View Full Version : Rookie Roarke to get his chance against Eagles

20-08-2015, 12:38 PM
From club website

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Photo%20Galleries/2015%20-%20Galleries/VFL%20Round%2018%20v%20Port%20Melbourne/397038-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Roarke Smith will become the Western Bulldogs’ seventh debutant of season 2015, after Senior Coach Luke Beveridge revealed on Thursday morning the rookie-listed half back will line-up on Sunday.

The Bulldogs have elevated Smith onto the Club’s primary list as the mid-season rookie upgrade under AFL guidelines.

Smith will be eligible to play for the remainder of the season, regardless of how many players are on the Club’s senior list.

Turning 19 next month, Smith was recruited to the Kennel with pick five overall in the 2014 NAB AFL Rookie Draft from the Calder Cannons.

Smith has been a consistent contributor across half-back for the Footscray Bulldogs since arriving at the Club, and has been named in the best players twice in the past month.

Smith is an athletic, medium sized half-back with a capacity to go into the midfield.

An impressive vertical leap is a standout feature amongst Smith's attributes, and has shown he's more than adept at winning his own ball.

20-08-2015, 12:38 PM
Bevo pulls another surprise

20-08-2015, 12:41 PM
perhaps JJ won't be back this week after all.

Picken and Boyd to be rested.

I hope Roarke gets a trim before he debuts.. We should be a 'man bun' free zone.

JJ is confirmed as in too.

You beauty!

Zaine and Hamilton must be itching for the tap on the shoulder.

20-08-2015, 12:42 PM

I hope Roarke gets a trim before he debuts.. We should be a 'man bun' free zone.

Wow. Bevo certainly shows confidence in youngsters.

20-08-2015, 12:42 PM
Bevo pulls another surprise

Gee. Smith elevated and confirmed to play. MBoyd might be rested.

20-08-2015, 12:43 PM

What about Tom Boyd?

20-08-2015, 12:46 PM
Wow!....this close to finals and still pulling surprises. Certainly doesn't like playing it safe does he?

20-08-2015, 12:47 PM
Imagine being this kid, still a teenager playing VFL.

This week he's flying to Perth, playing in front of a rabid, sell out crowd in a massive match 3 weeks out from finals.

Huge ask but what an experience.

Obviously rated highly.

Hope he kills it.

20-08-2015, 12:47 PM
What about Tom Boyd?

Reckon Eagles at Subi doesn't suit Tom. Expect him to come back in next week.

20-08-2015, 12:52 PM
Reckon Eagles at Subi doesn't suit Tom. Expect him to come back in next week.

Would be good to stretch them for once.

20-08-2015, 12:56 PM
Would be good to stretch them for once.

At Etihad maybe but I reckon they would love running off Tom at Subi. Crameri, Stringer, Redpath and Grant have enough height to bother them....and great mobility. Play to our strengths without trying to manufacture mis-matches.

20-08-2015, 12:57 PM
What about Daniel Pearce?

Was elevated last week as well and hasn't had a game yet. You would assume that if you go to the trouble of elevating a player then
you would likely play them.

I thinking resting some of the players that need it is great, so i'm guessing we are not throwing everything at a top 4 spot, rather just focussing on developing players and concentrating on each game at a time.

20-08-2015, 01:22 PM
What about Daniel Pearce?

Was elevated last week as well and hasn't had a game yet. You would assume that if you go to the trouble of elevating a player then you would likely play them.

Laat week was the cut-off to promote.. Might be a chance in the following 2 games.

20-08-2015, 01:31 PM
When was Roarke Smith promoted?

20-08-2015, 01:33 PM
When was Roarke Smith promoted?

Must have been last week but wasn't announced.

20-08-2015, 01:44 PM
Must have been last week but wasn't announced.

Must have. Or earlier. Maybe to replace MacLean?

20-08-2015, 01:56 PM
Wonderful news. Love the kid.

Although disappointing I won't see him play Friday night

20-08-2015, 02:17 PM
Must have. Or earlier. Maybe to replace MacLean?

He was the post round 11 rookie upgrade. Club's can upgrade 1 rookie after round 11 without needing an LTI. We did it with Dahlhaus back in 2011.

20-08-2015, 02:55 PM
He was the post round 11 rookie upgrade. Club's can upgrade 1 rookie after round 11 without needing an LTI. We did it with Dahlhaus back in 2011.

