22-07-2016, 04:37 PM
Blimey that would be nice, but can't see it

We are primed for a big night. :D

22-07-2016, 05:49 PM
Dogs by 76
first goal Libba
bog: the Bont

I hope your right BAD. Very good for the percentage.

22-07-2016, 06:34 PM
Dogs by 58pts

First goal-Dickson

BOG-Clay

22-07-2016, 07:04 PM
Dogs by 39
First goal - Dunkley
BOG - Wallis

22-07-2016, 07:26 PM
I'm expecting another strong Bulldog crowd as its our home game and our crowds at home games have been very good. They'll come out as well seeing that they have a lot to play for as well.

22-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Dogs by 26
First goal Toyd
BOG Libba

22-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Dogs by 26
First goal Toyd
BOG Libba

Hoping he builds on last week's effort which had a lot of positives to it. More game time at top flight level is what is required for Tom.

22-07-2016, 09:37 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG & FG Tom Boyd (6 goals)

22-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Dogs by 8
BOG: Bont
FG: Clay

Crowd will be massive.

22-07-2016, 10:40 PM
Dogs by 29pts
First goal Boyd Jr
BOG Wally

22-07-2016, 11:54 PM
I'm expecting another strong Bulldog crowd as its our home game and our crowds at home games have been very good. They'll come out as well seeing that they have a lot to play for as well.

What do the Saints have to play for Eastie? They are no chance at top 8.

23-07-2016, 03:54 AM
The Saints are so inconsistent, it just really depends on which team turns up to play us. For my prediction, I've brought in an expert on St Kilda's form, to give us a more vivid guide than any of us can provide.

Nick, are we going to be confronted with the strong, Geelong-beating St Kilda, or the one that turned up against us last time?

http://i2.ytimg.com/vi/3S5jJfvgYoM/0.jpg

Huh...guess he doesn't know either?

Dogs by 50
Boyd first goal
Bont BOG

I hate St Kilda so much

23-07-2016, 09:04 AM
Dogs by 71 points
FG Clay Smith
BOG Bont.

23-07-2016, 10:32 AM
I am a bit worried about this game. The Saints are clinging to a flickering hope of making the finals. If they lose tonight, that will be it.

But I think we are good enough to win.

Dogs by 21 points
BOG: Bont
1st G: Mini-Stringer

23-07-2016, 11:59 AM
Dogs by 15pts
First goal Dicko
BOG Bont

23-07-2016, 06:26 PM
I wouldn't mind seeing JJ up onto the wing/forward for this one. I noticed last week he went forward late and he has become really good decision maker with the cut back pass to Wallis an example. Another was the week prior against the Tigers were he sidestepped an opponent and finished clinically. If Suckers, Biggsy, Boyd and Wood can provide the drive off half back then lets set JJ free and see what he can do.

I hoping Bevo actually plays Boyd and Redpath in the same forward line, lets see what they can do.

Dogs by 26
First goal Redpath
BOG JJ

23-07-2016, 07:15 PM
The Saints are so inconsistent, it just really depends on which team turns up to play us. For my prediction, I've brought in an expert on St Kilda's form, to give us a more vivid guide than any of us can provide.

Nick, are we going to be confronted with the strong, Geelong-beating St Kilda, or the one that turned up against us last time?

http://i2.ytimg.com/vi/3S5jJfvgYoM/0.jpg

Dogs by 50
Boyd first goal
Bont BOG

I hate St Kilda so much

I hope for your sake that picture was already edited when you procured it.

It's bad enough that nude Roo is there, but there's nothing worse than a pic with a massive dick in it.

Oh yeah, and seeing Riewoldt's appendage wouldn't be too pleasant either.

23-07-2016, 07:33 PM
Dogs by 13 points.
BOG Macrae
1st goal Smith

Looking forward to this game.

23-07-2016, 07:47 PM
Grizzly and Toby Mc in the social club. McLean said he finished his final rehab session and will be right to go, Grizzly said he's about 4 weeks away.

23-07-2016, 07:51 PM
No late changes

23-07-2016, 08:31 PM
Can't get to the game for various reasons.

Boydy's had a couple of poor efforts defensively. He needs to ensure he doesn't go into his shell.

The Saints have started hot.

Good passage of play after a 50m penalty, great finish from Clay after a good hit by Jack and Dunks.

23-07-2016, 08:35 PM
Big Jack!!!!

23-07-2016, 08:37 PM
I bet Dickson's goal would have looked good from the members section.

23-07-2016, 08:49 PM
Roughead plays 2 minutes in the ruck then the next 8mins boyd plays ruck? Im confused. We need to let the kid develop in the forward line.

23-07-2016, 08:52 PM
Roughead plays 2 minutes in the ruck then the next 8mins boyd plays ruck? Im confused. We need to let the kid develop in the forward line.

Boyd needs early touches so I think it's a good option.

23-07-2016, 08:53 PM
Has Matthew Boyd been drinking?

23-07-2016, 08:56 PM
Boyd needs early touches so I think it's a good option.

Our forward line needs a tall. There is too many times we go long without a tall forward deep. Whats that point in playing them?

23-07-2016, 08:57 PM
Bad miss by Picken. Good quarter for watching.

23-07-2016, 08:57 PM
Wasteful by Picken.

This will be close. We just don't have the forward line fire power to make the most of our entries.

23-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Clay smith is unbelievable he is everywhere

Funke disco
23-07-2016, 08:59 PM
Liking Macrae, Dunkley and Clays work. Jong needs to wake up 2-3 handballs have let him down. Saints are on for this one, just need to weather the storm

23-07-2016, 09:07 PM
How juggling mark that was touched by a Dogs player could be paid a mark is a joke.

The umpiring cannot be that bad and needs to be better.

We need to hit our targets, kick the easy goals from easy set shots, and ensure Jong and Biggs are banned from handballing! Grrrrrr.

23-07-2016, 09:12 PM
Beautiful finishing from the Bont. Laser like.

23-07-2016, 09:16 PM
Jong is a liability at the moment. Turn over merchant.

23-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Jong is a liability at the moment. Turn over merchant.

Whoever wants him can have him as far as I'm concerned, he's not clean enough.

23-07-2016, 09:20 PM
Our forward line needs a tall. There is too many times we go long without a tall forward deep. Whats that point in playing them?

I think our coaches vision with Tom Boyd is a bit like how Sydney use Kurt Tippett. I suspect we see him as needed in the ruck 35% of the game.

23-07-2016, 09:20 PM
Goodness me Suckling. That's really ordinary.

23-07-2016, 09:28 PM
Stkilda are playing well. We are in for a fight

23-07-2016, 09:30 PM
I think our coaches vision with Tom Boyd is a bit like how Sydney use Kurt Tippett. I suspect we see him as needed in the ruck 35% of the game.

Our forward line is an absolute mess. If we continue to play inside midfielders deep we won't get far in the finals. Why do you the our mids are always going sideways and backwards when we have the ball in the midfield?

23-07-2016, 09:32 PM
Hot footy. Saints the better team.

