View Full Version : The Equation

30-07-2017, 06:47 PM
Win 2, Lose 2 - Miss Finals on Percentage (unless something happens)
Win 3, Lose 1 - Likely Make Finals
Win 4, Lose 0 - Make Finals

Brisbane
Port
GWS
Hawthorn

Discuss.

30-07-2017, 06:48 PM
We can win all four games if we continue playing like today.

30-07-2017, 06:50 PM
We can win all four games if we continue playing like today.

Would we prefer Port at Etihad (and not Ballarat)? Does that change our odds?

30-07-2017, 06:53 PM
Would we prefer Port at Etihad (and not Ballarat)? Does that change our odds?

I guess we would, however, the time and investment into Ballarat means we will want to win it for not only us but show the people of Ballarat they are backing the right team.

30-07-2017, 07:07 PM
I wonder if Stringer, Tom Boyd, Adams & Dunkley can get back soon? Morris said if we play finals, with the week break, he'd be hoping to return then if we make finals.

30-07-2017, 07:24 PM
According Bevo Dunkley likely to play VFL next weekend.

30-07-2017, 09:12 PM
We win four. The one I'm worried about is next week more than the others.

Aside from games against Melbourne, Sydney and Adelaide (second half), we've accounted for ourselves better intensity wise against the better sides.

30-07-2017, 09:19 PM
Potential banana skin next week ( danger game)

30-07-2017, 09:28 PM
Brisbane didn't fire a shot in Perth. Should be a percentage booster

The remaining sides will be a challenge. Hopefully Hawthorn's run comes to an end before the final round and they shut up shop, but the Port & GWS games will be red hot. Hoping our home ground advantage helps us beat at least one

30-07-2017, 09:33 PM
If we win four and the eagles win four, wouldn't they finish above us on percentage?

30-07-2017, 09:38 PM
If we win four and the eagles win four, wouldn't they finish above us on percentage?

Yes, but they have the following games:

Round 20
Sun 6 Aug 1:10pm
Saints (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=16)
Etihad Stadium

Round 21
Sat 12 Aug 5:40pm
Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=4)
Domain Stadium

Round 22
Sat 19 Aug 4:35pm
Giants (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=25)
Spotless Stadium

Round 23
Sun 27 Aug 8:00pm
Crows (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=2)
Domain Stadium

I think the Saints will win next week, and they still have GWS and Crows to beat. Should beat Carlton

30-07-2017, 09:41 PM

West coast Sydney and Melbourne have to win all four as well to keep us out if we win all four.

30-07-2017, 09:45 PM

We're equal with WCE, Melb & Sydney. If we won all 4, they'd need to win all 4 to keep us out. It seems to be 3 might get us in, but 4 most highly probably gets us in that only 1 of the 12 results in the other games needs to go our way.

30-07-2017, 09:46 PM
Port Adelaide could lose 3 of their last 4 as well meaning we could take over from them too .
Basically it's in our hands we win all 4 we are in.

30-07-2017, 09:49 PM
West coast Sydney and Melbourne have to win all four as well to keep us out if we win all four.

Sydney:

Round 20
Fri 4 Aug 7:50pm
Cats (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=10)
Simonds Stadium

Round 21
Sat 12 Aug 1:45pm
Dockers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=9)
SCG

Round 22
Fri 18 Aug 7:20pm
Adelaide Oval

Round 23
Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=4)
SCG

Melbourne

Round 20
Sat 5 Aug 1:45pm
Giants (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=25)
Manuka Oval

Round 21
Sun 13 Aug 1:10pm
Saints (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=16)
MCG

Round 22
Sun 20 Aug 1:10pm
Lions (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=20)
MCG

Round 23
Magpies (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=5)
MCG

Port

Round 20
Sun 6 Aug 4:10pm
Adelaide Oval

Round 21
Sun 13 Aug 4:10pm
Magpies (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=5)
Adelaide Oval

Round 22
Sat 19 Aug 1:45pm
Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=8)
Eureka Stadium

Round 23
Suns (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_home?tid=24)
Adelaide Oval

30-07-2017, 10:01 PM
I just looked at Geelongs draw they could easily lose all 4 , we could end up ahead of them as well.
What a hectic last 4 rounds, the AFL would be in awe of the crowds they will get at games the last few rounds.

30-07-2017, 10:09 PM
If we storm into the finals on a 7 game win streak, I will feel a tad silly essentially writing the year off about a month and half ago.

