View Full Version : March Of The Bulldogs - Fan Rally, a call to arms!

06-09-2015, 11:14 PM
Evening WOOFers.

I am hoping to plant a few seeds around the traps with fellow Scraggers about taking this weekend as an opportunity to really rally behind our finals tilt, more demonstrably than perhaps we ever had. To mark the occasion of our return to September action with something novel that will hopefully become a memorable moment for us all and perhaps a finals tradition.

I want us to gather en masse in the city at Federation Sq and walk together to the G in a sea of red, white and blue. To descend upon this game's field of dreams, together and simply dare to dream. As a group we have been through a lot, the Drought, The Fightback, The Prelim Monkey and Shocktober. But we're a resilient bunch, hanging in there, living in hope. Living for days like Saturday. We rare;y get the opportunity to do it, so I am encouraging you to consider deviating from your normal routines and joining other fans at Fed Square and march to the ground.

Footy is about moments like these. It is the opportunity to be with others and share the hope that we will win the day. A great part of being alive. Who is in?

07-09-2015, 12:01 AM
I'm in. What time should we meet?

It would be great if we could get a whole heap of people there.

07-09-2015, 12:07 AM
I'm going to spread this far and wide with a view that people would be milling about by 5:45 ready to head off around 6:00PM is. Hoping to get families and all sorts engaged in the idea. Likely to be at Beer Deluxe from 4:30PM I reckon for the pre game festivities.

07-09-2015, 09:43 AM
I like your idea and hope it gets going. I think you need someone to lead the #gatherthepack, like a Merv Hughes (not necessarily him), or some past players, and also to get the club behind it. Perhaps the cheersquad could walk to the ground waving banners and flags, followed by the supporters, singing songs.

07-09-2015, 12:01 PM
I like your idea and hope it gets going. I think you need someone to lead the #gatherthepack, like a Merv Hughes (not necessarily him), or some pass players, and also to get the club behind it. Perhaps the cheersquad could walk to the ground waving banners and flags, followed by the supporters, singing songs.

I like the idea SoS and BaD.

Good place to start is perhaps contact Linda Murray at Club (Cheer Squad officer/co-ordinator). Also Sue Dawson is Cheer Squad Member who is heavily involved in handing out flags/banners etc. I'll be there if you can bring cheer squad on board !!

07-09-2015, 12:17 PM
Should be there about 6 train permitting

07-09-2015, 01:31 PM
I'm in. Great idea.

07-09-2015, 07:06 PM
I like the idea SoS and BaD.

Good place to start is perhaps contact Linda Murray at Club (Cheer Squad officer/co-ordinator). Also Sue Dawson is Cheer Squad Member who is heavily involved in handing out flags/banners etc. I'll be there if you can bring cheer squad on board !!

Thanks for the suggestions. We'll have a solid group there with a handful of banners and colourful characters who will be happy to rally the troops. I'm interested to see this emerge as an organic thing in the first instance and demonstrate the capacity for us as fans to come together. See how it goes and then look to the club for some participation if it is up their alley.

07-09-2015, 08:39 PM
Wow, Peter Gordon just announced your idea SoS on Talking Footy.

Lukewarm Beveridge
07-09-2015, 08:39 PM
Just heard Gordo mention this on Talking Footy! Hopefully it takes off..!

07-09-2015, 08:40 PM
Gordo reads the forums alright!! Well done SoS

07-09-2015, 09:14 PM
Fantastic idea SoS!!!!
I'm IN!!!!
Let's BRING THE NOIZE!!!! ;)

07-09-2015, 09:43 PM
Can we have a walk back after the game too?

07-09-2015, 09:54 PM
Can we have a walk back after the game too?

Could be a long stagger back INB after a big win :p

07-09-2015, 10:03 PM
Maybe Doug Hawkins and Ted Whitten Jnr could lead the March of the Bulldogs

07-09-2015, 10:06 PM
667 Here is the flyer that I have doing the rounds.

