View Full Version : Welcome to the Western Bulldogs Marcus Adams

29-08-2015, 03:43 PM
The newest young man to be selected by our club to help take us to the promise land. Welcome aboard young man.

24-11-2015, 09:22 PM
Marcus Adams.

24-11-2015, 09:24 PM
Good selection?

24-11-2015, 09:32 PM
Very athletic. Maybe the supersized and more aggressive version of Easton Wood?

24-11-2015, 09:38 PM
Physically he's also a beast - 22 year old - strong build

http://wafootball.com.au/news/9043/adams-strong-west-perth-form-has-him-on-afl-radar

24-11-2015, 09:40 PM
With a couple of ready to play defenders, I wonder if we will see Hamling playing forward?

24-11-2015, 09:44 PM
With a couple of ready to play defenders, I wonder if we will see Hamling playing forward?

Perhaps in 2017. I think Collins will take a little while. Based on his WAFL experience Adams might be better suited to the 3rd talls so it might free up Hamling

Ideally it frees up Roughead.

24-11-2015, 09:44 PM
Has been compared to Jack Darling....that'll do.

24-11-2015, 09:45 PM
Allen orWilliam?

24-11-2015, 09:45 PM
Welcome to the Doggies Marcus.
Great selection by SD.

24-11-2015, 09:55 PM
Perhaps in 2017. I think Collins will take a little while. Based on his WAFL experience Adams might be better suited to the 3rd talls so it might free up Hamling

Ideally it frees up Roughead.

Given we were unable to fill a ruck spot this draft, this and Collin's selection is a shrewd piece of work. It gives us the ability to focus our attention on Roughy developing his rucking.

24-11-2015, 09:57 PM
Given we were unable to fill a ruck spot this draft, this and Collin's selection is a shrewd piece of work. It gives us the ability to focus our attention on Roughy developing his rucking.

Still have the chance to rookie a ruckman.

24-11-2015, 10:08 PM
I really like this selection, someone ready to go that can play at both ends. Looks very athletic and aggressive.

24-11-2015, 10:10 PM
kiler highlights package
http://bit.ly/1N5uS7i

24-11-2015, 10:12 PM
Like this selection, and glad we were able to get him with our third pick.

Will be exciting to see how he can contribute in 2016.

24-11-2015, 10:31 PM
His highlights on the website shows at least 6 or 7 good intercept contested marks, and it looks like they're all from the same match. Good strong hands, even when fully extended.
Really happy with him and Collins based on highlights and reviews, not sold on the other two but I haven't followed the draft all that much.

24-11-2015, 10:37 PM
Marcus looks the goods on the highlights reel. Looking forward to him locking horns with Stringer or Crameri in the pre season.

24-11-2015, 10:41 PM
Absolutely pumped with Adams. Been spruiking him since August. Great back story. Big skill set. Ready to go.

24-11-2015, 10:45 PM
Absolutely pumped with Adams. Been spruiking him since August. Great back story. Big skill set. Ready to go.

Yep, he was right on your radar. I hope he is ready to go because he would provide us with a few options to shuffle some players around.

24-11-2015, 10:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iK1WGuqQyuM

Almost Jakish?

24-11-2015, 10:55 PM
Yep, he was right on your radar. I hope he is ready to go because he would provide us with a few options to shuffle some players around.

It's pretty crazy all of a sudden. As our back 6 next year, we can choose from Fletcher, Hamling, Collins, Adams, Roughead, Cordy, Wood, Morris, Murphy, Boyd, Johanissen, Suckling, Biggs, (probably) Adcock, Webb - and it was a perceived weakness.

24-11-2015, 10:55 PM
Looks a big unit, may need to shred a bit of that size for AFL.
I like that he plays like a tall and takes pack marks fully extended.
Also backs his long kicking by finding teammates by kicking over defenders heads.
That is not easy to do and very risky.

24-11-2015, 10:58 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwvSs3qpwi4

Season 2014 and highlights from a game with a 5 goal haul from Marcus. Check the video from the 4 min 50 sec mark for an interview with Marcus by the commentator.

24-11-2015, 11:00 PM
Found this tidbit on another forum from a Perth based observer (Fremantle supporter):

If Adams had have attended the draft combine this year he would have finished 1st in the standing vertical jump, 4th in the running vertical jump and 5th in the 20 metre sprint. It is hard to fathom how last year the recruiters could neglect to draft a bloke of his Herculean size, who moves like that and who was right under their noses. On top of that, last year was his first season of footy in 3 seasons after missing 2012 and 2013 due to a severe case of osteitis pubis, so the potential for considerable growth was clearly there.

Fair to say this supporter is fairly upset we took him before the Dockers.

24-11-2015, 11:02 PM
Looks a big unit, may need to shred a bit of that size for AFL.
I like that he plays like a tall and takes pack marks fully extended.
Also backs his long kicking by finding teammates by kicking over defenders heads.
That is not easy to do and very risky.

You're probably right but he is regarded as very mobile. His coach wasn't quite convinced playing on taller opponents in the AFL was his go but I'd be surprised if he wasn't up for the challenge.

24-11-2015, 11:08 PM
Love the way he kicks the ball and moves around for a guy his size. Has 'tough nut' written all over him. Welcome to the exclusive WWB club or West Western Bulldogs.

24-11-2015, 11:12 PM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/29843001/state-draft-combine-buzzes/

(https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/29843001/state-draft-combine-buzzes/)
You're probably right but he is regarded as very mobile. His coach wasn't quite convinced playing on taller opponents in the AFL was his go but I'd be surprised if he wasn't up for the challenge.

At the risk of repeating myself, check the guns in the photo then read his combine results:

24-11-2015, 11:14 PM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/29843001/state-draft-combine-buzzes/

(https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/29843001/state-draft-combine-buzzes/)

At the risk of repeating myself, check the guns in the photo then read his combine results:

Have you got the state combine results?

24-11-2015, 11:14 PM
kiler highlights package
http://bit.ly/1N5uS7i

Link won't work for me :(

24-11-2015, 11:23 PM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-national-draft-2015-eight-mature-age-wafl-players-who-could-be-picked-up/story-e6frf3e3-1227593441446

(http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-national-draft-2015-eight-mature-age-wafl-players-who-could-be-picked-up/story-e6frf3e3-1227593441446)Sorry GVG, thought the text covered him. The combine results were really strong. Especially vertical jump and sprints. This covers it a little.

So excited he's a Bulldog. To me, our #1 acquisition.

24-11-2015, 11:30 PM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-national-draft-2015-eight-mature-age-wafl-players-who-could-be-picked-up/story-e6frf3e3-1227593441446

(http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-national-draft-2015-eight-mature-age-wafl-players-who-could-be-picked-up/story-e6frf3e3-1227593441446)Sorry GVG, thought the text covered him. The combine results were really strong. Especially vertical jump and sprints. This covers it a little.

Based on the National Draft 24.85 in the repeat sprints would have rated him in the top 14. 2.90 for the 20mtr would have had him in the elite category. Admittedly that's a man against boys comparison but it shows he has the right blend of athleticism.

24-11-2015, 11:34 PM
Based on the National Draft 24.85 in the repeat sprints would have rated him in the top 14. 2.90 for the 20mtr would have had him in the elite category. Admittedly that's a man against boys comparison but it shows he has the right blend of athleticism.

The vertical jump is also crucial for a KPD. Means he can wrestle the gorillas, but can also compete overhead, even when conceding a little height.

24-11-2015, 11:39 PM
Very happy with this selection. Can't wait to see him train and play.

25-11-2015, 12:30 AM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/

Fo (https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/Fo)r those who missed it, also posted this a while ago re: Adams. Explains why he wasn't drafted earlier.

Great addition to our squad.

25-11-2015, 09:28 AM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/

(https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/Fo)For those who missed it, also posted this a while ago re: Adams. Explains why he wasn't drafted earlier.

Great addition to our squad.

Link isn't working, trying this one:

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/wafl/afl-draft-2015-west-perths-marcus-adams-inspired-by-brother-luke-in-draft-dream/news-story/97dbe1ce4d138091192fc6aeaddb4e8c

25-11-2015, 10:04 AM
Big unit and hopefully at 22 years old he has what it takes to be an AFL player.

