View Full Version : Bankers and Anchors - Round 5

30-04-2015, 09:16 PM
This is the round 5 edition of the Weekly Bankers and Anchors Thread. Once the game against Sydney Swans is concluded post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 guys that you we banked on to do the right thing during the game
The Anchors = 3 guys that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Please limit it to no more than three of each, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

Try and restrict it to individual players rather than aspects of the overall match.

The thread is named in honour of a popular WOOF Contributor, The Banker, who passed away on 22/04/2012 after a six month battle with cancer.

02-05-2015, 05:14 PM
In these conditions it will be an interesting read.

02-05-2015, 05:58 PM
B:

Picken
Pride in the jumper and belief
Giving us a win for the ages. Perhaps even a point in time we can 'that's where it started.

A:

Gave complete ruck dominance
Umpires. Borderline cheating

02-05-2015, 06:05 PM
Rules are out the window

We're 4-1

We beat a top 4 team at their home ground in their favourite conditions

The hunger and will to win of everyone

The hype that's about to come out way

Cordy shouldn't have played, not sure if it's his fault or the MC

02-05-2015, 06:10 PM
B:

Picken's continuation of excellent form. He was strong and safe today, and the major counter to the Swans midfield

Will and determination of the playing group

Bob Murphy keeping his head, as usual, and not playing into the hands of Sydney's defensive structure with quick and panicked ball use

A:

Ruck strategy didn't suit the day. Cordy has the ability, though he doesn't have the strength. He needs to take care of the latter before coming back into the side as he's too disadvantaged by that aspect of his game

02-05-2015, 06:21 PM

1. One of Pickens best games

2. The whole team not giving up

3. The sneaky kicks from Dahl, won the game

1. MC for not playing Will in those conditions. Cordy a long way off AFL Standard

2. 50 metre penalties - a joke

3. The Sydney crowd and players constantly calling for deliberate out

02-05-2015, 06:26 PM
3. The Sydney crowd and players constantly calling for deliberate out

It's really interesting to see what happens to a bunch of players and their followers when they've become used to being looked after and having their own way.

The amount of pleading for marginal free kicks Sydney players did today was noticeable.

02-05-2015, 06:33 PM
Rules are out the window

No wuckers.

Matthew Boyd, Jordan Roughead, Easton Wood, Robert Murphy, Michael Talia, Fletcher Roberts, Mitch Honeychurch, Liam Picken, Jack Macrae, Luke Dahlhaus, Koby Stevens, Clay Smith, Jake Stringer, Tom Boyd, Stewart Crameri, Ayce Cordy, Lin Jong, Marcus Bontempelli, Lukas Webb, Tory Dickson, Jason Johannisen, Nathan Hrovat.

My mother getting to attend the game in Sydney and couldn't sneak me into her luggage. Poor form Mum.

02-05-2015, 06:37 PM

1. Picken. And to think a few weeks back I was concerned about his future. 17 contested, 12 tackles and 11 clearances
2. Crameri. Competed incredibly across the 4 quarters. Spent himself and kept pushing through it.
3. Our young mids for containing a big bodied and experienced midfield without support from hit outs. So pleasing to see such improvement in this area following the Hawthorn game.

1. Only way is up when we can start equalising or even getting on top in ruck contests

02-05-2015, 06:37 PM
B
Picken. Enormous.
Murph. Nearly had a coronary when the conmentary said he'd hurt his shoulder. He is the glue.
Can I Bank "Sheer Guts" and "Determination"??? I was sure they'd get rolled as they tired. They tired, but bugger me, they kept at it and grabbed the game.
A
Feel a bit dirty giving Anchors, but there's always room.
Cordy. Sorry, but the experiment isn't working. We should've had Will today.
Sydney for appealing for deliberate out of bounds at every opportunity, especially after the rub they got today.
Fox Sports' commentary team for desperately trying to get the Swans the win.
Small anchor to my Mum who came to my place to watch the game. At the siren I went for a high five and she gave me nbothing. A high five isn't the same when you have to demand it :D

02-05-2015, 06:59 PM
B:
Easton Wood match winning goal and 4 consecutive defensive efforts which IMO saved the result.
Bob. leadership.
Picken, gone up a notch.

