10-08-2017, 09:51 PM
Margin: Dogs by 3 points

First Goal: Stringer to get us started

Best On Ground: Hunter to have a great one, Bont will be right up there too

Crowd: 33,369

Go Bulldogs!!

10-08-2017, 09:57 PM
Anyone know what time the Social Club opens tomorrow night.

10-08-2017, 10:06 PM
Anyone know what time the Social Club opens tomorrow night.

Good question not sure the exact time it opens. I'll be there most likely at half time but could go pre match if I come earlier.

10-08-2017, 10:42 PM
Giants by 13 points
Patton/Greene in for them
Wood/JJ missing for us

First goal - Dahl
Bog - Macrae

10-08-2017, 11:41 PM
Dogs by 16

First Goal: Dahl

BOG: The bont

Crowd: 28769

11-08-2017, 01:38 AM
Dogs by a kick
BOG Bont
FG Dicko

11-08-2017, 03:53 PM
Dogs by 11
First goal Cloke
BOG The Bont

11-08-2017, 05:19 PM
Dogs by 6
First Goal: Dunkley
BOG: Bont

11-08-2017, 05:55 PM
First Goal Dicko
Libba BOG
3 point margin either way

11-08-2017, 06:06 PM
Dogs by a point after Heath Shaw accidentally gets Libber high. He was actually aiming for Aidan Corr. Tommy converts after the siren.

First Goal: Trav

BOG: 'Radox' Young who also takes a screamer over Patton.

Crowd: 30000 True believers and a couple of hundred plastic tragics.

11-08-2017, 06:07 PM
Dogs by 21.
First goal Picken
BOG Caleb

11-08-2017, 06:19 PM
Dogs by 8 points
First goal: Mclean
BOG: Macrae

11-08-2017, 06:33 PM
The tri colours by 7 points
First Goal Red
BOG Mcrae

11-08-2017, 07:56 PM
Bulldogs by 64 points
FG Stringer
BOG Bontempelli

11-08-2017, 08:07 PM
On my way in now on the train.

Let's beat this mob Greater Waste of Space

Carn the Dogs!!

11-08-2017, 08:13 PM
Dawson Simpson IN
Adam Thomlison OUT

Dogs - No change

11-08-2017, 08:23 PM
Dawson Simpson IN
Adam Thomlison OUT

Dogs - No change
Simpson in was always on the cards

11-08-2017, 08:24 PM
Poor Crowd at the moment

11-08-2017, 08:29 PM
Dogs by whatever it takes
BOG Of course it's him ( number 4)
1stgoal Cloke
Out with man flu this week ,come on lads

11-08-2017, 08:32 PM
RocknRolla Dogs

11-08-2017, 08:40 PM
Dogs by 3 points.
First goal Hunter
BOG McLean

11-08-2017, 08:46 PM
Dogs by a point after Heath Shaw accidentally gets Libber high. He was actually aiming for Aidan Corr. Tommy converts after the siren.

First Goal: Trav

BOG: 'Radox' Young who also takes a screamer over Patton.

Crowd: 30000 True believers and a couple of hundred plastic tragics.

You win

11-08-2017, 08:48 PM
This is the most excited Ive been for a game this year. Pumped!

GO THE BLOODY PREMIERS!

11-08-2017, 08:52 PM
Young is the most experienced 5 game player ever.

11-08-2017, 08:59 PM
I just want to squeeze Greenes little rat face.

11-08-2017, 09:11 PM
Two pathetic efforts from Libba in the middle

11-08-2017, 09:13 PM
Sick family so didn't make the trip down the highway.

We can't defend their bigs. Unless we bite the bullet and play a loose one deep they'll have their way. Looking a little scary right now.

11-08-2017, 09:18 PM
Dicksons #$%^ tackling!!

11-08-2017, 09:19 PM
I just want to smash Greenes little rat face.

Fixed.

11-08-2017, 09:22 PM
Funny start. Commentators are all over the stats, and them bombing it to their talls is a concern. But I dunno. I reckon we're right in this.

