View Full Version : Rising Star - 2016

29-03-2016, 12:12 AM
The NAB Rising star award for 2016 is a little flawed in the way players are nominated and the final judging, but generally the winners are pretty good footballers.

Eligible from the Dogs are:

Daniel, Dale, Webb, McLean, Prudden, Cordy, Dunkley, Smith, Roarke , Collins, Goetz, Hamilton, Lynch, Williams

NOMINATIONS

Round 1: Clayton Oliver - Melbourne
Round 2: Darcy Parish - Essendon
Round 3: Jacob Weitering - Carton
Round 4: Caleb Daniel - Western Bulldogs
Round 5: Tom Papley - Sydney
Round 6: Blake Acres - Saints
Round 7: James Harmes - Melbourne
Round 8: Jacob Hopper - GWS
Round 9: Christian Petracca - Melbourne
Round 10: Darcy Byrne-Jones - Port Adelaide.
Round 11: Connor Blakely - Freo
Round 12: Lachie Weller - Freo
Round 13: James Sicily - Hawks
Round 14: Jade Gresham - Saints
Round 15: Peter Wright - GC
Round 16: Callum Mills - Sydney
Round 17: Orazio Fantasia - Essendon
Round 18: Ryan Clarke - North
Round 19: Darcy Moore - Collingwood
Round 20: Josh Dunkley - Western Bulldogs
Round 21: Oscar McDonald - Melbourne
Round 22: Daniel Rioli - Richmond
Round 23: Tom Barrass - West Coke

29-03-2016, 03:25 AM
Pretty good choice . Unfortunately Marcus Adams is to old, which at 22 is rediculous

29-03-2016, 09:39 AM
I thought Mclean was also a good chance this week with an impressive display. Caleb had a good game as well.

29-03-2016, 09:59 AM
Lots of good young players doing the rounds, and I expect the first year players will receive the early nominations as their form is more likely to taper off as the season progresses.

29-03-2016, 10:11 AM
Any risk that the selection committee have forgotten Caleb is still eligible? I didn't see Oliver's game, but if it was better than Daniel's game, it must have been a ripper.

29-03-2016, 12:35 PM
Any risk that the selection committee have forgotten Caleb is still eligible? I didn't see Oliver's game, but if it was better than Daniel's game, it must have been a ripper.

Oliver was super. Very impressive kid, and a beast around the footy.

29-03-2016, 01:24 PM
Oliver deserves it, Parish & Mills will get nods in the next few rounds, Weitering too.
Happy for the pups to fly under the radar for a while.

04-04-2016, 10:22 PM

Thought McClean had a chance this week.

04-04-2016, 10:57 PM
Parish would have been my pick.

Daniel and McLean will get their turn.

10-04-2016, 11:48 PM
Caleb would have to be a good shot this week.

10-04-2016, 11:53 PM
Caleb would have to be a good shot this week.

Pretty sure the powers that be will award it to Weitering, who admittedly, has looked very very good in every game this year.

11-04-2016, 12:06 AM
Sicily will be a good chance too.

11-04-2016, 12:10 AM
Sicily will be a good chance too.

He's got all the makings of a bloke I'm going to hate for the next 10 years.

11-04-2016, 07:56 PM
Pretty sure the powers that be will award it to Weitering, who admittedly, has looked very very good in every game this year.

I'd still say that Daniel had the stronger game and he was talked up on AFL.com, he was also crucial in getting us really close to the Hawks and he was beating Mitchell in the third quarter.

11-04-2016, 09:57 PM
Sicily will likely get it and will deserve it if he does.

I was sitting with two Hawks supporters who I grew up with, and one of them suggested he had Dermie traits and is renowned as to have them amongst Hawks supporters. I gave him a lot of shit for that until the last quarter.

11-04-2016, 10:13 PM
He has great hands.

Anyway, Weitering got the nod this week.

11-04-2016, 11:44 PM
Anyway, Weitering got the nod this week.

Do you think if we won Caleb would have got it or Weitering just played a better game? I didn't see the Carlton match.

11-04-2016, 11:56 PM
Do you think if we won Caleb would have got it or Weitering just played a better game? I didn't see the Carlton match.

I don't think much of that matters when it comes to Rising Star nominations.

Weitering has looked magnificent over the past few weeks and early in the season things often fall the way of young players that have made an impact early over a couple of games, and if I was to by cynical they bank nominations for players they know will be consistent over the course of the year. Caleb falls into the latter for mine.

11-04-2016, 11:58 PM

Forget the Rising Star, Weitering is looking like a show for All Australian honours.

12-04-2016, 03:31 PM
Weitering couldn't have been much more impressive so far.

Young kid playing a tough position - and already looks to be the best tall player on their list.

Hopefully he has his first down week, this week.

12-04-2016, 03:56 PM
Weitering couldn't have been much more impressive so far.

Young kid playing a tough position - and already looks to be the best tall player on their list.

Hopefully he has his first down week, this week.

I didn't see much of the game v GC, but who did he play on?

12-04-2016, 04:09 PM
I didn't see much of the game v GC, but who did he play on?

From what I saw, I think he had a number of opponents. Rowe and Jamison appeared to be on Lynch and Day - and Weitering picking up the '3rd talls' rotating through the fwd line. I'm sure he'll end up playing on key forwards, but on the weekend he was a bit of a Dustin Fletcher type role.

18-04-2016, 09:17 PM
Tiny but mighty Dog taught to be a 'smart runner'

BEING taught to be a "smart runner" has made all the difference in Western Bulldogs midfielder Caleb Daniel's eye-popping form to begin 2016.

Already blessed with outstanding endurance, the 19-year-old said his work with Bulldogs assistant coaches Joel Corey and Daniel Giansiracusa had made him a much shrewder footballer.

Daniel's 23 disposal-effort against Carlton on Saturday night led to him being adjudged the round four nomination for the NAB AFL Rising Star award.

"When you're younger you're all about running wherever the footy goes and Joel talks about smart running patterns and the way you can influence the game and save your legs by being a smarter runner, and that's helped me out a lot," Daniel told AFL.com.au.

"Gia was one of the best leading forwards in the competition when he was up and going and he's passed a lot of those tips across to me."

Daniel's hot start to the year, in which he has averaged 22.7 disposals per game, has not gone unnoticed by the wider football public.

