View Full Version : Game Day Round 2 2015 - Richmond V Western Bulldogs

10-04-2015, 06:32 PM
Dogs by 11 points
First Goal: Dahl
BOG: Macrae

10-04-2015, 06:42 PM
for those of you who are VRC members, tomorrow there are reciprocal rights to enter the members area. Buy tickets at Gate 2 right hand window.

Dogs by 1 point
First Goal: TBoyd
BOG: Dahl

10-04-2015, 06:49 PM
for those of you who are VRC members, tomorrow there are reciprocal rights to enter the members area. Buy tickets at Gate 2 right hand window.

Dogs by 1 point

Would love to beat those Tigers again by a few points :)

10-04-2015, 06:52 PM
Them by 7 pts
BOG Macrae
1st Goal Big Tom

10-04-2015, 07:04 PM

Dogs by 1 point

How do you mean buy tickets? Do we get in for nothing with the membership, or is there a fee? Do you know how much?

Cheers.

10-04-2015, 07:16 PM
How do you mean buy tickets? Do we get in for nothing with the membership, or is there a fee? Do you know how much?

Cheers.

I am not sure of the price but its more than the normal general admin, but you can sit anywhere on level 1 or 4 and in the members area. You can buy three tickets with your VRC membership.

PS: Must where a collared shirt.

10-04-2015, 07:29 PM
Dogs by 4 points
First goal Crameri
BOG Bont

10-04-2015, 08:21 PM
Dogs 14pts
First Goal: Dahl
BOG: Wallis- towel up Cotchy you good thing.

10-04-2015, 10:00 PM
Dogs by 22
BOG- Bonti
First goal- T Boyd

11-04-2015, 12:20 AM
Richmond by 24
BOG Bonti
First Goal Dickson

11-04-2015, 08:16 AM
Richmond by 26
BOG Stringer
First goal Stringer 1 of 7.

11-04-2015, 09:10 AM
Dogs by 21
First goal T Boyd
BOG Stringer

Really looking forward to the double header today.

11-04-2015, 09:25 AM
Dogs by 38
First goal- Crammers
BOG-Stringer

11-04-2015, 09:52 AM
Dogs by 61.
First goal Stringer.
BOG Talia.

Cordy to have a blinder.

11-04-2015, 10:40 AM
Tiges by 21
First goal - Jong
BOG - Stringer

11-04-2015, 10:42 AM
I watched them in the first half against Carlton. Wasn't that impressed by Richmond. In a close call I'll go for us always.

Dogs by a goal
BOG - Stringer
First Goal - As Darce would say, Lukey D.

Note: You know your team is developing when you have trouble guessing who will kick the first goal.

11-04-2015, 11:01 AM
Tigers by 18
First Goal Stringer
BOG Fooch

11-04-2015, 11:07 AM
Doggies by 23
First Goal - Dickson
BOG - The Fooch and comes into 15-1 to win the brownlow ;)

11-04-2015, 11:15 AM
Richmond by 26
BOG Stringer
First goal Stringer 1 of 7.

Can't see the combination as a possibility. Doubt we could lose with Stringer getting 7.

Dogs by 27
First Goal Cordy
BOG M Boyd

11-04-2015, 11:38 AM
Dogs by 2 points.
First goal Cordy.
BOG Crameri.

11-04-2015, 11:49 AM
Richmond by 21
T Boyd first goal
Murphy BOG

So great to be at the G on a sunny Saturday afternoon.

11-04-2015, 12:27 PM
I have a home and away membership, but have never used it at the G.

Any tips on where I should put myself upon arrival, also, are there any hoops I need to jump through or should I be able to just scan my membership card and go anywhere in GA I want (I'm assuming it's not a ticketed game)?

11-04-2015, 12:34 PM
I have a home and away membership, but have never used it at the G.

Any tips on where I should put myself upon arrival, also, are there any hoops I need to jump through or should I be able to just scan my membership card and go anywhere in GA I want (I'm assuming it's not a ticketed game)?

Cheer squad is at the Ponsford end, so gate 1 is a safe bet.

It's pretty pleasant on the wing at Punt Rd I must say.

11-04-2015, 12:40 PM
Cheer squad is at the Ponsford end, so gate 1 is a safe bet.

It's pretty pleasant on the wing at Punt Rd I must say.

As long as I can avoid the god awful Grog Squad!

Thanks for the tips.

11-04-2015, 12:58 PM
Dogs by 5 points
First goal: Bontempelli
BOG: Bontempelli.

11-04-2015, 01:26 PM
Goodes will be wearing the vest, no change

11-04-2015, 01:33 PM
Goodes will be wearing the vest, no change
Good choice

11-04-2015, 01:54 PM
Shane Edwards out.

11-04-2015, 01:54 PM
Ricky Petterard in.

11-04-2015, 02:32 PM
Edwards out, together with Deledio, is great news for us.

11-04-2015, 02:35 PM
Dogs by 32
BOG Jong
1st goal. Stringer

11-04-2015, 02:47 PM
Can't see the combination as a possibility. Doubt we could lose with Stringer getting 7.

