View Full Version : For the love of Essendon.

11-06-2016, 11:45 AM
Current Essendon percentage 54.2%

Recent Lowest VFL/AFL percentage 49.5 (Fitzroy 1996) & 54.2% (Melbourne 2000's) (expansion teams exempt)
Lower record percentage 45.4% (St Kilda 1955 - we always talk about 1954, but that's almost back to back in satisfaction levels)
Lower record percentage 43% (Melbourne 1919)
Lowest ever percentage 29.1% (St Kilda 1897)

How low can they go? On my predictor they're on track for the worst percentage since 1919 (97 years) and if they get some big, big losses against us, WCE at Subiaco and Adelaide at Adelaide they could have the lowest percentage since 1900 of 39.1% (116 years).

So happy. So very happy. I will keep this updated.

11-06-2016, 11:54 AM
So sad we only play them once.

11-06-2016, 12:29 PM
As a history lesson St Kilda won the first 6 wooden spoons consecutively. 7 of the first 8 wooden spoons. 9 of the first 14 wooden spoons.

11-06-2016, 01:03 PM
We should also track their attendances for the remainder of the season in this thread also.

Despite cutting ticket prices to last nights game the crowd attendence was 27,567 and was the lowest between the clubs since 1990. It was Essendon's smallest home crowd against a Victorian club since playing St.Kilda in 1995.

Not sure which will settle in first, winter or reality, but either way its going to be a long, long lonely and cold existence at Essendon games for the remainder of 2016.

11-06-2016, 01:11 PM
Couldn't happen to a better club. Had plenty of Bombers mates saying this year will bind the club and it's fans together, that big crowds will turn up to show their support.

Fair to say those mates have found other things to do on the weekend.

11-06-2016, 11:23 PM
I normally hate priority picks but I really hope Brisbane get one this year.

12-06-2016, 01:23 AM
Love it. I'd much rather Brisvegas get an extra pick than Essendrug.

12-06-2016, 01:53 AM
I don't want either getting concessions.

12-06-2016, 02:58 AM
I don't want either getting concessions.

No, either do I. But if one did have to give somebody in order to stop some evil genius poisoning the water supply or blowing up the drill hall then I would prefer it to be Brisbane.

12-06-2016, 02:58 AM
The AFL won't be able to help themselves. Particularly with Brisbane being a "key market." Essendonare no chance of a concession pick, so if it gives them pick 3 rather than pick 1 or 2, I say do it!

I can't stand Essendone!!

12-06-2016, 10:05 AM
We should also track their attendances for the remainder of the season in this thread also.

Despite cutting ticket prices to last nights game the crowd attendence was 27,567 and was the lowest between the clubs since 1990. It was Essendon's smallest home crowd against a Victorian club since playing St.Kilda in 1995.

Not sure which will settle in first, winter or reality, but either way its going to be a long, long lonely and cold existence at Essendon games for the remainder of 2016.

Surely they have fudged the numbers. The top level must have been choc a block because on TV it looked gold Coast v gws.

Such a good year to see this scumbag cheating club get what they deserve on a weekly basis

12-06-2016, 05:00 PM
If Essendon get the No. 1 draft pick for cheating then that sends the worst possible look. Something needs to be done. How about Essendon gets what's left after all teams have had their picks? After all they get their suspended players back.

12-06-2016, 05:04 PM
If Essendon get the No. 1 draft pick for cheating then that sends the worst possible look. Something needs to be done. How about Essendon gets what's left after all teams have had their picks? After all they get their suspended players back.

As much as I wouldn't like them to get the number one pick, the rules should have been set at the beginning of the season, not half way through because people don't like the outcome.

12-06-2016, 05:42 PM

They can't be punished again because they have already lost draft picks. As much as I would hate to see it they do qualify.

12-06-2016, 06:07 PM
As much as I'd like every other club to get a priority pick to be taken before pick one we can't do it. It's supposed to be an even league we can't have 17 strong clubs and 1 really weak subservient hopeless basket case.

Probably.

12-06-2016, 10:46 PM
They can't be punished again because they have already lost draft picks. As much as I would hate to see it they do qualify.

I disagree with this. They were punished for poor governance not for drug taking.

They lost something like pick 10 and will now pick up pick 1. Not a bad trade really and if you asked Essendon which pick they'd like to lose I'm certain they would say 10.

