View Full Version : NAB Challenge - Western Bulldogs v Collingwood (Eithad, Saturday 21st )

16-03-2015, 02:03 PM
Plenty of spots up for grabs for round 1 and this game will give us a closer look at who will step up.

Game starts at 7.10pm, but if you want to watch the game before ie Richmond v North (starts 1.10pm) there is free access to both games.

16-03-2015, 03:26 PM
Might go down along with my brother who's a Collingwood supporter. I would say we'd field a side a little bit more stronger this week as this is the last match as you say BAD before the real stuff starts.

17-03-2015, 01:46 PM
From Beveridge's comments I would think pretty close to round 1 side as he can get that are available, with a couple of possibles that he is still deciding on. Players like Daniel, Jong, Campbell.

17-03-2015, 02:10 PM
From Beveridge's comments I would think pretty close to round 1 side as he can get that are available, with a couple of possibles that he is still deciding on. Players like Daniel, Jong, Campbell.

I would have thought Jong was a lock in.

17-03-2015, 02:15 PM
I would have thought Jong was a lock in.

He has been great for us this ore season. Really hoping for some good things from Lin this year. He is one to watch along with many others on our list.

18-03-2015, 12:20 AM
Match Info:

Etihad Stadium, 7.10pmGates open 6:00pm
Broadcast: Fox Footy (7:00pm)
Radio: 3AW (6:00pm), SEN (7:00pm), Triple M (7:00pm)Ticketing & Member Access
Western Bulldogs access members can access Saturday’s NAB Challenge match at Etihad Stadium for FREE*, simply by scanning in with their membership card and barcode.General admission tickets for Saturday night’s match are available via Ticketmaster (http://www.ticketmaster.com.au/wb-v-coll-2015-nab-docklands-victoria-21-03-2015/event/25004E3601170F76?artistid=1414842&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=711&tm_link=artist_msg-0_25004E3601170F76) or at the gate at Etihad Stadium.Membership sales and enquiries will be available on match day at the Bulldogs Marquee outside

*Entry subject to capacity and may not be guaranteed. Sideline Members do not get access.

Double Header Bonus Offer
Western Bulldogs Members and ticket holders looking to head to the match Saturday night are also able to access the afternoon match at Etihad Stadium between Richmond and North Melbourne at no extra cost. So if you feel like a double dose of footy on Saturday, you can head along early and catch the game before we take on Collingwood.

Let’s show up the Pies, sit in the Footscray End
Collingwood have thrown down the gauntlet ahead of Saturday’s game to see who will have the biggest presence behind the goals at their end for the game on Saturday night - so let's show up those Pies.

Make sure you head down to the Footscray End on game day (closest entry via Gate 7) and sit with fellow Bulldogs supporters to cheer on the boys and show Collingwood who has the loudest supporters in the AFL.- See more at: http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-03-17/match-information-wb-v-coll#sthash.ERD8Y2wE.dpuf

19-03-2015, 01:19 PM
Bulldogs name full strength squad for Pies (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-03-19/full-strength-squad-for-pies)

The Western Bulldogs have named an experienced line up heading into their final NAB Challenge match against Collingwood on Saturday.

Captain Bob Murphy and vice-captain Jordan Roughead return to the squad after a week off, alongside Luke Dahlhaus, Jackson Macrae, Tom Boyd, Mitch Wallis and Liam Picken.

Draftee Caleb Daniel holds his place in the squad after an impressive performance in first outing for the Club in Ballarat.

The Bulldogs play Collingwood on Saturday night at Etihad Stadium, commencing at 7:10pm.

WESTERN BULLDOGS v COLLINGWOOD
Etihad Stadium, Saturday 21 March, 7.10pm AEDT

Western Bulldogs
1. Jarrad Grant 2. Robert Murphy 3. Mitch Wallis 4. Marcus Bontempelli 4. Matthew Boyd 6. Luke Dahlhaus 9. Jake Stringer 10. Easton Wood 11. Jack Macrae 15. Tom Campbell 17. Tom Boyd 22. Mitch Honeychurch 23. Jordan Roughead 25. Koby Stevens 27. Will Minson 29. Tory Dickson 30. Joel Hamling 32. Michael Talia 33. Sam Darley 35. Caleb Daniel 38. Dale Morris 39. Jason Johannisen 42. Liam Picken 43. Jack Redpath 44. Brett Goodes 46. Lin Jong 49. Ayce Cordy

Interesting to see Goodes still in the squad, are they considering promoting him in place of Libba?

19-03-2015, 01:37 PM
Extremely tall squad named! Minson, Campbell, Cordy, Boyd, Roughy & Redpath

Interesting there is no Hunter? Is Hrovat still not right?

Hunter and Hrovat probably the only 2 missing from our best 22.

