View Full Version : Best 22 for finals

12-06-2016, 12:52 PM
Anyone who pays attention to my ramblings/posts knows I love a good old fashioned best 22 thread and the amount of outs we have due to come back in over the next month or so is as godo as an excuse as ever.

So what's our best 22 possible for our first final (round 23 if you don't wanna hex it)?

Here's mine...

B- Wood, Adams, Biggs
HB- JJ, Morris, M.Boyd
C- Suckling, Macrae , Hunter
HF- Dahlhaus, Stringer, Daniel
F- Dickson, Redpath, Wallis
R- Campbell, Bonts, Liberatore
I/C- Picken, Roughead, Stevens, McLean
Emerg- T.Boyd, Roberts, C.Smith

Not half bad!

12-06-2016, 01:13 PM
The only real question mark for me is whether Honeychurch really grabs his opportunity over the next week or so. He was excellent yesterday.

I'm reserving judgement on Smith, if he comes back strongly over the next month then he could be a solid chance to make an impact against the odds.

12-06-2016, 01:14 PM
The only question real mark for me is whether Honeychurch really grabs his opportunity over the next week or so. He was excellent yesterday.

I'm reserving judgement on Smith, if he comes back strongly over the next month then he could be a solid chance to make an impact against the odds.

Yeah I was very harsh on Honeychurch. Honey, Jong and Stevens gives us strong contest beast/rotate forward depth which bodes well for finals.

12-06-2016, 01:31 PM
Tom Boyd plays for mine. In my lifetime when it gets willing at the end of a tight final we bomb it long to a KPF of which we've never had a decent one really in the last 5 prelims. So Tom Boyd playing deep forward.

I will take the easy way out and say it's an injury he replaces in your team.

12-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Tom Boyd plays for mine. In my lifetime when it gets willing at the end of a tight final we bomb it long to a KPF of which we've never had a decent one really in the last 5 prelims. So Tom Boyd playing deep forward.

Tom Boyd also frees Roughy to play down back by taking 2nd ruck duties if need be. I think it is less going taller or smaller and more picking the best 22nd player. If Tom's form warrants it, awesome.

12-06-2016, 01:45 PM
I should have added that if Boyd can prove he's ready to play alongside Redpath and contribute on a regular basis then he plays, largely for the reasons BT mentions.

This will be at the expense of a HC, McLean or Stevens type, though given there's likely to be an injury things may be a little clearer at the time.

12-06-2016, 02:56 PM
I should have added that if Boyd can prove he's ready to play alongside Redpath and contribute on a regular basis then he plays, largely for the reasons BT mentions.

This will be at the expense of a HC, McLean or Stevens type, though given there's likely to be an injury things may be a little clearer at the time.

Yep. I think Redpath will actually make it easier for Tom Boyd if he can earn a spot.

12-06-2016, 03:35 PM
I also like the defensive idea of Campbell rucking and Roughead dropping back if there's a big momentum swing against us in a tight final. Like Wynd used to do. That still allows for two genuine big marking forwards at our end. I like both if we have enough run.

12-06-2016, 04:51 PM

It would be great if Boyd is up and playing well at the end of the season. A big lug to rule the goal square when things really get willing in a final is one of the main reasons we bought him in.

13-06-2016, 12:14 AM
Suckling is an interesting one, especially when comparing him to Clay Smith. They are like polar opposites.

Suckling is a terrible defender as we know, but can turn a game with one kick.

It made me cringe yesterday watching an un-opposed Boak stroll into an open goal from a ball up about 15m out from the Port goal. The player closest to him was Suckling, who was not only no where near an opponent, but he allowed Boak to be goal side of him. Can't afford those clumsy defending moments in a final.

13-06-2016, 12:28 AM
Suckling is an interesting one, especially when comparing him to Clay Smith. They are like polar opposites.

It made me cringe yesterday watching an un-opposed Boak stroll into an open goal from a ball up about 15m out from the Port goal. The player closest to him was Suckling, who was not only no where near an opponent, but he allowed Boak to be goal side of him. Can't afford those clumsy defending moments in a final.

I was going to quip 'he's got two premiership medallions'. Then I checked his two grand finals and he had 18 touches & 1 goal in 2014 and as the sub got 8 touches & 1 goal in 2015 (just over a quarter). So he's a contributor in the big dances, without starring. You're right though in the point you make.

