View Full Version : Game Day Round 14, 2017 - Western Bulldogs V North Melbourne

23-06-2017, 02:44 PM
Local derby, big game, need to get back on the winners list

Margin: Dogs by 27 points - need a nice comfortable win

First Goal: Dahl to get us going

Best On Ground: Macrae to have a great one

Go Bulldogs!!

23-06-2017, 02:51 PM
Margin: Dogs by 57 points

First Goal: Stringer

Best On Ground: Bont

Need the big guns to fire

23-06-2017, 02:59 PM
Hoping for a big game from Bont. We need the Bont back!

23-06-2017, 03:56 PM
Dogs by: 44 points

First Goal: Dickson

BOG: Wallis

Crowd: 37500

23-06-2017, 04:00 PM
Dogs by 113
BOG Tom Boyd 10.4
FG Suckling

23-06-2017, 04:18 PM
Dogs by 113
BOG Tom Boyd 10.4
FG Suckling

Will be a good effort considering he is not playing. :D:D:D

23-06-2017, 04:19 PM

Yep calf injury so will miss.

23-06-2017, 04:20 PM

Exactly. :D

23-06-2017, 04:44 PM
Dogs by 45
First Goal - JJ breaks the lines hits Stringer on the lead, he dishes back to JJ running past who slots it from 55 on the run. Everyone gets around em!
BOG - Stringer

24-06-2017, 12:35 AM
If we come to play, this should be easy

WB by 35
First Goal McLean
BOG Dahlhaus

24-06-2017, 01:15 AM
If we come to play, this should be easy

WB by 35
First Goal McLean
BOG Dahlhaus

And if we don't

North by 15
First goal Daw
BOG Higgins

24-06-2017, 08:55 AM
North by 15
First goal Daw
BOG Higgins

Pretty much same as me Dry Rot
North by 19
First goal - daw (one of those that we play into form)
Bog - Higgins

24-06-2017, 10:20 AM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal - Hunter
BOG - Bont back to his best
Crowd - 39,067

24-06-2017, 11:04 AM
This is our fight or fold game I believe and I'm not confident at all to be honest.
I'm not sure we are the club the media and we think we are.
We had a great year last year but probably a bit earlier than we were ready for.
I so much wish I was wrong in my feelings but the last few weeks have been horrible.
North are a club who always gives us a hard time.

24-06-2017, 11:53 AM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal - Hunter
BOG - Bont back to his best
Crowd - 39,067

Lucky to be 30k I reckon.

24-06-2017, 12:41 PM
Just win by whatever
Bog Bont ( time to fire up )
1st goal Dickson ( another who needs to lift )

24-06-2017, 12:42 PM
Lucky to be 30k I reckon.

Same here . North not going great , middle of winter .

24-06-2017, 05:35 PM
Dogs by 15 pts
First goal Dicko
BOG Libba

24-06-2017, 08:08 PM
Roughy with the defensive group pre-game

24-06-2017, 08:09 PM
Dogs by 9 points.
BOG: Wallis
1st goal: Dickson

24-06-2017, 08:10 PM
Same here . North not going great , middle of winter .

No trains on the Werribee and Williamstown lines either

24-06-2017, 08:20 PM
If we're fair dinkum we'll rebound hard and eat this mob.

No more injuries would be nice too please and thank you.

And if you REALLY want to spoil us footy gods if Redders could put Ziebell on his arse that'd be great kthanksbye.

24-06-2017, 08:29 PM
This is going to be hard to watch

24-06-2017, 08:32 PM
Show of hands - who sincerely thought Campbell would actually kick that?

24-06-2017, 08:37 PM
Easton Wood continuing on his fine form this year. On a positive some nice ball movement lets hope we can kick it more often tonight.

24-06-2017, 08:48 PM
Too casual in the back 50 for mine.

24-06-2017, 08:55 PM
Good to see the scoreboard ticking over. Great goal by Hunter

24-06-2017, 08:57 PM
Good finish to the quarter. HC looking like an AFL footballer.

Great first quarter from Honeychurch after a very poor game last week. Hitting targets and making good decisions.

Bont also had his best first start in a month or so.

Nice to see Campbell start well, not sure he will be able to keep up against Goldstein though.

Good signs, generally. This should be our default gear.

Get the feeling if we persist they'll fall away.

24-06-2017, 08:59 PM
Good finish to the quarter. HC looking like an AFL footballer.
Yep and I am pleased for him

24-06-2017, 09:00 PM
Some great tackling and pressure. But jeez we're vulnerable on the turnover. Credit to Honeychurch and Campbell. Solid work from 2 guys I don't rate particularly highly. B- Mac would be enjoying Roughy in the backline.

