View Full Version : Game Day Round 7 2015 - Western Bulldogs V Fremantle

16-05-2015, 08:47 PM
Margin: Dogs by 1 point :)
First Goal: Honeychurch to get our first
Best On Ground: Picken - Always is a handful for opposition teams - reckon he'll have a solid game

16-05-2015, 08:56 PM
Dogs by 21
Boyd FG & BOG

16-05-2015, 09:28 PM
Dogs by 8
First Goal - Crameri
BOG - Dahlhaus

16-05-2015, 09:41 PM
Dogs by 21
First Goal T Boyd
BOG M Boyd

16-05-2015, 10:07 PM
We've got some good ins. They are without their fullback. They are due for a loss. We can win.

Dogs by 7 points
1st G: Kobe
BOG: Wallis.

17-05-2015, 08:40 AM
Well I'm not going to be the first one to tip against us!

Dogs by 15
First Goal - Big Boyd
BOG - Jong

17-05-2015, 09:06 AM
Dogs by 8
First goal Dahl
B.O.G Picken

17-05-2015, 10:44 AM
Oh come on.

Fremantle by 30 points for the entire day
BOG Bont
First Goal Stringer

17-05-2015, 10:46 AM
Dockers by 36
BOG M.Boyd
FG T.Boyd

17-05-2015, 10:51 AM
Game Day - Time to get on the train

" Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory " George S. Patton

#ThisOnesForClay

17-05-2015, 11:11 AM
The Saints thumped them at Etihad last year...

Dogs by 23
First Goal - Hunter
BOG - Jong

17-05-2015, 11:43 AM
Just reported that the roof will be closed for today's game which is somewhat surprising.

17-05-2015, 12:07 PM
Dogs by 19
First goal Stringer
BOG Jong

17-05-2015, 12:08 PM
Just reported that the roof will be closed for today's game which is somewhat surprising.

The sun is pretty bright. I wouldn't want to be sitting on level 3 with it shining in my face.

17-05-2015, 12:10 PM
Dogs by 27
First goal: Crameri
BOG: M. Boyd

17-05-2015, 12:11 PM
Freo by 27
FG - Boyd
BOG - Stringer

17-05-2015, 12:49 PM
Dogs by 7
First goal - Hunter
BOG - Bontempelli

17-05-2015, 12:55 PM
Hunter is sub again - so I'll go Honeychurch for first goal!

17-05-2015, 12:57 PM
Geez, can't help but think the WO would've absolutely rocked today, had the game been there. Glorious sunshine, rabid home crowd, carnival atmosphere & distinct home ground advantage.

Oh well, off to Etihad to sit under the roof like a vampire..

I realise it was unreasonable to tee it up on such short notice, but I do think we should take some food for thought for future opportunities.

17-05-2015, 01:15 PM
Hunter is sub again - so I'll go Honeychurch for first goal!

It worked a treat last week

Dockers by 23
BOG - Picken
First Goal - T. Boyd

17-05-2015, 01:21 PM
Dockers by 40
First goal for us Dahl
BOG for us Picken

17-05-2015, 01:24 PM
Dogs by 14 points
first goal Bonti
Bog Dahl

17-05-2015, 01:54 PM
Hunters 2nd week as the sub is an interesting selection. I'm not sure there was a better option but he will need to make the most of his chances today.

17-05-2015, 01:54 PM
Surprised and pleased that Bailey Dale isn't the sub (there's something funny about his name, I always wants to say Daily Bale).

Don't want this to be a repeat of the Hawthorn game, but I can already see Fyfe kicking his fifth goal after 35 uncontested touches. Very interested to see how we try to stop that happening.

17-05-2015, 02:03 PM
Hunters 2nd week as the sub is an interesting selection. I'm not sure there was a better option but he will need to make the most of his chances today.

Would have liked him starting personally although hate first gamers getting the vest with Dale the other likely candidate.

17-05-2015, 02:18 PM
Not a good start, three goals to Freo. Our defensive work awful.

PedroArvy
17-05-2015, 02:23 PM
Did we think beating Sydney was the premiership???

17-05-2015, 02:25 PM
Game over already.

17-05-2015, 02:25 PM
Men against boys at the minute.

17-05-2015, 02:30 PM
Game over already.

Can we borrow the bus chef?

17-05-2015, 02:31 PM
We're 94 points negative in two and half quarters of footy. Ouch.

17-05-2015, 02:33 PM
Hope the lads are taking notes at least, this is a lesson.

What's troubling is the Dockers are doing it rather comfortably thanks very much.

17-05-2015, 02:34 PM
Can we borrow the bus chef?

;)

That would be handy right

17-05-2015, 02:39 PM
Holding the ball clearly is non existent today.

17-05-2015, 02:42 PM
Holding the ball clearly is non existent today.

My junior coach was a liar clearly. He told me to lay good tackles and the umpire will reward you. What a liar he is apparently, he also said to dispose of the footy legally too...

17-05-2015, 02:42 PM
It's like the have three extra players on the ground. The way they set up off the ball with confidence they'll win it is something else.

17-05-2015, 02:44 PM
17 hit outs to 3. We are 2nd to a lot of the play.

17-05-2015, 02:44 PM
My junior coach was a liar clearly. He told me to lay good tackles and the umpire will reward you. What a liar he is apparently, he also said to dispose of the footy legally too...

So frustrating, it hurts more when you're getting beat badly and not getting rewarded for effort. Deflating for a player.

Need to start this quarter off well or we'll be done by half time.

17-05-2015, 02:45 PM
Awful start, at least the players are competing though.

17-05-2015, 02:46 PM
1st quarter - why is Luke Dalhaus having to compete against 4 ? why is johnson running around on his own ?

17-05-2015, 02:47 PM
;)

That would be handy right

Chelsea don't need it, park it on top of pav please :)

17-05-2015, 02:49 PM
Wood doing well picking out dockers.

17-05-2015, 02:49 PM
Cordy at full forward? Brilliance or a consession?

17-05-2015, 02:50 PM
Gees..it's like Bulldogs 2014 reunion, the way we're going now.

17-05-2015, 02:50 PM

Concession.

17-05-2015, 02:51 PM

He is totally ineffective in the ruck so they need to find a spot for him to play.

We are playing a man down with Cordy. Man down.

Talia with an uncontested spoil?

17-05-2015, 02:54 PM
He is totally ineffective in the ruck so they need to find a spot for him to play.
Based on recent weeks we would have known it was a real chance. Strange ploy.

Well done to Dickson.

17-05-2015, 02:56 PM
First kick, goal.

First since Tutt?

17-05-2015, 02:57 PM
Lovely goal Dale. Easton Wood with a smart assist.
We are lifting.

17-05-2015, 02:57 PM
We've sprung to life!

17-05-2015, 03:02 PM
Crucial goal by by Crameri.

Desperate play.

17-05-2015, 03:03 PM
12 point turnaround?

17-05-2015, 03:05 PM
Dogs have done well this quarter, remember we are up against a very very good side.

Agree though that we are a man short with Cordy on the park.

