View Full Version : Game Day Round 23 2015 - Brisbane Lions V Western Bulldogs

04-09-2015, 08:08 PM
Margin: Dogs by 75 points - Lets really get a big percentage boosting win

First Goal: Dickson to get our first

Best On Ground: Hunter to be our best with Wallis up there as well with Bonts and Macrae also

bulldogtragic predictions - Ill guess maybe 200 points :) :) Be an interesting one

Been very happy to do the game day threads this year again and will do them again for season 2016 and for the upcoming final series.

04-09-2015, 11:56 PM
Margin: Dogs by 121
1st Goal: Stringer
BOG: Hunter

05-09-2015, 12:09 AM
WB by 34
First Goal Redpath
BOG Dahlhaus

05-09-2015, 12:12 AM
Heading up on the early flight tomorrow and coming home later tomorrow night. First trip to the GABBA is hopefully a victorious one launching us into a strong finals capaign.

05-09-2015, 01:10 AM
Dogs by 44, but I'm hoping for a lot more.
First Goal: Striiiiinnnggggeeerrrrrr.
BOG Wally

05-09-2015, 08:10 AM
Dogs by 39
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Bontempelli.

05-09-2015, 08:48 AM
Dogs by 67
First goal Stringer
BOG Stringer

We need to finish off the year with a big win and really put the foot down. It's the last chance for a number of players to audition for the finals side too, so I'm expecting the likes of Daniel, Cordy, Honeychurch and Webb to really want to impress. Hamling and Redpath probably fall into the same boat, albeit both seem likely to play the following week.

Also interested to see how Roberts goes in his first game back.

05-09-2015, 09:03 AM
Dogs by 110 {read that on woof :)}
1st goal Redpath
BOG Mitch Wallis

Big thanks to Easty on keeping this thread rolling

05-09-2015, 11:36 AM
Scrays by 61
First major: Crameri
BOG: Macrae

The Stringermonster to gorge on low hanging fruit and finish with a lazy 8.

05-09-2015, 11:43 AM
I will be at the Gabba today to watch this I am quite excited.
Dogs by either 25 or 125
FG Tory
BOG Dahl

05-09-2015, 12:32 PM
I will be at the Gabba today to watch this I am quite excited.
Dogs by either 25 or 125
FG Tory
BOG Dahl

You know what, by my calculations, if we did win by 125 points today, (say 175 to 50), we'd take 5th place by 0.3% over Richmond.... and if Sydney lost by 5 goals or more, we'd nab 4th and the double chance... long shot, i know - so i shan't be greedy... A 125 point win will do!

05-09-2015, 12:37 PM
You know what, by my calculations, if we did win by 125 points today, (say 175 to 50), we'd take 5th place by 0.3% over Richmond.... and if Sydney lost by 5 goals or more, we'd nab 4th and the double chance... long shot, i know - so i shan't be greedy... A 125 point win will do!

So North at the G in preference of the Crows at Etihad?

05-09-2015, 12:46 PM
[QUOTE=Webby;459264]You know what, by my calculations, if we did win by 125 points today, (say 175 to 50), we'd take 5th place by 0.3% over Richmond.... and if Sydney lost by 5 goals or more, we'd nab 4th and the double chance... long shot, i know

I reckon any Syd loss, even by a couple of points, will see them below Tiges (and, hopefully, us). Still a longshot admittedly.

05-09-2015, 01:08 PM
Looking for big win today so we take the same form into the finals. Dogs by 10 goals.
Caleb to first goal
Bont to get the Brownlow votes

05-09-2015, 01:11 PM
Dogs by 25 pts ( reckon lions want to end on a high)
Bog Jake
1st goal Redpath ( needs a decent game )

05-09-2015, 01:14 PM
Heading up on the early flight tomorrow and coming home later tomorrow night. First trip to the GABBA is hopefully a victorious one launching us into a strong finals capaign.

rub it in. I am so envious. Maybe next year...

Dogs by 30 points
BOG: The Hunter
1st Goal: The Package
Sub: Mikey

05-09-2015, 01:30 PM
Sub: Caleb Daniel

05-09-2015, 01:35 PM
Dogs by 82
First goal-Dicko
BOG-Macca

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 01:41 PM
Am I the only one quite nervous? Only have about 1030 games experience and they have some decent players through each line.. They should have little motivation to win though and have had some troubles so we should get the job done

Dogs by 32
Dahlhaus
BOG - Hunter

05-09-2015, 01:53 PM
Am I the only one quite nervous? Only have about 1030 games experience and they have some decent players through each line.. They should have little motivation to win though and have had some troubles so we should get the job done

Dogs by 32
Dahlhaus
BOG - Hunter

Beveridge has given them motivation. He said half a dozen other players want to play finals.