24-06-2017, 09:01 PM
Tommy doing well in the ruck and up forward, after starting with a shocking effort on goal.
Dale working hard. Bont involved and Honey, Libba, Wallis and Macrae working hard around the packs.
Better signs effort and execution wise.

Roughead at full back - is that going backwards or a good move

Best first quarter for the year I'd say.

24-06-2017, 09:03 PM
Poor fumbly effort and then tackle from Biggs

24-06-2017, 09:05 PM
Terrible turnover by JJ.
Two poor passages to start the quarter.

24-06-2017, 09:07 PM
Picken!!! Awesome mark

24-06-2017, 09:25 PM
Don't look now but we're looking like we've regained some composure in the contest.

24-06-2017, 09:29 PM
North have burnt some goals. Could be a lot closer.

24-06-2017, 09:31 PM
Bugger

24-06-2017, 09:34 PM
Roughead at full back - is that going backwards or a good move

I suspect it depends on who the coach is :) if it was BMac it would be the worlds worst move. :)

Its a strange season, we try and make Tom Boyd a ruck man because Roughead was injured and now Roughy is a defender when Boyd is out.

24-06-2017, 09:36 PM
We've already outscored ourselves from the last two weeks.

That can only be a good thing.

I like Campbell and HC's game. Red doing a few nice things too. Straightens up our forward line.

I suspect it depends on who the coach is :) if it was BMac it would be the worlds worst move. :)

Its a strange season, we try and make Tom Boyd a ruck man because Roughead was injured and now Roughy is a defender when Boyd is out.

Is that because Cloke is unavailable, we have no key defenders and Campbell can only play one position?

24-06-2017, 09:38 PM
We've had a good go with free kicks and we are making them pay for it.
Campbell has done OK and we are getting a bit more out of the centre square contests.
We are also converting our chances.

How far did Waite run for that goal? It seemed like 30mtrs.

24-06-2017, 09:38 PM
No whingeing about the umpires this week?

24-06-2017, 09:39 PM

From dogs supporters or the rest of the entire universe?

24-06-2017, 09:40 PM
One negative in an otherwise improved performance from the team so far is the form of Morris. His heart and effort is still there, but he's made more errors leading to goals (3 by my count) than he's done in most seasons.
I hope its just rust from his prolonged absence this year.

24-06-2017, 09:40 PM
Is that because Cloke is unavailable, we have no key defenders and Campbell can only play one position?

Fletcher Roberts was available but either way its not a bad move.

24-06-2017, 09:41 PM

Umpiring has been deplorable. We've been very, very lucky.

24-06-2017, 09:41 PM
Easton Wood continuing on his fine form this year. On a positive some nice ball movement lets hope we can kick it more often tonight.
Not sure why you have it in for Wood

24-06-2017, 09:44 PM
Umpiring has been deplorable. We've been very, very lucky.

Hellz yeah.

24-06-2017, 09:45 PM
One negative in an otherwise improved performance from the team so far is the form of Morris. His heart and effort is still there, but he's made more errors leading to goals (3 by my count) than he's done in most seasons.
I hope its just rust from his prolonged absence this year.

Not the first game this season I have noticed Dale's form tapering off

24-06-2017, 09:46 PM
Fletcher Roberts was available but either way its not a bad move.

It could still come back to bite us, although our lack of structure on the turnover is more concerning than the lack of size.

24-06-2017, 09:50 PM
Much better effort but I still don't like the ease with which teams are scoring against us. Roughie and Wood doing well down back. Honeychurch - a week is a long time in football - well done son. Bailey Dale - taking his chances.
TC doing well in the ruck. Hunter using it well. The Bont is back. We are showing some good signs but we have to go on with it in the second half. Let's get our mojo working.

24-06-2017, 09:50 PM
Much better effort but I still don't like the ease with which teams are scoring against us. Roughie and Wood doing well down back. Honeychurch - a week is a long time in football - well done son. Bailey Dale - taking his chances.
TC doing well in the ruck. Hunter using it well. The Bont is back. We are showing some good signs but we have to go on with it in the second half. Let's get our mojo working.

24-06-2017, 09:52 PM
Captain obvious here I know, but we need to press on early in the 3rd and put this to bed. It only takes one or two quick centre clearances and North's tall forward line can get them back in this.
Campbell, Bont, Libba, Wallis, Macrae & others rotating on ball need to keep their dominance.
We aren't going to get the same favourable ump decisions this half i reckon.

