01-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Margin: Dogs by 38 points - Need to get a big win here

First Goal: Crameri to get our first on Sunday

Best On Ground: Macrae

01-08-2015, 05:57 PM
I'd just love ALL the ex messendon players to play well. Crammers. Dixon and Bontempelli. Mwahaha.

01-08-2015, 06:08 PM
Margin: Dogs by 21 points
First Goal Redpath
BOG Bobby

01-08-2015, 08:07 PM
I have to say that Collingwood's capitulation to the Dees this afternoon has me a little more apprehensive about our match tomorrow. While I haven't seen anything of the coll v dees game, I suspect that the 'pies efforts last week took their toll mentally and physically (we broke them, in their most pivotal game of the year, for whoever got to play them next). I just hope that our blokes have physically and mentally regrouped for this game. On the positive side, there are a number of our players who must be desperate to cement their spot in the first 22 and should come out firing on all fours.

Dogs by 18
1st goal: the Package
BOG: Bonti

01-08-2015, 08:14 PM
Dogs by 118
BOG Grant
FG JJ

01-08-2015, 08:28 PM
Dogs by 42
First goal Crameri
BOG Bont

01-08-2015, 09:07 PM
Dogs by 68 points
First goal - Stringer
BOG - The Bont

01-08-2015, 09:30 PM
Margin: Dogs by 44
1st Goal: Bob
BOG: Wallis

01-08-2015, 11:01 PM
Margin - another close but Dogs by 19 pts
First goal will be kicked by Dahl
BOG - Picken

01-08-2015, 11:20 PM
Dogs by- 38

First goal- Redders

BOG-WALLY

02-08-2015, 02:12 AM
WB by 6
First Goal Redpath
BOG Bontempelli

02-08-2015, 03:56 AM
Dogs by 31
BOG: Picken
First Goal:Stringer

02-08-2015, 10:26 AM
Dogs by 90 points. We leap frog Richmond into 5th spot.

First goal Dickson

BOG M Boyd

02-08-2015, 11:01 AM
Dogs by 18 points
First goal - Crameri
BOG - Dahl

02-08-2015, 11:16 AM
Dogs by 11
First Goal Tory
BOG Murph
Also I have a cold and can't go watch it.

Avoid the rush
02-08-2015, 11:47 AM
Dogs by 51pts
1st goal--Stringer
BOG--Stringer

02-08-2015, 12:40 PM
Dogs by 17 points
First goal: Crameri
BOG: Bontempelli

02-08-2015, 12:41 PM
I'm concerned about this game today. Guy feel is that it's a real danger game. With only one crack at the scum this year, I'd dearly love to flog them, but I'll cool my jets and just take a win.

Dogs by 3.
FG Bont
BOG Macrae

02-08-2015, 12:56 PM
When was the last time we beat Essendon?

Typically when majority of board expect 8 goal plus wins, spells danger.

02-08-2015, 01:06 PM
Like Webby, I think think this is a really danger game for us.

02-08-2015, 01:16 PM

Recent Matches Between Essendon Bombers and Western Bulldogs

Date
Venue
Home v Away Teams
Result
High Disposals
High Goals

Round 18, 20 Jul 2014
Etihad Stadium
Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeated by Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
94-101 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5905)
J. Macrae (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3800) 32

J. Carlisle (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3337) 8

Round 7, 3 May 2014
Etihad Stadium
Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers) defeats Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
73-65 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5816)
S. Higgins (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1617) 36

J. Watson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=510) 2
L. Dahlhaus (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3556) 2

Round 16, 14 Jul 2013
Etihad Stadium
Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeated by Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
90-121 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5683)
T. Liberatore (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3486) 33

J. Winderlich (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=507) 4

Round 14, 30 Jun 2012
Etihad Stadium
Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers) defeats Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
140-56 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5456)
M. Boyd (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=210) 34

M. Hurley (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3111) 5

Round 21, 13 Aug 2011
Etihad Stadium
101-150 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5305)
B. Stanton (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1347) 39

B. Hall (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=77) 6

Round 1, 27 Mar 2011
Etihad Stadium
113-58 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5152)
J. Watson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=510) 35

Round 22, 28 Aug 2010
Etihad Stadium
Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeat Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
107-78 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5136)
M. Boyd (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=210) 33

J. Grant (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=2305) 6

Round 10, 28 May 2010
Etihad Stadium
99-90 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5041)
B. Stanton (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1347) 32

B. Hall (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=77) 5

Round 16, 17 Jul 2009
Etihad Stadium
Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers) defeated by Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
70-103 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4295)
B. Johnson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=222) 30

M. Hahn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=219) 5

Round 21, 22 Aug 2008
Etihad Stadium
Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeat Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
151-105 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=3456)
D. Cross (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=504) 29

M. Hahn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=219) 6

02-08-2015, 01:16 PM

It was many years ago, Johnno was Captain and it was 2010 round 22.

From 2006 the record is -

6 win over then in a row to us.
then one win a piece
then Essendon six in a row over us.

So if the pattern is to continue we are due for the win.:)

02-08-2015, 01:29 PM
I don't care how much we win by, I don't care how we win, I only care that we win. The most satisfying win would be if we were behind all day, Stewart Crameri receives a dubious free kick 50 metres out on a tight angle, the siren goes and he calmly trots in and slots it. Next up would be a 100 point caning.