So he was actually on the senior list when my sig was demanding his promotion. Outstanding!

20-08-2015, 03:06 PM
Wow! Good luck to Roarke .
Good decision with M Boyd and Liam rested.
Two interstate trips in 3 weeks to all corners!
All part of that " easy " draw

20-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Apparently Picken not just "rested". He hurt his knee against Melbourne, hoping only 1 week out.

Boyd just general soreness.

20-08-2015, 03:20 PM
Good luck to the kid, shown good signs at VFL level.
Bloody hell Bevo is brave with selection!

20-08-2015, 03:31 PM
Apparently Picken not just "rested". He hurt his knee against Melbourne, hoping only 1 week out.

Boyd just general soreness.

Nah his knee is fine PP.

Picken received a knee in the back during the Dogs' 98-point thrashing of Melbourne last Sunday.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-20/dogs-lose-key-playmakers-ahead-of-west-coast-clash

20-08-2015, 03:44 PM
Wonderful news. Love the kid.

Although disappointing I won't see him play Friday night

There's been a lot of positivity towards this guy here. I'm excited to see him play.

Every week I love Beveridge that little bit more. He's bold and willing to take chances and give chances.

Good luck to Roarke.

20-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Oh good, misheard it. Must've been a nasty knee to the back.

20-08-2015, 04:03 PM
Is it unusual that Bevo is, on a Thursday morning, discussing with the media Sundays final 22 team, particularly given we'll be naming a squad this evening?

I know he's not one for ducks and drakes, just seems strange.

Guido
20-08-2015, 04:10 PM
Bevo certainly shows confidence in youngsters.
If you're good enough you're old enough.

Or is it if you're old enough you're good enough?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PbP_pIgR4s

20-08-2015, 04:13 PM
Is it unusual that Bevo is, on a Thursday morning, discussing with the media Sundays final 22 team, particularly given we'll be naming a squad this evening?

I've been wondering the same. I suppose it just fits with the mantra of not being concerned with who it is, so long as whoever it is plays to the structure and plan.

20-08-2015, 04:36 PM
I love this kid .. Watched him all the VFL games.

20-08-2015, 04:46 PM
Nah his knee is fine PP.

Picken received a knee in the back during the Dogs' 98-point thrashing of Melbourne last Sunday.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-20/dogs-lose-key-playmakers-ahead-of-west-coast-clash

The Melbourne player however has been forced to retire after his knee shattered upon colliding with Picken's back!

20-08-2015, 04:52 PM
Congrats to Roarke. Another bold move by Bevo.

20-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Congrats to Roarke. Another bold move by Bevo.

Yeah I think it's really brave. Introducing a kid into one of the key games of the year. Going to be fun to watch.

20-08-2015, 04:56 PM

Maybe he needs to make a half day trip across the Nullarbor. ;)

20-08-2015, 05:02 PM
The Melbourne player however has been forced to retire after his knee shattered upon colliding with Picken's back!

Happened early on but he got up and played the rest of the game. Tough as

20-08-2015, 05:07 PM
Roarke Smith is a big kid. He will adjust to the physicality of the game just fine.

20-08-2015, 05:10 PM
What a magnificent summer of recruiting by the club. Perhaps the best ever. Ive been a fan of Smith's since seeing him in the Ballarat NAB game. Has looked the goods all along. Reads the play well, smart & tidy with the footy and has a good sized frame to grow into.... only thing he needs is a haircut! :)

On another note, Picko's absence this weekend could just about cost him the b&f.. I've got him just ahead at the moment..

20-08-2015, 05:14 PM
Roarke Smith is a big kid. He will adjust to the physicality of the game just fine.

He is listed as 181cm and 74kg

20-08-2015, 06:49 PM
I've been wondering the same. I suppose it just fits with the mantra of not being concerned with who it is, so long as whoever it is plays to the structure and plan.

Perhaps the side was flying out today and it would've been known anyway. In any event, I don't mind it. We have also made a couple of late changes over the season.

20-08-2015, 07:19 PM

I reckon he'd be closer to 80 than 74. Maybe he was 74 when he was Rookied

20-08-2015, 07:28 PM
Very good mark too

20-08-2015, 08:04 PM
Roarke is very quick, agile, good leap, good mark. I think his style will suit Subi. Shown he is fearless too in the VFL games I've seen. Go ya Young Gun !!

Love that Bevo is daring - so far it has paid off in spades.

