View Full Version : The official 2015 T&T who to root for thread

21-06-2015, 08:01 PM
The people (one person) has spoken! #

The OFFICIAL 2015 T&T who to root for thread is back!

Accept no substitutes!

It's based allmost entirely on flawed logic!

Some of you won't understand!

If you think you do, then explain it to me!

(You may have to barrack for the Crows at a later stage, but unlikely)

Do you agree that the Dogs cant finish top 4?

Do you agree that we MUST finish top 8?

Ever wondered who to barrack for in every single game? (Apart from your Super Coach players, but anyways you have used too many draft picks so you are stuffed anyway)

Here's all you need, the 2009 (edit) the 2010 (edit) 2015 "T&T who to Root for thread"

I will update this EVERY WEEK (possibly)

And yes, it is quite probable that towards the end of the year I may change some of these calls retrospectively. Or even ignore myself.

[QUOTE=boydogs;443370]Ladder

http://puu.sh/iwYSS/2be320edae.png

Preferred Results in order of rooting

1 Dogs to smash the Aints
2 Brisbane to beat the Crows
3 Sydney to beat Richmond
4 Freeo to beat Collingwood
5 Ess to beat Hawks
6 GC to beat Carlton

Amazingly, if we jag the top three of the above, we will be 6th on the ladder this time next week.

21-06-2015, 08:22 PM
Go lions!

21-06-2015, 11:30 PM
Don't we want Carlton to beat GWS

22-06-2015, 12:03 AM
Don't we want Carlton to beat GWS

that would require a ridiculously good root, as they aren't playing each other

Carlton is playing GC, GWS has the bye.

22-06-2015, 09:43 AM

whoops -

http://i3.cpcache.com/product/432771861/brain_fade_light_tshirt.jpg?color=Natural&height=460&width=460&qv=90

22-06-2015, 10:52 PM

GWS has no chance of beating The Bye without Mummy.

23-06-2015, 04:44 PM
How many weeks at a time are we taking it?

23-06-2015, 04:59 PM
The people (one person) has spoken! #

The OFFICIAL 2015 T&T who to root for thread is back!

Accept no substitutes!

It's based allmost entirely on flawed logic!

Some of you won't understand!

If you think you do, then explain it to me!

(You may have to barrack for the Crows at a later stage, but unlikely)

Do you agree that the Dogs cant finish top 4?

Do you agree that we MUST finish top 8?

While I agree that we must finish top 4, I don't yet concede that we can't make top 4, even though it is an unlikely event.

I have in fact got money riding on us making top 4, so will not concede that until/unless it becomes mathematically impossible.

Our best case (17 wins) makes top 4.

It would help if Sydney/Hawthorn/West Coast could lose some games to Carlton/Gold Coast/Melbourne etc. so that we had a chance of 2nd or 3rd

I am ready to concede top spot to Fremantle, but want to avoid meeting them in a final until GF day.

23-06-2015, 07:56 PM
How many weeks at a time are we taking it?

It's all about the team, not about individual performances, but it is a great honour to be recognised for this award. Oh hang on, wrong quote

We are Taking it one week at a time

24-06-2015, 12:12 PM
Opportunity to jump the giants, tigers and even maybe the crows this weekend.

Big weekend of rooting.

25-06-2015, 11:14 PM
All tied up at 3qtr time between the Dockers and Pies.

Could be a dud root first up?

25-06-2015, 11:16 PM
Tremendous contest

25-06-2015, 11:48 PM

5 Ess to beat Hawks
6 GC to beat Carlton

Amazingly, if we jag the top three of the above, we will be 6th on the ladder this time next week.

So far so good, and a special high 5 to Jesse White for being the wingman on that root.

26-06-2015, 02:01 AM
The Whiteman definitely played a team game tonight.

26-06-2015, 11:26 PM

5 Ess to beat Hawks
6 GC to beat Carlton

The Swans loss wasn't good for us at all. And Buddy and Tippet getting suspended isn't good for us either.

26-06-2015, 11:50 PM
Good news and bas news.

27-06-2015, 12:12 AM
I think tonight's result shows that the Comp is evening up.

27-06-2015, 11:23 AM
I love this thread idea. Gives watching games an extra bit of interest.

27-06-2015, 12:47 PM
I think tonight's result shows that the Comp is evening up.

It's just Richmond. They'll finish ninth again.

27-06-2015, 11:23 PM
Good enough.

We are 7th on the ladder.

5 Ess to beat Hawks
6 GC to beat Carlton

The Crows tried to help us score.

28-06-2015, 01:02 AM
Essendon & St Kilda are gone, 4 & 8 now meaning they would need to win 9 of their next 10 to get to 13 wins

Port are in trouble, 5 & 7 with Sydney away on Thursday night

29-06-2015, 10:26 PM
Essendon & St Kilda are gone, 4 & 8 now meaning they would need to win 9 of their next 10 to get to 13 wins

Port are in trouble, 5 & 7 with Sydney away on Thursday night

Yep, it's tricky this time of the year to work out who can move up and who can move down

http://www.afl.com.au/afl/ladder

My best guesses, in rooting order

1. WB v Cal
2. Cows v Geel I DONT KNOW...But I Think Geelong??? Choose your own adventure. Stuff it...Go Cats!
3. Rich v GWS Ummm...GWS playing the long game
4 Swans v Port
5 GC v North
6 Haw v Coll
7 WC v Melb
8 Free v Bris
9 St K v Ess for lols

Just about everyone of these suggestions may actually be the wrong way around, at the end of the season. It's just so important that the Dogs salute.

29-06-2015, 10:39 PM
Here is my order
1- Bulldogs > Blues
2- Suns > North
3- GWS > Tigers
4- Cats > Crows
5- Melborune > Eagles
6- Hawks > Collingwood
7- Swans > Port
8- Saints > Essendon (lolz)
9- Lions > Freo

29-06-2015, 10:58 PM
I've got North winning 8 of their next 10 and finishing 14-8, they're definitely one we want to lose

http://www.afl.com.au/ladder/ladder-predictor

http://puu.sh/iGSJB/ff55d6e695.png

29-06-2015, 11:10 PM
I've got North winning 8 of their next 10 and finishing 14-8, they're definitely one we want to lose

http://www.afl.com.au/ladder/ladder-predictor

http://puu.sh/iGSJB/ff55d6e695.png

You've been kind there to GWS (and the Cows)

30-06-2015, 02:07 AM
You've been kind there to GWS (and the Cows)

Quite possibly. It would be good to get a few woofers to have a go at the predictor and see what the consensus is as to who our major threats are. I've got the 7 sides currently above us plus GWS & North all hitting 13 wins, but Port & Geelong missing

30-06-2015, 12:40 PM
Quite possibly. It would be good to get a few woofers to have a go at the predictor and see what the consensus is as to who our major threats are. I've got the 7 sides currently above us plus GWS & North all hitting 13 wins, but Port & Geelong missing

I have had a go already. I see the current top 5 as the only locks for the final 8.

Then I have the Crows, North, Tigers and us around the 13 win mark. GWS just off that pack.. Crows, North and Tigers are clearly the three I want to see lose most (outside of Essendon lolz factor).

30-06-2015, 04:09 PM
1. WB v Cal
2. Cows v Geel

And I will be happy.

30-06-2015, 04:23 PM
Stupid work computer blocking the upload button.

I did it...

Dogs 7th

Camry Fruit Tingle Cows 10th

30-06-2015, 05:11 PM
I have us on 12 wins and finishing 9th, but will depend on the last game at the Gabba. I went for a Brisbane win, but could go either way.

30-06-2015, 05:36 PM
I have us on 12 wins and finishing 9th, but will depend on the last game at the Gabba. I went for a Brisbane win, but could go either way.

I'd certainly hope that when we get to the last round - if we have a finals berth to play for, and Brisbane have nothing to play for and probably players already having surgery - then it would be a relatively soft win.
Hoping so anyway.

30-06-2015, 05:40 PM
I'd certainly hope that when we get to the last round - if we have a finals berth to play for, and Brisbane have nothing to play for and probably players already having surgery - then it would be a relatively soft win.
Hoping so anyway.

That's what I would think would happen. But if I went out wearing a Brisbane jumper I'd be doing everything I could to win just to watch the opposition really suffer.

30-06-2015, 06:05 PM

You are obviously way to pessimistic.

The fixture is easier ahead and despite the threat of tired bodies we should at least 6 of the last 10. I know we may drop games we should win, but I believe we can beat Geelong. That leaves only Collingwood, Port Adelaide, West Coast and North Melbourne and I wouldn't concede any of those teams are actually better than us.

We have done really well in rotating and resting players and our depth has shown to be very good.