I am always nervous before games we are expected to win. I guess I'm carrying a lot of emotional baggage, frayed and ruptured nerve ends, distempered, decayed, neurons and a propensity to suffer from blindingly vivid flashbacks to past cruelties dealt to us by the hand of fate. Maybe that explains the nervous twitch that comes on around game time.

Go out and win Dogs. Get on top early and shut the gate.

02-08-2015, 02:03 PM
I am always nervous before games we are expected to win. I guess I'm carrying a lot of emotional baggage, frayed and ruptured nerve ends, distempered, decayed, neurons and a propensity to suffer from blindingly vivid flashbacks to past cruelties dealt to us by the hand of fate. Maybe that explains the nervous twitch that comes on around game time.

Go out and win Dogs. Get on top early and shut the gate.

I think you are describing all Bulldog supporters.

02-08-2015, 02:15 PM
Agree it's a danger game - most are these days.

If we start well I'll feel a bit more confident but at the moment our injury list and relative youthfulness is a concern. If we can get on top around the ball and get our running game going we should have enough firepower to win.

02-08-2015, 02:40 PM
Dangerous talk I know but really feel that we should win comfortably today.

Ess resistance to pressure is not up to AFL standard at present. They have conceded 90+ pts in 6 of last 7, including some real blowouts against teams like StKilda.

Over the same period we have conceded 90+ once, and that was when Port jagged 16.4.100 from 20 scoring shots.

As long as our pressure is up early, we WILL put this one away well before Q4. Just hope we are on.

02-08-2015, 03:20 PM
Nervous about this one. Had to change my travel plans to get there, hope that's not an omen.

Dogs by 11
BOG Bont
First goal Dahlhaus

02-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Dale the sub, no other changes

02-08-2015, 03:46 PM
Like Webby, I think think this is a really danger game for us.

Yes sure is. If they get a good start and there keys get into the game early they'll get there tails up and can score quickly.

02-08-2015, 04:19 PM
Bob wearing number 37

02-08-2015, 04:20 PM
Bob just tossed the coin wearing number 37 on his back.

All class Bob.

02-08-2015, 04:20 PM
Stringer matched up by Gwilt.

Come to Papa...

02-08-2015, 04:24 PM
Bob wearing number 37

Swapped back to 2

02-08-2015, 04:25 PM
Bob wearing number 37

Must have taken it off.

02-08-2015, 04:26 PM
Talia giving way 10 cm again

I wish someone would highlight Grants amazing field kicking instead of just highlighting his kicking for goal.

Bob wearing number 37

For the toss of the coin only

02-08-2015, 04:29 PM
It looks like we've brought 2013's skills with us today.

02-08-2015, 04:31 PM
Campbell gives us alot more around the ground than Minson

02-08-2015, 04:33 PM
Cometti thinks Adam Cooooney is getting booed:rolleyes:

02-08-2015, 04:36 PM
You can't teach that spoil Morris just did. Fantastic

02-08-2015, 04:38 PM
Delivery into the forward line is terrible

02-08-2015, 04:38 PM
Cometti thinks Adam Cooooney is getting booed:rolleyes:

Yelling Coon... Argument that's more racist, but that's another thread.

02-08-2015, 04:39 PM
Crameri first goal....how fitting.

02-08-2015, 04:41 PM
You have to take the good with the bad but gee what an awful spectacle.

02-08-2015, 04:41 PM
Jake Stringer will do everything within his power not to do the simple things well.

02-08-2015, 04:42 PM
I wish someone would highlight Grants amazing field kicking instead of just highlighting his kicking for goal.

Nice centre.

Why was Grant ignored by Bob, he had Gwilt cold.

Jake Stringer will do everything within his power not to do the simple things well.

It's perplexing that such a talented player misses some of the basics.

02-08-2015, 04:44 PM
What an horrendous first quarter. Absolute tripe.

02-08-2015, 04:44 PM
It's perplexing that such a talented player misses some of the basics.

Frustrating even.

02-08-2015, 04:45 PM

If I was given this game to watch as a kid, I'd probably follow badminton right now.

02-08-2015, 04:47 PM
Thank goodness the Bombers were just as ordinary as we were that quarter. A more in form team would've kicked 5 or 6 on us.
Hope the game improves from here as that was hard to watch.

02-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Horrid. 220 possessions in the quarter (both teams) for 1 goal. The disposal skills are way down.

Only pleasing aspect was our team defence given Bombers looked better team for most of quarter.

02-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Bad quarter but looked like we're on top of them. Just got to clean it up a bit.

02-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Hunter on fire again with 11 disposals

02-08-2015, 04:49 PM

Stop trying to up sell it.
My eyes hurt from watching it.

02-08-2015, 04:51 PM
Dickson, Grant Stringer have to do more

02-08-2015, 04:51 PM
The chest mark embargo continues!

This is the worst game ever why can't Essendon just die already.

02-08-2015, 04:53 PM

Great hit up of Bob. Set it up brilliantly.

02-08-2015, 04:54 PM
I'm loving Wallis ability to get forward more, and convert, in recent weeks.

02-08-2015, 04:55 PM
Come on Grant kick it

Great read by Grant there, can't wait for him to miss.

I believe in you Jarrad.

02-08-2015, 04:56 PM
Great read by Grant there, can't wait for him to miss.

Classic.

Lets himself down every time.

I think you were the only one who thought he was a chance BT... And that includes Grant himself

I believe in you Jarrad.

Doesn't undo all his great work so far. But here it comes from our supporters...

