View Full Version : Welcome to the Western Bulldogs Josh Dunkley

29-08-2015, 03:53 PM
The newest young man to be selected by our club to help take us to the promise land. Welcome aboard young man.

24-11-2015, 09:12 PM
Josh Dunkley

24-11-2015, 09:15 PM
Welcome Josh. Good luck mate.

24-11-2015, 09:17 PM
Physically ready, great character and we will make him a better footballer

24-11-2015, 09:18 PM
Not convinced with this pick but Josh is a dog now so all the best to the kid and hope he proves me wrong.

24-11-2015, 09:19 PM
Physically ready, great character and we will make him a better footballer

What position do we start him in?

24-11-2015, 09:20 PM
What position do we start him in?

Lets wait to hear from Dalrymple but longer term I think he is a defender. A big mid who can go into the back line.

24-11-2015, 09:40 PM
Welcome to the Kennell Dunkers.
He dosn't have the same kicking style as his old man does he??:p

24-11-2015, 10:01 PM
Old man was a champion and he has good character. Great pick

24-11-2015, 10:01 PM
The big wraps on JD are character, leadership and fierceness at the contest. Excited to see what he adds to us.

24-11-2015, 10:07 PM
What is the knock on Josh? I noticed there was a lot of hesitation pre-draft about Josh potentially being our first pick...obviously we all support him now, keen to know why the hesitation though.

FWIW on the Bulldogs website it says he was in discussions for our first pick at 11 before we traded out.

24-11-2015, 10:09 PM
Interesting we rated him so highly, but perhaps some big bodied insurance for the midfield who could end up playing s few roles for us as he develops.

Will be very interested to see how he tracks but it seems he's going to give himself every chance to succeed which is a good starting point.

24-11-2015, 10:10 PM
I'm happy, he fits a type we need a couple more of and apparently can play.

24-11-2015, 10:11 PM
What is the knock on Josh? I noticed there was a lot of hesitation pre-draft about Josh potentially being our first pick...obviously we all support him now, keen to know why the hesitation though.

FWIW on the Bulldogs website it says he was in discussions for our first pick at 11 before we traded out.

Kicking and athleticism were the two knocks I've read. Apparently is fairly slow and not a great tank thus far

24-11-2015, 10:13 PM
Old man was a champion and he has good character. Great pick

Agree BAD.

24-11-2015, 10:21 PM
Interesting we rated him so highly, but perhaps some big bodied insurance for the midfield who could end up playing s few roles for us as he develops.

Will be very interested to see how he tracks but it seems he's going to give himself every chance to succeed which is a good starting point.

A bit like Clay Smith, great work ethic

24-11-2015, 10:28 PM
Welcome to the Bulldogs Josh. Looking forward to see what you can bring to the midfield.

24-11-2015, 10:33 PM
Hopefully is a chip of the old block, welcome to the Dogs Josh.

24-11-2015, 11:01 PM

Yeah I was going say he sounds like Smith.

Interesting that we would go for him.
Also being another inside mid? Does JM and SD think we are shallow in this area?
I thought with Smith,Libba and Stevens down we only had Wallis really doing hard inside work but he's slightly different.

25-11-2015, 08:01 AM
Physically he looks a good size and overhead target -

This provides some insight into his injury riddled 2015
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-11-06/18-days-to-the-draft-meet-the-tough-son-of-a-swans-gun-josh-dunkley

Whilst this provides insights into why Sydney may not have matched our bid
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/afl-draft-josh-dunkley-is-no-certainty-to-become-a-swan-despite-nominating-the-club/story-e6frf3e3-1227621302072

25-11-2015, 08:32 AM

Given Clay's injury history the selection made sense to me. We obviously rated him very highly, and in all honesty, he wasn't a player I spent much time looking into - based on our work at the draft in recent times I'm very content to back our guys in.

25-11-2015, 09:35 AM
Being a Gippy boy, he's probably mates with Lukas Webb.

25-11-2015, 10:17 AM
We do need another big inside mid, this kid will be huge.
Was unconvinced pre-draft but apparently his character ratings are off the chart, no wonder Dal loves him

25-11-2015, 11:34 AM

Webb posted a picture of them at the beach after the draft last night so they obviously know each other fairly well, which adds to the pairs at the club (Stringer and Crameri, Stevens and Smith, Boyd and Honeychurch etc.)

25-11-2015, 10:15 PM

Webb posted a picture of them at the beach after the draft last night so they obviously know each other fairly well, which adds to the pairs at the club (Stringer and Crameri, Stevens and Smith, Boyd and Honeychurch etc.)

He and Collins would also be well known to each other both being Country Vic players.

26-11-2015, 11:32 AM
Having seen a bit of Dunkley throughout the year I am absolutely wrapped with this selection.

Yes the kicking action is suspect, but he makes up for that with his decision making.

Great leader, elite at winning his own ball, steps up in big moments and will always give a contest.

He will be our Lenny Hayes.

26-11-2015, 12:18 PM
Having seen a bit of Dunkley throughout the year I am absolutely wrapped with this selection.

Yes the kicking action is suspect, but he makes up for that with his decision making.

Great leader, elite at winning his own ball, steps up in big moments and will always give a contest.

He will be our Lenny Hayes.

Big wrap. In all Ive read about Dunkley, it's the leadership/standing up at clutch moments aspects that draw people to him. It's a wonderful attribute to have. Looking back over a few matches, its amazing how often Bont wills something special out of himself when it really matters. Guys like this are rare - if JD can show it at AFL level, he'll be a steal.

Our crop of young leaders at present is easily best I've ever seen at the club.

26-11-2015, 08:55 PM
Got my head around this selection on a needs basis. He is a big ultra-inside mid. We need one of them on our list. Our other bigger mids are different types to this. Our one other chunkier inside grunt is out after a third knee reco. Koby has the physique but is more a high half forward, he is not your first choice for the centre bounce set-up.

And apparently Dunkley is also good overhead. Bonus.

