View Full Version : I enjoy watching him play

26-10-2015, 10:24 PM
A pretty common phrase on this site.

Which players do (did) you enjoy watch play?

And to flip that which players don't you enjoy watch play?

Doesn't mean they are (or aren't ) worthy of selection

I'll start

I found Cooney and Grant as possibly the two players ive enjoyed the most. Grant as he was incredibly awesome, Cooney as he never looked like he was trying but amazingly effortless with his silky skills. And the crowd yelling "coon" was terrific

And Kelvin Templeton had a big impression on me as a young fella. Was devo when he left

On the negative I never warmed to the other Grant. Maybe because for such a high draft pick he gave back not much

26-10-2015, 10:32 PM
Bonts, Stringer & Dahlhaus are just electric. So skillful and fast

Barry Hall & Brian Lake were good to watch marking everything at each end

26-10-2015, 10:38 PM
Love watching Dale Morris. He is fearless and so strong in the contest. He competes at maximum effort every time all the time.

I'm very excited to see the progression of Toby Mc as he looks very talented and very competitive.

Bont and Jake are special as is Libba.

I am hoping Jack Mac gets a bit of his evasiveness back into his game too as he sells candy better than nearly anyone.

26-10-2015, 10:45 PM
Bonts, Stringer & Dahlhaus are just electric. So skillful and fast

Barry Hall & Brian Lake were good to watch marking everything at each end

One million apologies for not including Barry Hall in my opeNing post.

26-10-2015, 11:01 PM
Call me crazy, but I did enjoy watching Aker run around for us. He was hopeless when we needed him in finals, but was good value in the H&A seasons prior to the fall-out.

I loved Matty Robbins, was one of my favourite players. Gave everything and had some tricks too.

26-10-2015, 11:03 PM
I would have walked 500 miles just to watch Les Bamblett torment opposition defenders for four quarters. Lal was the most spectacularly laconic footballer there ever was.

When he was on song, and that was most of the time, Doug Hawkins could tear a game apart in ten minutes of devastation. He made classy players look silly, tough guys cry in frustration.

Scott West nearly always won a contest. Loved watching scooter go about gathering possesions the way a good opening batsman gathers runs. Quiet and unobtrusive with a deft touch here and a flick there and before you knew he had 30.

26-10-2015, 11:06 PM
Call me crazy, but I did enjoy watching Aker run around for us. He was hopeless when we needed him in finals, but was good value in the H&A seasons prior to the fall-out.

I loved Matty Robbins, was one of my favourite players. Gave everything and had some tricks too.

When he kicked the sealer in Brisbane one year and made the quiet signal to the crowd was funny.

26-10-2015, 11:19 PM
Brian Lake at his peak was as dominant as any player I've seen, which is quite a feat for a full back.

I was a big fan of P Hudson in 98 and 99. Tory Dickson kicking a bag from a handful of opportunities is pretty awesome too.

26-10-2015, 11:39 PM
A lot of the above.

Scott Wynd. Courage personified.
The Monty Sandwich. Kissing the robo dog at the start of his career and winning us a final at the back end. Could he take a speccy too!
Players who could kick both legs well: Leon Cameron, Aker, Bobby etc.
Matty Dent was a real favourite of mine. Hardest bloke to put our jumper on and that's saying something.
Shane Thorne

26-10-2015, 11:48 PM
Aker, Bazza, Coons... when on song, loved watching them. The former #16 too. Gilbee's kicking.
As a young kid, Simon Beasley and Jim Edmond.
J. Hill I found endlessly frustrating. J.Grant I tired of waiting for him to light up (so too did the coaching group apparently).

26-10-2015, 11:55 PM
Of the current batch of players, the obvious ones in - Stringer and the Bont. They both do freakish things.

Going back - Dempsey, Templeton and loved Geoff Jennings

In the 80's, Beasley in 1985 kicking over 100 goals and Bamblett 50 and the magic of Doug Hawkins. Especially loved the toughness of Rick Kennedy.

Chris Grant one of my all time favourites.

26-10-2015, 11:58 PM
I enjoy watching JJ get the ball and take off for one of his runs. At the game, more than once I have heard opposition supporters begrudgingly acknowledging his leg speed and basically saying they could do with him in their team.

27-10-2015, 12:24 AM
Thread needs more Murphy.

Absolute silk. Loved watching him dominate as a CHF as much as I kove watching him now.

27-10-2015, 12:54 AM
Dale Morris. Having played my god-awful local career as an undersized backman, there's something phenomenal about seeing him get a fist in from nowhere or tie a ball up at ground level against a more slick opponent. We talk about small forwards having tricks but Dale has every little backman's cheat in the book

27-10-2015, 04:39 AM
Doug Hawkins ... The reason I became a Bulldog supporter.
He had the ball on a string.

27-10-2015, 09:00 AM
- In earlier years Kelvin Templeton was a beacon in a poor team and a reason to go each week.
- Doug Hawkins was a freak with silky skills on both sides of his body. He embarrassed many opposition players.
- Chris Grant was a joy to watch. Skillful and brave.
- Bob Murphy has been the most watchable in recent years. What a pleasure to witness him play.......the Baryshnikov of the AFL.
- Of the current crop and looking to the future, there is no-one more watchable than Jake Stringer. Have we ever had a player like
him?

27-10-2015, 10:07 AM
Of the current batch of players, the obvious ones in - Stringer and the Bont. They both do freakish things.

Going back - Dempsey, Templeton and loved Geoff Jennings

In the 80's, Beasley in 1985 kicking over 100 goals and Bamblett 50 and the magic of Doug Hawkins. Especially loved the toughness of Rick Kennedy.

