View Full Version : Game Day Round 19 2016 - Geelong V Western Bulldogs

28-07-2016, 09:52 PM
Dogs by 2 points - we get over the line in a thriller down the Princes :)
First Goal: Dahl - he'll get our first - welcome back
Best On Ground: Bonti - what a star

Ill be watching from home. Any woofers venturing down the Princes? Good opportunity for woofers based down there to go although it would be still difficult to get in.

Go Bulldogs!

28-07-2016, 10:21 PM
Cats by 45
First goal Bont
BOG for us Daniel

28-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Cats by 52
FG Boyd
BOG Bonts

28-07-2016, 10:26 PM
Them by 30 pts
BOG Libba
1st goal Dickson
Crowd at the construction site 20,000

28-07-2016, 10:40 PM
Scraggers by 10 goals.
BOG Package
1st goal Package

28-07-2016, 11:11 PM
Love it SOS!

28-07-2016, 11:55 PM
Dogs by 10 points

First Goal Stringer

BOG: Hunter

29-07-2016, 12:03 AM
Cats by a million. No first goal.. BOG Libba.
Most jaded this week: marcov.

29-07-2016, 12:05 AM
Let's hope (so far BAD, SOS and myself) are right.

29-07-2016, 01:08 AM
Dogs by 1
1st Goal: Clay Smith
BOG: Libba (breaking all time tackling record)
Last Goal: TBoyd after massive pack mark 40 metres out with 5 seconds to play

29-07-2016, 01:41 AM
WB by 3
First Goal Libba
BOG Libba

29-07-2016, 08:57 AM
Cats by 30
FG Clay
BOG Dogs Tom Boyd

29-07-2016, 10:18 AM
Cats by 68
BOG Dahlhaus
First goal Stringer

29-07-2016, 10:19 AM
Just had a look at the difference in experience for this weeks game:

WB - ave. games played - 65.3 (this will be the least experienced team for the year, games against Geel & GWS we were around 70)
Geel - ave. games played - 115.8

100+ games:

WB - 5 (includes 3 players 100-110)
Geel - 11

Yeah.. It's going to be tough.

29-07-2016, 10:31 AM

WB - ave. games played - 65.3 (this will be the least experienced team for the year, games against Geel & GWS we were around 70)

100+ games:

Geel - 11

Bloody Hell- understatement saying it will be tough.

Bevo must tag Danger and Selwood to give us a chance. I know double tag, but what choice do we have. Jong and Picken should be given the job

29-07-2016, 10:49 AM
Bevo must tag Danger and Selwood to give us a chance. I know double tag, but what choice do we have. Jong and Picken should be given the job

I think our mids need to be accountable and stick to their structure (keep some numbers on the outside), but in terms of depth our midfield runs deeper.. They just all need to bring it and keep the simple errors to a minimum.

If our players don't show an appettite for the contest i'll be mightily pissed off.. We hit in all night long and see where it takes us, if we don't the lack of depth at either end will kill us.

29-07-2016, 10:58 AM
I think our mids need to be accountable and stick to their structure (keep some numbers on the outside), but in terms of depth our midfield runs deeper.. They just all need to bring it and keep the simple errors to a minimum.

If our players don't show an appettite for the contest i'll be mightily pissed off.. We hit in all night long and see where it takes us, if we don't the lack of depth at either end will kill us.

Yes agree. Last week our mids (except Bont and perhaps Picken) were smashed. We need a big game from your mate Stevens, Jong needs to contribute for 4 quarters and Libba needs to bring his best.

29-07-2016, 11:03 AM
A win would be nothing short of a miracle. At best we can hope for a slippery, dour, high stoppage, contested game where we dont get blown away, have zero injuries and can move on quickly to next week.

29-07-2016, 11:06 AM
We always have a crack.

We might not have the cattle out there this week, and we might not always get the 'method' right - but I have no doubt the effort will be there.

Also, I'm excited to have Stringer and Dahlhaus back in the side - who are arguably 2 of our best 5 players.

29-07-2016, 11:22 AM
Cats by 30 points
BOG Macrae
First goal Boyd

Any idea why the side went down to Geelong early?

Mantis, thanks for that snapshot. Re our experience, certainly makes it tough for an away game against another team vying for a top 4 spot. Is this the first time we've played without any of our 30+ brigade?