A:
Rule book going out the window.

02-05-2015, 07:10 PM
B
Picken. Enormous.
Murph. Nearly had a coronary when the conmentary said he'd hurt his shoulder. He is the glue.
Can I Bank "Sheer Guts" and "Determination"??? I was sure they'd get rolled as they tired. They tired, but bugger me, they kept at it and grabbed the game.
A
Feel a bit dirty giving Anchors, but there's always room.
Cordy. Sorry, but the experiment isn't working. We should've had Will today.
Sydney for appealing for deliberate out of bounds at every opportunity, especially after the rub they got today.
Small anchor to my Mum who came to my place to watch the game. At the siren I went for a high five and she gave me nbothing. A high five isn't the same when you have to demand it :D

They actually apologised for barracking for us. It was bleeding obvious they were in it for the Dogs, but just figured the Swans would come over the top of us at the end. We all did.

02-05-2015, 07:10 PM

I didn't think they were too bad. They seemed to want the Dogs to win (they said as much at 3qtr time). I think Dunstall leaned their way with some of the dodgy free kicks/50s but Hudson's pretty good at hiding his bias when he commentates (professional is the adjective I'm looking for).

02-05-2015, 07:11 PM
B:
Picken....heart and soul
Murphy....his clean handling under those conditions stood out
Wood....we all know why

A:
MC erred in not selecting Will today. Ayce fought hard but picking a bigger body was a no brainer today
Thought Jongy struggled today....a number of mistakes. His position is safe though.
Sydney are umpired by different rules

02-05-2015, 07:21 PM
They actually apologised for barracking for us. It was bleeding obvious they were in it for the Dogs, but just figured the Swans would come over the top of us at the end. We all did.

I didn't think they were too bad. They seemed to want the Dogs to win (they said as much at 3qtr time). I think Dunstall leaned their way with some of the dodgy free kicks/50s but Hudson's pretty good at hiding his bias when he commentates (professional is the adjective I'm looking for).

Fair enough, I think they're shocking. Anyway, who cares about those flogs, we won!!!!

02-05-2015, 09:20 PM
1. Talia - tough gig on Buddy but stuck at it and had some great spoils and one-on-one wins in the last quarter just when Foxtel commentators thought the cream would rise to the top and Buddy would show the poor also ran Bulldogs just how a big league team comes through in the end.
2. JJ - really getting the defensive side of his game together while providing now customary dash.
3. Kobe Stevens - another solid game with 100 minutes of involvement, well done.

1. Match committee for sticking with the Cordy experiment even though it was obvious the conditions would not suit him.
2. Umpires, especially for trying to find a way to deny Wood's game winning goal.
3. Foxtel commentators for sounding like they had the Pornhub green energy generating wristband on whenever they talked about Sydney players.

02-05-2015, 09:25 PM

Stringer - he is on fire at the moment

Murph - still so good

Honeychurch - really impressed me today. Had a great game.

Special mention to Fletcher Roberts for his great defensive effort at the end.

That 50 which was paid against Roughead. Very harsh I thought.

02-05-2015, 09:40 PM
Crameri - big body was needed in the wet
Picken - never gives up
Dahl - just kept pushing the ball fwd however he could

Fox commentators love for Franklin and Tippet - so what!

02-05-2015, 11:08 PM
Bankers-
Wood- just outstanding.

Hrovat- love a sub who has impact.

Crameri- very important today.

Anchors-
50 penalty against Roughead. Not sure what he is meant to do.

Ruckmen- honestly lads the boundary umpires can't throw it to the centre on a wet day (grasping at straws)

03-05-2015, 12:11 AM
Bob Murphy. Leading the team like a true leader. Always loved Boyd as leader to. A leader must Lead by example for others to follow. This is something they both do very well.
The rest of the Bulldogs boys playing for each other like they really care for each other.
Gillon and David trying to restore faith in the AFL now Demetrieu and Anderson aren't playing the AFL for themselves.
I agree give Ayce as much exposure as possible but against Sydney in the wet should have been Minson for sure. Nearly the difference in the game.
Umpires struggled to keep the game honest. One week or two in a row being a scragged can be understood but poor Tom Boyd has been crucified five games in a row the kid has unbelievable going against three at a time. Give him a break umpires

one more banker. How good is it to look forward to the footy each week excited to see how the kids go. They are going in hard for each other. Every team needs one Max Rooke We are breeding a team of tough nuts with skill to go with it.