13-06-2016, 06:43 PM
Anyone who pays attention to my ramblings/posts knows I love a good old fashioned best 22 thread and the amount of outs we have due to come back in over the next month or so is as godo as an excuse as ever.

So what's our best 22 possible for our first final (round 23 if you don't wanna hex it)?

Here's mine...

B- Wood, Adams, Biggs
HB- JJ, Morris, M.Boyd
C- Suckling, Macrae , Hunter
F- Dickson, Redpath, Wallis
R- Campbell, Bonts, Liberatore
I/C- Picken, Roughead, Stevens, McLean
Emerg- T.Boyd, Roberts, C.Smith

Not half bad!

Roberts deserves to be picked as our second tall defender IMO, at the expense of Stevens. I could also see Honeychurch challenging McLean in the final 22 judging on his game against Port.

13-06-2016, 07:15 PM
Roberts deserves to be picked as our second tall defender IMO, at the expense of Stevens. I could also see Honeychurch challenging McLean in the final 22 judging on his game against Port.

Roberts a hard one. We are heavily team defence based, need to make spots free for intercept markers and high defenders.

Roberts, Tom Boyd + army of contested ball/forward rotation types I see in same pot. 1-2 spots free just to whoever is best. Can go with extra tall defender or forward easily, as long as they are good enough.

13-06-2016, 07:42 PM

Talking to a Hawk mate about Suckers and we both agreed that he'll probably directly cost you 2 goals a game through a defensive lapse/handling error but will also have a direct hand in setting up four with his kicking.

That left peg is so good that I'm willing for him to have a red faced moment or two

13-06-2016, 08:37 PM
Am I alone in thinking Suckling has been pretty reliable defensively? I think it was the Carlton game where I noticed several good defensive efforts from him as well as a general tightening up of the defense once he came back on the field

13-06-2016, 09:02 PM
I think you will find the match committee rate Roberts highly which may shock some supporters.

13-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Am I alone in thinking Suckling has been pretty reliable defensively? I think it was the Carlton game where I noticed several good defensive efforts from him as well as a general tightening up of the defense once he came back on the field

You are not alone. I think he is good in an aerial contest. Probably struggles more when the ball is on the ground/tackling etc. I put him on the wing because at full strength it's very hard to crack a spot in our backline. It's why Roberts wasn't in my 22. With bench rotations etc, Suckling would probably spend vast majority down back anyway, just thought he was too good for starting on bench (which is nothing really as everyone needs to play roughly same time on ground).

13-06-2016, 09:04 PM
I think you will find the match committee rate Roberts highly which may shock some supporters.

I don't mind him either. Just that we have Wood, Adams and JJ to come back into the back line. I think having Roberts there would take away from a strength we had earlier in the season with our high defenders.

13-06-2016, 09:26 PM
I would strongly support Stevens to be part of our best 22. He is our biggest bodied mid, as tough as they come and has been playing his best football this year.

14-06-2016, 01:14 AM
I think the comments on Suckling being a poor defender are way off the mark. He's saved us many goals this year with his positioning and great reading of the play and situation. Suggest re-watching when the whips were cracking v west coast & Collingwood.

14-06-2016, 11:57 AM
My main issue with the nominated team is the lack of a defender of genuine key position height. In finals, the need to successfully contest marks against the tall forwards is magnified. This has hurt us over the years and many of the better teams this year have multiple tall options.

Relying on a non-specialist defender, such as a resting ruckman, to cover is not ideal - hopefully one of Hamling, Roberts or Collins can demand best 22 selection over the coming weeks.

14-06-2016, 03:02 PM
I was going to quip 'he's got two premiership medallions'. Then I checked his two grand finals and he had 18 touches & 1 goal in 2014 and as the sub got 8 touches & 1 goal in 2015 (just over a quarter). So he's a contributor in the big dances, without starring. You're right though in the point you make.

He was fantastic in last years prelim.

14-06-2016, 04:06 PM
I'm really starting to come around to Stringer playing majority of his footy in the middle. He's having a massive impact up the ground this season.

This opens the door for Boyd to come in and play forward all game. I would love to see how Boyd would go at FF for a full game without having to give a chop out in the ruck.