26-11-2015, 11:51 PM
Got my head around this selection on a needs basis. He is a big ultra-inside mid. We need one of them on our list. Our other bigger mids are different types to this. Our one other chunkier inside grunt is out after a third knee reco. Koby has the physique but is more a high half forward, he is not your first choice for the centre bounce set-up.

And apparently Dunkley is also good overhead. Bonus.

Already 189cm and could do a Macrae and grow a few more.

27-11-2015, 09:10 AM
Seems that he has a lot of attributes that will add to our team. As for his kicking, it's not appalling but clearly needs some work. We managed to dramatically improve the kicking of Clay Smith and Michael Talia in their time at the club abd they were starting further back than Dunkley. I'm optimistic....although it would be nice if he had an extra yard of pace.

27-11-2015, 09:49 AM
Seems that he has a lot of attributes that will add to our team. As for his kicking, it's not appalling but clearly needs some work. We managed to dramatically improve the kicking of Clay Smith and Michael Talia in their time at the club abd they were starting further back than Dunkley. I'm optimistic....although it would be nice if he had an extra yard of pace.
Would be great but realistically if that was the case Sydney would not have baulked or he wouldn't have lasted until our pick.

27-11-2015, 03:02 PM
Serious question, but does playing zone defence expose guys your own guys who cant kick when you win the ball back?

27-11-2015, 03:16 PM
Serious question, but does playing zone defence expose guys your own guys who cant kick when you win the ball back?

Not really. Generally the guys who can't kick will make safe, short decisions to get the ball to guys who can. Talia from the Crows is a good example of this.

27-11-2015, 03:34 PM
Not really. Generally the guys who can't kick will make safe, short decisions to get the ball to guys who can. Talia from the Crows is a good example of this.
Dale Morris kicks very safe when he has it, knows his limitations

27-11-2015, 09:29 PM
Matty Boyd has been a much safer kick since being re-juvenated off half back.

27-11-2015, 09:41 PM
Matty Boyd has been a much safer kick since being re-juvenated off half back.

Seems to have more time to deliver the ball.

27-11-2015, 10:15 PM
Seems to have more time to deliver the ball.

Agreed BAD.
It's amazing how being taken out of the chaotic midfield crush,what a very precious few extra seconds to make and take the smart option has made to his game.
Reckon if he had have stayed in the midfield last year he might have called time.

02-12-2015, 11:03 AM
Dunkley with Libba and Kobe back will mean Bontempelli will not need to do as much grunt work. Less chance of Bont tiring himself out in packs. Dunkley seems like a bigger bodied Mitch Wallis.

02-12-2015, 01:10 PM
Number 20 (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-12-02/dunkley-slots-in-at-20)

Josh Dunkley was on the couch at home in Yarram, a small town in the southeast of Gippsland surrounded by family when the news filtered through that he was officially a Bulldog.

“It was pretty special”, the 18 year old said of the moment his name was called out.

Dunkley is the son of former Sydney full-back Andrew, and when the Swans elected not to match the Bulldogs bid, the powerful midfielder was on his way to Whitten Oval, and needless to say, Mum and Dad are pretty happy their boy was staying close to home.

“If it had of worked out that I was going to Sydney then so be it, but I’m on an AFL list and I’m in Victoria and close to home.

“They couldn’t be happier.”

Dunkley will wear number 20 for season 2016, his locker nestled in between 2014 number 2 pick, Lukas Webb, and Sutton Medallist Tom Liberatore.

The scouting reports on the Gippsland Power product talk about competiveness, his leadership, his ability to win his own ball, and at 189cm and 85kg, Dunkley has horsepower to burn.

In consideration for the 11th pick overall before it was traded out in return for Carlton’s pick 20 and 21, the Bulldogs were thrilled to see him still available at the Bulldogs first selection.

It’s been a surreal week for Josh and his fellow draftees, walking into an AFL club for the first time and meeting the likes of Murphy, Boyd, Morris and Picken, but he said getting his Guernsey number has made it all feel a bit more real.

“Yeah it does (feel real), you always look up to these guys that you’re training with now and you’re finally here, and being friends with them and talking to them, so it’s a massive eye opener.

“It’s pretty amazing to be here.”

02-12-2015, 08:46 PM
It sure is surprising to see us mention that both our picks were in contention at pick 11;)

11-02-2016, 08:56 PM
I've been very impressed with the way Dunkley handles himself in front of the media and he has obviously fitted in well with the team and is training well.

I'm interested in hearing peoples views on where he will likely play in the seniors and what skills and qualities he has for us to have rated him so highly before the draft?

We also put in a bid for Ben Keays before the Dunkley selection. If we had been successful with our bid for Keays do you think we would have taken Collins or Dunkley with the next pick?

11-02-2016, 08:59 PM
I've been very impressed with the way Dunkley handles himself in front of the media and he has obviously fitted in well with the team and is training well.

I'm interested in hearing peoples views on where he will likely play in the seniors and what skills and qualities he has for us to have rated him so highly before the draft?

We also put in a bid for Ben Keays before the Dunkley selection. If we had been successful with our bid for Keays do you think we would have taken Collins or Dunkley with the next pick?

Bevo said at a function last year we were taking Collins no matter what. The entire table at the draft was stoked he made it us. On that I'd say Collins. :)

11-02-2016, 09:24 PM
Bevo said at a function last year we were taking Collins no matter what. The entire table at the draft was stoked he made it us. On that I'd say Collins. :)

It's a bit strange that we bidded on Keays and took Dunkley before selecting Collins if this is the case.

In response to GVG, I think we clearly need another inside mid (how quickly times change) given Clay is unlikely to ever feature prominently, Libba did a knee/no guarantee to return given re-occurrences of ACLs and Koby's foot. Jong is still very much unproven despite a good improvement curve. We were pretty slim in this area last year at times and whilst at 'full strength' we look fine, reality is you're never at full strength. A lot of inside mids do get injured throughout the year too, so more depth is probably needed. At a pick close to 30, we probably saw Dunkley as a - fitting a need and b - best available.

