View Full Version : Game Day Round 20 2015 - Western Bulldogs V Melbourne

15-08-2015, 08:54 PM
Margin: Dogs by 48 points - Hoping for another big win

First Goal: Redpath

Best On Ground: Bonts

Who do you think will be our sub?

Im hoping we get a good crowd in tomorrow for our last home game of the season.

15-08-2015, 08:56 PM
Melbourne by 10
BOG Murphy
FG Murphy

15-08-2015, 08:57 PM
Melbourne by 10
BOG Murphy
FG Murphy

Surely not for a second time this year BT.

15-08-2015, 09:01 PM
Surely not for a second time this year BT.

There's a chance mate. A few times this year when we've gone in hot (Saints, Melb) by the media we've not done the job. Probably a reflection of my caution balancing against hopeful expectation. I hope we thrash them for the record.

15-08-2015, 09:05 PM
There's a chance mate. A few times this year when we've gone in hot (Saints, Melb) by the media we've not done the job. Probably a reflection of my caution balancing against hopeful expectation. I hope we thrash them for the record.

Yes it is in the back of my mind a bit as well but I'm hoping will this time get the job done at Etihad.

15-08-2015, 09:23 PM
Bulldogs by 68
1st Goal: Pearce
BOG: Wallis

15-08-2015, 11:37 PM
WB by 45
First Goal Dickson
BOG Wallis

16-08-2015, 12:11 AM

We were favourites last week.

16-08-2015, 01:01 AM

And raging favorites against Essendon the week before that.

16-08-2015, 01:02 AM
Dogs by 55
BOG- MaCrae
First goal- Crameri

16-08-2015, 01:36 AM
Dogs by 38
BOG - Wood
First goal - Dickson

16-08-2015, 09:14 AM

Just caution against my expectation. No harm intended, but the last 4 times against Melbpurne we were meant to win easily and that ain't happened. As I've said in the thread, im hopeful of a big win.

16-08-2015, 10:00 AM
Dogs by 25
First goal to Dahlhaus
Wallis to be BOG.

I owe my mother in law a coffee. She is taking my daughter to a party so that my son and I can go to the game.

16-08-2015, 10:07 AM
Dogs by 25
First goal to Dahlhaus
Wallis to be BOG.

I owe my mother in law a coffee. She is taking my daughter to a party so that my son and I can go to the game.

Only a coffee? You and your colleagues must be under paid.

16-08-2015, 10:38 AM
Dogs to win (happy with any margin against these guys)
First Goal: Tory Dickson
BOG: Matty Boyd

16-08-2015, 10:58 AM

The talk of top 4/3/2(!) is giving me a bad feeling about today

16-08-2015, 10:59 AM
Dogs by 40
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Matty Boyd

16-08-2015, 11:06 AM

Yep, and all the other "what if" threads...

Cart. Before. The. Horse. Big. Time.

16-08-2015, 11:17 AM
Dogs by 49.
First goal - Redpath.
BOG - Dahlhaus.

16-08-2015, 11:25 AM
Only a coffee? You and your colleagues must be under paid.

All she drinks is coffee and water. I figure I'm providing value.

16-08-2015, 12:18 PM
Dogs by 1 point (lately we always seem to struggle against this mob)
1st goal: Luke Dahlhaus
BOG - Jackson Macrae

We still need 2 more wins to secure a finals spot, 3 wins for a top 6 finish and 4 for a top 4 finish. Anything less than that and we need to rely on other teams. Come on Dogs, lets reduce those magic numbers by 1 today.

16-08-2015, 12:19 PM
Me too, let us just win first

16-08-2015, 01:14 PM
Dogs easily (we are not the team that fronted up all those weeks ago and this game is on our home turf)
Stringer to get first goal
Wally - BOG

16-08-2015, 01:15 PM
The Dees seem to have players that rise against us. They also have a few that will genuinely bother us like N Jones, Viney, Gawn and Hogan. They have players playing for their careers, they are a team that would be looking to end the season on a brighter note rather than just wait for it to end (a la the Bombers).

I have seen enough signs via the media in the last week that we are not keeping a tight enough lid on our season. I reckon we are in for a reality check.

The horrid Dees by 18 points.
First Goal: Hogan
BOG: Nathan Jones

16-08-2015, 01:30 PM

That plus I watched up play them last time. God that was 2013 level stuff, painful as all buggery. Off the back of a huge win we fell over.

