View Full Version : Big Bickies Made From the 2016 Western Bulldogs Players

25-09-2016, 06:00 PM
I can't find the Grand Final Prize Money for this year, but in 2014 the winner's got $1,200,000 and runner up $660,000. I think it's a fair bit more. But it's a guide.

Of course the focus is the flag, but this kind of cash can build scoreboards, hire extra coaches or specialists or extra spending in the footy department, VFL team & women's team. Or all of the above if we win the GF. These players have just given our club a massive financial leg up.

Factor in extra memberships, and the impact for our club to do the things we want to do off field is now so much closer because of wonderful players and coaches. This huge amount of cash wouldn't have been factored into our forecasts, so it's a wonderful off field byproduct for our club.

26-09-2016, 09:16 AM
I wonder how it works with the players and salary cap , is it exempt ?
I'm sure the players would get a percentage.

26-09-2016, 09:28 AM
I wonder how it works with the players and salary cap , is it exempt ?
I'm sure the players would get a percentage.

Yep, players get a bonus from it. Not in the cap is my understanding.

26-09-2016, 09:29 AM
I think a large portion will be used to wipe debt. It's important to reduce debt when you're in a position to do so and we seem to be running at the optimum level at the moment. Let's start shoring up the long-term financial viability of the club. There will be a significant boost to membership and corporate sponsorship next year which can go towards a scoreboard / dunnies for the Whitten Oval.

As an aside Mission Foods must be stoked with the arrangement. Your team running deep into September and being only one of two is why these organisations get on board.

26-09-2016, 09:32 AM
I think a large portion will be used to wipe debt. It's important to reduce debt when you're in a position to do so and we seem to be running at the optimum level at the moment. Let's start shoring up the long-term financial viability of the club. There will be a significant boost to membership and corporate sponsorship next year which can go towards a scoreboard / dunnies for the Whitten Oval.

As an aside Mission Foods must be stoked with the arrangement. Your team running deep into September and being only one of two is why these organisations get on board.

Mission's deal expires next year. I hope the new CEO is taking the Mission execs to the Grand Final and talking about a new huge extension.

26-09-2016, 09:38 AM
Mission's deal expires next year. I hope the new CEO is taking the Mission execs to the Grand Final and talking about a new huge extension.

Mission have been really good. They came in when we were struggling and have stuck in there. I buy a packet of their soft tortillas every week.

26-09-2016, 09:42 AM
Mission have been really good. They came in when we were struggling and have stuck in there. I buy a packet of their soft tortillas every week.

I only buy mission too. I figure if their sales increase over the period, if only marginally, they might see that sponsorship correlates to increased sales. But having their logo on our jumpers in Grand Finals which will be watch time and time again, is great long term exposure. I hope we can get some other big sponsors. Our coaches polo top has a few logos, but I'd like to see it look like a Ferrari race suit with no spare room from top to bottom.

26-09-2016, 09:50 AM

I'd bank on it now. They are the Number 1 production line Mexican food exporter in the world and are Number 1 in the States. We swapped from Old El Paso to Mission as soon as they jumped on board. We are Mexican eating fiends and the kids love it, we load up each week at the supermarket. We swapped our electricity to Lumo as well (and got the free jumper) and they've been fantastic too.

Mission are a massive organisation and given our meteoric rise you can't see them jumping off anytime soon. Surely their contribution increases off the back of our successes. If they don't renew there will be no shortage of future applicants anyway. It's the biggest sport in Australia and there are only 18 opportunities.

26-09-2016, 10:07 AM
We should be renegotiating with our sponsors as we speak.

Huge crowds, huge TV audiences, increased exposure and blockbuster fixtures next year. They're getting bang for their sponsorship buck and it's time we cash in.

26-09-2016, 10:12 AM
I think a large portion will be used to wipe debt.
Rates are at an all time low. If the ROR is greater than the post-tax portion of debt repayments we'd be better off investing the cash.