24-06-2017, 09:54 PM
Not sure why you have it in for Wood

When was the last time he took an intercept mark?

24-06-2017, 09:57 PM
Picken as s small forward

24-06-2017, 09:57 PM
Campbell has made a massive difference loved his follow up work at ground level that allowed Bont to hit Redpath. His tap work has been great also.

24-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Jesus please. Let Suckling never play a seniors game again.

24-06-2017, 10:02 PM
Dropping off right now

24-06-2017, 10:03 PM
We're a mess, just a hot mess.

24-06-2017, 10:06 PM
Honey has had a great game...10 score involvements, but his goalkicking is putrid.
Thank goodness for the execution of Bont.

24-06-2017, 10:10 PM
We're in big trouble

24-06-2017, 10:11 PM
Libba an obvious and unnecessary 50. Very lucky it was a poor kick.
Amd here come the ump even ups. How was Dale to get rid of that?

24-06-2017, 10:12 PM
And here come North's talls right back into the game.

24-06-2017, 10:14 PM
Umpires have turned

24-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Fantastic tackle pressure led by Mclean.

24-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Toby McLean has been great tonight. That tackle was a gem

24-06-2017, 10:18 PM
Loving Toby McLean's game. 10 contested poss already, team high 5 clearances and going at 90%. Great stuff.

24-06-2017, 10:20 PM
So many chances we've blown. And they are right back again

Poor from Morris time is catching him

What a natural Daniel is.

24-06-2017, 10:23 PM
Way too early to call I would suggest

24-06-2017, 10:23 PM
Thanks Missy!
Haven't said that in a long while!

24-06-2017, 10:24 PM
Suck balls Shaun. Once a *!*!*!*!ing sook, always a *!*!*!*!ing sook

24-06-2017, 10:24 PM
Great awareness from Stringer.

24-06-2017, 10:25 PM
Poor crowd tonight around 25,000 I think but its should be a good contest during the 4th quarter
As YHF suggested earlier but we need to kick a couple of goals early in this quarter to shake them off

24-06-2017, 10:26 PM
What a natural Daniel is.

He's had a very average one tonight, minimal influence

24-06-2017, 10:26 PM

What have you against against Morris?

24-06-2017, 10:27 PM
Way too early to call I would suggest

For sure Gary. But its fair to say whilst the effort and commitment is still present he has been more error prone since his return.
I'm prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt as to the cause right now.

There probably has never been a Bulldog player I've wanted to olay til they're 60 years old other than Moz!

24-06-2017, 10:27 PM
Morris has been awful, worst game I've seen him play.

24-06-2017, 10:28 PM
What have you against against Morris?
Not having a good game

24-06-2017, 10:29 PM
We kept them in it with some poor finishing. When will we stop shooting ourselves in the foot? I hope we put them away early in this quarter. I just can't stand this type of game.

24-06-2017, 10:29 PM
Any news on Picken, taken down the race after his last goal?

24-06-2017, 10:30 PM
Poor crowd tonight around 25,000 I think but its should be a good contest during the 4th quarter
As YHF suggested earlier but we need to kick a couple of goals early in this quarter to shake them off

It seems like more Doggies fans there tonight by some margin. Is that the case.

I was surprised how few were at Boomer's celebration last week.

24-06-2017, 10:30 PM
Any news on Picken, taken down the race after his last goal?

Looks like a knee- medial reported by Fox

24-06-2017, 10:31 PM
Lachie Hunter has been super important tonight

24-06-2017, 10:32 PM
Macrae, i love him. But his foot only has a 9 iron in the bag.

24-06-2017, 10:32 PM
BTC 38 hitouts to Goldstein 15

24-06-2017, 10:33 PM
Great response Moz!!

24-06-2017, 10:35 PM
Picken back out there. Good news

24-06-2017, 10:37 PM
Bont back to form is good news too.

24-06-2017, 10:37 PM
Dickson can't get into this game , 4 touches

24-06-2017, 10:38 PM
Dickson can't get into this game , 4 touches

Has had a mare

24-06-2017, 10:39 PM
Dale Morris. Great again.

24-06-2017, 10:42 PM
If Bailey Dale can improve his hands when getting ground balls he will be a much better player.

24-06-2017, 10:44 PM
Can't understate Roughy's efforts as a key defender

24-06-2017, 10:44 PM
Libba poor defensively tonight.

24-06-2017, 10:47 PM
He's had a very average one tonight, minimal influence

Yep, but looks a cut above when he has it.

24-06-2017, 10:49 PM
Stupid. Stupid from Redpath.
We are like two steps forward one step back..