Dogs by 27
First Goal Cordy
BOG M Boyd

We could if Richmond kick 15+ goals. Anyway it's just a bit of fun.

11-04-2015, 03:14 PM
Ordinary effort by Picken and Minson cost us a goal

11-04-2015, 03:16 PM
Obviously the umpires are going to punish T Boyd for his big contract. Second week in a row he's being held anytime the ball goes in his direction and no free.

11-04-2015, 03:16 PM
Ten free kicks to three, what a joke.

Liam has disappointed me, he's done some excellent work to win the ball, only to give it up too easily.

11-04-2015, 03:18 PM
Great first quarter , keep it going Doggies.

11-04-2015, 03:19 PM
Good first quarter. A number of silly mistakes and turnovers and a lack of composure, which cost a few goals, but pleasing nonetheless. Our forward pressure was once again excellent. At one stage 8 inside 50 tackles to 0

11-04-2015, 03:24 PM
Picken and Grant poor turnovers

11-04-2015, 03:25 PM
Geez our kicking has been shithouse. Grant and Picken just terrible.

11-04-2015, 03:28 PM
Woeful umpiring. What a shock.

11-04-2015, 03:34 PM
Stringer will not do the basics well.

11-04-2015, 03:46 PM
Richmond defence very worried about Boyd. I hope we use it

11-04-2015, 03:47 PM
This is going to be another arm wrestle. Great contest but not great football.

11-04-2015, 03:48 PM
This is excellent. Not necessarily playing great football but our fight and determination and tackling is fantastic.

11-04-2015, 03:49 PM
Bad kicking is bad football.

11-04-2015, 03:49 PM
We should be 5 goals in front. Missed a few easy ones.

Very happy with their work rate, second quarter was great in shutting down Martin.

If anyone had a doubt about operation Get Aelx Rance, he ran a masterclass that half.

11-04-2015, 03:50 PM
So many silly mistakes yet we are in front. Can't ask for more than that. Should have had at least another couple of goals with the chances we've had.

11-04-2015, 03:53 PM
This is excellent. Not necessarily playing great football but our fight and determination and tackling is fantastic.

Parked the bus and tried to score on the counter for about 5 minutes there.
We can't let Richmond have that much disposal or it'll hurt us. On the other side some of the defending has been exceptional and M.Boyd's steal and assist was brilliant.

11-04-2015, 03:53 PM
Great endeavor, but our disposal has been average. Need to talk more in the forward line too.

11-04-2015, 03:57 PM
Talia has been great on Riewoldt and loving Jong's intercept mark and then spoil.

11-04-2015, 03:59 PM
Like others love the effort just not execution. Should be at least 2 or 3 goal further in front. I hope Richmond don't make us pay in the 2nd half.

11-04-2015, 04:13 PM
Set shots like that shouldn't be missed.

11-04-2015, 04:14 PM
Tory Dickson our best set shot. Well done.

11-04-2015, 04:14 PM
Dickson gets that.

11-04-2015, 04:15 PM
Stringer has the yips.

11-04-2015, 04:18 PM
Dickson needs to give Stringer a few lessons.

Dickson again. Grant seems lethargic.

Dickson again. While he has some doubters he works hard on his game and makes the most of his opportunities.

11-04-2015, 04:19 PM
Woohoo!

11-04-2015, 04:22 PM
I reckon Grant and Jake had a big night last night ;)

11-04-2015, 04:26 PM
Stringer needs a set shot kicking coach.

11-04-2015, 04:30 PM
Now comes the challenge. Goodes on Cordy off

11-04-2015, 04:30 PM
Goodes in for Cordy.

11-04-2015, 04:31 PM
Thats Stringer.

That's more like it Stringer. 22 points in front

Stringer just needs to play on at every opportunity

11-04-2015, 04:32 PM
Hopefully a confidence booster for jake

11-04-2015, 04:33 PM
Champagne Football!!!

11-04-2015, 04:33 PM
And jakes gives one off to Grant. The berocca must have kicked in.

11-04-2015, 04:34 PM
We need to finish the quarter off strongly.

11-04-2015, 04:39 PM
Fought of the challenge and kicked a couple of crucial goals. Well done lads.

11-04-2015, 04:40 PM
Stringer just needs to play on at every opportunity

Yes I agree with that.

11-04-2015, 04:41 PM
Excellent finish to the quarter, just need to finish off now. Disposal efficiency is up to respectable 73%

11-04-2015, 04:41 PM
Have to keep the scoreboard ticking over in the 4th quarter. It would be ideal if Grant and Dickson added goals

11-04-2015, 04:43 PM
I wish we could capitalise on our opportunities.......

Great hard running. JJ and Jongy are running their legs off.

Disco Stubstarting to come into the game too, it has taken 6 quarters, but looks great. He is really enjoying taking the 3rd defender/HB defender

11-04-2015, 04:58 PM
Have to keep the scoreboard ticking over in the 4th quarter. It would be ideal if Grant and Dickson added goals

Just need Grant to step up now.