30-07-2017, 10:52 PM
We just have to worry about this week first.....our sustained mediocrity this season has left us with no room for error, and our record at the Gabba is poor - haven't won since 2009.

30-07-2017, 11:11 PM
What a season!!

1 week at time but we potentially can win all 4. I feel we have picked up a little bit of form lately as well.

Lions (G)- W hopefully % booster but need to be weary a little bit of a danger game

Giants (ES) 50/50 but more inclined to say that we can get the win they haven't been special this year GWS.

Port (Ballarat) - W hopefully

Hawks (ES) hopefully a W but will depend whether or they are in the running to make finals or not so hard to say at this stage.

31-07-2017, 12:08 AM
Hawks need 4 teams to drop 2 games and another 2 to drop 1 while they win all 4. They have essentially no chance of making the finals

31-07-2017, 09:41 AM
Hawks need 4 teams to drop 2 games and another 2 to drop 1 while they win all 4. They have essentially no chance of making the finals

Good

31-07-2017, 10:48 AM
Brisbane didn't fire a shot in Perth. Should be a percentage booster

The remaining sides will be a challenge. Hopefully Hawthorn's run comes to an end before the final round and they shut up shop, but the Port & GWS games will be red hot. Hoping our home ground advantage helps us beat at least one

They didn't take a side to Perth capable of winning. They 'managed' Hipwood, Berry and McLuggage. McStay missed with a shoulder and Zorko was suspended. Would expect them to be far more competitive this week with all 5 coming back.

31-07-2017, 11:25 AM
They didn't take a side to Perth capable of winning. They 'managed' Hipwood, Berry and McLuggage. McStay missed with a shoulder and Zorko was suspended. Would expect them to be far more competitive this week with all 5 coming back.
Yep, they are a different kettle of fish at home and selected a very weak side accordingly yesterday. They will be difficult to beat next week and we'll need to be 100% on.

31-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Brisbane is a danger game, they only went to Perth for frequent flyer points "The Lions will welcome back star midfielder Dayne Zorko from a one-week suspension after he was banned for striking Carlton midfielder Sam Petrevski-Seton in Round 18.*!Exciting key forward Eric Hipwood is also in line for a recall, alongside promising first-year pair Hugh McCluggage and Jarrod Berry, while key defender Dan McStay has recovered from a minor shoulder injury.*!

All 4 are winnable if we maintain yesterday's intensity. Any team that drops away gets rolled these days.

31-07-2017, 11:49 AM
If you want to get excited have a look at Adelaide's premiership defence in 1998. Most of the season they were stumbling and bumbling along at barely 50% W/L ratio but hit some form late to get to the finals with a 13-9 record. And then proceeded to win the flag from 5th spot ;)

31-07-2017, 12:17 PM
Brisbane is a danger game, they only went to Perth for frequent flyer points "The Lions will welcome back star midfielder Dayne Zorko from a one-week suspension after he was banned for striking Carlton midfielder Sam Petrevski-Seton in Round 18.*!Exciting key forward Eric Hipwood is also in line for a recall, alongside promising first-year pair Hugh McCluggage and Jarrod Berry, while key defender Dan McStay has recovered from a minor shoulder injury.*!

All 4 are winnable if we maintain yesterday's intensity. Any team that drops away gets rolled these days.

Fagan said they have targeted their remaining home games to knock off a few scalps, so they have managed they players accordingly.

Expect a real fight on our hands.

31-07-2017, 12:22 PM
The West Coast loss is the glaring one that may eventually cost us.

31-07-2017, 12:22 PM

Go the saints this week.

31-07-2017, 12:33 PM

Even if all else goes well for the remainder of the H&A season, that loss might cost us Top 4.

31-07-2017, 01:00 PM
Even if all else goes well for the remainder of the H&A season, that loss might cost us Top 4.

Twice we lost by 8 and 7 points.

That last time, the umpires killed us with two stupid free kicks - The Bont for a dangerous tackle, rubbish. The next kick they got another free for holding the man in the contest, again rubbish.

31-07-2017, 01:13 PM

I feel sick.

If you want to get excited have a look at Adelaide's premiership defence in 1998. Most of the season they were stumbling and bumbling along at barely 50% W/L ratio but hit some form late to get to the finals with a 13-9 record. And then proceeded to win the flag from 5th spot ;)

I've been thinking about that one a lot lately. Actually I've thought a lot about it over the last 19 years...

Yep but it's like dropping a catch in cricket. We can't dwell on it because we are still in the game and gave to concentrate on what's coming up not what's happened.