24-06-2017, 10:51 PM
Bad feeling...

24-06-2017, 10:52 PM
Getting very wobbly now.
Even a victory right now is not the performance we've needed

24-06-2017, 10:53 PM
Bad feeling...

Yep, all momentum with them. That Redpath free...

24-06-2017, 10:55 PM
We are gone

24-06-2017, 10:55 PM
Yep, all momentum with them. That Redpath free...

Telling error

24-06-2017, 10:56 PM
Cunnington always kills us

24-06-2017, 10:56 PM
We are gone
Hang tough

24-06-2017, 10:57 PM
Can we just move onto 2018?

24-06-2017, 10:58 PM
Just need one telling piece of play.

24-06-2017, 10:58 PM
All tied up.

24-06-2017, 10:59 PM
Jake Stringer this is your time

One point, 1 minute to go

24-06-2017, 11:00 PM
We are home...

24-06-2017, 11:01 PM
Tough old game but a good result

24-06-2017, 11:03 PM
Yeah, but nah, but yeah.
We ain't no top 4 side

24-06-2017, 11:05 PM
Yeah, but nah, but yeah.
We ain't no top 4 side
Agreed but its a good win to bank. I've not given up on us getting our stuff together

24-06-2017, 11:05 PM
No satisfaction taken out of that win

24-06-2017, 11:06 PM
Agreed but its a good win to bank. I've not given up on us getting our stuff together

There's not many great signs, but we live in hope

24-06-2017, 11:07 PM
Stole victory, after stealing defeat, after stealing victory...

24-06-2017, 11:07 PM
Yeah, but nah, but yeah.
We ain't no top 4 side

Gotta take a win, I'm not sure there are many top 4 quality sides this year. Should have been 6-7 up in the last...

24-06-2017, 11:08 PM

Any win is satisfaction for me

24-06-2017, 11:09 PM
Gotta take a win, I'm not sure there are many top 4 quality sides this year. Should have been 6-7 up in the last...

That's the disappointment. Should have had that comfortably, but completely lost composure

24-06-2017, 11:09 PM
We kept them in it with some poor finishing. When will we stop shooting ourselves in the foot? I hope we put them away early in this quarter. I just can't stand this type of game.

Like I said. Full marks to Suckers, Big Jack, Lachie and Jake. They got us out of the hole we dug for ourselves.

Good games from McLean, Wally, Picko, Bonti, Easton Wood, Honey etc

24-06-2017, 11:10 PM
Same number if scoring shots in the second half. But outscored by 20pts. At least we were hitting the scoreboard this week

24-06-2017, 11:11 PM

1 point wins are the best

24-06-2017, 11:12 PM
It's really strange. It's like we've gone back to what we were 2 or 3 years ago. Absolutely no confidence and living in hope. I thought winning the flag would change things. How can they be so down on confidence?

24-06-2017, 11:14 PM

Gotta disagree with that . 9 and 2 under beveridge in games less than a goal .
Tough comp, and no lead is safe

24-06-2017, 11:16 PM
Don't know how to feel. Won it, happy with that. Complete collapse in crunch not good. I thought luck got us out not our ability to hold on.

24-06-2017, 11:18 PM
Meh. I left the game as pissed off as I'd have been had we lost. We're the premiers scraping together one point wins against mediocre sides. Spare me the celebrations.

24-06-2017, 11:19 PM
Meh. I left the game as pissed off as I'd have been had we lost. We're the premiers scraping together one point wins against mediocre sides. Spare me the celebrations.

24-06-2017, 11:22 PM
We are gone

Mate.. youre an idiot..pull your head in!

24-06-2017, 11:27 PM
Hang tough

The one thing we can hang our hat on tonight; that still sets us apart from even our good teams under Eade, Wheeler, Wallace & Malthouse is we didn't let a poor 10 minutes define us. We still found a way to execute under extreme duress to get the 4 points we deserved, but tried so hard to throw away.

24-06-2017, 11:33 PM
On a positive note there were signs of last year in that game. Not as polished and not for 4 quarters but there were some signs.
I hope this game marks a turning point and can lead to better things.
On another note I'm seriously thinking that JJ needs a spell in the two's to find some run and confidence.
He's been poor for 3 games now and something is not right.