So both Grant and Bontempelli can hit targets 40m away but cant nail set shots?

02-08-2015, 04:57 PM
Crams is working into some tip top form at the right time of the year, great addition to the forward line.

Well done Tommy, great grab.

Grant needs to to read the Herald Sun and learn from Dickson

02-08-2015, 04:58 PM

He should never take a set shot at goal because it's going to miss a lot more than he gets. Play on at all costs. That miss was shocking.

02-08-2015, 04:59 PM
Crameri enjoying this game, well done Grant

Great work Granty!!!!M!

Good boy Grant, just keep getting them there

He should never take a set shot at goal because it's going to miss a lot more than he gets. Play on at all costs. That miss was shocking.

No worse than Bontempelli's in the first.

Doesn't undo all his great work so far. But here it comes from our supporters...

Give it a rest mate. He's got to convert easy shots like that.

As I type that he hits Crammers on the chest with a nice pass. Great work.

02-08-2015, 05:00 PM

Let's talk up his involvements in scores today. He's about worth 5 times Essendons scores!!

02-08-2015, 05:01 PM

you can say the same for Stringer and Crameri

02-08-2015, 05:02 PM
I still have no idea what's going on with holding the ball

02-08-2015, 05:02 PM
Horrible decision but it was on Goddard so that is awesome. Hahahaha

02-08-2015, 05:03 PM

Yep. I think there's so many positives but we cling to the negative. He's been very good today.

02-08-2015, 05:05 PM
I'm not at the ground today. Is there a howling wind moving from end to end against Essendon?

02-08-2015, 05:06 PM
Is Talia our leading 50m penalties against this year?

02-08-2015, 05:06 PM
http://i.imgur.com/mmMhHTA.jpg

02-08-2015, 05:07 PM
Yep. I think there's so many positives but we cling to the negative. He's been very good today.

He has. His field kicking has been great.

But he still can't kick convert set shots to save himself.

That's pretty balanced isn't it?

02-08-2015, 05:07 PM
I'm not at the ground today. Is there a howling wind moving from end to end against Essendon?

At Footscray there was.

02-08-2015, 05:08 PM
Worst stuff up this year by Biggs. Dig the man a hole if you're at the ground.

02-08-2015, 05:09 PM

At least he got a kick away. I recall Murphy running into Hickey from a kickout and not managing that

02-08-2015, 05:09 PM
No worse than Bontempelli's in the first.

Yep, he has a lot of work to do.

02-08-2015, 05:11 PM

Playing well except for that.

How's it look at the ground. This is looks impressive running from 150kms away.

Lucky Stringer kicks more of those than not because he burns more than a few team-mates

Been saying it for ages, we are weak at set shots. Just wish they would do something about it.

Aside from that howler Biggs has been excellent.

Great work from Daniel on the boundary line to keep the ball alive.

02-08-2015, 05:12 PM
Add Murphy to the list

Terrible Bob, can't miss them from 20 in front.

Bobby? God this could have been all over.

02-08-2015, 05:13 PM
Terrible Bob, can't miss them from 20 in front.

And remember we are playing under a dome.

02-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Nice set shot finish Jake. ☺

02-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Missed set shots so far

Grant
Bontempelli
Murphy
Crameri
Picken

02-08-2015, 05:15 PM
6 goal quarter to date

02-08-2015, 05:15 PM

It was great work by Daniel, wasn't it? I was surprised at how calm he was.

02-08-2015, 05:17 PM
I think I am enjoying the second quarter more than the first quarter

02-08-2015, 05:17 PM
Make that 7 goal quarter

02-08-2015, 05:18 PM
#standbyhird

02-08-2015, 05:21 PM
#standbyhird

A smashing could see us take Richmond's spot, and it would be great to see Hird squirm.

02-08-2015, 05:22 PM
Great quarter. We really need to go on with this.

02-08-2015, 05:22 PM
Redpath another who has to finish.

02-08-2015, 05:23 PM
By my count there were 5 set shots that we missed that we should have got.

02-08-2015, 05:23 PM
Next half. I predict... 640

02-08-2015, 05:25 PM
By my count there were 5 set shots that we missed that we should have got.

Under a roof there is no excuse. It's contagious, a couple of teammates miss it puts more pressure on the next one. Just have to be better in front of goal. It's been an issue most of the season.

02-08-2015, 05:25 PM
It was great work by Daniel, wasn't it? I was surprised at how calm he was.

The Sontaran.

02-08-2015, 05:26 PM
Talia's 50 metre penalty was a bit brainless. 2nd week in a row.

02-08-2015, 05:26 PM

Some of his passes have been so precise. I didnt know he was such a good user of the ball. Very impressed.

02-08-2015, 05:27 PM
How soft are Essendon? That should've been a 12 goal qtr. We have an opportunity for a real pummelling here, hopefully we take it.

02-08-2015, 05:28 PM
Great hit up of Bob. Set it up brilliantly.

It was a great kick.

02-08-2015, 05:28 PM
Wallis BOG 2nd quarter.

02-08-2015, 05:29 PM
Wallis has improved so much this season. Loving his work, along with Campbell's to get hands on it in the centre.

If Campbell can tidy up his tap work and put more to advantage we'll have a very useful ruck on our hands.