Shouldn't benefit for being drug cheats

13-06-2016, 12:11 AM
What so NOW the AFL is meant to care about rules/integrity? Bump them down to pick 10 or something and be done with it.

13-06-2016, 12:13 AM
I disagree with this. They were punished for poor governance not for drug taking.

They lost something like pick 10 and will now pick up pick 1. Not a bad trade really and if you asked Essendon which pick they'd like to lose I'm certain they would say 10.

Shouldn't benefit for being drug cheats

That is just the same as typical AFL, make it up as you go along :D

19-06-2016, 09:28 PM
Todays crowd 14,463.

19-06-2016, 10:45 PM
Todays crowd 14,463.

Both our home games against GWS have had larger crowds than that.

19-06-2016, 10:57 PM
So let's look at this:

Club who is struggling on field
Club whose fans have little to expect
Club who play the graveyard late Sunday arvo slot at Etihad
Club that has to host interstate club

Gets a poor attendance figure....

Puts some perspective on our seemingly modest numbers in years gone by..
Great to see how modest the big clubs are when the "shrinkage factor" is in play!

Hopefully the AFL can take note of this and begin treating clubs equally...

Sad thing is, despite the terrible crowd, Essendon probably still turned a profit due to their far superior Etihad deal!

20-06-2016, 12:59 AM
So let's look at this:

Club who is struggling on field
Club whose fans have little to expect
Club who play the graveyard late Sunday arvo slot at Etihad
Club that has to host interstate club

Gets a poor attendance figure....

Puts some perspective on our seemingly modest numbers in years gone by..
Great to see how modest the big clubs are when the "shrinkage factor" is in play!

Hopefully the AFL can take note of this and begin treating clubs equally...

Sad thing is, despite the terrible crowd, Essendon probably still turned a profit due to their far superior Etihad deal!

That'll be the equal competition we play in.

The one where the evil convicted immoral systematic drug cheats get looked after better than the rule obeying co tenants playing against the same teams in the same competition.

20-06-2016, 01:02 AM
Todays crowd 14,463.

Speaks volumes re ... join the dots.

25-06-2016, 03:20 PM
Interestingly, the very next game in Melbourne was Collingwood's 20,300 against the Dockers...

.... and some Dogs supporters get down on us for being fickle! Just shows what a bit of success (or the opposite!) does to a club!

25-06-2016, 05:43 PM
Interestingly, the very next game in Melbourne was Collingwood's 20,300 against the Dockers...

.... and some Dogs supporters get down on us for being fickle! Just shows what a bit of success (or the opposite!) does to a club!

Bloody cold night to go to the MCG - doesn't help

25-06-2016, 06:07 PM
Bloody cold night to go to the MCG - doesn't help

Even though it was cold, how much would have been heaped on us if we ever had such a poor Friday Night crowd.

We don't get the chances that Collingwood get and they should cop heat for this poor attendance.

26-06-2016, 06:03 PM
Ladder Percentage Leaderboard: Updated After WCE Loss:

2016: 58.2% Essendon**
1913: 57.6% University (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1963: 57.5% Fitzroy
1920: 57.2% St Kilda
1912: 57% University (within 4 years of start up/closing)
2011: 56.2% GCS (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1966: 53.8% Fitzroy
1911: 52.1% University (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1930: 51.8% North
2013: 50.9% GWS (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1931: 50.8% North
1950: 49.8% Hawthorn
1996: 49.5% Fitzroy (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1914: 47% University (within 4 years of start up/closing)
2012: 46.1% GWS (within 4 years of start up/closing)
1955: 45.4% St Kilda
1919: 43% Melbourne
1897-1900: 28-31% St Kilda (within 4 years of start up/closing)

Ladder Percentage Leaderboard (less start up clubs & clubs about to be closed):

2016: 58.2% Essendon*
1963: 57.5% Fitzroy
1920: 57.2% St Kilda

31-07-2016, 09:15 PM
Updated:

Lowest percentage in 50 years at the moment with Geelong, Dogs, Carlton & GCS to come. #standbyhird

02-08-2016, 10:55 AM
I had a thought yesterday .. They have 12 players out . So do we through injury. The quality of players is debatable but it's still 12 .. They Cheated and get replacements we honestly lost ours through injury and get nothing, so we are in a hell of a lot worse situation than them.
I look at the media and how supporters cry about the bombers all year and I think.. You know what .. Their whole culture is stuffed , look at us 12 players down, still fighting from the president down. The bombers seems to be a forlorn defeated club with no fight back or grit.. Does anyone see what I mean ? Maybe it's part of them being a silverspoon club and being spoilt, having everything handed to them through history and maybe it's because we have as a club have fought and battled hard all our history to just survive.
Im proud of our club , we might not be successful but we fight no matter what the odds.

