It's Bob 300th game!

Margin: Dogs by 37 points
First Goal: Dahl to get us started
Best On Ground: Macrae to have a great game
Crowd: 35,162

Go Bulldogs!!

21-04-2017, 12:58 PM
bulldogtragic - I wonder what BT will come up with this week :)

21-04-2017, 01:40 PM
Dogs by 31 points.
First Goal: The Package
BOG: JJ
Crowd: 28,745.

21-04-2017, 01:50 PM
Dogs by 42 points
First Goal: Hunter
BOG: Murphy
Crowd: 30,152

21-04-2017, 02:48 PM
Dogs by 52 points
First goal: Hunter, Lachlan.
BOG: Bontempelli, Marcus.

Kick long, plenty goals after.

21-04-2017, 02:55 PM
Dogs by 40 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: M.Boyd

21-04-2017, 02:59 PM
Dogs by 40 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: M.Boyd

Would love that. Hasn't been the best so far this year but a huge game in Bobs 300th would be excellent.

21-04-2017, 03:23 PM
Hope we can get a minimum of 30k there.

Dogs by 37
BOG: Hunter
FG: Tom Boyd (1st of 5)

21-04-2017, 06:57 PM
Crowd: 32520
Margin: Dogs by 48
First goal: Dahlhaus
BOG: Bont

Damian Barrett has predicted Boyd will kick 8.

21-04-2017, 08:01 PM
Dogs by 32
First goal Boyd Jnr
BOG Libba
Crowd 26,583

21-04-2017, 08:10 PM
Dogs by 134 points (it clicks for the first time in 2017)
BOG & FG Tom Boyd 11 Goals
30,000 crowd - 100 people for every game Bob has poured into our club in blood, sweat and tears

21-04-2017, 11:50 PM
Not many predicting a big win.

22-04-2017, 12:05 AM
Dogs by 34 pts
Bog Dahl
1st goal Bob

22-04-2017, 02:19 AM
WB by 12
First Goal Libba
BOG Bonts

22-04-2017, 08:51 AM
Dogs 43 points
First Goal- Libba
BOG- Jong
Crowd- 34,506

22-04-2017, 08:59 AM
Not many predicting a big win.

Brisbane have provided some challenges for us in the last few years mainly because they are generally a lot more athletic.
This could be the game where our class prevails and we get a very comfortable win or it could be one where we struggle to put them away but if Murph's 300th doesn't get the players up it would be a shame.

22-04-2017, 09:54 AM
Dogs by 58pts
FG-Murph
BOG-Murph

22-04-2017, 10:52 AM
Dogs by 87
First goal T Boyd
BOG JJ

Hoping we burst out the blocks this week.

22-04-2017, 01:35 PM
Dogs to win by 25 points.
First goal will be Liam Picken
BOG Jackson Macrae
Crowd 32,720

When I came in on the train two ladies shed a tear or two reliving their favourite Bob Murphy stories. It could very well be an emotional day for many.
Go Dogs, Go Bob

22-04-2017, 02:18 PM
Dogs to win by 16 pts
First goal - stringer
Bog - dalh

Have to do it for Bob.....NO EXCUSES !!!

22-04-2017, 02:24 PM
Who's taking the over/unders on dropped marks for Tom Boyd. I'm setting the line at 3.

22-04-2017, 02:25 PM
Nice to get a Johnny Cash song pre-match.

22-04-2017, 02:38 PM
Hope we come to play.

Lions have won the last 3 out of 5 encounters IIRC.

22-04-2017, 02:39 PM
Nice to get a Johnny Cash song pre-match.

Which one?

22-04-2017, 02:41 PM
Dogs by 33 points
First goal: Smith
BOG: Murph...
Crowd..should be 45, 000 but i think closer to 25k unfortunately being against Brissy.

22-04-2017, 02:41 PM
How great are the collars? Love.

22-04-2017, 02:44 PM
How great are the collars? Love.

Looks awesome.

22-04-2017, 02:55 PM
Inside 50s are diabolical.

22-04-2017, 02:59 PM
They are as long as Jongy's getting on the end of it.

22-04-2017, 03:00 PM
Adams has had a brilliant start at CHF.

22-04-2017, 03:03 PM
Macrae in everything too, as usual.

22-04-2017, 03:03 PM
Adams started very well.
Put the red collars on for every game IMO. They look fantastic.

22-04-2017, 03:13 PM
Jeezus our kicking for goal is worse than putrid.

22-04-2017, 03:14 PM
Stringer, you deserve to get absolutely smashed for that pull out.

22-04-2017, 03:15 PM
We are so far off the pace right now its not funny.
We should've been 6 goals up but our woeful goalkicking has really spurred the Lions on.
I would love to know what is wrong but this is garbage.

