View Full Version : Who's at the parade?

30-09-2016, 01:25 PM
This guy!

I'm down near the G, right on the fence line. Good atmosphere, heaps of people.

Mark Stevens is literally standing in front of me in incognito mode. I dunno, I think it's really romantic that a guy who could stand wherever he wants is just among the prolies being a fan.

30-09-2016, 01:47 PM
Apparently over 180,000 in the crowd. Most in the tricolours.

30-09-2016, 01:52 PM
There's at least 220k. It's bedlam.

30-09-2016, 01:58 PM
Mike Brady singing Up There Cazaly at a Grand Final we're in. It's starting to feel real!

30-09-2016, 02:02 PM
Imagine if all these people buy memberships next year! Cor!

30-09-2016, 02:14 PM
I'm not leaving the house until it's game time.

30-09-2016, 02:17 PM
Imagine if all these people buy memberships next year! Cor!

I hope they Do!

30-09-2016, 02:47 PM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/6UhuI7S1w8xWFaz-rCSi4EmAbjRe75Fs6c4y3q3FRSUq4d1J26UVQG_bT3PyiDJTaQoowr912VoU wyeIrz8u0GM4nG5Q7hDat64qKtE96vMt8COjb_v8QFGdezMKuMOwpYhHhOz1 0EP6FnmJN9bW9BHebc3QWRfdRs03EGsmPIiQyEPIkS22z_a75_IiYCk_hMGy a7OgsEdBSO4w1kfZn5NaOsj3AinSDQKTGHEzT0vC-xNlMvyNZZjhMfnO9aQhSxmMGL0v-BgZJxY8xZ5ViWoB1QHv0-arGWV-KFYQLs5V6NLWzoF1Uwd8l-cARUahZuLGki4gpRe3MfANJcTBwjiVx-GQJCeyy3NgQaEQzqBpqc6mKcp-rMirW__ewP40RlV7MJ2vDG38m5aFmryEyxtaU-DYDXHwCFT7KP9_Lqq19rfPFQlZdjqZvx7-JtWIvm7DgqMOTQ57N-S_eiZt6vK5Xak_p_lXRouLE2FO_0GFcOxq-wd8maAUw880X7eQOhi5k4KUF13YXZEjsih_tned0QCIEWKiRI1Fc8Pqj4x4R 2M_uqG2-IOBgY4Ent6mv_LDzvlsO1DlqRUzf4YK5mg2NvNWkhE3Dk7pA-iCHBXzngWA=w1222-h916-no

https://twitter.com/thelaxong/status/781720772997894144

Really exciting time for our club. Hope the supporters who turned up for today parade will also sign up for next year membership.

30-09-2016, 02:50 PM
Great atmosphere. What I love about these Dogs is the only time I've generally seen them excited is after the prelim and then it's straight back to business. I doubt this week is sucking our energy nor are we being overawed. Expect us to be 'on' come tomorrow.

30-09-2016, 02:55 PM
Was amazing. Got a thumbs up from Clay when I said hey Clay give us a wave :)

30-09-2016, 02:55 PM
That was huge, great to attend and the turnout, wow.

30-09-2016, 03:12 PM
Yelled out to the umpires 'Look after Toby' and got a laugh.

You can thank me later.

30-09-2016, 03:20 PM
Was fun to take my 5 year old along. He isn't coming to the game tomorrow - so it's been a buzz to take him to training and the parade so he will hopefully have some little memories there of the week.

Just a sea of bulldogs supporters....I'mn not sure where all these people have been when it's time to buy memberships and attend matches!

30-09-2016, 03:53 PM
There was an enormous crowd there! Quite surprising. Also, the contrast between the cheers for Swans players versus those for our guys was enormous!

I think they're really enjoying the experience!

30-09-2016, 04:04 PM
Ran into Craigsahibee amongst the massive crowd. Couldn't believe the sea of RWB, surely all these people should be members. My wife ran into one of the young lads from her office who is still desperate for a ticket.

Walked down to Swan st Richmond for a burger and complete strangers wishing us well. Shops in Swan st with scarves and Bulldog posters everywhere.

This morning stopped to grab a takeaway coffee in High st Prahran and Bulldog poster in shop - we are everywhere.

30-09-2016, 04:49 PM
It was great Mr INB yelled out to Roughie "can you see me?" Got a thumbs up

30-09-2016, 05:08 PM
Dead set one of the best days of my life

30-09-2016, 05:11 PM
Dead set one of the best days of my life

Tomorrow might just eclipse that.

30-09-2016, 05:33 PM
I made a last minute decision to go in and we headed straight for the AFL Live site. Couldn't believe how packed it was. Great to see so much red, white and blue.

Who would've thought we had this many supporters?

Just on the support I know a lot of shops and cafes had Dogs colours up all week in the West, but even shops down Frankston way have also jumped on bored.

So glad I went in, the weather was perfect and the crowd, WOW the crowd and atmosphere was amazing.