05-09-2015, 01:57 PM
First Doggies game I've been to in 5yrs. Looking forward to it. So glad we've not rested half the side! Just hope i don't get a call from the wife saying she's in labour!

Dogs by 50
First goal: Crameri
BOG: Bontempelli

05-09-2015, 02:49 PM
Roughy slots it for the first!

05-09-2015, 02:50 PM
Roughy 1st goalkicker 2 weeks in a row as starting ruckman.

05-09-2015, 02:51 PM
Strong mark to Honeychurch, plus the 50 (umps hot on that so far) and goal!

05-09-2015, 02:54 PM
5th youngest team in the afl since 2000!

05-09-2015, 02:56 PM
This feels like a practice match.

05-09-2015, 02:57 PM

Agree. We are just going through the motions.

05-09-2015, 02:57 PM

And a bruise free praccy match at it. No feeling at all.

05-09-2015, 03:01 PM
That was a good play by the men.

05-09-2015, 03:02 PM
Liking Webb off half back. Lovely disposal.

05-09-2015, 03:03 PM
Biggs has had plenty of it.

05-09-2015, 03:10 PM
Love the straight kicking

05-09-2015, 03:10 PM
Zorko should be playing for us. He's been our most impactful player right now.

05-09-2015, 03:12 PM
I love you dogs

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:13 PM
Just fun to watch!

05-09-2015, 03:13 PM
I love you dogs

You will also be happy to know Geelong by 31 points

05-09-2015, 03:14 PM
Zorko should be playing for us. He's been our most impactful player right now.

Set up a few for us. They've been putrid by foot.

05-09-2015, 03:16 PM
Set up a few for us. They've been putrid by foot.

Their skills aren't even VFL standard. This could be the worst skills side I've ever seen at the top level.

05-09-2015, 03:17 PM
Who is acting captain today?

05-09-2015, 03:17 PM
Crameri just won the golden fist award!

05-09-2015, 03:18 PM
Who is acting captain today?

The vice of course - Roughy:)

05-09-2015, 03:19 PM
OK this is weird. Do we want to 'ease up' so we don't lose an interstate advantage?

05-09-2015, 03:21 PM
Youngest team in yonks, playing interstate and an 8 goal Q1 still feels like we're on the bit. Jeez we're flying.

Wonder if they'll put the foot to the floor and go for the 20 goal+ margin (to maintain slim top 4 hopes) or conserve energy in the warm conditions in preparation for next week.

05-09-2015, 03:21 PM
Only 6 clangers as a team for the quarter. Pretty efficient footy.

Good that the cats are doing right be us too.

05-09-2015, 03:22 PM
OK this is weird. Do we want to 'ease up' so we don't lose an interstate advantage?

If easing up meant no injuries, then I'm ok. I'm happy with Adealide over North. But we have beaten both this year, so wherever happens happens.

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:24 PM
I'm gonna be selfish and say ease up as the Saturday night suits me much more than the Sunday of a north final.. Haha

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Alright stop easing up now..

05-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Alright stop easing up now..

Now foot back down on the accelerator.

05-09-2015, 03:29 PM
Getting beaten in the centre

05-09-2015, 03:30 PM
Awesome tackling from a footballing superstar in MB

05-09-2015, 03:31 PM
You will also be happy to know Geelong by 31 points

Following that closely brother. You know me too well.

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:32 PM
This really isn't good.. Very lazy in the defensive 50.

05-09-2015, 03:34 PM
This is not good enough, we haven't had our hands on the ball at all

05-09-2015, 03:34 PM
We'd want to pull our thumbs from our arses fairly promptly.

05-09-2015, 03:35 PM
Do they know we have finals next week?

05-09-2015, 03:35 PM
Please don't let Roberts kick out Please

05-09-2015, 03:36 PM
Cmon Geelong.

05-09-2015, 03:36 PM
Roughead making a good case for not rucking next week.

05-09-2015, 03:37 PM
Last night Lynch said NM players playing for careers, Rich players playing not to get hurt.

Today is the same.

05-09-2015, 03:37 PM
Goodes third touch, joins Grant, Macrae

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:38 PM
We are lucky they are 7-11.. This is embarrassing.

05-09-2015, 03:39 PM

Great call.

05-09-2015, 03:39 PM
Okay I'm not having fun any more.

05-09-2015, 03:40 PM
Ouch.

Lukewarm Beveridge
Great call.

Just as guilty.

This is what happens when a bunch of young men with large egos believe their own hype.

Playing like a bunch of lazy twerps at the moment.

05-09-2015, 03:43 PM
Wake up Dogs!

05-09-2015, 03:44 PM
Finally Stringer!!

05-09-2015, 03:45 PM
Grant run down into the goal square again in another match behind the opposition. He does it every week, just doesn't get given it.

05-09-2015, 03:45 PM
I'm sure Goodes got a game just to bump up our average age.