25-11-2015, 10:15 AM
Handcuff him to Morris. Coach says he can play tall or smaller, exactly what we need in terms of flexibility. Could very well debut this year.

IIRC wasn't Morris 22 years old when we rookied him?

25-11-2015, 11:07 AM
Another possibility is that with drafting Collins as well, which was unexpected, Adams could go forward - his competition at this stage is JAck Redpath - same size and strength, but Adams seems to have him for leap and sticky hands.

Man, its nice to have some taller options, isnt it?

25-11-2015, 11:40 AM
Really really like this pick seems a great young bloke and the right type of player.

25-11-2015, 01:42 PM
aka "The Specimen"

25-11-2015, 03:57 PM
Looks like a giant sized Puopolo.

25-11-2015, 04:07 PM
Looks like a giant sized Puopolo.

Been thinking that! It's like they hit Puopolo in with the reverse shrink ray gun.

25-11-2015, 04:15 PM
Link (https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/30187500/marcus-adams-afl-dream-becomes-reality/)

https://s.yimg.com/ea/img/-/151125/b8872422z.1_20151124221953_000_gu6ct7ap.2_0-1b58svn.jpg?x=656&sig=moap1KDotNGh6xHFWY04.w--
New Western Bulldogs recruit Marcus Adams, left, and his brother Luke. Pic: Bill Hatto

The inspiration behind Marcus Adams’ football journey was strangely missing from his side when his dream became a reality yesterday.

The West Perth defender couldn’t believe it when his name was read out by the Western Bulldogs at pick No.35.

But the 22-year-old was left amused at the untimely absence of older brother Luke, who has been a constant role model after recovering successfully from a one-punch attack in Northbridge four years ago.

“I just watched the draft with Mum and Dad,” Adams said from his Helena Valley home.

“Luke couldn’t get off work. Apparently everyone’s away in the office, so he wasn’t able to be there. But I won’t hold it against him. He’s not too bad of a bloke.”

Adams’ recruitment capped a day of triumph for mature-aged WAFL talent.

Four of the eight WA players selected were overage talent, with Subiaco premiership forward Shane Yarran drafted by Fremantle at pick 61 and Geelong grabbing his Lions flag teammate Sam Menegola at 66.

Swan Districts defender Nathan Broad, 22, was taken by Richmond at 67.

Adams had turned his back on a rugby union career two years ago and thanked West Perth for giving him a shot after a year out of the WAFL.

He said Essendon had also shown interest in him, but that he had ruled out getting drafted by the Bulldogs after the club used an earlier pick to draft another tall in Kieran Collins.

West Perth coach Bill Monaghan has already said Adams, who boasts a 193cm, 98kg frame, was physically ready for AFL. “That’s obviously the aim to play AFL next year,” Adams said.

“You have to start from the bottom and earn the respect of the players and the coaches, but I’ll be doing everything in my power to try and earn myself a position as early as possible in the year.”

25-11-2015, 08:59 PM
Obvious to me we have clearly targeted him for his intercept marking ability. Suits our style of defending and kicks the ball well on angles as well. Seems well suited to our style of play.

25-11-2015, 09:45 PM
Too me Adams plays a lot like Brian Lake. From the limited vision I have seen I am really confident he will have a successful career with us.

Do we see him being used as a swing-man when required?

25-11-2015, 10:43 PM
nice touch to put his brother in our shirt

25-11-2015, 11:17 PM
nice touch to put his brother in our shirt

I think their both in West Perth tops which are the same colours as ours Doc.:)

26-11-2015, 12:01 PM
I really like the look of this guy. Looks ready to go next year too. Keeps his feet, strong in the air and a neat kick. He seems to play the Easton Wood role only he's much bigger.

28-11-2015, 11:27 PM
This bloke looks like a latter-day Ross Glendinning

29-11-2015, 02:09 PM
Too me Adams plays a lot like Brian Lake. From the limited vision I have seen I am really confident he will have a successful career with us.

Do we see him being used as a swing-man when required?

Me too! I just watched his highlights and I was impressed. I was thinking we have Brian Lake mark 2. He was marking everything that came his way (although a highlights package won't show him dropping sitters) and he chose to mark the ball rather than punch. He looks to have very strong hands overhead.

I'm very pleased with this selection.

29-11-2015, 02:35 PM
Bevo was really happy to get him. He got a couple of questions and I asked one about 'The Specimen' and Bevo gave a big grin like it was an insiders joke. After he answered the question he had to tell the room he was talking about Adams. Bevo said although being mature age he's played limited footy, but really excited to see where the club can take him. Moves well, strong, big, talented and quick. He also mentioned he's trimmed down a bit already and fitness staff will assess whether he needs to trim down anymore. To me it sounded like Bevo takes a keen interest in the draft sorting process.

01-12-2015, 02:29 PM
Bevo was really happy to get him. He got a couple of questions and I asked one about 'The Specimen' and Bevo gave a big grin like it was an insiders joke. After he answered the question he had to tell the room he was talking about Adams. Bevo said although being mature age he's played limited footy, but really excited to see where the club can take him. Moves well, strong, big, talented and quick. He also mentioned he's trimmed down a bit already and fitness staff will assess whether he needs to trim down anymore. To me it sounded like Bevo takes a keen interest in the draft sorting process.

Do you think there would be a coach who didn't? Their (coaches) ability to get results is very much dependent upon the talent that is brought into the club through the draft.

01-12-2015, 02:36 PM
Do you think there would be a coach who didn't? Their (coaches) ability to get results is very much dependent upon the talent that is brought into the club through the draft.

Definitely. This was Bevo's first draft as he was appointed in November last year. It's interesting that we have identified a much bigger set of bodies this year generally the picks felt much more tailored to list requirements. Would be good to know how much of this was directly his influence and what our draft would've looked like if he wasn't involved.

01-12-2015, 07:54 PM

While I tend to agree I didn't think Wallace involved himself enough in recruiting in fact he often made it known that it wasn't his job.
I think the coach needs to ask a lot of questions to ensure the recruiters and list management decisions are right. They might not need to know every bit of detail but you can't have a coach sitting back distancing himself from critical decisions.

01-12-2015, 08:30 PM
At the Social Club function last night, Bevo was asked about him having some down time. He mentioned he was going to do so later in December and that he had been busy since the end of the season with various activities - I took this to mean an active interest in the drafting of players.

01-12-2015, 10:38 PM
At the Social Club function last night, Bevo was asked about him having some down time. He mentioned he was going to do so later in December and that he had been busy since the end of the season with various activities - I took this to mean an active interest in the drafting of players.

No doubt. And ensuring new recruits are settled and pre-season training programmes are bedded down. I reckon October/November are massive months for AFL clubs. Once recruiting/trading is done and pre-season routines are in place, that's when the Bevo's of this world can reset and start thinking about 2016.

01-12-2015, 11:54 PM
What's the latest on the moustache which has its own postcode?

04-12-2015, 01:58 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CVWBIiFUsAAbvh0.jpg:large

Luke Beveridge calls him ‘The Specimen’, and now Marcus Adams has a number to go with the nickname, the West Australian being awarded number 33 this week.

It was just 10 days ago that the 193cm, 95kg defender was sitting at home on the couch with his Mum and Dad in Perth waiting to hear his name called out on draft night, and now he is a Western Bulldog living in Melbourne.

Most of the new draftees across the AFL could relate to Adams’ description of his time at his new club as a ‘whirlwind’, but only a handful are as far away from home as the West Perth product.

“[I’m] probably not settled in as such just yet. I haven’t got my car or my full time living arrangements sorted yet, but once I get all of those sort of things it will make it feel a little bit more homely.

“Whether it will ever feel like home, I don’t know, but I’m looking forward to a long time here hopefully.”

If the scouting reports on Adams are right, he may well be at the kennel for a while yet. The 22 year old had a standout year in the WAFL in 2015, his combination of speed and power allowing him to cover opponents of all shapes and sizes.

Paired with that big body is a good game sense, and an aggressive streak. It’s a package that Bulldogs Recruiting Manager Simon Dalrymple thinks could see Adams play straight away.

The number 33, of course, carries some weight around the club. Brian Royal played 199 games for the Club, was All-Australian in 1983 and 1986, and is a member of the Bulldog Team of the Century.

It’s a lot to live up to, but Adams thinks it’s special to pull on the red, white & blue, regardless of the number on the back.