Nice to see Daniel get another run. Would have liked to see Webb get another chance.

Collingwood look full strength also. Should be a good hitout!

19-03-2015, 02:00 PM
How many allowed on the bench for these games?

19-03-2015, 02:06 PM
How many allowed on the bench for these games?

Four and two subs I think.

19-03-2015, 02:32 PM
Extremely tall squad named! Minson, Campbell, Cordy, Boyd, Roughy & Redpath

Interesting there is no Hunter? Is Hrovat still not right?

Hunter and Hrovat probably the only 2 missing from our best 22.

Nice to see Daniel get another run. Would have liked to see Webb get another chance.

Collingwood look full strength also. Should be a good hitout!

I'm not keen on Hunters form so far. I wonder if he is resting, injured or missed out......

19-03-2015, 02:32 PM
So if my maths is correct 3 of those miss out.

I would think if Hrovat and Hunter are missing this game they won't play round 1.

19-03-2015, 02:36 PM
When will the VFL Squad be annouced? Wonder if Hunter or Hrovat will be named in that?

19-03-2015, 03:21 PM
Luke Dalhaus would want to play well I reckon. He was a bit casual against Richmond and muffed a couple of chances because he wasn't 100% focused on what he was doing.

How did he go in the intra club? I missed it and haven't seen any of it.

19-03-2015, 03:26 PM
When will the VFL Squad be annouced? Wonder if Hunter or Hrovat will be named in that?

They play this Saturday as well at 2pm v Werribbee, so will be interesting to see who is playing.

19-03-2015, 03:37 PM
Luke Dalhaus would want to play well I reckon. He was a bit casual against Richmond and muffed a couple of chances because he wasn't 100% focused on what he was doing.

How did he go in the intra club? I missed it and haven't seen any of it.

Play well or what? Not play in rd 1?.. You serious?

19-03-2015, 04:34 PM
I'm not keen on Hunters form so far. I wonder if he is resting, injured or missed out......

Agree, I don't see Hunter as clearly best 22 at this stage. Think he is competing with quite a few others for a spot (Hrovat, Honeychurch, Daniel/Hunter), and at the moment I would have him third in line with Daniel. If Hrovat isn't fit for round one, then it's Hunter v Daniel for mine.

19-03-2015, 04:39 PM
Agree, I don't see Hunter as clearly best 22 at this stage. Think he is competing with quite a few others for a spot (Hrovat, Honeychurch, Daniel/Hunter), and at the moment I would have him third in line with Daniel. If Hrovat isn't fit for round one, then it's Hunter v Daniel for mine.
Before the NAB Cup I thought he was a lock.
Honeychurch is doing everything he can to keep Hunter out and is probably ahead right now.

19-03-2015, 05:08 PM
Play well or what? Not play in rd 1?.. You serious?

No, he'd want to go into rd 1 in good form.

Only a silly person would think he wouldn't play.

19-03-2015, 07:21 PM
Honeychurch is doing everything he can to keep Hunter out and is probably ahead right now.

Way ahead and Honeychurch may have been our best player last Saturday against the Dees. Certainly, in the best 3. I'm very interested in seeing how he goes against the 'pies. The way he has played in our first two NAB Cups, he could turn out to be the dark horse of the preseason.

With Hunter, Everytime I see him play, I keep drifting back to the view that he is a forward and not a midfielder. His primary competition for a spot therefore is Stringer, Crameri, Dahlhaus, Picken (it would seem), Stevens, Dickson and Grant. And 8 into 4 don't go (provided the set is whole numbers). He needs to be absolutely in form to get a game.

With Honeychurch, from the first two NAB Cup matches, I am now of the view that the bloke is a pure midfielder and not a forward at all - a few of us on WOOF kept pegging him in as possibly getting a game as a FP as being his best bet for senior selection.

19-03-2015, 08:01 PM
No Hunter is a surprise. Surely more to it?

19-03-2015, 08:02 PM
Way ahead and Honeychurch may have been our best player last Saturday against the Dees. Certainly, in the best 3. I'm very interested in seeing how he goes against the 'pies. The way he has played in our first two NAB Cups, he could turn out to be the dark horse of the preseason.

With Hunter, Everytime I see him play, I keep drifting back to the view that he is a forward and not a midfielder. His primary competition for a spot therefore is Stringer, Crameri, Dahlhaus, Picken (it would seem), Stevens, Dickson and Grant. And 8 into 4 don't go (provided the set is whole numbers). He needs to be absolutely in form to get a game.

With Honeychurch, from the first two NAB Cup matches, I am now of the view that the bloke is a pure midfielder and not a forward at all - a few of us on WOOF kept pegging him in as possibly getting a game as a FP as being his best bet for senior selection.