How can Dale Morris still be so good?

Did Gerard Healy just say "unlike the Bulldogs to bomb it forward"? He's clearly never seen us play.

23-07-2016, 09:33 PM
Still the most wasteful club entering 50...

23-07-2016, 09:34 PM
They have one player kicking goals how hard is it to stand next to Reiwoldt ? Last time he got it no one was within cooee of him !

23-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Stephen has had 26 touches . Please put some time into him .

23-07-2016, 09:39 PM
I really do hate watching us sometimes.

23-07-2016, 09:41 PM
Getting smashed at the contest. No concentration when we lose the ball. The Saints have loose players everywhere. Redpath and Boyd become liabilities when we lose the footy.
Saints are forcing us into over hand balling. Ball use into the 50 is appalling.

23-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Mid field getting smashed with Wally, Libba, Jong all having around 6 touches each.

23-07-2016, 09:43 PM
We really are Nick Riewoldts bunnies. The Saints are playing good footy and look to be the team most likely to get the ball in space in a dangerous area. When we get space we over complicate things and invite Saints defenders to get back and crowd our bigger forwards.

Our effort seemed limp at times and contested numbers tell that story well.

23-07-2016, 09:51 PM
Still the most wasteful club entering 50...

Yep Boyd is playing on a half bank flanker yet we prefer to play him in the ruck. Its bizarre coaching.

23-07-2016, 09:54 PM
Jong is driving me mad. We can't pretend that he's going to get better anymore. If he's in the team next week or on the list next year I'll be dreadfully annoyed.

23-07-2016, 09:57 PM
Everyone seems so down on skills :(

23-07-2016, 09:58 PM
Still no one stands next to Reiwoldt has he got some sort of killer disease ?

23-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Awful. I don't leave early. This could be the night.

23-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Wow. I am really struggling to see a positive out of today.

So glad Membrey missed, and so glad the ball ended up in Daniels hands. Good finish Dickson.

23-07-2016, 10:03 PM
Come on Dogs. Plenty of time to come good. I hate being beaten by Nick Reiwoldt.

23-07-2016, 10:04 PM
Back in it, great fighting goal.

Looks like Red's done a knee/ankle. straight to the rooms.

BONT!!

23-07-2016, 10:04 PM
We've let them bully us too much tonight. We need to bully them back.

Bontempelli. Wow.

23-07-2016, 10:05 PM
We've been on the business end of a pants down spanking but 3 goals in a few minutes have us back in the game.

23-07-2016, 10:10 PM
Where is Morris?

23-07-2016, 10:12 PM
Where is Morris?

He's got his trackie on, he's not coming back. Not sure what the issue is.

23-07-2016, 10:15 PM
Scoring has really come hard for us.

23-07-2016, 10:19 PM
Jong has lifted since jeemak baked him. Can you whack a few others?

How is that not a mark to Boyd?

23-07-2016, 10:19 PM
It's been an exciting game. I hope we prevail

23-07-2016, 10:20 PM
Official: umpires hate Tom Boyd as much as Barrett.

23-07-2016, 10:22 PM

Credit where credit's due, he has had an impact in the second half of the term and looked a lot safer.

Disappointed for Boyd not to be paid that clear mark. It's pathetic umpiring to not see a ball clearly stopped, and after that intervention from an opponent causing it to spill. However, Boyd needs to be stronger.

Unbelievable. When you are on a huge contract apparently you are meant to hold the ball longer than normal.

Credit where credit's due, he has had an impact in the second half of the term and looked a lot safer.

Disappointed for Boyd not to be paid that clear mark. It's pathetic umpiring to not see a ball clearly stopped, and after that intervention from an opponent causing it to spill. However, Boyd needs to be stronger.

Sure, he does. That's still a mark though.

23-07-2016, 10:31 PM
We need to get JJ up the park he is one of the few that look dangerous with the footy.

23-07-2016, 10:32 PM
I think Red's really done his knee now. There's going to be question marks over the club given he hurt it earlier this half.

Really disappointed for him.

I don't see how Suckling gets a game next week.

23-07-2016, 10:35 PM

I haven't thought he has been performing well enough for a few weeks now.

Oh my god Wallis

Wallis has done a Jake Stringer and broken his leg.

Horrible luck.

23-07-2016, 10:36 PM
oh no Wally. FFS

Knee reco, broken leg.

What a night.

I haven't thought he has been performing well enough for a few weeks now.

I was going to mention you in my post.

We can't take a trick injury wise.

23-07-2016, 10:37 PM
Knee reco, broken leg.

What a night.

Plus we don't know what's happened to Morris. This is turning out to be a horrible night.

23-07-2016, 10:37 PM
Well this year has just gone to F#$%&ING SHIT!!!! :mad:

23-07-2016, 10:38 PM
I think Red's really done his knee now. There's going to be question marks over the club given he hurt it earlier this half.

Really disappointed for him.

We won't have anyone left to so he gets a game automatically. But yes he is playing poorly atm

23-07-2016, 10:38 PM
I dont care about the result anymore.:(

23-07-2016, 10:40 PM
I feel ill

23-07-2016, 10:41 PM
I want to go home.

23-07-2016, 10:42 PM
Oh no...has Wally really broken his leg? gahhhhhhh

23-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Tom Boyd doesn't have a lot between the ears. He's not done much all day and then gives away an undisciplined 50m penalty taking the pressure of them.

23-07-2016, 10:44 PM
Oh no...has Wally really broken his leg? gahhhhhhh

Afraid so.

I hope we keep pushing on. Lets gets something positive out of the game

Ankle it just above it

23-07-2016, 10:47 PM
Not only has Suckling been terribly poor tonight, he has been a total squib. Looks terrified out there.

23-07-2016, 10:49 PM
Wtf is Suckling doing?

23-07-2016, 10:50 PM
Not only has Suckling been terribly poor tonight, he has been a total squib. Looks terrified out there.

He looks disinterested. His decision making has been pathetic, as have his skills, and you're right he's been a squib.

23-07-2016, 10:50 PM
Come on, finish strongly Dogs.

23-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Roughead is in the hands of the trainers, his man takes a mark and kicks for goal.

This doesn't get any better.

23-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Season ending game this one. I hate the Aints even more.

23-07-2016, 10:52 PM
Gee Boyd has been disappointing.

23-07-2016, 10:53 PM

Positive signs last week, looks a mile off it tonight. Just have to keep reminding ourselves we need to be patient with him.

23-07-2016, 10:53 PM
We were terrible tonight even without injuries .. Next Geelong .. We will limp into finals

23-07-2016, 10:55 PM
Just saw the Wallis injury . I feel ill

23-07-2016, 10:56 PM
Sick of the fortunes of this club. Rip your heart out repeatedly including these constant injuries. Bring on the epl.

23-07-2016, 10:56 PM
We're a bottom part of the eight side to be honest

23-07-2016, 10:57 PM
Absolute, unmitigated disaster.... Boyd poor, injuries galore, Jake's shoulder cost us, flat, Mitch a tragedy, top 4 is shot, cannon fodder next week... Just terrible.. An awful, awful night..