Great opportunity for a few blokes to put their names forward for finals selection, so hopefully everyone comes to play. It appears unlikely we'll win, but stranger things have happened when our backs are against the wall and if we can keep it close for long enough we have a few guys capable of dragging us over the line. Go Dogs!

29-07-2016, 11:24 AM
Mantis, thanks for that snapshot. Re our experience, certainly makes it tough for an away game against another team vying for a top 4 spot. Is this the first time we've played without any of our 30+ brigade?

Rd 23 v Brisbane last year - That went well. :rolleyes:

29-07-2016, 11:29 AM
Rd 23 v Brisbane last year - That went well. :rolleyes:

That's reassuring. Maybe it bodes well for Adcock to kick a small bag?

29-07-2016, 12:16 PM
Geelong have struggled against bottom 8 sides this season. Smart move by Bevo, feilding a bottom 8 quality side.

In all seriousness though Stringer has been training with 1 arm all week. Why are we risking him? Is Dahlhaus actually ready?

The most concerning thing is when Boyd is rucking. We have no presence at all down there. Taylor Lonergan Enright Mackie will pick us off all night.

29-07-2016, 05:00 PM
Any rain in Geelong? Pouring here

29-07-2016, 05:00 PM
Sigh. The stars have aligned for a real pantsing here.

If we can stay in the contest for the most part, or actually even conjure a win it'll be a significant statement of resolve that could help define the rest of our year.

Cats by 57
BOG : Macrae
First Major : Boyd

29-07-2016, 05:20 PM
Looking at Geelong's losses we obviously have to restrict their scoring and keep Dangerfield to less than 25 disposals.

Desc
Opponent
Venue
Result
Margin
Disposals
Goals

Round 2
Giants
StarTrack Oval
Loss 76-89
C. Enright 24
T. Hawkins 3

Round 9
Magpies
MCG
Loss 80-104
M. Duncan 25
T. Hawkins 4

Round 10
Blues
Etihad Stadium
Loss 85-104
M. Duncan 32
S. Motlop 2

Round 14
Saints
Etihad Stadium
Loss 90-93
J. Selwood 29
T. Hawkins 3

Round 16
Swans
Simonds Stadium
Loss 60-98
P. Dangerfield 34
T. Hawkins 2

They have lost to some teams out of the 8 plus to two teams in top 4. They are gettable.

29-07-2016, 05:26 PM

Might be the leveller we need?

If we crack in harder than them and the wet may nullify their talls and marking advantage.

29-07-2016, 05:43 PM

100+ games:

Geel - 11

much though i pray/hope to win these stats are quite frightening. Even more sobering, that experience deficit will be even more stark in our backline, which will be severely tested.

These injuries could not have come at a worse time

Anyway what i hope to see is a ferocious contest from the Dogs. A two point win, with Libba playing an absolute blinder on behalf of his fallen mate, and Dahl to remind us how much we've missed him. It's time we beat those smug @#@!* cats and this would be a win for the ages.

29-07-2016, 05:51 PM
much though i pray/hope to win these stats are quite frightening. Even more sobering, that experience deficit will be even more stark in our backline, which will be severely tested.

Roberts 30 games
Wood 100
Biggs 33
Hamling 14
JJ 55

Average 46

Adcock 212 pushes average to 74

But you know what they say about averages: You can have one hand in the freezer and one hand on the stove top and on average you have hit the right temperature. :D

29-07-2016, 05:52 PM

These injuries could not have come at a worse time

Anyway what i hope to see is a ferocious contest from the Dogs. A two point win, with Libba playing an absolute blinder on behalf of his fallen mate, and Dahl to remind us how much we've missed him. It's time we beat those smug @#@!* cats and this would be a win for the ages.

It would be a famous Bulldog win!

29-07-2016, 06:01 PM
Dogs by 8
FG-Dahl
BOG-Stringer

29-07-2016, 06:03 PM

Geelong got that rain front about 2-3 hours ago - nothing else expected down here. KP is one of the best draining grounds in the AFL

29-07-2016, 07:27 PM
I am going with the scenario that the Cats will have chalked this one down as a win and will therefore be having a night off while we come out totally committed to making amends for last weekend and invigorated by the 5 changes to the line up.

Dogs by 13 points
BOG: The Bont
1st G: The Package.

29-07-2016, 07:40 PM
This is the first time in a long time that I'm not looking not forward to the match.

I have a feeling that the mc have almost conceded this one and have rested a couple of sore bodies and at the same time getting match fitness into Dahl and the lesser Stringer. And with a rest into the older boys give it our best shot against Norf.