14-06-2016, 04:42 PM
The last few spots get difficult so going to be interesting to see how it plays out, we probably have 18 or 19 locks if form holds & injuries stay away (unlikely).

Our defensive set-up is intriguing and whilst we went small early on it's easier to do this at Etihad as opposed to the MCG.. I think we need to play 2 of Adams, Hamling & Roberts. Lots of variety in the mid/ small defenders, but the ability to move a few of these onto a wing/ HF helps us to play them all.

I have the last half forward type role b/w McLean & Stevens.. I think McLean just has the extra touch of class that could be crucial in a tight contest. HC or Smith might push for a spot late in the season too.

Would like to fit Tom Boyd in, but not sure how.. Perhaps at the expense of Roughy who doesn't impact the scoreboard or do enough around the ground for my liking, but the ruck set-up has worked well so far.

Anyway lots of games to work on our best set-up with games against Geel & Nth late in the season the best to see what line-ups & structures work best.. And to find out which fringe 22 players can make in impact against top 4 teams.

12-07-2016, 07:02 PM
Interesting to see what structure we go with (hopefully) when we get a fulll-sh strength side. My attempt..

B- Wood, Adams, M.Boyd
HB- JJ, Morris, Suckling
C- Dahlhaus, Macrae , Hunter
HF- Stringer, Redpath, Daniel
F- Dickson, T.Boyd, Wallis
R- Roughead, Bontempelli, Liberatore
I/C- Picken, Biggs, Stevens, C.Smith
Emerg- Roberts, McLean, Minson

It's a hard balance between picking the best 22 players and considering team balance. We are currently playing at least one (probably two) too many inside mids who are struggling to fill roles up forward.

McLean is a forward first, who can play up the ground a bit. What we need.

Roberts might also help us to have a more finals type backline.

I can't think of who to drop though.

12-07-2016, 07:08 PM
Can't argue too much with that. I'd really, really love to find a spot for McLean on the bench and I have Campbell ahead of Minson. Perhaps with Stringer doing some midfield time, Wallis in the pocket doing midfield time, plus the listed midfielders, we can afford one less hard nut on the bench. McLean's silky smooth skills and goal sense might add culmulatively more?

12-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Good effort Rocco.

I have another tall defender ( Hamling or Roberts) and McLean in... All the bench players are vulnerable and another one of two on the ground.

12-07-2016, 07:13 PM
Good effort Rocco.

I have another tall defender ( Hamling or Roberts) and McLean in... All the bench players are vulnerable and another one of two on the ground.

Fair call on the defenders, especially if we face Buddy again. Who do you trust most on a Buddy/Kennedy/Walker/Hawkins type?

12-07-2016, 07:16 PM
With Adams out until Round 21, at least one key defender will get a chance to prove themselves.

I think if Roberts/Hamling/Collins plays well, we will go with a taller backline. If they all struggle/just ok-sh, we will go with a taller set up.

12-07-2016, 08:08 PM
Nice work Rocco.

I have no material differences to you, though would put Macrae on a wing, Wallis in the centre and Dahl in the forward pocket to start with.

One might make an argument for Roberts to provide defencive cover or Campbell to replace Minson as emergency.

12-07-2016, 08:12 PM
I think McLean finds his way into the 22. I'm looking forward to a final being decided by one of his majestic head high frees.

Not even joking.

His injury has cost us 1 or 2 easy avenues to goal per week.

12-07-2016, 08:31 PM
I think McLean finds his way into the 22. I'm looking forward to a final being decided by one of his majestic head high frees.

Not even joking.

His injury has cost us 1 or 2 easy avenues to goal per week.

We miss more than just the head high tackles.. We miss his creativity, finishing skills and natural forward instincts... He became an important player in the first half of the season.

12-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Hearing Bevo's presser, it's clear that he would ideally play another tall defender AND another 2nd ruck/tall forward.

To me, he comes from a POV of picking the best 22 players first rather than giving guys a game just because they are a type we would like in the side. It is why we play so many inside mids who have to spend the majority of their time forward.

12-07-2016, 09:06 PM
Hearing Bevo's presser, it's clear that he would ideally play another tall defender AND another 2nd ruck/tall forward.