“I’ve looked up at the locker a few times, but I haven’t had much time to think about it yet… but I’m sure in the future I’ll be looking at the legends banner.

“There’s some amazing names up there but I think the whole jumper is [important] let alone the number. There’s so many legends to carry on from.”

link (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-12-04/adams-royal-flush)

05-12-2015, 09:06 PM
I read another training report FWIW that Adams can't kick with his right. A concern?

05-12-2015, 09:33 PM
I read another training report FWIW that Adams can't kick with his right. A concern?

I just answered this on the training thread. I'd love to know in what context and the definition of what you have read in terms that he can't kick with his right foot actually means?

FWIW, I think your information source is wrong. You're basically saying it's been reported to you that he can't kick because he is right footed.

Perhaps this is worth a look at for you.

Adams
(http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-11-24/pick-35-marcus-adams)

What is your view on his right foot kicking based on the two links I have provided on the threads?

His kicking isn't bad but like a lot of players he could improve on it.

05-12-2015, 10:43 PM
Going back five to ten years there were reports draftees were being trained to only kick on their preferred side. I brushed it off as rubbish, but there's an absolute litany of players who can only go one way now.

Perhaps, irrespective of preference, he's a product of that?

05-12-2015, 11:37 PM
Going back five to ten years there were reports draftees were being trained to only kick on their preferred side. I brushed it off as rubbish, but there's an absolute litany of players who can only go one way now.

?

Definitely 100% true, I've heard it with my own ears from someone who was heavily involved in state junior coaching in sa about 10 years ago

06-12-2015, 12:41 AM
I just answered this on the training thread. I'd love to know in what context and the definition of what you have read in terms that he can't kick with his right foot actually means?

FWIW, I think your information source is wrong. You're basically saying it's been reported to you that he can't kick because he is right footed.

Adams

What is your view on his right foot kicking based on the two links I have provided on the threads?

At the social club event he was introduced as a booming kicker.

06-12-2015, 01:18 PM

Adams

I think I got that back to front.

06-12-2015, 02:18 PM
I think I got that back to front.

Whats your view on his kicking?

06-12-2015, 03:20 PM
Whats your view on his kicking?

I've only seen a couple of highlights - I was going off a second hand training report.

FWIW I'm excited about drafting him from what I've read and pleased we got him not Mitch Brown. And very excited about Collins.

We''ll all know a lot more in about 3 months time under combat conditions.

06-12-2015, 08:04 PM

Adams

Has a great pair of sticky hands.
One grabber,not one double take.
Gunna love seeing him and Woody try and outdo each other. ;)

09-03-2016, 06:16 PM
Adams keen to learn (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-03-09/adams-keen-to-learn)

Rohan Smith has played a central role in the growth of the Dogs’ defensive unit over the past three years, and his latest project, draftee Marcus Adams says that the 300-game veteran has already had a major impact on his development in his short time at the Club.

The powerful key defensive prospect collected 13 disposals and 8 marks in a solid showing down back against Melbourne on the weekend, the 23-year old crediting defensive coach Smith for helping him understand the particulars of the AFL game after two years at WAFL level.

“He’s been really good,’ he told westernbulldogs.com.au

“Obviously being the defensive coach, I work a lot with him regarding the specifics of the game – things that I wasn’t doing, particularly early on, that I needed to do to fit into the structure and do what’s required to fit into the team.

“He’s been a big part of my development.”

Adams spent the past two seasons with West Perth where he averaged three intercept marks per match, placing him number one in the competition of any player to play more than three games..

While the 193cm 98kg Adams has the body of a ready-made AFL footballer, he admits that he is still adjusting to the speed of the game at AFL level.

“It’s a lot quicker,” he said.

“In the back line you get more involvements, like where the ball might take 15 or 20 seconds to get one end to the other in the WAFL, it might take 10 seconds (in the AFL), and I imagine it’s only going to get quicker.

“So the speed of ball movement (has been an adjustment), but that’s just something we’ve got to adapt to.”

One thing that Adams does have that’s essential to any player looking to make their mark is the desire to get better at his craft.

“It was pretty hard at first, so much to learn, obviously a new game plan, new people, new environment,” he said.

“It’s been a pretty steep learning curve, but after getting a couple of games under the belt, that’s obviously where most of the learning is going to happen.”

09-03-2016, 08:06 PM
From what I can gather (radio calls and highlights footage), Adams has established in the 2 NAB Cup outings so far that he is a real prospect.

09-03-2016, 08:13 PM
When I first saw him I was doubtful but I'm coming round to the Adams bandwagon.

09-03-2016, 08:50 PM
When I first saw him I was doubtful but I'm coming round to the Adams bandwagon.

The Addams Hotrod.
Or was it the Munsters.:confused:

09-03-2016, 11:26 PM
He's getting better but I still don't think he's quite ready. I haven't been impressed with Roberts, but I'd still go with him over Adams for R1 until Adams is able to string together some strong performances at VFL level. The improvement from NAB 1 to NAB 2 was encouraging, but playing R1 is a huge step up again.

Roberts would want to find form quickly too.

10-03-2016, 09:55 AM
Intra Club I thought he was worth a spot on the list, but couldn't hit the side of a barn.... Ok depth coverage.
NAB 1 I walked away impressed with his hands and ability to compete in the air and provide a safe option breaking it out of the back 50.
NAB 2 I had him playing R1.

As round one approaches I think my feelings will be tempered a bit and see him just outside my best 22, but he is a good prospect.

10-03-2016, 02:28 PM
Like others walked away from the club intra thinking he was a mile off.
Got better each gameand I think ,as he says the pace of the game is so much quicker.

10-03-2016, 02:54 PM
Ditto - was worried about his turnovers but if he counters that by being another genuine intercept marking option in defence I'll happily about-face

10-03-2016, 03:11 PM
Ditto - was worried about his turnovers but if he counters that by being another genuine intercept marking option in defence I'll happily about-face

That's the big attraction isn't it? Developing that intercept marking ability and having two Easton Woods across half back is such a beautiful prospect. Some teams just won't score against us at all. Dad will get bored down in the opposition goal square with the ball not making it all the way down to full back.

10-03-2016, 04:18 PM
I think what he is getting better at is decision making. He is not a terrible kick per se, but he was taking bad options in the scratch match and NAB1. As he adjusts to the pace and systems, I'm sure his disposal efficiency will improve.

10-03-2016, 05:47 PM
That's the big attraction isn't it? Developing that intercept marking ability and having two Easton Woods across half back is such a beautiful prospect. Some teams just won't score against us at all. Dad will get bored down in the opposition goal square with the ball not making it all the way down to full back.

Really?

Our forwards and mids need to smarten up their defensive transistion skills a bit for that to be the case... Defensive positioning also needs to get better.

10-03-2016, 10:53 PM
Really?

Our forwards and mids need to smarten up their defensive transistion skills a bit for that to be the case... Defensive positioning also needs to get better.

Yep, we are still miles off the pace where we need to be defensively from what I've seen thus far over pre-season.

11-03-2016, 09:23 AM
He's got a heck of a lot of upside to him, but as others above have suggested our defence is very leaky and susceptible to being torn apart in a 10 minute burst.

11-03-2016, 09:45 AM
I'd expect to have some big scores kicked against us this year. The team is still generally young and inexperienced, and Bevo has only had 2 pre seasons to hone his plan.

I hope we can get plenty of games into Collins, Adams, Hamling & Cordy while they have the support of the old stagers in the backline.

11-03-2016, 10:03 AM
Whilst our systems seem high risk and can look awful when teams get in behind, it should be noted that Bevo had one brief preseason and an inexperienced key defence group to work with last year and took us from a team that conceded 2177 points to a team that conceded 1825 points (avg 82.9 points per game) - the 2nd lowest since the 1980s (only 2010 was lower).

This year he's had more time to develop his strategies and a deeper pool to work with. I'm excited to see what we can produce. Besides it doesn't really matter what the opposition kicks, as long as we kick more :)

11-03-2016, 10:20 AM
Whilst our systems seem high risk and can look awful when teams get in behind, it should be noted that Bevo had one brief preseason and an inexperienced key defence group to work with last year and took us from a team that conceded 2177 points to a team that conceded 1825 points (avg 82.9 points per game) - the 2nd lowest since the 1980s (only 2010 was lower).