17-05-2015, 03:05 PM
Hanging in there, but look like getting opened up on the counter.

17-05-2015, 03:08 PM
Nay fyfe is unstoppable

17-05-2015, 03:15 PM
Is the Cordy move working for us?

17-05-2015, 03:16 PM
Nay fyfe is unstoppable

I'm watching him cheat right in front of me on the wing and no one is falling back and picking him up. A player of that calibre should not have 10M space ever.

17-05-2015, 03:17 PM
Is the Cordy move working for us?

Good mark and hit to Crameri. Hurting us in the centre as usual.

17-05-2015, 03:19 PM
So was it always Beveridge's plan to let mids like Crameri, Stevens, Jong & Bont take the ruck around stoppages, acknowledging we weren't going to outruck Freo? Or was it just damage control because Cordy was a jumping bag? I hope the former because blind Freddy could've seen there was no chance Cordy's light frame was going to beat Sandi or Clarke.

Stringer has typically had quieter 2nd halves but we cant afford that today. 3 possessions isnt enough despite playingon a quality opponent.

Good mark and hit to Crameri. Hurting us in the centre as usual.

Great pass wasn't it. Made Crameri run into the space. Very stiff to not get a free in the goal square shortly after.

17-05-2015, 03:20 PM
Pity young Dale couldn't get that last shot on goal. Would've been a big team lifter.

17-05-2015, 03:22 PM
Stringer has typically had quieter 2nd halves but we cant afford that today. 3 possessions isnt enough despite playingon a quality opponent.

He at least has to lead to places that make Johnson think twice about playing off him.

17-05-2015, 03:23 PM
He at least has to lead to places that make Johnson think twice about playing off him.

Johnson is making it hard down there. Always seems to be in THAT spot.

17-05-2015, 03:26 PM
Hurting us in the centre as usual.

And it's cost us badly.. Their complete dominance out of the centre in the first 10 minutes has set up a potential match winning lead.

17-05-2015, 03:27 PM
How is Jong performing?

17-05-2015, 03:28 PM
Was really noticable how tired we looked 20 minutes into that quarter. We came hard that quarter but we cannot sustain that yet.

17-05-2015, 03:28 PM
Jong 1 disposal Honey 2, stringer 4 Crameri 6 Goodes 7 , Wallis 6

Dahl Bonti need to lift.

17-05-2015, 03:29 PM
How is Jong performing?

Struggling. Has he had a kick? He is being outmarked too which hasn't happened since today. He would always atleast half contests. Then hand is clearly on his mind.

17-05-2015, 03:30 PM
And it's cost us badly.. Their complete dominance out of the centre in the first 10 minutes has set up a potential match winning lead.

First 5 minutes of the 3rd will be crucial for us. Lyon will be very unhappy with his team's 2nd Qtr and they will come out to try and put this to bed very quickly. If we can break even in the middle early in the qtr we can give ourselves a chance to wrestle the game back to even terms.

17-05-2015, 03:30 PM
How is Jong performing?

Unsighted. He's been too busy chasing tails to get his hands on it.

17-05-2015, 03:32 PM
I'm watching him cheat right in front of me on the wing and no one is falling back and picking him up. A player of that calibre should not have 10M space ever.

He needs a lot of attention that's for sure, not sure you can stop a tsunami.

Great fight back that qtr by bevo and the boys, the defence looked awestruck in the first but have held up well. Cede Nullis dogs.

17-05-2015, 03:35 PM
Great kick T Boyd!

17-05-2015, 03:35 PM
Excellent start!

17-05-2015, 03:37 PM
Tackling has been a hell of a lot better

17-05-2015, 03:38 PM
Woohoo! Dale has done some good things today. Promising.

17-05-2015, 03:39 PM
Who calls their kid Clancy in this day and age?

17-05-2015, 03:44 PM
Sandilands to fyfe incredible mark by pav.

Why the *!*!*!*! is Bontempelli in the ruck?

Bontempelli taking centre bounces now? That is ridiculous.

17-05-2015, 03:46 PM
Sandilands to Fyfe, Sandilands to Fyfe. We are competing OK around the ground need some sensibility at stoppages.

17-05-2015, 03:47 PM
Sandi vs bont then toyd, why pick Cordy?

Great headbutt from goodes

17-05-2015, 03:50 PM
Terrible last 5 mins. Hard to see Freo letting us back now.

17-05-2015, 03:50 PM
Coast to coast goals hurt dont they?

17-05-2015, 03:51 PM
We arent shirking a contest.

17-05-2015, 03:52 PM
Great effort by Cordy and a good goal by Crameri

17-05-2015, 03:52 PM
Good work by Cordy give crammer a goal

17-05-2015, 03:53 PM
If Cordy could do everything else a ruck does except contest ruck contests he would be pretty effective.

17-05-2015, 03:54 PM
Some silly errors but we are creating mayhem.

17-05-2015, 03:55 PM
Hunter looking a lot like he did last week...

Dickson is much better player in our team when he spends most of his time inside 50.

Cordy may be the first ruck in history to play better in positions other than the ruck.

17-05-2015, 03:56 PM
Why the *!*!*!*! is Goodes in the ruck?

Fixed it for you.

17-05-2015, 03:57 PM
If only we could kick to Boyd as we have to Johnston we would have a lead :)

17-05-2015, 03:58 PM
That must be a suspension. Way worse than McKernan.

17-05-2015, 03:59 PM
Fixed it for you.

It's a joke.

17-05-2015, 04:00 PM
Johnson is killing it, and us.

17-05-2015, 04:01 PM
We would have to be the worst team at dealing withbthe opposition playing a spare in defense.

17-05-2015, 04:01 PM
Hunter can't defend aceess to his betting account so what chance does he have on Ballantyne?

17-05-2015, 04:05 PM
Riewoldt got a 50 and kicked a goal last week for a player who ran 9m away with the game flow. roberts gets pile driver after marking and gets nothing... It's getting harder to believe there's no conspiracy against us.

17-05-2015, 04:05 PM
We're right there but just can't bridge the gap.

17-05-2015, 04:07 PM
Stringer didn't touch the ball that quarter . Move him to the backline.

17-05-2015, 04:07 PM
Roberts started off shaky, but has gotten better as the game has progressed.
I really don't understand some of Bevo's moves. Hunter is no defender, why are we playing mids in the ruck and can someone please try and stop Fyfe.

17-05-2015, 04:08 PM
The young dogs have done well since quarter time against a strong, experienced team at the top of their game.

Roberts, I can say after the last few weeks seems an afl quality player.

Stevens has been much maligned but he deserves his place.

17-05-2015, 04:09 PM
Crameri is cooked, he has run his guts out, stringer needs to take his rule and run his backside off.

17-05-2015, 04:10 PM
Jong and Stringer have to have an impact in the last for us to have any chance.

17-05-2015, 04:11 PM
Riewoldt got a 50 and kicked a goal last week for a player who ran 9m away with the game flow. roberts gets pile driver after marking and gets nothing... It's getting harder to believe there's no conspiracy against us.

Now deliberate ffs.

