View Full Version : Game Day Round 13, 2017 - Western Bulldogs V Melbourne

16-06-2017, 09:34 PM
Margin: Dogs by 14 points

First Goal: Stringer to get our first

Best On Ground: Bonti to have a great one followed by Libba

Looking forward to bulldogtragic predictions as I do each week :)

Go Bulldogs!!

16-06-2017, 09:36 PM
Dogs by 102
FG Libba
BOG Tom Boyd 10.3

16-06-2017, 09:40 PM
Dogs by 102
FG Libba
BOG Tom Boyd 10.3

That would be the best :) :)

16-06-2017, 09:41 PM
Need to get the win to have some hope of finishing top 4 still.

16-06-2017, 10:17 PM
Dogs by 27 pts
1st goal Dickson
BOG The Bont ( been down expecting a big one )
Crowd 32,000
Melbourne fans hate Etihad . To close to the west gate

16-06-2017, 10:35 PM
Bont is due to have a good one.

16-06-2017, 11:36 PM
Dogs by 13 pts
BOG - Wally
FG - Boyd

17-06-2017, 03:19 PM
Dogs by 18 points
BOG Mcrae
First Goal Picken

17-06-2017, 05:36 PM
Us by 23 points
BOG-Wallis
First Goal-Wood

17-06-2017, 07:47 PM
Dogs by 46
First goal - Tom Boyd
BOG - JJ to bounce back

17-06-2017, 08:50 PM
Dogs by ??
First goal - Tom Boyd
BOG - JJ to bounce back

It's a secret is it?

17-06-2017, 11:37 PM
Dogs: A must win

First Goal: Stringer

BOG: Libba - welcome back

Crowd 34500

18-06-2017, 08:20 AM
Dogs by 30
McLean first goal
Bontempelli BOG.

18-06-2017, 09:18 AM
It's a secret is it?

Haha that's funny. My tab plays up sometimes with this site. My tab must have demons and they didn't like what I wrote because we are playing the demons.

18-06-2017, 09:47 AM
Dogs by 3 pts (coming from behind again)
BOG - Dahlhaus
1st goal - stringer

18-06-2017, 12:43 PM
Dogs: by 16 points
BOG: Macrae
1st goal: Dickson

18-06-2017, 01:07 PM
Dogs by 38
BOG Hunter
First goal Dickson

18-06-2017, 02:42 PM
The Demons will beat us today - we just don't have the manic hunger that we had last year.

It is totally understandable too, after achieving the ultimate last year. The hunger might only fall away by 0.01%, but in such an even competition, that is the difference between victory & defeat.

It is the reason so few teams repeat as champions - back to back only ever happens when the other teams are miles off the pace eg Hawthorn 2013 to 2015 and Brisbane 2001 to 2003 - there was not one other real premiership contender during those seasons. This year there are at least 4 genuine premiership threats, which is why it would be a miracle of we won it all again.

18-06-2017, 03:04 PM
Dogs by 19.
Crowd 30,975
First goal Honeychurch
BOG Wallis

18-06-2017, 03:12 PM
The Demons will beat us today - we just don't have the manic hunger that we had last year.

It is totally understandable too, after achieving the ultimate last year. The hunger might only fall away by 0.01%, but in such an even competition, that is the difference between victory & defeat.

It is the reason so few teams repeat as champions - back to back only ever happens when the other teams are miles off the pace eg Hawthorn 2013 to 2015 and Brisbane 2001 to 2003 - there was not one other real premiership contender during those seasons. This year there are at least 4 genuine premiership threats, which is why it would be a miracle of we won it all again.

It was a miracle that we won it last year and it will be a miracle if we win it again this year.

The hunger that you talk of mightn't be at last years levels yet but that doesn't mean we will lose today.
I'm fully expecting to beat Melbourne and will be extremely disappointed if there isn't a positive reaction to last week.

We have to keep the faith. We are only half way, we've played poorly and are still in touch with the top 4.

It will come I have no doubt.

18-06-2017, 03:17 PM
I expect a response today. In both effort and result. Anything less than a convincing win will be disappointing.

18-06-2017, 03:20 PM
We need to come out snarling!

18-06-2017, 03:37 PM
Melbourne will surely try to 'bring it' early in the most predictable, blustery way. The only thing more annoying will be if we haven't fully anticipated this and don't have a contest-focused response.

Let them yap early. Shut them up with fierce endeavour and goals.

18-06-2017, 03:45 PM
Dogs by 15 points
First goal Stringer
BOG Lukey D.

18-06-2017, 04:12 PM
Haha that's funny. My tab plays up sometimes with this site. My tab must have demons and they didn't like what I wrote because we are playing the demons.

Deep man. Hopefully the Demons have so much fun with your tabs they wear themselves out and use all their energy up before the game today.

46 points would be great. It's time to start winning and winning big. Percentage could make a big difference this year.

18-06-2017, 04:19 PM

You realise we did win by 40 points just two weeks ago against a team that needed to win.

18-06-2017, 04:22 PM
Ffs youve got to kick that.

18-06-2017, 04:35 PM
Wouldn't beat the Casey Demons the way things are.

18-06-2017, 04:36 PM
How many single sided players do we have? We always seem to have to do a u turn prior to moving the footy.

18-06-2017, 04:38 PM
What happened to Jong?

18-06-2017, 04:41 PM
What happened to Jong?

Leg injury, not confirmed but he's in tears on the bench. Doesn't look good at all.

18-06-2017, 04:45 PM
Something at the dogs is just not right....surely....

Insipid effort.

18-06-2017, 04:45 PM
Seriously Hunter and Sucking in the same defence is an abosulte joke.