The optimist in me says win our next 13 and raise the cup.:)

30-06-2015, 06:21 PM
Would be incredibly handy to win the next 2 - and win them comfortably. I have a feeling we will be going down to the wire with Adelaide for 8th spot (I've got North hurdling us into 6th and Richmond 7th), and at the moment we are 5% down on Adelaide's %.

02-07-2015, 10:49 PM
Season over for Port. Didn't see that coming after last year

02-07-2015, 11:24 PM
Season over for Port. Didn't see that coming after last year

Yep. They are now on the precipise of "I hope they lose/I hope they win"

04-07-2015, 10:30 PM
Big loss for North's chances. On the flipside GC next week for us just got a whole lot harder

05-07-2015, 01:16 AM
Big loss for North's chances. On the flipside GC next week for us just got a whole lot harder
With all the talk about GC and drugs, they were always going to come out steaming.

05-07-2015, 02:11 AM
Bloody GWS, nearly made it a perfect weekend of rooting.

05-07-2015, 08:57 PM
My best guesses, in rooting order

1. WB v Cal YEP
2. Cows v Geel with due respect taken, the no result may work for or against us
3. Rich v GWS Ummm...GWS playing the long game Nope
4 Swans v Port Yep
5 GC v North Yep - maybe this should have been ranked higher importance
6 Haw v Coll Yep
7 WC v Melb Yep
8 Free v Bris No biggy
9 St K v Ess for lols lols granted

Good rooting results.

Ladder

http://www.afl.com.au/afl/ladder

06-07-2015, 10:14 PM
And here's this weeks roots, served on a platter

1. WB vs GC
2. GWS v St K
3 Haw v Freo
4 Bris v Syd

5 WC v Adel

6 Port v Coll

7 Rich v Carl

8 NM v Geel

9 Ess v Melb for sh*ts and giggles. Actually maybe Ess, so Hird doesn't get sacked

06-07-2015, 10:58 PM
Geelong over North T&T?

06-07-2015, 11:25 PM
Geelong over North T&T?

North are gone.

06-07-2015, 11:25 PM
Geelong over North T&T?

ask me again in 2 months

Picked North only as they are half a win further back.

07-07-2015, 01:29 AM
This is hard because you have the " hate " factor, and in the other hand you have " what's in our best interests" factor.

07-07-2015, 01:46 AM
This is hard because you have the " hate " factor, and in the other hand you have " what's in our best interests" factor.

Oh! You mean you hate one more than another? I look at all of them and go hate, hate, ummmmmm, hate.

07-07-2015, 08:54 AM

1. WB vs GC
2. GWS v St K
3 Haw v Freo
4 Bris v Syd

5 WC v Adel

6 Port v Coll

7 Rich v Carl

8 NM v Geel

9 Ess v Melb for sh*ts and giggles. Actually maybe Ess, so Hird doesn't get sacked

Not sure on the WC and Freo results.

The end game would be a final in Melbourne. Freo on top means 2 Perth Finals and if WC stay up there it could mean all Perth PF.

WC need to come back to the pack and we might actually be challenging them for top 4.

Hawthorn getting to top 2 might be better.

07-07-2015, 09:54 AM

1. WB vs GC
2. GWS v St K
3 Haw v Freo
4 Bris v Syd

5 WC v Adel

6 Port v Coll

7 Rich v Carl

8 NM v Geel

Some damn fine rooting there T&T!

07-07-2015, 10:49 AM
Not sure on the WC and Freo results.

The end game would be a final in Melbourne. Freo on top means 2 Perth Finals and if WC stay up there it could mean all Perth PF.

WC need to come back to the pack and we might actually be challenging them for top 4.

Hawthorn getting to top 2 might be better.

Completely correct

Maybe we need a "top 4 root" and an alternative, sneaky "top 8 root, in case of knock backs".

07-07-2015, 12:51 PM
Completely correct

Maybe we need a "top 4 root" and an alternative, sneaky "top 8 root, in case of knock backs".

Last chook on the barbie time?

07-07-2015, 02:45 PM
1- Dogs > Suns
2- Blues > Tigers
3- Eagles > Crows
4- Saints > GWS

5- Port > Pies
6- Cats > North (North's draw is very soft. A draw would be the best result outside of a Bulldogs win due to the %'s involved)
7- Freo > Hawks
8- Lions > Swans

9- Dees > Dons (lolz factor)

08-07-2015, 05:47 PM
this is from Champion Data

https://farm1.staticflickr.com/488/19516284325_42ac858df2_b.jpg

08-07-2015, 05:51 PM
this is from Champion Data

https://farm1.staticflickr.com/488/19516284325_42ac858df2_b.jpg

I will take a 74% chance to make finals

09-07-2015, 09:23 PM
Good start to a weekend of rooting. Port up by 4 goals at qtr time.

09-07-2015, 11:38 PM
Hard to feel sorry for Collingwood but you would struggle to find a stronger performing team during a three game losing streak.

10-07-2015, 09:45 AM
Good bit of rooting last night. Stuff Collingwood and all other opponents of our rootees.

10-07-2015, 10:30 AM
That was a real win win last night. Collingwood lost and Taylor Adams wont play against us next weekend.

10-07-2015, 11:02 AM
That was a real win win last night. Collingwood lost and Taylor Adams wont play against us next weekend.

We have Geelong next week and then Collingwood. Hopefully he gets more than a week.

10-07-2015, 12:14 PM
We have Geelong next week and then Collingwood. Hopefully he gets more than a week.

surely he will!

10-07-2015, 12:45 PM

Win/win! Although as others have pointed out Taylor Adams won't play against us either way.

10-07-2015, 02:19 PM
Hope Adams gets a week for each gutless knee to the head.

10-07-2015, 02:22 PM
Hope Adams gets a week for each gutless knee to the head.

Well that is at least 5 that I counted.

10-07-2015, 03:55 PM
redo

AFL Ladder
P W D L % Pts
1 Fremantle 13 12 0 1 137.80 48
2 West Coast 13 10 0 3 156.00 40
3 Sydney 13 10 0 3 129.80 40
4 Hawthorn 13 9 0 4 148.70 36
5 Collingwood 14 8 0 6 122.00 32
6 Richmond 13 8 0 5 109.50 32
7 Bulldogs 13 8 0 5 105.30 32
8 Adelaide 12 7 0 5 109.10 30
9 GWS Giants 13 7 0 6 100.20 28
10 Geelong 12 6 0 6 98.40 26
11 Port Adelaide 14 6 0 8 97.50 24
12 Nth Melbourne 13 6 0 7 92.20 24
13 St Kilda 13 5 0 8 90.10 20
14 Essendon 13 4 0 9 77.60 16
15 Melbourne 13 4 0 9 76.00 16
16 Carlton 13 3 0 10 73.70 12
17 Gold Coast 13 2 0 11 72.40 8
18 Brisbane 13 2 0 11 65.70 8

Top 4 Root (for the optimistic)

1. WB vs GC
2. Haw v Freo
3. Bris v Syd
4. Port v Coll
5. WC v Adel
6. Rich v Carl
7. GWS v St K
8. NM v Geel

Top 8 Root (for the desparate)

1. WB vs GC
2 WC v Adel
3 GWS v St K
4. NM v Geel
5 Haw v Freo
6 Bris v Syd
7 Port v Coll
8 Rich v Carl

10-07-2015, 10:15 PM
Carlton 10 points down at half time in the worst game of all time.

11-07-2015, 10:26 PM
Top 8 Root (for the desparate)

1. WB vs GC
2 WC v Adel
3 GWS v St K
4. NM v Geel
5 Haw v Freo
6 Bris v Syd
7 Port v Coll
8 Rich v Carl

North doing it easy over Geelong. Geelong are nowhere this year, it would have been better for us for them to somehow win it I reckon. North's loss to GC last week was big for us, us next week against Geelong even bigger

11-07-2015, 10:37 PM
North doing it easy over Geelong. Geelong are nowhere this year, it would have been better for us for them to somehow win it I reckon. North's loss to GC last week was big for us, us next week against Geelong even bigger

Yep, with North's soft draw I was hoping the Cats win.

These 50/50 games are hard to pin sometimes because if the team you want to win wins, they then appear stronger, making you them want to lose!

11-07-2015, 10:58 PM
I think it's simple. Beat Geelong and especially beat Collingwood and move the conversation to spots 5/6 for a home final. :)

11-07-2015, 11:02 PM
I think it's simple. Beat Geelong and especially beat Collingwood and move the conversation to spots 5/6 for a home final. :)

Haha yep, I like your thinking.