07-09-2015, 10:22 PM
Gordo reads the forums alright!! Well done SoS

Okay, which one of us is secretly Peter Gordon?

07-09-2015, 10:23 PM
I'm in too. I just talked my brother and his pups into joining in as well. #gatherthepack

07-09-2015, 10:29 PM
Okay, which one of us is secretly Peter Gordon?

He certainly logs in quite a bit on Woof.

07-09-2015, 10:33 PM
A facebook page has been created advertising the march.

https://www.facebook.com/events/1479489529043911/

07-09-2015, 10:38 PM
He certainly logs in quite a bit on Woof.

Ah Hem :rolleyes:

07-09-2015, 10:41 PM
Ah Hem :rolleyes:

How come redders70?

07-09-2015, 10:44 PM
I just made a Poster if that helps at all , just came out slightly blurry

https://scontent.fmel1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/11990386_10204986304434065_1317097789738133321_n.jpg?oh=4689 9fa60d7d6c499a0a3072d6285daa&oe=56A85391

07-09-2015, 10:48 PM
How come redders70?

Just joking Easty.:)
I log on a fair bit but don't post quite as much as I can due to time constraints sometimes :)

07-09-2015, 10:51 PM
Just joking Easty.:)
I log on a fair bit but don't post quite as much as I can due to time constraints sometimes :)

Ok cool :)

07-09-2015, 11:16 PM
Seems the Facebook page is quoting 5pm as that is when Peter Gordon quoted it for. Might need clarification either way. What I would say is that 6pm doesn't seem like it leaves a long time for people to get in, find their seats, enjoy the pregame buzz inside the ground etc if it is a large group (which will take a while to snake down to the G).

07-09-2015, 11:28 PM
Seems the Facebook page is quoting 5pm as that is when Peter Gordon quoted it for. Might need clarification either way. What I would say is that 6pm doesn't seem like it leaves a long time for people to get in, find their seats, enjoy the pregame buzz inside the ground etc if it is a large group (which will take a while to snake down to the G).

True , I,ll have to make another poster , if the meet time is 5pm and the departure time was changed to 5.45pm it takes about 15min to walk to the MCG via Princes Walk so most people would at the ground by 6.10-6.15pm at the latest but I suppose you have to remember there will be a line to get in so that makes it closer to 6.30pm to get inside the ground and seated

07-09-2015, 11:30 PM
True , I,ll have to make another poster , if the meet time is 5pm and the departure time was changed to 5.45pm it takes about 15min to walk to the MCG via Princes Walk so most people would at the ground by 6.10-6.15pm at the latest but I suppose you have to remember there will be a line to get in so that makes it closer to 6.30pm to get inside the ground and seated

Still is an hour before the game

08-09-2015, 07:49 AM
Heaps of time.

Let the pack gather and the intensity and good vibes grow. Plenty of time to mill around and warm up.

08-09-2015, 04:21 PM
From the Club Website:

The Bulldog Pack will march as one this Saturday to the MCG prior to the Elimination Final against the Adelaide Crows, with the call going out to the red, white and blue faithful to gather at Federation Square from 5:00pm.

The march will depart Federation Square at 5:45pm, with a host of activities planned between 5:00pm and the march departure.

President Peter Gordon has put the call out for all the Bulldogs pack to deck themselves out in red, white and blue for the pilgrimage to the home of football for the Club’s first final since 2010.

“We are going to march as a red, white and blue army to the MCG for Saturday night’s game so I’m calling on all the Bulldog faithful, and everyone who would like to be a Bulldog just for the month, to get to Federation Square.”

“We'll march there together on our way to a finals campaign that we hope is going to produce something special”.

The Bulldogs Shop will be set-up at Federation Square before the march’s departure to ensure all supporters have the opportunity to kit themselves out in the club colours including the exclusive #BeMoreBulldog finals range.

Below is the schedule of the events at Federation Square on Saturday leading up to the #BeMoreBulldog March to the ‘G.