11-08-2017, 09:22 PM
Man I wish I wasn't sick. I want to scream many things in their plastic entitled ears.

We are lucky to be in it. But are still in it, just.

11-08-2017, 09:23 PM
I feel like sticking long sharp objects in my ears with Ling. He's just a dead set knob.

11-08-2017, 09:23 PM
We are on! I tell you! Our tackling is fierce. Dicko is possessed.

I think Cloke is the only one of a size in an order of magnitude to compete with Patton. He is also in a hell of a mood!

11-08-2017, 09:24 PM
Funny start. Commentators are all over the stats, and them bombing it to their talls is a concern. But I dunno. I reckon we're right in this.

Pressure is immense. Getting them to make that extra handpass and we're pouncing.

11-08-2017, 09:24 PM
We've got to fix up our work at the coalface; too many clearances are going to keep exposing Young and Cordy who are too undersized to handle many one on one's with guys the size of Patton and Lobbe.

11-08-2017, 09:25 PM
Patton is the biggest flog of the lot, genuinely wish he'd rip his hamstring

11-08-2017, 09:25 PM
Mixed bag effort. Some things are working. If we can keep Patton and Lobbe quiet we can win this.

11-08-2017, 09:26 PM
Pressure is immense. Getting them to make that extra handpass and we're pouncing.

We are in this up to our ears providing we can change the result at the stoppages. If not, they are at a pivotal tactical advantage to take a toll on our smaller key defenders.

11-08-2017, 09:27 PM
Our pressure is good. We must take our chances.

11-08-2017, 09:32 PM
Jesus!!

11-08-2017, 09:36 PM
Macrae back to last year. Twice tonight he should've had a shot. Kick it.

My other boy Bailey Dale!

Splendid Bailey!!!

Much as I love Macrae, the one thing stopping him from being really damaging is his goalaphobia.

Great kick Bailey Dale. He'll be some player.

11-08-2017, 09:38 PM
Tell ya what. Lobb's head's pretty smashable too.

11-08-2017, 09:39 PM
Holy shit Bob Murphy.

11-08-2017, 09:40 PM
Tell ya what. Lobb's head's pretty smashable too.

Most are. The walking POS ratio in that team is ridiculously high.

11-08-2017, 09:41 PM
Bobbeeeeeee

11-08-2017, 09:47 PM
We need a kicking coach. Or two.

11-08-2017, 09:47 PM
In spite of our trademark wastefulness in front of goal, if we can maintain this gear we'll roll over them.

11-08-2017, 09:48 PM
Dominate. Then dominate. All just to be behind...

That's what hurts the most about these misses. Goes to the other end. Goal.

Zaine really needed to influence that contest.

Or at least influence Greene's head.

11-08-2017, 09:50 PM
That's what hurts the most about these misses. Goes to the other end. Goal.

It's what we do. Not enough reward for toil.

11-08-2017, 09:51 PM
CHRIST this is frustrating to watch.

11-08-2017, 09:53 PM
We do all the hard work and we're 10 down. FFS

11-08-2017, 09:53 PM
Well done Clokey. Needed that badly.

11-08-2017, 09:57 PM
22-4 inside 50's and 3 goals each....

Wish Patton was playing for us, we'd be 40 pts up.

11-08-2017, 09:59 PM
That qtr is gunna take a lot out of us...great team effort that quarter but we have to bust our ass to even score, but giants look like they'll score eve time.

11-08-2017, 09:59 PM
Cracking game. If we get a good run at this in the next quarter we can win it easily. The crowds right into it.

11-08-2017, 10:00 PM
Well. That has set us up for a vintage Bulldogs loss.

So let's buck the trend and win. Screw these guys.

11-08-2017, 10:01 PM
Much as I love Macrae, the one thing stopping him from being really damaging is his goalaphobia.

