View Full Version : Game Day Round 8 2016 - Melbourne V Western Bulldogs

14-05-2016, 04:00 PM
Predictions: Margin, First goalkicker, Best on ground and Crowd number

Margin: Dogs by 14 points - I have feeling will do it in another relatively close one. Go Dogs!
First Goal: Wallis to get our first goal
Best On Ground: Wood to be great down at half back for us
Crowd: 46,546

14-05-2016, 06:30 PM
Big Red was a breath of fresh air last week. I reckon he will dynamise our forward line this week too with Stringer and Dickson the main beneficiaries. Big games from Morris and Roberts will get us home in a canter.

Dogs by 30 points
First Goal: the Bont
BOG: Libba

Crowd: depends if it is snowing or not.

14-05-2016, 06:32 PM
Big Red was a breath of fresh air last week. I reckon he will dynamise our forward line this week too with Stringer and Dickson the main beneficiaries. Big games from Morris and Roberts will get us home in a canter.

Dogs by 30 points
First Goal: the Bont
BOG: Libba

Crowd: depends if it is snowing or not.

Ha ha ha love it F'scary.

14-05-2016, 06:35 PM
Dogs by 27
First Goal: Redpath
BOG: Dahl

14-05-2016, 07:02 PM
Dogs by 23
First goal Strrrriiiinnnngerrrrrr
BOG Daniel
Crowd 32,011

14-05-2016, 11:04 PM
Win = 4th spot on the ladder
Win & pick up 3.81% = 3rd spot on the ladder

Dogs by 35
BOG & FG Redpath (6 goals)

14-05-2016, 11:11 PM
It is a very important game once again especially playing a much improved side and playing for the first time this year at the G. We want to try and aim for the top 4 and winning games like tomorrow are so important.

15-05-2016, 12:19 AM
Dogs by 37 points.
First goal: Bontempelli
BOG. Dahlhaus.

15-05-2016, 12:21 AM
Dogs by 40
BOG- Wallis
First goal- Stringer

15-05-2016, 12:47 AM
This is such a close season. Every game feels like a season defining game. In saying that we must win this one and make a statement. Melbourne are no easy beats.

Dogs by 32
First goal - Dickson
BOG - The Bont (again)
Crowd - 32k

15-05-2016, 09:49 AM
Dogs by 17
First goal - Daniel
BOG - Bontempelli
Crowd - 26,500

I play basketball on Sunday, so this timeslot doesn't work for me - which really sucks. Based on the similarly timed fixture last year and Melbourne's improved form, I'm expecting this to be a very tough game.

15-05-2016, 10:00 AM
I have some anxiety about this match with another important back out in Adams. Oh well anxiety is like the flu, you suffer it and eventually it goes away.
Dogs by 5 points
First goal Wallis
BOG Hunter.

15-05-2016, 10:07 AM
I have a lot of anxiety and think they'll get us today.

Trying to remain positive but I think the Demons by 16 points.
First goal Dahlhaus
BOG Wallis

15-05-2016, 10:28 AM
Dogs by 21
First Goal-Stringer
BOG- Hunter
Crowd-45,394

15-05-2016, 11:12 AM
Dogs by 17
First goal - Daniel
BOG - Bontempelli
Crowd - 26,500

I play basketball on Sunday, so this timeslot doesn't work for me - which really sucks. Based on the similarly timed fixture last year and Melbourne's improved form, I'm expecting this to be a very tough game.

WB promotes community health and fitness. They will understand. Don't feel bad.

15-05-2016, 11:54 AM
Nervous, nervous, nervous - just for something different, but Melbourne is a bogey team.

However, Dogs by 4 (holding on as the Demons rush at us in the last two minutes)
First goal - Daniel
BOG - Bont
Free kick count: 12 - 47 Melbourne's favour

15-05-2016, 12:03 PM
Looking like it is going to rain, will make an interesting match.

15-05-2016, 12:23 PM
Rumour is Stringer out

15-05-2016, 12:35 PM
Dogs by 10 points.
First goal: Redders
BOG. Boyd

15-05-2016, 12:48 PM
Dogs by 8pts - (Dee's always worry me, probably a bit of throw back to Lyon and the 94 Semi and we seem to always underestimate them)

First goal - Big Red

BOG - Libba

Crowd - 35K

15-05-2016, 01:06 PM
Rumour is Stringer out

When are the final teams in? Is it still 45 mins before first bounce?