There's plenty of time to beat ourselves up over lost games over the summer.

31-07-2017, 01:13 PM

I feel sick.

I've been thinking about that one a lot lately. Actually I've thought a lot about it over the last 19 years...

Yep but it's like dropping a catch in cricket. We can't dwell on it because we are still in the game and gave to concentrate on what's coming up not what's happened.

There's plenty of time to beat ourselves up over lost games over the summer.

31-07-2017, 01:37 PM
Twice we lost by 8 and 7 points.

That last time, the umpires killed us with two stupid free kicks - The Bont for a dangerous tackle, rubbish. The next kick they got another free for holding the man in the contest, again rubbish.

Yeah we easily could of won both the games against the Eagles but I feel we at least should have got them once. The GWS game is another I reckon we should of won - played very well in that game and we were coming right at them in the end just falling short.

31-07-2017, 02:00 PM
Interesting on http://www.liveladders.com/AFL/

They have Sydney 6th and Dogs 7th - both winning 3 of 4. We've been finishing 10th on this predictor for ages now, but we've bumped up. Which according to them would be us playing an Elim Final at the SCG. If Sydney drop two more, then we'd move into 6th and play Sydney (7th) at Etihad/MCG.

31-07-2017, 02:09 PM
We're going to cost ourselves a Friday night game if we get in. The floating R23 fixture would have probably scheduled us for Friday night if Murphy, Hodge et al were retiring, but if we make the 8 it could be a different story. Hodge's retirement is another factor in the Hawthorn game I hadn't considered, aside from their finals chances

All 4 sides from 5-8 should lose this week and make us 6th. Sydney should lose again against Adelaide in R22 to keep us in if we drop a game, or if we beat Port we'll still be in if we lose to GWS instead

31-07-2017, 02:11 PM
Also, Dale Morris was asked about coming back this year. Dale said it will be 6 weeks. The interviewer said so you'd have to make the second week of finals, with four more rounds. Dale immediately said 'no, there's the week off at the end of the season too. So if we make finals, I'd be ready for finals'.

Interesting that's right on the tip of his tongue. One, that he can get back this year. Two, that the week off is in his thinking. And three, that playing finals is at the forefront. I doubt it's just him thinking we can play finals.

Hopefully there's full belief back now in the playing group. If it is, I'd like to go with minimal changes. Like Cordy, Roberts & Daniel last year. You've got be in the team that could do something special, and you can stay there at this time of the year if you do your job. That should motivate Dale, Young, Webb, Williams and even Cloke.

I'm not certain we are going to make it, but we need the whole of club momentum strategy like last finals. We need to have a few re-signings, have a media pump up with the launch of the Merc ute, make some big announcements and build up and up the energy of the club, players, members and fans. Create a wave and ride it until it ends.

31-07-2017, 03:29 PM
Pfft, 5th. Child's play

31-07-2017, 03:30 PM
Also, Dale Morris was asked about coming back this year. Dale said it will be 6 weeks. The interviewer said so you'd have to make the second week of finals, with four more rounds. Dale immediately said 'no, there's the week off at the end of the season too. So if we make finals, I'd be ready for finals'.

Interesting that's right on the tip of his tongue. One, that he can get back this year. Two, that the week off is in his thinking. And three, that playing finals is at the forefront. I doubt it's just him thinking we can play finals.

Hopefully there's full belief back now in the playing group. If it is, I'd like to go with minimal changes. Like Cordy, Roberts & Daniel last year. You've got be in the team that could do something special, and you can stay there at this time of the year if you do your job. That should motivate Dale, Young, Webb, Williams and even Cloke.

I'm not certain we are going to make it, but we need the whole of club momentum strategy like last finals. We need to have a few re-signings, have a media pump up with the launch of the Merc ute, make some big announcements and build up and up the energy of the club, players, members and fans. Create a wave and ride it until it ends.

From Twitter:

Bob Boblarr ����‏
@BobBoblarr1 (https://twitter.com/BobBoblarr1) 17h17 hours ago (https://twitter.com/BobBoblarr1/status/891621156242898945)More

Bevo had some hard one on one meetings with each senior player this week to reset their minds for the season..
It worked.

Bob is usually on the money.

If true, it is what the group needed to focus the players minds. With only 5 rounds to go, they needed to be reminded we could miss finals - and they responded beautifully.

With the run home:

Brisbane - Should beat them, they are the bottom team - Bevo will remind them we lost last year and can't let this slip.

