08-07-2016, 11:59 AM
Dogs by 75pts

First Goal - Big Red

BOG: The Bont

Crowd 33,000

08-07-2016, 12:16 PM
Incredibly important game this week. Must get a win and hopefully a significant percentage boost.

Dogs by 42pts

BOG- Libba

First Goal- Dicko

08-07-2016, 12:49 PM
Dogs by 28 points

BOG - Bontempelli.....flying.

First Goal - Clay Smith

Crowd - 34,222

08-07-2016, 01:58 PM
Dogs by 20pts
First goal Jack Mac
BOG The Bont

08-07-2016, 06:12 PM
Dogs 23 points
BOG - Clay Smith
First Goal - Dicko - he's due
Crowd 30,592

08-07-2016, 07:43 PM
Dogs 23 points
BOG - Clay Smith
First Goal - Dicko - he's due
Crowd 30,592

I hope he comes out and has a good game.

08-07-2016, 08:24 PM
I hope he comes out and has a good game.

He needs to ED. Another goaless / poor game could see him back at Footscray next week.

08-07-2016, 08:29 PM
He needs to ED. Another goaless / poor game could see him back at Footscray next week.

Yes you would think that would be the case. When he is playing well is provides a lot for our team.

08-07-2016, 08:43 PM
We are due to start smashing a few sides in the 2nd half of the season - like last year.

Dogs by 87 points
1st Goal: Redders
BOG: JJ

08-07-2016, 09:55 PM
Dogs by 63 (Richmond to score under 40 points)
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Stringer
Crowd - 31,234

09-07-2016, 02:09 AM
Dogs by 68
1st Goal: Stringer
BOG: Libba
Crowd: 33,750

09-07-2016, 10:47 AM
Danger game tonight.
We get to see how far we have come, especially considering last year we lost our next three after beating Sydney.

Dogs by 15 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: Bontempelli

09-07-2016, 11:03 AM
Dogs by 39
First goal - Dickson
BOG - Wallis
Crowd - 36,540

09-07-2016, 01:12 PM
Dogs by 23. Don't think it'll be super comfortable but we are a better team. Have nightmares of Rance taking continual intercept marks in the backline
BOG - Liberatore
First Goal - Suckling

09-07-2016, 01:43 PM
Our midfield will absolutely smash them inside this week. They won't be able to handle the pressure around the ball and as usual won't be able to apply pressure of their own.

The hard part will be to watch our forward fifty set up when Jack has to go in the ruck and Bevo has Jong, Stevens,Macrae, Wallis and co play tall. I guess the difference from early in the season though (when we went with one ruck) is that we have JJ,Sucking,Webb and Daniel which should ensure better ball movement throughout.

Doggies by 58 points.

First Goal Dickson(its time)

BOG JJ if he doesn't suffer from second up syndrome will absolutely get off the chain.

09-07-2016, 02:00 PM
Hope we're ferocious from the get go, make them wilt early and proceed to punish them.

Some percentage would be a fine thing.

Dogs by 52
First Major : Bontempelli
BOG : Wood

09-07-2016, 02:09 PM
I'm a bit nervous. Memories of a 50+ point lead erased and defeated last time we came back from a tough game in Sydney still linger.

I'll be taking the night off and watching this from the couch tonight. It's been a tough week.

09-07-2016, 02:39 PM
Dogs: 15 points
FG: Jong
BOG: Jong
After we win, who Cameron Ling goes to for an interview: Jong
Touring Punt Road facilities after the game tonight: Jong

09-07-2016, 02:39 PM
I'm a bit nervous. Memories of a 50+ point lead erased and defeated last time we came back from a tough game in Sydney still linger.

I'll be taking the night off and watching this from the couch tonight. It's been a tough week.

The back again?

09-07-2016, 03:52 PM
Dogs by 36
1st Goal: Red
BOG: Hunter

09-07-2016, 03:58 PM
The back again?

Nah haven't had an issue for a while touch wood. Just sleep deprivation, will be playing it safe.

09-07-2016, 04:07 PM
Looking forward to Smashing these Douchebags!!

Dogs by - 86pts
FG-Stringer
BOG-The Bont

09-07-2016, 04:22 PM
Dogs by 33
First goal: Dickson
BOG: Liberatore

09-07-2016, 05:39 PM
WB by 45
First Goal Stringer
BOG Wallis

Hoping for us to put some points on the board, our forward line has been down and our percentage could use a boost

09-07-2016, 05:43 PM
I'm very pissed off that Tom Boyd isn't playing tonight. Must have been something really terrible that he did because it seems the suspension is at least 4 weeks!!!

09-07-2016, 05:54 PM
I'm very pissed off that Tom Boyd isn't playing tonight. Must have been something really terrible that he did because it seems the suspension is at least 4 weeks!!!

Shhhh.
Don't let on to Barrett he'll have the "Exclusive" in his Sliding Doors next.

09-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Dogs by 75 points
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Stringer with 8

Not sure what people are worried about cause Richmond just doesn't have the game to trouble us. They move the ball so slowly so even if we aren't on we should still win this.

09-07-2016, 06:29 PM
Leaving for game now...........Go you good things.....

09-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Adrian Campbell is being interviewed in the Players Sponsors area. Never quite lived up to his potential. Looks as fit as when he played

09-07-2016, 07:49 PM
No late changes

09-07-2016, 08:39 PM
Richmond's disposal is abysmal.

09-07-2016, 08:42 PM

Yep, but only two points down.

09-07-2016, 08:42 PM
Richmond are woeful yet we're just 2 points up.

09-07-2016, 08:49 PM
Be nice if we moved the ball quicker from standing starts in our forward half, we're waiting and squandering options in the process.

09-07-2016, 08:53 PM
Dominated a quarter for nada.

09-07-2016, 08:54 PM
This will come back to haunt us if we don't smarten up.

09-07-2016, 08:55 PM
Jake Stringer

09-07-2016, 08:55 PM
Bevo will be filthy with that quarter. Richmond wasteful and yet we haven't capitalised.

Need to smash the dam wall.

09-07-2016, 08:56 PM
Bontempelli handballs over his head more accurately than some players handball normally.

09-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Jeezus they're ordinary. Opportunity here, but we need to switch on and drop the careless attitude when in possession.

09-07-2016, 08:59 PM
Adrian Campbell is being interviewed in the Players Sponsors area. Never quite lived up to his potential. Looks as fit as when he played

Bad ankles were a major issue for him weren't they?

09-07-2016, 08:59 PM
Richmond are up for the game. It could be a scrap if we cant start scoring from our chances. The Tigers backline close things down well but we've been able to intercept their clearances. Our forward line looks clogged at tge moment.

09-07-2016, 09:00 PM
Frustrated watching this

09-07-2016, 09:01 PM
Bevo will be very disappointed. Tiges poor disposal was tge only thing preventing them from a lead. They are actualky out tackling and out hustling us.

09-07-2016, 09:02 PM

Quarter time disposal efficiency
Tigers 79%
Dogs 72%

09-07-2016, 09:06 PM
We stink right now

09-07-2016, 09:07 PM
Might be my eyes, but our blokes don't look switched on.