#BeMoreBulldog – March to the G

5:00pm – Arrival at Federation Square

5:10pm – Bulldogs Best Dressed

5:20pm – Special Guests Appearances on Federation Square Main Stage

5:40pm – President Peter Gordon to address supporters

5:45pm – Depart Federation Square for the MCG

6:05pm – Arrival at the MCG outside Gate 2.

7:20pm – First Bounce

08-09-2015, 04:45 PM
Man is this thing growing legs!

08-09-2015, 04:52 PM
Man is this thing growing legs!

Well done to SOS, great idea.

08-09-2015, 05:43 PM
Have got the family and hangers on coming down.
5 Adults and 3 kids.

Getting a bit emotional thinking about this - will be huge!

Lukewarm Beveridge
08-09-2015, 06:20 PM
Loving how much it's taken off! Will definitely be there for the walk with a couple of mates (Richmond and Collingwood, although they're very much doggies Saturday night!)

08-09-2015, 06:34 PM
Hope you get the recognition you deserve for your great idea SOS. Well done and thank you.

Torpedo
08-09-2015, 06:42 PM
Get the Hyde St Band to lead the procession.

08-09-2015, 06:44 PM

and we can throw coins at them

08-09-2015, 07:10 PM

This exactly. Nostalgia. Great work SOS, woof is virtually running the club now!! :D

08-09-2015, 08:12 PM
"From little things big things grow." Go Dogs! I am up and about already. Great idea and great to see that the club is up and running with it.

08-09-2015, 09:04 PM

The most recent version of the Hyde st band was 3 girls playing violin and anyone who threw anything at them would have me to deal with.;)

08-09-2015, 09:33 PM
Wow this sounds great and should be huge. Count us in, the kids are going to love it.What a way to soak up the atmosphere of finals footy.

08-09-2015, 09:36 PM
Wish I was in Australia *Sob*.

08-09-2015, 09:37 PM
Wish I was in Australia *Sob*.

Come on down - Shanghai to Melbourne 10 hours?

08-09-2015, 10:13 PM
Thanks for the support. The reward is just in the participation and seeing something I've wanted to see happen for a long time get a chance to come to life. It really caught fire very quick on twitter and Facebook, to the point where I feel like it had reached critical mass. With the Club's official stamp on it, it'll be a little different than I had envisaged but the point of it all remains the same so that's fantastic.

08-09-2015, 10:17 PM
Thanks for the support. The reward is just in the participation and seeing something I've wanted to see happen for a long time get a chance to come to life. It really caught fire very quick on twitter and Facebook, to the point where I feel like it had reached critical mass. With the Club's official stamp on it, it'll be a little different than I had envisaged but the point of it all remains the same so that's fantastic.

I know you are all about the club first but really hope the club does give you some credit in whatever way.

08-09-2015, 10:18 PM

Interesting to see the club take ownership of it. Can be a positive or a negative (or both). Helps it reach a bigger audience and potentially increases the numbers although things organised through the club can be a little more "controlled". Anyway well done SoS, I hope it is a great success and that we get the chance to do it more than once.

08-09-2015, 10:39 PM

Peanuts,Peanuts #GETAROUNDIT ;)

08-09-2015, 11:00 PM
I know you are all about the club first but really hope the club does give you some credit in whatever way.

Sos you should get a sip out of the Premiership cup over the fence on Grand Final day I reckon.

08-09-2015, 11:47 PM
great idea - looking forward to being there for the march.

09-09-2015, 12:41 AM
Great work. On all levels, great work.

NoseBleed
09-09-2015, 01:50 AM
And now a promo video I just made for the March , well just in case you wanted one
If your browser doesn't switch to HD just click the HD symbol
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10204991672568265

Sorry, this content isn't available right now
The link you followed may have expired, or the page may only be visible to an audience you're not in.

09-09-2015, 03:10 AM
And now a promo video I just made for the March , well just in case you wanted one
This is the correct Link
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10204992348985175&l=7454584501557702471

09-09-2015, 11:03 AM
This is the correct Link

Well done.