26-09-2016, 11:12 AM
I'd bank on it now. They are the Number 1 production line Mexican food exporter in the world and are Number 1 in the States. We swapped from Old El Paso to Mission as soon as they jumped on board. We are Mexican eating fiends and the kids love it, we load up each week at the supermarket. We swapped our electricity to Lumo as well (and got the free jumper) and they've been fantastic too.

Mission are a massive organisation and given our meteoric rise you can't see them jumping off anytime soon. Surely their contribution increases off the back of our successes. If they don't renew there will be no shortage of future applicants anyway. It's the biggest sport in Australia and there are only 18 opportunities.

Love the big lite Mission wraps. Good for making one massive burrito

26-09-2016, 12:25 PM
Rates are at an all time low. If the ROR is greater than the post-tax portion of debt repayments we'd be better off investing the cash.

You're doing what now?

02-10-2016, 01:39 AM
Just a lazy $1,500,000 in direct prize money. Social club upgrades. New members. Huge TV numbers & likely new sponsors and merchandise sales. What a huge result to help us do the things we want to with this windfall added on top of our forecasts. Huge!

02-10-2016, 01:42 AM
Good.

02-10-2016, 03:59 PM
If the merchandise sales at the family day are any indication, we will have zero debt by Tuesday!!

02-10-2016, 04:04 PM
If the merchandise sales at the family day are any indication, we will have zero debt by Tuesday!!

And our membership should be 50k plus!

02-10-2016, 04:18 PM

How big were those lines! It was like the Show with everyone walking with multiple bags of stuff.

02-10-2016, 04:20 PM
How big were those lines! It was like the Show with everyone walking with multiple bags of stuff.

Huge, took some of us an hour. Great seeing membership tents busy too!!

02-10-2016, 07:06 PM
Ch7 just reported over $1,000,000 in merchandise sales for our club in the last week alone!!!!!!!

02-10-2016, 07:26 PM
With our coach, our players, our staff, our board and our members we can build a success machine that could take us into the next decade. This is a golden opportunity Bulldogs supporters. Let's get behind our Club like never before. Those at the coalface have worked their arses off to allow us to experience the unencumbered joy we are feeling right now. Let's repay their efforts with our unstinting loyalty and support. Go Dogs!

02-10-2016, 07:26 PM
The DVD is sold out so they can't take my money. Please take my money!!!

02-10-2016, 08:16 PM
We walked up to the shop and thought that it was an odd day not to open it but when we went past we could see why. No stuff left!

02-10-2016, 08:24 PM
I think there was about 60k at the MCG supporting our boys and another 8K at the Whitten Oval. Then there was 30K attending a family day today.
If our supporters are fair dinkum we could easily reach 50K members in the next 12 months.

The GF win could just be the tonic to unleash the potential of this club and giving it a great chance for sustained success.

02-10-2016, 10:27 PM
I always thought one flag , just one flag would blow this club into another stratosphere ,,we are a big club now !
The AFL has now no excuse not to give us the best time slots and to be in all their advertising campaigns !
I see at least a 10,000 increase in membership and our skready members up grading .. I have !

03-10-2016, 12:06 AM
I always thought one flag , just one flag would blow this club into another stratosphere ,,we are a big club now !
The AFL has now no excuse not to give us the best time slots and to be in all their advertising campaigns !
I see at least a 10,000 increase in membership and our skready members up grading .. I have !

Agree. This is just the beginning. The exposure after the last few weeks is worth millions and millions. Our brand is so strong. We will capitalise on this. I have faith.

03-10-2016, 02:16 PM
The AFL shop at Knox City (eastern suburbs) had two stubble holders, 3 dvds and a bunch of the grey premiers polos left. That was it. They said that even in the week leading up to the GF they were selling 10 to 1 Bulldogs vs other clubs.

One thing for people ordering stuff online, make sure you do it through the Bulldogs shop not AFL or Herald Sun shops!