09-07-2016, 09:07 PM
Quarter time disposal efficiency
Tigers 79%
Dogs 72%

It stank for most ofctge qtr. The last 6 minutes they start ed kicking shorter and lifted the percentage

09-07-2016, 09:13 PM
Might be my eyes, but our blokes don't look switched on.

Nope, not your eyes. Dreadful so far.

09-07-2016, 09:14 PM
Last week's win means absolutely zilch if we come out with the level of application we're showing thus far

09-07-2016, 09:15 PM
After beating Sydney last year we lost to the Saints, didn't me? After being 50 points up at half time?

09-07-2016, 09:17 PM
A mark inside 50 wouldnt go astray.

09-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Richmond right now are doing a good impersonation of a switched Dog's side right now. Hard at every contest, winning clearances, playing on and taking the game on.

09-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Lovely kick Macrae. Finally some class

09-07-2016, 09:22 PM
Funny what happens when you play decent footy and execute kicking skills. More please.

09-07-2016, 09:25 PM
When the going gets tough, Bonti gets going. Superstar

09-07-2016, 09:34 PM
Pretty awful first half. We'd want to switch on and quickly.

09-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Dumb footy and a willing opponent. Poor match selection too.....haven't learned we need more than one target.

09-07-2016, 09:36 PM
A real arm wrestle and very congested footy in that half. We need a few bursts of good footy. Stringer and Redpath need to kick a few goals. We seem to be getting dominated in the ruck and Martin is obviously enjoying the fact tgat we dont really tag.

Interesting 2nd half awaits

09-07-2016, 09:38 PM
Why can't we find that guy who can stand in the 50 and take a contested Mark?? It irks me every time I see the ball being plonked on the heads of stringer, Dickson etc...our execution into the 50 would have to be as poor as any team in the league.

If tigers can keep on top in contested footy I can see them winning a close one.
We need to open up the game and have better execution from wing to half fwd to get over the line.

09-07-2016, 09:42 PM
Jong with 4 disposals

09-07-2016, 09:42 PM
They've come to play now we need to step up a gear. We started getting on top late in that term. Hopefully can put on a few early and break their backs.

09-07-2016, 09:44 PM
Jong with 4 disposals

Stringer with 6 and 3 HTB's against.

09-07-2016, 09:50 PM
Ambos are in the rooms with Libba.

09-07-2016, 09:52 PM
Ambos are in the rooms with Libba.

It looked bad, hope its not kidneys or a punctured lung

09-07-2016, 09:55 PM
This. Is. Pathetic.

09-07-2016, 09:55 PM
Wtf is with Stringer. Let the player go and the run it for a goal. FFS.

09-07-2016, 09:57 PM
It looked really bad.

As I said last week if show true intent consistently every aspect of our game is better. We're not there tonight.

09-07-2016, 09:58 PM
We look sluggish and stagnant ahead of the footy.

Our forward line's a trampoline right now too.

09-07-2016, 09:59 PM
Playing like shit. Would have thought we'd be up after the results this week. Soft.

09-07-2016, 10:00 PM
We work so hard to earn respect, and then piss it away against a clearly inferior side when top 4 is on the line.

09-07-2016, 10:01 PM
Massive issues right now. If we don't somehow rectify this in the next 10 minutes we are in deep trouble.

09-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Drop Stringer.

09-07-2016, 10:04 PM
Libba rib injury.

09-07-2016, 10:05 PM
Lot's of guys having an average night. Hope they come back in the 4th. Libba is in all sorts. Stretchered off to hospital on pain relief.

Biggs has been coughing them up all night.

Libba rib injury.

To hospital now.

0 goal 7 behinds from clearances. So getting zero reward from our strengths. We're metaphorically sitting on our own balls right now

We haven't got one player that looks likely. Not. One. Disgusting.

09-07-2016, 10:08 PM
Playing like shit. Would have thought we'd be up after the results this week. Soft.

It's why I was worried about this game. We'll lose this. Look absolutely rubbish by foot and hand.

09-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Richmond killing it in hit outs and hitouts to advantage 12 to 4 Richmond's way. In hindsight maybe didn't pay their rucks enough respect at the selection table?

09-07-2016, 10:14 PM
Forward line is not functioning.

09-07-2016, 10:18 PM
We were out coached at selection table

09-07-2016, 10:18 PM
6.11 and playing garbage. This has a bad stink to it right now.

09-07-2016, 10:19 PM
We were out coached at selection table

Playing Bont at full forward as a tall target while we were getting beaten in the middle didn't work for you?

09-07-2016, 10:19 PM
If we lose we've learned nothing from last year and we're still miles away from being what we want to be.

09-07-2016, 10:20 PM
At the start of the game many wanted to bank some percentage but I'll be more than happy to just bank 4 points at the moment.

We have to get off to a fast start. The next goal is crucial.

09-07-2016, 10:21 PM
For the life of me I can't fathom why'd we go in with just Roughead .
Staggering to be honest . The last kick inside 50 has been awful .
Once again the club has a big win then a big letdown . Not good enough if you want to be a decent team

09-07-2016, 10:21 PM
For all our real league best strengths in contested ball, clearances and sharp hands in close, we are a bottom placed side when it comes to bringing and using the ball ibside 50. Its amateur hour sometimes watching us deliver the ball in a scoring position

09-07-2016, 10:22 PM
It's pretty simple, if we lose top 4 is going to be very, very tough and we will need a lot of other results to go our way.

09-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Team selection has cost us. Roughead not good enough to ruck all day.

09-07-2016, 10:24 PM
I don't think I'm resorting to hyperbole to state that a loss tonight really consigns us to the regions of also rans of the top 8 this year.

09-07-2016, 10:25 PM
Is Libba injured ?

Good start.

Bontempelli just conjured that goal from nothing. He's a marvel.

Great finish JJ. Really turning into a clutch player.

09-07-2016, 10:26 PM
Johannisen for PM

09-07-2016, 10:27 PM
Great response to start the final quarter. Penny dropped?

09-07-2016, 10:28 PM
Is Libba injured ?

In hospital possible broken ribs

09-07-2016, 10:32 PM
Is Libba injured ?

In hospital. Ribs

09-07-2016, 10:33 PM
Redpath brain fart. Shocking

09-07-2016, 10:33 PM
Big Jack - get it back. You owe us one.

09-07-2016, 10:34 PM
Redpath you *!*!*!*!wit!

09-07-2016, 10:35 PM
I'll take that freebie

09-07-2016, 10:35 PM
Very lucky for us. Not sure Conca should've been penalised. Definitely 50, but original free not there

09-07-2016, 10:36 PM
Between the umpiring, the opponent and our form, this game needs to be set on fire and buried in a pit.

09-07-2016, 10:39 PM
I always thought Bulldogs supporters were the ultimate eternal optimists. Turns out it's Bulldogs players.

60, 70 metres out they thump it into the forward line thinking "maybe this time"...