06-08-2016, 12:17 PM
It's against all sense of fair play that they get rewarded for cheating. They should have been excluded from the 2017 draft, only being allowed to select from the players overlooked by the other 17 clubs.

06-08-2016, 01:31 PM
It's against all sense of fair play that they get rewarded for cheating. They should have been excluded from the 2017 draft, only being allowed to select from the players overlooked by the other 17 clubs.

They have already been punished with fines as well as loss of draft picks. You can't just keep throwing punishments at them.

06-08-2016, 03:05 PM
They have already been punished with fines as well as loss of draft picks. You can't just keep throwing punishments at them.

You're no fun.

06-08-2016, 03:57 PM

This isn't punishment though. It's removing a reward they don't deserve.

They are only 'winning' the wooden spoon because they are being punished.
The benefit of winning the wooden spoon is getting the number one pick.

But the number one pick should go to the worst team with the worst list. Essendon aren't that team.
Aren't even close.

06-08-2016, 04:35 PM
This isn't punishment though. It's removing a reward they don't deserve.

They are only 'winning' the wooden spoon because they are being punished.
The benefit of winning the wooden spoon is getting the number one pick.

But the number one pick should go to the worst team with the worst list. Essendon aren't that team.
Aren't even close.

That's a point I hadn't considered. So we are assuming they will be a middle ranked or better side next year?

06-08-2016, 05:32 PM
Makes me laugh how the supporters think they will be so good next year with all the players back but reality is they weren't that good with them before .
And they have lost some of them to.

06-08-2016, 06:10 PM
Makes me laugh how the supporters think they will be so good next year with all the players back but reality is they weren't that good with them before .
And they have lost some of them to.

And they aren't all juiced up.

06-08-2016, 06:12 PM
And they aren't all juiced up.

How do you know that. :D

06-08-2016, 06:29 PM
A brainwashed Geelong fan put them up as an alternative to the best young list in the league (I had us and GWS). In reality they struggled with all of Carlisle, Hurley, Watson etc in the team last year and how many of these guys are actually coming back? At best they'l probably be mediocre next year.

That said I think they should get the 6th pick in the draft this year.

07-08-2016, 07:33 PM
]Ladder Percentage Leaderboard: Updated After Geelong Loss:

2016: 57% Essendon

2016: 57% Essendon*

08-08-2016, 10:38 PM

Lost finals too. But the punishment was a joke and occurred too early. They lost pick ~10 3 years ago so they get pick 1 this year.

08-08-2016, 11:40 PM
Lost finals too. But the punishment was a joke and occurred too early. They lost pick ~10 3 years ago so they get pick 1 this year.

Essendon (along with Carlton), are my most hated clubs and I would love them to be punished more, but it won't happen.

The AFL and Essendon stuffed up and should have taken their medicine long ago.

09-08-2016, 11:08 AM

The AFL put so much heat on ASADA to produce the interim report so that something could be done then and there, but now that it'sit's gone further again the AFL have their hands tied. Denying them the #1 pick this year would be decried as double-dipping and it would be a fair argument to make.

09-08-2016, 11:25 AM

The AFL put so much heat on ASADA to produce the interim report so that something could be done then and there, but now that it'sit's gone further again the AFL have their hands tied. Denying them the #1 pick this year would be decried as double-dipping and it would be a fair argument to make.

If you look at it externally they really have been torn to pieces by their actions, and I would think the AFL have taken this into consideration. They lose Hird their golden child who will never be viewed the same way, they lost their right to play finals, they all lived through the mental scarring of playing and getting booed as well as playing for a club they're completely disillusioned with. You lose a good CEO, then a crap CEO and then you are forced out of the game for a year and then you start bleeding players and lose the likes of Crameri, Ryder, Hurley and Carlisle, that is top end talent. Then you've got Hibberd going and Stanton probably retiring. They've lost 12,000 - 15,000 members on last year, attendances are well down and when the appeal fails and their captain loses his Brownlow and retires the arse will have well and truly fallen out of their pants.

And, wait until they take to the field next year they're going to be in for it. It won't be a nice feeling playing for the club but I suppose they can console themselves with big numbers in the bank.

