View Full Version : Game Day AFL Finals Week 2 Semi Final - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs

14-09-2016, 03:42 PM
Margin: Dogs by 27 points - we are going to win and go to a prelim final
First Goal: Tom Boyd to get our first
Best On Ground: JJ
Crowd: 77,540

Go the Mighty Bulldogs!!

14-09-2016, 06:01 PM
Dogs by 15 points
First Goal; Toby McLean from a head high free.
BOG: Bonti.
Attendance: 83,333.

14-09-2016, 06:08 PM
Dogs by: 21
First Goal: Clay
BOG: Dahl
Attendance 78,500

14-09-2016, 06:15 PM
Dogs by 15 points
First Goal; Toby McLean from a head high free.
BOG: Bonti.
Attendance: 83,333.

Is that a comfortable, ahead all day, Hawks kick a few late ones to make it respectable 15 points, or a heart thumping, chasing tail all game, only hit the lead in the last 3 minutes 15 points?

I need to know.

14-09-2016, 06:16 PM
Dogs by 62
FG-Dahl
BOG-Libba

14-09-2016, 06:16 PM
Is that a comfortable, ahead all day, Hawks kick a few late ones to make it respectable 15 points, or a heart thumping, chasing tail all game, only hit the lead in the last 3 minutes 15 points?

I need to know.

Comrade....you barrack for the bulldogs.

Do you honestly think that there is any chance we are having an easy night as supporters?

I'd be stretching pre-game if I was you....

14-09-2016, 06:26 PM
Dogs by a narrow margin
First Goal - Webb
BOG - the Bont (proves to be the diff between winning and losing regardless of the head high bump from Hodge and later Lewis)
Crowd - big (I'm including myself)

14-09-2016, 06:28 PM
Just added my crowd prediction as well.

14-09-2016, 06:29 PM
Dogs by a narrow margin
First Goal - Webb
BOG - the Bont (proves to be the diff between winning and losing regardless of the head high bump from Hodge and later Lewis)
Crowd - big (I'm including myself)

Will he play? Would be huge for Lukas.

14-09-2016, 06:30 PM

Dogs - by 33
FG & BOG - Tom Boyd (6 Goals)

14-09-2016, 06:32 PM
Dogs - by 33
FG & BOG - Tom Boyd (6 Goals)

Hoping for a big game from Tom. He did heaps of good things last week. I hope Stringer has a night out as well. He was another that was quite ok last week.

14-09-2016, 06:32 PM
Dogs by 62
FG-Dahl
BOG-Libba

That would be sweet

14-09-2016, 06:36 PM

If the choice is from 3 ( Smith, Webb, McLean), I think the closest 'like for like' for Jong is Webb having watched his VFL games this season and how he has been asked to play.

I do have a big opinion of Webb however which may influence my comments...(Love McLean as well, but hasn't played enough footy in the last part of the season)

14-09-2016, 10:33 PM
WB by 31, 5 goals up all night
First Goal Dickson
BOG Bont
Crowd 77,654

15-09-2016, 06:03 PM
If the choice is from 3 ( Smith, Webb, McLean), I think the closest 'like for like' for Jong is Webb having watched his VFL games this season and how he has been asked to play.

I do have a big opinion of Webb however which may influence my comments...(Love McLean as well, but hasn't played enough footy in the last part of the season)

Will see what the MC does tonight.

16-09-2016, 01:47 PM
Interesting stat, since 2010 Hawthorn are:

112-4 when they score >92
16-39 when they score <92

I think I mentioned this before we played them earlier in the year.. They kicked 93 in that game.

16-09-2016, 01:50 PM
Dogs by 13 points
First goal Clay Smith
BOG Dahlhaus
Crowd 81,231

16-09-2016, 03:16 PM
Scrays by 4 points.
BOG : Dahlhaus
First Major : Stringer

See ya Hawks, there's the door.

16-09-2016, 03:18 PM
What's the weather looking like in Melbourne?

16-09-2016, 03:22 PM
What's the weather looking like in Melbourne?

Cloudy, 5% chance of rain. hasn't rained today at all

16-09-2016, 03:28 PM
Bevo is ready to go:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CscGoOJUEAAqnjr.jpg:large

16-09-2016, 03:30 PM
Sicily doppelganger on the left makes that snap even better.

16-09-2016, 03:32 PM
I'm too nervous to do anything.

Can't work.
Can't eat.
Can't drink.
Can't think.

I think I'm going to be sick.

16-09-2016, 03:35 PM
I'm too nervous to do anything.

Can't work.
Can't eat.
Can't drink.
Can't think.

I think I'm going to be sick.

Yep. I've gone from nervous stomach churning now to nausea.

16-09-2016, 03:36 PM
Dogs by 17 points.
BOG : Stringer - stage is set
First Major : Tory Dickson

16-09-2016, 03:37 PM
Yep. I've gone from nervous stomach churning now to nausea.

Im ok but yeah feeling more nervous but excited still at the same time. Very much reminds me of the days when i was doing exams.

16-09-2016, 03:38 PM
Dogs by 17 points.
BOG : Stringer - stage is set
First Major : Tory Dickson

Stringer off the leash tonight to have a cracker.

16-09-2016, 03:39 PM
Sicily doppelganger on the left makes that snap even better.

The muscles - wow

16-09-2016, 03:43 PM
About to knock off work and head into town.

Just want to wish all my fellow Scraggers every ounce of luck and joy tonight and into the next few weeks. We're a great Club, good people and deserve every success that comes our way on the back of hard work, loyalty and doing what needs to be to done. Get around the boys and our Club tonight, be loud and lets shake the footy world to its core. Their time is done. Its over. Tonight we take another step towards The Day.

16-09-2016, 04:50 PM
Bevo is ready to go:

We really should have had that on T-shirts for the game tonight.

16-09-2016, 04:52 PM
We really should have had that on T-shirts for the game tonight.

Its a ripper. That's Andy Collins who now coaches Willy. Looks like his under pants turned the colour of the rest of the uniform

16-09-2016, 04:56 PM
Dogs by 7 points.
BOG : Daniel
First Major : Dickson

16-09-2016, 06:57 PM
Went to an event centre last night for my pups school concert, all the schools grades made up a play or show and acted it out. They have been working on it most of the year, sitting amongst a big crowd watching kids run around as Pokemon and Olympics etc etc I was trying to stay focused out of nowhere all of a sudden in the middle of all that the speakers start pumping out Sons of the West and the crowd roared and sung along.

Up until then I was nervous as hell, I took it as a sign, Dare 2 Dream.

Dogs by 21 points.

16-09-2016, 07:50 PM
Basked in the glory of the eagles thumping for most if the week but have been sick with nerves today.
Dogs by 8
BOG libbas
First goal clay.

Go dogs!

16-09-2016, 07:53 PM
Dogs by 37
BOG Stringer
First Goal Dahlhaus

16-09-2016, 08:23 PM
Just sunk two pints with my mum. Nervous is an understatement.

16-09-2016, 08:29 PM
Dogs by 18
BOG- Dahlhaus
First goal- Dickson

16-09-2016, 08:30 PM
20 mins until the bounce.

Go well, my fellow WOOFers. Go well.

16-09-2016, 08:30 PM
Bevo is ready to go:

That's a terrible photoshop. Looks like they stuck 2 forearms together.

No one embellishes Bevo's guns but Bevo! :D

16-09-2016, 08:38 PM
Jesus who okayed the headdress in the cheer squad? Might as well have worn blackface

16-09-2016, 08:40 PM
Dogs by any margin (please).

As for the rest, it just doesn't matter; just as long as we win.

16-09-2016, 08:47 PM
Hope the crowd size doesn't scare us

16-09-2016, 09:10 PM
Hope three easy shots missed doesn't haunt us.

16-09-2016, 09:11 PM
Omg Boyd and Dalhaus .. Bloody terrible shell shock .

16-09-2016, 09:12 PM
Stage fright.

16-09-2016, 09:22 PM
Not sure how that goal was overturned. A part from cheating.

16-09-2016, 09:24 PM

Hodge is now umpiring and they do what he says !