23-07-2016, 10:57 PM

I reckon the coaching panel were the worst performed on the night. Considering how bad sucking was.....

23-07-2016, 11:02 PM
Which footy Gods did we p*ss off

23-07-2016, 11:02 PM
Injuries (which have me completely gutted) aside that was a shameful performance. Absolutely shameful. Yes, the Saints were good and brought their best, but we were pathetic, undisciplined, in some instances just plainly soft, and wasteful with the football.

It's hard to tell from the living room though Richardson set his team up beautifully against us, and whilst I'm sure the coaching staff were trying to counter them we looked liked we didn't have a plan B.

We need to be desperately unhappy with our performance tonight. How we could have such a low level of respect for each other and how we use the football once we've worked so hard to get it is beyond me. How we could let our standards slip to be smashed in contested possession in the second quarter to the extent we did is concerning. This team needs to be consistent in effort because it isn't skillful enough to win games otherwise, and that showed tonight.

What a horrible night for the club.

23-07-2016, 11:03 PM
It's official, I can't stand Suckling, he is just dumb

23-07-2016, 11:05 PM
It's official, I can't stand Suckling, he is just dumb
I never want to see him in the backline again

ps: Jeemak summed it up beautifully

23-07-2016, 11:05 PM
Really, won't be watching the replay.

23-07-2016, 11:06 PM
I reckon the coaching panel were the worst performed on the night. Considering how bad sucking was.....

Agreed. We are too smart by half with our set up, so often we go forward with absolutely no options or no idea how to get it to the limited ones we might have.

Really, won't be watching the replay.

No, burn your television :mad:

We looked hesitant and slow. When we should have move it quick we hung on to it. I think we may rush both Toby and Luke back next week. Hamling may get a go forward.

23-07-2016, 11:08 PM
Saints always trouble us. Always.

We can't be 1% off or we are in trouble.

Worst night of footy in decades. I'm gutted. So gutted. Top 4 is shot. Mitch has the hardest 2 years any footballer will have, there in front of him.

I'm just so annoyed and frustrated.

I'm gonna get drunk. Old school drunk.

Just gutted right now. Sick of being on the wrong end of injuries sure we get some back but lost 2 more vital players in the process. Just defeated as a supporter. I've got very little left in the tank.

Injuries (which have me completely gutted) aside that was a shameful performance. Absolutely shameful. Yes, the Saints were good and brought their best, but we were pathetic, undisciplined, in some instances just plainly soft, and wasteful with the football.

It's hard to tell from the living room though Richardson set his team up beautifully against us, and whilst I'm sure the coaching staff were trying to counter them we looked liked we didn't have a plan B.

We need to be desperately unhappy with our performance tonight. How we could have such a low level of respect for each other and how we use the football once we've worked so hard to get it is beyond me. How we could let our standards slip to be smashed in contested possession in the second quarter to the extent we did is concerning. This team needs to be consistent in effort because it isn't skillful enough to win games otherwise, and that showed tonight.

What a horrible night for the club.

Agreed all round. This could be the worst club loss I can remember. Playing for top spot and then several very serious injuries to key guys. I'm just gutted in every sense for this match. Wally & Redders look like 12 months off, hopefully Dale's is much better than that.

23-07-2016, 11:09 PM
Honestly. Who is our fwd coach? Surely they're on the gun this year. We have no system.

dukedog
Well done Saints. They played with vigour. Feel for wally right now. I suspect it worse for Redpath than thought. Season over for the boys unfortunately

So did Jack Stevens get 40 in the end? Nice we put someone near Riewoldt in the second half though.

23-07-2016, 11:10 PM
Was Wally a broken leg?

23-07-2016, 11:12 PM
Honestly. Who is our fwd coach? Surely they're on the gun this year. We have no system.

Gia.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/team/afl/coaching-staff/assistant-coaches

It's an insanely tough job given he's barely got genuine forwards to work with on a game to game basis, and that we insist on having either everyone in the forward line or nobody in there at all.

23-07-2016, 11:12 PM
Was Wally a broken leg?

Yes. Exactly the same as Stringer.

23-07-2016, 11:13 PM
Saints always trouble us. Always.

We can't be 1% off or we are in trouble.

Worst night of footy in decades. I'm gutted. So gutted. Top 4 is shot. Mitch has the hardest 2 years any footballer will have, there in front of him.

I'm just so annoyed and frustrated.

I'm gonna get drunk. Old school drunk.

Solidarity for Wally. Look, we have played without our captain, without our best small attacking mid, our best running back, not to mention all the other injuries, and yet still got top four. When Bevo says we haven't achieved anything, I don't entirely agree. Go easy.

Was Wally a broken leg?

Leg or ankle.
Did it the same way Jake did by kicking his other leg.:(

Libba, Stevens Jong Wallis (till injured) were all off tonight and didn't help our cause.

23-07-2016, 11:16 PM
Actually can't agree. Didn't take many marks but really presented and chased and did the small things. Had to ruck the whole second half

23-07-2016, 11:17 PM
Actually can't agree. Didn't take many marks but really presented and chased and did Sotheby's small things. Had to ruck the hole second half

Sotheby's. Thanks bad I needed a laugh.

23-07-2016, 11:18 PM
Actually can't agree. Didn't take many marks but really presented and chased and did Sotheby's small things. Had to ruck the hole second half

Yep, counting the time he rucked in the first half, he probably spent 3/4s of the game rucking or resting on the bench. Not getting paid an obvious mark was just insulting to the kid.

23-07-2016, 11:23 PM
Libba, Stevens Jong Wallis (till injured) were all off tonight and didn't help our cause.

Thats because your asking inside mids to play half forward, full forward, forward pocket and outside the contest. On occasions it works but we are asking them to do it week in week out. Injuries hasn't help our plight but as I have said before Bevo has gone too far with his flexibility mantra.

23-07-2016, 11:25 PM
Thats because your asking inside mids to play half forward, full forward, forward pocket and outside the contest. On occasions it works but we are asking them to do it week in week out. Injuries hasn't help our plight but as I have said before Bevo has gone too far with his flexibility mantra.

There's definitely an element of hubris to it, though I don't know who on our list commands forward spots in place of the mids we have playing in them.

23-07-2016, 11:30 PM
I didn't pick up Morris injured at the ground but saw Roughead play back for the second half. When did Dale go off?

23-07-2016, 11:31 PM
Just gutted right now. Sick of being on the wrong end of injuries sure we get some back but lost 2 more vital players in the process. Just defeated as a supporter. I've got very little left in the tank.

Yep. I'm done.

Footy can get stuffed.

23-07-2016, 11:40 PM

Missed shots at goal also didn't help.

23-07-2016, 11:40 PM

How bad was Suckling?
He put in a shocker. We had very few good players with Hunter Roughead and Bontempelli the stand outs. Redpath and Tom Boyd were poor up forward. Only Bonti looked capable up forward and with Libba down we lacked class in the midfield .