That said...

Dogs by 15
First goal - Stringer to set the tone
BOG - Libba to atone for his lack luster game last week.

Come on Doggies!

29-07-2016, 07:59 PM
I'm finding it hard to be positive about our prospects, but I have seen us win some pretty good games in the past two years and a win is possible.

What I find particularly galling about this fixture is that we have to play our home game against the Cats at Etihad, a ground at which the Cats are a tenant (albeit less so than in previous years), however Geelong get to play their home game against us at one of the most niche venues in the competition. What's even worse, is that they'll earn more from their home game drawing less than 35K to the game than we will drawing more than 40K to our home game.

If you could think of an illustration of how inherently unfair the competition is you needn't look further than this example.

Anyway, back to the game. We need to adjust to the shape of the ground quickly, and use diagonal forward movement towards the corridor at every opportunity. If we do then the ground opens up and we can score. If we don't we'll run out of space down the line and Geelong will do exactly what we should be doing against us.

29-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Im at home with my Doggies scarf on all ready to go. Lets hope for a great win.

29-07-2016, 08:30 PM
Dogs with the youngest side in round 19 according to @SamLandsberger by 10 pts in one of our best wins
First Goal....Boyd
BOG.....Libba

29-07-2016, 08:33 PM
Mark Maclure has gone with us on Fox Foty pre game.

29-07-2016, 08:36 PM
This is like 2015. I liked that year much better.

29-07-2016, 08:36 PM
Mark Maclure has gone with us on Fox Foty pre game.

I've always had a lot of time for Cellars and his musings. :)

29-07-2016, 08:39 PM
I've always had a lot of time for Cellars and his musings. :)

I thought he hated us, but he has changed this year. My wife likes listening to him on 774 because he is such a misery guts.:D

29-07-2016, 08:40 PM
Wet ground - so much for too many talls

29-07-2016, 08:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CohfmbqUsAQ2teX.jpg:large

29-07-2016, 08:54 PM
WOW!!!
Didn't give a goal up in the 1st minute of play.
Looking good.:)

29-07-2016, 08:56 PM
SH+t i love our first 5 minutes! Great signs

Dicko strikes!

Keep it going lads!

29-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Good signs early on.

29-07-2016, 09:00 PM
Our work rate cannot be faulted

29-07-2016, 09:01 PM
Tom with a free kick! A soft one at that! And a goal!

29-07-2016, 09:02 PM
Boooooyyyydddyyyyy!!! One for the haters, terrific kick.

29-07-2016, 09:02 PM
I just heard Damian Barrett whimper a little.

29-07-2016, 09:03 PM
Selwood is such a pet. How that wasn't holding the ball is beyond me.

29-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Hunter, Daniel I like how they have gone so far.

29-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Selwood is such a pet. How that wasn't holding the ball is beyond me.

And against Dunkley!

29-07-2016, 09:05 PM
*!*!*!*!ing soft frees.. *!*!*!*!!

Rubbish, Adcock only got ball. The stack is on.

That tackle from Clay was great.

29-07-2016, 09:07 PM
Bloody umpires!!

29-07-2016, 09:09 PM
I wish we could get some easier marks inside 50.

29-07-2016, 09:09 PM
Geelong's ground, Geelong umpires

29-07-2016, 09:10 PM
Easton Wood dreadfully unaware and it's cost us a goal.

I love Dunkley. A lot.

Well done Bonti and Dunks.

29-07-2016, 09:11 PM
Apparently picken has no back

29-07-2016, 09:12 PM
That was soooo smooth from Bont.

We are looking really shaky on the last line.

Crock of shite

Apparently picken has no back

At this rate the free kick count differential is going to be 20+.

29-07-2016, 09:13 PM
We are getting raped!

29-07-2016, 09:14 PM
Getting killed defensively.

29-07-2016, 09:14 PM
And on White Ribbon Day too (sorry)

29-07-2016, 09:17 PM
Dicko I've liked he he has gone about it.

Good finish Stringer.

29-07-2016, 09:18 PM
Dicko! Some of his second efforts have been good, and he's snagging a few.

29-07-2016, 09:18 PM
Gee it's hard not to love the effort we are putting in.

29-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Brilliance equal to the disgraceful umpiring.

29-07-2016, 09:19 PM
So good. Dahl is back!

29-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Getting smashed in the hit outs yet we are a point behind.