18-06-2017, 04:47 PM
Having to play catch up again to have any sort of sniff from here. Oh goody.

18-06-2017, 04:48 PM
It's like all our meetings and training is about the back half, and we never discuss going forward. This is pathetic and embarrassing - again.

Every game is important. Anything less than a good win today just increases the pressure for the next game. We simply MUST crack in and bury a few Demons. Go Dogs!

Horrible quarter. Theres a lot of content players out there.

18-06-2017, 04:49 PM
This quarter defines our season.

18-06-2017, 04:51 PM
Just not handling the pressure teams are throwing at us. Disposal by foot is a joke. We're not a finals team at the moment.

Did we expect anything different? It's the same problems week after week. Missed an easy set shot. Horrible entries. Some bad mistakes. Some poor umpiring. And dare I say, if you raise it about guessing where we will finish you get labeled as 'lacking in faith'.

Hopefully, there's another comeback in us.

I really expected that if there was any pride in the group that they'd come out absolutely all guns blazing today. That we've put in such a woeful qtr of football doesn't bode well.

18-06-2017, 04:52 PM
Did we expect anything different? It's the same problems week after week. Missed an easy set shot. Horrible entries. Some bad mistakes. Some poor umpiring. And dare I say, if you raise it about guessing where we will finish you get labeled as 'lacking in faith'.

Hopefully, there's another comeback in us.

Subtle.

18-06-2017, 04:53 PM
We will bounce back after a shocking quarter. Have to give the Dees credit as their setup is superior to ours. They have a couple of more midfield types and are more desperate.

Suckling needs to do a lot better but I shouldn't single him out.

18-06-2017, 04:54 PM
We are playing for our season I'm afraid. It's that important.

18-06-2017, 04:57 PM
Fox commentators suggesting Jong might've done an ACL ...

18-06-2017, 05:03 PM
B-Mac will be feeling a sense of deja vu, we are playing like our 2013 side.

18-06-2017, 05:08 PM
We insist on kicking it to Dickson like he's a contested marking target, with the same predictable result.

18-06-2017, 05:12 PM
My gal's birthday so not attending and I have seen three minutes. *!*!*!*! the umpires seriously- two sets of rules.

18-06-2017, 05:13 PM
The umpiring not helping but that's the least of our problems.

18-06-2017, 05:13 PM
Can we kick a goal this quarter.

18-06-2017, 05:14 PM
Yay.

How the *!*!*!*! wasn't that touched?

Cheating.

I saw a replay. Jong was hit very late, aimed at his leg IMO.

18-06-2017, 05:15 PM
Re Dalhaus' "point" - the goal umpire was in the worst possible position (side on) to declare that it hit the post,,,ridiculous.

18-06-2017, 05:19 PM
We are such a frustrating side to watch. This is infuriating

18-06-2017, 05:20 PM
This is just disgusting. Our play and umpires.
I can't watch any more.

Bevos got no answers

This is just disgraceful now

18-06-2017, 05:21 PM
It is now official - we are being umpired out of contention

18-06-2017, 05:26 PM
Bont is a waste of space disposal wise.

18-06-2017, 05:28 PM
If HC is going to be a small forward hes got to nail those. 2 goals gone begging

18-06-2017, 05:29 PM
Something at the dogs is just not right....surely....

Insipid effort.
i think the effort is there the skills are missing

Honeychurch F off

The Dees are a good attacking side. Very impressive so far.

We've got to make the most of our chances from here in.

Honeychurch misses have been costly where Watts nails a long tight shot after the siren.

Where to from here for us? What can Bevo do?

Well, that last goal didn't help. But at least some fight in the last 10.

Honey'a miss huge given they went back and slotted one.

18-06-2017, 05:30 PM
Bevos got no answers
What can he do if the players can't execute basic skills

18-06-2017, 05:30 PM
Subtle.

Wasn't meant to be.

18-06-2017, 05:31 PM
What a disappointing year it's been.

18-06-2017, 05:32 PM
Dahl's didn't hit the post. One of theirs was clearly touched. TV review working well....

And two sets of rules. We are not playing overly well, but this stuff makes coming back even harder. Leaving aside a pissweak free after a goal.

18-06-2017, 05:33 PM
Another year on and Honey still a VFL player unfortunately.

18-06-2017, 05:34 PM
What can he do if the players can't execute basic skills

Not just the skills. Its also the hunger.

It takes a bit of spite to fire us up.

18-06-2017, 05:37 PM
I've never felt like going home early as many times as the last two weeks. Well, not since the halcyon days of the B-Mac era.

18-06-2017, 05:38 PM
If HC is going to be a small forward hes got to nail those. 2 goals gone begging

He's going to have a lot to do to not be let go of. A set shot 20m out and a snap from the goal square. They're dead set killers and if we lose this one, he's in my sights.

18-06-2017, 05:39 PM
I thought T.Greene had a head to punch in.....T.Bugg up there as well.

Honey not taking his chances is disappointing.

Cannot believe how shoddy our skill level is.....if we were playing a top 4 side today we would be 10 goals down.

The effort might be there but geez some players have a certain disinterest in their body language and application in tackling and running hard.

I think we are 2 qtrs from our year being done and dusted at this rate.

18-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Can we continue with the same intensity we brought to the last 10 minutes of the 2nd? I'd like to think we can. Follow Dahlhaus's example and we will do it.

Skill execution always been a concern with Honey. Even when he booted four for Footscray recently, he slso missed 5 more.
Has to take his chances. And they dont get much more simple than the two he missed today

Where to from here for us? What can Bevo do?
Got to get JJ and Stringer into the game. Perhaps J J forward, Stringer middle.