22-04-2017, 03:15 PM
Pitiful. Should be 6 goals up, we trail going into quarter time. Disgusting.

22-04-2017, 03:18 PM
Honestly this game should be basically over by now. Our inability to kick set shots is going to hurt us against good teams. It might hurt us today.

22-04-2017, 03:19 PM
We should be putting teams like Brisbane to the sword and increasing our percentage yet for some reason we end up in shit fights where we need to scrap our way to a win

22-04-2017, 03:19 PM
Joe the goose. Where would opposition teams be without him

22-04-2017, 03:21 PM
All I can say is pathetic

22-04-2017, 03:31 PM
We are embarrassing.

22-04-2017, 03:44 PM
This reminds me of 3 years ago where we would dominate big stretches of games for no score reward. And then the other team would kick easy goals and we lose spirit. We are deadset in big trouble.

22-04-2017, 03:46 PM
This is pus and we deserve to lose.

22-04-2017, 03:47 PM
Comical defending and zero pressure in the middle. Getting what we deserve.

22-04-2017, 03:47 PM
This is the most pathetic, incipid performance I've ever had the misfortune of witnessing.

22-04-2017, 03:48 PM
To quote Wallet, "I'm going to spew".

22-04-2017, 03:49 PM
Horrible to watch. In fact I can't bear to watch. I want to go home.

22-04-2017, 03:49 PM
I am not sure i can watch much more of this. Pathetic doesn't quite capture how bad we are.
Even if we were to somehow find a way to win this it would be a terrible day.

22-04-2017, 03:53 PM
They can't do a thing wrong, we can't do a thing right.....I think we need a new tackle coach....we are putrid in that regard.
Not working hard enough, just like the first 4 games.
Something is drastically wrong.....unless we just pulled it out of our ass last year.
Will be lucky to make the 8 playing like this.

22-04-2017, 03:54 PM
Jeezus our kicking for goal is worse than putrid.

You're tempting fate making that point (pun intended) ☺

22-04-2017, 03:55 PM
Could not believe the line at the start was +59.....we were playing nowhere near that range.

22-04-2017, 03:58 PM
Sorry double post.

22-04-2017, 03:59 PM
The only good thing about this game is the red collars. They are brilliant.

Everything else has been disgusting.

22-04-2017, 04:00 PM
To think I was gonna fly over from tassie for bobs 300th for this insipid effort....glad I saved that $318 return trip.

It goes without saying we need to show up for work in the 2nd half. Brisbane had a purple patch where they could do no wrong but we have been very wasteful and have displayed appalling skill execution. We have panicked at times as well and have shown a poor game awareness.

Bevo and the coaches have a lot of work to do to turn this around.

How impressive has BT's boy McStay been?

The concerns have been there for a while.

Not surprised at the tripe we're serving up, we look like we'd rather be on a beach in LA

The only good thing about this game is the red collars. They are brilliant.

Everything else has been disgusting.

And Jack Macrae.

22-04-2017, 04:02 PM
Yeah, and Jack Macrae.

22-04-2017, 04:02 PM
I haven't been this pissed off at the footy since we dropped a 50 point lead to the Saints.

First quarter we missed goals be we were dominating. That quarter it was downright disgusting.

22-04-2017, 04:03 PM
Garbage.

22-04-2017, 04:04 PM
It goes without saying we need to show up for work in the 2nd half. Brisbane had a purple patch where they could do no wrong but we have been very wasteful and have displayed appalling skill execution. We have panicked at times as well and have shown a poor game awareness.

Bevo and the coaches have a lot of work to do to turn this around.

How impressive has BT's boy McStay been?

Thank you Captain Obvious

22-04-2017, 04:04 PM
For us to win this game, Rockliff , beams, Zorko, mcstay and hip wood would all have to get gastro at half time.
I thought Freo would have been the wake up call.
I was wrong.

22-04-2017, 04:06 PM
5 goals from more than 30 entries into the forward line is a telling stat. Brisbane on the other hand have made us pay with their forward entries nearly every time.

If it swings it could get close

22-04-2017, 04:07 PM
So many of our prime movers are just a fraction off and its consequences are huge. Tackles that don't stick, fumbly hands in tight, poor goalkicking.
For all the good things Lin Jong does his skill deficiencies cost us dearly. Stringer plays like he believes the Gary Ablett Snr comparisons and even Bont has been fumbly whoch for the first time has exposed his lack of pace.

Thank you Captain Obvious
Id like to hear your thoughts?

5 goals from more than 30 entries into the forward line is a telling stat. Brisbane on the other hand have made us pay with their forward entries nearly every time.

If it swings it could get close

Might be worth a thread alone but our defensive setups are putrid this year.