15-05-2016, 01:17 PM
When are the final teams in? Is it still 45 mins before first bounce?

Looks like its 90 mins out so we'll know at 1.50 pm.

15-05-2016, 01:26 PM
Looks like its 90 mins out so we'll know at 1.50 pm.

I hope he is playing as I am looking forward to going to the G and watching Stringer make a mockery of the Demons backline.

15-05-2016, 01:48 PM
I hope he is playing as I am looking forward to going to the G and watching Stringer make a mockery of the Demons backline.

Me too. I'm going anyway but him playing today makes my presence a non-negotiable.

15-05-2016, 01:51 PM
Forget about Stringer, if he is playing or not. My biggest issue is do I take a jacket in preparation for the rain or travel light and no jacket! If only I got to go to the MCG more to know the answer to these questions.

15-05-2016, 01:53 PM
Forget about Stringer, if he is playing or not. My biggest issue is do I take a jacket in preparation for the rain or travel light and no jacket! If only I got to go to the MCG more to know the answer to these questions.

Can't help you with the rain, but if you see line of range rovers with MFC stickers heading away from the city, you will know it is going to snow.

15-05-2016, 01:54 PM

Plenty of cover at the G

15-05-2016, 02:02 PM
Jealous of those who can get to this game. I'll watch it by myself at a sports bar here in Shanghai.
Plenty of good contests - Wallace V Viney, Hogan V Morris, Gawn V Campbell.
Gawn, Viney, Jones, Harmes, Vince, Oliver, Bugg - I think we have the manpower to match their best.

15-05-2016, 02:06 PM
Good to know you have a bar that shows it GD. Melbourne with their ball movement and forwards such as Hogan, Watts and Gartlett really worry me. Take into account 3 (4 if you count Suckling) first choice defenders are not playing.

Will be a massive effort to get the points.

15-05-2016, 02:21 PM
Rumour is Stringer out

All our emergencies played yesterday too.

15-05-2016, 02:25 PM
Dogs by 12 pts
BOG Hunter
1st goal Dahl

15-05-2016, 02:53 PM
No Late Changes

15-05-2016, 03:56 PM
Watching the warm up and Roberts running around. He needs to fire up today

15-05-2016, 04:19 PM
The banner was another good effort today.

15-05-2016, 04:26 PM
Adcock... Show us something, at least what Bevo sees because you're not afl standard right now.

15-05-2016, 04:31 PM
Big Jack on fire

15-05-2016, 04:31 PM
Watching the warm up and Roberts running around. He needs to fire up today

He increasingly worries me around the contest. Just lacks urgency and intent.

Let's hope he acquires some with a bit more game time.

15-05-2016, 04:34 PM
Roberts. Bringing his form from last week.

15-05-2016, 04:42 PM

And still Hamling can't crack it for a game.

But I digress ...

15-05-2016, 04:52 PM

To his credit he did comeback and provided a contest against Hogan which lead to a turnover.

15-05-2016, 04:53 PM
Good quarter, but missed a few opportunities .. Again.

15-05-2016, 04:53 PM
We are 21 points up at 1/4 time and s
I'm reading is negative stuff on here . Come on guys lift your game, Big jack looking good, all the forwards kicking goals , Stringer, Dickson included

15-05-2016, 04:54 PM
Redders looking the goods.

15-05-2016, 04:54 PM
Bailey Williams getting involved and being used , great to see.

15-05-2016, 04:55 PM
Roberts got knocked over by a fingernail but came back with a quality spoil soon after.

Loving Morris on Hogan, give him a bath Moz.

15-05-2016, 05:04 PM
Roberts is out of his depth

We are 21 points up at 1/4 time and s
I'm reading is negative stuff on here . Come on guys lift your game, Big jack looking good, all the forwards kicking goals , Stringer, Dickson included

If Big Red can make the most of our multiple opportunities he is in for a great year. Tons of ball coming in this year and his kicking looks great. 3-4 goals a game with the occasional big bag of 5-6 gives us excellent return for investment and covers Crameri's loss. Love it.

Adcock... Show us something, at least what Bevo sees because you're not afl standard right now.

Sorry. Show us something good. My bad for not being specific.

15-05-2016, 05:05 PM
Adcock did all the work then stuffed it !
Like Williams work

15-05-2016, 05:06 PM
Williams you beauty

15-05-2016, 05:11 PM
Boyd will get a week suspension.

