View Full Version : 1985 Prelim. The winners rebooted

14-07-2015, 09:57 PM
For those who want to relive the Dogs V Hawks 1985 Prelim.
Fox Footy Wedneday 15/7/2015 8.30pm

The #1 subscription TV channel Fox Footy is bringing back the treasured ABC series of the 1970s and 1980s hosted by Drew Morphett featuring archived footage and special guest appearances from the best VFL players of the era.

One of the most recognisable voices in VFL/AFL broadcasting history, Morphett will host a revamped version of the popular show, titled The Winners Rebooted, beginning Wednesday 15 July with Footscray hero Doug Hawkins who will relive the 1985 Preliminary Final against Hawthorn.

“I’m really excited to be a part of bringing The Winners back to television on Fox Footy,” Morphett said.

“It’s a show I loved working on for many years and it will be great to relive some of the best footy moments from the 70s and 80s when many of my favourite players were running around.

“The Winners has captured some outstanding footy highlights and also some very impressive mullets, which I can’t wait to share with the Fox Footy audience.”

Morphett returns to TV after an impressive career spanning more than 40 years, having commentated VFL/AFL, four Olympic Games, tennis, cricket, basketball and golf.

Fox Footy Channel bringing Drew Morphett back to TV in The Winners Rebooted.

14-07-2015, 10:08 PM
Was at the game. So close to making the big one. Next time we find ourselves in that position it's going to be different - mark my words!

14-07-2015, 10:31 PM
Can we reboot the result:mad:

14-07-2015, 10:32 PM
Was at the game. So close to making the big one. Next time we find ourselves in that position it's going to be different - mark my words!

0 from 7 !! I think we're due

14-07-2015, 11:14 PM
Can we get 1997 next week. Then 2009 the next week. Then a replay of the Ross Oakley Open Mike. Then a special AFL360 on our infamous tribunal hearings inc. Todd Curleys ump bump, Chris Grants stolen Brownlow. Perhaps then Go over the theft of our good players. Followed by a special of Eddie & Newbold talking about how our club is small, irrelevant and socialistly trying to steal their time slots, sponsors and money off them...

Perhaps they could just get the dude from Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom to just rip my heart of my chest. Would be quicker for me.

14-07-2015, 11:22 PM
Surprisingly that game is on my Never To Be Seen Again list with the 1997 and 2009 PFs and a game against Essendon in 1984.

14-07-2015, 11:34 PM
Surprisingly that game is on my Never To Be Seen Again list with the 1997 and 2009 PFs and a game against Essendon in 1984.

Funny that same here.

I went to that prelim in 1985 and my mate filled his boot with chicken and champagne ready to have after the game. There were about ten of us and when the siren went, we all went our separate ways.:(

14-07-2015, 11:37 PM
The last game of the year. The only time I've felt that we never had a dip.

14-07-2015, 11:48 PM
Can we get 1997 next week. Then 2009 the next week. Then a replay of the Ross Oakley Open Mike. Then a special AFL360 on our infamous tribunal hearings inc. Todd Curleys ump bump, Chris Grants stolen Brownlow. Perhaps then Go over the theft of our good players. Followed by a special of Eddie & Newbold talking about how our club is small, irrelevant and socialistly trying to steal their time slots, sponsors and money off them...

Perhaps they could just get the dude from Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom to just rip my heart of my chest. Would be quicker for me.
Some footage of Ian Collins talking about stadium deals wouldn't go astray, not to mention John Elliot and his "tragic history" jibe. Throw in the Wayde Skipper ruck infringement on Jeff White in the penultimate round of 2005 and of course Bill Brownless and I think we have everything covered.

14-07-2015, 11:50 PM
Some footage of Ian Collins talking about stadium deals wouldn't go astray, not to mention John Elliot and his "tragic history" jibe. Throw in the Wayde Skipper ruck infringement on Jeff White in the penultimate round of 2005 and of course Bill Brownless and I think we have everything covered.

Speak for yourself. I have a very long list of examples of disrespect to our club that must be atoned for.

14-07-2015, 11:54 PM
Speak for yourself. I have a very long list of examples of disrespect to our club that must be atoned for.
Right you are Twodogs. Just skimming the surface really

15-07-2015, 12:05 AM
Right you are Twodogs. Just skimming the surface really

Alistair Lynch has multiple entries in different disciplines.

15-07-2015, 12:10 AM
The performance of the umpires when West Coke beat us in the 1999 QF on that windy night was a personal favourite of Sockeye.

