic vision of the organisation with the Board and then execute that vision. Can't comment on how Stevenson performed, though membership up and increased profile is a positive. overall things weren't bad under his watch, it was way too soon to tell.

Would trust the Board on this. As much as the media love to make out that PG makes all the decisions, as an organisation and as a private company with very public stakeholders, the Board of Directors ultimately makes the decision. That Board has some very, very, very good people on it besides PG. One can only presume that the there was a disconnect between what Stevenson was delivering/wanted to deliver and what the Board wanted.

All in all not worried - Finance people generally make good CEO's - they have a grasp of the financial realities and a pretty good bullsh*t detector

26-07-2016, 09:04 AM
as others have said, a CFO is not just a bean counter, especially at the levels he was at, Skilled and Coles are very big companies, with such a big role he primarily would have been involved in mostly things like governance, HR and regulatory and prudential processes, which are critical in an AFL world (Hello Essendon!)

At that level you have to be able to manage people well, because realistically thats all you are doing, your team underneath you is the ones counting the beans per se.

Whilst i don't have blind faith in the club, I do have faith in them in this case, Before Rose came along (our best CEO ever?) we tried a few who were simply no good (Saunders?) and Ive got no doubt they are looking at improving things.

Sacking a CEO doesn't happen for no good reason, and if the chairman and the CEO don't get along, then there really is only one answer.

I personally wish David all the best, he seemed like a really genuine nice guy who listened to all stakeholders and i wish him and his family all the best for the future.

26-07-2016, 10:02 AM
I'm just surprised that the new CEO was available to start straight away......

26-07-2016, 10:25 AM

What is going on in your head comrade?
Obsessed with trivialities and making illogical conclusions.

26-07-2016, 10:28 AM
What is going on in your head comrade?
Obsessed with trivialities and making illogical conclusions.

Sorry?

26-07-2016, 10:34 AM
1. PG's passion for the club is a double edged sword. His love of the club helped to save it. We're forever indebted to him for that. However, I suspect he'd be a difficult character to work for. A bit of a micro manager who would struggle to have the reins held by someone else... Therefore being that very "someone else" would be a tough, tough gig.
Good summation Webby. Just on this point in particular, we shouldn't underestimate the value of a CEO being skilled in the art of controlling and managing their masters, otherwise they will never get anything done. Sounds like it is as simple as David unfortunately not being able to manage the expectations of his chairman for whatever reason and possibly being out of his depth in some of the aspects of the role (I'm only speculating). He was certainly a very good media operator and our off-field results have been strong - whilst it is slightly disappointing that we won't know the real reasons for the decision that is not uncommon in business.

Finance people are not as sexy as sales people but it is no coincidence that most high profile CEO positions are held by bean counters. It is actually a positive if Gary Kent can be free to go about his job because he can manage the expectations of PG.

26-07-2016, 12:51 PM
I'm just surprised that the new CEO was available to start straight away......

That's extremely strange if it doesn't point to DS being pushed and GK being lined up some time ago. As any CFO would have to provide more than the standard four weeks notice (often up to six months for such senior execs), I'd have to conclude that this confirms DS was almost certainly pushed.

Nothing else adds up.

Rightly or wrongly, at least it appears to have been the club's choice. This means either of:
A) PG is a tyrant; or
B) PG & the club are aiming for the sky, are determined not to accept mediocrity and were self aware enough to recognise that they made a mistake with the appointment.

I'd prefer to believe B. In either case, there appears to have been no "C" scenario - whereby DS walked out on us by his own choice.

26-07-2016, 01:33 PM
There's a C. Something, work related or not, being covered up by the club with vague press releases and competing stories on each of the dailies.

I'm not saying that's what it is, just there is at least a few letters of the alphabet to go before we run out of reasons. I think it's something fairly mundane though. Not up to the job, competing egos, musical differences or something like that. I assume the vagueness from the club is just our way of doing media lately.

26-07-2016, 03:03 PM
Going from his interview he wants to still work in a football club , if he isn't up to it, he won't get hired by another club and that tells you he wasn't right for football , if he is hired by another club I think that shows you he had done ok with us and maybe it was a falling out. Or we were looking for more and moving to the next step . I would like to know why Gary didn't get the job in the first place though.

26-07-2016, 03:40 PM
Is anyone else even a bit intrigued by the process by which two board members (Chris Grant and now Gary Kent) move into positions within the club's operations?

26-07-2016, 03:43 PM
Is anyone else even a bit intrigued by the process by which two board members (Chris Grant and now Gary Kent) move into positions within the club's operations?

Not really, they have the credentials, so why not. My old mate Matty Croft goes on to the board after being an observer for the past 12 months.

26-07-2016, 03:45 PM
Not really, they have the credentials, so why not. My old mate Matty Croft goes on to the board after being an observer for the past 12 months.

It's almost unheard of in the business world.. I can't actually think of an example where the board has actively jumped in and taken over operational roles.

26-07-2016, 03:50 PM
It's almost unheard of in the business world.. I can't actually think of an example where the board has actively jumped in and taken over operational roles.

My mate chairs a company and has recently jumped in to be CEO (Temporary till they find someone :D), but yeah you are right. Bit different, we are talking a sporting club, so not really the same as a public company.

