01-07-2016, 12:21 PM
Dogs by 25
first goal Dicko
BOG Libba

01-07-2016, 01:45 PM
Dogs by 4 points
BOG: Bont
1st goal: whoever it was who kicked our first goal against them last year.

01-07-2016, 02:26 PM
Dogs by 2 pts
First goal Stringer
BOG Bont

01-07-2016, 02:27 PM
Swans by 22
First goal for us Libba
BOG for us Wally

01-07-2016, 04:38 PM
Think the swans will get us. 30 points.

BOG - Bonti
First goal for us - Picken.

01-07-2016, 04:57 PM
Great to see The Bont pre-planning:

No rest for the wicked: Bontempelli's reconnaissance mission (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-07-01/no-rest-for-the-wicked-bontempellis-reconnaissance-mission)

02-07-2016, 02:00 AM
Dogs by 16
First goal Smith
BOG Biggs

02-07-2016, 09:05 AM
Looking for a win and a big game from Minson.

He will destroy Sinclair.

02-07-2016, 09:06 AM
Dogs by 9
First goal - Hunter
BOG - Stringer

02-07-2016, 09:25 AM
Dogs by 15 pts
FG-Dicko
BOG-Clay

02-07-2016, 11:26 AM
I think a few of our players will be a bit underdone and they will run over the top of us.

Swans by 15 points
Stringer first goal
BOG - MaCrae

02-07-2016, 11:37 AM
Swans by 40
First goal Clay Smith
BOG Libba

02-07-2016, 11:48 AM
Ripping day here in Sydney.

Dogs by 12
BOG Bont
FG Redpath

02-07-2016, 01:22 PM

Dogs by 12
BOG Bont
FG Redpath

I hope you have a great day. My mate surprised his 9 year old and has taken him up there. This kid is totally obsessed with the Dogs.

02-07-2016, 01:28 PM
I hope you have a great day. My mate surprised his 9 year old and has taken him up there. This kid is totally obsessed with the Dogs.

That's awesome.

02-07-2016, 01:34 PM

Brilliant stuff. You have to get them while they are young.

02-07-2016, 01:39 PM
I think a few of our players will be a bit underdone and they will run over the top of us.

Swans by 15 points
Stringer first goal
BOG - MaCrae

I wonder about bringing two long term injury recoverers back in the same team. Hopefully JJ and Clay have developed a weird sort of osmosis while working in recovery together and all day it will be "Johanissen runs through the centre and, oh, how did he find Clay Smith that time? All day he's been finding Smith in the forward 50. Another Bulldog goal, they lead by 91 points, 12 minutes into the second quarter"

02-07-2016, 01:48 PM
I am eating my lunch and watching last years game. I hope we play just as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oo6EdapHZ3k

32 minute highlights pack put together by AL's Videos.

02-07-2016, 02:39 PM
I am eating my lunch and watching last years game. I hope we play just as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oo6EdapHZ3k

32 minute highlights pack put together by AL's Videos.

Pie & sauce?

02-07-2016, 02:52 PM
Dogs by 11 pts
1st goal Jake
BOG libba

02-07-2016, 02:53 PM
Pie & sauce?

Pastie :)

02-07-2016, 02:54 PM

He sounds like a ripping lad!

02-07-2016, 02:56 PM
He sounds like a ripping lad!

He is actually, can't believe how much he is into football.

My mate also got his hands on room passes.

02-07-2016, 02:59 PM
He is actually, can't believe how much he is into football.

My mate also got his hands on room passes.

That will blow the kids mind. You should see if they can get some snaps to share on here.

02-07-2016, 03:02 PM
That will blow the kids mind. You should see if they can get some snaps to share on here.

I will text him and see what he says.

02-07-2016, 03:03 PM

Dogs by 12
BOG Bont
FG Redpath

Bit better than last year's weather. But it is a cracking day. Looking forward to getting out to the game myself.

Dogs by 10
BOG Bonts
First goal Jake

02-07-2016, 03:21 PM
Big ask today, despite our ins.

Swans by 37
BOG : Suckling
First Major : Dickson

02-07-2016, 03:50 PM
Dogs by 1 point
1st goal Dickson
BOG: Libba

02-07-2016, 03:52 PM

That's great BAD.

02-07-2016, 04:22 PM
I'm voting for the
Dogs by 3 pts
First goal JJ
BOG Wallis

02-07-2016, 04:39 PM
No Late Changes

02-07-2016, 04:40 PM
I'm not confident.
Swans by 11 points
BOG - Hunter
First Goal - Redpath

02-07-2016, 05:24 PM
TV on sitting on the couch with a beer ready for the game.

