View Full Version : Game Day Round 8 2015 - Melbourne V Western Bulldogs

23-05-2015, 08:04 PM
Dogs by 35 points - Wont be a huge smashing but I reckon will have enough to win comfortably
First Goal: T. Boyd to get our first goal
Best On Ground: Dickson

23-05-2015, 08:38 PM
Dogs by 125 points. Must bury them.
First goal. J. Stringer
BOG. Murph. But T Boyd will kick 9 goals.

23-05-2015, 08:43 PM
Dogs by 125 points. Must bury them.
First goal. J. Stringer
BOG. Murph. But T Boyd will kick 9 goals.

Would love that. Need a percentage booster :) :)

23-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Dogs by 31 pts
First goal Boyd Jr.
BOG Bontilicious

23-05-2015, 09:24 PM
Dogs by 11 pts ( gotta feeling it will be close)
BOG T Boyd
1st Goal T Boyd

How many Boyd Hogan comparisons ?

23-05-2015, 11:57 PM
Dogs by 58
First goal Hunter (break out game).
BOG Murphy.

24-05-2015, 02:03 AM
Dogs by 36
First goal Dickson
BOG Dahlhaus

24-05-2015, 02:14 AM
Dogs by 47
First goal TBoyd
BOG Bonti

24-05-2015, 03:14 AM
Dogs by 74
First Goal T Boyd
BOG T Boyd - 7 goals

24-05-2015, 03:31 AM
Dogs by 12 pts
First Goal - Jack Watts
BOG - Les Bont

24-05-2015, 08:27 AM
Just looking at the ladder and note that we are exactly Even Steven in points for and against. Precisely 100.0%.

I think that today we really have to make a statement. We need to be ruthless and really go for Melbourne's jugular. I calculate that, if we win, we'll go to 7th and if we win by ~110 points, we'll go to 6th - just behind the Pies.

In an even season like this, we need to put some teams away and really build up our percentage. I'm not tipping a 110 point win, but I think we should be setting ourselves 9+ goals.

Stringer and Jong were flat last week. They just didn't look themselves. I'm tipping both to have good games today. They've both been pivotal to our better performances this season. We're on the MCG - which our players tend to get a lift out of.

Dogs by 68 points, first goal Stringer, BOG Bont, Boyd 6 goals.

24-05-2015, 09:03 AM
Dogs by 37
First Goal- Boyd
BOG - Stringer

24-05-2015, 10:33 AM
Dogs by 13
First Goal - Dickson
BOG - Bont

24-05-2015, 11:44 AM
Anything +40 point win will be acceptable. I'll say 8 goals
First goal - T Boyd
BOG Bontempelli

24-05-2015, 12:22 PM
Depending on the final percentage we can climb as high as 6th
For the Demons Tom McDonald has the highest stats in the AFL for Rebound 50's with 6.57 a game , if we shut him down , put pressure on him from start to finish , target the contest he is trying to kick to it will go a long way to us locking the ball in the Forward 50
Dogs by 83
First Goal - Crameri
BOG - Dahlhaus

24-05-2015, 12:54 PM
Huge danger game today. Melbourne are coming off a horror 3 weeks against the 3 best teams in the AFL, and are all set for an ambush. Chris Dawes is a huge out for their structure, but is offset by the return of Jesse Hogan and Jack Watts. Watts saves his best for us.

If we can match them for intensity then I think we can just get home, otherwise we will be 4 and 4 at 6pm tonight.

Dogs by 2 points
1st goal: Stewart Crameri
BOG - Koby Stevens

24-05-2015, 01:07 PM
No way Melbourne can handle our pressure, we will smash them.

Dogs by 63
1st goal Lukey D.
B.O.G Picken

24-05-2015, 02:19 PM
Dogs by 84
BOG Stringer
1st goal Bonts

24-05-2015, 02:59 PM
FINAL TEAMS: No late changes, Bailey Dale will wear the green subs vest.

24-05-2015, 03:06 PM
Me, I am just grateful for a win, any win against anybody. :-)
BOG Matty Boyd
First goal Crameri

24-05-2015, 03:12 PM
FINAL TEAMS: No late changes, Bailey Dale will wear the green subs vest.

Footscray Forum reports Grant has been sent to the MCG after playing half a game..... might be a late, late change afterall.

24-05-2015, 03:26 PM
I would have started Dale against the Dees perfect game for him to play in

24-05-2015, 03:32 PM
Dogs by 55
First goal- Dickson
BOG - Bonti

24-05-2015, 03:34 PM
Dogs by 102
BOG & FG Boyd (8 today)

24-05-2015, 04:06 PM
Dogs by 37 points
First goal: Tom Boyd
BOG: Murphy

24-05-2015, 04:10 PM
Went and had a look at the BF Melbourne site. Dees supporters are very concerned about their outs and are bemoaning the lack of depth in their playing list. They are concerned with the amount of tall timber that has been included in the line up for today - they think a lot of their taller players are not very good, including their ruckmen.

Bulldogs by 60 points
First Goal: Tricky Dicky
BOG: Kobe/Picken tie.

24-05-2015, 04:11 PM
Footscray Forum reports Grant has been sent to the MCG after playing half a game..... might be a late, late change afterall.

It certainly seemed that way. It looks like they have sent him as an emergency

24-05-2015, 04:33 PM
The millionaire Bulldogs are out early. Spending the ball as if we'll have unlimited opportunities.

24-05-2015, 04:35 PM
Hunter looks so average, no intensity or skill. Very unimpressed with his AFL return this year.

24-05-2015, 04:40 PM
Good contest on the wing to stop the Dees run. Need more of that intensity.

24-05-2015, 04:41 PM
I have real concerns about Stringer's mental application sometimes.

24-05-2015, 04:43 PM
Hunter needs a good game. Playing like a millionaire atm needs to lift significantly to stay is the team.

24-05-2015, 04:44 PM
This is so average. 11 straight inside 50's and we are behind...

24-05-2015, 04:45 PM
Did they have a joint training session with the Dees this week? Shocking start.

24-05-2015, 04:45 PM
Same old us , play terrible against Melbourne they are our bogey side like saints.

24-05-2015, 04:51 PM
Terrible quarter. Few of our guys going in with one hand only.

Glad we're winning the hitouts. It's having a massive impact.

Hunter needs a good game. Playing like a millionaire atm needs to lift significantly to stay is the team.
His kicking is woeful

Very poor quarter. Plenty of opportunities but delivery into the forward 50 has generally been average. The Dees really lifted towards the end of that quarter.

24-05-2015, 04:52 PM

Don't see how he is getting a game ahead of Grant.

24-05-2015, 04:53 PM
We were getting well beaten around the stoppages.

24-05-2015, 04:53 PM
Really struggling at clearances and poor execution going into our forward 50. Beveridge looked very unhappy at the end of the Qtr.

24-05-2015, 04:55 PM

This. Grant has intensity this year while Hunter looks almost disinterested and skills below par. Double standards on these two at the moment.