He took great lessons from his match-up against Hawthorn's Sam Mitchell a fortnight ago, and he has become an instant fan favourite on the back of his gutsy and creative play.

The fact that he is the only existing player to don a helmet adds to the youngster's mystique.

LINK (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-18/tiny-but-mighty-dog-caleb-daniel-taught-to-be-a-smart-runner)

18-04-2016, 09:24 PM
Well done Caleb!

18-04-2016, 09:57 PM
Congrats Mighty Mouse.

18-04-2016, 10:00 PM
Well deserved ! What a gift, and thanks Mick

18-04-2016, 10:55 PM
Wasn't outstanding this week but was the week before, well deserved

18-04-2016, 11:26 PM
Fantastic, well done Caleb.

18-04-2016, 11:30 PM
Nice!
Well done Caleb.

19-04-2016, 12:29 AM
Well deserved. He should be a real chance to win it.

19-04-2016, 12:41 AM
Well done, love this kid.

19-04-2016, 02:04 AM
Love this guy

19-04-2016, 09:45 AM
Well done Daniel. What a gun in the making, my favourite player ATM.

19-04-2016, 12:14 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CgXftW2VIAA9AK7.jpg

19-04-2016, 02:43 PM
Well done Caleb. Love the way this little champ plays. 3rd favourite for The Rising Star award too. Go you good thing.

19-04-2016, 03:03 PM
I'm so excited about our list as our best players still have so much growth to go. Well done CD.

19-04-2016, 03:12 PM
Well done Caleb! When he is near the ball good things happen, love his work.

19-04-2016, 03:28 PM
Shorty Daniel

19-04-2016, 03:53 PM
Thanks Liam.

19-04-2016, 04:24 PM
Thanks Liam.

And Mick.

I think he's worth a flutter to become our first rising star.

19-04-2016, 09:14 PM
And Mick.

Did it before the season started. 5 buck outlay for 120 return. Worth a shot.

19-04-2016, 09:43 PM
It seems the media has already decided Weitering will win it . Even though its Sheahan who picks it he admits he doesn't go to games and is very swayed by media , obviously proven by Taylor winning it and not Bonti.
Unless Caleb starts taking marks 6 foot off the ground he won't win it sadly.

19-04-2016, 10:46 PM
It seems the media has already decided Weitering will win it . Even though its Sheahan who picks it he admits he doesn't go to games and is very swayed by media , obviously proven by Taylor winning it and not Bonti.
Unless Caleb starts taking marks 6 foot off the ground he won't win it sadly.

Dude have you seen Weitering? I love Caleb but Weitering is in another orbit.

20-04-2016, 09:52 AM

I agree but my point is the media has already decided he will win it anyway no matter what and that was practically before the season started.

20-04-2016, 08:26 PM

Not so sure about that. Caleb is one out of the box.

Weltering looks great but CD is doing things no one else does.

22-04-2016, 03:27 AM
And Mick.

And Carlton Liam " The beast " Jones

25-04-2016, 08:09 PM
I think McClean will get the nod this round.

25-04-2016, 08:17 PM
I think McClean will get the nod this round.

Fair chance I would say.

25-04-2016, 08:35 PM
How many would that make if Magic gets it? I think since 2008:

15 in 181 games: Daniel, McLean, Honeychurch, Boyd, Stringer, Dahl, Bontempelli, Macrae, Hrovat, Wallis - Traded Tahyleea, Jones, Grant, Hill, Ward (FA).

How Libba never got a nomination is baffling. *Dear lerking lazy journalists, is this the most of a non start up team? If so, print it Wednesday please.

25-04-2016, 08:41 PM
Don't think Toby will get the nod this week as I would be shocked that City Hall would give the Rising Star to players of the same club 2 weeks in a row.

25-04-2016, 08:43 PM
It's just not their style.

25-04-2016, 09:34 PM
Cox probably get it

25-04-2016, 09:49 PM
Papley from the swans.
20 poss. 2 goals,
Is this weeks rising star.

25-04-2016, 10:04 PM
Good choice he has been very good

25-04-2016, 10:12 PM
Papley from the swans.
20 poss. 2 goals,
Is this weeks rising star.

Yeah better than 25 disposal and two goals.

25-04-2016, 10:45 PM

But then there's nothing for the NSW AFEL media to write about is there? Do I have to explain everything to you BAD? :D

25-04-2016, 10:46 PM

It's not taken over one game, they look at previous games too unless its the first game of course.
Papley does deserve it and im sure if Toby has another good game he will get one as well.

25-04-2016, 10:51 PM
It's not taken over one game, they look at previous games too unless its the first game of course.
Papley does deserve it and im sure if Toby has another good game he will get one as well.

Papley

2016 Games Log for Tom Papley (Sydney Swans)

Description
Date
Opponent
Result
K
HB
D
M
G
B
T
HO
GA
I50
FF
FA
AF
SC

Round 5
23rd Apr
West Coast (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-west-coast-eagles)
Win 88-49 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6209)

Round 4
16th Apr
Adelaide (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-adelaide-crows)
Loss 103-113 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6204)

Round 3
9th Apr
GWS (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-greater-western-sydney-giants)
Win 93-68 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6193)

Round 2
3rd Apr
Carlton (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
Win 131-71 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6189)

Round 1
26th Mar
Collingwood (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-collingwood-magpies)
Win 133-53 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6176)

McLean

2016 Games Log for Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs)

Description
Date
Opponent
Result
K
HB
D
M
G
B
T
HO
GA
I50
FF
FA
AF
SC

Round 5
23rd Apr
Brisbane (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
Win 120-67 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6211)

Round 4
16th Apr
Carlton (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
Win 85-49 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6203)

Round 3
10th Apr
Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)
Loss 90-93 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6197)

Round 2
2nd Apr
St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
Win 93-36 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6185)

Round 1
27th Mar
Fremantle (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-fremantle-dockers)
Win 103-38 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6177)

McLean has him covered for past games.

26-04-2016, 12:00 AM
Don't panic he will get one why does it matter what order ?

02-05-2016, 10:50 PM

09-05-2016, 11:15 PM
The NAB Rising star award for 2016 is a little flawed in the way players are nominated and the final judging, but generally the winners are pretty good footballers.