16-09-2016, 09:24 PM
We are all livid here in M4, I've lost my voice already, feel like smashing those f;$&;; Hawks supporters in M5

16-09-2016, 09:25 PM
Not a great start. Looked nervous and made some silly error. Dicko's howler summed it up. Still the deficit is small and hopefully we can settle this quarter. Neither team playing well so it's not like they have been superb that quarter.

16-09-2016, 09:25 PM
Tory Dickson eh.....

Hodgey!!!!!

Go Sportsball!

16-09-2016, 09:26 PM

Reviee every goal apparently. Looked touched unfortunately.

We are up for this game. Let's keep the foot down.

Bit of a shell shocked first qtr. We should be leading. Still reckon we will get them.

16-09-2016, 09:27 PM
Reviee every goal apparently. Looked touched unfortunately.

I thought it was as much touched as Poppy's goal/poster review.

16-09-2016, 09:40 PM
What the hell is that by Dahlhaus. Blind kick to the front of there 30m line.

16-09-2016, 09:41 PM
Can't beat Hawks & umpires. Just too big a task.

16-09-2016, 09:42 PM
What the hell is that by Dahlhaus. Blind kick to the front of there 30m line.

In the corridor too.

16-09-2016, 09:48 PM
Ffs!

16-09-2016, 09:48 PM
Much cleaner and more composed. Pretty ugly quarter so far apart from a 5 minute spurt. Got to stop getting lost in the moment.

16-09-2016, 09:53 PM
Just like that we're back.

16-09-2016, 09:56 PM
I'm so glad it's silent in here. It means everyone is at the ground. C'mon boys.

16-09-2016, 10:00 PM
What a half. Great spirit. Should be in front, so another half like this and accurate kicking please!!!!

16-09-2016, 10:00 PM
Dickson FFS

16-09-2016, 10:01 PM
Dickson FFS

Owes the team a few...

16-09-2016, 10:02 PM
Dickson FFS

Officially in his head now. Probably should have gone back after the siren sounded. 1 point down after a pretty ordinary 10 - 15 minutes. I'll take it.

16-09-2016, 10:03 PM
Officially in his head now. Probably should have gone back after the siren sounded. 1 point down after a pretty ordinary 10 - 15 minutes. I'll take it.

We need to make it 10.6 next half. Do it and we are in it to our eyeballs.

16-09-2016, 10:04 PM
Proud of Dunkley, outside of his two misses. He's a bonafide Mr September on the 6 quarters he's played in finals.

16-09-2016, 10:05 PM
Right in this Hawks running out is steam

16-09-2016, 10:06 PM
We need to deprive them of he ball.

16-09-2016, 10:07 PM
Here sitting behind Hawks cheer squad goals. Had 2 blues already. Above my weekly average already

16-09-2016, 10:08 PM
I pray we don't end up kicking ourselves out of this ala past finals performances.

Good fight back late. We looked just about gone, but far from confident right now.

16-09-2016, 10:10 PM
Momentum all our way. Hawks look shot. We will run over them this half.

16-09-2016, 10:11 PM
What an intriguing half of football. At points I switched from thinking we were in deep trouble to feeling as if we were really getting on top.
The first 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter are going to be fierce and pivotal to the outcome. I don't doubt our courage and ability to match it under pressure. More I just hope, as you TBB, that our poor goal-kicking doesn't bite us hard.

16-09-2016, 10:13 PM
At the game. Heart about to explode.

16-09-2016, 10:16 PM
At the game. Heart about to explode.

Hang in there mate.

16-09-2016, 10:16 PM
Clay Smith absolutely killing it both ways. 2 goals and 7 tackles.
Tom Boyd really having a dip too, 5 tackles & 3 one %er's.

16-09-2016, 10:18 PM
More of the same intensity Dogs and start kicking straight. Please, for once, just bury them. We are the better team. They are ripe for the taking.

16-09-2016, 10:18 PM
And the Bont just continues to make things happen for us.

16-09-2016, 10:29 PM
Ok. We're 1 all now on reviews.

16-09-2016, 10:34 PM
Cordy is not AFl standard

Roscoe_G
16-09-2016, 10:52 PM
Great quarter! Game over!!

16-09-2016, 10:52 PM
OMG. C'mon boys lets keep on rolling!

16-09-2016, 10:53 PM

Rubbish. but comes on boys, one quarter boys.

16-09-2016, 10:54 PM
So jealous I couldn't make tonight. It sounds like 200,000 doggies supporters are there.

Macrae a star

Yeah i couldnt see Cordy in AFI. He doesnt seem much of an emo.

You have really got to love these boys.

16-09-2016, 10:56 PM
So jealous I couldn't make tonight. It sounds like 200,000 doggies supporters are there.

Same mate. I've been burnt so many times though. Still think we're nowhere near there yet. Get the first goal and my heart rate may drop a bit

16-09-2016, 10:58 PM
We are going to win this - so just relax.

16-09-2016, 11:00 PM
Nope. Heart rate increased. C'mon!!!!!!!

16-09-2016, 11:00 PM
Bontempelli - Dickooooo!

16-09-2016, 11:05 PM
Picken - you beauty!

16-09-2016, 11:07 PM
Oh my gosh. Golly, golly gosh.

16-09-2016, 11:08 PM
Are we relaxed now?

16-09-2016, 11:18 PM
Are we relaxed now?

no just cant

16-09-2016, 11:19 PM
Come on. Lets get another and stop this.

Roscoe_G
16-09-2016, 11:28 PM
Well done Bulldogs. The flag beckons ...

16-09-2016, 11:31 PM
We need to make it 10.6 next half. Do it and we are in it to our eyeballs.

10.1 in the second half!!

16-09-2016, 11:32 PM
So how good was that ?

16-09-2016, 11:34 PM
A. Mazing.

16-09-2016, 11:35 PM
What a magnificent performance. I feel blessed to barrack for the mighty Western Bulldogs. 87,000 at the game. Must have been immense. I was whooping and screaming over here I can tell you. A complete team performance. I'm a happy Bulldog.

16-09-2016, 11:37 PM
Well done Bulldogs. The flag beckons ...

Thanks Roscoe, come along for the ride

16-09-2016, 11:38 PM
That was awesome

Roscoe_G
16-09-2016, 11:41 PM
Thanks Roscoe, come along for the ride

Have to ask .... all credit certainly to Bevo, but how would Brendan McCartney be feeling tonight?

16-09-2016, 11:44 PM
wow brilliant. We were amazing. Absolutely smashed them.

16-09-2016, 11:45 PM
Ok missed this one for family reasons but not going to miss next week. What is the plan?

16-09-2016, 11:54 PM
When do tickets go on sale?

16-09-2016, 11:56 PM
Ok missed this one for family reasons but not going to miss next week. What is the plan?

Club is offering $200 return bus trips on Monday.

16-09-2016, 11:58 PM
I want 50000 dogs fans to show up at Spotless and stick it up the AFEL

17-09-2016, 12:01 AM
I am stunned.

17-09-2016, 12:14 AM
You know what I love doing after a win like that? Going back to the start of this thread and reading it through blow by blow. Now to get a beer and roll the tape again. #whatagame

17-09-2016, 12:16 AM
What a great game , we came back hard in the second quarter and smashed them in the third. Picken just tough as nails and so good one on one. love Clays tackling and pressure and his mark in third quarter was awesome. Roughead had a good game and was cheated a few terrible centre bounce decisions. Caleb so clean in the stoppages. Bonts is a superstar and if Josh Dunkley can improve is kicking we have a another superstar, youngest player on the ground and he just seemed to find the ball in the first half . So many positives with such a young team

17-09-2016, 12:35 AM
Well, that was my first finals win in the stands. The hawk supporters in my vicinity hoping it's my last.

Said it to my mates tonight, but I hope that loss leaves a 30 year scar in their memory.

Brilliant.

I love this club.

17-09-2016, 12:44 AM
We ended their dream - sad that.

17-09-2016, 12:47 AM
I am so proud of this group of young men.

After Breust missed that goal in the second I breathed a sigh of relief and hoped we would make them pay.