11-04-2015, 05:04 PM
How the hell wasn't that a mark for JOng

11-04-2015, 05:06 PM
The ump pulled a gun, took Jongs wallet, went to the ATM stole all his money, drove around to his house, stole his car, then drove it to his parents place, stole all their stuff, then nicked his parents car.

Then the crowd roared "JONGY was robbed!"

11-04-2015, 05:09 PM
29 frees to 13.....!!!!!

Geez... We must've been second to the footy today!!!

Fk me!

11-04-2015, 05:14 PM
You've got to love this club. Arm wrestle won convincingly.

Go dogs! Awesome!

Fantastic. This is so damn good. 2 from 2.

11-04-2015, 05:17 PM
Oh yeah, go dogs.

11-04-2015, 05:18 PM
Great win for the club. Gives us some confidence for next week, and we'll need every ounce of it.

11-04-2015, 05:21 PM
Are we on top of the ladder right now? That'll do. Stop the season.

11-04-2015, 05:22 PM
Did. We. Win ?!?!

11-04-2015, 05:29 PM
Did we win!

We shit it in.

11-04-2015, 05:29 PM
So happy what. A great effort

11-04-2015, 05:33 PM
Pressure and tackling was just superb. Field kicking was poor all day but we got the job done.

Umpiring was horrific. 30-13 is just a joke.

Poor T.Boyd gets murdered and gets nothing.

11-04-2015, 05:35 PM
Despite the bloody umpires we hung in. Great team effort. I just love beating Richmond

11-04-2015, 05:35 PM
Terrific win.. Battled hard and took our chances when they presented.. Well some of the time.

Free kick count of 13-30 was dead set embarrassing.

11-04-2015, 05:37 PM
T.Boyd was good in the ruck in his little cameo and palmed the ball to our advantage when it was needed.

11-04-2015, 05:38 PM
Terrific win.. Battled hard and took our chances when they presented.. Well some of the time.

Agreed on all counts.

11-04-2015, 05:40 PM

Great win. Season defining stuff. It's really good to get a couple in the 'W' column early on.

11-04-2015, 05:43 PM
Wow. Just wow.

11-04-2015, 05:43 PM
Great win. Season defining stuff.

Not quite, but we have set ourselves a very high standard of how we pressure teams around the ball. Our tackling was ferocious... The Bont is leading the way.

11-04-2015, 05:44 PM
What an absolutely passionate, fantastic win! We are made the right stuff. Huge credit to the players and coaching staff, 2-0 who would have thought!?

So proud.

Umpiring was disgraceful - they should be sent to the VFL - the amount of clear stuff ups was pathetic on their behalf. Arguably the worst umpiring I have ever seen.

11-04-2015, 05:49 PM
Terrific, really terrific. Withstood an appallingly badly umpired game, answered the challenges as they came. Plenty to do to improve, but lots to like in how they're going about it.

11-04-2015, 05:50 PM
Not quite, but we have set ourselves a very high standard of how we pressure teams around the ball. Our tackling was ferocious... The Bont is leading the way.

Probably not but it's fun to get excited. We're a week away from a huge reality check so we might as well live it up.

11-04-2015, 06:05 PM
Probably not but it's fun to get excited. We're a week away from a huge reality check so we might as well live it up.

I think we are all pretty realistic to where we sit, perhaps we are a little better than I thought, but next week is a chance to go up against the best team of the last 5 years and test ourselves.. Great challenge, but one we will no doubt relish.

11-04-2015, 06:07 PM

Fun to dream.

11-04-2015, 06:08 PM

Yeah I guess it has been ages since we went into a game as overwhelming favourites.

11-04-2015, 06:10 PM
Yeah I guess it has been ages since we went into a game as overwhelming favourites.

Well played.

11-04-2015, 06:16 PM
A win on the G also makes it special. Imagine how much our young guns will be savouring todays win.

11-04-2015, 06:24 PM
Fantastic WIN!!!!!
Umps murdered us and we still got the chocolates.
This group of boys sure are made of The Right Stuff.

11-04-2015, 06:25 PM
A win on the G also makes it special. Imagine how much our young guns will be savouring todays win.
Best ground in Australia for footy. Apparently today's crowd was the biggest we've played in front of since 2011

11-04-2015, 06:32 PM
Can't wipe the smile off my face! Am really looking forward to watching next week and seeing where we really are at. So so happy right now. Missed the game but cant wait for the replay. Well done boys! (And thanks to all for the game updates)

11-04-2015, 06:44 PM
Where the beers at

11-04-2015, 06:46 PM
Loved Wallis's kamakazi ferociousness, Honeychurch's tenacity, Murphy's class, Bonti's vision, MBoyd's composure, Will's big heart, Jong & JJ's speed. Yep - a lot to like. Bring on the Hawks. We will not die wondering, that's for sure.

Dickson is bloody fantastic. Reckon he should be giving goal kicking lessons to Stringer, Dahl & Crameri.

I'm guessing Wood who was also good today, will re-sign very soon too.