This year he's had more time to develop his strategies and a deeper pool to work with. I'm excited to see what we can produce. Besides it doesn't really matter what the opposition kicks, as long as we kick more :)
All true - but he also had more experienced KPDs to work with.
Talia & Fletcher Roberts had some games under their belt, this season we could feasibly have two debutants, Hamling and Zordy making the biggest contributions. We'll need experienced heads around them to shore up their positioning (Wood, Murphy, Morris & Boyd must be regular fixtures in our defensive rotations)

11-03-2016, 10:33 AM
All true - but he also had more experienced KPDs to work with.
Talia & Fletcher Roberts had some games under their belt, this season we could feasibly have two debutants, Hamling and Zordy making the biggest contributions. We'll need experienced heads around them to shore up their positioning (Wood, Murphy, Morris & Boyd must be regular fixtures in our defensive rotations)
All those players except Talia are still there and a year more experienced. Our position is much better this year.

11-03-2016, 12:07 PM
I think we will be one of the highest scoring teams and also have a reasonable score against us. We may beat up on some teams but others will challenge us in shootouts like the final last year. If our attack gets shut down I don't think we can hold off an opposition for too long.

11-03-2016, 01:15 PM
Really?

Not really, no.

11-03-2016, 04:41 PM
One would have to allow for opponents countering our strategy last year. First year honeymoon for the coach is over.

11-03-2016, 08:27 PM

Great post PP. Thanks for the figures.

25-03-2016, 02:22 PM
Good luck on debut to Marcus.

Nice interview here (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2016-03-25/the-adams-family)on Today Tonight in Perth. Watch the great goal towards the end of the video

27-03-2016, 04:58 PM
I think we can now all see why Bevo was chasing Adams so hard. Add in Collins when he's ready and Hamling & Roberts to fight hard for the spots, Zaine as a tall 3rd, and our defence gets taller and better. Fair debut by The Specimen.

27-03-2016, 05:04 PM
I think we can now all see why Bevo was chasing Adams so hard. Add in Collins when he's ready and Hamling & Roberts to fight hard for the spots, Zaine as a tall 3rd, and our defence gets taller and better. Fair debut by The Specimen.

i was impressed with his debut. Lots to learn but plenty to work with

27-03-2016, 05:17 PM
He hadn't played a lot as a key defender even in the WAFL. Great first up performance. Really liked his kicking and marks.

27-03-2016, 06:43 PM
That takes care of our concerns about Full Back.

27-03-2016, 06:55 PM
That takes care of our concerns about Full Back.

Centre HB for mine. Dad will take care of full back. Morris & Cordy on the blokes their own size and Hamling & Roberts to fight with form to get into it.

27-03-2016, 06:57 PM
Centre HB for mine. Dad will take care of full back. Morris & Cordy on the blokes their own size and Hamling & Roberts to fight with form to get into it.

Sounds like a strong set up to me.

27-03-2016, 07:18 PM
Sounds like a strong set up to me.

Funny how it turns huh? That's leaving Roughead rucking and not landing Hooker or Hurley! :)

27-03-2016, 07:48 PM
Great first up effort.

Took some good marks and his kicking was quite assured, including a few creative kicks that opened up the ground for us.

27-03-2016, 07:50 PM
Great debut . Wonderful in the air .
Kicking was very good as well . Excellent start

27-03-2016, 07:51 PM
The emergence of Adams (and Collins to come) means Moz can spend his twilight years on players he matches up with perfectly, rather than as a pinch hitting key defender.

Hamling and Cordy are both quality types to take over the 3rd tall position that Moz has made his own. Not saying they'll ever be as good as him, but both are taller and have a more attacking flair, which will suit Bevo's system.

Fletcher Roberts is the odd man out and has a lot of work to do to get back into the frame, IMO.

We're at the point now, that if we were to snag either Hurley or Hooker (which I think is unlikely), we'd be better off playing them forward.

28-03-2016, 02:49 AM
Fantastic debut. His improvement across the 4 games he's played has been very impressive. Let's hope it's an indication of what's to come.

28-03-2016, 08:41 AM
Fantastic debut. His improvement across the 4 games he's played has been very impressive. Let's hope it's an indication of what's to come.

Completely agree

Seems to be adjusting each game to the pace and disposal required for AFL footy

28-03-2016, 09:14 AM
Completely agree

Seems to be adjusting each game to the pace and disposal required for AFL footy

The depth of his kicking surprised me. There were a couple of 50+ mtr kicks that hit their mark that really stood out.

28-03-2016, 09:15 AM
He hadn't played a lot as a key defender even in the WAFL. Great first up performance. Really liked his kicking and marks.

How good was the 50m+ bullet to (I think) Hunter on his own. Exactly what they want him to be doing.

28-03-2016, 09:21 AM
Really good performance first up, took some nice marks and distributed the ball well.

Still got caught out of position a few times, but lots to work with.

28-03-2016, 09:51 AM
The depth of his kicking surprised me. There were a couple of 50+ mtr kicks that hit their mark that really stood out.

There was one underneath where we were sitting that I'm pretty sure Dahl ran under because it just kept going. Has a huge hoof which I don't think we saw pre-season

28-03-2016, 10:01 AM
There was one underneath where we were sitting that I'm pretty sure Dahl ran under because it just kept going. Has a huge hoof which I don't think we saw pre-season

Yep, his kicking during the preseason was nothing to get excited about. Lets hope his efforts yesterday are a sign of things to come.

28-03-2016, 10:16 AM
Yesterday was my first look at him in the flesh. He looks fantastic, tall and very muscular - no question, he is KPB size. Very impressed with the way he played. Positioning against and accountability for his opponent was very good, imo. Ariel work excellent. Running with the ball, excellent, he is mobile with a bit of dash as well. Disposal skills very good, noting in particular he has a real hoof on him which is a great get out of jail free card to have.

28-03-2016, 10:17 AM
Really enjoyed watching him play as well as he did. A first up match up with Pavlich was going to be a challenge. Liked his bump on Pavlich straight after Pavlich's bump on Wood on the boundary. Liked the aggression he showed against the big veteran.

28-03-2016, 10:47 AM
How good was the 50m+ bullet to (I think) Hunter on his own. Exactly what they want him to be doing.

That was sensational. There was a 40 metre option for him too but he saw and was capable of creating the long option which once again broke Freo's line and got us out the back. The value of an extra 10-15 metres on the length of the long ball is very important.

28-03-2016, 11:56 AM
That was sensational. There was a 40 metre option for him too but he saw and was capable of creating the long option which once again broke Freo's line and got us out the back. The value of an extra 10-15 metres on the length of the long ball is very important.

He made a similar klck to Macrae (who dropped a sitter) and in both instances Adams really opened up the ground with precise long kicking. Hopefully this can become a feature of his game.

28-03-2016, 11:58 AM
Wow we have a player in Adams. What a fantastic debut.

28-03-2016, 12:01 PM
Love the interview after the game where Adams says it was the best day of his life - or at least in the top two.

28-03-2016, 12:02 PM
Love the interview after the game where Adams says it was the best day of his life - or at least in the top two.

It was great.

Also liked Dunkley's interview, couldn't wipe the smile off either of their faces.

28-03-2016, 02:01 PM
The beauty of Adams is that he can play both ends of the ground too which could be useful in the future.

28-03-2016, 10:21 PM
What a great day for him and the club.
Looked like a kid in a lolly shop in the after match interview.

30-03-2016, 08:28 AM
I really hope Marcus Adams goes on with it. A big, strong, mobile player equipped with good skills and 'presence' brings
a great deal to the team.

30-03-2016, 11:37 AM
Yesterday was my first look at him in the flesh. He looks fantastic, tall and very muscular - no question, he is KPB size. Very impressed with the way he played. Positioning against and accountability for his opponent was very good, imo. Ariel work excellent. Running with the ball, excellent, he is mobile with a bit of dash as well. Disposal skills very good, noting in particular he has a real hoof on him which is a great get out of jail free card to have.

So is he 193 really or closer to 190 as some have suggested?

30-03-2016, 11:38 AM
What a great day for him and the club.
Looked like a kid in a lolly shop in the after match interview.

haha 'this is the best day of my life (remembers girlfriend) - um, no definitely top 2'. well played sir!

30-03-2016, 09:50 PM
So is he 193 really or closer to 190 as some have suggested?