Daniel, Dale, Webb, McLean, Prudden, Cordy, Dunkley, Smith, Roarke , Collins, Goetz, Hamilton, Lynch, Williams

NOMINATIONS

Round 3: JACOB Weitering - Carton

Updated

16-05-2016, 11:28 PM

Great debut

16-05-2016, 11:51 PM

Great debut

32 disposals, 17 contested
9 clearances.

One could say it's the best ever debut.

17-05-2016, 07:50 AM
Just looked like an AFL footballer. Though he was playing against human sized witches hats.

Looking forward to seeing our inside mids teaching him a footballing lesson.

17-05-2016, 11:40 AM
It's such a great thing having these northern academies, otherwise players like Jacob Hopper might never have discovered Aussie Rules football. Credit surely must be given to GWS for fostering an interest in the sport and converting him from another game

Also really happy for the player himself, as he noted in his interview, it's been his goal in life to play AFL football since he was 6 years old.

17-05-2016, 11:49 AM
32 disposals, 17 contested
9 clearances.

One could say it's the best ever debut.

That is one serious debut, has anyone received a Brownlow vote on debut ?

17-05-2016, 12:02 PM

Brett Goodes did.

17-05-2016, 12:26 PM

Jason Tutt and Andrew Walker certainly both did. John Georgiadis got 3.

You would think that there would be a few others over the years.

17-05-2016, 01:46 PM

Not sure about a Brownlow vote but John Coleman kicked 12 goals on debut.

17-05-2016, 01:53 PM
Not sure about a Brownlow vote but John Coleman kicked 12 goals on debut.

Georgiadis kicked 8

17-05-2016, 01:59 PM
John Georgiades polled 3 votes in R1 1989 against Carlton and then doubled up with another 3 votes in R3 against Norf. Exceptional start to his AFL career but it all went downhill from there.

17-05-2016, 03:25 PM
What happened to Georgiades?

17-05-2016, 03:39 PM
What happened to Georgiades?

He just couldn't reproduce the form he showed and eventually went back to WA. Only played 15 games.

17-05-2016, 09:04 PM
He just couldn't reproduce the form he showed and eventually went back to WA. Only played 15 games.

Ah ok. I was wondering if something else was at play.

17-05-2016, 11:56 PM
Ah ok. I was wondering if something else was at play.

In one of his last games at VFL park he kicked Trevor Barker in the face when he tried to kick the ball off the ground.

24-05-2016, 12:02 AM
Third Demon to get a nod.

Round 9: Christian Petracca

24-05-2016, 10:50 AM
Third Demon to get a nod.

Round 9: Christian Petracca

Wouldn't be surprised if he won it.

24-05-2016, 01:05 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if he won it.

Being the clear favourite I doubt it would surprise anyone!

24-05-2016, 05:45 PM
Dees have done well with 3 nominations so far

24-05-2016, 06:19 PM
Being the clear favourite I doubt it would surprise anyone!

When I looked last he was 13/1. Sure has come right in.

29-05-2016, 10:54 PM
Josh Dunkley: Disposals 18 (7 contested) inc. 14 kicks. 10 Marks (4 marks inside 50). 4 inside 50's. 3 clearances. 2 Goals (and one poster). 5 tackles. SuperCoach 86 & AFL Fantasy 115 - Vs, Collingwood, Round 10 2016

Nomination this week?

29-05-2016, 10:58 PM
Josh Dunkley: Disposals 18, inc.14 kicks. 10 Marks. 2 Goals (and one poster). 5 tackles. SuperCoach 86 & AFL Fantasy 115 - Vs, Collingwood, Round 10 2016

Nomination this week?

He'd be my choice but I usually only watch 1 full game a week and that involves us.

29-05-2016, 11:06 PM
He'd be my choice but I usually only watch 1 full game a week and that involves us.

Can we get you on the judging panel? That'd be the best chance we have of a WB kid ever winning the award, because if Taylor is better than Bonts, well...

30-05-2016, 12:15 AM
Josh Dunkley: Disposals 18 (7 contested) inc. 14 kicks. 10 Marks (4 marks inside 50). 4 inside 50's. 3 clearances. 2 Goals (and one poster). 5 tackles. SuperCoach 86 & AFL Fantasy 115 - Vs, Collingwood, Round 10 2016

Nomination this week?

They usually go on stats, so Darcy Byrne-Jones will probably get it.

30-05-2016, 10:12 AM
They usually go on stats, so Darcy Byrne-Jones will probably get it.

Should get the nod on the stat he has 3 surnames and no christian names alone.:)

30-05-2016, 10:57 AM
Should get the nod on the stat he has 3 surnames and no christian names alone.:)

opposite of that bloke with a terrible whistle twitch Shane, Mac 'n' Ernie

30-05-2016, 06:43 PM

Not bad KT

30-05-2016, 07:47 PM
Can you still win it if you get reported and miss weeks?

30-05-2016, 11:45 PM

06-06-2016, 11:11 PM

13-06-2016, 11:18 PM
NOMINATIONS

Update

15-06-2016, 11:24 AM
Caleb legit rising star contender: Wallace (http://www.sen.com.au/news/afl/06-16/caleb-legit-rising-star-contender-wallace#OsMqspMlgc7wx1BJ.97)

Western Bulldogs youngster Caleb Daniel must be considered as a genuine contender to win the NAB Rising Star award this season because he is producing for a team that is a premiership contender, says Terry Wallace.
The 19-year-old is averaging 21.8 disposals and has kicked five goals in ten games in his second year in the league, making the shortest player in the competition a reliable contributor for the 9-3 Dogs.

“The game that I’ve enjoyed most for the year was the Western Bulldogs against Port Adelaide, just thought it was super tough,” said Wallace on SEN radio.

“I just thought a young bloke in that game – yeah Stringer helped them win, Bontempelli was the best on the ground.

“But I thought Caleb Daniel’s performance in his ability just to win it in close and traffic, and be able direct and deliver the ball was critically important to the Bulldogs getting over the line.

“Why I’ve pushed him up is that I think he should be in calculation and really being spoken about seriously regarding the Rising Star.”

Carlton defender and number one pick in last year’s national draft Jacob Weitering has already been hyped as the winner of the award by many commentators but others such as Daniel are making their claim.

“I know everyone’s on Weitering, who had a bit of a down day on the weekend, and he deserves to be right up there but this bloke (Daniel) is playing in big games,” said Wallace.