22-04-2017, 04:08 PM
Some pretty abject efforts and decision making. A couple of Hollywood centreing kicks by Jack Macrae that opened us up. Jack also fell asleep and let Hipwood wheel onto the left under no pressure. When Jack is not on tbe job, and he is probably the most selfless and team oriented player in the team, it smacks of an attitudinal problem today.

Our mids are not helping out the back 6 at all, and the defenders have made some half-hearted efforts in contests to say the least - JJ falling over and letting Taylor win a clearance inside 50, Picko not killing that ball in the goalsquare and allowing a soccer goal.

Lions were lucky to be in it halfway through that qtr but then they got on top around the ground and carved us up so easily in the last 20 mins.

22-04-2017, 04:17 PM
Some pretty abject efforts and decision making. A couple of Hollywood centreing kicks by Jack Macrae that opened us up. Jack also fell asleep and let Hipwood wheel onto the left under no pressure. When Jack is not on tbe job, and he is probably the most selfless and team oriented player in the team, it smacks of an attitudinal problem today.

Our mids are not helping out the back 6 at all, and the defenders have made some half-hearted efforts in contests to say the least - JJ falling over and letting Taylor win a clearance inside 50, Picko not killing that ball in the goalsquare and allowing a soccer goal.

Lions were lucky to be in it halfway through that qtr but then they got on top around the ground and carved us up so easily in the last 20 mins.

It was actually Easton Wood who allowed the player to come from behind and get the toe in Sedat he has been incredibly poor defensively. For mine the leadership has been poor Murph Wood Boyd and Bont not too sure if they are getting their hands dirty enough for mine.

Really like Campbell in the ruck, Boyd played way too many minutes in the ruck in the second quarter and they took advantage.

22-04-2017, 04:17 PM
Might be worth a thread alone but our defensive setups are putrid this year.
We always press up but their skills have been excellent so far. First 15 minutes of the 3rd might be the spark we need

22-04-2017, 04:23 PM
Kind of glad im watching under 15s soccer atm.

22-04-2017, 04:49 PM
Even after completely dominating we are still behind....our kicking is an absolute farce....laughable to be honest....I've seen better kicks in under 16's

22-04-2017, 04:49 PM
Better

22-04-2017, 04:50 PM
I think the assistant coaches need to be looked at. Our kicking has been an issue for years, it's not getting better.

22-04-2017, 04:50 PM
Interminable rocking and rolling of reviews stops momentum in its tracks

22-04-2017, 04:52 PM
Great quarter and the players answered the challenge. Zaine Cordy has been very impressive with his composure and decision making. How good was Stringers goal?

22-04-2017, 04:54 PM
There is no point holding reviews unless the quality of the footage improves.

22-04-2017, 05:28 PM
A win's a win but it's pretty galling if it encourages them to think they can get away with what they're dishing up.

Fair chance we'll find out next week.

22-04-2017, 05:29 PM
I know Bris fell off in the 2nd half, but just goes to show our mindset when we play as a team....confident in ball movement, and run both ways....very happy for bob, and to be 4-1, but a lot of improvement needed between the ears.

22-04-2017, 05:34 PM
Great finish, so many of our players stood up when it counted. We done also to the coaches for resetting the group.

Toby McLean gets under the oppositions guard.

I think this was our best performance

22-04-2017, 05:35 PM
Well there's another game I wont bother watching on the replay.

22-04-2017, 05:35 PM

I was just thinking the same thing :)

22-04-2017, 05:36 PM
That being said, really should have been a 10-15 goal win based on inside 50s and scoring shots.

22-04-2017, 05:37 PM
Great finish against a clearly tiring Lions unit.
It would have been so dispiriting and demoralising to have lost this game on Bob's day.
We've got a lot of work to do & i worry about how we will go when we come up against a top 8 quality side.

22-04-2017, 05:39 PM
Great finish against a clearly tiring Lions unit.
It would have been so dispiriting and demoralising to have lost this game on Bob's day.
We've got a lot of work to do & i worry about how we will go when we come up against a top 8 quality side.

I don't think we will have too wait long....GWS next Friday night.

22-04-2017, 05:44 PM

Yeah dunno if it's even worth grabbing off the Foxtel box.

We would not want to be serving up that crap next week against GWS.

22-04-2017, 05:46 PM
Really impressed with Adams' 2nd half. Didn't like him forward, felt it was a bit of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

22-04-2017, 05:47 PM
Should have won that by 10 goals plus. You can't afford not to take those chances against better opposition. Very lucky to get away with another win after being down by 38 points.

We would have taken 4-1 at the start of the season. We have not played anywhere near our best and you would think that this team has a lot of upside still.

22-04-2017, 05:49 PM
Reckon I will watch the 2nd half but not the first.

We are 4-1 without really having played a decent game (both the Collingwood and Swans games were good, but given the opposition it flattered us). We are building into the season. I thought we would be 3-2 or even 2-3 at this stage. Yes next week will be a test, but that is good. The 2nd half will really help

22-04-2017, 06:12 PM
The main thing is, did everybody get their 'Murphandise'?