15-07-2015, 12:20 AM
I would have happily torn strips off Elliot for the disrespect he showed Chris Grant that night. "Only Carlton people call me Jack." Who the puck does he think he is? Only survived a lengthy spell in the slammer because Justice Vincent ruled the evidence against him in that business deal was inadmissible because of some technicality over whether or not it had been gathered legally. And to think at one stage he was being promoted as a possible PM!!! Talk about getting ahead of yourself. And he even put himself into a team of Carlton old boys to play a game somewhere. Looked like a beached whale. Couldn't get a touch, couldn't run ten metres. All tip and no iceberg. Thank christ he has sunk into the mire of oblivion where he belongs.

15-07-2015, 12:44 AM

Chuck in Johnno missing after the siren, his golf cart incident and a few ACL's to Libba, Smith & Darcy :(

15-07-2015, 01:45 AM
Chuck in Johnno missing after the siren, his golf cart incident and a few ACL's to Libba, Smith & Darcy :(

What about the Cracked Right Patella that cost us a flag and ultimately robbed us of something special.

15-07-2015, 09:00 AM
So it's not just me who remembers these things

15-07-2015, 10:39 AM
Since when do they interview a player from the club that was in a heartbreaking loss ?
Rubbing it in more ? Isn't it called "the winners" why do we cop the reminder?
Show us Beasley sending out the word as Roberts famously said or Grant kicking the goal to beat Essendon in 2000

15-07-2015, 10:40 PM
The performance of the umpires when West Coke beat us in the 1999 QF on that windy night was a personal favourite of Sockeye.

That was a very windy weird night....

15-07-2015, 10:45 PM
That was a very windy weird night....

Which had a weird inevitability about it. We were deplorable that game including my idol, Chris Grant.

15-07-2015, 11:23 PM
Yeah, that was a bad one. Just couldn't handle the conditions after playing at Etihad all year. Was that Steve Kolyniuk's last game? Did he kick 5 or is my memory shot?

15-07-2015, 11:27 PM
We went out in straight sets that year.

Bloody hell we've known some heartache.

16-07-2015, 01:10 AM
Can we reboot the result:mad:

Or transport Murph back to provide some run and carry out and clean use out of our half back line :)

16-07-2015, 10:59 AM
I enjoyed watching this last night as I've never seen the game before. This game doesn't hold the pain of the other prelim losses for me because I can't really remember it. I was 7 years old at the time and can only vaguely remember listening on the radio. I do however remember going to the semi final against North the week before - must have been one of the first games I went to.

Gee Magic McLean was good, better than I remembered. Would not look out of place at all in today's footy with his clean skills and line breaking running. Kennedy didn't seem to have a great match against Dunstall. There were a couple of times he should have been able to spoil one on one.

16-07-2015, 11:45 AM
I enjoyed watching this last night as I've never seen the game before. This game doesn't hold the pain of the other prelim losses for me because I can't really remember it. I was 7 years old at the time and can only vaguely remember listening on the radio. I do however remember going to the semi final against North the week before - must have been one of the first games I went to.

Gee Magic McLean was good, better than I remembered. Would not look out of place at all in today's footy with his clean skills and line breaking running. Kennedy didn't seem to have a great match against Dunstall. There were a couple of times he should have been able to spoil one on one.

I remember Magic to be a great footballer, but after watching him in that prelim (haven't seen him play for a long time), boy he was a fantastic player. Rick was not in good form and I recall he had been injured during the season and came back in round 22 just before the finals. (Twodogs was it a broken leg??? )

EDIT: Just did some Googling and yes Rick had broken his leg during the season and then played finals.

16-07-2015, 12:13 PM

A jet. I was shattered when it was revealed he was leaving for Brisbane. Magic was one of only a few opposition players that I used to "barrack" for.

16-07-2015, 12:22 PM
I think Rick missed 8 weeks with the broken leg. Came back in for R22.

16-07-2015, 02:33 PM
The 85 group didn't play finals again. Another "seize the day" reminder.

16-07-2015, 03:13 PM
There's an ESPN 30 for 30 'Catching Hell' style doco waiting to be made about everything in this thread - I know 97's been mentioned, but Libba's point/goal needs a special mention (would be the centrepiece of the story)

16-07-2015, 03:21 PM
The 85 group didn't play finals again. Another "seize the day" reminder.

A salient point. I still think it's the best team that I have seen us put onto a field.

There's an ESPN 30 for 30 'Catching Hell' style doco waiting to be made about everything in this thread - I know 97's been mentioned, but Libba's point/goal needs a special mention (would be the centrepiece of the story)

I reckon you could almost see me in shot, I was behind one of the goal posts about five or six rows back. The ball went about a foot inside the goal the right side for a goal. maybe they could isolate me jumping for joy and then the moment the awful reality set in that the umpire had got it so wrong.

