View Full Version : Favourite GF presentation moments

09-12-2016, 02:28 AM
I've just finished watching the GF and the post-match presentation on Foxtel for about the 15th time - it was on again just now. We've dissected the actual GF to within an inch of its life, but what were everyone's favourite moments from the post-GF presentation coverage? I'll nominate the Easton Wood interview with Ling, where he was completely overwhelmed and holding onto his mothers hand - such a beautiful and natural moment between mother and son. There are so many other brilliant moments, from the emotional to the comical - this will be fun, over to you woofers...

09-12-2016, 03:06 AM
The roar when Tom Boyd's name was read to receive his Premiership medal was incredible. At the time I thought I would never hear a crowd that loud again ... the Bevo called Bob up on to the stage.

09-12-2016, 03:52 AM
I was holding it together until Bevo called Bob Murphy onto the stage as he was taking the medal of his own neck. I always knew It would be an emotional moment when they cup was held aloft for the first time but I didn't think it would be that emotional. The look of pure joy on Bob's face when he and Easton hold up the cup is priceless.

09-12-2016, 08:16 AM
The roar when Tom Boyd's name was read to receive his Premiership medal was incredible. At the time I thought I would never hear a crowd that loud again ... the Bevo called Bob up on to the stage.

His long goal nearly wrecked the joint. Ling said it was the most noise he'd ever heard there and he's been there a bit.

09-12-2016, 08:27 AM
His long goal nearly wrecked the joint. Ling said it was the most noise he'd ever heard there and he's been there a bit.

l heard or read somewhere that the noise was so loud that it caused dust to dislodge from the roof and float down onto the crowd!

09-12-2016, 08:32 AM
https://s30.postimg.org/7h0dk5hfl/476377.jpg

The whole thing was so emotional. l loved Wood doing snow angles in the confetti. Just showed how elated he was .

But also love this picture because the kid in between Stinger and Dahl with the painted face is my youngest son.
l have had a copy of the photo signed by Stinger and M Boyd and will have framed for him.

09-12-2016, 08:37 AM
I remember a 5 second (if that) camera shot of a spent Liam Picken on his back in the company of only his wife and young children. He had a look of complete satisfaction that was moving and somehow summed the moment up beautifully. Maybe not my very favourite, but a small one I'd like to add to the list.

09-12-2016, 08:48 AM
l heard or read somewhere that the noise was so loud that it caused dust to dislodge from the roof and float down onto the crowd!

Reverberations as the Western Suburbs erupted!

09-12-2016, 09:11 AM

The whole thing was so emotional. l loved Wood doing snow angles in the confetti. Just showed how elated he was .

But also love this picture because the kid in between Stinger and Dahl with the painted face is my youngest son.
l have had a copy of the photo signed by Stinger and M Boyd and will have framed for him.

That is brilliant. I'd give anything to have my kids in a photo like that. Straight to the pool room!

09-12-2016, 09:49 AM
That is brilliant. I'd give anything to have my kids in a photo like that. Straight to the pool room!

I know. What was that little kid to the left on Jakes ankle doing! Praying for the Bont to come over?

09-12-2016, 09:57 AM

http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/external?url=http%3A%2F%2Fcontent4.video.news.com.au%2Ffoxsp orts%2Fprod%2Farchive%2F2016%2F10%2F01%2FDVU_011016_TOM_BOYD _GF_PACKAGE.jpg&width=650&api_key=kq7wnrk4eun47vz9c5xuj3mc

My wife's favourite moment was just after the long goal, when McLean jumped on Tom's back and Tom just kept running like there was only a fly on his back.

09-12-2016, 10:01 AM
One of those moment:

http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/d73aab6f70ccd73c5f0ac98342f0bf20?width=650
Still bring out a smile every time I look at it :)

09-12-2016, 10:06 AM
I've just finished watching the GF and the post-match presentation on Foxtel for about the 15th time - it was on again just now. We've dissected the actual GF to within an inch of its life, but what were everyone's favourite moments from the post-GF presentation coverage? I'll nominate the Easton Wood interview with Ling, where he was completely overwhelmed and holding onto his mothers hand - such a beautiful and natural moment between mother and son. There are so many other brilliant moments, from the emotional to the comical - this will be fun, over to you woofers...

Not that exact moment but this picture highlight the emotion you described in your post:
http://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ct3g4ibWIAALrUz.jpg:small

09-12-2016, 10:08 AM
I was holding it together until Bevo called Bob Murphy onto the stage as he was taking the medal of his own neck. I always knew It would be an emotional moment when they cup was held aloft for the first time but I didn't think it would be that emotional. The look of pure joy on Bob's face when he and Easton hold up the cup is priceless.