“In the run home he will be playing in massive games and I think we’ve got to start taking Caleb Daniel a lot more seriously than some have in the past.

“He’s very Sam Mitchell like, and he’s got a long way to go clearly, but what they can do is exit the traffic either way and stay calm doing that.

“Not many players can do that and this kid nearly didn’t get picked up in the national draft, other clubs saw him as a rookie because of his size.”

15-06-2016, 04:07 PM
They are starting to recognise Caleb.

Caleb Daniel deserves to be leading Rising Star race following superb start to Western Bulldogs season (http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/caleb-daniel-deserves-to-be-leading-rising-star-race-following-superb-start-to-western-bulldogs-season/news-story/0cf43e18ccce1a592ed19c9fcdfd776a)

15-06-2016, 04:23 PM
We know from last year the media goes a long way in deciding this award! Go little man!

15-06-2016, 04:31 PM
If they're looking for consistent contributions - which they say they are -- then it's hard not to put Caleb right up there.

Unless of course there's a kid from an expansion club that needs some exposure... But that would never happen, would it?

15-06-2016, 04:46 PM
I said this a few days ago. Thanks for getting onto it Plough.

15-06-2016, 09:10 PM
I said this a few days ago. Thanks for getting onto it Plough.

He also made the same Sam Mitchell comparison I made a day or 2 ago. Good work Plough.

15-06-2016, 11:46 PM
He also made the same Sam Mitchell comparison I made a day or 2 ago. Good work Plough.

Ok, so who on woof is plough then? :D

21-06-2016, 01:45 PM

21-06-2016, 03:44 PM
I wonder which week they have decided that C Daniel gets a gong?

21-06-2016, 04:11 PM

I reckon they'll pick round 4.

21-06-2016, 07:14 PM

Wut?

21-06-2016, 07:43 PM
Oh crap. Didn't realise he had already been nominated. I blame Eddie McGuire.

21-06-2016, 10:43 PM
Oh crap. Didn't realise he had already been nominated. I blame Eddie McGuire.

It was probably the roof being open and/or closed that got you

22-06-2016, 01:04 PM

I will always hate James Sicily. He will forever be linked in my mind to Bob's knee going.

BOOOOOO!!!!

22-06-2016, 01:48 PM
We re-watched the 2014 VFL Grand Final on Sunday night so I felt I'd seen quite enough of young Sicily, thanks all the same.

Gee that was a good day though :-) Cheered me up a bit, re-living it.

27-06-2016, 11:27 PM

06-07-2016, 12:22 AM

11-07-2016, 11:01 PM

11-07-2016, 11:07 PM
Now that he's got one wait for the media to get on him big time to win the award.

12-07-2016, 01:16 AM
Now that he's got one wait for the media to get on him big time to win the award.

The anti-Victorian bloc will need to get themselves organised to get the momentum building behind him so it's not a shock when they all vote for him. They would've had Heeney as their great hope until he couldn't get a kick, then it was Hopper til he got injured, Mills will be the new favourite.

12-07-2016, 12:51 PM
The anti-Victorian bloc will need to get themselves organised to get the momentum building behind him so it's not a shock when they all vote for him. They would've had Heeney as their great hope until he couldn't get a kick, then it was Hopper til he got injured, Mills will be the new favourite.

They're already running this exact angle in the Herald Scum.

12-07-2016, 12:56 PM
Mills has been excellent for Sydney. He's been quite exceptional at playing such a mature role across half back.

It should be close in the voting between 3 or 4 players this year.

12-07-2016, 01:29 PM
Current Odds

Caleb Daniel (WB) 4.00
Callum Mills (Syd) 4.00
Christian Petracca (Melb) 6.00
Darcy Parish (Ess) 6.50
Jacob Weitering (Carl) 9.00
Connor Blakely (Freo) 12.00
Peter Wright (GC) 16.00
James Sicily (Haw) 18.00

12-07-2016, 01:51 PM
Current Odds

Caleb Daniel (WB) 4.00
Callum Mills (Syd) 4.00
Christian Petracca (Melb) 6.00
Darcy Parish (Ess) 6.50
Jacob Weitering (Carl) 9.00
Connor Blakely (Freo) 12.00
Peter Wright (GC) 16.00
James Sicily (Haw) 18.00

I'm very happy I jumped on Caleb at $21 pre-season!

12-07-2016, 05:54 PM
I'm very happy I jumped on Caleb at $21 pre-season!

25 here!

12-07-2016, 06:25 PM
Where was the good oil boys? Here I was thinking we gave woofers the inside track. :)

12-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Where was the good oil boys? Here I was thinking we gave woofers the inside track. :)

Personally I'm waiting for David King.

12-07-2016, 08:57 PM

If you saw the train wreck that is my punting history you wouldn't have listened anyway.

12-07-2016, 11:01 PM
25 here!

34 for me. C'mon Caleb

13-07-2016, 01:45 PM
If you saw the train wreck that is my punting history you wouldn't have listened anyway.

Does that mean Caleb has got no hope.:)

13-07-2016, 03:10 PM
Does that mean Caleb has got no hope.:)

Well I did punt 20 on Cooney at 42 in 2008, so I'm not always wrong. In fact, I'm about due.

I'd just suggest not following any of my other tips.

13-07-2016, 03:54 PM
Well I did punt 20 on Cooney at 42 in 2008, so I'm not always wrong. In fact, I'm about due.

I'd just suggest not following any of my other tips.

I have JJ for Brownlow at 501/1 and a place for 120. Was looking pretty good till that hammy.

17-07-2016, 11:55 AM
Dunkley: 27 touches at 85%, 7 marks, 4 tackles. Must be around the mark this week.

17-07-2016, 12:15 PM
Dunkley: 27 touches at 85%, 7 marks, 4 tackles. Must be around the mark this week.

Who else left is even close to that this week?

17-07-2016, 12:21 PM
I had a look. Orozio Fantasia kicked 3 goals and laid 7 tackles yesterday. From what I saw of the game, I think he had more of an influence than Dunkley did last night. Fantasia has also done a lot more than Dunkley throughout the season.

17-07-2016, 05:27 PM
Watching Petracca today, he's going to be a beast once he gets a couple more pre-seasons behind him.

18-07-2016, 10:18 PM
NOMINATIONS

Rocco was right with the call on Fantasia. I think if Dunkley had of mailed those two shots at goal, he would have been this weeks nominee.