29-07-2016, 09:23 PM
So good. Dahl is back!

10 disposals already

29-07-2016, 09:23 PM
Very proud of our effort in that Qtr. No fear of the Cats.

29-07-2016, 09:24 PM
Really good effort... As expected look poor in defence, but our effort around the ball has been first rate.

For about 10min every 50:50 decision went against us, but we came again... Must keep at it!

29-07-2016, 09:24 PM
Great effort doggies. Once again up against the umpires in geelong.

29-07-2016, 09:25 PM
Enjoying the ride so far - go Doggies

That is a very solid first quarter. If we can get to half time in a similar position then the confidence & self-belief amongst the boys will be very high for the 2nd half

Very impressive first quarter. Shame we don't have a backline present.

Great return for Dahl and Boyd is showing a bit too.

Fab effort. Strong around the ball.

29-07-2016, 09:26 PM
10 disposals already

Very important.

So far for me

Bonti
Dickson
Dahl
Daniel

I reckon been quite good.

29-07-2016, 09:27 PM
The effort cannot be faulted in any way.

Picken's in the back, Selwood's non-holding the ball were the two that really annoyed me. Particularly the Selwood one, when the umpire just couldn't wait to ping us immediately after.

I'm ready to see Hamling in defence now. He's not an AFL forward - I've seen enough of him there already.

29-07-2016, 09:27 PM
Gee it's hard not to love the effort we are putting in.

It's been great

29-07-2016, 09:28 PM
Great to see Dicko back to his best that qtr.

29-07-2016, 09:28 PM
Great quarter boys. Let's keep the foot down. Love Clay Smith and Dahl IS BACK!

29-07-2016, 09:31 PM
The effort cannot be faulted in any way.

Picken's in the back, Selwood's non-holding the ball were the two that really annoyed me. Particularly the Selwood one, when the umpire just couldn't wait to ping us immediately after.

I'm ready to see Hamling in defence now. He's not an AFL forward - I've seen enough of him there already.

Agree on Hamling. Hasn't been very affective up there.

29-07-2016, 09:33 PM
Adcock is rubbish.

29-07-2016, 09:34 PM
Libba back as well

29-07-2016, 09:35 PM
Rough not giving us much

29-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Geelong's scoring efficiency is off the charts.

If Hamling isn't a defender, he's a delistee.

How many times and games will Geelong pull goals out of their arses against us

Geelong's scoring efficiency is off the charts.

I'd go with cruel. We work so hard and they pull them out of the arses.

29-07-2016, 09:37 PM
Good mark Zaine Cordy this quarter. We have had it more inside 50 yet still behind. Getting it up there not the problem but efficiency suspect.

29-07-2016, 09:37 PM
Tommy Boyd is having an excellent night with the umpires. Keep it up I say!

He's lead at the ball in that instance though, in limited space. His communication with Libba prior to the kick was excellent.

29-07-2016, 09:38 PM
Tommy Boyd is having an excellent night with the umpires. Keep it up I say!

Yes true. His intent once again has been very good.

29-07-2016, 09:38 PM
You gotta love carma frees for nothing coming our way.

29-07-2016, 09:40 PM
Umpiring has been great this qtr. ��

29-07-2016, 09:40 PM
Did we replace the umpires with members of our cheer squad?

29-07-2016, 09:41 PM
Super super efforts every where

If Hamling isn't a defender, he's a delistee.

Based on tonight's game?

Commentary bias is disgraceful.

Boyd playing well, contesting, being aggressive and nailing goals.

29-07-2016, 09:42 PM
I love the sound of an unhappy Geelong crowd.

29-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Bloody hell! Not Libba

29-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Our boys are angry. I like it.

29-07-2016, 09:44 PM
So it's Libba's turn for this week's injury

29-07-2016, 09:45 PM
Daniel will be great

29-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Bloody hell, now Libba. Whose God did we piss off?

29-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Geez we work hard.

29-07-2016, 09:49 PM
How have woofers rated Hunter's night so far?

Yep no luck still with injuries. Libba the latest.

Holding the ball? Without possession? FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!

The game's gone so far up its own *!*!*!*!ing arse it's not funny.

How can Hunter get caught high, then lose the ball and then get a free against him. It's a *!*!*!*!ing joke.

This is BS.

F the footy gods.

We can't take a *!*!*!*!ing trick.