I still love to go back to all the GF pictures and re-live that exact moment:
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/d2b28b4ac0c9a9a26860ecdc170b34db?width=650

09-12-2016, 10:12 AM
I remember a 5 second (if that) camera shot of a spent Liam Picken on his back in the company of only his wife and young children. He had a look of complete satisfaction that was moving and somehow summed the moment up beautifully. Maybe not my very favourite, but a small one I'd like to add to the list.

I love his smile ...
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/73d244205d1301296c22ff418076323f?width=650
and I love the love for his partner ...
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/91250230a049482c6129ec30e30de52d?width=650

09-12-2016, 10:15 AM
I love his smile ...

Too good choconmientay. You're a whizz.

09-12-2016, 11:03 AM
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/external?url=http%3A%2F%2Fcontent4.video.news.com.au%2Ffoxsp orts%2Fprod%2Farchive%2F2016%2F10%2F01%2FDVU_011016_TOM_BOYD _GF_PACKAGE.jpg&width=650&api_key=kq7wnrk4eun47vz9c5xuj3mc

My wife's favourite moment was just after the long goal, when McLean jumped on Tom's back and Tom just kept running like there was only a fly on his back.

I got an animation of this goal celebration:

https://i.imgflip.com/1fm33t.gif (https://imgflip.com/gif/1fm33t)

09-12-2016, 12:05 PM
Libba putting the hat on the kid backwards and hitting the playing group with the Richard Nixon walking off the podium.

09-12-2016, 12:24 PM
Bonts dousing the coach with Gatorade was rather amusing.

09-12-2016, 12:25 PM
Boyd & Bob embracing just after the win, head to head. Finishing with an 'I love you mate' from both men.

09-12-2016, 12:27 PM
Leigh Matthews having to stand by the Dias seeing Tom Boyd get a premiership medallion after a huge game.

09-12-2016, 12:53 PM

Wow, always wondered who he was. What a lucky boy! He and the boy on the right with the thumb up, classic!

09-12-2016, 12:57 PM
not that exact moment but this picture highlight the emotion you described in your post:
http://pbs.twimg.com/media/ct3g4ibwiaalruz.jpg:small

brilliant.

09-12-2016, 01:10 PM

Brilliant. Just brilliant.

Not that exact moment but this picture highlight the emotion you described in your post:
http://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ct3g4ibWIAALrUz.jpg:small

I haven't seen that before. Beautiful picture, thanks for posting it.

Leigh Matthews having to stand by the Dias seeing Tom Boyd get a premiership medallion after a huge game.

There is only one person on the ground without a smile on his face during the presentations-apart from the Sydney players and crew. The little thug wasn't happy, he had a face on him like he'd been snorting dried up dog shit.

Just apropos the photo of the guys standing on the fence. I have a bunch of photos from the rear of that shot, Stringer standing on the fence waving the cup, Tom Libba clutching the cup with a "try and take it from me" look in his eyes, Lukey D, Bubba Smith hugging every second person and the next day when I was scrolling through I thought "I don't remember any of this" but it must have been right in front of us. I was pretty delirious for a bit so I have probably just forgotten.

09-12-2016, 02:32 PM
Libba putting the hat on the kid backwards and hitting the playing group with the Richard Nixon walking off the podium.
In terms of comedy gold, Libba consistently delivers in spades. I also enjoyed the prelude to this with the cap sitting right on top of Libba's bouffant as he casually walked to the podium.

Of all our premiership players, he was the most odds-on to give the Auskick kid donuts :D

09-12-2016, 02:35 PM
The thought crossed my mind as well - only wished that Boydy won the Norm Smith just to cap off the final humiliation for Lethal.

09-12-2016, 02:35 PM
Good call on Bubba's face. His punching the ground in 1997 is etched in my memory, but his beaming smile in 2016 is the antidote.

09-12-2016, 02:56 PM

Brilliant TDB, what an amazing experience your Pup will pass down through the TDB family generations.

09-12-2016, 02:59 PM

Look at Richardson face, he clearly enjoyed being so close to the scene :)
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/380409d6f625d9734dcbd922dbb6dd4a?width=650

Boyd & Bob embracing just after the win, head to head. Finishing with an 'I love you mate' from both men.
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/be4f8d9a9bc5f0bd022253de8f06b7ca

09-12-2016, 03:19 PM
What about this one ...