02-07-2016, 05:41 PM
Great intensity need to get on the scoreboard.

02-07-2016, 05:42 PM
Great goal Biggs! That's our first.

02-07-2016, 05:43 PM
Good start for Biggs. Nice pressure to force the error at half back. Excellent finish from Biggs on the run.

Strange start to the game, both sides lucky not to have been scored against in the first five minutes.

02-07-2016, 05:43 PM
Great defensive efforts from our team. Love it!

02-07-2016, 05:45 PM
JJ's run has already been blistering.

02-07-2016, 05:47 PM
Dicko been involved and Jong.

02-07-2016, 05:52 PM
We've been on top of things and unfortunately haven't converted our opportunities.

Buddy of course does. Adams has had an ordinary couple of minutes.

02-07-2016, 05:55 PM
Working hard but need to take advantage.

02-07-2016, 05:56 PM
That free kick to Rose is exactly what's wrong with the game.

Four umpires and not one of them called the drop.

02-07-2016, 05:57 PM
We need something from Bont. We need something from Redpath. We need less from Adams.

02-07-2016, 06:01 PM
Our kicking inside 50 is poor, but our forwards ability to compete in the air is worse.

That free kick to Rose is exactly what's wrong with the game.

Four umpires and not one of them called the drop.

And the difference in interpretation that saw Daniel immediately dispossessed and decked with no call made is the same.

Playing dumb football

02-07-2016, 06:04 PM
Our field kicking needs to be better and we need to hit up targets up forward. Good thing is they have missed quite a few.

02-07-2016, 06:04 PM
I'm not sure what to make of that.

02-07-2016, 06:05 PM
Our kicking inside 50 is poor, but our forwards ability to compete in the air is worse.

It's an around the ground issue as well.

We completely go to water skills wise when the screws are turned against us.

A positive to take out of the quarter was our work rate was where it needed to be. If we can bring Redpath, Stringer, Bontempelli and Dickson (up forward) into the game then we'll turn things around.

02-07-2016, 06:05 PM
If only there was someone at Footscray who could compete in the air up forward for us.

02-07-2016, 06:06 PM
That was a really shocking quarter by us. Noone can hit a target. Getting out marked all over the ground

02-07-2016, 06:07 PM
The Bont 3 disposals, Stringer 1, need to lift

02-07-2016, 06:08 PM
That was a really shocking quarter by us. Noone can hit a target. Getting out marked all over the ground

Take the suit and tie off Baz!

02-07-2016, 06:08 PM
Continuing to make life more difficult for ourselves than it needs to be with our disposal going forward.

02-07-2016, 06:12 PM
Much better play

02-07-2016, 06:13 PM
The Bont 3 disposals, Stringer 1, need to lift

Stringer did take a good mark in defence in the 1st and he gets one.

02-07-2016, 06:14 PM
The Freak

Stringer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jake Stringer, is just the most awesome when he's being awesome.

There's nothing like it.

02-07-2016, 06:15 PM
Much better Dogs!

02-07-2016, 06:21 PM
Way better ball movement need to hit a target.

02-07-2016, 06:22 PM
Jong and Biggs terrible kicking

02-07-2016, 06:23 PM

And Hunter.

02-07-2016, 06:23 PM

Jong been involved but yes we need to weed out simple errors.

02-07-2016, 06:24 PM
This TV coverage makes me glad I'm at the game most weeks. Flat out barracking for Sydney.

02-07-2016, 06:25 PM
The old drop the knees

02-07-2016, 06:28 PM
Need to stop Franklin

02-07-2016, 06:28 PM
Why the hell din't Bont have a shot

02-07-2016, 06:30 PM
Dickson's miss was critical.. His ball use has been terrible.

02-07-2016, 06:30 PM
Every time we miss unforgivable set shots we give opponents life.

02-07-2016, 06:31 PM
Dickson's miss was critical.. He's ball use has been terrible.

Then they kick 2 goals. Misses have plagued us for so long and our best missed a sitter

02-07-2016, 06:35 PM
Is Redpath even playing today

02-07-2016, 06:36 PM
We need to be ruthless, either improve the kicking of our team or bring in players who are better kicks.

Great team oriented work by Macrae, and nice finish from Rough.

