Dogs by 29pts
First goal Suckling
BOG Hunter
Crowd 24,372

15-04-2016, 04:46 PM
CAPTAIN GLOVE
Dale Morris will Captain the Western Bulldogs this weekend

https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xta1/t31.0-8/13002509_1222819707735650_7453474055392345802_o.jpg

The Western Bulldogs have announced that defender Dale Morris will captain the Club against Carlton in the absence of injured skipper Robert Murphy on Saturday night.

With Vice-Captain Easton Wood again watching on from the sidelines, Morris will step up to take the reins for the first time in his 214-game career.

Morris has been a pillar of the Bulldogs' defence since being taken in the 2005 Rookie Draft, and alongside Murphy, Wood, Matthew Boyd and Marcus Bontempelli was named a part of the five-man leadership group at the beginning of the 2016 season.

The 33-year-old Morris is renowned for his mentoring role at the Club, and acting as an on-field coach for emerging defenders Joel Hamling, Fletcher Roberts, Marcus Adams and Zaine Cordy.

Now in his 12th season of senior football, Morris continues to be a key cog in the Bulldogs backline averaging 13 disposals and six marks per contest in 2016.

link (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-04-15/-morris-to-takes-the-reins)

15-04-2016, 04:53 PM
Good luck Dale in the captaincy role.

15-04-2016, 05:01 PM
When Griff left, I was keen for Moz to get the gig. He's obviously no Bob, but his tenacity and on field leadership will hopefully keep us on the straight and narrow.

15-04-2016, 05:05 PM
Scrays by 71 points
First Goal : Stringer
BOG : Stringer

Stringer to kick more than Carlton's combined tally.

15-04-2016, 05:18 PM
I was all for him over Boyd to get the job initially. He's already a great leader, though quite different to Bob and Bevo I'd imagine

15-04-2016, 08:18 PM
Dogs by- 84

First goal-TBoyd

BOG-Libba

15-04-2016, 10:17 PM
Dogs by 33
First goal - Wallis
BOG - Adams
Crowd - 33,333

15-04-2016, 10:21 PM
Dogs by 20 goals.
Daniel to kick 10
Adams BOG

15-04-2016, 10:23 PM
Are you still able to hang your banners over the fence on Level 3 SOS?

15-04-2016, 10:24 PM
Dogs by 23
First goal Roughy
Bonti BOG - due for a big one

15-04-2016, 10:25 PM
Are you still able to hang your banners over the fence on Level 3 SOS?

No issues last week, seems to be off their radar at the moment.

15-04-2016, 10:57 PM
Bulldogs by 38 goals
First goal Captain Moz
BOG Captain Moz

Can't wait to see the Glove lead the team through the banner (as you probably guessed!).

15-04-2016, 11:05 PM
Dogs by 29
First goal Stringer
BOG (and round 4 Rising Star Nom) Daniel
30k crowd

15-04-2016, 11:22 PM
Bulldogs by 38 goals

228 points :)

16-04-2016, 12:19 AM
26,000 hopefully
Dogs by 44
BOG Wallis
First goal Boyd

16-04-2016, 01:23 AM
WB by 40
First Goal Picken
BOG Libba

16-04-2016, 10:34 AM
Western by 24 points
FG: Wallis
BOG: Stringer (he will be out to make amends for last week).
Crowd: 28,000 and we can own the stadium - a Blues mate tells me their support really drops off against the top teams.

16-04-2016, 10:36 AM
Dogs by 48
First goal Stevens
BOG Stevens

16-04-2016, 12:44 PM
Dogs by 60 ( be dissapointed if we don't win by lots.)
First goal Boyd Jnr ( first of half a dozen)
BOG Stringer (IMO will be chanting at the bit to redeem himself)
32,000 ( predominately Doggies)

16-04-2016, 01:20 PM
Seems most are expecting a crowd of over 30,000 - I'm going to be very surprised if we get that sort of attendance this week.

16-04-2016, 01:22 PM
Seems most are expecting a crowd of over 30,000 - I'm going to be very surprised if we get that sort of attendance this week.
Same, doubt we'll go near 30k.

16-04-2016, 02:02 PM
Think a lot of people might to what I'm doing, and actually take a break from attending this week.

Happy it's not our home game.

16-04-2016, 03:24 PM
Dogs by 27 points (I'm expecting a bit of a lull this week on the back of a 6 day break and a huge game)
First Goal - T. Boyd
BOG - Wallis
Crowd - 23,500

16-04-2016, 03:30 PM

I would expect lows 30s. There were 28k at the Freo game and this time its against a pretty big drawing Victorian team.

16-04-2016, 03:49 PM
Think a lot of people might to what I'm doing, and actually take a break from attending this week.

Happy it's not our home game.
i will be there

16-04-2016, 05:51 PM
The club needs the biggest crowds possible, whether home games or not. Gives us better leverage with potential sponsors and the AFL, plus provides a better atmosphere for the fans who attend.

If you can make it, I would hope you do.

16-04-2016, 06:01 PM
The club needs the biggest crowds possible, whether home games or not. Gives us better leverage with potential sponsors and the AFL, plus provides a better atmosphere for the fans who attend.

If you can make it, I would hope you do.

Agree, we need to maintain healthy crowd attendance and we have some good times in the next few weeks to maintain the momentum we have.

16-04-2016, 06:07 PM
I see this as a danger game.....6 day break; draining 3 point loss; emotion of Murpy getting injured. To me it has all the hallmarks of the Blues causing an upset. Hope not.