17-05-2015, 04:11 PM
That umpire has obviously never played footy. How the heck could Talia stop?

17-05-2015, 04:15 PM
Dickson 2 in 2 mins! !
Well set up from the back half run. JJ has been very good.

17-05-2015, 04:15 PM
Stringers worst game in a while. Rough head has been great.

17-05-2015, 04:16 PM
I'm excited!

17-05-2015, 04:18 PM
Come on!!!

17-05-2015, 04:19 PM
Goodes or Koby. Either way, rubbish.

17-05-2015, 04:20 PM
That hurts

17-05-2015, 04:21 PM
Freo just seem to have the answers whenever we push

17-05-2015, 04:23 PM
6 for Dicko?!?!

17-05-2015, 04:27 PM
Goodes is killing me.

17-05-2015, 04:28 PM
Goodes is killing me.

I reckon. He should stick to rucking.

17-05-2015, 04:28 PM
Getting a good run with the men in yellow.

17-05-2015, 04:29 PM
What's The Story: 7 Goal Tory!

17-05-2015, 04:32 PM
Wow!

17-05-2015, 04:38 PM
Some bad errors cost the game... Shame. Coulda, shoulda won it.

17-05-2015, 04:40 PM
Bit too good, but that's to be given the difference in class and experience.

Some great signs though.

17-05-2015, 04:41 PM
I hate honourable losses, but at least we did not lay down and accept the result as being a given. Freo are a very experienced team and after a dismal start we gave them an almighty scare.

17-05-2015, 04:41 PM
Well we didn't die wondering. Another 30 games into the kids and we won't make those mistakes.

17-05-2015, 04:43 PM
When have a proper ruckman and tagger then the results will start turning. To get back level was a great effort.

17-05-2015, 04:43 PM
We'll done dogs. Great fight but the dockers were too strong. Beat them after quarter time.

17-05-2015, 04:44 PM
Congratulations Bailey Dale. Great first game.

17-05-2015, 04:45 PM
Hard to express but I'm both delighted and disappointed

17-05-2015, 04:48 PM
Great fighting effort. We are on the right path.

17-05-2015, 04:49 PM
Hard to express but I'm both delighted and disappointed

I feel the same.

We ended up closer than I expected, but had a real opportunity to win - meaning it's disappointing we didn't.

17-05-2015, 04:50 PM
I just hope these performances really serve to illustrate to the boys just how close they are to being something very, very special. They just need to keep working and find that extra 2 or 3 percent more to get the results. A quality ruckman would help too..and that's not a shot at Cordy.

17-05-2015, 04:57 PM
Some shocking performances didn't help our cause. Dickson fantastic, really prefer him near the goals and to stay inside 50.

Jong was way off today as was Stringer

17-05-2015, 04:58 PM
In hindsight Jong shouldn't have played. Just looked off today

17-05-2015, 05:02 PM
Jong had 10 tackles. Lukey d and Stevens 8, picko 7.

17-05-2015, 05:03 PM
I couldn't really fault any of them outside of that first quarter. We did good.

17-05-2015, 05:03 PM
4 disposals for Jong. Not good enough

17-05-2015, 05:04 PM

Can't fault him there. Just didn't look like he was right today.

17-05-2015, 05:06 PM
Can't fault him there. Just didn't look like he was right today.

That's what I thought too, wasn't his usual self but another good learning opportunity for him in a high pressure game playing the form side in the competition.

17-05-2015, 05:08 PM
3 guys with over 100 games.......14 guys with under 50.

The futures looking good hey.

17-05-2015, 05:13 PM
I hate these type of games more than words can express. It's easier to get beat by ten goals than to SUFFER a defeat like this. You have no idea how much I despise interstate teams. I watch the game in Lombok, Indonesia. There is no one here who understands the desolation and despair that I feel at the moment. But as my pulse begins to recede and my rational self begins to function again I think to myself that today's game shows that we can mix it with anyone in this comp. We don't have to fear anything or anyone. After an horrendous start we recovered to get back into the game, then we were out of the game then we surged back into the game to scare the life out of them. This could be a game that we will look back on as a watershed game in our development. Some of our leading lights had pretty ordinary games whilst their leading lights were outstanding - it tells us that we just need more experience under our belts. I thought our defenders were magnificent today. We are definitely in the mix and going places. Go Dogs!

17-05-2015, 05:23 PM
Like a lot of others I'm not satisfied with a loss, but I'm quite proud of the team and the way it fought it out.

Considering how many of our players didn't contribute to any great extent for the first half I thought being within four goals was a great outcome. It was pleasing to see the team gel in the second half and grind to a competitive position.

Dickson was fantastic, and really needs to spend his time closer to goal than he has been in recent weeks. I thought Dahl played really well, and I loved that he finished off that set shot in the last - I think that'll give him some confidence. Easton Wood was great, aside from a couple of clangers that hurt us when safer options should have been executed.

Roberts tried hard all day and should take something out of this week to go forward with.

17-05-2015, 05:31 PM
Fletcher Roberts was solid throughout the game. I thought he was a good contributor.
How did you rate him?

17-05-2015, 05:36 PM
Roberts is a clever footballer and I thought he showed that today. Like any other tall kid he needs games under his belt, more fitness and strength, and importantly confidence through hard work and some positive results.

17-05-2015, 05:40 PM
Fletcher Roberts was solid throughout the game. I thought he was a good contributor.
How did you rate him?

Thought it was his best game in the AFL. He looked really composed and used the ball well. Good overheard too.

17-05-2015, 05:43 PM
Just lacked composure at crucial times when the game was on the line. JJ just snapping without looking in the forward 50 when we had free players everywhere. Bob Murphy missing Wallis with the 20 metre kick in the corridor.

Great effort though. Really took it to them.

17-05-2015, 05:47 PM
I beginning to wonder if Stringer is carrying some sort of niggle. Just hasn't looked right for a couple of weeks.

Sitting in Savoy Tavern lamenting with a mate.

Said to him, "Do you realise we've got four kids in the twos who will debut this season? Hamilton, Hamling, Cordy and McLean?"

Plus Macrae and Hrovat playing twos? And Webb rested, not to mention Biggs?? plus A rookie called Roarke Smith who is playing excellent footy? AND we've just run the best team in the comp to 13 points? Chin up!!

Then there's free agency now - as a club on the up..

Just lacked composure at crucial times when the game was on the line. JJ just snapping without looking in the forward 50 when we had free players everywhere. Bob Murphy missing Wallis with the 20 metre kick in the corridor.

Great effort though. Really took it to them.

A couple of errors at crucial times in the last few minutes and Freo pounced.

In the end it was the first quarter where we lost the game. After the first quarter we kicked 13 goals to their 10.

17-05-2015, 05:54 PM
A couple of errors at crucial times ionm the last few minutes and Freo pounced.

In the end it was the first quarter where we lost the game. After the first quarter we kicked 13 goals to their 10.

Yes they got the jump on us and I thought we lacked a bit of composure in the last 5 mins. A few rushed kicks in the last few minutes.

17-05-2015, 05:56 PM
Fyfe is a great player, but deliberate tripping is a dog act and he should get suspended and be ineligible for the Brownlow.