24-05-2015, 04:55 PM

He's earned his chance, but seems not to be making the most of it which is disappointing for him. He doesn't seem to bring any assertiveness in decision making to the game, is flat footed and wasteful with the footy - all of the things which are supposed to be his strengths.

It's a shame.

24-05-2015, 04:56 PM
The longer we allow Melbourne to play their way, the more confident they will become and the harder it will be to get on top.

24-05-2015, 05:00 PM
Melbourne trying to ground the game to static warfare

24-05-2015, 05:01 PM
Looks like he has lost all confidence.

24-05-2015, 05:08 PM
Hunter is doing worse than a witches hat. Yes a bad bounce, but then he just stood there and let me get it in easy...

24-05-2015, 05:08 PM
Crameri is drives me insane sometimes. He does so much good work only to undo it recklessly.

24-05-2015, 05:10 PM
Crameri is drives me insane sometimes. He does so much good work only to undo it recklessly.

That was a low percentage pass.

24-05-2015, 05:11 PM
Very slow low intensity game so far , not enough tackling or pressure , Demons have pushed numbers around the ball and we have just been sucked it to playing on their terms

24-05-2015, 05:13 PM
Can we sub Hunter?

24-05-2015, 05:13 PM
We are just playing into Melbourne's hands.

24-05-2015, 05:16 PM
Do we think we're better than we are? We're certainly playing like we do.

24-05-2015, 05:17 PM
Seriously Hunter, my blood pressure just can't handle your BS today.

He certainly isn't an efficient kick. Good footballer but he can be frustrating.

Still have not got any idea as to how we are trying to play today. No semblance of any rhythm let alone any areas of the ground with anything coming close to an advantage.

What I'd give for someone to lower their eyes and hit a target

24-05-2015, 05:18 PM
We looked buggered. How Hunter and Goodes are in front of Grant and Hrovat is beyond me.

24-05-2015, 05:19 PM
Cordy getting butchered around the ground today, this Spencer kid is giving the Dees a heap

24-05-2015, 05:20 PM
We are gone!

Piss poor !!! I wish I could swear even more ! I'm fuming how shit we are playing.

Its getting more than slightly concerning how this game is unfolding. We cannot afford to lose these games.

24-05-2015, 05:21 PM
We are in real strife

Lazy, lazy, lazy fooball. Need to pull a finger out and start capitalising on the forward 50 entries

Great play Dickson to find Stringer.

Pity the latter has the yips.

24-05-2015, 05:22 PM
Stringer's set shots are just ordinary

May as well chain Stringer to the square such is his kicking

Wasting the ball time and time again

It would appear the footy world went off too early. Fair to say these guys may be reading too much press and believing it too much.

24-05-2015, 05:24 PM
Stringer just can't kick set shots. I reckon he's missed the last 10 attempts.

24-05-2015, 05:24 PM
Seriously rubbish.

24-05-2015, 05:25 PM
Our efforts are lack lusture

24-05-2015, 05:25 PM
Yeah well...probably bottom 4 actually.

24-05-2015, 05:26 PM
Ouch, we were wasteful in ascendency and they seem to score with ease. Bring on half time and a change of attitude.

Can we bring Minson on?

24-05-2015, 05:27 PM
Demons are playing the way we should be playing.

24-05-2015, 05:28 PM
So angry.

Stringer just can't kick set shots. I reckon he's missed the last 10 attempts.

Yep it's become the yips now, not just a few missed chances

This is nothing short of pathetic. No composure, no care for each other and no work ethic.

Good effort from JJ to get back, looked a certain goal.

24-05-2015, 05:29 PM
I hope Bevo can tweak a few things at half time because at this rate we lose by a lot

dukedog
24-05-2015, 05:29 PM
The dogs are always a joke against the dees. Cordy is the worst player in the afl. There. I said it.

24-05-2015, 05:31 PM
Good effort from JJ to get back, looked a certain goal.

Agreed, good effort.

Cordy's tried to get back into the game, but a rushed handball to one of our worst kicks and subsequent turnover really really annoyed me. He needs to read the state of play better than that as he actually has the skill to execute a decent kick.

Very disappointing so far. Need a huge lift in the second half.

Just unable to break down the Dees defensive zone, the put it to the top of the square strategy is playing into their hands. No composure with the footy and going at goal. We need to lower the eyes and start hitting leading targets. This forward structure is reminiscent of last year

24-05-2015, 05:34 PM
That's as bad a half of football as you're likely to see.

24-05-2015, 05:35 PM
Just unable to break down the Dees defensive zone, the put it to the top of the square strategy is playing into their hands. No composure with the footy and going at goal. We need to lower the eyes and start hitting leading targets. This forward structure is reminiscent of last year

Spot on.

24-05-2015, 05:37 PM
The dogs are always a joke against the dees. Cordy is the worst player in the afl. There. I said it.

Cordy is not the worse today

24-05-2015, 05:38 PM
I thought we would use the mcg's open space well like we did against the tiges. It look like there are too much open space atm.
Definitely need a lift in skills for the second half.

24-05-2015, 05:40 PM
Cordy is not the worse today

Nah, let's just bash him.

24-05-2015, 05:41 PM
Clearances around the ground are a real worry. We went in looking to rove off them but their 3rd man up is punching the ball into space and they're clearing it with ease. It was always likely to eventuate playing Russian roulette the way we have been.

24-05-2015, 05:41 PM
Don't underestimate Roosey as a defensive coach.

Our runners have been denied both space when they get the ball and targets.

Also with the exception of Luke Dalhaus we seem to lack the desire today.

24-05-2015, 05:42 PM
Lacking skills more like it

24-05-2015, 05:42 PM

I had to check the date. Thought it must have been 2014 again.

24-05-2015, 05:43 PM
Clearances around the ground are a real worry. We went in looking to rove off them off them but their 3rd man up is punching the ball into space and they're clearing it with ease. It was always likely to eventuate playing Russian roulette the way we have been.

It's compounded by the fact our third man up seems to want to punch the ball into space to their advantage.

24-05-2015, 05:43 PM

Totally. Let's hope it is complete reversal in the 2nd half. It's like the team just hasn't turned up to play. We are lucky we are still in the game and can win it. If we played this way last week we would have been 10 goals down.

24-05-2015, 05:44 PM
There are a lot of players that need to lift
Jong, JJ, Bonti, Goodes to name a few

24-05-2015, 05:46 PM
There are a lot of players that need to lift
Jong, JJ, Bonti, Goodes to name a few

Hunter.

24-05-2015, 05:47 PM
What I don't get, and we do it often, is we mark the ball say 60 out from goal, the guy starts to look towards our tall forwards, sees they are covered one on one,then stops, stalls to then look for a lateral or short option, then after 4 or 5 opposition guys stream back into the defensive 50 pull the trigger and kick to a now hopelessly outnumbered forward line.
Just go the first option and give the forwards a chance one on one instead of waiting and still trying for the forward target when they're no chance being double teamed.

24-05-2015, 05:48 PM
Roughy into the ruck, Boyd in the middle. I like it already

24-05-2015, 05:49 PM
Moving from angry, to embarrassed.