19-07-2016, 01:00 PM
I didn't realise you could be nominated twice.

19-07-2016, 01:11 PM

Over two years? Yeah I didn't know either.

19-07-2016, 06:56 PM

It's because he is still just 20

19-07-2016, 07:08 PM

I believe he is the tenth person to be nominated twice

19-07-2016, 09:21 PM
I believe he is the tenth person to be nominated twice

Well clearly I only pay attention when it's a Bulldog being nominated.

19-07-2016, 09:31 PM
Who are we even talking about?

19-07-2016, 09:34 PM

James Fantasia's nephew

19-07-2016, 09:35 PM
Jade Gresham?

19-07-2016, 10:07 PM

Orazio Fantasia

19-07-2016, 10:30 PM
I picked up on that, my last post was a joke!

19-07-2016, 11:02 PM
I picked up on that, my last post was a joke!

So was mine.... My humour is the obvious kind, where yours is the more subtle or thinking persons humour....

Well thats my story, and im sticking to it.

19-07-2016, 11:19 PM
So was mine.... My humour is the obvious kind, where yours is the more subtle or thinking persons humour....

Well thats my story, and im sticking to it.

It's certainly not something I'm often accused of Az.

25-07-2016, 10:21 PM

26-07-2016, 12:10 AM
Sam Menegola was stiff. One of the great debuts of modern times.

26-07-2016, 12:13 AM
Sam Menegola was stiff. One of the great debuts of modern times.

Isn't he too old? I'm rusty on the rules but don't they have to be under 21?

26-07-2016, 10:01 AM
Isn't he too old? I'm rusty on the rules but don't they have to be under 21?

Correct, must be 21 at 1st January. Sam is 24.

26-07-2016, 11:44 AM
Fair enough, didn't look his age up. Amazing debut though, not many win 12 contested possessions against a top team first up.

31-07-2016, 06:45 PM
Havent watched much footy this weekend but Aliir Aliir must be close. Looks super talented, very athletic, nice kick

01-08-2016, 01:02 PM
Havent watched much footy this weekend but Aliir Aliir must be close. Looks super talented, very athletic, nice kick

Agree. After a really rough start he looks the business. Reads the play tremendously and as you noted a great kick.

01-08-2016, 11:37 PM
Round 19: Darcy Moore - Colingwood - Played 34% of the game, but kicked 3.2

02-08-2016, 07:43 PM
Round 19: Darcy Moore - Colingwood - Played 34% of the game, but kicked 3.2

I can't believe he hasn't been nominated until now! I reckon this kid is a gun. He could win it.

08-08-2016, 09:05 PM
Congrats to Dunks!! This weeks rising star!

http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-08-08/dogs-dunkley-latest-rising-star

08-08-2016, 09:07 PM
Great reward for Dunks. Has had an impressive debut season.

08-08-2016, 09:13 PM
Fantastic result! I love the fact we're churning out the best young talent in the competition.

08-08-2016, 09:13 PM
15 in the last 190 odd games: Daniel, Dunkley, Honeychurch, Tom Boyd, Stringer, Dahl, Bontempelli, Macrae, Hrovat, Wallis - Gone but still playing also Tahyleea, Jones, Grant, Hill, Ward.

08-08-2016, 09:42 PM
Wonderful news, thought he deserved it a few times during the season, but great he is now nominated

08-08-2016, 09:44 PM
I hope McLean gets back for a nomination this year, he's deserved one. Great for Dunks.

08-08-2016, 10:03 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CpVC8DxUEAA2eVG.jpg

08-08-2016, 10:04 PM
Sam Landsberger ‏@SamLandsberger (https://twitter.com/SamLandsberger) 1h1 hour ago (https://twitter.com/SamLandsberger/status/762588996543270913)

Western Bulldog Rising Stars since 2013.
Macrae
MacraeTalia
The Bont
Hrovat
Stringer
Honeychurch
Boyd
Caleb Daniel

..and now DUNKLEYNo.1 in AFL

08-08-2016, 10:11 PM
Great photo of Dunks flying for mark

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CpVSZJIUsAAbDRR.jpg:large

08-08-2016, 10:15 PM
Sam Landsberger ‏@SamLandsberger (https://twitter.com/SamLandsberger) 1h1 hour ago (https://twitter.com/SamLandsberger/status/762588996543270913)

Western Bulldog Rising Stars since 2013.

MacraeTalia
The Bont
Hrovat
Stringer
Honeychurch
Boyd
Caleb Daniel

..and now DUNKLEYNo.1 in AFL

Macrae?

08-08-2016, 10:40 PM
Great photo of Dunks flying for mark

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CpVSZJIUsAAbDRR.jpg:large

Best bit of that pic is two of our blokes using Spud Firrito for the role he was born to play.

08-08-2016, 10:58 PM
Great to see Dunks nominated. I'm a fan. To be as good as he is one on one, already, at his age - is super impressive.
He'll be a serious footballer. I'm not phased that his kicking action is awkward, he is still reasonably effective with it and makes good decisions. He's a good size - and the weekend's game was the first time he has played predominantly in his natural position.
Although he is already super professional and mature - a couple of pre-seasons and he'll be a bit of a beast.

09-08-2016, 10:13 AM
Macrae?

fixed, somehow I missed the copy/Paste

09-08-2016, 10:30 AM
Best bit of that pic is two of our blokes using Spud Firrito for the role he was born to play.

Sorry to let the truth get in the way of a good story, but it's Tarrant.

Well done to Josh.. Nice start to his career.

09-08-2016, 11:19 AM
Well done Dunks.

09-08-2016, 12:14 PM
Great effort by Dunks and the Club. We continue to churn the youngsters out. Fantastic drafting over the last number of years.

09-08-2016, 12:37 PM
Well done to Dunks, look like he will be a fair player for us in years to come.

09-08-2016, 12:48 PM

Well done to Josh.. Nice start to his career.

He's still a North Melbourne spud.

I remember when we drafted him if him being a bit iffy about his kicking and wondering if we'd taken him a little high. But the moment I saw him play I knew we'd got a good player. Josh is the sort of kid you know will play 200 quality games for us.