17-05-2015, 06:01 PM
Fyfe is a great player, but deliberate tripping is a dog act and he should get suspended and be ineligible for the Brownlow.

The coverage is annoying me. He should just get a fine, etc... He kicked a 90kg guy across the legs so hard he fell from the force. Just because he was lying on the ground does not make it any less severe, or for anything else. The guy has priors for it too from memory. The tripping which was softened by the tribunal was grabbing a a player by the ankles when you're on the ground. Kicking with force another's players legs should be minimum two weeks, not two weeks unless you're a good player.

17-05-2015, 06:02 PM
Game over already.

This is what I love about the Bulldogs 2015. You'd have thought so, they proved you wrong.

I hate honourable losses. But our guys learnt a hell of a lot about football today.

Absolutely agree. Maybe I've sour grapes, but he played like an untouchable thug today at plenty of stoppages around the ground. No questioning his class and poise, but he's not afraid to dish out the cheapies either.

I watched Cordy a lot today. I am very happy with his game and can finally see why he's getting picked. Minson would've won more hitouts but cost us around the ground. Cordy was obviously tired, but didn't stop running the whole game.

17-05-2015, 06:04 PM
Encouraging performance. We're close. We could be scary good in 1-2 years time.

Makes me salivate at the thought of attacking free agency, either by trying to pick up a gun key defender or gun midfielder. We're a very attractive place to come to.

Freo deserved the win. Just a bit better, as they should be. Long term view - if we can plug maybe 2-3 holes we have (second ruck/forward, a mid, a key back) we'll be top 2 before we know it.

I'd go chase Dangerfield hard, he's exactly the type of mid we need to complete our set-up in there.

17-05-2015, 06:08 PM
This is what I love about the Bulldogs 2015. You'd have thought so, they proved you wrong.

Yep, I loved being wrong

17-05-2015, 06:09 PM
How did you rate him?

Roberts was very good today. Is excellent overhead but still needs to get quicker off the mark. Plays with a lot of poise and really good awareness to sum up situations. I thought the back line was very good today.

17-05-2015, 06:10 PM
The coverage is annoying me. He should just get a fine, etc... He kicked a 90kg guy across the legs so hard he fell from the force. Just because he was lying on the ground does not make it any less severe, or for anything else. The guy has priors for it too from memory. The tripping which was softened by the tribunal was grabbing a a player by the ankles when you're on the ground. Kicking with force another's players legs should be minimum two weeks, not two weeks unless you're a good player.

Memories of Paul Dear come flashing back.

17-05-2015, 06:22 PM
If you can be happy after a loss I probably am. To be honest I thought we might get smashed and after the first qtr it looked that way, we aren't far off at all, although I was sitting just at the back of the Freo dug out and Freo were a lot bigger than us, they are a monster team huge bodies.
We saw where we are and it's a nice surprise, a few errors and we lost, remember we are kids they are the oldest side around and heaps of muscle height and experience, very scary team ...
I think we can all see the light after today.

17-05-2015, 06:22 PM
Yep, I loved being wrong

We lost. Yes. But the game was far from over.

17-05-2015, 06:27 PM
4 disposals for Jong. Not good enough

Your being way too hash. Been bloody great all year. Where did you rate Jong at the start of the year?

17-05-2015, 06:30 PM
Your being way too hash. Been bloody great all year. Where did you rate Jong at the start of the year?

In BAD's defence 4 disposals isn't sufficient return for a midfielder, irrespective of how many tackles he may lay. I don't think BAD was commenting in a context beyond today.

Jong's been good this year, but had a bad day today. It's going to happen, he's still inexperienced.

17-05-2015, 06:34 PM
We lost. Yes. But the game was far from over.

Well, I probably was right as thats when we lost the game. But I'm glad the boys didn't give up.

17-05-2015, 06:36 PM
I,ll put that down as an almost win , the 1st quarter really made it hard to come back from and it looked like Freo were going run away with the game , great to see the fellas fight hard till the end .

Jong , Wallis , Stringer and Honeychurch were all off today

Dickson , Crameri , Dahlhaus , Murphy and Roughead were very solid , Roberts deserved to another chance and was an important part of the defensive structure

17-05-2015, 06:47 PM
Considering Fremantle are at least 5 goals better than anyone else in the comp, we did very well to get within 13 points.

17-05-2015, 07:11 PM
Loved the come-back. very disappointed to not snag the win, but what a win it would have been, and in the light of inexperience and a few players struggling, it was a pretty impressive performance from the moment we scored our first goal.

Watched the two post-match press conferences and they confirmed that I'm really starting to love our coach, and that Ross Lyon remains someone to be despised (by me at least).

I like Beveridge's willingness to adjust tactically during the game - as he noted, I think he got the structures right, and the brave move regarding the ruck situation gave us a chance to compete and we ran out the game very well. At times it cost us, but it also helped us get back into the game I think. Ayce showed a bit last week, and though he didn't do as much this week, I think he continued to show some impressive signs.

Beveridge noted, in an understated way, that taking the risk of playing both Wallis and Jong straight-up didn't work - we win the game, I think, if Jong had played to the standard he's set in his other games this year.

Stevens was great for most of the game - super courageous and some incisive kicks that broke the game open, Hunter is a little lost at the moment. I know Goodes made some significant mistakes, but his hardness around the contest was important and I'd keep him in the side.

17-05-2015, 07:18 PM
A terrible first quarter or a brilliant Freo first quarter cost us dearly in the end. Freo had the mature heads in the end coupled with some costly errors from us not dealing with the pressure and the moment.
A lot of positives can be taken out of this loss. We had quite a few players well down and still pushed the undefeated Freo to the wire. When we have 22 contributors we are a very good team. 22 would of got us across the line today.

Some good signs from Bailey Dale, Fletcher Roberts and Tom Boyd.

Our backs look a lot more settled with Matty Boyd down there.

Putting a defensive forward on Johnson would of been a good idea as well.

17-05-2015, 07:18 PM
Interesting to see the stats sheet from last year:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5844

If someone could pull the clearances stats from this game it would be great.

I notice that it was statistically a good game from Will in terms of hitouts and touches in general. The reason I'm pulling this up, is probably to point out the difference in game style we have now compared to then. From memory it was a game played as a rolling mall in which we gathered a lot of possession only to let Fremantle get behind us and score on the rebound easily. Watching this week it was a lot different, the rolling mall was gone and we set up our defensive zones reminiscent of how the better teams - dare I say it, like Fremantle and Hawthorn - set up. Space is our concern when we don't have the ball, rather than the contest. When the contest comes to your space, it's your turn to nullify things, and win the ball.

I like this year's version better. Whilst I never believed the contest oriented version of McCartney's reign was his final intended game style, it's good to see it's been moved on early in Beveridge's tenure.

17-05-2015, 07:34 PM
What's The Story: 7 Goal Tory!

It's been a big couple of weeks for the Torys.

17-05-2015, 07:40 PM
Watched the two post-match press conferences and they confirmed that I'm really starting to love our coach, and that Ross Lyon remains someone to be despised (by me at least).