I'm tipping us by 25 but if we match up Talia and Hogan, then don't hold me to that.
BOG: Bontempelli
First Goal: Tory! Tori! Toré!

16-08-2015, 01:34 PM
if we match up Talia and Hogan, then don't hold me to that.

Beveridge likes to swap his backmen around a bit, so expect at some stage Talia to be on Hogan.

16-08-2015, 01:39 PM
That plus I watched up play them last time. God that was 2013 level stuff, painful as all buggery. Off the back of a huge win we fell over.

I'm tipping us by 25 but if we match up Talia and Hogan, then don't hold me to that.
BOG: Bontempelli
First Goal: Tory! Tori! Toré!

Nice.
Not sure if it's a reference to crap WW2 movie Tora! Tora! Tora! or crap hip hop outfit Tony Toni Tone.
Either way it made me laugh.

16-08-2015, 01:42 PM
The Dees seem to have players that rise against us. They also have a few that will genuinely bother us like N Jones, Viney, Gawn and Hogan. They have players playing for their careers, they are a team that would be looking to end the season on a brighter note rather than just wait for it to end (a la the Bombers).

I have seen enough signs via the media in the last week that we are not keeping a tight enough lid on our season. I reckon we are in for a reality check.

The horrid Dees by 18 points.
First Goal: Hogan
BOG: Nathan Jones

Where's the dislike button!

I know where you're coming from though but I have a good feeling about today. I hope my feelings are right and yours are wrong

16-08-2015, 01:44 PM
Dogs by 42.
First goal - Big red (to continue on from last quarter last week).
BOG - old mate Murph.

16-08-2015, 02:14 PM
Dogs by 47
BOG: Wallis
First Goal: Stringer

16-08-2015, 02:53 PM
Daniel sub

16-08-2015, 02:56 PM
Dogs by 69
First goal Dicko
BOG PIickers

16-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Nice.
Not sure if it's a reference to crap WW2 movie Tora! Tora! Tora! or crap hip hop outfit Tony Toni Tone.
Either way it made me laugh.

The latter but both were under consideration

16-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Dogs by 22. Hoping it's a load more points, but last time haunts me!
First goal Bonti
BOG Wally.

16-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Dogs by 27
First goal: Crameri
BOG:Bontempelli

16-08-2015, 03:56 PM
At the game and David Rodan thinks the Dees will win. He also thinks Bernie Vince will tag Bernie Vince so take that for what it's worth :D

16-08-2015, 04:05 PM

Outside the ground. Big crowd forming.

16-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Better than sex!!!!!

Granty!!!!!!!!!

16-08-2015, 04:31 PM
Great early signs, all over them, not giving them a sniff.

C'mon Dogs, bury this trash.

16-08-2015, 04:34 PM
Disturbing BT.

Great start.

Enjoying the umpires letting things go.

Bont & Wallis damaging forward of the ball. Clever again by Bevo.

16-08-2015, 04:49 PM
This is unbelievable. I hope we can keep it going. They will try and slow it down.

16-08-2015, 04:50 PM
Do you believe in Granty yet? :D

Granty!!!!!!!!!!!!

16-08-2015, 04:51 PM
Better than sex!!!!!

Granty!!!!!!!!!

Um, you need to get out more :D

Love your passion

16-08-2015, 04:51 PM
This is unbelievable. I hope we can keep it going. They will try and slow it down.

That's been their strategy from the get go. That's going well for them.

16-08-2015, 04:52 PM
Melbourne by 10
BOG Murphy
FG Murphy

I love when I'm wrong! :D

16-08-2015, 04:55 PM
Wallis and Grant were outstanding

16-08-2015, 04:57 PM
The movement patterns of our forwards has really improved in recent weeks.

Better than sex!!!!!

Granty!!!!!!!!!

Clean up on Aisle 1

That was a bit of fun.

Crowd has built up.

16-08-2015, 05:01 PM
Last 2 weeks we started slow, ramped it up after 1/4 time.

Imagine if this improves!!!

16-08-2015, 05:03 PM
Granty on fire.

16-08-2015, 05:05 PM
Football porn.

16-08-2015, 05:06 PM
Jeez Louise. What's our record for consecutive/unanswered goals in a game?

16-08-2015, 05:07 PM
I can never remember us kicking the first 11 in a match.

Best I can remember is first 10 against Syd in a final.

Anyone remember more?

16-08-2015, 05:07 PM
Who said our set shots were no good? Everybody's kicking them!