22-04-2017, 06:13 PM

Eight goal last quarter and Lions only 2.3 in the second half, I bet you do watch the 3rd and 4th quarters. :)

22-04-2017, 06:14 PM
Really impressed with Adams' 2nd half. Didn't like him forward, felt it was a bit of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

He was excellent in defence... Won or negated so many contests when we were battling.

22-04-2017, 06:23 PM
He was excellent in defence... Won or negated so many contests when we were battling.

One of his best games for the club.

22-04-2017, 06:28 PM
Cordy and Adams were great in the second half, both assured with the footy and got their hands in when counted. While we are on Cordy he always seems to hurt someone from the opposition each week its a handy attribute to have.

22-04-2017, 06:29 PM
So Adams, Cordy and Roberts all played well? They will have an interesting time next Friday night.

Who was on Hipwood in the first half?

22-04-2017, 06:30 PM
Don't miss the 2nd half because it was a thing of beauty - restricting Brisbane to 2 goals from 24 inside 50's was as fantastic as conceding 12 goals from 20 inside 50's in the 1st half was disgraceful. Our 2nd half intensity and defensive structure was top shelf - in just over half a game we scored 13.8.86 to 2.4.16, which is a powerful display in anyone's language.

22-04-2017, 06:30 PM
So Adams, Cordy and Roberts all played well? They will have an interesting time next Friday night.

Who was on Hipwood in the first half?

Roberts started on him, and couldn't keep up with his Athleticism, then Wood had a go for awhile.

22-04-2017, 06:35 PM
Roberts started on him, and couldn't keep up with his Athleticism, then Wood had a go for awhile.

Thanks.

And in the second half?

22-04-2017, 06:41 PM
Thanks.

And in the second half?

They coudn't get the ball inside 50,but when it came down there, Adams, Roberts and Cordy had the ball covered. Hipwood wasn't one out like in the first quarter.

22-04-2017, 06:44 PM
Roberts started on him, and couldn't keep up with his Athleticism

So who plays on Cameron nest week?

22-04-2017, 06:49 PM
So who plays on Cameron nest week?

Will be interesting as we have to cover Patton as well. Maybe Cordy goes with him.

22-04-2017, 07:46 PM
Amazing second half, definitely worth watching again.

22-04-2017, 07:54 PM
Amazing second half, definitely worth watching again.

Ok, ok, my arm has been twisted.

The first half left such a sour taste in my mouth I struggled to enjoy the comeback.

22-04-2017, 08:10 PM
Hard not to feel like we should've done to Brisbane what the Crows did to the Suns and Port did to Carlton.

Bevo's even admitted as much lately.

22-04-2017, 08:25 PM

Zoned most of the night BAD. I don't think he had a true opponent. He was injured before the half so that helped.

22-04-2017, 08:26 PM

Credit to him as well. It was a tough night for him over in Perth, stuff like thay can haunt.

22-04-2017, 08:28 PM
Brisbane will be no push overs for any side this year. They are quick and use the ball well. However, we really let them in by our shocking kicking for goal in the first half. If you dominate but miss goals and they goal each time they go forward ... you don't have to be Einstein to work out the psychological effect. "Hey boys, we're well in this"
Our second quarter was very poor. They cut us to ribbons for 20 minutes. Team defence collapsed.
To the team's credit they turned it around in the 3rd and blitzed it in the last ten minutes.
But, we have problems. Unless we fix our goal kicking and start hitting some targets inside 50 we are going to come up short against better sides.
I'm worried about Libba. I don't see him having his usual impact.

22-04-2017, 09:16 PM
I'm worried about Libba. I don't see him having his usual impact.

I agree, I don't think he has played well in the first 5 rounds, and is not getting his hands on the ball. It is all well and good to rack up tackles, but that only means you are second to the ball.

22-04-2017, 09:24 PM
Good to have Saturday afternoon Western Bulldogs footy and looking at the fixture we have a few. Had a drink in the social club today which was good.

On the game the effort in the 1st half was there but our kicking at goal was laughable as well as the defence at times. Jong is an excellent mark but set shots at goal not so good.

2nd half we changed and and got into the game. Bonti, Picken, Macrae, JJ,Clay all important in getting us back. Flectch took an important mark in the last. Marcus Adams probably shouldn't have played as forward as much.

Overall a great result in the end winning by 30 odd points and for Bobs 300th.

23-04-2017, 02:22 AM
Yeah dunno if it's even worth grabbing off the Foxtel box.

We would not want to be serving up that crap next week against GWS.

Different mindset next Friday when we face GWS and come out firing from the start. Our starts to games need to improve as while a quality side like us can comeback against weaker opposition against the stronger opposition the chances decrease.