18-06-2017, 05:43 PM
My gal's birthday so not attending and I have seen three minutes. *!*!*!*! the umpires seriously- two sets of rules.

Happy birthday to her G.

18-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Got to get JJ and Stringer into the game. Perhaps J J forward, Stringer middle.

Yep got to make some moves and shake it up a bit.

18-06-2017, 05:45 PM
Happy birthday to her G.

Lucky girl! I just unleashed the "f" and "spast....." in front of her mother.

18-06-2017, 05:45 PM
He's going to have a lot to do to not be let go of. A set shot 20m out and a snap from the goal square. They're dead set killers and if we lose this one, he's in my sights.

Yep. If he wants his spot hes got to nail those 'gimmes' when they're presented. Thats what hes in the side for.

18-06-2017, 05:46 PM

Bloody hell. Every time he starts to put some good footy together he gets another injury. I hope the poor kid catches a break and it's not an ACL.

18-06-2017, 05:47 PM

Lost my voice at half time so I know where you're coming from.

Hate Melbourne, spoon fed club and a bunch of over entitled flogs - aka Viney and Bugg

18-06-2017, 05:50 PM

Classy.

May as well go and change into the trackie daks now, at least you will be comfortable on the outside. You could probably even watch the rest of the game and not be in any more trouble. God knows why you'd want to though.

18-06-2017, 05:54 PM
The NEAFL v Tassie game on NITV has gotten exciting.

18-06-2017, 05:59 PM
Libba has been solid indeed really trying hard working well inside

18-06-2017, 06:04 PM
This is making me ill.

18-06-2017, 06:06 PM
At the moment JJ should be asking for about $150k a year, depending on meeting KPIs.

18-06-2017, 06:16 PM
A few questions answered today. There's a certain peace of mind in not continuing to wonder whether it's in us to revive the season.

18-06-2017, 06:16 PM
Our dual winger set up hasn't given us anything.

18-06-2017, 06:21 PM
What an embarrassment. We won't make finals, forget going back to back.

18-06-2017, 06:21 PM
Hate to say it but we've been worked over by a more committed, disciplined and energetic side.

18-06-2017, 06:22 PM
Im waiting to see BT's Hrovat compensation thread. :)

18-06-2017, 06:22 PM
Percentage is a threat now. Currently over 10% down from the bye. Could be a big problem.

18-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Hate to say it but we've been worked over by a more committed, disciplined and energetic side.

For the 2nd week in a row.

18-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Im waiting to see BT's Hrovat compensation thread. :)

I've already done it. I think on a loss it was 7 picks, unless we lose by more (4 goals) and St Kikda jump us too

But notionally getting pick 39 at this point is ok.

18-06-2017, 06:24 PM
Percentage is a threat now. Currently over 10% down from the bye. Could be a big problem.

Not a problem at all we won't be playing in September.

I called our downfall very early in the year and it's getting worse by the week.

Our capitulation, devoid of any heart, spirit or determination, is embarrassing and humiliating. I'm considering leaving early, and I've never done that.

More like back to front or is it front to back? Let me work on it.

Anyway, shithouse

So important that we fight this game out more for pride than percentage but yes the percentage matters

18-06-2017, 06:27 PM
So important that we fight this game out more for pride than percentage but yes the percentage matters

The problem lies that we were miles ahead of St Kilda, so much so basically a game ahead. If they extend the lead by 4 goals from here, St Kilda go above us and we are fighting with another team to make up 7th or 8th. Far from ideal.

18-06-2017, 06:33 PM
Everything is a miss even when we break we make the wrong decisions.

18-06-2017, 06:33 PM
Did anyone see how awesome our partying post the GF was, and how amazing Biggsy's Insta is?

Libba was really funny in Vietnam too.

We're watching a team of wankers.

18-06-2017, 06:34 PM

Percentage? Seriously ?

18-06-2017, 06:38 PM
Can anyone remember when Easton Wood last took a telling intercept mark? For mine the most disappointing player of 2017.

18-06-2017, 06:40 PM
Can anyone remember when Easton Wood last took a telling intercept mark? For mine the most disappointing player of 2017.

He fumbles everthing atm.

18-06-2017, 06:42 PM
We just cannot score. We would have to be the worst team in the comp at generating scoring chances. It's just pathetic. Our game plan is a rabble

18-06-2017, 06:42 PM
Did anyone see how awesome our partying post the GF was, and how amazing Biggsy's Insta is?

Those wankers gave us something very special last year. I can live happily with a failed follow up season.

Looks like we simply aren't up for the fight this year - coach has tried everything to rouse a response and none has been given. Let's see the season play out and then make some calls on improving the list - natural improvement has not happened as expected so we need to load up in the draft again and also fix glaring weaknesses in our list. Handball club has also been exposed by better prepared opposition coaches.

18-06-2017, 06:45 PM
We just cannot score. We would have to be the worst team in the comp at generating scoring chances. It's just pathetic. Our game plan is a rabble

We play with no structure forward of the ball. Our full forward rucks, our ruck floats around and we kick it on the heads of blokes that are 5'9

18-06-2017, 06:46 PM

Harsh.

18-06-2017, 06:46 PM
Agree sedat , the club should also remove the premiership sign on the ground .
I know it's minor, but sends a message of living in the past .
Should have been parked just before pre-season .
Just complacent and lazy

18-06-2017, 06:47 PM
He fumbles everthing atm.

He is just not impacting the marking contest at all and he has always been a poor one on one defender. Our side seriously lacks leadership on field.

18-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Agree sedat , the club should also remove the premiership sign on the ground .
I know it's minor, but sends a message of living in the past .
Should have been parked just before pre-season .
Just complacent and lazy
Agree. For us supporters we can gladly delve back into the past, but the club from the top down needs to forget it ever happened - easier said than done.