03-10-2016, 02:26 PM
One thing for people ordering stuff online, make sure you do it through the Bulldogs shop not AFL or Herald Sun shops!

Unfortunately some things on the Herald Sun site aren't available on the Bulldogs site. I didn't grab a Mark Knight poster after the game on Saturday because I was going straight to the pub - at least those proceeds go to the Royal Childrens. I also want a wall pennant to match the 1961 pennant my old man gave me but it's already sold out on the Bulldogs site.

03-10-2016, 03:24 PM
Couldn't believe the posters were only $3.

If they were $5 or even $10 each - it wouldn't have made a difference - they'd have sold the same amount!!

My wife and son have been out shopping today...so I think I will be coming home to the DVD, stubbie holders, car stickers etc etc.

03-10-2016, 03:40 PM
Apparently new sponsors are banging the door down after the win

03-10-2016, 03:58 PM
So if merchandise keeps up for a while we are talking over $2,000,000 (since last week)
Prize Money somewhere over $1,600,000
Membership upgrades over $600,000 (in the last week)
30,000 people giving donations at family day, at say an average of $2 is $60,000

That's over $4,260,000 in our budget that wasn't in our budget at the begining of the year. Factor in additional members, prime time tv and new sponsors and I'd guess we could be looking at a $6,000,000+ pay day in addition to the silverware (new sponsors roll over into future years too obviously).

03-10-2016, 06:09 PM
So if merchandise keeps up for a while we are talking over $2,000,000 (since last week)
Prize Money somewhere over $1,600,000
Membership upgrades over $600,000 (in the last week)
30,000 people giving donations at family day, at say an average of $2 is $60,000

That's over $4,260,000 in our budget that wasn't in our budget at the begining of the year. Factor in additional members, prime time tv and new sponsors and I'd guess we could be looking at a $6,000,000+ pay day in addition to the silverware (new sponsors roll over into future years too obviously).

The gold coin entry donations yesterday, correct me if i'm wrong, were going to a one of the foundations the club supports, and I think it may of been sons of the west?. I saw a sticker on one of the buckets, but I may be wrong.

I think it would even be more than the $2 pp average as I saw people dropping $10 notes in there.

This certainly is a golden opportunity the club has been desperate for, it will be a huge big push up the back side but we have to really capitalize on it, and north waste it like North did.

Perhaps they may even start selling WB gear in eastern suburb shops in the future and not just the pies, hawks, tigers, bombers and blues.

Who knows, if we get too big we may even have trouble finding a seat at games.

03-10-2016, 06:11 PM
Who knows, if we get too big we may even have trouble finding a seat at games.

Cue Easty suggesting we play at the MCG!! ;):D

04-10-2016, 05:39 PM

Well we would have case I reckon if we cracked 50,000 members. Im used to playing at Etihad now and like my seat but it certainly wouldn't hurt us if we did play a bit more there. Essendon and Carlton are tenants at Etihad and haven't been good in recent years and play more games at the MCG than we do even when they aren't doing well.

04-10-2016, 05:41 PM
The MCG is a magnificent stadium - I love watching us play there, especially as it generally means that it is in September ;)

04-10-2016, 05:50 PM
The MCG is a magnificent stadium - I love watching us play there, especially as it generally means that it is in September ;)

Played 4 there this year and came out undefeated.

04-10-2016, 06:29 PM

Remember the talk about us not being able to play outdoors?

04-10-2016, 06:32 PM

Some of these media people are so irresponsible and I wonder how they get a job.

04-10-2016, 06:34 PM

All of them proven wrong.

04-10-2016, 06:38 PM

Or interstate.

04-10-2016, 07:56 PM

I liked us playing the G in October.

04-10-2016, 08:01 PM
The CS Medal sold out too. That's another great financial windfall for the club. May these good financial times continue. I rang the club membership department after a freak out to make sure my SC went through last week. The wait was still over 10-15 minutes today, and they're still flat out!!

