View Full Version : Bankers And Anchors - Round 19 2016 vs Geelong

24-07-2016, 05:54 PM
This is the round 19 2016 edition of the Weekly Bankers and Anchors Thread. Once the game against Geelong is concluded post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 guys/aspects of the game that we banked on to do the right thing during the game
The Anchors = 3 guys/aspects of the game that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Please limit it to no more than three of each player or aspect of the game, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

Try and restrict it to individual players rather than aspects of the overall match - I will allow more freedom now as the thread seems to be going down more of the aspects of the game path so you can have 3 for each made up of aspects of the game and individual players.

The thread is named in honour of a popular WOOF Contributor, The Banker, who passed away on 22/04/2012 after a six month battle with cancer.

29-07-2016, 10:51 PM
3 Bankers, 3 Anchors

29-07-2016, 11:13 PM
B

Tom Boyd - Three goals despite awful delivery. Some good linking play, ruck work and defensive marks.
Daniel - At least he looked composed
Dahl - Great to have you back

A

Delivery into the forwardline. Garbage. Again.
Adcock & Hamling look like they need to be delisted. Jong & Stevens traded.
Injuries. Whichever god we upset, on behalf of this club, I am very deeply sorry.
Umpires. Selwood can't get paid holding the ball in obvious ones, Hunter gets paid one when he didn't have possession. Cheats.

29-07-2016, 11:30 PM
Bankers - Biggs was Good. Threw himself into far larger bodies and while his disposal was a bit erratic, he was under siege.
Luke D - Kamakazi
Caleb - Holds his head up high
Attitude of our boys. Big hearts and Geelong can't really celebrate that hard. They got a lesson by a bunch of kids on crutches.

A - Adcock's kicking.
- The long bomb - we have to try something different.
Decision making was atrocious into 50.

29-07-2016, 11:59 PM
B After a week of relentless blood in the water scrutiny Tom Boyd was excellent .
Luke D was sensational
The effort was excellent, under duress
A the injury list is just insane , and it's season ending
The kicking and bombing into 50 cost us constantly .
The Chris Scott arms out flat out whinging at every umpiring decision is tiresome

30-07-2016, 12:10 AM
Bankers - Biggs was Good. Threw himself into far larger bodies and while his disposal was a bit erratic, he was under siege.
Luke D - Kamakazi
Caleb - Holds his head up high
Attitude of our boys. Big hearts and Geelong can't really celebrate that hard. They got a lesson by a bunch of kids on crutches.

A - Adcock's kicking.
- The long bomb - we have to try something different.
Decision making was atrocious into 50.

I thought Adcock kicked the ball well tonight.

30-07-2016, 12:11 AM
Dahl - wonderful comeback game.
Tom Boyd - his best game to date. Showed a lot of character out there tonight.
Caleb Daniel - a four quarter effort.
Anchs
Poor delivery into forward line.
Injuries
Umpiring was inconsistent. Free against Hunter was obscene.
Our poor kicking into the forward 50.
Injuries again.

30-07-2016, 12:13 AM
I thought Adcock kicked the ball well tonight.

So did I. Had to look up his DE to make sure I wasn't just looking at just the good disposals. 77% DE.

30-07-2016, 12:14 AM
Dahl - wonderful comeback game.
Tom Boyd - his best game to date. Showed a lot of character out there tonight.
Caleb Daniel - a four quarter effort.
Anchs
Poor delivery into forward line.
Injuries
Umpiring was inconsistent. Free against Hunter was obscene.
Our poor kicking into the forward 50.
Injuries again.

agreed, good summary

30-07-2016, 12:19 AM

* Dahl's endeavour can't be faulted, we have really missed him

* Tom Boyd - excellent game

* Daniels composure and efficiency

* Dahl - 50% disposal efficiency and 6 clangers - but I forgive him

* Injuries - Hope Libba and Macrae don't miss games

* Second half scoring of 3.10 compared to first half 8.2

30-07-2016, 12:32 AM
Bankers-
- Tom Boyd. Did what he needed to do.
- Spirit. Didn't give up.
- Caleb Daniel. My main man! Little nugget is a gun.

Anchors-
- Poor defence (and attack tbh). I have no idea what we're gonna do when Morris hangs up the boots. I'm genuinely worried.
- GEELONG. F*** I HATE THEM. Why do they get so many effing home games in Geelong?! I hate the town, I hate the club, I hate the Geelong Advertiser, I hate the supporters! Ughghghghh.
- The Scott brothers. Oh my lordy, the hatred I feel.