You would think he will shift between a half forward flank and midfield. How much exposure he gets to AFL is hard to gauge. Our list looks pretty strong and he's obviously starting from behind, but typically each year a first year player surprises and he could be that player.

11-02-2016, 09:33 PM
It's a bit strange that we bidded on Keays and took Dunkley before selecting Collins if this is the case.

You want Brisbane & Sydney to pay as high a price as possible if they match you

11-02-2016, 09:35 PM

In response to GVG, I think we clearly need another inside mid (how quickly times change) given Clay is unlikely to ever feature prominently, Libba did a knee/no guarantee to return given re-occurrences of ACLs and Koby's foot. Jong is still very much unproven despite a good improvement curve. We were pretty slim in this area last year at times and whilst at 'full strength' we look fine, reality is you're never at full strength. A lot of inside mids do get injured throughout the year too, so more depth is probably needed. At a pick close to 30, we probably saw Dunkley as a - fitting a need and b - best available.

You would think he will shift between a half forward flank and midfield. How much exposure he gets to AFL is hard to gauge. Our list looks pretty strong and he's obviously starting from behind, but typically each year a first year player surprises and he could be that player.

I've heard it elsewhere that the table was thinking Collins was gone when Hawthorn slowly called Kieran... And couldn't believe he was I play at Hawthorns pick let alone ours. It's not that strange really when you consider that we had the next pick and knew we were going to use that on Collins irrespective of the bids or non-bids on the first pick. It was just strategy that he was taken second. Both boys names were thrown around when we had pick 11. It was a ballsy move to trade down to a consecutive pick, but we won the lottery with the move. I'd love to see Dunkley work towards the engine room, but now I'd look at development and where he would benefit most playing. With Stew out and Stringer allegedly playing more midfield, perhaps forward with some mid time would be the go.

11-02-2016, 09:41 PM
You want Brisbane & Sydney to pay as high a price as possible if they match you

Is there really that much of a difference between the two picks we had points wise?

I've heard it elsewhere that the table was thinking Collins was gone when Hawthorn slowly called Kieran... And couldn't believe he was I play at Hawthorns pick let alone ours. It's not that strange really when you consider that we had the next pick and knew we were going to use that on Collins irrespective of the bids or non-bids on the first pick. It was just strategy that he was taken second. Both boys names were thrown around when we had pick 11. It was a ballsy move to trade down to a consecutive pick, but we won the lottery with the move. I'd love to see Dunkley work towards the engine room, but now I'd look at development and where he would benefit most playing. With Stew out and Stringer allegedly playing more midfield, perhaps forward with some mid time would be the go.

I just find it a little odd that we were apparently so over the moon that Collins was available, yet elected to go another route first. The F/S points system was probably the deciding factor here, but as I said above, was there really a difference between our picks? Anyway - important thing is we got both. I won't go as far to say that we won the lottery yet, no player is a certainty - at least not before having seen them play - but they seem good types. Looking forward to seeing what they can do at both VFL/AFL level this year.

11-02-2016, 09:54 PM
Is there really that much of a difference between the two picks we had points wise?

I just find it a little odd that we were apparently so over the moon that Collins was available, yet elected to go another route first. The F/S points system was probably the deciding factor here, but as I said above, was there really a difference between our picks? Anyway - important thing is we got both. I won't go as far to say that we won the lottery yet, no player is a certainty - at least not before having seen them play - but they seem good types. Looking forward to seeing what they can do at both VFL/AFL level this year.

I mean lottery in the sense if we kept pick 11 we'd have gotten one of them. Trading down got two of the players in the pick 11 discussion. That's a great result for giving up a very high pick. I can't/won't mention everything that Bevo said owing to him trusting a small group of members and bring very, very honest about a few things. Other than to say Collins was a dead set lock, he's very happy with Dunkley and rates The Specimen very highly too and thinks Adcock will be a great influence and still has good afl footy in him. As you say the main thing is we netted some very talented kids and with the right development could be vital cogs around our gun players. There's never been a better time to be a member in my lifetime and can't wait when these boys names are being bandied around the ins/outs threads. Id almost say it's never been harder to pick a best 22 with what I'm hoping to see from last year's draftees McLean, Webb, Cordy, Dale and Daniel

11-02-2016, 10:47 PM

No there wasn't. We bid for Keays and it was matched. We then bid for Dunkley ahead of Collins.

It's sort of plausible that we rated Collins ahead of Dunkley but selected Dunkley first. I gather if the Swans had matched our bid we would have taken Collins and Adams with the next two picks but I'm not 100% certain.

11-02-2016, 11:03 PM

No, but given the choice, what's the downside of making Brisbane & Sydney pay a higher price instead of a lower one?

This sort of thing could have made the difference between Sam Skinner getting to us and going the pick before

11-02-2016, 11:25 PM
No, but given the choice, what's the downside of making Brisbane & Sydney pay a higher price instead of a lower one?

This sort of thing could have made the difference between Sam Skinner getting to us and going the pick before

With Sydney I think I read that the difference in points wouldn't have made any difference at all. Sydney might have matched a pick 35 bid but weren't interested in matching the earlier picks we were likely to have.

12-02-2016, 12:30 AM
With Sydney I think I read that the difference in points wouldn't have made any difference at all. Sydney might have matched a pick 35 bid but weren't interested in matching the earlier picks we were likely to have.

We weren't to know that though

We wanted Collins, then Keays, then Dunkley, then probably Adams if they were both matched

Collins was ours no matter what, so pick Keays & Dunkley first so if they are matched, Brisbane & Sydney have to pay a higher price and move further back in the order, giving us more chance of picking ahead of them at later picks

12-02-2016, 10:06 AM

I see him playing about 10 games this year, his body seems to be quiet mature. He will play some time in the middle as well as on the wings/half forward. I am really looking forward to see how he performs.

12-02-2016, 10:32 AM
I don't think there is anything wrong with having a surplus of players who can win their own ball if most of those players can be effective when they're not in the midfield rotation. Libba is an excellent kick (especially given time and space on his left foot), Bonti is brilliant at distributing the ball, Stringer is a beast, Koby spent half his time playing high forward, etc

A lot of people didn't want Wines because he's an "inside mid" - he's a matchwinner. The old "inside / outside mid" paradigm isn't really a good fit for modern football anymore.