09-08-2016, 02:20 PM
One of the weaker games to earn a nomination but he has been close a few times, the week Fantasia got it probably should have been his

09-08-2016, 02:38 PM

Pffft.

https://s9.postimg.org/qs3d5yn1r/spud2.png (https://postimg.org/image/zactaatkb/)

09-08-2016, 02:45 PM
Pffft.

https://s9.postimg.org/qs3d5yn1r/spud2.png (https://postimg.org/image/zactaatkb/)

Brilliant made me laugh

09-08-2016, 06:20 PM
Well done to Josh, probably a tad unlucky a few weeks ago.

15-08-2016, 10:13 PM

16-08-2016, 01:54 AM

My mate is a Dee's supporter and calls it how it is and he believes McDonald shouldn't be playing AFL (yet) let alone getting a rising star nomination. It must have been a slow week for nominees or he played an absolute blinder against Port.

18-08-2016, 08:27 PM
Our Caleb with two rounds to go (remember he's also missed a few games!!) - Surely these are enough for a win:

Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Tackles
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total AFL Fantasy Score
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in SuperCoach Scores Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Scores Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Uncontested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Effective Disposals Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Bounces Per Game

18-08-2016, 08:44 PM
Pffft.

Fantastic.

21-08-2016, 09:27 PM
Our Caleb with one round to go (remember he's also missed a few games in accounting for the total figures!!) - Surely these are enough for a win (compare him to Callum Mills stats wise and he's clearly ahead and more damaging, and in more areas of the ground):

Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in SuperCoach Scores Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Scores Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Bounces Per Game

21-08-2016, 10:05 PM
The jungle drums are beating hard for Caleb.

So book it in now. Mills to win.

22-08-2016, 04:13 PM
I think Mills would be a deserving winner.

Caleb is the only other reasonable choice so Mills will win.

22-08-2016, 04:21 PM
On SEN yesterday morning they were saying that Mills is the only player eligible who has enough consistent form to win. Then about 90 seconds later they said "we are getting a lot of texts that just say CALEB DANIEL"

22-08-2016, 04:24 PM
On SEN yesterday morning they were saying that Mills is the only player eligible who has enough consistent form to win. Then about 90 seconds later they said "we are getting a lot of texts that just say CALEB DANIEL"

My gut feel, is Caleb will win. Its a feel good story, short guy, helmut and can play

22-08-2016, 04:25 PM
I think Mills would be a deserving winner.

Caleb is the only other reasonable choice so Mills will win.

Agree that Mills would be a deserving winner. I'd absolutely love Caleb to win it - he would be equally deserving.

Mills has looked like a 10 year veteran for the swans. He's actually freed up McVeigh to spend time on the wing and forward and they've lost nothing in defence.

22-08-2016, 04:49 PM
Agree that Mills would be a deserving winner. I'd absolutely love Caleb to win it - he would be equally deserving.

Mills has looked like a 10 year veteran for the swans. He's actually freed up McVeigh to spend time on the wing and forward and they've lost nothing in defence.

Agree Mills and Caleb are both excellent candidates. As a general rule I lean towards the first year player in these situations, but gee CD would be stiff.

22-08-2016, 05:22 PM
My suspicion is that Mills will win it

22-08-2016, 06:34 PM
The anti-Vic block are pooling together as we speak. Daniel would be a deserving winner but isn't really in with a shot such is the standard of the voting panel. Only 3 Victorian based players have won in the past 10 years and on each occasion there wasn't a viable non-Victorian alternative.

22-08-2016, 06:34 PM
Mills plays for a team in an expansion territory. Therefore he will win. QED.

22-08-2016, 06:41 PM
Mills plays for a team in an expansion territory. Therefore he will win. QED.

Ipso facto, this forum simply does not enough Latin. I like Latin. Ergo, please continue. :)

22-08-2016, 06:43 PM
The anti-Vic block are pooling together as we speak. Daniel would be a deserving winner but isn't really in with a shot such is the standard of the voting panel. Only 3 Victorian based players have won in the past 10 years and on each occasion there wasn't a viable non-Victorian alternative.

Guess we just have to see the AFLPA votes come in at to see the real story.

22-08-2016, 06:49 PM
With a bit of luck they might have learnt their lesson and get it right this time .. How could they get it so wrong ??

22-08-2016, 06:52 PM
With a bit of luck they might have learnt their lesson and get it right this time .. How could they get it so wrong ??

They got a tiny amount of press in Queensland didn't they? So mission accomplished from their side.

22-08-2016, 10:24 PM

Isn't the AFLPA award for best 1st year player?

22-08-2016, 10:29 PM

22-08-2016, 10:32 PM
Isn't the AFLPA award for best 1st year player?

Good pick up, yep.

22-08-2016, 10:38 PM
I wonder how the AFLCA numbers present, couldn't find them online on a club by club basis.

23-08-2016, 12:44 AM

I haven't seen a lot of Richmond this year, but Rioli has impressed me. From what I have seen, he is very composed for a 1st year player in pressure situations.

23-08-2016, 02:13 PM
Agree Mills and Caleb are both excellent candidates. As a general rule I lean towards the first year player in these situations, but gee CD would be stiff.

I think Caleb has played a more important role for his team than Mills. Mills has played as a back flanker this year while later he will slowly be released into the midfield in years to come. Caleb has gone straight into our midfield and has become a super important component in the midfield. Plus he was still there even before we had all our injuries. Saying that Mills is from Sydney. He has it in the bag.

23-08-2016, 02:47 PM
Mills or Caleb are worthy winners IMO.

23-08-2016, 04:00 PM
Mills or Caleb are worthy winners IMO.

No doubt you're right, but I reserve the right to be pissed off if Caleb doesn't get it.

Noli illegitimi carborundum!

23-08-2016, 04:11 PM
Can we push the fact that Caleb is South Australian to try and lessen the anti-Victorian voters bias?

23-08-2016, 06:08 PM
I haven't seen a lot of Richmond this year, but Rioli has impressed me. From what I have seen, he is very composed for a 1st year player in pressure situations.
Yep - almost want us to draft Willie Rioli as his energy around the contest and in the forward line is amazing.

23-08-2016, 08:40 PM
Yep - almost want us to draft Willie Rioli as his energy around the contest and in the forward line is amazing.

My Man Willie!

23-08-2016, 08:42 PM
My Man Willie!

Any whispers T&T? Would love it if we were into him.

23-08-2016, 09:08 PM
My Man Willie!