18-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Shit call.

No it's not . The proof is out there in their efforts . Liberatore by Bevo's own admission didn't come back in satisfactory shape .
I don't wanna hear this B/S about him being a different cat, it's not good enough .

18-06-2017, 06:56 PM
No it's not . The proof is out there in their efforts . Liberatore by Bevo's own admission didn't come back in satisfactory shape .
I don't wanna hear this B/S about him being a different cat, it's not good enough .

So we are watching a team of wankers?

18-06-2017, 06:59 PM
We're embarrassing.

Beveridge and the coaching staff have a lot to answer for. Handball happy and no structure for much of the year.

By year's end I want to see us cut deep into the list and get new assistants in the door.

18-06-2017, 06:59 PM
So we are watching a team of wankers?

Clearly some are drinking their own bath water . The results show that .

18-06-2017, 07:00 PM
Those wankers gave us something very special last year. I can live happily with a failed follow up season.

Looks like we simply aren't up for the fight this year - coach has tried everything to rouse a response and none has been given. Let's see the season play out and then make some calls on improving the list - natural improvement has not happened as expected so we need to load up in the draft again and also fix glaring weaknesses in our list. Handball club has also been exposed by better prepared opposition coaches.

Yes you're right and I shouldn't be so disrespectful to many of our players.

18-06-2017, 07:01 PM

I think that is part of the problem, so many people haven't held the club and players to the high standards displayed last season and we should.

4 weeks ago many people said we just had to get to the bye and it would all happen from then.
I'm a lttle surprised so many people use last years success as a way of defending our performances this year by being happy enough with things.

18-06-2017, 07:02 PM
Clearly some are drinking their own bath water . The results show that .

Not sure how that makes them a team of wankers, but each to their own.

I think the whole club has struggled with the instant stardom that comes with being premiers. But hey i guess they are human.

18-06-2017, 07:03 PM
Harsh.

Did you change your post chef........? :)

18-06-2017, 07:05 PM
Did you change your post chef........? :)

Yeah i did. I didnt think my first post was right. Its harsh, but its your call so i cant really call it shit.

18-06-2017, 07:05 PM
We clearly don't have a full team of wankers. That was overreacting to our current predicament and the evidence in front of me.

18-06-2017, 07:07 PM
We're embarrassing.

Beveridge and the coaching staff have a lot to answer for. Handball happy and no structure for much of the year.

By year's end I want to see us cut deep into the list and get new assistants in the door.

A lot of it does fall to Bevo and the coaches, last years plan has been picked apart and we've become way to predictable.
Melbourne forced us out wide for the majority the game and we didn't have the structure or the set up to counter it.

18-06-2017, 07:08 PM
Can we get back to the game rather than completely derailing?

Not sure where we go from there. I thought the effort was fine, particularly in the first half. Everything else is just miles off though. Disposal, structure, our ability to win a contest, our ability to defend. A lot have lost the faith

18-06-2017, 07:09 PM
http://i66.tinypic.com/rml8n5.jpg

Ahhh. Didn't touch the sides.

I think that is part of the problem, so many people haven't held the club and players to the high standards displayed last season and we should.

4 weeks ago many people said we just had to get to the bye and it would all happen from then.
I'm a lttle surprised so many people use last years success as a way of defending our performances this year by being happy enough with things.

100%.

Sick of hearing about last year. It was amazing and I'll always remember it but FFS to then dish this up is not good enough, and giving them a free pass is poor attitude.

Not sure how that makes them a team of wankers, but each to their own.

I think the whole club has struggled with the instant stardom that comes with being premiers. But hey i guess they are human.

I think Jee went to far, but we're all highly emotive after such a poor performance

18-06-2017, 07:13 PM
I thought the effort was fine, particularly in the first half.

I thought the effort was disgraceful.

18-06-2017, 07:14 PM
I think Jee went to far, but we're all highly emotive after such a poor performance

It wasn't emotion.

18-06-2017, 07:17 PM
I thought the effort was disgraceful.

The effort around the ball was ok, but our poor skill level meant we couldn't get clear and when we did we turned it over... However when they got the ball our effort was less than ordinary.

18-06-2017, 07:17 PM

As a supporter, how can I dump on the players after what they did for me and every other true believer last year? However for the players and the coaching staff, this is their livelihood - their careers will live and die by the results they produce moving forward. Season 2016 will quickly be forgotten if the results of the last 2 weeks become the norm rather than the exception.

I'm not happy with how we are performing in 2017 (in particular the last 2 weeks - we've been very honest if inconsistent in our efforts up to then). But the credits obtained in 2016 haven't come close to running out for me personally. My sympathetic sentiment won't help when careers are on the line at the end of this season though.

18-06-2017, 07:18 PM
I can live with a struggle to reach the highs of the ultimate... But what I can't live with is the gutless capitulation I saw today. All last year, I thought, even when down, they'll keep fighting. Not so in the last fortnight.

18-06-2017, 07:19 PM
The question is: where do we go from here? We haven't got a lot of options. As a group we are not playing well. Our handballs get us into trouble now. Our field kicking is so poor. Do we have anyone who can takr a contested mark? It will take a miracle to make the eight because our form for the year has been pretty poor. And realistically we would only be making up the numbers unless their is a complete turn around.
I'm gutted. But still clinging to the hope that we are better than this. Time will tell. I would hate to think we finish 2017 without firing a shot.

18-06-2017, 07:22 PM
100%.