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:46 PM
Adelaide running all over Geelong it seems.. More to play for so should get the win.. We need to lift!

05-09-2015, 03:52 PM
Grant run down into the goal square again in another match behind the opposition. He does it every week, just doesn't get given it.

He obviously isn't loud enough on the field - because it does happen often. Got to make sure you are heard.

05-09-2015, 03:53 PM
If Zaines elbow made connection he would've had his first suspension. He likes to hurt.

05-09-2015, 03:54 PM
Yes we have responded.

05-09-2015, 03:56 PM
What a rubbish decision to finish the quarter. Game on

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:57 PM
That decision got what it deserved..
Cats responding.

05-09-2015, 03:57 PM
Hopefully we have one of those "Good third quarter" games... Pathetic that quarter.

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 03:59 PM
Reminds me of last time we played them.. Get to good lead then let them back in it.. Hopefully go on a similar run.

05-09-2015, 04:03 PM
17 tackles to 1/2 time says it all, given we've had almost 100 less possessions. Thank goodness for Bont, doing everything.

05-09-2015, 04:05 PM
Hopefully we have one of those "Good third quarter" games... Pathetic that quarter.

They were bad but managed to turn the game around late in that quarter which was a good sign. Got to put the foot down this quarter. This stays close up until the 4th we could be in trouble.

05-09-2015, 04:05 PM
What an insipid effort. Couldn't get any grumpier.

Bruise free footy. We have made Richmond look good in comparison!

05-09-2015, 04:06 PM
Wondering how much is about management. Really rotating that midfield with the B team getting loads of minutes. Our forward press is on and off too. Almost playing like old school forward pockets who are just there to rest and snag a goal or two. This puts pressure on our very young backline. I am not worried because I believe if we go 100%, we will win comfortably...just a dangerous game if we keep turning on/off.

05-09-2015, 04:07 PM
Pretty piss poor effort considering a home final is on the line.

Losing Clearances, Stoppages, cont. poss., tackles - weak effort.

90 down in possessions is appalling. Bont the only one standing up in the middle.

05-09-2015, 04:10 PM
90 down in possessions is appalling. Bont the only one standing up in the middle.

He was the one that swung that momentum our way. I'm still keeping my fingers crossed Geelong get up even though I'll lose the footy tipping.

05-09-2015, 04:16 PM
Macrae, Goodes, Crameri, Grant need to pull a finger out,

05-09-2015, 04:16 PM
Apparently TBoyd and Campbell didn't line up for Footscray

05-09-2015, 04:19 PM
Go CATS. Current score 97-67 ;)

Apparently TBoyd and Campbell didn't line up for Footscray

Unless injured, that's weird.

Lukewarm Beveridge
crows just about gone so home final nearly assured but just wanna see some good footy!

Cats up by 30. This game's a dead rubber. Lets just get through it without an injury

Looks like the Cats are doing the job for us. Perhaps the Crows will shut up shop now.

05-09-2015, 04:23 PM
Lucky Adelaide getting done by 5 goals

05-09-2015, 04:25 PM
Just listening to the game. Not sure if we deserve to win this one at the moment. Lions working pretty hard.

05-09-2015, 04:27 PM
How stupid are Brisbane
Might blow first pick

05-09-2015, 04:28 PM
I am so frustrated watching this insipid performance. Totally embarrassing football

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 04:29 PM
I am so frustrated watching this insipid performance. Totally embarrassing football
exactly how I feel. It's painful to watch..

I don't know how hard we're going or whatever, but Stef Martin's dominance is really concerning.

How stupid are Brisbane
Might blow first puck

No they are not, they can't believe how bad we are.

05-09-2015, 04:31 PM

My theory is we haven't rested heaps so we can turn it on/off if need be for home final. This has to be management. Surely!

05-09-2015, 04:31 PM
In fact they don't want to win, they keep missing goals. Lions should be 8 goals up.

05-09-2015, 04:33 PM
Since we got our 5 goal lead our game has reminded me of Freo vs Saints. They are getting disposals at will. Crazy that we are only 4 points down.

Geelong going to win.

Just no injuries, it's a dead rubber now.

The Bont is a class above

Bont doing it all for us at the moment!

The Bont is off the charts good.

Geelong going to win.

Just no injuries, it's a dead rubber now.

You want momentum going into finals - this is bullshit

Interesting to see who we sub out now a home final is ours.

05-09-2015, 04:35 PM

I'm not saying lose. I'm saying our spot is locked, so running backwards into a pack by Bonts etc risking breaking their face isn't necessary.

05-09-2015, 04:36 PM

Fans were doubting our approach to the Eagles game, then look at our North performance.

Do we go 100% in a nothing game in hot conditions? For me it's all about next week. We play well, I do not care if we lost by 120 points today.