... He it is! Follow him and he'll deliver what you desire!
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/56b90b34b28cb56faedc161be1132319?width=1024
Check out the Swans fan on the right... full of admiration for the Bont :)

09-12-2016, 03:25 PM
Good call on Bubba's face. His punching the ground in 1997 is etched in my memory, but his beaming smile in 2016 is the antidote.

http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/cf118f7ee65f6ae4bd19ed39b4920713?width=650

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/smith.jpg

09-12-2016, 04:13 PM
^^

Perfect.

09-12-2016, 04:24 PM

Several commentators on the day (Mark Howard on MMM was one) said it was as loud as they have ever heard it.....i don't think i really realised as i was too invested in the game. Also said it may never be that loud again. Mostly because it would be very rare to have a grand final where a) neutrals give a dam about the outcome and b) 90% of the stadium is going for the same team and c)its been 62 years since that team won the flag

09-12-2016, 05:08 PM
I love his smile ...

My wife loved this after the win, she has a soft spot for Picken as she follows Pick's Mrs (Uncanny Anny) on facebook.

09-12-2016, 05:22 PM
It got pretty insane there toward the end. So intense. The best moment was Boyds long bomb. One second Buddy's bounding through the middle next second we're all standing up willing the ball through.

09-12-2016, 05:29 PM
It got pretty insane there toward the end. So intense. The best moment was Boyds long bomb. One second Buddy's bounding through the middle next second we're all standing up willing the ball through.

Were you at the end the ball bounced through?:D = Cheer Squad end

09-12-2016, 05:30 PM
I thought the loudest moment was Picken's second goal - from 35m out - after the minute long pressure footy. Was an enormous build up and a huge roar.

In terms of the GF presentation moments - I quite like Roughy getting up and getting the Auskick kid to wave at the camera with him. Mr Nice guy big Rough.

09-12-2016, 05:32 PM
http://1v1d1e1lmiki1lgcvx32p49h8fe.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/20161001001284936569-original-800x543.jpg

09-12-2016, 05:36 PM
Is this a sad moment in one way? - have a look at top right hand corner. Bob walking away head down.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ct4KVZAVUAAV4_l.jpg:large

09-12-2016, 07:07 PM
Let's call it poignant, not sad -- couldn't have any sadness on that day.

09-12-2016, 08:28 PM
I liked seeing the Auskick kids and the young Pickens playing in the confetti

09-12-2016, 09:14 PM
Were you at the end the ball bounced through?:D = Cheer Squad end

No the other end. It was a bit funny cos we all turned our heads from live to big screen as one to see. We could see it was a huge kick but it was going to bounce. Then everyone went very quiet for a half second as we watched the nig off break on the big screen then it was time to dance.

Is this a sad moment in one way? - have a look at top right hand corner. Bob walking away head down.

Maybe he's sending a text?

09-12-2016, 09:56 PM
I was up in Level 4 for our Grand Final and unfortunately my phone battery went down but I have pics from the GF training session from WO and the GF parade.

From the post GF celebrations I would say Bevo's speech was very good and when they did the lap around the G with our cup - remember when Bob was going around punching his chest just amazing. Saw the Easton Wood confetti moment. The played some AC/DC at the end of the celebrations.

Choco = woof photo King :) great pics mate also BAD is quite close as well.

09-12-2016, 09:57 PM

Great that he will be going around again very soon.

09-12-2016, 10:04 PM
God, so many. Loved watching the footage, when Bont receives his medal, he can be heard talking to the young(er) kid... 'Do you wanna shake my hand? Good on ya, ya little cutie!"... love it every time I see it. 20 years old, speaks like a grizzled veteran.

I also loved Richo's interviews, he seemed genuinely chuffed that we won. When he speaks to Dahl, and Lukey begins to tear up as he speaks about how the club gave him a chance.... brilliant.

This thread is brilliant too.

09-12-2016, 10:12 PM
I was up in Level 4 for our Grand Final and unfortunately my phone battery went down but I have pics from the GF training session from WO and the GF parade.

From the post GF celebrations I would say Bevo's speech was very good and when they did the lap around the G with our cup - remember when Bob was going around punching his chest just amazing. Saw the Easton Wood confetti moment. The played some AC/DC at the end of the celebrations.

Choco = woof photo King :) great pics mate also BAD is quite close as well.

Easty, I had the image ready and waited for you to post this to ... put it up ;)

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Files/Images/160110_Sidebar_quote_murphy.jpg.jpeg

It was amazing to see him punch his chest .... unlike the pretender BJ Goddard ...!

Another one here:
http://media.fyre.co/DAS1oSGkRWOZ0QUIy9kX_Murphy.jpg

Btw, it's quite easy to find pictures nowadays with google anyway :)

09-12-2016, 10:20 PM
I thought the loudest moment was Picken's second goal - from 35m out - after the minute long pressure footy. Was an enormous build up and a huge roar.