09-07-2016, 10:41 PM
Even a win from here would be less than satisfactory, and that is now looking unlikely

09-07-2016, 10:41 PM
Has Redpath been working out with Stringer?

09-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Redpath gets one back! Well done.

09-07-2016, 10:44 PM
Fletch, Wood, desperate plays in defense that keep us alive.

09-07-2016, 10:44 PM
Ok. Dead level i may be the one probe to hyperbole here. I also may be on the way to a cardiac arrest

09-07-2016, 10:45 PM
When we're swinging Bontempelli forward to create a marking target it's fair to say the argument for Redparh keeping Toyd out of the side is a comprehensively spent one.

09-07-2016, 10:45 PM
73 Tigers, 74 Dogs. 5:33 mins to go

09-07-2016, 10:47 PM
Oh, a lead & mark, how refreshing

Gotta close it out now and get the 4 points

Stringer kicks one!!! 79 Dogs - 74 tigers - 4:33 to go. Good god, we only seem to score on Tigers turnovers.

09-07-2016, 10:49 PM
Hate these close ones

09-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Thank goodness for that

09-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Bontempelli, again.

09-07-2016, 10:52 PM
Come on!!

09-07-2016, 10:54 PM
Bontempelli: The man with the golden handball...Great work Bont and Jake

09-07-2016, 10:54 PM
Easton Wood, Jake Stringer, Morris & Bontempelli. Thank you

09-07-2016, 10:55 PM
Jake Stringer

09-07-2016, 10:56 PM
Out. Of. Jail.

09-07-2016, 10:58 PM
Phew!!

09-07-2016, 10:58 PM
Just watching Bont amongst his team mates post game. He is so clearly our next Captain. He has an emotional intelligence and a natural confidence without a gint of arrogance about him. He exudes calm and composure and leadership

09-07-2016, 11:00 PM
God we made it hard work in the 50.

09-07-2016, 11:02 PM
Ugly stuff. But these 4 points are gold. Boyd has got to play next week.

09-07-2016, 11:02 PM
What a relief.....very lucky to get the points.

Kicking into fwd line...rubbish
Why can't our players all tackle like clay...

I'm sick of yelling "grab the arm...not the hip ".

Really need to get that fwd structure sorted out before finals.

09-07-2016, 11:03 PM
Great crowd

09-07-2016, 11:04 PM
4 points. Take it and move on. Just don't serve this crap ip again.

Coach has got to stop being so cute. Lacked a tall, just bring Boyd back. 3rd man up has got to stop!

09-07-2016, 11:05 PM
Ugly stuff. But these 4 points are gold. Boyd has got to play next week.
Agreed. Awful game , good arm wrestle and we need Boyd in the side.
Lets hope Bevo gets the vibe

09-07-2016, 11:11 PM
Bloody hell. The alternative is a loss, so I'll take it. Bont and Stringer came alive.

09-07-2016, 11:14 PM
Agreed. Awful game , good arm wrestle and we need Boyd in the side.
Lets hope Bevo gets the vibe
Good teams win close ones. Don't forget this mob can play when they want to. They beat the Swans

09-07-2016, 11:14 PM
God we made it hard work in the 50.

Story of the season and why we won win it this year.

Crameri back and Boyd ready to contribute makes 2017 our year.

(Great win by the way)

09-07-2016, 11:34 PM
Not at all enjoyable that game. Some very frustrating kicking. Thank god for Bontempelli. Libba mate, I've had a fractured rib for four weeks and still can't play golf. For two weeks you try to sleep with electric pain and whatever you do don't sneeze, laugh or cough it's just cruel. The only way I can see Libba making it back in less than a month is if they put a metal plate and screws in his rib(s) and that's as long as there is no organ damage.

09-07-2016, 11:37 PM
We are hard to score against and that's why a 6-2 goal last quarter aren't consolation goals they are winning goals.

I thought Richmond were going to lose their rag when the silly holding the ball and then 50 metre penalty gifted us that goal in the last quarter. They did well to fight back by attacking the ball and holding their discipline and the game rolled back their way.

09-07-2016, 11:39 PM
Not at all enjoyable that game. Some very frustrating kicking. Thank god for Bontempelli. Libba mate, I've had a fractured rib for four weeks and still can't play golf. For two weeks you try to sleep with electric pain and whatever you do don't sneeze, laugh or cough it's just cruel. The only way I can see Libba making it back in less than a month is if they put a metal plate and screws in his rib(s) and that's as long as there is no organ damage.

Is your rib fractured now? Ouch, get well soon.

Yellow and Black dominated us for large parts of the game. Without some sloppy kicking from them, and some Bont and Jake polish, we wouldn't have made it.

09-07-2016, 11:39 PM

Yeah looks painful. I've never broken a rib. Must be the only bone in my body that I haven't broken.

09-07-2016, 11:57 PM
What a relief.....very lucky to get the points.

Kicking into fwd line...rubbish
Why can't our players all tackle like clay...

I'm sick of yelling "grab the arm...not the hip ".

Really need to get that fwd structure sorted out before finals.

Why can't our players tackle like Clay?

I don't think anyone in the LEAGUE tackles like Clay.

10-07-2016, 12:01 AM
Why can't our players tackle like Clay?

I don't think anyone in the LEAGUE tackles like Clay.

The man is a human wrecking ball.

10-07-2016, 12:06 AM
Just got home from the game. Relief is all I can say. So glad we didn't stuff it up against this mob. I thought some of Easton Wood's work was excellent in the latter part of the game. Dale Morris was good down there and did his best to contain their forwards. Jake Stringer was alright and Jack Redpath really should have converted that open goal on the run and missed everything - lucky it didn't make a difference in the end but almost did.

10-07-2016, 12:18 AM
Story of the season and why we won win it this year.

Crameri back and Boyd ready to contribute makes 2017 our year.

(Great win by the way)

If we can knock over Sydney in Sydney with all their guns firing we are a good chance.

10-07-2016, 12:18 AM
Just got home from the game. Relief is all I can say. So glad we didn't stuff it up against this mob. I thought some of Easton Wood's work was excellent in the latter part of the game. Dale Morris was good down there and did his best to contain their forwards. Jake Stringer was alright and Jack Redpath really should have converted that open goal on the run and missed everything - lucky it didn't make a difference in the end but almost did.

Jealous.

10-07-2016, 12:33 AM
Has there been a season where we have had so many close games? I dont normally mind them but I'm hanging out for an easy, relaxed win.

10-07-2016, 12:37 AM
Has there been a season where we have had so many close games? I dont normally mind them but I'm hanging out for an easy, relaxed win.

And not only that, we've won all bar one of them. But that one is the difference between top of the ladder and third on the ladder.

10-07-2016, 12:40 AM

I certainly don't remember a season where we have won this many. If we are going to keep winning them bring them on please. They are the much more fun to win than huge thrashings despite the satisfaction that comes with the latter.

I've raised this point before but great to see us do the key things in a close final quarter again.