12-02-2016, 11:59 AM
A lot of people didn't want Wines because he's an "inside mid" - he's a matchwinner. The old "inside / outside mid" paradigm isn't really a good fit for modern football anymore.

Yep, it's certainly changed, however there will always be genuine ball winners (Wines, seemingly Dunkley) and those who are better distributing the ball by foot (eg. Dale) but in today's game you really can't afford to be one or the other. You need to be both.

Macrae has turned out to be a great example of this. He can now win his own ball but he still finds space. Wines is a beast too, both selections must make Melbourne cry knowing they went Toumpas.

12-02-2016, 12:37 PM
Macrae has turned out to be a great example of this. He can now win his own ball but he still finds space. Wines is a beast too, both selections must make Melbourne cry knowing they went Toumpas.
Macrae is an exception rather than the rule - HFFer who became a midfielder during his draft year who learned to win his own ball at the elite level.
Big tick to Dalrymple in drafting kids with 'teachibility'

12-02-2016, 12:45 PM
A great example of a player who had been pigeon holed as a pure inside mid for years, but moved into a more varied role would have to be Matty Boyd. Great to have a back flanker who is also a contested ball beast when the need arises.

12-02-2016, 05:22 PM
A great example of a player who had been pigeon holed as a pure inside mid for years, but moved into a more varied role would have to be Matty Boyd. Great to have a back flanker who is also a contested ball beast when the need arises.

It will be sad to see Matty go and I bet he has a great year, but it could be his last with guys like Dunkley in the wings.

15-02-2016, 05:47 PM
It will be sad to see Matty go and I bet he has a great year, but it could be his last with guys like Dunkley in the wings.
Also take into account his new role and Adcock being able to play it (experienced head in the backline).
The end creeps up pretty quickly on some, although Boyd is a Crossy-like freak with training so who knows.

15-02-2016, 10:53 PM
Also take into account his new role and Adcock being able to play it (experienced head in the backline).
The end creeps up pretty quickly on some, although Boyd is a Crossy-like freak with training so who knows.

Started a couple of years later too. But on the other hand he took more than his fair share of bash and crash.

16-02-2016, 01:59 AM

Was probably his long bomb style of kick, most frustrating for supporters, that earned him his reputation.

04-04-2016, 09:15 AM
I've been impressed with Dunkleys strength in one on one contest and has already taken a couple of strong marks one on one indicating to me he is strong through the core and will only get stronger.

It's easy to see why Simon D and co selected him.

04-04-2016, 10:44 AM
I've been impressed with Dunkleys strength in one on one contest and has already taken a couple of strong marks one on one indicating to me he is strong through the core and will only get stronger.

I wish Tommy Boyd had hands like Dunk.

Will be a brute when he moves into the midfield. Looks reasonably athletic, too.

A line up of Libba, Bont, Wallis, Dunkley, Macrae & Stevens is going to put the hurt on for many years to come.

04-04-2016, 10:48 AM
I wish Tommy Boyd had hands like Dunk.

Will be a brute when he moves into the midfield. Looks reasonably athletic, too.

A line up of Libba, Bont, Wallis, Dunkley, Macrae & Stevens is going to put the hurt on for many years to come.

Tom's hands would be far superior to Dunkley's. Tom gets absolutely smashed in marking contests, gets blocked and double teamed. For anyone who questions Tom's hands keep watching that mark against the Pies. The Channel 7 commentary team are full of crap, but they're right when they say that in another 50 games and when Tom further strengthens through the core he will mark most balls in his general vicinity. His marking is elite and will be at AFL level given time.

04-04-2016, 06:25 PM
Laid a big sack on Mzungu and it stuck. Was good viewing. Brings quite a bit of poise to the table as a young kid.

04-04-2016, 09:24 PM
Dunkley looks like a great choice. When he fills out a little he is going to present serious challenges to whoever we are playing against. Imagine, in 12 months time, having him and Clay playing either side of the CHF!

04-04-2016, 10:12 PM
He will develop into a pretty physically imposing player who does most things well.

30-05-2016, 04:11 PM
Thought he was sensational yesterday - could have had 4 goals. 6 tackles, 10 marks and finds the ball. Going to be a gem. Where do we thing he will play going forward? A roaming forward or a big mid in the Clay Smith mould but better above his head? Something else?

30-05-2016, 04:23 PM
Thought he was sensational yesterday - could have had 4 goals. 6 tackles, 10 marks and finds the ball. Going to be a gem. Where do we thing he will play going forward? A roaming forward or a big mid in the Clay Smith mould but better above his head? Something else?

He is very very good overhead - which helps him as a forward at the moment.
Probably difficult to see him going into the midfield at this point given our strength in there, but you'd imagine he'll end up an inside mid at some point down the line.

30-05-2016, 04:32 PM
He is very very good overhead - which helps him as a forward at the moment.
Probably difficult to see him going into the midfield at this point given our strength in there, but you'd imagine he'll end up an inside mid at some point down the line.
He did have a couple of rotations in the middle yesterday, although he did play predominantly forward.
Probably needs a few pre-seasons to get his endurance up to required midfield standard but was very, very, very happy with his game on the weekend.

04-06-2016, 03:07 PM
I always think it's impressive when a young kid gets drafted, forces his way into the starting 22 and then stays there.
In a strong team too.
Well done.

04-06-2016, 04:30 PM
I always think it's impressive when a young kid gets drafted, forces his way into the starting 22 and then stays there.
In a strong team too.
Well done.

He's a very calm and relaxed youngster who's very composed. I sat near him at the Players Sponsors night and he mixed easily with the people on his table and anyone who popped over for a chat. Oh yeah, and he plays footy pretty well.

09-09-2016, 05:45 PM
Who loves this kid - I do. 19 years old, hard as nails, 15 disposals, 4 tackles and two goals.

