View Full Version : How bad are Pies fans?

27-11-2007, 09:49 PM
As many here know, I'm an NRL convert to AFL living in Sydney who chose to go for the Dogs. I have an AFL guru in Warburton, a 2 or 3 generation Bloods/Swans man and a good mate.

I have learnt much from my guru over the years (eg pre-conversion we were watching a Dons game and he reckoned this young forward would be really good - Lloyd) and he is pleased that i chose to go for an interesting Vic team, rather than the locals or a powerhouse team like Essendon. But he is horrified that I quite like the Pies and that I have no idea how truly terrible their fans are living here in Sydney.

Is he right - are the Pies fans the worse of all?

What about interstate fans?

What is your worst experience of opposition fans?

27-11-2007, 09:58 PM
I don't have a problem with the Pies fans, the ones I particularly dislike and find the worst are the Crows supporters, I made two trips to watch the Dogs over in Adelaide once we won and once we lost, the amount of abuse we copped during the match & leaving the ground was unbelievable. I vowed never to go back to AAMI stadium to watch a football game unless we were in a final over there.

27-11-2007, 09:59 PM
DR, of all 16 teams, what was it that made you go for the Bulldogs?

I'm not so sure Collingwood fans are any worse than any other teams fans, just that in Melbourne, there's more of them.

27-11-2007, 10:02 PM
Adelaide, West Coast and Collingwood supporters are the worst on their own dung heap.

27-11-2007, 10:15 PM
To me, they are by far the worst collection of supporters in the AFL. Deluded, opinionated, clueless, overbearing fools in the main. Their knowledge of other teams is close to non-existent - they are insular in-breds.

No, I don't like them all that much :D

27-11-2007, 10:26 PM
I've had the worst experiences with Richmond, St Kilda and Adelaide fans, but it depends on how lucky you are with your seat. West Coast supporters can be a bit unbearable too.

27-11-2007, 10:30 PM
DR, of all 16 teams, what was it that made you go for the Bulldogs?

Good question.

Initially my guru gave me free Swans tickets in early '98 and I watched lots of games at the SCG.

Loved watching the footy live, but my tickets were for seats just in front of the Swans corporate hospitality area. People that go to the footy in suits or dresses and pearls (in Sydney, not necessarily men or women respectively) are wankers IMHO. In addition, I was coming off a lifetime of going for an NRL team that raped poor clubs (Manly - grew up there) and the Super League crap.

So i loved watching footy but hated the Swans. But in mid '98 I watched a footy doco (Year of the Dogs) about a team I knew bugger all about but by the last game I was shouting at the TV "Go Dogs". Most of you probably don't get this - everyone I've shown this to up here (neutrals, the ignorant or even other team supporters) are really moved by that doco, beyond you 2nd or 3rd generation Dogs fans.

So I thought, bugger the Swans, I'm a Dogs fan in exile. But I'll never forget a game in 2000 when the Dogs were playing a then hot Blues side and we were missing many key players, we won against the odds and I'll remember at full time pumping the air and shouting in my flat "I go for a great team" and the bonding was complete.

2000 was last high point for us and it would be easy for me to go for the Swans up here but for years now there's only been one footy team for me.

27-11-2007, 11:01 PM
Good question.

Initially my guru gave me free Swans tickets in early '98 and I watched lots of games at the SCG.

Loved watching the footy live, but my tickets were for seats just in front of the Swans corporate hospitality area. People that go to the footy in suits or dresses and pearls (in Sydney, not necessarily men or women respectively) are wankers IMHO. In addition, I was coming off a lifetime of going for an NRL team that raped poor clubs (Manly - grew up there) and the Super League crap.

So i loved watching footy but hated the Swans. But in mid '98 I watched a footy doco (Year of the Dogs) about a team I knew bugger all about but by the last game I was shouting at the TV "Go Dogs". Most of you probably don't get this - everyone I've shown this to up here (neutrals, the ignorant or even other team supporters) are really moved by that doco, beyond you 2nd or 3rd generation Dogs fans.

So I thought, bugger the Swans, I'm a Dogs fan in exile. But I'll never forget a game in 2000 when the Dogs were playing a then hot Blues side and we were missing many key players, we won against the odds and I'll remember at full time pumping the air and shouting in my flat "I go for a great team" and the bonding was complete.

2000 was last high point for us and it would be easy for me to go for the Swans up here but for years now there's only been one footy team for me.