Sick of hearing about last year. It was amazing and I'll always remember it but FFS to then dish this up is not good enough, and giving them a free pass is poor attitude.
I'm not expecting the coaching staff and senior management to give a free pass to the players for this season, but as a humble supporter I am. If that makes my attitude poor so be it - happy to wear the label.

18-06-2017, 07:28 PM
I only saw the game from 10'mins on in the 3rd quarter but a few observation:
-JJ needs to put in more effort . How in the world jack watts ran around him to allow that kick into the 50 is ridiculous.
- We have lost the instinct and faith to support each other . Stringer on the wing , stops and delays , does not kick to Bonts or Bonts does not lead, ends up kicking out on the full
- cam Peresdon kicks ball from centre square and runs down ball his own kick in the last quarter, ball ends up in demons fwd half .He has to be the slowest guy on the ground
- Mainiac contest has disappeared . Melbourne had 40 unconcetested kicks to our 8,

- our fwd entries, 40 yields with 2 goals. Something not right about the fwd setup. Is redpath injured ? . How big has montgomery loss been ?
-as much as I would love HC to make it he has just got to nail those shots infrOnt of goal
- how is Jetta able to out mark our players in the last quarter? Losing the contested game is a real concrrn

18-06-2017, 07:28 PM
The question is: where do we go from here? We haven't got a lot of options. As a group we are not playing well. Our handballs get us into trouble now. Our field kicking is so poor. Do we have anyone who can takr a contested mark? It will take a miracle to make the eight because our form for the year has been pretty poor. And realistically we would only be making up the numbers unless their is a complete turn around.
I'm gutted. But still clinging to the hope that we are better than this. Time will tell. I would hate to think we finish 2017 without firing a shot.

Kids, at least some of them. I know it will labelled as over simplistic. But I want to see Webb & Williams off the HBF. Particularly if JJ leaves, id like to see how Lynch goes for a couple of games at the full speed of afl. The catch is Williams & Webb have been performing and deserve promotion as much as anyone else. I think the benefit they will get, as well as the coaches and list manager are worth giving them a good look. I'd like to see Boyd spend more time forward, but with our entries that won't fix anything. If Lipinski keeps form up, I'd have a glimpse at him too.

I'd hit the free agency market and trade season at full speed.

18-06-2017, 07:30 PM
I'm not expecting the coaching staff and senior management to give a free pass to the players for this season, but as a humble supporter I am. If that makes my attitude poor so be it - happy to wear the label.

Same here

18-06-2017, 07:45 PM

Don't want to agree, but it's becoming hard...

We've dropped the ball 6 months ago and everyone's been having too much fun to realise.

18-06-2017, 07:47 PM
Our dual winger set up hasn't given us anything.

We had dual wings and they had 4 running off our forward half of the square. I stopped giving it my complete attention, but it killed us based on what I did see.

18-06-2017, 07:54 PM
As a supporter, how can I dump on the players after what they did for me and every other true believer last year? However for the players and the coaching staff, this is their livelihood - their careers will live and die by the results they produce moving forward. Season 2016 will quickly be forgotten if the results of the last 2 weeks become the norm rather than the exception.

I'm not happy with how we are performing in 2017 (in particular the last 2 weeks - we've been very honest if inconsistent in our efforts up to then). But the credits obtained in 2016 haven't come close to running out for me personally. My sympathetic sentiment won't help when careers are on the line at the end of this season though.

You dont have to dump on the players, most people havent, but in a match day thread I dont think we should be writing off poor performances based on last years success. I know your original response was done in the right way but last year is last year.

What I wont accept from the club is any notion that as shareholders we should be be happy enough with less than acceptable performances this year because we struck it rich last year.

Melbourne aren't a better side than us but we were out coached and our set up and structure was poor. That's what I think we should be focusing on.

18-06-2017, 08:01 PM
Melbourne aren't a better side than us but we were out coached and our set up and structure was poor. That's what I think we should be focusing on.
Big call, perhaps they simply are. They've been in every game this season - their form has clearly been superior to ours all year.

Perhaps we are not much more than an ordinary middle of the road team. Perhaps we've all over-estimated the depth of talent on our list - I know I'm starting to doubt our talent level. The ladder doesn't lie - we are 6-6 with a sub 100 percentage. That is a bog ordinary team.

18-06-2017, 08:02 PM

With all due respect, if we have another poor year in 2018 then I don't think those who essentially swept this years performances under the carpet have a leg to stand on next year if they start voicing their frustrations.

You can't pick and choose when to expect and demand more; we should be a bloody good side but we're bloody awful. It's been 13 weeks - the credits in the bank long ran out and that doesn't mean I don't appreciate what they did for us last year.

When the President is still handing invites out to watch a replay of the Grand Final in March, questions should be asked. We can't just live off last year forever and it all starts at the top.

18-06-2017, 08:12 PM
With all due respect, if we have another poor year in 2018 then I don't think those who essentially swept this years performances under the carpet have a leg to stand on next year if they start voicing their frustrations.

You can't pick and choose when to expect and demand more; we should be a bloody good side but we're bloody awful. It's been 13 weeks - the credits in the bank long ran out and that doesn't mean I don't appreciate what they did for us last year.

When the President is still handing invites out to watch a replay of the Grand Final in March, questions should be asked. We can't just live off last year forever and it all starts at the top.
I do actually agree with your general sentiment TBB, and I'm sure that the penny has well and truly dropped within the 4 walls if it hasn't already. Coming back from a 62 year drought is a unique set of circumstances, especially for a team that was honest and never dominant in their premiership year. Fair to say we haven't handled the situation all that well thus far.

As per my previous post, maybe we simply aren't as good as we think we are. Who has improved in 2017 from 2016? I can't think of anyone apart from Jongy.