11-04-2015, 06:46 PM
I'm thinking 3 and 3 after 6 games, but I think we could honestly surprise Sydney.

11-04-2015, 07:13 PM
Best ground in Australia for footy. Apparently today's crowd was the biggest we've played in front of since 2011

Utter rubbish. What about Whitten Oval. ;)

11-04-2015, 07:15 PM
Any Bulldog parent that sends his kids to school on monday is a bum!

11-04-2015, 07:19 PM
I dropped into the seconds and then the firsts. Geez Richmond have some dregs as supporters. I think it has to do with being a powerhouse 40 years ago..... I look forward to seeing Hawthorn's bandwagon jumpers going the same way over the next 40 years..

11-04-2015, 07:27 PM
Rance provided an excellent audition to his new club.

11-04-2015, 07:29 PM
Did. We. Win ?!?!

We. Shitted. It. In.

11-04-2015, 07:36 PM

I remember him out marking Boyd and yelling "There's two million dollar a year footballers... One for Footscray and one for Fremantle!"

11-04-2015, 08:14 PM
27800 members! I'm sure my son said there was 26000 early this week. Nothing like a good win to boost membership

11-04-2015, 08:33 PM
What a day. I was sitting there at 3 quarter time thinking how I've missed the excitement of being at the footy. I remember last year sitting their in boredom most games. It's amazing how things have changed. Throat is sore and my voice is hoarse but I'm on top of the world. Always good to beat them!

11-04-2015, 08:43 PM
Tory Dickson is the new sharpshooter. We have the big blokes who will be instrumental but with dead eye medium forwards running about it can be the difference and we have them!

Watched the game with some very loud Tiger idiots and I've got to say absolutely enjoyed the shizenhouzin outta today!

Who cares what's coming next week we have little expectation and little pressure and to be honest we have gone down to Tassie before, they ain't all that down there. The bombers will be desperate so expect them fools to soften them up, take them on in the cold and we will be just fine.

I'm enjoying tonight for what it is......a bloody tiger beating.....love it!!

11-04-2015, 08:45 PM
27800 members! I'm sure my son said there was 26000 early this week. Nothing like a good win to boost membership

Good to see it rising but if it isn't at this time of year your in trouble.

11-04-2015, 08:49 PM

Dobbed in one of our cheer squad who was then evicted. Don't know what someone could possibly say to upset him so much but come off a little precious in my eyes. Pretty much like their other "A" graders.

11-04-2015, 08:56 PM
Dobbed in one of our cheer squad who was then evicted. Don't know what someone could possibly say to upset him so much but come off a little precious in my eyes. Pretty much like their other "A" graders.

Maybe it was a comment on the size of his penis?

NoName
11-04-2015, 09:01 PM
It's been already been mentioned but I'll say it anyway - the umpiring today was disgraceful.

On the other hand, how good was it to not only play on the G but actually win! - That will teach the cocky Richmond supporters who thought they would thrash us.

Next week will be the real test.

11-04-2015, 09:02 PM
Maybe it was a comment on the size of his penis?

Well I sued my imagination and all I could think of was someone questioning his sexuality. Look I don't know what was said but you'd want your players focusing on the play not worrying about the crowd. I'm sure Bob copped a lot worse at the other end.

11-04-2015, 09:10 PM
Well I sued my imagination and all I could think of was someone questioning his sexuality. Look I don't know what was said but you'd want your players focusing on the play not worrying about the crowd. I'm sure Bob copped a lot worse at the other end.

Exactly. If he is focused on the peanut in the crowd then it's the peanut in the crowd that's winning.

11-04-2015, 09:26 PM
On the other hand, how good was it to not only play on the G but actually win!

3 in a row at the G?

NoName
11-04-2015, 09:34 PM
3 in a row at the G?

Well it was the first win at the G for me in a while...

11-04-2015, 09:43 PM
Well it was the first win at the G for me in a while...

We played and beat Melbourne there the last two years

11-04-2015, 09:50 PM
Really enjoyed today, another great team effort where it's hard to point out a few players. The Club will be rapt to get a win at the G, especially under such trying conditions.

I must say, the umpiring today was some of the worst I've seen over the years. We were robbed time and time again, unfortunately for the umpires, we were simply too good and they couldn't steal it from us.

Highlights, Fooch, Honey, Wally - defensive stuff and winning some crucial balls.
Dickson, our best kick for goal.
Talia, did some very nice things defensively.
Boyd (M) some great efforts pushing himself with his running, crucial.

Not a lot of sides are going to be marking us down for an easy win.

Was great to see Libba getting around at the VFL too, had a crutch but took the stairs in the grandstand without it.

11-04-2015, 09:50 PM
We played and beat Melbourne there the last two years

2013 they beat us there.

11-04-2015, 09:52 PM
2013 they beat us there.

Yeah I remember that - was one of the most vitriolic anti-McCartney, anti-etc evenings on WOOF!

11-04-2015, 10:00 PM
Dickson should have had 5 goals to his name. The replays of the "touched" goal provided no evidence whatsoever that it was.