24-06-2017, 11:42 PM
So what are the positives to take out of this game?
1. We won
2. Bont is back
3. TC was good as was Honey
4. Bailey Dale took his chanches and was always in the game.
5. We really competed at the death
6. Liam Picken is back
7. Hunter was terrific
8. Suckling finally kicked a goal that he should have kicked.
9. Roughie was very good
10. Our movement of the ball into our forward 50 was better.
Negatives
1. Tory Dickson was unsighted
2. Libba did little
3. JJ still off but at least he is heading in the right direction.
4. We missed so many easy shots for goal when we had a chance to put a gap in them.
5. There were some shocking turnovers.
6. We really lost composure in the last 10 minutes

But a win is a win is a win. And in this crazy season we are still in with a chance.
Strangely, I am confident we will have a good win next week. Go Dogs!

24-06-2017, 11:43 PM

I left the ground thinking we won by 5 goals.

Honestly the set shots, we kicked 9.10. We should have romped this game in, but I will take the win.

24-06-2017, 11:57 PM
After Campbell's efforts tonight and the advantage we gained, I wonder if Bevo will have a rethink of his ruckman strategy.

25-06-2017, 12:07 AM
Does anyone have any idea why we chose to use Bonti as the spare man in the last 5 minutes? He had the most clearances on the ground, we were getting smashed around the footy but he's the player the coaching panel choose to put behind the footy?

I cant imagine Fyfe or Danger being taken off the ball in a similiar situation.

25-06-2017, 12:12 AM
Does anyone have any idea why we chose to use Bonti as the spare man in the last 5 minutes? He had the most clearances on the ground, we were getting smashed around the footy but he's the player the coaching panel choose to put behind the footy?

Then let's recruit Fyfe as a free agent and see then. :D

25-06-2017, 12:25 AM
That was a relief. After the last 2 weeks when the siren went tonight I was very happy. I just wanted to win tonight and we got it.

Honeychurch, Picken, Dale, Bont, Hunter very good tonight. Dale Morris as well just keeps working for us in defence Dale is a Bulldog champion. Our defence much better last year than this year - we conceded 17 and 16 goals over the last 2 weeks but our attacking and intensity was much better today and we got some clean marks inside 50 but still our kicking inaccurate.

All in all a much better performance tonight and relieved to get the win.

25-06-2017, 01:08 AM
More relief than anything we got a win . a lot to ponder about this game:
1. Redpath is important to our structure
2. Who replaces Dickson if his injured? Seemed off the pace today
3. Where or how do we fit Campbell into our side ? Can we play all 3 big men in Boyd , roughead and Campbell? Good problem to have. What has been keepiNg Campbell Out from the side ?
4. Zaine got caught turn ball watching a few times tonight
5. Do we have any small forwards who can kick in vfl? HC should look at some videos of Ben brown and Gresham from st kilda. Gresham has uncanny ability to find the ball Kick goals
5. Is lachlie handsen worth a look to recruit as a key back ? He can take a mark

25-06-2017, 01:34 AM

What if the name was Hodge?

25-06-2017, 01:39 AM

I think Zaine went down, and Bont was the only guy left with any height.

25-06-2017, 01:45 AM
What if the name was Hodge?

Completely different players. I just question the decision to take away our best inside mid on the night, when we're getting smacked around the ball.

25-06-2017, 01:51 AM

Yep right now with how our form is been I would just of taken any win. If we keep on winning doesn't matter by how much will be fine.

25-06-2017, 02:15 AM
Yeah, Bont went down back after Zaine went off injured so it was as much for his size as anything given that he had to stand on Brown at times during the last 5 mins or so.

25-06-2017, 03:40 AM
Completely different players. I just question the decision to take away our best inside mid on the night, when we're getting smacked around the ball.

I wouldn't say more different than Dangerfield but take your point.

25-06-2017, 03:48 AM
In Greece at the beach all day and just saw the scores and stats - I sincerely hope there are some vintage shots of 'Brad Scott face' from the coaches box in light of the free kick differential :D

To quote Allan Joyce after winning a Qualifying Final in Perth when he was coaching Hawthorn, "we're just happy to get the 4 points". Sounds like we are still playing like busteds, but it is endless lols beating Norf twice in a seaaon by less than a kick. Especially when there's a hint of controversy.

Now back to the beach ;)

25-06-2017, 01:13 PM
Ok, it's true confessions time. Winning the flag last year has drastically altered my emotional state when watching us play. Pre 2016, after a game like that, I would have been absolutely spent. I would have been in a world of pain and elation, white knuckled and the edge of my seat would have been ground smooth.
But last night? We're 26 points up ... great we've got this now.
Hang on. They've just kicked a couple. Hmmmm ... this could be intetesting.
Bloody Cunnington! Bob's up at the death!
Hmmm .... we could lose this. Damn!
Ben Brown. Oh, good we got a free and a 50.
Higgins. Damn!
Last play. Good kick Suckers. Well done Jack. Nice take Lachie. Good lead Jake.
I had no doubt he would score.
And we won. It's like I'm on some sedative, sleep walking my way through games.