09-09-2016, 05:52 PM
Who loves this kid - I do. 19 years old, hard as nails, 15 disposals, 4 tackles and two goals.

Yep, there's a lot to like. Sydney let him slip by, I wonder if they thought he could do this straight up? If he can improve his disposal efficiency he will be a dead set star. He and Keiran Collins for our pick 12 last year looks like another list management and recruiting master stroke.

09-09-2016, 05:56 PM
Yep, there's a lot to like. Sydney let him slip by, I wonder if they thought he could do this straight up? If he can improve his disposal efficiency he will be a dead set star. He and Keiran Collins for our pick 12 last year looks like another list management and recruiting master stroke.

last night he was at 73.3%

09-09-2016, 07:46 PM
He's fantastic. Thank God he didn't go to Sydney. Could you imagine that? Our Dunks playing for Sydney?

That'd be annoying.

09-09-2016, 07:55 PM
Super impressed with his intensity in contests. Yes I love this kid!

09-09-2016, 08:49 PM
He already seems a good mark, Imagine when he does a couple more pre seasons and his body hardens, he will be a very very good mark in our forward line.

09-09-2016, 09:31 PM
Don't funk with the Dunk

09-09-2016, 09:32 PM
Don't funk with the Dunk

So says Jack Darling... And his dirty underpants. :D

10-09-2016, 12:15 PM
What a great debut season. Now we know Dalrymple got it right to get him as our no.1 draft pick. It's in his genes, he is a competitive beast. Once that solid frame matures, we'll have a Sunshine Harvester.

10-09-2016, 12:34 PM
How impressive has the kid been in the second half of the season?

He has grown immensely from round 1, it's quite staggering.

Most pleasing was his ball use and finishing on Thursday Night in a massive final. Obviously it's one area of weakness - perhaps his only - but he was superb.

10-09-2016, 01:23 PM
I wonder if his litter brother will be selected by Sydney this time (draft year 2018).

10-09-2016, 02:34 PM
How impressive has the kid been in the second half of the season?

He has grown immensely from round 1, it's quite staggering.

Most pleasing was his ball use and finishing on Thursday Night in a massive final. Obviously it's one area of weakness - perhaps his only - but he was superb.

Love this kid. Added to his ability on field he is the nicest, most unassuming kid you'd ever meet. Quickly becoming my fav and I think he'll be an megastar.

10-09-2016, 02:52 PM
He's been immense.

Every time he's near the ball he impacts the contest. He's such a good size, can mark overhead and hits the scoreboard. Thought he was a very important contributor on Thursday night.

11-09-2016, 01:18 AM
Whilst we rated him as a player, I remember Dal saying that where he really rated off the charts was regarding his character. Will be in the leadership group sooner rather than later. Absolute ripper.

11-09-2016, 02:51 AM
Has a touch of the Luke Hodges about him I reckon.

11-09-2016, 06:18 PM
Been excellent so far this season glad we ended up with him although he might have a Rising Star Medal around his neck if Sydney had of taken him.:rolleyes:

11-09-2016, 06:50 PM
He would have been AA if he'd played for Sydney.

11-09-2016, 10:40 PM
Been hugely impressed with this kid in the second half of the year. Needs to improve his kicking quite a bit and his composure needs improving as well but his contested work is off the charts for a kid. His one on one work & taps to advantage are exceptional and the kid is as tough as they come.

11-09-2016, 11:00 PM
Been hugely impressed with this kid in the second half of the year. Needs to improve his kicking quite a bit and his composure needs improving as well but his contested work is off the charts for a kid. His one on one work & taps to advantage are exceptional and the kid is as tough as they come.

The play where Darling **** himself was great for 2 reasons. One obviously being that Dunks scared the bejeezus out of him, the other was Dunk's clever little tap under pressure to JJ which released him. Was something you'd expect from a gun 200 gamer.

11-09-2016, 11:09 PM
The play where Darling **** himself was great for 2 reasons. One obviously being that Dunks scared the bejeezus out of him, the other was Dunk's clever little tap under pressure to JJ which released him. Was something you'd expect from a gun 200 gamer.

I can think of a lot more than 2 reasons that made that bit of play great. But the fact that this time last year Dunks was playing underage footy and he made Darling shit himself like a big black Alsatian was definitely the best of them.

12-09-2016, 12:48 PM

Absolutely, I do.

I thought some of his best contributions at times were how he was able to lock the ground ball in and not let it spill out to the eagles players. He's a really smart, tough kid. Rarely makes a bad decision - occasionally makes a skill error - but rarely shows bad judgement.

Gave me a heart attack on that goal in the third quarter though.

12-09-2016, 01:01 PM

I thought what the hell is he doing, go back and have a shot, but he nailed it nicely.

12-09-2016, 01:47 PM
I thought what the hell is he doing, go back and have a shot, but he nailed it nicely.

He had 10 metres on the opponent, should have just put the jets on on kicked it from 20 on the run.

12-09-2016, 02:02 PM

They mentioned during the telecast that the player were told to take the full 30 seconds to soak up some time. Think Dunks got caught in two minds because of this. Nailed it anyways so no harm.

12-09-2016, 02:23 PM
Has a touch of the Luke Hodges about him I reckon.

Without the sniping that is too often heralded as bravery

12-09-2016, 02:28 PM
Absolutely, I do.

I thought some of his best contributions at times were how he was able to lock the ground ball in and not let it spill out to the eagles players. He's a really smart, tough kid. Rarely makes a bad decision - occasionally makes a skill error - but rarely shows bad judgement.

As a ruckman though, he's not a patch on Adam Cooney ;)

12-09-2016, 03:45 PM
As a ruckman though, he's not a patch on Adam Cooney ;)

That was clearly a stuff up. For one moment I thought it was a Beveridge tactic.....and I didn't like it.

12-09-2016, 10:55 PM
That was clearly a stuff up. For one moment I thought it was a Beveridge tactic.....and I didn't like it.

There were others who could've gone though, but he was the one who did. Super stuff from a first year player.

12-09-2016, 11:09 PM
Which four players did we have in the centre for that bounce does anyone remember?