30-07-2016, 12:37 AM
So did I. Had to look up his DE to make sure I wasn't just looking at just the good disposals. 77% DE.

There were a few instances where we just needed that last kick into 50 to hit a target. While stats give an overall picture, there were a few key moments when we had momentum he, being a senior player, wish he may have done better. These came late in the game too, so the legs would be heavy.
Going short out of defence, no worries.

30-07-2016, 01:44 AM
1. Much improved game from Tommy Boyd, His straight kicking a feature
2. Caleb Daniel again superb with the ball in and out of traffic
3. Impressed by Zaine's game. Prefer him to Hamling in the backline in the coming weeks.

1. Woody had an off night unfortunately in his 100th match
2. Chris Scott's exaggerated antics in the coaching box appealing for every free kick is matched only by his brother.
3. Ling should be banned from commenting on all Geelong games. His biased opinions are nauseating.

30-07-2016, 01:54 AM

Boyd showed what a player he will be. We need to let him be a forward far more than he is at the moment.

Even in a quiet game Bonti is out best player.

Even half fit Dahlhaus is in our best 5 players

We can't play a match without multiple serious injuries.

Our defence is as bad as we feared it might be

I don't see any upside in Hamling forward or back.

30-07-2016, 02:03 AM

1. Tom Boyd - Very good game.

2. Josh Dunkley - quality player

3. Dahl - good return

1. Hamling up forward - although he was around not very affective up there

2. Not taking our chances inside 50 - had many in there for little reward

3. Injuries - When will our luck change

30-07-2016, 08:46 AM
Banker
Boyd- playing like that will silence the haters

Roberts- Hawkins looked set for a big night but thought Fletch battled on manfully.

Effort- Cannot be faulted

Anchor
Roughead- he ain't giving us much atm. Even his defensive positioning was off tonight.

Wood- tried to do too much which actually lead to him not doing a lot.

Injuries- please *!*!*!*! off.

30-07-2016, 08:57 AM

Tom Boyd - his meaningful time forward was fruitful. His work down back was very solid and his rucking was manful albeit ineffective. Play him deeper, for longer.

Bevo - to get that sort of effort over 4 quarters in the circumstances was a testament to his capacity to get boys up and running. We didn't grind to a halt late, came out snarling and had times in the game where we could have landed really damaging blows.

Cordy - good hands, work rate and positioning. Terrific effort at both ends.

Stevens - gave us very little.

Libba's ankle and the opponent that fell across it. #FFS

favourable treatment of Selwood by the umpires, it's an unusual feature of footy. Hamling slaughtered by umpiring too.

30-07-2016, 09:03 AM
Looking at younger players only...
Dunkley was great for a first year player - on some occasions breaking even against much bigger opposition
Cordy worked into game after a quiet first quarter. Can see him getting more games in future
Daniel worked the hardest I have seen him without the ball. Liked what I saw
Boyd put himself fully into the contest and was the cleanest I have seen him with his possessions
Bont was the Bont....

Hamling looked a little besieged up forward (thought he was better when shifted back in last term)
Jong is a bit frustrating with his decision making - would rather that he stays down sometimes versus trying to outmark much taller opponents or going third man up - leaves us exposed at ground level when he does this
Smith applied enormous pressure but didn't get enough of the ball
Stringer looked like he wasn't 100% yet. Little impact.

30-07-2016, 10:19 AM
Bankers.

Tom Boyd - well done. Played terrific all over the park.

Dunkley - this kid is going to be a 200 gamer for sure. He does a lot of hard body work that first year players don't normally do. He's only going to get stronger too.

Dahl - thank God for Dahl. We have missed that quick thinking quick ball movement in tight. So glad to have him back.

1. Koby Stevens - he loves playing the lesser like teams but never shows up against quality opposition. He doesn't have a creative bone in his body.

2. Umpires - I have tried not to anchor the umps lately but seriously. There's 3 of them out there and they still can't get it right. How Selwood didn't get pinged for holding the ball and at least 3 occasions where he was chased down after trying to take on the world is unbelievable, and then to call holding the ball against Hunter when he doesn't have it and you award the free to the player who actually has the ball is just plain old cheating.

3. When Geelong beat us at Etihad, I said they'll never play a flukey arsey straight kickng pull goals from their rectums game like that again, well I was wrong. Why do they save their best for us. I watch them against other teams and they are like everyone else where some goals go in and some don't, but not when they play the bulldogs. I HATE Geelong so much.