15-05-2016, 05:11 PM
Consider Boyd gone for a week for that clip on Viney.

15-05-2016, 05:20 PM
Tom who?

15-05-2016, 05:21 PM
Can't wait to see Tom Boyd and Crameri in this forward line.

15-05-2016, 05:26 PM
Can't wait to see Tom Boyd and Crameri in this forward line.

Pretty sure you saw that last year

15-05-2016, 05:27 PM
Pretty sure you saw that last year

The 2017 version I mean.

Should be further ahead, but a lead is a lead at half time.

15-05-2016, 05:28 PM
Libba's had 10 tackles!

15-05-2016, 05:29 PM
Missed some opportunities, the forward set up is very good and putting the defenders under the pump. Plenty of space.

15-05-2016, 05:29 PM
Libba's had 10 tackles!

Most of them would be on Jones and Viney.. Making sure they can't get away in the clinches.

15-05-2016, 05:38 PM
Williams you beauty

Solid first half.

15-05-2016, 05:38 PM
The Bont is BOG at the moment. 21 disposals
and looking dangerous. Copped a punch in the face in the goal square when ump confused everyone in the Red free kick

15-05-2016, 05:40 PM
Liked Bailey Williams so far, a few neat kicks and hasn't seemed overawed.

It's great to have Bont back to full fitness. 20 disposals and most of them high quality. Hopefully Jettas punch to the head hasn't messed him around.

Big Red up forward has looked extremely dangerous and I've enjoyed every minute of it. Morris is winding back the clock this year.

15-05-2016, 05:43 PM
We need some marking from the twin rucks,

15-05-2016, 05:46 PM
Live Ladder says 13 more points in the margin takes us to 3rd.

15-05-2016, 05:54 PM
Really impressed by the Hunter's grit. I'm not sure he would've made that defensive run down on the back flank 15 months ago

15-05-2016, 05:56 PM
Career high 15 tackles for Libba! 8 more than anyone else on the ground. And Goal!!

15-05-2016, 05:57 PM
16 tackles for Libba, record is 19.

15-05-2016, 06:01 PM
16 tackles for Libba, record is 19.

Thanks for the correction Andrew. Still half a game left to break it then.

15-05-2016, 06:09 PM
I know Adcock has doubters but there has been some good efforts today that don't necessarily reflect on the stat sheet.
That effort this quarter to slow down the player after the mark allowed our midfielders to flood back.

15-05-2016, 06:11 PM
Libba on 18 tackles. Record is 19.

15-05-2016, 06:11 PM
I hate giving up a goal a minute after we kick one.
5 goal margin isn't reflective of how we have played especially our work rate

15-05-2016, 06:14 PM
I hate giving up a goal a minute after we kick one.
5 goal margin isn't reflective of how we have played especially our work rate

We've now done that twice

15-05-2016, 06:15 PM
Thanks for the correction Andrew. Still half a game left to break it then.

Wasn't meaning to correct, just heard it on the radio!

15-05-2016, 06:17 PM
Luke Hodge just said on broadcast that McLean is the best ever player he's seen at drawing the high free kicks.

15-05-2016, 06:19 PM
Live ladder says we need to extend lead by 12 points to jump over GWS.

15-05-2016, 06:20 PM
I know Adcock has doubters but there has been some good efforts today that don't necessarily reflect on the stat sheet.
That effort this quarter to slow down the player after the mark allowed our midfielders to flood back.
I think he has played well today, best game for us to date

15-05-2016, 06:21 PM
Must finish them off this quarter, don't let them make up any ground

15-05-2016, 06:21 PM
Yeah, Adcock has been good. Should shut the doubters up for a little while.

15-05-2016, 06:22 PM

I can't wait to get you update at the end of the game :) Not only a personal best but an AFL best.

15-05-2016, 06:23 PM
Roberts forward and Rough back didn't work that quarter for mine

We need to get off to a decent start and get the first goal.

Bont is the only Bulldog not to have laid a tackle. 38 tackles for the team in that quarter alone.

15-05-2016, 06:25 PM
Macrae's disposal has been excellent today

15-05-2016, 06:25 PM
Great way to equal the record. Congrats

15-05-2016, 06:28 PM
Breaking even in the ruck.

15-05-2016, 06:29 PM
We must have the best hands in close in the league. Exceptional

15-05-2016, 06:31 PM
Within a goal of 3rd spot on live ladder.