Interesting point, from what I saw on Sunday I would say he is about as tall Pavlich but I could not say he looked taller. Pavlich is listed as 192cm on Footywire. I'll go with he is closer to 193cm than he is to 190cm.

30-03-2016, 10:25 PM
Interesting point, from what I saw on Sunday I would say he is about as tall Pavlich but I could not say he looked taller. Pavlich is listed as 192cm on Footywire. I'll go with he is closer to 193cm than he is to 190cm.

He's listed at 193cm on the club website.

30-03-2016, 10:30 PM
Pretty interested to see how Adams goes over the coming weeks.

His improvement from the intra club to round 1 was astonishing.

30-03-2016, 10:35 PM
He's listed at 193cm on the club website.

My observation from the game should have included that he elevates well in the marking contests. About 193 + a good spring from a standing start = can play against the taller forwards. You only have to spoil them.

30-03-2016, 10:43 PM
My observation from the game should have included that he elevates well in the marking contests. About 193 + a good spring from a standing start = can play against the taller forwards. You only have to spoil them.

I like his spring too. He used this to good effect on Sunday and this is how he needs to play.

Despite having a big body and being quite strong, he's not as good one on one - can ball watch/lose flight of the ball. Much better running and jumping at it, not too dissimilar to Hamling in that regard.

01-04-2016, 07:44 PM

I could see him lining that kick up and inadvertently yelled "NO dont, ...Or you could try that again next time."

02-04-2016, 12:42 PM
I like his spring too. He used this to good effect on Sunday and this is how he needs to play.

Despite having a big body and being quite strong, he's not as good one on one - can ball watch/lose flight of the ball. Much better running and jumping at it, not too dissimilar to Hamling in that regard.

That was my take on it too. Loved his first up effort but I'm not sure he's the guy I want exposed one out on the deepest forward - that very well may be Collins in time. I think he suits our game style perfectly though, no doubt a factor in Dalrymple's decision making

03-04-2016, 08:03 PM
Just looking at Marcus Adams' back story. He played U18's, reserves AND seniors as a 17/18 year old in 2011 with West Perth. Then quit the sport (believe his brother died) prior to coming back into it in 2013 - playing just 2 reserves games. Then got fair dinkum in 2014. Improved greatly in 2015, averaging 6.2 marks, 17 possessions & 3 tackles per game. Just think, we could still have Talia bumbling and fumbling and no Adams - had Talia not gotten into his pickle..!

We've really fallen on our feet over these past 18 months. A crisis lands us Beveridge and Boyd, then the domino effect ends with Sir Bobby as our captain, Jones and Tutt leave - which results in Caleb Daniel being drafted, Lachie Hunter finally clicks, Libba does his knee - which I'm convinced resulted in Wallis developing his game and making the grade, J-Jo goes up a gear, our recruiters continue to shoot the lights out (Webb, Dale, McLean, Hamling etc.) and Bont & Stringer appear to be rolled gold superstars in the making...

How quickly we've gone from basket case to the great white hope of the AFL.

03-04-2016, 08:21 PM
Marcus is a great 'blocker'. When the ball is on the deck, if he gets front position, almost impossible to shift from behind.
Scoop it up and whip it off to the support guy. Going to see it a lot.

03-04-2016, 08:51 PM
Just looking at Marcus Adams' back story. He played U18's, reserves AND seniors as a 17/18 year old in 2011 with West Perth. Then quit the sport (believe his brother died) prior to coming back into it in 2013 - playing just 2 reserves games. Then got fair dinkum in 2014. Improved greatly in 2015, averaging 6.2 marks, 17 possessions & 3 tackles per game. Just think, we could still have Talia bumbling and fumbling and no Adams - had Talia not gotten into his pickle..!

We've really fallen on our feet over these past 18 months. A crisis lands us Beveridge and Boyd, then the domino effect ends with Sir Bobby as our captain, Jones and Tutt leave - which results in Caleb Daniel being drafted, Lachie Hunter finally clicks, Libba does his knee - which I'm convinced resulted in Wallis developing his game and making the grade, J-Jo goes up a gear, our recruiters continue to shoot the lights out (Webb, Dale, McLean, Hamling etc.) and Bont & Stringer appear to be rolled gold superstars in the making...

How quickly we've gone from basket case to the great white hope of the AFL.

Just on this, Marcus' brother Luke is still alive and well but the punch did put him into an induced coma for six weeks and he was initially not expected to be able to walk to talk again. At the time Luke was considered a possibility of being drafted as a 19yo but the punch stopped any hope of that. Last year he took over the role as runner for West Perth.

03-04-2016, 10:10 PM
Just on this, Marcus' brother Luke is still alive and well but the punch did put him into an induced coma for six weeks and he was initially not expected to be able to walk to talk again. At the time Luke was considered a possibility of being drafted as a 19yo but the punch stopped any hope of that. Last year he took over the role as runner for West Perth.

and he runs a Financial Planning Practise.

04-04-2016, 04:24 AM
"Then quit the sport (believe his brother died)"

A serious fact to get wrong in your story.

04-04-2016, 08:36 AM
"Then quit the sport (believe his brother died)"

A serious fact to get wrong in your story.

Clearly. I guess I'll have to hand in my Walkley Award, now..

07-04-2016, 04:29 PM
Marcus Adams was on Essendon, Fremantle recruiters’ radar (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/marcus-adams-was-on-essendon-fremantle-recruiters-radar/news-story/6520a73d3dbf0e871d635a99e7f06e7d?utm_content=SocialFlow&utm_campaign=EditorialSF&utm_source=HeraldSun&utm_medium=Twitter)

WESTERN Bulldogs revelation Marcus Adams could have wound up at Essendon if the Bombers’ attempt to recruit him last year was successful.
But the AFL’s rigid rules regarding top-up players last preseason prevented the Bombers from signing him in February last year.
Adams, 22, has enjoyed a remarkable start to his AFL career at the kennel, helping restrict Fremantle and St Kilda to only five goals each in the Dogs’ first two games.

He has been so impressive, Dogs’ coach Luke Beveridge questioned last weekend whether there had been another rookie key defender start his career as well as Adams had.
Adams has won an incredible 19 intercept possessions in the first two rounds, equalling the record for a key defender in his first two AFL games, set by Gold Coast’s Jeremy Taylor in 2011.

But SuperFooty’s new trade talk podcast The Big Deal has revealed Essendon tried to snap up Adams as the start of last season as part of their 2015 NAB Challenge top-up players.

http://pixel.tcog.cp1.news.com.au/track/component/article/story-fni0cx12-6520a73d3dbf0e871d635a99e7f06e7d?t_product=HeraldSun&domain=heraldsun.com.au&t_template=s3/chronicle-component/relatedstories/templates/index
The Bombers listed a bunch of former AFL players such as Mitch Brown, James Magner, Clint Jones and Jared Petrenko, but also asked the AFL for special permission to recruit Adams, who was playing WAFL at the time.
The 196cm powerhouse defender has been nicknamed The Specimen, due to his hulking frame and strength in the marking contest.

At the time, the Bombers were seeking replacements for the players who had been served infraction notices as part of the supplement scandal.
But the AFL ruled the Bombers could only sign players who had previously been on an AFL list. Adams had not been drafted previously, meaning he was out of the club’s reach.

The Bombers asked for special permission to sign the ready-made stopper regardless, but were knocked back.
Adams continued to flourish in the WAFL last season and Fremantle and Essendon’s list chief Adrian Dodoro and his talent scouts remained keen on the strong-bodied defender.

The Dockers also wanted Adams as a replacement for retired great Luke McPharlin.
But the Western Bulldogs’ eagle-eyed recruiting team, led by list chief Jason McCartney and Simon Dalrymple, had also been keeping a close eye on him.

http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/286a644c36e1cda65c480ba2417175c7?width=650

When the Michael Talia fiasco blew up, the Dogs had a need for another mature-age key defender, and Luke Beveridge’s men jumped at Adams with pick 35 in last year’s national draft.
Forced to look elsewhere, Essendon picked up Brown to fill its key defender void with pick No. 54.
Beveridge lauded Adams’ immediate impact after the win over the Saints on Saturday night.
“He has been enormous. I’m not sure over history not too many key defenders played two games like that upfront,” Beveridge said.
“They don’t often kick goals key defenders but the amount of saves that the aerials and the ground ball wins (from him) has just been outstanding.