To me, he comes from a POV of picking the best 22 players first rather than giving guys a game just because they are a type we would like in the side. It is why we play so many inside mids who have to spend the majority of their time forward.

That's fine in the home and away season against middling teams, but a forward line that has Macrae, Jong, Wallis & Stevens in it will struggle to get near the goals in a cutthroat final.

Our forward set up is pretty dire, I'd prefer we go with some actual structure now and give them time to gel.

Come finals, I have visions of us dominating possession, backline holding up, plenty of inside 50s yet we lose 68-53.

12-07-2016, 09:13 PM
Come finals, I have visions of us dominating possession, backline holding up, plenty of inside 50s yet we lose 68-53.

Yeah, I've seen that episode.

12-07-2016, 09:15 PM
As much as I am with Bevo in terms of playing guys who are good enough over guys who simply are a type, we are clearly playing too many inside mids.

If Hamling had no injury doubts, he and Tom Boyd would be in for smalls this week.

12-07-2016, 09:23 PM
We miss more than just the head high tackles.. We miss his creativity, finishing skills and natural forward instincts... He became an important player in the first half of the season.

Agree. He is also very good at halving one on one marking contents. Watching Rioli and Poppy the other night they are excellent at it and it becomes very important trait when playing in an undersized forward line.

12-07-2016, 09:30 PM
Agree on the McLean call. He is the type we need. Forward first, do enough up the ground second. We have it the wrong way around with inside mids spending the majority of time forward.

12-07-2016, 10:57 PM
Does it come down to a case of Dickson V McLean?

12-07-2016, 11:01 PM
Does it come down to a case of Dickson V McLean?

or Stevens

13-07-2016, 12:12 AM

We've also missed his aerial abilities. His capacity to punch above his weight competing in the air at half forward and up on the wing is a real bonus.

13-07-2016, 09:27 AM
I agree with the McLean sentiments. The other player that will help address the midfielder/small forward mix is Dahlhaus. I think all of Dahlhaus, McLean and Dickson make our best 22 finals optimal team and our set up starts to look a lot more balanced.

13-07-2016, 10:34 AM
or Stevens

Yep, I think it's between the three hard nuts Rocco had on the bench. Picken, Clay & Koby. Tough call, but probably Koby.

13-07-2016, 10:49 AM
As much as I am with Bevo in terms of playing guys who are good enough over guys who simply are a type, we are clearly playing too many inside mids.

If Hamling had no injury doubts, he and Tom Boyd would be in for smalls this week.
Redpath wasn't in great form in the VFL before we brought him in for at least some structure in the forward-line after getting smashed in the F50 by North. We immediately improved.

I don't think it is all about form as much as Bevo suggests it is publically.

16-07-2016, 07:51 AM
Great effort RJ, enjoyed reading this earlier in the week. It's a tough side to select, with quite a bit to still play out over the coming weeks.

B: Morris, Roberts, Boyd
HB: Johannisen, Adams, Wood
C: Suckling, Macrae, Hunter
HF: Dahlhaus, Redpath, Daniel
F: Stringer, Boyd, Dickson
R: Roughead, Bontempelli, Liberatore
I/C: Picken, Wallis, Biggs, McLean

I feel we need one big defender and currently, that falls to Roberts. He's not a star, but he's done some OK jobs for us throughout the year and I'd be interested to see how our best 7 defenders all play together (that back 6 plus Biggs). The other back 6 (incl Biggs) pick themselves.

Up the field, I like the run and blend of talents that Suckling, Hunter, Macrae, Bontempelli and Libba can offer around the ball, and we have plenty of depth with the likes of Dahl, Picken, Wallis and Stringer who can all take runs through there for large or small percentages of the game as required.

Boyd and Redpath have a month or so to click now - I'm hopeful they will - along with the Rough/Boyd ruck combo.

Daniel, McLean and Dickson offer something in the forward line, hopefully McLean comes back with a bang and Dickson rediscovers his form - they can be difference makers.

Clay and Koby would be the next 2 picked, and I expect they'll both be in strong consideration for the 22 - if we have a fit list there's going to be some very deserving players who miss out - that's what happens in premiership sides.

16-07-2016, 08:34 AM
Great effort RJ, enjoyed reading this earlier in the week. It's a tough side to select, with quite a bit to still play out over the coming weeks.