05-09-2015, 04:38 PM
Crameri limping off the field :(

05-09-2015, 04:39 PM
I'm not saying lose. I'm saying our spot is locked, so running backwards into a pack by Bonts etc risking breaking their face isn't necessary.

Like Crammers knee, that contest is less important than him playing next week. Or so I think.

Lukewarm Beveridge
05-09-2015, 04:40 PM
Do not wanna see Brett Goodes in an AFL Guernsey ever again..

05-09-2015, 04:41 PM

No, but the team looking like they're interested is. This is disgusting.

05-09-2015, 04:42 PM
We should have played Lin Jong instead of Goodes. We won't need him in the final and he doesn't suit our running game.

05-09-2015, 04:44 PM
Interesting to see who we sub out now a home final is ours.

I'd get Bont off now and sit Stringer on the bench for the last quarter.

We should have played Lin Jong instead of Goodes. We won't need him in the final and he doesn't suit our running game.

Was just a respectful last game.

Lukewarm Beveridge
Too bloody cute.
That was very average from Wallis.. Should've given straight to Dahl

05-09-2015, 04:45 PM
I think Cremeri is subbed off.

05-09-2015, 04:46 PM
I wouldn't worry too much but we still need to go for the win.

This is embarrassing. Worst we have played all year by a mile.

We are gone, and if we continue, gone for the year!

No one can blame Talia which has been a common theme

05-09-2015, 04:47 PM

In large we don't pick players mainly based on their form so while I'm surprised we are aren't playing better I'm not surprised we have dropped a level after a great 1st quarter.

05-09-2015, 04:48 PM
Grant should have kicked that

05-09-2015, 04:48 PM
Was just a respectful last game.
A home final was on the line and why would we gift game to anyone which are not part of the plan going forward?

05-09-2015, 04:49 PM
Bobby, Boydy, Boydy, Bmorris.

That's a bloody big increase in talent, poise, run and defence. This game means nothing now, it's just 30 minutes that can only injure us. Winning or losing narrowly means nothing.

05-09-2015, 04:49 PM
Crameri doesn't look happy.

05-09-2015, 04:50 PM
Bonts, Stringer, Dahl, Mitch and Wood to rotate between bench and sitting down on ground.

05-09-2015, 04:50 PM
No one can blame Talia which has been a common theme

You will no doubt note Goodes will be filling the void today. ;)

05-09-2015, 04:51 PM
My god there is some over reactions on here.
The game is effectively a dead rubber, and the players are playing accordingly.
Perspective please, and less hysteria

05-09-2015, 04:52 PM

Why?

North didn't care. Freo don't care. Adelaide don't have it. Losing to West Coast didn't hurt us against North.

Agree 100% Remi

A home final was on the line and why would we gift game to anyone which are not part of the plan going forward?

I agree with you that Jong offers more going forward but Jong vs Goodes today was 50/50 if you ask me in terms of what they could bring. With that in mind I reckon Goodes got the nod out of respect. He's done a lot of good for the club off the field and it will very likely be his last game of AFL football.

05-09-2015, 04:53 PM

But it's so ANNOYING. I hope Goodes lines up that little twerp Green, giving it to a 2nd gamer as you play your first good game for the season in a dead rubber is cool and he should feel really big about it.

05-09-2015, 04:53 PM
Fans were doubting our approach to the Eagles game, then look at our North performance.

Do we go 100% in a nothing game in hot conditions? For me it's all about next week. We play well, I do not care if we lost by 120 points today.
Yep, share your sentiments 100%. This had banana skin written all over it. Not watching the game but if the conditions are hot and the opposition desperate not to get the spoon (they'll get Schache in any event) I don't blame us at all for going half rat power.

The Geelong results in the last 3 rounds have been a godsend.

05-09-2015, 04:54 PM
If I followed Brisbane I'd be annoyed it's taken until round 23 to show something, and I'd be more annoyed we'd miss out on the first pick

05-09-2015, 04:54 PM

Go and have a lay down.

05-09-2015, 04:55 PM
In large we don't pick players mainly based on their form so while I'm surprised we are aren't playing better I'm not surprised we have dropped a level after a great 1st quarter.

I've just seen the first quarter on free to air which was delayed. If truth be told the first quarter wasn't anything fantastic, more Brisbane have poor disposal and missing getable goals.

Weird game of bruise free footy.

Either way, bring on next week.

But it's so ANNOYING. I hope Goodes lines up that little twerp Green, giving it to a 2nd gamer as you play your first good game for the season in a dead rubber is cool and he should feel really big about it.

Green's a front runner

You will no doubt note Goodes will be filling the void today. ;)

I hate to be the one pointing it out but not AFL STANDARD. I really question Beveridge taking him out of the VFL side who really need him.

7 DISPOSALS - what is he doing out there.:D

... I reckon Goodes got the nod out of respect. He's done a lot of good for the club off the field and it will very likely be his last game of AFL football.