02-08-2015, 05:29 PM
Over here Australia Plus will be showing Freo and GWS live so I am suffering. I think their programmer cut his teeth juggling time slots for Andy Pandy, Sponge Bob Square Pants, Giggle and Hoot, The Brady Bunch and Ian Turpie Live. What a joke!

Looks like the boys are up and about now. I hope we keep the screws on and continue to play attractive footy.

02-08-2015, 05:30 PM
Some of his passes have been so precise. I didnt know he was such a good user of the ball. Very impressed.

Some folk were pretty quick to wipe him after the Melbourne game. I think he has a lot to offer.

02-08-2015, 05:37 PM
Over here Australia Plus will be showing Freo and GWS live so I am suffering. I think their programmer cut his teeth juggling time slots for Andy Pandy, Sponge Bob Square Pants, Giggle and Hoot, The Brady Bunch and Ian Turpie Live. What a joke!

Looks like the boys are up and about now. I hope we keep the screws on and continue to play attractive footy.

That'd be a reason to be like Kerry Packer. If you're not liking what's on, just ring up and have it changed. To be fair, that first segment of Doug Mulray was shite.

02-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Some folk were pretty quick to wipe him after the Melbourne game. I think he has a lot to offer.

I'll confess to being one of those. His VFL form was patchy and unconvincing, Shades of Sam Power with looping, indirect ball use, but he's slotted in neatly with the big boys so far. Long may it continue.

02-08-2015, 05:45 PM
Welcome back Stewie.

02-08-2015, 05:45 PM
Well we did everything we could not to kick a goal then, but Crameri finally got his hands on it.

He's in good form.

JJ needs to work on his decision making, he gets a lot of clear ball on the run and doesn't use it as well as we need him to.

02-08-2015, 05:48 PM
Cooney lifting for them... He's one of not many though

02-08-2015, 05:50 PM
I'm nearly spent after that. Should've had the shot.

02-08-2015, 05:51 PM
Great hard work from Hunter then.

02-08-2015, 05:52 PM
Anyone know which mob have stats on metres gained? Grant is getting serious meterage.

02-08-2015, 05:54 PM
How could Daniel have slipped so far with his class? He's that perfect mix of creativity and efficiency

02-08-2015, 05:54 PM
I'm nearly spent after that. Should've had the shot.

If Crameri had three crowding him there should have been another option, but agree, the shot was the way to go.

Great work Daniel again. Hasn't had a lot of it but what's he's done has been good.

02-08-2015, 05:57 PM
That young Langford can play. He's going to be a good footballer.

02-08-2015, 06:00 PM
Just letting them back into it. Need to rally because we have to bury them

02-08-2015, 06:00 PM
Big day for Stewie. Great stuff

02-08-2015, 06:01 PM
Crameri is sitting pretty right now. He must be so happy with his move.

02-08-2015, 06:03 PM
Six! Go Stewart!

02-08-2015, 06:03 PM
Crameri is really making a statement against man buns today ;) keep at it Stewie

02-08-2015, 06:06 PM

Is this getting old yet?

02-08-2015, 06:07 PM
Daniel looks like a little league kid has stayed out there, but damn he is good.

02-08-2015, 06:10 PM
Our best forward of the future still to come. :)

02-08-2015, 06:13 PM
No RS, not old at all. In his last 7 games, Dickson has 17.0.

the sontaran

Caleb Daniel is going to make a lot of people look silly on the footy field. He is so so cool.

I'm loving this from afar.

02-08-2015, 06:14 PM
I am quite enjoying this now.

02-08-2015, 06:14 PM
Love Daniels' game. So fast, so hard, anticipates play. Top kid.

02-08-2015, 06:15 PM
Next half. I predict... 640641641641641

Cmon boys. :D

02-08-2015, 06:17 PM
There are those who don't like big wins, preferring a hard contest to really test the team. Then there is me. :D

We've put up 93 points in 2 quarters.

Really important to keep the foot on the throat in the last. We have an opportunity to move past Richmond into 5th if we win by more than 80 points.

02-08-2015, 06:18 PM
Live ladder has us only 0.5% off Richmond and 5th spot. And one win and 4% off 4th spot!!!

02-08-2015, 06:18 PM
Keep em coming Dogs. We really need to finish this game off.

02-08-2015, 06:24 PM
http://i.imgur.com/mmmhhta.jpg

is this getting old yet?

never!!!!! ;)

02-08-2015, 06:32 PM
Here we go again...

02-08-2015, 06:33 PM
Bonti one of the few to have a bit of a dirty day I reckon

02-08-2015, 06:33 PM
Stuck in Sydney airport and not a TV showing this anywhere!!!! Gah!!!

02-08-2015, 06:39 PM
Grants hands are sublime.

02-08-2015, 06:39 PM
Essendon goose behind me says, as Coons takes a good mark "That's it Coons, show 'em how its done!"

02-08-2015, 06:40 PM
That was a huge play from Crameri, one of the best highlights I've seen this season.
Crowd emptying out now

02-08-2015, 06:40 PM
Crammers with a monster goal.

02-08-2015, 06:41 PM
Hird has body language like Primus had in his last game.

02-08-2015, 06:41 PM
Sontaran!!!

02-08-2015, 06:42 PM
Now in 5th ladder position.

Caleb Daniel is the sort of lad you'd be handing a low jumper number to in the off season. Big future

With that Daniel goal, our % has overtaken Richmond's!

02-08-2015, 06:44 PM
Go Liam Jones,

Oh, Daniel I mean!! :D

02-08-2015, 06:46 PM
How brilliant is this?