16-08-2015, 05:08 PM
It's not about us. Melbourne players are still in the past. We shouldn't bully them... Not. :D

16-08-2015, 05:12 PM
Boydy!,

16-08-2015, 05:13 PM
Matty Boyd hanger!!!

This better not be a dream.

16-08-2015, 05:25 PM
Need to keep up the momentum. Good goal by Bonts was the tonic

16-08-2015, 05:29 PM
Darley lacks some composure at this level.
Jong was good early. Dickson the finisher

16-08-2015, 05:30 PM
Maybe this is the reality check... The reality is, we're not too bad at this football thing!

16-08-2015, 05:31 PM
I can never remember us kicking the first 11 in a match.

Best I can remember is first 10 against Syd in a final.

Anyone remember more?

Hawthorn 2009?

16-08-2015, 05:33 PM
I agree Darley looks the weak link. Getting involved but almost always misses the target.

16-08-2015, 05:34 PM
I agree Darley looks the weak link. Getting involved but almost always misses the target.

Good learning curve for him

16-08-2015, 05:36 PM
Wow, just Wow.

16-08-2015, 05:38 PM
Darley has been our worst. Need Biggs to be the outlet kick, instead.

JJ straight in.

16-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Matty Boyd hanger!!!

This better not be a dream.

Never thought I'd ever see those words used together in a sentence.

16-08-2015, 05:40 PM

Just for BT. It might need expanding.

16-08-2015, 05:41 PM
Talia has been good and so has Hamling. Gee I want us to keep up the work rate.

16-08-2015, 05:42 PM

He's been the only negative for me. I don't see a spot for him in the side (JJ will replace him next week). Next to no pressure being put on by the Demons, and he still turned over 3 or 4 disposals in a row!

Other than that, what a brilliant half. Once again I wonder if it is our opposition's ineptitude or our own brilliance which is making us look so good. Next week could be a reminder of where we are actually at.

16-08-2015, 05:44 PM
JJ and Will were the guests at the Player Sponsors. I will write up something tonight.

16-08-2015, 05:44 PM
Birthday lunch for my old man today, so had to miss. Gutted!

Looks like the boys have been tearing it up.

16-08-2015, 05:45 PM

Just for BT. It might need expanding.

Bevo said on the pre game that players are noticing the louder crowds and the players are performing better for it. I'm glad everyone but me read the 'time to get our tribal on. Now' thread (other than me). Hopefully I can get to North game and will be fit no matter what for finals.

16-08-2015, 06:00 PM
Unfortunately it looks like we have put the cue in the rack.

16-08-2015, 06:01 PM
Disappointing to play so outstandingly and then just stop. Come on boys!!!!

16-08-2015, 06:03 PM
Looking gassed, lots of walking

16-08-2015, 06:04 PM
I started watching just after half time and we've stopped.

Great stuff.

16-08-2015, 06:04 PM
Disappointing drop off in this quarter.

16-08-2015, 06:13 PM
Jong isn't good enough yet and I don't want him anywhere near the finals should we make it.

16-08-2015, 06:14 PM
time to sub in Daniel for Redpath

16-08-2015, 06:14 PM
We aren't winning many 50 50 contests this quarter.
It goes without saying but we need to lift.

16-08-2015, 06:15 PM

Great stuff.
Turn off.

16-08-2015, 06:16 PM
Stringer will not do the simple things well.

16-08-2015, 06:16 PM
C'mon we need one.

16-08-2015, 06:17 PM

Great stuff.

So you're the problem :)

16-08-2015, 06:17 PM
Chocolates to boiled lollies. Which team is coming out this quarter?

16-08-2015, 06:18 PM
Turn off.

I should probably apologise to you all.

Asking my GF what I had done to deserve to be subjected to such poor football, she said it was because I had eaten too much lunch.

16-08-2015, 06:19 PM
Turn off.

I should probably apologise to you all.

Asking my GF what I had done to deserve to be subjected to such poor football, she said it was because I had eaten too much lunch. God help us is the footy gods find out what I've really been up to.

16-08-2015, 06:20 PM
Live ladder has us with 7% over Sydney. I'd love to get that closer to 10% by the end.

16-08-2015, 06:21 PM
We aren't winning many 50 50 contests this quarter.
It goes without saying but we need to lift.

We didn't even win the 75 25 contests that quarter.
Dare I say Shades of the Saints game.