:) And now he 's the whipping boy for the round ;) ... in his last game of AFL.

05-09-2015, 04:56 PM
Why?

North didn't care. Freo don't care. Adelaide don't have it. Losing to West Coast didn't hurt us against North.

It's effectively a self preservation type situation that happens .

05-09-2015, 04:56 PM
Given our outs were MBoyd, Morris and Bob, selected an older big bodied back flanker like Goodes was not unreasonable. He has been poor though.

05-09-2015, 04:57 PM
:) And now he 's the whipping boy for the round ;) ... in his last game of AFL.

Yeah he almost always was. He's done well for himself. Pity he couldn't have had a better day today.

05-09-2015, 05:01 PM
Why?

I prefer a winning culture not a losing culture.

Hawks don't think that way, that is why they have win so many premierships in the last 50 years, more than any other club.

Nice kick by Grant. Redpath didn't get moved a cm.

I am hating this game. Only bad things can happen.

05-09-2015, 05:02 PM
I hate to be the one pointing it out but not AFL STANDARD. I really question Beveridge taking him out of the VFL side who really need him.

7 DISPOSALS - what is he doing out there.:D

Had a bad day? Have a bex and a kip

05-09-2015, 05:03 PM
Come on!

So you can man manage and try to win. Who would da thunk it?

Lukewarm Beveridge
String warming himself up before he owns the G.

Had a bad day? Have a bex and a kip

Mate *!*!*!*! OFF

05-09-2015, 05:05 PM
Mate *!*!*!*! OFF

You are a dill.

05-09-2015, 05:07 PM
Mate *!*!*!*! OFF

You're acting like a 5 year old
Grow up

05-09-2015, 05:08 PM
You are a dill.

Yeah I know but I don't need another dill to tell me.:D

05-09-2015, 05:09 PM
You're acting like a 5 year old
Grow up

Keep your comments to football perhaps.

Mate *!*!*!*! OFF

You're better than that BAD, cmon.

Gee Zaines been pretty average today.

05-09-2015, 05:10 PM
C'mon guys I bet will come out all guns blazing next week.

2 point game. Stick to the footy maybe.

Well done Jack 3 goals
You will be in next week

05-09-2015, 05:11 PM
Why all the angst
This is a nothing game

05-09-2015, 05:11 PM
I can't believe that some woofers are fighting. We are in the finals for peats sake where no one thought we'd even make.

05-09-2015, 05:14 PM
Not sure a Roughy/ Redpath ruck duo is the answer next week.

05-09-2015, 05:14 PM
Brisbane are last spot on the ladder. Dead game or not, we'll be playing finals next week having just lost to last spot on the ladder. I don't like that!

05-09-2015, 05:15 PM
How is the Roughead vs Martin match-up going?

Great work from Daniel

Daniel!! Play of the day.

Wow. Didn't see Liam Jones do that. You little gun Caleb!!

Hows the centre bounce by the umpire? Surely they should throw it up after so many errors.

Not sure a Roughy/ Redpath ruck duo is the answer next week.

You might have just answered my question.

Daniel has to play next week. His footy IQ will be invaluable in finals.

Martin killing him

05-09-2015, 05:17 PM
Far out. This game is really frustrating to watch. Bottom team playing like a top 4 side & we can't stay on top of them.

05-09-2015, 05:18 PM

Martin is BOG. Smashed our rucks.

Daniel has to play next week. His footy IQ will be invaluable in finals.

He will be in the side for sure.

Martin killing him

Thanks, I was hoping for a better match-up.

05-09-2015, 05:19 PM
Martin killing him

30 touches and 45 hit outs.. BOG.

It's fun reading this thread. Get the 4 points dogs. Give the fans who travelled all the way there something for rocking up.

Martin is BOG. Smashed our rucks.

Both of them

This is quite disgusting. We're getting done by the bottom side. Nothing game or not it's been pathetic and we've set ourselves up to be belted next week particularly if Crameri and Dickson are injured

05-09-2015, 05:20 PM
30 touches and 45 hit outs.. BOG.

Roughead just can't match it with him or has Redpath mainly been on the business end of a spanking?

05-09-2015, 05:21 PM
Keep your comments to football perhaps.

Well maybe if you conducted yourself properly we wouldn't need to digress ?

05-09-2015, 05:22 PM
Well maybe if you conducted yourself properly we wouldn't need to digress ?

Come on, everyone else moved on.

Sorry to say this but getting upset about this = fans who are not used to going for a gun side. Bigger fish to fry.

This is quite disgusting. We're getting done by the bottom side. Nothing game or not it's been pathetic and we've set ourselves up to be belted next week particularly if Crameri and Dickson are injured

So explain how we've set ourselves up to get smashed playing in a game that means SFA?
There really is some silliness on here this afternoon

05-09-2015, 05:23 PM
No matter what the outcome is today, the Lions should be commended for showing the football world that players never tank games. Clubs might but not the players and they don't give a rats about first picks in the draft.