When we figured out our set up and first and second ball crowding ratios we just took it over and dominated.

Amazing effort.

And Jack Macrae is a star.

17-09-2016, 12:49 AM
I am so proud of this group of young men.

After Breust missed that goal in the second I breathed a sigh of relief and hoped we would make them pay.

When we figured out our set up and first and second ball crowding ratios we just took it over and dominated.

Amazing effort.

And Jack Macrae is a star.

Any doubt over Macrae must be erased after that game. He's an animal.

17-09-2016, 12:52 AM
Any doubt over Macrae must be erased after that game. He's an animal.

He's .75 goals a game away from being the complete accumulating midfielder.

17-09-2016, 12:55 AM
What a great night I had at the G. Im still coming to terms with our victory like many of us are. Brillnat display. Nervy start and they kicked away but we destroyed it in the premiership quarter. Roghhy, Picken, Dunkley, Mclean, Clay, M Boyd, T Boyd, Bont, Macrae, JJ all did really well. The way we were hitting up players and running was just a great sight.

17-09-2016, 12:58 AM
While we need to get a better deal at our home ground Etihad and with the Ballarat thing taking off next year it is not out of the question if we get 50K members to play a bit more at the G.

17-09-2016, 01:00 AM
for those at the G, what was the split Hawks/Dogs fans?

17-09-2016, 01:03 AM

More dogs fans I reckon. In terms of noise...dogs fans WAY louder. But I'm sure we were assisted by a fair few neutrals

17-09-2016, 01:04 AM
Biggest crowd to ever see the Bulldogs win. Incredible atmosphere. The happiest I've been at a Dogs match.

17-09-2016, 01:05 AM

I reckon it was pretty even from a genuine fan for fan perspective. If anything I got the impression the Hawks fans were saving their tickets for the GF. As for the neutrals, it seemed we were owning them.

My Aunt sat in the MCC pretty much facing the bulk of the Bulldogs crowd which was southern stand and Punt road end predominantly, and she said the noise was out of this world when we rallied.

From the Southern Stand wing it seemed we had the biggest impact.

Winning in front of 88K is a massive deal. I'll remember it forever.

17-09-2016, 01:15 AM
I am stunned.

You and me both. We are the real deal!

17-09-2016, 01:17 AM
Had a poor game, but I disagree. The kid lacks experience and is going to play a poor game along the way. Didn't matter in the end!

17-09-2016, 01:27 AM
Just got home and its hard to know what to say. I was bloody loud all night but that last quarter I went quiet it was kinda surreal. That first quarter just felt like ground hog day. Bad kicking tick, the touched behind yep standard as usual. But that moment had a silver lining. We kept the ball inside 50 for 2mins, built the pressure which was non existent early and the rest is history.

Those boys what can you stay about them? Last week was the best win I've seen by a bulldogs side but this was another level. Bevo has built the belief and its the first time I have left the football thinking that our team can win a Premiership.

17-09-2016, 01:30 AM
I wonder if any of our fans were singing after the game of the trains on the way home :)

17-09-2016, 01:34 AM
I'm shot. Sweet revenge for '85. Chanted throughout the game and on the walk back to the city. The sweetest walk of all.
And next week we ride again!

17-09-2016, 01:36 AM
Had a poor game, but I disagree. The kid lacks experience and is going to play a poor game along the way. Didn't matter in the end!

Who are you talking about FK?

17-09-2016, 01:40 AM
Just got home and its hard to know what to say. I was bloody loud all night but that last quarter I went quiet it was kinda surreal. That first quarter just felt like ground hog day. Bad kicking tick, the touched behind yep standard as usual. But that moment had a silver lining. We kept the ball inside 50 for 2mins, built the pressure which was non existent early and the rest is history.

Those boys what can you stay about them? Last week was the best win I've seen by a bulldogs side but this was another level. Bevo has built the belief and its the first time I have left the football thinking that our team can win a Premiership.

I've just watched the highlights on the AFL web page.

The look on the Hawks players faces at the end of the game was one of pure astonishment. They saw glimpses of what happened to them after quarter time in round three, and they saw what might happen to them when watching last week's game on TV. Tonight they experienced something that completely stunned them in the most glorious of ways first hand, something they knew may have been coming due to past learned and third party experiences.

It was only until they saw it in the flesh that they knew how brutal, but beautiful it was. They were in awe.

17-09-2016, 01:41 AM
My voice is cactus.

17-09-2016, 01:52 AM
Before tonight Clay Smith had been operating at a goal a game and seven tackles per game in the hardest position to play on the field, forward pocket.

Today I thought with ten tackles and two goals he's done enough to remove himself from any chance of being on my trade wishlist. I can't actually believe he's only been back into league football after three knee reconstructions for fifteen weeks or so. How much of a prick can I be?

17-09-2016, 01:54 AM
My voice is cactus.

Mine too I sound like a 12 year old girl.

17-09-2016, 01:55 AM
Before tonight Clay Smith had been operating at a goal a game and seven tackles per game in the hardest position to play on the field, forward pocket.

Today I thought with ten tackles and two goals he's done enough to remove himself from any chance of being on my trade wishlist. I can't actually believe he's only been back into league football after three knee reconstructions for fifteen weeks or so. How much of a prick can I be?

A big one

17-09-2016, 02:04 AM
As the kids say.... holy shitballs. I am watching the replay now and it is even sweeter.

WE BEAT THE FREAKING HAWKS!!!!!

17-09-2016, 02:06 AM
Umpire during the end of 2nd quarter wrestle..."Careful boys, think about your wallets"...
Commentator..."I'm not sure Boyd is too concerned about his wallet"!!! ;)

17-09-2016, 02:12 AM
Who are you talking about FK?

Sorry slightly p*ssed.....drinking at the Walkabout in London......Zaine Cordy - had a shocker, but I wouldn't drop him.

17-09-2016, 02:13 AM
So now we've beaten both of last year's grand finalists... It's wide open, boys. There for the taking.

17-09-2016, 02:18 AM
Sorry slightly p*ssed.....drinking at the Walkabout in London......Zaine Cordy - had a shocker, but I wouldn't drop him.

Wasn't flash, I don't really expect more than what he provided though. He's so bloody raw, in light of that I can't call his game a shocker given he pressured and still touched the ball a bit.

He'll get better. Enjoy the lethargic feeling of getting drunk during the day on heavy European beers mate.

17-09-2016, 02:19 AM
It's hard to put the past fortnight into perspective. Last week we met last years losing grand finalist on their dungheap, conceded
the first 2 goals, looked likely to fade away like so often before, but found an inner conviction other Dogs have lacked and smashed them. This week we get the Premiers on their dungheap in front of 87k+, concede the first 3 goals, but stiffen our resolve and smash them also.

Goddamit this group is so great. So much heart.

Like most of us, I am very emotional tonight. A great night. 2 great games to go.

17-09-2016, 02:23 AM
I can't imagine, a part from money, why any players would request a trade out now. Raise your own games to the level of the 22 tonight and you'll be in the side making history.

17-09-2016, 02:25 AM
Last two weeks have been the greatest wins I've seen since going for the Dogs in 1998.

Must admit though, beating the Bombers in 2000 was pretty huge.

17-09-2016, 03:01 AM
One for the true believers ...

17-09-2016, 03:20 AM
One (more) thing I'm happy about with this win... Bruuuce's pathetic fan-boying towards Hawthorn gets a rest. Dogs knock off the reigning premiers, and he wants to talk about how wonderful Hawthorn have been. God I hate him.

17-09-2016, 03:26 AM
One (more) thing I'm happy about with this win... Bruuuce's pathetic fan-boying towards Hawthorn gets a rest. Dogs knock off the reigning premiers, and he wants to talk about how wonderful Hawthorn have been. God I hate him.

Hey Broseph, have you already caught the replay (I thought you managed to find a soot at the game rather than watch it on TV)?

If so, was it on the AFL paid web site?

BTW - I've really enjoyed our camaraderie in opposition to that strange pervert (he sexualises things and persons outside of standard deviations) week after week this season. Like you, I'm glad he doesn't have a thug to fawn over going forward.