GWS - We hate them so much we will put in extra effort to knock them off

Port Adelaide - First game in Ballarat, need to impress the locals, and make sure they stay with us.

Hawks - *!*!*!*! Hodge, we are out to show we can make it bark to bark.

Go Dogs!!!!

31-07-2017, 03:49 PM
Jeremy Cameron is out for 3 weeks with a hamstring. All we need now is for Toby Greene to belt Jon Patton at training and we could be on.

31-07-2017, 03:52 PM
Jeremy Cameron is out for 3 weeks with a hamstring. All we need now is for Toby Greene to belt Jon Patton at training and we could be on.

I want Toby to play. Then we kick high balls across the 50 near Toby, with Zaine nearby to legitimately spoil his head in.

31-07-2017, 03:52 PM

The chances of beating them increase.

31-07-2017, 03:59 PM

With our dwindling KPD stocks Cameron out is huge for us for next week's match up. Very good news.

01-08-2017, 08:19 AM
All 4 sides from 5-8 should lose this week and make us 6th. Sydney should lose again against Adelaide in R22 to keep us in if we drop a game, or if we beat Port we'll still be in if we lose to GWS instead
We're going to be sitting pretty after this weekend.

05-08-2017, 08:28 PM
According to http://www.liveladders.com/AFL/

Win 2 of 3 - Sydney at the SCG
Win 3 of 3 - Sydney at the MCG/Etihad

05-08-2017, 08:36 PM

That site is kind of useless for predictions.

But for accuracy if we win 3, we finish above Port so would play Essendon at the G

05-08-2017, 08:40 PM
To take the teams out, it seems 2 more wins probably gets us in. But obviously 3 will. Just need to keep winning.

05-08-2017, 09:28 PM

Sydney at the SCG would be tough but I reckon it would be a completely different game from round 12 if we played them now.

05-08-2017, 10:53 PM
I have a feeling next Friday night will come out hard vs the Giants. They were saying they were pretty good today but hopefully will burst the bubble.

06-08-2017, 10:36 AM
I have a feeling next Friday night will come out hard vs the Giants. They were saying they were pretty good today but hopefully will burst the bubble.

Melbourne were atrocious, the coaching was terrible also.
I noticed when Melbourne had the wind they had 6 players in the forward line so all
The Giants did was put the 6 defenders on them and it clogged up their forward line and Melbourne couldn't score .. Seriously !
Leave your forward line open and give the forwards room.
Sadly though GWS will pull some confidence out of it .
Hopefully it's a perceived one and not one of any substance.

06-08-2017, 11:32 AM
I have played around with the ladder predictor, and the two teams really vulnerable are Richmond and Geelong.

We win all three games and either team drop a couple, we can be as high as 3rd or lowest as 5th. 4th would be a trip to Adelaide for the first final.

06-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Sadly in all likeliness and if we weren't bulldog supporters would we actually have us making it ?
GWS , Port and Hawks is a hard run.

06-08-2017, 11:46 AM
Sadly in all likeliness and if we weren't bulldog supporters would we actually have us making it ?

all games in Melbourne. I would GWS have been terrible interstate. Same with Port

06-08-2017, 11:51 AM

Two games at Etihad and a chance to prove to Ballarat people we are good enough to follow as a team, I can see a win against all three.

07-08-2017, 03:10 PM
How do we play Port and then Richmond in weeks one and two? I feel like that's as close to getting our hand held to another prelim as it gets.

07-08-2017, 03:41 PM
How do we play Port and then Richmond in weeks one and two? I feel like that's as close to getting our hand held to another prelim as it gets.

The next few weeks are good challenges to have.

While it would be ideal to have an easier draw to make the finals I think it is better with the draw we have to really challenge ourselves.

In saying that all games are hard nowadays no easier ones now even against opposition we think are more weaker.

07-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Geelong missing Duncan, Selwood and Hawkins vs Richmond
Geelong missing Selwood and Hawkins vs Collingwood.

Big chance they lose their last 4 games of the season.

07-08-2017, 05:39 PM

and we win and go through to top 4. Need Sydney to lose one.

07-08-2017, 05:41 PM
all games in Melbourne. I would GWS have been terrible interstate. Same with Port

GWS game is the tough one obviously. They will want some revenge on us again no doubt, and with a backline missing:
Wood, Morris, Adams and probably Murphy and with players with not much experience and size in the key tall in Young and Cordy,
then we are going to struggle back there.
Only hope is to smash them in the middle and play the running game.