Chris Grant one of my all time favourites.

Templeton of course but with you on Jennings at his best he was everywhere. I loved watching Chocco what a player, great sense of the game and a natural goal kicker. I also enjoyed watching Purser and Super.

Emmett Dunne playing for us shite me to tears because I associated him with Richmond so much and so did Patrick Bowden who was a genuine plodder. I also never warmed to Justin Charles who always had this arrogant look on his face.

27-10-2015, 10:09 AM
- In earlier years Kelvin Templeton was a beacon in a poor team and a reason to go each week.
- Doug Hawkins was a freak with silky skills on both sides of his body. He embarrassed many opposition players.
- Bob Murphy has been the most watchable in recent years. What a pleasure to witness him play.......the Baryshnikov of the AFL.
- Of the current crop and looking to the future, there is no-one more watchable than Jake Stringer. Have we ever had a player like
him?

Nope I've only seen one player like him Yablett Snr.

27-10-2015, 10:10 AM
- Doug Hawkins - I had a no.7 on my first bulldogs jumper. The one handed pick ups on the run, and the beautiful skills. And loved how he would show the ball in the air when he took a nice grab.

- Chris Grant - When I was 7 years old, I loved full forwards, and we didn't really have one. And then I saw Chris Grant play his first game, and I was hooked. Is still my all time favourite. Skillful, brave and I think sometimes people forget how many screamers he used to take. When we were an ordinary side, we could still go to the footy to watch C.Grant.

- Bob Murphy - Apart from the obvious speed, balance and skill. I love that I can be sitting on level 2, seeing the whole ground clearly, and will pick out who he should kick it to - and then Bob finds an even better option than I've been able to see, and he's got opponents on his hammer.

- And now its Stringer and Bonti. Just so exciting.

Players I haven't warmed to;

- Nathan Eagleton - very frustrating player. Could do some good things, but thought for an outside player, his kicking could be very hit or miss...and he never really got involved against the best teams.
- Brian Lake - Never warmed to him. Was great when he was taking marks in defence. But couldn't handle the couple of ridiculous things he'd do per game. I also never forgave him for how he held us over a barrel during his last contract negotiation, when it was the last thing we needed at the time.

Torpedo
27-10-2015, 10:10 AM
Ian Bryant and David Darcy - two beautiful exponents of the lost art of the long raking drop kick.

27-10-2015, 10:26 AM
Matty Dent was a real favourite of mine. Hardest bloke to put our jumper on and that's saying something.
Dent was great, ditto Bernard Toohey. Loved Rick Kennedy as a kid and Daniel (not Danny) Southern too - was glad that Mitch Hahn got the no 8 jumper as it continued a tradition of hard bastards wearing it.

To be honest though, Stringer & Bont will end up as favourites. Stringer will just do anything and I've never seen a player do some of the things Bonti does in traffic - the way he releases the ball perfectly just when you think he's done is incredible. Of course then there's the spins out of trouble (eg the North game) and his goal against Melbourne. Freak.

27-10-2015, 10:48 AM
The Hawk, Grant, Johnno and KT obviously just a pleasure to watch and in a league of their own.
so a couple from each of my era's -
70's - Wheels and Bernie
80's - Super McPherson, Tits Kennedy, and The Pieman
90's -Libba , Bubba ( running down the flank and a goal from 50), Gilbee's precision
2000's - Griff and The Coondog
2015 - The collective group

27-10-2015, 10:53 AM
him?

The only player I think can come close to Stringer is the Bont.

27-10-2015, 11:06 AM
Bont and Stringer I think are the only players where I have found myself almost chuckling quietly at how good they are. They can do some amazing things already and honestly are probably the two most naturally talented players I've ever seen play, especially when you consider how young they are.

Other nominations would be Lake. I remember commentators talking about how people go to games just to watch someone like Buddy. I found it much more fun to go to games to watch Lake just own high profile key forwards. Mitch Hahn was another favourite courtesy of his physicality and ability to kick goals from pack situations regularly despite being an atrocious kick.

One who I didn't like that much despite only being 12 or so at the time was Nathan Brown. I hated how he was always in the highlights for kicking goals from the boundary because it annoyed me that no one ever acknowledged that he would have about 5 shots from the boundary per game and miss over half of them. Sure when he kicked the goal it was spectacular but I thought he was very selfish because often he would have teammates in better positions to pass to.

27-10-2015, 11:23 AM
My first favourite was Alan Stoneham and liked Quinlan, Dempsey, Templeton, Huppatz & Wheels from that era

Brad Hardie close to my all time favourite from the 80's and loved Rick Kennedy. Lally & Magic in 85 were sensational.

Chris Grant and Leon Cameron from the early 90's

the Wog Squad of 97 were hilarious, formidable and must viewing.

Brad Johnson and Lindsay gilbee in the 00's

In the current team Stringer of course and our half back squadron running in waves through the midfield into attack. Special mention to Caleb Daniel. When we need someone to do something constructive I hope he gets it!

27-10-2015, 11:46 AM
The Hawk, Grant, Johnno and KT obviously just a pleasure to watch and in a league of their own.
so a couple from each of my era's -
70's - Wheels and Bernie
80's - Super McPherson, Tits Kennedy, and The Pieman
90's -Libba , Bubba ( running down the flank and a goal from 50), Gilbee's precision
2015 - The collective group

Great post. Love the way you divided it into eras. Agree with all your selections.

27-10-2015, 11:48 AM
From the 60's to now I enjoyed watching the following players.