Don't get me wrong. I'm really happy we won. Maybe if our oppenents was the Cokes I would have been more emotionally invested because I really dislike that club. North ... I was at the G in '77 for the draw and the replay soI don't mind them too much. Maybe that explains my reaction.
Maybe I need professional help. I think I liked it more when I was a smouldering wreck at the end of a game.
Jesus, I want us to towel the Cokes, run them ragged, grind them up and spit them out!
I'm starting to feel better already. GO DOGS. GET INTO 'EM!!!

25-06-2017, 02:07 PM
In Greece at the beach all day and just saw the scores and stats - I sincerely hope there are some vintage shots of 'Brad Scott face' from the coaches box in light of the free kick differential :D

To quote Allan Joyce after winning a Qualifying Final in Perth when he was coaching Hawthorn, "we're just happy to get the 4 points". Sounds like we are still playing like busteds, but it is endless lols beating Norf twice in a seaaon by less than a kick. Especially when there's a hint of controversy.

Now back to the beach ;)

First of all, bloody freezing here, you lucky bastard. :D

Last night we changed our game plan and it worked. The only thing that let us down was the 9 goals 10 behinds from set shots. Should have put North away by 40 points, but we gave them a sniff and momentum took them along for the ride and they nearly snatched it.

25-06-2017, 02:46 PM
Does anyone have any idea why we chose to use Bonti as the spare man in the last 5 minutes?

Because we were absolutely hopeless in high ball marking contests. Just lucky Mason Wood blocked Tom Campbell, or Brown probably would have outmarked him anyway and won the game for them

25-06-2017, 07:34 PM
Ok, it's true confessions time. Winning the flag last year has drastically altered my emotional state when watching us play. Pre 2016, after a game like that, I would have been absolutely spent. I would have been in a world of pain and elation, white knuckled and the edge of my seat would have been ground smooth.
But last night? We're 26 points up ... great we've got this now.
Hang on. They've just kicked a couple. Hmmmm ... this could be intetesting.
Bloody Cunnington! Bob's up at the death!
Hmmm .... we could lose this. Damn!
Ben Brown. Oh, good we got a free and a 50.
Higgins. Damn!
Last play. Good kick Suckers. Well done Jack. Nice take Lachie. Good lead Jake.
I had no doubt he would score.
And we won. It's like I'm on some sedative, sleep walking my way through games.

Don't get me wrong. I'm really happy we won. Maybe if our oppenents was the Cokes I would have been more emotionally invested because I really dislike that club. North ... I was at the G in '77 for the draw and the replay soI don't mind them too much. Maybe that explains my reaction.
Maybe I need professional help. I think I liked it more when I was a smouldering wreck at the end of a game.
Jesus, I want us to towel the Cokes, run them ragged, grind them up and spit them out!
I'm starting to feel better already. GO DOGS. GET INTO 'EM!!!

:) Cool post yep hoping we do it again next week a little more comfortably at the end. So have you been to any games this year merantau or in Indonesia now? If we make another grand final you would certainly need to come down again.

Go Bulldogs!

25-06-2017, 08:03 PM
Mate, I am praying that we will get to the big dance again. I'm planning to replicate last year's agenda if the planets line up - ie motorbike trip to Sumbawa, watch the Prelim there, turn around next day and head back to Lombok for a flight home. It worked a treat last year, so why not again?
Yeah, I caught a few games as we didn't leave until May 15. Swans at Etihad was a ripping win. The atmosphere in standing room was high voltage. Very enjoyable.

25-06-2017, 08:05 PM
Mate, I am praying that we will get to the big dance again. I'm planning to replicate last year's agenda if the planets line up - ie motorbike trip to Sumbawa, watch the Prelim there, turn around next day and head back to Lombok for a flight home. It worked a treat last year, so why not again?
Yeah, I caught a few games as we didn't leave until May 15. Swans at Etihad was a ripping win. The atmosphere in standing room was high voltage. Very enjoyable.

Good game and we unfurled our flag that night.

25-06-2017, 09:28 PM
I was largely satisfied with most aspects of the game, aside from our goal kicking (once again) and clear concentration lapses at the beginning of the first three quarters, the end of the second - and of course the last eight minutes or so of the final.