16-08-2015, 06:24 PM
Darley subbed out

16-08-2015, 06:25 PM
Great intercept Granty!

16-08-2015, 06:29 PM
That was utter crap from Picken, he had Crameri who is a natural left running beside him and he decides on a high banana to nobody.

Good finish by Redpath.

16-08-2015, 06:29 PM
Watts kicked to a 5 on 1 in our favour. Better check his betting account on a 10 goal win.

16-08-2015, 06:34 PM
8% over Sydney.

16-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Thankyou Bevo

16-08-2015, 06:38 PM
Grant has been everywhere. Good stuff Granty.

16-08-2015, 06:45 PM
Biggsy!!

16-08-2015, 06:46 PM
Looks like the team from the first half is back. Thanks for switching off the TV Jeemak. :D

16-08-2015, 06:48 PM
Nearly 100 points including a goalless quarter. Must be a record.

16-08-2015, 06:50 PM
10% over Sydney now. Go boys.

16-08-2015, 06:56 PM
Grant has been everywhere. Good stuff Granty.

One of our best I'd suggest, strongest game I've seen him play. Contributing with and without the pill. Growing in confidence each week.

16-08-2015, 06:59 PM
One of our best I'd suggest, strongest game I've seen him play. Contributing with and without the pill. Growing in confidence each week.

98 AFL Fantasy points. Third team highest. His highest for 5 years!

16-08-2015, 07:01 PM
hard to believe demons actually had a sniff in the third.well done lads. Great to see an even spread of kickers.

16-08-2015, 07:02 PM
Looks like the team from the first half is back. Thanks for switching off the TV Jeemak. :D

I fooled the footy gods into thinking I had left the room. I just put on one of the GF's wigs and some lippy and happily watched the last quarter

16-08-2015, 07:03 PM

98 AFL Fantasy points. Third team highest. His highest for 5 years!

He had 68 points when I checked up at half time. His first half must have been big.

16-08-2015, 07:03 PM
I fooled the footy gods into thinking I had left the room. I just put on one of the GF's wigs and some lippy and happily watched the last quarter

And a new superstition is born ladies and gentlemen

16-08-2015, 07:04 PM

Thank. You. :D

16-08-2015, 07:09 PM
A hat trick of 10 goal wins. Satisfying

16-08-2015, 07:11 PM
A hat trick of 10 goal wins. Satisfying

Club record. Ch 7 said we've never done it before.

Nearly 100 points including a goalless quarter. Must be a record.

153 points with a goalless quarter is a record. Not sure about the winning margin.

Was there a third quarter today?

What a great win we are a top 4 side, who would have thought

16-08-2015, 07:12 PM
Now...after a slow start Freo pushing back hard versus the Eagles.

Fingers crossed for a tense, gruelling finish.

16-08-2015, 07:12 PM
He had 68 points when I checked up at half time. His first half must have been big.

3 goals and everywhere. Great game from him.

16-08-2015, 07:16 PM
Picked a good game to take the kids to. That first quarter and a half was sublime - right up there with our 14 goals to zero against Hawthorn in 2009. Perfect blend of relentless attack and committed defence. Impossible to sustain for 4 qtrs so the drop-off was understandable. We are a very good footy team in 2015.

16-08-2015, 07:25 PM
Why were we booing Watts? Seemed a bit unnecessary?

16-08-2015, 07:34 PM
His confidence is shot. I don't mind him. Bevo could turm him into a player

16-08-2015, 08:06 PM
Was there a third quarter today?

What a great win we are a top 4 side, who would have thought

The little leagurs stayed out and played the third quarter.

16-08-2015, 08:10 PM
Just on the train with Simon Garlick and family. All Bulldog supporters. Nice and friendly guy.

16-08-2015, 08:19 PM
Just on the train with Simon Garlick and family. All Bulldog supporters. Nice and friendly guy.

Great to see he still supports the club.

16-08-2015, 08:30 PM

No question about it.

16-08-2015, 08:32 PM
Win lose or draw it's going to be great to see how we take on the Eagles next week.

This team is certainly capable.

16-08-2015, 08:39 PM
Is Chris Maple signed for next season? I believe he has played a significant part in helping our most improved footballer over the last 4 weeks turn his game around.

Critical signing.

16-08-2015, 08:46 PM
Is Chris Maple signed for next season? I believe he has played a significant part in helping our most improved footballer over the last 4 weeks turn his game around.