24-05-2015, 05:52 PM
Biggs dosent look like an AFL player

24-05-2015, 05:52 PM
The Bulldogs have had 15 more inside fifties than the Demons, but have disposed at just 32 per cent efficiency inside fifty and kicked just 3.9 (27). The Demons have disposed at 65 per cent efficiency inside fifty, which has netted them 7.5 (47)

24-05-2015, 05:53 PM
We are playing like a bunch of drunks.

24-05-2015, 05:53 PM
Apparently the first half was our good half!

24-05-2015, 05:54 PM
This one is gone, gee I feel like going home

dukedog
24-05-2015, 05:55 PM
Is dalhaus the only bloke playing today for the dogs?

24-05-2015, 05:56 PM
Dale Subbed for Boyd. Yeesh.

What a putrid performance.
I bet Leigh Matthews, who is on record as saying he hopes Boyd fails, is feeling very smug right now. Hogan tearing us apart meanwhile Tom Boyd subbed out with nothing against his name.

Boyd subbed.

Tanking investigation underway.

We've subbed Boyd to make Cordy our focal point forward. This will go well.

24-05-2015, 05:57 PM
We could get done by 10 goals today.

24-05-2015, 05:59 PM
I'm embarrassed.

24-05-2015, 05:59 PM
Isolate Stringer at FF with Dahl. Looks like Boyd in the middle.

24-05-2015, 06:00 PM
I'm embarrassed.

Yep. Seems to be the word on my mind.

24-05-2015, 06:00 PM
If Cordy plays again this season, the MC are taking the piss.

24-05-2015, 06:01 PM
Hunter is perfecting these 3m kicks today. His signature move perhaps?

24-05-2015, 06:01 PM
I've never left a game early. This could be the day.

dukedog
24-05-2015, 06:02 PM
What does cordy know about bevo. He has something on him. How would u sub boyd. Send cordy forward and roughy to ruck... this is ridiculous

Stringer. Great steal and goal.

Come on Dogs. Get in their heads a bit and get back into the game.

That's better Beasty! Little bit more energy around the footy at the moment.

24-05-2015, 06:04 PM
Roughy dominant in the ruck now, finally getting first use

24-05-2015, 06:04 PM
Amazing what happens when you take Cordy out of the ruck Bevo!

24-05-2015, 06:07 PM
Pretty red hot on Crameri then. There's going to be a lot of holding the ball or incorrect disposal free kicks paid if that's the standard.

24-05-2015, 06:08 PM
We've played awful, no doubt, and deserve to be behind, but gosh the umpiring has been bush league stuff..just atrocious.

24-05-2015, 06:10 PM
Jake Stringer. He's playing pendulum footy right now. Unbelievable!

Stringer! Right in front of me!

Imagine Stringer kicking his set shots as well as the impossible... Fair trick shot.

Stringer has been poor today but still looked our only dangerous forward, really worrying

24-05-2015, 06:11 PM
Jees.. if Stringer could do the simple things right, his party tricks would be icing on the cake and he'd be a star.

24-05-2015, 06:17 PM
Any chance?

24-05-2015, 06:17 PM
A total of 3 marks for the entire 3rd q. Is there any danger of us kicking the ball to a team mate? Skill level is just appalling today.

24-05-2015, 06:20 PM
Goodes created that. He hit Jones HARD.

24-05-2015, 06:20 PM
Have we pulled a finger out?????

24-05-2015, 06:21 PM
Goodes created that. He hit Jones HARD.

Best team thing all day!

24-05-2015, 06:21 PM
Crameri is killing me. He just does my head in.

24-05-2015, 06:23 PM
Better quarter thanks to some changes from Bevo

Handy miss late. Surely we'll play one quarter today.

Crameri is killing me. He just does my head in.
He has had a shocker all year

24-05-2015, 06:25 PM
This one is gone, gee I feel like going home
I felt the same when they kicked the first few after Half time.
It is game on

24-05-2015, 06:26 PM
It's time to bring it home Dogs!

Only three goals behind. Keep going lads.

24-05-2015, 06:26 PM
Bont and Jong can't get their hands on the ball

24-05-2015, 06:27 PM
Good teams can play badly and win. Do it doggies

24-05-2015, 06:27 PM
Believe it or not buy momentum is with the dogs right now. If we win this we have pinched it

24-05-2015, 06:30 PM
Luke Dahlhaus you little ripper.

24-05-2015, 06:31 PM
Let me just say for the record, Dahlhaus = untradeable.

24-05-2015, 06:34 PM
Everyone of our defenders went for the contest, noone had the presence of mind to stay on the ground...easy goal Dees.

24-05-2015, 06:35 PM
Surprised himself Garlett what a suck.

24-05-2015, 06:36 PM
All over, can't see us pinching this. Two steps forward, five back.

24-05-2015, 06:36 PM
Game over. This and the Saints game should really let us know just how much more we've got to go before we are a consistently good team

24-05-2015, 06:37 PM
Never thought I'd see the day when Boyd's hands were worse than his feet

24-05-2015, 06:38 PM
Game over. This and the Saints game should really let us know just how much more we've got to go before we are a consistently good team

Three winnable games all lost.

Crameri one of the worst today.

24-05-2015, 06:42 PM
Almost time for Bonti to have a spell I think

24-05-2015, 06:43 PM
And that is the end of that. %&$@!

24-05-2015, 06:43 PM
The honeymoon is well and truly over. There's a difference between being inventive and just pissing away games trying to be smart.

24-05-2015, 06:44 PM
Embarrassing and when looked at with the loss to the Saints i reckon it will be the difference between a top 8 finish and an 11th place finish.

Game set match demons......poor, poor, poor Bulldogs.

Lets be clear. This team is miles away from the top 4 and not good enough to play finals. False dawn in the first 5 games.

Pathetic effort in the square by three of our players results in Bontempelli getting caught holding the ball.

We haven't deserved to win. We need to disallow the press to attend training, because we can't cope with the positive things being written about us.

The team has bath water poisoning.

24-05-2015, 06:45 PM
This team lost by 100 last week, if they were decent we'd be losing by that margin.

24-05-2015, 06:45 PM
I think this is one of those games that you want to forget...immediately.

Next week yet?

comay
24-05-2015, 06:48 PM
Arrrggg I am really disappointed! !

Biggs can have a rest next week. What they hell was that??

Jong needs to be dropped...his hand isn't right...

I'd expect Webb and hvrat in next week.

24-05-2015, 06:49 PM
Next week will be a bigger flogging

24-05-2015, 06:50 PM
Dees are just working harder and putting us under pressure..it's like watching the 2nd half of the Saints game all over again.

This is why I didn't pick us in the tipping.

24-05-2015, 06:52 PM
Melbourne have scored 10 goals from turnovers today. The Bulldogs have scored just 3 goals from turnovers.

Bring back Macrae, Grant and Webb - we need good ball users. Jong is still injured and Goodes not up to std.

24-05-2015, 06:52 PM
It doesn't matter really who comes in next week let's just keep experimenting. I have zero confidence in the MC making the right decisions.