John Jillard great HBF who got the ball time and time again
Ian Bryant for his spectacular drop kicks
EJ.....enough said
Johnny Schultz who never played a bad game
Gary Dempsey who marked everything in sight
Kelvin Templeton such a high flyer and great forward
Ray Huppatz a tenacious little rover from SA who left for North Melbourne sadly
Brad Hardy I used to love his dashes from the backline bouncing the ball
Brian "Choco" Royal a great rover and forward pocket
Simon Beasley..who doesn't love watching a 100 goal full forward
Chris Grant...goes without saying
Matty Croft....Tried his guts out as an undersized fullback and kicked goals when forward too
"The Wog squad" especially Libba who was such a tenacious beast
Rohan Smith and his bouncing of the pill and long kicks into the forward line
Brad Johnson...loved his career from wingman to full forward he was a marvel
Matty Robbins loved his spectacular marking
Bob has been great to watch all his career from CHF to HBF.
Todays like most I love watching the Bont and Jake strut their stuff
I am sure I could add more names but these are the players who have stuck in my mind.

27-10-2015, 11:53 AM
What about blokes who may not have been super stars but you felt a connection or liked the way they played. When I was just a kid Mick Egan played at the same cricket club as me so I had his number ten on the back of my duffle coat. I also really liked Alan Thorpe because he was such a lair.

27-10-2015, 11:56 AM
Another vote for Bob Murphy too. The world is a better place when Bob has the ball in his hands. The opportunities are limitless.

Avoid the rush
27-10-2015, 11:57 AM
Thread needs more Murphy.

Absolute silk. Loved watching him dominate as a CHF as much as I kove watching him now.

How could you not love watching BOB!! Evasive, skillful, Two sided, Balanced, Bulldog, Perfect!!!!!!

27-10-2015, 11:57 AM
Too many to mention them all

Quinlan, Dempsey, Purser, Hardie, McGuiness, Templeton, Hawkins, Smith, Grant and Johnson

27-10-2015, 04:06 PM
Too many to choose from.

Of the current players, it is Stringer and Bontempelli. I can't wait until these two "own" the league.

Historically, in no particular order:
Dempsey for his control in the ruck and marking ability around the ground.
KT for his ability to take a mark with a couple of defenders hanging off him.
Hawk, well because there was no one better.
Ted Whitten Jnr. Elite by foot. Beasley would've kicked 800+ goals for us if Ted Jnr hadn't have been cut down when he was.
Wheels. Just loved his determination to not let his opponent win the footy. If they did, look out.
Chocco Royal. He and the Flea were the dominant rovers of the mid to late 80's (ok Johnny Platten too).
Steve Wallis. Shirtfront Specialist
Grant, West, Johnno, Cooney, Voldemort, The Peoples Beard, Mark West, and many more.

Of all time though, I think it's Bob. Not just because of what he does on the ground but because he is Bob.

27-10-2015, 05:12 PM
Most of my favourites have already been mentioned but I have a special place for Choco Royal and Super McPherson from my high school years - loved these two.

27-10-2015, 05:29 PM
I loved watching Mark Kellett stumbling down the ground giving anyone who came near him the big Don't Argue and Rick Kennedy terrifying everybody.

27-10-2015, 06:47 PM
Maybe when this thread loses steam I might pick a team of favourites

27-10-2015, 06:55 PM
In addition to the guys mentioned - Royal, McGuinness, Cameron, Johnson, Grant etc I loved Lindsay Gilbee

27-10-2015, 07:28 PM
Well I didn't see a live game until 1991 and then it was fleeting on trips from Tassie for 1 or 2 games a year until after about 2004.

Remember a great final at Waverley against St Kilda where we had Danny Del'Re light up the crowd. Also loved watching Chris Grant and Scott Wynd.
Really enjoyed Simon Atkins as well, with a particular interest as I knew people who were really close to his family.

27-10-2015, 08:52 PM
Barry Standfield and Steven Kretiuk were two others I enjoyed. Got the most out of themselves, especially fish.

27-10-2015, 09:15 PM
Terry Wallace was great to watch for us as well. He was pretty tough. Took knock after knock but kept getting up and burrowing into the next pack.

27-10-2015, 09:45 PM
So many favourites of mine have been mentioned already. As a kid I loved watching Mocha Dunstan and Ian Morrison. Templeton was my absolute hero in the 70s.
Of the current crop I just love watching the Bont and waiting for Stringer to strut his stuff. Think the new magic McLean might be just as watchable as his predecessor who was also a big favourite of mine.

27-10-2015, 09:48 PM
Anyone mentioned Lally Bamblett yet? His 1985 season was a pleasure to watch

27-10-2015, 09:49 PM
Stevie Kolyniuk was also great when he was in top form - played with great swagger

27-10-2015, 10:36 PM
Mark West

great nomination and one i had forgotten about, loved watching him play it's easy to do when the the memory of him bursting towards goal in the clear in the prelim and missing from 30 but he was great to watch that year real shame he was cut down with injury

27-10-2015, 11:24 PM
Dylan Addison. Come at me bro.

28-10-2015, 12:12 AM
Anyone mentioned Lally Bamblett yet? His 1985 season was a pleasure to watch

Me of course!

I would have walked 500 miles just to watch Les Bamblett torment opposition defenders for four quarters. Lal was the most spectacularly laconic footballer there ever was.

Could you imagine him today with zone defences and opposition teams kicking the ball backwards into defence? He'd just wait for the other mob to get it close enough to goal and then intercept the next kick after appearing from nowhere and waddle into the open goal. While every opposition player within 25 metres of him falls over in unison.