These umpires are f#@&ed. Hunter didn't have the ball

Hunter gets pinged for HTB when he doesn't actually have the ball. And people wonder why the umpiring fraternity are disrespected. They deserve it, complete cretins.

29-07-2016, 09:50 PM
When can you tackle around the head and receive a free in front of goal

29-07-2016, 09:51 PM
That's just cheating. The umpire said it was next to you. Admitting that he didn't have the ball. That's cheating.

29-07-2016, 09:51 PM
Jong and Stevens useless

29-07-2016, 09:52 PM
What now jj limping. FFS!

29-07-2016, 09:53 PM
Jong and Stevens useless

Add Adcock & Hamling.

29-07-2016, 09:55 PM
Biggs has been ok

29-07-2016, 09:55 PM
Has Stevens touched it. Never shows up against good teams

29-07-2016, 09:58 PM
How in hell is that not a free kick or mark to Hamling? Front on contact has to be paid if the player is not facking the footy?

29-07-2016, 09:59 PM
Looked like a mark to Hamling to me

29-07-2016, 09:59 PM
Hamling is horrible up forward. That dropped mark just stamped him. He didn't get much heat he should have marked it.

29-07-2016, 10:00 PM
Soccer style: Clay Smith! Back!

29-07-2016, 10:01 PM
Add Adcock & Hamling.

Adcock has been ok.

Cracking effort dogs!

Has Hamling had a possession?

So rapt with that first half, they're showing such heart. Gutted about Libba - but getting used to this injury a week crap.

29-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Stringer picking fights but should be leading for the footy.

I like his aggression though. He's not taking shit from these scumbags.

29-07-2016, 10:03 PM
Has Stevens touched it. Never shows up against good teams

Yep. Never.

Trade bait.

How are we this close against all the cheating. Hawkins given a non free and Hamling front on. Among others. I get 50/50s, but every one and pinging Hunter for holding it when the umpire said he didn't have it. I mean FFS. Go boys, fight the system!!!!

We are a very gutsy, albeit injury, accident, calamity prone and disorganised footy side.

This has been an excellent effort thus far. Being a Bulldogs supporter is never dull. Torturous sure, but never dull.

Sure Hamiling hasn't been great but geez he is in contests against 2 or 3 defenders most times and is at least bringing the ball to ground.

Stringer picking fights but should be leading for the footy.

I like his aggression though. He's not taking shit from these scumbags.

I'd like to think he played a hand in that last goal. While they were trying to rough him up, went out the back.

Been around up there but just isn't doing enough for mine. Tom has had a good game.

Yep. Never.

Trade bait.

Couldn't agree more.

29-07-2016, 10:04 PM

Yes he had a mark and kick that led to the first goal.

29-07-2016, 10:05 PM
I don't quite get the negativity and the singling out of some players because we pushing back on these pricks and I think that is impressive.

We just need to keep the scoreboard ticking over and you never know, a 10 minutes burst of scintillating play and we put some doubts in the mind of the boys from sleepy hollow.

Hamling is horrible up forward. That dropped mark just stamped him. He didn't get much heat he should have marked it.

I thought he marked it and it was front on contact that made him spill it. If he was wearing his old Geelong jumper it would of been a mark and free!

Great first half. Injury gods hate us.

Hamling competing pretty well up forward.. Geelong slogged us last time with their tall defenders, at least he is keeping them honest.

Need a big 2nd half from the likes of Stevens, Jong and Smith.

Gutted about Libba.. He was killing it.

29-07-2016, 10:06 PM
I'm loving my long term love Zaine. Great courageous mark. And when the going gets rough, I fear what he will do to an opponent under a high ball.

29-07-2016, 10:07 PM
Yep. Never.

Trade bait.

Add in Jong

29-07-2016, 10:08 PM
Hamling competing pretty well up forward.. Geelong slogged us last time with their tall defenders, at least he is keeping them honest.

Hamling should have been paid that last mark. Was knocked out of his arms.

I'd like to think he played a hand in that last goal. While they were trying to rough him up, went out the back.

Yeah, true. I hope we don't need him to do that for the next 10 goals though, he'll end up with 6 weeks rubbed out.

Tremendous effort against the odds.
Libba a big loss. Happy with Tom Boyd's game. Great to have Dahlhaus back.
Dunkley has done very well.Huge test in the third term but you have to admire our endeavour which has been first class.