04-10-2016, 08:41 PM
Does Lin Jong become more worthy of a 3 year contract for membership/marketing reasons now that the bulldogs are in the public eye and top dog in the school yards? There are a lot of asian-background kids in the western suburbs and beyond.

04-10-2016, 11:34 PM

l think you might be right, l spent over $1100 at the family day!

05-10-2016, 12:23 AM
l think you might be right, l spent over $1100 at the family day!

Did you try on every single size of everything like every second person? :D

05-10-2016, 12:31 AM

I wonder if its just a coincidence but a month of football away from Etihad didn't do us any harm at all. We finally had continuity with the group due to fewer injuries and we ran out games strongly indeed. Food for thought i reckon

05-10-2016, 08:40 AM
God knows how much we make selling some stuff worth $50 for over $2000 just because it has players signatures on it

05-10-2016, 09:49 AM
We were the most watched club over 2016 - obviously helped by playing to the first day in October, but nevertheless, no excuses from head office. We should have a blockbuster fixture next season

05-10-2016, 10:10 AM
We were the most watched club over 2016 - obviously helped by playing to the first day in October, but nevertheless, no excuses from head office. We should have a blockbuster fixture next season

Agree. That will help us more than anything. Playing on the biggest stage is so important in selling both sponsorship and corporate packages. It's much more appealing to entertain people at the football on a Friday night than Sunday twilight. We can really capitalise on this Premiership.

05-10-2016, 03:52 PM
Did you try on every single size of everything like every second person? :D

Knew what l wanted when l got there. You would think people would know what size they are. Waited in line over an hour and only had about 15 people in front of me!

07-10-2016, 06:38 PM
From Gil today:

Still basking in the glow of their flag triumph, the Dogs are set to reap a windfall off the field and could receive more Friday night clashes in 2017 – after receiving three of the marquee fixtures this season.

"They're certainly going to get their share of Friday nights. It feels there's such a change in that club," McLachlan said.

"What they can do strategically out in the west now, not only can they be a powerful club in the next couple of years, it really does feel like it might be an inflection point in the history of that club.

"They have the credibility now of being the premiers and it really feels like they might actually get a huge amount of momentum – not just for next season but for this football club for the long term."

07-10-2016, 07:37 PM
To recap:

$600,000 prize money to players, helping keep the players happy
$1,000,000 prize money to the club
$2,000,000 in merchandise sales (was over $1,000,000 last Sunday)
Sponsor Bonuses
$600,000 Sold out Social Club & Premiership Circle
Expected thousands of new members
More Friday Nights Next Year
New Sponsors lining up
Etihad being bought out with opportunity for a fairer deal
New EBA signed off within the next month, with a potential salary cap rise of $500,000
We've banked up to $1,500,000 in salary cap payments
Essendon have to cover the lion share of Crameri's wage which we can spend or bank worth around $250,000
We have the financial capacity to buy any player we want, such as a Fyffe, O'Meara or Heeney if we wanted to (subject to trade)

Not a bad week in financial news for the club!!

07-10-2016, 07:42 PM
Is that 600k divided evenly? Not a bad little earner. Even with half taken by Turnbull.

07-10-2016, 07:46 PM
Is that 600k divided evenly? Not a bad little earner. Even with half taken by Turnbull.

I'm not entirely sure. The total for winning the premiership is about $1,600,000. So with an article today saying the club gets a million, the players must get the $600,000. It'd be interesting to know the actual split, and whether emergencies get anything or whether the boys share it across the list. But extra cash landing in their bank from our payroll department should help keep the players happy with all things money.