28-10-2015, 12:20 AM
A bit abstract, but I loved watching 'the next' play their first game hoping to see a 200 game player, but usually before thudding back to earth soon after. Ie. Robbie Flower (Farren), Andrew McLeod (Faulkner).

28-10-2015, 01:44 AM
Dylan Addison. Come at me bro.

He's one of my least favourite ever. It used to actively piss me off that my membership dollars went towards him being on a field representing me and my side.

One that no one has mentioned (without checking) but I used to love going to see was James Cook. When I was 6/7 all I wanted was for one of the mythical spearheads playing for us, and he was the closest thing we had. That he was routinely kicking as big bags in the twos as Dunstablockett were in the firsts only added to his "legend". Why did he never work out anyway?

I loved LOVED Nathan Brown too. He actually made footy fun when it would have been so easy to get into anything else.

28-10-2015, 09:36 AM
Many over the years. But Jake Stringer eclipses them all.

28-10-2015, 10:15 AM
He's one of my least favourite ever. It used to actively piss me off that my membership dollars went towards him being on a field representing me and my side.

Wow...amazing vitriol for one of our own.

He was a limited footballer but genuinely tough. Always flew the flag for team mates which has to be admired.

28-10-2015, 10:22 AM

One that no one has mentioned (without checking) but I used to love going to see was James Cook. When I was 6/7 all I wanted was for one of the mythical spearheads playing for us, and he was the closest thing we had. That he was routinely kicking as big bags in the twos as Dunstablockett were in the firsts only added to his "legend". Why did he never work out anyway?

I loved LOVED Nathan Brown too. He actually made footy fun when it would have been so easy to get into anything else.

Little harsh, I know he applied himself 100% but one I never warmed to either.

Cookie lacked a bit of nouse and work ethic, seemed to be one of those that thought it would just happen.
I remember once, in a close game he had a free kick or took a mark right on 3/4 time (?) and then played on after the siren.

Even when he was a kid I thought Brownie had the attitude he was a tad to good to be at the Dogs, especially hated his attitude in his last season for us, you just new he had made a deal with Wallet by his body language.

28-10-2015, 11:03 AM
Even when he was a kid I thought Brownie had the attitude he was a tad to good to be at the Dogs, especially hated his attitude in his last season for us, you just new he had made a deal with Wallet by his body language.

Yes his attitude was pretty bad in that last year. I remember taking my daughter to "Train with the players day", and he didn't bother showing up. I could hear all the kids talking amongst themselves - where is Brownie, where is Brownie.

28-10-2015, 11:09 AM

Wow, Dylan gave his all. Sure he wasn't blessed with talent but he played his role and committed himself to the cause through sheer determination far more than many more talented players he played with. I remember with satisfaction watching him absolutely crunch Jordan McMahon in a marking contest when he was playing for Richmond. Jordie didn't get up for a week. Loved watching DFA go about his work.

I don't think anyone has mentioned Griffon. Absolute machine at his best. It will get easier after he retires I think...

28-10-2015, 11:18 AM
Yes his attitude was pretty bad in that last year. I remember taking my daughter to "Train with the players day", and he didn't bother showing up. I could hear all the kids talking amongst themselves - where is Brownie, where is Brownie.

Too self centred - the talk Id heard internally was that they'd offered Brown very similar money before he went to Richmond but had been clear they wanted him to step up and be a leader - attend sponsor events, set the example etc, basically if we're going to pay you big bucks, we want you to walk the walk.

28-10-2015, 11:19 AM
Wow...amazing vitriol for one of our own.

He was a limited footballer but genuinely tough. Always flew the flag for team mates which has to be admired.
Was one of our best players in the 2010 prelim. I never disliked any player who had clear limitations but busted his arse whenever he got an opportunity. On that criteria I really wanted Sam Reid to make it after his 2-3 excellent games in a row in late 2009, especially the win against Geelong in the 2nd last round.

28-10-2015, 11:25 AM
I don't think anyone has mentioned Griffon. Absolute machine at his best. It will get easier after he retires I think...

Have him in mine.

28-10-2015, 11:27 AM
Was one of our best players in the 2010 prelim. I never disliked any player who had clear limitations but busted his arse whenever he got an opportunity. On that criteria I really wanted Sam Reid to make it after his 2-3 excellent games in a row in late 2009, especially the win against Geelong in the 2nd last round.

As do I. He also kicked 4 goals in a match on two occasions. I can think of a few players who were lauded for being talented that didn't do any better. Addison played more good footy and had a better career than many fan favourites, but it just goes to show how much some supporters love a bit of flash while ignoring actually contributions.

He's already in semi-retirement as it is. Even factoring in GWS' outstanding ability to reduce talented players' output to minimal levels, Gryphin was just phoning it in last season.

28-10-2015, 11:43 AM
A slightly left field one but - Cam White.

Nobody knew what was going to happen anytime he got near the ball, least of all Cam himself.
One minute all 200cm of him would take the ball one handed and sidestep a midfielder - the next minute he'd fresh air a simple spoil. If you didn't care about results he was immensely entertaining, not knowing which Cam White would present itself at each contest.

I really wished he made it

28-10-2015, 12:06 PM
Me of course!

Could you imagine him today with zone defences and opposition teams kicking the ball backwards into defence? He'd just wait for the other mob to get it close enough to goal and then intercept the next kick after appearing from nowhere and waddle into the open goal. While every opposition player within 25 metres of him falls over in unison.

Could you imagine the sexually charged and awkward things Bruce would say about him?

I was a touch young to remember 85, Dad tells me Bamblett was immense that year.