Great kick Bailey Dale. He'll be some player.
Just talking about it. He's certainly gun shy

11-08-2017, 10:02 PM
We addressed the issues around stoppages that quarter.
I could bang on about our lack of scoring prowess, but lets face it, we are being unrealistic if we think that's going to change. We have and will be profligate for the foreseeable future.
What it means though is we've got to keep up the disparity of opportunity we have in our favour right now for the rest of the evening, if we're a chance to win.

11-08-2017, 10:02 PM
Our last kick inside 50 has really cost us.. Just not taking the right option or not executing well enough.

Effort was great that qtr, hope we can keep it up.

11-08-2017, 10:07 PM
Libba needs to have a massive 2nd half for us. I'm not convinced he has the fitness, but he needs to dig as deep as he can and just puke his way to multi contests around the ball if that's what it takes!!!!

11-08-2017, 10:12 PM
Cracking game. If we get a good run at this in the next quarter we can win it easily. The crowds right into it.

Yes mate, all over them.

11-08-2017, 10:22 PM
That's 2 from Young now.

11-08-2017, 10:22 PM
Lewis....big learning curve

11-08-2017, 10:23 PM
Dominated it. Season over.

Now give us Josh Kelly.

11-08-2017, 10:24 PM
No over yet. We just have to stop gifting them goals.

11-08-2017, 10:27 PM
Can we get Macrae off?

I can see a 40+ loss here.

Young is costing us now..gotta think our match committee has some culpability. Probably should've been dropped after last week.

11-08-2017, 10:28 PM
Young stinking it up.
Greene deserves a minimum 4 weeks. Nathan Brown and Chris Judd deserve to be sacked for defending the dirty slime.

11-08-2017, 10:30 PM
Young needs a spell.

11-08-2017, 10:31 PM
Our lack of forward method will cost us the game and the season.

If we're going to hand this to them though can someone at least coat-hanger Greene please?

Make it as blatant as you like.

11-08-2017, 10:32 PM
Young stinking it up.
Greene deserves a minimum 4 weeks. Nathan Brown and Chris Judd deserve to be sacked for defending the dirty slime.

I don't get it. There's no defending that. It's a dog act. They're doing it on channel 7 too.

11-08-2017, 10:32 PM
Young stinking it up.

Should hear Ling and Carey

11-08-2017, 10:36 PM
EasternWest you have our blessings. Fire away....

11-08-2017, 10:39 PM
This one's done. Just same shit different week. Learn to bloody kick a goal

11-08-2017, 10:40 PM
EasternWest you have our blessings. Fire away....

Lol.

On a positive note, I like that the coach hasn't dragged Lewis Young.

11-08-2017, 10:41 PM
I don't get it. There's no defending that. It's a dog act. They're doing it on channel 7 too.

Brown argued it is no different to putting your foot in the back of someone, Judd that it is some sort of natural* thing you do when jumping.

*natural if you're a dirty piece of garbage.

11-08-2017, 10:42 PM
Garbage. I think we now have to address our goalkicking problems. Its just too glaring now others have met our prior competitive advantage in the pressure stakes.
We may need some bold and unpopular moves trade wise to address.

11-08-2017, 10:42 PM
So um, when can we start talking about how we'll have Lever and Kelly next year?

11-08-2017, 10:43 PM
Lol.

On a positive note, I like that the coach hasn't dragged Lewis Young.

No he has to play through it.

11-08-2017, 10:44 PM
Honestly - Stringer is a bloody average footballer.

I'd happily trade him if we got something decent in return.

11-08-2017, 10:45 PM
So um, when can we start talking about how we'll have Lever and Kelly next year?

And we will probably get neither

11-08-2017, 10:46 PM
Roll out the character references for Toby. I can't get enough of hearing about how he's likes to play "on the edge".

11-08-2017, 10:46 PM
Honestly - Stringer is a bloody average footballer.

I'd happily trade him if we got something decent in return.

He's a great footballer, he just has no ability to force his will onto a game.

My preference wouldn't be to trade him, but if we got a Matthew Guy style offer we couldn't refuse, we should take it.