11-07-2015, 11:57 PM
updated ladder
AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 13 12 0 1 137.80 48
2 West Coast 14 11 0 3 156.50 44
3 Sydney 13 10 0 3 129.80 40
4 Hawthorn 13 9 0 4 148.70 36
5 Richmond 14 9 0 5 112.00 36
6 Bulldogs 14 9 0 5 106.90 36
7 Collingwood 14 8 0 6 122.00 32
8 Adelaide 13 7 0 6 103.20 30
9 GWS Giants 13 7 0 6 100.20 28
10 Nth Melbourne 14 7 0 7 95.80 28
11 Geelong 13 6 0 7 95.20 26
12 Port Adelaide 14 6 0 8 97.50 24
13 St Kilda 13 5 0 8 90.10 20
14 Essendon 14 5 0 9 79.40 20
15 Melbourne 14 4 0 10 76.60 16
16 Carlton 14 3 0 11 72.90 12
17 Gold Coast 14 2 0 12 72.70 8
18 Brisbane 13 2 0 11 65.70 8

12-07-2015, 02:09 AM
If we're serious about wanting top 4 then we better cheer for Freo tomorrow. Otherwise we're a game and percentage out, and wishing for Hawthorn & Sydney to drop games.

Home final would be more realistic

12-07-2015, 02:36 AM
T&T - after all these years I still love your avatar!

12-07-2015, 10:16 AM
I may (or may not) have much access to the net for the next 8 days, if i do will only be through an iPhone. So go your hardest all, selecting your chosen roots for next week.

#Bali

12-07-2015, 04:10 PM
Come on Saints!!

12-07-2015, 07:23 PM
Brisbane hit the front! Doing our top 4 chances no harm at all :D

17-07-2015, 09:58 PM
Do we want Essendon to win tonight?

17-07-2015, 10:01 PM
Do we want Essendon to win tonight?

For the doggies yes for tipping no ha ha

17-07-2015, 10:07 PM
do we want essendon to win tonight?

never!!!!!!

17-07-2015, 10:49 PM
2 horrible teams playing tonight. Shame there has to be a winner.

17-07-2015, 11:47 PM
never!!!!!!

I hate North far more than I hate Essendon. Well maybe not far more.

19-07-2015, 01:47 PM
late roots

Port over Crows
Aints over Richmond

20-07-2015, 01:18 AM
late roots

Port over Crows
Aints over Richmond

Never turn out well.

20-07-2015, 12:59 PM
What a dead root this round was.

20-07-2015, 01:04 PM
What a dead root this round was.

Yep.. All a bit limp really.

We are all going to have root like crazy over the coming weeks.

20-07-2015, 01:07 PM
Yep.. All a bit limp really.

We are all going to have root like crazy over the coming weeks.

Like rabbits.

21-07-2015, 06:35 PM
Adelaide knocking Port over not the worst result, hopefully may mean Port have little to play for against us at Etihad in a couple of weeks. #sympathyroot.

21-07-2015, 09:05 PM
1 Fremantle 15 13 0 2 128.40 52
2 West Coas 15 12 0 3 156.50 48
3 Hawthorn 15 11 0 4 159.30 44
4 Sydney 15 11 0 4 118.30 44
5 Richmond 15 10 0 5 112.70 40
6 Bulldogs 15 9 0 6 105.80 36
7 GWS Gian 15 9 0 6 104.10 36
8 Adelaide 14 8 0 6 103.10 34
9 Collingwood 15 8 0 7 117.80 32
10 Nth Melbourne 15 8 0 7 97.80 32
11 Geelong 14 7 0 7 96.00 30
12 Port Adelaide 15 6 0 9 97.50 24
13 St Kilda 15 5 0 10 87.80 20
14 Essendon 15 5 0 10 79.00 20
15 Melbourne 15 5 0 10 79.00 20
16 Carlton 15 3 0 12 71.80 12
17 Gold Coast 15 2 0 13 73.40 8
18 Brisbane 15 2 0 13 65.70 8

Top 4 Roots

1. WB vs Coll
2. WCE vs Syd
3 Rich vs Free
4 Carl vs Haw
5 GWS vs Geel
6 Ade vs GC

Will settle for the 8 Roots #notfussy @anyportinastorm

1. WB vs Coll (Root like you have never rooted before)
2. Bris vs NM
3 GWS vs Geel
4 Ess v Port
5 Mel v St K

26-07-2015, 12:20 AM
Saturday night stocktake

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 16 14 0 2 126.70 56
2 Hawthorn 16 12 0 4 170.10 48
3 West Coast 15 12 0 3 156.50 48
4 Sydney 15 11 0 4 118.30 44
5 Richmond 16 10 0 6 111.50 40
6 Adelaide 15 9 0 6 106.20 38
7 Bulldogs 15 9 0 6 105.80 36
8 Nth Melbourne 16 9 0 7 103.00 36
9 GWS Giants 16 9 0 7 101.90 36
10 Geelong 15 8 0 7 98.20 34
11 Collingwood 15 8 0 7 117.80 32
12 Port Adelaide 16 7 0 9 98.60 28
13 St Kilda 15 5 0 10 87.80 20
14 Essendon 16 5 0 11 79.90 20
15 Melbourne 15 5 0 10 79.00 20
16 Carlton 16 3 0 13 66.60 12
17 Gold Coast 16 2 0 14 72.70 8
18 Brisbane 16 2 0 14 63.60 8

Not sure about my post above, may have mixed some up

26-07-2015, 10:01 PM
It's crazy but we're a shot at 4th spot within a few weeks if results go our way!

Looking forward to our rooting orders this week.

26-07-2015, 10:02 PM
#JustKeepWinning

26-07-2015, 10:23 PM
4 games against teams 12th and lower. I think we are 1-2 extra wins off being top 4 but hey, they keep defying my expectations so whatever...

26-07-2015, 10:26 PM
4 games against teams 12th and lower. I think we are 1-2 extra wins off being top 4 but hey, they keep defying my expectations so whatever...

Melbourne, Freo, Saints, Geelong... Crazy to think two goal differences in the last quarter of those games and we would be a bonafide top 4 team. Mind blowing from the mindset at the time of shocktober. Mind blowing.

26-07-2015, 11:34 PM
Wouldn't it be nice if Luke can pull off a St Bede's with the Bulldogs.

27-07-2015, 12:42 AM
I know it's pointless fretting about it but that loss to St Kilda really comes back to roost now.

At least we won the return match. I would have taken 1/1 with them before the season.

27-07-2015, 02:20 PM
I know it's pointless fretting about it but that loss to St Kilda really comes back to roost now.

At least we won the return match. I would have taken 1/1 with them before the season.

Swings and roundabouts. We win the saints game, we lose another close game we won.

27-07-2015, 02:56 PM
Swings and roundabouts. We win the saints game, we lose another close game we won.

That's it. Easton Wood falls over in the wet in Sydney and Rohan goals with 2 seconds left...

North Melbourne missed out on finals in 2013 because they lost 6 or 7 games by under 10 points and 3 or 4 of those were 1-2 points.

27-07-2015, 03:11 PM
That's it. Easton Wood falls over in the wet in Sydney and Rohan goals with 2 seconds left...

North Melbourne missed out on finals in 2013 because they lost 6 or 7 games by under 10 points and 3 or 4 of those were 1-2 points.

I remember those good old days.:)

27-07-2015, 03:27 PM

Pea hearts with no concept of tempo footy, no midfielders of quality, and a footballing philistine for a coach.

27-07-2015, 03:31 PM
Bit of a dilemma in the rooting stakes this weekend with Adelaide v Sydney.

Adelaide obviously competing for a top 8 spot....but should the swans lose, tigers lose to Hawthorn - and we win - we will be level with Sydney on points, ahead of Richmond and only % keeping us out of the top 4.

All depends whether you're a top 4 rooter, or a top 8.

27-07-2015, 03:47 PM
Bit of a dilemma in the rooting stakes this weekend with Adelaide v Sydney.

Adelaide obviously competing for a top 8 spot....but should the swans lose, tigers lose to Hawthorn - and we win - we will be level with Sydney on points, ahead of Richmond and only % keeping us out of the top 4.

All depends whether you're a top 4 rooter, or a top 8.

Go with the top 4.

We just need to win to stay ahead of Adelaide.

27-07-2015, 04:30 PM
Finishing 5th and playing Adelaide in Melbourne in a EF would be a good result. Getting to play a SF even better!

27-07-2015, 04:37 PM
It would be awesome given the season's exposed form, but I'm still terrified of Super Saiyan Finals Dangerfield and would rather play North (of the available choices). At least their best player is the one giving the taps rather than receiving and running 50m to goals with them.

27-07-2015, 04:53 PM

Yeah but nine goals.

Fair point about Easton Wood I suppose. I've never seen us lose from nine goals in front before but Ive never seen a player win the game then save the game two or three times in ten minutes either.