15-05-2016, 06:34 PM
We are in 3rd spot if we can maintain or increase the lead.

15-05-2016, 06:40 PM

Did we speak too soon?

15-05-2016, 06:46 PM
Is jack Watts the biggest "kick it to me " player you have ever seen ?
Hangs out wide waiting for someone to hand it to him on a platter.

15-05-2016, 06:50 PM
Did we speak too soon?

Hope not.

15-05-2016, 06:51 PM
Well done Jake. Dangerous player right to the end.

15-05-2016, 06:55 PM
Good win. And well done Libba equaling the record

15-05-2016, 06:59 PM
Very pleased. Put it on them early and never gave them a sniff

15-05-2016, 07:01 PM
Would love Tom McDonald in our team.. We would just about be flag favourites if so.

15-05-2016, 07:01 PM
5 Goals for Stringer. Record equalling 19 for Libba. Great all-round game under a huge injury cloud. Put the silver-spooners back in their box!

The peripheral vision from C.Daniel to pass to Dale was unbelievable.

15-05-2016, 07:02 PM
Is jack Watts the biggest "kick it to me " player you have ever seen ?
Hangs out wide waiting for someone to hand it to him on a platter.

I don't mind it. He's become effective with it.

15-05-2016, 07:05 PM
Would love Tom McDonald in our team.. We would just about be flag favourites if so.

Same here.

15-05-2016, 07:11 PM
Here's a great stat .. We haven't lost playing away this year and they say etihad is our castle !

15-05-2016, 07:27 PM
I'd take Watts and his finishing in a heartbeat.

Good win for us. Really happy with that dominance over a top eight contender.

15-05-2016, 07:29 PM
I'd take Watts and his finishing in a heartbeat.

Good win for us. Really happy with that dominance over a top eight contender.

Take him at what price /Trade?

15-05-2016, 07:31 PM
Happy enough with the win against a side that has improved from last season. It's also good to win away from Etihad.

Hopefully we have the likes of Stevens, Tom Boyd, Adams and Suckling close to returning.

15-05-2016, 07:34 PM
Has Watts ever laid a tackle ?
I would put Redpath ahead of him, chases and tackles , not sure I've ever seen Watts anywhere near an opponent with the ball.

15-05-2016, 07:35 PM
Has Watts ever laid a tackle ?
I would put Redpath ahead of him, chases and tackles , not sure I've ever seen Watts anywhere near an opponent with the ball.

Did his game frustrate you today?

15-05-2016, 07:37 PM
Debating the value of Jack Watts. The bone of contention within the Melb Footy club!

15-05-2016, 07:38 PM
Great win dogs! I love watching this team, tough and hard!
The future is. bright, Daniel and maclean are guns with a very good debut from williams. Forget tge 50 game rule.
Libba equalling the tackling record a year after a recon? Star.
Bont and String.

15-05-2016, 07:39 PM
BontnString!!!

15-05-2016, 07:44 PM
StringnBont.

15-05-2016, 07:44 PM
Firstdog, make it the BontnStringening.

Many happy returns.

15-05-2016, 07:45 PM
StringnBont.

Either way! Happy faces.

15-05-2016, 07:47 PM
StringnBont.

Spiderbait style.
BontnstringnbontnstringnbontnstringggggggBontnStringgg.

15-05-2016, 07:53 PM
Did his game frustrate you today?

Watts or Redpath ?
Watts doesn't frustrate me at all, he doesn't play for us thank god, to think he was a number one pick.
Redpath no he demands the ball and will hit hard to get it and will take on two players to get it.

15-05-2016, 08:02 PM
Take him at what price /Trade?

If we finished top six and Melbourne finished out of the eight I'd sling them our number one pick, our second and third for Watts and their second to get it done.

I appreciate I might be on my own with this, but with him having just turned 25 and coming into form he'd give us something we desperately need as I think he's a better outside user than anyone we have on our list. He's also very quick.

15-05-2016, 08:13 PM
If we finished top six and Melbourne finished out of the eight I'd sling them our number one pick, our second and third for Watts and their second to get it done.

I appreciate I might be on my own with this, but with him having just turned 25 and coming into form he'd give us something we desperately need as I think he's a better outside user than anyone we have on our list. He's also very quick.

Our first 3 picks for Watts? Am I reading that right?