05-09-2015, 05:23 PM
Roughead just can't match it with him or has Redpath mainly been on the business end of a spanking?

Both spanked Difference is Jack has kicked 3 goals

05-09-2015, 05:24 PM
Picken's kick into the forward line was so terrible. Dumb.

05-09-2015, 05:24 PM
Great review for us! Thanks!

05-09-2015, 05:25 PM
Come on, everyone else moved on.

Don't appreciate being told to f*** off .

05-09-2015, 05:27 PM
Pathetic performance

05-09-2015, 05:27 PM
Don't appreciate being told to f*** off .

Time to let it go.

05-09-2015, 05:28 PM
Well, the Lions have a history of jagging the odd much bigger scalp up there. They live up to their icon. Well played. As for us, there is an important lesson in it for us but at least it wasn't a huge margin. Doubled our points total so should have been a lot more.

05-09-2015, 05:31 PM
Brisbane deserve to win. The only positive is we kicked alot of goals

05-09-2015, 05:31 PM
That was pathetic.

I get that it's a dead rubber but I want players who try and who play a disciplined team game each week, no matter the circumstances.

05-09-2015, 05:32 PM

And that I don't have another game clogging up my Foxtel IQ

05-09-2015, 05:34 PM
Sorry to say this but getting upset about this = fans who are not used to going for a gun side. Bigger fish to fry.

Gun sides don't lose to a side who can't beat themselves.

05-09-2015, 05:34 PM

But couldn't defend if their life depended on it.

05-09-2015, 05:35 PM
That was pathetic.

I get that it's a dead rubber but I want players who try and who play a disciplined team game each week, no matter the circumstances.

Did our players really perform like they were playing in a nothing game?

Oh what a ridiculous post. Do you really think that we are any more or less likely to lose because of how we performed today? For all we know the foot was off the pedal for most of it to conserve for next week.

Not the result or performance we wanted, but next week is the goal.

Horribly inexperienced team we put out there today which was shown up when things didn't go our way.

We move on quickly hoping Crameri and Dickson are ok.

05-09-2015, 05:36 PM
Average games for us was 48 games to Brisbane 71 and our average age was also lower.

That is the youngest Bulldog team that I can remember for a very long time.

05-09-2015, 05:36 PM

We are not a gun side yet
We are working towards that goal
We are a very young improving team
There will be ups and downs until we become a gun experienced side

05-09-2015, 05:37 PM
What's Crameri's injury?

Lukewarm Beveridge
Was worried earlier in thread, 5th most inexperienced team fielded since 2000. Their good players played well too.. All about next week.

But couldn't defend if their life depended on it.

Average games played by our defence was about 25 games so we should cutting them some slack.

The lack of midfield pressure didn't help, but missing the experienced guys down back was a huge factor in our defence having a poor one.

05-09-2015, 05:38 PM
Where is Roughead at? You would have to say he is the most overrated player on our list.

Bring on next week at the G can't wait!

I think if anyone thinks it's acceptable to lose, they have rocks in their head.
We've had a losing culture for far too long.

I for one don't want excuses, heat, travel, resting blokes etc, I just want us to win every time we go out there.

Yes I appreciate there is a long game at play, but losing to the bottom side is really poor heading into a finals series. I hope to god we have some home truths told to the players today.

Imagine paying a thousand bucks to fly up for that nonsense. No thanks.

Gun young sides can lose games with nothing on it .

05-09-2015, 05:39 PM
Where is Roughead at? You would have to say he is the most overrated player on our list.

Bring on next week at the G can't wait!

Personally I prefer Campbell as first ruck

05-09-2015, 05:39 PM
Oh what a ridiculous post. Do you really think that we are any more or less likely to lose because of how we performed today? For all we know the foot was off the pedal for most of it to conserve for next week.

So you're effectively saying we were happy to drop a game to the worst side in the competition? Great attitude to have.

Not sure of the extent of their injuries but Crameri and Dickson didn't look good and we won't win without them.

05-09-2015, 05:40 PM

I didn't see much from Wallis, Dahlhaus, Dickson, Grant, Goodes ...
Hunter, JJ, Picken were also quiet.

Only the Bont showed a lot and some nice thing from Stringer. We cant cover for all 3 veterans in the back line :(

05-09-2015, 05:40 PM
Average games played by our defence was about 25 games so we should cutting them some slack.

The lack of midfield pressure didn't help, but missing the experienced guys down back was a huge factor in our defence having a poor one.

Not exactly an experienced forward line though and some of those guys will be lining up next week.

05-09-2015, 05:41 PM

They played a bit dumb, a bit selfishly and without discipline, particularly at half forward and through the middle.

It was all about mental application, or lack thereof today.