11-08-2017, 10:47 PM
Jarod Suckling: thanks for the memories.

Seriously, the bloke's a complete liability. Absolutely atrocious.

I rarely openly dislike Dogs players... but I just can't help it with this bloke. Soft, stupid, timid, awful decision maker and clanger specialist!

11-08-2017, 10:47 PM
Can someone point what Mitch Wallis's role in our team is? Just doesn't perform against the good teams in the forward-mid role.

11-08-2017, 10:48 PM

It's one that has been brewing for some time. Under current rules it should be ok. And thats not ok given how sacrosanct the head is otherwise. If we are going to legislate ruck contest blocks we should apply same rules for feet to head in marking fuels. And if your foot causes injury, and the action unjustifiable it should be suspendable.

11-08-2017, 10:48 PM
I don't care who wins the GF, as long as the team we are playing tonight DONT.

11-08-2017, 10:49 PM
Look out....let's see how many dogs players we can bag before the night is done.

11-08-2017, 10:50 PM
Wallis & Libba are on my tradable list. How many mid speed, inside mids can we collect? Dunkley seems to be the future, Clay Smith has another year. We are trying to make Webb into one too.

I might be on my own here but I think we will lift in the last quarter

Please fight this one out dogs. I don't want to GWS players rubbing our noses in it with a runaway last quarter.

11-08-2017, 10:51 PM
I don't believe you should be able to stick the studs into an opponent in any situation regardless.

He's a great footballer, he just has no ability to force his will onto a game.

My preference wouldn't be to trade him, but if we got a Matthew Guy style offer we couldn't refuse, we should take it.

His potential is great but his output for 24 months is nowhere near his reputation. Severely overrated and his body language is again awful.

Hyperbole maybe, but in my opinion irrespective of whether we make the 8, we are not a premiership threat.
Our one huge strength last year has been nullified and that has meant our deficiency in the forward 50 is now terminally exposed.

Can someone point what Mitch Wallis's role in our team is? Just doesn't perform against the good teams in the forward-mid role.

Nothing more than a good, ordinary footballer I'm afraid.

Wouldn't be in the side if we had options.

11-08-2017, 10:52 PM
amazing the boys continued to use young out of defence when he wasn't required. We deserved better from this game

11-08-2017, 10:52 PM
It's one that has been brewing for some time. Under current rules it should be ok. And thats not ok given how sacrosanct the head is otherwise. If we are going to legislate ruck contest blocks we should apply same rules for feet to head in marking fuels. And if your foot causes injury, and the action unjustifiable it should be suspendable.

I get you can put your foot up to protect yourself in a marking contest.....but receiving a handball in open play?

11-08-2017, 10:56 PM
Look out....let's see how many dogs players we can bag before the night is done.

Fair enough.

Everything is rosy and we don't have players underperforming.

11-08-2017, 10:57 PM

Is it about bagging though AR? Or is it deeper than that? We've tried to bring our pressure game; and not only has that beem5found wanting but our inability to capitalise on opportunities is still a thorn in our side.

So the one area we had ascendancy in last year is not up to scratch and we've not addressed our deficiency in regards to our forward 50 play.
We need to ask hard questions of our personnel at the very least.

11-08-2017, 11:05 PM
Remember when we used to fight???

Lacking some fizz. The ins this week havent done enough so hopefully they are better for the run next week

White flag has been raised!

11-08-2017, 11:08 PM
Its a shame the lead has blown out. Regardless of a loss no one likes to see players flat. Who should be providing the inspiration and setting the example?

11-08-2017, 11:11 PM
My god.

11-08-2017, 11:12 PM
Remember when we used to fight???

We fought on the back of insane levels of will at the contest, on the back of Libba getting to repeat contests and at worst halving them.
For whatever reason he is a shadow of his former self and it is exposing our deficiencies up forward, as well as his other cohorts in close who lack leg speed around the contest

11-08-2017, 11:14 PM
I wish Hunter and Macrae didn't get so much of the ball.. Just no hurt factor.