28-07-2015, 09:51 AM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-2015-jay-clark-assesses-who-will-make-the-finals/story-e6frf3e3-1227459259277

28-07-2015, 10:23 AM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-2015-jay-clark-assesses-who-will-make-the-finals/story-e6frf3e3-1227459259277

GWS at the MCG would be even better!

28-07-2015, 11:19 AM

Not so sure North will continue their run over us, it seems everyone has given North the win over us, I know they have won the last four encounter but we are a different side with a different game plan.

28-07-2015, 12:25 PM
Not so sure North will continue their run over us, it seems everyone has given North the win over us, I know they have won the last four encounter but we are a different side with a different game plan.
Exactly, and they only just beat us in some awful games of footy. That first game was the worst game I have ever seen, just ugly to watch with all the stoppages and kick to touch style.

Looking forward to us blowing them off the park.

28-07-2015, 01:14 PM
Exactly, and they only just beat us in some awful games of footy. That first game was the worst game I have ever seen, just ugly to watch with all the stoppages and kick to touch style.

Looking forward to us blowing them off the park.
Yes, sadly I remember the game you're referring to. When I was a child the nuns used to tell us that the priests had a pill which they used to take after hearing people's confessions. It used to erase every memory of their session in the confessional box. How I wished, after that game, that it were true and I could just pop down to Father Murphy's place and pick up a handful. That game was beyond unwatchable; it haunts me still, as years later, visions of that ugly, rolling maul occasionally float before my mind's eye keeping me awake until the wee hours.
But now I have hope anew as last night I had a dream. It was a Saturday afternoon in September. The sun beamed from an azure sky bathing 'the G' in purest light. The wave of Bulldog players, who swept the ball from defence into attack with breath- taking precision and elan, were like Titans astride the gladatorial stage. Irresistable and ferocious, yet measured in their attack on the ball and, buoyed by the roar from the Bulldog faithful, our team scored a Win for the Ages.
This will not remain a dream. It will become a reality. I have been to the mountain, I have seen the promised land. It is ahead of us, not far away. Each step is taking us closer. The journey has been long and arduous. The disappointments have been bitter, the dead ends many, we have had to parry an attack that sought to erase all memory of our existence, but through it all, we have stuck together, and we have overcome all. Never fear my friends - the goal is in reach. I can feel it.

30-07-2015, 10:06 AM
AFL Ladder
P W D L % Pts
2 West Coast 16 13 0 3 158.60 52
3 Hawthorn 16 12 0 4 170.10 48
4 Sydney 16 11 0 5 112.40 44
5 Richmond 16 10 0 6 111.50 40
6 Bulldogs 16 10 0 6 106.80 40
7 Adelaide 15 9 0 6 106.20 38
8 Nth Melbourne 16 9 0 7 103.00 36
9 GWS Giants 16 9 0 7 101.90 36
10 Geelong 15 8 0 7 98.20 34
11 Collingwood 16 8 0 8 114.90 32
13 St Kilda 16 6 0 10 90.70 24
14 Essendon 16 5 0 11 79.90 20
15 Melbourne 16 5 0 11 77.60 20
16 Carlton 16 3 0 13 66.60 12
17 Gold Coast 16 2 0 14 72.70 8
18 Brisbane 16 2 0 14 63.60 8

OK

Top 4 Rooting, in order

Ess v WBU
Syd vs ADE (OMG….serious?)
HAW v Rich
CARL v Nm
FREO vs Gws
Geel vs BRIS

Top 8 Rooting, in approx order

Ess v WBU
FREO v Gws
Geel v BRIS
Coll v MEL
Port v ST K
CAR v Nm
SYD v Ade
HAW v Rich

30-07-2015, 11:51 AM
Kind of lost in the "Adam Goodes: Martyr or Pussy?" saga is the floor dropping out of Sydney's season. They're a big show to drop out of the 4 and if we keep winning then we could easily be the team to replace them.

If we beat West Coast at home (we won't because we'll be wearing the Scarlet Letter jumper), then omg.

30-07-2015, 12:18 PM
It really is bizarre to think if Hawks give Richmond a touch up (likely) if Crows give Swans a touch up (could happen) and if we smash the Bombers (possibility) then we are 4th after this round..

30-07-2015, 03:51 PM
Kind of lost in the "Adam Goodes: Martyr or Pussy?" saga is the floor dropping out of Sydney's season. They're a big show to drop out of the 4 and if we keep winning then we could easily be the team to replace them.

If we beat West Coast at home (we won't because we'll be wearing the Scarlet Letter jumper), then omg.
Yeah it's weird, Richmond are the form team of the competition (after Hawks) yet our tough draw early in the year has meant we get a softer draw leading into the finals.

We're as much a chance of top 4 as the Tigers or Swans. TBH I expect the Tigers to nab it with only one or two losses for the rest of the year but they wouldn't want to lose by too much this weekend.

30-07-2015, 03:54 PM
Yeah it's weird, Richmond are the form team of the competition (after Hawks) yet our tough draw early in the year has meant we get a softer draw leading into the finals.

We're as much a chance of top 4 as the Tigers or Swans. TBH I expect the Tigers to nab it with only one or two losses for the rest of the year but they wouldn't want to lose by too much this weekend.

Actually Tigers mostly play well against the Hawks. Won 2 of the last 3 games against them too.

30-07-2015, 04:50 PM

Actually the form since round 8 is as follows
Hawthorn 8 - 0
West Coast 7 - 1
Western Bulldogs 6 -2 121.99%
Richmond 6 - 2 113.88%
Freo 6 - 2 101.41%
N Melb 5 - 3 117.87%
Syd 5 - 3 100.00%

30-07-2015, 05:13 PM
Actually the form since round 8 is as follows
Hawthorn 8 - 0
West Coast 7 - 1
Western Bulldogs 6 -2 121.99%
Richmond 6 - 2 113.88%
Freo 6 - 2 101.41%
N Melb 5 - 3 117.87%
Syd 5 - 3 100.00%

Proves we are a top 4 side. :D

30-07-2015, 10:00 PM

Swans supporters are getting a bit down on the buddy deal. Imagine the midfield they could have for the same clams.

30-07-2015, 10:05 PM
Putting aside the likelihood of us nabbing 4th - would we want to?

Hawthorn are scrambling like crazy to try and grab 2nd so they don't have to go to Perth for week 1 of the finals. They've won 8 straight and have been grinding sides into the ground to overtake West Coast on percentage, and are now just a game away

Would we want to go to Perth, get smashed then come back and play a winning side week 2? Or have a home final, hopefully against Adelaide or GWS then try and beat a losing team coming back from Perth after that?

30-07-2015, 10:07 PM

Hawthorn are scrambling like crazy to try and grab 2nd so they don't have to go to Perth for week 1 of the finals. They've won 8 straight and have been grinding sides into the ground to overtake West Coast on percentage, and are now just a game away

Would we want to go to Perth, get smashed then come back and play a winning side week 2? Or have a home final, hopefully against Adelaide or GWS then try and beat a losing team coming back from Perth after that?

Let's just get there first.

30-07-2015, 10:55 PM

Finish 4th, go to Perth, beat Freo, have a week off, then beat Hawthorn in the semi, then win the granny. Then I will either end up in jail or in hospital.

30-07-2015, 11:50 PM
Let's just get there first.

We have to work out who to root for BAD :)

31-07-2015, 08:09 AM
Finish 4th, go to Perth, beat Freo, have a week off, then beat Hawthorn in the semi, then win the granny. Then I will either end up in jail or in hospital.

Go with hospital then jail - cooler story when it's all said and done...

31-07-2015, 01:36 PM
Getting to the top 4 is the best outcome.

Week 1 either Hawthorn in Melbourne or an eminently beatable Freo in Perth.

31-07-2015, 04:32 PM
We have to work out who to root for BAD :)

We control our destiny so only have to worry about winning games and not so much on rooting around frantically.

31-07-2015, 06:04 PM
We control our destiny so only have to worry about winning games and not so much on rooting around frantically.

Just keep winning and we will get there.

31-07-2015, 11:06 PM
Bugger.

31-07-2015, 11:11 PM
Lakey very slow now

31-07-2015, 11:50 PM
Richmond winning was the last thing we wanted.

01-08-2015, 12:15 AM
Richmond winning was the last thing we wanted.
There's still a long way to go. I have a feeling that the die will not be cast until the fat lady clears her throat. We shouldn't be counting our chickens until we arrive at that bridge which we just might have to cross even if things don't pan out for my aunt when she shaves her whiskers off so that she looks less like my uncle who, when asked for his final 8 predictions simply said: "I've never been one to get too far ahead of myself. Let's just take one round at a time and hopefully our chickens will bring home the bacon when they return to roost in the coop. In the meantime just remember: one swallow does not a summer make and there's many a slip twixt the cup and the lip. I think we should keep our powder dry and not shoot until we see the whites of their eyes."
I will be happy to finish sixth and play a final in Melbourne WHICH WE WILL WIN. After that hang on for the ride! Go Dogs!