30-09-2016, 05:39 PM
Today at the Parade was Magnificent!!!
This has been without a doubt the Greatest week of My Life!!!!
And there's still 2 Days to GO!!! :p ;)

30-09-2016, 05:44 PM
I was there with the 9 month old pup that freaked out! Too much noise for him, poor bubba. What an atmosphere! And swans were well outnumbered, almost 4:1 I'd reckon. And thank you gods of the weather in Melbourne for turning it on, it was perfect. I also had my nephew from Shepparton with me, he'd never, ever seen so many people all in one place before. Had him wearing a Bulldogs hat the whole time too - I'll snag him yet! (He nominally barracks for the Weagles)

30-09-2016, 06:07 PM
I was there with the 9 month old pup that freaked out! Too much noise for him, poor bubba. What an atmosphere! And swans were well outnumbered, almost 4:1 I'd reckon. And thank you gods of the weather in Melbourne for turning it on, it was perfect. I also had my nephew from Shepparton with me, he'd never, ever seen so many people all in one place before. Had him wearing a Bulldogs hat the whole time too - I'll snag him yet! (He nominally barracks for the Weagles)

So maybe a 130,000 dogs people. Only 40,000 members. Time for some folks to sign up I'd say.

30-09-2016, 06:14 PM
Great turnout.

Was at the live site in Yarra Park and I was in a really good spot able to see the players come out. Easton said a few words, they lifted the cup, Patty Dangerfield spoke briefly before hand. Mike Brady was there to get us into GF fever.

Another day I won't forgot. This is a first for us - our first ever GF Parade as prior to 1977 there wasn't a parade.

30-09-2016, 06:17 PM
One of the great mysteries is why we only have 40,000 members

30-09-2016, 06:17 PM
Very fortunate with the weather as well as there was a bit of rain overnight.

30-09-2016, 06:18 PM
One of the great mysteries is why we only have 40,000 members

Yeah I feel we have a lot more out there than we think - thats my perception.

30-09-2016, 06:26 PM
60 years of failures will do that

30-09-2016, 06:32 PM
Just touched down and disappointed I missed it. Bruce Macavaney was on my flight over and the bloke sitting opposite said he talked to him on the way in and he picked us tomorrow. Everywhere I go people are hollering out about the Dogs. It's just started to sink in. Shits about to get real.

30-09-2016, 06:36 PM
I went! HUGE turnout. I was right near the tram stop 9 bit. Got all shy and embarrassed whenever a Bulldog even looked vaguely in my general direction but how were Libbas sunnies? They gave me "suburban dad speed dealer" vibes hahaha.

Would be nice of a few more of these people signed up as members.

30-09-2016, 07:09 PM
Heard that Peanut Denim on KB's show this morning say that there would be no attendance record at the parade broken today as it was a Public Holiday.
KB shot him down in flames for the FLOG that he is.

30-09-2016, 08:15 PM
Wow. How exciting was that. Sensational turn out and how good was it see so many passionate Bulldogs supporters out in force. Exceded my expectations, what a day. Loved every single minute. Can't wait to get back to the MCG tomorrow.

30-09-2016, 10:17 PM
Just heard on the news that crowd at the parade today was the biggest ever! Wow! i just can't believe what is happening to us this week. Its gone far beyond anything i'd ever thought could happen. Just so bloody proud woofers!

30-09-2016, 10:21 PM
Just heard on the news that crowd at the parade today was the biggest ever! Wow! i just can't believe what is happening to us this week. Its gone far beyond anything i'd ever thought could happen. Just so bloody proud woofers!

Did we have membership tents around the place at all?

30-09-2016, 10:29 PM
Did we have membership tents around the place at all?

We didn't walk to the MCG but at the Treasury Bulding end there weren't anything. Some dodgy guys were selling fake WB flags (no logo and printed only one side) for 10$. They sold a lot to bandwagoner. Missed opportunity there for the club but it was a busy week after all and I don't think the club could have done more without proper planning. We are in the GF for the first time and no one would know what to expect.

30-09-2016, 11:03 PM
Went along with the family, miss 3 had a ball - she loved seeing all the players go past and pointed out that Bonti didn't have his headband on (its always of great concern to her). She also had a ball down in yarra park. Mr 5 months was blissfully unaware that anything out of the ordinary going on.

I only know a handful of bulldogs supporters in my local area and I ran into a fair proportion of them amongst the 180,000.

30-09-2016, 11:09 PM
180,000?! Wow, amazing turnout.

01-10-2016, 02:43 AM
Incredible day, just incredible.

01-10-2016, 08:32 AM
Was fun to take my 5 year old along. He isn't coming to the game tomorrow - so it's been a buzz to take him to training and the parade so he will hopefully have some little memories there of the week.

Just a sea of bulldogs supporters....I'mn not sure where all these people have been when it's time to buy memberships and attend matches!

Nice to meet you.

01-10-2016, 08:36 AM
We didn't walk to the MCG but at the Treasury Bulding end there weren't anything. Some dodgy guys were selling fake WB flags (no logo and printed only one side) for 10$. They sold a lot to bandwagoner. Missed opportunity there for the club but it was a busy week after all and I don't think the club could have done more without proper planning. We are in the GF for the first time and no one would know what to expect.

Girl fully decked out in Saints gear goes up with her $10 held out, guy looks her over and says "which team?" Girl replies quizzically "Bulldogs, of course"