11-08-2017, 11:18 PM
Good push on the line by Cloke. Nice to see a professional doing the little things still.

11-08-2017, 11:20 PM
Our stark deficiency in entering the forward 50 efficienctly by foot is diabolical.
The contrasting skill level here between us and the Giants is as vast as I can recall.

This has to be so demotivating for all whilst providing such a lift for our opponents.

11-08-2017, 11:27 PM
Us - 65 x I50's for 7 goals
Them - 34 x I50's for 16 goals

Lol

11-08-2017, 11:28 PM
What a pathetic gutless 2nd half of footy. This team doesn't deserve to be playing any extra weeks of footy this season. Ordianry season overall with very few highs.

11-08-2017, 11:28 PM
Is it about bagging though AR? Or is it deeper than that? We've tried to bring our pressure game; and not only has that beem5found wanting but our inability to capitalise on opportunities is still a thorn in our side.

So the one area we had ascendancy in last year is not up to scratch and we've not addressed our deficiency in regards to our forward 50 play.
We need to ask hard questions of our personnel at the very least.

Just reckon talking about trading blokes with one quarter to go is a bit much. That's not to say blokes shouldn't be criticised for their performance.........Libba and Wallis were liabilities tonight and Young had the mare he was always going to eventually have.

11-08-2017, 11:31 PM
The defence we had in tonight was never going to hold them to a losing score. Our forwards have a lot to answer for. Remember when Stringer first started?...he was a great set shot. Remember when Bont rarely missed?

11-08-2017, 11:31 PM
Is this our new worst lost under Bevo?

I mean, GWS, finals on the line, at home, point to prove etc, etc. It just felt like a legitimate Toby Greene kick to face tonight.

11-08-2017, 11:32 PM
I wish Hunter and Macrae didn't get so much of the ball.. Just no hurt factor.

And yet Lever is apparently our main target??
I hope this is the mother of all ruses on our behalf. Not that Lever is not a good player; but he would not have made a lick of difference tonight.

11-08-2017, 11:32 PM

I mean, GWS, finals on the line, at home, point to prove etc, etc. It just felt like a legitimate Toby Greene kick to face tonight.

Adelaide was an ordinary night as well. Both Friday night games, Sunday twilight 2018 here we come

11-08-2017, 11:33 PM

Nah....there was actually a fair bit to like about our game tonight, particularly in the first half. Must be soul destroying to burn chance after chance.

11-08-2017, 11:34 PM
The defence we had in tonight was never going to hold them to a losing score. Our forwards have a lot to answer for. Remember when Stringer first started?...he was a great set shot. Remember when Bont rarely missed?

I remember being confident in Redpath kicking at goal.

11-08-2017, 11:34 PM
How do you lose by 8 goals when you win the inside 50 count by 31 (65-34)... Just gifted them goals and butchered our chances.

11-08-2017, 11:35 PM
And yet Lever is apparently our main target??
I hope this is the mother of all ruses on our behalf. Not that Lever is not a good player; but he would not have made a lick of difference tonight.

No....but how about Lever plus Wood....and of course JJ?

11-08-2017, 11:36 PM
I remember being confident in Redpath kicking at goal.

Only within 35m.

11-08-2017, 11:37 PM
Only within 35m.

I remember watching him in the VFL early on. Poor conditions, windy he'd still kick them.

11-08-2017, 11:38 PM
What can you say ? Just replace the bumble bee crow Guernsey to that orange rubbish !
Once again delivery and execution in the forward 50 was woeful .
The Bont must have sore shoulders carrying the team

11-08-2017, 11:39 PM

Yes. Now for sure I'm a bottle and a bit down; I'll concede.

And I'm using semi colons in the same manner as our forward forays; poorly

But we left ourselves stranded tactically; putting all hope on our ability to win around the contest handsomely. Something weve not been able to do consistently all year. Thus exposing a very young and undersized key defense.

