View Full Version : Toby McLean

24-04-2017, 12:02 AM
Since spending more time in the midfield, Toby has impressed with figures in the last two rounds of 27 disposals and 24 disposals on Saturday, 6 tackles, two goals and 4 inside 50s.

How far can Toby go? Can be become a topline midfielder?

He is 21 years old and only played 23 games.

24-04-2017, 12:18 AM
He adds some polish to the side, and is progressing really well.

Toby has the tools to be an elite player on any part of the ground, he just needs to get a bit fitter and stronger.

24-04-2017, 01:18 AM
He's got a lot of tricks. Burrows in and under, shrugs tackles, nice kick for goal, great leap, good decision maker. He's good on the lead too, he was on the lead in the last quarter on Saturday, the kick held him up and as his defender closed in on him to spoil. he leapt off the ground, guarded the ball with his body and took the mark. There are elements of Joel Selwood and Cyril Rioli in his game

24-04-2017, 01:51 AM
And he's a premiership player!

24-04-2017, 09:10 PM
There's a few guys now that I put into the category of not really putting a ceiling on. He's seemingly taking the path of Dahl from dangerous small forward to impressive young midfield potential, and who knows if he can follow Dahl to his new level.

I like what JMac, Dahl & Bevo are working on. A long list of very capable mids who can all rotate forward and be very dangerous forward too. I rate Bailey Dale & Lipinski (what I've seen so far) as others who might join this club. The old days of a midfielder who gets 30+ but doesn't hurt in other positions or a specialist forward pocket who can't do much else seem long gone in the way of the club now.

25-04-2017, 10:29 AM
McLean is such an interesting player. I'm liking that he's adding some accumulation to his game because he can end up being a high hurt factor player.

Hope his improvement continues but more likely, getting consistency week to week will be the first step.

26-04-2017, 10:17 AM
Bevo would love Magic because he can play him absolutely anywhere. I haven't seen such a textbook shot at goal for a long time. Beautiful, fluid action.

26-04-2017, 11:36 AM
Bevo would love Magic because he can play him absolutely anywhere. I haven't seen such a textbook shot at goal for a long time. Beautiful, fluid action.

What happened with that awful effort in the 1st quarter?

26-04-2017, 01:14 PM

He seemed to get the drop wrong, didn't he? You could almost tell from when it left his hand.

26-04-2017, 01:15 PM

It's an over used term but Madge is a competitive beast. He hates losing a contest.

26-04-2017, 02:08 PM

It's true he's human and I was more on his overall action as opposed to the outcome. He does all the right things in his action to give himself the best chance.

26-04-2017, 04:00 PM
Hard to believe he's only played 23 games (18 wins). Seems very comfortable at the level. 3 from 3 good finals last year. Always lively in last quarters in particular.

26-04-2017, 09:23 PM
Hard to believe he's only played 23 games (18 wins). Seems very comfortable at the level. 3 from 3 good finals last year. Always lively in last quarters in particular.

Yep. His composure to snap his goal just before half time in the GF was way beyond his years.

The question his external critiques would've thrown up (if I cared to note them) I'm assuming was once the umpires stopped paying him 'too high' free kicks would he continue to put himself in the contest with the same ferocity and consistency? Not only has he consistently applied himself in the contest, not spending any thought or physical time on drawing the free kick, he seems to be better for it. Despite not getting paid what should've been genuine free kicks at times this year.

27-04-2017, 12:15 AM
Classic Dalrymple 'late bloomer in his final U18 season' selection. Has simply carried on that linear rate of improvement - such a smart player and a natural footballer, his ceiling is limitless.

27-04-2017, 11:12 PM
Yep. His composure to snap his goal just before half time in the GF was way beyond his years.

As was his last quarter in the prelim - and the disallowed goal against Hawks in the 2nd quarter

27-04-2017, 11:15 PM
Seems like we set up with him behind the ball a few times and used his skills to rebound. It's another string to his bow, particularly when Murph is forward

28-04-2017, 08:33 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2017-04-28/the-thrilling-last-two-mins-of-the-prelim

The AFL have just reposted this footage in preparation for tonights game. Worth rewatching just to appreciate TMs 2 massive clearances in the closing 90 seconds (especially the one with 1.20 remaining). For a young player with less than 20 games these were huge moments in what was the biggest game for our club in decades.

