Friday June 24 2016

Collingwood v Fremantle MCG 7.50pm

Saturday June 25 2016

Richmond v Brisbane Lions MCG 1.40pm

GWS Giants v Carlton Spotless Stadium 4.35pm

St Kilda v Geelong Etihad Stadium 7.25pm

Sunday June 26 2016

Hawthorn v Gold Coast Suns Aurora Stadium 3.20pm

Byes: Essendon, Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Sydney Swans, West Coast Eagles and Western Bulldogs

23-06-2016, 02:09 PM
Blockbuster weekend of footy!

Might spend time outside in the garden. And I live in the winter depths of Ballarat!

23-06-2016, 02:13 PM

Might spend time outside in the garden. And I live in the winter depths of Ballarat!

Will it snow there this weekend :D

23-06-2016, 02:13 PM

Keep warm comrade.

23-06-2016, 02:20 PM
Will it snow there this weekend :D

They're predicting it.

23-06-2016, 02:21 PM
forecast snow for rAdelaide today! A close neighbour just had a tree fall on her house. Maybe some players drowning at rAdelaide Oval tonight.

23-06-2016, 02:23 PM
They're predicting it.

A big cold front on the way. I somehow don't think it will be as bad as they are saying.

23-06-2016, 02:56 PM
Any chance we might get footy in the snow in the years to come?

Has anyone ever seen footy in the snow?

23-06-2016, 03:15 PM

Only in my HSC year when we took a footy up to Falls Creek for our camp.

23-06-2016, 03:27 PM
I'm timekeeping in Tassie this weekend. It will be minus 1 when I step off the plane in Launceston on Saturday night.

23-06-2016, 03:35 PM
I'm timekeeping in Tassie this weekend. It will be minus 1 when I step off the plane in Launceston on Saturday night.

I hope the box is warm.

23-06-2016, 03:46 PM

Not snow Murph but I remember a game I went to at Whitten Oval in either the very late 60's or early 70's when a short hail storm belted the players and crowd alike. It was crazy.

23-06-2016, 03:54 PM
Remember a game against West Coast in about 92 where it hailed on and off and was about 5 degrees

23-06-2016, 08:10 PM
Possible snow in Ballarat on the weekend. Who knows if we play our Ballarat game at this time of year we could be the first game to have snow.

24-06-2016, 02:30 AM
Result flattered Norf to be honest .
Dads army on the slippery slope it seems.Gotta hand it to the Adelaide recruiting, as they've found some gems.
A couple of decent Rory's in that side . Michael Firrito once again showing what an untalented thug he is
Adelaides draw has really opened up now, and they look morals for top4.

24-06-2016, 02:33 AM
Not snow Murph but I remember a game I went to at Whitten Oval in either the very late 60's or early 70's when a short hail storm belted the players and crowd alike. It was crazy.

I remember a few games in 1980 where the crowd lit the bins up and people ( including the constabulary) huddled around them .

24-06-2016, 09:20 AM
I remember a few games in 1980 where the crowd lit the bins up and people ( including the constabulary) huddled around them .

I can remember in the early 80s it was so cold and wet at Moorabbin that me and a couple of mates turned one of those Coke stands around to face the game so we could see and huddled underneath it. Coldest I have ever been at the footy.

24-06-2016, 12:15 PM
Result flattered Norf to be honest .
Dads army on the slippery slope it seems.Gotta hand it to the Adelaide recruiting, as they've found some gems.
A couple of decent Rory's in that side . Michael Firrito once again showing what an untalented thug he is
Adelaides draw has really opened up now, and they look morals for top4.

I disagree with this last part to an extent. Having studied the run home of the top 8 teams it appears the 8 will split into 2 groups. The top 5 will battle for a top 4 position (Geelong, Sydney, Hawthorn, GWS & Adelaide), while the other 3 will battle for 6th and a home final (WCE, NM and us).

That assumes none of the top 8 drop games against the bottom 10, and top 8 teams "hold serve" when playing a fellow top 8 team at home (ie when teams travel interstate or to Geelong).

I can see both Geelong and GWS running the table (going 9-0), Hawthorn, Sydney & Adelaide going 8-1, WCE & us going 6-3 and North finishing 4-4 or 3-5.

That would leave the top 8 looking like....