Why do you feel the need to be so cryptic?

16-08-2015, 08:48 PM

Just felt like adding something to it. It's better than being dismissive.
I thought the answer was pretty straight forward for people who are attending the games. I believe has done a lot of work with Hunter.

16-08-2015, 08:49 PM

Hunter has been massive the last month, whatever Maple is doing with him is nothing short of brilliant.

16-08-2015, 08:51 PM
Hunter has been massive the last month, whatever Maple is doing with him is nothing short of brilliant.

Averaging 30 possessions I think and playing smart.

16-08-2015, 08:53 PM

He is such a good footballer when he doesn't overcomplicate things.

16-08-2015, 08:56 PM
Scintillating football for a large portion of the game. There was a real buzz pre game and we exploded out of the blocks, just blowing away a team that wasn't up to it. The 3rd quarter was a bit of a let down, with some of the buzz in the stands giving way to nervous disappointment, before that was snuffed out with some killer blows. Fantastic day.

We continue to get an even contribution from a lot of players and a really high, consistent standard from the guys that need to stay up if we are going to make a flag wag in a few week's time. Wallis has been sensational. Grant is building on OK form and today was significant factor in the win. Crameri is doing a mountain of work. Bonti is showing this signs of being able to do whatever he wants agin and hitting the scoreboard. Its looking really good.

The goal celebrations suggest there is a real belief surging through the Club and we are just unanimously excited at the prospect of being able to play well and get the results we want. Who is next to show what they've got?

16-08-2015, 08:56 PM

I thought that it was his own supporters up on level 3

16-08-2015, 08:58 PM
I think today was the first time I've watched Hunter and thought he was a genuinely good kick. A few of those passes sizzled off his left leg

16-08-2015, 09:32 PM

While he got sacked because the club needed to take it up a notch, he still got the job because he was a part of the club and its network.

If asked whether he thought he'd have been given such a high profile role without the help of those he knew, I suspect he'd be pragmatic enough to answer no. With that in mind you'd hope that pragmatism carried over to his attitude in being moved aside for a higher level of talent.

Easy to say these things, of course.......

16-08-2015, 09:45 PM
Can someone please explain to me what happened to us in the third quarter?

I watched it, and I'm none the wiser how that shitty team played all over us.

16-08-2015, 09:46 PM
Great win. Third quarter tarnished it a little but to finish off like that. Wow!

I always feel sad at the last home game. At least this time when I said goodbye to all the supporters around me we had a smile on our face. So one more win will get is there so lets close it out in WA.

16-08-2015, 10:00 PM

It all started with that easy dropped mark about 15-20 metres out, was it Stringer or Redpath maybe? We were switched on for the first couple of minutes of the third quarter but from when we dropped that mark we seemed to lose a step in pace and become a bit reactive.

We did pretty well to limit the damage to 5 goals.

16-08-2015, 10:09 PM
It all started with that easy dropped mark about 15-20 metres out, was it Stringer or Redpath maybe? We were switched on for the first couple of minutes of the third quarter but from when we dropped that mark we seemed to lose a step in pace and become a bit reactive.

Yep, spot on. If we had have kicked the first goal who knows how much we would've won by.

16-08-2015, 10:12 PM

Stringer to Redpath with an absolute laser from the flank, only for Red to drop the chest mark.

Red wasn't the only player to fumble and not do the right thing on the first touch in the third.

Agree about limiting the damage to five goals being a good thing, I almost posted that a good side would have kicked nine on us in the third.

16-08-2015, 10:38 PM

Despite having all the flair and attacking instincts coached out of them, Melbourne has a decent core of very talented players so it was no surprise to see them enjoy a period of domination at some stage in the match.

16-08-2015, 10:43 PM
We put the cue in the rack in the 3rd, let Melbourne stick their heads over the foott, stepped aside, let them punch themselves out and then pounced on them in the last.

A luxury of being a good side. Smart boxing

Geez they're learning quickly and are so damn well coached.

Beveridge for PM.

Also, heard Gordo speak before the game. I was almost ready to strip down and run out there, myself! A real pro. Best coach/Prez combo in Australia. Happy days!

16-08-2015, 10:56 PM

Hows his running power! He is running two ways and I'd never thought id say that about him. Sensation month of footy.

16-08-2015, 11:19 PM
I had to go to a birthday party while the game was on just finished watching it and then came on here to catch up on the posts.