That Carlton game obviously started another of your great love affairs too. The winning goal was kicked by an ugg boot wearing Tasmanian in Robert Murphy's debut, with current board member Simon Garlick kicking 6 goals.

27-11-2007, 11:23 PM
I hate Pies fans, the club and all involved there.

27-11-2007, 11:49 PM
I don't like Adelaide fans, they take supporting a team to a new low. I am venturing over to Adelaide for round 22 next year, and a bit nervous about it. I went there last year to watch the dogs play Port, and their supporters were OK.

27-11-2007, 11:50 PM
I hate Pies fans, the club and all involved there.

More than the Tigers? Why?

27-11-2007, 11:55 PM
Richmond is number 1 on my hate list.

And, just by the way - Tigers are ORANGE and black. At least they all own up to being ignorant every time they sing the song - which has thankfully not been too often lately.

27-11-2007, 11:57 PM
That Carlton game obviously started another of your great love affairs too. The winning goal was kicked by an ugg boot wearing Tasmanian in Robert Murphy's debut, with current board member Simon Garlick kicking 6 goals.

While that was a great game, can you now imagine the Dogs in the 2008 GF 5 points down, 30 seconds to go and see Hudson tapping it down to West, gets it to Cross, to Cooney, long kick to our new mystery PSD CHF and Bartlett kicks the winning goal!!!!!!!!!

27-11-2007, 11:59 PM

And, just by the way - Tigers are ORANGE and black. At least they all own up to being ignorant every time they sing the song - which has thankfully not been too often lately.

Shhhh, you'll upset Wallace...

28-11-2007, 12:01 AM
When i was at the geelong(second team/family team)collingwood final one woman would not stop screaming. It was so high pitched it almost drowned out the rest of the crowd.

Opposition fans always annoy me because what ever they do to celebrate i'm already annoyed.

28-11-2007, 12:42 AM
Good question.

I'm getting all emotional reading this. One of the most beautiful posts I've ever read.

I loved that doco but it's also kinda embarrassing. My god we were a rabble on and off the field. Makes you realise what a great job Smorgon and Co have done since.

28-11-2007, 08:13 AM
More than the Tigers? Why?

Well the tigers are crap and the pies get everything, the media, the umpiring, preferential afl treatment, etc.

28-11-2007, 09:53 AM
Good question.

Getting off topic a little,
I can relate to that DR. I was on the Hume Hwy at the time going away for a bit of a break, with the missus and another couple. The other bloke is a mad dogs fan as well, and we put it on the radio fully expecting to get smashed. As the game unfolded, we kept thinking that we were a chance. As soon as the final siren went, we pulled over at the nearest town, went to the bottle shop, got some cans, got the girls to drive while we sat in the back drinking tinnies in celebration !!

28-11-2007, 10:55 AM
I don't have a problem with the Pies fans, the ones I particularly dislike and find the worst are the Crows supporters, I made two trips to watch the Dogs over in Adelaide once we won and once we lost, the amount of abuse we copped during the match & leaving the ground was unbelievable. I vowed never to go back to AAMI stadium to watch a football game unless we were in a final over there.

I used to live in Adelaide and once left footy park with a police escort. They were rabid. That was in the early 90's and before Port entered the comp.

Twodogs and I went back in 2006 and I got a real surprise. The Crows supporters had all turned into Melbourne supporters. Quiet, polite, not particularily emotional and seemed pretty ignorant about football. Well played, no. 23!

I just assumed all the knuckleheads were actually Port supporters who jumped ship in 96.

I have no respect for Richmond supporters. No-one leaves games at 3/4 time as readily as Tigers. They're also the quickest at turning on their own, but unfortunately we're not far behind them in that regard.

Collingwood supporters simply don't acknowledge any one else. They are completely irrational and expect (and unfortunately too often recieve) frees for any minor thing. They think the whole world is out to get them and don't realise how cushy they have it.

28-11-2007, 01:08 PM

agree and add Carlton and Essendon to the heap.

28-11-2007, 06:03 PM
They're also the quickest at turning on their own, but unfortunately we're not far behind them in that regard.

Nothing makes me angrier than being at a game, a bulldogs player making a mistake and then being fully abused...by the very people who claim to support them. I have not, and will not, ever stop at anything less than fully encouraging our players!

28-11-2007, 06:07 PM
Nothing makes me angrier than being at a game, a bulldogs player making a mistake and then being fully abused...by the very people who claim to support them. I have not, and will not, ever stop at anything less than fully encouraging our players!