13-09-2016, 10:12 AM
Definitely Macrae. And I think the others were Dahlhaus and Liberatore...but I'd have to check. But I recall thinking that Dunkley and Macrae were the tallest two - but Macrae can't jump.

13-09-2016, 01:01 PM
I can think of a lot more than 2 reasons that made that bit of play great. But the fact that this time last year Dunks was playing underage footy and he made Darling shit himself like a big black Alsatian was definitely the best of them.

He played a number of games in Richmond's VFL team last year which would have helped his maturity too.

14-09-2016, 07:00 AM
He played a number of games in Richmond's VFL team last year which would have helped his maturity too.

Richmond? Still he managed to get over it anyway.

17-09-2016, 10:31 AM
Mr September. What a kid. One goal, a poster and another behind.

PBs: Most Kicks 17, Most Inside 50's 8, Most SuperCoach 111, Most AFL Fantasy Pts 116

17-09-2016, 11:52 AM
Mr September. What a kid. One goal, a poster and another behind.

PBs: Most Kicks 17, Most Inside 50's 8, Most SuperCoach 111, Most AFL Fantasy Pts 116

I was keen for him to be dropped more for balance in the latter half of the year. His last two weeks have been sensational.

17-09-2016, 11:57 AM
Fancy looking that composed, that self-assured in a game like that, with an opponent like that, in front of a huge crowd. He is a gem.

17-09-2016, 12:15 PM
The kid is a warrior and born for the battlegrounds of September

17-09-2016, 12:20 PM
Dunks is a gun. So glad we got him. Bad move Swans.

17-09-2016, 12:22 PM
Dunks is a gun. So glad we got him. Bad move Swans.

I think they'll be thinking a lot harder at his younger brother in the 2018 draft.

17-09-2016, 12:41 PM
He is already a beast in the midfield but he is so clever at finding dangerous spots inside forward 50 - goalkicking mids are worth their weight in gold. Not bad for a 19yo first year player.

17-09-2016, 12:49 PM
He is already a beast in the midfield but he is so clever at finding dangerous spots inside forward 50 - goalkicking mids are worth their weight in gold. Not bad for a 19yo first year player.

Early on you'd have Adams as an unbackable favourite for best first year player. Now Dunkley has it in the bag.

17-09-2016, 01:17 PM
So good last night on the biggest of stages. Absolute gun.

17-09-2016, 02:44 PM
I think they'll be thinking a lot harder at his younger brother in the 2018 draft.

What's his name? I already know his surname BTW.

17-09-2016, 03:17 PM
What's his name? I already know his surname BTW.

Kye.

17-09-2016, 08:59 PM
Seriously heavy role this kid has stepped into this year. Normally 19 year old rookie's by this time of year are losing steam. Young Josh has thrived on the big September stage.

If he was a 15-20% better kick of the football , he would've surely been considered a serious contender for number 1 pick last year, so good are his other attributes. I mean his overhead marking, ability to withstand hits & hold his body position in contests, fitness and to cover the ground, plus his composure and strength of will. He's elite in so many important areas.

If anyone can improve his kicking even just a bit, he's going to be another scary long term addition to our contest-monster rich midfield.

17-09-2016, 10:00 PM

Fair to say I'm still impressed with Dunkley's strength in the contest!

17-09-2016, 10:05 PM
Youngest player on the ground last night - he was superb.

18-09-2016, 08:51 AM
Just took a moment to imagine a centre square group of Bont, Macrae and Dunkley when their bodies have had 2-3 more preseasons each. Must send shudders through 17 other clubs.

18-09-2016, 10:09 AM
Just took a moment to imagine a centre square group of Bont, Macrae and Dunkley when their bodies have had 2-3 more preseasons each. Must send shudders through 17 other clubs.

Libba & Wallis playing on the wing? :D

18-09-2016, 08:36 PM
Libba & Wallis playing on the wing? :D

Teams don't start the same 3 in the square every bounce these days, they'll get their share of middle bounces as well as plenty of others :)

05-10-2016, 01:39 AM
Here's a great list to head. Youngest ever VFL/AFL premiership Bulldogs:

Josh Dunkley (19y 267d) - 17 games
Ron McCarthy (19y 326d) - 35
Zaine Cordy (19y 340d) - 11
Ron Stockman (20y 38d) - 24
John Kerr (20y 73d) - 29
Caleb Daniel (20y 87d) - 34
Arthur Edwards (20y 114d) - 41
Don Ross (20y 218d) - 56
Toby McLean (20y 245d) - 19
Marcus Bontempelli (20y 312d) - 63
Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37
Ted Whitten (21y 61d) - 66

05-10-2016, 01:46 AM
Look at how close Whitten and Bontempelli are in age and games played in their first premiership.

Bont will play in a lot more.

23-02-2017, 10:49 AM

John Kerr (20y 73d) - 29
Don Ross (20y 218d) - 56
Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

I bet Josh is so happy to have been chosen by the Bulldogs, instead of heading to Sydney where is father was a champion, but without a premiership.

Some highlights of his first year:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1dAAdUGxT0

I thought he was another one who was so important in the finals, especially the first half of the West Coke and the Hawthorn finals.

23-02-2017, 11:28 AM
Premiership in 1st year, dating a Miss Universe contestant.. Life is pretty good for Josh.

23-02-2017, 11:29 AM
Premiership in 1st year, dating a Miss Universe contestant.. Life is pretty good for Josh.

Hes nearly as good as me...

23-02-2017, 11:35 AM
This kid is best 22 and I reckon he'll play early rounds due to strong VFL form. Kicks like his old man though both hands off the ball too early.