01-08-2015, 05:49 PM
I have us in 6th playing the Cats!

Collingwood play a couple of teams around us, they turn into a good root for us.

01-08-2015, 05:58 PM
I have us in 6th playing the Cats!

Collingwood play a couple of teams around us, they turn into a good root for us.

Imagine playing the Cats in a final, and winning! They rank equal first for the last 25 years in terms of heart break with Adelaide, such is the dominance they've held over us in September.

Whether it was 2009 when we started so poorly against them when the better team, to Brownless's at the death goal (funnily, another game where we started so poorly) and not to mention the two preliminary final defeats in that time.

They have just punished us.

01-08-2015, 08:36 PM
Imagine playing the Cats in a final, and winning! They rank equal first for the last 25 years in terms of heart break with Adelaide, such is the dominance they've held over us in September.

Whether it was 2009 when we started so poorly against them when the better team, to Brownless's at the death goal (funnily, another game where we started so poorly) and not to mention the two preliminary final defeats in that time.

Such a wonderful topic to discus. I am going with 1st- Adelaide, 2nd- Saints, 3rd- Geelong.

Geelong have beaten us the most but those two prelim losses were heartbreaking. Then they both compound the pain by beating us again in a prelim the very next year. Awesome...

01-08-2015, 11:33 PM
Saturday night's rooting report

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
2 West Coast 17 13 1 3 154.40 54
3 Hawthorn 17 12 0 5 164.20 48
4 Sydney 17 12 0 5 115.90 48
5 Richmond 17 11 0 6 112.40 44
6 Nth Melbourne 17 10 0 7 107.20 40
7 Bulldogs 16 10 0 6 106.80 40
8 Geelong 16 9 0 7 102.40 38
9 Adelaide 16 9 0 7 102.20 38
10 GWS Giants 16 9 0 7 101.90 36
11 Collingwood 17 8 0 9 111.20 32
13 St Kilda 16 6 0 10 90.70 24
14 Melbourne 17 6 0 11 80.90 24
15 Essendon 16 5 0 11 79.90 20
16 Carlton 17 3 0 14 65.20 12
17 Gold Coast 17 2 1 14 74.00 10
18 Brisbane 17 2 0 15 62.70 8

Top 4 Rooting, in order

Ess v WBU
Syd vs ADE (OMG….serious?) Nope
HAW v Rich Nope
CARL v Nm Nope
FREO vs Gws
Geel vs BRIS Nope

Top 8 Rooting, in approx order

Ess v WBU
FREO v Gws
Geel v BRIS Nope
Coll v MEL YES
Port v ST K
CAR v Nm Nope
SYD v Ade YES
HAW v Rich Nope[/QUOTE]

01-08-2015, 11:43 PM

Don't forget the qualifying final against Geelong we led by 6 goals before losing in '92. I've seen us win a final against St Kilda.

01-08-2015, 11:57 PM
Don't forget the qualifying final against Geelong we led by 6 goals before losing in '92. I've seen us win a final against St Kilda.

I didn't forget it, but I decided against overloading everyone with more joy. You know, I'm always considerate.

02-08-2015, 03:52 AM
I didn't forget it, but I decided against overloading everyone with more joy. You know, I'm always considerate.

You are. There's the 1976 EF while we are talking about it. The '53 PF too.

02-08-2015, 04:20 AM
You are.

I am not.

02-08-2015, 10:47 AM
You are. There's the 1976 EF while we are talking about it. The '53 PF too.
That 1976 EF was beyond horrendous. We had that game shot to ribbons then, with about 7 minutes left on the clock, managed to rip defeat from the jaws of victory. If anyone wants to know why I dislike the name 'Cousins', just ask and I'll unload.

02-08-2015, 11:58 AM
That 1976 EF was beyond horrendous. We had that game shot to ribbons then, with about 7 minutes left on the clock, managed to rip defeat from the jaws of victory. If anyone wants to know why I dislike the name 'Cousins', just ask and I'll unload.

I wonder what horrible thing happened in 1953? We 29 goals in front with 30 seconds left to play when the 19th Man accidentally ran onto the ground just as the opposition captain asked for a count and our score was wiped out I expect.

02-08-2015, 01:01 PM
You are.

I am not.

That wasn't an argument just now

02-08-2015, 02:19 PM
That was a contradiction

02-08-2015, 03:18 PM
That wasn't an argument just now

That was a contradiction

One of my all time favorites.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQFKtI6gn9Y

03-08-2015, 12:27 AM
This week:

Dogs by 18 or more +
Adelaide win, or keep Richmond to less than 18 point win at Adealide Oval +
Geelong beat Sydney by 18 points or more at Kardinia Park

=

Dogs Top Four

03-08-2015, 01:53 AM
Adelaide win, or keep Richmond to less than 18 point win at Adealide Oval +
Geelong beat Sydney by 18 points or more at Kardinia Park

Very brave, given Adelaide & Geelong are currently 8th & 9th

03-08-2015, 07:30 AM

Real chance of Richmond dropping the Adelaide game.
Adelaide plenty to play for and Richmond potential let down after their biggest win of the year.

Geelong also at home with plenty to play for must be some hope. Sydney have had an emotion charged week and may find it hard to come up as well.

03-08-2015, 08:44 AM
Adelaide plenty to play for and Richmond potential let down after their biggest win of the year.

Geelong also at home with plenty to play for must be some hope. Sydney have had an emotion charged week and may find it hard to come up as well.

Yes, both will be interesting games and could go either way.

The good thing is, regardless of the results we can put a positive spin on it.

03-08-2015, 09:29 AM

Both playing at their home grounds. But that's only the equation for us to get to 4th next weekend.

03-08-2015, 09:38 AM

Yep. Richmond have won their big game. They will fall apart from here.

03-08-2015, 01:24 PM
Set rooting objective to 'Top 4'.

03-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Set rooting objective to 'Top 4'.
If we beat Port on Saturday arvo, then absolutely let's switch the focus onto top 4. But if we lose, our 'rooting' priorities should remain focused on the top 8.

If we win, let's hope both Geelong and Adelaide smash Sydney and Richmond respectively. Cats and Crows percentages are irrelevant due to the 2 points each for the non-result, and hurting Richmond and Sydney percentages would be fantastic. But if we lose (and realistically a loss to Port would be the end of our top 4 hopes), I'd be hoping Richmond and Sydney both win so we remain a game and a half ahead of 9th (or a game and massive percentage ahead of GWS who should beat Essendon).

03-08-2015, 01:41 PM
Swans and Richmond both have fairly soft runs home. I reckon we probably need to win all 5 remaining games to get a Top 4 position.

Very tough ask but who's to say what the limit is for this group?

On current form, we will be favourites against Port, Melbourne and Brisbane.

The 2 toughies will be North and WCE.

North look fairly evenly matched to us at Etihad. Hopefully we may be a little more intense in tight and have a little more midfield depth.

The most serious test is WCE at Subi. Realistically, we are distinct outsiders but I do think this team could really enjoy the wide open spaces and fast deck over there. We have interstate form this year and we did beat them fairly comfortably in R1 so we do have some reason to dare to dream.

03-08-2015, 01:58 PM
If we beat Port on Saturday arvo, then absolutely let's switch the focus onto top 4. But if we lose, our 'rooting' priorities should remain focused on the top 8.

If we win, let's hope both Geelong and Adelaide smash Sydney and Richmond respectively. Cats and Crows percentages are irrelevant due to the 2 points each for the non-result, and hurting Richmond and Sydney percentages would be fantastic. But if we lose (and realistically a loss to Port would be the end of our top 4 hopes), I'd be hoping Richmond and Sydney both win so we remain a game and a half ahead of 9th (or a game and massive percentage ahead of GWS who should beat Essendon).

Really complicating rooting there Sedat! But all good points!

The Port game is crucial (they all seem to be!)...unfortunately I won't see this week's game...but fortunately I'll be in Fiji getting updates by the pool!

03-08-2015, 03:27 PM
While Sydney and Richmond do have softish finishes they both have a couple of challenges in those.

Look at West Coast however and they have Hawthorn this week, followed by Fremantle in the Derby.

If we can win our next 2 and the Eagles drop their 2 we would be playing them for a top 4 spot in Round 21.

They then take on Adelaide in Adelaide in round 22. A very tough run for them and it is conceivable for them to lose their next 4.

03-08-2015, 03:41 PM
Fair point BJ. Hawthorn are only 1 game ahead of us also, so whoever loses the WCE/Haw are reachable. Exciting times!!