Nice post! Good point about hunter being primarily a forward, and with the way Bev seems to be rotating players through the midfield he needs to be good in both positions or absolutely killing it in one to nudge out Honeychurch. At the moment I also see Honeychurch ahead of Hunter. Honey finds the footy and uses it well, he tackles hard for his size and when he is in the forward line he presents well on leads. Hunter will be good for us in due time, I have no doubt about it.

Competition for spots is a good thing and there are many spots up for grabs ATM. This is what could bring a few players on sooner as well, the hope that anyone can pinch a spot in our lineup right now!

19-03-2015, 10:15 PM

Just a little bit now!!!!!!!!

19-03-2015, 10:42 PM
No Hunter is a surprise. Surely more to it?

You were right on the money with that comment.

21-03-2015, 11:15 AM
I'm looking forward to getting along tonight, looks a good side on paper.

Really interesting to know how the MC are thinking at the moment, as it appears we have some good battles for round 1 still going on:-

1. Minson v Campbell v Cordy
2. Grant v Dickson
3. Honeychurch v Daniel v Hrovat (if fit) v Hunter (when back)
4. Darley v JJ (or can we play both?)

Perhaps a few players whose round 1 fortunes rest on tonight.

21-03-2015, 11:50 AM
Decided not to go tonight. Have we got something similar to the stream of the game we had last week?

21-03-2015, 12:50 PM
Decided not to go tonight. Have we got something similar to the stream of the game we had last week?

Pretty sure the AFL stream was because it wasn't on Foxtel. Tonight it is. Maybe there is another way...not sure.

21-03-2015, 03:36 PM
Ill be getting along tonight with my Collingwood supporter brother. Then Ill be back myself in 2 weeks for our opening match of the season at Etihad against West Coast.

21-03-2015, 08:25 PM
jj needs to watch his disposal.

21-03-2015, 08:26 PM
Onya Goodesy. Nice finish!

21-03-2015, 08:27 PM
Wow. J. Grant!!

21-03-2015, 08:28 PM
Gutsy by Grant then. Wouldn't think he'd ever drop in a hole like that. Pity JJ was on the end of it though. He'll have a headache tonight.

21-03-2015, 08:33 PM
Who was stretchered off?

21-03-2015, 08:34 PM
Oh, JJ

21-03-2015, 08:34 PM
Who was stretchered off?

JJ. J Grant took out his first player ever.

21-03-2015, 08:36 PM
Beveridge definitely knows what he's doing by the looks of our handball, run and ball movement.

21-03-2015, 08:36 PM
I see Buckleys we don't tag opposition gun players is working well. Bonts on track for 50 possies.

21-03-2015, 08:37 PM
Dahl should be charged with theft. Owes Jackson a drink.

21-03-2015, 08:47 PM
Good quarter of footy. Looked to ease up a bit late in the term but overall very pleased with what I've seen.

21-03-2015, 08:47 PM
Listening on the radio. SEN made a comment to the effect that Beveridge has got them playing a faster style. Would welcome any thoughts on this by those with vision.

21-03-2015, 08:48 PM
Beveridge definitely knows what he's doing by the looks of our handball, run and ball movement.

It is an exciting brand of football. Loving what I have seen thus far.

PedroArvy
21-03-2015, 08:49 PM
Looks like a much better more attacking style of play compared to last year. Love that forward line filled with big guys.

21-03-2015, 08:49 PM
Listening on the radio. SEN made a comment to the effect that Beveridge has got them playing a faster style. Would welcome any thoughts on this by those with vision.

Some really quick hand ball movements creating space for run. Lovely to watch.

21-03-2015, 08:50 PM
Preseason doesn't mean a lot, but I do like our style now. If this sort of approach is consistently used, should at least be good to watch the side develop.

21-03-2015, 08:51 PM
We haven't moved this quick since 2010.

21-03-2015, 08:51 PM
Bonti's trending for 60 touches at this rate..!
Staggering first quarter.

21-03-2015, 08:53 PM
Scores please, some of us are getting drunk at a wedding in Frankston.

21-03-2015, 08:54 PM
Scores please, some of us are getting drunk at a wedding in Frankston.

36-20 our way.

21-03-2015, 08:56 PM
Jongy licked his fingers seven times before kicking that one...

21-03-2015, 08:57 PM
44-20 Dogs' leading.

21-03-2015, 08:59 PM
Will has been doing some nice ruck work.

21-03-2015, 09:00 PM
Tom Boyd crumbing... And goaling. :)

21-03-2015, 09:01 PM
Nice smother of handball by Woody results in goal. That's happened twice so far and is a great example of effective one percenters.

21-03-2015, 09:02 PM
Tom Boyd crumbing... And goaling. :)

Now Bonts marking and goaling as a CHF... What's going on?