Loved how he handled the press conference in regards to the surface, the loss, Fyfe, Minson's VFL game etc.

Looks as though he is somebody who absolutely hates losing. Most people (coaches included) would be happy with this type of loss, given where we're at and where Freo are at, but you sense that Bevo is gutted we lost even if he's proud of how we played.

He's a good fit for us.

17-05-2015, 08:00 PM

It was more like a karate leg sweep Danielson & Mr Miyagi would of been proud of. He can be known as Nathanson from now on.

17-05-2015, 08:05 PM
It looked bad when he did it. The replay looks diabolical - like he was trying to break Kobe's leg. Gotta be a suspension.

17-05-2015, 08:19 PM
I am having a chuckle at all the comments in this thread and the other post match threads, as if the coaching staff are oblivious to what's going on out there.

DON'T YOU SEE HOW MANY HIT OUTS THEY'RE GETTING?

WHY DID WE LET MICHAEL JOHNSON MARK EVERYTHING?

WHO'S RUNNING MATCH DAY STRATEGY!!!???!!!

Yet this is the same coaching staff that got us to a tied game with 2 minutes to go with 20 players with less than 100 games experience against the clear best team in the comp when no one has gotten within a bull's roar.

I'm all for open discourse and I understand a forum where no questions are asked is boring, but let's ask some different questions that don't insult the intelligence of people who clearly have a clue.

17-05-2015, 08:23 PM

Can't suspend him though. He's a brownlow medal favorite and one of the leagues best. Doesn't matter if Kobe's leg got snapped in the process. I love Fyfe as a player but IMO that's a week or two on the sidelines at least. I'm tired of them being so lenient on trips! It's a really dangerous act. Peter Foster waves hello.

17-05-2015, 08:28 PM
I think Fyfe should have been charged with kicking an opponent. It was worse than a tripping action.

17-05-2015, 08:29 PM
Agree Comrade. I thought it was a very good performance and the coaching team this year have gotten enough right so far for me to forgive them some mistakes, or for me to be a bit lenient with things like the ruck issue. After all it is a very inexperienced coaching team. We have two first time line coaches, one rookie senior coach, and a couple of coaches in King and Smith who have been around for a couple of years.

They are clearly still learning on the job and I am more than happy for them to try things.

17-05-2015, 08:30 PM
Great effort from our side today. We really gave the best side in the comp right now a scare. Dicko was great today. Thought Wood did very well as did Murphy. Good stuff from Bailey Dale in debut and Tom Boyd showed quite a bit again.

17-05-2015, 08:39 PM
I am having a chuckle at all the comments in this thread and the other post match threads, as if the coaching staff are oblivious to what's going on out there.

DON'T YOU SEE HOW MANY HIT OUTS THEY'RE GETTING?

WHY DID WE LET MICHAEL JOHNSON MARK EVERYTHING?

WHO'S RUNNING MATCH DAY STRATEGY!!!???!!!

Yet this is the same coaching staff that got us to a tied game with 2 minutes to go with 20 players with less than 100 games experience against the clear best team in the comp when no one has gotten within a bull's roar.

I'm all for open discourse and I understand a forum where no questions are asked is boring, but let's ask some different questions that don't insult the intelligence of people who clearly have a clue.
Great post mate.

17-05-2015, 08:44 PM
Loved how he handled the press conference in regards to the surface, the loss, Fyfe, Minson's VFL game etc.

Looks as though he is somebody who absolutely hates losing. Most people (coaches included) would be happy with this type of loss, given where we're at and where Freo are at, but you sense that Bevo is gutted we lost even if he's proud of how we played.

He's a good fit for us.

Beveridge reminds me so much of Clarkson in the way he carries himself and handles the media.

17-05-2015, 09:09 PM
Some of the posts here referring to Beveridge's honeymoon period with the media are simply laughable. The bloke is getting results we could only dream of pre season. More than happy with what he's doing with Cordy if it means we end up with an AFL standard player....short term pain for long term gain.

It wasn't Freo's ruck dominance that got them the points today...it was our players' reactionary mindset in the first quarter as we continually played from behind, were second to the ball and allowed Freo to take the initiative.

17-05-2015, 09:34 PM
Beveridge reminds me so much of Clarkson in the way he carries himself and handles the media.

He was pretty smug and dismissive with responses to a couple of the questions.. Much like Clarko is.

He certainly has his views and isn't going to be swayed by outside influences.

17-05-2015, 10:21 PM
Great shot of Bevo at the 3/4 time huddle

( Michael Dodge/Getty Images AsiaPacific )
http://www4.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/AFL+Rd+7+Western+Bulldogs+v+Fremantle+yu9mn31pLuAx.jpg

17-05-2015, 10:57 PM
I used to hate the gallant losses - because they didn't mean anything. I love that everyone is learning from a loss like that, even supporters! I'd rather be us.

Clearly we no longer need a ruck at all. Let's play out the rest of the season without a dedicated rucking person - who knows, it could be just the x factor we need. Not that we need much x factor.

Just send in some random middle sized bloke to wave his arms about and then get the ball anyway.

Not saying it would work but if it does i'm taking credit for it.

17-05-2015, 11:08 PM
"Ross Lyon remains someone to be despised (by me at least)."

Include me in. I like to Internationalize language so, for me, Lyon is uber-smug. The sort of hyper-conceited smarmy, smart-Alek, know-it-all, that needs to be taught some humility.

17-05-2015, 11:10 PM
First match of the year for me, and I got to the game when we were 32 points down so I missed our hideous first 15 minutes. I was really impressed with our defending - we conceded a truckload more inside 50s and only scored 1 less goal. Apart from the start, we had too many passengers today - we don't have the depth to be able to carry 4-5 non-contributors, especially against a seasoned team. Honeychurch gets a leave pass because he was clearly hampered by a heavy knock in the 1st qtr.

We lacked a little composure in the heat of the last couple of minutes - this is what annoyed me most about last week. Losing close games is habitual for a young list, and the wonderful gains against Sydney were wiped away last week and possibly caused us to wobble once or twice very late today.

That was certainly one of the most brutal games I've seen in terms of manic pressure in and around the contest, and that experience alone will be invaluable for our young list.

Fyfe a thug? Please. He might cop a week and he might get a fine - I could care less either way. Juddy drew blood from Pav's head and still managed to get off at the tribunal to win a Brownlow - this is chicken feed by comparison. Maybe some Dogs fans subconsciously hate Fyfe because we selected Howard instead.

17-05-2015, 11:15 PM
Great shot of Bevo at the 3/4 time huddle

( Michael Dodge/Getty Images AsiaPacific )
http://www4.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/AFL+Rd+7+Western+Bulldogs+v+Fremantle+yu9mn31pLuAx.jpg

I watched the 3/4,time huddle as closely as I could from level 3 and our guys seemed to be bunched in real tight while Bevo was really pleading for a big effort. Our guys looked really pumped as they walked away from the huddle.