16-04-2016, 06:20 PM
Dogs by 75
First goal. Stringer
BOG. Daniel

16-04-2016, 06:20 PM
I see this as a danger game.....6 day break; draining 3 point loss; emotion of Murpy getting injured. To me it has all the hallmarks of the Blues causing an upset. Hope not.

Agree. And our loss to Richmond today in the VFL indicates also that our list doesn't run quite as deep as we thought a month ago.

I'm getting more nervous by the minute as the match approaches. C'mon Doggies. Stringer, Tom Boyd, Matt Boyd, Hamling, we need big games from you tonight.

16-04-2016, 06:23 PM

Agreed, which is a revolting thought, so:

Scenario 1: Dogs by 10 goals (which I'd prefer)
Scenario 2: Dogs by 2 points inside the last minute
BOG: The Bont
First goal: Stringer
Crowd: 30,253

16-04-2016, 06:29 PM
We are a jaded lot, aren't we?

16-04-2016, 06:30 PM
The Carlton game last year marked the debut of Caleb Daniel.

It was also the game where that mongrel son of a mongrel Buckley put McLean out for the rest of 2015 with a crude, late "spoil."

16-04-2016, 06:31 PM

Not me. I'm packing in my jocks!

16-04-2016, 06:34 PM

I was just pondering that. I get nervous when we play good teams - that we'll be shown up. I get nervous when we play crap teams - that again we'll be shown up. I get nervous when we get talked up by the media. I get nervous when we get talked down by the media. Let's face it, I am a perpetual Bulldog pessimist. Maybe even a masochist. The complete flip side to my father who was the eternal Bulldog optimist. I think you either have to be completely one end of the spectrum or the other as a Bulldogs fan, anything in between just doesn't suffice!

16-04-2016, 06:41 PM
I was just pondering that. I get nervous when we play good teams - that we'll be shown up. I get nervous when we play crap teams - that again we'll be shown up. I get nervous when we get talked up by the media. I get nervous when we get talked down by the media. Let's face it, I am a perpetual Bulldog pessimist. Maybe even a masochist. The complete flip side to my father who was the eternal Bulldog optimist. I think you either have to be completely one end of the spectrum or the other as a Bulldogs fan, anything in between just doesn't suffice!

Just remember: no matter how you feel, it won't affect how they play out there. So you may as well enjoy it, rather than suffer.

Have faith.

16-04-2016, 06:43 PM
Just remember: no matter how you feel, it won't affect how they play out there. So you may as well enjoy it, rather than suffer.

Have faith.

Channeling George Michael? :)

16-04-2016, 07:07 PM
Channeling George Michael? :)

Pretty sure he's got someone who does that for him already

16-04-2016, 07:19 PM
Teams final no changes

16-04-2016, 07:22 PM
Let's be honest we'd be worried even if they played a suburban team .
Regardless of the Murphy injury time to get back on the horse

16-04-2016, 07:32 PM
First goal Picken, BOG Stringer, and Dogs by 3 goals in a tight game.

16-04-2016, 08:02 PM

I don't see this as a danger game but I can see us struggling at times tonight

16-04-2016, 08:24 PM
What the hell was that pre match entertainment from Carlton?

I think I even heard their announcer girl say Sumner is debutanting!

16-04-2016, 08:27 PM
The crowd isn't as big as I would have liked.

16-04-2016, 08:29 PM
Feels like a carbon copy of our game last year.

Hope we kick it into gear for 4 qtrs

16-04-2016, 08:42 PM
I'm sufficiently pissed off about our players slipping over.

Jong being reported for that is a *!*!*!*!ing joke.

16-04-2016, 08:49 PM
I'm sufficiently pissed off about our players slipping over.

Jong being reported for that is a *!*!*!*!ing joke.

Cripps milked it to ensure the free and the umpire bit. It'll get withdrawn.

16-04-2016, 08:51 PM
Bit flat to start.

16-04-2016, 08:51 PM
Is there anything more palpable than the commentary excitement when Carlton get a touch? It's crap.

16-04-2016, 08:54 PM
Suckling did a Gilb

16-04-2016, 08:55 PM
Is there any way to check which player has drawn the highest number of 'too high' frees this year?

If McLean's not #1 I'll eat all of my hats.

16-04-2016, 08:56 PM
Toby did a Toby. Love it.

16-04-2016, 08:56 PM
Jed's been very vocal on and off the ball.

16-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Suckling is good.

I can't believe McLean is still fooling people four games in.

Great time to be a Bulldog.

16-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Adcock already showing his worth, Suckling is a beauty to watch when he hits his kicks. Daniel is a ripper.

16-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Is there any way to check which player has drawn the highest number of 'too high' frees this year?

If McLean's not #1 I'll eat all of my hats.

I mentioned last week they should call him Toby "Caught too High" McLean.
Once the media call him out over it the umpires will take note.

16-04-2016, 09:01 PM
Jed's been very vocal on and off the ball.

Hes going to add a lot to our team.

16-04-2016, 09:03 PM

Agreed. Stunned some meeja pundit hasn't hung their hat on it as yet.

16-04-2016, 09:03 PM

Maybe, but my brother in law was a VFL umpire and the AFL guys say they know some players milk frees but you instinctively blow the whistle and pay the free before you realise who the player was.

Then you say shit I'm not going to get fooled next time, but you do.

16-04-2016, 09:09 PM
Adcock had a great first quarter.

16-04-2016, 09:10 PM
Minson or campbell to get a chance next week

16-04-2016, 09:11 PM
Bonts in good form tonight

16-04-2016, 09:11 PM
Adcock already showing his worth, Suckling is a beauty to watch when he hits his kicks. Daniel is a ripper.