After trailing at 3 quarter time we immeidately set the tone for the quarter, quickly negate the gap and put ourselves in front with momentum and force the opposition to challenge us. From there it is pretty much goal for goal but we always respond and the guys standing up are the guys we need to. Guys like Bontempelli and Stringer are having a major inpact on these close games instead of wilting.

Since the Hawthorn game we have seen the side lift with good last quarters against West Coast, Adelaide, Port, Sydney and now Richmond. This is a very good thing and the more practice we get the better.

10-07-2016, 01:05 AM
Great feeling to win another close one. Could only get radio coverage over here. Spent the last quarter pacing up and down doing figure of 8s on the veranda. Very nervous, some people attempted to talk to me in the last five minutes - I had to wave them away. Very important win. We have to come up again next week without Libba. Hope he will be ok. I had a cracked rib earlier this year. It was 6 weeks before I was 100%.

10-07-2016, 01:06 AM
Just watching Bont amongst his team mates post game. He is so clearly our next Captain. He has an emotional intelligence and a natural confidence without a gint of arrogance about him. He exudes calm and composure and leadership
Absolutely. With the team flat and Libba out at 3QT, Bont wins 6 clearances in the last qtr (!!). That's a leader. Easton Wood also showed excellent leadership when required. Although we were awful tonight, Richmond threw the kitchen sink at us and we found a way to get the job done. That's what good teams do. Next.

10-07-2016, 01:14 AM
Absolutely. With the team flat and Libba out at 3QT, Bont wins 6 clearances in the last qtr (!!). That's a leader. Easton Wood also showed excellent leadership when required. Although we were awful tonight, Richmond threw the kitchen sink at us and we found a way to get the job done. That's what good teams do. Next.

Half time not 3/4 time

I think we used our get out of jail card today

10-07-2016, 01:16 AM
Finally got home.

That was a horror show of a football match. Poor game, good result. Hard to nominate anyone that was solid all day, though we had players pop up and make important cameos. We looked like a side who didn't want to exert too much energy on what was a fairly safe game, ironically, that attitude turned it into a real slog and we spent plenty of petrol tickets as a result.

Clay Smith's last tackle. Bloody hell. That was wonderfully violent.

10-07-2016, 01:21 AM
I really loved the big crowd tonight (39679), when Stringer kicked that last goal I thought the roof was going to blow off.

10-07-2016, 01:26 AM
We were bad. We were very bad. We just got lucky that Shitmond was worse.

10-07-2016, 01:48 AM
Dust can have his 38 touches but when the game was there to be won, it was the Bont who took control.

10-07-2016, 01:49 AM
Hoping Tom is ok

10-07-2016, 01:49 AM
Dust can have his 38 touches but when the game was there to be won, it was the Bont who took control.

Bont is just great.

10-07-2016, 01:51 AM
I really loved the big crowd tonight (39679), when Stringer kicked that last goal I thought the roof was going to blow off.

Our home crowds have been great this year.

10-07-2016, 01:52 AM
It just shows we can pull a crowd . Ugly win, but a beautiful ugly win

10-07-2016, 02:40 AM
Where do people think Stringer is at? Once again he had some bloody awful moments yet his straight kicking wins us the game.

He is no where near the player he was last year or the player we saw in round 1. Just watching him go at the footy it looks like he is trying to avoid contact? Its a really a strange one for mine, something I haven't been able to pin point all year.

Thoughts?

10-07-2016, 03:23 AM
Where do people think Stringer is at? Once again he had some bloody awful moments yet his straight kicking wins us the game.

He is no where near the player he was last year or the player we saw in round 1. Just watching him go at the footy it looks like he is trying to avoid contact? Its a really a strange one for mine, something I haven't been able to pin point all year.

Thoughts?

He's like the little girl with the curl on her forehead. When he's good he's very very good, but when he's bad he's horrid.

He's missing the link Crameri provides between wing/half back and the forward 50. We all miss Crameri, essentially. The reason why we continue to put it shallow into our offencive area is because the gut runners don't have their pal finishing off their work from the centre circle to the half forward line. I can't wait to see how well we go with him back.

Plus, Stringer's a bit of a goofball who needs to mature. We're watching an absolute gun play bipolar footy week in week out and he's still contributing. Once he's set position and attitude wise he'll be unstoppable. His finishing all but won the game for us.

10-07-2016, 03:44 AM
Just read through this thread. So negative.
Although no where near our best i always thought we would find a purple patch and win. Dogs were the better team.
Jake Stringer, while inconsistent, is regularly a match winner. Be thankful and enjoy the BontnString. Drop him? Ummmmm....
Bontempelli.
Consistently winning close ones, this is a new breed.
While percentage boosting would have been great we are in the top four on wins.
Cheers boys!

10-07-2016, 04:06 AM
Have we beaten anyone twice yet? Or have all our wins against different clubs.

10-07-2016, 04:21 AM
Yup TD. Just different teams, different wins, different levels of awesome.

10-07-2016, 08:02 AM
Have we beaten anyone twice yet? Or have all our wins against different clubs.

Quite impossible, we haven't played anyone twice yet.

10-07-2016, 08:23 AM
Just read through this thread. So negative.
Although no where near our best i always thought we would find a purple patch and win. Dogs were the better team.

Cheers boys!
Yeah true. Similar to when we played and beat Collingwood.

10-07-2016, 09:25 AM
Serious question.

At 11-4 and currently 3rd on the ladder, why are so many on here reacting so negatively?

Is it because the expectations have increased so anything less than beautiful football will suffice? If so, it's going to be miserable ride home.

Yeah, we have some structural issues to deal with but man, this team just doesn't have any quit in them and I'll laud that every day of the week.

We were a goal and a half down late in the game and our two 10+ year superstars dragged us over the line. We've been screaming for match winners for how long?

How lucky are we to have blokes capable of doing it week after week.

Stressful game but enjoyable to watch our blokes grind it out and find a way to win.

10-07-2016, 09:26 AM
Just on Stringer, early on he tried the crash and bash every time he got the ball and they were on to it.
I think this may have put him back in his shell a bit until the last quarter and a bit.

An ugly game which we were beaten at our own game for most of it.

I'm happy to walk away with 4 points.

10-07-2016, 10:01 AM
Serious question.

At 11-4 and currently 3rd on the ladder, why are so many on here reacting so negatively?

Is it because the expectations have increased so anything less than beautiful football will suffice? If so, it's going to be miserable ride home.

Yeah, we have some structural issues to deal with but man, this team just doesn't have any quit in them and I'll laud that every day of the week.

We were a goal and a half down late in the game and our two 10+ year superstars dragged us over the line. We've been screaming for match winners for how long?

Stressful game but enjoyable to watch our blokes grind it out and find a way to win.

We are young and winning games we never should have before I expect over the next year we will start to win a lot easier as we figure out our forward line delivery and positioning.
We have had one thrashing this year against Geelong, those days are few and far between nowadays .. Yes we all should realise how far we have come in a short time and enjoy the growth.

10-07-2016, 11:05 AM
The fact we managed to win it without Libba was huge. He is our spiritual captain. It was scary watching everyone usher his Dad into the rooms.