02-07-2016, 06:37 PM
I thought he would miss that. Well done Macrae!

02-07-2016, 06:38 PM
Good to have JJ back.

02-07-2016, 06:39 PM
Where's the front on contact to Wood ffs

02-07-2016, 06:41 PM
Tight quarter but much better than the first. Need to get more efficient up forward.

02-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Libba poor so far, can't get his hands on the ball, Minson not sure why he is out there, Bont a bit better that quarter, Suckling not playing well at all. Lot of work to do

02-07-2016, 06:42 PM
We have some players capable of horrendous skill errors every single game.

02-07-2016, 06:43 PM
We have some players capable of horrendous skill errors every single game.

Hunter.

02-07-2016, 06:43 PM
Thoughts on Jong? Picken working hard.

02-07-2016, 06:44 PM
Years back we had the Wog Squad, I'd like to start a new group;

The "millionaires club".
Stringer, MaCrae, Hunter and Suckling.

When they it comes off its brilliant and looks a million bucks, but they just don't do the basics.

We are carrying a few players well down on form at the minute :(

02-07-2016, 06:44 PM
10 points down at the 1/2. Hunter's turnover and Dickson's miss cost us 11.

02-07-2016, 06:45 PM
Pretty accurate reflection in the score. Just that bit better than us at the moment. Could have done with that one at the end of the quarter

02-07-2016, 06:45 PM
We just need a bit of luck to tall our way and a few of the boys to stand up in the 2nd half. We are getting a lot right.

A couple of goals to big Jack would help.

02-07-2016, 06:46 PM
We just don't spot up well going forward , either our forwards aren't running to right space or we aren't delivering it into them right.
Just thinking Boyd would have been handy today.
Why do the opposition seem to be to big and take marks against us all the time .. The last two games sides look bigger and stronger than us.
10 points isn't bad, if that was our bad half we will win easy if it was our good half we are in trouble.

02-07-2016, 06:47 PM
The take-away message from the first half is that we are in this. We haven't been good, too many errors and players down on their form. The good news is that it is up to us what happens in the second half.

02-07-2016, 06:49 PM
Great to see Clay back out there.

02-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Is Redpath even playing? No forward presence at all.

02-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Redpath is likely having difficulty with the SCG and the way the game's played on it. Given he's only been on screen once or twice for the whole game.

If we can get Libba into the game, and get the ball going forward in the hands of Daniel we'll be in better shape. We need Dickson to hit the scoreboard too.

02-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Even if he's not getting the ball, Repath needs to make a contest. Been a non-contributor so far.

We need to reduce our disposal errors to win this....and start winning the ball more out if the middle.

02-07-2016, 06:57 PM
Sydney are getting goals on the break, we're trying to pinpoint passes in a flooded forward 50. That's the difference

02-07-2016, 07:01 PM
Hunter that was so unbelievably soft.

How that was a free kick against Dickson is just disgraceful.

02-07-2016, 07:05 PM
Libba's come into it nicely.

Thankfully bringing Red into the game.

02-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Much better inside 50. Red and Libba with the last two.

02-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Did Libba lose a haircut bet ?

02-07-2016, 07:10 PM
Libba's come into it nicely.

Thankfully bringing Red into the game.

Quoted for truth.

Libba has been magnificent to open the term.

We need to get first hands on it out of the middle.

02-07-2016, 07:11 PM
Jong looks like he's stripped a bit of weight.

02-07-2016, 07:11 PM
Jong scored and we are up by 8.

02-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Libba!!!!!!!!

02-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Libba is taking this game out on his own

02-07-2016, 07:18 PM
That umpire ought to be ashamed of himself.

Franklin clearly infringed first, when Morris didn't with Buddy throwing his arms back.

02-07-2016, 07:18 PM
Struth it's brutal in the clinches. We ain't flinching though. Hope we can sustain it.

02-07-2016, 07:20 PM
How are people supposed to respect the umpires when they are so clearly incompetent/biased?

02-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Did Libba lose a haircut bet ?

If he can keep this up I'll shout him the other half.

02-07-2016, 07:21 PM
Even the commentators are saying how bad they are and that's rare.

02-07-2016, 07:25 PM
How the hell wasn't that a free kick to Morris?

02-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Dickson's having an ordinary night.

Boyd has really saved us a couple of times now.

02-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Clay Smith!!! What a beast.

02-07-2016, 07:27 PM

Jong 2 weeks, Sydney play on

02-07-2016, 07:28 PM
Welcome back Smithy. Hell of an effort from him.