10 disposals between them - just not got enough at this level

29-07-2016, 10:10 PM
Duncan's a man for all men, isn't he. What a tough effort slinging the smallest man to play senior footy in about twenty years when he didn't have the footy.

What a guy.

I'm loving my long term love Zaine. Great courageous mark. And when the going gets rough, I fear what he will do to an opponent under a high ball.

Agree BT Zaine looks the good. Seems to have bulked up a bot as well. Certainly more solid than his brother, but so to is a praying mantis.

I don't quite get the negativity and the singling out of some players because we pushing back on these pricks and I think that is impressive.

We just need to keep the scoreboard ticking over and you never know, a 10 minutes burst of scintillating play and we put some doubts in the mind of the boys from sleepy hollow.

Agree, I love our game and am so pleased with our inside work. It's a bit frustrating to see it coming into the 50 time and time again for little reward but that's where we are at injury wise. I love Bont standing over Selwood on his own dungheap. Great work Bont.

It's like watching a street fighter slug it out with a boxer. And very often the street fighter can win, keep it up laps.

29-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Dunkley has done very well.Huge test in the third term but you have to admire our endeavour which has been first class.

Two goals. Clutch mark 30m out from defensive goal with a couple of minutes to go. Decent rucking minutes. I think Cam Mooney's column is the club should give him some of his self forfeited money back.

29-07-2016, 10:11 PM
10 disposals between them - just not got enough at this level

14 - 5,5 & 4.. But yeah not enough.

29-07-2016, 10:12 PM
We are well in this game despite all the things that have been pointed out. We need to keep the pressure on them. The Bont is really showing lesdership. I want to see Stringer explode and Stevens needs to get a serve. He's much better than he's shown so far. Go Dogs. Keep giving it to them especially Selwood.

29-07-2016, 10:13 PM

Couldn't agree more.

29-07-2016, 10:13 PM
Agree BT Zaine looks the good. Seems to have bulked up a bot as well. Certainly more solid than his brother, but so to is a praying mantis.

I like the way he goes the punch, but also took a ripper mark

29-07-2016, 10:15 PM
Agree, I love our game and am so pleased with our inside work. It's a bit frustrating to see it coming into the 50 time and time again for little reward but that's where we are at injury wise. I love Bont standing over Selwood on his own dungheap. Great work Bont.

It's like watching a street fighter slug it out with a boxer. And very often the street fighter can win, keep it up laps.

Shades of Remember the Titans. "You better get comfortable down there, real comfortable"

29-07-2016, 10:15 PM
Jong and Smith playing negative roles on the Geelong midfield. Some people need to watch the fricken game more closely instead of looking at stats.

Great half from the dogs. If we can just get fair go with umps and some luck with injury gods, we are right in this. Need to maintain the pressure.

29-07-2016, 10:17 PM
14 - 5,5 & 4.. But yeah not enough.

We need The Bont to fire up as well.

29-07-2016, 10:17 PM
Both of our brawling boys have been good today.

Tom has been one of our most influential, whilst Zaine has contested really well in the air.

29-07-2016, 10:18 PM
Brave performance so far . The injuries have effectively killed off our year .

29-07-2016, 10:18 PM
Jong and Smith playing negative roles on the Geelong midfield. Some people need to watch the fricken game more closely instead of looking at stats.

Great half from the dogs. If we can just get fair go with umps and some luck with injury gods, we are right in this. Need to maintain the pressure.

Are they running through on Selwood?

29-07-2016, 10:19 PM
I thought Smith's 1st quarter tackle on Selwood set the scene for a great first half.
Smith is tougher than any 9 of the handbags.
Chris Scott maintains that ANY decision against the handbags is an act of treason :)

29-07-2016, 10:19 PM
How good has Tom Boyd been , seriously that 1st qtr he killed it ,, I wish we played Minson in ruck Roughead back and Boyd stayed forward.
Just gives the opposition more to worry about with stringer and Dickson ..can't wait for next year with Crameri and Hurley :-) . Half time and can't be much more prouder of the boys

29-07-2016, 10:20 PM
Why oh why did the footy gods take Morris away. He would have been huge tonight.

29-07-2016, 10:21 PM
Can we sub Ollie Liberatore in. He's already a good size in the rooms with his dad and brother.

29-07-2016, 10:22 PM

Agree. Jong and Smith have been in every pack.

29-07-2016, 10:26 PM
Cordy forward, I thought he'd been pretty good in the back half

29-07-2016, 10:26 PM
Dunkley been good for mine. Bonti a chance to score but missed from a very tough angle.