03-08-2015, 03:52 PM
Dogs over port root root root
Geelong over Sydney, shy little root

No way am I rooting for Adelaide - Go the draw!

03-08-2015, 05:10 PM
Basically we won't know until after our game on Saturday who our root for Saturday night will be.

Either way I guess it feels good to have a sure thing Saturday night though!

03-08-2015, 11:02 PM
West Coast drawing against Gold Coast was great for our top 4 hopes

We were never going to get them on percentage so it was as good as a loss, and they showed they are not going all that well

07-08-2015, 12:26 AM
OK trendsetters, this is getting serious

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 17 15 0 2 127.10 60
5 Bulldogs 17 11 0 6 113.10 44
6 Richmond 17 11 0 6 112.40 44
7 Nth Melbourne 17 10 0 7 107.20 40
8 Geelong 16 9 0 7 102.40 38
9 Adelaide 16 9 0 7 102.20 38
10 GWS Giants 17 9 0 8 100.30 36
12 Port Adelaide 17 8 0 9 102.90 32
13 St Kilda 17 6 0 11 87.40 24
15 Essendon 17 5 0 12 76.10 20

For a top shelf root that you will remember for ever (top 4)

1. WBU v Port
2 GEEL v Syd
3 WCE v Haw
4 ADE v Rich
5 Mel v NM
6 GWS v Ess

For a root that was unexpected in March (top 8)

1 WBU v Por
2 ADE v Rich
3 GWS v Ess
4 Coll v Carl

07-08-2015, 12:33 AM
Another Top 8 root:

Geel v SYD ?

07-08-2015, 12:44 AM
We need to look further.

For the top 4 and finals structure

Round 19
Hawv WC
WBulldogs V Port
Adev Rich
Geev Syd

Round 20
Freov WC
WBulldogs v Melb
Sydney v C'wood
Rich V Gold Coast

Round 21
C'wood v Rich
GWS v Syd
WCoast v WBulldogs

That would get us to 3rd with 2 rounds to play.

So if we can win the next 3 and have Sydney, Richmond and West Coast lose we just about be locked in top 4.

07-08-2015, 12:50 AM
I'm loving the glass half full attitude there BJ. If the next couple of rounds fall our way, we may have to look at a Top 2 thread!!

07-08-2015, 07:55 AM
I'm loving the glass half full attitude there BJ. If the next couple of rounds fall our way, we may have to look at a Top 2 thread!!

PP, the one thing about BJ is his glass isn't half full its fill to the top, always had been.

07-08-2015, 03:01 PM
We need to look further.

Round 19
Hawv WC
WBulldogs V Port
Adev Rich
Geev Syd

Round 20
Freov WC
WBulldogs v Melb
Sydney v C'wood
Rich V Gold Coast

Round 21
C'wood v Rich
GWS v Syd
WCoast v WBulldogs

So if we can win the next 3 and have Sydney, Richmond and West Coast lose we just about be locked in top 4.

There's some fanciful rooting there but I'll be rooting desperately for the next three weeks according to your sage advice.

07-08-2015, 07:44 PM
So, what's the verdict tonight? The cows or the tiges?

07-08-2015, 07:52 PM

Delidio could be out, so Cows it might be.

07-08-2015, 07:55 PM

Bigger question is who do we want to win?

I think we have to back ourselves in and hope the Cows win.

07-08-2015, 11:13 PM
Now. Geelong and Bulldogs win by combined 5 goal margin = Top 4.

07-08-2015, 11:22 PM
Now. Geelong and Bulldogs win by combined 5 goal margin = Top 4.

Tigers also lost a bit of % also.

07-08-2015, 11:23 PM
Tigers also lost a bit of % also.

Over 4%. Should've been 10% though.

07-08-2015, 11:39 PM
Here's the ladder

Tomorrow's match is vital.

P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 17 15 0 2 127.10 60

5 Bulldogs 17 11 0 6 113.10 44
6 Richmond 18 11 0 7 108.90 44
7 Adelaide 17 10 0 7 104.50 42
8 Nth Melbourne 17 10 0 7 107.20 40

9 Geelong 16 9 0 7 102.40 38

10 GWS Giants 17 9 0 8 100.30 36
12 Port Adelaide 17 8 0 9 102.90 32
13 St Kilda 17 6 0 11 87.40 24
15 Essendon 17 5 0 12 76.10 20

08-08-2015, 11:13 AM
Over 4%. Should've been 10% though.

What do we need the Hawks to lose by for 3rd? Should be something like 300 :D

08-08-2015, 12:21 PM

Yeah, give or take. A country team got done by about 500 points recently, So it's possible... :D

08-08-2015, 12:49 PM

Yeah, give or take. A country team got done by about 500 points recently, So it's possible... :D

More like about 600... It's possible, just a goal a minute by WC.

08-08-2015, 12:49 PM
Hawthorn would only need to lose by 250 or so if we win by a similar amount :)

08-08-2015, 06:01 PM
We are fourth on percentage. Cmon cats.

Lukewarm Beveridge
08-08-2015, 06:30 PM
I think I can finally start supporting for top 4 results as opposed to just top 8.. in that case, go Cats!

08-08-2015, 08:21 PM
Go Catters you good things!!!

08-08-2015, 11:23 PM

I also predicted us to win by 70 points. Guess I chalked up another citation for bravery :D :D :D

09-08-2015, 12:41 AM
I also predicted us to win by 70 points. Guess I chalked up another citation for bravery :D :D :D

Yeah, I think we can forget about top 8 now. We still need to win another game but the way we're going we might win the next 7

10-08-2015, 07:46 AM
We need to look further.

Round 19
Hawv WC
WBulldogs V Port
Adev Rich
Geev Syd

Round 20
Freov WC
WBulldogs v Melb
Sydney v C'wood
Rich V Gold Coast

Round 21
C'wood v Rich
GWS v Syd
WCoast v WBulldogs

Well that is round 19 done and dusted with results as required.

I believe we are best served by Freo and Hawthorn finishing top 2, so despite us having reached 4th we still need those round 20 and 21 results to displace West Coast.

12-08-2015, 08:56 PM
Apparently Franklin is a definite out for the Swans, giving Pies a legit chance on Friday night. If Swannies drop this one, we can afford to drop a match and still make the 4.

Can't believe I'm typing this but....Go Pies.

(Just did a little sick up in my mouth)

12-08-2015, 11:23 PM

Round 20
Freov WC
WBulldogs v Melb
Sydney v C'wood
Rich V Gold Coast

Follow up with these results and we will be looking good.

13-08-2015, 10:24 AM
AFL Ladder
P W D L % Pts
1 Fremantle 18 16 0 2 128.80 64
2 West Coast 18 13 1 4 149.50 54
3 Hawthorn 18 13 0 5 161.50 52
4 Bulldogs 18 12 0 6 117.10 48
5 Sydney 18 12 0 6 112.40 48
6 Nth Melbourne 18 11 0 7 109.00 44
7 Richmond 18 11 0 7 108.90 44
8 Geelong 17 10 0 7 104.60 42
9 Adelaide 17 10 0 7 104.50 42
10 GWS Giants 18 10 0 8 102.40 40
11 Collingwood 18 9 0 9 111.80 36
12 Port Adelaide 18 8 0 10 98.70 32
13 St Kilda 18 6 0 12 85.90 24
14 Melbourne 18 6 0 12 80.20 24
15 Essendon 18 5 0 13 75.50 20
16 Gold Coast 18 3 1 14 76.20 14
17 Carlton 18 3 0 15 66.20 12
18 Brisbane 18 2 0 16 64.30 8

Who to root for, for us to make the top 4 (not fussy at what position and final opponent)

1. WBU v Melb
2. Syd v Coll
3. NM v Saints
4. Rich v Suns
5. Geel v Hawks
6. Ess v Adel
7. Port v GWS

Top 8 root for, for us to make the top 8 (not fussy at what position and final opponent)

1, WBU v Melb
2 ESS v Adel
3 Port v GWS
4 SYD v Coll

NB Champion Data has us at 50% chance of finishing top 4, and 98% chance of making the top 8

13-08-2015, 12:02 PM
Go Pies :D

http://thumbsnap.com/s/A1Zh9ixv.jpg

14-08-2015, 02:28 PM
We definitely all need to do some hard pie rooting tonight!
http://s24.postimg.org/l31v5bkad/american_pie.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

14-08-2015, 03:34 PM
Go Pies :D

http://thumbsnap.com/s/A1Zh9ixv.jpg

I have to admit my loathing of the pies has waned a little over the years. I've only got so much hate to give, and Hird gets most of it streaming towards bomber land, Kennett's hawks get a constant sprinkle, mainly for sociopolitical reasons. Caaaaarlton get a permanent allocation due to The arrogant cheating slimebag culture there. John Elliot and Ian Collins keep putting their hands out for more hate, and Demetriou left his job with a huge sack of it. So there's not much left for the pies......... and....you know, I can't help admiring Swannie's cute little waddle.......... how that guy is an elite athlete is simply a miracle..........kinda makes me almost like them sometimes. But then again Eddie is a pompous loudmouth twit..........they get hand fed money by the shovelful from the AFL and then kick up a stink if we get too many crumbs............ they blame the smaller clubs for not bringing in the crowds and then squeal like stuck Gina Rineharts if anyone dares to suggest they might want to share the blockbusters or primetime slots around!!!!.......grrrrrrrr.....Hang on! I just found another whole bunch of hate down the back of the shed I didn't even know I had........Carry on. As you were.