11-04-2015, 10:00 PM
Go-Dogs, I was very impressed with Honeychurch today. He harrased and created a number of opportunities which related in a couple of goals. He was the reason why Wood kicked his final quarter goal.

11-04-2015, 10:05 PM
2013 they beat us there.

Yes you are right 3 point loss

11-04-2015, 10:06 PM
Dickson should have had 5 goals to his name. The replays of the "touched" goal provided no evidence whatsoever that it was.

Yes that was a goal, more cheating by the umps.

11-04-2015, 10:08 PM

Goal ump called it touched originally so rarely they over rule if they can't tell. Makes it pointless.

11-04-2015, 10:33 PM
Check these stats out. Sooooooooooooooo different to last year! Bevo really has made some changes.
(from Footywire)

Head to Head
Richmond Statistic Western Bulldogs
224 Kicks 195
179 Handballs 131
403 Disposals 326
1.25 Kick to Handball Ratio 1.49
113 Marks 83
51 Tackles 73
36 Hitouts 41
30 Frees For 13
13 Frees Against 30
9 Goals Kicked 12
10 Behinds Kicked 10
2 Rushed Behinds 3
21 Scoring Shots 25
42.9% Conversion 48.0%
44.78 Disposals Per Goal 27.17
19.19 Disps Per Scoring Shot 13.04
54 Inside 50s 48
2.57 In50s Per Scoring Shot 1.92
6.00 Inside 50s Per Goal 4.00
35.2%% In50s Score 45.8%
16.7% % In50s Goal 25.0%

11-04-2015, 11:17 PM
What a great day out at the footy today was. Really enjoyed and winning today was especially great. Loved our pressure we applied to them and the effort was there all day. Thought Dickson was great, Dahl very good, Stringer up forward took some great marks, liked how JJ went at times, Murph still so important and Talia did good down back.

11-04-2015, 11:20 PM
Obviously T Boyd was well beaten but I noticed he laid 6 tackles - huge amount for a key forward. Good sign that he continues to do the team-oriented things even when it is not his day offensively.

11-04-2015, 11:22 PM
Obviously T Boyd was well beaten but I noticed he laid 6 tackles - huge amount for a key forward. Good sign that he continues to do the team-oriented things even when it is not his day offensively.

Important we keep playing him and give him more games.

11-04-2015, 11:26 PM
Tory Dickson is the new sharpshooter. We have the big blokes who will be instrumental but with dead eye medium forwards running about it can be the difference and we have them!

Watched the game with some very loud Tiger idiots and I've got to say absolutely enjoyed the shizenhouzin outta today!

Who cares what's coming next week we have little expectation and little pressure and to be honest we have gone down to Tassie before, they ain't all that down there. The bombers will be desperate so expect them fools to soften them up, take them on in the cold and we will be just fine.

I'm enjoying tonight for what it is......a bloody tiger beating.....love it!!

Exactly. They are playing with zero pressure, little expectation, and you can tell they're all just enjoying their footy. The pressure is squarely on the Hawks to ensure we don't catch them napping.

11-04-2015, 11:55 PM
Grant got credited with 3 tackles, although watching the replay there's heaps more where he's second in it, so not credited. It might not seem a lot, but in perspective... Only 5 Tigers players had more tackles than Grant and he was top third for us.

12-04-2015, 12:35 AM
The meltdown is on over on the Richmond board of that other site! Quite amusing actually!

12-04-2015, 01:03 AM
The foundations of the way we played today haven't been laid in six months, this is a team that knows what's required from a pressure perspective through repetition.

Having said that, the enthusiasm for that style of play isn't something I've seen in some time, probably since the last couple of months of 2013.

What really excites me about our side at the moment, is that we can still get the job done against middle of the road teams without even pulling together coherent chains of offensive football. We saw it time and again today, a lot work goes into our goal scoring opportunities, but we're well and truly prepared to put the work in.

12-04-2015, 01:06 AM
Grant got credited with 3 tackles, although watching the replay there's heaps more where he's second in it, so not credited. It might not seem a lot, but in perspective... Only 5 Tigers players had more tackles than Grant and he was top third for us.

Grant worked hard today and ran and ran making position. Often his team mates ignored him, but I was still pleased in his effort and work rate.

He needs to get more of the ball, and when he does get it he creates something. I would give him more time to adapt to his new role.

12-04-2015, 01:18 AM
Grant worked hard today and ran and ran making position. Often his team mates ignored him, but I was still pleased in his effort and work rate.

He needs to get more of the ball, and when he does get it he creates something. I would give him more time to adapt to his new role.

I agree. He is learning the role. He makes good decisions with the ball in hand, now he needs to learn how to get more of it. He has most likely spent his whole football life as a forward up until now. Bevo obviously sees something in this new role. I think it needs a few more weeks to play out.

If there are no injuries and the team is winning, you only bring in players on the back of good reserves form or returning regulars. On that basis only Hrovat has a claim on a place next week and the obvious one to go out is Goodes. His role this year is one of depth when needed, and with Hrovat fit, it is not needed.