11-08-2017, 11:40 PM
I would have signed off on 34 I50's to GWS in a heartbeat and backed us in to restrict them to a losing score. The fact that it was nowhere near enough is a cause for significant concern, and frankly it has not been a one-off this year.

We need to undergo major surgery to our forward 50 delivery.

11-08-2017, 11:41 PM
In our two games against these pricks we've kicked 16.34.. FMD!

11-08-2017, 11:42 PM
I would have signed off on 34 I50's to GWS in a heartbeat and backed us in to restrict them to a losing score. The fact that it was nowhere near enough is a cause for significant concern, and frankly it has not been a one-off this year.

We need to undergo major surgery to our forward 50 delivery.

Personnel or system?

Probably both but we need to address some holes in our side.

11-08-2017, 11:43 PM
The travelling in the last month and 6 day breaks finally caught up with us. Factor in no backline and well it is the perfect storm.

Reload and go again.

11-08-2017, 11:45 PM
Awww. Cal Ward's Mum couldn't believe the amount of unwarranted booing her lad was subjected to tonight.

What a bunch of bastards we are.

11-08-2017, 11:45 PM
Yes. Now for sure I'm a bottle and a bit down; I'll concede.

And I'm using semi colons in the same manner as our forward forays; poorly

But we left ourselves stranded tactically; putting all hope on our ability to win around the contest handsomely. Something weve not been able to do consistently all year. Thus exposing a very young and undersized key defense.

Loving your semi-colon work. It's an apt analogy;

11-08-2017, 11:46 PM
Why we shift the ball backwards and then from side to side is beyond me. We are a poor kicking side to a man and best suited to playing a territory style... short passes going forward or long kicks down the line.

Our kicking errors left us badly exposed.

11-08-2017, 11:49 PM
Awww. Cal Ward's Mum couldn't believe the amount of unwarranted booing her lad was subjected to tonight.

What a bunch of bastards we are.

Her son could have been in our premiership side if he wasn't so disloyal and greedy.

11-08-2017, 11:49 PM
In our two games against these pricks we've kicked 16.34.. FMD!

I saw a stat at the ground at halftime that said we had the ball in our forward line for 83% of the quarter. They literally had 3 inside 50s for 3 goals.

Now that the pressure is off we will be kicking them from all over the place next week. We will kick 20.5 or something.

11-08-2017, 11:50 PM
Stevo asserted with a straight face Dale (Morris) in the mix for selection versus Port.

Surely not.

11-08-2017, 11:51 PM
Why we shift the ball backwards and then from side to side is beyond me. We are a poor kicking side to a man and best suited to playing a territory style... short passes going forward or long kicks down the line.

Our kicking errors left us badly exposed.

Done it all season Mantis. If we're not kicking sideway we're going wide. We don't have a legit pack marker and slowing down letting defence roll back certainly doesn't our cause.

Dale Morris isn't human

I saw a stat at the ground at halftime that said we had the ball in our forward line for 83% of the quarter. They literally had 3 inside 50s for 3 goals.

Now that the pressure is off we will be kicking them from all over the place next week. We will kick 20.5 or something.

That stat needs to be the centrepiece of our season review.

Stevo asserted with a straight face Dale (Morris) in the mix for selection versus Port.

Surely not.
Never doubt Dale Morris. Unfortunately he doesn't kick goals.

11-08-2017, 11:52 PM

Surely not.

Triple M reported the same.

11-08-2017, 11:53 PM
Her son could have been in our premiership side if he wasn't so disloyal and greedy.

Then we wouldn't have had Jack Macrae to kick the money shot in the prelim.

11-08-2017, 11:54 PM
Then we wouldn't have had Jack Macrae to kick the money shot in the prelim.

Ward might have kicked it :p

11-08-2017, 11:56 PM

Surely not.

And as much as that adds to the legend of Dale's recuperative ability; it does little to remedy what truly ails us.