17-09-2016, 03:29 AM
Hey Broseph, have you already caught the replay (I thought you managed to find a soot at the game rather than watch it on TV)?

If so, was it on the AFL paid web site?

BTW - I've really enjoyed our camaraderie in opposition to that strange pervert (he's not gay, he sexualises things and persons outside of standard deviations) week after week this season. Like you, I'm glad he doesn't have a thug to fawn over.

Yeah I was there. Going off, have pretty much no voice now! Got home to the replay on Foxtel - replayed from 11 and again at 2.30. His almost dismissal of our win, in order to bang on about how amazing Hawthorn have been, is sickening.

17-09-2016, 03:36 AM
Yeah I was there. Going off, have pretty much no voice now! Got home to the replay on Foxtel - replayed from 11 and again at 2.30. His almost dismissal of our win, in order to bang on about how amazing Hawthorn have been, is sickening.

Mate, given your history at the club, how does this one rate?

I'm really happy for the likes of you. Genuine bolted on stuff, (much like many members of my family who are a bit older than the 37 years I am), it must be great to dominate two finals genuinely and feel like a winner.

17-09-2016, 03:54 AM
Mate, given your history at the club, how does this one rate?

I'm really happy for the likes of you. Genuine bolted on stuff, (much like many members of my family who are a bit older than the 37 years I am), it must be great to dominate two finals genuinely and feel like a winner.

I'm only slightly older! I didn't see us getting past the first week, so to be going to the PF, is massive. REALLY massive. Start of the season I thought 2nd week of finals would be a good result, then all those F*#(!% injuries happened. Just absolutely thrilled to knock off the reigning premiers. Was there for the PFs in 08-10, this team being so young gives me great hope that we are building something special. Have followed the Dogs all my life after Dad living there and playing footy at Parkside, so I guess there's a bit of history. Rapt with the win.

17-09-2016, 03:57 AM
One of the best nights of my life.

Got into Transport bar early, the stage presentations were fantastic and Danny did a top job. PG spoke so well and seeing Tim Cahill was a thrill too.

Then the march to the G was incredible, then the game ... THAT game ... what a night!

I love this club!

17-09-2016, 04:04 AM
One of the best nights of my life.

Got into Transport bar early, the stage presentations were fantastic and Danny did a top job. PG spoke so well and seeing Tim Cahill was a thrill too.

Then the march to the G was incredible, then the game ... THAT game ... what a night!

I love this club!

This. All this.

The cheer from the Doggies fans when we came out for our first warmup was a sign that we were ready to make some real noise. Just amazing.

17-09-2016, 04:31 AM
The fans are garnishing the energy from the players . It is phenomenal

17-09-2016, 05:05 AM
Stringers snap goal in the third I could watch a million times. The crowd was electric! I literally jumped out of my seat.

The noise of the dogs fans tonight will live with me forever. Incredible.

17-09-2016, 05:06 AM
Stringers snap goal in the third I could watch a million times. The crowd was electric! I literally jumped out of my seat.

One of the best moments I've had at the footy.....by a stretch.

17-09-2016, 07:13 AM
My voice is cactus.

Snap.

I'm not going to be able to talk much for the balance of the weekend. My knowing smile will say it all, though.

17-09-2016, 07:16 AM

Jumped out of my seat quite a few times last night! He had some very important moments, Stringer. He certainly thrives off the big moments and wants the ball in his hands - as do most of our blokes these days.

17-09-2016, 07:23 AM
Just watched the game again (no sleep and a 12 hour+ workday ahead of me but adrenalin is a wonderful thing). Usually after singing the team song, a winning team dispands but these guys instinctively stepped forwards and huddled and hugged, such is the togetherness. This is a special time.

17-09-2016, 07:48 AM
That was some night.. The momentum we gained through the 2nd, 3rd & 4th quarters was simply amazing.. Was it 12 goals to 1 through that period? I said last week you don't go to Perth and beat a good team by 8 goals.. Well you don't bang on 12 to 1 against the 3 time reigning premiers.. YES YOU *!*!*!*!ING DO!!

The pressure, ball hunting and then execution was the best I've seen given the opposition, we broke them.. Just brilliant from such a young group. Our midfield was simply amazing against a group much the senior.. Our boys tore them a new one.

I can't say I've seen a better player for the Dogs than the Bont.. If he improves at all over the next 5 years, which I'm sure he will, they might have time build another statue.... He just picked us up and said come with me, and he's 20.. Wow!!

The last 8-10min wasn't ideal, we need to improve in icing games, but we will as we gain more experience.. The torture of being a Dogs fan had a few supporters thinking the worst as the junk time goals came, but it was over and when the Doggies fan in the corporate box yelled 2min to go at the 26min mark.. Well the relief was evident to all.

We move on to another PF.. What is it, 8 losses? It's our time! It's our time!

17-09-2016, 08:34 AM
I haven't watched any of the game yet bar the AFL website highlights.

If you only see one replay, watch Picken running into the open goal in the last.

The camera behind the goals captures the RW&B faithful going absolutely bananas behind him. It's so, so good.

17-09-2016, 09:20 AM
At one stage, the Hawks had kicked their 7th goal about midway through the 2nd quarter and by midway through the last they had only kicked one more to that stage. It was a super defensive effort.

17-09-2016, 09:24 AM
Thanks Woofers. These posts bring to life what an incredible atmosphere reigned at the G last night. Go Dogs!

17-09-2016, 10:22 AM

Bruce saying we should thank Hawthorne for the last few years... *!*!*!*! that! They;ve got 3 premierships I think that's enough. Time for someone else, preferably someone with red white and blue colours

17-09-2016, 10:24 AM
That was some night.. The momentum we gained through the 2nd, 3rd & 4th quarters was simply amazing.. Was it 12 goals to 1 through that period? I said last week you don't go to Perth and beat a good team by 8 goals.. Well you don't bang on 12 to 1 against the 3 time reigning premiers.. YES YOU *!*!*!*!ING DO!!

9 goals in a row against one of the greatest teams of the modern era.
Bonti beating Hodge a few times one on one was as much a signal of the changing of the guard as anything else could have been.

His one on one mark, and later stripping Hodge of the ball to set up a goal.

17-09-2016, 10:34 AM
from a mate of mine who used to be an AFL umpire "Umpires are finally getting on top of Hawthorn's tactic of shepherding on the mark. About time"

17-09-2016, 10:37 AM
It wasn't a dream. OMG we actually won!

17-09-2016, 12:11 PM
Wow what a memorable night. Went in thinking we would win and convinced myself by half time we couldn't win. Got home at 11:30 and watched a replay straight away.
Just so so proud of these players. Bevo is a magician! Belief is such a powerful thing and Bevo has the players believing they can walk on water. Bevo is Cesar Millan!
I have to tip my cap to the hawks members. There was a stuff up with my tickets and i ended up in the Hawthorn members area. Surrounded by brown & gold. I had countless hawks members shake my hand and congratulate me and wish me luck. It was awesome to be going off my nut surrounded by the enemy.

We beat GWS we win the flag.

17-09-2016, 12:43 PM

Zaine definitely was quiet but he was playing as a defender in our forward line. His job was to stop defenders like Gibson and Stratton picking off easy marks and the ball rebounding quicker than it came in. I thought he competed well in that aspect. He will start getting more ball and using it better with experience.

Wow what a memorable night. Went in thinking we would win and convinced myself by half time we couldn't win. Got home at 11:30 and watched a replay straight away.
Just so so proud of these players. Bevo is a magician! Belief is such a powerful thing and Bevo has the players believing they can walk on water. Bevo is Cesar Millan!
I have to tip my cap to the hawks members. There was a stuff up with my tickets and i ended up in the Hawthorn members area. Surrounded by brown & gold. I had countless hawks members shake my hand and congratulate me and wish me luck. It was awesome to be going off my nut surrounded by the enemy.

We beat GWS we win the flag.

That's good stuff. I saw a lot of Hawthorn supporters clapping the bulldogs players as they ran around the boundary thanking the fans after the game. Not all Hawthorn supporters are smug apparently.