This has been sneaking into the behavior of a lot of our supporters for a few years now and it's not likely to stop anytime we lose a game.
I don't even boo the opposition so I definitely won't rubbish any of our own players at a game of footy.

28-11-2007, 10:51 PM
I've never found the Collingwood supporters that bad even during the Vic Park days. My memories date back to the old suburban grounds and I remember regularly being abused if we lost during the walk back to the train station at either Moorabbin or Windy Hill. Saints and Dons supporters have calmed down though since they have moved to the big stadiums.

The one set of supporters I have always disliked are Richmond. 1980 was a horrible year as I went to a school in the eastern suburbs filled with them and they were feral. Most Richmond games I have been to since has involved their cheersquad starting some "Bulls&%#, Bulls&%#" chant at the umpires. Thank God we don't have to watch our young players wearing yellow and black with a big tiger on the jumper anymore.

28-11-2007, 10:57 PM
Adelaide in Adelaide are poor. I hate listeing to the Melbourne supporters bitch and moan and I have no love for the Pies.

I used to hate the Swans when they first moved up to Sydney because I was sure they got 90% of the 50/50 calls going their way by the umpires mainly in front of goal.

28-11-2007, 10:59 PM
The one thing (only thing!) I will say in defence of Tigers supporters, is we have one aspect of common ground.

We both spend most of Bulldog vs Tigers games heckling Richo. It it one of the great pleasures of the game, heckling a man who works hard to make 5 leads in succession, finally pierce the opposition zone, get clear & run at his midfield teammate, only to look up at the last second to watch the ball flying 5m above his head from another wayward kick.

God bless Richo.

29-11-2007, 12:16 AM
I've never found the Collingwood supporters that bad even during the Vic Park days. My memories date back to the old suburban grounds and I remember regularly being abused if we lost during the walk back to the train station at either Moorabbin or Windy Hill. Saints and Dons supporters have calmed down though since they have moved to the big stadiums.

The one set of supporters I have always disliked are Richmond. 1980 was a horrible year as I went to a school in the eastern suburbs filled with them and they were feral. Most Richmond games I have been to since has involved their cheersquad starting some "Bulls&%#, Bulls&%#" chant at the umpires. Thank God we don't have to watch our young players wearing yellow and black with a big tiger on the jumper anymore.

Welcome aboard PI

29-11-2007, 09:55 AM
God bless Richo.

and all who sail in her.

No-one hates Richo like tigers fans do. They are a strange mob.

29-11-2007, 10:25 AM
and all who sail in her.

No-one hates Richo like tigers fans do. They are a strange mob.

If Richo had played for another team he would be an all-time great with 1000+ goals.

*Assuming the team he did play for could teach him to kick.

29-11-2007, 11:33 AM
I like Collingwood supporters. Theyre quaint and delusional. They have this idea they support a successful team when in reality they've won two premierships in 50+ years.

Essendon supporters are like a red rag to a bull to me though. Plastic morons who can only say "LLLLLOOOOYYYYDDDY" whenever Jimmy Hird gets near the ball.

29-11-2007, 09:34 PM
If Richo had played for another team he would be an all-time great with 1000+ goals.

Richo is one of the players that I really enjoy watching. Body language isn't flash but I would have had him at the Dogs in a heart beat if a decent deal could have been struck

29-11-2007, 09:37 PM
I don't mind a bit of banter between the spectators so I don't really rate anyone as bad. Probably the worst ones from my memory were the Fitzroy supporters. It might have been that they could see the club slipping away from them but they took everything personally.

29-11-2007, 09:56 PM

His goal kicking accuracy (63% as a guess?) compares well with most key forwards, it's just that Richo always cops more bad press because he is, well.... Richo.

He would have easily kicked 1000 goals or more with just basic AFL standard delivery into the F50, of which Richo has seen little of during his career at the Tigers.
Maybe Richmond fans bag him out bcause he shows real passion on the field, and it make the rest of the [Clinton Casey's property developer squad] team look bad.

30-11-2007, 12:21 AM
His goal kicking accuracy (63% as a guess?) compares well with most key forwards, it's just that Richo always cops more bad press because he is, well.... Richo.

I remeber reading once that Richo's accuracy was about the same as most forwards until you include misses. I believe Richo has more complete misses than any other player since they started taking down the stat - and by a long way.