B: Morris, Roberts, Boyd
HB: Johannisen, Adams, Wood
C: Suckling, Macrae, Hunter
HF: Dahlhaus, Redpath, Daniel
F: Stringer, Boyd, Dickson
R: Roughead, Bontempelli, Liberatore
I/C: Picken, Wallis, Biggs, McLean

I feel we need one big defender and currently, that falls to Roberts. He's not a star, but he's done some OK jobs for us throughout the year and I'd be interested to see how our best 7 defenders all play together (that back 6 plus Biggs). The other back 6 (incl Biggs) pick themselves.

Up the field, I like the run and blend of talents that Suckling, Hunter, Macrae, Bontempelli and Libba can offer around the ball, and we have plenty of depth with the likes of Dahl, Picken, Wallis and Stringer who can all take runs through there for large or small percentages of the game as required.

Boyd and Redpath have a month or so to click now - I'm hopeful they will - along with the Rough/Boyd ruck combo.

Daniel, McLean and Dickson offer something in the forward line, hopefully McLean comes back with a bang and Dickson rediscovers his form - they can be difference makers.

Clay and Koby would be the next 2 picked, and I expect they'll both be in strong consideration for the 22 - if we have a fit list there's going to be some very deserving players who miss out - that's what happens in premiership sides.

That's a very good team. The only minor change for mine would be that Clay Smith has added enough edge to the team in the past few weeks to be considered a necessary element to our best 22. I would have him in ahead of a desperately unlucky Biggs.

16-07-2016, 08:36 AM
That's a very good team. The only minor change for mine would be that Clay Smith has added enough edge to the team in the past few weeks to be considered a necessary element to our best 22. I would have him in ahead of a desperately unlucky Biggs.

I'm glad I'm not the bloke who'll have to tell a few of those unlucky blokes they haven't made the side.

Agreed on Clay, he's been good. Another couple of strong performances and I'll have to move him into my side.

16-07-2016, 09:30 AM
I'm glad I'm not the bloke who'll have to tell a few of those unlucky blokes they haven't made the side.

Agreed on Clay, he's been good. Another couple of strong performances and I'll have to move him into my side.

You need Clays ferocity in a finals team. Staggering how even our list is from player 10-30.

16-07-2016, 11:20 AM
Biggs is best 22, you will have to drop someone else

16-07-2016, 11:36 AM

Smith or Dicko on current form BAD?

16-07-2016, 11:38 AM

Agree.....has not been as good the last two weeks but he is seriously underrated. We need to have our most attacking backline playing and Biggs is an important component.

16-07-2016, 01:34 PM
B: Boyd, Morris, Wood
HB: Johannisen, Adams, Biggs
C: Hunter, Libba, Macrae
HF: Stringer, Stevens, Smith
F: Dalhaus, Boyd, McLean
R: Roughead, Bontempelli, Daniel

Int: Suckling, Campbell, Wallis, Picken

EMG: Hamling/Roberts, Dickson, Redpath

16-07-2016, 01:42 PM
Smith or Dicko on current form BAD?

I think it's out of Dickson and McLean.
For mine Smith plays come September.

16-07-2016, 02:22 PM
When discussing the best 22, I see Dickson, Redpath and Biggs as players who are worth more than the sum of their parts to the team. We are loaded with inside mids but these three all offer a different point of difference to the side.

Redpath has been pretty quiet the last few weeks but in his 8 games this season he is averaging more goals, contested marks and inside 50 marks than any other Bulldog. In a side crying out for forward targets, I am him firmly in the side. Sure he will have his quiet games, but even the best tall forwards do that. Much rather him than yet another inside mid who has to spend the majority of their time up forward.

Dickson has been struggling this season but again he is competing with inside mids for time up forward. The likes of Webb may be in better form as overall footy players but Dickson has them covered in the role we need.

Biggs contributes to our team defence. He takes talls when they venture outside 50 and can find the ball himself, averaging 22 touches. I would only consider his spot if we have tall defender who is offering something more than height, actually in form + others are too hard to drop.

16-07-2016, 02:58 PM
As it stand, I don't think there is a chance that Biggs misses out.

16-07-2016, 03:04 PM
As it stand, I don't think there is a chance that Biggs misses out.