08-10-2016, 12:31 AM
I'm not entirely sure. The total for winning the premiership is about $1,600,000. So with an article today saying the club gets a million, the players must get the $600,000. It'd be interesting to know the actual split, and whether emergencies get anything or whether the boys share it across the list. But extra cash landing in their bank from our payroll department should help keep the players happy with all things money.
Pretty sure the players get $30k each as a bonus

08-10-2016, 12:33 AM
Pretty sure the players get $30k each as a bonus

So that's why the players were all celebrating, while the guys not playing were crying? :D

08-10-2016, 12:35 AM
To recap:

Sponsor Bonuses
New Sponsors lining up
New EBA signed off within the next month, with a potential salary cap rise of $500,000
Essendon have to cover the lion share of Crameri's wage which we can spend or bank worth around $250,000
We have the financial capacity to buy any player we want, such as a Fyffe, O'Meara or Heeney if we wanted to (subject to trade)

Apparel sponsorship has also changed from BLK to Asic

08-10-2016, 12:37 AM
Apparel sponsorship has also changed from BLK to Asic

At this rate, Peter Gordon is going to have a room built at WO for all the money and swim in it like Scrooge McDuck.

08-10-2016, 05:39 AM

I would say every player got some sort of bonus this year with us wining the VFL as well , I wonder whether money comes with winning that.

10-10-2016, 04:13 PM
I read somewhere amongst the grand final newspaper articles that AFL coaches have very large bonuses written into their contracts for premiership wins - usually $300-$400K.

Big pay day for Bevo. Well earned.

10-10-2016, 05:10 PM
I read somewhere amongst the grand final newspaper articles that AFL coaches have very large bonuses written into their contracts for premiership wins - usually $300-$400K.

Big pay day for Bevo. Well earned.

I've read that he's on one of the smaller contracts in the AFL. He deserves every dollar and more.

He's literally changed the course of history for the club within 24 months. Crazy.

10-10-2016, 07:57 PM
Just saw the moonlight cinema going on at WO. Fantastic idea.
WO is going to be an even better future hub of community health and entertainment now we have won the final.
Great to see this kind of thinking.

10-10-2016, 08:01 PM
I've read that he's on one of the smaller contracts in the AFL. He deserves every dollar and more.

He's literally changed the course of history for the club within 24 months. Crazy.

Well deserved indeed. The club should commission some kind of artwork for the foyer of the WO. A painting or a sculpture that features this 2016 team. Deserves it.

Our Brand is rocking along.

10-10-2016, 09:26 PM
Well deserved indeed. The club should commission some kind of artwork for the foyer of the WO. A painting or a sculpture that features this 2016 team. Deserves it.

Our Brand is rocking along.

Humming along nicely,Thank-You very much. :cool:

10-10-2016, 09:28 PM
Bevo is a machine that churns out premierships.

27-10-2016, 11:36 AM
To recap:

Sponsor Bonuses
New Sponsors lining up

Factor in as much as another $1,000,000 in premiership merchandise sales.
Factor in the club hiring a heap of new membership department staff to keep up with demand.
Factor in 1 Thursday Night, 8 Friday Night/twilight, 3 Saturday Night and a possible night game against Hawks in the last round. Which is more than 50% of games played in prime time.
Factor in Ballarat & Cairns cash again.
Factor in Good Friday footy.

The news keeps getting better. Not only should the fixture help get new sponsors in and retain existing sponsors, but for years we've heard players requesting trades nominate 'big clubs' because they play on Friday nights and blockbuster games with packed crowds. Well AFL players, if you want these things then best you nominate the Western Bulldogs in 2017.

Let the good times roll.

27-10-2016, 11:48 AM
Factor in as much as another $1,000,000 in premiership merchandise sales.
Factor in the club hiring a heap of new membership department staff to keep up with demand.
Factor in 1 Thursday Night, 8 Friday Night/twilight, 3 Saturday Night and a possible night game against Hawks in the last round. Which is more than 50% of games played in prime time.
Factor in Ballarat & Cairns cash again.
Factor in Good Friday footy.

The news keeps getting better. Not only should the fixture help get new sponsors in and retain existing sponsors, but for years we've heard players requesting trades nominate 'big clubs' because they play on Friday nights and blockbuster games with packed crowds. Well AFL players, if you want these things then best you nominate the Western Bulldogs in 2017.