24-05-2015, 06:53 PM
We've got Dahlhaus isolated 3 on 1 inside 50m as our key target because we subbed off our key forward because we had to find somewhere to hide the ruckman who can't ruck. We've lost the plot.

24-05-2015, 06:53 PM
I cannot find one positive to take from this game. Not a single one. Poor skills, no run, poor decisions

24-05-2015, 06:54 PM
I'm over the Cordy experiment. Need to find a ruckman in free agency

24-05-2015, 06:55 PM
Melbourne have scored 10 goals from turnovers today. The Bulldogs have scored just 3 goals from turnovers.

Bring back Macrae, Grant and Webb - we need good ball users. Jong is still injured and Goodes not up to std.

24-05-2015, 06:56 PM
I can take losing but being disinterested and not working hard enough are unacceptable.

24-05-2015, 06:57 PM
Disgraceful display disgraceful selection disgraceful full stop.
Welcome to AFL football coaching Luke .

24-05-2015, 06:57 PM
We've got Dahlhaus isolated 3 on 1 inside 50m as our key target because we subbed off our key forward because we had to find somewhere to hide the ruckman who can't ruck. We've lost the plot.

We subbed off Boyd because he was pathetic in the first half and fell over as his only contribution in the third. It had nothing to do with Cordy.

24-05-2015, 06:58 PM

I can't believe we subbed Boyd off and left Cordy on.

24-05-2015, 07:00 PM
I'm not sure that the ball being bombed into Boyd and most of the Dees players suited him

24-05-2015, 07:04 PM
Boyd deserved to get subbed - effort NOWHERE near acceptable

Know we're still neck deep in a rebuild, but I'll remain skeptical of this group for a little while

24-05-2015, 07:04 PM
Back into the same routine I've seen for the last 48 years. Sorry for the pessimism but this club gets me so down. :(

24-05-2015, 07:05 PM
It seems that we are all out of unburst balloons around here now

24-05-2015, 07:14 PM
I guess this is why some of us were so disappointed with the St Kilda capitulation. It has set the tone for our performances since then (save for a good patch against Freo). This is a brutal competition and we took our eye off the ball at half-time in Round 6 - we have reverted to bottom 4 fodder since then as a result.

24-05-2015, 07:18 PM
Maybe I'm the glass is half full person but I see today's result as just another trial of playing such a young side. They will excite us and disappoint us for the balance of the season. Who really knows what next week will dish up but I'll be there to watch it.

24-05-2015, 07:26 PM
We subbed off Boyd because he was pathetic in the first half and fell over as his only contribution in the third. It had nothing to do with Cordy.

Fair enough, Boyd was poor, but when we went with Cordy as our key forward he was outmarked in the next 3 contests by the same opponent that Boyd never lost a contest too ( he didn't win one either)

Cordy had to be shifted to defence in the last qtr as there was no where else to hide him.

24-05-2015, 07:31 PM
The Stkilda one didn't hurt me that much but to see a bunch of second hand AFL footballers make us look second rate... Ahhhh that hurt! I was really concerned about our midfield at the start of the year, we then lost Libba so even more so and you can see why when you watched todays game. We just got smashed at the coal face and having ACE as our ruckman it just makes things even more difficult. Luke is playing the long game I understand that but gee its a fine line. Its very difficult to gain momentum back after losing it and he now has the task to build it again.

On the positive I thought Dahl played his absolute guts out and has been great all year. Boyd ditto.

24-05-2015, 07:31 PM
Fair enough, Boyd was poor, but when we went with Cordy as our key forward he was outmarked in the next 3 contests by the same opponent that Boyd never lost a contest too ( he didn't win one either)

Cordy had to be shifted to defence in the last qtr as there was no where else to hide him.

The thing I don't get, is if we needed to hide the ruckman why didn't we just sub him and play Roughead there and Boyd as the back up, as he has been to Cordy and Minson this year?

Do you think Boyd would have evened all of the contests you're referring to?

24-05-2015, 07:32 PM
Extremely disappointing effort.. From the first contest you could see Melb had come to play.. And bar the first 15 minutes where we dominated possession we just got completely out worked and out played and turned the ball over with ease.

Echo other posters thoughts on team selection.. Some extremely poor decisions ( in hindsight).. Bringing in an unskilled and soft flanker for a tackling machine was a strange call, especially when our game in the early part of the season has been built on F50 pressure.

24-05-2015, 07:36 PM
Maybe I'm the glass is half full person but I see today's result as just another trial of playing such a young side. They will excite us and disappoint us for the balance of the season. Who really knows what next week will dish up but I'll be there to watch it.

Yep, im the same. Happy to go in with zero expectations now and just enjoy what we are trying to build, with such a young side there will be days like this.

24-05-2015, 07:37 PM
The thing I don't get, is if we needed to hide the ruckman why didn't we just sub him and play Roughead there and Boyd as the back up, as he has been to Cordy and Minson this year?

Do you think Boyd would have evened all of the contests you're referring to?

You would have to ask the coaches on the 1st one, yes Boyd couldn't get into the game early on.. Wasn't helped by our poor ball use, but he is a much better option than Cordy as the stay at home forward.

And no I couldn't see Fitzpatrick out marking Boyd.. Just didn't look likely.

24-05-2015, 07:38 PM
You would have to ask the coaches on the 1st one, yes Boyd couldn't get into the game early on.. Wasn't helped by our poor ball use, but he is a much better option than Cordy as the stay at home forward.

And no I couldn't see Fitzpatrick out marking Boyd.. Just didn't look likely.

Even the mongrel kick that clearly advantaged him over Cordy and he had to dive and take a chest mark for?

24-05-2015, 07:50 PM

He had a poor first half, which wasn't helped by extremely poor delivery, so we subbed him for a terrible ruckman who's a worse forward?

We then had to move a defender into the ruck so we could get routinely out marked up forward. Which eventuated in us having Dahlhaus trying to our mark multiple defenders as our deep target. The final result was simply a formality.

24-05-2015, 07:55 PM
He had a poor first half, which wasn't helped by extremely poor delivery, so we subbed him for a terrible ruckman who's a worse forward?

We then had to move a defender into the ruck so we could get routinely out marked up forward. Which eventuated in us having Dahlhaus trying to our mark multiple defenders as our deep target. The final result was simply a formality.

You stated we had to sub Boyd off to hide Cordy. The logic's flawed. Why wouldn't we just sub Cordy rather than hide him and play Roughead in the ruck and have Boyd as the back up.

In a half of footy Boyd couldn't manage a stat aside from one handball and one hit-out. We've pilloried Cordy for that sort of output this season in the first three weeks, and with that in mind we should be able to admit Boyd got subbed because of that poor output.

24-05-2015, 07:56 PM
Even the mongrel kick that clearly advantaged him over Cordy and he had to dive and take a chest mark for?

Are we really suggesting a defence to a terrible structural change was that one of the times that quarter Cordy got outmarked it wasn't his fault?