Goals from Boydosaur Jnr and the Bont. Heaven!

57-20 great stuff. Cordy looking pretty good.

Bonti!!

21-03-2015, 09:07 PM
Put Crameri into this forward line and it might be a handful for other sides. How is everyone rating Cordy so far?

21-03-2015, 09:09 PM
Grant is playing possessed. I like him being around the ground.

58-21

really liking the work of second stringers like Granty and Dickson in that passage of play.

Put Crameri into this forward line and it might be a handful for other sides. How is everyone rating Cordy so far?

Think he is looking pretty good. Quite mobile some nice handballs and a couple of marks.

21-03-2015, 09:11 PM
Think he is looking pretty good. Quite mobile some nice handballs and a couple of marks.

He showed signs in the 2nd half of last season, hopefully he will continue to improve this season.

21-03-2015, 09:15 PM
Lin Jong COULD NOT KICK two years ago. Tonight he's looked the best kick on the field.

An amazingly improved footballer!

21-03-2015, 09:18 PM
Lin Jong COULD NOT KICK two years ago. Tonight he's looked the best kick on the field.

An amazingly improved footballer!

He can get better as well. Still has a lot to learn. You have to admire the improvement he has made.

21-03-2015, 09:22 PM
64-28 half time chef.

21-03-2015, 09:25 PM
Jong locked in to round 1. Hamling too, IMO.

Talia has been much better but stay the hell away from ground balls mate!

21-03-2015, 09:25 PM
It will be a tougher 2nd half but the balance between contested and attacking football we are playing is good to watch. Twodogs just sent me a text saying we are playing unsociable football. Is that a good call?

21-03-2015, 09:26 PM
Only 3 possessions for Grant, but he's doing a lot of good things pressure wise. Hopefully he can start to find a bit more of the ball.

21-03-2015, 09:26 PM
Some great signs, I wonder if we will go with Grant and Dickson round 1? Both have been good early.

Goodes and Honey have made claims to play in round 1, too.

21-03-2015, 09:28 PM
Only 3 possessions for Grant, but he's doing a lot of good things pressure wise. Hopefully he can start to find a bit more of the ball.

Just goes to prove that you can contribute even if you can't get your hands on the footy. Good lesson for players to hang in there.

21-03-2015, 09:29 PM
It will be a tougher 2nd half but the balance between contested and attacking football we are playing is good to watch. Twodogs just sent me a text saying we are playing unsociable football. Is that a good call?
Yeah good call by twodogs. Unsocialable and uncompromising.

21-03-2015, 09:32 PM
Yeah good call by twodogs. Unsocialable and uncompromising.

I'm not so sure if that's what I'd say. We're certainly uncompromising though - great to see an aggressive brand of footy.

21-03-2015, 09:33 PM
Tackling has been intense. No easy get out balls for the Pies.

21-03-2015, 09:35 PM
Tackling has been intense. No easy get out balls for the Pies.

I just saw a stat saying Wallis has 7. He might lack a few skills but he tries hard and makes them earn it.

21-03-2015, 09:39 PM
Half Time Stats from the Age:

Top Players
Goals
Player name Lin Jong2Player name Marcus Bontempelli2Player name Brett Goodes2
Disposals
Player name Jack Macrae21
Kicks
Player name Jack Macrae10Player name Marcus Bontempelli10
Handballs
Player name Jack Macrae11Player name Marley Williams11
Contested Possessions
Player name Jack Macrae9
Uncontested Possessions
Player name Jack Macrae12
Marks
Player name Taylor Adams4Player name Jamie Elliott4Player name Jordan Roughead4
Tackles
Player name Mitch Wallis7
Clearances
Player name Jack Macrae3Player name Marcus Bontempelli3

21-03-2015, 09:43 PM
If the guys play with this level of effort, intensity and skill execution throughout the year then irrespective of the number of wins it will lay a great foundation for this young group.
Especially pleasing is the even spread of contribution across the board.
If Bontempelli plays like this all year my wife is going to get very jealous of my man-crush on him.

21-03-2015, 09:45 PM
One guy who's looked really rusty & "off" this pre-season is Stringer.
Wasn't expecting that. Sure he'll come good.

21-03-2015, 09:47 PM
76-28

Wallis with 2 quick goals

21-03-2015, 09:48 PM
Wish they would show Eddie.... missing his ashen face.

21-03-2015, 09:51 PM
Watch 16.10 (to go) in the 3rd on the replay. Grant gets tackled, but rustles slightly loose. Look at him, despite being on the ground, dart his eyes and look to dish off. In previous years we/he would have held the footy in and got a contest, not look to play the game on.

21-03-2015, 09:59 PM
76-28 chef

21-03-2015, 10:04 PM
Never get sick of Grants look away handballs. The Collingwood player looked shocked.

