View Full Version : 'him'

18-09-2016, 01:14 PM
So there's one minute and 10 seconds left in the 3rd quarter.

Bruce maca-whatever. Whom I loathe. May have just accidentally come up with the best new nickname in footy.

God is taken, The King is taken, Mr Football is taken.......what is there left to call Bontempelli???

Here is a direct transcript of Bruce's call as Bont bang ones through

."........You know who...... of course it's him. It's HIM. You KNOW who it is"

Bontempelli is simply 'HIM'

18-09-2016, 01:18 PM
I'm happy to sing from the Him book.

Leigh Matthews called him a superstar this morning and additionally said there's 20 year olds that play like 30 year olds and 30 year olds that play like 20 year olds. And Marcus plays like a 30 year old.

18-09-2016, 01:52 PM
I like it. Him it is.

I have a bit of a disdain for surname based nicknames unless it's particularly funny., like Brett Heady's nickname being 'jobby', that's OK someone's thought about it and hasn't just added or subtracted a 'y'. It shows a distinct lack of imagination and even respect. After all your nickname is important. It's the name your mates use and your stuck with it for life.

18-09-2016, 01:54 PM
Or. Maybe. We could say it's a blasphemy to utter his name and we could just nod knowingly to one another whenever he just does it again.

18-09-2016, 01:56 PM
Nah, I like The Bont, was pissed off the way Bruce called that bit of play.

18-09-2016, 02:00 PM

Just that bit??? Eh?

18-09-2016, 02:07 PM
Why not Mr Football with a tweak? With his Italian heritage, Signor Football.

Is Fooch still used at the club for him?

18-09-2016, 02:09 PM
Maestro Football?

18-09-2016, 02:12 PM

He isnt the future anymore, he is the here and now.

18-09-2016, 02:14 PM
He isnt the future anymore, he is the here and now.

The Present and the Package

18-09-2016, 02:22 PM
Maestro?
Let's just call him Bob Cobb ;)

18-09-2016, 02:25 PM
Let's just call him Bob Cobb ;)

But everyone calls him Maestro. :D

18-09-2016, 03:47 PM
The Babe (Ruth)

Michael (Jordan)

Marcus

18-09-2016, 04:20 PM
I like "The Ringmaster"

18-09-2016, 04:30 PM

I like this!!

He'll always be the Bont, but a bit of folklore and a nod to the past. "Signor Football" it works!

18-09-2016, 04:31 PM

I love when bruce gets excited but all he had to say was THE BONT! A perfect example was Stringers 3rd....

18-09-2016, 04:33 PM
I liked Bruces 'him' call. It was so true, it is always him. How lucky are we.

18-09-2016, 05:37 PM
I liked Bruces 'him' call. It was so true, it is always him. How lucky are we.

Yeah, thought it was great. Loved the Bont love on the coverage. Watching the replay (both times) was a lot of fun.

18-09-2016, 05:47 PM
Yeah, thought it was great. Loved the Bont love on the coverage. Watching the replay (both times) was a lot of fun.

I'm loving his punching/pounding onto his heart goal celebrations too. I can't see that being an iconic celebration.

18-09-2016, 06:34 PM

How great is it having a player everyone loves because hes just so fantastic. Hes going to be the best player in the league within a season or 2.

18-09-2016, 09:41 PM
Bruce was quick to jump from Rioli to the Bont wasn't he ..wouldn't want Bruce behind me in the trenches .. Who's winning ? I'm with them !

18-09-2016, 11:12 PM
In fairness to Bruce & Bont's relationship....our lack of Friday night games has meant Bruce hasn't had many chances to develop his on-screen Bont love.

I'm tipping he will get a few chances next year to continue it.

19-09-2016, 01:00 PM
Loved Bruce's commentary on both Stringer and Bonti and their goals.

"It's HIM. You know who it is!" was brilliant. Of course it was Bonti!

Stringer's snap goal commentary just as good.

19-09-2016, 01:02 PM
Loved Bruce's commentary on both Stringer and Bonti and their goals.

"It's HIM. You know who it is!" was brilliant. Of course it was Bonti!

Stringer's snap goal commentary just as good.

Libba's handball out of the pack to Bont was a beauty.

19-09-2016, 01:48 PM
Libba's handball out of the pack to Bont was a beauty.

It was a perfect handball. He gets missed in all the Bont/Stringer love but he is an elite mid.

19-09-2016, 01:56 PM
It was a perfect handball. He gets missed in all the Bont/Stringer love but he is an elite mid.

