Margin: Dogs by 21 points
First Goal: Dickson to get our first
Best On Ground: Murph - our captain to have a great game

19-06-2015, 08:34 PM
Margin: Dogs by 21 points
First Goal: Dickson to get our first
Best On Ground: Murph - our captain to have a great game

I hope you are wrong Easty. I am in a footy tipping competition where you have to nominate the points difference too for an extra point. I picked the Bullies by more than 22 points.

19-06-2015, 08:39 PM
I hope you are wrong Easty. I am in a footy tipping competition where you have to nominate the points difference too for an extra point. I picked the Bullies by more than 22 points.

Well for your sake B4L and your tipping hopefully it's not 21 points to us and we win by more which would be great.

19-06-2015, 08:59 PM
I can feel a XXXX coming on. That's how the Brisbane supporters will be addressing their players at each break.

Dogs by 60.
First Goal: Toyd
BOG: Microphone Head.

19-06-2015, 08:59 PM
WB by 103
First Goal Stringer
BOG Stringer

19-06-2015, 09:03 PM
I can feel a XXXX coming on. That's how the Brisbane supporters will be addressing their players at each break.

Dogs by 60.
First Goal: Toyd
BOG: Microphone Head.

:) :) Microphone Head. You sure do have a sense of humour F'scary.

19-06-2015, 09:22 PM
Dogs by 11 pts
Bog The Bont
1st goal Dickson

19-06-2015, 10:18 PM
Dogs by 112
Boyd FG (7 for the night)
Grant BOG

19-06-2015, 10:21 PM
I'm loving the confidence from BT, F'scary and boydogs :D :D

19-06-2015, 11:34 PM
Dogs by 32
FG: Magic McLean (1 of 4 he'll kick)
BOG: Stringerrrrrrrrr

19-06-2015, 11:43 PM
Bulldogs by 41 points
First goal : Stringer
BOG : Wally

20-06-2015, 01:56 AM
If we're serious:

Dogs by 46 points
First goal Dickson
BOG Bont

... Hope we are switched on.

20-06-2015, 10:39 AM
Dogs by 38
First goal - Stevens
BOG - Fooch

20-06-2015, 11:29 AM
Dogs by 78
First goal. T. Boyd
BOG. L. Picken.

20-06-2015, 11:39 AM
I'm loving the confidence from BT, F'scary and boydogs :D :D

I haven't seen predictions that confident since the Melbourne game...

20-06-2015, 11:53 AM
Dogs by 55
First goal- T Boyd
BOG- Bonti

20-06-2015, 11:56 AM
Dogs by 7 (I am just grateful for any win).
First goal: Son of Billy
BOG: Matty Boyd

20-06-2015, 12:30 PM
Seriously pumped about this one, I haven't seen a win yet live. Can't wait to get a glimpse of the pups in the flesh.

Dogs by 38
First goal: Big Tommy in a return to form
BOG: Wallis

20-06-2015, 12:36 PM
Dogs by 19
First Goal Stringer
BOG: Murphy

20-06-2015, 02:47 PM
Prudden off at half time in the VFL game to be match day emergency.

20-06-2015, 02:48 PM
Who do you think will be our sub for tonight?

20-06-2015, 03:15 PM

Dale.

20-06-2015, 03:37 PM

I'll go with McLean again

20-06-2015, 03:44 PM
Dogs by 22
FG The Bont.
BOG Wally

20-06-2015, 05:01 PM

Might be Prudden. Half a reserve game and half a senior game?

20-06-2015, 05:24 PM
Dogs by 58
First goal Tommy Boyd( 1 of 8)
BOG-The Bont

20-06-2015, 05:24 PM
Dogs by 58
First goal Tommy Boyd( 1 of 8)
BOG-The Bont

Let's hope Tommy has a good night.

20-06-2015, 05:30 PM
Dogs by 33
First goal: Tom Boyd
BOG: Wallis

20-06-2015, 05:39 PM
I don't think we will have it our own way. It's a very young list we are fielding. Dogs by 23, BOG Wallis and first goal to Grant.

What sort of crowd numbers should be expect?

20-06-2015, 05:40 PM
I'm going.

20-06-2015, 05:41 PM
I don't think we will have it our own way. It's a very young list we are fielding. Dogs by 23, BOG Wallis and first goal to Grant.

What sort of crowd numbers should be expect?

I hope we get over 20,000. Under 20K would be dissapointimg.

20-06-2015, 06:09 PM
I hope we get over 20,000. Under 20K would be dissapointimg.