03-05-2015, 10:44 PM
1. Wood - outstanding all game and made some telling contributions in the heat of the last 5 minutes at both ends
2. Dahl - another fantastic game full of endeavour and courage
3. Crameri - telling involvements that resulted in scores. Worked very hard both ways

Anchor:
1. Our first 10 minutes were rabbit in the headlights stuff. Swans could almost have been out of sight if they took their chances.

03-05-2015, 11:28 PM

1. Fletcher Roberts - was really impressed, and beside Wood who stepped up another level, he was the best story out of the day for me because I didn't think he would make it. He might...
2. The celebrations at the end of the game. Bevo has them playing for each other, beautiful to behold.
3.Smothers, never seen so many. Picken and Murphy leading the way. I love smothers, pure desperation.

ANCHORS

1. Sydney supporters - Have no idea and still don't understand the rules as far as I'm concerned.
2. Clay Smith - looks off it, will take time.
3. Cordy - not an AFL ruckman yet.

03-05-2015, 11:44 PM

Yeah I thought they were pretty pro us. Particularly Dunstall. However Russell is always against us, they were pretty supportive yesterday. Great day, really.

03-05-2015, 11:57 PM

Wood- enormous game. Brave and bold.
Crameri - great game. Really rolled up the sleeves and threw everything in.
Murphy- inspiring again.
Anthony Hudson - head and shoulders the best caller...makes the countless times I re-watched the last two minutes even more enjoyable. While I'm on the commentators they were deadset barracking for us...and was good that they didn't make it about the swans being under par- it was about us beating a great side in conditions they never get beaten in.

Hard to anchor anyone in conditions like that, where the effort was huge.
Swans fans for having no idea.

04-05-2015, 12:31 AM

1. Picken - no Libba, no Wallis, no worries. Picken's last couple games have been outstanding. His 2nd 3rd 4th and 5th efforts were amazing.

2. Murphy - he was clearly hurting with some injury but he pushed through the pain. He is made of the right stuff.

3. Team effort - the way the players are working for each other and pushing themselves to contest after contest to get numbers around the ball.

1. The Ayce 1st ruck project - you can see he tries but he just isn't strong enough. He is too easily push out of position. He's better off working on his forward craft because he simply can't compete with the big AFL ruckman.

2. Umpires - those 2 50 metre penalties were rubbish. Especially the Roughead one. Is he supposed to move aside so he doesn't make body contact. In such a tight game in those conditions where the umpires were not paying everything, that was a terrible decision.

3. Swans supporters - booing after the siren because of the umpires. The ball was touched, its not a mark. It's not an the umpires fault Lin Jong touched it.

04-05-2015, 11:23 AM
JJ - did some mercurial things, including out positioning and spoiling on Goodes, who is about a foot taller than him. His composure has improved immensely and he's now got the confidence to take the game on with an ability to make it work time and time again.

Wood - not much more to add, he's been huge the past few weeks and it looks like he's now a consistent performer who defends incredibly well but can make the offensive plays too.

Dahlhaus - he got some recognition on this board last week for his first 4 games, and demonstrated why again on Saturday. He'd be sore today, but boy, is he an important player for us in tight and in the air.

Umpiring - seriously, I don't like to complain after such a great win, but some poor decisions against us again.

Too much enjoyment and pride in an exceptional team effort to anchor anyone else.

04-05-2015, 11:29 AM
One more minor anchor. We struggled after 1/4 time to find a way through the opposition tactic of putting a spare man in defence - this will obviously be in the playbook of future opposition coaches against us so we need to find a way to combat this moving forward.