09-09-2015, 11:29 AM
This is the correct Link
Excellent music and shot selection. Gets the blood pumping. Thanks.

09-09-2015, 03:51 PM
Shane Delia ‏@shanedelia (https://twitter.com/shanedelia)
Join me and the @westernbulldogs (https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs) faithful & march to the G this Saturday 545 from fed square #bemorebulldog (https://twitter.com/hashtag/bemorebulldog?src=hash) https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f436.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f436.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f436.png http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-09-08/bemorebulldog-march-to-the-g- … (http://t.co/6siCzeNned)

09-09-2015, 04:51 PM
This is going to be huge

09-09-2015, 04:56 PM
Bob was talking this up with Luke Darcy on MMM as well.

You must be so proud SOS (and everyone else helping).

Champion effort.

09-09-2015, 07:39 PM
Just edited the description so SOS is credited , also the Club posted on Twitter crediting SOS
If anyone wants the mp4 file to post on their own Facebook account or Youtube account ( 40.3meg ) just let me know
I,m also hoping the EJ Whitten Foundation have got a banner to bring on the March , great promotion if they could

09-09-2015, 09:15 PM
Am going to the game with my son and a few old doggies diehards but cant make it to fed square. Would love to see a few photos of the march on woof if anyone remembers. Go doggies!

09-09-2015, 10:38 PM
Loving this! Well done SOS. Now we all love our RED, WHITE AND BLUE and so will be wearing our scarves and caps. But how about wearing nothing but red, white and blue from top to bottom? Imagine the visual impact. Mix it up. Red jeans, blue shoes, white jacket (from the 80's obviously). Come on, Commmme on, Come on, Commmmme on ..... Do you wanna be in our club?.. Oh Yeah! ( apologies to Gary Glitter). :D

09-09-2015, 11:13 PM
Fantastic initiative - Myself and Mrs Ghost will be there loud and proud !

10-09-2015, 01:11 AM
Loving this! Well done SOS. Now we all love our RED, WHITE AND BLUE and so will be wearing our scarves and caps. But how about wearing nothing but red, white and blue from top to bottom? Imagine the visual impact. Mix it up. Red jeans, blue shoes, white jacket (from the 80's obviously). Come on, Commmme on, Come on, Commmmme on ..... Do you wanna be in our club?.. Oh Yeah! ( apologies to Gary Glitter). :D

I don't think anyone should apologize to Gary Glitter in jest or not:mad:

10-09-2015, 09:39 AM
Am going to the game with my son and a few old doggies diehards but cant make it to fed square. Would love to see a few photos of the march on woof if anyone remembers. Go doggies!

Yes - would also like to see some pics or footage of the festivities....as unfortunately I'll already be at the ground due to it being 'first in best dressed' for seats in the members.

NoName
10-09-2015, 03:27 PM
Looking forward to it! Is it Saturday already?!?!

10-09-2015, 03:42 PM
Will be marching in tricolours.
Anyone know how I can make my beard red white and blue at home?

10-09-2015, 04:11 PM

https://www.priceline.com.au/hair/hair-colour/temporary-hair-colour

10-09-2015, 04:12 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dj7v15ZeuuI

10-09-2015, 06:56 PM
This is going to be a really special moment for our Club. Potentially the biggest gathering outside of actually being in the stadium in game since the Fightback? Think about that. What a rare, special moment for us to squeeze and really cherish. The time is right. No matter what happens, we'll have amassed a force unlike anything we've ever done before. It'll be a proud moment for those of us who Bulldogs through and through.

10-09-2015, 10:09 PM
Not long to go now , the Event at Federation Square and the March of the Bulldogs to the MCG is going be amazing

This ones for EJ

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/COiXLPGUEAIIcCJ.jpg:large

11-09-2015, 11:22 AM
1 More Sleep!!!!

11-09-2015, 06:15 PM
1 More Sleep!!!!

I wish I could calm my nerves!

11-09-2015, 08:41 PM
I wish I could calm my nerves!