12-04-2015, 01:29 AM
I thought Grant was quite poor today.

That's not to say he didn't contribute from time to time, and I think that the way the game was played probably didn't suit a lot of the taller offensive players across the day.

When you only have six kicks and four handballs playing in the thick of it throughout the day you need to make them count, and unfortunately his disposals rarely did, and in some cases they were rubbish.

If he doesn't improve on that this coming week he should be out of the side.

12-04-2015, 01:47 AM
The meltdown is on over on the Richmond board of that other site! Quite amusing actually!

One bloke wants to crowd fund paying out Hardwick's contract :D

12-04-2015, 08:41 AM

Yes you are right 3 point loss

Replays showed fingers on the right hand bend back, it was touched and a point.

12-04-2015, 09:03 AM

We can't have posters giving any credit to umpires. :rolleyes:

12-04-2015, 09:04 AM

Makes you wonder why defenders don't just practise bending their fingers back.

12-04-2015, 09:05 AM
Terrific result for us heading into a few tough contests, that by R4 the worst case scenario is 2-2 is a really pleasing outcome already. I am daring to dream we might pinch a few as well, there are no foregone conclusions with the team's current mindset. It's great to have that feeling back.

Another even performance with standouts for me being Wallis, McRae, Jong and Roughead. Rance for them was probably BOG.

With the aggressive defence at the contest and at the body away from the contest, I can see us getting a lot of frees against all year. Yesterday was particularly frustrating because there was a bit of embellishment from the RFC and the crowd was an influence. However, our set up defensively seemed to limit the damage and we seemed more conservative in the back 50 so the calls didn't end up on the scoreboard.

12-04-2015, 09:09 AM
While it was an arm wrestle against both West Coast last week and Richmond this week the games were very different and the fact that we maintained the lead throughout the 4 quarters yesterday was an impressive result.

I like the way that Murphy is leading this team and the way he set up the midfielders with his precise kicking.
I'm so impressed with the way Matthew Boyd has adapted to his new role. The fist pump at the end of the game shows how hard he is trying and what these performances mean to him. I thought this might be his last season and while it's early in the season this now needs a rethink.

The back line is working so well together, Talia has performed well in both games and Roughead has shown why he is now a leader at this club. Morris is as reliable as ever and Wood is a lot more attacking than in previous years. I really enjoyed his game yesterday.

Wallis has stamped himself as a leader and his work ethic and focus is a credit to him. Bontempelli is just amazing and Jong has improved so much in a short pace of time. Honeychurch has had two good games and he works so hard throughout the game. Macrae is also a dangerous opponent for opposition teams. Minson was good again yesterday.

Stringer up forward could be anything especially if he tightens up his goal kicking from set shots. Crameri will get better in the next 2 weeks and Dahlhaus was a spark yesterday when needed. Dickson who as Webby pointed out is now injury free and benefiting from having T.Boyd as the focal point of a new look forward line. Just on Boyd, some of his ruck work in the 4th quarter yesterday was very good.

It goes without saying that I'm enjoying what I'm seeing on the field. We have a long way to go but the signs are so encouraging at the moment.

The fact that so many of the youngsters are recommitting to the club for the longer term is a credit to the club's management.

12-04-2015, 09:22 AM
Yeah, i thought that(the replay)showed it was obviously touched.

12-04-2015, 09:33 AM
I thought it was touched as well. Good call although I'm sure the umpires really had no idea. Jong's marking yesterday was elite, I've never seen this side of his game. Contested overhead marks and then running back and out marking Grimes, sensational.

12-04-2015, 09:34 AM

I thought it was touched too. The call to rig the game didn't come until halfway through the 3rd, anyway.

12-04-2015, 09:57 AM
Every game has key moments. Happened several times when WCE looked liked they might run away with it, happened yesterday when Richmond got within a couple of kicks. In both games we responded whereas, had we not, the game might have been lost. That to me shows a mental steel that's been rare for this club.

This week will be a huge test not only beacsue its the Hawks, but because we've flown a bit under the radar: against WCE given it was the first game of the season, and the win was against a depleted WCE side so I suspect Richmond would have pencilled thus as a win.

The Hawks will not being taking this game lightly. Not now.

12-04-2015, 10:40 AM

I know you were being sarcastic, but after yesterday's umpiring performance, I agree! :)

12-04-2015, 11:10 AM

What are you talking about, there was daylight between the ball and the fingers.

*these views are of an extremely one eyed and biased bulldog supporter that also believes that everything Tony Libertore did on the field was completely fair and above board.

12-04-2015, 12:30 PM
Makes you wonder why defenders don't just practise bending their fingers back.

Take your right hand and flex your fingers back as far as you can. Now tense your right arm so it won't move and push on the tips of your fingers of your right hand using your left hand. Your fingers go back further than you can make them by yourself

12-04-2015, 01:37 PM
Man I love beating Richmond.