23-07-2016, 11:41 PM

We've been answering the challenge all season. It's tough but we can bounce back.

23-07-2016, 11:41 PM
I didn't pick up Morris injured at the ground but saw Roughead play back for the second half. When did Dale go off?

I think it was early third quarter, and nobody commentating had any real idea why.

The Age reported it was a back injury.

23-07-2016, 11:42 PM
A disaster lasts only as long as it takes to bounce back. Let's hope we dig deep and finish off the season strongly. We have been cruelled by injury this year and have backed up extremely well. We have to keep on doing it although this is getting beyond ridiculous.

23-07-2016, 11:44 PM
LB: It's devastating. Mitch has broken both bones in his leg. Jack (Redpath) has also done his ACL. There's a lot of emotion in the rooms.

23-07-2016, 11:47 PM
LB: It's devastating. Mitch has broken both bones in his leg. Jack (Redpath) has also done his ACL. There's a lot of emotion in the rooms.

There needs to a FFS this is cruel and unusual punishment button. Jack should be happy he's inked his one year extension and has the time to get it right.

23-07-2016, 11:50 PM
Reckon Hunter was awful - no point getting a heap of ball when your decision making is constantly sub-standard. Opposition coaches most likely structure up to allow Hunter to pick up uncontested possessions. Stevens is the other one who is fantastic at winning the ball but then makes too many poor decisions with ball in hand.

Bont is a special player, as is Macrae. These two have an amazing work ethic to run both ways and impact inside and outside the contest. They didn't have many mates tonight.

Boyd was decent around the ground and in the ruck. Suckers played like a millionaire.

3 soldiers in and 3 out, possibly 4. Let's see how the depth players can impact at senior level. Redders to be replaced by a small (Dahl if ready or Bailey Dale), Wally by a Webb type or Stringer if ready, Morris by a Brad Lynch type (or Hamling), Roughy with Minno. Still a highly competitive team.

We were awful tonight (notwithstanding injuries) but 12-5 is a season of merit thus far - keen to see how we respond for the remainder of the season.

23-07-2016, 11:55 PM
LB: We hope Dale Morris will be ok. He didn't do anything major to his hamstring but we made a conservative decision to pull him out.

23-07-2016, 11:58 PM
All players crying in the rooms as Wallis was screaming in pain uncontrollably apparently... This is a massive set back for our club.

24-07-2016, 12:00 AM
All players crying in the rooms as Wallis was screaming in pain uncontrollably apparently... This is a massive set back for our club.

Breaks my heart - no words

24-07-2016, 12:01 AM

TV showed the ambos taking him away before the end of the game. I think, hope, he was on the pain relief and at hospital before the game concluded.

24-07-2016, 12:04 AM
Couldn't go to the game, had to go out to a dinner. Couldn't catch a score even. Get home, rush to get the score and what do I find. Disaster! Wallis, Redpath, Morris injured. Low scoring game and lost by 15 points not scoring in the last. Kind of glad I missed this one.

Get well soon, Wally in particular.

24-07-2016, 12:13 AM
We've been answering the challenge all season. It's tough but we can bounce back.
Yep, will be good to see how deep out list can bat. We haven't lost 2 in a row all season which speaks volumes for our ability to rebound quickly from poor performances. Tonight was crap but next week's response is more important.

24-07-2016, 12:27 AM

A tough night for the Club and an extremely frustrating, deflating experience for the fans. However, what you've highlighted is a real feather in the cap of this current group. Something to hang our hats on, we know for a fact that they'll turn up next weekend and have another crack.

24-07-2016, 12:40 AM
Gee there are some tough taskmasters on this forum. I'm gutted, I'm sad, I'm frustrated, I'm depressed. But two young men in their 20s are in mental and physical agony tonight, facing months of pain, loneliness, fear and doubt. Their team mates and coaches are feeling their pain, so are we as fans. We didn't play very well. But right now I don't really care about that, I just feel for the way these kids put their bodies and souls out there for us and wish that just once, just ONCE, we'd have a smidgin of luck.

24-07-2016, 12:45 AM
Besides Suckling, I was really disappointed by the efforts of Jong and Stevens.

Mantis was right, he is not best 22 and I will admit I was wrong. As for Jong, I can't see him making it. Terrible decision making, terrible execution of the ball. We need someone a lot better than what he dishes up.

Because of the injuries, these guys will get a reprieve.

24-07-2016, 12:49 AM
https://soundcloud.com/abc_grandstand/afl-rd-18-tim-hodges-describes-the-gut-wrenching-scenes-in-the-bulldogs-rooms-with-the-injury-to-mitch-wallis

24-07-2016, 12:53 AM
Yeah wow. What can you say in response to that..... Good luck Mitch.

24-07-2016, 12:54 AM
Wow.

Gut wrenching to hear that.

24-07-2016, 12:56 AM
Devastating to lose Wallis and Redpath like that. Absolutely gutted. Worst luck, this year.

On another note, Suckling was outstandingly terrible. He wasn't the only one, but holy hell. I don't think he did a single thing right all night.

24-07-2016, 01:00 AM
https://soundcloud.com/abc_grandstand/afl-rd-18-tim-hodges-describes-the-gut-wrenching-scenes-in-the-bulldogs-rooms-with-the-injury-to-mitch-wallis

Listened to that on the way home. Just gut wrenching stuff. Good luck Mitch and Jack!

24-07-2016, 01:03 AM

Ah crap.

24-07-2016, 01:08 AM
While we are focusing on the injured players, which I understand, there are a couple of other points that have escaped some discussion and might have contributed significantly to the loss.

Did Richardson out coach Bevo tonight?
Did our missed opportunities in converting goals hurt us as much as the injuries tonight?

24-07-2016, 01:16 AM

This just confirms what my thoughts were when the siren sounded - Our season ended tonight.

24-07-2016, 01:19 AM
Did our missed opportunities in converting goals hurt us as much as the injuries tonight?
Goes without saying that I wish for a speedy recovery for both Wally and Red. Devastating for these two to suffer auch significant injuries. But putting the injuries to one side, we played a very poor brand of footy and thoroughly deserved to lose.

To answer your questions, Richo structured up around the ball and down back very well and clearly had the better of Bevo in the coaches box. Spare man down back is a major problem for us in relation to delivering inside 50 - once again tonight we either bombed it to the Saints spare or completely missed easy spot-up kicks further out around 40m.

I don't think missed opportunities hurt us as much as poor delivery into our forward line did.

24-07-2016, 01:20 AM
While we are focusing on the injured players, which I understand, there are a couple of other points that have escaped some discussion and might have contributed significantly to the loss.

Also they couldn't seem to miss from the 50.

24-07-2016, 01:20 AM
Reckon Hunter was awful - no point getting a heap of ball when your decision making is constantly sub-standard. Opposition coaches most likely structure up to allow Hunter to pick up uncontested possessions. Stevens is the other one who is fantastic at winning the ball but then makes too many poor decisions with ball in hand.