Brisbane have a lot of supporters down here so I'd be disappointed if we got under 22K.

20-06-2015, 06:16 PM
Brisbane have a lot of supporters down here so I'd be disappointed if we got under 22K.

Yep true that.

20-06-2015, 07:12 PM
Dale is the sub. No change.

20-06-2015, 07:39 PM
I got Jake Stringer in the first goal kicker per quarter raffle. It would be nice if he followed Jarrad Grants effort :)

20-06-2015, 08:37 PM
Both side's skills are laughable at the moment

20-06-2015, 08:38 PM
Both side's skills are laughable at the moment

We've been appalling for the last 5 minutes. Just a joke

Reckon we're playing with too much cocky flair at the moment.

I hope the quarter time address is something like "Stop stuffing around with it, and stop trying to play on at all costs"...

20-06-2015, 08:41 PM
Bit rusty after the week off.
Hope wet get he engines revving soon?! :D

20-06-2015, 08:52 PM
Dare I say it but has Grant been our best? Racking up those ground ball gets coaches love

20-06-2015, 08:56 PM
Dare I say it but has Grant been our best? Racking up those ground ball gets coaches love

Id say Murph so far. We're both unlucky to be only 20 points up and at the same time lucky they aren't closer.

20-06-2015, 08:58 PM

Hes been very good. Grant and Murphy have done just about everything right.

20-06-2015, 08:59 PM
Murph might have him covered but yeah Grant's looking great so far. (edit: and apparently GVGjr has me covered)

Good to see Boyd get a bit of love from the umps for a change

20-06-2015, 09:09 PM
Having a cracking run with the umps

20-06-2015, 09:10 PM
Missing a goal from 40 directly in front, terrible. So too their fondness for playing on. Rare blue from Murph, but a few have done it

20-06-2015, 09:13 PM
Pretty average thus far. Really need to be careful

20-06-2015, 09:15 PM
Gerrard like slip from murph. A year on I can say it..

Stringer looks dangerous tonight.

20-06-2015, 09:18 PM
Playing like millionaires

20-06-2015, 09:19 PM
Courage from Wood, continuing his great form.

20-06-2015, 09:19 PM
I wish they'd reward Grants running...

20-06-2015, 09:20 PM
Playing like millionaires

Some are or will be...

20-06-2015, 09:20 PM
Stringer, loves an impossible set shot!

20-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Well done Stringer. Good mark by Bonts.

20-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Love those forward instincts from Stringer, knew he had Taylor on toast and told Will to clear out. Smarts by Bonti to honour it

20-06-2015, 09:22 PM
then a goal straight away to Brisbane. Poor.

20-06-2015, 09:24 PM
Number 1 for tackling in the comp the dogs

20-06-2015, 09:33 PM
10 minutes of good footy by the Lions will give us a real challenge. We look rusty and need to get a run on in the 3rd quarter.

20-06-2015, 09:43 PM
Enjoying Grant's game. Really effective as that outside let out option.

Stringer should have used him in the 50 at one stage.

Bev utilising him well.

20-06-2015, 09:46 PM
We need to kick a few early.

20-06-2015, 09:47 PM
10 minutes of good footy by the Lions will give us a real challenge. We look rusty and need to get a run on in the 3rd quarter.

Yep. Leppitsch will be telling his players that we are teetering and he's right. This quarter may define our season.

20-06-2015, 09:48 PM
I wouldnt mind Hrovat getting some midfield minutes. He's played predominantly forward and Paparone is giving him a fair belting. I'd like to see him go through the guts and try to get hands on the pill

20-06-2015, 09:56 PM
That dinky kick from Macrae is infuriatingly stupid

20-06-2015, 10:00 PM
Couple of shockers from Jackson but Mitch saves the day.

20-06-2015, 10:05 PM
Stringer!!!!

20-06-2015, 10:05 PM
Jake Stringer is incredibly lucky that bounced through. Grant on his own in the square.

20-06-2015, 10:07 PM
Four for Boyd!

20-06-2015, 10:11 PM
Jake Stringer is incredibly lucky that bounced through. Grant on his own in the square.

To be fair it would have been hard to get much more curl on that when he's running straight towards the boundary

20-06-2015, 10:11 PM
Wallis and Macrae have been excellent

20-06-2015, 10:15 PM
Minno subbed out.

20-06-2015, 10:18 PM
Minno subbed out.