C'mon lads, bury them by three figures.

Hi James.

02-08-2015, 06:47 PM
Really good, very very good. Essendon were putrid but we were professional

02-08-2015, 06:47 PM

He looks like I do at work.

02-08-2015, 06:48 PM
Maybe he needs something to pep him up a little.

02-08-2015, 06:51 PM
Sontar-ah, Sontar-ah

02-08-2015, 06:52 PM
Libba, Roughy, Tom Boyd, 1st rounder or gun trade.

Roberts, Hamling, Honey, Webb, Magic.

Hard going for spots next year!!

02-08-2015, 06:56 PM
Crameri 7.2.44 def Essendon 5.10.40

Don't want to worry or bring the mood down. But Wood has had his share of hamstring issues, and he is grabbing at his right upper hamstring a little too much for my liking.

Love beating those flogs

02-08-2015, 07:04 PM
Very proud of the club on a number of levels today.

- The way we finished off the game
- Our recognition of the indigenous importance of this round
- Our captain Bob wearing the number 37 for the toss of the coin
- Our 'Be Loud, Be Fair' position
- The exciting football we produced after quarter time

We are getting so much right on and off the ground at the moment it's hard not to get excited.
Time to acknowledge what a special club we are all a part of.

WOOF WOOF.

02-08-2015, 07:07 PM
Bonti one of the few to have a bit of a dirty day I reckon

I felt that he started strong, but then tired through the third quarter. Still did a lot of good work in close.

02-08-2015, 07:08 PM
Don't want to worry or bring the mood down. But Wood has had his share of hamstring issues, and he is grabbing at his right upper hamstring a little too much for my liking.

I saw the same. Seem to happen as the final siren sounded.

02-08-2015, 07:10 PM
Massive win after a slow start.

We're looking like we may get a few finals into our kids this year, which will be a fantastic outcome. I'm actually excited because this season doesn't have a ceiling if we have a bit of luck on the injury front and get a few blokes back for September. Quite a few sides will not want to run into us.

02-08-2015, 07:11 PM
According to Leigh Matthews we can"t be considered a threat for the flag because we haven"t beaten any of the other contenders yet. How much is he being paid to just make this stuff up?

02-08-2015, 07:11 PM
Top 4 here we come.

02-08-2015, 07:12 PM
According to Leigh Matthews we can"t be considered a threat for the flag because we haven"t beaten any of the other contenders yet. How much is he being paid to just make this stuff up?

Yep, I thought what a moron.

02-08-2015, 07:12 PM

We lost to Sydney and West Coast didn't we???

02-08-2015, 07:13 PM
We lost to Sydney and West Coast didn't we???

And Richmond.

02-08-2015, 07:15 PM

What a flog.

02-08-2015, 07:15 PM
And Richmond.

And Adelaide.

02-08-2015, 07:22 PM

Was Lethal commentating on the tele?

02-08-2015, 07:25 PM
Was Lethal commentating on the tele?

yep. He's horrible to listen to.

02-08-2015, 07:26 PM
Wood limping into the huddle for the team song and holding his upper hamstring.
I hope it's not serious, he maybe in doubt for next week.

02-08-2015, 07:28 PM
Wood limping into the huddle for the team song and holding his upper hamstring.
I hope it's not serious, he maybe in doubt for next week.

Yep, sadly he hurt it with about 2 seconds to go.

02-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Does Dickson prove you don't need a swag of possessions to make an impact? 5 kicks, 4 goals, great day.

02-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Heartfelt thanks to all associated with such an important win. Can just imagine the buzz among the Bulldog faithful leaving the ground. It's just magic to be part of that. I'm having to participate vicariously, but never fear - I've amped up and ramped up my already vivid imagination and I can tell you one and all - I AM LOVING THIS!!

02-08-2015, 07:31 PM
Heartfelt thanks to all associated with such an important win. Can just imagine the buzz among the Bulldog faithful leaving the ground. It's just magic to be part of that. I'm having to participate vicariously, but never fear - I've amped up and ramped up my already vivid imagination and I can tell you one and all - I AM LOVING THIS!!

Keep talking it up merantau :)

02-08-2015, 07:34 PM
Do we think Hunter has got the message, team player today. Earlier in the year he would have slapped a shot at goal over his shoulder but this time he looked for a team mate. I'm loving the new improved Hunter from the last two games.

02-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Do we think Hunter has got the message, team player today. Earlier in the year he would have slapped a shot at goal over his shoulder but this time he looked for a team mate. I'm loving the new improved Hunter from the last two games.

I thought he was very good but still have some queries about his decision making. At the moment it is far more good than bad but he is prone to the occasional brain fart or just attempting to be too clever. With the type of player he is you probably just have to accept he's going to do something occasionally that looks terrible...on the other hand he'll pull out things like that tremendously composed pass to Daniel for his second goal when I thought he was on the verge of ignoring all options and snapping it over his head

02-08-2015, 07:45 PM
Keep talking it up merantau :)

I'm wearing my heart on both sleeves and am so pumped my wife has anchored me to the coconut tree!

02-08-2015, 08:03 PM
Grant needs to to read the Herald Sun and learn from Dickson
Never true for any reason

Is Talia our leading 50m penalties against this year?
Number one for randomly knocking the ball out of the oppositions hands as they go back to take their shot

02-08-2015, 08:23 PM
Flew back from GC this afternoon.. Left there at half time feeling confident.. Extremely happy to check the score on arrival.