02-07-2016, 07:28 PM
Welcome back Smithy. Hell of an effort from him.

What a bull!

02-07-2016, 07:32 PM
Buddy puts Morris in a headlock and gets a free. Boundary umpire calls oob and field umpire overrules despite it clearly hitting the line. Several non calls against us. Hard to not feel an element of cheating.

Fingers crossed we can keep the momentum up.

The hand pass that was called a throw earlier was pathetic.

What a quarter. Just need 1 more.

02-07-2016, 07:33 PM
C'mon scraggers, dig deep!

02-07-2016, 07:34 PM
Bonts with a huuuuge quarter.

02-07-2016, 07:34 PM

Because he bent down to pick the ball up so if you have your head down the head is fair game. Fricking joke!

02-07-2016, 07:35 PM
Liberatore dragged us back into the game. One of the most dominant quarters I've seen by a Bulldog.

Bont was massive in a large part of it as well.

What do we think of Webbs game . I think we are missing McLean.

We're still going okay and just need someone like Dickson to stand up and kick a goal or two in the last quarter.

I can see this being a fight right to the last few minutes.

Because he bent down to pick the ball up so if you have your head down the head is fair game. Fricking joke!

Then Picken was taken high after the ball spilled out... But Sydney goaled, so yeah umpires and AFL agenda.

02-07-2016, 07:40 PM
God, Suckling is having a nightmare!

02-07-2016, 07:42 PM
Webb will be alright. Just need more and more games.

02-07-2016, 07:44 PM
Wilbur!

02-07-2016, 07:44 PM
Really happy for Luke Parker being a smart arse and going for the smallest guy on the ground after taking that mark, and Hannebury having a whinge.

Best.

02-07-2016, 07:48 PM
Time for Jake to stand up, throw him in the middle

02-07-2016, 07:48 PM
I'm so angry with Adams right now.

02-07-2016, 07:49 PM
It's a cracking contest, sitting on the edge of the seat. We need the next goal now

02-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Why isn't Morris on Franklin ? Buddy has given Adams a bath everytime

02-07-2016, 07:50 PM
I really wish Jong didn't take his eye off the footy then, and just locked it down.

02-07-2016, 07:50 PM
Why isn't Morris on Franklin ? Buddy has given Adams a bath everytime

Giving away too much height?

02-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Morris has a great record on buddy

02-07-2016, 08:04 PM
What a win !!

Yes, yes, yes and yes.

Screw this. Every Dogs' membership should come with a replacement heart.

02-07-2016, 08:05 PM
I love this club !!

02-07-2016, 08:05 PM
Oh *!*!*!*! yeah

02-07-2016, 08:06 PM
My poor girlfriend got the fright of her life.

02-07-2016, 08:06 PM
I could get used to this "winning the close ones" feeling - don't mind it one bit ;)

02-07-2016, 08:08 PM
Two of the best away wins I've seen this year.

Funke disco
02-07-2016, 08:08 PM
Well done everyone!!! Loving this

02-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Whoohoo!!!

02-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Oh. My. God.

Thought we were gone for all money, how could I ever doubt them? JJ you star!

02-07-2016, 08:12 PM

Or 3

02-07-2016, 08:13 PM
Welcome back JJ!

02-07-2016, 08:13 PM
A. Mazing. My god that's a win for the ages.

02-07-2016, 08:14 PM
Bonts crucial in all the close wins this with the last goal, or goal assist in them.

02-07-2016, 08:14 PM
I'm not sure there's a player I prefer to have the ball in his hands at crunch moments than Daniel.

We'd gone back to "just bomb it" territory, and he was just cool as a cucumber. What a player.

So pleased for Clay Smith.

02-07-2016, 08:15 PM
I'd quite like to watch that one again, I think!

Holy *!*!*!*!ing Hell. What a win.

Put a fork in me I'm cooked.

It's ok for a grown man to cry right?

02-07-2016, 08:16 PM
Dogs by 2 pts
First goal Stringer
BOG Bont

Was close :)

02-07-2016, 08:17 PM

I've been sitting on the edge of my seat most games in the last 5 or 6 weeks.

Sensational team that fights it out. We certainly come to work most weeks.