16-07-2017, 11:20 AM
Midfield move just the tonic for McLean
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/Samples/528030-tlsnewslandscape.jpg
THERE weren't too many Bulldogs who could walk tall after last week’s capitulation to Adelaide, but emerging midfielder Toby McLean was an exception.

In a performance coach Luke Beveridge described as one of the team’s worst in his time at the club, McLean, 21, was a shining light on a dark night, collecting a career-high 32 possessions in the 59-point loss.

In his third season at Whitten Oval, he said his recent move into the midfield had allowed him to realise a burning ambition.

“I always felt I was capable of playing in the midfield and the coaches obviously did as well,” McLean told AFL.com.au.

“I thought it was one of my better games, but I’ve still got a lot of improvement to go.

“'Bevo’ just tells me to play on instinct and with lots of energy.

“I’ve been getting a bit more midfield time, and I get to play alongside the likes of (Jack) Macrae, (Marcus) Bontempelli and (Tom) Liberatore in there.

“I feel like those guys make me a better player, but it’s good to be around the ball a bit more and I’m really enjoying it.”

McLean’s capacity to get the balance right between defence and attack would have pleased the coach. He also laid a team-high eight tackles – an aspect of the game he loves.

“I really enjoy tackling blokes, and the more I do that the more I get into the game,” McLean said.

“It helps with my intensity and it complements the offensive side of my game.”

After playing mainly as a high-flying forward during his junior football days, it was only a matter of time until Beveridge injected McLean into the middle to better utilise his excellent agility, sound disposal and an ability to win the contested ball.

But like many of his premiership-winning teammates this season, a drop in form forced the Dandenong Stingrays product to spend time in the VFL to recapture some form.

However, the demotion gave him a chance to showcase his on-ball capabilities and produce a game in which he collected 38 disposals, 11 tackles and a goal against Sandringham during round 10.

He earned a senior recall after that performance, which provided the catalyst for where McLean finds himself in the team.

“I knew I wasn’t playing at my best, the coaches knew that, so I had to go down to Footscray for a few weeks, play as well as I could, and it wasn’t long before I came back up,” he said.

“It always helps going back to the VFL and getting that midfield time. It also helped with my fitness, which was really beneficial.”
LINK (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-07-16/toby-mclean-says-he-needs-to-improve)

16-07-2017, 07:33 PM
Our most improved this year one of the few that hit the ground running

17-07-2017, 02:11 AM
Incredible how accomplished he has become as a player. Has played 32 career games.

17-07-2017, 02:13 AM
Been very good lately.

17-07-2017, 08:51 AM
Been super impressive and with his good instinct around goal has the potential to be a fantastic player

17-07-2017, 10:13 AM
Just don't try and handball from a free kick whilst lying on the ground and the man on the mark standing over the top of you.

17-07-2017, 10:18 AM
Just don't try and handball from a free kick whilst lying on the ground and the man on the mark standing over the top of you.

He wasn't the only one either - really stupid thing to do.

17-07-2017, 11:03 AM
Is there a reason this thread is stickyied?

17-07-2017, 11:27 AM
He wasn't the only one either - really stupid thing to do.

Bont did it too (from a mark) and the receiving player had no one to to go to and ended up just bombing it to a 3 on 0 for Carlton.

17-07-2017, 11:33 AM
Is there a reason this thread is stickyied?

Think I did it in error. Have unstickied

17-07-2017, 03:13 PM
Incredible how accomplished he has become as a player. Has played 32 career games.

Just becoming a complete player all around. He's like Shaun Higgins without the narcissism and arrogance.

17-07-2017, 03:15 PM
I'm also happy he seems to have removed the dropping to the knee's routine when being tackled to draw the free.. It was the only element of his game I did not like.

17-07-2017, 03:45 PM
It seems he was able to make the most of it while he could. That he's adjusted is a positive (p.s. I didn't like it either).

17-07-2017, 03:49 PM
It seems he was able to make the most of it while he could. That he's adjusted is a positive (p.s. I didn't like it either).

Just proves his footy IQ. He utilised a rule to his advantage which helped us, and when the rule changed so did he. I loved every free kick he drew, it was one of the highlights of going to the footy IMO.

17-07-2017, 05:03 PM
His attitude in that article is very mature.

17-07-2017, 05:08 PM

He tried to dust it off again yesterday; ducked to his knees rather than take the first opportunity for disposal, and promptly got owned.