Is Adcock playing forward or back?

16-04-2016, 09:12 PM
Bonts in good form tonight

Back to his best

16-04-2016, 09:12 PM
Is Adcock playing forward or back?

Forward in the first.

16-04-2016, 09:15 PM
Minson or campbell to get a chance next week

Roughead's back on.

16-04-2016, 09:16 PM
Forward in the first.

Thanks. Is Adcock playing well?

16-04-2016, 09:18 PM

Yeah he is.

16-04-2016, 09:22 PM
Dale!

16-04-2016, 09:22 PM

Having some good impact, showing good poise and leadership.

16-04-2016, 09:23 PM
Bonnnnntttyyyyy!!!!!

Tabkles 34 to 21 dogs way

Cameron Ling is hurting over us being good. He hates it.

The Bont is so Bont it's not even funny.

16-04-2016, 09:24 PM
Bont brilliant again, quality.

16-04-2016, 09:24 PM
9.3 (two of them into the post)

Our goal kicking is awesome.

16-04-2016, 09:26 PM
Sucklings kicking is incredible

16-04-2016, 09:29 PM
Sucklings kicking is Incredible

16-04-2016, 09:30 PM
I'm developing a bit of a man crush on Matty Suckling. Some of those kicks are sublime.

16-04-2016, 09:31 PM
Carlton trying hard but we seem to have 5 extra jumpers out there

16-04-2016, 09:31 PM
We really need to work on our forward 50 entries. We almost never kick to an advantageous area for a leading forward.

16-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Funny, I attended last week's game with my best mate who's a Hawk's fan. When they lost Suckling to us he said they won't win another Flag without him.

Last week, he was completely dismissive of his input and called him too soft.

16-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Remarkable how quickly Daniel has become a prime mover in our midfield brigade.

It's not as if it's a shallow field either. Jeez he's got some class.

16-04-2016, 09:33 PM
We really need to work on our forward 50 entries. We almost never kick to an advantageous area for a leading forward.

Yep, we win so much ball that we should be scoring 15+ goals with ease.

Crameri would be so handy, along with a fit Dickson.

Adcock has already looked dangerous, knows where to run within the 50.

16-04-2016, 09:34 PM
Funny, I attended last week's game with my best mate who's a Hawk's fan. When they lost Suckling to us he said they won't win another Flag without him.

Last week, he was completely dismissive of his input and called him too soft.

Weird, he was awesome last week and has been awesome this week.

16-04-2016, 09:35 PM
Cameron Ling is hurting over us being good. He hates it.

The Bont is so Bont it's not even funny.

Lingy's insights in the rooms are invaluable though.

The script's the same every week.

16-04-2016, 09:36 PM

Yeah, he seems to have really settled

16-04-2016, 09:37 PM
Falcon of the century, i didnt want to laugh but i have several times

16-04-2016, 09:37 PM
Whilst we are doing well, we really still haven't quite nailed how to kick the ball to a tall forward inside 50.
Thankfully we seem more adept than most at manufacturing enough scoring shots from other avenues.

16-04-2016, 09:39 PM
Sucklings kicking is Incredible

Just sublime. That cross field kick to Stringer was ridiculous.

Remarkable how quickly Daniel has become a prime mover in our midfield brigade.

It's not as if it's a shallow field either. Jeez he's got some class.

What a jet.

16-04-2016, 09:40 PM
After the Sci-fi thread I watched The Matrix again. I have the words of cypher talking to the agents whilst eating a steak, paraphrased in my ears.

.. I know it's a shite club. I know they're a joke a side, but you know what I've learnt after tha McCartney years? I don't care...

Smashing Carlton is always good. :D

16-04-2016, 09:47 PM
Interesting first half. Struggled to put Carlton away in the first 15 mins of the game then a couple of late goals and we are 18 up at the end of the first quarter. Carlton started well in the 2nd quarter and but we after about 5 mins we dominated and bang 42 points up at the main break, letting in 2 points. By the end of that qtr we were just toying with them.

16-04-2016, 09:48 PM
After the Sci-fi thread I watched The Matrix again. I have the words of cypher talking to the agents whilst eating a steak, paraphrased in my ears.

.. I know it's a shite club. I know they're a joke a side, but you know what I've learnt after tha McCartney years? I don't care...

Smashing Carlton is always good. :D

Hey BT, I reckon we did well because of Bmac.

Discuss.

16-04-2016, 09:49 PM

It was at the start of the game that he said that. He piped down when Suckling started killing them in the first half, essentially without him we'd have been another two goals down at half time.

16-04-2016, 09:51 PM
Because of our forward press we find ourselves with a congested forward line to kick to all the time. There's always so many players to have to deal with.

16-04-2016, 09:53 PM
Hey BT, I reckon we did well because of Bmac.

Discuss.

:D Points for trying J Man.

16-04-2016, 09:53 PM
:D Points for trying J Man.

You know I'm always just around the corner.

16-04-2016, 10:00 PM
That looks a bad hamstring for JJ

16-04-2016, 10:01 PM
JJ and now Suckling... Bloody hell.

16-04-2016, 10:01 PM
Murphy, Wood, JJ & Prudden all out now.

Time for Webb & Dale now.

16-04-2016, 10:08 PM
Brian Taylor aka *!*!*!*!wit is really riding Toyd at the moment for a lack of second efforts.

He's such a dickhead, doesn't even get Toyd plays ruck for a chunk of the game and is cooked ever time he's forward tonight, due to Roughead's shape.