02-07-2016, 08:17 PM
I'm voting for the
Dogs by 3 pts
First goal JJ
BOG Wallis

Right in BID

02-07-2016, 08:18 PM

Yeah and nah. With footy though that's fine :)

02-07-2016, 08:19 PM
My cats went scrambling out of the room in a panic

02-07-2016, 08:20 PM
Holy shit I had us gone 2 minutes out from the siren. YOU BLOOOODYYYY RIPPPPPPERRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

02-07-2016, 08:21 PM
This TV coverage makes me glad I'm at the game most weeks. Flat out barracking for Sydney.

And they sounded so forlorn when we won. Must have had money on Sydney

I'm not sure there's a player I prefer to have the ball in his hands at crunch moments than Daniel.

We'd gone back to "just bomb it" territory, and he was just cool as a cucumber. What a player.

So pleased for Clay Smith.

Or JJ.

Both of these guys want to respect the football and not give it up.

That was a great win. Congratulations Bulldogs. You made a big statement out there today. Full of merit, driven by belief and endeavour, playing for each other - TEAM!!. WELCOME BACK JJ and don't forget to buy your script writer a drink or three 'cos you've now entered Bulldog folklore. Well done my friend. When you drilled that goal I let out a yell of 'You Bloody Beauty!' so loud, the neighbours came over looking for the corpse! Go Dogs!!

House has friggin gone off. Wow.....what a win. What an awesome friggin win.

02-07-2016, 08:27 PM
I feel I have played the whole game. I need a rest. What a magnificent result.

02-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Or JJ.

Both of these guys want to respect the football and not give it up.

A thing of beauty. Never looked like missing.

02-07-2016, 08:30 PM
I feel I have played the whole game. I need a rest. What a magnificent result.

No, you need to back up and watch it again :)

02-07-2016, 08:31 PM

Or a Defibulator :p

How #$%&ing AWESOME WAS THAT!!!!

02-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Shove that where it fits Barrett !

02-07-2016, 08:33 PM
No, you need to back up and watch it again :)

I'm going to tonight:)

02-07-2016, 08:38 PM
Toyd kicks 4 for Footscray.
Bulldogs win in Sydney again.
Bite on that Pinhead Barrett.
Hope you Jam your Shitcarter sliding doors on your Friggen hands!!!

HAHAHA!!! ;)

02-07-2016, 08:39 PM

Only when it's related to the Bulldogs

02-07-2016, 08:40 PM
I'm going to tonight:)

That's what the true champions do

02-07-2016, 08:40 PM
Great win. Showed composure and courage in equal measures. Best win of the season. Shows when we have our good players in, we can win games.

02-07-2016, 08:45 PM
I haven't watched it yet , but what a character filled win
We usually do not win these games , and I hope a few on here who always point that out pass a comment

02-07-2016, 08:46 PM
A shame I wasn't there. Would have been a great interstate trip. What a win and just so vital in the context of our season. Top 4 looms if we keep it going and keep getting wins. JJ the hero in the end with the goal - great to have him back. Libba was excellent especially in the 3rd. Jong tried very hard. Picken was solid. Bonti and Stringer very good.

What football can do to you if we lost bad night and if we won which we did great night.

02-07-2016, 08:48 PM
Best win I have been to what a pleasure to be at also swans fans have no idea bout the game

02-07-2016, 08:49 PM
Comrade is the lucky charm....and a guy called Johannisen

02-07-2016, 08:51 PM
Was standing with a few supporters behind where the cheer squad was sitting. Plenty of hugs, back slaps and high fives when JJ nailed that goal. Great evening of footy. Gutsy win.

02-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Amazing win. Really they had the momentum in the last. We just started to turn it our way but didn't seem like we had the legs or composer to get back in front. Enter Caleb, the bont and JJ. I was furious the Bont handed it off as I thought for sure, a-la Crows game, he would kick it. But JJ I will never doubt you again. Love that it was the young guys who got us over the line too.

02-07-2016, 11:29 PM
What a game. Must apologise to my 2 year old who told me off numerous times for being too loud!

02-07-2016, 11:59 PM
What a game. Must apologise to my 2 year old who told me off numerous times for being too loud!

I get called a "Footy Monster" by the kids at my place! And its not said in jest....:D

03-07-2016, 01:09 AM
I've just watched Daniel's kick inside to Bont four or five times over in quick succession, I'm flabbergasted at how good that kid is and can truly understand how he was purported to be pick one quality.

What a bloody legend. In tight circumstances he was the guy cucumbers look up to.

03-07-2016, 01:11 AM
I've just watched Daniel's kick inside to Bont four or five times over in quick succession, I'm flabbergasted at how good that kid is and can truly understand how he was purported to be pick one quality.