Still, a lot more positive than negative with Toby.

19-07-2017, 10:06 PM
He has been excellent these last few weeks after really not showing much early in the year. I can see him getting better and better as the years roll by.

19-07-2017, 10:44 PM
Just becoming a complete player all around. He's like Shaun Higgins without the narcissism and arrogance.
.....and pointing.

19-07-2017, 10:56 PM
I'd have Higgins back within a heartbeat.

Anyway, not really sure McLean and Higgins are that similar. Sure, both showed some great nous in the air early in their careers but Toby is more accomplished at accumulating that Shaun ever was. As for the latter, I've not seen many players who are better at generating smart receiving/space positions by knowing where to put himself. Perhaps that's why he had a license to point out to others where they needed to be.

Goddard is an equally smart player, perhaps we'd have preferred his communication style to Shaun's.

19-07-2017, 11:09 PM
Watch the last 90 seconds of last year's prelim. Got his hands to the ball at both key clearances. The first he weaved out of Flinders Street level traffic for the clearance, the second he wins that now famous free kick.

Those two passages of play sealed the deal for me about what a complete player he is becoming.

20-07-2017, 10:17 PM
I'd have Higgins back within a heartbeat.

Anyway, not really sure McLean and Higgins are that similar. Sure, both showed some great nous in the air early in their careers but Toby is more accomplished at accumulating that Shaun ever was. As for the latter, I've not seen many players who are better at generating smart receiving/space positions by knowing where to put himself. Perhaps that's why he had a license to point out to others where they needed to be.

Goddard is an equally smart player, perhaps we'd have preferred his communication style to Shaun's.

I wouldn't. The pros don't outweigh the cons for me.

Don't know what relevance mentioning Goddard was. I don't care much for him either, but at least he has actually delivered in big games.

21-07-2017, 01:03 AM
I wouldn't. The pros don't outweigh the cons for me.

Don't know what relevance mentioning Goddard was. I don't care much for him either, but at least he has actually delivered in big games.

I'd like to understand what the cons are, to be honest. I'm putting Higgins in the same category as Goddard in terms of smarts (albeit different types) exhibited on the footy field. People hate the former's pointing or traffic copping, I'm suggesting it's less offensive than how Goddard carries on. Do you think that just maybe those who have managed them over time knew their traits and either fostered them or managed them?

Higgins in big games........how many did he get to play? He played a few in 2009 which were pretty good, much of his other finals output mirrored the rest of the sides, but being forward of the ball it's always harder.

22-07-2017, 11:26 AM
I'd like to understand what the cons are, to be honest. I'm putting Higgins in the same category as Goddard in terms of smarts (albeit different types) exhibited on the footy field. People hate the former's pointing or traffic copping, I'm suggesting it's less offensive than how Goddard carries on. Do you think that just maybe those who have managed them over time knew their traits and either fostered them or managed them?

Higgins in big games........how many did he get to play? He played a few in 2009 which were pretty good, much of his other finals output mirrored the rest of the sides, but being forward of the ball it's always harder.

I have no problem with the pointing....as long as those doing it are prepared to do the things they demand of others. You know, little things like chasing and manning up. Higgins was one of the great one way runners.

22-07-2017, 01:24 PM
I have no problem with the pointing....as long as those doing it are prepared to do the things they demand of others. You know, little things like chasing and manning up. Higgins was one of the great one way runners.

Yep. What you'd take from Bob Murphy or Matty Boyd is entirely different to what you'd take from Shaun Higgins.

31-07-2017, 10:43 PM
Not sure if it's just me but he is reminding me more and more of Robbie Gray from the Power.

31-07-2017, 11:31 PM
He is stringing together some very solid performances. It had him down as marking time a month ago. NOW? Definitely improved since last year.

31-07-2017, 11:40 PM
Yeah, I can see likeness to R.Gray Azabob.

01-08-2017, 12:46 PM
His ability to extract himself from tight situations is certainly Robbie Gray like. Not sure how he does it.....doesn't appear to have a trademark sidestep. Seems to take the right angles to get out of a crowded situation.

01-08-2017, 01:13 PM
He has been excellent these last few weeks after really not showing much early in the year. I can see him getting better and better as the years roll by.

McLean has added some spark since moving into the midfield. Has a touch of class and leg speed which makes him a pretty special player.