Brilliant stuff.

02-08-2015, 08:41 PM
Well. That deserves a

Did. We. Win?

02-08-2015, 08:42 PM
yes we DIIIIIIIIIIIIIDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!

02-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Well. That deserves a

Did. We. Win?

We shit it in.

02-08-2015, 08:46 PM
Great result and really put them away which is good to see because we needed a spike in %. Players seemed to want to destroy them as well, I can't remember the last time I've seen our players chase and tackle so hard with a 10 goal lead. I hate this team more than any other sporting team on this planet and I loved the way we tore their throats from their necks and stomped all over them.

02-08-2015, 08:48 PM
Warms the cockles of your cockles. Bulldogs dominate Bombers. Bombers helpless against Bulldogs onslaught. Bombers can't keep up with avanlanche of Bulldogs goals. Bulldogs too good for Bombers. Bulldogs in percentage builder against Essendon...

02-08-2015, 08:53 PM

Yes I heard that idiot too

02-08-2015, 08:54 PM
Isn't it great that we've put our foot down and really crushed a few sides this year?

02-08-2015, 08:55 PM

Ease up on Leeshal - he hasn't been the same since the Neville Bruns incident. Don't know why he has a gig where he has to talk, someone must feel sorry for him.

02-08-2015, 09:02 PM
I think our season really hinges on the game against North, coming back from the west and with just a 4 day break. Important game

02-08-2015, 09:05 PM
I was a bit worried today as we went in with so many smalls , it was either we would run them
Off the park or their talls were going to dominate up forward like last time ..
Very happy with this result considering no roughead, Roberts or Minson to smash Giles.
We are traveling real well and I think all these players will be back next week.

02-08-2015, 09:07 PM
I've had a few goes on the Ladder Predictor and I keep coming up with us finishing 6th (Swans and Richmond both have cushy runs home) and North 7th, which gives the North game even extra importance.

02-08-2015, 09:17 PM
I think our season really hinges on the game against North, coming back from the west and with just a 4 day break. Important game

Where do u get a 4 day break from?

02-08-2015, 09:19 PM
Flew back from GC this afternoon.. Left there at half time feeling confident.. Extremely happy to check the score on arrival.

Brilliant stuff.

Did you go to the GC game?

02-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Where do u get a 4 day break from?

Sorry, typo, 6 day break

02-08-2015, 09:28 PM
What a great afternoon out at the footy. Beating Essendon like that was so satisfying and seeing the look on Hirds face made it sweeter. Thought our forward line functioned really well today with Crameri and Stringer very good. Like Bonts game today and the run at times by JJ is unstoppable. Great marks by Wood and Dahl which really got the crowd going as the atmosphere nowadays at the footy really lacks.

02-08-2015, 09:29 PM

Yep was quite involved once again today.

02-08-2015, 11:06 PM
Does Dickson prove you don't need a swag of possessions to make an impact? 5 kicks, 4 goals, great day.

David Rhys Jones said as much in the VFL Grand Final last year.

02-08-2015, 11:09 PM
Tremendous win by the club, no one could have predicted our transformation this year. So much to be pleased about. Need to really focus on Port now, important 4 weeks coming up.

03-08-2015, 02:15 AM

As long as we beat Port we'll be fine.

I think we'll drop games to WCE/North but will play finals. Likely to be a home final anyway v Rich/North.

03-08-2015, 09:42 AM
Did you go to the GC game?

Yeah.. GC impressed with their quick ball movement out of defence which opened up WC at times... Good signs for our game in a few weeks time.

03-08-2015, 09:47 AM
I've had a few goes on the Ladder Predictor and I keep coming up with us finishing 6th (Swans and Richmond both have cushy runs home) and North 7th, which gives the North game even extra importance.

Any chance of changing your profile pic - makes me sad :(

03-08-2015, 10:20 AM
I love beating that mob. Such an arrogant pack of FIGJAMs.

Although on that, did any one else thought the Essendon crowd yesterday, not so much in numbers but in passion, was pathetic?

Their side was shite but their supporters were just as bad. Obviously it could be put down to a few different factors:
-They are exhausted and dispirited after being the "bad guys" for 3 years
-Their hero Hird who they have tried so hard to protect is such a bad coach that even they are starting to admit it
-They play a boring, frustrating, "lets chip it sideways and backwards badly until we turn it over" style of game
-Their own players body language is atrocious. They looked utterly defeated at the end of the match (although most of their supporters would have missed this bit), but even throughout the match they looked lethargic and just sad.
-Their team selection continues to be uninspired, as they begin to realise that "stars" they attracted from inferior clubs (Chapman, Cooney, etc.) are actaully very average and that those opposition supporters weren't actually lying when they said they were no great loss.
-They keep fielding experienced sides with no upside, as if they are trying to win games instead of develop some good youngsters. And while some of those young guys are promising (Langford), many look just ok and none are impacting games anywhere near the standard of guys like Daniel, Lonie or even Hunter.
-The WADA decision is still looming in the background

It's so nice to see them taken down so many pegs. I would have described the Essendon crowd yesterday as meek, and possibly the weakest crowd I have ever seen live. It would be sad if it was a different club, instead it is just oh so satisfying.

03-08-2015, 10:35 AM
Nice to see the refugee (Crameri) show that life id so much better away from the toxic environment that is Essendon Football Club.

