BOG Bontempelli

04-07-2015, 09:38 AM
Dogs by 87 points
First goal - Big Red
BOG - Stringer

04-07-2015, 10:00 AM
It seems we're feeling bullish. 4pts will do me.
Margin: Dogs by 4 points
First Goal: Grant
Best On Ground: Dahlhaus.

04-07-2015, 10:52 AM
Dogs by 53pts
First goal-Redders
BOG-Spindle

04-07-2015, 10:58 AM
Thanks as always Easty

Dogs by a healthy 42 points
First major = Stringer
BOG = Wally

04-07-2015, 11:19 AM
Dogs by 61 points
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Wallis

04-07-2015, 11:34 AM
Dogs by 31
First Goal: Jake Stringer
BOG: Koby Stevens (Phil Walsh and his family had a lot do with Koby when he first was drafted to W/C).

04-07-2015, 11:39 AM
The Blues will regret not playing Tutt and Jones
'Cause then they'll have no-one to blame
When they're picking through the bones...

Dogs by 60 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: Dahlhaus

04-07-2015, 02:19 PM
Dogs by 30 points
First Goal: Dead-Eye Dicko
BOG: Wally

04-07-2015, 02:31 PM
Uneasy about this one, we should logically pants them but wouldn't underestimate the impact of Boyd the younger's absence on our forward-of-centre plan.

Fear this'll be one of those contests we're expected to win but end up dropping courtesy of the inconsistencies of a developing side.

Blehs by 19 points.
First goal: Wallis
BOG: Macrae

04-07-2015, 02:44 PM
A danger game Doggies by 4 pts

First Goal Stringer

BOG Boyd

04-07-2015, 02:48 PM
Danger game for me, too. We should be good enough to get up, but I'm not optimistic about a big.

Dogs by 17
First goal - Redpath
BOG - JJ

04-07-2015, 04:32 PM
Dogs by 15 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: Wood

04-07-2015, 04:53 PM
Hopefully we get a good crowd in. Its our home game as well.

04-07-2015, 04:55 PM
Hopefully we get a good crowd in. Its our home game as well.

It will be a big crowd, I believe a lot of Carlton supporters are coming.

04-07-2015, 04:59 PM
It will be a big crowd, I believe a lot of Carlton supporters are coming.

Yes true. I hope though we come out in good numbers as well.

04-07-2015, 05:01 PM
Yes true. I hope though we come out in good numbers as well.

All guest passes in the players sponsors area have been used. Normally you can buy a couple on the night but they sold out early.

04-07-2015, 05:22 PM
Real danger game tonight, this feels like the sort of game we always drop. Would love to see us thump them.

Dogs by 5
First goal- Dahlhaus
BOG- Stringer

04-07-2015, 05:24 PM
Dogs by 23. They'll scare but as long as we all play our part we'll be far too good.
First goal: Gimli.
BOG: Bont

04-07-2015, 05:26 PM
All the money for the Dogs Carlton out to $3

04-07-2015, 05:33 PM
I think we'll be OK tonight, they have some big outs in Gibbs and Docherty namely.

Dogs by 36 points
BOG Wallis
First goal Stringer

04-07-2015, 05:34 PM
Dogs by 55
First Goal MBoyd
BOG MBoyd

04-07-2015, 07:09 PM
All the Tutt haters get their opportunity. He's a late in for Rowe
Daniel the sub for us

04-07-2015, 07:09 PM
Rowe out, Tutt in.

C.Daniel the sub.

04-07-2015, 07:11 PM
Oh and Dogs by 45
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Wallis

04-07-2015, 07:29 PM
Dogs in a close one by 8 points.
Dahlhaus first goal and M.Boyd BOG.

Our lack of height is creating some discussion since I arrived at thd ground.
I hope we can keep Henderson under control tonight

04-07-2015, 07:37 PM
Love to see Dickson play close to goal tonight I could really see him kicking 4plus. Really confident about this one 6 goals plus for mine.

04-07-2015, 07:41 PM
Oh and Dogs by 45
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Wallis
you mean BOG Stevens

04-07-2015, 08:01 PM
Its shaping as a good crowd tonight. Heaps of people still outside and I can see the 3rd level is filling.