12-04-2015, 01:43 PM
Just watched the replay to the 3rd minute in the 2nd quarter and have paused it for the moment because I feel compelled to remark that Picken's disposal by foot was awful in the first quarter and straight away in the second quarter he got a possession on the wing in the clear, had a lot of time, took a run (fair enough) and then with no pressure kicked it to absolutely no-one.

Edit: and less than another minute later he's floated a dodgy pass that was very nearly intercepted.

12-04-2015, 02:11 PM
Just watched the replay to the 3rd minute in the 2nd quarter and have paused it for the moment because I feel compelled to remark that Picken's disposal by foot was awful in the first quarter and straight away in the second quarter he got a possession on the wing in the clear, had a lot of time, took a run (fair enough) and then with no pressure kicked it to absolutely no-one.

Edit: and less than another minute later he's floated a dodgy pass that was very nearly intercepted.

We really do have some poor kickers in the side. Dahl's kicking has also gone down hill in my opinion and Wallis, well he has never been good at field kicking. Honeychurch has also had some shockers as well.

12-04-2015, 03:39 PM
We really do have some poor kickers in the side. Dahl's kicking has also gone down hill in my opinion and Wallis, well he has never been good at field kicking. Honeychurch has also had some shockers as well.

I think we will either improve or weed out the poor kicks on our list.

12-04-2015, 03:46 PM

Noticed about 3 or 4 times he was payed a free for richmond infringing him near the goasl square and advantage was paid each time.

So even though it dosn't show on the scoreboard,he still could have kicked 3 or 4 hmself

12-04-2015, 04:11 PM
Noticed about 3 or 4 times he was payed a free for richmond infringing him near the goasl square and advantage was paid each time.

So even though it dosn't show on the scoreboard,he still could have kicked 3 or 4 hmself

There was one in a marking contest late in the second quarter that wasn't paid where his opponent blatantly wrapped arms right around Boyd's middle and pulled him from mid air to ground.

12-04-2015, 04:13 PM

I think Dalhaus' kicking is the same, however the areas on the field he gathers them have changed which expose him a bit. A look away snap over the shoulder 20m out from goal is likely to score. The same kick on the wing is a turnover.

12-04-2015, 04:13 PM

Stringer's goal late in the second quarter was an advantage after Boyd was paid a free for a blatant in the back in the marking contest.

12-04-2015, 05:02 PM
If you only watch one piece of play from yesterday watch the play that lead to Grants goal the final goal in the 3rd quarter. The handball in close, the decision making and then the quick ball movement to find Stringer and then Grant was bloody great to see. It was like watching a hybrid of Eade and Macca's game plan coming together. Our coach should get BOG for the first two weeks for mine.

12-04-2015, 09:43 PM
Dahl's kicking is a real concern - he was never a 'Murphy', but he's become a 'Picken' and it needs addressing very quickly.

12-04-2015, 11:19 PM
Watching the game again...Around the 15 minute mark, centre bounce after Dead-Eye goals, and Martin gathers the ball. As he is tackled, he throws it. Clear as day, one hand pinned in the tackle, he throws it. No call (of course), and the commentary is "Martin...did well"

:mad:

12-04-2015, 11:21 PM
Watching the game again...Around the 15 minute mark, centre bounce after Dead-Eye goals, and Martin gathers the ball. As he is tackled, he throws it. Clear as day, one hand pinned in the tackle, he throws it. No call (of course), and the commentary is "Martin...did well"

:mad:

I remember that, annoyed the crap out of me. It was one of many times I was up out of my seat ;)

13-04-2015, 10:25 AM
Agree with Robbo on this:

7. Play of the weekend
It’s in the Bulldogs back pocket and Wood wins the ball. He handballs to Honeychurch, who gives to Murphy, then to Bontempelli, who gives to Jong, who goes by hand back Honeychurch, who goes back to Murphy, who kicks long to half-forward, where Stringer takes the ball on the bounce, turns inside and kicks to Jarrad Grant who runs into the open goal and kicks it deep into Ponsford Stand. And it happened about as quickly as you read that passage. And the Tigers chased win all the way. And that’s the moment when footy fans said these men can play.

13-04-2015, 01:17 PM
Only a small thing, but I loved Wood's celebration when he kicked that goal in the last quarter. Showed how much it meant to him (and the group). We really do have such a good buzz around the club right now.

13-04-2015, 01:27 PM
Only a small thing, but I loved Wood's celebration when he kicked that goal in the last quarter. Showed how much it meant to him (and the group). We really do have such a good buzz around the club right now.

Good bicep definition too.

13-04-2015, 08:18 PM
Agree with Robbo on this:

you mean Robbo agrees with me?

13-04-2015, 08:28 PM
Obviously not the right thread but does anyone notice how negative Garry Lyon is towards us? Even today after two solid wins he states on the AFL show that he does not think our game plan will hold up. Does anyone else notice this or is it just me???? He really gets under my skin.

13-04-2015, 08:56 PM
Obviously not the right thread but does anyone notice how negative Garry Lyon is towards us? Even today after two solid wins he states on the AFL show that he does not think our game plan will hold up. Does anyone else notice this or is it just me???? He really gets under my skin.