15-05-2016, 08:17 PM

That's giving up too much but I agree strongly that Watts would be better off on our list than Melbourne's list. He could get off the chain and do some damage.

But could he apply the defensive ethos the coach demands?

15-05-2016, 08:22 PM
Anyway, to the game.

I love watching live footy at the G. Yes, I love the consistent conditions at Docklands, but width gives an open space around the flanks at the MCG that Docklands doesn't have and the space available makes for better footy in my view. I wish we played there more.

Bont was clearly the dominant player on the ground in the first half, whilst Liberatore's tackling was immense with nine tackles three minutes into the second term.

Macrae's foot skills stood out, as did Hunter's ability to accumulate the ball. I was really happy to see Williams do some good things early (poise counts!), whilst Red had an almost game that could have been a bit better with three in the first quarter instead of two.

I marvelled at the hard work of Morris and Dahlhaus, while Boyd seemed to make a blue then make up for it almost immediately.

Stringer's five was more than handy - he was far too good for them today - and Dickson's quick and classy finishing was excellent to watch. I can't wait for him to work into the season and really hit his straps.

Great day at the office today. I never felt we were threatened.

15-05-2016, 08:24 PM
Our first 3 picks for Watts? Am I reading that right?

No, our first, second and third, for Watts and their second.

Upgrade on second, so essentially first and third.

15-05-2016, 08:33 PM
Really good day for us. Our first game outside of home this year. Would be great to play a bit more at the G. Really good team performance. Redpath's marking up forward was great, Stringer was very good. Our defensive pressure was fantastic - Dale Morris = Bulldog legend. Our mids were great Bonti, Hunter, Libba, Wallis, Macrae. That goal assist from Caleb Daniel was great. Also liked how Picken went today.

15-05-2016, 08:33 PM
Loved William's clean hands. One grab player. Really liked his game.

Some of Bonts handballs today were out of this world.

Macrae really good. Just wish he would convert infron of goal. Make him him elite.

15-05-2016, 08:34 PM
No, our first, second and third, for Watts and their second.

Upgrade on second, so essentially first and third.

That's way too much to give up for a bit of cream.. For Tom McDonald, no problems.. For Jack Watts, no way.

15-05-2016, 08:38 PM
That's way too much to give up for a bit of cream.. For Tom McDonald, no problems.. For Jack Watts, no way.

It's speculative as I think he'll turn into an AA standard player in the next few years given talent meeting maturity, but as I said, I imagine I'm on my own with what I'm prepared to pay.

What value do you think he holds?

15-05-2016, 08:50 PM
It's speculative as I think he'll turn into an AA standard player in the next few years given talent meeting maturity, but as I said, I imagine I'm on my own with what I'm prepared to pay.

On talent it's probably a late first rounder, on output he is probably worth a pick in the 20's... Much like Crameri was.

15-05-2016, 08:51 PM
Isn't Watts a free agent anyway?

15-05-2016, 08:53 PM
I was a little nervous how we would go at the G today but now after this match those concerns have diminished and we can certainly play on there.

15-05-2016, 08:55 PM

Yes, yes he is. Thanks for sorting that out.

Melbourne having right of reply are likely to keep him unless we deal with them.

15-05-2016, 08:56 PM

I think he is. He needs to leave, booing him like that was garbage. The right environment and right coach could be just what he needs. In an interview last year he said about his ideal coach is a thinker and teacher, not the old yelling type. We could do worse than chat to him.

15-05-2016, 08:58 PM
Yes, yes he is. Thanks for sorting that out.

Melbourne having right of reply are likely to keep him unless we deal with them.

If he says 'my fans boo me every other week and I'm not playing in front of them under any circumstances ever again', they might see what the FA offer is. If a club offered 4 years around $300,000-$350,000 like Higgins that get second round compo of say pick 26. That's a fair deal to my mind.

15-05-2016, 09:05 PM
If he says 'my fans boo me every other week and I'm not playing in front of them under any circumstances ever again', they might see what the FA offer is. If a club offered 4 years around $300,000-$350,000 like Higgins that get second round compo of say pick 26. That's a fair deal to my mind.

The bronx cheers were pretty bad. I wouldn't put up with that shit if I was a professional footballer.

In my view it's harder to orchestrate a walk out and dealing with them makes the trade more likely. Sure, we can put a FA offer on the table but that corners us into paying more than we might need to.

15-05-2016, 09:12 PM

Almost spat my coffee on my keyboard. Agree, you will probably be on your own but it's a bold trade move and I like your imagination.