16-04-2016, 10:10 PM
Brian Taylor aka *!*!*!*!wit is really riding Toyd at the moment for a lack of second efforts.

He's such a dickhead, doesn't even get Toyd plays ruck for a chunk of the game and is cooked ever time he's forward tonight, due to Roughead's shape.

I'm at the game so I don't have to listen to the over the top Taylor but Boyd should be doing better.

16-04-2016, 10:10 PM
Boyd doesn't look any chance of kicking a set shot anymore. Don't know what's happened to him.

16-04-2016, 10:11 PM
I reckon Boyd had made some good second efforts and the delivery hasn't been good.

16-04-2016, 10:12 PM
Well done Lin!

16-04-2016, 10:12 PM
I'm at the game so I don't have to listen to the over the top Taylor but Boyd should be doing better.

Let's get him some clean ball and judge him based on that.

16-04-2016, 10:13 PM

It's bull crap. Sledging him for no second efforts all night irrespective of the contest, does a triple effort to get a holding the ball and stays completely silent. F**wit, complete and utter.

16-04-2016, 10:17 PM
Because of our forward press we find ourselves with a congested forward line to kick to all the time. There's always so many players to have to deal with.

Of course. But 4 or 5 times we've had guys with clear leads at the ball and our kicks have just not been good enough.

That's not even mentioning the times guys have been stationary and free and we've bombed it on their heads.

It's a concern and I think against better teams we'll really rue those simple mistakes.

16-04-2016, 10:18 PM

Agreed. He's not having a good night at all.

He's running under the ball in the marking contest and not protecting the space in front.

16-04-2016, 10:18 PM
I reckon Boyd had made some good second efforts and the delivery hasn't been good.

Tend to agree that the kicking too him has been poor.

16-04-2016, 10:19 PM

He is leading the tackle count for us

16-04-2016, 10:20 PM
their mistakes are flattering us.

16-04-2016, 10:21 PM
Tend to agree that the kicking too him has been poor.

Not even Tony Lockett would be scoring goals as a full forward tonight. Entries are the issue, not Tom. Can't judge a player given no real chance to employ forward trade craft.

16-04-2016, 10:24 PM
Suckling back on late in that quarter is good news.

16-04-2016, 10:25 PM
Of course. But 4 or 5 times we've had guys with clear leads at the ball and our kicks have just not been good enough.

That's not even mentioning the times guys have been stationary and free and we've bombed it on their heads.

It's a concern and I think against better teams we'll really rue those simple mistakes.

As we mature we'll get better at it, but essentially our game is based around crowding our half forward and wing area with a lot of frantic ball movement and kicks forward.

It's s death by a thousand cuts principle. More opportunities born from turnovers means more scoring. We cut teams to ribbons based on it, we need to do it better.

16-04-2016, 10:25 PM
Boyd runs under the ball more than Liam Jones.

16-04-2016, 10:26 PM
I'd like to see a 4 or 5 goal last quarter. I hope we don't try and just rest on the lead.

16-04-2016, 10:27 PM
Bevo needs to get the guys to regroup. Whilst still in control on the scoreboard, we were on the back foot in most situations that quarter. No doubt losing J.J. has stung us but we need to steel ourselves in the last and emd this early.

16-04-2016, 10:28 PM
On top of that, missing Dickson and Crameri is making it harder.

As I've said all along, our biggest deficiency is our lack of a genuine forward talent depth.

16-04-2016, 10:31 PM
Roughead into defence and Adams forward

16-04-2016, 10:32 PM
Very lethargic effort at the moment

16-04-2016, 10:37 PM
Very lethargic effort at the moment

Horrible. Look line we're just trying to hold on

16-04-2016, 10:38 PM
Not a good start to the last. We've dropped off, especially around the ball.

16-04-2016, 10:38 PM
Boyd runs under the ball more than Liam Jones.

Rubbish

16-04-2016, 10:43 PM
We are immeasurably better than these useless wankers. That's why we're five goals up.

Boyd's done his shoulder, he's shit and shouldn't be a millionaire.

16-04-2016, 10:46 PM
Jake Stringer is almost a fake. Sick of his bullshit.

16-04-2016, 10:57 PM
Well, that was ugly. Happy just to get out of that alive.

16-04-2016, 10:58 PM
Plenty to work on. We are capable of playing a lot better than we did tonight.

16-04-2016, 11:00 PM
Crowd - 27,622.

Obviously the AFL got it wrong and should have put Carlton on Friday night......they'd have gotten 32,000 if they did.

16-04-2016, 11:00 PM
Winning ugly. Cool.

16-04-2016, 11:01 PM

I was sooooooo pissed off when I posted this, disregard the content, maintain the spirit.

16-04-2016, 11:01 PM

He probably needs a better supporting crew than what we had tonight but that's two weeks in a row he's been beaten by athletic defenders that he should be able to handle.

16-04-2016, 11:03 PM
Got the win
That's about it .bit of a concern these soft tissue injuries

16-04-2016, 11:07 PM
He probably needs a better supporting crew than what we had tonight but that's two weeks in a row he's been beaten by athletic defenders that he should be able to handle.

He can't do the simple things at all, I'm unforgiving of it because far less talented players eat the things he messes up for breakfast.

I'm so sick of everyone climbing up his arse (and probably himself doing so) when he can't get the basics right.

16-04-2016, 11:14 PM
Lots of players down tonight. Stringer, Bont Libba

16-04-2016, 11:14 PM
The delivery to Stringer and Boyd has been abysmal two weeks in a row. What is it with all those hanging high balls to a contest in the forward 50? No forward can do anything with garbage delivery like that.