In terms of the GF presentation moments - I quite like Roughy getting up and getting the Auskick kid to wave at the camera with him. Mr Nice guy big Rough.

OctoCall got the footage of Picken's second goal:

https://youtu.be/3Myv5t2af1Q

09-12-2016, 10:25 PM
The Legendary John Schultz presenting the 2016 Premiership Cup to Bevo,Bob and Easty.

09-12-2016, 10:31 PM
The Legendary John Schultz presenting the 2016 Premiership Cup to Bevo,Bob and Easty.

http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/f938e7d84b41a91a37f9c30a58939369?width=650

09-12-2016, 10:39 PM
http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/f938e7d84b41a91a37f9c30a58939369?width=650

Awesome Choco,you are a star!!:)
Schultzy looks as if Bevo has just told him one of his jokes! ;)

09-12-2016, 10:48 PM
Double

09-12-2016, 10:57 PM

Via a mate from work, I can confirm that this is true.

Here's what I loved about the Gatorade Shower:

When the American's started doing it, it was usually two 300lb linemen picking up the cooler to pour on the coach.

The Dogs, we just got The Bont to do it solo. Because The Bont.

My favourite moment of the day is the 30 seconds or so after Picken's 3rd, when it starts to sink in that we've won the flag.

Every other goal that quarter was accompanied by loud, long "Bulldogs" chants.

After that goal, there was an eerie hum around the ground as we all started turning to each other and starting to celebrate.

After the initial roar, I stood there in disbelief, hands on heads, took a few deep breaths, sat back down, took my hat off and just sat with my head down.

The young Collingwood supporting AFL member two seats across leans over and says "Its ok to cry, you know".

09-12-2016, 11:07 PM
OctoCall got the footage of Picken's second goal:

https://youtu.be/3Myv5t2af1Q

The moment:

Channel 7 (Bruce): Picken, Oh Picken! Picken, Yes!
6PR (Not sure who's calling): Oh Liam Picken. Liam Picken! LIAM PICKEN!!
ABC (Gerard): Picken! He couldn't! HE COULD!!
AFL Live (Peter Donegan): Now Picken! From 30 out (Billy Brownless yells uncontrollably to drown him out). Is he going to be the Grand Final Hero??
3AW (Tony Leonard): Picken's got it, to try and thread the needle, YES HE DOES!!
Triple M (JB): Ground Level, Picken, Straightens up, SAUSAAAAAGE! Sausage, BULLDOGS! They've busted it out to 7 points. I don't know Spud, they're winning this bloody game I reckon!!
SEN (Huddo): But guess who's got it? GUESS WHO'S GOT IT! PICKEN! PICKEN! LIAM PICKEN HAS KICKED A GOAL FOR THE BULLDOGS, THAT SENDS THEM 7 POINTS AND THEY ARE STARING AT HISTORY NOW!

09-12-2016, 11:51 PM
Besides the whole lot , I'd say Taylor's letting the f bomb go after Tommy's great goal .

10-12-2016, 01:19 AM
The moment:

AFL Live (Peter Donegan): Now Picken! From 30 out (Billy Brownless yells uncontrollably to drown him out). Is he going to be the Grand Final Hero??
3AW (Tony Leonard): Picken's got it, to try and thread the needle, YES HE DOES!!
Triple M (JB): Ground Level, Picken, Straightens up, SAUSAAAAAGE! Sausage, BULLDOGS! They've busted it out to 7 points. I don't know Spud, they're winning this bloody game I reckon!!
SEN (Huddo): But guess who's got it? GUESS WHO'S GOT IT! PICKEN! PICKEN! LIAM PICKEN HAS KICKED A GOAL FOR THE BULLDOGS, THAT SENDS THEM 7 POINTS AND THEY ARE STARING AT HISTORY NOW!
I loved JB's commentary there.

10-12-2016, 02:05 AM
The moment:

What? Really? Ugh

10-12-2016, 02:15 AM
Peter Donegan was the only pro to call the Callum Mills ducking of the head (when tackled by Biggsy) for what it was - most others went with the 'too high/should have been a free kick' option. It remains a mystery to me why he hasn't been given a contract by any of the footy broadcasters over the last 15 years.

10-12-2016, 02:35 AM
Peter Donegan was the only pro to call the Callum Mills ducking of the head (when tackled by Biggsy) for what it was - most others went with the 'too high/should have been a free kick' option. It remains a mystery to me why he hasn't been given a contract by any of the footy broadcasters over the last 15 years.

He's not a mate......or one of the boys. He just calls footy, and apparently the public thinks there's only a few posts at each network for people like that.