Johnno before his tendency to lose his feet was a fantastic forward to watch. How someone of 182cm could compete so well in the air impressed me. Grant is an obvious one as well.

Lake reading the flight of the ball and completely dominating the game from full back was pretty impressive.

28-10-2015, 12:19 PM

I did

Grant, West, Johnno, Cooney, Voldemort, The Peoples Beard, Mark West, and many more.

28-10-2015, 01:57 PM
Too self centred - the talk Id heard internally was that they'd offered Brown very similar money before he went to Richmond but had been clear they wanted him to step up and be a leader - attend sponsor events, set the example etc, basically if we're going to pay you big bucks, we want you to walk the walk.

Richmond's then Chairman also gave him some incentives into buying commercial properties, including a partnership with Campbell into a hotel (mid year before he left) and flying him in a helicopter over the Mornington peninsula and pointing out which plots of land he could have.

He was a sensational player and who can forget the 7 goals he kicked in the draw against WestCoke and also 7 against them the previous game. Also kicked 7 against Geelong in 1999 and topped the goal kicking with over 50 in 2002,2003. Kicked 5 more goals at least 10 times. (yes I looked up his record)

28-10-2015, 02:08 PM
He was as good as anyone going around before he did his knee.

28-10-2015, 02:25 PM
Love and missed watching Tom Libba play (this year). Has the best hands I've seen at the dogs and immediately makes our team better when he comes back in. Plus he flys the flag at every opportunity, you need these guys in your team.

Rohan Smiths run, carry and goals were brilliant. Changed the way Half back flankers played footy.

I loved the way Groff and Cement head played in finals.

In never warmed to Ryan Hargrave

28-10-2015, 02:30 PM

It was a broken leg wasn't it? But yeah, Brownie was a gun, most Bendigo boys are.

28-10-2015, 03:24 PM
Change the way Half back flankers played footy.

The bloke who did that was Brad Hardie - he was unbelievable in 1985 culminating in the Brownlow medal.

He came from WA and opposition supporters would yell out " Who is that Man"

28-10-2015, 03:46 PM
The bloke who did that was Brad Hardie - he was unbelievable in 1985 culminating in the Brownlow medal.

I reckon Brian Cordy was the first running/quarterback type player I saw. Before him half back flankers were deranged specimens, all violence and threats every time you touched the ball and they stood toe to toe with their opponents. But I think Brian started taking runs down the field and Malthouse encouraged him to take the game on more.

28-10-2015, 03:47 PM
I don't think I've ever appreciated watching a player like I do with Bob. The balance and vision are exquisite. He's probably 2nd only to Koby...

28-10-2015, 03:47 PM

Being negative one at the time. Can't say I remember Brad ;).

28-10-2015, 04:12 PM

Who? Templeton?

28-10-2015, 04:13 PM
I reckon Brian Cordy was the first running/quarterback type player I saw. Before him half back flankers were deranged specimens, all violence and threats every time you touched the ball and they stood toe to toe with their opponents. But I think Brian started taking runs down the field and Malthouse encouraged him to take the game on more.

Bruce Doull for me.

28-10-2015, 04:43 PM
Bruce Doull for me.

He was just a gun in every aspect of defence.

28-10-2015, 04:55 PM
Being negative one at the time. Can't say I remember Brad ;).

Too young :D :D

28-10-2015, 05:29 PM
It was a broken leg wasn't it? But yeah, Brownie was a gun, most Bendigo boys are.

Yeah it was, don't know why I wrote knee.

28-10-2015, 05:31 PM
I don't think I've ever appreciated watching a player like I do with Bob. The balance and vision are exquisite. He's probably 2nd only to Koby...

I can't believe I left him out!

28-10-2015, 05:32 PM
I can't believe I left him out!

Who Koby :D

28-10-2015, 09:09 PM
Leon Cameron for mine, so poised with ball in hand.

Super McPherson, for an entirely different skill set.

The Axe, polarising as he was. If anyone deserved the nickname 'Plough' other than Wallace, it was he at his best.

And Bryza. Equal parts imposing and hilarious, if only for the furious expressions he could induce in Rocket.

28-10-2015, 10:06 PM

Nobody knew what was going to happen anytime he got near the ball, least of all Cam himself.
One minute all 200cm of him would take the ball one handed and sidestep a midfielder - the next minute he'd fresh air a simple spoil. If you didn't care about results he was immensely entertaining, not knowing which Cam White would present itself at each contest.

Wight. He was great to play with in AFL video games, so tall he always got first hands to the ball. Not always the case in reality

29-10-2015, 12:22 AM
Most if not all have been already mentioned.
Fossie was great to watch,
Scotty Wynd,
Galaxy,
And above all from the past.....
Little Libba.

29-10-2015, 12:51 AM
So very very hard after my number
Les Bablett just a freak
2 Scotty Wynd/Rick Kennedy great leaders
3 Bobby and Chris Grant cos they are red white and blue
Player never warmed to was Shorty Daniels

29-10-2015, 12:53 AM
So very very hard after my number
Les Bablett just a freak
2 Scotty Wynd/Rick Kennedy great leaders
3 Bobby and Chris Grant cos they are red white and blue
Player never warmed to was Shorty Daniels

Matty Robins and Crofty love that they finished together

29-10-2015, 11:12 AM
Matty Robins and Crofty love that they finished together

Garlick and Croft finished together.

30-10-2015, 03:23 PM

I always had high hopes for Wight, but he became a bit of a whipping boy after his encouraging 2006 season IIRC.

I remember he would always have a shocker in the first quarter. You could guarantee whichever spud tall he was on would kick multiple goals early (eg. Koschitzke). He was usually much better after quarter time, but by then the crowd had turned and his confidence was shot.