01-08-2017, 05:32 PM
Players in career best for - go Toby

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DGH774mU0AAOpZn.jpg

01-08-2017, 05:53 PM
Still a kid really. Has developed so quickly from a 15-18 possession half forward - to a mid-20s genuine midfielder.
His progress has had me thinking about Lukas Webb as a comparison.

If Lukas can even go from a 12-15 possession winner - to a 20 possession getter - then we will be a lot better for it given his high skill level.

So many exciting 21 and unders at the club. The weekend's team alone had 8 21 and unders - all pretty 'key' to the win;

Bont
Zaine
McLean
Webb
Dale
Young
Williams
Daniel

01-08-2017, 06:22 PM
Still a kid really. Has developed so quickly from a 15-18 possession half forward - to a mid-20s genuine midfielder.
His progress has had me thinking about Lukas Webb as a comparison.

If Lukas can even go from a 12-15 possession winner - to a 20 possession getter - then we will be a lot better for it given his high skill level.

So many exciting 21 and unders at the club. The weekend's team alone had 8 21 and unders - all pretty 'key' to the win;

Bont
Zaine
McLean
Webb
Dale
Young
Williams
Daniel

Tom Boyd still 21, and if English, Collins, and some of the other new recruits can make it, then we have a bright few years coming up.

02-08-2017, 08:55 PM
Tom Boyd still 21, and if English, Collins, and some of the other new recruits can make it, then we have a bright few years coming up.Dunkley as well

09-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Is Toby now the most under rated player in the AFL? Certainly up there IMO.

He's become so important to our side, particularly as Caleb is attracting far more attention from opposition coaches who are now aware of how damaging it can be to let Caleb accumulate posessions under limited pressure.

Perhaps the only reason Toby is not getting the recognition he deserves is because he continues to carry the mantle of being a ducker. As far as dogs supporters go however, I suggest he's become a real fan favourite.

09-08-2017, 03:15 PM
Is Toby now the most under rated player in the AFL? Certainly up there IMO.

He's become so important to our side, particularly as Caleb is attracting far more attention from opposition coaches who are now aware of how damaging it can be to let Caleb accumulate posessions under limited pressure.

Perhaps the only reason Toby is not getting the recognition he deserves is because he continues to carry the mantle of being a ducker. As far as dogs supporters go however, I suggest he's become a real fan favourite.

I hope Toby continues to go a bit under the radar. Particularly if he maintains his output - roughly 22 possessions and nearly a goal per game over the season, including averaging over 26 possessions and kicking 4 goals in the last 5 weeks now that he has become a fully fledged member of the midfield. He has that yard of pace that gives him time to use the ball well, and has a good leap which makes him competitive in the air for his size.

09-08-2017, 03:59 PM
His clearing the ball out of danger at the death against the Lions was a move of beauty. When he received the ball he looked to be in a precarious position up that well-known creek. But somehow he glided free of the congestion and we ended up on the Highway to Heaven.
I'd like to see that vision again so I can work out how he did it - a genuine magic trick.

10-08-2017, 11:29 AM
His clearing the ball out of danger at the death against the Lions was a move of beauty. When he received the ball he looked to be in a precarious position up that well-known creek. But somehow he glided free of the congestion and we ended up on the Highway to Heaven.
I'd like to see that vision again so I can work out how he did it - a genuine magic trick.

He's got those 'quick feet' Jordan Lewis described Libba has (I don't believe he's overly quick though) I thought he was very close to BOG last Saturday.

I've been a fan, but I must admit he's far exceeded my expectations. He's a damn fine player

26-08-2017, 11:31 AM
Another great performance from Toby last night. IMO, he has been the single biggest highlight of 2017.

With another pre-season behind him, I'm predicting a huge AA-squad-of-40 type season in 2018.

After a crap year, put some positive vibes out and give some love to Magic.

26-08-2017, 11:32 AM
Another great performance from Toby last night. IMO, he has been the single biggest highlight of 2017.

With another pre-season behind him, I'm predicting a huge AA-squad-of-40 type season in 2018.

Like.

26-08-2017, 11:52 AM
Yep, agree with all the above. Toby has really found that consistency over the 2nd half of the year in particular. Oh man how I wish our whole team could tackle like he does, as I'm sure he's the only guy in our team that grabs opposition players by the arm first lol..great stuff Toby, and will look fwd to you taking on more responsibility next year and become a top 5 player of the team.