I asked to see him down back, and I like it.

21-03-2015, 10:04 PM
Bonti, Dahlhaus and Wallis have 54 touches and 22 tackles between them. Immense.

21-03-2015, 10:05 PM
Adams is a little prick.

21-03-2015, 10:13 PM
77-46

3/4 Time

21-03-2015, 10:17 PM
pies late 3rd qtr comeback will test whether our young side can hold strong. Come on 'Scray!

21-03-2015, 10:17 PM
Wish this was a 4 point game...

21-03-2015, 10:18 PM
We need to show something in the last quarter

21-03-2015, 10:21 PM
J Grant, shows some courage. Who'd have thunk it?

21-03-2015, 10:22 PM
J Grant, shows some courage. Who'd have thunk it?

About 6-10 times tonight. I like him down back and roaming forward every now and then.

21-03-2015, 10:25 PM
About 6-10 times tonight. I like him down back and roaming forward every now and then.

Same. He's been really good. Here's hoping he can maintain some form.

21-03-2015, 10:28 PM
89-46

21-03-2015, 10:33 PM
Hamling and Roughead have been ultra impressive

21-03-2015, 10:37 PM
Hamling and Roughead have been ultra impressive

And how good is it to have Morris playing on players his size.

I loved that Grant tackle just now!!

21-03-2015, 10:40 PM
And how good is it to have Morris playing on players his size.

I loved that Grant tackle just now!!

A bit of man love for Grant tonight BT. He has been good.

21-03-2015, 10:42 PM
How good is it to see a CHF actually read the flight of the ball and not run under it. Redpath looking good.

21-03-2015, 10:43 PM
A bit of man love for Grant tonight BT. He has been good.

Yep! There were not many on the Grant bandwagon a while back. I so just want him to get near his potential. Because his potential is massive

21-03-2015, 10:50 PM
Win 115-54. :)

21-03-2015, 10:52 PM
Always great to beat the filth!

21-03-2015, 10:53 PM
Certainly didn't see that result coming. Sure it is only preseason but the confidence that result gives to the group going into the season proper will be immense.

21-03-2015, 10:54 PM
Always great to beat the filth!

Beat them. We smashed them ;)

Bonti 29 touches 9 tackles 3 goals, and still a P Plater.

Grant interviewed onfield by Foxtel. Must have impressed. A first for him?

Win 115-54. :)

Thanks for the scores.

Good signs tonight, looking forward to round 1 quite a lot now.

i'd started making a list of the best players but gave up. Team effort boys.

21-03-2015, 10:56 PM
Grant interviewed onfield by Foxtel. Must have impressed. A first for him?

I was about to say it's the first time i've heard him. Seems humble bloke. I remember reading an interview with him and he didn't come across as a footyhead which was nice to see.

21-03-2015, 10:56 PM
Well i'm so pumped after that performance that i'm going out... to do the food shopping.

21-03-2015, 10:57 PM
Well i'm so pumped after that performance that i'm going out... to do the food shopping.

Better get some "hot dogs"!

21-03-2015, 10:58 PM
Bonti 29 touches 9 tackles 3 goals, and still a P Plater.

All class as well.

Great defensive team effort, lots of hard work. Definitely a different style of play executed well.

There are some interesting selection decisions to come with plenty of fringe players putting their hand up. Grants game was very interesting.

21-03-2015, 11:15 PM
Can't wait to watch a replay - always good to beat the Pies......though it is preseason

21-03-2015, 11:24 PM
Good signs tonight, looking forward to round 1 quite a lot now.

Agreed. It is going to be very difficult to pick a team for round one, considering that the likes of Crameri, Stevens, Hrovat and Hunter didn't play whilst Cordy, Grant, Honeychurch and even Daniel all showed plenty.

Super impressive performance. Whilst we were very attacking, it was our defensive structure/set-up which I loved most. The game plan was in full swing, huge credit must go to Beveridge, the coaching staff and players for the four quarter execution. Whilst it is only a pre-season game, it's the best I've seen us play for years. The structures, the support, the sheer intent was very exciting.

21-03-2015, 11:35 PM
Super impressive performance. Whilst we were very attacking, it was our defensive structure/set-up which I loved most. .

I think the Pies ended up with the same amount of inside 50's and we held up pretty well. A lot of experiments as well during the game with players coming off and others coming into defence such as Wood, Roughead, Hamling as well as JJ out early

22-03-2015, 12:02 AM
Very enjoyable to listen to on the radio, but we were beaten in centre clearances 6-17.

Is this a concern?

22-03-2015, 12:04 AM
Very enjoyable to listen to on the radio, but we were beaten in centre clearances 6-17.

Is this a concern?