04-07-2015, 08:06 PM
You can tell the size of the crowd from the numbers coming off the train

i would be disappointed with less than 35k

04-07-2015, 08:11 PM
You can tell the size of the crowd from the numbers coming off the train

i would be disappointed with less than 35k
Give the Carlton supporters a whiff of a win and they come to the footy no matter what position they are.

We need this win.

04-07-2015, 08:15 PM
Crameri just addressed the player sponsors and is hopeful to be back in next week. Gave Daniel a big endorsement.

04-07-2015, 08:17 PM
Oh, they've got the mascot in the sub vest.

Oh wait that's CD!

04-07-2015, 08:23 PM
you mean BOG Stevens

He's always BOG in my heart

04-07-2015, 08:28 PM
Cmon Doggies

Dogs by 15 points
1st Goal big red
BOG Wallis

04-07-2015, 08:35 PM
Granty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a goal kicker you magnificent bastard.

04-07-2015, 08:42 PM
Granty, what a kick!!!!! Goal.

04-07-2015, 09:00 PM
I really dont like we have played this quarter. We need a good 2nd quarter and put some scoreboard pressure on them.

04-07-2015, 09:03 PM
I think we are lucky to be in front at the moment. We need to get better forward of centre and close down the space they have in the centre of the ground.

04-07-2015, 09:05 PM
I really dont like we have played this quarter. We need a good 2nd quarter and put some scoreboard pressure on them.

Thought we started really well but Carlton got on top midway through the qtr. our defence once again withstood the pressure.

04-07-2015, 09:05 PM
Really lacking that intensity. Our mids continue to fumble we need them to lift significantly.

04-07-2015, 09:06 PM
I reckon we've slaughtered them and are unlucky to not be up by 30 - 35. Carlton look hopeless

04-07-2015, 09:15 PM
Will is just dumb.

04-07-2015, 09:16 PM
I reckon we've slaughtered them and are unlucky to not be up by 30 - 35. Carlton look hopeless

Bar the 1st 10min we have been completely out played.. Lucky to be still in front.

Need to lift.

04-07-2015, 09:22 PM

Are you watching a replay of an old game? Apart from the early minutes, we've been very ordinary.

04-07-2015, 09:25 PM
Starting to be glad that I'm unable to watch the game tonight. Might find that soon I won't be able to listen to it either.

04-07-2015, 09:27 PM
Starting to be glad that I'm unable to watch the game tonight. Might find that soon I won't be able to listen to it either.

The are just flat. I'd say our worst quarter of the year.

04-07-2015, 09:29 PM
Great tackle Granty!

04-07-2015, 09:31 PM
The are just flat. I'd say our worst quarter of the year.

Actually the worst quarter of AFL this year.

04-07-2015, 09:32 PM
Horrible performance... Should be 4+ goals down.

04-07-2015, 09:35 PM
Really poor effort except for that Stringer goal Carlton have owned us this quarter. How many of us think we can rally in the 2nd half?

04-07-2015, 09:35 PM
Can't believe we are so close.

04-07-2015, 09:36 PM
We're letting Armfield and Tutty look like AFL players

Need a Bevo spray.

04-07-2015, 09:37 PM
I think we need to sub off Honey as he is giving us nothing while Buckley is killing us. Need Bpnts and Stringer to lift. Not sure that we can get up from here the way we are playing. Munson is also interesting double team all night but doing nothing around the ground.

Carlton made so many errors and they still thrashed us. We won ugly last we so we might have to win fugly this week

We will fire in the second half

04-07-2015, 09:39 PM
Let's hope so as we are far better than tie and they have 1/2 of thier set side out

04-07-2015, 09:40 PM
Macrae and Dicksons kicks into the 50 were woeful

04-07-2015, 09:41 PM
Got to get our attacking game going playing like last year and last week

04-07-2015, 09:42 PM
Very disappointed in that half. Huge lift required from all. Murph only going at 50% DE, Stringer and Bont little impact. Hopefully the last goal will give Stringer a kickstart.

Look completely shot since about half way through the first. We're lucky to be only down by such a small margin.

Lucky to still be in it, but if we can turn it on we should still do it easy

Got to get our attacking game going playing like last year and last week
Need Murphy and JJ to start running from backline

04-07-2015, 09:44 PM
Stringer is lucky he kicked that goal late, it was the laziest half of football from a player I've seen. 10m behind all the time, not presenting, just waiting for a cheapie over the top.

