View Full Version : "He's playing one season too many" 2017 edition

19-04-2017, 11:43 AM
Thread inspired by discussion of Bourgoyne in the Rd 4 thread.

Who else?

19-04-2017, 11:52 AM
Matt Boyd may be heading this way.

Josh Gibson looks completely cooked.

19-04-2017, 12:18 PM
Luke hodge

19-04-2017, 12:22 PM
Luke hodge

Was clearly Hawthorn's best player on Monday.

19-04-2017, 12:28 PM
Not much of an achievement I'm afraid. But anyway, he's often getting caught when once he wouldn't. He's no longer a one touch player. He fumbles, takes too long to make decisions, and does a lot of grunt in and under work making up for his own errors. It was apparent when Bont ran rings around him last year. Watch hodge closely and you'll see what I mean.

19-04-2017, 12:35 PM
Stevie J looks slower than ever.

19-04-2017, 12:42 PM
The Feminist

19-04-2017, 12:44 PM
Not much of an achievement I'm afraid. But anyway, he's often getting caught when once he wouldn't. He's no longer a one touch player. He fumbles, takes too long to make decisions, and does a lot of grunt in and under work making up for his own errors. It was apparent when Bont ran rings around him last year. Watch hodge closely and you'll see what I mean.

Thats very different from he is a useless player now which seems to be the call for Burgoyne and Gibson.

19-04-2017, 01:40 PM
Stevie J looks slower than ever.

A few weeks ago when he was chasing his 500th career goal he was making plenty of ground. The weird thing was the GWS burned him every time. He'd be in acres of space on the lead and the ball carrier would go for someone else. Stevie was not happy.

19-04-2017, 01:40 PM
Ryan Griffin.

19-04-2017, 01:45 PM

I don't think it is ideal for Hodge to be having to play inside mid at his age. Ideally he'd be on a back flank patrolling - but he seems to be on ball a lot due to necessity. But I think he's playing a fair way above the 'played one too many seasons' category. If anything, I think Hawthorn will need him to consider playing on again next year to help bring through the younger players, and soften the landing a bit on their massive fall.

19-04-2017, 02:17 PM
Vickery .. One season was one to many.

19-04-2017, 03:02 PM
I don't think it is ideal for Hodge to be having to play inside mid at his age. Ideally he'd be on a back flank patrolling - but he seems to be on ball a lot due to necessity. But I think he's playing a fair way above the 'played one too many seasons' category. If anything, I think Hawthorn will need him to consider playing on again next year to help bring through the younger players, and soften the landing a bit on their massive fall.

Personally I think he is cooked.

19-04-2017, 03:11 PM
Ryan Griffin.

Does he still play in the big league ?

19-04-2017, 03:22 PM
Personally I think he is cooked.

He's had 80 possessions in 3 matches. Plenty of players would loved to be cooked like that!

19-04-2017, 03:26 PM
Does he still play in the big league ?

No idea mate. I'm doing well just to remember his name.

19-04-2017, 03:48 PM
No idea mate. I'm doing well just to remember his name.
Out for 10 weeks with an ankle, was reduced to tagging this year.
Has gone seriously backwards since he went to GWS

19-04-2017, 03:51 PM
Out for 10 weeks with an ankle, was reduced to tagging this year.
Has gone seriously backwards since he went to GWS

Well it was worth it for them. The only directly lost a pick 1 player, and then indirectly a pick 6 player they drafted and couldn't keep.

Im excitedly waiting for a journo to do an article on this trade, from the GWS perspective.

19-04-2017, 05:03 PM
Well it was worth it for them. The only directly lost a pick 1 player, and then indirectly a pick 6 player they drafted and couldn't keep.

Im excitedly waiting for a journo to do an article on this trade, from the GWS perspective.

I wonder if Barrett will ignore the opportunity to write an article on the Boyd/ Griffen trade now and admit he was wrong and chose the wrong player and club to put down.