“He has worked extremely hard with his teammates and (defensive coach) Rohan Smith and everyone on what is expected down there we did ask him to change.
“He wasn’t this kind of defender when he came to the club. His first two performances have been nothing short of magnificent so he has set a pretty high benchmark.”

The Bulldogs have been lauded for their recruiting in recent years. They have only seven currently-listed players taken in the top-20 of the national drafts, ranked third-last.

In comparison, Richmond has 18 top-20 draft picks. The Tigers are ranked second, behind Greater Western Sydney, with 23.

07-04-2016, 04:30 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5TJ6vwUyFI&feature=youtu.be

07-04-2016, 04:52 PM
oh jeez. another "oh we wanted him first" article.

07-04-2016, 04:53 PM

and surprise surprise its Essendon

07-04-2016, 04:56 PM
the 196cm powerhouse defender has been nicknamed the specimen, due to his hulking frame and strength in the marking contest

He's still growing!!!

07-04-2016, 04:58 PM
and surprise surprise its Essendon

To go with Dickson, Campbell etc. It's like they think they're just entitled to these players. I love it. We're starting to sh** the competition and media and it feels great.

The end of the article was most interesting. we are 3rd last in top 20 picks. Richmond 2nd behind GWS with 18!

A huge pat on the back for Dal and JMac. Unbelievable job they have done.

07-04-2016, 04:59 PM
He's still growing!!!

will be Sandilands height by end of season

07-04-2016, 05:51 PM

They almost drafted Bonts had they had a higher pick they would have drafted him. :D

I'm sure all clubs would have drafted lots of different players if they had higher picks but you don't see their media guys pushing stories about it. You've just got to laugh at these fools.

07-04-2016, 07:23 PM
He's still growing!!!

Best part of the article!

07-04-2016, 07:56 PM
I like Crapmond with their 18 1st round draft picks. Doesn't show on the field.

07-04-2016, 08:03 PM
It's a bit swings and roundabouts . Remember us being keen on Poppy at Hawthorn, but they got in first.
How's essendons form wanting " special permission "! The cheek of that club never amazes

07-04-2016, 08:17 PM
Everyone wants a lot of players in the draft every year. Stupid articles these.

08-04-2016, 12:23 AM
What an outstanding revelation!

WESTERN Bulldogs revelation Marcus Adams could have wound up at Essendon if the Bombers’ attempt to recruit him last year was successful

I'll go even further and CONFIRM that Marcus Adams WOULD DEFINITELY have wound up at Essendon if the Bombers' attempt last year was successful. I can also confirm that he definitely would have flown into outer space if NASA had attempted to recruit him as an astronaut. And it was successful.

But their attempt wasn't successful. Ours was. So he wound up with us.

08-04-2016, 09:51 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5TJ6vwUyFI&feature=youtu.be

Pfft. Not even touching his chest. Doesn't count. Weakling.

08-04-2016, 11:21 AM
What an outstanding revelation!

I'll go even further and CONFIRM that Marcus Adams WOULD DEFINITELY have wound up at Essendon if the Bombers' attempt last year was successful. I can also confirm that he definitely would have flown into outer space if NASA had attempted to recruit him as an astronaut. And it was successful.

But their attempt wasn't successful. Ours was. So he wound up with us.

We've done pretty well denying Dodoro for a few years. We got Biggs, Adams, Dickson, and they made a play for JJ. But I concede, they got Cooney :D

08-04-2016, 12:24 PM
Pfft. Not even touching his chest. Doesn't count. Weakling.

And what's with those 'bands' on the bar... Have a dip FFS!

08-04-2016, 01:28 PM
They could have picked him up with pick 29 (Alex Morgan) or 30 (Mason Redman) if they wanted him badly enough.

I'm with bulldogsthru&thru, people are starting to get annoyed by our impending rise and it's playing out in the media nicely.

08-04-2016, 08:55 PM
And what's with those 'bands' on the bar... Have a dip FFS!

I didn't even notice them. What a fraud.

Although for serious, what are those bands for?

08-04-2016, 11:18 PM
I read somewhere he was lifting 220

09-04-2016, 01:37 AM
Although for serious, what are those bands for?

Basically bands allow you to produce more force (ie. quicker) and for longer, they are a great tool for improving explosive power and strength (perfect for athletes like footballers).

13-04-2016, 10:30 PM
Shane Ellis excited me like Marcus Adams excites me, both coming into a great team, both good marks.

14-04-2016, 04:30 AM
Shane Ellis excited me like Marcus Adams excites me, both coming into a great team, both good marks.

Do you mean Craig Ellis. I don't think it could be Shane Ellen.

14-04-2016, 06:55 AM

Craig Ellis excited my girlfriend at the time too.

14-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Do you mean Craig Ellis. I don't think it could be Shane Ellen.

Yes Craig Ellis, lucky person, sounds like he's not missing football.

14-04-2016, 05:36 PM

Shane Ellen played for us and hardly did a thing then went to the Crows and won 2 flags there

14-04-2016, 06:10 PM
Yes Craig Ellis, lucky person, sounds like he's not missing football.

Not sure that the post football success of Ellis is luck, but he is certainly now very successful.

15-04-2016, 09:38 AM
Not sure that the post football success of Ellis is luck, but he is certainly now very successful.
Maybe BIDS'54 is referring to the fact that Ellis was holidaying in NYC (with Dogs teammates) when 9/11 happened, and 12 months later he was holidaying in Bali (with Demons teammates) when the Bali bombings occurred.

15-04-2016, 01:23 PM
2016 Statistical Rankings for the entire AFL competition. Marcus Adams after 3 games, taken at pick 35, stats:

Ranked 2nd in Total Marks
Ranked 3rd in Total Contested Marks
Ranked 19th in Total One Percenters
Ranked 16th in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 2nd in Marks Per Game
Ranked 3rd in Contested Marks Per Game
Ranked 17th in Time On Ground %

15-04-2016, 01:33 PM
Ranked 2nd in Total Marks
Ranked 3rd in Total Contested Marks

What an impact in your third game of AFL.

16-04-2016, 11:38 PM
Any thoughts on the move forward tonight?

16-04-2016, 11:50 PM

With the below average forward entries, I can't properly judge the forwards tonight. I'd like to see what he'd be like with decent delivery.

17-04-2016, 01:12 AM

With TBoyd looking like being on the sidelines for a number of weeks it could be another one of Bevo's mnaster strokes :)

17-04-2016, 01:33 AM
Thought he looked a bit off tonight.

17-04-2016, 01:36 AM
Thought he looked a bit off tonight.

I thought he was beaten tonight. In fact he also looked tired.

17-04-2016, 01:45 AM
Seemed to struggle against the tall talls again this week.

17-04-2016, 08:35 AM
I think he is trying to mark everything at the moment which is a good instinct to have, but sometimes he has to know when he is out of position and a spoil into a team mate direction is a better option.

17-04-2016, 09:05 AM

He really didn't understand the team's forward structure and didn't know where to stand nor run. Definitely worth having up our sleeve as an option and worth trying when the game was essentially over, but noticeably his training has been focused on our defensive structure not our forward one. He needs more classroom time.

17-04-2016, 03:55 PM
Hamling was solid.

In my mind the end game for us is Adams, Collins and Cordy in defence and Hamling forward.

17-04-2016, 04:14 PM
Hamling was solid.

In my mind the end game for us is Adams, Collins and Cordy in defence and Hamling forward.

I've noticed a few people are calling for Hamling to go forward eventually. Is he a forward? Can he kick goals? Is he creative enough to set up goals? I haven't seen him play forward so I don't have an opinion. If he can play well as a forward, that would be handy and it might also extend his career if others go past him.

17-04-2016, 04:56 PM
Hamling was solid.

Cordy - Collins - Biggs
JJ - Adams - Wood (Suckling, Webb, Dale et al)

That's one hell of a defence a year or two in particular. Mobile aggressive gorilla full back, Cordy plays tall & small and talent to burn, a couple of intercepting big bodies and creative run and dash rotating through. If Roughy lets in the ruck he's tall cover too. Hamling either end, Fletch looks a bit back now.

So now we are back to finding another good tall forward to finish of the other end of the ground. The more you look at the list and gameplans, if this list doesn't win a premiership or three, we never will.