What is worrying is we got smashed in the centre. Stefan Martin 32 disposals and Rockliff 39, Hanley 35. We can't let the midfield get on top like that next week.

I think if anyone thinks it's acceptable to lose, they have rocks in their head.

I for one don't want excuses, heat, travel, resting blokes etc, I just want us to win every time we go out there.

Yes I appreciate there is a long game at play, but losing to the bottom side is really poor heading into a finals series. I hope to god we have some home truths told to the players today.

History is litted with teams winning meaningless end of season games, and teams switching off with nothing to play for.
Round 22 2002 for example . Dogs beat Collingwood, and Collingwood beat port in Adelaide next week.
Unfortunately it got Peter Rohde a coaching job

The worst part of today with a view to the finals is that it was played in the middle of the afternoon on a hot day.

The best part of today is that Carlton will be wooden spooners :)

05-09-2015, 05:42 PM

The game only became a dead rubber halfway through the third quarter when Geelong got on top of Adelaide. As far as the players were concerned, up until that point they'd been playing for a home final (and losing). We're very lucky to have the home final next week.

05-09-2015, 05:42 PM

Well said, that is how I feel as well.

05-09-2015, 05:43 PM

Will it be positive for their development today?

05-09-2015, 05:44 PM
What's Crameri's injury?

Hyper extended his knee and may also have a corkie. I think he may be ok.

05-09-2015, 05:44 PM
What is worrying is we got smashed in the centre. Stefan Martin 32 disposals and Rockliff 39, Hanley 35. We can't let the midfield get on top like that next week.

The biggest worry is that next week we have Sam Jacobs to contend with, who is like Stefan Martin, just a little bit better.

05-09-2015, 05:45 PM
The game only became a dead rubber halfway through the third quarter when Geelong got on top of Adelaide. As far as the players were concerned, up until that point they'd been playing for a home final (and losing). We're very lucky to have the home final next week.

It really did smack of a team not understanding that even to beat the poor teams you have to apply yourselves and play disciplined football.

05-09-2015, 05:46 PM
The biggest worry is that next week we have Sam Jacobs to contend with, who is like Stefan Martin, just a little bit better.

Plus they have a pretty good midfield as well.

05-09-2015, 05:46 PM
I really really respect Jake Stringer. He is extremely talented and gifted and yet he is humble and works his arse off in everything he does. When we lose, he plays his heart out. Just respect how intensely he wants to lift the team. He might do the odd flashy thing and it might not come off but give him that - quite often he actually pulls it off!

05-09-2015, 05:47 PM
It really did smack of a team not understanding that even to beat the poor teams you have to apply yourselves and play disciplined football.

I didn't see much of the first half, but did we relax after being 5 goals up at 1/4 time?

Perhaps we thought it would be a cruise from then on and didn't keep the foot down.

05-09-2015, 05:51 PM
We were thrashed in the ruck and you can well understand why the Club would be interested in Martin who was clearly BOG. It highlighted a serious rucking weakness we have.
Martin's dominance meant that Rockcliff Zorko Hanley Taylor and Robinson dominated at ground level. The defence was rattled without Murphy M Boyd and Morris. ZCordy is clearly not up to senior football at this stage. The efforts of Bontempelli Wallis Picken and Wood kept us in the game but it wasn't enough as the Lions had far more better players and thoroughly deserved its win.

05-09-2015, 05:52 PM
Unfortunately that loss feeds into the narrative that we can't play the high pressure fast moving game that we want to anywhere except Etihad. It certainly looks that way to me.
Regardless it was a listless and disappointing performance.
Z. Cordy and Goodes will be strong additions to Footscray next week.

05-09-2015, 05:54 PM
I didn't see much of the first half, but did we relax after being 5 goals up at 1/4 time?

Perhaps we thought it would be a cruise from then on and didn't keep the foot down.

It was a pretty false lead. Reflected poor turnovers by Brisbane rather than any huge pressure. Certainly didn't reflect general play.
May have been less that we took our foot off the pedal than that we forgot to bring the pedal.

05-09-2015, 05:55 PM
Good news is that it will be the media narrative all week about the dogs not being able to play outside the confines of Etihad.
Good clubs don't except losing , and they don't bother on where they play finals football either.
Let's beat them anywhere anytime

05-09-2015, 05:57 PM
We can say otherwise but reality is our form away from Etihad is poor overall.

05-09-2015, 05:58 PM
Good news is that it will be the media narrative all week about the dogs not being able to play outside the confines of Etihad.
Good clubs don't except losing , and they don't bother on where they play finals football either.
Let's beat them anywhere anytime

But the question is, can we?