Funnily, this is an improvement on how we've applied concentration in previous weeks. However, it's concerning that we think we can enter any segment of the game without being switched on at this point of the season, given each time we've done the same thing we've been punished in game play and on the scoreboard. Our players refuse to learn that they're not special compared to the rest of the competition as a collective - unless they actually put the mental and physical work in.

I think we should have avoided these issues, and had three or four (or more) goals in addition to our buffer to dwindle away after half or three quarter time.

It was good to see many of our players find some form, just as it was discouraging to see others struggle as they have in previous weeks. I thought Bont, Hunter and Honey were very influential with the touches they had in the first forty minutes of the game, other players just ground out opportunities for themselves and team mates and things went well. We benefited from a more traditional midfield structure, we should keep it the same when Toyd is fit and see what we can make of it.

Two big games coming up, if we can win both of them - which we can if we play to our capability - our season position is all of a sudden much healthier.

26-06-2017, 06:24 AM
Although we are still a long way from where we need to be, I thought there were some good positives to come from the game. Most crucially, our big man structure suddenly looks a lot more versatile. With Campbell excellent in the Ruck, Roughy solid as a KPD and Redpath useful as a key forward, we will have a lot more options once Tom Boyd becomes available.

26-06-2017, 10:07 AM
No one seems to be talking about Cunnington's blatant punch of Toby McLean. Didn't even try to disguise it, shown on TV, yet no mention. Has he been reported?

26-06-2017, 10:09 AM
No one seems to be talking about Cunnington's blatant punch of Toby McLean. Didn't even try to disguise it, shown on TV, yet no mention. Has he been reported?

The way the AFL has come out saying they will stop all this punching, he should get a week.,

26-06-2017, 10:11 AM
I think Roos said, well there's a thousand bucks.

But what difference will that make? Zero.

26-06-2017, 10:35 AM
I think Roos said, well there's a thousand bucks.

But what difference will that make? Zero.

Which is inane stupidity of the public statements.

First: AFEL CEO says we are losing ground to soccer. Parents don't want their children subjected to violence they see on TV so we are going to do something about it.
Second: Let punches to the stomach and face (holding the jumper makes it not hurt as much...) go unchecked until it's happening every game virtually.
Three: Because the AFEL weren't proactive about the whole soccer/parents thing they're wanting to address allegedly, they make a reactive public comment about cracking down on it now.
Four: The MRP, a group of ex-players, don't really want to do anything about it, they don't really do anything about it. If they do what they're told like Hawkin's one week last year, the media rip them to shreds which they don't like so they regress.
Five: Players don't get suspended for obvious things and get rat cunning. On us alone, Cloke gets his ribs smashed (derailing his comeback as a player with us), Caleb Daniel has his teeth knocked out by Toby Greene who shouldn't have been playing (where's the duty of care for the safety of players), McLean gets punched in the throat and so on.
Six: Repeat.

Players aren't as safe as they should be. Frankly, like in Daniel's case, I'd like to see a legal action over breaching the duty of care owed to him (there's been some on the ground condition, I think Shaun Rehn was one). There's only real action if it involves the AFEL losing or making money, so that might get their attention about what kind of workplace & workplace safety they should be providing.

26-06-2017, 10:37 AM
I think Cunnington's punch was worth a week for sure.
Pretty dangerous to be punching someone in the throat like that, and potentially much worse than a punch to certain areas of the head.
I'd rather be punched in the cheek than in the throat.

26-06-2017, 10:42 AM
Pretty dangerous to be punching someone in the throat like that, and potentially much worse than a punch to certain areas of the head.

I'm long enough ill health retired, but all through my time from recruit, to 6 monthly training, to then out - one thing was made very clear. You do not do anything to throat, no hitting in any respect, no grabbing, no choking, no anything. WD would know all that stuff inside and out. It'd be a weird thing if coppers in Victoria were not allowed to punch a violent attacking offender in the throat, yet footballers in Victoria could do it to an opponent for no reason and with no recourse...

26-06-2017, 10:59 AM
I'm long enough ill health retired, but all through my time from recruit, to 6 monthly training, to then out - one thing was made very clear. You do not do anything to throat, no hitting in any respect, no grabbing, no choking, no anything. WD would know all that stuff inside and out. It'd be a weird thing if coppers in Victoria were not allowed to punch a violent attacking offender in the throat, yet footballers in Victoria could do it to an opponent for no reason and with no recourse...

There are a hell of a lot of things that players get suspended for, that I'd prefer have happen to me than being punched in the throat - that's for sure!

26-06-2017, 12:50 PM
There are a hell of a lot of things that players get suspended for, that I'd prefer have happen to me than being punched in the throat - that's for sure!