Well I had to get a computer guy in to clean the inside of my monitor a page into reading, thanks BT I'll send you the bill.

Great win by the team, can't wait for next week to gauge how we go against a harden team out for pay back.

17-08-2015, 12:02 AM
Was a great day out at the footy. We needed a big win over them as in the past we haven't had the best record against Melbourne. Total domination from the start although the 3rd quarter was down point but nonetheless got back to it in the 4th and kicked away and got the job done. We just played really for each other and that is what makes good side.

Also a good crowd in today. Majority of the crowd were clearly Doggies. Quite a few on my train on the way and you could sort've tell that we were going to have more fans in today.

17-08-2015, 05:12 AM
How good was the theme song after the game at the ground, just watched it and can't recall hearing the crowd singing that loud for a long time

17-08-2015, 08:43 AM
I thought that it was his own supporters up on level 3

Well I'm glad it wasn't us, but seriously, Melbourne 'supporters', that is just pathetic.

17-08-2015, 09:46 AM
A good TEAM performance again
We played some exciting football and swarmed the opposition repeatedly. Running and spreading when we have the ball, swarming when we don't, or when it's in dispute, and combining this effort with good ball use and smart decision making enabled us to dominate.
The signs are good; our future is bright.

17-08-2015, 09:46 AM
Well I'm glad it wasn't us, but seriously, Melbourne 'supporters', that is just pathetic.

Did you hear them singing the theme song in the last quarter?

17-08-2015, 10:19 AM
Did you hear them singing the theme song in the last quarter?

Really. That's akin to the musicians playing music as the titanic was sinking...

17-08-2015, 10:26 AM
Really. That's akin to the musicians playing music as the titanic was sinking...

It was very odd. I guess they had nothing to cheer about and wished they did pop up to the snow. :)

17-08-2015, 01:09 PM
Another great team performance, unbelievable, 24 goals and none in the third.

17-08-2015, 03:55 PM
I think our third quarter was like when a boxer puts down his guard and allows the opponent to get in a few punches, just to fire himself up. Then he gets back to work, returning fire and beating his opponent senseless.
I love beating the silver-spooners.

17-08-2015, 04:02 PM
Maybe it was more like a tennis player throwing a set to conserve some energy.

17-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Yep, spot on. If we had have kicked the first goal who knows how much we would've won by.

Stringer to Redpath with an absolute laser from the flank, only for Red to drop the chest mark.

Red wasn't the only player to fumble and not do the right thing on the first touch in the third.

Agree about limiting the damage to five goals being a good thing, I almost posted that a good side would have kicked nine on us in the third.

It's probably unfair but it just seemed to be the exact moment when we dropped the ball. Heads started to drop, the ball started to bounce the other way.

But a couple of years ago we would have been the ones on the wrong end of a ten goal last quarter if our game dropped off just for a bit. That we didn't drop our bundle completely and ended up winning by 16 goals speaks highly of our development as a team.

How good was the theme song after the game at the ground, just watched it and can't recall hearing the crowd singing that loud for a long time

Fantastic. The last time I remember singing the song with such gusto (apart from after the VFL GF-but that was on another planet) was after beating Collingwood in the 2007 Elimination Final.

17-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Melbourne coach Paul Roos said he hadn't seen such a blowout coming, and admitted his players were tiring and getting them up to finish the season positively would be a challenge. "It looked like a team that had top four to play for against a team that was looking for the year to finish.":rolleyes:

Typical Roos comment - no praise that we were the far superior team.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/western-bulldogs/bulldogs-coach-luke-beveridge-still-not-talking-finals-despite-thumping-win-20150816-gj09oy.html?eid=email:nnn-13omn605-ret_newsl-membereng:nnn-04/11/2013-real_footy-dom-sport-nnn-smh-u&campaign_code=13ISP007&promote_channel=edmail&mbnr=MjQ4ODk3Ng#ixzz3j35D20Bt
Follow us: @smh on Twitter | sydneymorningherald on Facebook

17-08-2015, 04:55 PM
Melbourne coach Paul Roos said he hadn't seen such a blowout coming, and admitted his players were tiring and getting them up to finish the season positively would be a challenge. "It looked like a team that had top four to play for against a team that was looking for the year to finish.":rolleyes:

Typical Roos comment - no praise that we were the far superior team.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/western-bulldogs/bulldogs-coach-luke-beveridge-still-not-talking-finals-despite-thumping-win-20150816-gj09oy.html?eid=email:nnn-13omn605-ret_newsl-membereng:nnn-04/11/2013-real_footy-dom-sport-nnn-smh-u&campaign_code=13ISP007&promote_channel=edmail&mbnr=MjQ4ODk3Ng#ixzz3j35D20Bt
Follow us: @smh on Twitter | sydneymorningherald on Facebook
It was reward enough to see his face twisting in contorted disgust in the box in the last qtr.