As anti playing another tall defender just because they are tall as I am, one upside is that it is easier to give them more time on ground which will help with rotations/keeping the runners we really want fresh.

Ideally, Adams comes back and Roberts really earns his spot. We would then go with an extra tall defender and have JJ/Biggs/Suckling spend a bit more time up the ground. Would vicariously help with playing too many inside mids. Same with Redpath and Tom Boyd co-existing to a satisfactory rate.

No doubt my preference would be to have another tall defender + Redpath/T Boyd, they just need to be good enough.

16-07-2016, 04:16 PM

Interesting team and approach Doc.

Correct me if Im wrong; At first glance it appears you have gone with a small and flexible forward line. But you have selected Campbell ahead of Redpath with a view that Tom Boyd will spend all his time in the forward line and not rucking. Do you see our forward 50 occupying both Boyd and Campbell / Roughead at times?

It looks like the same theory with the defenders, focus on team defence and have Wood go 3rd man up in support of Morris and Adams.

I think that defence would work well against a Hawthorn or Sydney who have slightly smaller forwards, how do you see it going against a Crows or Eagles? Would you be tempted to bring Roberts / Hamling in or do you back in the back 6 to get the job done?

The more I look at your team the more I am worrying / focusing less and less on the lack of an extra tall forward or defender.

16-07-2016, 11:20 PM
On tonight's team, incoming is Libba, Dahl, McLean & Adams.

That's makes for a strong side.

17-07-2016, 08:51 AM

In the past, we have gone into finals series with high hopes, but have been found out as being deficient in key positions under finals conditions. For this reason, I hope we don't go into a final relying on Morris at full back and Stevens at CHF when there are more physically appropriate options available.

17-07-2016, 08:56 AM
In the past, we have gone into finals series with high hopes, but have been found out as being deficient in key positions under finals conditions. For this reason, I hope we don't go into a final relying on Morris at full back and Stevens at CHF when there are more physically appropriate options available.

Agreed. Stevens to the bench, Boyd to CHF and Redpath to FF at a glance. Would at least prefer to play Adams at FB. I think Doc has Campbell in as Roughie could play back but our key backs would be opposition dependent I think.

17-07-2016, 09:50 AM

I am less convinced by Biggs than some here. His first month this year was very good but his form has softened for mine. He won his own ball early (6 or more contested possessions 3 of first 4 games, none since) and penetrated more. I also reckon his defensive intensity needs work (only laid more than 3 tackles once all year).

He has good attributes and is a solid contributor, but he isn't a complete enough player to be a best 22 lock for mine. He is one of many who is worthy of a spot but would be around 20th-25th on our list in my opinion.

18-07-2016, 10:15 AM
I am less convinced by Biggs than some here. His first month this year was very good but his form has softened for mine. He won his own ball early (6 or more contested possessions 3 of first 4 games, none since) and penetrated more. I also reckon his defensive intensity needs work (only laid more than 3 tackles once all year).

He has good attributes and is a solid contributor, but he isn't a complete enough player to be a best 22 lock for mine. He is one of many who is worthy of a spot but would be around 20th-25th on our list in my opinion.

Have to disagree, peanuts.

The difference between Rounds 1-4, and since then, has been his role being modified by Murphy and JJ being out of the team for a lot of the time. With those two in the team, Biggs got up a lot higher into the midfield, spending a fair bit of time on the wing.

I think Biggs is having a really good season. Just 25 games into his career for us - I like his run and carry, has good balance and the way he competes in the air for a mid size player is great. 3rd in the 'metres gained' stat for us.

18-07-2016, 11:10 AM
Have to disagree, peanuts.

The difference between Rounds 1-4, and since then, has been his role being modified by Murphy and JJ being out of the team for a lot of the time. With those two in the team, Biggs got up a lot higher into the midfield, spending a fair bit of time on the wing.

I think Biggs is having a really good season. Just 25 games into his career for us - I like his run and carry, has good balance and the way he competes in the air for a mid size player is great. 3rd in the 'metres gained' stat for us.

Fair enough, my earlier post probably came across as more critical than I intended. I like Biggs, he undoubtedly has plenty to offer. When we have everyone fit and firing though, I think we have 25+ guys who are genuinely worthy AFL players and he is one of several fighting for the last few spots.