Anyone got any inside info or analysis on who is likely to be dropped from extended bench?

I love what Goodes does for VFL side however I'd prefer Pearce to get a game first (assuming we will choose either Goodes or Pearce from extended bench to replace Picken as an inside mid). Can Caleb play as an inside mid?

Perth forecast Sunday mostly sunny & 19. So perhaps we try and stretch them with Toyd?

Also think Grant will play.

20-08-2015, 08:37 PM
My 2nd favourite of the 2014 batch after Magic.

I reckon he'll come in, do a super job and make it tough for the MC to drop him.

Watch for at least one ridiculous speccy.

20-08-2015, 09:01 PM
Amazing effort by the club to get this kid to debut. Dalrymple and McCartney obviously have been on fire, but the development staff must be doing something seriously right down at the kennel.

20-08-2015, 09:17 PM
Good luck on Sunday Roarke!

20-08-2015, 09:45 PM
Caleb reckons that's pretty big, mate.

Perhaps the side was flying out today and it would've been known anyway. In any event, I don't mind it. We have also made a couple of late changes over the season.
He treats the media, and by extension fans, with a respect and honesty that is refreshing to see.

21-08-2015, 12:07 AM
Go Roarky...have loved your application at VFL level in the games I've seen you play in this year.

21-08-2015, 12:15 AM
I reckon he'd be closer to 80 than 74. Maybe he was 74 when he was Rookied

Yeah he's pretty strong through the core areas. Good strength off his legs and is big enough though the shoulders as well.

21-08-2015, 01:14 AM
Will be good to see another blonde pony-tail running around in the number 37 - hasn't happened since Daniel Hargreaves was strutting his stuff.

21-08-2015, 01:33 AM
Awesome news, he is freakin huge in Japan*

Can't wait to see him jump all over the hapless arm munchers.

*I am in Japan and I've been telling everyone, even if the don't speak English what a huge moment this is for the sporting world.

21-08-2015, 01:43 AM
Will be good to see another blonde pony-tail running around in the number 37 - hasn't happened since Daniel Hargreaves was strutting his stuff.

Great to have another fair haired #37. Wouldn't it be great if he kept the Hargreaves pony-tail AND grew an Ian Chops Rickman mo. That would be doing the number proud.

As an aside, Roarke will be the 989th Bulldog to play a senior game. Wouldn't it also be great if they had that on their guernsey like the cricketers.

21-08-2015, 02:00 AM
I really like what I have seen of Rourke this season so far. He has been impressive from the get go, and has made constant improvements. I am surprised he is listed at only 184cm (only 184, which is way taller than me!) , he plays tall IMO. He has a good attack on the ball. I am happy he is getting his chance to show his wares.

Strange that he is set to debut before Pearce given that Pearce was upgraded last week. Horses for course's l suppose.

Good luck Rourke!

21-08-2015, 06:08 AM
Did I read somewhere that up To about round 15 he had only given one free kick away?

21-08-2015, 09:54 AM
Daniel Hargreaves to do the jumper preso? Cam Wight?

21-08-2015, 10:01 AM

Footscray non playing premiership captain Lucas Markovic?

21-08-2015, 10:54 AM

Maybe Matthew Croft who started in the #37?

21-08-2015, 10:57 AM
Hope Rourky keep away from the bongs then

Liked Hargreaves, Ryan Hargrave probably not so much considering he spent 200 games having his name butchered with an 's' added

21-08-2015, 12:25 PM
Danny Southern rat tail doesn't count I guess.

21-08-2015, 12:40 PM
I like in his video highlights on the official website where he lays a bump/tackle on the opposition and his teammate is a bit slow to swoop on the loose ball so he does it instead. That bodes well for transition to AFL speed.

21-08-2015, 02:54 PM
He has fantastic athleticism and all the natural tools to become a pretty good player.

For those who have seen him more than I, what's his footy IQ like in terms of positioning and reading the play?

21-08-2015, 03:29 PM
He has fantastic athleticism and all the natural tools to become a pretty good player.

For those who have seen him more than I, what's his footy IQ like in terms of positioning and reading the play?

To me he seems a pretty natural footballer all round, and reads the play well. Swings onto his left and moves the ball on quickly. From what I've seen, he seems to have that 1-2 times a game error by foot or hand (decision making) that you would probably expect from a first year player. To a certain extent, he's been our VFL-Easton Wood this year. Marks the ball at times when you wouldn't expect it, due to his athleticism. Looks to have been a smart rookie pick, as he looks a chance to make it.