17-08-2015, 05:22 PM
It was reward enough to see his face twisting in contorted disgust in the box in the last qtr.

On the flip side it was great to see Bevo smiling (rare) when Dickson tackled the Melbourne player in the goal square and got the free.

17-08-2015, 06:05 PM

I don't think it is as simple as us 'easing off' or the odd dropped mark.

Melbourne started winning some contested ball in the 3rd quarter and got the set up of the ground on their terms. Once that happened, once we did win the ball we had to handle the footy a lot (and dare I say 'overuse it' a little) to try and get our numbers forward again. We went through about 15 minutes where we were really scrambling and Melbourne played some good footy. There were very few times during the day that the Dees method and intensity around the footy matched, or exceeded ours. For that period, it happened.

We made them look awful for most of the day. It was as comprehensive a performance as you could possibly hope for.
But all AFL clubs can play footy. They beat us earlier in the year. They've beaten Geelong at Geelong, Richmond and Collingwood.
I'm at a loss as to the reactions to around me at the footy from bulldogs supporters being so venomous considering the circumstances.

For the record - on another post regarding Watts and some boo'ing. I don't agree that it was Melbourne supporters. There was only about 500 of them in the ground. It was dogs fans on level 1.

17-08-2015, 06:34 PM
One observation from both watching the game live and then watching the replay last night is how much of a one-dimensional plonker Jack Viney is. His decision-making with ball in hand is very poor, and his skill execution by hand and foot is poorer still - he's also slower than a wet week. I suspect the opposition are very happy whenever the ball is in Viney's hands 25+ times.

17-08-2015, 06:39 PM
One observation from both watching the game live and then watching the replay last night is how much of a one-dimensional plonker Jack Viney is. His decision-making with ball in hand is very poor, and his skill execution by hand and foot is poorer still - he's also slower than a wet week. I suspect the opposition are very happy whenever the ball is in Viney's hands 25+ times.

On the other hand, I have some quiet admiration for Nathan Jones, who deserves a special award for hard-nosed unwillingness to give in. It's been like that for years now. No matter what the scoreboard says, he never gives up.
He will play the golden years of his life with a club going through some sort of existential crisis. Would be a gun at any other club.

17-08-2015, 08:09 PM
Sorry if this has already been posted but didn't anyone else note plenty of attention on Hogan early in the game? After a few of our goals our players were noticeably vocal with him.

I suspect the players were not happy with him taking credit in the media for his sledge to Rob Murphy about Tom Boyd in our previous meeting. It might even explain in part our ferocious start.

Might be jumping to conclusions but I wouldn't be surprised if there was something in it. The sledge has been raised in almost every interview the kid has done.

17-08-2015, 08:13 PM
On the other hand, I have some quiet admiration for Nathan Jones, who deserves a special award for hard-nosed unwillingness to give in. It's been like that for years now. No matter what the scoreboard says, he never gives up.
He will play the golden years of his life with a club going through some sort of existential crisis. Would be a gun at any other club.

Nathan Jones is a gun. It's a testament to him that you go to the footy thinking of ways we can stop him because if Melbourne win its on the back if a Herculean effort by Nathan Jones.

17-08-2015, 08:31 PM
Sorry if this has already been posted but didn't anyone else note plenty of attention on Hogan early in the game? After a few of our goals our players were noticeably vocal with him.

I suspect the players were not happy with him taking credit in the media for his sledge to Rob Murphy about Tom Boyd in our previous meeting. It might even explain in part our ferocious start.

Might be jumping to conclusions but I wouldn't be surprised if there was something in it. The sledge has been raised in almost every interview the kid has done.

Yes I agree, the players were not happy about him sledging Tom. Grant really gave it to him.:)

17-08-2015, 08:49 PM
Yes I agree, the players were not happy about him sledging Tom. Grant really gave it to him.:)

Grant is looking more and more like Michael Tuck, imo.