Bont is a special player, as is Macrae. These two have an amazing work ethic to run both ways and impact inside and outside the contest. They didn't have many mates tonight.

Boyd was decent around the ground and in the ruck. Suckers played like a millionaire.

3 soldiers in and 3 out, possibly 4. Let's see how the depth players can impact at senior level. Redders to be replaced by a small (Dahl if ready or Bailey Dale), Wally by a Webb type or Stringer if ready, Morris by a Brad Lynch type (or Hamling), Roughy with Minno. Still a highly competitive team.

We were awful tonight (notwithstanding injuries) but 12-5 is a season of merit thus far - keen to see how we respond for the remainder of the season.

I agree that if we're structuring up to release Hunter, he needs to use it better.. But equally, he needs some forward structure and movement to look up to.

Can't help but think Crameri and Stringer would provide that... Jake might've played through some pain tonight... Just sayin'....

24-07-2016, 01:40 AM
TV showed the ambos taking him away before the end of the game. I think, hope, he was on the pain relief and at hospital before the game concluded.

Nope, players saw him. They tried to get him out, but couldn't.

24-07-2016, 01:40 AM
Should add to previous that the match committee might've pencilled in a win tonight with a view to Geelong. Not picking on Jake, per se, with above comment.

Kid was probably willing to play.... Just feels like a touch of conservative hubris to me.. That shoulder did a lot more work signing autographs tonight than it might've as a decoy forward target and a touch of X factor.

They killed us with defensive marks and rebound... We pay the price..

Ahh well, we live and learn..

We'd be paying $6 to win in Geelong on Friday, so hubris is out the window. Go Dogs! Nothing to lose!

24-07-2016, 01:45 AM
Thoughts are with both lads and their teammates
Speedy recovery

24-07-2016, 01:57 AM
Disappointing is all I can say regarding that performance last night.

The injuries to Redpath, Morris and Wallis just hurt. It just seems when things are starting to fall into place something bad happens. We may have had a few close ones which we have won this year but gee we have not been lucky on the injury front. We need Stringer back in the side to give us something up forward and Dahl as well who we have really missed.

Our forward line really needs to be looked at and something has to change with it or else will struggle in the finals campaign.

Geel
NM
Coll
Ess
Fre

You would think 3 games there should be wins with the North and Geelong games 50/50 but really we cannot say anything.

24-07-2016, 02:07 AM
Nope, players saw him. They tried to get him out, but couldn't.

https://t.co/7I8YYfqPgJ?ssr=true

Not sure if this link will work, but this is the ABC 774 Soundcloud of the description of Mitch Wallis leaving the room. Had me in tears.

24-07-2016, 02:15 AM
Stringer would have been good for a few goals tonight. Missed his ability to capitalise on a few half chances.

24-07-2016, 02:22 AM
I wish Mitch well in his recovery as well as all our other injured players.

24-07-2016, 02:49 AM
I refuse to look at or listen to anything about horrific injuries. All I can console myself with is by now a few hours have passed and the worst of the pain is over. Such rotten luck. I wish them all the best.

24-07-2016, 02:53 AM
Saint kilda brought the intensity tonight and deserved to win. The loss is bad but these injuries have wrecked a season where we could have snatched a flag, im totally gutted, unluckiest club in the afl. We've fought through so much adversity but losing wally and red is too much.

24-07-2016, 03:00 AM
https://t.co/7I8YYfqPgJ?ssr=true

Not sure if this link will work, but this is the ABC 774 Soundcloud of the description of Mitch Wallis leaving the room. Had me in tears.
Heard it. Just terrible.

24-07-2016, 03:12 AM
Devastating

24-07-2016, 08:08 AM
That sound clip had me in tears, good luck to the guys on their recoveries.

On the game it may have gave us an insight on to how we could react in a final.

Pressure our ball carries and they can't make the right decisions. Not the whole team but like others I'll single out Jong.
Although to his credit he did lift in the second half, his first half was atrocious and Suckling was just bad all game.

The forwards may cop some of the blame but it was more the delivery into the forwards that made them struggle.

Lets hope that the team can move on from tonight and not hold any mental scars.

The sooner Mitch can hobble back to the club house plaster and all the better.

24-07-2016, 08:59 AM
The decision to play Webb as an inside mid all season at VFL level might be about to get tested at the highest level.

24-07-2016, 09:17 AM
If there is any thing bright out of a very black day, TBoyd may stay at FF and become a focal point. Hrovat although coming off a long time on the side lines could fill Mitch's role and needs a good game today. There is also HC that could step up.
If Goetz hadn't been a fizzer he may have got game time in the big league.

24-07-2016, 10:19 AM
Gee there are some tough taskmasters on this forum. I'm gutted, I'm sad, I'm frustrated, I'm depressed. But two young men in their 20s are in mental and physical agony tonight, facing months of pain, loneliness, fear and doubt. Their team mates and coaches are feeling their pain, so are we as fans. We didn't play very well. But right now I don't really care about that, I just feel for the way these kids put their bodies and souls out there for us and wish that just once, just ONCE, we'd have a smidgin of luck.

I think you're out of line here.

We played appalling football tonight, and people are rightly frustrated and talking about it accordingly. If we're hard taskmasters, then I'd like you to point out what players that have been mentioned are being unfairly maligned? Because I haven't seen a single player that hasn't deserved the commentary they've had.

If you're suggesting that others don't feel as equally distraught for Wally and Redpath (and TBH I don't think you are) then you're wrong. Everyone feels terrible for them.

But we're still discussing a football game also. The narrative of those terrible injuries shouldn't take over the issue that we played very poorly and it should be talked about.

24-07-2016, 10:38 AM
The decision to play Webb as an inside mid all season at VFL level might be about to get tested at the highest level.

Do we need another inside mid coming in? The only possible ins would be Stringer and Dahl for Redpath and Wally. If Morris misses perhaps Hamling.

24-07-2016, 10:41 AM

Thanks, well written.

After sleeping on it, we're looking at 2 potential career ending injuries so I can't be pissed at anything the players did.

Just devastated and it fills like last night was a significant one for all the wrong reasons.

24-07-2016, 10:47 AM
For majority of the season and last night was no different our midfield run, spread and creativity has been poor.

I would like to see JJ play a wing type role. It will also allow him to shake the tag and stay involved in the game more.

24-07-2016, 11:11 AM
Very flat this morning.

We may never see Wallis or Redpath again and our 2016 is done. A year where, if fully fit, we really could have won the flag. It's hard not to feel like we're doomed sometimes.

Moving forward, some hard decisions need to be made on the following:

Stevens - If we can net something of quality for him, I'd do it. He's a solid player, and perhaps with Wallis going down, we'll simply need to keep him but he can never play out a full season and is an awful decision maker who gets caught with the ball trying to do too much. In pressure games when it's close, he's unreliable. I like him as a player but given our list, he's one I'd move on if we could get something we need in return.