04-07-2015, 09:45 PM
Macrae and Dicksons kicks into the 50 were woeful

Dickson has mucked up a couple of key contests.

Stringer needs to fire us up.

04-07-2015, 09:47 PM
The only thing going in our favour is we have not played anywhere close to decent, whilst Carlton have played almost at their best, and yet there is only a kick in it. Far more upside with us if Bevo is able to get their heads screwed on at the break.

04-07-2015, 09:48 PM
Stringer is lucky he kicked that goal late, it was the laziest half of football from a player I've seen. 10m behind all the time, not presenting, just waiting for a cheapie over the top.

Agree. Just not presenting at all.

Weird, but I hope he's carrying a niggle to explain it.

04-07-2015, 09:53 PM
I think with Tom Boyd missing it really highlights how much still we have to improve our ball delivery inside 50. I think Boyd's effort at bringing the ball to ground for our smalls to work off has masked our poor ball delivery. Redpath has been pushed under the ball allowing the Carlton defenders to mark or effectively spoil. Whereas Tom's height in the same contest would more often than not allow him to still bring the ball to ground.

04-07-2015, 09:54 PM
Sub is on poor Roughy

04-07-2015, 09:55 PM
Daniel on for Roughie

04-07-2015, 09:55 PM
I think with Tom Boyd missing it really highlights how much still we have to improve our ball delivery inside 50. I think Boyd's effort at bringing the ball to ground for our smalls to work off has masked our poor ball delivery. Redpath has been pushed under the ball allowing the Carlton defenders to mark or effectively spoil. Whereas Tom's height in the same contest would more often than not allow him to still bring the ball to ground.

Was just about to write exactly this.

04-07-2015, 09:57 PM
OH WHAT A HIT FROM REDPATH!!

That was massive

04-07-2015, 09:58 PM
Great start for the kid, really hope he makes it

04-07-2015, 09:58 PM
Good start.

Daniel straight in.

04-07-2015, 09:59 PM
Why can't they all play with CDs endeavour tonight.

04-07-2015, 10:00 PM
Commentators loving Caleb.

Getting to the right spots.

04-07-2015, 10:09 PM
Man this is a terrible game.

04-07-2015, 10:10 PM
Our forwards, whilst not being helped by delivery are giving us very little.

04-07-2015, 10:11 PM
Our forwards, whilst not being helped by delivery are giving us very little.

Stringer's workrate is non existent.

04-07-2015, 10:11 PM
This is a terrible game of football. Both sides just shocking skills and decisions.

04-07-2015, 10:12 PM
Tutty!

04-07-2015, 10:12 PM
Geez Daniel is clever.

04-07-2015, 10:13 PM
You little beauty! Literally!

04-07-2015, 10:13 PM
Celeb leading this team right now. Awesome leadership.

04-07-2015, 10:14 PM
Love this kid already, great get :D

04-07-2015, 10:15 PM
Caleb forces the turnover for Boyds goal. Play like him!!!!!!!!!

04-07-2015, 10:15 PM
He looks like a Sontaran. And fights like one, too!

04-07-2015, 10:16 PM
I think he wears a helmet to look like Grant.

04-07-2015, 10:18 PM
Would love, once, just once Macrae to give the first option... Drives me insane.

04-07-2015, 10:22 PM
Daniel certainly sparked us with quality possessions and an excellent goal. How many goals do we need to kick in the last quarter to win this?

04-07-2015, 10:23 PM
Gee Dicko, Stringer and Dahl has struggled again up forward

04-07-2015, 10:23 PM
A couple of good moves from Bevo. Stringer starting in the backline, Roughie off ( is he injured)

04-07-2015, 10:24 PM
Daniel certainly sparked us with quality possessions and an excellent goal. How many goals do we need to kick in the last quarter to win this?
At least 4

04-07-2015, 10:24 PM
Would love, once, just once Macrae to give the first option... Drives me insane.
Agree. Been a couple of poor pieces of play from Macrae tonight in a couple of different facets both related to decision making.

04-07-2015, 10:25 PM
Dickson's sloppiness has cost us two goals.