What a bloody legend. In tight circumstances he was the guy cucumbers look up to.

I think he's starting to get some serious cred towards the Rising Star this year. His numbers compared to other rising star nominees are outstanding.

03-07-2016, 01:23 AM
I think he's starting to get some serious cred towards the Rising Star this year. His numbers compared to other rising star nominees are outstanding.

His impact should be what counts.........if games were watched uniformly by judges..........numbers it is!

03-07-2016, 01:35 AM
Wowee. What a finish! I was listening on the radio and the guy said there was 30 seconds left when Bont took the mark and then he says "oh no" and then "is it a mark? Johanissen? Yes! I thought he'd grassed it" That's when I stopped punching the ground. I thought we'd *!*!*!*!ed it up. But the Bont doesn't *!*!*!*! things up.

I've seen it since and JJ was close enough to touch Bont on the shoulder and had time to back up far enough for it to be a mark when Bont kicked it to him. I never thought I'd see the Sydney defence so slack and disorganised.

03-07-2016, 01:48 AM
I get called a "Footy Monster" by the kids at my place! And its not said in jest....:D

Kids! No sense of occasion. No sense of time - let alone history. Gotta love 'em. If they only knew!

03-07-2016, 10:00 AM

He's a marvel. Everything said about him during his recruitment is true. He's smart and gets to the right spot and just knows how to use it. He's a pure footballer and a testament to the "footballer first" theory.

On top of that my four year old loves him, and she's got impeccable taste.

03-07-2016, 10:55 AM
We had a celebration of what would have been my grand father's 100th birthday at a local pub before about 20 one eyed family members came home to watch the game on fox. There were wild scenes in Flemington, running out in the street, scaring neighbours etc. It was real nail biting, glorious stuff. Such a pleasure to have everyone together completely unhinged for those moments.

03-07-2016, 10:57 AM
We had a celebration of what would have been my grand father's 100th birthday at a local pub before about 20 one eyed family members came home to watch the game on fox. There were wild scenes in Flemington, running out in the street, scaring neighbours etc. It was real nail biting, glorious stuff. Such a pleasure to have everyone together completely unhinged for those moments.

Sounds like one heck of a family get together!

03-07-2016, 11:17 AM
Think of the mindset of a bloke playing his first game in ten or so weeks. It's the last 30 seconds of the match and he's out of petrol tickets. The ball is in the hands of the team's best player 50m out with the final chance to win the game.

He then has the vision to see that the opposition has left a hole at CHF and makes a snap decision to run to space and be the man to take the responsibility for getting the team across the line.

Most would have been happy (relieved) to simply leave the responsibility to Bonts. It says something about the confidence many of our players have and the belief the coaches have instilled.

Mind you.....imagine if the kick had been intercepted. We would have been criticising Bonts for not taking the responsibility and JJ for an untimely decision.:p

03-07-2016, 11:20 AM
I think Healy mentioned that during the game.

03-07-2016, 11:24 AM

I got a great photo with the young lad and Bevo in the rooms, but I won't put it up as I think it wouldn't be right.

03-07-2016, 12:10 PM
Think of the mindset of a bloke playing his first game in ten or so weeks. It's the last 30 seconds of the match and he's out of petrol tickets. The ball is in the hands of the team's best player 50m out with the final chance to win the game.

He then has the vision to see that the opposition has left a hole at CHF and makes a snap decision to run to space and be the man to take the responsibility for getting the team across the line.

Most would have been happy (relieved) to simply leave the responsibility to Bonts. It says something about the confidence many of our players have and the belief the coaches have instilled.

Mind you.....imagine if the kick had been intercepted. We would have been criticising Bints for not taking the responsibility and JJ for an untimely decision.:p

It good that we now have another young player who has slotted the match winning goal from a set shot with immense pressure and against a top team (arguably the best team) on their home turf. That goes a long way to build character, a winner character. The Bont has had his turn and showed he can hold his nerve and now we know JJ can be the man as well.

Gee I love this club and the current list and coaches.

03-07-2016, 12:29 PM
Daniel's vision, Bonts making space, JJs mark and kick three great plays - gold

03-07-2016, 12:40 PM

Mind you.....imagine if the kick had been intercepted. We would have been criticising Bints for not taking the responsibility and JJ for an untimely decision.:p

He also tore his hammy from a relatively long kick for goal so that adds to the guts he showed, in my books, anyway.