29-07-2016, 10:31 PM
How good has Tom Boyd been , seriously that 1st qtr he killed it ,, I wish we played Minson in ruck Roughead back and Boyd stayed forward.
Just gives the opposition more to worry about with stringer and Dickson ..can't wait for next year with Crameri and Hurley :-) . Half time and can't be much more prouder of the boys

I agree. We've struggled for tall cover in the backline.

29-07-2016, 10:31 PM
Gotta take our chances!

Always happens, misses kill you.

29-07-2016, 10:32 PM
Jong really should have nailed his goal to open the third.

As per standard operating procedure we dominate inside 50, cant kick a goal, Geelong go inside 50 and goal.

Why do Geelong kick so so straight when they play us. Pisses me off so much

Gotta take our chances!

Always happens, misses kill you.

So frustrating

29-07-2016, 10:35 PM
Dominate everything but the scoreboard. Let them have repeat goals. Repeat.

29-07-2016, 10:36 PM
Tackling pressure has been excellent

29-07-2016, 10:38 PM
Jeez I'm sick of being "gallant".

29-07-2016, 10:40 PM
If Boyd goes for all his marks with his fully extended like that he'll draw plenty of frees for chopping the arms. Well done Tom.

29-07-2016, 10:40 PM
Is Bartel not even pretending he's not a wanker these days?

29-07-2016, 10:42 PM
A goal here now would be great

29-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Jake Stringer is taking the piss. He really is.

29-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Cordy forward, I thought he'd been pretty good in the back half

I think its more reflective of Hamling rather than Cordy.

29-07-2016, 10:45 PM
That really hurts

Is there a stat, third man up hit out to disadvantage. If so, we win it every week.

Every loose ball goes straight to them.. It's crazy.

I really love Jack, but how he could possibly think running away from a contest with the footy at half pace at this level is acceptable is beyond me.

29-07-2016, 10:46 PM
I think its more reflective of Hamling rather than Cordy.

Hamling is a liability.

29-07-2016, 10:47 PM
Is there a stat, third man up hit out to disadvantage. If so, we win it every week.

Bont tapped it straight to his opponent... Stupid.

Watching Dangerfield with the footy is infuriating

Under siege. Really missing Libba.
But if we keep slugging it out like this we won't make it easy for them and can keep ourselves in it.
For love or money cannot get a lead mark into 50.
Knowing where we are with injuries am loving the effort of Picken, Clay Smith, Jong. They are not playing with much flow but the cats are a very good team.

29-07-2016, 10:48 PM
We make duds look good

29-07-2016, 10:49 PM
BT needs to get Hamling name right. It's not 'Hamlin'. Not bulldogtragic Brian Taylor.

29-07-2016, 10:50 PM
Wish this hand bagging bunch of absolute flogs would get decimated by injury.

29-07-2016, 10:51 PM
I stick to Minson should have played in ruck at least have some height in forward line !

29-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Yeah Dangerflog

29-07-2016, 10:52 PM
If we had of hit the scoreboard early that qtr we would be in this. Unfortunately these injuries, and their class players, are killing us. As much as I hate them Dangerfield and Motlop just know when to step up.

Makes a difference when you have a full squad to pick from.

Would love to play this mob with something like a full team.

If the game is too quick for Mindon,mite way too fast for Adcock. I've not seen the leadership, quick thinking or elite disposal. He's cooked and really Webb would've provided more. I just don't see what his big fans see in him at this level.

29-07-2016, 10:53 PM
It's over. Nothing up forward. Boyd rucking most of the game now, not sure what is wrong with Roughie. A real strong case for a durable Minson to play from here on out.

29-07-2016, 10:54 PM
Really so disappointed injury has ruined what is a first class effort by the boys. At some point if you keep on losing critical players for long periods of time, week in week out it just becomes impossible.

Bloody hell, now Libba. Whose God did we piss off?

I'm been convinced for years there isn't one now I know for sure

Makes a difference when you have a full squad to pick from.

Would love to play this mob with something like a full team.

But I love the way we are standing up. Not in a foolish bravado way like Port, but when they whack us, we whack them back and get on with it. It's not over the top, but miles ahead of the McCartney days. No disrespect to Macca but that's where we were when he took over. Very easily pushed around.

29-07-2016, 10:55 PM
Need to fight it out.. Don't deserve a flogging, but sadly it seems inevitable.