14-08-2015, 04:05 PM
Its all about 1997.

The Similarities are massive, we have come from nowhere and are a genuine surprise packet, our speed and risk taking has everyone in shock. a lot of people tipped us for the spoon, just like this year.

So its 4 rounds to go, we play Melbourne, just like we did in 97 with 4 rounds to go. They were last on the ladder but had some good late inclusions.

With 3 rounds to go we faced a rather tricky interstate trip over to Adelaide (which we won convincingly) and we will of course this year be playing West coast over in Perth.

2 Rounds to go in 1997 saw us play our last game at the Whitten oval against top 4 side West coast. We will be taking North on who on their form-line are playing as good football as anyone right now.

the last round in 1997 saw us demolish 2nd last placed Hawthorn to finish 3rd on the ladder and prepare to take the final series by storm. We of course play Brisbane who are in pretty much an identical position.

Now we all know how 1997 turned out, but we won our first final against the swans (different final 8 system) but realistically if we finish 4th there is no reason why we couldnt win that first final.

Just Sayin' :)

14-08-2015, 04:13 PM
Wow. Spooky stuff RL.

Reading that, I just had a flashback to that 9 goals to 0 1st qtr in the first final against Sydney, the most exhilarating 1st qtr I've ever seen.

I'll take a copy of '97 up until the 10min mark Q4 of the Prelim....

14-08-2015, 04:34 PM
If the Bulldogs were to play in and win a final, who would you like to beat? I'd love to beat Hawthorn, to prove it wasn't a fluke, and to give them an unpleasant memory to go with their horde of silverware.

14-08-2015, 04:43 PM
I'd like to beat North in a final. The last time we did that Simon Beasley kicked his 100th goal.

14-08-2015, 04:47 PM
I'd like to beat North in a final. The last time we did that Simon Beasley kicked his 100th goal.

and Lally his 50th

14-08-2015, 04:47 PM
I'd like to beat Freo, because they're the top team and a win over them means a home prelim.

14-08-2015, 05:09 PM
I'd like to beat Freo, because they're the top team and a win over them means a home prelim.

Actually that will do me too.

14-08-2015, 05:54 PM
Beating the hawks for me. The big end of town bullies. Cocky smarmy, and too F#$%$#@ successful for my liking in my lifetime.
If we beat THEM in a final, we'd be flag favourites. The whole football world would quiver in fear. Just the look on Kennett's face would be worth it's own collectors item DVD release.

Plus...we owe 'em for '61.

14-08-2015, 06:49 PM
I'd like to beat any of Fremantle, Hawthorn, or WCE. We haven't beaten a top 4 team in a final since 1961, doing so would mean we're close to winning a flag for the first time in more than half a century.

14-08-2015, 06:49 PM
If the Bulldogs were to play in and win a final, who would you like to beat? I'd love to beat Hawthorn, to prove it wasn't a fluke, and to give them an unpleasant memory to go with their horde of silverware.

Geelong.

They've done us over so many times.

14-08-2015, 07:34 PM
Its all about 1997.

The Similarities are massive, we have come from nowhere and are a genuine surprise packet, our speed and risk taking has everyone in shock. a lot of people tipped us for the spoon, just like this year.

So its 4 rounds to go, we play Melbourne, just like we did in 97 with 4 rounds to go. They were last on the ladder but had some good late inclusions.

With 3 rounds to go we faced a rather tricky interstate trip over to Adelaide (which we won convincingly) and we will of course this year be playing West coast over in Perth.

2 Rounds to go in 1997 saw us play our last game at the Whitten oval against top 4 side West coast. We will be taking North on who on their form-line are playing as good football as anyone right now.

the last round in 1997 saw us demolish 2nd last placed Hawthorn to finish 3rd on the ladder and prepare to take the final series by storm. We of course play Brisbane who are in pretty much an identical position.

Now we all know how 1997 turned out, but we won our first final against the swans (different final 8 system) but realistically if we finish 4th there is no reason why we couldnt win that first final.

Just Sayin' :)
This us a great observation. I reckon we've got more sizzle, more self belief, more killer instinct and more raw power and talent across the park niw than we did in 97 too

15-08-2015, 12:44 AM
I'd like to beat any of Fremantle, Hawthorn, or WCE. We haven't beaten a top 4 team in a final since 1961, doing so would mean we're close to winning a flag for the first time in more than half a century.

That's a crazy stat. I think we'll get our chance this year, maybe not in week 1 but in week 2

15-08-2015, 12:50 AM
I'd like to win a Prelim - don't care who it is against. We've only won 1 of these in our VFL/AFL history.

15-08-2015, 09:11 AM
I'd like to win a Prelim - don't care who it is against. We've only won 1 of these in our VFL/AFL history.

We've won two prelims. 1954 and 1961. Not that it matters much, I guess. Far from enough.

15-08-2015, 10:03 AM
Curse Sydney. And Bugger Collingwood!

15-08-2015, 11:50 AM
We've won two prelims. 1954 and 1961. Not that it matters much, I guess. Far from enough.

Only 1, 1961... In 1954 we won the 2nd semi and went straight into the GF.

15-08-2015, 11:58 AM
Only 1, 1961... In 1954 we won the 2nd semi and went straight into the GF.
Yep, would love to revert back to a final 4 or final 5 finals system so we can potentially bypass the Preliminary Final altogether. But then again we've also stunk at Qualifying Finals.

15-08-2015, 11:39 PM
Geelong losing tonight and GWS losing today virtually puts us out of reach of the chasing pack outside the top 8, provided we get the job done tomorrow.

15-08-2015, 11:40 PM
Geelong losing tonight and GWS losing today virtually puts us out of reach of the chasing pack outside the top 8, provided we get the job done tomorrow.

Yep. I think the 8 is finalised now. Just a matter of finishing order now.

15-08-2015, 11:53 PM
Sat night ladder

P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 18 16 0 2 128.80 64
2 Hawthorn 19 14 0 5 160.30 56
3 West Coast 18 13 1 4 149.50 54
4 Sydney 19 13 0 6 112.50 52

5 Bulldogs 18 12 0 6 117.10 48
6 Nth Melbourne 19 12 0 7 110.80 48
7 Adelaide 18 11 0 7 111.40 46
8 Richmond 18 11 0 7 108.90 44

9 Geelong 18 10 0 8 101.90 42
10 GWS Giants 19 10 0 9 100.90 40
11 Collingwood 19 9 0 10 110.40 36
12 Port Adelaide 19 9 0 10 100.00 36
13 St Kilda 19 6 0 13 84.80 24
14 Melbourne 18 6 0 12 80.20 24
15 Essendon 19 5 0 14 71.80 20
16 Gold Coast 18 3 1 14 76.20 14
17 Brisbane 19 3 0 16 68.80 12
18 Carlton 19 3 0 16 65.20 12

16-08-2015, 12:50 AM

Geelong could get to 13.5 wins with games against St Kilda, Collingwood and Adelaide (in Geelong)

GWS is the only other side outside the 8 that could get to 13 wins and we are 16 percent above them, so if Geelong drop one more and we win one more we're in

16-08-2015, 01:13 AM
Race for the last spots in the 8 look interesting.

I still think Geelong have a reasonable shot of displacing Adelaide. They have 2 very winnables and then meet Adelaide at the Cattery, whilst Adelaide also have to meet the Eagles.

North are still not good things either. They could easily lose their remaining 3 (us, Freo & Rich) and drop out completely. Even 1 more win may not be enough for them.

GWS a slim chance but really need to beat Swans next week (go Giants).

The R23 5-8 battles should be very entertaining with Gee-Adl & Rich-NM being key.