24-05-2015, 07:57 PM
The opportunities Boyd had at impacting a contest were woefully inferior to the level required in the first half. Have no issue with him being subbed out

24-05-2015, 07:58 PM
Jong, is struggling at the moment, not even his tackling saved him today (2). He needs to drop back to VFL. Goodes, I am afraid is not up to AFL standard. I prefer Macrae or Hrovat in the team.

24-05-2015, 08:09 PM
I thought Roos out coached us today. Melbourne stopped our run and bounce from the backline. Murphy, JJ, Wood hardly ran through the corridor to spot someone up field, and were constantly pressured into either turning the ball over or into a stoppage. Melbourne's tackling matched ours and we were under pressure to get rid of it quickly. In the end they delivered the ball better into their forward line and we gave our forwards no chance.

24-05-2015, 08:22 PM
We were horrible today across the whole ground. We were a fumble or a bad handball away from breaking the lines all day. Because we kept fumbling our run dried up. We were our own worst enemy. We seriously made them look good without taking anything away from Melbourne. They were just harder at the contest and used the ball way more efficiently than us when it counted.

24-05-2015, 08:45 PM
I was happy with Fletchers effort again today. He is slowy building into a reliable defender.

24-05-2015, 08:49 PM
I was happy with Fletchers effort again today. He is slowy building into a reliable defender.

He took a couple of really nice grabs.

24-05-2015, 08:53 PM

Very happy with his game.

24-05-2015, 08:54 PM
I can't believe we subbed Boyd off and left Cordy on.

Let's never do it again.

24-05-2015, 08:55 PM
Let's never do it again.

Sub Boyd or play Cordy? :)

24-05-2015, 08:58 PM
Sub Boyd or play Cordy? :)

Not sub Boyd. We needed Ted Parker to go and tell Laurie.

24-05-2015, 09:03 PM
Let's never do it again.

I like you doing a rainman convo with yourself. Could you give me a bit of 'Cordy doesn't crash (contests)'?

24-05-2015, 09:06 PM
Not sub Boyd. We needed Ted Parker to go and tell Laurie.

He was awful, deserved to be subbed.

24-05-2015, 09:09 PM
Disappointing day at the office for us. Need to be better than that. Our use of the ball was shocking - far too many turnovers which cost us. Need to make some changes for next weeks match against GWS. Dahlhaus, Boyd, Wood were good. Stringer, Boyd, Bonts, Goodes, Cordy disappointing today. Roughy and Talia did some good things at times but overall have a lot of work to do.

24-05-2015, 09:11 PM
I have Hunter in my sights to be dropped. Goodes will most likely be out with an injury.
Redpath maybe considered to help Boyd.

24-05-2015, 09:18 PM
Disappointing day at the office for us. Need to be better than that. Our use of the ball was shocking - far too many turnovers which cost us. Need to make some changes for next weeks match against GWS. Dahlhaus, Boyd, Wood were good. Stringer, Boyd, Bonts, Goodes, Cordy disappointing today. Roughy and Talia did some good things at times but overall have a lot of work to do.

Easty, you are the sanest person in the world. I am so angry I have been stopping myself from writing anything much.

24-05-2015, 09:22 PM
We were sucker punched today by fixture management.

Option 1: "we're playing Hawthorn/Freo today. Can't beat em. So let's rest up 7-8 key players, get smacked and set ourselves for the far more vulnerable Dogs/Dees.

Option 2: "option 1 is a cheap option in the grand scheme of things. Let's give Freo/Hawthorn our best shot. Test ourselves/learn against the best. Sure it may leave us sore/vulnerable against a lesser team who've set themselves, but in the long game, this is the way to go.

For the record, I prefer option 2. Clubs just can't get filled in by 100+ points just to set themselves up for weaker opponents. Clubs can't dodge real tests against genuine premiership quality sides. Even if it means shitty days like today. In the long game, Melbourne are going nowhere. Mid table mediocrity. We've got our eyes on a flag. Short term pain for long term gain.

We've got a lot of young bodies which are due a rest. Unfortunately we've got a game we simply can't let blow out on us next week.

My mate and I were discussing his thoughts that "Beveridge needs to play smarter to the fixture." For me, that was a blinkered view. Sure, if you're looking to try to sneak a couple of spots, that has merit. However, surely we're trying to build a group who play robust footy and win finals.

We're not ready at this point, but I'm pleased that we're going hard at the big dogs. We're sticking fat with the youngest list in Victoria and we're not bottling it by signing 28+ year olds from other clubs just so that we can kid ourselves that we're on our way.

24-05-2015, 09:29 PM
I am so angry I have been stopping myself from writing anything much.

Me too.

24-05-2015, 09:31 PM
Easty, you are the sanest person in the world. I am so angry I have been stopping myself from writing anything much.

Yeah I still try and find some of the positives but overall I'm very disappointed.

24-05-2015, 09:32 PM
Bitterly disappointing result. We have too many players not hitting the level they've shown in previous weeks, so many guys labouring. Bonti, Jong, Stringer, Boyd, Stevens all look lke they can hardly get out of first gear, despite a genuine effort to get involved. very difficult to get a result with that level of quality diminished.

The ruck situation is frustrating. I feel like Will should be playing, without Libba, without Smith and with an undercooked Wallis carrying the clearance workload his skill set would be very valuable. Not sure where we can go with it.

24-05-2015, 09:38 PM
Pretty upset about the result. I knew Melbourne would come to play but we really didn't look like it for most of the day. Even when we got within 7 we just seemed off. Melbourne were better today and the final margin was just about right.

What happened with Boyd? Was he not injured?

24-05-2015, 10:03 PM
Geez Boyd took a massive head knock in the 4th. Garlett clipped him in a contest and the Melbourne player actually held him up. He was out and went down again shortly after. Surprised he cameback on.

24-05-2015, 10:08 PM
Geez Boyd took a massive head knock in the 4th. Garlett clipped him in a contest and the Melbourne player actually held him up. He was out and went down again shortly after. Surprised he cameback on.

My initial response was I thought Garlett should go for a couple, but yeah I was surprised Boyd got to the next contest. He looked shattered though.

24-05-2015, 10:51 PM
Everyone of our defenders went for the contest, noone had the presence of mind to stay on the ground...easy goal Dees.

We do it so damn often.

24-05-2015, 11:09 PM

We do it so damn often.

The incident YHF mentions and your comments was something I raised with my gorgeous non-footy watching nor interested girlfriend such was my exasperation.

Today it seemed like we stepped back to a habit I was happy we were getting out of, which is all of our players crowding the carrier or the contest, and nobody staying out to cover the next possession out.

Seriously annoyed at some of the bad habits we saw slip back into our game.

24-05-2015, 11:10 PM
We do it so damn often.

5. yes 5 bulldogs players flew and left Hogan to take the crumb unopposed. Amateurish to say the least.

24-05-2015, 11:38 PM
The incident YHF mentions and your comments was something I raised with my gorgeous non-footy watching nor interested girlfriend such was my exasperation.