17-04-2016, 11:53 PM
I've noticed a few people are calling for Hamling to go forward eventually. Is he a forward? Can he kick goals? Is he creative enough to set up goals? I haven't seen him play forward so I don't have an opinion. If he can play well as a forward, that would be handy and it might also extend his career if others go past him.

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/player-profile/joel-hamling

kicked 6 playing forward in the VFL against frankston, according to a link above.

18-04-2016, 03:49 PM
Seemed to struggle against the tall talls again this week.

Yeh Casboult and he would go for the mark but Casboult's 'highest point' where he marked the ball was higher than Adams. Of course Casboult is one of the better marks in the league so gonna get out marked sometimes.

20-04-2016, 10:06 AM
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/player-profile/joel-hamling

kicked 6 playing forward in the VFL against frankston, according to a link above.

Was recruited from W.A as a forward.

20-04-2016, 10:24 AM
Was recruited from W.A as a forward.

I would leave him in the backline. At this stage we don't need him forward.

20-04-2016, 10:36 AM
I hope Bevo throws in the odd random switch to keep the other coach guessing. I'd love to see Stringer and Adams go at it in the forward arc.

20-04-2016, 10:46 AM

I think there's quite a few posters on here that think we do. Do you think the sole inclusion of Dickson is going to be enough to provide a viable target because at the moment Boyd can't clunk them or runs under them and Jake is out of form.

The majority of our goals are coming from the midfield.

20-04-2016, 11:12 AM
I think there's quite a few posters on here that think we do. Do you think the sole inclusion of Dickson is going to be enough to provide a viable target because at the moment Boyd can't clunk them or runs under them and Jake is out of form.

The majority of our goals are coming from the midfield.

We have kicked pretty inaccurately and lots of near misses in the fwd 50

20-04-2016, 11:21 AM
We have kicked pretty inaccurately and lots of near misses in the fwd 50

Are you happy with our forward set up / the form of who we have up forward?

20-04-2016, 11:23 AM

Not really but I'm VERY happy with the defensive group, of which Adams has been a huge part of.

20-04-2016, 11:31 AM
Not really but I'm VERY happy with the defensive group, of which Adams has been a huge part of.

Talking about Hamling forward.

You open to it?

20-04-2016, 11:38 AM

I have no issues as long as we are still winning. Ideally another tall would be good to take the pressure off, but no one is putting up their hand. If Redpath can find some form, then he can go forward. Dickson will be back and make a huge difference.

Taking Hamling away from the backline is robbing Peter and I don't know if it will pay Paul.

20-04-2016, 11:55 AM
I have no issues as long as we are still winning. Ideally another tall would be good to take the pressure off, but no one is putting up their hand. If Redpath can find some form, then he can go forward. Dickson will be back and make a huge difference.

Taking Hamling away from the backline is robbing Peter and I don't know if it will pay Paul.

Even though we played without Hamling down back for the first two rounds? We played Adams, Morris and Wood down there and Wood returns this week.

FWIW I think we need Hamling down back against North, but maybe this week not so much.

20-04-2016, 12:03 PM
Talking about Hamling forward.

You open to it?

With Wood back, I'd give it a go. What's the worst that can happen?

20-04-2016, 12:47 PM
Adams was pushed forward in the last quarter against Carlton. No reason why we couldn't do the same with Hamling. Coaches are always banging on about flexibility.

20-04-2016, 07:08 PM

I think he is better suited to the back line but I wouldn't rule out a switch forward some time during the season

20-04-2016, 07:13 PM
I think he is better suited to the back line but I wouldn't rule out a switch forward some time during the season

Can certainly make a good distance with his kick. I liked it when Suckling kicked that long goal against Carlton to break their momentum. Adams can roost the thing pretty well. Could see him as a bit of a weapon in that regard.

01-05-2016, 01:59 PM
I think Adams has been struggling the past few weeks and is now finding out the difference between the WAFL and AFL.

01-05-2016, 03:42 PM
I think Adams has been struggling the past few weeks and is now finding out the difference between the WAFL and AFL.
He looked overawed on the Friday night big stage - quite a few fumbles. Because he looks such a beast it's easy to forget it was game 6 for him.

01-05-2016, 05:08 PM
I think he played well above expectations in the first 3 weeks and has been more than reasonable in the last 3. We can't expect anyone to maintain the form he showed in the first 3 weeks.

I don't see a problem with his form.

01-05-2016, 05:32 PM
I think he played well above expectations in the first 3 weeks and has been more than reasonable in the last 3. We can't expect anyone to maintain the form he showed in the first 3 weeks.

I don't see a problem with his form.

I totally agree. He has done well enough to keep his place in the team. His last few weeks has been ok, it's just because he set his benchmark so high that we think he's been quiet. He has been serviceable. Waite would of taken those marks no matter who was on him. I would think that he would of taken a lot out of playing on someone like Waite and Petrie. He will know what to expect next time we play them.

02-05-2016, 12:03 AM
Are you sure Adams was on Waite all match? I thought I saw Wood on Waite a number of times.

02-05-2016, 09:25 AM
Are you sure Adams was on Waite all match? I thought I saw Wood on Waite a number of times.

Adams wasn't on Waite a great deal.. He was actually on Thomas for much of the night... Really strange decision by the MC.

02-05-2016, 09:40 AM
Adams wasn't on Waite a great deal.. He was actually on Thomas for much of the night... Really strange decision by the MC.

He was getting beaten badly early on when he was up against the taller players, so I guess the MC had to move him.

02-05-2016, 09:48 AM
He was getting beaten badly early on when he was up against the taller players, so I guess the MC had to move him.

He wasn't that bad early on and was being let down by players up the field.

02-05-2016, 10:29 AM
I worry each tome Marcus tries to kick the ball short. It is one glaring deficiency in his game that he struggles with short kicks. Ask him to hit a target 45m+ away and there is not an issue. This is fixable. Other than that, I have been really impressed with his performance this year and am not concerned that there has been a downward trend on his output over the last few weeks.

On a side note, did anyone notice Brereton refer to him as "dad" on the fox footy pre game show on Friday night? It's insulting to our club that these so called experts are so ignorant. It might not seem much to others but it really $hits me that these commentators, who I can only assume are on good coin, make so many blatant errors.

02-05-2016, 11:04 AM
On a side note, did anyone notice Brereton refer to him as "dad" on the fox footy pre game show on Friday night? It's insulting to our club that these so called experts are so ignorant. It might not seem much to others but it really $hits me that these commentators, who I can only assume are on good coin, make so many blatant errors.

Yes I did notice that, and it's the second time (at least) that Brereton has done it - he also referred to Adams being nicknamed 'Dad' on SEN a couple of weeks ago. I can't believe no one has corrected him.

02-05-2016, 07:24 PM
Yes I did notice that, and it's the second time (at least) that Brereton has done it - he also referred to Adams being nicknamed 'Dad' on SEN a couple of weeks ago. I can't believe no one has corrected him.

My rule is that you never interrupt stupidity with people like Dermie.

02-05-2016, 10:01 PM
I'd like to see Adams get back to the basics of running, jumping and punching the ball.

From my perspective, in recent weeks he's been caught flat footed in contests and thus has been out-marked quite a bit. He's still trying to go for his marks, but it's nowhere near as effective as when he can get a run and jump at it. He might be a physical beast, but he's a better defender when he gives himself some space rather than trying to beat his opponent in a 1-v-1 tussle.

07-05-2016, 01:33 PM
Bulldog 'Specimen' in awe of the mighty Texan (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-05-07/bulldogs-big-specimen-in-awe-of-the-mighty-texan)

THE MEMORIES of Taylor Walker leading his Crows to victory in the 2015 elimination final are something the Western Bulldogs would like to forget.

The Adelaide skipper was immense in the seven-point win, grabbing 10 marks and kicking three goals to be arguably best player on the ground, and probably the difference between the two sides in the end.

But as the premiership contenders prepare to face off for the first time since last September, the Dogs have unearthed a player capable of mixing it with the Crows' marquee man.

Marcus Adams has won many admirers in his debut AFL campaign and the mature-aged recruit is looking forward to standing a player he respects enormously, and who he feels he'd have a lot in common with.

"Tex seems like a real funny, down-to-earth sort of bloke and I'd reckon I would get along with him," Adams told AFL.com.au.