Loved Libba's steal off Birchall and perfect long kick to Dunkley running towards goal in the 2nd.
He's an absolutely beautiful kick, Libba. Weights the ball perfectly.

19-09-2016, 02:06 PM
Loved Libba's steal off Birchall and perfect long kick to Dunkley running towards goal in the 2nd.
He's an absolutely beautiful kick, Libba. Weights the ball perfectly.

Libba should improve heaps next year 2nd year back from a major knee injury. Another player set to improve heaps, with a full preseason, is Him. Good luck all opponents.

19-09-2016, 08:19 PM
I really can't stand Bruce and all his catch phrases (arches the back, he's got the leg, etc) but I thought that commentary on Bonts goal was gold. Me and a few mates have already been texting it back and forth (yes like children).

19-09-2016, 08:46 PM
I think he may have legitimately momentarily forgotten his name. It's like when you trip and stumble and turn it into a dance move and hope nobody realises.

19-09-2016, 10:20 PM
I will accept HIM for the Bont so long as every says Jack Macrae as if they were a 4th Division Scottish Football League manager.

20-09-2016, 12:00 AM
I will accept HIM for the Bont so long as every says Jack Macrae as if they were a 4th Division Scottish Football League manager.

I'll give it a go Joch Mercrayy.

20-09-2016, 02:29 AM
I'll give it a go Joch Mercrayy.

Reckon you've got to roll the r; Jarck Mercrrrrrayy

20-09-2016, 02:43 AM
Reckon you've got to roll the r; Jarck Mercrrrrrayy

Then it needs a 'h' between the c and the r I reckon. Jarck Merchcrrrrrayy

20-09-2016, 09:45 AM
Whilst I enjoyed the commentary while watching the replay but not buying into the "Him" nickname, its The Bonts for me.

20-09-2016, 09:48 AM
I have now watched 'Al's Highlight's' highlights packages with both the triple M and the SEN commentaries (is it a bit sad to be reliving Friday over and over?). I love Anthony Hudson as a commentator - and his version of the 'It's HIM' goal - he just got so excited that he just said "The Bont The Bont The Bont THE BONT!!!"

20-09-2016, 06:35 PM
I have now watched 'Al's Highlight's' highlights packages with both the triple M and the SEN commentaries (is it a bit sad to be reliving Friday over and over?). I love Anthony Hudson as a commentator - and his version of the 'It's HIM' goal - he just got so excited that he just said "The Bont The Bont The Bont THE BONT!!!"

So he was exactly like every Bulldogs fan in the joint!

20-09-2016, 06:41 PM

My wife who rarely watches football, insisted we watch the 2nd and third quarters last night and a bit of the last. :eek:

20-09-2016, 09:43 PM
My wife who rarely watches football, insisted we watch the 2nd and third quarters last night and a bit of the last. :eek:

BAD - Honey, we're home alone.......how about you and I........
Mrs BAD interjects - Watch the second and third quarters from Friday night!
BAD - Well, if you say so.

20-09-2016, 09:58 PM
Perspective,

He is still on his P Plates..... STILL ON HIS P PLATES.....

20-09-2016, 10:12 PM
P plates...

20-09-2016, 10:19 PM
I can get used to him but the Bont is still what Im used to.

21-09-2016, 02:32 PM
Perspective,

He, him, hasn't had his 21st yet.
He could be called "Royce" either Rolls or Hart.

21-09-2016, 02:40 PM
He, him, hasn't had his 21st yet.
He could be called "Royce" either Rolls or Hart.

He Still can't drive a V8 Rolls Royce either.

21-09-2016, 02:45 PM
I hope He can carry us to the promised land.

21-09-2016, 03:55 PM
He Still can't drive a V8 Rolls Royce either.

And yet I am allowed to drive one. Not likely too but I like to think I'd be ready to go if the chance arose.

21-09-2016, 04:30 PM

Agree with you totally.

Don't like McAvaney one bit. Any attempt he takes to endear himself to us must be avoided.

22-09-2016, 01:16 AM
Perspective,

I feel old.

22-09-2016, 01:27 AM
I feel old.

Pffft. I've mentioned before that when I saw a picture if Calkan Ward's mum I thought "I remember that face, where have I seen her before?" After a bit it occurred to me. She was my mate Ramon's annoying little sister at school.

When you realise that you're getting older than the players, that's one thing. When you starting to get older than their parents, then it's panic stations!