Step in the right direction that quarter, but still very sloppy

9 disposals

04-07-2015, 10:26 PM
A couple of good moves from Bevo. Stringer starting in the backline, Roughie off ( is he injured)
Commentators have said Roughy has injured his shoulder. Hope its not bad, his flexibility to play 1st ruck has been central to our good form.

Dickson's sloppiness has cost us two goals.

Yep, he's had a poor night. With Crameri due back soon, I thought he'd keep his levels up. But tonight's been a little slip, but there's a quarter left.

He injured his back in the 1st quarter and went off for about 7 minutes. I think that us the reason why the subbed him so early

04-07-2015, 10:27 PM
9 disposals
He really looks like a ready made AFL player, certainly provided us with a spark we needed

04-07-2015, 10:27 PM
Agree. Been a couple of poor pieces of play from Macrae tonight in a couple of different facets both related to decision making.
Had also been bashed around tonight, needs to build his strength
Stevens really got us going that quarter. Need more from Dahl and Wally

04-07-2015, 10:30 PM
Great running by Grant & Wallis.

04-07-2015, 10:30 PM

He should ask Caleb how its done! He has been awful tonight.

04-07-2015, 10:35 PM
could the commentators do any more to ignore that brilliant run by JJ?? whats up with that? if that was Rioli would've lost their minds

04-07-2015, 10:35 PM
I'd love to break them open this quarter.

That was awful from Grant.

04-07-2015, 10:36 PM
Disappointing that Tutt is being booed.

04-07-2015, 10:39 PM
Fark the high tackles how mnay have we copped.

04-07-2015, 10:44 PM
No live broadcast where I am. The programming fools went with Melbourne - West Coast. This is a game we must win. Keep the posts coming. I am relying on you guys.

04-07-2015, 10:45 PM
Can Caleb get a rising star nomination from the starting sub spot?

04-07-2015, 10:47 PM
Dickson is having a shocker.. That smothered kick was unforgivable.

04-07-2015, 10:47 PM
well we've had about a quarters worth of commentary about helmets.

Game is still alive.

04-07-2015, 10:50 PM
Out of gas.. Need another goal.

04-07-2015, 10:55 PM
Magic looks bad. Ouch...

04-07-2015, 10:59 PM
I hate to say it but Honey isn't AFL standard.

04-07-2015, 11:00 PM
Dogs in a close one by 8 points.
Dahlhaus first goal and M.Boyd BOG.

I reckon that was as close as I could get

04-07-2015, 11:00 PM
A win is a win but that was awful.

04-07-2015, 11:01 PM
Dickson is having a shocker.. That smothered kick was unforgivable.

Poor game by him tonight

04-07-2015, 11:03 PM
Pretty good win, fwd line didnt function well, delivery into it was fairly poor.

04-07-2015, 11:04 PM
Really bad luck for Toby McLean. He has been great for us in his first three full games. Hopefully he's not out for too long.

04-07-2015, 11:04 PM

I stick up for him but he needs to nail his goal kicking chances when he is having a below average game
He was off the pace tonight

04-07-2015, 11:06 PM
Really bad luck for Toby McLean. He has been great for us in his first three full games. Hopefully he's not out for too long.

Didn't look good.. I'm thinking he'll be missing some footy.

04-07-2015, 11:09 PM
We won. That's all that matters. I've spent the last fifteen minutes staring at the Flash Scores screen watching the seconds tick by and wondering HOW LONG can a BLOODY quarter last!! I think it went for 33 minutes. When the word "Finished" flashed up the sense of relief was palpable. There is nothing worse that snatching defeat from the jaws of victory!

04-07-2015, 11:11 PM
I stick up for him but he needs to nail his goal kicking chances when he is having a below average game

If he doesn't bring the pressure there isn't much else.

04-07-2015, 11:11 PM
Redpath worked harder as the game went on. He's not suited when he is the main target though. Not sure if team balance would allow it, but i think he would be more dangerous as a second tall. Also thought Minson wrestled the ruck contest away from Kruezer as the game went on.

04-07-2015, 11:13 PM
We'll get found out next week. I watched a fair bit of the Suns match. They'll tear us up playing like that. What disappoints me the most is there were avenues to attack instead we fiddled around with the ball and let an awful team back into the game. A wins a win and I'll take it I just don't see much to take out of it.