15-05-2016, 09:13 PM
I think he is. He needs to leave, booing him like that was garbage. The right environment and right coach could be just what he needs. In an interview last year he said about his ideal coach is a thinker and teacher, not the old yelling type. We could do worse than chat to him.

Yes. MFC idiots showing their class by jeering Max Gawn, who has been a warrior for them this season.

15-05-2016, 09:14 PM
The bronx cheers were pretty bad. I wouldn't put up with that shit if I was a professional footballer.

In my view it's harder to orchestrate a walk out and dealing with them makes the trade more likely. Sure, we can put a FA offer on the table but that corners us into paying more than we might need to.

I'm not across all the trade rules, but can the free agency go through and at the trade table a swap of picks. Say a clubs pick 32 for their 44. Their natural picks 7 & 25, pick 26 (fa) and 32 (trade up) gives them a palatable list management choice to let him to a club that doesn't do that from their 'fans'. For instance, factoring in academy selections we had this scenario of picks last year and got Dunkley, Collins & Adams. If they nail the picks then allowing him to walk is more in their favour.

15-05-2016, 09:16 PM
Who cares about Watts?

Our Dogs took another step forward today. A very mature performance, against a team that have always bothered us, at a ground that we don't play often enough. I was jittery looking at our depleted defence, with a first gamer in Adams out...I keep thinking the attrition in the backline will take its toll, and that we wouldn't be able to zone as effectively at the G. And yet we stood up brilliantly.

Our midfield are just immense. Is this as deep a midfield as we've ever had? The clearances and tackling of Libber, the unstoppable Bont, hard as nails Wally, skills and composure of Daniel, Hunter and Dahl the ball magnets..oh and Jake goes ok when he has a run there.

Still to come in at some stage: JJ, Stevens, Adams, TBoyd, Suckling. Wow!!! What a future we have. The flag is wide open this year. We are close...

15-05-2016, 09:29 PM
There is not much love for Roberts and I wasn't able to attend the ground. How does he do when he isn't near the ball? Is he a good chaser? looking lively down there?

15-05-2016, 09:36 PM
Was confident after about 10 mins in today and for rest of match. Just thought our pressure and hunger for ball was better. Felt our kicking to team mates and into forward line were better today. And my goodness our work in the clinches was breath taking. Bonts long handpasses, Dahl's tenacity, Wallis's desperation, Libba's ripper tackles, Macrae's kicks much better today and so glad he had a ping at goal even though he missed, Hunter must surely be polling in Brownlow, Daniel soooo composed and such good vision. Bring on GWS, should be a ripper match. Love Big Red - makes Stringer walk taller, and Dickson hitting form with quite a few 1 %ers. Boyd and Morris just superb too.

15-05-2016, 09:41 PM
We had all the answers today. I thought Campbell and Roughie did very well against Gawn. Melbourne have some hard as nails midfielders but ours were harder. Wally, Libba Bonti and Dahl were immense in the pressure they applied in the packs. I was really impressed by Bonti's clean handling and elite hand-balling in extreme congestion - his vision is exceptional. Young Williams will be a player. Good clean hands and used the ball well. Big Jack was a menacing presence and should have kicked five - there's a certain 'don't argue' aura about Big Jack when he goes for the ball in a pack. I like a forward who can put the 'frighteners' on the oppostion backs. Our team defence was great. The thing I liked most was the number of second efforts.
This was a really strong team performance against an in-form team. I'm happy.

15-05-2016, 09:44 PM
Pretty rare to win by over 5 goals and drop a spot on the ladder.

15-05-2016, 09:48 PM
Pretty rare to win by over 5 goals and drop a spot on the ladder.

I almost spat my corn flakes out when I saw that! Don't ask what I was doing eating corn flakes at 7pm.

We just need to keep winning, our percentage is excellent, so if we keep our end of the bargain up we'll be OK.

15-05-2016, 10:16 PM

He had 12 kicks from 11 marks, plus two handballs, zero tackles. Just found it interesting stats.

15-05-2016, 10:30 PM
There is not much love for Roberts and I wasn't able to attend the ground. How does he do when he isn't near the ball? Is he a good chaser? looking lively down there?

A couple of good spoils and laid one tackle, too slow to chase. He just doesn't look like a footballer - a real worry.