17-05-2015, 11:24 PM
Can't suspend him though. He's a brownlow medal favorite and one of the leagues best. Doesn't matter if Kobe's leg got snapped in the process. I love Fyfe as a player but IMO that's a week or two on the sidelines at least. I'm tired of them being so lenient on trips! It's a really dangerous act. Peter Foster waves hello.
The act was reckless in the extreme and could easily have resulted in a serious injury. Would the media types, who are so intent on pre-judging the outcome, be so strident if Koby Steven's had been stretchered off? Who cares if he is the Brownlow favourite? That's about as relevant as saying he's a distant cousin of the Queen of Sheba. The rules exist to protect players against serious injury and they've been fine-tuned over the years as a matter of necessity. The speed and size of the players has increased the risk of injury immeasurably.

17-05-2015, 11:25 PM
Fyfe a thug? Please. He might cop a week and he might get a fine - I could care less either way. Juddy drew blood from Pav's head and still managed to get off at the tribunal to win a Brownlow - this is chicken feed by comparison. Maybe some Dogs fans subconsciously hate Fyfe because we selected Howard instead.

No, because kicking someone like the way he did is a dangerous dog act and the tribunal needs to show that you just can't do that. A fine is not enough.

17-05-2015, 11:36 PM
No, because kicking someone like the way he did is a dangerous dog act and the tribunal needs to show that you just can't do that. A fine is not enough.
He was charged with tripping, not kicking. You can't just casually call it kicking to suit your argument. I saw it live and on TV replays and it was your standard garden variety trip - he might have been in trouble last year but the rules on tripping this year will save him.

17-05-2015, 11:43 PM
He was charged with tripping, not kicking. You can't just casually call it kicking to suit your argument. I saw it live and on TV replays and it was your standard garden variety trip - he might have been in trouble last year but the rules on tripping this year will save him.
Well the charge is tripping, the action is a kick across Koby's legs

18-05-2015, 12:01 AM

It was red card in my book.

18-05-2015, 12:22 AM

It's not the worst I've seen, but clearly a deliberate trip that had the potential cause unnecessary injury to a player that was just going about his business getting the ball.

I don't expect anything more than one week however, using the fact that Judd clearly elbowed a player in the head and got absolved by the tribunal doesn't stack up to me. Two wrongs don't make a right, and Fyfe needs to go for what he did.

It's that simple.

18-05-2015, 01:11 AM
First match of the year for me, and I got to the game when we were 32 points down so I missed our hideous first 15 minutes.

That makes two of us

using the fact that Judd clearly elbowed a player in the head and got absolved by the tribunal doesn't stack up to me. Two wrongs don't make a right, and Fyfe needs to go for what he did.

It's that simple.
From my view, not a very good one, i thought he slipped and took his legs out and i missed the replay so no idea personally whether he should go or not but can't agree more on this point

18-05-2015, 01:23 AM
Loved the presser . Gutted we lost, and after watching the last quarter I agree .
Couple of poor errors, The Wallis groundball, Stevens not meeting the ball, were costly errors in the end.
Lots of positives, but that was there for the taking.

18-05-2015, 01:25 AM
That makes two of us

From my view, not a very good one, i thought he slipped and took his legs out and i missed the replay so no idea personally whether he should go or not but can't agree more on this point

It was a deliberate act.

I know that players from the past on footy shows throughout the week will say something about him being caught in the moment, but that's all bullshit.

Playing football at a quick and skillful level from experience (not the pointy end of AFL, mind) I can assure you any act like that is deliberate, and he did it fully aware of what he was doing.

He needs to go for it. He doesn't need to be hung drawn etc. etc., but he needs to get at least a week or so. No excuses.

18-05-2015, 02:02 AM
was meaning to write from my vantage point not my view, i was a fair distance away and missed the replay so can't really have much of an opinion on it til i check out the replay

18-05-2015, 03:20 AM
There defence will be that he slipped and it forced the action. But he definately flung his leg out, hit him on the shin with enough force he has to get a week. Not a dog act, it was a reflex action but reckless. Still a week.

18-05-2015, 03:22 AM
Typical of Foxtel our replay not on till 730am. Collingwood's was 2 hours after they played.

18-05-2015, 08:05 AM
Typical of Foxtel our replay not on till 730am. Collingwood's was 2 hours after they played.

Agree wholeheartedly. It's absolutely unacceptable to expect Collingwood fans to wait 2 hours.

18-05-2015, 09:45 AM
Stevens not meeting the ball, were costly errors in the end.

I thought Goodes took a big risk at that stage of the game. He should not have switched back to the corridor but instead gone down the wing.

18-05-2015, 10:39 AM
Marcus Picken and Jake Dahlhaus featuring in Scott Frawleys and Max Russell's Foxtel call fantastic professional effort.

18-05-2015, 10:49 AM
Marcus Picken and Jake Dahlhaus featuring in Scott Frawleys and Max Russell's Foxtel call fantastic professional effort.

That's good for them. :)

Was it Healy who continuously called Matthew Boyd Brad?

18-05-2015, 10:53 AM
That's good for them. :)

Was it Healy who continuously called Matthew Boyd Brad?

:) Yep think so. The fact that they are more like special comments is laughable.

18-05-2015, 10:55 AM
I like Fyfe, but wasn't it a similar trip by leg from Paul Deer that effectively ended Foster's career?
It's a dangerous act

18-05-2015, 11:09 AM

We can add De Jong to that.

18-05-2015, 11:30 AM
I thought Goodes took a big risk at that stage of the game. He should not have switched back to the corridor but instead gone down the wing.

Goodes took the correct option, but

1/ The ball took a little too long to reach the target allowing Mayne to spoil.

2/ Stevens didn't attack the ball or protect the ball drop.

We needed to continue to take risks at this point in the game.

18-05-2015, 11:38 AM
Goodes took the correct option, but

1/ The ball took a little too long to reach the target allowing Mayne to spoil.

2/ Stevens didn't attack the ball or protect the ball drop.

We needed to continue to take risks at this point in the game.

I tend to agree. Right option, less than perfect execution.

On the three or four times in the game that stationary kickers left the ball up in the air too long, Freo made us pay nearly every time. Another example was when Roughead left the ball in the air too long on one occasion at half back, and Jong was jogging to it and was spoiled.

Such a game of inches, particularly in those situations at half back when players are kicking 45 degrees, that you need the kicker and receiver to be doing things as close to perfectly as they can. More often than not, we have been. Boyd, Roughie, Talia, obviously Murphy, and usually Roberts and Wood - have been kicking the ball well this year. But the rare mistake comes at a huge cost.

18-05-2015, 11:59 AM
I tend to agree. Right option, less than perfect execution.

On the three or four times in the game that stationary kickers left the ball up in the air too long, Freo made us pay nearly every time. Another example was when Roughead left the ball in the air too long on one occasion at half back, and Jong was jogging to it and was spoiled.

Such a game of inches, particularly in those situations at half back when players are kicking 45 degrees, that you need the kicker and receiver to be doing things as close to perfectly as they can. More often than not, we have been. Boyd, Roughie, Talia, obviously Murphy, and usually Roberts and Wood - have been kicking the ball well this year. But the rare mistake comes at a huge cost.