30-10-2015, 08:45 PM
You are correct did the each kick 5 goals in that game ???

30-10-2015, 10:05 PM
I just like saying, typing, yelling, and even whispering his name...............

I've even started mumbling it in my sleep.

Jake Stringer.

Most exhilarating player I've ever seen in the red white and blue.

30-10-2015, 11:12 PM
You are correct did the each kick 5 goals in that game ???

I think they kicked 7 or 8 between them but Jex kicked 6 I think.

*edit*checked the score Crofty got 5 and Garlick got! 2

31-10-2015, 10:05 AM
Mocca Dunstan, got so much of the ball and was a warrior for Footscray when we didn't have a lot to get excited about.

31-10-2015, 10:19 AM
I think they kicked 7 or 8 between them but Jex kicked 6 I think.

*edit*checked the score Crofty got 5 and Garlick got! 2

I thought Stinky had kicked a couple more, their was a bit of contention with Croft and Garlick that season as Rhodes refused to pick them despite good form in the reserves.
It just one of those great, 'you couldn't have scripted that', nights at the footy and a very fitting way to send off two club favourites.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSBzx38xdHo

31-10-2015, 10:27 AM
1. Doug Hawkins . Brilliant skills. Rarely beaten.
2. Kelvin Templeton. Our best forward in the past 50 years.
3. Scott Wynd and Tony Liberatore. An outstanding on ball combination.

31-10-2015, 10:31 AM
Most of my all-time favourites are the usual suspects, for different reasons.

There are dozens, but at the top of the list; Lally was an artist when the ball was in his area (kicked the best goal I've ever seen a Bulldog kick at Kardinia Park in 85), Dougy one on one was just unbeatable, Grant could do it all and was selfless, Libba's ferocity for the contest was magnificent, Johnno was an all round great Bulldog, Bob's poise and willingness to take the game on are a joy to watch and in years to come Libba jnr (incredible in tight and superb vision), and Jake's sheer brilliance will no doubt see them near the top of the list also.

As a complete package though (appetite for the contest, penetration, versatility, leadership, the way he carries himself) I reckon a 19 year old Marcus Bontempelli gives me as much enjoyment as a footballer as any Bulldog I've ever seen.

One guy who I loved to watch play who is often overlooked was Steve Kretiuk. Very talented player who sacrificed for the team and almost always played injured. In (early) 1998 he was fully fit and a super player, he went head to head ruck-roving with Nathan Buckley all day (when Buckley was supreme) and towelled him and a few games later played most of the game against Carey at the peak of his powers and limited him. Not many players are that versatile.

The one I get saddest about is Ronnie James, who I'd known and played against as a youngster, was a terrific bloke and would've been a great Bulldog player.

31-10-2015, 11:12 AM

There are dozens, but at the top of the list; Lally was an artist when the ball was in his area (kicked the best goal I've ever seen a Bulldog kick at Kardinia Park in 85), Dougy one on one was just unbeatable, Grant could do it all and was selfless, Libba's ferocity for the contest was magnificent, Johnno was an all round great Bulldog, Bob's poise and willingness to take the game on are a joy to watch and in years to come Libba jnr (incredible in tight and superb vision), and Jake's sheer brilliance will no doubt see them near the top of the list also.

As a complete package though (appetite for the contest, penetration, versatility, leadership, the way he carries himself) I reckon a 19 year old Marcus Bontempelli gives me as much enjoyment as a footballer as any Bulldog I've ever seen.

One guy who I loved to watch play who is often overlooked was Steve Kretiuk. Very talented player who sacrificed for the team and almost always played injured. In (early) 1998 he was fully fit and a super player, he went head to head ruck-roving with Nathan Buckley all day (when Buckley was supreme) and towelled him and a few games later played most of the game against Carey at the peak of his powers and limited him. Not many players are that versatile.

The one I get saddest about is Ronnie James, who I'd known and played against as a youngster, was a terrific bloke and would've been a great Bulldog player.

So true. I was a bit older than Ron so didn't get to play against him but was certainly aware of him and what a sporting prodigy he was for a few years before he played that Grand Final. speaking of that Terry Wheeler is/was a football genius-it's a pity we didn't utilise him better

31-10-2015, 02:45 PM
Rohan Smith - he doesn't get enough credit for how dynamic he was. He could break lines with his agility and booming kick. Most of all though, I loved his passion - without a doubt the most outwardly passionate player I can remember.

Daniel Cross - not exhilarating or good to watch in the usual sense. The enjoyment for me was knowing that if Crossy was at a stoppage, the opposition weren't going to get a clean takeaway. He was desperately competitive and extremely clean with his hands.

Brian Lake - the best player I've seen in a Doggies jumper. His best in my opinion was a whole lot better than his contemporaries in Scarlett, Glass, Rutten etc. because he was a weapon. His first instinct under a high ball was to mark, and his reading of the ball in flight in combination with his balance meant that's usually what he did. His game style was high risk, high reward and truly exhilarating.

31-10-2015, 03:21 PM
Love your picks Scorlibo.

Rohan Smith was born a bulldog, grew up in the Bulldog heartland a Footscray supporter and got to live his dream and it showed with the passion he showed everytime he took the field. I have a photo in my pool room of him holding the Bulldog emblem on his jumper up so some Carlton supporters could get a better look at it as he leaves the ground after we'd knocked them over at Optus in 2000.

31-10-2015, 11:24 PM

Yeah had Kretiuk in my list too. Great player at his best and as you say super versatile. I saw him take Stewart Loewe to the cleaners a couple of times as well.