Not when we're playing a Final Cinder!! ;)

11-09-2015, 08:45 PM
The nervous energy that's pouring out of me,I reckon I could sell it back to the grid of any elec. co. and still have enough to power the light tower's at the 'G tomorrow night!!! :cool:

11-09-2015, 08:48 PM
Getting edgy...

11-09-2015, 08:51 PM
Toey'er then a Roman Sandal

11-09-2015, 09:39 PM
extreme levels of excitement, from what I have been told by the club it will be a good fun event.

11-09-2015, 10:56 PM
Great to see Fed Square fully committed to promoting the Event
http://fedsquare.com/events/bemorebulldog-march-to-the-g

Nice to read on Facebook and Twitter the feedback on the Promo Video I made

11-09-2015, 11:23 PM
extreme levels of excitement, from what I have been told by the club it will be a good fun event.
Well done mate looking forward to it. If only there was a way to work out the Woofers!

11-09-2015, 11:31 PM
I will be the bloke with the scarf:D

12-09-2015, 12:24 AM
I will be the bloke with the scarf:D

Dang Bornadog, you stole my idea.

12-09-2015, 02:49 PM
Go away dark clouds ...

12-09-2015, 03:22 PM
Please, don't rain on our parade!

12-09-2015, 05:49 PM
Seems like a good turn out so far. Wasn't sure what to expect in terms of numbers but it's nice being amongst a sea of R, W & B

12-09-2015, 05:50 PM
Beautiful day for a march

12-09-2015, 05:52 PM
Beautiful day for a march

Yup the weather heard me!

12-09-2015, 05:53 PM
I'll be the one in the red and white spotty jacket :)

12-09-2015, 07:05 PM
How many were there? Photos I've seen look like it was a great turnout and atmosphere!

12-09-2015, 07:11 PM
I really enjoyed it. Irene Chatfield was very passionate as was Peter Gordon. He wants it to become a Bulldog tradition so it's going to get bigger and bigger in the years to come. Crowd? I'd say 4-5 thousand.

12-09-2015, 07:28 PM
I really enjoyed it. Irene Chatfield was very passionate as was Peter Gordon. He wants it to become a Bulldog tradition so it's going to get bigger and bigger in the years to come. Crowd? I'd say 4-5 thousand.

I'm guessing about that as well. I got pretty close to the front of the march. What an awesome site it was to see the whole paths taken up by the pack.

12-09-2015, 07:31 PM
Huge crowd, congrats to SOS for his passionate shout out to our supporters.

Very well organised.

12-09-2015, 07:34 PM
Wow, it was an extraordinary sight to see a river of red white and blue flowing as far as the eye could see... Amazing to be a part of it. Thank you SOS! (Feeling a bit emotional!) What a perfect night so far...

12-09-2015, 07:36 PM
Looked/looks amazing on TV. Congrats to all.

12-09-2015, 07:37 PM
Wow, it was an extraordinary sight to see a river of red white and blue flowing as far as the eye could see... Amazing to be a part of it. Thank you SOS! (Feeling a bit emotional!) What a perfect night so far...

He certainly deserves full credit and I agree it was an amazing turnout and sight.

12-09-2015, 08:06 PM
Yep way to go SOS. Great idea and it was fantastic to get so many.

12-09-2015, 08:13 PM
Looked awesome from the pics and videos I have seen.

13-09-2015, 12:50 AM
Massive crowd!
A sea of Red White & Blue as far as you could see.

http://s15.postimg.org/9u16491uz/20150912_175002.jpg (http://postimage.org/) images upload (http://postimage.org/)

13-09-2015, 12:51 AM
http://s21.postimg.org/a141hpzmf/20150912_180741.jpg (http://postimage.org/) free upload image (http://postimage.org/)

13-09-2015, 12:57 AM
Was great to participate this. Well done SOS.

Loved the way the President and Club embraced it too.

Let's hope there are more marches to come in next 5 years or so.

13-09-2015, 02:06 AM
Would love to see more photos and videos. It looked amazing from my perspective. So many people came.