You're always on about your 'man willie'. This isn't Tinder Mr Warne. :D

23-08-2016, 09:15 PM
I havent seen Jason McCartney at any Glenelg games this year. To be honest, after Willie's amazing match 3 or 4 weeks ago he's hardly had a kick. West Coast Eagles Scouts may be sniffing around.

23-08-2016, 09:19 PM
I havent seen Jason McCartney at any Glenelg games this year. To be honest, after Willie's amazing match 3 or 4 weeks ago he's hardly had a kick. West Coast Eagles Scouts may be sniffing around.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJo1aVd6XHI

23-08-2016, 10:41 PM
How empty is the ground?

23-08-2016, 10:52 PM
How empty is the ground?

Was a shocker of a day. The weather forecast was extreme rain and storms. Also it was live on Channel 7. (The grandstands are on the same side as the cameras) (And both teams are having a very bad year)

23-08-2016, 11:16 PM
Was a shocker of a day. The weather forecast was extreme rain and storms. Also it was live on Channel 7. (The grandstands are on the same side as the cameras) (And both teams are having a very bad year)

Excuses.

I think we can all conclude SA footy is inferior.

23-08-2016, 11:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJo1aVd6XHI

Good to see at the 1m mark or thereabouts he's looked after as well as his Cyril is.

24-08-2016, 03:22 AM
Apparently there is a conspiracy theory happening over there at the moment .
The AFL are conspiring against the Adelaide Ravens .

24-08-2016, 04:32 AM
The who?

27-08-2016, 12:39 AM
Got to be Tom Barass for this week. Looks a gem. Taken at lowly pick 43 in the 2013 draft (Dogs had pick 42, Matt Fuller).

28-08-2016, 11:58 AM
Got to be Tom Barass for this week. Looks a gem. Taken at lowly pick 43 in the 2013 draft (Dogs had pick 42, Matt Fuller).

How's the size of him? He's like a barrel through the chest and shoulders.

28-08-2016, 12:29 PM

Brayden Fiorini

28-08-2016, 01:08 PM
How's the size of him? He's like a barrel through the chest and shoulders.

Between he, McGovern & Brown they've got some good sized defenders. McKenzie falling back in the pecking order.

28-08-2016, 01:45 PM
Given that Barrass won't be eligible next year but Fiorini will, I hope they give Barrass the nomination this week (of the two). Jayden Hunt and George Hewett are two others that have been consistent over the season and both were decent yesterday too so they might also be in contention for a nomination.

28-08-2016, 02:19 PM
Between he, McGovern & Brown they've got some good sized defenders. McKenzie falling back in the pecking order.

Mitch Brown has only played 3 games this season. Where as McKenzie has played 16.

28-08-2016, 02:20 PM
Given that Barrass won't be eligible next year but Fiorini will, I hope they give Barrass the nomination this week (of the two). Jayden Hunt and George Hewett are two others that have been consistent over the season and both were decent yesterday too so they might also be in contention for a nomination.

Hunt shouldn't get one purely based on Paul Roos and his sooking that Hunt is yet to receive one.

28-08-2016, 02:20 PM

Are you saying we perhaps erred with that selection?

28-08-2016, 02:32 PM
Are you saying we perhaps erred with that selection?

A little about our selection not getting a game. But more so they got a gem in the 40's, like we did with Daniel. Nailing these mid-late picks and rookie picks can be all the difference. A recent article talked about erecting a Dalrymple bronze statue next to Ted's, they're not far wrong.

28-08-2016, 11:04 PM
Our Caleb H&A season stats (remember he's also missed a few games!!) - Surely these are enough for a win. Statistically the biggest accumulator of all rising stars, despite missing games. As well as the most effective kicker and handballer this year of rising stars. Ranked by SuperCoach & AFL Fantasy Points as the #1 ranked eligible rising star player. Winning on the inside with huge clearance numbers and winning on the outside and running/bouncing. Marking, tackling in big volumes too. Playing big minutes, 4th most of any eligible player:

Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 1st among rising stars in SuperCoach Scores Per Game
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Scores Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Bounces Per Game

29-08-2016, 04:18 PM
Unfortunately one number is not in his favour -- postcode.

29-08-2016, 08:56 PM
I can feel a Bont shafting coming.

29-08-2016, 09:15 PM
Two great young players though. Just put your head on the pillow and think we unloaded that useless log for Caleb.

29-08-2016, 10:16 PM

NOMINATIONS

Round 19: Darcy Moore - Collingwood
Round 20: Josh Dunkley - Western Bulldogs
Round 23: Tom Barrass - West Coke

Final List

30-08-2016, 07:51 AM
Two great young players though. Just put your head on the pillow and think we unloaded that useless log for Caleb.

I informed a Carlton supporting mate the other day of how we acquired Caleb. He wasn't impressed.

30-08-2016, 09:00 AM
Final List

That is a pretty good list of young players.

Surprised there has not been a big push for Darcy Moore, who looks likely to be a real star.

30-08-2016, 09:09 AM
Betting was suspended yesterday after a huge rush for Callum Mills.

30-08-2016, 09:11 AM
That is a pretty good list of young players.

Surprised there has not been a big push for Darcy Moore, who looks likely to be a real star.

Agree, Moore would most likely be the first picked by opposition clubs if there was open slather.

30-08-2016, 09:49 AM
Betting was suspended yesterday after a huge rush for Callum Mills.

Word of the fix seems to have come a little earlier this year....

30-08-2016, 11:46 AM
Congratulations to Callum Mills for winning the best young non-Victorian player of the year award. A truly deserved winner given Hopper got injured and Byrne-Jones couldn't get a kick in the back half of the season which made it hard to justify voting for them.

Let's hope he goes on to have an illustrious career like his fellow winners Lewis Taylor, Rhys Palmer, and Daniel Rich.

30-08-2016, 01:03 PM
Mills was the best player nominated over the course of the season. I love a good conspiracy theory (look me in the eye and tell me those towers came down on their own, etc), but this just isn't there.

30-08-2016, 01:24 PM
Mills was the best player nominated over the course of the season. I love a good conspiracy theory (look me in the eye and tell me those towers came down on their own, etc), but this just isn't there.

19 touches a game in the probably the easiest position in modern day football, playing in a team with by far the best defence in the AFL. Not sure how it's such a simple decision. The fact that he'd virtually won as soon as he was nominated in round 16 adds to the questions over how legitimate a process it is.