1 Geelong 19-3
2,3,4 Sydney, GWS & Hawthorn 18-4 (positions decided on percentage)
5 Adelaide 17-5
6 Bulldogs 15-7
7,8 WCE & NM 14-8 (decided by percentage)

The key games over the last 9 rounds.....

Sydney v WB
Geelong v Sydney
WCE v NM
Sydney v Hawthorn
Geelong v Adelaide
Geelong v WB
WB v NM
Hawthorn v NM
GWS v WCE
WCE v Hawthorn
NM v Sydney (Hobart)
Adelaide v WCE
NM v GWS

24-06-2016, 12:19 PM
I hope Hawks don't make the top 4

24-06-2016, 12:28 PM
We kept being told the Comp is even, but the eighth team winning 14 games isn't an even comp.
The top 8 is even, but there's a big gap with the bottom eight.

24-06-2016, 12:31 PM

I reckon GWS are susceptible away from Home

24-06-2016, 12:40 PM
I reckon GWS are susceptible away from Home

I agree, I thought they struggled to beat the Bombres last week. The match was very close till the last 5 minutes.

24-06-2016, 12:59 PM

They might, but on current form they can't win it.. Just falling over the line against the teams around them.. Can't see them beating Geel, Syd, Adel & GWS.

24-06-2016, 11:49 PM
If we got 20,000 to a Friday night game you'd never hear the end of it
Minnow club ;)

25-06-2016, 12:55 AM
If we got 20,000 to a Friday night game you'd never hear the end of it
Minnow club ;)

Yep. For a while we weren't allowed have a, one, uno, single Friday night game was they were worried that we would show them up and draw a small crowd.

25-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Where was this Geelong last week?

25-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Albeit early, the Saints bringing a lot more energy against the Cats than we did - and it's paying dividends.

25-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Where was this Geelong last week?

Saints are playing better than we did last week. Putting up a better effort

25-06-2016, 08:55 PM
Saints are playing better than we did last week. Putting up a better effort

Sure, but I think they had 4 behinds at 3/4 time against us as opposed to 1.4 half way through the first quarter night, and a few skill errors like Taylor kicking on the full. But yep, St Kilda look much quicker and more intense than we put up that first half.

25-06-2016, 09:19 PM
47-16 midway through the 2nd qtr to the Saints. Wow.

25-06-2016, 09:21 PM
47-16 midway through the 2nd qtr to the Saints. Wow.

If they lose tonight there must be a few gremlins around their minds as that'd be losses to Carlton, Collingwood & St Kilda.

25-06-2016, 09:32 PM
If they lose tonight there must be a few gremlins around their minds as that'd be losses to Carlton, Collingwood & St Kilda.

I doubt the gremlins as their record against top 8 sides is 7 and 1.

Saints making me angry after the shithouse effort we made last week.

25-06-2016, 09:45 PM
I doubt the gremlins as their record against top 8 sides is 7 and 1.

Saints making me angry after the shothouse effort we made last week.

They're making us look very very bad

25-06-2016, 10:16 PM

Nah, sometimes you are on and you are on, and if you are off, well it shows

25-06-2016, 10:46 PM
Goal kicking.

Membrey's effort was disgraceful and now the Cats get the perfect swing.

25-06-2016, 10:50 PM
I can't believe I'm cheering St Kilda at present, but they're showing a lot of ticker.

25-06-2016, 10:56 PM
Great effort from the Saints.

Selwood pissing and moaning at the umpires. Great to see.

25-06-2016, 10:57 PM

Yep. They are showing us what we should have done. Tonight makes last week even more disappointing

25-06-2016, 10:57 PM
Great win by the saints. Massive effort to kick the last two goals to get up.

25-06-2016, 10:58 PM
Shows Geelong believe some of their own press. Saints, Carlton & Collingwood all have got them now.

25-06-2016, 11:00 PM

Yeah, I noticed that too. Suffer in yer jocks, Joel.

25-06-2016, 11:01 PM
Yep. They are showing us what we should have done. Tonight makes last week even more disappointing

Nah, we look forward to playing them next time with some good players coming back in and shows they are not as good as they think.

Saints had a more experienced team than we did and with Wood, JJ, TBoyd, Stevens and Dahl, we will kick their ass.