He's an absolute twit who has spent years catering to the lowest common denominator. He is most famous for crying on a stretcher.

13-04-2015, 09:59 PM

You know the old joke about two blokes being chased by the bear and one starts doing up his running shoes while the other starts to pray. The praying man says to the shoes man "why bother, everyone knows you can't outrun a bear". The shoes man says I don't need to outrun the bear, I just need to outrun you!

Anyways, long story I know, but I reckon Garry sees us as the other club along with Melbourne being chased by the bear and will do anything to see us fall over. In this case the bear could be relocation, negative media etc etc.

13-04-2015, 10:22 PM
Oh lord, I'm just watching the replay on the AFL website (link for anyone interested (http://www.afl.com.au/video/smart-replay)) and cannot believe that mark to Jong wasn't paid. I was on the same side as McInerney, and definitely would have paid the mark but can also see why there was an element of doubt. Despite that, and because it is McInerney, I still want to say it's a terrible decision!

13-04-2015, 10:37 PM
Oh lord, I'm just watching the replay on the AFL website (link for anyone interested (http://www.afl.com.au/video/smart-replay)) and cannot believe that mark to Jong wasn't paid. I was on the same side as McInerney, and definitely would have paid the mark but can also see why there was an element of doubt. Despite that, and because it is McInerney, I still want to say it's a terrible decision!

I'm surprised Jong didn't get pinged for holding the ball. Also a 50m penalty for arguing back to the ump.

13-04-2015, 11:28 PM
You know the old joke about two blokes being chased by the bear and one starts doing up his running shoes while the other starts to pray. The praying man says to the shoes man "why bother, everyone knows you can't outrun a bear". The shoes man says I don't need to outrun the bear, I just need to outrun you!

Anyways, long story I know, but I reckon Garry sees us as the other club along with Melbourne being chased by the bear and will do anything to see us fall over. In this case the bear could be relocation, negative media etc etc.

That's what I think too. He takes every opportunity to run us down in the media. But he does it under the guise of 'serious football analyst'

13-04-2015, 11:33 PM

The old man in front rule.

13-04-2015, 11:36 PM

Fantastic post, and spot on.

14-04-2015, 12:49 AM
Currently over in Perth with limited net access. Watched the game on FTA. Extremely enjoyable - hard to fault any player.

More importantly we are really playing like a team.

14-04-2015, 10:18 PM

Yeah you sum it perfectly. Agree.

17-04-2015, 12:28 AM
JEALOUSY, if his team didn't have the "Melbourne" name the would have been gone years ago.
Rated him when he kicked a bag against us in a final, but from all understandings his opinion has little respect in the football world and he chose the right path in the media because his coaching was deplorable.

17-04-2015, 02:48 AM
JEALOUSY, if his team didn't have the "Melbourne" name the would have been gone years ago.
Rated him when he kicked a bag against us in a final, but from all understandings his opinion has little respect in the football world and he chose the right path in the media because his coaching was deplorable.

I actually loved Gary Lyon as a kid because he was an extremely talented footballer, in a pure sense. For me he had cred. In 1995 he was fed extremely well in the QF in which he kicked ten, but it takes a very good footballer to do that.

As a retired adult, and commentator on the game he has some insights that are worth listening to, and like many of our retired veterans he doesn't have a premiership and that down plays how good a footballer he was at his peak.

But unfortunately for Gary, he is now an adult that has decided he wants to manage opinions about the things he cares about without actually having skin in the game. He pulls the strings at the Melbourne Football Club without authority from a positional sense (and has done for a number of years), and he works in television and newspaper media plying his week to week presenter modified opinion for a buck.

He is the biggest sell out of all. He is a very big reason why the MFC hasn't progressed over a long period of time.

17-04-2015, 11:32 AM
Just want to further show my love for the Bont. Did anyone else notice him going to stop Pettards shot for goal after the siren? Whilst his teammates were embracing, Bont played it out till the ball was dead.

17-04-2015, 11:35 AM
Just want to further show my love for the Bont. Did anyone else notice him going to stop Pettards shot for goal after the siren? Whilst his teammates were embracing, Bont played it out till the ball was dead.

Yep.. He is a competitor.

17-04-2015, 11:42 AM

I didn't see that. I must go and watch the game again to see for myself.

17-04-2015, 12:04 PM
I didn't see that. I must go and watch the game again to see for myself.

Yes you hafta watch it from the start again.

17-04-2015, 12:06 PM
I noticed at the time - I remember thinking that he has an innate game sense set to autopilot.

17-04-2015, 01:02 PM
Yes you hafta watch it from the start again.

Of course. It wouldn't feel right otherwise. :)

17-04-2015, 01:17 PM
Of course. It wouldn't feel right otherwise. :)

I enjoyed the third time I watched it last night just as much. It is fun knowing what is going to happen.

17-04-2015, 01:32 PM
I enjoyed the third time I watched it last night just as much. It is fun knowing what is going to happen.

When I was a kid I'd tape the replay and watch it over and over again until I knew the commentary and the game of by heart.