28-02-2017, 03:36 PM
Reckon he has really got something about him, young Josh. A bit of an intangible, but I thought he was able to play some of his best footy when we were struggling as a team or when the games got tough. Examples are his game against Collingwood at the G' where we really struggled, the first half in the semi where we trailed the Hawks and he was brilliant. And his contested ball numbers were really good in all of the finals, and some other high intensity games during the season (Port, the Saints loss, the close North & Pies wins)

28-02-2017, 05:01 PM
Reckon he has really got something about him, young Josh. A bit of an intangible, but I thought he was able to play some of his best footy when we were struggling as a team or when the games got tough. Examples are his game against Collingwood at the G' where we really struggled, the first half in the semi where we trailed the Hawks and he was brilliant. And his contested ball numbers were really good in all of the finals, and some other high intensity games during the season (Port, the Saints loss, the close North & Pies wins)

The wraps on him pre-draft were that he steps up and plays his best football in big games. It certainly rung true in his first season.

13-06-2017, 08:59 PM
Two year extension for Dunks.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2017-06-13/new-dogs-deal-for-dunkley

14-06-2017, 12:17 PM
Great news.

14-06-2017, 08:26 PM
He has some limitations, but his value far outweighs that. Was an important player in the finals and will continue to improve areas of his game - we're missing him at the moment.

14-06-2017, 08:44 PM
I see Dunks as a similar type to a pre knee injuries Clay Smith. Both competitive beasts, good marks for their size & football maturity beyond their years. Neither blessed with an abundance of pace or elite kicking skills but very valuable to the spirit and toughness of the team fabric

14-06-2017, 08:57 PM
This is great news.

14-06-2017, 11:04 PM
Great news.

16-06-2017, 06:14 PM
Went to the Inside the Kennel function this week where Dunks was a guest - he was visibly happy with the contract extension. Very mature young man and great to hear him speak on the night.

17-06-2017, 02:56 AM
6 players there who are less than 22 years old. What a great list to build a core around for the next 10 years hopefully! Add to mix 22-26 group which I dont have on had for the moment. But loved seeing the above list.

Zaine Cordy (19y 340d -11'games

Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

17-06-2017, 12:13 PM
5 players there who are less than 22 years old. What a great list to build a core around for the next 10 years hopefully! Add to mix 22-26 group which I dont have on had for the moment. But loved seeing the above list.

What list macca?

17-06-2017, 03:00 PM
What list macca?

List that PeanutsPeanuts posted of youngest players playing with a premiership. It's incredible list for such a young age.Apologies , edited original post

CorrectiOn 6 players

Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

17-06-2017, 04:54 PM
List that PeanutsPeanuts posted of youngest players playing with a premiership. It's incredible list for such a young age.Apologies , edited original post

CorrectiOn 6 players

Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

That is a bloody good list. I love the fact that they are all premiership players.

18-06-2017, 11:45 AM

John Kerr (20y 73d) - 29
Don Ross (20y 218d) - 56
Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

The 2016 Western Bulldogs premiership team had a combined games experience of 1809 matches.

By contrast, the 2015 Hawthorn premiership team had 3670 games experience.

Let that sink in, we won a flag with half of the experience of the previous premiers.

18-06-2017, 12:17 PM

John Kerr (20y 73d) - 29
Don Ross (20y 218d) - 56
Tom Boyd (21y 42d) - 37

With two less players (20 v 22) the '54 team still has 5 players on that list. Despite that youth that group pretty much disappeared down the pan. It pulled its collective finger out halfway through the '55 season and missed the top 4 by half a game from memory. Made the 1956 fnals won the first week but lost the prelim. One player, EJ, from that team played in our next Grand Final seven years later.

11-08-2017, 06:06 PM
Welcome back Josh! To slip straight back in after just one game for Footscray shows how highly we rate him internally.

11-08-2017, 11:21 PM
I heard like Tim Emglish he had a minor car accident on the way into Etihad, but missed playing the game tonight. A shame, he's a promising kid.

12-08-2017, 12:07 AM
I heard like Tim Emglish he had a minor car accident on the way into Etihad, but missed playing the game tonight. A shame, he's a promising kid.

Was he named?

12-08-2017, 12:09 AM
Was he named?

Dunkley? Apparently.

12-08-2017, 12:16 AM
Dunkley? Apparently.

Ahh....misunderstood your post.

12-08-2017, 01:00 AM

Couldn't you find any easier targets to pot at the end of the night than a 19 year old first up off a long spell? Had the most tackles of any player on the ground tonight (8 out of our pitiful 58).

12-08-2017, 10:19 AM
Couldn't you find any easier targets to pot at the end of the night than a 19 year old first up off a long spell? Had the most tackles of any player on the ground tonight (8 out of our pitiful 58).

I felt he had no impact on the game among others. The biggest criticism I have is shoving so many mid paced mids into the side, and then being placed forward where they generally have no impact. Dunkley falls into that category, and at times Davis was taking Wallis and smashing him. Smith hs not fired a shot this year, same with Libba. There's a very good reason why these guys, including Dunkley last night, are having a poor season collectively. But I still maintain that Dunkley and the various other names ('easier targets') I've mentioned in other threads had either poor or ineffectual nights. In fact it's pretty hard to find a good number of players that won their position.

12-08-2017, 10:58 AM
Dunkley may be short of a trot with only one game back but I would have like to see him have a go at Shiel for a bit of the time he was running rings around Libba and Stringer.

12-08-2017, 11:12 AM
Shiel would murder Dunks. We miss Jong.

12-08-2017, 11:21 AM
Second game back is always tougher. We rolled the dice in the same way we did first final last year and it didn't come off with the ins.

And to be fair to Dunks, he still gave us more than Stringer who was (and has been all year, bar a half against the Saints) completely anonymous.

25-08-2018, 10:43 AM
Josh Dunkley has been one of our most improved players this year.

He's averaging over 20 disposals, kicks goals (accuracy needs to improve like many others), wins contested ball and clearances, is strong overhead and be a go to marking option, tackles fiercely. Looking back at the Octocall for Biggsy yesterday, Dunkley had a number of involvements in that too - he seems to rise to big moments and when he plays well the team does.

So what are your expectations for Dunkley? How good can he become and where will he play most of his footy next year?

25-08-2018, 10:54 AM
I think he’s a freak and will become one of the league’s rare breed of genuine forward of centre active marking/goal kicking accumulators.

He’s always going to be a bit shaky in front of goal, but due to his nouse, size and natural talent he’ll get more opportunities than most midfielders to have an impact on the scoreboard.