Saw him speak at the social club during the year, and came across as a good, fun sort of character.

21-08-2015, 03:59 PM
Footscray non playing premiership captain Lucas Markovic?

Chops Rickman

21-08-2015, 04:00 PM
From what I have seen of him, he will be good. Quite possible the best Roarke to ever play in the AFL.

21-08-2015, 04:12 PM
To me he seems a pretty natural footballer all round, and reads the play well. Swings onto his left and moves the ball on quickly. From what I've seen, he seems to have that 1-2 times a game error by foot or hand (decision making) that you would probably expect from a first year player. To a certain extent, he's been our VFL-Easton Wood this year. Marks the ball at times when you wouldn't expect it, due to his athleticism. Looks to have been a smart rookie pick, as he looks a chance to make it.

Saw him speak at the social club during the year, and came across as a good, fun sort of character.

Good call Ozza - agree he has a bit of the E. Wood about him. Good grab, athletic, reads the play pretty well and gutsy. Let's hope he becomes as good as Wood (I'm a poet and didn't know it & now it's time for a drop of Moet).

23-08-2015, 09:04 AM
Great to see Daniel Southern present Roarke Smith with his jumper yesterday. Check the clubs website.

23-08-2015, 10:46 AM
Wow. Danny Southern was great.

23-08-2015, 11:35 AM
Congratulations to another young man playing for the mighty Bulldogs. How good are the jumper presentations, I was ready to run out with the boys myself after some of them

23-08-2015, 12:06 PM
Jumper presentation was awesome still love Daniel what a great man loved it.

23-08-2015, 12:10 PM
Man, that story about his brother. Goosebumps.

23-08-2015, 12:28 PM
Very nearly bought a tear to my eye Comrade it is more than just material isn't it.

23-08-2015, 03:21 PM
Love Southo. What a life. As GVG said, checkout the jumper presentation on the website.

23-08-2015, 03:46 PM
Danny Southern must have needed a lot of repairs on his jumper throughout the year. That was really touching and well spoken.

23-08-2015, 03:51 PM
Koby Stevens was just on the ch 9 rising star prog, I caught just the arse end. Was asked about Roarke Smith and he said he's just like a raw Easton Wood, talented and athletic but raw.

23-08-2015, 04:17 PM
Loved Danny Southern, too young to have seen him play but how good was it when Roarke went the handshake and he wrapped him up in a hug? The young boy looked a bit taken aback but there's a man who keeps the club close to his heart

23-08-2015, 08:32 PM
Baptism of fire. Tough introduction to the AFL.

23-08-2015, 09:45 PM
Baptism of fire. Tough introduction to the AFL.

Timing wasn't good for him.

23-08-2015, 11:46 PM
Thought he did ok. Only his first match.

23-08-2015, 11:49 PM
Well done GVG on reaching 16,000 posts on woof.

24-08-2015, 12:19 AM
Deer in the headlights but a fair step up in intensity from the VFL to that game

24-08-2015, 12:30 AM
Man, that story about his brother. Goosebumps.

His brother was a great man.

24-08-2015, 01:04 AM
Thought he did ok. Only his first match.

Don't think he got near it Easty to be fair to him. Why Smith was playing and Hrovat is in the seconds is beyond me.

24-08-2015, 09:23 AM
Struggled with the trip, step up in intensity and frequency of the footy coming in. A bit stiff a few times to not get the footy or give away a free but mostly we didn't get enough from him in the context of who was out of the side and what the alternatives might have been.

He'll get there, that was just a rotten day to make a debut.

24-08-2015, 09:54 AM
Why Smith was playing and Hrovat is in the seconds is beyond me.

I must have missed the memo that said Hrovat is a HBF'er.

24-08-2015, 12:41 PM
I must have missed the memo that said Hrovat is a HBF'er.

That's because you're not in the coaches ear anymore :D

Clearly he's not but with Biggs, Murph and JJ out there why transplant a similar player to the three mentioned to cover off on Boyd? Hrovat is simply a better player than Smith and as per Bevo's mantra we have other players that can cover a number of positions across the ground. Put Biggs to half back put Hunter on a wing and bring Hrovat in and play him midfield / forward.

27-08-2015, 03:04 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-08-26/smith-taking-the-spoils