04-05-2015, 11:43 AM
One more minor anchor. We struggled after 1/4 time to find a way through the opposition tactic of putting a spare man in defence - this will obviously be in the playbook of future opposition coaches against us so we need to find a way to combat this moving forward.

Do we just play an extra forward in the future?

When this happened, am I correct in saying our extra played around the ball, rather than behind it, on Saturday?

04-05-2015, 12:16 PM
Easton Wood. He is now the player we all hoped he would be. Great defensively, and assured and creative coming out of defence.

Talia continues his great run of form, far exceeding all our expectations.

The reactions at the siren. It looks like they've won a final. So great to see that passion in such a young group.

Cordy tried hard but was too easily outbodied. I would say he needs to get bigger before we can assess him, but he's had 7 years to put on size.

Sydney players constantly appealing for frees and looking outraged when they didn't receive them. Buddy tackled someone over the line immediately after they got it once and then put his arms out appealing for a free. I still have no idea what free would have been close to viable in that situation. Also loved Richards face after he restrained Boyd. Sydney crowd were just as bad. They certainly are bad losers.

Umpires for getting sucked in too often, the 50 against Roughy (although I can understand getting caught up in the heat of the moment, even if the decision was completely wrong). But there were numerous other examples where they were poor. To their credit though they were pretty good in the last quarter, although Mike Pyke threw it when he realised he didn't mark it.

04-05-2015, 12:26 PM
I must admit I actually thought the umpiring was quite good.
Very difficult conditions, and I thought the game wasn't over umpired. Players weren't getting pinged for minor infringements - which is what you're after all the time, but particularly in the wet.

Although it was a harsh one, I could see where the umpire is coming from on the Roughead 50m penalty, as Roughie did more than hold his ground, he actually advanced forward into the bump - and the umpire was in perfect position to see it.

Was good to see Boyd paid a free for holding! Glad the Jong touch was picked up late in the game too.

04-05-2015, 12:42 PM
I must admit I actually thought the umpiring was quite good.
Very difficult conditions, and I thought the game wasn't over umpired. Players weren't getting pinged for minor infringements - which is what you're after all the time, but particularly in the wet.

Although it was a harsh one, I could see where the umpire is coming from on the Roughead 50m penalty, as Roughie did more than hold his ground, he actually advanced forward into the bump - and the umpire was in perfect position to see it.

Was good to see Boyd paid a free for holding! Glad the Jong touch was picked up late in the game too.

I agree the umpiring was very good under the conditions. Don't agree with the 50m against Roughy. Also we should have have had a 50m earlier when a Swans player kicked the ball away after the umpire paid the free. Other than those, in general it was pretty good and they let some things go, and could easily have paid lots of deliberate out of bounds if they wanted to. (a rule I don't agree with entirely, but that is another discussion.)

04-05-2015, 02:09 PM
Worst decision was in the third quarter when Tippett was tackled and had plenty of time to get rid of the ball before incorrectly disposing of it. No free kick awarded and he goaled at the other end shortly after.

04-05-2015, 02:42 PM
Worst decision was in the third quarter when Tippett was tackled and had plenty of time to get rid of the ball before incorrectly disposing of it. No free kick awarded and he goaled at the other end shortly after.

Plenty of time. Have a look at this with 13.05 to go. He had no prior opportunity so all he has to do is make an attempt to kick it. Play on

http://www.afl.com.au/video/smart-replay?round=CD_R201501405&matchId=CD_M20150140503&eventType=free&seek=2698&videoQuality=high

04-05-2015, 02:45 PM
Been watching the replay, and yes I was too harsh on the Foxtel commentators (not that they were perfect). But look, I am a free-to-air man, so I think that years of having to listen to "Clever" McAvaney getting overly enthusiastic about Sydney has created a conditioned reflex whenever I watch the Swans on TV.

That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it.

04-05-2015, 03:15 PM
Watched the replay last night (got a bit lit at the VFL and as a result didn't take too much on board during the first viewing)

Wood - his best game ever

Beveridge - has shifted the roles of a number of players (Wood and Boyd as loosish defenders, Talia not in the VFL, etc) and is getting the most out of them as a result.

Picken - See above; thought he was dead in the water at the start of the season.