26-08-2017, 02:09 PM

He needs to massively improve his kicking, otherwise agree he has had a pretty good season. Less than 70% efficiency last night and mostly kicks when he is not under pressure.

26-08-2017, 02:44 PM
He needs to massively improve his kicking, otherwise agree he has had a pretty good season. Less than 70% efficiency last night and mostly kicks when he is not under pressure.

Yes he can improve but he is one player whose kicking is the least of our problems. One of our better kicks for goal and he hits targets most of the time. His hands are superb as his ability to find space and escape precarious situations. Almost my favourite bulldogs player TBH.

26-08-2017, 03:57 PM
Love the way he goes about his business. Turned out far above my expectations. Really looking forward to another pre season under his belt. They will all improve as we know what is required. We won't make this mistake again. A lot more fitness required to compete with the big boys. The teams in the finals are a fair bit bigger than our boys. We fought well but teams came at us hard this year they hunted us so we need to be a little bigger all round.

26-08-2017, 04:00 PM

Gun in the making.

Creates space and time when there isn't any.

Plenty to work on, but so much to work with.

26-08-2017, 04:18 PM
Gun in the making.

Creates space and time when there isn't any.

Plenty to work on, but so much to work with.

I think the #2 would suit him nicely. Lean & wiry, doesn't look like a big burly footballer, can change direction on a dime, sneaky around goals. Yeah, sounds like a perfect replacement for Bobby.

28-08-2017, 06:50 PM
slowly becoming one's fave player on the list....

12-09-2017, 09:22 PM
The 'Best 22 Under-22' was named at the AFLPA MVP awards tonight, with Bont the only Bulldog selected albeit as skipper of a pretty handy squad.

What shat me though was Sicily named on the bench ahead of a bloke like McLean.

Sicily's 2017 stats
http://i65.tinypic.com/r2nwh4.png

McLean's 2017 stats
http://i64.tinypic.com/22xag.png

Granted they play different styles but factor in Toby being over a year younger (Sicily's nearly 23 ffs) I reckon our lad's a bit stiff.

Sicily's head's objectively much more punchable too.

12-09-2017, 09:24 PM
RS I think this is voted by the public so don't take it too hard.

12-09-2017, 09:30 PM
RS I think this is voted by the public so don't take it too hard.

Well that only makes it more mystifying given Sicily's head.

Is that right? Oh well. Any excuse to indulge my loathing of Sicily's not a wasted one.

12-09-2017, 10:23 PM
A punchable head is a handy thing to have on a football field.

07-05-2018, 02:40 PM
Interesting McLean stat; he currently wins 3 free kicks for every free conceded, the best of any Bulldog since records were kept (min. 20 games). Next best is Scott West.

07-05-2018, 03:02 PM
He is a little ripper, love the way he goes about it.

07-05-2018, 05:19 PM
Probably my favourite player. Loved him since day 1.

09-05-2018, 03:22 PM
McLean obviously made a pretty strong start to his career, to be good enough to be selected in a grand final in his 19th game, but as we know, players really hit their straps a bit later on than that.

He's now sitting at 45 games - and interesting to observe his output statistically over his last 15 games (career game 31-45).
385 disposals - 25.66 per game
77 tackles - 5.13 per game
60 clearances - 4 per game
54 inside 50s - 3.6 per game.

Only 33 clangers in this time (just over 2 per game) - which I think is significant, given that he is getting plenty of inside & clearance ball - where you're more likely to have a clanger kick or handball under pressure.

As BT would have highlighted in the career best thread - his most disposals/handballs/tackles & rebounds in a game - all came on the weekend v gold coast.

The kid is flying, and turned just 22 earlier in the year.

09-05-2018, 03:28 PM
McLean obviously made a pretty strong start to his career, to be good enough to be selected in a grand final in his 19th game, but as we know, players really hit their straps a bit later on than that.

He's now sitting at 45 games - and interesting to observe his output statistically over his last 15 games (career game 31-45).
385 disposals - 25.66 per game
77 tackles - 5.13 per game
60 clearances - 4 per game
54 inside 50s - 3.6 per game.

Only 33 clangers in this time (just over 2 per game) - which I think is significant, given that he is getting plenty of inside & clearance ball - where you're more likely to have a clanger kick or handball under pressure.