17-08-2015, 08:58 PM
On a side note we pulled 27000 against a bottom side and we are not a big crowd puller.. Essendon/ Adelaide game only pulled 25000 , maybe we can make an argument Essendon aren't a big club anymore and we should be getting ANZAC day against Melbourne :-)

17-08-2015, 09:14 PM

Pics or STFU.

Scintillating football for a large portion of the game. There was a real buzz pre game and we exploded out of the blocks, just blowing away a team that wasn't up to it. The 3rd quarter was a bit of a let down, with some of the buzz in the stands giving way to nervous disappointment, before that was snuffed out with some killer blows. Fantastic day.

We continue to get an even contribution from a lot of players and a really high, consistent standard from the guys that need to stay up if we are going to make a flag wag in a few week's time. Wallis has been sensational. Grant is building on OK form and today was significant factor in the win. Crameri is doing a mountain of work. Bonti is showing this signs of being able to do whatever he wants agin and hitting the scoreboard. Its looking really good.

The goal celebrations suggest there is a real belief surging through the Club and we are just unanimously excited at the prospect of being able to play well and get the results we want. Who is next to show what they've got?

I thought about this today whilst driving down the highway. I thought, gee, in just over a month I may see the Doggies claim their rightful place as kings of the world and just thinking about it got me. Driving along feeling pretty silly to be honest.

I'm excited, boys. Big Kev Level.

Maybe they were just trying to remind the players of what it sounds like?

Nathan Jones is a gun. It's a testament to him that you go to the footy thinking of ways we can stop him because if Melbourne win its on the back if a Herculean effort by Nathan Jones.

My nephew is dyed-in-the-wool Demon and Nathan Jones is one of the nicest blokes you'll ever meet, has done a few things for Hayden over the years. One year for his birthday he got him into the rooms post-match. I may not cheer Jones like I do Crossy, but I don't mind if he plays well, he's a champion.

17-08-2015, 10:09 PM
Pics or STFU.

I thought about this today whilst driving down the highway. I thought, gee, in just over a month I may see the Doggies claim their rightful place as kings of the world and just thinking about it got me. Driving along feeling pretty silly to be honest.

I'm excited, boys. Big Kev Level.

Maybe they were just trying to remind the players of what it sounds like?

My nephew is dyed-in-the-wool Demon and Nathan Jones is one of the nicest blokes you'll ever meet, has done a few things for Hayden over the years. One year for his birthday he got him into the rooms post-match. I may not cheer Jones like I do Crossy, but I don't mind if he plays well, he's a champion.

I have a sports fan playlist on my iPod and when I was listening to Mike Brady's Sons of the Scray driving between the RMH and work last week I teared up with the surge of belief and sense of ominous glory.

17-08-2015, 11:56 PM
Not a good look:

'We don't want them back': Etihad Stadium slams fighting fans (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-17/we-dont-want-them-back-fans-in-fight-at-etihad-stadium)
In the medallion club of all places.

18-08-2015, 12:14 AM
Not a good look:

'We don't want them back': Etihad Stadium slams fighting fans (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-17/we-dont-want-them-back-fans-in-fight-at-etihad-stadium)

The Medallion Club is full of rabbits. They're no better or worse there than anywhere else around the ground.

18-08-2015, 12:14 AM
The Medallion Club is full of rabbits. They're no better or worse there than anywhere else around the ground.
yeah I know.

18-08-2015, 11:31 AM
Not a good look:

The emotion stirred by this team hits some old, deep seated, repressed pain. Slug it out Bulldogs, draw blood if you must, but remember Etihad has no behind of the dunny or pie stand and your old punches may yet kill.

19-08-2015, 12:19 PM

It's worse than most other parts of the ground. Brilliant view, but unfortunately large portions of the crowd are pissed bogans who have been given a ticket for the day, and therefore think they're some sort of royalty. More dickheads in the Medallion club than the Collingwood cheer squad.

19-08-2015, 12:20 PM
It's worse than most other parts of the ground. Brilliant view, but unfortunately large portions of the crowd are pissed bogans who have been given a ticket for the day, and therefore think they're some sort of royalty. More dickhead in the Medallion club than the Collingwood cheer squad.

the only difference is they have teeth. :D

19-08-2015, 02:03 PM
the only difference is they have teeth. :D

Until they start throwing punches.

19-08-2015, 08:40 PM
Until they start throwing punches.

or not wee on the floor.

20-08-2015, 12:35 AM
Not a good look:

I thought crowd violence only happened at the A-League - that's what the mainstream media tells me anyway ;)