Hopefully they will be of minor interest to us, as we'll be entrenched in the top 4 by then :)

16-08-2015, 06:57 PM
10.8% over Sydney. Top 4. Still. :)

16-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Here's the ladder

P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 19 16 0 3 124.70 64
2 West Coast 19 14 1 4 148.30 58
3 Hawthorn 19 14 0 5 160.30 56
4 Bulldogs 19 13 0 6 123.20 52
5 Sydney 19 13 0 6 112.50 52
6 Richmond 19 12 0 7 114.50 48
7 Nth Melbourne 19 12 0 7 110.80 48
8 Adelaide 18 11 0 7 111.40 46

14 Melbourne 19 6 0 13 76.40 24
16 Gold Coast 19 3 1 15 73.60 14

Won one more match (or Geelong lose one match) and finals is guaranteed. I'm almost ready to call it. (unless we lose every match and GWS win every match and theres a massive % shift)

18-08-2015, 03:47 PM
According to Champion Data

Bulldogs 99.879% based on 100,000 simulations of making the top 8

(and 61% chance of top 4)

19-08-2015, 01:13 PM
According to Champion Data

Bulldogs 99.879% based on 100,000 simulations of making the top 8

(and 61% chance of top 4)

Hope they are right!

Another big weekend this weekend. Will be flat out rooting.

Like to see Freo beat North. Power get the Hawks (unlikely), Pies get the Tigers, Giants to beat Sydney PLEASE!!, Saints to upset the cats...

19-08-2015, 01:22 PM
St Kilda are a sneaky chance to beat Geelong at Etihad on Saturday night - our finals spot might be secured before we even play on Sunday.

19-08-2015, 01:26 PM
I'm chaffing. I think we just keep winning and top 4 takes care of itself no matter what.

19-08-2015, 01:51 PM
Hope they are right!

Another big weekend this weekend. Will be flat out rooting.

Like to see Freo beat North. Power get the Hawks (unlikely), Pies get the Tigers, Giants to beat Sydney PLEASE!!, Saints to upset the cats...

Don't think Power over the Hawks helps us at all.
Believe we need Hawthorn to make top 2 as it improves the chance of not having to travel in week 1 of the finals. Happy to play Hawthorn and get the PF spot.

19-08-2015, 08:18 PM
OK Trendsetters and groovers, here it is

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
3 Hawthorn 19 14 0 5 160.30 56

Top 8 root, in order

WCE v WBU
ST K v Geel

<<Big Gap>>

Distant 3rd SYD v GWS Actually GWS having a narrow win would be FAR better for the big picture

AND the more important top 4 Root

WCE v WBU + Once again, our most important match of the season so far (if we win)
GWS v Syd
<<gap>>
COLL v Rich
NM v Freo
Adel v Bris
St K v Geel

19-08-2015, 08:35 PM
Come on Ryland Gruffknuckle, do us a solid and beat the Swans!

19-08-2015, 09:02 PM
You're a star Bryan!

Do it for the Gipper.

20-08-2015, 08:37 PM
some BIG outs for the swans

Go C***an W***

Go ***n *riff**

You guys are awesome

20-08-2015, 08:46 PM
What a massive result it will be if Giants can get up - I give them a great shot.

It'll mean our boys can take on WCE free in the knowledge that we'll still be 4th either way. That sense of a free hit can be a big plus.

20-08-2015, 09:16 PM
Some big ins for GWS and some massive outs for Sydney + no Buddy.

GWS playing for their season in a must win game. Come on!

20-08-2015, 10:12 PM
This bloke needs to play a blinder...

http://i.imgur.com/0A6zjfi.jpg

He owes us.

20-08-2015, 10:20 PM
He owes us.

Understatement of the year!

20-08-2015, 11:35 PM
This bloke needs to play a blinder...

http://i.imgur.com/0A6zjfi.jpg

He owes us.

We probably owe them for some of his wages. I wouldn't imagine that being an account that would get prompt attention.

20-08-2015, 11:42 PM
My dad always said "Never trust anyone whose eyes are too close together."

Seems he was spot on!

21-08-2015, 12:30 AM
My dad always said "Never trust anyone whose eyes are too close together."

Seems he was spot on!

Felt a little vindictive doing this...but I'll get over it.

http://i.imgur.com/JJYk2jO.jpg

21-08-2015, 12:32 AM
Help I'm blind!

21-08-2015, 12:33 AM
He's meant to be a gryphon, not Cyclops!!

Funny though:)

21-08-2015, 09:50 AM
We probably owe them for some of his wages. I wouldn't imagine that being an account that would get prompt attention.

We're paying his wages!

21-08-2015, 08:35 PM
We're paying his wages!

That's what he meant. Hope we're paying in 5c pieces

21-08-2015, 08:46 PM
That's what he meant. Hope we're paying in 5c pieces

One every couple of weeks.

21-08-2015, 11:41 PM
Friday night ladder

P W D L % PTS
3 Hawthorn 20 14 0 6 154.20 56
10 Port Adelaide 20 10 0 10 101.20 40
11 GWS Giants 19 10 0 9 100.90 40
12 Collingwood 19 9 0 10 110.40 36

22-08-2015, 12:12 AM
Hawthorn have two unloseable games to finish against Carlton & Brisbane in Tassie, so we won't pass them. Unless of course they want us to pass them in order to play Freo instead of West Coast, or even a week 1 home final behind Sydney as well, and so they rest half their team

22-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Bad results today. A win is a must now, or we could drop to 7th.

22-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Well that was a rooted afternoon of rooting.

Big wins to Swans and Rich mean our % advantage has dwindled.

A 7 goal or so loss tomorrow would see us down to 6th.

Can't see that happening, but a disappointing afternoon nonetheless.

22-08-2015, 06:40 PM
Yep, dud rooting.

22-08-2015, 06:48 PM
Quick sums on expected results (less dogs):

Bulldogs lose 2 of next 3: Finish 56pts
Sydney win next two: finish 4th
Geelong win next three: 54 pts
Adelaide win 2 of 3: 54 pts
Richmond and North to have 56 and 60 points depending on who wins they place last round

4. Sydney 64
5. Nth/Rich 60
6. WB (on %) 56
7. Nth/Rich 56
8. Adelaide or Geelong on 54 points each. Down to percentage.

Providing we don't lose much percentage it's 6th, or 7th if get a flogging.
However, one win of Eagles or North and were 5th. Two wins plus a win against Brisbane is 4th.
So between 4 and 6. A loss tomorrow makes it a finish between 5 and 7.

22-08-2015, 06:55 PM
So you're giving North tomorrow's game against Freo?

22-08-2015, 07:25 PM
That's the worst rooting I've had all year.

22-08-2015, 07:37 PM
So you're giving North tomorrow's game against Freo?

Erring with caution, yes.

22-08-2015, 07:41 PM
Erring with caution, yes.

Fair enough. Good if Freo get up though.

22-08-2015, 07:43 PM
Fair enough. Good if Freo get up though.

Better if North have injuries and suspensions! :D

22-08-2015, 07:57 PM
Obviously we want to finish top 4, but if we lose tomorrow that dream is basically dead in the water.

Once we're not in the top 4, the rooting doesn't matter in the grand scheme of things. It is likely that the lowest we could fall is 7th, with either North or Richmond ahead of us, meaning a final in Melbourne regardless.

My question would then be, how do we get on the Freo/Sydney side of the finals draw for week two. I see Hawks and WC as the most dangerous sides for our style of play.

22-08-2015, 08:14 PM
I think worst case scenario (other than losing all 3) is falling to 7th and having Adelaide 6th. 1st final in Adelaide would be no fun.

22-08-2015, 10:20 PM
I think worst case scenario (other than losing all 3) is falling to 7th and having Adelaide 6th. 1st final in Adelaide would be no fun.

One of the things on my bucket list is going to Adelaide and winning a final. Hopefully on the back of a point bank wrong goal umpiring mistake. I wanted a PF but I am a reasonable man and if that happened in a EF then I would consider honour had been after restored their shameful conduct in 1997.

I could then put a bulldogs jumper on the statue of Colonel Light and make my way back to Melbourne .

22-08-2015, 10:32 PM
I'm still scared of falling out of the 8, so am watching the Saints and Geelong troll us with something less than equanimity. Not easy supporting the Saints, but sometimes these things have to be done for the good of football...

22-08-2015, 10:56 PM
Top 8 baby!!!!!!!!!!!!

Clear September, here comes ShockTember!

Fantastic rooting tonight, I'm sitting back having a cigarette ;)

22-08-2015, 11:11 PM
St Kilda are a sneaky chance to beat Geelong at Etihad on Saturday night - our finals spot might be secured before we even play on Sunday.
You heard it here first :)

Going to have a shower now - feel dirty after barracking for the Saints tonight.

22-08-2015, 11:13 PM
You heard it here first :)

Going to have a shower now - feel dirty after barracking for the Saints tonight.

You're a great rooter. :D

22-08-2015, 11:17 PM
And we've all got a much bigger root coming up tomorrow.

Now that's livin'