Today it seemed like we stepped back to a habit I was happy we were getting out of, which is all of our players crowding the carrier or the contest, and nobody staying out to cover the next possession out.

Seriously annoyed at some of the bad habits we saw slip back into our game.

Succinct and to the point. That is exactly what we have done.

25-05-2015, 12:14 AM
One thing I noticed is how insanely well coached and patient Melbourne are as a football side. They aren't exactly flush with talent but make up for this by sticking to their structure and building patterns almost to a fault; Jones' kick backwards that led to Stringer's goal was a horrific error but it was symptomatic of sticking to a larger plan of maintaining possession being a priority over territory. Their lead ups to goal were often at the end of 15-20 possession long chains.

Their dedication to tempo footy belied their talent level and it's something we could really afford to adapt into our game. I still think that we are the more talented and promising side but I'd love to be as well drilled as Melbourne seem.

25-05-2015, 12:18 AM
One thing I noticed is how insanely well coached and patient Melbourne are as a football side. They aren't exactly flush with talent but make up for this by sticking to their structure and building patterns almost to a fault; Jones' kick backwards that led to Stringer's goal was a horrific error but it was symptomatic of sticking to a larger plan of maintaining possession being a priority over territory. Their lead ups to goal were often at the end of 15-20 possession long chains.

Their dedication to tempo footy belied their talent level and it's something we could really afford to adapt into our game. I still think that we are the more talented and promising side but I'd love to be as well drilled as Melbourne seem.

It will be interesting to see whether other teams supporters might say the same about us after Beveridge has two preseasons under his belt with the list.

I saw a fair bit of what McCartney was doing with us when we played well - especially in 2013 - with what Melbourne put out today. They dominated the numbers around the ball, slung forward when they could and went back when they needed to.

25-05-2015, 01:49 AM
Poor and yet not unexpected. Disappointed but not angry - we've done this a million times over, and although different circumstances, two weeks ago v Saints.

I thought Dahlhaus was good and tried hard, ditto Wallis and Boyd. Roughy was OK and Roberts had some positive moments, but the rest of the side was quite awful.

Hrovat and Macrae needed to play today. Our midfield is thinner than just about any other in the comp with the one we sent out today. Dale isn't quite ready, Jong showed last week he's not ready - far too much pressure on Bonti who looks worn down. Disappointing selections by the MC when you factor in Goodes and Cordy too - both are even worse on the bigger expanses of the MCG. Arguably we should have played Grant too - his pace would have been handy. We looked incredibly slow.

Boyd was poor but subbing him was a stupid decision when Cordy was being smashed by Jake Spencer of all players. As Greystache said, Cordy was so poor up forward and in the ruck that we tried to hide him as a FB in the last. It's a mystery he's lasted this long in the system, let alone as our first ruck for this many weeks.

Have to say I was very unimpressed by Biggs. I know it's his first game, but he looked out of his depth.

25-05-2015, 09:45 AM
Have to say I was very unimpressed by Biggs. I know it's his first game, but he looked out of his depth.

7th game of AFL, so let's see what he his capable of after he gets a few games under his belt. However, taking Biggs was always a risk. The way I look at it, why would a team like Sydney let him go if he was any good. Let's hope we haven't made a mistake.

25-05-2015, 10:32 AM
Our bloke got out-coached again.

You can see it from the stand. We never had the ground set up in the way we wanted - and his coaching was woeful. We completely lost any structure that we did have when Boyd was subbed out. For the second week in a row, he gave up on rucking with Ayce - who he seems hell bent on sticking with. Removed the bloke who had been head and shoulders our best defender, and put him in the ruck. Had Dickson way to far up the ground again. And failed to try anything different, apart from Rough into the ruck, when we were getting our pants pulled down.

Any danger of perhaps trying something like moving Murphy to half forward when we can't get a kick there?

Why was Crameri on the ball, when he could have been the player with some pace to get behind the Melbourne defence?

25-05-2015, 11:11 AM

You can see it from the stand. We never had the ground set up in the way we wanted - and his coaching was woeful. We completely lost any structure that we did have when Boyd was subbed out. For the second week in a row, he gave up on rucking with Ayce - who he seems hell bent on sticking with. Removed the bloke who had been head and shoulders our best defender, and put him in the ruck. Had Dickson way to far up the ground again. And failed to try anything different, apart from Rough into the ruck, when we were getting our pants pulled down.

Any danger of perhaps trying something like moving Murphy to half forward when we can't get a kick there?

Why was Crameri on the ball, when he could have been the player with some pace to get behind the Melbourne defence?

That's exactly what I thought, we went into the game with a plan that was going to put us behind the 8 ball right from the opening bounce. After kicking 7 against the top of the ladder team in his first match as a forward in a month we put Dickson back into the midfield. If we needed midfield depth why didn't we bring in Macrae instead of Biggs? We play Hunter forward in place of Honeychurch when they are polar opposites in terms of playing style. We go in with the obsurd Cordy situation again. We play Crameri in the midfield when Stringer has struggled the last game and a half and would be lucky to hit water from a boat with a set shot at goal. Jong clearly isn't right but we play him again in a midfield of part time forwards and half back flankers.

It reminded me of Wallace in his final years. Trying to impress everyone with your creativity and outside thinking by putting players in roles you'd never expect and where they haven't been effective before, rather than going with a set up that might win the game. The game stunk of drinking your own bath water.

25-05-2015, 11:33 AM
The way I look at it, why would a team like Sydney let him go if he was any good.
Salary cap. In order to fit in the Bondi Millionaires, some players eventually get squeezed out as a result.

25-05-2015, 11:51 AM

Bevo did get outcoached but he did try something different in the second half.

He switched Roughy to the ruck, T Boyd subbed out, Cordy to forward line, Crameri to centre, Bonti who was being tagged by Vince on a wing, MBoyd to centre. We then kicked 5 goals and got within 7 points. Unfortunately we couldn't sustain it, but at least he tried something.

I don't like Cordy in the ruck, but from Bevo's point of view, we don't seem to have anyone doing what he wants them to. Campbell is only just coming into form and Minson hasn't been doing what the coach wants him to, so Cordy is the next best option.

I would like to see Campbell come in this week and Cordy dropped.

25-05-2015, 11:53 AM
Salary cap. In order to fit in the Bondi Millionaires, some players eventually get squeezed out as a result.

Their COLA goes at the end of this year too I think.

25-05-2015, 11:55 AM

You always find room for a good player. He was at best a rookie with the Swans, and if he was any good he would have been drafted ahead of the other players they picked up in the draft.

I am not writing him off, but I won't be surprised if he turns out average.

25-05-2015, 12:03 PM
You always find room for a good player. He was at best a rookie with the Swans, and if he was any good he would have been drafted ahead of the other players they picked up in the draft.

I am not writing him off, but I won't be surprised if he turns out average.
He has played 2 finals for Sydney, so his form for them at some stage was more than good enough.

Didn't see the game yesterday and by all accounts he stunk it up, but you wouldn't be writing off a player's career after one game. At least wait 20 games under the Sockeye rule before you do that :D

25-05-2015, 12:19 PM
But Sedat, you are using Sockeyes rule in reverse!