I woke up today feeling great. Richmond are talking about dishing off up to half of their list. With many playing for their careers, no wonder they came out swinging.

10-07-2016, 11:08 AM

Thoughts?

I've read elsewhere that Stringer was dealing with a bereavement last night; I'll cut him some slack.

10-07-2016, 11:14 AM
I've read elsewhere that Stringer was dealing with a bereavement last night; I'll cut him some slack.

Yeah interesting he just hasn't looked happy out on the field. I don't think we have ever had a player of Jakes ability to turn a game on its head its like he is really feeling the pressure of what is an average forward line at the moment.

10-07-2016, 11:16 AM
He got the goal we needed at the end and helped us win the game. Also thought he provided a good buffer in the midfield in patches. People are too hard on him.

Well done lads. Not many commentators pointed out the youth factor.

10-07-2016, 12:00 PM
Who else loved the ankle breaker JJ hit on the hapless defender in the last before nailing the goal. Such a weapon.

10-07-2016, 12:09 PM
Serious question.

Persistent, unresolved forward line issues evident yet again; over use of handball through the midfield; ability of opposition to break our defensive lines as they press higher; ruck selection for the game was poor - Roughead clearly not over last week's heroics; our last selected 3 or 4 players not really showing they are pressing regular selection.

But don't get me wrong, I'll take a win everytime and I did enjoy us hitting the front and holding our lead.

10-07-2016, 12:29 PM
Yeah true. Similar to when we played and beat Collingwood.

Finals coming. While I am glad we won ( elated ) I guess it was difficult to watch with the number of errors in mind. Dish that up to Hawthorn, we will be smashed.

Gosh we miss Murph's composure.

10-07-2016, 12:39 PM
It's weird, given that we won and that we're currently third on the ladder, I'm not nearly as happy as I should be!

Such a frustrating, painful game to watch - I actually couldn't bring myself to watch the last few minutes (maybe that's why we won...)

I guess expectations have gone up since this time last year.

10-07-2016, 12:39 PM
we were beaten at our own game for most of it.

This is the key, Richmond knew they had to beat us by applying pressure, and to their credit they did that well.

Our game plan relies on contessed footy and for most of the game Richmond beat us to it. Without Libba in the second half, and with Wallis down, Stevens just ok , Jong just serviceable with cont.poss. no Dahl in the side, we weren't winning the ball like we have in the past.

The fact we still won tells us a lot about this young side. I have seen many Bulldog sides just give in, but this side is one of the best I have seen in all the years I have been watching football and they try till the end.

Forget the negativity, we are going places, may be ugly football at this stage, but we are still winning.

11 -4 who would have said yes please at the start of the year.

10-07-2016, 12:52 PM
This is the key, Richmond knew they had to beat us by applying pressure, and to their credit they did that well.

Our game plan relies on contessed footy and for most of the game Richmond beat us to it. Without Libba in the second half, and with Wallis down, Stevens just ok , Jong just serviceable with cont.poss. no Dahl in the side, we weren't winning the ball like we have in the past.

The fact we still won tells us a lot about this young side. I have seen many Bulldog sides just give in, but this side is one of the best I have seen in all the years I have been watching football and they try till the end.

Forget the negativity, we are going places, may be ugly football at this stage, but we are still winning.

11 -4 who would have said yes please at the start of the year.

Tigers are end of year experts. Many playing for their careers.

10-07-2016, 12:54 PM
Tigers are end of year experts. Many playing for their careers.

Dustin Martin is in great form and with 38 disposals, 16 contested, he was hard to stop.

10-07-2016, 01:05 PM
Dustin Martin is in great form and with 38 disposals, 16 contested, he was hard to stop.

Mitch Wallis was sticking to him much closer in the second half. Really played well, Martin. Firming for the Brownlow.

10-07-2016, 01:13 PM

Martin was best on last night. He has improved his fitness which allows him to just keep moving. Much much better than I gave him credit for!

10-07-2016, 01:23 PM
Persistent, unresolved forward line issues evident yet again; over use of handball through the midfield; ability of opposition to break our defensive lines as they press higher; ruck selection for the game was poor - Roughead clearly not over last week's heroics; our last selected 3 or 4 players not really showing they are pressing regular selection.

But don't get me wrong, I'll take a win everytime and I did enjoy us hitting the front and holding our lead.

All fair enough and these flaws have been raised throughout the season.

Still, to be 11-4 and top 4 with such flaws means we're a decent side with plenty of strengths also. I reckon we should highlight these, too.

10-07-2016, 01:33 PM
All fair enough and these flaws have been raised throughout the season.

Still, to be 11-4 and top 4 with such flaws means we're a decent side with plenty of strengths also. I reckon we should highlight these, too.

As much as some times have tested my patience, if we held Hawthorn in the last 60 seconds we'd be top of the ladder right now. We've beaten Sydney (SCG), WCE, Adelaide, Port (AO, 9th) and a few points to Hawthorn. So we have a lot going for us, which is amazing considering we lost Bob (captain and gun) & Crameri (previous leading goal kicker) for the year and have had guns on rotating injury. The forward entries and scoring is a huge issue, but if we can rectify it this year then anything is possible it seems.

10-07-2016, 01:35 PM
Bad footy is something most of us call out. Some go a bit harder than others.

I didn't enjoy the spectacle last night because it was an arm wrestle for most of it until we eventually got on top in the last quarter.
Perhaps some are looking ahead to finals football knowing that some of the poor patches in play are more likely to be an issue in finals.

It should however, not be lost on all of us that we are doing remarkably well for a team that has had persistent injuries to very good players throughout the season. Adams, Dahlhaus and even McLean are close to coming back and we will know about Liberatore soon.

All things considered it's been an A class effort during the season so far and there is significant scope for some more improvement.

10-07-2016, 02:16 PM

I'm wondering whether these close games may put us in better stead come finals time. I agree I would also like to see us win well, but there has to be greater 'team' development e.g. trust, work ethic, sticking to the game plan etc within a series of close games. Maybe its why the Weagles are so ordinary away from home - they tend to be flat track bullies at home but when the heat is on at away games, they have no 'team sense' to slog it out with an opponent.

10-07-2016, 02:24 PM

Hawks have won 6 games by less than 3 goals, we have won 5

10-07-2016, 04:07 PM
Hawks have won 6 games by less than 3 goals, we have won 5

It's getting uncomfortable sitting on the edge of the seat for so many games :) I just need an easy 30 point plus win to let me enjoy it more :)

10-07-2016, 04:10 PM
It's getting uncomfortable sitting on the edge of the seat for so many games :) I just need an easy 30 point plus win to let me enjoy it more :)

I know what you mean, my body was so tense last night, I couldn't enjoy the game.

10-07-2016, 05:00 PM
I think it's also instructive that GWS had a similar issue with an unexpected lowly opponent performing well and blew it. We lifted when we had o. Great sign of the self belief. Great sign that our leaders including a 20 year old who'll soon be known as the best player in the competition saved their best when it was needed. And yes, Comrade, you are right. There is so much to celebrate about how resilient our team is and the evident hunger they have for success.