Jong - He's OK back up and we've needed him this year, but there is no way he should be playing in a top 4 side's midfield. His decision making is poor, his execution is average and he's pretty bad below his knees. He's hard at it, tackles well and can take a mark but let's put time into our younger brigade (Webb, Dunkley, Dale, Honeychurch etc).

Boyd as a Ruck - This has gone on far too long. Why are we the only club in the land crying out for a key forward who, when we get one, turn him into a ruck? It is borderline insane. Yes, Boyd having stints in the ruck if he's cold up forward isn't a bad thing but playing him 50/50 is stupidity. He was poor last night, but it's a massive workload on a big young kid. Play him at full forward FFS.

Lack of skill -We have some awful decision makers and awful executioners. We need to draft kids who can kick and who make good decisions with ball in hand. As soon as some of our better players have off nights (ie. Caleb, Suckling - both were bloody terrible) we can't hit the side of a barn and it's a real concern. We need to pump games into Webb and Dale, draft more ball users and perhaps trade another in too. We won't win anything with our current set-up - we win the ball as much as we give it up.

Gameplan - Clearly we have improved defensively, which was the main area of concern last year. They've worked hard to rectify this but it's gone too far the other way. We are obsessed with over handling the ball, kicking sideways and backwards, which ultimately contributes to the inability to score. Our forward line is one of the worst in the league! There's no cohesion whatsoever and much of it is due to the way we bring the ball forward. It's a nightmare being a forward for the Dogs, on the odd occasion in does come in quicker we miss our player by 20m.

Medicos - Should they keep their job? We've had a lot of injuries, some of them contact, many of them soft tissue (ie. Morris). We seem to be overly conservative in giving players time off and take double the amount of time as other clubs to get ours right to play and right now, you have to question their integrity of sending out Clay to the field again last year after he did his knee and now Redpath again. The "it's already gone, might as well go out there" philosophy is disgraceful. You can do more damage and it's a shameful look.

Going forward, I want to see us get the balance right. There is zero point in winning the ball umpteen times and handing it straight back to the opposition. We need skill and though they mightn't be ready, I want to see us giving games to Webb and Dale for starters.

24-07-2016, 11:18 AM
Very flat this morning.

Medicos - Should they keep their job? We've had a lot of injuries, some of them contact, many of them soft tissue (ie. Morris). We seem to be overly conservative in giving players time off and take double the amount of time as other clubs to get ours right to play and right now, you have to question their integrity of sending out Clay to the field again last year after he did his knee and now Redpath again. The "it's already gone, might as well go out there" philosophy is disgraceful. You can do more damage and it's a shameful look.

Going forward, I want to see us get the balance right. There is zero point in winning the ball umpteen times and handing it straight back to the opposition. We need skill and though they mightn't be ready, I want to see us giving games to Webb and Dale for starters.

Um, In a press conference Bevo said the Medical staff at the Dogs have done superhuman things to get players back on the park. Without knowing the situation with Jack, is this a little bit nasty as a suggestion? I feel so.

24-07-2016, 11:19 AM
Actually can't agree. Didn't take many marks but really presented and chased and did the small things. Had to ruck the whole second half

I guess I'm just expecting a bit more out of him. To me doing the small things is just a non negotiable for being an AFL footballer, I guess he's not being helped by Bevo either who seems intent on turning him into a ruck/forward. I hope he turns out as he's going to be our own 'Torres' if he doesn't.

24-07-2016, 11:24 AM
Um, In a press conference Bevo said the Medical staff at the Dogs have done superhuman things to get players back on the park. Without knowing the situation with Jack, is this a little bit nasty as a suggestion? I feel so.

Of course he's going to throw support behind his own medical team. "Superhuman" is a large slab of BS coated mayo.

Don't tow the company line. They rightly should be investigated and questioned for their integrity on both Clay and now Redpath.

I guess I'm just expecting a bit more out of him.

I'm a Boyd supporter but he was very poor last night.

We should all expect more, but having said that, let's play him in the role we actually recruited him for.

24-07-2016, 11:26 AM
Of course he's going to throw support behind his own medical team. "Superhuman" is a large slab of BS coated mayo.

Don't tow the company line. They rightly should be investigated and questioned for their integrity on both Clay and now Redpath.

I'm a Boyd supporter but he was very poor last night.

We should all expect more, but having said that, let's play him in the role we actually recruited him for.

?? Well we are all a bit stung from last night, ( and even a bit traumatised from watching Mitch - sickening and very upset over it. ) and things get investigated, but saying people should lose their jobs before the investigation is not right.

Regards our medical staff, I thought we were all in agreement that given the amount of injuries we have had, our ladder position until last night was excellent. This is a credit to our team ( which includes medical staff). Am I wrong?

24-07-2016, 11:28 AM
I think you're out of line here.

We played appalling football tonight, and people are rightly frustrated and talking about it accordingly. If we're hard taskmasters, then I'd like you to point out what players that have been mentioned are being unfairly maligned? Because I haven't seen a single player that hasn't deserved the commentary they've had.

If you're suggesting that others don't feel as equally distraught for Wally and Redpath (and TBH I don't think you are) then you're wrong. Everyone feels terrible for them.

But we're still discussing a football game also. The narrative of those terrible injuries shouldn't take over the issue that we played very poorly and it should be talked about.
I'm quite aware that many players had shockers and throughout the match was as disappointed as anyone with the flat performance and lack of skill. But having listened to the audio describing players weeping, Bob sobbing uncontrollably, and Mitch screaming in agony, yeah, my heart wasn't quite in a discussion about who took the wrong option or could have played better. I get where you're coming from, and hope you can do the same for my perspective as well.

24-07-2016, 11:53 AM
I don' know about the rest of you, but after lying awake from 3am thinking about poor Mitch Wallis, this morning I felt like I need to take a break from football - too much heartache. But of course, I won't do that. Whatever the players have to go through, I feel I have to go through as well - they're like my family. I just wish I could do something, anything to help. Listening to that sound clip from (I think) ABC radio was gut wrenching.

24-07-2016, 12:10 PM
Is it Etihads hard ground ? We knew the Mitch Wallis would happen anywhere that's not turf related but we seem to get knees and muscle strain injuries a lot ..is it the whitten oval ?
Is it our conditioning team ?
I think we will do a lot of studying soon on what exactly is causing the problems.
Maybe just bad luck.

24-07-2016, 12:10 PM
I'm quite aware that many players had shockers and throughout the match was as disappointed as anyone with the flat performance and lack of skill. But having listened to the audio describing players weeping, Bob sobbing uncontrollably, and Mitch screaming in agony, yeah, my heart wasn't quite in a discussion about who took the wrong option or could have played better. I get where you're coming from, and hope you can do the same for my perspective as well.

No problem, but the game is still up for discussion. I hear what you are saying for sure, but it seems like you're prepared to let the result slide because of the trauma we suffered. I'm not. We've still got footy to play.

If your heart's not in the discussion, then maybe you should step back and wait for the emotion to settle a bit. It's unfair to criticise others that can still analyse the game despite the emotion.