16-04-2016, 11:15 PM
He can't do the simple things at all, I'm unforgiving of it because far less talented players eat the things he messes up for breakfast.

I'm so sick of everyone climbing up his arse (and probably himself doing so) when he can't get the basics right.

Don't you think this is a bit disrespectful to one of our own? Didn't have a great night, but will bounce back. You prefer your players sterilised ? He has a bit of swagger sure. The issue is the basics.

16-04-2016, 11:17 PM
We looked out on our feet in the last quarter. Struggled to cover the ground. Lucky that Carlton were unable to take their chances.

Considering our injuries I am happy we got the four points. This time of year is all about banking the four points.

16-04-2016, 11:17 PM
Don't you think this is a bit disrespectful to one of our own? Didn't have a great night, but will bounce back.

Maybe but its fair to say some of our players are starting to believe their own hype.

16-04-2016, 11:18 PM
The delivery to Stringer and Boyd has been abysmal two weeks in a row. What is it with all those hanging high balls to a contest in the forward 50? No forward can do anything with garbage delivery like that.

It's a symptom of the way we play and the way our opponents play against us.

We congest the forward flanks and wings, and when we play against shite teams like Carlton they don't structure up to combat it, instead they just sit among it. It makes horrible watching, and pisses us off when we win by 5-10 goals.

16-04-2016, 11:26 PM
Without JJ Murph or Wood we really lacked any run from the back half.

Any news yet about the fitness of Boyd or JJ? Really hoping it's not a season ending thing for JJ.

16-04-2016, 11:31 PM
Maybe but its fair to say some of our players are starting to believe their own hype.

We has a lot of good players down. Yet found a way to win, so that's good. Hunter was incredible.

16-04-2016, 11:32 PM
Lots of players down tonight. Stringer, Bont Libba

Bontempelli started well but faded significantly in the 2nd half

16-04-2016, 11:36 PM
Not flash at all, but better than the alternative.

16-04-2016, 11:40 PM
Players were very tired tonight in the 2nd half coping with the injuries and the 6 day break.

16-04-2016, 11:42 PM
Players were very tired tonight in the 2nd half coping with the injuries and the 6 day break.

Just to throw it out there:

Can we keep using 6 day breaks as a way of explaining flat patches especially when we only make one forced change to the selected team or do we take a deeper look at our playing style and ask if it's too draining on the players?

16-04-2016, 11:44 PM

You're basing this on what exactly?

16-04-2016, 11:44 PM

Can we keep using 6 day breaks as a way of explaining flat patches especially when we only make one forced change to the selected team or do we take a deeper look at our playing style and ask if it's too draining on the players?

Good question GVG.

16-04-2016, 11:47 PM

Hawks were flat today. I reckon last week took it out of both clubs. Once we copped a couple of injuries it hurt.

16-04-2016, 11:48 PM

The Hawks game was particularly gruelling though. Appears they felt it too if their showing vs the Aints is anything to go by.

16-04-2016, 11:49 PM
Looked like the team put the cue in the rack in the second half.

16-04-2016, 11:50 PM
Don't you think this is a bit disrespectful to one of our own? Didn't have a great night, but will bounce back. You prefer your players sterilised ? He has a bit of swagger sure. The issue is the basics.

No. I don't.

16-04-2016, 11:54 PM
The Hawks game was particularly gruelling though. Appears they felt it too if their showing vs the Aints is anything to go by.

So did we underestimate the impact of the Hawks game by only making one change which was forced on us?
Should the combination of a 6 day break + grueling game = more than one change by the match committee?

16-04-2016, 11:57 PM
So did we underestimate the impact of the Hawks game by only making one change which was forced on us?
Should the combination of a 6 day break + grueling game = more than one change by the match committee?

When combined with the unknown effect the reduced interchange cap is going to have over the balance of the season, I think it's safe to say if we had our time again we would have swung a few more changes.

16-04-2016, 11:57 PM

While it was the worst six goal win I've ever seen I don't think we got our selections wrong.

We tired and some players really didn't do enough individually from time to time and it made me unhappy.

17-04-2016, 12:03 AM
While it was the worst six goal win I've ever seen I don't think we got our selections wrong.

We tired and some players really didn't do enough individually from time to time and it made me unhappy.

Kind of how I felt after the Saints game, great to get a solid win but left the ground feeling pretty flat about it. Certainly a very different feeling to how I would have enjoyed such wins in 2015.

17-04-2016, 12:07 AM
The expectations on this group have certainly risen. Not a bad thing.

17-04-2016, 12:14 AM
I feel somewhat flat.

Is it a testament of how far we've come that a 6 goal win against a bottom side is no longer par?
Is it the cumulative effects of losing two players in consecutive weeks whom are intrinsic to our rejuvenation?
Are the above postulations magnified due to the bottle of Shiraz & Rose I've consumed tonight?
I don't care, but nonetheless quite likely.
Therefore.......goodnight.

17-04-2016, 12:24 AM
I feel somewhat flat.

Is it a testament of how far we've come that a 6 goal win against a bottom side is no longer par?
Is it the cumulative effects of losing two players in consecutive weeks whom are intrinsic to our rejuvenation?
Are the above postulations magnified due to the bottle of Shiraz & Rose I've consumed tonight?
I don't care, but nonetheless quite likely.
Therefore.......goodnight.

Yes to all your questions.