Let the good times roll.+

How much are we getting for playing in Ballarat?

27-10-2016, 11:57 AM
+

How much are we getting for playing in Ballarat?

Not 100% sure. I think the State Govt & Ballarat Council are throwing cash at us, plus I think we get the food & grog like Geelong get too. But I'm not completely across what we get, but I imagine it's enough to offset 20,000 members not getting in.

27-10-2016, 12:06 PM
Not 100% sure. I think the State Govt & Ballarat Council are throwing cash at us, plus I think we get the food & grog like Geelong get too. But I'm not completely across what we get, but I imagine it's enough to offset 20,000 members not getting in.

It needs to be a decent return which I'm sure we've done our sums. I gather we have made a decent profit this year and if we can manage costs to run an expanded revenue it should mean we can make a stronger profit again at the end of 2017.

We now need to start to reduce the clubs debt. The club should look at some fund raising options because I'm sure there are a number of members willing to dig a bit deeper if we could finally get that debt level reduced.

27-10-2016, 12:13 PM
It needs to be a decent return which I'm sure we've done our sums. I gather we have made a decent profit this year and if we can manage costs to run an expanded revenue it should mean we can make a stronger profit again at the end of 2017.

We now need to start to reduce the clubs debt. The club should look at some fund raising options because I'm sure there are a number of members willing to dig a bit deeper if we could finally get that debt level reduced.

I'd like the club to offer Peter Gordon some/all of his $3,000,000 investment, which is in the loans to the club debt ledger. If he says no, that's great. But I'd like the club to at least make the offer.

I'd hope we can build a decent scoreboard and toilets to start to position VUWO as a legitimate venue for preseason games, VFL finals, local finals and the women's competition. If we can make it a revenue source it'd be fantastic. Just a shame Edgewater ended badly, although who knows if we will branch out again.

27-10-2016, 01:47 PM
$500k off the back of the Cairns game too.

27-10-2016, 07:23 PM

Hi bt, I know there's another thread on missed opportunities, but yeah, you can tell as a club we weren't set up to deal with massive success (totally understandable -- it came as a surprise to most of us).. the family day after the GF only went for a few hours (people were arriving long after it ended), there wasn't enough merchandise for everyone who wanted something, and the shop was closed (or closed very early)! If you came at 2 or 3 pm (I had parked my car close to WO and came back to get it after lunch, so saw big groups of people still rocking up) you wouldn't even know that the club had just won the biggest sporting prize in Australia.. it was a bit of an anti-climax.

I'm not a huge fan of leaving money on the table... there was a lot more to be made in that post-premiership week.. could have kept the shop open for a week and sold five times what they did. The Rebel Sport near me (in the inner east at that) sold out of the new WB premiership jumpers in two days when they came out last week. Imagine monetizing everyone who came to the GF parade + open training + family day etc.. Like you said, we would have wiped out our debt!

27-10-2016, 07:30 PM
Hi bt, I know there's another thread on missed opportunities, but yeah, you can tell as a club we weren't set up to deal with massive success (totally understandable -- it came as a surprise to most of us).. the family day after the GF only went for a few hours (people were arriving long after it ended), there wasn't enough merchandise for everyone who wanted something, and the shop was closed (or closed very early)! If you came at 2 or 3 pm (I had parked my car close to WO and came back to get it after lunch, so saw big groups of people still rocking up) you wouldn't even know that the club had just won the biggest sporting prize in Australia.. it was a bit of an anti-climax.

I'm not a huge fan of leaving money on the table... there was a lot more to be made in that post-premiership week.. could have kept the shop open for a week and sold five times what they did. The Rebel Sport near me (in the inner east at that) sold out of the new WB premiership jumpers in two days when they came out last week. Imagine monetizing everyone who came to the GF parade + open training + family day etc.. Like you said, we would have wiped out our debt!