Port in Ballarat is a win. They can't beat sides in the top 8 at home let alone away at a windy and freezing Nth Ballarat.

Hawks will be tough for Hodge's last game, and we tend to switch off in the last round of the season too often.

07-08-2017, 05:42 PM

They still have Danger.

07-08-2017, 05:44 PM
They still have Danger.

and Richmond have Dusty.

Tag Danger and they are gone. My Richmond supporter mate is rooting for us to win as Tigers can be 2nd on ladder after this next round if it falls into place.

07-08-2017, 07:57 PM
We can still make top 4 but a lot would have to go right.

09-08-2017, 09:38 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DGx7sYvW0AA-G1u.jpg

11-08-2017, 10:47 PM
This stuff can't be relied upon for two wins. So I'm calling it over.

Then top 10 pick on the trade table. And my plea to fix the *!*!*!*!ing goal kicking.

12-08-2017, 01:15 AM
We can still make top 4 but a lot would have to go right.

Out of the question now after tonight.

12-08-2017, 02:45 AM
Would 12 wins be enough to get into the 8. With our % I would think not so we now would have to win our last 2 to get there I would say. Both tough games but very winnable. If we could bring that 2nd quarter effort tonight for 4 quarters in those games will win both of them.

12-08-2017, 08:05 AM
This stuff can't be relied upon for two wins. So I'm calling it over.
With regard to a premiership, our last 2 losses have been against the best 2 teams and we have been ruthlessly exposed on the turnover. If we cannot show care and composire with the ball, we aren't going to trouble anyone at the pointy end.

12-08-2017, 09:41 AM
Please just put a bullet in 2017 and be done with it.

12-08-2017, 11:52 AM
Mildly confident we'll win our last two but It'd be a fitting - if stinging - epitaph to miss out on finals this year because of %.

12-08-2017, 06:48 PM
Mildly confident we'll win our last two but It'd be a fitting - if stinging - epitaph to miss out on finals this year because of %.

The % for us particular is an issue back down to 98 after last night. Hopefully we can get big wins in both or at least one of the games but it is looking more and more difficult now.

13-08-2017, 04:40 PM
Saints are gone. Top 5 have finals spot locked. Port can lock in too if they win this afternoon. Currently 5 teams fighting for 3 spots.

13-08-2017, 04:42 PM
Saints are gone. Top 5 have finals spot locked. Port can lock in too if they win this afternoon. Currently 5 teams fighting for 3 spots.

Watching Hawthorn now, I'm not confident at all we are going to make it. Some bad losses from bad goal kicking have unfortunately come back to bite.

13-08-2017, 04:45 PM

We win the next two and we are in. Melbourne can win next two doesn't matter. We need to beat Port and Hawks and we will finish either 7th or 8th. Melbourne needs to win the next two to be above us.

13-08-2017, 05:05 PM
We win the next two and we are in. Melbourne can win next two doesn't matter. We need to beat Port and Hawks and we will finish either 7th or 8th. Melbourne needs to win the next two to be above us.

So long as eagles lose one. Which you'd expect

13-08-2017, 05:08 PM

I really hate to say it but if the plastics beat the Eagles next week that would help also the Suns to beat the Bombers.

13-08-2017, 05:08 PM

yes true, they have to beat GWS and Adelaide.

13-08-2017, 05:34 PM
So hoping Port lose today
Next week we play them and hopefully beat them
If the Eagles lose next week then will be back in the 8.

13-08-2017, 05:55 PM

It would be close to the upset of the season if they beat GWS in Sydney next week.

13-08-2017, 06:08 PM
It would be close to the upset of the season if they beat GWS in Sydney next week.

They did that last year in round 21 by 1 point

13-08-2017, 08:12 PM
Four teams, two spots.

13-08-2017, 08:41 PM
Four teams, two spots.

50% chance. Like our goal kicking accuracy, except our GKA is 49%. I wouldn't bet on us making it which is a damn shame to not make finals with most of a team that won a flag 11 months ago.

13-08-2017, 08:43 PM
50% chance. Like our goal kicking accuracy, except our GKA is 49%. I wouldn't bet on us making it which is a damn shame to not make finals with most of a team that won a flag 11 months ago.

I'm prepared that it could be a possibility that we miss which will be dissapointing not to get an opportunity to defend the crown but at the same time if we just win our next 2 and if the plastics do us a favour next week will be in a good position. Will all come down to the final round ultimately.

13-08-2017, 08:46 PM

I think Melbourne are almost a lock.