Other Observations today:

* Redpath goes missing for a few quarters, needs to be more consistent . He also lost confidence at having a shot for goal after hitting the post from 20 metres out.

* Adcock played his best game in the RWB. I thought he contributed as one of the defensive unit.

* Boyd, although played an excellent game, some of his kicking and handball missing targets is so frustrating and lead to a couple of goals.

* I thought we allowed some easy goals to Melbourne in the last quarter - but I understand we were probably fatigued a bit.

* Once more we smashed the opposition in the stats with more disposals, 30 more cont. poss., in stoppages, clearances etc.

Our midfield has got to be the best in the AFL.

15-05-2016, 10:33 PM
He had 12 kicks from 11 marks, plus two handballs, zero tackles. Just found it interesting stats.

Would be interested to see his stats from when the game was actually on the line. Seems like he's at his best when the sting is out of the game. Just can't see him standing up in a cut throat final.

15-05-2016, 10:34 PM
Our midfield has got to be the best in the AFL.

So young, too.

15-05-2016, 10:41 PM

He also kicked three goals.

He averages 2 tackles a game over his career, which isn't ideal, but isn't as bad as it gets.

There's still improvement required from him in terms of getting the ball more and being a bit harder.

15-05-2016, 10:45 PM
I think we'll see Roberts out of the team next week. He took a bit of a knock to the head and then was sent forward which had no results and then back to the backline and they ended up kicking a few.
Expect to see another debutant for GWS.

15-05-2016, 11:19 PM
I was sitting on level 4 and for me it was all about structure.

They way we mapped the defence across the ground to cut off different angles and not allow Melbourne to go over the back for the most part was great. You could see that we had a plan to improve on the Final and not to defended too high up the park. The other noticeable thing was ball movement, it wasn't at break neck speed, more precise which I also allows time for our team defence to set up behind the ball. We continued to lower our eyes, take different angles and paths to goal and generally used the bigger spaces on the G to spread the Melbourne defence. I kept thinking what a weapon Suckling will be at the G as there is more space and a kicker like he can really open up play by coming back inside as there is always someone free.

Individuals

Big Red has really transformed out forward line. Obviously he ran out of steam but we haven't had too many Talls in a Bulldogs jumper that create a target, lead up at the footy and cause a little havoc. He will be better for the run but it was exciting to see. One things for sure he is well in front of Boyd atm as a permanent forward.

Dale Morris is in career best form. You cant underestermate how good he was and has been this season. I mean Roberts is at best a VFL player and the way he was able to direct and manage that defence today that was light on for height just amazes me.

Dahl's endeavour is as good as I've seen in a player. While I'm at it Libba,Wallis,Bont,Picken were also just bloody brutal at the contest. They make it happen those boys and I couldn't stop clapping their efforts all day.

Oh then there is Hunter. I think it was the third quarter, game was still in the balance , he won the clearance with a rediculous handball out of general play busts his gut to get forward and ended up snapping the goal. I remember Sidebottoms game against the dogs last year where he just continued to run all day and impact play. Hunter is getting to his level for mine, what a player he has become.

Overall I thought it was a fantastic win all things considered, just really pleased how the defensive structure held up and the ball movement into the forward line was much better. The G won't pose a problem for us come finals time thats for sure.

15-05-2016, 11:27 PM
Good, kruder.

16-05-2016, 02:02 AM
Just sinking the boots into Melbourne a little, did anyone else notice Hogan's performance after the half time siren?

Sooked it up big time, giving a few players lectures of the type only entitled young shits can. He's not playing at Melbourne next year, that's for sure, he'll be kicking points for Freo, no doubt.

16-05-2016, 09:44 AM
Just sinking the boots into Melbourne a little, did anyone else notice Hogan's performance after the half time siren?

Sooked it up big time, giving a few players lectures of the type only entitled young shits can. He's not playing at Melbourne next year, that's for sure, he'll be kicking points for Freo, no doubt.

He really dropped his bundle. Poor body language, it was Higgins like, all that pointing and demonstrative chat. He and Watts were waxing late in the game.

16-05-2016, 10:29 AM

You shouldn't watch him live and just buy into the hype jeemak.

16-05-2016, 10:41 AM
Be hard for Melbourne to let him go mid contract. He's signed until the end of 2017.

16-05-2016, 10:53 AM
Be hard for Melbourne to let him go mid contract. He's signed until the end of 2017.

Contracts are broken easily enough though, and as we all know if the dollars are good enough...