25-08-2018, 11:07 AM
I think he’s a freak and will become one of the league’s rare breed of genuine forward of centre active marking/goal kicking accumulators.

He’s always going to be a bit shaky in front of goal, but due to his nouse, size and natural talent he’ll get more opportunities than most midfielders to have an impact on the scoreboard.

He's going to be a forward half quarterback. I know it's a position that doesn't actually exist but Josh will do at centre half forward what Murph used to do at centre half back. Get by himself, catch and distribute.

25-08-2018, 10:35 PM
Love this kid. He is so reliable in the contest and his work rate and footy smarts are first rate. Only 21 years old and 43 games in.

25-08-2018, 10:55 PM
Josh Dunkley has been one of our most improved players this year.

He's averaging over 20 disposals, kicks goals (accuracy needs to improve like many others), wins contested ball and clearances, is strong overhead and be a go to marking option, tackles fiercely. Looking back at the Octocall for Biggsy yesterday, Dunkley had a number of involvements in that too - he seems to rise to big moments and when he plays well the team does.

So what are your expectations for Dunkley? How good can he become and where will he play most of his footy next year?

He has plenty of ability, there just needs to be smaller gap between his good and bad games and if he improves his goal kicking then he becomes a vastly more dangerous player.

I'd leave him to float between forward and midfield duties with the odd stint as a tagger.

26-08-2018, 09:00 AM
Only 1 game under 25 disposals (23) in his last 9. Certainly has stepped it up

26-08-2018, 10:56 AM
Would love it if his kicking was 10-15% better but has so many other good attributes (contested bull, great overhead, tough) that it outweighs his kicking issues.

26-08-2018, 11:02 AM
Dunkley will be our new Clay Smith, the one we were hoping to see 200 games of, without the ACLs.

26-08-2018, 11:12 AM
Would love it if his kicking was 10-15% better but has so many other good attributes (contested bull, great overhead, tough) that it outweighs his kicking issues.

And that's about all it needs to be from an improvement perspective. He's got a great attitude and he's fearless so he will become an important player for us.

26-08-2018, 11:13 AM
Dunkley will be our new Clay Smith, the one we were hoping to see 200 games of, without the ACLs.

He's always been a good kid, but this year he's looked like a real man. Unbelievably strong and just a great competitor. Plus by all reports he's an awesome kid too. Happy to have him in our colours.

26-08-2018, 11:23 AM
He's always been a good kid, but this year he's looked like a real man. Unbelievably strong and just a great competitor. Plus by all reports he's an awesome kid too. Happy to have him in our colours.

Yep. Looking in the career best thread, he has upped his output considerably since coming back from the VFL. Breaking career best disposals four times in the last part of the year which is pretty impressive; hitting 27, 30, 34 & 36 total disposals. His performance curve shot up incredibly, now the key for him is to keep it going up by tidying some kicking up and nailing gettable set shots consistently. With another preseason to get even stronger and fitter, he's on my list of players to watch closely in 2019.

26-08-2018, 02:20 PM

How was that handball from Greene to Dunkley and snap for goal - loved it.

26-08-2018, 02:35 PM
We were begging for the recruiters to headhunt a big-bodied mid earlier this year but it turns out we had him all along and were playing him way out of position. I'm glad that he hasn't looked back over the past couple of months

26-03-2023, 10:12 AM
Two games in and what a hole he's left. Last night was the sort of game he'd stand out in.

Do we have anyone on our list capable of putting in the 2 way effort that Josh had?

26-03-2023, 10:15 AM
Aaron Naughton. Fast, big, angry. Put him in the middle.

I'm joking. No I'm not.

26-03-2023, 10:19 AM
Did West or Garcia get a run in the middle last night I did notice them.
Both of them tried hard and will be better for the run.

26-03-2023, 10:47 AM
Two games in and what a hole he's left. Last night was the sort of game he'd stand out in.

Do we have anyone on our list capable of putting in the 2 way effort that Josh had?

Shouldn't last night be an example of how you need a whole team to work together? Yes Dunks is quality but if plays last night the result doesn't change.

26-03-2023, 11:21 AM

He's been a good performer and obviously won our B&F but with Macrae down on form and perhaps effort and Treloar injured losing Dunks is hurting us a lot more than we really wanted to acknowledge.

26-03-2023, 11:30 AM
Shouldn't last night be an example of how you need a whole team to work together? Yes Dunks is quality but if plays last night the result doesn't change.

Last night was an example of where someone can/should stand up and try and drag others with them. Apart from Naughton and Bont did anyone else do that?

Dunkley was probs our best at when the going gets tough....

26-03-2023, 11:36 AM
He's been a good performer and obviously won our B&F but with Macrae down on form and perhaps effort and Treloar injured losing Dunks is hurting us a lot more than we really wanted to acknowledge.

Yeah his absence is more obvious on nights like last night. I am hoping West can seize this opportunity.

26-03-2023, 12:19 PM
Yeah his absence is more obvious on nights like last night. I am hoping West can seize this opportunity.

Thought he was trying really hard. Didn’t quite get it out of him, but you could see he was going hell for leather for little reward at times.

26-03-2023, 12:33 PM
Did West or Garcia get a run in the middle last night I did notice them.
Both of them tried hard and will be better for the run.

I think West had some run through there late. I was just watching my clock at that point though so not entirely sure.

26-03-2023, 01:31 PM
I can't believe the Trade Dunkley thread got closed. We've had to revert to 'welcome to the Bulldogs'!

26-03-2023, 06:36 PM
Dunkley has never been a match winner.

26-03-2023, 06:39 PM
Nah, Dunkley has never been a match winner.

Who said he was?

26-03-2023, 06:43 PM
Who said he was?

Just saying in general.

Edit: Chef I took your quote out as I see how you thought I was directing it at you.

26-03-2023, 07:47 PM
Just saying in general.

Edit: Chef I took your quote out as I see how you thought I was directing it at you.

Take him off the macaroon list Chef. Spurious assumptions.