Remember how we would smash teams in the clearances but get butchered on the rebound? I'd certainly rather be doing the rebounding.

22-03-2015, 12:09 AM

Is this a concern?

Without Libba and Griffen we're going to struggle a lot in this area, but I liked that we often had Bontempelli, Macrae and Honeychurch in the centre. It was a look into the future and will ensure good exposure for the 2-3 year players with the amount of clearances they contest.

22-03-2015, 12:22 AM
Going past the contributions of Macrae & Bonti + a quite a few more round the ball, what I really liked was the injection of the big man strength. Jack Redpath, Hamling, Talia & Tom Boyd, add a fit Roughead, all made a huge difference. We were able to spoil and intercept in the backline, and the long kicks to position in the forward line was good common sense stuff - always a contest at the minimum. Tom Boyd had 2 flying against him all night and he wasn't outmarked. The Boyd-Redpath combination works a treat. Opens up multiple avenues into the forward line. So different to last season.

22-03-2015, 12:51 AM
I was at the game and my goodness was it pleasing to watch compared to the stagnant, turnover riddled garbage we have been serving up the last couple of years. Kicking efficiency was around 77% at one point in the third quarter, not sure what it finished on.

We were certainly the far more desperate side, not sure if the pies were just sticking to 4th gear, in particular with their pressure or lack of at times.

The most pleasing aspect for me was there was hardly any easy rebound goals for the opposition. The ones where we would stuff around with the ball up forward trying to find an option, turn it over and the fast break walk in goal occurs.
Our faster ball movement and willingness to take the game on opens the forward line up more and there really wasn't any bombing the ball to packs along the boundary hoping for Minson to spoil it and force it into touch and another stoppage.

I still worry about our ball movement in the back half if Murphy gets close attention. Boyd is just really another Higgins and offers nothing creatively.

22-03-2015, 01:26 AM
Gee Hamling really impressed me tonight.

Roughy was also sensational. It was back to the 2013 year where high balls were coming in and I knew Roughy was going to spoil it.

Both Hamling and Roughy showed terrific judgement for when to take the grab and when to kill the ball.

Jong is such an asset to have around the ball. He bashes and crashes and is getting smarter with releasing handballs to open team mates.

Can't really fault any player tonight. The pressure was manic.

22-03-2015, 01:41 AM
It's hard to say if this is a sign of the things to come this season but I have to say we played really well tonight. A few players the caught my attention tonight were Bonts, Jong, Redpath, Daniel just to name a few.

Cordy did good I thought tonight. Murph and Morris still are very important for experience as we have lost a lot of it.

I'm still getting used to the new players and some of the jumper number changed but I reckon we have some great young new talent coming through.

22-03-2015, 10:12 AM

Is this a concern?

We have moved out Cooney and Griffen and moved M.Boyd to a more defensive role out of the centre and lost Liberatore to a knee injury. These 4 occupied the majority of centre square contests last season and 3 of them weren't highly regarded for defensive efforts. I believe Cooneys main reason for departing the club was to get away from being asked to be more accountable and to run just as hard both ways rather than just running hard forward.

These 4 players have been replaced in the middle by a combination of youngsters willing to listen to their coach. While they will likely be beaten in centre clearances I think we are on a winner long term because the way these guys disrupt contests, niggle their opponents and then run hard both ways in contests.

It might wake a while but they will continue to improve.

22-03-2015, 11:04 AM
We have moved out Cooney and Griffen and moved M.Boyd to a more defensive role out of the centre and lost Liberatore to a knee injury. These 4 occupied the majority of centre square contests last season and 3 of them weren't highly regarded for defensive efforts. I believe Cooneys main reason for departing the club was to get away from being asked to be more accountable and to run just as hard both ways rather than just running hard forward.

These 4 players have been replaced in the middle by a combination of youngsters willing to listen to their coach. While they will likely be beaten in centre clearances I think we are on a winner long term because the way these guys disrupt contests, niggle their opponents and then run hard both ways in contests.

It might wake a while but they will continue to improve.

We did win total clearances which is something and a great effort from a young midfield.

22-03-2015, 11:19 AM
We did win total clearances which is something and a great effort from a young midfield.

One of the many highlights of the night.

22-03-2015, 11:23 AM
I saw more last night from Ayce Cordy than in the past 4 years!

Happy with the overall performance but as good as we looked Collingwood looked equally as bad (always a good thing). Love the run & carry, as Cyberdoggie said, much better than the stagnant tripe we dished up over the past few years!

Jack Redpath has got a seriously good set of hands!

As a former coach would say, the performance was pleasing.

22-03-2015, 11:29 AM
Good to hear from you Coondog. That game style last night must have brought back fond memories of the Eade era for you.