As for the game, wow. Un-freaking-believable!! What atmosphere! The Bont was heroic. Dahl was incredible. Picken is hard. MaCrae, well the second game back is always harder than the first, pfft . I am super pumped and so incredibly proud of the whole football club and so incredibly proud to be part of it.

17-09-2016, 01:32 PM
from a mate of mine who used to be an AFL umpire "Umpires are finally getting on top of Hawthorn's tactic of shepherding on the mark. About time"
Heard them quite a few times warning them not to stand on the mark. What I don't get is, if it's against the rules then they do it, why they don't get penalised? Anyway they've now got the preseason to practise it!!

17-09-2016, 01:44 PM
Love looking at the timing of some of these posts.

Replay is on now FYI.

17-09-2016, 02:36 PM
Currently watching the replay! Go Dogs!

17-09-2016, 03:16 PM
Been a while since i've been on here.

.....just wanted to say "WOOF!" after that performance.
����⚪️����

17-09-2016, 03:33 PM
Been a while since i've been on here.

.....just wanted to say "WOOF!" after that performance.
����⚪️����

Good to have you back Hairy one. Still the best username on WOOF.

17-09-2016, 03:40 PM
Good to see you back HairyMidget. I wonder how Lantern is going.

17-09-2016, 03:48 PM
Lantern gave up on the Dogs didnt he?

Couldnt handle the Macca era.

17-09-2016, 03:51 PM

I think it was more the club than the coach, if I recall.

17-09-2016, 03:52 PM

Lantern made some very good posts when he was active on WOOF.

17-09-2016, 04:10 PM
I saw CoonDog sitting not too far from me, speaking about long lost Woofers ...

17-09-2016, 05:23 PM
I think it was more the club than the coach, if I recall.

Last post September 2013

Didn't even make it to Schocktober

Can't find the post where he says why he left so I'm going to assume it's because we delisted Guy O'Keefe

17-09-2016, 05:55 PM
Don't think it's been referred to yet, but I loved the way our blokes handled themselves in thr half time dust up. Tom Boyd right in the thick of it and looking right at home. Liam Picken right in their faces. We could not be intimidated and took it all in without breaking stride - our second half bears witness to that. Well done Dogs. Won the fight by winning the game.

17-09-2016, 07:07 PM
I watched our defence closely all night partially when we were locking the ball inside our forward 50. I still think we get too high up the park sometimes with our last defender at the 60m mark. Obviously a work in proggress but against GWS the sling shot goal will be well and truly on the agenda. Anyone else have thoughts on this?

17-09-2016, 07:09 PM
Having watched the replay a couple of times now, Hunter was excellent last night, particularly in the 3rd quarter. Used the ball well and ran his guts out up and down the ground.

The stats for this game were through the roof (if the MCG had one :D), we had 70 more disposals, and a staggering 50 more contested poss. We just didn't allow the Hawks to get the ball.

The two finals so far are the best I have ever seen by a Bulldog outfit.

18-09-2016, 12:13 AM
Don't think it's been referred to yet, but I loved the way our blokes handled themselves in thr half time dust up. Tom Boyd right in the thick of it and looking right at home. Liam Picken right in their faces. We could not be intimidated and took it all in without breaking stride - our second half bears witness to that. Well done Dogs. Won the fight by winning the game.
Loved Libba in the 'melee', as the teams separated and headed to their respective races, he turned to face Hawthorn with the entire team behind him walking backwards, just daring Hawthorn to have another crack. Love his desire for a scrap and to cover his teammates. Good genes.

18-09-2016, 12:45 AM
The melee seemed to have been started by one of many of the average Hawks players who have ridden on the coat tails of their more successful counterparts - only for the good ol' boys to get involved and try on some ol' fashion intimidation.......because you know, it's worked so well against the Bulldogs in recent times.

I knew the deal was getting serious when James Sicily started throwing his weight around. My Hawks mate said many Hawks supporters believe Sicily has Dermie traits, I pointed out to him that volume in games won over a period of time directly correlates with the volume of ridiculous things supporters say. He agreed.

What the Hawks learned from the melee (and what they should have known already) is that this Bulldogs team is genuinely hard, manic and not reliant on intimidation to physically impose itself on games. After the entire year of bad luck in terms of personnel, the only time we have looked sub-par is when we haven't brought effort or a certain mentality to the game. How stupid of them to think that anything they did physically would have a bearing on our head space and output.

It was a sign that the order is changing, and that the Hawks are going to suffer from not enforcing a generational change when the writing has been on the wall for a few months. Their old blokes could intimidate certain opponents during the time they were successful. They're not intimidating anymore, and they'll be irrelevant very quickly.

18-09-2016, 12:50 AM
So I'm watching the replay now which is why I'm hitting this thread up again. I'm at half time, as you can probably tell.

Bruce's commentary has been disgusting. Last week he seemed OK, it was like he was still in athletics mode during the Friday night game. I seriously don't understand who this ill individual appeals to.

Carey called Bontempelli as imposing very well, Ling was vehement that Roughead didn't infringe in the centre square contest in the second and they seemed to be doing well.

Clay Smith's second quarter efforts were perfectly timed alongside the rise of Bont. Once again I stress how lucky we were Breust missed that set shot half way through the second. How he didn't give away a 50m penalty is beyond me when he slammed into Picken (as the umpire said he was part of the contest......).

18-09-2016, 01:51 AM
Back on Bruce. The sick individual thought it appropriate to reference John Elliot's call to our pathetic history as Picken kicked his third.

Good on him. What a dickhead thinking a washed up club wrecking president, and absolute bastard of the game had any relevance to a semi final between Hawthorn and Bulldogs in 2016.

Bruce is an abomination.

18-09-2016, 10:05 AM
The melee seemed to have been started by one of many of the average Hawks players who have ridden on the coat tails of their more successful counterparts - only for the good ol' boys to get involved and try on some ol' fashion intimidation.......because you know, it's worked so well against the Bulldogs in recent times.

I knew the deal was getting serious when James Sicily started throwing his weight around. My Hawks mate said many Hawks supporters believe Sicily has Dermie traits, I pointed out to him that volume in games won over a period of time directly correlates with the volume of ridiculous things supporters say. He agreed.

What the Hawks learned from the melee (and what they should have known already) is that this Bulldogs team is genuinely hard, manic and not reliant on intimidation to physically impose itself on games. After the entire year of bad luck in terms of personnel, the only time we have looked sub-par is when we haven't brought effort or a certain mentality to the game. How stupid of them to think that anything they did physically would have a bearing on our head space and output.

It was a sign that the order is changing, and that the Hawks are going to suffer from not enforcing a generational change when the writing has been on the wall for a few months. Their old blokes could intimidate certain opponents during the time they were successful. They're not intimidating anymore, and they'll be irrelevant very quickly.

I thought they were smart not to do it (rough stuff) at the start of the game. Our boys, Bonts in particular, have shown that they elevate their game in response to rough stuff this year (see second North game). When they pulled it out at half time I thought to myself that this is going to be bad for them, and our blokes would lift in response. 10.1 in the second half... If I were an opposition coach, I'd be clearly instructing my players not to go this way against the dogs.

18-09-2016, 10:10 AM
Back on Bruce. The sick individual thought it appropriate to reference John Elliot's call to our pathetic history as Picken kicked his third.

Good on him. What a dickhead thinking a washed up club wrecking president, and absolute bastard of the game had any relevance to a semi final between Hawthorn and Bulldogs in 2016.

Bruce is an abomination.
Yep, Bad Bruce turned up on Friday night - it is one of life's great mysteries that he can be one of the world's best and authoritative commentators during the Olympics but then turns to a blubbering mess at the footy. Even more mysterious is that he was nothing like this when commentating the footy in the 90's.

18-09-2016, 10:46 AM
Replay is on again!

Who else felt at half time that the Hawks had thrown their best punch yet we were still standing? I reckon the melee was an outpouring of their frustration that they were unable to land the knockout blow.

We were sweet after that.

18-09-2016, 11:24 AM
12.30 today on Channel 7 is the replay of Friday night.

18-09-2016, 11:32 AM
12.30 today on Channel 7 is the replay of Friday night.