Essendon are average but have two easy games.

I think we will win one of our two games.

Eagles look average and have GWS away. Might beat the Crows as they won't have much to play for but can't see them winning both.

I don't rate Dees, us, Eagles or Essendon much but two have to make it.

13-08-2017, 08:51 PM

Eagles look average and have GWS away. Might beat the Crows as they won't have much to play for but can't see them winning both.

Yep, I reckon a few end up the same and percentage knocks them out. Including us. I guess the only lining of having bad percentage to miss out is that it's horribly bad and may give us a bump in the draft order from pick 10 into pick 9. Who knows, maybe a single digit pick helps us get a Kelly or Lever. Got to find a positive somewhere in a disaster premiership defence attempt.

13-08-2017, 09:12 PM

There will be an upset or two in the final two rounds. In many ways we have the perfect draw - two challenging games but certainly not insurmountable, and with no interstate travel.

Melbourne has a soft draw on paper but both Brisbane and Collingwood are running hard to the finish line - neither game will be sodas for them, and they are notorious for losing the unloseable. Soft teams to play in the last two weeks are Freo, GC and Norf, who are all phoning it in for various reasons. If West Coke make it they'll thoroughly deserve it.

Very confident that if we win both games we make finals. Also confident we will win both games - Port are now assured of finals and their % and soft final game should see them get a home final even with a loss against us. Hawks will have the Hodge factor but really we are a better team with more weapons than them - if we can't knock them off we don't deserve to make it.

13-08-2017, 11:57 PM

Looking at the ladder predictor, and presuming we win both games, only West Coast can knock us out. Essendon just won't make it, either will the Saints even if they win both their final games.

So the scenario comes down to we must win both games, and West Coke must lose one.

14-08-2017, 10:49 AM
West Coast with GWS and Adelaide.

14-08-2017, 11:24 AM
Looking at the ladder predictor, and presuming we win both games, only West Coast can knock us out. Essendon just won't make it, either will the Saints even if they win both their final games.

So the scenario comes down to we must win both games, and West Coke must lose one.

Yep. 2 x elimination 'finals' for us.

14-08-2017, 01:09 PM
I honestly think we will beat Port and Hawthorn....but then I always think we win most of our games. :)West Coast on their current form can't win their last 2 games. Once we are in look out whoever we play. Even Sydney in Sydney in a final is gettable. If we do make it the team will be buoyed by our results in last year's finals. C'mon doggies.

14-08-2017, 03:05 PM
I still think we are a good side, but probably even more so than last year we are running out of luck.

We desperately need JJ back. Wood and Morris as well but JJ is essential at the moment.
Without all these guys in defence we can't win.

Bevo has to also select a side that will give our young guys some support and not hang them out to dry.

His selection of English against Sydney destroyed us and I think hurt the kids confidence ever since.
We lost our mojo as a result which put us in this position.

Last week's selection of only Cordy and Young as our key talls against Patton and Lobb was also foolish.
Unfortunately Young made those blunders which cost us the game, but again he was put into a position like with English where
he shouldn't of been. Roberts should of been playing as well to provide cover and let Young play the Wood intercept role.
Those two stood no chance by themselves and now hopefully Young's confidence hasn't been damaged as a result.

I think we will win our 2 games but having to rely on the cokers and other results bothers me. Thankfully GWS need to win to get top 2 so they will be playing for something.

If we do make it I see us playing an interstate elimination final against either Sydney or Port

14-08-2017, 04:09 PM
1955 VFL Season Ladder

Top 4 (Finals)

4th - Essendon - 130%
------------------
5th - Footscray - 129%

Would be weird if after both premierships we miss finals on percentage to Essendon.

14-08-2017, 04:09 PM
1955 VFL Season Ladder

Top 4 (Finals)

4th - Essendon - 48 pts - 130%
------------------
5th - Footscray - 48 pts - 129%

Would be weird if after both premierships we miss finals the next year on percentage to Essendon.

14-08-2017, 04:15 PM
1955 VFL Season Ladder

Top 4 (Finals)

4th - Essendon - 48 pts - 130%
------------------
5th - Footscray - 48 pts - 129%

Would be weird if after both premierships we miss finals the next year on percentage to Essendon.

Wow. I hope we don't operate in 62 year cycles. Although we'd all become billionaires if we keep it quiet

14-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Wow. I hope we don't operate in 62 year cycles. Although we'd all become billionaires if we keep it quiet

It will be different this time.