04-07-2015, 11:21 PM
Glad that is over very frustrating watching games like that. Some really stupid decision making in the forward 50.
Honeychurch and Dickson were woeful with both decision making and disposal.

04-07-2015, 11:24 PM
That's two weeks in a row we have played keepings off in the last 5 mins.
I hope it doesn't become a habit because it will cost us.
We had the ball inside 50 and proceeded to pass the ball around unto it ended back at Carltons half forward line. Why didn't we take the shot.

04-07-2015, 11:27 PM
Every game is different. I watched the Suns game and agree - they were very good. But North were awful. They were never in the game apart from a couple of brief bursts. They were on track for a goal-less first half, something they've failed to achieve since 1979, until Cunnington snagged a couple late. What worries me more is the venue - Cairns. The players will need to be well-rested this week.

04-07-2015, 11:30 PM
I would also like to see Redpath play with Tom Boyd. Big red at CHF

i thought he marked well and moved well.

04-07-2015, 11:36 PM
Did anyone hear Bob's cheeky dig at Box in the post match interview?

Something about how they've "Finally made a man out of him".

Rascal.

04-07-2015, 11:39 PM
FWIW-We've now won more games this year then last year.

04-07-2015, 11:58 PM

I know you see a fair bit of VFL - do you think Honeychurch earned his recall? Don't like bringing in players without form on their side.

In the 'positives' column for Honeychurch is that he's still very young and probably still adjusting to the pace of the game. It might be the case for a couple of years that the only thing he can consistently bring to the table is pressure. We will find out in time whether he can offer more going the other way. He was certainly a handful as a junior.

Rascal.

He calls the backline the "men's department"

04-07-2015, 11:59 PM

Rascal.

Who is box?

05-07-2015, 12:00 AM
Who is box?

Should be Boyd I think

05-07-2015, 12:04 AM
Dirty win tonight, similar to last week. Best part of the last 2 weeks has been that we have taken control of the matches after half time when opposition tactics have structured up to deny our defensive run. Finding a way to win when not at optimum form is a good sign for this group. Of course we need to play better, but learning to cope with opposition defensive structures and still finding a way to win, with a group as young as ours, is very pleasing.

05-07-2015, 12:18 AM
What an entertaining shit game of football. Frustrated, elated and more than a little in love with Gimli.

05-07-2015, 12:28 AM
He looks like a Sontaran. And fights like one, too!

Sontarans all have potato heads.

05-07-2015, 12:29 AM
Who is box?

Peter Box?

05-07-2015, 12:37 AM
I know you see a fair bit of VFL - do you think Honeychurch earned his recall? Don't like bringing in players without form on their side.

In the 'positives' column for Honeychurch is that he's still very young and probably still adjusting to the pace of the game. It might be the case for a couple of years that the only thing he can consistently bring to the table is pressure. We will find out in time whether he can offer more going the other way. He was certainly a handful as a junior.

He deserved his promotion on the form he displayed at Footscray but he wasn't even close to the mark tonight. His attitude is great but they need to work on his skills and decision making because maybe the pace of the game and the extra pressure catches him out

05-07-2015, 12:39 AM
Nice to bank four points but we're not far off copping a belting, which could happen next week.

Icing the clock at the 16 minute mark didn't please me.

05-07-2015, 12:47 AM
Margin: Dogs by 34 points
First Goal: Dahl to get our first
Best On Ground: Dicko

Got the first goal correct.

Onto the tonight's match. First of all really nice tribute to Phil Walsh at the start and end with the huddle by both teams.
Thought we played well in the first quarter. Wood had been excellent this year. M Boyd has had a great year as well. 2nd quarter was very bad them we picked it up again the 2nd half and did enough to get the win. Great debut by Caleb Daniel and great goal. He may be very short but I love the way he moves around. Stringer kicks those great goals from nothing but I hope his set shots can improve.

05-07-2015, 12:54 AM
Glad we got the win and see some merit in the fact we are playing, and winning ugly footy. Missing the real manic, Men of Mayhem style though. I get the feeling we are tracking towards a flogging.

McClean was impressive tonight. I hope the shoulder injury isn't too bad, thought it was the result of a poor effort by the opponent. Unfortunate. That mark on the wing he took was great, he really looks comfortable at this level.

