View Full Version : Nearest the pin for pick 19

22-11-2007, 10:21 PM
Anyone willing to have a crack at who we will select with our 2nd pick?

I will go for Tony Notte

22-11-2007, 11:07 PM
Gourdais (spelling) at pick 19 for me. That would be a fantastic result if we could get Grant and Gourdais with our first 2 picks.

It will be interesting if Ward is still available at pick 19. It could throw the plans out the window.

22-11-2007, 11:26 PM
Callan Ward. Has anyone seen him play? ;)

22-11-2007, 11:29 PM
Eenie, meanie, miney mo.

I'll go Lachlan Henderson.

22-11-2007, 11:43 PM
Anyone willing to have a crack at who we will select with our 2nd pick?

I will go for Tony Notte

Is there an assumption that our pick #5 is a certainty?

23-11-2007, 09:37 AM
I'll go for a long-shot.

Joey Daye.

23-11-2007, 09:40 AM
If Ward is available I think we will select him, but I think will be gone.

Then it depends who is available, if available I expect us to take Gourdis.

But knowing Clayton he will pick someone we have never heard of.

23-11-2007, 10:33 AM
Tarrant

23-11-2007, 10:33 AM
I'll go for a long-shot.

Joey Daye.

Who?

23-11-2007, 11:02 AM
Who?

Fair dinkum SS!!

Everyone knows Joey Daye is a tall defender from Queensland.

You dead set don't know the difference between brown sugar & shit when it comes to the draft, do you? :D

23-11-2007, 11:25 AM
Fair dinkum SS!!

You dead set don't know the difference between brown sugar & shit when it comes to the draft, do you? :D

I think he will go a LOT higher than is currently being predicted. More than 90% of AIS kids get drafted - Daye is a good mover, and reads the ball well...I would not be shocked at this pick. If Notte is being considered at 19 - and he wont play for 3 years - and Dawson Simpson is being proposed by some for 22 - and he wont play for at least that long - then Daye must be in the mix.

Plus, he is from Queensland. (Clayton = Tick).

That said, I only put him down for 19 because I knew if it came off I would look like a genius.

23-11-2007, 11:32 AM
Fair dinkum SS!!

Maybe if I knew a bit more I would have got an invite to the draft meeting? :mad:

23-11-2007, 11:56 AM
Rioli. Just guessing as well, possibly could be a slider who fits our midfield needs at #19 whilst our other tall target falls to 35.

23-11-2007, 11:58 AM
Still hoping we get Ward and think Notte sounds promising, but I'll pull this name out for here:

Andy Otten.

23-11-2007, 02:18 PM
Gourdis for me

23-11-2007, 02:48 PM
Maybe another defender so i'll go for Pears.

23-11-2007, 02:51 PM
Geezz, this is tough.

I reckon its going to be really open tomorrow.

I think a few of the highly rated guys are going to slip down the order.

We have had Gourdis picked by MJP in the BF Phantom at #5, then some others think we will get him at #19 or even #35.

Same with Gaertner, in different places he has been touted as a high teen pick, yet the AFL Phantom draft has him coming to us at #35.

Maybe the eveness of the quality of players available has meant that there a few more variables at play.

The Best Talent Vs Needs argument appears to be well & truly alive.

FWIW, I reckon Callan Ward, although it depends on whether we use our first pick on a potential tall forward.

23-11-2007, 03:07 PM
Geezz, this is tough.

I reckon its going to be really open tomorrow.

I think a few of the highly rated guys are going to slip down the order.

We have had Gourdis picked by MJP in the BF Phantom at #5, then some others think we will get him at #19 or even #35.

Same with Gaertner, in different places he has been touted as a high teen pick, yet the AFL Phantom draft has him coming to us at #35.

Maybe the eveness of the quality of players available has meant that there a few more variables at play.

The Best Talent Vs Needs argument appears to be well & truly alive.

FWIW, I reckon Callan Ward, although it depends on whether we use our first pick on a potential tall forward.

That's why "best available" is a crock.

There's bugger all difference between most of them. Take what you need.

23-11-2007, 04:02 PM
I've never heard of any of them

Draft comment boards are generally people just copying what someone else posted a week before.:D

I'll go for Grant, FWIW.

23-11-2007, 04:36 PM
With selection #19 in the 2007 AFL Draft the Western Bulldogs select: Player Number 233576 - B. Revolution - Overrated Amateurs

23-11-2007, 04:55 PM
I've never heard of any of them

Draft comment boards are generally people just copying what someone else posted a week before.:D

I'll go for Grant, FWIW.

No way. Not me.

I write what mjp tells me.

23-11-2007, 08:20 PM
I suppose so (Grant) but this is just for a bit of fun.

I'll select Gaertner

Same here Gary.

23-11-2007, 08:56 PM
I have a mate in SA who think we will be drafting James Wundke with our last pick in the draft. He said he is a ruckman or key forward who hasn't had a great season but given time could be a decent player.

23-11-2007, 09:09 PM
i will go scott simpson or gourdis.

23-11-2007, 11:12 PM
I will go for Grant aswell he is generating quite a bit of interest not only from the Bulldogs.

24-11-2007, 07:50 AM
I'll go with the Grant/Gaertner double

24-11-2007, 10:37 AM
Patrick Veszpremi.

Just cos I like the sound of him.
Grant with pick 1

25-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Where is my prize?

25-11-2007, 05:42 PM
I was suprised to see Scott Simpson last so long in the draft, mostly because of his upside..... 196 cm, well built agile/versatile.
Anybody have any thoughts on this?

25-11-2007, 05:55 PM
I was suprised to see Scott Simpson last so long in the draft, mostly because of his upside..... 196 cm, well built agile/versatile.
Anybody have any thoughts on this?

Some teams rated him and others questioned his ethic.