18-06-2017, 08:12 PM
We had dual wings and they had 4 running off our forward half of the square. I stopped giving it my complete attention, but it killed us based on what I did see.

Melbourne have done 8 in the back half like that all year.

18-06-2017, 08:17 PM
Big call, perhaps they simply are. They've been in every game this season - their form has clearly been superior to ours all year.

Perhaps we are not much more than an ordinary middle of the road team. Perhaps we've all over-estimated the depth of talent on our list - I know I'm starting to doubt our talent level. The ladder doesn't lie - we are 6-6 with a sub 100 percentage. That is a bog ordinary team.

We are a team thats finished 7th an 8th the last 2 seasons too, but maybe we just had a great month at the right time.

18-06-2017, 08:36 PM
I do actually agree with your general sentiment TBB, and I'm sure that the penny has well and truly dropped within the 4 walls if it hasn't already. Coming back from a 62 year drought is a unique set of circumstances, especially for a team that was honest and never dominant in their premiership year. Fair to say we haven't handled the situation all that well thus far.

As per my previous post, maybe we simply aren't as good as we think we are. Who has improved in 2017 from 2016? I can't think of anyone apart from Jongy.

Definitely agree re the unique circumstances and it's why I thought we'd start slow, but we haven't fired a single shot this year.

Your last point is damning; 40 odd players on the list and only 1 has improved. What have our development coaches and senior coaching panel implemented?

Hard to know where to improve but we have gaps structurally and a significant lack of skill and pace in the side.

18-06-2017, 08:52 PM
Did the club move on the assistant coaches at the end of last season?

18-06-2017, 08:52 PM
Definitely agree re the unique circumstances and it's why I thought we'd start slow, but we haven't fired a single shot this year.
Agreed, that's why I was very happy going to the bye at 6-4, being in every game until late in the last qtr, and having just restricted a top 8 contender to 50 points at Etihad. Honestly thought we would become more consistent after the bye and start a run of strong form - the last 2 weeks have been humbling and have shaken my belief in our talent pool.

18-06-2017, 08:59 PM

Yes I was watching that GD too. At one stage they had the dual wings and 6 players running from their half backline into the centre square after the ball is bounced. This is why they get so many balls out of the centre.

18-06-2017, 09:12 PM
We are a team thats finished 7th an 8th the last 2 seasons too, but maybe we just had a great month at the right time.

That's a fair assessment, fact even. The "just" part grinds my gears a bit though, feels like the use of that word diminishes the enormity of what we achieved. No one has done it, it'll be a long time before it happens again. We put together the greatest Premiership run ever, IMO.

All that stuff is irrelevant now though. We are not playing at an acceptable level and have clear issues that need to be addressed. This past fortnight has confirmed a departure from the qualities that defined this squad and affirmed our identity. Self preservation and poor application are no where near as flattering as dogged perseverance and selflessness.

18-06-2017, 09:15 PM
Did not enjoy that today.

We were beaten comfortably today. I thought the comeback might happen but it never eventuated. Scoring our first goal in the 2nd quarter 10 minutes in simply not good enough. Our forward line structure is dreadful we get it in there enough but cannot take any advantage of it while in there.

Roughy I thought did good early on way to much hand balling just kick the ball as many supporters around me were saying and not enough picking up the opposition and pressure. Stringer very poor and Bonti unbontlike at the moment the person behind me reckons he could be carrying an injury.

We have a lot of work to do to make the 8 this year and 4-5x more work to make the top 4.

18-06-2017, 09:32 PM
Yes I was watching that GD too. At one stage they had the dual wings and 6 players running from their half backline into the centre square after the ball is bounced. This is why they get so many balls out of the centre.

That and our ruckman hitting it precisely where Melbourne wanted it. Its a good thing for Melbourne that they didn't play Gawn today - even he couldn't have given them the silver service that Roughead and Boyd gave them today. I'm really annoyed that nobody asked Beveridge about it at the press conference - I would love to understand why he and the midfield/stoppage coaches didn't think they needed to change our method in there.

18-06-2017, 09:40 PM
Did the club move on the assistant coaches at the end of last season?

No, reshuffled them.

18-06-2017, 09:49 PM
God I'm going to sound like a softy here but the spectacle that I witnessed today from both clubs was embarrassing. I might be a bit more sensitive because my 3 year old sion was there but the fighting, wrestling, cheap shots and poor sportsmanship was a disgrace. It's no wonder kids are flocking to soccer. It's the 1st time I've taken my boy to the footy this season and won't be taking him back in a hurry.

18-06-2017, 09:55 PM
God I'm going to sound like a softy here but the spectacle that I witnessed today from both clubs was embarrassing. I might be a bit more sensitive because my 3 year old sion was there but the fighting, wrestling, cheap shots and poor sportsmanship was a disgrace. It's no wonder kids are flocking to soccer. It's the 1st time I've taken my boy to the footy and won't be taking him back in a hurry.

Especially the second quarter. I thought the umpires lost control. It may sound bias, but I felt Melbourne instigated it and tried to upset us.

18-06-2017, 09:58 PM
God I'm going to sound like a softy here but the spectacle that I witnessed today from both clubs was embarrassing. I might be a bit more sensitive because my 3 year old sion was there but the fighting, wrestling, cheap shots and poor sportsmanship was a disgrace. It's no wonder kids are flocking to soccer. It's the 1st time I've taken my boy to the footy and won't be taking him back in a hurry.

Bugger, I know you've been looking forward to that a lot. Shit that his first game was that. Hopefully that doesn't spoil footy too much for him thinking that's what it is.