Putting emotion aside, what players were undeserving of the commentary they got last night that would cause you to call people "harsh"?

24-07-2016, 01:03 PM
No problem, but the game is still up for discussion. I hear what you are saying for sure, but it seems like you're prepared to let the result slide because of the trauma we suffered. I'm not. We've still got footy to play.

If your heart's not in the discussion, then maybe you should step back and wait for the emotion to settle a bit. It's unfair to criticise others that can still analyse the game despite the emotion.

Putting emotion aside, what players were undeserving of the commentary they got last night that would cause you to call people "harsh"?
Seeing the efforts called shameful etc while our footy family was hurting so badly was what I meant. A matter of timing too. It didn't feel the right time for players to be called 'squibs' when they are the ones out there risking a Wally type injury. Perhaps as you suggest I'm not well placed for this discussion as I don't think I can put emotion aside in this instance.

24-07-2016, 01:14 PM
Seeing the efforts called shameful etc while our footy family was hurting so badly was what I meant. A matter of timing too. It didn't feel the right time for players to be called 'squibs' when they are the ones out there risking a Wally type injury. Perhaps as you suggest I'm not well placed for this discussion as I don't think I can put emotion aside in this instance.

No problem. For the record I value the contributions you make to this board and am in no way attacking you. It's clear we have a philosophical difference on this and that's fine.

As for the squib comment, well that was me and I stand by it. It's a rough and tough game, and our players are generally very tough, so it stands out doubly when one of our players is shirking his responsibilities and letting our side down. Indeed, if Suckling was even halfway towards putting in a "Wally like effort", then it wouldn't be mentioned. But he wasn't, and I think it's entirely fair to call him on it - especially when we have a generally very courageous team across the board.

We're a hurting band of followers, but we're hurting in our own way. The discussion has to continue because we've got a game to play next week and hopefully win. Have no doubts that the 22 that run out will have my full support, but I'll also not spare any in my commentary that are shirking their responsibility and commitment to us and to their team-mates. Thankfully, it's not something we usually need to comment on.

Yours in Bulldog brotherhood Bulldog tragician.

24-07-2016, 02:53 PM
Bloody hell. I'm on my way back from a camping trip where i had no access to the net so am only now hearing what a terrible outcome Saturday night's game was
Glad i was off the grid at the time. Just texted my wife and asked her to just delete the game from the IQ, I can't watch it.

24-07-2016, 03:04 PM
Bloody hell. I'm on my way back from a camping trip where i had no access to the net so am only now hearing what a terrible outcome Saturday night's game was
Glad i was off the grid at the time. Just texted my wife and asked her to just delete the game from the IQ, I can't watch it.

Camping! Hope you had your Bulldogs beanie. Freezing

24-07-2016, 03:29 PM
Camping! Hope you had your Bulldogs beanie. Freezing

Not so much when you are in Queensland where I'm assuming YHF is.

24-07-2016, 03:38 PM
Not so much when you are in Queensland where I'm assuming YHF is.

Correct. High 20s during the day and maybe low teens Friday and Saturday nights. Perfect weather.

24-07-2016, 05:01 PM
I detest football.

24-07-2016, 05:24 PM
Correct. High 20s during the day and maybe low teens Friday and Saturday nights. Perfect weather.

Jealous. I'm in South West Vic and roads are closed there is that much water on them.

24-07-2016, 05:44 PM
No problem. For the record I value the contributions you make to this board and am in no way attacking you. It's clear we have a philosophical difference on this and that's fine.

As for the squib comment, well that was me and I stand by it. It's a rough and tough game, and our players are generally very tough, so it stands out doubly when one of our players is shirking his responsibilities and letting our side down. Indeed, if Suckling was even halfway towards putting in a "Wally like effort", then it wouldn't be mentioned. But he wasn't, and I think it's entirely fair to call him on it - especially when we have a generally very courageous team across the board.

We're a hurting band of followers, but we're hurting in our own way. The discussion has to continue because we've got a game to play next week and hopefully win. Have no doubts that the 22 that run out will have my full support, but I'll also not spare any in my commentary that are shirking their responsibility and commitment to us and to their team-mates. Thankfully, it's not something we usually need to comment on.

Yours in Bulldog brotherhood Bulldog tragician.

We're actually not as far apart as you think. I was really disappointed in our efforts last night too and I certainly don't think a robust criticism of individual performance can be shirked at times - though I think my posting history normally shows that I try to avoid that.

In this case, though, just a question of the timing - I was shattered by listening to the Soundcloud and while that distressing audio was still ringing in my mind, was not of a mindset to think who could have played better. (Suckling had a dreadful night for sure - not only was he far from the elite kick he's touted as, his disposal was more like what we fondly remember from Daniel Cross).

24-07-2016, 05:46 PM
Jealous. I'm in South West Vic and roads are closed there is that much water on them.

Are you back in Australia GD?

24-07-2016, 07:01 PM
Very flat this morning.

We may never see Wallis or Redpath again and our 2016 is done. A year where, if fully fit, we really could have won the flag. It's hard not to feel like we're doomed sometimes.

Moving forward, some hard decisions need to be made on the following:

Stevens - If we can net something of quality for him, I'd do it. He's a solid player, and perhaps with Wallis going down, we'll simply need to keep him but he can never play out a full season and is an awful decision maker who gets caught with the ball trying to do too much. In pressure games when it's close, he's unreliable. I like him as a player but given our list, he's one I'd move on if we could get something we need in return.

Jong - He's OK back up and we've needed him this year, but there is no way he should be playing in a top 4 side's midfield. His decision making is poor, his execution is average and he's pretty bad below his knees. He's hard at it, tackles well and can take a mark but let's put time into our younger brigade (Webb, Dunkley, Dale, Honeychurch etc).

Boyd as a Ruck - This has gone on far too long. Why are we the only club in the land crying out for a key forward who, when we get one, turn him into a ruck? It is borderline insane. Yes, Boyd having stints in the ruck if he's cold up forward isn't a bad thing but playing him 50/50 is stupidity. He was poor last night, but it's a massive workload on a big young kid. Play him at full forward FFS.

Lack of skill -We have some awful decision makers and awful executioners. We need to draft kids who can kick and who make good decisions with ball in hand. As soon as some of our better players have off nights (ie. Caleb, Suckling - both were bloody terrible) we can't hit the side of a barn and it's a real concern. We need to pump games into Webb and Dale, draft more ball users and perhaps trade another in too. We won't win anything with our current set-up - we win the ball as much as we give it up.

Gameplan - Clearly we have improved defensively, which was the main area of concern last year. They've worked hard to rectify this but it's gone too far the other way. We are obsessed with over handling the ball, kicking sideways and backwards, which ultimately contributes to the inability to score. Our forward line is one of the worst in the league! There's no cohesion whatsoever and much of it is due to the way we bring the ball forward. It's a nightmare being a forward for the Dogs, on the odd occasion in does come in quicker we miss our player by 20m.