As BT would have highlighted in the career best thread - his most disposals/handballs/tackles & rebounds in a game - all came on the weekend v gold coast.

The kid is flying, and turned just 22 earlier in the year.
I thought comparisons with Jack Billings were a good starting point given I assumed they'd be similar types of players, but Toby is so far ahead of him right now it's not even comparison worthy.

He'd be in our top handful in the B&F if it was judged now. Perhaps even second. One of our most important players.

09-05-2018, 03:36 PM
I thought comparisons with Jack Billings were a good starting point given I assumed they'd be similar types of players, but Toby is so far ahead of him right now it's not even comparison worthy.

He'd be in our top handful in the B&F if it was judged now. Perhaps even second. One of our most important players.

I take Toby drunk & blindfolded run or set shot over Billings taking a shot at goal. Which isn't just a slight at Billings, but McLean is not a bad shot at all.

09-05-2018, 03:45 PM
Billings is a disgrace and has ruined my Supercoach season - we were right when we were potting him before that game where he beat us by himself.

The two players aren't really comparable because Toby's role has evolved so much from that of a flanker.

09-05-2018, 03:49 PM
Billings is probably playing so shit because he just wants to annoy you by mucking up your SuperCoach HD.

What's he care? It's an off contract season for him.

14-05-2018, 03:09 PM
Has continued on his 2017 form Toby. Bailey Dale was good in 2017 but hasn't quite continued his good 2017 form onto 2018.

01-05-2019, 01:21 PM
Where do posters think Toby McLean is at?

Predominently being played as a forward this season, after having pretty well establishing himself as a mid during last year. Personally, I'd like to see Toby spending more time in the midfield, as he is a good mover who has good evasiveness and poise which I think we are lacking a bit of this year. Last season his numbers were a career hight (just under) 24 possessions per game, and was one of our leading tacklers at around 6 per game. This season he sits at 16 possessions and under 4 tackles per game.

01-05-2019, 01:38 PM
I think that through positional inadequacy and coaching stubbornness he's been harshly restricted as a player. He plays his best footy on the ball but so does Dunkley, and he's a better forward than Dunkley so that's where he plays.

Of course it does nothing to explain why they're both playing significant forward minutes while Wallis, the best forward and worst midfielder of the three, plays the most midfield minutes.

Versatility is killing us, is killing our young mids and is making my head hurt.

01-05-2019, 01:54 PM
If I was Toby McLean I’d be like what the heck is going on.

Against Carlton why wasn’t he in the centre instead of Gowers and co especially since the coaches were not happy with the previous weeks effort.

01-05-2019, 01:56 PM
I think that through positional inadequacy and coaching stubbornness he's been harshly restricted as a player. He plays his best footy on the ball but so does Dunkley, and he's a better forward than Dunkley so that's where he plays.

Of course it does nothing to explain why they're both playing significant forward minutes while Wallis, the best forward and worst midfielder of the three, plays the most midfield minutes.

Versatility is killing us, is killing our young mids and is making my head hurt.

Versatility is killing our team, not just the young mids.

Reading a hell of a lot into what Bontempelli said on RSN I think even the playing group are frustrated with the continued positional shuffling of players.

01-05-2019, 03:38 PM

Reading a hell of a lot into what Bontempelli said on RSN I think even the playing group are frustrated with the continued positional shuffling of players.

He had an excellent season last year and has been largely ordinary this year. Much like assistant coaches, we seem to throw players around continuously until we find a role they can't perform very well, then rigidly stick them there.

I can't think of anyone in the world who would enjoy being used that way... in any industry.

01-05-2019, 05:19 PM
His numbers are certainly down from last year but its not that alarming considering he is in fact playing forward. When he was playing on the ball of course his numbers were better. I think our mids have been pretty good all season except the Carlton game so its not like we are lacking in that part of the ground. There is no need for panic just yet. Toby is playing forward mainly to try retain the ball in our forward 50 an also to hit the scoreboard, so yes he isn't shooting the lights out just yet but hopefully he finds form there before too long. I think we need a player like him there personally. He played forward in our premiership year and he was moved to the midfield since so he should know how to play the role.

Bailey Dale is a player we need to force his way into the side because he plays the forward role we are trialling Toby in well.

01-05-2019, 05:59 PM
He had an excellent season last year and has been largely ordinary this year. Much like assistant coaches, we seem to throw players around continuously until we find a role they can't perform very well, then rigidly stick them there.