"He’s one of my favorite players because of the way he plays the game.

"I've watched him for a while now and he has so many ways he can win a contest, so I'll have be on top of my game."

The West Perth product, dubbed 'The Specimen' for his imposing build is certainly primed for the pivotal match up.

His form has been so good - Luke Beveridge went as far to say Adams' first few AFL games were as good as any key defender.

While he's "stoked" to receive such glowing praise, the 22-year-old says it has been the coach's unwavering belief that has helped him hold his own against guns Matthew Pavlich, Nick Riewoldt and Jarrad Waite in his first six league games.

"It was a little surreal at first to be honest because I've watched these guys on TV and now I'm standing next to them," Adams said.

"I never liked to lose a contest at WAFL level, but you're never going to win every contest against players of that calibre, so it's been a challenge to counteract such champions.

"Coming into my first season of AFL footy, I didn't know what to expect and how I'd transition, but I've been happy with how I've adapted to the big time."

What sets Adams apart from a lot of key defenders is his ability to take a contested mark, and that rare attribute sees him sit ninth in the competition with 14 to his name.

"We do have the license to take contested marks and get the ball back if we think we can," Adams said.

"Taking the ball off the opposition is the best way to defend.

"Getting the balance of when to spoil and when to mark is something I'm still learning."

While still a work in progress, Adams is adjusting well to living in Melbourne and residing by himself.

"Early days was a big challenge, not seeing my family and friends very often, but I've settled in and made some great mates," Adams said.

"I've just been getting used to the Melbourne traffic and the way of life over here.

"And I'm not a bad cook, but I don't like cleaning - I just can't find the motivation."

07-05-2016, 04:47 PM
I can't wait to see The Specimen lay a bone crunching tackle on Tex. There's a new sheriff in town ranger!

06-11-2016, 08:58 PM
So how or what do with him next year, in the sense do we offer him an extension as one of uncontracted players passed next year. Presuming his form and attitude are good and we'd like him to stay.

If he knocks it back, I guess we know he wants back to WA. I suppose offering a contract helps a narrative he's a required player and maybe sets up any legitimacy requesting a decent player back. You'd think both WA teams should improve on next year so slipping in the PSD isn't too much a problem. Do we put the time into him and his manager, or focus on the other uncontracted players and simply look to set up a trading position?

06-11-2016, 09:03 PM
If he warrants a spot and will help us win next seasons flag then he plays. Have a contract on the table for him but worry about him leaving next off season.

06-11-2016, 09:09 PM
If he warrants a spot and will help us win next seasons flag then he plays. Have a contract on the table for him but worry about him leaving next off season.

Playing is a no brainer if he's fit and in form. I guess the question should be, does JMac put in a heap of hours into his management throughout next year while other players need signing up, and the time he needs to put into managers of big free agents and other possible trades. If JMac isn't going to get a contract signed, do we just accept it and deploy JMac into trying to get players signed up who do want to play for us in 2018. Or just keep fighting until the last second?

06-11-2016, 09:22 PM
I think he let the cat out the bag feeling homesick hinting to being injured and not playing with the boys..a lonely road in your first year.
Think if he gets a good season, no major injuries and another year of settling, we have another good year and he gets closer to some of the guys he might decide he likes it and stays.
I would be putting into him big time to stay.

06-11-2016, 09:27 PM
I think he let the cat out the bag feeling homesick hinting to being injured and not playing with the boys..a lonely road in your first year.
Think if he gets a good season, no major injuries and another year of settling, we have another good year and he gets closer to some of the guys he might decide he likes it and stays.
I would be putting into him big time to stay.

Tend to agree that homesickness can be overcome if he is playing regularly. Needs to have some hobbies outside of footy to keep the mind busy.

06-11-2016, 09:41 PM
It has been stated in the media that Adams never requested a trade and looks forward to being a Dog next year, but was open to a trade home should the club have the right offer. I don't get why this ever made it to the media. No good for Adams or the club.

06-11-2016, 09:44 PM
It has been stated in the media that Adams never requested a trade and looks forward to being a Dog next year, but was open to a trade home should the club have the right offer. I don't get why this ever made it to the media. No good for Adams or the club.

It got to the media when his manager one afternoon got onto Trade Radio and announced it. Not good for the club, but perhaps good for Adams and a WA club if they got/get him cheap.

06-11-2016, 09:55 PM
It got to the media when his manager one afternoon got onto Trade Radio and announced it. Not good for the club, but perhaps good for Adams and a WA club if they got/get him cheap.

Didn't realise that. Sounds like a shitty move by the manager, don't see how it benefits anyone, least of all Marcus.

06-11-2016, 10:00 PM
Didn't realise that. Sounds like a shitty move by the manager, don't see how it benefits anyone, least of all Marcus.

Come on now, his manager could've got a nice bonus. So I can think of one person it benefits.

06-11-2016, 10:03 PM
Come on now, his manager could've got a nice bonus. So I can think of one person it benefits.

I've got no problems with the manager contacting WA clubs and seeing what possibilities may be available. I just don't see what benefit there was for anyone in putting it all out in public.

06-11-2016, 11:37 PM
We need to get him a Victorian based girlfriend. Simple.

09-11-2016, 11:06 PM
We need to get him a Victorian based girlfriend. Simple.

Look....I'll take one for the team (literally) ;)

10-11-2016, 12:31 AM
Go for it. I think he's had operations on his feet and shoulders so he can't run away or flight you off.

15-05-2018, 12:33 PM
Specimen back on track (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-05-15/specimen-back-on-track)

Hulking defender Marcus Adams returned to full training on Saturday and could play this weekend if he gets through the week, Dogs medical service manager Chris Bell confirmed on Monday.

The luckless 24-year-old’s ankle was caught in a tackle during a match simulation in March, before scans confirmed a high grade syndesmosis injury, sidelining him for three months.

Adam’s journey back is now almost complete, with Bell saying almost all the hurdles have been cleared.
“Marcus has progressed really well following his ankle surgery earlier in the year, he said.

He's ticked our final stage measures in rehab. He's back in full training this week and if he gets through training like we expect, he will play this weekend.”

The promising West Australian has played 21 games in three seasons after being taken with the 35th pick in the 2015 NAB AFL Draft due to a series of foot and finger injuries.

Adams has averaged 16 possessions, six marks, three tackles and three rebound 50s per game as a key defender, and in May 2017 signed a three-year contract extension, keeping him at the Club until at least the end of the 2020 season.

15-05-2018, 02:18 PM
Dear Footy Gods

Please, please, bloody pretty freaking please oh footy gods. Anything. Name it and it's yours. But for the love of mike can Marcus Adams please just have the rest the rest of this year, just so we know. He looks the goods and seems to have a prodigious talent so can he just get an uninterrupted run at it? Please.

Much love
Twodogs.

16-05-2018, 01:45 AM
Dear Footy Gods

Please, please, bloody pretty freaking please oh footy gods. Anything. Name it and it's yours. But for the love of mike can Marcus Adams please just have the rest the rest of this year, just so we know. He looks the goods and seems to have a prodigious talent so can he just get an uninterrupted run at it? Please.

Much love
Twodogs.

Amen

16-05-2018, 08:48 AM
Dear Footy Gods

Much love
Twodogs.

To support this noble cause i went to sacrifice 18 virgins, but alas living in Essendon I couldn't find any. Hallmark Stringer.

16-05-2018, 10:02 AM
To support this noble cause i went to sacrifice 18 virgins, but alas living in Essendon I couldn't find any.
Try their cheersquad.

16-05-2018, 11:38 AM
Try their cheersquad.
So everyone in the media and the AFL?

17-05-2018, 12:19 PM
So everyone in the media and the AFL?

Slobbo? Yeah he's a good chance. That is if you don't count interactions where money changed hands!

17-05-2018, 12:50 PM
Slobbo? Yeah he's a good chance. That is if you don't count interactions where money changed hands!

He's just a dumb Essendon supporter, I doubt he even realises he shows a bias. In his head it's what he's been thinking all his life so it's fair enough isn't it? He'd have to work too hard to change his mind.

18-05-2018, 07:25 AM
Let’s all pray that the specimen gets through

18-05-2018, 08:02 AM
With Marcus selected for VFL, am I right in thinking it will be his 1st VFL appearance.