Fair call, has had no impact on the game

20-06-2015, 10:19 PM
Big quarter from Maclean.

20-06-2015, 10:27 PM
How good would it be for Tom Boyd to kick a couple of goals in the 4th quarter? I'd really like to kick at least one more.
It's a shame we are still struggling with our set shot conversions.

20-06-2015, 10:29 PM
McLean to Dale, how good was that.

Oh, and the Stringer clearance was ok, too.

20-06-2015, 10:31 PM
How good would it be for Tom Boyd to kick a couple of goals in the 4th quarter? I'd really like to kick at least one more.
It's a shame we are still struggling with our set shot conversions.

Haha good call...

20-06-2015, 10:40 PM
Ssssssssssssssttttrrrrrinnnnggggeeerrrrrrrr

20-06-2015, 10:40 PM
Stringer is not on fire, he is spontaneously combusting!

20-06-2015, 10:47 PM
Thats a great first goal for Toby, bit of class

20-06-2015, 10:52 PM
Wood is AA, king of the intercept mark, move over lake.

20-06-2015, 10:55 PM
WB by 103
First Goal Stringer
BOG Stringer

Close enough :D

20-06-2015, 10:58 PM
We can't takke the foot off the pedal now.

20-06-2015, 11:04 PM
Nice win albeit against a depleted opposition. Thanks to Jake Stringer for kicking the first goal of the 1st and 4th quarters as a $10 outlay turned into $100.

20-06-2015, 11:16 PM
Can anyone remember a better goal highlight reel for a 3rd year player than Stringer? The scary thing is there is plenty of room for improvement. Just love the fact he is a bulldog player!

20-06-2015, 11:17 PM
I thought TBoyd played well. Minson Gawn.

20-06-2015, 11:17 PM
Wallis being able to kick a small bag is a massive plus for us.

20-06-2015, 11:25 PM
Huge win, go dogs!

20-06-2015, 11:50 PM
Wallis is a gun.

It was interesting to see us get completely smashed out of the centre a few times and it made no difference. Our rucks (49-30) were really ordinary today, I can't wait for all the angst about why both Will and Jordan are shit this week. Everything's going to be so balanced now that they've been shit two games in a row.

Awesome win though, It's great to see us actually smash a side that deserves a smashing.

21-06-2015, 12:00 AM
Does our rampant last quarter cover a few cracks? I thought a number of our players struggled for the better part of 3 quarters. We will need to be better agajnst the Saints.

21-06-2015, 12:03 AM
My GF's birthday weekend in the Yarra Valley kept me away from the game this week, so I can only comment from the armchair.

21-06-2015, 12:17 AM
I had a good night at the footy tonight. I thought while we led from the start our first half wasn't that great but our 2nd half we really took them on. Stringer, Wood, Wallis, T Boyd, M Boyd, JJ, Hrovat I thought at times did good. Joel Hamling was good again tonight. Mclean I thought also did well and plenty of others.

21-06-2015, 12:52 AM
Does our rampant last quarter cover a few cracks? I thought a number of our players struggled for the better part of 3 quarters. We will need to be better agajnst the Saints.

Not sure. It certainly wasn't a spectacular performance as you would assume from a 72 point win, but that in itself is a good sign, that we were able to win very well whilst not really playing great footy (last quarter exception).

Think we'll be better for the run, but we will need to play better in the coming weeks.

21-06-2015, 01:02 AM
Not sure. It certainly wasn't a spectacular performance as you would assume from a 72 point win, but that in itself is a good sign, that we were able to win very well whilst not really playing great footy (last quarter exception).

Think we'll be better for the run, but we will need to play better in the coming weeks.

Pretty typical of a very young team . They're inconsistent in effort and output .
If someone had said after shocktober last year we'd be 6 and 5 halfway, we'd have been 100/1

21-06-2015, 01:11 AM

Lot of poor turnovers that kept Brisbane in it. Just couldn't break open that 20 point break on them. Good thing was they pushed and got within a kick in the 3rd and we found another level and blew them away. That's a huge margin considering how close they got.

21-06-2015, 01:13 AM
Lot of poor turnovers that kept Brisbane in it. Just couldn't break open that 20 point break on them. Good thing was they pushed and got within a kick in the 3rd and we found another level and blew them away. That's a huge margin considering how close they got.

at times we worked out new ways to get the opposition back into the game.

21-06-2015, 01:16 AM
at times we worked out new ways to get the opposition back into the game.

We sure did. I thought our first half was quite poor. It wasn't Brisbane hanging in we forced them to stay in the game.

