View Full Version : The Scoreboard Omen

02-10-2016, 01:44 AM
Anyone else the scores on the scoreboard of 54 vs 61 (last quarter) and think that's a pretty good omen?

02-10-2016, 05:53 PM
I was happy with the final margin of 22 points

because 22 is the number my daughter wears for hey footy club and she won the club and competition best and fairest awards.

I love this winning stuff

02-10-2016, 06:16 PM
I didn't notice it until Bruce pointed it outing the replay.

02-10-2016, 07:40 PM
22 points was our 3/4 time lead in the 1997 PF. Fitting that the team that broke the PF curse won the GF by the same margin

03-10-2016, 06:03 AM
Plenty of omens ..premiership captain intitials E W .
My friend picked up something At work during the week it was number 54 .
We never lost two grand finals in a row.
The half penny story from Bevo.
Anymore anyone have ?

03-10-2016, 09:15 AM
Plenty of omens ..premiership captain intitials E W .
My friend picked up something At work during the week it was number 54 .
We never lost two grand finals in a row.
The half penny story from Bevo.
Anymore anyone have ?

We had never lost a game played after September 24 (record now stands at 2-0; 1954 and 2016) :)

03-10-2016, 09:30 AM
We had never lost a game played after September 24 (record now stands at 2-0; 1954 and 2016) :)

What date was the 1961 Grand Final?

03-10-2016, 11:30 AM
I'm not superstitious but by hells the stars aligned for me this week. Didn't post any of them to jinx us.

Here's a few

Our home in Adelaide had some storm damage a few weeks ago, on Thursday we had to move some old storage boxes that haven't been looked at for about 15 years. The first one contained a signed EJ Whitten poster that I forgot I owned, and an old FFC #3 "Eastcoast" sponsored jumper with #3 on the back. Wore it yesterday. (doesn't fit)

ALSO in the same box was an unopened newspaper from 20 April, 1998, the day my twin sons were born. (One was with me at the G)

It had the current ladder in there, Dogs were top of the ladder that day and the Swans were second on the ladder

Bumped into Danny McGinlay the morning of the match. Had a good chat. Is a ripper guy.

Walked into the ground and saw Simon Beasley walking past. I shook his hand, didn't know what to say, but shook it anyway.

At the ground I was sitting to a very quiet, little old lady who told me before the match she was at the 54 premiership. Gave her a big hug. I was panicking during the match and kept asking her if she was ok. She was fine, but I asked her a dozen times. Eventually she asked me if I was ok. (Barely!)

There was a million other coincidences and happenings during the week, I need to remember what they were!

03-10-2016, 12:53 PM
As I walked towards the gate before the game, Teddy jnr walked past so I high 5 him and he said "Good Luck Mate", I was feeling so excited.

03-10-2016, 01:14 PM
I'm not superstitious but by hells the stars aligned for me this week. Didn't post any of them to jinx us.

Here's a few

Our home in Adelaide had some storm damage a few weeks ago, on Thursday we had to move some old storage boxes that haven't been looked at for about 15 years. The first one contained a signed EJ Whitten poster that I forgot I owned, and an old FFC #3 "Eastcoast" sponsored jumper with #3 on the back. Wore it yesterday. (doesn't fit)

ALSO in the same box was an unopened newspaper from 20 April, 1998, the day my twin sons were born. (One was with me at the G)

It had the current ladder in there, Dogs were top of the ladder that day and the Swans were second on the ladder

Bumped into Danny McGinlay the morning of the match. Had a good chat. Is a ripper guy.

Walked into the ground and saw Simon Beasley walking past. I shook his hand, didn't know what to say, but shook it anyway.

At the ground I was sitting to a very quiet, little old lady who told me before the match she was at the 54 premiership. Gave her a big hug. I was panicking during the match and kept asking her if she was ok. She was fine, but I asked her a dozen times. Eventually she asked me if I was ok. (Barely!)

There was a million other coincidences and happenings during the week, I need to remember what they were!

Forgot one. My wife works for the RSPCA, was working Saturday morning. Just before she knocked off, someone bought in 2 Bulldogs...........

03-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Forgot one. My wife works for the RSPCA, was working Saturday morning. Just before she knocked off, someone bought in 2 Bulldogs...........

2! Bulldogs, maybe that is another omen in itself, 2017?????

03-10-2016, 10:25 PM
What date was the 1961 Grand Final?

September 23 :)

04-10-2016, 12:25 PM
We scored '89' in our prelim and Grand Final wins.

04-10-2016, 12:36 PM
Here's another

My favorite Footy Stat was the fact that every year that Adam Ant was born, we have won the premiership.

I mentioned this to a mate Saturday morning, and he flipped out, as he had read an article just this week about Adam Ant who is releasing his second album and just about to do a tour....

http://wogl.cbslocal.com/2016/09/27/adam-ant-announces-35th-anniversary-north-american-tour/

04-10-2016, 01:15 PM
A caller rang SEN last week and said in every Leap Year for the past 20 years, the team that was on top of the ladder after round one, won the premiership. That was also true this year.

04-10-2016, 01:26 PM
We scored '89' in our prelim and Grand Final wins.

That is freaking freaky.

04-10-2016, 01:33 PM
That is freaking freaky.

and both games it was 13.11.89 with a point kicked on the siren

04-10-2016, 08:06 PM

I guess that says we need to find and recruit players born on 13 November 1989.

04-10-2016, 08:31 PM
I guess that says we need to find and recruit players born on 13 November 1989.

I don't know who this person is, but allegedly they are famous

http://www.famousbirthdays.com/people/emily-clark.html

04-10-2016, 08:31 PM
A caller rang SEN last week and said in every Leap Year for the past 20 years, the team that was on top of the ladder after round one, won the premiership. That was also true this year.
Haha that's cool.

Stewie Dew had also won a GF in every Olympic year since 2000, until Saturday :)

04-10-2016, 09:09 PM
The sweetest thing is that the Pigshooter's number with us was 16! :cool:

04-10-2016, 09:11 PM

Now you're weirding me out.

04-10-2016, 10:29 PM
We kicked exactly eleven behinds in each of our final three finals, and we kicked exactly four goals in the final quarter of each of our final three finals, and a player of ours lined up for goal on or after the final siren of each of our last three finals.

The last four premierships were won by a team kicking exactly eleven behinds in the Grand Final.

05-10-2016, 12:04 AM
I am yet to confirm this, but I read a random FB post that mentioned that our first score in the GF came with 19:54 on the clock (counting up).

05-10-2016, 01:10 AM
I am yet to confirm this, but I read a random FB post that mentioned that our first score in the GF came with 19:54 on the clock (counting up).

You mean the way you see on the time clock at the ground?

05-10-2016, 11:50 AM
You mean the way you see on the time clock at the ground?

Yeah. I'll have to remember to turn on a stopwatch the next time I watch it.

05-10-2016, 09:34 PM
22 points was our 3/4 time lead in the 1997 PF. Fitting that the team that broke the PF curse won the GF by the same margin

Here's a good one.

Both our 2016 AFL GF and our 2014 VFL GF were won by 22 points.

05-10-2016, 11:21 PM
Here's a good one.

Both our 2016 AFL GF and our 2014 VFL GF were won by 22 points.

Apart from last year 1922 was the last time we competed in the competition we are currently competing in and didn't win the premiership.

05-10-2016, 11:58 PM
22 was Dylan Addison's number, proving that DFA is the greatest Bulldogs player ever.