25-05-2015, 01:31 PM
That's exactly what I thought, we went into the game with a plan that was going to put us behind the 8 ball right from the opening bounce. After kicking 7 against the top of the ladder team in his first match as a forward in a month we put Dickson back into the midfield. If we needed midfield depth why didn't we bring in Macrae instead of Biggs? We play Hunter forward in place of Honeychurch when they are polar opposites in terms of playing style. We go in with the obsurd Cordy situation again. We play Crameri in the midfield when Stringer has struggled the last game and a half and would be lucky to hit water from a boat with a set shot at goal. Jong clearly isn't right but we play him again in a midfield of part time forwards and half back flankers.

It reminded me of Wallace in his final years. Trying to impress everyone with your creativity and outside thinking by putting players in roles you'd never expect and where they haven't been effective before, rather than going with a set up that might win the game. The game stunk of drinking your own bath water.
I am not convinced we were outcoached but suffered from a lack of talent in the midfield and up forward where we didn't have one winner. The losses of Libba and Griffen is now being sorely felt in the midfield. Cordy clearly hasn't measured up. Crameri who kicked nearly 40 goals last year has been disappointing. Goodes wasn't considered good enough last year and has been a regular. Jong has played injured for the past two weeks. I agree that Macrae should be played as should Hrovat. Murphy and Matthew Boyd together with Liam Picken have been our better players this year has had Easton Wood, but poor recruiting during the Eade time as coach has left a dearth of talent in the 25- 28 age bracket. Our early wins against WCE Richmond and Adelaide plus the excellent performance against Fremantle probably inflated our true ability. Bontempelli has struggled because of a lack of support. We currently lack key forwards and with Roughead forced to ruck, key back men.
It will be interesting to see how we match up against the talented GWS.

25-05-2015, 03:05 PM

Good post Ozza.

Murph didn't give us much off half back and we kept breaking down at half forward - he really should have been moved there for something different. We looked so predictable and slow; Murph would have at least offered something different.

Dickson playing midfield after kicking 7 goals the week before was utterly bizarre. I can't understand this - there's absolutely no logic to it when we have Macrae and Hrovat (and Grant, too) playing midfield in the VFL.

Crameri in the midfield shouldn't happen. He is awful in traffic, he fumbles and continually attempts to take on multiple players before getting caught.

Bevo had a great couple of weeks at the beginning of the season but he needs to be questioned now. We didn't focus on the Saints until the day before playing them (his words), the Cordy experiment, Goodes' selections, our thin midfield being made up of flankers (thus compromising our forward line) and not enough changes being made weekly to a young side after hard games (Swans and Freo namely).

I'm not sure if Bevo is simply wanting to 'find out a few things' about players/structures, but either way he's made quite a lot of mistakes since the Sydney game that didn't need to be made.

25-05-2015, 03:39 PM
Good post Ozza.

Murph didn't give us much off half back and we kept breaking down at half forward - he really should have been moved there for something different. We looked so predictable and slow; Murph would have at least offered something different.

Dickson playing midfield after kicking 7 goals the week before was utterly bizarre. I can't understand this - there's absolutely no logic to it when we have Macrae and Hrovat (and Grant, too) playing midfield in the VFL.

Crameri in the midfield shouldn't happen. He is awful in traffic, he fumbles and continually attempts to take on multiple players before getting caught.

Bevo had a great couple of weeks at the beginning of the season but he needs to be questioned now. We didn't focus on the Saints until the day before playing them (his words), the Cordy experiment, Goodes' selections, our thin midfield being made up of flankers (thus compromising our forward line) and not enough changes being made weekly to a young side after hard games (Swans and Freo namely).

I'm not sure if Bevo is simply wanting to 'find out a few things' about players/structures, but either way he's made quite a lot of mistakes since the Sydney game that didn't need to be made.

I heard that interview as well prior to the Saints game. And yes, those were his words. But from my recollection, he was being asked about when the players would put the euphoria of the Sydney win behind them - and he said that it was really only yesterday (the Friday before the game) that they had the players fully focus on the Saints. My reading of what he meant by it - was that he wasn't saying that he and the coaches & players, weren't doing their preparations for St.Kilda until a day before - but more that they let the players soak up the good vibes from the Sydney win all the way up until the Friday.

25-05-2015, 06:16 PM
I heard that interview as well prior to the Saints game. And yes, those were his words. But from my recollection, he was being asked about when the players would put the euphoria of the Sydney win behind them - and he said that it was really only yesterday (the Friday before the game) that they had the players fully focus on the Saints. My reading of what he meant by it - was that he wasn't saying that he and the coaches & players, weren't doing their preparations for St.Kilda until a day before - but more that they let the players soak up the good vibes from the Sydney win all the way up until the Friday.

Most likely but it still indicates the group were savoring a win one day out from playing St. Kilda which is absolutely ludicrous. We've won nothing - it's one interstate game - and we let them carry on for a week? Subsequently we have our pants pulled down by St. Kilda and Melbourne.

A couple of days to bask in the win, sure, but not right up until the day before you play another side.

25-05-2015, 06:36 PM
Most likely but it still indicates the group were savoring a win one day out from playing St. Kilda which is absolutely ludicrous. We've won nothing - it's one interstate game - and we let them carry on for a week? Subsequently we have our pants pulled down by St. Kilda and Melbourne.

A couple of days to bask in the win, sure, but not right up until the day before you play another side.

Really who cares any way.

I like what Beveridge is doing with this group. He has changed the culture at the club, he has made these guys believe they can match it with the best. They are a young group and there will be ups and downs. We had Macca for 3 years and not one week did I believe we were on the right track, I had no faith in him at all, but generally kept my mouth shut as I wanted to give him a go and see what he could do with this group. I endured the painful thrashings week after week where we played maybe one competitive quarter and didn't give a yelp for the other quarters. God that was awful, with the ugliest football ever.

We now have a team that is one of the youngest in the AFL. Yesterday Melbourne's average games were 20 more than ours, and we had a bad day at the office. We are now very light on in regards to tough inside midfielders as they are all very young and as you said earlier we rely on a 19 year old in Bonti and we are missing our top midfielder who is 22 years old in Libba who is injured. In a few years time we will be praising Bevo as I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, something I haven't seen since 2005s year.

It's great to analyse the team but any harsh criticism is not warranted.

25-05-2015, 07:08 PM
Me too.
Me three.

25-05-2015, 07:10 PM

25-05-2015, 07:30 PM
Really who cares any way.

I like what Beveridge is doing with this group. He has changed the culture at the club, he has made these guys believe they can match it with the best. They are a young group and there will be ups and downs. We had Macca for 3 years and not one week did I believe we were on the right track, I had no faith in him at all, but generally kept my mouth shut as I wanted to give him a go and see what he could do with this group. I endured the painful thrashings week after week where we played maybe one competitive quarter and didn't give a yelp for the other quarters. God that was awful, with the ugliest football ever.