Make that 2 injuries every week

I can see this blowing out big time and it makes me sick because we have played alright. They seriously pull goals out of nowhere. The ball bounces their way as well. I give up.

We have to fight this out. We haven't been a team that folds under Bevo so we cannot start now.

Jack Mac with hammy now! Ffs

29-07-2016, 10:56 PM
We simply have to take every chance we get early on and then keep working hard. Keep the faith.

29-07-2016, 10:56 PM
Now McRae injured FFS.

29-07-2016, 10:57 PM
All I asked for was no injuries. Couldn't even get that.

29-07-2016, 10:57 PM
Lin Jong! Good on you. Just the start we needed.

29-07-2016, 10:58 PM
Pretty soon it will be the whole VFL side in the team

29-07-2016, 10:58 PM
Good all round goal to set up the last quarter. Good finish from Jong too.

29-07-2016, 10:59 PM
Fletcher Roberts......

29-07-2016, 11:01 PM
I'm a bit critical of Boyd's defensive effort. I don't mind he doesn't take the big grab all the time but he must chase.

29-07-2016, 11:02 PM
Hamling is dumb.

29-07-2016, 11:02 PM
Need some intensity form Cordy and Boyd

29-07-2016, 11:03 PM
We are the DUMBEST football team going forward I've watched.

29-07-2016, 11:03 PM
Admire Roberts efforts but Hawkins has rag dolled him all night

29-07-2016, 11:05 PM
*!*!*!*! we are dumb. Dumb. Dumb.

29-07-2016, 11:05 PM
A potato like Stanley kicks 5... FMD!

29-07-2016, 11:06 PM

Infuriating. He's a dead set spud.

Wood has been so poor tonight.

29-07-2016, 11:06 PM

It's like we are playing Aus kick kids V those tall marking fwds. Our mids have done a great effort to keep it in our half. We get respect but no points.

29-07-2016, 11:07 PM
How good will we be when we know how to deliver the ball into the fwd 50

29-07-2016, 11:08 PM
Ok I nailed it .. Our forward line isn't the problem it's our delivery into it is trash real trash . Bomb it to Boyd with two experienced talls will work. Seriously it hasn't changed all year !

29-07-2016, 11:08 PM
How good will we be when we know how to deliver the ball into the fwd 50

What makes you so sure that day will ever come?

29-07-2016, 11:09 PM
Admire Roberts efforts but Hawkins has rag dolled him all night

Like most key forwards do.

On the plus side, have liked Dunkley's game a lot.

29-07-2016, 11:10 PM
Ok I nailed it .. Our forward line isn't the problem it's our delivery into it is trash real trash . Bomb it to Boyd with two experienced talls will work. Seriously it hasn't changed all year !

Yep something really needs to change we get in there but don't do enough.

29-07-2016, 11:10 PM
Can't stand Geelong. Hard to watch this. We've been brave.

29-07-2016, 11:12 PM
I'm furious we are not doing the easy things. 9 minutes to back. Geelong soak up the time.

Frustrating to watch

Look at our backline - seriously under manned. The fact we are only behind by 25 is a credit to the team

29-07-2016, 11:13 PM
Can't fault our application, but if Geelong was offered a fixture where they could play us in every round, for ever, they'd take it and run.

Forgotten what it feels like to beat these pricks.

29-07-2016, 11:14 PM
Look at our backline - seriously under manned. The fact we are only behind by 25 is a credit to the team

Adcock ....wth

Cordy - Great effort fella and love the little fist pump. Well done.

Can you believe how hard we are going despite the fact we are done for? Classic and respect.

We've continually bombed the ball forward aimlessly
We miss the hit up of Crameri

If this is Hawthorns greatest challenger , the seasons over

29-07-2016, 11:15 PM
Still time!!

29-07-2016, 11:15 PM
Good to see Zaine kick his first.

BT doing his best Randy Marsh impersonation right now I bet........ :)

29-07-2016, 11:16 PM
Is that Cordy's first AFL goal?

Can we kick 4 in 6 mins

Zain's Cordy congratulations. First career goal. BT would be like that one.

Cordy has looked good tonight

29-07-2016, 11:17 PM
Has Dickson touched the ball in the 2nd half?

29-07-2016, 11:17 PM
Good to see Zaine kick his first.

BT doing his best Randy Marsh impersonation right now I bet........ :)

Oh yeah. Oh yeah. That's so hot.