It'd be interesting to know what the initial orders were, and who set them. Whether there's a standard run or mercy demanded by the AFEL or whether we as a club had to guess an amount, in the context of exposed risk if we didn't win. Hopefully they can get as much stuff in the marketplace between now and Christmas shopping and as you say, extract every possible cent possible for the club to wipe out debt and grow again.

27-10-2016, 08:05 PM
It'd be interesting to know what the initial orders were, and who set them. Whether there's a standard run or mercy demanded by the AFEL or whether we as a club had to guess an amount, in the context of exposed risk if we didn't win. Hopefully they can get as much stuff in the marketplace between now and Christmas shopping and as you say, extract every possible cent possible for the club to wipe out debt and grow again.

The NFL in the US deal with this is an interesting (and.. questionable) way: they just print a shitload of merchandise for both teams, and the losing team's merchandise gets literally shipped off to Africa as 'donations' which the NFL write off their tax bill. It's legal, if ethically questionable (dumping of unwanted goods to places that don't really need them.. Africa isn't really suffering a t-shirt shortage, if you know what I mean.. it's a net exporter of clothing), and it has the hilarious unintended consequence of seeing people in Zambia or Ghana thinking that the Buffalo Bills WON four consecutive Superbowls in the '90s. Anyway, just an interesting aside.

27-10-2016, 08:09 PM
The NFL in the US deal with this is an interesting (and.. questionable) way: they just print a shitload of merchandise for both teams, and the losing team's merchandise gets literally shipped off to Africa as 'donations' which the NFL write off their tax bill. It's legal, if ethically questionable (dumping of unwanted goods to places that don't really need them.. Africa isn't really suffering a t-shirt shortage, if you know what I mean.. it's a net exporter of clothing), and it has the hilarious unintended consequence of seeing people in Zambia or Ghana thinking that the Buffalo Bills WON four consecutive Superbowls in the '90s. Anyway, just an interesting aside.

So kids in down trodden Botswana might think Sydney Swans have won two premierships in 3 years. :D

27-10-2016, 10:25 PM
So kids in down trodden Botswana might think Sydney Swans have won two premierships in 3 years. :D

And that Collingwood have won 34 premierships overall.

30-10-2016, 12:49 PM
From my understanding the merchandise is all generic such as the hats, t-shirts etc etc and the artwork is ready to go and whoever wins that is what is printed over night.

I can't recall if it was Beveridge or Gordon but apparently during Grand Final week we used Hawthorn as a sounding board and they were very helpful in what to do and what not to do.

As Peter Gordon said you want to plan as though you are going to win it, but you don't want to get in to either, in case you don't.

I think everyone from Peter Gordon down to myself are blown away just how many Western Bulldogs supporters & fans are actually out there.

30-10-2016, 02:28 PM
From my understanding the merchandise is all generic such as the hats, t-shirts etc etc and the artwork is ready to go and whoever wins that is what is printed over night.

I can't recall if it was Beveridge or Gordon but apparently during Grand Final week we used Hawthorn as a sounding board and they were very helpful in what to do and what not to do.

As Peter Gordon said you want to plan as though you are going to win it, but you don't want to get in to either, in case you don't.

I think everyone from Peter Gordon down to myself are blown away just how many Western Bulldogs supporters & fans are actually out there.

Would be brilliant if they all forked out for a membership or two.

30-10-2016, 02:38 PM

This. This. F'N This.

30-10-2016, 02:51 PM

Nah, they're waiting to see if 2016 was just a fluke :D

21-09-2021, 09:55 AM
I can't find the Grand Final Prize Money for this year, but in 2014 the winner's got $1,200,000 and runner up $660,000. I think it's a fair bit more. But it's a guide.

Of course the focus is the flag, but this kind of cash can build scoreboards, hire extra coaches or specialists or extra spending in the footy department, VFL team & women's team. Or all of the above if we win the GF. These players have just given our club a massive financial leg up.