19-04-2017, 05:36 PM
I wonder if Barrett will ignore the opportunity to write an article on the Boyd/ Griffen trade now and admit he was wrong and chose the wrong player and club to put down.

Well he uses the ignore & block button to anyone who suggests he even may have slightly been wrong in an opinion, so I think he will ignore this too. Much like I ignore whatever program he's on because he's not learnerd or insightful.

19-04-2017, 06:15 PM
Jarrad Waite.
Daniel Wells.

19-04-2017, 06:18 PM
Liam Jones ;)

19-04-2017, 06:27 PM
Liam Jones ;)

Carlton fans are saying 3 too many for this 'contested beast' (Great call Malthouse).

19-04-2017, 06:39 PM
Scott west and Brad Johnson .. Due to injury not form though.

19-04-2017, 06:52 PM
Carlton fans are saying 3 too many for this 'contested beast' (Great call Malthouse).

The Beast can contest all he likes now down back for The Bullants ;)

19-04-2017, 06:52 PM
Bryen Gryphon.

Fixed.

19-04-2017, 07:21 PM
Drew Petrie has been injured but not good signs for him

Steve Johnson, Josh Gibson, James Kelly and Shaun Burgyone.

Question marks on Watson, Wells and Deledio but I would back Deledio to come good when injury free

19-04-2017, 07:41 PM
Drew Petrie has been injured but not good signs for him

Steve Johnson, Josh Gibson, James Kelly and Shaun Burgyone.

Question marks on Watson, Wells and Deledio but I would back Deledio to come good when injury free

Wells would argue with you, or more so, him and his one million dollars plus from Ed & Naf.

19-04-2017, 08:06 PM
Others not already mentioned...

Andrew Swallow
Jesse White
Kurt Tippett
Zac Dawson
Tendai M'Zungu
Brent Stanton

19-04-2017, 08:11 PM
Jake Melksham

19-04-2017, 08:22 PM
Many people seem to have a drastically different meaning to this phrase than I do. I equate it to great player that is now too old and has become rubbish and a liability.

19-04-2017, 10:25 PM
The Feminist
If we're being brutally honest, he was a plodder under Sheeds, became a very good contested ball player at the Daniel Cross level under Knights and then he became a superstar of the competition only when he got on the juice. Ever since he got off the gear, he's regressed every year, even bearing in mind that the PED's he took in 2012 would have artificial benefits for a few years thereafter. He's back to being a plodder again and looks as finished as anyone.

I don't think there has been a more unsavoury scene in 2017 as the media fawning over the 'triumphant' return of the drug cheats in R1. It's akin to running a ticker tape parade for the return of Justin Gatlin at the Olympics.

19-04-2017, 10:28 PM
Nick Smith and Kieran Jack are two players who have really laboured since the 2nd half of 2016. Smith was hardly ever beaten as a small defender pretty much since he debuted but has looked so slow and unable to contain his direct opponent in recent matches.

Jack keeps falling over in the contest, which is the sure sign that age has caught up with him. He's not particularly old but his body has taken an absolute battering over the years. I don't think the public spat with his parents has been helpful to him either.

19-04-2017, 10:32 PM
Wil Minson, oh wait. ;)

19-04-2017, 11:45 PM
If we're being brutally honest, he was a plodder under Sheeds, became a very good contested ball player at the Daniel Cross level under Knights and then he became a superstar of the competition only when he got on the juice. Ever since he got off the gear, he's regressed every year, even bearing in mind that the PED's he took in 2012 would have artificial benefits for a few years thereafter. He's back to being a plodder again and looks as finished as anyone.

I don't think there has been a more unsavoury scene in 2017 as the media fawning over the 'triumphant' return of the drug cheats in R1. It's akin to running a ticker tape parade for the return of Justin Gatlin at the Olympics.

Pretty good assessment.

Patty McCartin.

20-04-2017, 08:10 AM
Zac Dawson has played about 10 seasons too many :o

20-04-2017, 11:11 AM
Jarrad Waite.
Daniel Wells.
Wells is in the first year of a 3 year deal.
Whoopsies

20-04-2017, 11:40 AM
Jarrad Waite.
Daniel Wells.