16-07-2015, 04:10 PM
Yeah, that was a bad one. Just couldn't handle the conditions after playing at Etihad all year. Was that Steve Kolyniuk's last game? Did he kick 5 or is my memory shot?

That was our last year at Caaarlton . Kolyniuk finished up after the loss in Brisbane 2000( another finals shocker)

16-07-2015, 05:23 PM
That was the exact type of game we specifically recruited Nicky Winmar for tearyear and I think it was the only game he missed.

16-07-2015, 06:05 PM

I am with SS on that. I couldn't believe the amount of times the WC players crept up on the mark and the umpires ignored it. There was one particular moment with minutes to go and the difference only a few points when Kolynuik marked the ball inside 50, yet the WC player crept up at least 10 metres and next he was shooting from outside 50 which was impossible for him to get.

16-07-2015, 06:10 PM
That was the exact type of game we specifically recruited Nicky Winmar for tearyear and I think it was the only game he missed.

Winmar played against West Coast but was injured in the opening minute in what ended up being his final game. Pretty much everything went wrong that night.

16-07-2015, 06:20 PM
Winmar played against West Coast but was injured in the opening minute in what ended up being his final game. Pretty much everything went wrong that night.

Far out, that's even worse. One player down for almost the whole game.

16-07-2015, 06:31 PM
Far out, that's even worse. One player down for almost the whole game.

If you're a glutton for punishment there's a match report at number 5 in this article:

Top 10 list of West Coast Eagles' greatest ever wins (http://www.news.com.au/news/west-coasts-greatest-victories/story-fna7dq6e-1111116763221)

Makes for depressing reading. :(

16-07-2015, 06:36 PM
If you're a glutton for punishment there's a match report at number 5 in this article:

Top 10 list of West Coast Eagles' greatest ever wins (http://www.news.com.au/news/west-coasts-greatest-victories/story-fna7dq6e-1111116763221)

Makes for depressing reading. :(

What makes it worse we then went to Brisbane the following week when we could have played in Melbourne (not sure against who). It was one that got away from us. I remember going to that game (night match) with a mate from the UK and we had Tshirts on it was so hot and windy.

16-07-2015, 06:49 PM
What makes it worse we then went to Brisbane the following week when we could have played in Melbourne (not sure against who). It was one that got away from us. I remember going to that game (night match) with a mate from the UK and we had Tshirts on it was so hot and windy.

Had we won we would have played Carlton at the G in the semi final. The Blues were thrashed by the Lions in the 1st week and got to play the Eagles at the MCG thanks to the requirement for 1 MCG final each week. They beat the Eagles by 9 goals, upset Essendon by 1 point in the Prelim before being thrashed by North in the Granny.

16-07-2015, 06:55 PM
Had we won we would have played Carlton at the G in the semi final. The Blues were thrashed by the Lions in the 1st week and got to play the Eagles at the MCG thanks to the requirement for 1 MCG final each week. They beat the Eagles by 9 goals, upset Essendon by 1 point in the Prelim before being thrashed by North in the Granny.

At the time I would have preferred an MCG game than going to the Gabba. We had two close games with Carlton that year, both losses by under a goal.

17-07-2015, 06:19 PM
That was one odd night. Had to be 50 k winds which made the game a bit of a lottery
That would be number 3 in finals heartache countdown

17-07-2015, 06:40 PM
The Brisbane game the next week was horrible. Have loathed Lynch ever since for his choking taunt.

17-07-2015, 07:13 PM
The Brisbane game the next week was horrible. Have loathed Lynch ever since for his choking taunt.

Hated him then and even more after that.

17-07-2015, 07:25 PM

Yes he did it to Scotty West I think

17-07-2015, 08:10 PM
Yes, I have loathed Lynch ever since that incident. Wonder if the juice he was on to help him cope with his 'chronic fatigue syndrome' would pass muster these days?

17-07-2015, 08:52 PM

Yep, it was Scooter.

17-07-2015, 08:53 PM
Yes, I have loathed Lynch ever since that incident. Wonder if the juice he was on to help him cope with his 'chronic fatigue syndrome' would pass muster these days?

We used to let him know about that and didn't like it one little bit.

18-07-2015, 11:28 AM
I don't know how he got away with that considering what happened to Justin Charles

18-07-2015, 11:55 AM
I don't know how he got away with that considering what happened to Justin Charles

Brisbane, like Sydney are now, were the AFL darlings. They had different rules apply to them.