30-07-2016, 11:47 AM
B: Winning the last quarter - great team effort; first half - only out scored by 1 goal - team effort all round.

A: team anchor for letting them get away in the 3rd quarter. We basically lost the match because of one poor quarter.

30-07-2016, 01:17 PM
There were a few instances where we just needed that last kick into 50 to hit a target. While stats give an overall picture, there were a few key moments when we had momentum he, being a senior player, wish he may have done better. These came late in the game too, so the legs would be heavy.
Going short out of defence, no worries.

But no-one did this effectively. From what I saw he kicked well 15-20 metres and 30-40 and looked creative. The most pleasing aspect of his game was his want to put his body on the line, exactly what we needed from him last night and we got it. That mark going back with the flight was first class. that's what we need from him.

Adcock as above. Played his best game for us. Wasn't a stand out but he finally returned some of the faith with a solid game.

Tom Boyd. Competed well in the air and looked for body contact when the ball hit the ground. A coming of age game for our future champ.

Caleb Daniel, close to our most creative player full stop.

Libba then Macrae you've got to be joking me I'm lost for words.

The Geelong crowd booing at any free kick against the opposition. They say that isolation breeds mental strangulation and sleepy hollow is just far enough away from the western oval to confirm that premise [with apologies to our regional supporters including me at one stage as I was born in Geelong].

This is extremely superficial but Tom Hawkins' faux porn star mo. It isn't even November, absolutely pathetic. Not only this their arrogance when they kick a goal, it's like '...oh sorry [smile] I thought I might take that shot I'll give you a go next time ok!' smugness. I hope we smash them in a final with a full team. A second semi would be nice.

30-07-2016, 01:24 PM
Bankers.

Tom Boyd - well done. Played terrific all over the park.

Dunkley - this kid is going to be a 200 gamer for sure. He does a lot of hard body work that first year players don't normally do. He's only going to get stronger too.

Dahl - thank God for Dahl. We have missed that quick thinking quick ball movement in tight. So glad to have him back.

1. Koby Stevens - he loves playing the lesser like teams but never shows up against quality opposition. He doesn't have a creative bone in his body.

2. Umpires - I have tried not to anchor the umps lately but seriously. There's 3 of them out there and they still can't get it right. How Selwood didn't get pinged for holding the ball and at least 3 occasions where he was chased down after trying to take on the world is unbelievable, and then to call holding the ball against Hunter when he doesn't have it and you award the free to the player who actually has the ball is just plain old cheating.

3. When Geelong beat us at Etihad, I said they'll never play a flukey arsey straight kickng pull goals from their rectums game like that again, well I was wrong. Why do they save their best for us. I watch them against other teams and they are like everyone else where some goals go in and some don't, but not when they play the bulldogs. I HATE Geelong so much.

On TV after the footy they had a show ( can't remember the name ) and Dunks was on it. Spoke really well and very appreciative of Luke, who came to his house in Kew to have dinner and welcome him to the club. Comes from a great footy family.

30-07-2016, 01:27 PM
But no-one did this effectively. From what I saw he kicked well 15-20 metres and 30-40 and looked creative. The most pleasing aspect of his game was his want to put his body on the line, exactly what we needed from him last night and we got it. That mark going back with the flight was first class. that's what we need from him.

Yes he was certainly under the pack a lot getting stuck into them. Great, and that's what you would expect from a former captain of the Lions, who are a side with a lot of pride in that aspect of their game. Anyway, it's great to see us getting something from him.

30-07-2016, 02:18 PM
bankers:
The Bont for firstly the sublime passage of play where he sold the dummy and then speared an exquisite kick to someone in the fwd line (its a blur who) and secondly for that moment where he showed mongrel that i didnt think he had in him towards the sook Selwood.

Dunkley - hard but also composed. A keeper

T Boyd - there has to be a strong mental inner belief to perform so well, in tough conditions, when everyone in town is talking about you in derogatory terms. I just heard Bevo call him a blue chip investment and as usual Bevo is right.

Geelong. The place. The club. The many ways they've broken our hearts over the years. The whining parochial supporters. The Scott brother petulance. I could go on. And on...

Umpires. The decision against Hunter summed it all up.

Duncan for the miserable cowardly attack on Caleb.

I cant even begin to mention the injuries. But I'd love to get in the time capsule and reset the game from the moment Libba went off. Even with the decimated team we fielded, I think if Libba, who was playing like a man possessed, had stayed fit, we'd have finally broken that Geelong curse to smiithereens.