21-06-2015, 01:21 AM
We sure did. I thought our first half was quite poor. It wasn't Brisbane hanging in we forced them to stay in the game.

Talking to the guy behind me at the game. We gave them to many open goals.

21-06-2015, 03:18 AM

I reckon so. As you say, for three quarters we were ordinary. Brisvegas are terrible, too.

21-06-2015, 03:53 AM
Nice win albeit against a depleted opposition.

Have heard this all through the week and also alot tonight. They are no longer depleted. They are missing Rockcliff and Merret. I'd argue our injury list is more significant than theirs.

Great effort to win by that margin with such a young team on the park.

21-06-2015, 04:26 AM

I thought our endevour was good but our skill and finishing was a bit rusty. If we had made the most of our chances we would have won by 100 points. If we bring that effort against the Saints next week, for four quarters, and reward ourselves efficiently for that effort then we will beat the Saints comfortably.

21-06-2015, 07:12 AM
Cracking win for me. We had 5 teenagers and half the team under 50, so to win by that much against any op is great.

21-06-2015, 08:12 AM
Cracking win for me. We had 5 teenagers and half the team under 50, so to win by that much against any op is great.

The whole team was under 50 and I would say most of the coaching staff, maybe some of the board members and supporters were over 50 though.

21-06-2015, 10:29 AM
Have heard this all through the week and also alot tonight. They are no longer depleted. They are missing Rockcliff and Merret. I'd argue our injury list is more significant than theirs.

Great effort to win by that margin with such a young team on the park.

They had to pick from just 27 players so I'm not sure why you are saying they aren't down on numbers. They are also having problems with player retention. If/when they lose Aish I can see them getting some sort of compensation from the AFL.
Looking at their 2010 and 2011 drafts where these players should be entering their prime they have lost the majority of selections to other clubs.

21-06-2015, 11:26 AM
For me the most pleasing aspect of the win was the game of J. Grant. He displayed some real run and confidence, made few, if any errors, and was the most 'in and under' I've ever seen him as well as being good on the outside and in the air. Easily the best 4 quarters he's put together since he's been at the club. I'm happy with the big win but mindful of our very poor first half. To be honest, when they kicked the first two goals after half time, I was really worried. How quickly things turned around though. I'm hoping this is the start of a big run home.

21-06-2015, 12:44 PM
They had to pick from just 27 players so I'm not sure why you are saying they aren't down on numbers. They are also having problems with player retention. If/when they lose Aish I can see them getting some sort of compensation from the AFL.
Looking at their 2010 and 2011 drafts where these players should be entering their prime they have lost the majority of selections to other clubs.

In the first half Aish looked as disinterested in the game going on around him as it is for somebody playing in it. Several times the play went past him and he'd be standing still looking at something else.

21-06-2015, 01:07 PM
In the first half Aish looked as disinterested in the game going on around him as it is for somebody playing in it. Several times the play went past him and he'd be standing still looking at something else.

Aish didn't play last night.

21-06-2015, 01:16 PM
Aish didn't play last night.

Who am I thinking of then? Rich maybe?:confused:

21-06-2015, 02:25 PM

Are you sure GVG?

SEN were commenting on how their only injured players were Merrett, Rockliff and then maybe 1 or 2 other lesser names (Eg. Close who's played 15 games, Golby).

I don't think they're depleted, based on what SEN said. They just haven't got the players, namely due to losing so many as you mentioned above, and it seems it'll continue with Aish. They're a basket case at the moment.

21-06-2015, 02:54 PM
Are you sure GVG?

SEN were commenting on how their only injured players were Merrett, Rockliff and then maybe 1 or 2 other lesser names (Eg. Close who's played 15 games, Golby).

I don't think they're depleted, based on what SEN said. They just haven't got the players, namely due to losing so many as you mentioned above, and it seems it'll continue with Aish. They're a basket case at the moment.

Mayes isn't playing, Gardiner, Aish, D.Beams, Staker, Rockliff, Merrett, Maguire, Harwood and Close is what I heard last night and I think I'm missing a few others. They also have a lot from the lower end of their list not playing through injury including the likes of Paine and West.

Don't forget they have also lost a few players by having to trade them like Polec, Karnezis, Longer, Docherty, Yeo and Crisp. Many of these players would be entering their best seasons.

In my opinion they are in a bad way and I would think the AFL might be worried about their ability to retain players when Aish bails.