05-07-2015, 01:04 AM
How bad is McLean's injury? It was a brave mark from one of our many dodgey passes. Who cleaned him up - wasn't bloody Tutt, was it?

05-07-2015, 01:05 AM
How bad is McLean's injury. It was a brave mark from one of our many dodgey passes. Who cleaned him up - wasn't bloody Tutt, was it?
Buckley

05-07-2015, 01:09 AM
How bad is McLean's injury? It was a brave mark from one of our many dodgey passes. Who cleaned him up - wasn't bloody Tutt, was it?

Didn't look good. Happened close to where I was sitting. He not only got driven into the ground but had all Buckley's weight driven into that shoulder as well. At a guess I'd say 4 - 6 weeks.

05-07-2015, 01:12 AM
Let's hope for the best, McLean is an instant star for us.

05-07-2015, 01:16 AM
Let's hope for the best, McLean is an instant star for us.

While it was a frustrating game to watch McLean and Daniel were 2 who took the game on and took some chances. We've found 2 good players there. Really cruel blow for McLean he was terrific tonight.

05-07-2015, 02:09 AM

If he doesn't bring the pressure there isn't much else.

Yeah, I really can't believe he hasn't fully developed his game beyond the defencive essentials a year and a half into his AFL career...........

05-07-2015, 02:17 AM
Dirty win tonight, similar to last week. Best part of the last 2 weeks has been that we have taken control of the matches after half time when opposition tactics have structured up to deny our defensive run. Finding a way to win when not at optimum form is a good sign for this group. Of course we need to play better, but learning to cope with opposition defensive structures and still finding a way to win, with a group as young as ours, is very pleasing.

The most important thing I've grafted from these past two weeks is being winners when our opponents have beaten us from a structural and defensive perspective. We have had better talent, and have had the result go our way based on effort and talent.

That's a good thing.

05-07-2015, 02:35 AM
Our midfield depth is really worrying. We are playing blokes out of position.

Dickson had a poor game, but why was he up the ground so much? He clearly plays his best footy in the forward 50. That's where he needs to stay. Ditto Stringer.

05-07-2015, 02:39 AM
Our midfield depth is really worrying. We are playing blokes out of position.

Dickson had a poor game, but why was he up the ground so much? He clearly plays his best footy in the forward 50. That's where he needs to stay. Ditto Stringer.

Stringer has been ok but I think he can do more. Seems to be able to kick those great impossible goals. I hope Macrae gets better.

How did you rate Bonts game tonight?

05-07-2015, 02:39 AM
In summary, that was a really typical game of footy that occurs on a ground that is no longer fit for holding senior games of AFL footy. Docklands isn't shaped appropriately for the modern game and if the AFL sells it off for real estate, the AFL's challenge will be to clone the MCG with a roof on the stadium.

It was a very ordinary game played by two ordinary teams, one with a better layer of talent than the other.

Daniel is the "Big D" from this point onwards. He is the real deal, and when MJP said that without a doubt he would have been the number one draft pick on talent alone he has my backing.

Our Men of Mayhem game plan is junk if we're "Men of Bongheads" in terms of intensity and output. If our flanks and wings don't run hard, tackle hard and use the footy well any philosophy or gameplan pinning itself on those traits is pretty much screwed.

Finally, we have a long way to go in terms of a winning game plan and execution of said game plan. We have been more offensive and zone oriented this year, and it's been great to watch compared to the last few years however, we still have a long way to go in becoming a rounded team that can challenge good teams.

05-07-2015, 03:02 AM

Bevo in his presser said it was the AC joint, and described as "a bad one"

05-07-2015, 03:11 AM
Bevo in his presser said it was the AC joint, and described as "a bad one"

From the wing it looked like a subluxation of the shoulder, at least. At worst a full dislocation.

05-07-2015, 09:33 AM
That's a real shame as the kid is really coming to grips with AFL football and tonight he looked more confident in going for his marks.
I hope he gets some good news and he in the mix real soon.

05-07-2015, 01:55 PM
Minson stood up when required was vital in the second half. Again it goes to show that Minson performs best when he is the number one ruck and rucks 90-95% of game time. Unfortunately for Will, I still don't see he is part of our future moving forward.