Thanks for the heads up.

But it could possibly be at 12pm.

18-09-2016, 11:34 AM
Thanks for the heads up.

But it could possibly be at 12pm.

Check your local guides :D

I'm going off the Bendigo Advertiser TV guide.

18-09-2016, 11:46 AM
Replay is on again!

Who else felt at half time that the Hawks had thrown their best punch yet we were still standing? I reckon the melee was an outpouring of their frustration that they were unable to land the knockout blow.

Yep, that was the tipping point for me. It was a sign of desperation, they had hit us with their best punch and we just smiled and kept moving forward. I thought we can only beat ourselves from here on. I was on my toes after that but I couldn't even dream what was about to unfold. Incredible. Just Incredible. We spared them from an absolute belting by looking after next week, like last week the ease of the last 5 minutes will keep us in good shape.

18-09-2016, 12:15 PM
Check your local guides :D

I'm going off the Bendigo Advertiser TV guide.

Thanks for that, it's on at 12:00pm on 7 melbourne:)

18-09-2016, 01:15 PM
Thanks for that, it's on at 12:00pm on 7 melbourne:)

Ta. The Addy guide is out. It's on right now people's.

18-09-2016, 01:25 PM
Replay is on again!

We bounced around, energised, after that melee. I saw shades of the blue at the famous 2000 victory against Essendon, where the fight showed us we were in it up to our eyeballs. No surprise that the Liberatore spirit was to the fore on both occasions.

18-09-2016, 01:37 PM
McLean's overturned shot, took us to 1.5 at quarter time. So then that's 15.6 after quarter time, and 10.1 after half time. Who would've thought straight kicking would make us soooo much better.

18-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Clay Smiths mark for his second goal of the second quarter against Ben Stratton was a very very strong mark. Outsmarted and out muscled a very good defender.

18-09-2016, 02:17 PM
Eating lunch now at my local chicken shop and they have the replay on TV.

18-09-2016, 02:36 PM
McLean's overturned shot, took us to 1.5 at quarter time. So then that's 15.6 after quarter time, and 10.1 after half time. Who would've thought straight kicking would make us soooo much better.

After Roughy's point halfway in the third quarter, our last 8 scoring shots were all goals. I didn't notice the absolute specifics of this 8/8 or 100% for a quarter and a half on the night.

18-09-2016, 02:43 PM
After Roughy's point halfway in the third quarter, our last 8 scoring shots were all goals. I didn't notice the absolute specifics of this 8/8 or 100% for a quarter and a half on the night.

Definitely one of the most pleasing things about the game.

We had the advantage, momentum was with us and we rammed it home. Plenty of times we would have miffed our lines and let the opposition back in.

Not. This. Time.

18-09-2016, 02:44 PM
The overturned McLean goal was given zero attention by the commentary team. Given the lack of clarity in the shot being shown, you'd expect there to be some speculation, but I guess Hodge is such a sacred cow that they couldn't fathom the thought of asking the question. By stark contrast, when the corresponding call was made with the Wood touch, they couldn't shut up about it.

Another disparity between the call and the experience of the game at the ground for me was the sheer volume of Bontempelli fawning. I love Bont as much as the next guy, but the commentators would have you believe that he single handedly dragged us over the line! It's just exemplary of lazy commentary on our team, an enormous amount of focus on just a few players.

18-09-2016, 02:51 PM
Ling sooking about McLeans high free was funny too, Selwood gets a couple of those a week and he doesnt say a thing.

18-09-2016, 02:57 PM
You bloody beauty.

18-09-2016, 02:59 PM
You bloody beauty.

Guess who's back!

18-09-2016, 02:59 PM
You bloody beauty.

About time.

18-09-2016, 03:00 PM
Guess who's back!

Lantern's back!

18-09-2016, 04:11 PM
Just watching the replay (4th time now!) and, call me petty, but I fail to how the hell McLean's goal in the first was overruled as touched by Hodge!

The umpire called it a goal, the goal was reviewed due to Hodge's protestations, the replay showed no flick back on Hodge's fingers, no noise and no deviation in the ball..... So we effectively had a goal over turned on Luke Hodge's word! The commentators failed to ask the obvious questions and just accepted what, to me, seemed a pretty dubious overrule!

I just ask the question, had the protestation come from a no name player, would it have been reviewed and would it have been over turned?

AFL footy - whether it be match review committees, umpires, tribunals or the commission itself - does seem to be riddled with double standards and hypocrisy. The powerful, or the chosen few - whether it be club or player - seem to regularly get the rub of the green. That's consistently the case across all levels of officialdom.

It's time we smash the glass ceiling on all of this $hit!

18-09-2016, 04:37 PM
I saw an interesting stat on Friday. It was during the replay of the Doggies and Hawks qualifying final 2010. Brad Johnson was lining up for a goal, a Bulldogs legend and a graphic came up. He had kicked 11 goals in 12 finals(could have been the other way around) and went on to miss the shot.

Fast forward to Friday night, an out of form Jake Stringer kicks 3 in his 3rd final which brings his total to 6 I believe( he was on one leg in the first final). It just puts things into perspective with this group, nothing against Johnno and co but these boys are made of different stuff.

18-09-2016, 11:37 PM
Just a magnificent night, best experience I've had with footy - superb, glorious and all the rest. The combination of joy and stress at the end of the third quarter was amazing. The horrible thought that the Hawks would still come back haunted most of the final quarter, but oh my, we smashed them so beautifully, and I've never sung the song so many times (and to be at the game with The Underdog, my two young'uns at their first night game let along final, plus my converted partner, was marvellous).

A few thoughts on the game:

* The hawks seemed to know that they needed to put us away early. Even when they were double our score, it still felt like we were in it up to our eyeballs, because when they scored their reaction was of relief, and there was already some fear in their faces and play;

* Roughead has developed wonderfully - loved him crashing into the opposing ruck, he was important when the ball hit the deck, channeling a little bit of the beard, and that mark and goal was one of the exclamation points, just like last week. Hope that he can dominate Mumford around the ground;

* Our hands in tight are incredible. Reminds me of the Sydney team of 2005, who won the flag that year (according to me) based on their ability to shoot it around in close until they found the space to move forward with a kick that retained possession. Libba, the Bont, and Macrea is a glorious handballing trio, with many others not far behind;

* Suckling's hands, however, are not why he is in the team, either with handballing or marking, but I thought we were able to use him as a weapon better than we have since his injury against the Blues. He's a fascinating player, from a more objective sense, because you can see how we target him as a weapon, and the opposition try and make him into a weakness - I think we got the points this week, in part because he's very good at moving to the right place both defensively as well as offensively, but I get why he becomes an easy scapegoat as well because his weaknesses are clear;

* Matty Boyd obviously didn't play as well as he did against the Weagles (I had him as bog there), but I liked the way he kept on trying to attack the game, and even when he stuffed up against Rioli (and he shouldn't have!), he was trying to find an attacking pass which is what we needed if we were going to win it;

* In terms of game plan, I think that part of the issue with the first quarter was that we weren't taking as many early risks as we did against the Eagles, which allowed the Hawks to pressure us more than before, and to win the ball back when we kicked it down the line or bombed it into our fifty. That said, the replay showed that we did attack more than I realised, just not as much as we needed to. You could see that we did it more in the 2nd quarter, and started to cut through the Hawks, though they maintained the pressure for a long time (102 tackles is immense!), we were just too good;

* Dunkley is a gem and had a huge game, but he still has a lot to learn, and had some infuriating moments - it's not as obvious on the replay I think, but there were at least 3 times when he refused to give the first option (which should never happen in our game plan unless you see a clearly better option at the same time), to go with a couple of wild kicks to no one in the 50, and a moment or two when he should have tapped to the free player rather than grab the ball and be unable to release it in the subsequent tackle. That all said, he did many great things, continued to play hard when things didn't go his way, and also showed he can learn by lowering his eyes to hit up Tom Boyd with a beautiful pass in the 2nd quarter when it would have been easier to bomb away;

* I would have selected Webb, so was glad that McLean proved me wrong - his work in tight was what impressed me the most, just as I think Stringer's smothers helped set up the rest of his game. That said, both Stringer and McLean are likely to dominate important games much more than they did on Friday in the hopefully not-too-distant future;

* I hope that Hamling takes his confident contested grab in the last quarter into his future games. He won his place in the team on the back of his increasingly impressive play, but I think he's got another level or two that he can reach, again hopefully soon - huge game for him against GWS;

* Clay Smith has turned me into a believer - that vision and skill in regaining balance and then kicking across his body to find Stringer was one of the turning points in the game, as was his first goal (and then second) in the 2nd. At the moment he's playing like the perfect defensive forward who can spend important time in the middle, and he's still clearly developing as a player as well. I love the way he can find the ball (or rip it away from others), and be damaging with it, to complement his pressure skills;

* We played a fantastic game, but I think the spread of talent across the team is shown by who could impact games much more than they did this one, such as JJ, Biggs, Wood, Libba, and M Boyd among others. Last week it was the Bont among others, and the beauty of what Beveridge does is that each player just needs to play their role, and if everyone does that we're going to be super-competitive regardless of who we play.