17-04-2016, 12:26 AM
It was as depressing a victory as you could have I think. Which is at some level a good thing because means our expectations have risen significantly and our appetite for meaningful, joyous victories is very large at the moment.

Last week appeared to have taken its toll on both Hawthorn and our playing group, so there is some rationale to the performance being so flat in that. Add the emotional week with Murphy's injury and you can build a case for energy levels not being at fever pitch. So to get out to a decent lead and hang on through injuries and a momentum shift is something to put in the bank and move on from.

We were very well looked after by the umpires tonight. Carlton copped the sort of treatment we have for many seasons in a row against more fancied opponents, or simply larger clubs. It was a strange feeling, being on the other side of the equation for a change. It was the inverse of the Hawks game on that front.

We've got a few blokes playing down at the moment, not getting enough the ball and not using it well enough. The defensive and effort based stuff seems to be there still but execution and smart use of the ball isn't. For example I thought our tackling was solid all night, macrame in particular putting a good show on there. The ability to switch the play, or safely move the ball through the corridor just wasn't there.

when JJ went off the goals dried up. I was frustrated that we didn't find a way to keep the scoreboard ticking over. Jong's goal was the highlight of the night for me.

17-04-2016, 12:28 AM
27K at game tonight. Thought we should have attracted over 30K but not a bad effort.

17-04-2016, 12:56 AM
Sign of a good side. Injuries and won ugly, very emotional week, I would take this win anytime after all this happened.

17-04-2016, 01:01 AM
We had 77 rotations for the entire match, I believe. Down 1 man for an entire half, then 2 men for the last quarter effectively.

Backing up after the Hawks game and having to grind out the game under such circumstances, I'm happy to bank the 4 points.

JJ's injury provides an opportunity for a youngster to come in and have an extended run at the highest level which will do wonders for their development.

17-04-2016, 01:08 AM
When combined with the unknown effect the reduced interchange cap is going to have over the balance of the season, I think it's safe to say if we had our time again we would have swung a few more changes.

Strange we only used 77 interchanges today

NoseBleed
17-04-2016, 01:40 AM
JJ's injury provides an opportunity for a youngster to come in and have an extended run at the highest level which will do wonders for their development.

Looking foward to Brian Twonames calling for his retirement this week to free up a spot in the side for a youngster...

17-04-2016, 06:48 AM
Can see how some feel flat but I don't
I don't think many tipped us to win a final this year. JJ will be back when it matters, fingers crossed with Bob.
It's a fantastic test for the team, and when JJ does a Libba and returns, he will be running alongside the guy who stepped up to cover him, and will be all the better for it.

A lot of commentators wondered how some of our borderline 22 were ever going to break into the team. Now they get their chance.

We win pretty, we win ugly, as long as we get the 4 points.

What a massive effort from those on field to cover for our losses.
Loved to see us shop early and it got us enough credit to buffer things later.

17-04-2016, 08:29 AM
It's funny how I felt during the last half of that game. I was on the edge of my seat until the last 2 minutes of the game urging the boys on, praying every Carlton shot would miss and a relief when it did.
All this and we were still 6 goals up and it would have taken a monumental effort for Carlton to take the points, old ghosts still lurking in the cupboard.
I too after the win was flat. I think our game style has been well and truly examined and the test will be over the next 4-5 games to see how we cover the injured players and how we find some evasive speed and flair out of the back half.

17-04-2016, 09:23 AM
Loved to see us shop early and it got us enough credit to buffer things later.

Agree with you, that was the take away for me as someone who walked away a bit deflated. At least we went bang early enough and hard enough to open up a significant lead. It afforded us the opportunity to deal with the injuries and momentum shifts etc without compounding our problems by turning it into a dog fight. We managed the levels of adversity/duress pretty well. Even if it was against Carlton.

17-04-2016, 09:34 AM
It's funny how I felt during the last half of that game. I was on the edge of my seat until the last 2 minutes of the game urging the boys on, praying every Carlton shot would miss and a relief when it did.
All this and we were still 6 goals up and it would have taken a monumental effort for Carlton to take the points, old ghosts still lurking in the cupboard.
I too after the win was flat. I think our game style has been well and truly examined and the test will be over the next 4-5 games to see how we cover the injured players and how we find some evasive speed and flair out of the back half.

I think our game plan is fine, however it will require some tweaks now that JJ and Bob are unavailable.

We stopped to a grind due to only using 77 rotations out of 90. I think I read that Hunter wasn't rotated after quarter time. What a tank! And means we should probably go easier on some skill errors late when the team was fatigued.

17-04-2016, 09:39 AM
Thoughts in Boyd? I thought he was poor last night. Especially in the 1st half he looked like he had stone hands. The falcon was just unfortunate. Got into it more in the 2nd.

I had him out of the team before the injury. I think they'll rest him up anyway even if it was minor. Am I being to harsh?

17-04-2016, 09:50 AM
Thoughts in Boyd? I thought he was poor last night. Especially in the 1st half he looked like he had stone hands. The falcon was just unfortunate. Got into it more in the 2nd.

I had him out of the team before the injury. I think they'll rest him up anyway even if it was minor. Am I being to harsh?

He was one of the players who really was down on the night. He stays in if fit, but there needs to be a bit of a rejig on how we use him I think. You can see real fluctuations in his appetite for the contest from week to week and even within the game. At least last night he laid that terrific tackle and stumped up for longer periods in the ruck than perhaps we'd have liked and battled away (perhaps under some duress) manfully.

Not his night.

17-04-2016, 11:06 AM
Ok, so when we're watching 2016: Our Season That Was we'll probably skip this game, but I wasn't too deflated. Losing JJ might have cost us the game last year. This year we're stronger, better and we showed exactly that.