01-11-2015, 03:03 PM
Players I didn't like - not many. Jayde Rawlings - promised us New York; delivered South Kensington when it still had the skin sheds.
Alan Jakovich - took us for a ride.
Frank Johnson - the first inter-stater I can remember. Was a dud. Went back West then turned up a year later at Fitzroy; was a dud there too. Stephen Lunn - made flashy look dull - all tip and no iceberg.
Adrian Campbell and Tom Williams - we put years into them and they turned out to be rehabilitationist's wet dreams.

Players I liked to watch.
Ted Whitten - a colossus the like of which we will never see again.
Simon Beasley - looked like a cream puff, played like a rock cake. Super courageous in the marking contest.
George Bissett - the origin for the term 'punched above his weight."
Steve Kretiuk - uncompromising. Who can forget his road testing of Matthew Lloyd's hand guard?
Terry Wheeler - hated to lose. Supporters loved him.
Chris Grant - best key position player since EJ
The Hawk - sublime skills
The Wog Squad - gave us real presence on the park. We loved them
Steve Kolyniuk - socks down trademark, a real goal sneak who's match winning goal at the "G" will never be bettered as the game is different now.
Johnno - was always our go to man when we needed a role to be played. A superb footballer.
Rohan Smith - run and carry was in his DNA.
Scott West - in and under. Courage personified.
Bob Murphy - You always know something good will happen when he has the ball.
Steven Power - consistent, mean defender
Garry Dempsey - knocked up marking the ball.
Bernie Quinlan - had it all and was dangerous from 65 metres out CONSISTENTLY.

01-11-2015, 03:19 PM
That's a good list Merantau but no Kelvin Templeton? Didnt rate the big fellow?

I can't remember Frank Johnson though. What year did he come over?

01-11-2015, 03:52 PM
Great list Merantau. George Bissett was before my time but my father used to rave about him also. He reckons our early-mid 70s on-ball division of Dempsey, Thorpe, Bissett and Huppatz was our best ever (sadly all finished their careers elsewhere - sign of those dark times).

He also had a visceral hatred of Ian Robertson (the Carlton player and, later, commentator) who he swears cost Bissett a Brownlow. As he tells it, Robertson kicked Bissett one game, Bissett retaliated, got reported (was cleared) and got no votes that day when clearly best on ground - 6 goals and a heap of touches. He went on to lose the Brownlow by 1 vote.

01-11-2015, 06:30 PM
I actually had a lot more in a post which I inadvertently wiped before posting and of course Kelvin was in the list. A stupendous player who roosted those torpedoes into the stratosphere.
Jim Edmond was very tough and played to win. Bruce Duperouzel was great for us and would loved to have had him in his prime. Ray Walker and Dave Darcy were top players in the 60s and Bob Spargo was a classy centreman who was superfit and roamed far and wide to get a kick.
Alec Gardner was not called "The Racehorse" for nothing. He had genuine pace. Michael Ford was a sterling defender who gave us great service. I also rated Greg Epulstun and Matthew Croft. Mark Kellet had the best "don't argue" ever.
Gary Merrington was a consistenly good player in lean times.
John Schultz was an "ornament to the game" to coin the language of yore.
Tony McGuiness - great kick on the run. Peter Foster rarely played a poor game. Had a great left foot. Brad Hardie played a different game to everyone else but cost us badly against the Hawks in a prelim.
I loved Phil O'Keefe in his short stint at the top - he had tatts when they weren't fashionable. Les Bamblett was electrofying. Ian Bryant was a wonderful drop kick - had the best follow through.
Bluey Hampshire was a crowd favourite. I was at the Western Oval and saw him bounce the ball for the only time in his career.
Laurie Sandilands was good at either end of the ground. Gordon Casey - rock solid. Ditto the late John Jillard - his opponent did not get an easy kick.
I rated Mathew Robbins and Monty took some great hangers for us and was brilliant in a final against the Pies after being poleaxed at the first bounce.
Leon Cameron was a peerless two footed kick. Lindsay Gilbee also brilliant.
Re Frank Johnson. He came over in the late 50s and was a major disappointment.
Glen Coleman was a good player for us. Had good hands and was always having a crack.
Brian Lake was always good to watch. Read the game brilliantly but was prone to occasional bouts off dyslexia - ko.
Loved Zeno Tatzaris and Danny Del Re. Danny was a very good lead and accurate.
Charlie Pagnoccolo could have been anything but was cut down by injury.
Brian Royal was blessed with smarts, guts and skills. Neil Cordy was strong overhead and had dash. Brother Brian also gave plenty. Darren Baxter was a very good player for us and I was sad to see him leave.
James Cook gave us some very good games. Barry Hall was exceptional and gave it away too early
Loved Daniel Southern. Tough and committed Ditto Bernard Toohey.
Scott Wynd - full of class and led from the front. Andrew Purser - they nicknamed him "Polly" but there was no waffle about his game. He just went and got the job done.
But the best is yet to come. We have a top group of youngsters now and they are going places.