#standdownHird

03-08-2015, 12:49 PM
I love beating that mob. Such an arrogant pack of FIGJAMs.

Although on that, did any one else thought the Essendon crowd yesterday, not so much in numbers but in passion, was pathetic?

Their side was shite but their supporters were just as bad. Obviously it could be put down to a few different factors:
-They are exhausted and dispirited after being the "bad guys" for 3 years
-Their hero Hird who they have tried so hard to protect is such a bad coach that even they are starting to admit it
-They play a boring, frustrating, "lets chip it sideways and backwards badly until we turn it over" style of game
-Their own players body language is atrocious. They looked utterly defeated at the end of the match (although most of their supporters would have missed this bit), but even throughout the match they looked lethargic and just sad.
-Their team selection continues to be uninspired, as they begin to realise that "stars" they attracted from inferior clubs (Chapman, Cooney, etc.) are actaully very average and that those opposition supporters weren't actually lying when they said they were no great loss.
-They keep fielding experienced sides with no upside, as if they are trying to win games instead of develop some good youngsters. And while some of those young guys are promising (Langford), many look just ok and none are impacting games anywhere near the standard of guys like Daniel, Lonie or even Hunter.
-The WADA decision is still looming in the background

It's so nice to see them taken down so many pegs. I would have described the Essendon crowd yesterday as meek, and possibly the weakest crowd I have ever seen live. It would be sad if it was a different club, instead it is just oh so satisfying.
A very enjoyable read. Thanks for posting. Can't see how they can possibly continue with Hird. Expecting major ructions at Windy Hill but I, for one, won't be shedding any tears. Have met too many arrogant, pompous Essendon supporters over the years. They can wallow in their self-pity for as long as they like as far as I'm concerned.

03-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Yep soupaman I did standing yesterday on Level 1 near Aisle 23 and I saw an Essendon supporter seating reading a book.

03-08-2015, 02:57 PM
Yep soupaman I did standing yesterday on Level 1 near Aisle 23 and I saw an Essendon supporter seating reading a book.

Saw that too Eastdog....surprised to see it was Paul Little. Noticed he was reading something about how to retrench staff without being sued.

03-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Any chance of changing your profile pic - makes me sad :(

I shall respect the wishes of anyone named Lally

03-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Just some notes on the way we played and some changes to strategy these last two weeks, there were two things I noticed yesterday (and to a lesser extent last week).

Firstly, Matthew Boyd picked up a fair few possessions standing behind a pack that almost invariably watched the ball go over their heads as they struggled to reach it. I'm not sure if this was under new instruction, or just that Boyd realised that Essendon would continually overhit their passes just slightly, but I liked it. Often this year (and last) we have seen our players all fly for the same ball and as a consequence no single defender able to have a clear impact on the contest, leaving the ball to trickle out the back and costing us goals on occasion. Hopefully this is the start of us backing in those players flying for the ball to stop our opponents marking the ball and having the contingency plan already set up out the back.

Also, a bit like some of Beveridges matchups at Hawthorn (Cheney on Hawkins) or Rockets set up with us (Gilbee on the resting ruck) we are not afraid to play an undersized player on a key forward. Biggs spent much time last week on Moore, and this week on Daniher, and while both did have some sort of impact it was minimal and Biggs excelled as the neat user who was seemingly always free down back. The stronger key forward though in Hooker had Talia on him.

I wonder if we will see either continue next week.

03-08-2015, 05:30 PM
One thing that really stood out to me was in contested situations Wallis looked like a man playing against boys. He's 22, the same age as Essendon's "kids" like O'Brien, J Merrett, and Browne.

03-08-2015, 07:00 PM
Just some notes on the way we played and some changes to strategy these last two weeks, there were two things I noticed yesterday (and to a lesser extent last week).

Firstly, Matthew Boyd picked up a fair few possessions standing behind a pack that almost invariably watched the ball go over their heads as they struggled to reach it. I'm not sure if this was under new instruction, or just that Boyd realised that Essendon would continually overhit their passes just slightly, but I liked it. Often this year (and last) we have seen our players all fly for the same ball and as a consequence no single defender able to have a clear impact on the contest, leaving the ball to trickle out the back and costing us goals on occasion. Hopefully this is the start of us backing in those players flying for the ball to stop our opponents marking the ball and having the contingency plan already set up out the back.

Also, a bit like some of Beveridges matchups at Hawthorn (Cheney on Hawkins) or Rockets set up with us (Gilbee on the resting ruck) we are not afraid to play an undersized player on a key forward. Biggs spent much time last week on Moore, and this week on Daniher, and while both did have some sort of impact it was minimal and Biggs excelled as the neat user who was seemingly always free down back. The stronger key forward though in Hooker had Talia on him.

I wonder if we will see either continue next week.

Hi Soupaman, good post.

I thought it was really noticeable that this week we almost always had a smaller player behind pack as ball was flying in. And boy did it play dividends. Now you mention the other point that makes sense too. Versatility, speed and good disposal skills rather than height in forward & backline seem to be strategies in recent weeks (bit like the Hawks?). Talia the exception - his disposal worries me a lot.

I was impressed with most of our disposal (Hunter and Daniel in particular, Prudden, Biggs except for the one kick in boo boo, Macrae too). Also really impressed with Big Red's disposal incl looking for options instead of bombing it long and low trajectory kicks to reach target 30 or 40 m or so away. Although I'd have loved him to have nailed those 2 set shots too. I'd be damn scared as a backman if I knew Big Red was within cooee of tackling me.