17-04-2016, 11:39 AM

I'm a Wilde supporter. I think the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

I don't see this as a danger game but I can see us struggling at times tonight

Good call

Toby did a Toby. Love it.

How many games did it take for his name to become a verb?

Maybe, but my brother in law was a VFL umpire and the AFL guys say they know some players milk frees but you instinctively blow the whistle and pay the free before you realise who the player was.

Then you say shit I'm not going to get fooled next time, but you do.

That would be frustrating. It's never occurred to me that would happen though. It explains a lot.

I'm happy this morning. We ground out a win with a couple of significant injuries when our opponents from last week didn't play well either and lost (the umpires made sure they got the 4 points though in another brave last quarter performance from them, although a lot of the media mistakenly ascribed it to Hawthorn-most of the media are morons, a non decision in Luke Hodge's favour and a frankly preposterous decision paid to Luke Bruest which he kicked a goal from IM ONTO YOU BASTARDS!!!!!) so I'm happy to get the win.

17-04-2016, 11:48 AM
To think after 4 rounds we are top of the ladder ...North can replace us today of course ...with a percentage of 170% is very satisfying. The lower the scores we can keep our opponents to the better our percentage even though we are not kicking massive scores. So our game plan is a winner. Well done to Bevo, all the asst coaches and the team. Go dogs.

17-04-2016, 11:51 AM

I loved his second efforts last night, and his tackling.

17-04-2016, 11:52 AM
Lots to work on, but put me in the 'pleased to get the win' camp - was sitting very close to the Bulldogs bench (with three generations of Libba's just behind me), and we were seriously compromised health/fitness wise. Suckling was struggling with a foot/ankle, Roughead the same, plus JJ of course and then Tom Boyd. The 77 interchanges was a clear sign that we didn't have the cattle to do more. Hawthorn had tried to smash us and it had an effect on us (as well as on them!), with the 6 day break added in. If you remember back to the post-Freo games last year, you can see an improvement.

I thought Suckling was immense, came back on and did a lot of vital running and contested work that isn't usually at the forefront of his game. Clearly we broke down way too often going forward which was frustrating, but at this time of the year it is still good to have things to work on. For a fair bit of the last quarter it seemed like they'd do a Saints from last year and over-run us, but we managed to keep stopping them at the last contest, which was pleasing.

Stringer will likely continue to get a lot of grief from our supporters, but I thought his ability to run through the middle was important and he had a lot of good touches there. Not a game-breaker, but continued to play his role which is what we need most from him, and influenced a game when things were not going his way. Interesting also to see Adams have a turn up forward - didn't have a huge impact, but I like the versatility. Morris was playing pretty high up for much of the game, and for the most part, did it really well. Koby Stevens was fantastic, and Macrea's tacking was a highlight, as was Libba's ability to continually hold his feet in a contest, then turn on a six-pence to break the game open. Hunter's gut running and pressure acts were also fantastic, with Biggs obviously very important as well.

17-04-2016, 11:52 AM
Bevo's members message here (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2016-04-17/luke-beveridge-post-match-rd4)

Explains a bit about the week following Hawks match.

17-04-2016, 11:54 AM

He is running under most contests. Has been all year.

17-04-2016, 11:59 AM
He is running under most contests. Has been all year.

Don't agree with this. I think the delivery to him is absolutely pathetic.

17-04-2016, 12:02 PM
Don't agree with this. I think the delivery to him is absolutely pathetic.

Couldn't agree more. Not even Tony Lockett at full forward would have kicked many with the garbage entries almost all night.

17-04-2016, 12:05 PM
I'm a Wilde supporter. I think the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

Maybe what many of us are experiencing is the realisation that the stars look better from the gutter?

17-04-2016, 12:08 PM
Couldn't agree more. Not even Tony Lockett at full forward would have kicked many with the garbage entries almost all night.

Not just last night, has been all year.

17-04-2016, 12:28 PM
I thought Boyd and Stringer played good games . The magical stuff Stringer does he is still doing, it's just I think he is too smart for some of our players to even pick up what he is doing at times. A couple of his handballs are amazing under pressure but just missing the mark by an inch.
Boyd is getting a round the ground a lot more just waiting for his tank to be bigger so by the time he gets to position he isn't to exhausted to take the mark.
Bontempelli did what he does, seems to be a step up Player when the moment needs it.
"Candyman" Daniel is superb.
Sucklings kicking was impressive even after the ankle injury , he had this kind of hook foot that for some reason makes the ball go long distance.
Think we need to bring in Redpath or Campbell to help out Stringer and at least make the opposition think
If who to put their best back on.

17-04-2016, 02:07 PM
I think Boyd will be played unless injured. Bevo spoke in the pre season about how dropping him last year and keeping him out for so long was the worst thing for his development and really hurt his confidence. He's rucked well, competed hard and clunked a few big grabs without putting the goals on the board yet. I'd persist and even consider playing Redders next to him for a bit of respite

17-04-2016, 02:09 PM
Maybe what many of us are experiencing is the realisation that the stars look better from the gutter?

That's an interesting take from that quote, I don't know his point was all about how the stats looked but I've been wrong before.