30-11-2007, 12:41 AM
Richo is one of the players that I really enjoy watching. Body language isn't flash but I would have had him at the Dogs in a heart beat if a decent deal could have been struck

Same, I always enjoy watching Richo play, tends to get a little frustrated but I guess playing for Richmond would do that. ;) Seriously though, like you I wouldn't have minded seeing him jump ship and come to the Dogs.

W W Biscuit
30-11-2007, 07:56 PM
Nah, Pie supporters can be okay. I remember going to the 06 Elimination Final with a knockabout Magpie mate. He was pretty gracious in defeat, even though we had $100 riding on the result. The clincher for me was the 'wake' at a local watering hole. It was full of Collingwood supporters, and I could not believe the good will. To a man, they warmly congratulated me (as if I had anything to do with it!!), and the common theme was, "If we had to get beaten, we're happy it was to the dogs. Kick arse next week." It was like some sort of weird parallel universe. Feel the love!!

Then again, the worst ever experience I have had at the football came one Saturday night, I think about 2000, when we played the Magpies at the Dome. My girlfriend and I had the displeasure of sitting in front some toothless old hag, who needled at us all night with hackneyed, mean-spirited garbage. We'd done nothing at all to provoke this woman. It got to the stage where she started hitting us in the head with her Collingwood flag as she waved it after every Magpie goal. You can be sure that when Huddo slotted the winning goal in the dying minute, I gave my victory roar just that little bit more venom. :)

30-11-2007, 11:14 PM
Don't mind the pies.

Saying that - at the elimination final the bloke sitting next to me happened to be a Collingwood supporter who kept elbowing me, every time we kicked a goal.

In the end I acted like a feral and told him that if he elbowed me again, I was going to shove my drink bottle up his nose. He didn't do it again.

30-11-2007, 11:39 PM
Don't mind the pies.

Saying that - at the elimination final the bloke sitting next to me happened to be a Collingwood supporter who kept elbowing me, every time we kicked a goal.

In the end I acted like a feral and told him that if he elbowed me again, I was going to shove my drink bottle up his nose. He didn't do it again.

Hmmmm, looks like you scared the living daylights out of him Max - good for you. :)

01-12-2007, 12:18 AM
Hmmmm, looks like you scared the living daylights out of him Max - good for you. :)

Ha ha, at least it worked.

Some supporters will do anything to remind you who they follow - my boss who is a mad Pies supporter --just had to sign my newly acquired cast (I fell over and fractured my left wrist on Wednesday) in Bright Pink Texta - Hot Pies - 2008 Premiers.

No Class

01-12-2007, 12:31 AM
Ha ha, at least it worked.

Some supporters will do anything to remind you who they follow - my boss who is a mad Pies supporter --just had to sign my newly acquired cast (I fell over and fractured my left wrist on Wednesday) in Bright Pink Texta - Hot Pies - 2008 Premiers.

No Class

Get well soon nothing worse than having a cast - and not much fun with a fractured wrist...been there done that many years ago when I used to play netball.

I hope you scribbled that out or better still just write over ( or get someone else) to try and remove the miers out of Premiers and replace it with Pretenders that should get a reaction out of your boss. ( Use some Liquid Paper ) :D

01-12-2007, 02:52 AM
Thanks for your kind wishes.

Pretenders - that is the way to go, will try that later today.

03-12-2007, 12:09 AM
Thanks for your kind wishes.

Anytime, how long do you have to keep the cast on - about 6 weeks? Let us know how you go with the boss when he sees the alteration to his declaration on your cast. :D

03-12-2007, 03:02 AM
Yes, 6 weeks at this stage. Have to see an Ortho this week (maybe) so he can see the xrays and take it from there.

Going to work today - I am sure the boss's face will be priceless.
He is a good man - he will laugh - eventually.

03-12-2007, 09:16 PM
Anytime, how long do you have to keep the cast on - about 6 weeks? Let us know how you go with the boss when he sees the alteration to his declaration on your cast. :D

I told him that someone changed it for him - when he asked who changed it - I said "me".

He thought it funny. He is a great boss.:p

03-12-2007, 09:26 PM
I told him that someone changed it for him - when he asked who changed it - I said "me".

He thought it funny. He is a great boss.:p

See he has a sense of humour. Collingwood supporters they are not all bad! Actually, I haven't met one nasty one in all my football going life.

03-12-2007, 10:03 PM
See he has a sense of humour. Collingwood supporters they are not all bad! Actually, I haven't met one nasty one in all my football going life.

You have not met my brother.

Actually, I worked in their social club for 3 seasons. Worked the night they won the 1990 G F - they are okay.

Every team has feral supporters.