03-07-2016, 12:49 PM

Early on in the season I called his skills "elite", but he wasn't an elite player, yet. The kid then went on to match Sam Mitchell. He has a very sharp football brain and the skills to do what his brain wants him to. Its only a matter of time.

So important to bank the 4 points in these close ones.

03-07-2016, 01:13 PM

This was a turning point IMO. Bonts would have kicked from maybe 54m, an outside chance from there. JJ wasn't happy with that. Despite the risk that the siren would blow, that the umpire would call not 15, that the kick would miss the target or that Sydney would get in the way, he made space and demanded the ball

Suckling was doing cartwheels calling for it on the other side of the ground too as Bonts took the mark. These blokes believe they can do it and want the responsibility to prove it

03-07-2016, 05:15 PM
From the coach here (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2013-07-02/bevos-brief-members-message-rd15?camefrom=EMCL_1168793_44803419)

03-07-2016, 05:23 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cma3uxMUcAEGKmO.jpg:large

03-07-2016, 05:30 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cma3uxMUcAEGKmO.jpg:large

Saw that one doing the rounds. Shared it on Facebook.

03-07-2016, 09:15 PM
Unbelievable win.

Sydney had strong momentum a number of times during the game, had home ground advantage, their best players couldn't have played better (Franklin, Kennedy, Hanneberry, Parker) and we looked like we'd blown it late. Plus there's little doubt Sydney had last year in their memory - they wanted to atone for it.

Huge, huge win.

Definitely believing. Can we win it THIS year? I'm not sure. Our best is proven to be good enough, can we do it week after week? We will soon find out. I wish we had Murphy.

03-07-2016, 10:32 PM
Murphy missing is huge, I still feel pain from his loss. We do have Dahlhaus, McLean and TBoyd to improve our team. JJ showed how much he can improve the side.

03-07-2016, 11:10 PM

Fantastic SOS. I was standing up from my couch in the last minute of the game yesterday so nervous but when JJ got that goal it was awesome. Massive effort and Bevo described it best in his presser "He was cool as a cucumber".

03-07-2016, 11:30 PM
when JJ got that gaol it was awesome.

He did get us out of gaol.:D

03-07-2016, 11:33 PM
He did get us out of gaol.:D

Yep true as well. I meant goal but yeah so right BAD :D:D

03-07-2016, 11:47 PM
Caleb Daniel never stopped playing sexy footy. As others said, that side step with the kick across the body to Bont - a masterstroke.

04-07-2016, 12:08 AM
Unbelievable win.

Sydney had strong momentum a number of times during the game, had home ground advantage, their best players couldn't have played better (Franklin, Kennedy, Hanneberry, Parker) and we looked like we'd blown it late. Plus there's little doubt Sydney had last year in their memory - they wanted to atone for it.
Yep, their best players had fantastic games on their home patch and we still found a way. Fantastic win.

04-07-2016, 12:27 AM

When the kids were little we had a rule for when the footy was on. "We only disturb dad if something is on fire"

Mind you.....imagine if the kick had been intercepted. We would have been criticising Bonts for not taking the responsibility and JJ for an untimely decision.:p

We would have had a meltdown?

04-07-2016, 01:02 PM
I was flying to Australia and in transit during the game. Caught a little when I landed. Going to watch the replay several times. I really respect Sydney and if Buddy kicks 5 yet you still win, you know you have done yourself proud.

04-07-2016, 05:43 PM
We would have had a meltdown?

There would have been a world record for the usage of the phrase 'same old dogs'.

04-07-2016, 05:58 PM
This is how you tackle and Morro didn't have the ball

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cma3WKPUcAA38kE.jpg

and Buddy got the free kick:eek:

04-07-2016, 07:12 PM

UnFreakenBeleivable!!! :mad:
Looking after the Marquee players as usual!!!!

04-07-2016, 10:20 PM

You can take any moment in slow mo and spin it to suit your argument.

Except this time. That's a free to Morris, 8 days a week. Straight up howler.

04-07-2016, 11:40 PM
PLAY ON!!

http://i.imgur.com/OzcZuKY.jpg

05-07-2016, 12:09 AM

This is a good old fashioned example of an umpire needing to be dropped for a long while. There are bad calls, and then this in its own category. And with 4 umpires this was paid. 1 paid it and three went along with it. Ergo, four umpires is a waste of time, effort and money.