I thought Boyd and Stringer played good games . The magical stuff Stringer does he is still doing, it's just I think he is too smart for some of our players to even pick up what he is doing at times. A couple of his handballs are amazing under pressure but just missing the mark by an inch.
Boyd is getting a round the ground a lot more just waiting for his tank to be bigger so by the time he gets to position he isn't to exhausted to take the mark.
Bontempelli did what he does, seems to be a step up Player when the moment needs it.
"Candyman" Daniel is superb.
Sucklings kicking was impressive even after the ankle injury , he had this kind of hook foot that for some reason makes the ball go long distance.
Think we need to bring in Redpath or Campbell to help out Stringer and at least make the opposition think
If who to put their best back on.

And the ball bends along the boundary line. It's like a red, white and blue programmed missile that swerves past opponents.

It's the bent leg. In soccer if you want the ball to dip you kick it with a bent leg. Suckling has found a way to do it-or control it-with a footy.

17-04-2016, 02:13 PM
Sucking kicked a goal last night and kicked it normally too. No trying to bounce it through or silly kicks.

17-04-2016, 02:22 PM
Reports that JJ is out for 4 months - that's going to hurt. Wishing him all the best.

17-04-2016, 02:37 PM
Very happy after the match last night with the win but also agree with a few woofers that we were a bit flat coming off last week. Daniel I thought was excellent once again. Hunter had a very good game and was busy. Marcus Adams did a lot of good things. Stringer was quiet and I thought Bonti was ok.

The injuries will be a test for us. JJ is a big loss and hopefully T Boyd and Suckling injuries aren't too serious.

17-04-2016, 02:47 PM
Reports that JJ is out for 4 months - that's going to hurt. Wishing him all the best.

Have you a link to that Cinder? I just heard that they still don't know.

17-04-2016, 03:02 PM

Jay Clark (H-Sun) tweeted it.

17-04-2016, 03:03 PM

I've read anywhere from 8 weeks to 16 weeks. I think it's best to wait until the club announces it.

17-04-2016, 04:26 PM
One good thing about last night was that the Blues clearly tried to use dirty tactics to put us off our game. Didn't work, although we got sucked in to a scuffle with them.

17-04-2016, 05:20 PM

So 2 VFL games, then back for Round 21. Confident and ready round 22. Primed for finals.

17-04-2016, 06:20 PM

Sorry - yeah it was reported on Triple M - so not officially from the club. Apparently Stringer said today at some function he was at, that it will be 12 weeks. Guess we'll wait and see.

17-04-2016, 06:30 PM

One report I heard said that was the worst case scenario and that it would be more like 3 months.

17-04-2016, 11:40 PM
It's been disappointing to read posts that criticize both our team performance and some of our players. We won by six goals. Yes, it was a scrappy game. Our delivery into the forward line was very poor at times. Still we dominated the first half before having to confront some real injury challenges. There is no doubt Carlton lifted as we tired. But let's remember the positive: in the last quarter our defence, led by Dale Morris and Matthew Boyd stood up and weathered the storm. Once again our team defence was pretty miserly. Biggs played a terrific game and Jack Macrae and Lachie Hunter really gave a chop out when needed. I was very impressed by Dale Morris's leadership and Matthew Boyd was solid from the off. Matthew Suckling backed up and showed what a good player he is even when injured. We have a lot to look forward to and I'm expecting those players who were down to be really champing at the bit over the next week.

18-04-2016, 03:52 PM
As predicted, Jong report insufficient head high contact.

18-04-2016, 07:36 PM
And now reports JJ's injury isn't as bad and 6-8 weeks instead. I wish the club would officially release it. If this is true, great news.

18-04-2016, 08:38 PM
I'm not sure anyone has commented on this to date so, if so, I apologise for raking over old coals. I was pleased to see Jake Stringer get involved in a controlled way in the fracas that erupted around Joel Hamling. I thought he showed good leadership at a important time in the match. He was probably foremost among our group who flew the flag after some Carlton players had tried to make a mountain out of a molehill.

18-04-2016, 08:42 PM
And now reports JJ's injury isn't as bad and 6-8 weeks instead. I wish the club would officially release it. If this is true, great news.

See the injury thread I updated. It's got a link from the website.

18-04-2016, 08:45 PM
I'm not sure anyone has commented on this to date so, if so, I apologise for raking over old coals. I was pleased to see Jake Stringer get involved in a controlled way in the fracas that erupted around Joel Hamling. I thought he showed good leadership at a important time in the match. He was probably foremost among our group who flew the flag after some Carlton players had tried to make a mountain out of a molehill.

Yes, Carton completely overreacted to Hamling's well executed and perfectly legal spoil in the goal square. I think they were under instruction to try and intimidate to put us off our game. Didn't work, 'nuff said.

18-04-2016, 09:08 PM
See the injury thread I updated. It's got a link from the website.

Oh ok cool - nice work.

18-04-2016, 10:10 PM
I was pretty impressed by Hamling. Few knuckle jumper-punches at the bottom of the pack. Got a big of mongrel.

18-04-2016, 11:37 PM
I was pretty impressed by Hamling. Few knuckle jumper-punches at the bottom of the pack. Got a big of mongrel.
Copped a fine as well.

19-04-2016, 05:36 PM
AFLCA Votes
Round 4 – Carlton v Western Bulldogs

8 – Shane Biggs (WB)
7 – Lachie Hunter (WB)
7 – Matthew Suckling (WB)
4 – Koby Stevens (WB)
2 – Dale Morris (WB)
1 – Sam Docherty (CARL)
1 – Jordan Roughead (WB)

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-04-19/biggs-bundles-up-aflca-votes

20-04-2016, 06:29 PM
Copped a fine as well.

I've been surprised at the leniency with the jumper punch this season. Jake Stringer clocked a Freo player in the chin and nothing was done. Guess we were due.