Stringer - for dropping that hanger. He needs to realise that players whose games are predicated on doing sick stuff have to hold those.

Bomber Thompson - never again.

Cordy - watching Campbell in the VFL clunking marks all over the ground and even winning the occasional hit out makes me wonder what the team would be like with a competent ruckman.

04-05-2015, 03:39 PM
Easton Wood. He is now the player we all hoped he would be. Great defensively, and assured and creative coming out of defence.

Talia continues his great run of form, far exceeding all our expectations.

The reactions at the siren. It looks like they've won a final. So great to see that passion in such a young group.

Cordy tried hard but was too easily outbodied. I would say he needs to get bigger before we can assess him, but he's had 7 years to put on size.

Sydney players constantly appealing for frees and looking outraged when they didn't receive them. Buddy tackled someone over the line immediately after they got it once and then put his arms out appealing for a free. I still have no idea what free would have been close to viable in that situation. Also loved Richards face after he restrained Boyd. Sydney crowd were just as bad. They certainly are bad losers.

Umpires for getting sucked in too often, the 50 against Roughy (although I can understand getting caught up in the heat of the moment, even if the decision was completely wrong). But there were numerous other examples where they were poor. To their credit though they were pretty good in the last quarter, although Mike Pyke threw it when he realised he didn't mark it.
If the ump had've paid that, the Sydney crowd would've rushed the field. Incorrect perhaps but understandable given the situation.

Been watching the replay, and yes I was too harsh on the Foxtel commentators (not that they were perfect). But look, I am a free-to-air man, so I think that years of having to listen to "Clever" McAvaney getting overly enthusiastic about Sydney has created a conditioned reflex whenever I watch the Swans on TV.

That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it.
Hey mate, we've all been wrong before — heck, I've done backflips in a single thread plenty of times — don't be so hard on yourself. :D

04-05-2015, 03:41 PM
Banker - The whole side for the effort and tenacity shown.

Anchor - The AFL fixture scheduling. We are subjected to Carltank performances like the one on Friday night 3 more times this year and 'blockbusters' like Richmond/Melbourne and we can't get a peek in!!! It grinds my gears!!! #YourADillGill

05-05-2015, 08:09 PM
Bankers- Our tackling and pressure all over the ground.Especially those last 5 mins.Was exhausted just watching it.

Anchors- Sydney crowd flogs that wouldn't know the rules of the game if they were whacked across the head with them.

07-05-2015, 05:47 PM

In the second quarter, Gary Rohan got the ball in the forward pocket and put the hammer down. Lukas Webb put a desperate fingertip tackle on that made him handball. Stirring stuff from a third gamer.

In the same sequence of play Tory Dickson stuck his head over the ball and turned a 50/50 into a possession for us. As a measure of how far Tory has come, Mark Thompson was commentating at the time and you could hear the disbelief in his voice.

Back to Lukas Webb. Is it too soon to say I love this kid? He has ridiculous composure that's not at all commensurate with his experience. And what a left hoof.

Nothing springs immediately to mind. Hard to find a lot of criticisms when our guys "cracked in" like that.

07-05-2015, 06:53 PM

In the second quarter, Gary Rohan got the ball in the forward pocket and put the hammer down. Lukas Webb put a desperate fingertip tackle on that made him handball. Stirring stuff from a third gamer.

In the same sequence of play Tory Dickson stuck his head over the ball and turned a 50/50 into a possession for us. As a measure of how far Tory has come, Mark Thompson was commentating at the time and you could hear the disbelief in his voice.

Back to Lukas Webb. Is it too soon to say I love this kid? He has ridiculous composure that's not at all commensurate with his experience. And what a left hoof.

Nothing springs immediately to mind. Hard to find a lot of criticisms when our guys "cracked in" like that.

Matty Boyd when interviewed this week on On The Couch was asked to describe a few players with as few words as possible. When asked about Lukas Webb he simply said, "Poise."

08-05-2015, 10:59 AM

Strike one !:D

08-05-2015, 02:25 PM
Strike one !:D

Ha ha.

I'm still ok with that term. McCartney did plenty wrong, but he did plenty right too.