18-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Especially the second quarter. I thought the umpires lost control. It may sound bias, but I felt Melbourne instigated it ad tried to upset us.

Yeah that's how I felt as well. Nothing wrong with playing with a hard edge today was over the top. Did not like it all and I probably should have left half way through the 2nd quarter. I felt awful that I put him through that.

18-06-2017, 10:00 PM
Especially the second quarter. I thought the umpires lost control. It may sound bias, but I felt Melbourne instigated it ad tried to upset us.

They certainly did lose control. Melbourne tried to ruffle us, and it seems it worked.

18-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Bugger, I know you've been looking forward to that a lot. Shit that his first game was that. Hopefully that doesn't spoil footy too much for him thinking that's what it is.

Sorry wasn't his first, first of the year.

We all enjoyed Boss Baby.

18-06-2017, 10:01 PM

The umpires gave Bugg the second goal. After he lined up & collected Wood. Then Roughy didn't get a free a minute later after being slung by the neck to the ground because he 'initiated it'.

Our guys have two sets of rules to navigate this year. They don't get protected by the umpires, which gives cowards the audacity to do more and when we responded nothing again. Which emboldens them further. Then it falls into the garbage spot fires that should not have occurred in the first place.

18-06-2017, 10:04 PM
They certainly did lose control. Melbourne tried to ruffle us, and it seems it worked.

I thought it sprung us into life. And would've really sprung us into life if Honeychurch didn't piss away an early snap 10m, in front and then Watts goaling the other way. Honeychurch killed that comeback. I think they were smart not bringing it out as much in the second and just leave us an Impassionate group rolling through the motions.

18-06-2017, 10:10 PM
Am I still on an AFL-related site?

18-06-2017, 10:47 PM
Especially the second quarter. I thought the umpires lost control. It may sound bias, but I felt Melbourne instigated it and tried to upset us.

The refusal to officiate to the rules of the game was astounding. Disgusting display from the umpires. The rewards cowardice.

18-06-2017, 11:03 PM
The refusal to officiate to the rules of the game was astounding. Disgusting display from the umpires. The rewards cowardice.

Totally agree. Sure we were poor today but the umpiring was atrocious.

18-06-2017, 11:18 PM
Defence conceded 17 goals today close to 20 very disappointing as this is area we are pretty good at added to a dysfunctional forward line.

18-06-2017, 11:29 PM
Hard to believe this team won us a flag last year. This team doesn't resemble the team i've watched in 2015 & 2016.

Leading into the year i was worried that if we lost that hunger then we would lose our edge & then we would just be a run of the mill team. I think we've been bloody lazy all year but for the most part got away with it because we were still playing ok offensively. Now we've lost our confidence & the laziness we've had all year defensively is coming home to roost.

Today we were consistently outnumbered all over the ground for the entire game. Its the reason they scored so many easy goals, we just refused to work hard when we don't have it. We just look so out of form & the lack of cohesion was a major issue. We don't seem to be playing for each other anymore. I'm not sure what bevo can do cause he's been making plenty of changes but every week we get the same result.

At the moment we are just too easy to play against & every team is putting their hand up to play us. What really stings is we are starting to become a joke. The opposition is laughing at us & that doesn't sit well with me.

19-06-2017, 12:16 AM
At the moment we are just too easy to play against & every team is putting their hand up to play us. What really stings is we are starting to become a joke. The opposition is laughing at us & that doesn't sit well with me.

Got a message from a mate, a Blues supporter - "Can't wait to play you guys in a few weeks".... Says it all, really.

19-06-2017, 12:23 AM
This is the bit that is really triggering my rage. All the hard work and effort to affirm our identity as a tough, hard team that always shows up has been whittled away. We were all swept up by this squad and Bevo because they reflected the things we love to perceive in ourselves as a Club. How we are presenting at the moment tells a story we don't value but outsiders want to ascribe to us. That we were just lucky, the rabble club that got a charity ride, an anomaly etc.

Can't cop that. Certainly not from Melbourne.

19-06-2017, 12:25 AM
This is the bit that is really triggering my rage. All the hard work and effort to affirm our identity as a tough, hard team that always shows up has been whittled away. We were all swept up by this squad and Bevo because they reflected the things we love to perceive in ourselves as a Club. How we are presenting at the moment tells a story we don't value but outsiders want to ascribe to us. That we were just lucky, the rabble club that got a charity ride, an anomaly etc.

Local derby next week against the Kangaroos so I'm hoping we show some fight next week.

19-06-2017, 01:31 AM
Local derby next week against the Kangaroos so I'm hoping we show some fight next week.

Going to need to show a bit more than that if we want to earn back even an ounce of respect

19-06-2017, 01:47 AM

I personally couldn't give two shits what other club supporters think of our premiership triumph. That's in the book forever and a day, and it will take something extraordinary to knock off our 4 week finals run last year.

We are stinking it up at the moment but that means nothing in context of recent history. All it means is that we are currently not a contender for 2017 based on the last 2 weeks and fair enough, but with 10 rounds to go we have time on our side to turn it around. Do we have the hunger and talent? Time will tell.

19-06-2017, 06:29 AM
Hard to believe this team won us a flag last year. This team doesn't resemble the team i've watched in 2015 & 2016.

Leading into the year i was worried that if we lost that hunger then we would lose our edge & then we would just be a run of the mill team. I think we've been bloody lazy all year but for the most part got away with it because we were still playing ok offensively. Now we've lost our confidence & the laziness we've had all year defensively is coming home to roost.

Today we were consistently outnumbered all over the ground for the entire game. Its the reason they scored so many easy goals, we just refused to work hard when we don't have it. We just look so out of form & the lack of cohesion was a major issue. We don't seem to be playing for each other anymore. I'm not sure what bevo can do cause he's been making plenty of changes but every week we get the same result.