18-09-2016, 11:39 PM
You bloody beauty.

Where the hell have you been, missed your posts

18-09-2016, 11:40 PM
Just watching the replay (4th time now!) and, call me petty, but I fail to how the hell McLean's goal in the first was overruled as touched by Hodge!

The umpire called it a goal, the goal was reviewed due to Hodge's protestations, the replay showed no flick back on Hodge's fingers, no noise and no deviation in the ball..... So we effectively had a goal over turned on Luke Hodge's word! The commentators failed to ask the obvious questions and just accepted what, to me, seemed a pretty dubious overrule!

I just ask the question, had the protestation come from a no name player, would it have been reviewed and would it have been over turned?

AFL footy - whether it be match review committees, umpires, tribunals or the commission itself - does seem to be riddled with double standards and hypocrisy. The powerful, or the chosen few - whether it be club or player - seem to regularly get the rub of the green. That's consistently the case across all levels of officialdom.

It's time we smash the glass ceiling on all of this $hit!

All goals are reviewed

19-09-2016, 12:15 AM
I can't say I've seen a better player for the Dogs than the Bont.. If he improves at all over the next 5 years, which I'm sure he will, they might have time build another statue.... He just picked us up and said come with me, and he's 20.. Wow!!

I've always said that Chris Grant was the best that I've seen, and also my favourite ever bulldog.....

It's going to be emotional, but the great man and I are going to have to have a hard chat.

19-09-2016, 12:23 AM
Fantastic post RT.

19-09-2016, 12:29 AM
You bloody beauty.

Light's back on.

19-09-2016, 12:47 AM
You bloody beauty.

First Crammers comes back to training and now this.

It's a glorious week.

19-09-2016, 01:02 AM
Heres a fun fact:

Hawthorn have only conceded 9 unanswered goals on one other occasion in the last decade, and it was us in 2009. We put 14 past them that night

19-09-2016, 02:01 AM
You bloody beauty.

All behold, another Bevo miracle has occured. Let us now prepare now for his canonization as a Bulldog saint so he may join the ranks of St.Ted the Divine, St. Charlie the Holy and St. Christopher the Loyal

19-09-2016, 05:23 PM
Als Video highlights - 28 min

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0jcDDWDL_Q

19-09-2016, 06:39 PM
Picken takes AFLCA award lead

LEADER BOARD AS AT END OF

FINALS SERIES WEEK 2

12 Liam Picken Western Bulldogs

11 Josh Kennedy Sydney Swans

10 Eddie Betts Adelaide

10 Jeremy Cameron Greater Western Sydney

10 Caleb Daniel Western Bulldogs

8 Marcus Bontempelli Western Bulldogs

8 Jack Macrae Western Bulldogs

8 Joel Selwood Geelong

8 Brodie Smith Adelaide

7 Shaun Burgoyne Hawthorn

7 Stephen Coniglio Greater Western Sydney

7 Isaac Heeney Sydney Swans

7 Lachie Whitfield Greater Western Sydney

19-09-2016, 09:56 PM
Als Video highlights - 28 min

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0jcDDWDL_Q

That was #$%&ing AWESOME!!! :D :D
Al you are a dead set LEGEND!!! :D:D

19-09-2016, 09:59 PM

Yep. Big thanks to Al for saving us the trouble of having to wade through all the non-bulldog dross on the various football shows. A legend for sure.

19-09-2016, 10:03 PM
I've always said that Chris Grant was the best that I've seen, and also my favourite ever bulldog.....

It's going to be emotional, but the great man and I are going to have to have a hard chat.

Different players, but yeah, two very good players from a young age.

20-09-2016, 01:31 AM

I'll second that! Awesome to the MAX! Thanks Al.

20-09-2016, 02:06 AM

I made the hard decision that the Bont had gone past Kelvin Templeton as the best player I have seen for us about midway through the season. It wasn't easy-that KT was the greatest was an Article of Faith with me for nearly 40 years. Kelvin was awesome and won games for us with sheer force but didn't have the mongrel that the Bont has already shown. That mongrel will mean Bont will win flags for us.

Plus the Bont could be a really good centre half forward if he played there exclusively, perhaps even the best in the comp. I don't know that KT could have been the best midfielder in the comp.

21-09-2016, 05:10 PM
Watching some highlights and that Stringer snap goal still gives me goosebumps. What a moment.

Can't wait to watch the replay again tonight! ;)

21-09-2016, 06:40 PM
Watching some highlights and that Stringer snap goal still gives me goosebumps. What a moment.

Can't wait to watch the replay again tonight! ;)

Great moment. Loved that he gave the handball early in that play - then got inside 50 to receive another handball. The audacious off-balance finish...only Stringer could do it.

21-09-2016, 06:48 PM

Just before half time when we were making our run he kicked one out on the full from the 50m line.. If he kicked that, the place would have erupted.

21-09-2016, 06:56 PM
Great moment. Loved that he gave the handball early in that play - then got inside 50 to receive another handball. The audacious off-balance finish...only Stringer could do it.

And the look away celebration as soon as he kicked the ball. Was like a Steph Curry walk away three pointer. Freak.

21-09-2016, 07:36 PM
Just a magnificent night, best experience I've had with footy - superb, glorious and all the rest. The combination of joy and stress at the end of the third quarter was amazing. The horrible thought that the Hawks would still come back haunted most of the final quarter, but oh my, we smashed them so beautifully, and I've never sung the song so many times (and to be at the game with The Underdog, my two young'uns at their first night game let along final, plus my converted partner, was marvellous).

A few thoughts on the game:

* The hawks seemed to know that they needed to put us away early. Even when they were double our score, it still felt like we were in it up to our eyeballs, because when they scored their reaction was of relief, and there was already some fear in their faces and play;

* Roughead has developed wonderfully - loved him crashing into the opposing ruck, he was important when the ball hit the deck, channeling a little bit of the beard, and that mark and goal was one of the exclamation points, just like last week. Hope that he can dominate Mumford around the ground;

* Our hands in tight are incredible. Reminds me of the Sydney team of 2005, who won the flag that year (according to me) based on their ability to shoot it around in close until they found the space to move forward with a kick that retained possession. Libba, the Bont, and Macrea is a glorious handballing trio, with many others not far behind;

* Suckling's hands, however, are not why he is in the team, either with handballing or marking, but I thought we were able to use him as a weapon better than we have since his injury against the Blues. He's a fascinating player, from a more objective sense, because you can see how we target him as a weapon, and the opposition try and make him into a weakness - I think we got the points this week, in part because he's very good at moving to the right place both defensively as well as offensively, but I get why he becomes an easy scapegoat as well because his weaknesses are clear;

* Matty Boyd obviously didn't play as well as he did against the Weagles (I had him as bog there), but I liked the way he kept on trying to attack the game, and even when he stuffed up against Rioli (and he shouldn't have!), he was trying to find an attacking pass which is what we needed if we were going to win it;