10-07-2016, 06:18 PM
Who else loved the ankle breaker JJ hit on the hapless defender in the last before nailing the goal. Such a weapon.

This guy.

10-07-2016, 06:23 PM

5 goal games are better with this team than they were with other bulldog sides. These days we are five goals up and have looked like winning all day. Sometimes in days gone past we'd be 5 goals up but the other mob always felt still in. One or two goals and they were right back in it.

10-07-2016, 07:23 PM
From what I saw Martin played on the Bont and who was the one who did the vital things at the vital stage ?

10-07-2016, 07:42 PM
5 goal games are better with this team than they were with other bulldog sides. These days we are five goals up and have looked like winning all day. Sometimes in days gone past we'd be 5 goals up but the other mob always felt still in. One or two goals and they were right back in it.

In the first game of the year, we were 40 points up and every one around me was worried we would get beaten each time Freo kicked a goal...... it was all due to memories of the past.

10-07-2016, 07:44 PM
I'm wondering whether these close games may put us in better stead come finals time. I agree I would also like to see us win well, but there has to be greater 'team' development e.g. trust, work ethic, sticking to the game plan etc within a series of close games. Maybe its why the Weagles are so ordinary away from home - they tend to be flat track bullies at home but when the heat is on at away games, they have no 'team sense' to slog it out with an opponent.

Yes it is an interesting point you do make Smads57 but I would ideally want to win in finals more comfortable.

10-07-2016, 07:55 PM

I didn't enjoy the spectacle last night because it was an arm wrestle for most of it until we eventually got on top in the last quarter.
Perhaps some are looking ahead to finals football knowing that some of the poor patches in play are more likely to be an issue in finals.

It should however, not be lost on all of us that we are doing remarkably well for a team that has had persistent injuries to very good players throughout the season. Adams, Dahlhaus and even McLean are close to coming back and we will know about Liberatore soon.

All things considered it's been an A class effort during the season so far and there is significant scope for some more improvement.

Given the fact too that Richmond hunted us as hard as they could. Knowing their season is up they played out of their skins.

10-07-2016, 07:57 PM

Given the fact too that Richmond hunted us as hard as they could. They have underperformed badly in 2016, and knowing their season is up they played out of their skins. Their midfield is as good as any in the AFL.

10-07-2016, 08:10 PM
From what I saw Martin played on the Bont and who was the one who did the vital things at the vital stage ?

So when Bontempelli was playing forward you weren't watching?

10-07-2016, 10:24 PM
So when Bontempelli was playing forward you weren't watching?

I'm saying Bont did when it mattered.. I did see Martin harass Bont in the pack battles and seem to be on him trying to keep him out of the game, but Bont went forward and Martin didn't follow and whack Bont did his thing.

11-07-2016, 10:04 AM

Wallis was on Martin for large parts on the game.

11-07-2016, 10:48 AM
Martin was excellent and best on ground for mine. Stringer and Bont had a huge impact at different stages of the game too.

11-07-2016, 10:52 AM
Martin was clearly best on , but Bont , Jake and Easton saved and won it for us. I reckon Eastons defensive effort on Riewoldt when they were 7 up won us the game. Riewoldt marks and they win

11-07-2016, 10:52 AM
In the first game of the year, we were 40 points up and every one around me was worried we would get beaten each time Freo kicked a goal...... it was all due to memories of the past.

It's the 97 prelim that causes most of this. The saints game last year doesn't help either.

We've also allowed both the eagles and crows to get back into games quickly when we should have put them away this year.

11-07-2016, 10:54 AM

This team is going to give us all a heart attack! Our past 5 wins have all been down to the wire. Even the pies game, which we won by 21, was close all the way.

11-07-2016, 11:03 AM
Martin was excellent and best on ground for mine.

Strong as a bull, hard to tackle.

11-07-2016, 11:58 AM
Here's a different view of the game from a Japanese Saints supporter, Yoshi in Osaka:
"
uly 11, 2016 by Yoshi 2 Comments
Saturday, 9 July 2016
7:25 pm (6:25 pm Osaka)
Docklands Stadium, Melbourne

Here is an extra weekly match report written by a St Kilda supporter.

After the last minute cancellation on a dodgy online dating site, I spend hours at Coolabah, my ‘footy stadium’ in Osaka before the hot dogs show.

Watched two previous games on Saturday afternoon was okay. I could have done something else, but I chose to have a lazy afternoon at the pub.

My main purpose being at the pub was watching the Dogs in action.

Bulldogs showed sexy attacking footy as usual in the beginning of the game, but slowed down later.

Meanwhile, a lovely couple walked in the pub wanting to watch an NRL match played by the same animals – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs vs West Tigers.

We discussed and found the solution so that all of us were happy. One screen for league and another for footy.

They barrack for Bulldogs and I wanted Bulldogs to win. But when I told them that former PM Julia Gillard was a Bulldogs supporter, they wanted Richmond to win, while I didn’t care much about league.

Then Footscray struggled with leading the game. They allowed the opponent to have space scoring goals. My bad luck on the dating site seemed to cause contagious to Footscray boys??

The NRL game ended with Bulldogs’ win and the couple left the pub happily.

I moved just under the screen and shouted like ‘Go go!’, ‘Kick!’, ‘Handball!!’ My behaviours were like senior coaches coming down to the bench when the game was not played well.

But Stringer helped the Doggies. They won by 10 points, fewer than I had expected.

It was sad to see less sexy footy, but nice to see Doggies to win. Then I sang Sons of the West at a subway station and a train station.

Now I focus on my Saints.

WESTERN BULLDOGS 3.3 5.9 6.11 12.13 (85)
RICHMOND 3.1 6.2 8.6 11.9 (75)

GOALS
Western Bulldogs: Stringer 4, Bontempelli 2, Redpath 2, Suckling, Smith, Dickson, Johannisen
Richmond: Castagna 2, Riewoldt 2, Edwards 2, Griffiths, Cotchin, Lloyd, Ellis, McBean

Official crowd: 39,679

About Yoshihiro Imagawa
Being a passionate Japanese St Kilda supporter currently based in Kyoto, I love writing articles in English and am glad to be a part of the Almanac family. Not only footy but also rugby union and world football are my favourite sports although I am still learning rules. I am not sure what will happen in my life, but want to watch a St Kilda game at the stadium before my favourite Nick Riewoldt retires. Also watching a footy in Wellington is on my bucket list.
Mail | More Posts
Share this:
3Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)3Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Google+ (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to email this to a friend (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)
Related
Round 1 - Richmond v Carlton: Unexpected
March 25, 2016
In "2016"
Round 2 - Richmond v Western Bulldogs: Pencil this one in
April 12, 2015
In "2015"
Round 2 - St Kilda vs Western Bulldogs: Appreciation for Rooey but Reality Check Rather Than Celebration
April 6, 2016
In "2016"
Comments
bob.speechley says:
July 11, 2016 at 8:58 am
Thanks Yoshi for your take on the Mighty Bulldogs win over Richmond. Stringer really sewed the game up with his heroics – a gallant effort considering the pressure he’s been under with fatherhood and a death in the extended family. Saints scraped in over The Bombers and Jack Steven was Bog(best on the ground) again. He must be in the running for the Brownlow Medal.
Aright
Bulldogbob
Neil Anderson says:
July 11, 2016 at 10:13 am
Great to hear you were singing Sons Of The West in the subway Yoshi. You really will have to get to see a Saints or Bulldog’s match in Melbourne to hear the songs belted out by 40,000 fans.
The close match was unexpected. Terry Wallace wasn’t surprised. He said when a team has had a win against a top team the week before, they spend a fair bit of the week thinking and reflecting on that win, rather than preparing for the next match against a team lower on the ladder.
It will be interesting to see how the Dogs go against the Suns up in Cairns. They need to sort out their forward structure and not rely on the backline to get them across the line."