Great post Anfo but when a team as talented as ours can't score a goal and the better part of 40 minutes of footy it comes down to structure, set-up and skills and that doesn't always just fall to the players. I thought the endeavor was there but our handball, handball handball then kick approach falls down at the kick stage because we are often tackled by then. At the very least we are under a lot of pressure at the end of the chain.

Last year we had a number of players who rotated through the middle and we are now down on numbers. Melbourne on the other hand had plenty of players rotating through.

We've been worked out and our game plan isn't as easy to execute now.

19-06-2017, 08:00 AM
Umpiring decisions are the least of our concerns. You play well, you get the rub of the green. You play rubbish you get nothing.

19-06-2017, 10:43 AM
Gotta say, 10 minutes into the first term there's no way that I would have predicted a 10 goal loss. We looked completely dominant. And although they clawed their way back into the inside fifty count and contested ball, to eventually beat us in those areas, it does seem like there is something structurally wrong with the setup if we are competitive in all of contested ball, tackles and inside fifties. We can't win games when we're kicking a goal every 6 entries.

It looks like we're not able to move the ball quick enough, but also just incapable of creating space in the forward line once it's there. At one point, one of the commentators mentions that Melbourne looked more likely to score from our forward fifty stoppages than we did, and it was hard to argue against that call.

When I look on the team sheet, I don't see many goalkickers, I see about 10 midfielders rotating into the forward line. Do we really have so little respect for forward craft that we think it's okay to not have any permanent forwards? And okay to play all players in the midfield at VFL level regardless of where they'll end up playing at AFL level?

19-06-2017, 10:50 AM
I agree we looked a lot more determined from the opening bounce yesterday. But it was short-lived. Our skills were horrendous which blew out the lead early with shocking turnovers under little pressure. But its really our running without the ball that's causing us problems. We aren't prepared to do the hard work defensively. We were the best in the comp by a long way at this last year and especially in the finals. Why has it disappeared? It must be a lack of desire after the flag. Will it come back? I bloody hope so.

19-06-2017, 02:50 PM
It looks like we're not able to move the ball quick enough, but also just incapable of creating space in the forward line once it's there. At one point, one of the commentators mentions that Melbourne looked more likely to score from our forward fifty stoppages than we did, and it was hard to argue against that call.

Our game is based on running the ball out of the backline, quickly and this is just not happening. Last year blokes like JJ, AA HBF Boyd, Biggs, Wood all moved the ball very quickly out of the backline. Even this year with the return of Murphy, we were able to win games, or at least be very competitive running and bouncing from the backline forward.

The last two weeks, JJ has been held, no Murphy, Biggs not playing at the same level and Wood is forced to play tall. Because we have been unable to do this, sides now flood our forward line and we have no choice but to bomb it in. WE are giving no opportunities to Stringer, Dickson, Cloke or any talls.

I really believe we need Wood to not be playing on guys taller than him, but we don't have much choice there. These days, games are won from quick movement of the ball from the backline. Have a look at GWS and the Crows.

We need Murphy back urgently, JJ back on track and perhaps give someone like Lynch a go. We need to stop playing Wood on talls. We have no choice but to either play Roberts at Fullback, or chuck Collins in there.

The Bull shit about hunger, premiership hangover, doesn't sit with me. There are other issues at play.

19-06-2017, 05:05 PM
Our game is based on running the ball out of the backline, quickly and this is just not happening. Last year blokes like JJ, AA HBF Boyd, Biggs, Wood all moved the ball very quickly out of the backline. Even this year with the return of Murphy, we were able to win games, or at least be very competitive running and bouncing from the backline forward.

The last two weeks, JJ has been held, no Murphy, Biggs not playing at the same level and Wood is forced to play tall. Because we have been unable to do this, sides now flood our forward line and we have no choice but to bomb it in. WE are giving no opportunities to Stringer, Dickson, Cloke or any talls.

I really believe we need Wood to not be playing on guys taller than him, but we don't have much choice there. These days, games are won from quick movement of the ball from the backline. Have a look at GWS and the Crows.

We need Murphy back urgently, JJ back on track and perhaps give someone like Lynch a go. We need to stop playing Wood on talls. We have no choice but to either play Roberts at Fullback, or chuck Collins in there.

The Bull shit about hunger, premiership hangover, doesn't sit with me. There are other issues at play.

Bevo argued against GPS tracking data being made available. At the moment it might be the best way to understand what's gone wrong with our game, and what you're describing.
'Players inside fifty per entry' - that would be one valuable stat.

19-06-2017, 07:44 PM

There is no such thing as a premiership hangover. It's a convenient term used to explain why talented people aren't performing at the required level. The real reason is of course is a failure by the coaches to set the expectations with all the players and themselves.
Make an example of just one player early on and and the rest would have quickly awoken from any slumber.

I remember reading on here that the players will fire up this year for Bob Murphy. Well that bit of inspiration lasted about 10 minutes.

We've had our share of injuries which is a valid point but it doesn't fully explain why we have dropped so far back.
We missed out during the trade period to bolster a strong list and we are paying a hefty price for that. Our game plan has been worked out and we haven't adjusted. We haven't improved our skill level and that is also hurting us.

There are many things that aren't working for us so far this season but I'm 100% with Bevo it's not a premiership hangover.

24-06-2017, 05:30 PM
Who has improved in 2017 from 2016? I can't think of anyone apart from Jongy.

Better
Jong
Dale
Daniel
T Boyd
Cordy
Dahlhaus
Macrae
Stringer
Adams
Williams

Same