I thought at the time Jong may have been protecting his injury by not taking this one in the hands.

18-05-2015, 12:13 PM
It seemed to me that yesterday as per the examples above we waited for the ball to reach us more than usual. Interesting contrast with someone like Fyfe, who would constantly accelerate his body towards the footy to make his mark unspoilable.

18-05-2015, 01:03 PM
He needs to go for it. He doesn't need to be hung drawn etc. etc., but he needs to get at least a week or so.
He would most likely have gotten a week for it last year but the changes in tripping laws in 2015 will most likely see him get a fine this year. I don't get all the gnashing of teeth over this - Dustin Fletcher has done something similar at least half a dozen times over his career and never got more than a week at a time. Tripping by foot happens at least a handful of times every season and it is never referred to as kicking, nor it is ever given serious treatment.

The Paul Dear incident on Fozzie was far worse, and it is folly to be using this as a direct comparison to yesterday.

18-05-2015, 03:10 PM
He would most likely have gotten a week for it last year but the changes in tripping laws in 2015 will most likely see him get a fine this year. I don't get all the gnashing of teeth over this - Dustin Fletcher has done something similar at least half a dozen times over his career and never got more than a week at a time. Tripping by foot happens at least a handful of times every season and it is never referred to as kicking, nor it is ever given serious treatment.

The Paul Dear incident on Fozzie was far worse, and it is folly to be using this as a direct comparison to yesterday.

That's the rub: he won't even get a week. Nobody wants to see him miss 7 games for it but to deliberately trip like that and still possibly win a Brownlow doesn't sit right with me.

18-05-2015, 03:21 PM
That's the rub: he won't even get a week. Nobody wants to see him miss 7 games for it but to deliberately trip like that and still possibly win a Brownlow doesn't sit right with me.
I hear you BAS but the rules on tripping have changed in 2015 - he might well have gotten a week in 2014 for the exact same thing.

18-05-2015, 04:20 PM
I hear you BAS but the rules on tripping have changed in 2015 - he might well have gotten a week in 2014 for the exact same thing.

That's right. I Think he would have got a week last year but will get a fine this year. Whether they are appropriate penaltys is a different argument.

Personally I don't think they are. Any tripping offence should get at least two weeks. It's dangerous and a low act.

18-05-2015, 04:25 PM
Just a fine. Clearly player safety is irelivent now. What woild have happened to Fyfe if Stevens got a broken leg out of it? Just a fine?

18-05-2015, 04:52 PM
I hope they're sending Chris Grant his brownlow. Or do we need stars of minor teams like North & Bulldogs to lose brownlows to show that stars of bigger teams shouldn't have equal treatment.

If that was Lin Jong he'd be rubbed out. This is making me annoyed. A lot.

18-05-2015, 05:14 PM
Personally, I'm happy to see that Fyfe wasn't rubbed out for that.

Understand the question of 'what if Stevens got a broken leg'....but he wasn't injured, and it was graded low impact. Seeing it live, Fyfe slipped and that contributed to the trip. Looks worse in slow-motion as they always do.

18-05-2015, 05:19 PM
If that was Lin Jong he'd be rubbed out. This is making me annoyed. A lot.
Not this year he wouldn't have BT.

18-05-2015, 05:24 PM

I saw Waite got off too. It's getting Monty Python esq right now with what constitutes mid level force, high level force or simply a flesh wound.

18-05-2015, 05:25 PM

Depending on how the contact was rated - low, medium or high.

Perhaps an argument could be made the contact was medium, I'd hate to see what high contact looks like if what Fyfe did was low contact.

Anyway, so be it, time to move on.

18-05-2015, 05:34 PM
I saw Waite got off too. It's getting Monty Python esq right now with what constitutes mid level force, high level force or simply a flesh wound.

Waite's was another that watching it on tv, at the time I thought there was nothing in it. Looked a bit worse on the slow mo - but really, I personally don't want to see players getting rubbed out for that.

I'm probably one that err's on the side of lesser punishments, as there are some ridiculous incidents resulting in suspensions. But then Yarran left crosses a bloke causing him to be dazed, bleeding and leave the field - and gets, what, 2 weeks after a plea?

18-05-2015, 05:39 PM
Waite's was another that watching it on tv, at the time I thought there was nothing in it. Looked a bit worse on the slow mo - but really, I personally don't want to see players getting rubbed out for that.

I'm probably one that err's on the side of lesser punishments, as there are some ridiculous incidents resulting in suspensions. But then Yarran left crosses a bloke causing him to be dazed, bleeding and leave the field - and gets, what, 2 weeks after a plea?

For sure. Bad for different reasons. The gradings and pleas don't work IMO. I'm still working out how Shaun McKernan didn't get 5 or more weeks a while back.

18-05-2015, 05:44 PM
Does anyone think that Riewoldt should have been reported for a careless tackle? Forget that he knocked himself out, but Bridie Smith was also concussed? What is the difference between that bump and the May one last week?

18-05-2015, 05:46 PM
Personally, I'm happy to see that Fyfe wasn't rubbed out for that.

Understand the question of 'what if Stevens got a broken leg'....but he wasn't injured, and it was graded low impact. Seeing it live, Fyfe slipped and that contributed to the trip. Looks worse in slow-motion as they always do.

It's instinct to tackle it's not instinct to throw your legs out and trip someone. I've got more sympathy for those who inflicted accidental head high contact than a trip. A teamate and good friend got his leg broken in a similar way and never played after that, still has a slight limp. Again what if Stevens was injured? Would the penalty be worse? It makes mo sense to have reactive penalties. You hit someone but don't cause any damage you'll likely get off, if you do hurt them you get weeks yet the intent is there in both cases.

Fyfe intended to trip to stop play. He should have been rubbed out for it.

18-05-2015, 05:52 PM
It's instinct to tackle it's not instinct to throw your legs out and trip someone. I've got more sympathy for those who inflicted accidental head high contact than a trip. A teamate and good friend got his leg broken in a similar way and never played after that, still has a slight limp. Again what if Stevens was injured? Would the penalty be worse? It makes mo sense to have reactive penalties. You hit someone but don't cause any damage you'll likely get off, if you do hurt them you get weeks yet the intent is there in both cases.

Fyfe intended to trip to stop play. He should have been rubbed out for it.

Couldn't agree more, I feel intentional tripping is not only dangerous but also cheating. There should have also been an auto 50 metres to stop this sort of thing.

18-05-2015, 05:54 PM
We'll have to agree to disagree on this one. I thought the outcome was definitely influenced by Fyfe's left leg slipping from under him first and him falling awkwardly. Given the sudden loss of footing - I really don't think it was a considered action of malice.

18-05-2015, 05:56 PM
We'll have to agree to disagree on this one. I thought the outcome was definitely influenced by Fyfe's left leg slipping from under him first and him falling awkwardly. Given the sudden loss of footing - I really don't think it was a considered action of malice.

Don't think there was malice either but believe he had intent to stop Kobe.