We are going to play much better sides than Collingwood and there will be games where we will get thumped but you have to like the direction the coach is taking and how a young group have the opportunity to develop together.

I bumped into Brian Cordy at halftime and commented on how well Ayce was playing. He could not have looked happier.

22-03-2015, 11:30 AM

Ayce was slipping under the radar last year for Footscray as well and while I'm delighted with his form, I'm not overly surprised.

I heard an interview with him the other day and he rattled out about 4 of them before I gave up counting :)

Great to hear from you.

22-03-2015, 12:20 PM
I was at a wedding last night so missed the game but I don't think I've ever quite looked as forward to watching a pre-season game replay quite as much as this. Easy to say that pre-season results mean nothing but it feels like this one changes the narrative a little. plus it has to help the membership department.

22-03-2015, 12:48 PM
Some really positives signs last night with the intensity shown across the board as good as I've seen for a fair while.

We all recognize it's going to be a pretty tough year, but if we show the same level of effort as in this game, then I think we can all be satisfied.. And if it all goes to shit (which I don't think it will) at least we have the Bont. :D

22-03-2015, 01:07 PM

Happy with the overall performance but as good as we looked Collingwood looked equally as bad (always a good thing). Love the run & carry, as Cyberdoggie said, much better than the stagnant tripe we dished up over the past few years!

Good call on Cordy. The Fox commentators made note of how he was not wearing any tape and just seemed to be moving more freely.

I thought he was pretty good too.

It was hard to know what to really take from the game because Collingwood were so poor, but it was at least nice to see guys working really hard and patches of play that gave hope and joy.

22-03-2015, 01:10 PM
Yep! There were not many on the Grant bandwagon a while back. I so just want him to get near his potential. Because his potential is massive

There were plenty on the bandwagon at one stage. The the bandwagon started rolling backwards down a hill and smashed into a tree and most people jumped off. It has been a rough ride for those who stayed but it'll be so great to see him make it as such a unique player

22-03-2015, 01:12 PM
Also, is it wrong to say Caleb Daniel is adorable. Because I don't care. He is adorable.

22-03-2015, 01:56 PM
Also, is it wrong to say Caleb Daniel is adorable. Because I don't care. He is adorable.

He looked pretty sharp, didn't he? Seems to have a few tricks.

22-03-2015, 01:59 PM

He can play a bit too.

God bless Simon Dalrypmle.

22-03-2015, 02:04 PM

Need a welcome back button

22-03-2015, 02:06 PM

He is a magician, a clearance specialist, a great linking player, going to be a star.

22-03-2015, 02:09 PM
Observations after a late night watch
The quick game plan . Run Run Run, and more in line with the modern game
Jarryd Grants attack on the ball. Pleasing
Unfortunately named Tory was very good, as was Ayce .
The intensity was tremendous, and look a club in synergy .

22-03-2015, 02:12 PM
He can play a bit too.

God bless Simon Dalrypmle.

Tremendous decision maker and shows poise .
Liked Hamling's game as well.Talia on the left foot ( wow wee!)
Liked the pies game plan ( kick it to Cloke ) in trouble ( kick it to Cloke)

22-03-2015, 02:32 PM
Struggled to get to watch as was away last night and my Foxtel recording failed.

Managed to get in front of the box and saw the last 3 quarters today and was very pleased.

Cordy was excellent and big Minno had a dominant last quarter.

Bonts, Macrae, Dahlhaus etc such a great team effort. Murphy magnificent.

Loved the run and continual play on.

Back line also worked well. Hamling looks good.

Bring on the Eagles.

22-03-2015, 02:50 PM

I believe he has a lot to offer and will get games, but I didn't truly understand how small he is until I saw Mitch Honeychuch put his arm around Caleb's shoulder. Mitch is small, but he is much, much taller than Caleb.

22-03-2015, 05:37 PM
Well l did not expect that result!
We were very good but the pies looked like rubbish. They maybe in for a bad year....:)
If our guys can keep it up l think we will win a fair few more games than l penciled us in for. Bring on round 1 and lets see how the real footy goes!

22-03-2015, 06:20 PM

11 Disposals in just over a quarter, he looks tenacious.

22-03-2015, 06:25 PM
11 Disposals in just over a quarter, he looks tenacious.

Tenacious D ... Is this a tribute?

22-03-2015, 06:26 PM

Yeah why not. :)

22-03-2015, 07:05 PM
The intensity was tremendous, and look a club in synergy .

like this! and agree.not something we could say last year!

22-03-2015, 07:17 PM

You gotta believe me

22-03-2015, 07:20 PM

He certainly did. He's got smarts for days.