We now have a team that is one of the youngest in the AFL. Yesterday Melbourne's average games were 20 more than ours, and we had a bad day at the office. We are now very light on in regards to tough inside midfielders as they are all very young and as you said earlier we rely on a 19 year old in Bonti and we are missing our top midfielder who is 22 years old in Libba who is injured. In a few years time we will be praising Bevo as I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, something I haven't seen since 2005s year.

It's great to analyse the team but any harsh criticism is not warranted.

This type of "we'll be right" approach is crap.

Harsh analysis is always needed. Do you think Hawthorn are sitting back right now at 4-4 saying "we'll be right" and avoiding harsh internal criticism?

I'm already tired of the "we're 20-50 games less" than the opposition line every time a poster criticizes an aspect of the side when we lose. People use this line as a false sense of comfort - whilst it can't be ignored and will play a role in certain things, we can't keep hanging our hat on it when there are other obvious faults that could be improved.

Not having a go at you directly BAD, but I bloody hope internally they're not saying to themselves "who cares anyway" and "we're one of the youngest lists" because if that's their attitude we're not going anywhere.

25-05-2015, 07:42 PM
Not having a go at you directly BAD, but I bloody hope internally they're not saying to themselves "who cares anyway" and "we're one of the youngest lists" because if that's their attitude we're not going anywhere.

I haven't heard too much being said externally of we are a young list, if anything it is the opposite Beveridge isn't using youth as an excuse. Whenever he has been asked about our youth etc. he always replies with something along the lines that we are not putting a lid on our expectations because of the groups age.

From the outside looking in Beveridge wants to and expects to play finals.

Now having said that, some of the above analysis of our on-field moves may suggest something different.

TBB, do you get the impression we are hiding behind our age profile as an excuse (other than managing workload)?

25-05-2015, 07:54 PM
This type of "we'll be right" approach is crap.

Harsh analysis is always needed. Do you think Hawthorn are sitting back right now at 4-4 saying "we'll be right" and avoiding harsh internal criticism?

I'm already tired of the "we're 20-50 games less" than the opposition line every time a poster criticizes an aspect of the side when we lose. People use this line as a false sense of comfort - whilst it can't be ignored and will play a role in certain things, we can't keep hanging our hat on it when there are other obvious faults that could be improved.

Of course they're not . Footballers don't find their feet until 3 or 4 pre- seasons , that's a point that everyone involved in the sport realises. Yesterday's effort was woeful, and no excuses.
The whole using the inexperience line as comfort is just nonsense, and we'll be copping serious heat if we don't improve in the next 12 months or so. This is the most fierce, tough and physically demanding sport on the planet

25-05-2015, 11:19 PM
A real kick in the guts to lose this game. Glad it wasn't on TV over here as there are too many steep cliffs nearby where I live!

25-05-2015, 11:22 PM
This type of "we'll be right" approach is crap. .

All I am saying is there will be ups and downs. We have already shown we can match it with the best, but we can also stink it up, but let's not be too hasty either with putting the boots in.

26-05-2015, 12:36 AM
I haven't heard too much being said externally of we are a young list, if anything it is the opposite Beveridge isn't using youth as an excuse. Whenever he has been asked about our youth etc. he always replies with something along the lines that we are not putting a lid on our expectations because of the groups age.

From the outside looking in Beveridge wants to and expects to play finals.

Now having said that, some of the above analysis of our on-field moves may suggest something different.

TBB, do you get the impression we are hiding behind our age profile as an excuse (other than managing workload)?

I don't think Beveridge is. As you said, he's been on record a few times about not using our age as an excuse. However, I've read and heard plenty of our supporters bring up that point whenever there's criticism. It's a bad attitude to have and a very sweeping statement, especially when there was a multitude of reasons why we were well beaten yesterday - age not really being one of them.

26-05-2015, 01:26 AM
If you don't think age of the group has a bearing on results you're kidding .
Yesterday the effort was poor regardless, but to say it's an excuse for fluctuating form is just plain wrong .
All young football teams have fluctuating form, and we're no different .
Naturally Beveridge isn't going use it as an excuse, as it's a cop out for the group .
Funny how Roos said he's team were " tired" last week and were a young team, and The Dees are middle of the road in experience.
Of course it's okay because it's Paul Roos

26-05-2015, 10:53 AM
Ayce Cordy copped a big whack on Footy classified last night. The great concern is some of his decision making. He has to come out and work hard, and listen carefully to the coaches, following instructions and being a bit smarter.

26-05-2015, 02:04 PM
If you don't think age of the group has a bearing on results you're kidding .
Yesterday the effort was poor regardless, but to say it's an excuse for fluctuating form is just plain wrong .
All young football teams have fluctuating form, and we're no different .
Naturally Beveridge isn't going use it as an excuse, as it's a cop out for the group .
Funny how Roos said he's team were " tired" last week and were a young team, and The Dees are middle of the road in experience.
Of course it's okay because it's Paul Roos

Some strange comments in here.

Never did I say that our young age is completely irrelevant - obviously in some areas it is, as I've previously acknowledged. What I am saying, is that many people keep hanging their hat on simply being young as an excuse. If you are one of those Remi, then to use your own words, you're kidding.

Not sure what Paul Roos has to do with it? I don't comment on them because I don't give a stuff about them.

26-05-2015, 02:26 PM
Some strange comments in here.

Never did I say that our young age is completely irrelevant - obviously in some areas it is, as I've previously acknowledged. What I am saying, is that many people keep hanging their hat on simply being young as an excuse. If you are one of those Remi, then to use your own words, you're kidding.

Not sure what Paul Roos has to do with it? I don't comment on them because I don't give a stuff about them.

Not using it as an excuse as it's an acknowledged fact that players don't develop ( most) after 70 plus games .
If you think it's an excuse,then fine . Ask people involved with AFL clubs.

26-05-2015, 02:32 PM
Not using it as an excuse as it's an acknowledged fact that players don't develop ( most) after 70 plus games .
If you think it's an excuse,then fine . Ask people involved with AFL clubs.

You mean ask somebody like Beveridge, who has said multiple times it's not an excuse?

It can be a contributing factor but you can't pull it out every time you lose.

26-05-2015, 02:45 PM
You mean ask somebody like Beveridge, who has said multiple times it's not an excuse?

It can be a contributing factor but you can't pull it out every time you lose.

What do you think he's going to say?
Why do you think young players are continually rested?
S*** load of young players and you get fluctuating form

26-05-2015, 03:14 PM
The football industry is filled with people that claim "you don't take injured players into finals" leading up to and during September - but every team does it.

What can be said in public versus what can be thought privately are two separate things. Coaches avoid saying what they truly believe all the time, and not using age as an excuse for fluctuating form is a classic example of this.

26-05-2015, 07:29 PM
The football industry is filled with people that claim "you don't take injured players into finals" leading up to and during September - but every team does it.

What can be said in public versus what can be thought privately are two separate things. Coaches avoid saying what they truly believe all the time, and not using age as an excuse for fluctuating form is a classic example of this.

It also gives the players an out for not performing
Lying is the second language in the AFL industry