How can you say this with any conviction?

Waite played 1 game and kicked 1.7, saw lots of the ball (17 touches, 7 marks) just didn't finish off his work and then got injured with the type of injury that isn't an old man injury... If he kicked 4.4 or even 6.2 he would've been in the votes.

Haven't seen Wells at AFL level this year so I would think it's a wait and see on him too.

20-04-2017, 01:00 PM
Haven't seen Wells at AFL level this year so I would think it's a wait and see on him too.
Wells has had significant injury troubles for two years, the same injuries he's struggling with now (and is not exactly the hardest trainer floating around).
Makes Collingwood's deal for him seem like lunacy.

20-04-2017, 01:18 PM
Wells has had significant injury troubles for two years, the same injuries he's struggling with now (and is not exactly the hardest trainer floating around).

Last year he was actually relatively injury free (19 games). It was the 2 seasons before that where he missed a lot of footy.

He had a great 2016 and was always going to play on, but the 3 year deal from the Pies was crazy given his age and history.

How about coaches that have gone on a year too long? Clarkson and Buckley at the top of the list at this stage?

20-04-2017, 01:18 PM

It's like it was the act of a manager who knew he was headed out the door and wanted to leave a large dump in the drawer of the new manager's desk.

20-04-2017, 01:26 PM
Last year he was actually relatively injury free (19 games). It was the 2 seasons before that where he missed a lot of footy.

He had a great 2016 and was always going to play on, but the 3 year deal from the Pies was crazy given his age and history.

How about coaches that have gone on a year too long? Clarkson and Buckley at the top of the list at this stage?

You'd think Clarkson has plenty of runs on the board, to be given a chance to regenerate that list. Whether or not he wants to, is a different matter.

20-04-2017, 01:27 PM
Thats very different from he is a useless player now which seems to be the call for Burgoyne and Gibson.
But I never said he was a useless player. I just think he's played one season too long.

20-04-2017, 01:32 PM

But I'm talking about Hodge, playing on a half back flank, missing a target, then diving desperately in and under to redeem himself. Not him playing in the midfield.
It was really clear to me in the last quarter of the Geelong game.

20-04-2017, 06:44 PM
You'd think Clarkson has plenty of runs on the board, to be given a chance to regenerate that list. Whether or not he wants to, is a different matter.

No doubt Clarkson has earned the right to do whatever he wants. I meant in hindsight perhaps both parties would have been better off if they parted ways at the end of 2016.

20-04-2017, 08:17 PM
Jarrod McVeigh

20-04-2017, 08:20 PM
How can you say this with any conviction?

Waite played 1 game and kicked 1.7, saw lots of the ball (17 touches, 7 marks) just didn't finish off his work and then got injured with the type of injury that isn't an old man injury... If he kicked 4.4 or even 6.2 he would've been in the votes.

He's had to significent injuries the last two years missing huge chunks of games both times.
Plus i can't stand that dirty prick.

21-04-2017, 12:25 AM
Kieran Jack and Jobe Watson.

21-04-2017, 12:29 PM
No doubt Clarkson has earned the right to do whatever he wants. I meant in hindsight perhaps both parties would have been better off if they parted ways at the end of 2016.

You think that can be clarified after 4 weeks? Clarkson is a gun coach and 16 other teams in the comp will jump for joy and fight over themselves if he is sacked or gone.

21-04-2017, 12:54 PM
You think that can be clarified after 4 weeks? Clarkson is a gun coach and 16 other teams in the comp will jump for joy and fight over themselves if he is sacked or gone.

No of course not. I was just wondering out loud if Clarkson is up for a rebuild after such success when it appears from their trading that they were trying to stay up rather than bottom out.

21-04-2017, 09:21 PM
No of course not. I was just wondering out loud if Clarkson is up for a rebuild after such success when it appears from their trading that they were trying to stay up rather than bottom out.

I reckon he knows what he's doing.