25-06-2016, 11:06 PM
Nah, we look forward to playing them next time with some good players coming back in and shows they are not as good as they think.

Saints had a more experienced team than we did and with Wood, JJ, TBoyd, Stevens and Dahl, we will kick their ass.

Love your optimism

25-06-2016, 11:11 PM
Nah, sometimes you are on and you are on, and if you are off, well it shows

You're possibly right. Maybe it was us that did such a great job of making us look bad

25-06-2016, 11:14 PM
No, Geelong just know how to win and we don't.

Except tonight. And against Carlton. And Collingwood.

25-06-2016, 11:37 PM
Geelong are just a team. A team with a few stars and a fair few really good players that need their best team on the park to have a decent chance of winning. If that best team performs to the peak of its ability it will beat any other team. If it is missing a couple of its best players or it's not absolutely switched on it can lose to almost any team in the comp.

They played well last week but they were lucky. Lucky we constantly shot ourselves in the foot, lucky they were so accurate and lucky they played their absolute best.

Yeah we haven't beaten them for a while but we will soon and keep beating them for a while after that.

25-06-2016, 11:46 PM
What happens when Enright, Taylor and Lonegan finish up? Still critical to Geelong's chances.

25-06-2016, 11:48 PM
What happens when Enright, Taylor and Lonegan finish up? Still critical to Geelong's chances.

Trade them Hamling?

25-06-2016, 11:55 PM
Trade them Hamling?

Hamling will replace Moz when he retires.

26-06-2016, 12:39 AM
Geelong's bottom 6 players are the reason they're not locks for the minor premiership. Ruggles, Gregson, Murdoch. Kersten are very ordinary.

26-06-2016, 12:41 AM
No one replaces Dale Morris.

26-06-2016, 01:15 AM
Full credit to Stkilda . Thought Geelong played like millionaires, and had spent all week reading the Geelong Addy
Seb Ross was very impressive and set the scene, and reckon they ran Geelong ragged .
Interesting to see what they do with Clark coming back .

26-06-2016, 01:20 AM
If you needed a better example of this year being a case of five or six top four quality teams vying for the premiership without any of them being genuine premiership quality tonight was it.

The Cats had plenty of opportunities to take control of the game but didn't.

26-06-2016, 01:39 AM
Geelong's bottom 6 players are the reason they're not locks for the minor premiership. Ruggles, Gregson, Murdoch. Kersten are very ordinary.

I reckon those players are why they can't win it. We showed the folly of expecting to drag a team with a ordinary bottom six to a premiership in 2009-10

No one replaces Dale Morris.

Needed repeating.

Full credit to Stkilda . Thought Geelong played like millionaires, and had spent all week reading the Geelong Addy
Seb Ross was very impressive and set the scene, and reckon they ran Geelong ragged .
Interesting to see what they do with Clark coming back .

Geelong started laicising a fair bit last week. From halfway through the second quarter. They just thought only had to run out.

If you needed a better example of this year being a case of five or six top four quality teams vying for the premiership without any of them being genuine premiership quality tonight was it.

The Cats had plenty of opportunities to take control of the game but didn't.

Exactly. It's there for the taking.

26-06-2016, 09:49 AM
i Think the cats put all their time and effort into us, won then didn't think about the next week.

26-06-2016, 01:29 PM
Isn't it great to see another Scott Brother crying.

26-06-2016, 02:18 PM

He's like my 15 year old son. My wife makes him breakfast most mornings (which I don't agree with) and when she doesn't do it he piss and moans about it.

C'mon Joel, don't bite the hand that feeds you.

26-06-2016, 03:32 PM
Isn't it great to see another Scott Brother crying.

A couple of complete and utter sooks. Not a great advertisement for either clubs.

26-06-2016, 05:09 PM
A couple of complete and utter sooks. Not a great advertisement for either clubs.

What was the other half crying about? Umpires? Roof?

26-06-2016, 05:28 PM
What was the other half crying about? Umpires? Roof?

I actually turned it off after he sooked to three straight questions, at times cutting the question off, about various decisions and non decisions in the last two minutes with "I'm not allowed to comment" (or similar). To me it was a petulant 'the AFL fined my brother for accidentally defaming umpires' so I will go overkill and be rude to stick up for him. His whole demeanour was pouty and immature, way beyond losing a close a game.