26-07-2016, 06:42 PM
I love PG but I've reached the point where I take what he says with a grain of salt. Surprise surprise....he talks like a lawyer.

I don't know if this was the right decision or not but this is the second CEO we have parted ways with in three years. Our record membership deserve some honesty and transparency for our money.

Something isn't right and I fear that all we are getting is spin. PG's and DS's radio interviews told us nothing other than clearly there has been a personal falling out. Stevenson couldn't even bring himself to say whether he thought Gordon was the right bloke to lead the club into the future.

26-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Obviously the CEO wanted to get rid of Boyd because he's a waste of money but evil PG wouldn't let him. What a failure from the Western Bulldogs and Luke Beveridge who I'm definitely not afraid of.

SAD!

26-07-2016, 11:58 PM
This is remarkably similar to what happened at North Melbourne. Arocca & Brayshaw had a falling out, Arocca resigned, Dilena the CFO took over as CEO. He seems to be doing OK

NoseBleed
27-07-2016, 01:47 AM
Anytime it's CEO vs President, you'll get a new CEO.

27-07-2016, 09:05 AM
Doesn't the club owe it to the members to at least see if there is a better person out there to be CEO? The position has not been advertised. Something not right here. Surely he cant continue to sit on the board as CEO.

27-07-2016, 09:09 AM
Doesn't the club owe it to the members to at least see if there is a better person out there to be CEO? The position has not been advertised. Something not right here. Surely he cant continue to sit on the board as CEO.

It doesn't sit completely comfortable with me. Only 12 months ago we undertook a 'global search' to find our CEO... having found and now dumped the man....we've now discovered the best person for the job was right under our very noses...on our board?
I don't think either Kent or Grant having now taken operational positions are still on the board. That would definitely be an untenable position.

27-07-2016, 09:19 AM
Maybe Gary wasn't available last year , other commitments ? we just don't know, we do know one thing , he is bulldog through and through and has an impressive resume , who cares if the video was amateur it's not about how you perform in front of a camera. I wouldn't be doesn't mean I'm shit at my job

27-07-2016, 09:25 AM
Gary has also been on the board and knows where we are at and where we want to go .also knows what needs to be done so in my opinion it's a good choice.
Go dogs !

27-07-2016, 09:41 AM
It would be interesting to know if his hat was in the ring 12 months ago. If he was a close 2nd then after a thorough process, maybe his quick appointment 12 months later makes more sense.

Like others, I am a big PG fan but he does seem to be a difficult character to work with if you are not totally eye to eye with him, going all the way back to Wheels. Seeing multiple board members transferring over to the executive does have the hallmarks of the club becoming a bit of a boys club.

That doesn't mean that Gary isn't a perfectly capable candidate who may go on to do an outstanding job, like all of us I certainly hope that's the case, but a pattern is starting to form and aspects of this whole episode just don't sit right.

27-07-2016, 09:41 AM
It doesn't sit completely comfortable with me. Only 12 months ago we undertook a 'global search' to find our CEO... having found and now dumped the man....we've now discovered the best person for the job was right under our very noses...on our board?
I don't think either Kent or Grant having now taken operational positions are still on the board. That would definitely be an untenable position.

They have both come off the board now.

27-07-2016, 09:53 AM
They have both come off the board now.

Yes I know, I was responding to bullies' comment 'Surely he can't continue on the board'

27-07-2016, 09:58 AM
It would be interesting to know if his hat was in the ring 12 months ago. If he was a close 2nd then after a thorough process, maybe his quick appointment 12 months later makes more sense.

Like others, I am a big PG fan but he does seem to be a difficult character to work with if you are not totally eye to eye with him, going all the way back to Wheels. Seeing multiple board members transferring over to the executive does have the hallmarks of the club becoming a bit of a boys club.

That doesn't mean that Gary isn't a perfectly capable candidate who may go on to do an outstanding job, like all of us I certainly hope that's the case, but a pattern is starting to form and aspects of this whole episode just don't sit right.

Well written. I think there needs to be some level of communication to members to address perceptions of instability or misalignment between board and operations. 2 CEO's in 18 months, 2 board members moving into the operations realm.
There may well be wonderful reasons for these actions, and they may be moves for the betterment of the club. But I think in the absence of anything other than bland meaningless press releases it's fair for people to raise an eyebrow and not just automatically grab a cup and drink from the kool-aid.

27-07-2016, 10:15 AM
Maybe Gary wasn't available last year , other commitments ? we just don't know, we do know one thing , he is bulldog through and through and has an impressive resume , who cares if the video was amateur it's not about how you perform in front of a camera. I wouldn't be doesn't mean I'm shit at my job

I'd add a further statement to that:

Always beware the charismatic accountant! Charismatic accountants are generally crooks!
It's the dour/awkward ones who are generally competent and trustworthy!...

And Finance and Accountancy people generally make good CEO's.
And I'd rather a slightly awkward accountant running the show than Carl Stefanovic or Darryl Somers!

Besides, I think that, like Eddie McGuire, PG sees himself as the mouthpiece of the club. Therefore perhaps he feels that Gary Kent is a better fit for him.

02-08-2016, 05:09 PM
After his nervous start, here is the CEO talking about building on momentum.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2016-08-02/ceo-speaks