10-12-2016, 09:58 AM

Peter is a great caller.
Als Octocalls have really highlighted the good and the poor callers, I know Tony Leonard is a Dogs supporter and has mates on here but he should never commentate our games.

10-12-2016, 10:10 AM
Besides the whole lot , I'd say Taylor's letting the f bomb go after Tommy's great goal .

Footage and sound on youtube: ;)

https://youtu.be/CZvdsDro8Ik

10-12-2016, 10:56 AM
The moment:

I could watch that footage all day. So many players working so hard. Loved Cordys bullocking. Who is the player laying the block to let picken have the shot on goal?

10-12-2016, 11:02 AM
I could watch that footage all day. So many players working so hard. Loved Cordys bullocking. Who is the player laying the block to let picken have the shot on goal?

By memory is it McLean?

10-12-2016, 11:06 AM
Peter is a great caller.
Als Octocalls have really highlighted the good and the poor callers, I know Tony Leonard is a Dogs supporter and has mates on here but he should never commentate our games.

I first met Tony Leonard nearly 40 years ago and love the guy but you're about him. Like Dan Lonergan (who I have never met thank Christ because it would take about 15 seconds after meeting him before I had to punch him) they should never be allowed to commentate bulldog games because they barrack and criticise far too much.

At the end of the prelim Tony turns to Nathan Brown "so this is what it's like Nath!" Meaning that this is what it's like after all these years, isn't it fantastic for us bulldog people?" but the only problem was Nathan Brown isn't a bulldog person and frankly couldn't have given a flying *!*!*!*! whether we were in the Grand Final or not. So Tony asked him again, and Browny blanked him again. It was embarrassing.

10-12-2016, 11:15 AM
Gee bit tough on Brown . He was one of the few who stood up for the club when the whole "relevance " debate surfaced two years ago.
They were lining up with baseball bats whacking the club, yet Brown stood up for us. For Tony Leonard I'd throw up Bruce Eva for bias, as Bruce plays Tony off a break. I like Bruce Eva by the way . Peter Donegan is an outstanding sports broadcaster whom is rediculously undervalued and under-utilised

10-12-2016, 02:11 PM
Gee bit tough on Brown . He was one of the few who stood up for the club when the whole "relevance " debate surfaced two years ago.
They were lining up with baseball bats whacking the club, yet Brown stood up for us. For Tony Leonard I'd throw up Bruce Eva for bias, as Bruce plays Tony off a break. I like Bruce Eva by the way . Peter Donegan is an outstanding sports broadcaster whom is rediculously undervalued and under-utilised

Nathan Brown is a great bloke. I loved every game he played for us and we were well compensated when he left us. I have no problem with him at all. But he ain't a bulldog supporter, he's a bulldog person maybe, but he's not a supporter. In fact he is on record as having said that during our run in 2008-10 that he watched each prelim hoping we'd lose because he knew that he would have played a big part of that push if he'd stayed at the club and he was jealous that he'd miss out on a premiership. He said he couldn't stand the thought of the players he came up through the ranks with like Shaggy and Murph and Gia having team success together and he would have "missed out".

Nathan is all about Nathan, that's OK, I'm usually all about me. Anyway my point was more about Tony Leonard.

12-12-2016, 10:15 AM
Picken's last 2 goals are my favourites and will be watched over and over and over again over the years. Of course Boyd's long bomb will be up there too, but the roar of the crowd from both of Picken's just hits me more emotionally.

I must say, after the siren and as the presentation was happening, there was this eerie quietness about the place.....there was just so much shock and disbelief. This was truly a lifetime experience for dogs fans. Something supporters of most clubs will never get to experience.

12-12-2016, 10:59 AM
By memory is it McLean?

Was none other than Tom Boyd

12-12-2016, 11:31 AM

Shes a woman with fine taste - it was an iconic moment

12-12-2016, 11:58 AM
Picken's last 2 goals are my favourites and will be watched over and over and over again over the years. Of course Boyd's long bomb will be up there too, but the roar of the crowd from both of Picken's just hits me more emotionally.

I must say, after the siren and as the presentation was happening, there was this eerie quietness about the place.....there was just so much shock and disbelief. This was truly a lifetime experience for dogs fans. Something supporters of most clubs will never get to experience.
Yes I definitely noticed and experienced that eerie stillness after the siren. A poignant punctuation after a 62 year punctuation.

Liam's goals and my favourite mark ever were more moving even than Boyd's goal, the sealer, because Liam personifies to me that wild colonial boy spirit coupled with really hard work and physical bravery that he has injected into the team and is shared by others. Whereas Tom's goal was the stamp of Fate.