22-03-2015, 09:20 PM
Well l did not expect that result!
We were very good but the pies looked like rubbish. They maybe in for a bad year....:)

The Filth were rubbish because we made them look slow,soft and meek with our pace, tenacity, intensity and commitment ;)

22-03-2015, 10:48 PM
Went to the game and sat near the interchange bench. Sure is an exhausting game plan. Players were coming off absolutely spent especially in the last quarter. Thought Collingwood might come back because of this, but thankfully our boys kept going.
Also was near some young boys from Yarraville-Seddon Eagles maybe under 14's or 13's. They were being a magnificent cheer squad especially in the last quarter and during the Auskick game. Saw a couple of future stars dancing and doing gymnastics to the music playing in the background in that Auskick game. Admittedly one only looked about 4 and the other maybe 6. Weren't really interested in getting the ball but very entertaining!!

23-03-2015, 01:35 AM
I believe he has a lot to offer and will get games, but I didn't truly understand how small he is until I saw Mitch Honeychuch put his arm around Caleb's shoulder. Mitch is small, but he is much, much taller than Caleb.

It's hard to believe a guy my height is playing AFL.

He looks to be a real successor to Libba so it's good he's here.

23-03-2015, 10:54 AM
It's hard to believe a guy my height is playing AFL.

He looks to be a real successor to Libba so it's good he's here.

I like the helmet too. One extra high tackle a half of footy won't mean much in and of itself to his brain post footy. But if he plays 200 AFL games it would. I like he obviously listens to advice for his own health after footy. Or at least that's the story I've made up and like.

23-03-2015, 11:41 AM
I like the helmet too. One extra high tackle a half of footy won't mean much in and of itself to his brain set footy. But if he plays 200 AFL games it would. I like he obviously listens to advice for his own health after footy. Or at least that's the story I've made up and like.

I like that you've made it up too.

23-03-2015, 09:41 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-03-23/bontis-big-game

Check out Bonti's highlight reel from the game.

His handball at 1:28 that hits Jong at full tilt is pure poetry in motion.

23-03-2015, 09:49 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-03-23/bontis-big-game

Check out Bonti's highlight reel from the game.

His handball at 1:28 that hits Jong at full tilt is pure poetry in motion.

Pretty sure that wasn't meant for Jong but Jong made it look good through hard running. Jong is pretty exciting too atm. What I love about Bonti is that he attracts opposition players and frees up some of our own in close. All great players do that.

23-03-2015, 10:33 PM
Oh... And our best contested mid (Libba), our next best contested mid (Smith), future gun mid (Hrovat) and our 2014 leading goal kicker (Crameri) were not playing.

Me thinks free agents at years end might actually pay attention when JMac calls their manager.

24-03-2015, 11:48 AM
Bont and Jong have a lot of exchanges in that footage. It almost looks like they have been told to move to the same spots. Wherever one is the other is.

24-03-2015, 01:15 PM
Bont and Jong have a lot of exchanges in that footage. It almost looks like they have been told to move to the same spots. Wherever one is the other is.

Are you perhaps reading too much into this?

One would hope our mids, whoever they are, are linking up together.

24-03-2015, 01:21 PM
Are you perhaps reading too much into this?

One would hope our mids, whoever they are, are linking up together.

Possibly. Either way they seem to have good synergy

24-03-2015, 03:31 PM
Oh... And our best contested mid (Libba), our next best contested mid (Smith), future gun mid (Hrovat) and our 2014 leading goal kicker (Crameri) were not playing.

Me thinks free agents at years end might actually pay attention when JMac calls their manager.

Not sure I would be spending too much $$$ on free agents.

Bonti, Stringer, McRae and co will be asking for big pay rises in a few years. ( plus Boyds big contract).

25-03-2015, 12:39 PM
Finally saw the replay. Won't repeat good reports above. Everyone played well.

Who was the Fine Cotton ring-in in Grant's jumper? Totally different player - did some of the hardest stuff on the field. Very impressive.

Ditto Honeychurch.

And Redpath put in the best tall forward performance in a Dogs jumper I've seen for a while. Even popped up in defence.

Daniel is going to be fun to watch in the coming years. Like the way he backs himself and mostly it comes off.

25-03-2015, 01:59 PM
Finally saw the replay. Won't repeat good reports above. Everyone played well.

Who was the Fine Cotton ring-in in Grant's jumper? Totally different player - did some of the hardest stuff on the field. Very impressive.
Ditto Honeychurch.

And Redpath put in the best tall forward performance in a Dogs jumper I've seen for a while. Even popped up in defence.

Daniel is going to be fun to watch in the coming years. Like the way he backs himself and mostly it comes off.

Whoever it was certainly had a Bold Personality about him. (See what I did there?...)

Redpath's retention is looking more like a masterstroke every time he turns out.

As for Daniel, it seems like the first question we're asking when we look at draftees is "Can they play footy?". Which is refreshing.