Redpath was the interesting one for me. He seems to be half a yard to slow and doesn't take his half chances. He improved as the game went on, and seem to prefer playing the high lead up role.

There was talk over the pre-season that it took Toby McLean to adjust to what was required to make it as an AFL footballer. I am so glad it clicked for him, he seems to have most tricks in the book. Such a shame he got injured as he didn't miss a beat last night.

05-07-2015, 02:32 PM
Agree with what you've said about Minson.

05-07-2015, 02:43 PM
That's two weeks in a row we have played keepings off in the last 5 mins.
I hope it doesn't become a habit because it will cost us.
We had the ball inside 50 and proceeded to pass the ball around unto it ended back at Carltons half forward line. Why didn't we take the shot.

It's gotta be an instruction. Learning to keep possession and play tempo footy. Seems we are really concerned with rebound goals, how easy they are and how quickly they come.

05-07-2015, 02:49 PM
Yeah, I really can't believe he hasn't fully developed his game beyond the defencive essentials a year and a half into his AFL career...........

He gets to the right spots often enough and looked dangerous earlier in the year. He's a good contributor and will settle back in if given the chance.

05-07-2015, 03:00 PM
Noticed Bevo discussing Moz, said he may have a broken jaw? Didn't realise he's been hurt, anyone know any more?

05-07-2015, 06:19 PM
Bevo said at his presser that he hopes Boydy goes on for a couple of more years

05-07-2015, 06:20 PM
Again it goes to show that Minson performs best when he is the number one ruck and rucks 90-95% of game time.

It was also a low scoring high stoppage game. He did well to beat Kreuzer though

05-07-2015, 07:30 PM

The coach also agreed in his presser. Bevo basically praised Minno for standing up and getting on top in the ruck when Roughie went down.

05-07-2015, 07:33 PM
Noticed Bevo discussing Moz, said he may have a broken jaw? Didn't realise he's been hurt, anyone know any more?

I think he copped a knee to the jaw in the 3rd I think. Nothing malicious just in the play.

05-07-2015, 07:34 PM
I think he copped a knee to the jaw in the 3rd I think. Nothing malicious just in the play.

He coped it in the first quarter and soldiered on.

05-07-2015, 07:36 PM

The game wasn't that memorable I've already forgotten the details. :o

05-07-2015, 09:13 PM

Dale would have said "Uhts shjusht uh bwoken chaw. Ahlll be foine" and played on. He would have run it out.

He's a machine.

05-07-2015, 09:25 PM
Dale would have said "Uhts shjusht uh bwoken chaw. Ahlll be foine" and played on. He would have run it out.

He's a machine.

Too right. Bloody champ.

05-07-2015, 11:20 PM
The coach also agreed in his presser. Bevo basically praised Minno for standing up and getting on top in the ruck when Roughie went down.

I thought Minson was fantastic and his tap work was as good as it has been in two years. Physically dominated (cleanly too!) Wood and Kreuzer at stoppages; was just too strong and immovable.

06-07-2015, 06:44 AM
I thought Minson was fantastic and his tap work was as good as it has been in two years. Physically dominated (cleanly too!) Wood and Kreuzer at stoppages; was just too strong and immovable.

Lets face it Cameron Wood is a twig, Robert Murphy could push him out the way.
Kruiser is so slow and robotic I swear he should be in the thunderbirds.
Probably the only two ruck men in the league Ayce Cordy could beat.
But I agree Minson stood up and really have us the chance to win.

06-07-2015, 05:33 PM
“I want to be a leader at this Club and take my game to a new level." - Koby Stevens

06-07-2015, 05:46 PM
Stevens' year has been critically underrated - become a consistently good player.

06-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Stevens' year has been critically underrated - become a consistently good player.

Played his 50th game for us on the weekend. He is still only 24 years old.

06-07-2015, 06:54 PM
Played his 50th game for us on the weekend. He is still only 24 years old.

Each game has been better than the last. He's become a key player for us.

06-07-2015, 06:56 PM
Inspired choice to chase him, and we did chase him pretty hard. West Coast will be spewing in 2-3 years, I reckon they already would be although they knew he was going to be good enough but he may be much better than what they thought. Still, our gain that he was forced out due to their midfield depth at the time.

Has become one of my favourites.