11-07-2016, 11:59 AM
Here's a different view of the game from a Japanese Saints supporter, Yoshi in Osaka:
"
uly 11, 2016 by Yoshi 2 Comments
Saturday, 9 July 2016
7:25 pm (6:25 pm Osaka)
Docklands Stadium, Melbourne

Here is an extra weekly match report written by a St Kilda supporter.

After the last minute cancellation on a dodgy online dating site, I spend hours at Coolabah, my ‘footy stadium’ in Osaka before the hot dogs show.

Watched two previous games on Saturday afternoon was okay. I could have done something else, but I chose to have a lazy afternoon at the pub.

My main purpose being at the pub was watching the Dogs in action.

Bulldogs showed sexy attacking footy as usual in the beginning of the game, but slowed down later.

Meanwhile, a lovely couple walked in the pub wanting to watch an NRL match played by the same animals – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs vs West Tigers.

We discussed and found the solution so that all of us were happy. One screen for league and another for footy.

They barrack for Bulldogs and I wanted Bulldogs to win. But when I told them that former PM Julia Gillard was a Bulldogs supporter, they wanted Richmond to win, while I didn’t care much about league.

Then Footscray struggled with leading the game. They allowed the opponent to have space scoring goals. My bad luck on the dating site seemed to cause contagious to Footscray boys??

The NRL game ended with Bulldogs’ win and the couple left the pub happily.

I moved just under the screen and shouted like ‘Go go!’, ‘Kick!’, ‘Handball!!’ My behaviours were like senior coaches coming down to the bench when the game was not played well.

But Stringer helped the Doggies. They won by 10 points, fewer than I had expected.

It was sad to see less sexy footy, but nice to see Doggies to win. Then I sang Sons of the West at a subway station and a train station.

Now I focus on my Saints.

WESTERN BULLDOGS 3.3 5.9 6.11 12.13 (85)
RICHMOND 3.1 6.2 8.6 11.9 (75)

GOALS
Western Bulldogs: Stringer 4, Bontempelli 2, Redpath 2, Suckling, Smith, Dickson, Johannisen
Richmond: Castagna 2, Riewoldt 2, Edwards 2, Griffiths, Cotchin, Lloyd, Ellis, McBean

Official crowd: 39,679

About Yoshihiro Imagawa
Being a passionate Japanese St Kilda supporter currently based in Kyoto, I love writing articles in English and am glad to be a part of the Almanac family. Not only footy but also rugby union and world football are my favourite sports although I am still learning rules. I am not sure what will happen in my life, but want to watch a St Kilda game at the stadium before my favourite Nick Riewoldt retires. Also watching a footy in Wellington is on my bucket list.

Comments
bob.speechley says:
July 11, 2016 at 8:58 am
Thanks Yoshi for your take on the Mighty Bulldogs win over Richmond. Stringer really sewed the game up with his heroics – a gallant effort considering the pressure he’s been under with fatherhood and a death in the extended family. Saints scraped in over The Bombers and Jack Steven was Bog(best on the ground) again. He must be in the running for the Brownlow Medal.
Aright
Bulldogbob
Neil Anderson says:
July 11, 2016 at 10:13 am
Great to hear you were singing Sons Of The West in the subway Yoshi. You really will have to get to see a Saints or Bulldog’s match in Melbourne to hear the songs belted out by 40,000 fans.
The close match was unexpected. Terry Wallace wasn’t surprised. He said when a team has had a win against a top team the week before, they spend a fair bit of the week thinking and reflecting on that win, rather than preparing for the next match against a team lower on the ladder.
It will be interesting to see how the Dogs go against the Suns up in Cairns. They need to sort out their forward structure and not rely on the backline to get them across the line."

11-07-2016, 12:28 PM
He's like the little girl with the curl on her forehead. When he's good he's very very good, but when he's bad he's horrid.

He's missing the link Crameri provides between wing/half back and the forward 50. We all miss Crameri, essentially. The reason why we continue to put it shallow into our offencive area is because the gut runners don't have their pal finishing off their work from the centre circle to the half forward line. I can't wait to see how well we go with him back.

Plus, Stringer's a bit of a goofball who needs to mature. We're watching an absolute gun play bipolar footy week in week out and he's still contributing. Once he's set position and attitude wise he'll be unstoppable. His finishing all but won the game for us.

Is it the after goal celebrations you are referring, with 'goofball'?
On field he has a maverick streak but would anyone want to take that away from him?

11-07-2016, 12:39 PM
His public appearances are always impressive. On field he has a maverick streak I would never want to take out of his persona.

Seems like your average 22 year old to me and I personally don't want him to stop the celebrations.

11-07-2016, 01:10 PM
For opposition fans, the Stringer Jesus pose is the 2nd most infuriating thing to happen in a Bulldogs game, closely following the Toby McLean head high tackle.

I love both.

11-07-2016, 01:11 PM
His public appearances are always impressive. On field he has a maverick streak I would never want to take out of his persona.

No. More his tendency to not think things through and turn simple situations into complicated ones. When he does that it borders on slapstick comedy.

As I said, he's maturing and that's all we can ask. He's a fantastic player and he's going to get better.

11-07-2016, 01:17 PM
I did notice the Tigers defence were well aware of his intent to burrow throw without dishing the ball off. He got caught out a few times.

11-07-2016, 01:55 PM
Martin was fantastic on Saturday...easily BOG. Fortunately he didn't hit the scoreboard.

Wood was incredible in the last quarter especially and it should be said, Roberts was also terrific.

11-07-2016, 02:34 PM
Martin was fantastic on Saturday...easily BOG. Fortunately he didn't hit the scoreboard.

Wood was incredible in the last quarter especially and it should be said, Roberts was also terrific.

I am guilty of criticizing Roberts in a few of his games, but I can say he did very little wrong on Saturday. That fantastic passage of play towards the end when Wood saved a certain Riewoldt mark and Roberts helped out, was the game saver. The ball then went all the way to Stringer who put us in front.