01-11-2015, 08:05 PM
I actually had a lot more in a post which I inadvertently wiped before posting and of course Kelvin was in the list. A stupendous player who roosted those torpedoes into the stratosphere.
Jim Edmond was very tough and played to win. Bruce Duperouzel was great for us and would loved to have had him in his prime. Ray Walker and Dave Darcy were top players in the 60s and Bob Spargo was a classy centreman who was superfit and roamed far and wide to get a kick.
Alec Gardner was not called "The Racehorse" for nothing. He had genuine pace. Michael Ford was a sterling defender who gave us great service. I also rated Greg Epulstun and Matthew Croft. Mark Kellet had the best "don't argue" ever.
Gary Merrington was a consistenly good player in lean times.
John Schultz was an "ornament to the game" to coin the language of yore.
Tony McGuiness - great kick on the run. Peter Foster rarely played a poor game. Had a great left foot. Brad Hardie played a different game to everyone else but cost us badly against the Hawks in a prelim.
I loved Phil O'Keefe in his short stint at the top - he had tatts when they weren't fashionable. Les Bamblett was electrofying. Ian Bryant was a wonderful drop kick - had the best follow through.
Bluey Hampshire was a crowd favourite. I was at the Western Oval and saw him bounce the ball for the only time in his career.
Laurie Sandilands was good at either end of the ground. Gordon Casey - rock solid. Ditto the late John Jillard - his opponent did not get an easy kick.
I rated Mathew Robbins and Monty took some great hangers for us and was brilliant in a final against the Pies after being poleaxed at the first bounce.
Leon Cameron was a peerless two footed kick. Lindsay Gilbee also brilliant.
Re Frank Johnson. He came over in the late 50s and was a major disappointment.
Glen Coleman was a good player for us. Had good hands and was always having a crack.
Brian Lake was always good to watch. Read the game brilliantly but was prone to occasional bouts off dyslexia - ko.
Loved Zeno Tatzaris and Danny Del Re. Danny was a very good lead and accurate.
Charlie Pagnoccolo could have been anything but was cut down by injury.
Brian Royal was blessed with smarts, guts and skills. Neil Cordy was strong overhead and had dash. Brother Brian also gave plenty. Darren Baxter was a very good player for us and I was sad to see him leave.
James Cook gave us some very good games. Barry Hall was exceptional and gave it away too early
Loved Daniel Southern. Tough and committed Ditto Bernard Toohey.
Scott Wynd - full of class and led from the front. Andrew Purser - they nicknamed him "Polly" but there was no waffle about his game. He just went and got the job done.
But the best is yet to come. We have a top group of youngsters now and they are going places.

Great list again Merantau. Brings back fantastic memories of some great players.

Speaking of Bluey Hampshire I can remember a day at Moorabbin that was so wet that the coca cola boy abandoned his little counter so me and two mates standing behind the goals turned it around and sat under it. It must have been the late '70s ood early '80s. Anyway Bluey got a free kick on the edge of the goal square, the man on the mark was standing about 3. Metres from the goal line. Bluey kicks the ball which was so sodden it hit his boot and hit the ground about halfway between Bluey and the man on the mark and just stuck in the mud. First (only) time I've seen someone not make the distance from the goalsquare.

01-11-2015, 10:04 PM
So glad you mentioned Duperouzel. Gee he was a smart player, loved him. As you say, shame we only got him at the tail of his career. After him, The Budgie was also pretty good in a similar role.

01-11-2015, 10:46 PM
We'd leave Duper on the bench until just after the last quarter had started and invariably he would kick a couple of goals or lay a tackle to save the game.

He opened the bowling with Denis Lillee for Western Australia in Shield cricket as well as play footy.

02-11-2015, 01:04 PM
Yep, great lista there Merentau.

Beaser and Galaxy were favourites of mine as well. Nobody kicked more goals in the 80's than Simon Beasley, which is a staggering stat when you consider Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett were running amok - Beaser I think kicked 80 or more goals in every single season from 1982-1988, some of those years when we were utterly rubbish. I can only despair at the thought of a two-pronged forward line consisting of Templeton at CHF and Beasley at FF - alas we only had it for a handful of games in 1982. Not sure why Malthouse would almost always drop him the morning of a game if it was wet - he had some terrific games in the wet (one against Norf in 1988 at the MCG when we came from a mile back at 3/4 time sticks in the memory).

Galaxy played 50 or more games for 3 different clubs - nobody else has achieved that (Bazza got close) in VFL/AFL history. He really helped Granty emerge into the future superstar working alongside him across half-forward in 1992. Galaxy was such a hard worker (when it wasn't a fashionable trait for key forwards) and was a fantastic outlet option coming into forward 50. Unlike other key forwards of the day, he would excel in today's game with his elite fitness and magnificent hands.

02-11-2015, 08:15 PM
To be fair Beeza's opponent that day was Tim Harrington.

02-11-2015, 08:35 PM
Fantastic signature link TD on the great KT.
Awesome read of one of our greatest ever players.
Much appreciated,Thanks TD :)

02-11-2015, 09:10 PM
Fantastic signature link TD on the great KT.
Awesome read of one of our greatest ever players.
Much appreciated,Thanks TD :)

No worries Redders. I read the article and thought as many Bulldog supporters as possible should read it as well. The author has been a mate of mine since around the time KT won the medal.

02-11-2015, 09:15 PM
Always remember dad and I as a young whipper snapper following the Dogs but more specifically KT to any game we could get to anywhere we played.

Probably bordering on stalking groupie type passion,but even though yes we were crap in the late 70's early 80's just to see KT strut his stuff was worth the smashing we would cop,the miserable conditions,the long drive home and the price of admission alone.

Brings back great memories flooding back that had been repressed until someone or something sparks the senses to light up to remember,reflect and reminisce about what joys and good times we all once had.

03-11-2015, 12:24 AM
One of the most spectacular things I've seen in all my years of watching footy were the Royce Hart and Kelvin Templeton one on one marking sessions at training when KT was at his peak and Hart was still in his 30s and still pretty fit. I hate Richmond but Royce Hart was the best player I ever saw and to watch him and the second best player I ever saw contesting marks was pure football at its very best.