Prediction: - deemed as chest, $1000 fine.

26-06-2017, 04:39 PM
Cunnington gets 2 weeks (1 with early plea).

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Western Bulldogs Football Club, the incident was assessed as intentional conduct with low impact to the head/neck/throat area. The incident was classified as a two-match sanction. The player has no applicable record which impacts the penalty. An early plea enables the player to accept a one-match sanction.

26-06-2017, 04:43 PM
Cunnington gets 2 weeks (1 with early plea).

Serves him right

27-06-2017, 11:30 AM
I prefer the one week Schofield got, I wish opposition players would learn it's the game before we play them to get reported not the game we play them , seriously not many of them get it right at all , but I give credit to Schofield , he has moved up a notch in my thoughts of him.

27-06-2017, 11:44 AM
Which is inane stupidity of the public statements.

First: AFEL CEO says we are losing ground to soccer. Parents don't want their children subjected to violence they see on TV so we are going to do something about it.
Second: Let punches to the stomach and face (holding the jumper makes it not hurt as much...) go unchecked until it's happening every game virtually.
Three: Because the AFEL weren't proactive about the whole soccer/parents thing they're wanting to address allegedly, they make a reactive public comment about cracking down on it now.
Four: The MRP, a group of ex-players, don't really want to do anything about it, they don't really do anything about it. If they do what they're told like Hawkin's one week last year, the media rip them to shreds which they don't like so they regress.
Five: Players don't get suspended for obvious things and get rat cunning. On us alone, Cloke gets his ribs smashed (derailing his comeback as a player with us), Caleb Daniel has his teeth knocked out by Toby Greene who shouldn't have been playing (where's the duty of care for the safety of players), McLean gets punched in the throat and so on.
Six: Repeat.

Players aren't as safe as they should be. Frankly, like in Daniel's case, I'd like to see a legal action over breaching the duty of care owed to him (there's been some on the ground condition, I think Shaun Rehn was one). There's only real action if it involves the AFEL losing or making money, so that might get their attention about what kind of workplace & workplace safety they should be providing.

Yep that throat thing is really dangerous. It used to be quite a common thing to grab someone by the throat then you pretty much had someone at your mercy (nose was popular too) but you don't see it so much anymore for a reason.

I've had a broken cheekbone, I'd rather not be punched in either spot thanks. :o

27-06-2017, 04:06 PM
Says alot:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DDTNut-VwAAEn0Z.jpg:large

28-06-2017, 12:12 AM
I just watched a particular point within the final quarter - the Jack Redpath "free" on Marley Williams.

What a *!*!*!*!ing joke that it could be as momentum defining as it was. I cannot believe the ball was turned over for that.

A neutral mate and I were talking about how Redpath was looking down the barrel of delistment if that was actually a free. That effort from the umpire changed the momentum of the game. Disgraceful.

As an addendum to my rant, why was Williams allowed to shepherd 40m away from the ball? Why was he allowed to lead head first into the contest?

28-06-2017, 12:53 AM
No. You must be mistaken. It must be an acid flashback or something. The umpires' robbed North in a concerted effort to get us over the line. It was in the paper.

28-06-2017, 12:56 AM
Umpires should know better when players are staging. It's gotten to the points Ng of being farcical now. MArley is now the new free kick duck diver.

28-06-2017, 01:17 AM
No. You must be mistaken. It must be an acid flashback or something. The umpires' robbed North in a concerted effort to get us over the line. It was in the paper.

Acid flashback..............

I've decided I'm offended by this.

28-06-2017, 09:51 AM

I can back this up, the throat is an absolute no-go zone.

Punches to the throat are downright dangerous. I'd argue more dangerous than a punch to the head.

28-06-2017, 10:03 AM
I can back this up, the throat is an absolute no-go zone.

Punches to the throat are downright dangerous. I'd argue more dangerous than a punch to the head.

For sure. If Cunnington landed it a little cleaner we could have been seeing Dr Zimmerman doing an emergency onfield tracheotomy, incidentally the first since Richard Osborne at the SCG. I'm surprised he got a 1 week offer, as players seem to be adapting to not throwing jumper punches to now throwing proper punches trying to land them at the top of the chest (or higher if they're inaccurate). So we are going to see more punches land into players necks/throats and thus more risk of really bad things happening. As usual, the AFEL will wait for something bad to happen until addressing it.

28-06-2017, 11:22 AM
Acid flashback..............

I've decided I'm offended by this.

Meh! You're so unhip it's a wonder your bum doesn't fall off.;)