* In terms of game plan, I think that part of the issue with the first quarter was that we weren't taking as many early risks as we did against the Eagles, which allowed the Hawks to pressure us more than before, and to win the ball back when we kicked it down the line or bombed it into our fifty. That said, the replay showed that we did attack more than I realised, just not as much as we needed to. You could see that we did it more in the 2nd quarter, and started to cut through the Hawks, though they maintained the pressure for a long time (102 tackles is immense!), we were just too good;

* Dunkley is a gem and had a huge game, but he still has a lot to learn, and had some infuriating moments - it's not as obvious on the replay I think, but there were at least 3 times when he refused to give the first option (which should never happen in our game plan unless you see a clearly better option at the same time), to go with a couple of wild kicks to no one in the 50, and a moment or two when he should have tapped to the free player rather than grab the ball and be unable to release it in the subsequent tackle. That all said, he did many great things, continued to play hard when things didn't go his way, and also showed he can learn by lowering his eyes to hit up Tom Boyd with a beautiful pass in the 2nd quarter when it would have been easier to bomb away;

* I would have selected Webb, so was glad that McLean proved me wrong - his work in tight was what impressed me the most, just as I think Stringer's smothers helped set up the rest of his game. That said, both Stringer and McLean are likely to dominate important games much more than they did on Friday in the hopefully not-too-distant future;

* I hope that Hamling takes his confident contested grab in the last quarter into his future games. He won his place in the team on the back of his increasingly impressive play, but I think he's got another level or two that he can reach, again hopefully soon - huge game for him against GWS;

* Clay Smith has turned me into a believer - that vision and skill in regaining balance and then kicking across his body to find Stringer was one of the turning points in the game, as was his first goal (and then second) in the 2nd. At the moment he's playing like the perfect defensive forward who can spend important time in the middle, and he's still clearly developing as a player as well. I love the way he can find the ball (or rip it away from others), and be damaging with it, to complement his pressure skills;

* We played a fantastic game, but I think the spread of talent across the team is shown by who could impact games much more than they did this one, such as JJ, Biggs, Wood, Libba, and M Boyd among others. Last week it was the Bont among others, and the beauty of what Beveridge does is that each player just needs to play their role, and if everyone does that we're going to be super-competitive regardless of who we play.

fantastic post

06-01-2017, 09:17 PM
Rewatching this, 22-3 with 5 minutes left in the first, The dream looks over…

06-01-2017, 09:26 PM
Rewatching this, 22-3 with 5 minutes left in the first, The dream looks over…

I can't remember any of the first quarter live. Except for Zayne Cordy's tackle and goal.

06-01-2017, 10:49 PM
I can't remember any of the first quarter live. Except for Zayne Cordy's tackle and goal.

Dominated the first 5 minutes and Dicko missed two sitters before Hawks put the foot down, we were 86% in the forward half early, we will rue these wasted opportunities. Woody Got a goal back a Maclean had one disallowed. Not looking good. I've taken the dog down the beach before q2 starts..

06-01-2017, 11:24 PM
Stringer from no where then Bont gently persuades Hodge to sit down, big moment in the young mans career. Back in it!

06-01-2017, 11:32 PM
Hawks 23 up from here, a mate says its all over and with this hawks side i can weakly try to argue for optimism..

07-01-2017, 12:01 AM
1 point down at half time, Tim Cahill loving his heroes and theres an all in biff!

07-01-2017, 12:23 AM
We were on the *!*!*!*!ed highway without brakes until Breust missed that shot.

After that it was happy days. The Hawks gave us an inch and we took a mile. It makes me so happy we did that to them, because normally it's us giving the inch.

07-01-2017, 12:27 AM
We were on the *!*!*!*!ed highway without brakes until Breust missed that shot.

After that it was happy days. The Hawks gave us an inch and we took a mile. It makes me so happy we did that to them, because normally it's us giving the inch.

It took Bont 5 final qtrs but he really stood up in the second and forced the issue, weve been asking for that kind of player for a long time. He is a match winner and he has some good mates.

07-01-2017, 12:45 AM
Dominated the first 5 minutes and Dicko missed two sitters before Hawks put the foot down, we were 86% in the forward half early, we will rue these wasted opportunities. Woody Got a goal back a Maclean had one disallowed. Not looking good. I've taken the dog down the beach before q2 starts..

Sorry Marcov I was off with the fairies and was talking about the Grand Final. I like talking about the Grand Final. It was the day we won the game and became premiers.

But even in this final as is tradional Hawthirn won the start. The difference was they fluffed a line and we made them pay.

07-01-2017, 01:12 AM
Sorry Marcov I was off with the fairies and was talking about the Grand Final. I like talking about the Grand Final. It was the day we won the game and became premiers.

But even in this final as is tradional Hawthirn won the start. The difference was they fluffed a line and we made them pay.

No apologies needed Teedee. I was at the GF and rewatched it twice. This is my first rerun of the semi. We are looking good in the last :)

07-01-2017, 01:39 AM
No apologies needed Teedee. I was at the GF and rewatched it twice. This is my first rerun of the semi. We are looking good in the last :)

When the Bont slaps the ball out of Good Bloke Luke Hodge's old and slower to react hands and then sets Dickson up with a goal is one of the most sublime moments I have experienced in football.

07-01-2017, 02:05 AM
When the Bont slaps the ball out of Good Bloke Luke Hodge's old and slower to react hands and then sets Dickson up with a goal is one of the most sublime moments I have experienced in football.
Ominous call By the commentator 'changing of the gaurd'.
Is there anything he can't do? He's so young, we are in for some treats, you can go back to the goal he kicked against a demon host in his first year, sublime is a good word.

07-01-2017, 02:19 AM
87823, the biggest crowd to ever watch a bulldog win (at the time).

55 years since we had won consecutive finals. Crazy.

07-01-2017, 02:30 AM
There is something very special in every one of our 4 finals wins. I love them all equally like they are my children. We weren't perfect in this game by any means - most of the first half our forward line was dysfunctional and non-existent. But we hung in, stayed close and cashed in big time when it was our turn with the momentum.The last 6 minutes of the 3rd qtr was champagne footy. Clay Smith's two goals just before half time were massively important, just as the Caleb Daniel goal before 3/4 time in the PF and the Toby McLean goal just before half time in the GF were.

07-01-2017, 02:50 AM
Yeah we were in trouble in the second

07-01-2017, 03:04 AM
Yeah we were in trouble in the second

But Bruest, of all people, misses an easy shot and that was all she wrote. We stepped it up a notch and they had no reply. We ran over the top of them.

07-01-2017, 11:12 AM
Bugger this Im going to go to JB and buy that victory pack DVD

07-01-2017, 11:24 AM

I reckon JB owes us a Victory Pack or two. We've probably shifted more units for them than anyone else.

07-01-2017, 04:11 PM

Write it off as mental health medication.

07-01-2017, 04:56 PM
Hawks 23 up from here, a mate says its all over and with this hawks side i can weakly try to argue for optimism..

When Breust took that mark in front, I was ready to stick a fork in us.

07-01-2017, 04:58 PM
There is something very special in every one of our 4 finals wins. I love them all equally like they are my children. We weren't perfect in this game by any means - most of the first half our forward line was dysfunctional and non-existent. But we hung in, stayed close and cashed in big time when it was our turn with the momentum.The last 6 minutes of the 3rd qtr was champagne footy. Clay Smith's two goals just before half time were massively important, just as the Caleb Daniel goal before 3/4 time in the PF and the Toby McLean goal just before half time in the GF were.

Hard to pick Clay's semi or PF as his best performance. He kept us in the semi with some absolute clutch footy. Man, I'm happy that guy. 3 knee recos and he pulls out a finals series like that. Absolutely inspiring.

07-01-2017, 06:06 PM
When Breust took that mark in front, I was ready to stick a fork in us.

I wasn't happy or that optimistic, but just before the piece of play to get him that shot I had commented that we were still right in it - the Hawks just seemed to be labouring and they reacted to their own good pieces of play with something like relief rather than joy. We were fluffling chances, but it still felt to me that we were only a goal away from seriously threatening them.

Very glad of course, to have been correct in this instance. Smith's set shot was super important, we couldn't do any wrong for a period of time after that.