The footy dream of winning a premiership is shot though for those that remain and, after the events of the past 3 years, the thrill of playing footy for the love of it has well and truly been extinguished as well.

09-08-2016, 12:09 PM
]Ladder Percentage Leaderboard: Updated After Geelong Loss:

2016: 57% Essendon

2016: 57% Essendon*

If only you could get this printed on a t-shirt BT you would make a fortune selling to all other team's supporters.

09-08-2016, 12:11 PM
Not sure i would want to be the number one draft pick this year ,
Not like they will be any good the next few years, what's the chances he wants out at the first opportunity ?

09-08-2016, 12:15 PM
Not sure i would want to be the number one draft pick this year ,
Not like they will be any good the next few years, what's the chances he wants out at the first opportunity ?

What no. 1 draft pick goes to a strong club? Isn't that the idea of giving the wooden spoon team the number 1 pick?

09-08-2016, 06:27 PM
What no. 1 draft pick goes to a strong club? Isn't that the idea of giving the wooden spoon team the number 1 pick?

Not if it's traded .. And as I said they will be terrible for a few years .. You could see the saints and us were going to come good , Essendon don't go all young they tend to pick old has Beens or injury prone players.
Essendon will be down for years.

10-08-2016, 03:06 PM
Not if it's traded .. And as I said they will be terrible for a few years .. You could see the saints and us were going to come good , Essendon don't go all young they tend to pick old has Beens or injury prone players.
Essendon will be down for years.

When was the last time pick 1 was traded before the draft? 2001? Our last number 1 pick was in 2003 and we played finals in what 2006 hardly an eternity.

I'd imagine Essendon will be just as attractive as any other bottom club once the drug stuff is behind them. The kid will want to play senior footy straight away and try to stay in the senior side. There is as good a chance of this at Essendon than anywhere else.

20-08-2016, 02:00 PM
Hibberd has formally requested a trade.

20-08-2016, 02:14 PM
Wrong Michael , unfortunately

20-08-2016, 02:21 PM
Emptied the kitty on Hurley so couldn't make a godfather deal for Hibberd. If our interest in Hurley helped them lose a required player, that's a silver lining.

20-08-2016, 03:17 PM
Wrong Michael , unfortunately

Wasn't keen on this one anyway.

20-08-2016, 06:22 PM
Is Hibberd any good? What position does he play?

20-08-2016, 06:28 PM
Is Hibberd any good? What position does he play?

HBF not a real desperate need for us

21-08-2016, 12:04 PM
Essendon have requested to play Friday night of round 1 to "welcome back" their suspended superstars.

Best to let their chief executive Xavier Campbell tell you what they want, rather than me...

“It’s been a long time since Essendon have played a home game consistently in Round 1,” chief executive Xavier Campbell told the Herald Sun.

“We always seem to play an away game, or a game at Etihad Stadium in a secondary timeslot.

“Above and beyond the normal blockbuster requests, we’ve put a request in for Friday night, Round 1.”

“We have flagged Melbourne, because obviously a lot of our games are already locked away.”

The Bombers have annual MCG games against Collingwood (Anzac Day), Richmond (Dreamtime) and Geelong (Country Game) set in the fixture.

21-08-2016, 12:08 PM
You just know they'll get it too. They've picked a team whose membership and fans won't wear WADA tshirts and WADA flags.

21-08-2016, 12:10 PM
Sounds reasonable. Only 3 other blockbuster games on their fixture as well as all the turmoil they've faced due to everyone trying to bring them down. Yeah they deserve this.

Watch them get what they want. Bloody disgrace.

21-08-2016, 12:29 PM
Let's celebrate the return of convicted drug cheats, complete with a March to the G. Yay!

Maybe the Russian Olympic team can lead the March?

21-08-2016, 12:29 PM
And watch them get smashed by an up and coming Melbourne , I really rate Melbourne for next year . Essendon are way ahead of themselves in my opinion , bit of a Richmond trait.

21-08-2016, 04:46 PM
You just know they'll get it too. They've picked a team whose membership and fans won't wear WADA tshirts and WADA flags.
Only the Chinese and Russians cheat ;)

21-08-2016, 04:58 PM
Only the Chinese and Russians cheat ;)

I suppose there's a trend... The governing bodies of China, Russia & The AFEL are all arrogant, aggressive dictatorships who don't care for the peasants who keep them in power, all while their tyrants bask in millions of dollars & controlling/authorising media in trying to win mainstream plaudits or win medals/power.