03-08-2015, 07:34 PM
One thing that really stood out to me was in contested situations Wallis looked like a man playing against boys. He's 22, the same age as Essendon's "kids" like O'Brien, J Merrett, and Browne.

That's one of the things that concerns me with Cordy going.

03-08-2015, 09:14 PM
Liked Boyd in the defensive sweeper role but geez, his kicking was at its worst yesterday.

03-08-2015, 09:33 PM
That's one of the things that concerns me with Cordy going.

Shouldn't, Andy Barnett will still be there.

03-08-2015, 09:48 PM
Shouldn't, Andy Barnett will still be there.

I lose track of who's who in that department but if Barnett is the guy responsible for physical develpment of the players he's a gun. Jong was wiry three years ago but he's huge.

04-08-2015, 11:19 AM
Liked Boyd in the defensive sweeper role but geez, his kicking was at its worst yesterday.

He was trying to be too aggressive with his ball use, as the team was under instruction to play more attacking footy.

04-08-2015, 11:36 AM

I said at the game Boyd was kicking like his Nathan Buckley impersonation from midfield days. I really hoped that player was long gone, hopefully this week was just a blip in what has been an outstanding season.

04-08-2015, 11:39 AM
I kinda prefer it when Boyd kicks on his left....it's really penetrating and accurate. Where did that come from?
You can see he actually gets enjoyment out of kicking on his left.

05-08-2015, 05:53 PM
I kinda prefer it when Boyd kicks on his left....it's really penetrating and accurate. Where did that come from?
You can see he actually gets enjoyment out of kicking on his left.

Coach insists that all players develop their opposite foot. He was really suprised how many players couldn't already do it.

05-08-2015, 05:56 PM
Coach insists that all players develop their opposite foot. He was really suprised how many players couldn't already do it.

Josh Prudden can't yet.. Made some poor errors when he chose not to kick on his right.

05-08-2015, 06:06 PM
Josh Prudden can't yet.. Made some poor errors when he chose not to kick on his right.

The goal that Caleb Daniel kicked against Collingwood he kind of kicked sideways with his right rather than turn onto his left. It might have been a lack of space or time but it looked a lot like he didn't want to kick with his left.

05-08-2015, 08:10 PM
I lose track of who's who in that department but if Barnett is the guy responsible for physical develpment of the players he's a gun. Jong was wiry three years ago but he's huge.

Barnett is listed in the Senior Football Staff section on the club's website as the Senior Strength Coach. He has an international reputation, some of his previous posts are listed by the club.

I wrote an OP a couple of years ago after I met him briefly by chance (not long after he commenced with us) after going to the Bulldogs shop with my kids. Relaxed, friendly bloke, obviously likes his work. We got talking for a couple of minutes after he said "Go Doggies" when he saw us walk past with our purchases.

05-08-2015, 08:43 PM

You will find very few can kick on their non preferred side unlike past champions like Whitten Hawkins and Bisset. It is fast becoming a list art.

05-08-2015, 09:27 PM
You will find very few can kick on their non preferred side unlike past champions like Whitten Hawkins and Bisset. It is fast becoming a list art.

I think much like the return of the talent first footballer, the new "trend" of being able to use both sides of the body will become more prevalent.

It's now a given players are able to keep up in multiple athletic components of the game, though as space and time become more and more scarce the need for quick thinking and an ability to dispose of the ball with be all the rage with recruits.

05-08-2015, 10:15 PM

Dickson has kicked a number of his goals on the run with his left. Just check out his highlights reels.

05-08-2015, 10:31 PM
I did see Macrae use his right foot when centring the ball in the forward line. I almost fell off my chair! It was actually a good kick but it was cut off by a defender. I thought Macrae's right foot was only for standing on while he kicks with his left!

05-08-2015, 10:49 PM
I heard Douggy say on the weekend that he considered Bob Murphy the best dual decided deliverer of the ball he had seen play for the Dogs.

Fair praise from a master.

In my 40 odd years of watching the Dogs, I'd put the Hawk, Bob Murphy and Leon Cameron at the top of the list.

05-08-2015, 10:54 PM
I heard Douggy say on the weekend that he considered Bob Murphy the best dual decided deliverer of the ball he had seen play for the Dogs.

In my 40 odd years of watching the Dogs, I'd put the Hawk, Bob Murphy and Leon Cameron at the top of the list.

It's where Bob gets the kicks and how he distributes them on his left.

Mostly he doesn't do it for leisure's sake, he does it because he doesn't have opportunity to get back to his right.

He does it so impressively with that in mind.

05-08-2015, 10:58 PM

Leon was so good on the left, you could swear he was a left footer.

Here is proof how good both Leon and Dougie were on the left foot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGW7Z80BwMU

05-08-2015, 11:19 PM
Love how Cameron's ball drop looks like it's going to be all over the shop but at the last minute he gets it into the right spot.

06-08-2015, 07:09 AM

Lindsay Gilbee was also very proficient on his left.

06-08-2015, 03:28 PM

Nathan Brown was pretty good on both feet.

Leon was so good on the left, you could swear he was a left footer.

Here is proof how good both Leon and Dougie were on the left foot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGW7Z80BwMU

Unbelievable. Did Doug deliberately run to the same place Leon kicked it from?