Yeah its been glaring for weeks now and obviously we have had personal issues and our effort cant be questioned but our obsession with playing midfielders as forwards due to the need insert buzz word 'Flexibility' has gone too far. I know Dunkley didn't deserved to be dropped but Dale is far more likely to score/connect and as I said previously him having a breakout game has much more upside for the group than another inside mid having 20 possessions.

I'm stunned last night JJ wasn't played higher up the park i.e. Hill for Hawks. JJ is serious weapon, a point of difference, he can push into the elite category that kid in this role. Breaking a line or two will draw the forwards at the ball and when he is delivering the ball inside 50 everyone will be on their bike. Part of the reason why delivery forward is poor is first up like under Eade in every final we played our forwards are far too high up the park. The mids look up and sideways seem a better option with the spare standing out like a beacon. Secondly is that we have the ball in the wrong players hands because we are asking inside mids to play outside and on the wing....

That gets us to Boyd. He is currently the highest paid ruckman in AFL history. As you said we have been craving a forward but for some reason we seem to want to play him in the ruck? I'm confused. Give him a month forward bring Minson in if we have too but I don't want to see him past 70m mark.

Being 12-5 is a bloody great effort but I'd prefer to give up some ground if need be and work on the method.

24-07-2016, 07:11 PM

No-one can resist a man's bodyweight pulling down on one of your arms

24-07-2016, 07:19 PM

Remember when Bevo started and there was going to be an emphasis in improving our kicking skills especially on the non preferred foot, well I wonder what has happened with that and if Bevo is happy with the progress?

Regarding the game plan, the no tag policy has hurt us, surely we need to be a bit more flexible. The other issue is while we are very adept at intercept marking in the back half it's more often only effective when teams carry the ball along the flanks. It's isn't that effective when teams go up the middle. The zone works well but we also need to be better one on one defenders.

24-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Are you back in Australia GD?

Yep ED, back for a month. New contract starting in August in Hangzhou. Will try to get to a game.

24-07-2016, 08:07 PM
I watched the teams run through the banners. St kilda ran through and took off sprinting across the ground together and looked very serious. The Bulldogs jogged through the banner and casually ran up the ground and looked pretty lethargic really. I said to my wife they are not looking very enthusiastic tonight this could be ugly

24-07-2016, 10:01 PM
our obsession with playing midfielders as forwards due to the need insert buzz word 'Flexibility' has gone too far.

You have been banging on about mids playing forward the whole season, but who do you suggest should be playing forward. Where are these players banging down the door to get into the team?

I don't believe we have any true small forwards other than Dickson and probably Mclean at this stage? Dale has been very inconsistent at VFL level, and we just don't have any more pure forwards?

24-07-2016, 11:09 PM
Perhaps Dahl forward when he returns.

25-07-2016, 07:02 AM
Perhaps Dahl forward when he returns.

Agree with this. With Dahl and Maclean due for return soon, we should see our mids playing more time in the midfield.

Although Dahl has been great as a mid, he is also a much smarter natural forward than most who have spent a lot of time there recently and I'd reckon is of greatest team value there under the present circumstances. Would probably be slightly easier on his body too.

25-07-2016, 10:35 AM
Remember when Bevo started and there was going to be an emphasis in improving our kicking skills especially on the non preferred foot, well I wonder what has happened with that and if Bevo is happy with the progress?

Much like our goal kicking, there has been little progress.

I watched Hawthorn live v Richmond and although they didn't play well for much of the game, their sound decision making and skill was too much in the end. I left thinking we were miles off that. We grind sides out of contests, we don't blow them away with skill and in big games that's a hard way to win.

Regarding the game plan, the no tag policy has hurt us, surely we need to be a bit more flexible. The other issue is while we are very adept at intercept marking in the back half it's more often only effective when teams carry the ball along the flanks. It's isn't that effective when teams go up the middle. The zone works well but we also need to be better one on one defenders.

Agree entirely on both accounts. I understand the philosophy of not going into the game with a negating player because it can upset team balance to some degree, but when a player is clearly dominating you (Stevens, Dangerfield etc) it is ignorant to sit back and let it continue.

Although our team defence has improved, we still look very poor one on one. Besides Morris and Wood (and probably Boyd), the rest of our defenders struggle to win let alone halve contests. Biggs has been awful lately, we know what Suckling brings (and doesn't bring), JJ is our attacking weapon, Roberts is a long way off it.

As good as our list is, we have some pretty big issues to address and we need to fix them as soon as possible. Typically you can't plug all holes so it'll be interesting to see what we do. For mine, it has to be getting a player like Hurley and finding better ball users in the middle (Webb? Dale? Other clubs?). We could do with a ruck and a key forward but Crameri returning perhaps mitigates one of those for 2017 and beyond.

25-07-2016, 10:39 AM
Very hard to win when you only have a handful of contributors.. Our worst effort around the ball all year with Libba & Wallis (before injury) both playing well below the standard expected... Libba looked extremely rusty and Wally bar a good game against a depleted GC had been really struggling.

Our ball use by hand and foot was pathetic and didn't allow for any flow in our game... But St.Kilda structured up well and got numbers back and our long bomb to no-one was as ineffective as it always is... It doesn't help that our forwards can't beat their opponents, but when they are out-numbered it's impossible.

We have some key-ins to return, but unless we get an even performance every week we are going to struggle to beat competitive teams.

03-10-2016, 04:40 PM
Might have gone a bit early here!!!! :cool:

Well this year has just gone to F#$%&ING SHIT!!!! :mad:

What a loose cannon this bloke is!!! :cool:

03-10-2016, 05:24 PM
Might have gone a bit early here!!!! :cool:

What a loose cannon this bloke is!!! :cool:

and he also bookmarks his own posts. :D:D

19-01-2022, 09:38 PM
I've taken some actions to slow down the spammer. Please don't respond to spam messages.
I've deleted an number of posts.

20-01-2022, 12:03 AM
I've taken some actions to slow down the spammer. Please don't respond to spam messages.
I've deleted an number of posts.

There's a spammer? We've made it to the big time!

20-01-2022, 10:26 AM

Well there's BAD our resident spammer. ;)

20-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Well there's BAD our resident spammer. ;)

Hey!!!

Caught :D

20-01-2022, 11:44 AM

Gary advised me not to respond to this... Ah bugger it.

https://media.giphy.com/media/l3E6uhDAN3W7vylji/giphy.gif

20-01-2022, 01:17 PM

I think it's a AI account
It posted over 20 new threads, all with links to selling products. The basic set-up blocks most things like this but
It also replied to about 30 threads with the same links.

The basic set-up blocks most things like this but updated his access by mistake so he got a few posts through. Lesson learned.

I've put the account into a group that allows them to see the forum and the threads but they can't reply to anything or start any threads.

20-01-2022, 01:31 PM
I've put the account into a group that allows them to see the forum and the threads but they can't reply to anything or start any threads.

The naughty corner

20-01-2022, 03:18 PM
The naughty corner

vBulletin has two settings to accommodate spammers.
Sent to Coventry
Miserable User

The MU option is just cruel.