11-07-2016, 05:57 PM
Martin was clearly best on , but Bont , Jake and Easton saved and won it for us. I reckon Eastons defensive effort on Riewoldt when they were 7 up won us the game. Riewoldt marks and they win

That Easton Wood mark was breathtaking in its execution. If it was anyone else but Easton Wood then Riewoldt marks and runs past his prone opponent into the square and slams home the sealer from the goal line. Because it was Easton Wood the situation was always in hand.

11-07-2016, 06:10 PM
They make a big mention of Easton on Access all areas. Fun to watch JR trying to chase him out of the forward 50.

11-07-2016, 07:16 PM
Bont got the maximum 10 coache's votes.

11-07-2016, 07:19 PM

Martin ?

11-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Martin ?

8 votes.

11-07-2016, 08:53 PM

Martin ?

8 votes.

Beat me to it.

As much as Bont had a great game I'm staggered that the coaches didn't see Dusty as BOG.

11-07-2016, 09:06 PM
Beat me to it.

As much as Bont had a great game I'm staggered that the coaches didn't see Dusty as BOG.
While Martin got a heap of it and looked awesome while doing it, I think Bont's possessions were more damaging in the end.

11-07-2016, 09:15 PM
While Martin got a heap of it and looked awesome while doing it, I think Bont's possessions were more damaging in the end.

Agree - if it's about being influential, Bont turned the game, so I understand those votes �� One of the awesome things about Bont is his ability to swing a game. I thought at 3/4 time only a massive quarter from him could get us over the line. While the whole team lifted and there were some fantastic contributions from Wood, Jake, Morris and Macrae, I think that first centre clearance by Bont was that critical announcement, by a big game player, that we were about to make a huge challenge.

11-07-2016, 10:42 PM
Agree - if it's about being influential, Bont turned the game, so I understand those votes �� One of the awesome things about Bont is his ability to swing a game. I thought at 3/4 time only a massive quarter from him could get us over the line. While the whole team lifted and there were some fantastic contributions from Wood, Jake, Morris and Macrae, I think that first centre clearance by Bont was that critical announcement, by a big game player, that we were about to make a huge challenge.

Yep. Tiger fans must have seen that and thought "damn. We aren't far enough ahead"

11-07-2016, 11:51 PM
Martin was impossible to tackle but he didn't use it very well. 65% DE and 6 frees against

12-07-2016, 12:17 AM
Speaking of DE. On the coverage they were creaming themselves that Richmonds' disposal efficiency was up to 93% for the last four and a half minutes (something like that) of the first quarter.

12-07-2016, 06:16 AM
Speaking of DE. On the coverage they were creaming themselves that Richmonds' disposal efficiency was up to 93% for the last four and a half minutes (something like that) of the first quarter.

Only because it was *!*!*!*!ing abysmal for the other 15 and a half.

12-07-2016, 08:59 AM
Only because it was *!*!*!*!ing abysmal for the other 15 and a half.

I had appalling but yeah.

12-07-2016, 09:12 AM
The Bont was the most influential player on the field and deserving of maximum votes.. Martin was very good for 3 quarters and picked up lots of possessions, but he had minimal hurt factor and cost Richmind a goal at a decisive moment in the game.

At 3 quarter time when the game was in the balance the Bont made the big plays and got his team over the line... In every key contest the Bont got his hands on the ball and used it wisely.

I was extremely critical of the Bont's defensive efforts through the game, he just had no urgency, but in the last quarter he willed himself to get to contests and apply pressure. In one chase he gave his opponent five metres (over 15m) and put enough pressure on to effect the kick.. In doing so he ran past Dickson which probably shouldn't happen.

12-07-2016, 09:50 AM
I thought Dicksons pressure acts were fantastic on the weekend. He may not have kicked a bag of 5 goals, but I thought it was one of his better games this year. Yes, his marking seems to be down, but I think he is building nicely for seasons end.

12-07-2016, 11:38 AM
I thought Dicksons pressure acts were fantastic on the weekend. He may not have kicked a bag of 5 goals, but I thought it was one of his better games this year. Yes, his marking seems to be down, but I think he is building nicely for seasons end.
I though he was very good up the ground (better than most times he's played there) but down on his forwardline form. Seemed to have a few influential touches in the back half.

12-07-2016, 12:15 PM
Is Dickson the worst overhead mark in our team? Really noticed it this year as he isn't getting much of the ball at ground level either.

12-07-2016, 10:13 PM
Is Dickson the worst overhead mark in our team? Really noticed it this year as he isn't getting much of the ball at ground level either.
He runs under the ball so many times. I noticed this in Sydney game more than ever.

13-07-2016, 01:29 PM
He runs under the ball so many times. I noticed this in Sydney game more than ever.

Liam Jones Mk#2?

13-07-2016, 02:50 PM

He's lost a bit of confidence. His marking used to be alright.

13-07-2016, 03:29 PM

He got hit lace out by Hunter, only to drop the mark and then feign an injury until the cameras went away. I've never wanted a player's head more than I did in those 20 seconds.

13-07-2016, 03:34 PM
I am guilty of criticizing Roberts in a few of his games, but I can say he did very little wrong on Saturday. That fantastic passage of play towards the end when Wood saved a certain Riewoldt mark and Roberts helped out, was the game saver. The ball then went all the way to Stringer who put us in front.

Well said . Roberts was pretty decent, and that spoil was crucial .

13-07-2016, 05:27 PM
He got hit lace out by Hunter, only to drop the mark and then feign an injury until the cameras went away. I've never wanted a player's head more than I did in those 20 seconds.

Was that Dickson? I saw the ball bounce off his chest but missed the rest as I was busy hitting the closest thing.

13-07-2016, 06:36 PM
That was Stevens not Dickson.

13-07-2016, 06:44 PM
That was Stevens not Dickson.

Stevens didn't play the Sydney game.

13-07-2016, 07:06 PM
Stevens didn't play the Sydney game.

The one I was talking about was in the Richmond game. It was a real rubber chested effort.

13-07-2016, 07:56 PM
The game as Titus O'Reilly saw it.

Western Bulldogs (85) v Richmond (75)

Much like Collingwood supporters, Richmond fans will be asking ‘where was this during the first half of the season?’

But really, the Tigers pulling out this sort of performance and still losing is classic Richmond. That’s the thing about the Tigers, they walk that fine line between good and terrible, never really settling on either.

It’s what keeps Tigers supporters off balance and drives them crazy.

I caught up with a Richmond fan straight after this and it’s the eyes that get you. They have a look in them that is a weird combination of madness and resignation.

The Bulldogs were lucky to come away with the win. Their decision making at time reminded me of someone at 3am on a big night out, strange and not in their best interests.

Probably the big difference was Marcus Bontempelli whose 25 disposals included 16 contested. He was huge and when Jake Stringer decided to play one of his famous cameo appearances it made the difference.

If Stringer ever learns consistency, he will be scary.

14-07-2016, 12:40 AM
The one I was talking about was in the Richmond game. It was a real rubber chested effort.

Happy days post seemed to be refering to the Sydney game but maybe I misunderstood?

14-07-2016, 01:36 AM

I'm talking about the Swans game, think it was in the third quarter.