30-08-2016, 01:45 PM
Wasn't he a favourite for the award even prior to getting nominated?

30-08-2016, 01:50 PM
19 touches a game in the probably the easiest position in modern day football, playing in a team with by far the best defence in the AFL. Not sure how it's such a simple decision. The fact that he'd virtually won as soon as he was nominated in round 16 adds to the questions over how legitimate a process it is.

>easiest position in football

>averages more contested possessions, more contested marks, more one percenters a game than Daniel

I love Caleb man but Mills is better, has been better this year, and deserves to win.

30-08-2016, 01:55 PM
>easiest position in football

>averages more contested possessions, more contested marks, more one percenters a game than Daniel

I love Caleb man but Mills is better, has been better this year, and deserves to win.

Caleb averages more possessions, more tackles, more inside 50s, more goals, more effective possessions, less clangers.

30-08-2016, 02:16 PM
Caleb averages more possessions, more tackles, more inside 50s, more goals, more effective possessions, less clangers.

But how does he help capture casual observers in Sydney?

It a testament to how much the AFEL has manipulated everything into a contrived marketing event that people can look at stats, see someone is inferior, then come to the conclusion that the outcome is "fair enough".

It reminds me of 1984 and 2+2=5

30-08-2016, 03:42 PM

And more time on ground, higher SuperCoach scores (ranked #1) & higher AFL Fantasy Points (ranked #1) and more bounces.

30-08-2016, 05:12 PM
They'll trot out the line that Mills was instrumental in Sydney securing two more wins than the Bulldogs, thus being more deserving of the award in a tight race.......it's easy.

30-08-2016, 06:49 PM
They'll trot out the line that Mills was instrumental in Sydney securing two more wins than the Bulldogs, thus being more deserving of the award in a tight race.......it's easy.

And the shortest odds in the whole process will be on 5 votes for Mills coming from each of G. McLachlan, M. Evans, G. Jakovich, W. Tredrea. Bartlett is generally safe for 5 votes for the non-Victorian player out of some misguided hope that he won't be accused of Vic bias (which he will be anyway bizarrely)

01-09-2016, 03:32 PM
Mills will be a superstar once he goes into the midfield. Daniel is a star but Mills has a bit more upside.

01-09-2016, 03:59 PM
Mills will be a superstar once he goes into the midfield. Daniel is a star but Mills has a bit more upside.
Upside doesn't always win you the rising star - sometimes a sideways crab like Lewy Taylor can win the award over a player who has more upside in his little toe, but first you need to play in a developing market ;)

Mills would be a worthy winner, but the narrative being slavishly thrust in his direction the last couple of weeks has been nauseating. It's like there are no other candidates within a mile of Mills, and I would have Daniel right up there in the reckoning. Mills would certainly be a far more deserving winner than Taylor.

03-09-2016, 06:51 PM
Which club has the most Rising Stars in the past five years? (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-03/rising-star-nominees-across-the-past-five-years)

THE WESTERN Bulldogs' talented young list is the envy of the competition and it is easy to understand why when looking at the number of NAB AFL Rising Star nominees the club has had over the past five seasons.

The Dogs have had 10 nominations in that period, five fewer than expansion club, and League leader, Greater Western Sydney.

The Giants have scooped the pool of nominations but the club is yet to produce a winner, albeit GWS has Rhys Palmer (who won the award at Fremantle in 2008) on its list.

This season's Bullog nominees Caleb Daniel and Josh Dunkley join Mitch Honeychurch, Tom Boyd, Marcus Bontempelli, Nathan Hrovat, Jake Stringer, Jackson Macrae, Michael Talia (now at the Sydney Swans) and Mitch Wallis as those to catch the judges' eye.

Melbourne and Adelaide have each had nine nominations since 2012. The Demons had four players – Clayton Oliver, James Harmes, Christian Petracca and Oscar McDonald – put forward in 2016, while the Crows had none.

Gold Coast is the next best with eight nominations, while the Brisbane Lions, despite their recent on-field struggles, have had seven players selected as weekly Rising Stars.

Ten nominations

2016 - Caleb Daniel, Josh Dunkley
2015 - Mitch Honeychurch, Tom Boyd
2014 - Marcus Bontempelli, Nathan Hrovat, Jake Stringer
2013 - Jackson Macrae, Michael Talia
2012 - Mitch Wallis

03-09-2016, 06:53 PM
.... And never, ever a winner...

04-09-2016, 10:49 AM
.... And never, ever a winner...

This year.

06-09-2016, 02:27 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cro-ZrCUEAAaFMJ.jpg

06-09-2016, 02:42 PM
Go Caleb!

Do they still have the really silly voting system which is based on how a group of middle aged men were feeling one Wednesday morning?

06-09-2016, 03:05 PM
Go Caleb!

Do they still have the really silly voting system which is based on how a group of middle aged men were feeling one Wednesday morning?
yeah I think so.

Here is mini Caleb

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CrpG1s8UMAEh8zo.jpg

06-09-2016, 03:08 PM
yeah I think so.

Here is mini Caleb

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CrpG1s8UMAEh8zo.jpg

Pretty sure that is Caleb.

06-09-2016, 03:10 PM
Upside doesn't always win you the rising star - sometimes a sideways crab like Lewy Taylor can win the award over a player who has more upside in his little toe, but first you need to play in a developing market ;)

Mills would be a worthy winner, but the narrative being slavishly thrust in his direction the last couple of weeks has been nauseating. It's like there are no other candidates within a mile of Mills, and I would have Daniel right up there in the reckoning. Mills would certainly be a far more deserving winner than Taylor.

Can't really agree on that.
The narrative I have seen is that there are two stand out winning chances, with Mills favoured by most.
I saw online that the Herald Sun journo's voted - and Mills won - but Caleb got about a third of the 5 votes, and Mills the other 2-thirds.

What is unclear to me - is the actual criteria for winning. If it is based on the individuals overall output during that season - then there is a case that Lewis Taylor was deserving, and on the same basis, that Caleb Daniel should win. But if we are factoring in elements of the 'futures' market on these players...then of course Bont wins his with a leg in the air, and arguably Mills outpoints Caleb this year.

06-09-2016, 03:11 PM
Pretty sure that is Caleb.

I hope not, she's a girl. (So is the Ivan Maric actress)