13-09-2015, 02:47 AM
Would love to see more photos and videos. It looked amazing from my perspective. So many people came.

From what I have seen and heard, it was a huge success. Meant something to a lot of people.

A lot of people get good ideas, but few see them through into results. You, and those who helped, should be very proud.

13-09-2015, 02:52 AM
There will be many more to come

13-09-2015, 04:19 AM
If we are going to play Collingwood on the first Saturday of each season at the MCG we could start by gathering the pack at Fed Square beforehand like today and march down to the ground together

13-09-2015, 04:23 AM
Or with a big do, maybe Footscray v Richmond VFL) at Whitten Oval and then trains (express West Footscray to Richmond) or buses. Maybe the players could be on a steam train at the front?

13-09-2015, 10:08 AM

PM sent

NoName
13-09-2015, 10:30 AM
He certainly deserves full credit and I agree it was an amazing turnout and sight.

Just a shame the club didn't acknowledge SoS at Federation Square. The March to the G would never had happened if it weren't for him.

13-09-2015, 10:36 AM
Just a shame the club didn't acknowledge SoS at Federation Square. The March to the G would never had happened if it weren't for him.

I noticed that as well. At least the people on this site and so many other supporters know who was the originator for one of the great Bulldog initiatives is. I'm so very glad the club ran with it but it's three cheers for SoS from me.

Well done SoS

13-09-2015, 10:45 AM

Thanks NoName. A little bit disappointed that the conversation and direction I received from the Club staff didn't result in anything, they obviously got caught up in the moment and forgot to meet me as planned. Maybe they just went in a different direction and didn't communicate it.

Overall though, what a great moment. Who would have thought so many Doggies fans would get around such a passionate display? We really put ourselves out there. It was amazing.

13-09-2015, 10:46 AM
I couldn't believe the amount of people there it was a great idea from SoS.

I look forward to the march getting bigger when we march on grand final day.

NoName
13-09-2015, 10:48 AM
I noticed that as well. At least the people on this site and so many other supporters know who was the originator for one of the great Bulldog initiatives is. I'm so very glad the club ran with it but it's three cheers for SoS from me.

Well done SoS

Agree.

What is the point of the club contacting you and telling you to be at a certain spot only to find out that the person who you were told to meet never showed up?

And yes, I hope Peter Gordon reads this.

13-09-2015, 11:03 AM
He'll read it and I'm pretty sure he'll contact SOS at some stage to thank him and express his disappointment that the Bulldogs representative failed to meet him. It was SOS's idea after all and he should get full credit. The club really should be approaching SOS to lead the march for future campaigns (followed immediately by all WOOF members of course ;))

13-09-2015, 04:33 PM
It's pretty poor. It's not like they didn't have a mic and everyone's attention.

13-09-2015, 04:50 PM
It's pretty poor. It's not like they didn't have a mic and everyone's attention.

No real beef from to be honest with anything about this up until a moment of poor customer service communication, which I am prepared to accept occurred in the context of limited resources and what not. I had a strong reaction to it last night and this morning when a few friends who I had gathered in the hope of sharing whatever photo opportunities etc popped up asked what happened, but like I said all along, glad the Club ran with it and made it a great moment. Some staff have said thanks on twitter etc, so thats all good. If we had've won I may never have even thought twice about it! :)

It was an interesting insight into the types of roles that exist in the Club and how they communicate etc. I know that we have capacity as a fan group to independently generate these types of things, which while not something that is common in AFL footy has its place and hopefully as these connections grow from things like the march we realise our potential to be an influence in the public narrative of this Club as a collective, not just as individuals.

13-09-2015, 05:07 PM
When I told my hubby that we where parking near fed square, hanging out there for an hour or two then walking to the G he mumbled a little about how we could just park at the G. Afterwards though and while walking he kept taking photos and looking back, commenting on how 'they are still coming, the sea of doggie supporters goes on and on", we all loved it!! Even the 17 year old was impressed, now that is high praise!:)
Thanks, SoS

13-09-2015, 06:52 PM
It was amazing. Thanks SOS.