I can't think of anyone in the world who would enjoy being used that way... in any industry.
Maclean plays his best football in the centre and similarly Richards is better suited to defence. Both have been regularly playing out of position which has impacted on their performances.

01-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Toby needs to play on the wing where he played a lot as a junior.

01-05-2019, 10:00 PM

What did Bont say?

01-05-2019, 11:16 PM
What did Bont say?

I posted it in the audio section here (https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?14213-Bulldog-Sound-clouds-audio-and-podcasts/page18)

03-05-2019, 11:07 PM
I posted it in the audio section here (https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?14213-Bulldog-Sound-clouds-audio-and-podcasts/page18)

Thanks. Interesting listening.

26-08-2019, 10:18 AM
3 months on and be is really struggling, 7 touches on the weekend albeit with 2 goals

26-08-2019, 10:53 AM
3 months on and be is really struggling, 7 touches on the weekend albeit with 2 goals

He just seemed to disappear in the first half and bobbed up to kick a couple.

26-08-2019, 10:55 AM
Has only been back from injury for 3 games and has kicked 5 goals in that time. Clearly has a new role and next to zero midfield minutes.

26-08-2019, 11:03 AM
Has only been back from injury for 3 games and has kicked 5 goals in that time. Clearly has a new role and next to zero midfield minutes.

Hard to know exactly what role he is playing but if he is kicking a couple of goals a game he is meeting (some of) his objectives and thus is best 22.

26-08-2019, 11:11 AM
Mentioned on another thread, that his two goals both came after Adelaide had kicked 2 in a row - so were fairly important. He's a good player who has the hallmarks of being someone who will do the right things at the right times in finals. I'd be sticking with him.

26-08-2019, 02:55 PM
Yeah sticking with him too, just quite confused by his role and then output. He did a nice kick to Dale in the second who won a free kick and then missed a sitter

26-08-2019, 07:43 PM
Yeah stick with him. He is a dangerous player and can turn nothing into something in a split second. Covers a lot of ground and applies a lot of pressure.

26-08-2019, 08:46 PM
Definitely stick with him.

26-08-2019, 09:59 PM
We need to stuck with him, He needs to play a final series like Clay Smith did. Just hard at it and relentless with pressure.

He has it in him and I'm sure he will respond in September.

26-08-2019, 10:18 PM
We need to stuck with him, He needs to play a final series like Clay Smith did. Just hard at it and relentless with pressure.

He has it in him and I'm sure he will respond in September.

Agree

26-08-2019, 10:23 PM
His pressure is influential and underrated. I’m a fan of Toby, much tougher than his waif like appearance portrays.

26-08-2019, 10:28 PM
Hasn’t had the best year but is an important part of the puzzle so I would persist with him.

Dunkley, Macrae, Bont have been excellent and should be in the top 3 in the Sutton medal count.

26-08-2019, 11:21 PM
We need to keep players with class like McLean . Reads the ball well and is a good kick on both sides . His left foot snap on weekend was good
Comparison would be a Travis varcoe type player who always seems to be in the right spots and is good link player and good finisher . His good tackler. These players are important

McLean not big enough to pay in the midfield , but he could spend some minutes there for chop out when are big mids on bench

27-08-2019, 08:18 AM
Think he is playing an important role in the fwd line. He's providing a good defensive effort, winning the ball in close when those kicks I50 don't quite get deep enough and is hitting the scoreboard. HFF is a hard position to play, Uncle isn't playing a starring role but in a team where we've got some pretty raw forwards, he is bringing the disciplined talent to the table.

27-08-2019, 09:08 AM
We have a good forward line he is another like Bailey Dale who will kick goals if the others are tagged, a little like our midfield you tag one the other will take over.

27-08-2019, 09:38 AM
I’ve loved Toby mclean over the last few weeks. Isn’t getting as much of it because he isn’t playing midfield minutes but when it is his turn he is classy, composed and effective.

He plays a role - most of the time it seems to be a linking high half forward flanker. He has the hallmarks of an elite player for me, I’d call him elite over most of 2017, plus he is clearly a guy who can stand up in big games

27-08-2019, 11:03 AM
We need more guys who are smart footballers who can use the ball well.

Toby's a guy who will play his role then 1-2 times per game do something special to create a score.

27-08-2019, 12:25 PM
He's a high pressure player will be pivotal in finals heat.