Whilst I think Biggs is a solid player, I think to nail a best 22 spot in his type of role when all options are available, you need to either have serious offensive weapons (JJ, Suckling, Bob), or to be really strong with your contested/defensive game. Biggs is ok in these areas, but I do think his case would be strengthened if his contested game was stronger; if he won more of his own ball and lifted his defensive/tackling intensity.

24-07-2016, 01:06 PM
Trying to move on a bit.

B- Wood, Roberts, Morris
HB- Biggs, Adams, M.Boyd
C- JJ, Macrae, Hunter
F- Dickson, T.Boyd, C.Smith
R- Roughead, Bonts, Liberatore
I/C- Picken, Suckling, Stevens, McLean
Emerg- Minson, Dunkley, Hamling

Still a decent side there, just hard to imagine us not continuing to lose players...

24-07-2016, 01:13 PM
I think we need another ruckman. Our MO in finals, and even this year is to blindly bomb it long. If Tom Boyd is playing ruck, then Stringer is our tallest target and will be double teamed and neutralised. Tom is our only fit KPF now, so that's where he needs to play I think. Ideally Campbell will be fit by then. I'm also hoping Hrovat will be fit and in form. It looks like we will play Sydney, WCE or GWS who will be very tall, so we might need an extra tall defender possibly.

24-07-2016, 01:19 PM
I think we need another ruckman. Our MO in finals, and even this year is to blindly bomb it long. If Tom Boyd is playing ruck, then Stringer is our tallest target and will be double teamed and neutralised. Tom is our only fit KPF now, so that's where he needs to play I think. Ideally Campbell will be fit by then. I'm also hoping Hrovat will be fit and in form. It looks like we will play Sydney, WCE or GWS who will be very tall, so we might need an extra tall defender possibly.

Adams will be the extra tall defender.

I am not sure what we do structurally forward. I think Camhead reunion would be ok if Campbell can get himself right. Just that there is a small margin for error with Campbell, really needs to be cherry ripe.

24-07-2016, 01:25 PM
Adams will be the extra tall defender.

I am not sure what we do structurally forward. I think Camhead reunion would be ok if Campbell can get himself right. Just that there is a small margin for error with Campbell, really needs to be cherry ripe.

If he's not than Minson plays. We know he can ruck 90% of a game. Roughy can play back or forward, ruck the rest and Tommy plays as a full forward. We need a deep tall target all game, and Stringer is ineffective when double teamed. For me, we just need a second ruck for structural reasons. There's no point playing an extra runner only to bomb it to smalls and allow a counter attack.

24-07-2016, 05:34 PM
If he's not than Minson plays. We know he can ruck 90% of a game. Roughy can play back or forward, ruck the rest and Tommy plays as a full forward. We need a deep tall target all game, and Stringer is ineffective when double teamed. For me, we just need a second ruck for structural reasons. There's no point playing an extra runner only to bomb it to smalls and allow a counter attack.

Who come out of RJ's side

24-07-2016, 05:38 PM
Who come out of RJ's side

Dickson, Picken or Stevens fighting for two spots.

25-07-2016, 11:13 AM
I think we need another ruckman. Our MO in finals, and even this year is to blindly bomb it long. If Tom Boyd is playing ruck, then Stringer is our tallest target and will be double teamed and neutralised. Tom is our only fit KPF now, so that's where he needs to play I think. Ideally Campbell will be fit by then.

While I agree in principle the problem is that even when Boyd is there we don't bomb it long to his advantage or even worse bomb it long to Clay Smith, Lin Jong, etc. Something else will need to change.

25-07-2016, 11:19 AM
Roughead's contested marking has been very good of late. Can he simply alternate with Tom on a 70/30 basis?

25-07-2016, 11:42 AM
Roughead's contested marking has been very good of late. Can he simply alternate with Tom on a 70/30 basis?

His kicking for goal is a deterrent... He is probably only a 25% chance of kicking a goal from anywhere inside 50.

25-07-2016, 12:54 PM
His kicking for goal is a deterrent... He is probably only a 25% chance of kicking a goal from anywhere inside 50.

That's fair, but at least he's a big contested mark option that allows us to retain our structure when Boyd goes into the ruck.