05-09-2015, 05:59 PM
I only saw the second term and that was enough for me .
Thirteen players hadn't touched it halfway through the second, and seeing players jog through the middle smacked of a team in second gear. If I see that next week I'll (Wallace 1996 round 22)

05-09-2015, 05:59 PM
We were thrashed in the ruck and you can well understand why the Club would be interested in Martin who was clearly BOG. It highlighted a serious rucking weakness we have.
Martin's dominance meant that Rockcliff Zorko Hanley Taylor and Robinson dominated at ground level. The defence was rattled without Murphy M Boyd and Morris. ZCordy is clearly not up to senior football at this stage. The efforts of Bontempelli Wallis Picken and Wood kept us in the game but it wasn't enough as the Lions had far more better players and thoroughly deserved its win.

NBP, thanks for the detailed analysis. Is Roughead worth sticking with as the ruckman or do we go back to Campbell?

05-09-2015, 06:00 PM
We are so young that a few of those mature players out makes a big, big difference. Dogs only 48 games average experience today versus Lions 71. Lions had 6 players with 100+ games, Dogs only had 1. Also, it's all about next week. Some very harsh comments in this thread, some perspective needed.

05-09-2015, 06:00 PM
But the question is, can we?

I think we can. Today smacked of mindset for me, and I guess winning everywhere is part of our football evolution

05-09-2015, 06:01 PM
We are so young that a few of those mature players out makes a big, big difference. Dogs only 48 games average experience today versus Lions 71. Lions had 6 players with 100+ games, Dogs only had 1. Also, it's all about next week. Some very harsh comments in this thread, some perspective needed.

Very well said . Really some overreactions on here .

05-09-2015, 06:16 PM
Very well said . Really some overreactions on here .

My concern is the broader pattern of poor performance, more specifically an inability to defend on grounds other than Etihad. We've failed at Subi, Adelaide Oval, Gabba, Launceston, spectacularly against Melbourne at the G and pretty much at Cairns which was saved by one huge quarter. The SCG was a bit of an outlier due to the weather.
I can't see any way we win multiple games at those grounds through the finals.

Also whichever way you look at it, getting our arses handed to us by the bottom team is an embarrassment.

05-09-2015, 06:18 PM

I think some of the signs we were the better side not applying ourselves to the extent we should have been were there early in the game. They had a lot of the footy, but just couldn't use it.

In some ways it reminded me of the second half of the game the first time we saw the Saints this year. Once Brisbane got a sniff it became increasingly difficult to stop their momentum and mental application isn't something that can be switched on easily.

05-09-2015, 06:20 PM
I don't think it's embarrassing, but I nice reminder to our players that you need to bring effort against everyone .
I thought the Melbourne game was embarrassing to be honest

05-09-2015, 06:21 PM

That's a fair enough analysis I think. Some clean use by foot from Rich made them look a lot more efficient in some instances.

05-09-2015, 06:32 PM
Now THERE'S the Bulldogs I know and love...

At least we've got plenty of like-minded company this round.

05-09-2015, 06:33 PM
No matter what the outcome is today, the Lions should be commended for showing the football world that players never tank games. Clubs might but not the players and they don't give a rats about first picks in the draft.

Fantastic observation Gary. I wonder if Dee's and Carlton who clearly tanked in years gone by should've instead tried to do what the Lions did today whether they would be better clubs today for it. This is a statement by the Lions that despite their poor year they want to set the right example for their team and create a culture based on always trying to win. This could be a very big moment for a club that has been having a hard time keeping their list together. Just wish they hadn't picked today to decide to stand their ground.

05-09-2015, 06:37 PM
Hyper extended his knee and may also have a corkie. I think he may be ok.
I was standing next to the dugout when Crameri was subbed out and heard him say to Rohan Smith at 3 Qtr time it was just a corkie.

05-09-2015, 06:38 PM
I was standing next to the dugout when Crameri was subbed out and heard him say to Rohan Smith at 3 Qtr time it was just a corkie.

Bevo said in his press conference it was a bad corky and will see how it comes up. Fingers crossed.

05-09-2015, 06:38 PM

Mate, what were your thoughts watching things up close? Would really like to hear how you thought we structured up and how why we were so exposed.

05-09-2015, 07:01 PM
So you're effectively saying we were happy to drop a game to the worst side in the competition? Great attitude to have.

Not sure of the extent of their injuries but Crameri and Dickson didn't look good and we won't win without them.

No idea and I never said I'm happy but some people are going way over the top. It has ZERO meaning for who and where we play next week and it is highly likely that when we knew the Geelong result we went into a state of self preservation. I don't think it mattered whether we won or not the focus was on player management by the end of the game. lIittle doubt we were driving in 2nd gear. As for the supporters what do people think of North resting 9 players last night?

My post was directed at the suggestion we are more likely to lose against Adelaide because we lost by 8 points today which is just silly. As for gun side, really? We're not a gun side we're a bunch of 20 year olds who have gone above and beyond the call of duty this year with 14 wins. Relax and be happy it all starts next week.