05-07-2016, 06:37 AM
I'm not a twitter person but does the chief of umpires have an account, someone could tweet him this photo and caption Morris gave away the free kick?
Four umpires work really well.

05-07-2016, 10:10 AM
PLAY ON!!

http://i.imgur.com/OzcZuKY.jpg

RC that is a ripper, I hope you don't mind me using it.

05-07-2016, 12:24 PM
RC that is a ripper, I hope you don't mind me using it.

Cheers, feel free to use at your leisure!

05-07-2016, 03:16 PM
I'm not a twitter person but does the chief of umpires have an account, someone could tweet him this photo and caption Morris gave away the free kick?
Four umpires work really well.

I think it is Luke Ball filling in.

05-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Just had another look at the final passage of play that led to JJ's match winning goal on the last kick of the game.

Ok, it has been noted that Smith applied a crunching tackle, forcing the defender to spill it loose.
Wallis then got the loose ball and handballed to Caleb Daniel.
What needs to be noted is the manoeuvre Daniel pulls when he gets the ball to make space for himself.

It was the old fashioned blind turn. Perfectly executed.

Take a look if you don't believe me.

05-07-2016, 08:35 PM
It was a blind turn. And he kicks it with a bent leg so the kick went over the top of the Melbourne player and then dropped into Bont's hands. The boy has footy smarts.

05-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Notice it was a drop punt around the corner too. Love seeing a player execute that skill over the snap. It's so much more reliable.

05-07-2016, 09:39 PM
He's a gem. He could be the best player in his draft year.

05-07-2016, 10:13 PM
Notice it was a drop punt around the corner too. Love seeing a player execute that skill over the snap. It's so much more reliable.

Certainly easier to mark in the hands

06-07-2016, 11:48 AM
Just had another look at the final passage of play that led to JJ's match winning goal on the last kick of the game.

Ok, it has been noted that Smith applied a crunching tackle, forcing the defender to spill it loose.
Wallis then got the loose ball and handballed to Caleb Daniel.
What needs to be noted is the manoeuvre Daniel pulls when he gets the ball to make space for himself.

It was the old fashioned blind turn. Perfectly executed.

Take a look if you don't believe me.

I heard Suckers in a radio interview say that even though Caleb is small in stature he has big hands. Great for handling the ball. You know what the say about guys with big hands.....big gloves.:)

06-07-2016, 12:14 PM
It was a blind turn. And he kicks it with a bent leg so the kick went over the top of the Melbourne player and then dropped into Bont's hands. The boy has footy smarts.

There were Melbourne players out there trying to stop us as well? The league is against us I tell you - it's a conspiracy! ;)

06-07-2016, 12:18 PM
I think it is Luke Ball filling in.

The same Luke Ball that said the free kick against Courtney Dempsey for his tackle on the West Coast player was the correct decision. Was a perfect tackle but apparently now that is too forceful, it's an absolute joke.

So I'm sure he would say that Dale initiated the contact by grabbing Buddy's arm and wrapping it around his neck.

06-07-2016, 12:21 PM
The same Luke Ball that said the free kick against Courtney Dempsey for his tackle on the West Coast player was the correct decision. Was a perfect tackle but apparently now that is too forceful, it's an absolute joke.

So I'm sure he would say that Dale initiated the contact by grabbing Buddy's arm and wrapping it around his neck.

Its not like its unheard of...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHsg6Bb02L4

06-07-2016, 01:04 PM
Its not like its unheard of...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHsg6Bb02L4

Haha. Soccer players are a different breed. I wish I could understand the commentary, they seemed very amused by it

06-07-2016, 01:11 PM
Haha. Soccer players are a different breed. I wish I could understand the commentary, they seemed very amused by it

Something about "That's spectacular"?

06-07-2016, 01:30 PM
There were Melbourne players out there trying to stop us as well? The league is against us I tell you - it's a conspiracy! ;)

It's a good thing that I did spot it. Nobody else seems to have.

06-07-2016, 01:33 PM
I heard Suckers in a radio interview say that even though Caleb is small in stature he has big hands. Great for handling the ball. You know what the say about guys with big hands.....big gloves.:)

They get nicknames like twodogs???

08-07-2016, 07:47 PM
I was listening to Wil Anderson's footy podcast and he claims that after the game, referring to the fact he was supposed to come back via the VFL, JJ greeted Bevo with the words, 'Would have been hard to kick that winning goal from Coburg!'

Can anyone else confirm this? If true, very cool from JJ!