18-05-2015, 06:15 PM
Couldn't agree more, I feel intentional tripping is not only dangerous but also cheating. There should have also been an auto 50 metres to stop this sort of thing.

There was and it was a good rule. I'm buggered if I know why they got rid of it.

18-05-2015, 06:21 PM
There was and it was a good rule. I'm buggered if I know why they got rid of it.

So it's gone? Wondered why we didn't get 50 for it.

18-05-2015, 06:25 PM
Does anyone think that Riewoldt should have been reported for a careless tackle? Forget that he knocked himself out, but Bridie Smith was also concussed? What is the difference between that bump and the May one last week?

Brodie had the ball, Nick made head high contact. Yes, it should have been looked at.

18-05-2015, 07:27 PM
Brodie had the ball, Nick made head high contact. Yes, it should have been looked at.

But they didn't because it was Nick? It makes you wonder.

18-05-2015, 08:26 PM
So it's gone? Wondered why we didn't get 50 for it.

Yeah it's been gone for quite a few years now. I found out a few years ago by screaming at the umpire for not paying the 50m only for the guy behind to point out the rule had gone a couple of years earlier. :o

It was a good rule that took away the incentive to trip someone to hold them up. It should be brought back.

18-05-2015, 08:36 PM
Goodes doesn't really get much love in here sometimes, but his hardness is really important in a developing side.
Such a solid bloke. I reckon Mundy will be sore for a few days after that head cruncher.

18-05-2015, 08:38 PM
Yeah it's been gone for quite a few years now. I found out a few years ago by screaming at the umpire for not paying the 50m only for the guy behind to point out the rule had gone a couple of years earlier. :o

If was a good rule that took away the incentive to trip someone to hold them up. It should be brought back.

And I'm finding that out this year. :)

19-05-2015, 11:35 AM
Is anyone else still really really angry that we lost? Not annoyed or frustrated but angry. Still.

It's good. I like it.

I got used to losing in the last few years and it didn't get to me when we lost. But this loss has made me angry. We should have won that game because we are a better team than Freo and we played better footy on the day. I'm really looking forward to thumping Melbourne on the weekend.

19-05-2015, 11:39 AM
Is anyone else still really really angry that we lost? Not annoyed or frustrated but angry. Still.

It's good. I like it.

I got used to losing in the last few years and it didn't get to me when we lost. But this loss has made me angry. We should have won that game because we are a better team than Freo and we played better footy on the day. I'm really looking forward to thumping Melbourne on the weekend.

Two weeks of anger in fact. :D

19-05-2015, 12:42 PM
Two weeks of anger in fact. :D

I found all sorts of reasons we lost to the saints and it almost made sense to me that we gave up a ten goal lead. I was fine with it.

But this loss has really stuck in my craw. I'm counting down the days until we play Melbourne.

19-05-2015, 01:04 PM

It's good. I like it.

Have you been drinking?

19-05-2015, 01:51 PM

It's good. I like it.

I'm the opposite. I'm proud of how far we pushed Freo, but I felt they deserved the win. A little more experienced and polished when it counted, but it gave me the confidence that in 1-2 years we can challenge.

It did, however, and still, makes me bitterly angry about our loss to St. Kilda because we never should have lost that game. No excuse when you're 55 points up in the third quarter against poor opposition.

19-05-2015, 02:28 PM
I'm the opposite. I'm proud of how far we pushed Freo, but I felt they deserved the win. A little more experienced and polished when it counted, but it gave me the confidence that in 1-2 years we can challenge.

Agree.. All key stats show that Fremantle were the dominant team on the day, but our ability to take our chances from limited opportunities and hang in there gave me a sense of satisfaction after the game.

We really would have pinched this one if we had come out victors.

19-05-2015, 03:18 PM

It did, however, and still, makes me bitterly angry about our loss to St. Kilda because we never should have lost that game. No excuse when you're 55 points up in the third quarter against poor opposition.

Same for me really. That St Kilda loss will stay with me, and burn.

19-05-2015, 03:20 PM
Same for me really. That St Kilda loss will stay with me, and burn.

Don't worry we play them again in a 6 rounds time.

19-05-2015, 04:39 PM
Agree.. All key stats show that Fremantle were the dominant team on the day, but our ability to take our chances from limited opportunities and hang in there gave me a sense of satisfaction after the game.

We really would have pinched this one if we had come out victors.

Agree with this - and whilst there are some very pleasing aspects to take out of the good effort against Freo - the 'good effort' means absolutely nothing if we don't bring that standard and beat Melbourne, well, this week.

20-05-2015, 06:25 PM
Late comments on the game.

Little bit disappointed that we started a little bit timidly. We could have stopped 4 or 5 possession chains in the first 10 minutes with a little more commitment at the contest. We looked almost nervous and awe struck.

Once we settled into our game and got our hands on the ball the game turned into a genuinely 50/50 tussle.

Freo and Lyon really did their home work on us and picked us apart well. Lyon in the pre game commented that they didn't want to be overly aggressive in their ball movement or run at (he said engage) our press. They really tried to avoid our frontal pressure and used lateral kicks and switches right across the ground to get to space. It worked really well and something we will need to keep an eye on as teams plan against us.

Clearly playing Jong and Wallis together coming back from injury was a calculated gamble that didn't pay off. Both at their best and we probably win the game IMO.

We couldn't get those handball chains out off half back almost all game until the last qtr. We just couldn't get back through the corridor and we didn't take the game on enough until it was too late.

20-05-2015, 08:36 PM
Late comments on the game.

Little bit disappointed that we started a little bit timidly. We could have stopped 4 or 5 possession chains in the first 10 minutes with a little more commitment at the contest. We looked almost nervous and awe struck.

Once we settled into our game and got our hands on the ball the game turned into a genuinely 50/50 tussle.

Freo and Lyon really did their home work on us and picked us apart well. Lyon in the pre game commented that they didn't want to be overly aggressive in their ball movement or run at (he said engage) our press. They really tried to avoid our frontal pressure and used lateral kicks and switches right across the ground to get to space. It worked really well and something we will need to keep an eye on as teams plan against us.

Clearly playing Jong and Wallis together coming back from injury was a calculated gamble that didn't pay off. Both at their best and we probably win the game IMO.

We couldn't get those handball chains out off half back almost all game until the last qtr. We just couldn't get back through the corridor and we didn't take the game on enough until it was too late.

But not all that many teams can execute the lateral movement against the press with the precision Heave-Ho did. West Coke, Ninthmond and Adelaide couldn't.

Sure hope that loss against Stk doesn't come into the tally when the finals are determined.

20-05-2015, 08:38 PM
But not all that many teams can execute the lateral movement against the press with the precision Heave-Ho did. West Coke, Ninthmond and Adelaide couldn't.

Sure hope that loss against Stk doesn't come into the tally when the finals are determined.

Actually, West Coke had a different strategy, involving carrying the ball and long kicking through the corridor to break the lines, that we found hard to combat.

20-05-2015, 09:12 PM
Easton Wood's improvement has had a massive impact on the way our team functions. Is ability to get third man up is second to none in the competition at present I reckon.