21-08-2016, 05:02 PM
I suppose there's a trend... The governing bodies of China, Russia & The AFEL are all arrogant, aggressive dictatorships who don't care for the peasants who keep them in power, all while their tyrants bask in millions of dollars & controlling/authorising media in trying to win mainstream plaudits or win medals/power.

That includes the Olympic body as well.

21-08-2016, 05:45 PM
That includes the Olympic body as well.

Don't forget the Weasels at FIFA.;)

21-08-2016, 08:30 PM
It's galling to me that these pricks will receive the number one draft pick.

21-08-2016, 08:32 PM
It's galling to me that these pricks will receive the number one draft pick.

You're not alone.

22-08-2016, 01:41 PM
Essendon have requested to play Friday night of round 1 to "welcome back" their suspended superstars.

Best to let their chief executive Xavier Campbell tell you what they want, rather than me...

“It’s been a long time since Essendon have played a home game consistently in Round 1,” chief executive Xavier Campbell told the Herald Sun.

“We always seem to play an away game, or a game at Etihad Stadium in a secondary timeslot.

“Above and beyond the normal blockbuster requests, we’ve put a request in for Friday night, Round 1.”

“We have flagged Melbourne, because obviously a lot of our games are already locked away.”

The Bombers have annual MCG games against Collingwood (Anzac Day), Richmond (Dreamtime) and Geelong (Country Game) set in the fixture.

Sounds like they want a Good Friday night game in the future too A sneaky way of going around it.

22-08-2016, 03:33 PM
I'm sure the powers to be at the WWE will give it to them

27-08-2016, 02:36 PM
Man their supporters are twitts. I'm at Hotham and what do I see at a casual dining area at Hotham Central? That's right, an EFC supporter in his EFC jumper.

Anything to do with sport and recreation and they're jamming their club in your face.

27-08-2016, 02:50 PM
Man their supporters are twitts. I'm at Hotham and what do I see at a casual dining area at Hotham Central? That's right, an EFC supporter in his EFC jumper.

Anything to do with sport and recreation and they're jamming their club in your face.

Perspective really... He's proudly displaying his support for WADA guilty drug cheat athletes. Putin has also publicly supported his WADA proven drug cheat athletes. Puts them on a par really for credibility, but if that's what that guy wants...

27-08-2016, 07:23 PM
If StKilda win by even a modestly comfortable margin tomorrow Essendon don't get pick 1.

I could totally live with that.

27-08-2016, 11:25 PM
If StKilda win by even a modestly comfortable margin tomorrow Essendon don't get pick 1.

I could totally live with that.

Yep that would please me a lot. I did some quick calculations and they need to win by about 55 points.

Final score of 45-100 for example would see Brisbane win the spoon by about 0.50%

28-08-2016, 01:19 PM
Yep that would please me a lot. I did some quick calculations and they need to win by about 55 points.

Final score of 45-100 for example would see Brisbane win the spoon by about 0.50%

For Essendon to avoid the spoon, St Kilda need to score 23 points plus 1.64 times whatever they concede

If St Kilda concede 30, they need to score 73
If St Kilda concede 40, they need to score 89
If St Kilda concede 50, they need to score 105
If St Kilda concede 60, they need to score 122
If St Kilda concede 70, they need to score 138
If St Kilda concede 80, they need to score 155

28-08-2016, 05:05 PM
Congratulations to Essendon on earning their 5th wooden spoon.
One more than the Western Bulldogs.

28-08-2016, 05:18 PM
Congratulations to Essendon on earning their 5th wooden spoon.
One more than the Western Bulldogs.

Yeah it's funny, I heard Worsfold say on TV this morning that "This is a club that's very proud of its history, you know, I think it's only ever won one wooden spoon." etc.

I jolted up and thought "Check your facts, Woosher! FOUR, and about to be FIVE!"

And yes, as you point out, that's one more than us... What a shame!

28-08-2016, 06:03 PM
"And Pav, gets a bit of a sling"... Only trouble, it was Hill. Apparently every player in purple is Pav.

28-08-2016, 06:16 PM
"And Pav, gets a bit of a sling"... Only trouble, it was Hill. Apparently every player in purple is Pav.

Essendon bagging only :D

28-08-2016, 06:31 PM
Essendon bagging only :D

Wrong thread, oops.