21-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Does anyone else think that Christensen looked terrible in the Lions jumper. He only looked like a player who could do half the things he did in a Geelong jumper.

A couple of times I caught him out of the corner of my eye or at the top of the picture and thought "who's he, he's a bit limited?" When he'd miss a tackle or fall over just if the play. Then on the screen it showed him taking a free and it was Marty Christensen.

21-06-2015, 05:44 PM
Does anyone else think that Christensen looked terrible in the Lions jumper. He only looked like a player who could do half the things he did in a Geelong jumper.

A couple of times I caught him out of the corner of my eye or at the top of the picture and thought "who's he, he's a bit limited?" When he'd miss a tackle or fall over just if the play. Then on the screen it showed him taking a free and it was Marty Christensen.

I'd imagine Marty is hugely limited at this point.

21-06-2015, 05:51 PM
How did woofers rate Dickson and Hrovat's games last night?

21-06-2015, 06:27 PM

Dickson's defensive work was top notch.

Hrovat is yet to settle in a position. We're trying him predominantly forward, but I think he's a genuine mid.

21-06-2015, 06:34 PM

If I did votes Dickson would be close to being in them.
Didn't rate Hrovats game very highly. Seemed a bit off the pace.

21-06-2015, 07:42 PM
I'd imagine Marty is hugely limited at this point.

Allen! Thanks fir pointing that out. God knows how Marty got in there. I wiki'd His name before I posted.

21-06-2015, 09:11 PM
Mayes isn't playing, Gardiner, Aish, D.Beams, Staker, Rockliff, Merrett, Maguire, Harwood and Close is what I heard last night and I think I'm missing a few others. They also have a lot from the lower end of their list not playing through injury including the likes of Paine and West.

Don't forget they have also lost a few players by having to trade them like Polec, Karnezis, Longer, Docherty, Yeo and Crisp. Many of these players would be entering their best seasons.

In my opinion they are in a bad way and I would think the AFL might be worried about their ability to retain players when Aish bails.

18 players on the injury list, according to the AFL website.

21-06-2015, 09:26 PM

It's a huge number especially for a team that hasn't had much luck retaining players who were drafted early in previous seasons.

22-06-2015, 11:56 AM

That was from last week. From those 18

Adcock, McStay & Redden played Saturday night.

Gardiner, Harwood & Mayes were availble for selection and were either selected as emergencies or played in the magoo's.

Then there's some names on the list that are nowhere near their best 22.. Cian Hanely, Freeman, McGrath, McGuane, Paine, West.

They were probably missing 3 or 4 players from their best 22, same as majority of club on the weekend I'd say.

22-06-2015, 12:25 PM
Are you sure GVG?

Player
Injury
Estimated Return

Jed Adcock
Calf
1 week

James Aish
Jaw
2-3 weeks

Claye Beams*
Knee
Season

Michael Close*
Knee
Season

Jonathan Freeman
Ankle
4-6 weeks

Darcy Gardiner
Calf
Test

Cian Hanley
Knee
Season

Ryan Harwood
Concussion
Test

Matt Maguire
Concussion
Indefinite

Jaden McGrath
Foot
8-10 weeks

Luke McGuane
Knee
Indefinite

Daniel McStay
Finger
Test

Daniel Merrett
Hamstring
1-2 weeks

Jackson Paine*
Ankle
Season

Jack Redden
Back
Test

Tom Rockliff
Ribs
3-4 weeks

Brent Staker
Hamstring
1 week

Trent West
Knee
1 week

18 players out doesn't make it easy for them.

22-06-2015, 12:45 PM
^^^

3 on that injury list played. (Redden, McStay, Adcock)

From their regulars only Rockliff, Merrett & Aish were missing.

22-06-2015, 03:23 PM
^^^

3 on that injury list played. (Redden, McStay, Adcock)

From their regulars only Rockliff, Merrett & Aish were missing.

Exactly mine and Jaytees point.

Injury list looks big, but realistically it isn't - they simply didn't play the likes of Aish and Mayes, whilst Rockliff and Merett were missing through injury.

They do have huge issues though.

22-06-2015, 03:32 PM
Exactly mine and Jaytees point.

Injury list looks big, but realistically it isn't - they simply didn't play the likes of Aish and Mayes, whilst Rockliff and Merett were missing through injury.

They do have huge issues though.

Brisbane rely on their top end talent more than any other club in the game. If one of Rockliff, Hanley or Beams doesn't play then they are very little chance of winning. Their best players can go with anyone but there is just no depth.