Factor in extra memberships, and the impact for our club to do the things we want to do off field is now so much closer because of wonderful players and coaches. This huge amount of cash wouldn't have been factored into our forecasts, so it's a wonderful off field byproduct for our club.

We should be renegotiating with our sponsors as we speak.

Huge crowds, huge TV audiences, increased exposure and blockbuster fixtures next year. They're getting bang for their sponsorship buck and it's time we cash in.

Just a lazy $1,500,000 in direct prize money. Social club upgrades. New members. Huge TV numbers & likely new sponsors and merchandise sales. What a huge result to help us do the things we want to with this windfall added on top of our forecasts. Huge!

Good.

I’m not sure if the AFEL have returned the prize money to this level, but even the majority of it win-lose-draw is a huge cash bonus not factored into the budget. The 7 x Night Games this year and exposure should continue to make us an attractive sponsorship destination. Coin spot has an option for next year, or they pass and we look for another.

The players also get a piece of the action. Direct from the AFEL and outside the cap.

Coteries and social club will be sold out for years. A membership bump. If we can sell as much merchandise as possible that will be massive.

Winning on Saturday is the main game. But our CEO, CFO, sponsorship manager & membership manager will have an amazing win if/when we win. The runner up prize money and flow on would be huge for our club. The winners prize money and flow on would be game changing as most clubs struggle through the last two years, but we will pull ahead and actually be a legitimate ‘big club’. The 2016 & 2021 players/coaches have done more for the future of our club than anyone else, and we have great contenders for that title. Amazing stuff.

21-09-2021, 10:19 AM
I reckon Coinspot have likely got a bargain this year. I would imagine business has been pretty good for them and they would be crazy not to continue.

21-09-2021, 10:25 AM
I reckon Coinspot have likely got a bargain this year. I would imagine business has been pretty good for them and they would be crazy not to continue.

Yep. Cheapest GF jumper sponsorship in AFEL history I’d reckon. Pedigree signed up a couple of months ago, so they timed that well too. I think there’s only lesser levels left if/when coin spot take the option on next year.

21-09-2021, 10:36 AM
Yep. Cheapest GF jumper sponsorship in AFEL history I’d reckon. Pedigree signed up a couple of months ago, so they timed that well too. I think there’s only lesser levels left if/when coin spot take the option on next year.

I have to ask, who, or what is Coin spot ? The first I have ever seen of them is on our jumper.

21-09-2021, 10:41 AM
I have to ask, who, or what is Coin spot ? The first I have ever seen of them is on our jumper.

Crypto Currency trading platform. Now that yourself and others are aware of them their sponsorship dollars have been well spent I'd say.

21-09-2021, 10:41 AM

Some good explanation here (page 10 onwards):

https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?15023-Future-sponsorship/page10&highlight=Bitcoin

21-09-2021, 11:21 AM
Crypto Currency trading platform. Now that yourself and others are aware of them their sponsorship dollars have been well spent I'd say.

https://stockhead.com.au/cryptocurrency/roughly-1-in-10-aussie-adults-have-a-coinspot-account/

Crypto exchange Coinspot has hit two million customers – roughly a tenth of Australia’s adult population.

The Melbourne-based exchange said it only hit the milestone of 1 million customers in February and now has double that thanks to the crypto boom.

The exchange is known for its simple interface that allows customers to easily buy and sell over 300 digital currencies.

By way of contrast, Binance Australia said in July it had 480,000 customers, although it’s the country’s leading exchange by trading volume.

Coinspot said its website activity has surged 603 per cent year-to-date and at one point it was the 19th most popular website in the country.

Yesterday afternoon Alexa ranked Coinspot.com.au as the country’s 33rd most popular website, just behind Pinterest.com.au and ahead of Nab.com.au, Westpac.com.au, Twitter.com and Linkedin.com. (Coinmarketcap.com was No. 46).