Looking forward and backwards and all was to be seen was a mass of Red White & Blue.

13-09-2015, 07:08 PM
No real beef from to be honest with anything about this up until a moment of poor customer service communication, which I am prepared to accept occurred in the context of limited resources and what not. I had a strong reaction to it last night and this morning when a few friends who I had gathered in the hope of sharing whatever photo opportunities etc popped up asked what happened, but like I said all along, glad the Club ran with it and made it a great moment. Some staff have said thanks on twitter etc, so thats all good. If we had've won I may never have even thought twice about it! :)

It was an interesting insight into the types of roles that exist in the Club and how they communicate etc. I know that we have capacity as a fan group to independently generate these types of things, which while not something that is common in AFL footy has its place and hopefully as these connections grow from things like the march we realise our potential to be an influence in the public narrative of this Club as a collective, not just as individuals.

Fair enough. Like you say if we'd won it would have been the last thing we'd be talking about.

Now. The Spring Carnival has started a week late for me.

13-09-2015, 09:53 PM
Lin Jongs mum weaving through the crowd at Fed Square with her bubble blowing machine, she looked so happy and excited.

15-09-2015, 12:10 AM
Thanks for the idea SOS. Excellent effort. Beautiful weather to go with it :) Here are some pics I snapped away on the day. Sorry for the bad quality ...

https://flic.kr/s/aHskgPX1Le

16-09-2015, 12:06 AM
Thanks for the idea SOS. Excellent effort. Beautiful weather to go with it :) Here are some pics I snapped away on the day. Sorry for the bad quality ...

https://flic.kr/s/aHskgPX1Le

Thanks for sharing the pics ChoConMienTay. They're brilliant how they represent our supporter mix and the crowd build up.

And a big thanks to SOS for the concept.

18-09-2015, 04:50 PM
Good to hear Peter Gordon acknowledging SOS (at least I assume it was SOS under his non-WOOF actual name!) as the genius behind the concept this morning on 774.

18-09-2015, 04:52 PM
Good to hear Peter Gordon acknowledging SOS (at least I assume it was SOS under his non-WOOF actual name!) as the genius behind the concept this morning on 774.

Yes and he also said he wants to make this a tradition in future years. Great Idea.

18-09-2015, 06:19 PM

A few friends contacted me this morning bringing it to my attention, it was a very kind gesture from the President. He even said I was young! At heart maybe, but if I actually ever realised my dream of playing for the Scray, I'd be on the chopping block for retirement/delisting by now.Maybe squeezing out a final year at GWS.

There is absolutely no reason why we can't make it a tradition. The scale will ebb and flow but the like PG said in that interview, we get it shoved down our throat a lot that we are an irrelevant club, we have no supporters etc, anyone who bore witness to the March to the G will understand that we are a very strong, fiercely passionate and positive community who are prepared to take our place in the public sphere. People can continue to knock us, but it just doesn't matter. The facts are we're still here, we're the most resilient and passionate fans in football and we'll be walking together on the day a flag wags and the days leading up to it.

18-09-2015, 06:59 PM
A few friends contacted me this morning bringing it to my attention, it was a very kind gesture from the President. He even said I was young! At heart maybe, but if I actually ever realised my dream of playing for the Scray, I'd be on the chopping block for retirement/delisting by now.Maybe squeezing out a final year at GWS.

There is absolutely no reason why we can't make it a tradition. The scale will ebb and flow but the like PG said in that interview, we get it shoved down our throat a lot that we are an irrelevant club, we have no supporters etc, anyone who bore witness to the March to the G will understand that we are a very strong, fiercely passionate and positive community who are prepared to take our place in the public sphere. People can continue to knock us, but it just doesn't matter. The facts are we're still here, we're the most resilient and passionate fans in football and we'll be walking together on the day a flag wags and the days leading up to it.

I think out of the 60,000 crowd at least 40,000 were Bulldog fans.