06-07-2015, 08:00 PM
Just on Stevens his performance on the weekend was extra special and showed he can handle emotional situations and channel the energy correctly. Phil Walsh was the assistant coach he bonded with and spent most time with at West Coast.

06-07-2015, 09:24 PM
Stevens has a ripped physique and is a genuine "big bodied" midfielder. He has learned this year that he can take a few risks with the tacklers and come out on top.

06-07-2015, 09:48 PM
Stevens has a ripped physique and is a genuine "big bodied" midfielder. He has learned this year that he can take a few risks with the tacklers and come out on top.

Agreed, highly versatile too and strong overhead with a good balance of inside and out play.

07-07-2015, 02:14 PM
Who did West Coast pick with the pick we gave them for Stevens?

It was pick #43 but West Coast ontraded it and I can't find where it ended up.

07-07-2015, 02:28 PM
Who did West Coast pick with the pick we gave them for Stevens?

It was pick #43 but West Coast ontraded it and I can't find where it ended up.
We swapped our pick 27 and Lake for Hawthorn's pick 21 and 42 (which we on-traded to West Coke for Stevens), so the deal effectively ended up being Nathan Hrovat and Koby Stevens for Brian Lake and Tim O'Brien.

07-07-2015, 02:42 PM
I think he still needs some work on his decision making, but it's improved with being more comfortable at the level.
Interesting that Tim O'Brien has barely had a look in at Hawthorn( he looked alright last season) I think that trades a win win .

07-07-2015, 04:08 PM
Mm
We swapped our pick 27 and Lake for Hawthorn's pick 21 and 42 (which we on-traded to West Coke for Stevens), so the deal effectively ended up being Nathan Hrovat and Koby Stevens for Brian Lake and Tim O'Brien.

Cheers mate. Do you know what happened with the pick? Did it get bumped to 45/Colledge with FA and bekindtoGWSbulltish compensation.

I think he still needs some work on his decision making, but it's improved with being more comfortable at the level.
Interesting that Tim O'Brien has barely had a look in at Hawthorn( he looked alright last season) I think that trades a win win .

I don't like the term win/win (by definition for every winner there has to be a loser) but I'll happily concede both partys' would be happy with the outcome there. A dual premiership Norm Smith winning fullback, O' Brien has shown some form, Hrovat Is tracking well to be a very good player and Koby Stevens just keeps getting better every match he plays.

Looking at Stevens junior form he looked to tick all the boxes, why did he last until pick 22? He captained the Academy squad in the OS tour in his draft year.

07-07-2015, 04:39 PM
You're right twodogs, unless you're Dodoro who thinks he can bend over the other party.

07-07-2015, 05:32 PM
You're right twodogs, unless you're Dodoro who thinks he can bend over the other party.

Nope. I'm definatly not called Adrian.

07-07-2015, 05:37 PM
Mm

Cheers mate. Do you know what happened with the pick? Did it get bumped to 45/Colledge with FA and bekindtoGWSbulltish compensation.

It went to St Kilda in the Jamie Cripps deal, who drafted Josh Saunders with it - played a few games as a small defender, hasn't played this year.

07-07-2015, 05:38 PM

I think it went as Sedat says above - then St Kilda traded Jamie Cripps to West Coast along with pick 45 in return for picks 40 and 43. Pick 43 was then used by St Kilda on Josh Saunders.

07-07-2015, 06:04 PM
I think it went as Sedat says above - then St Kilda traded Jamie Cripps to West Coast along with pick 45 in return for picks 40 and 43. Pick 43 was then used by St Kilda on Josh Saunders.

Richmond ended up with pick 42 and picked McDonough

07-07-2015, 06:53 PM
Richmond ended up with pick 42 and picked McDonough

Richmond got pick 42 from Adelaide for Angus Graham - it had nothing to do with us or the Koby Stevens trade (Sedat's post mentions pick 42 rather than 43 - I didn't think it was worth correcting as the other details are all correct :)).

07-07-2015, 11:10 PM
Richmond got pick 42 from Adelaide for Angus Graham - it had nothing to do with us or the Koby Stevens trade (Sedat's post mentions pick 42 rather than 43 - I didn't think it was worth correcting as the other details are all correct :)).

Ok thanks I was going on that post.