11-08-2017, 11:58 PM
Done it all season Mantis. If we're not kicking sideway we're going wide. We don't have a legit pack marker and slowing down letting defence roll back certainly doesn't our cause.

We have too many players who kill momentum in our team... Slow ball footy doesn't suit us at all.

And on pack markers does Big Red even compete in the air? Such a limited player.

12-08-2017, 12:01 AM
We have too many players who kill momentum in our team... Slow ball footy doesn't suit us at all.

And on pack markers does Big Red even compete in the air? Such a limited player.

We all know his limitations but along with Dickson he's the only forward who leads at the ball carrier.

12-08-2017, 12:18 AM
That was a frustrating night. Hopefully Lewis doesn't let it get him too down but giving up 3 easy goals in what was a close game was devastating.

The poor goalkicking didn't help tonight but gee out F50 entry is terrible at times. I thought it was getting better in recent weeks but that was just terrible

12-08-2017, 12:29 AM
Just got home from the game.

As Topdog said a very frustrating night. I thought the 1st quarter they were slightly better but we were right there with them.

The 2nd quarter was excellent from us and we really put the pressure on them - one problem we got no reward on the scoreboard - I think in the 2nd qtr at one stage it was 18 inside 50s to 1 in our favour so it goes to show you there is a lot of work that needs to be done in this area.

The 2nd half was hard to watch only 1 goal from Tory Dickson.

Dissapointing and frustrating night but hopefully we can get back next in Ballarat against Port.

Go Bulldogs!!

12-08-2017, 12:30 AM
We really missed Tom Boyd tonight.

12-08-2017, 12:31 AM
That was a frustrating night. Hopefully Lewis doesn't let it get him too down but giving up 3 easy goals in what was a close game was devastating.

The poor goalkicking didn't help tonight but gee out F50 entry is terrible at times. I thought it was getting better in recent weeks but that was just terrible

We can't be too hard on Lewis Young. Still a kid and only played a few games. Will be quality player over the coming years.

12-08-2017, 12:31 AM
We missed JJ run from half back.

12-08-2017, 12:34 AM
We can't be too hard on Lewis Young. Still a kid and only played a few games. Will be quality player over the coming years.

For sure Eastie. He had some learning moments to be sure. But he is not the cause of our problems.

12-08-2017, 12:36 AM
There was none of the starting back 6 from the GF playing tonight.

12-08-2017, 12:40 AM

And yet that is nowhere near where we lost the game tonight.

12-08-2017, 12:44 AM
We should have led by 3 goals at half time. Second half was very poor. Smashed at the clearances, under sized fefence, inexperienced defence and some shocking turnovers - a recipe for disaster.
We can still make the 8 if we win our next two of course and I am a Prisoner of Hope.
We are due to turn our horrible kicking around.
I won't bag Stringer. He is a confidence player. If he had kicked that goal instead of hitting the post ... who knows what he might have done. He takes the game on tries to DO SOMETHING! I won't knock him for that.
I'd play him in the midfield. Keep him in the action.
Libba - running out of credits I'm afraid.
Will take a big effort to win our next two after that performance. But we can do it. Come on Dogs!

12-08-2017, 12:45 AM

Yep. Only Biggs from last years Grand Final defensive 7 players.

I might be on my own - but I don't agree with the suggestions that we gave up - GWS played exceptionally well, absorbed our forward pressure and then picked through us on the way out. Sometimes you just have to admit it when a talented side outclasses you.

And I'll almost certainly be on my own - but I don't think Toby Greene should be rubbed out for his incident. Players raise their legs and feet to protect the space all of the time, he had his eyes on the footy the whole time. Grundy did the same in the Grand Final, and JJ caught his leg - this time Dahlhaus was coming in lower and got caught in the face. And he got the free kick - as he should.

Anyways, back to the game. I'm not anywhere near as disappointed in our efforts - as I am with our inability to put on scoreboard pressure due to our poor goal kicking.

12-08-2017, 12:46 AM
Can we please stop handballing to Suckling when we have a set shot 45 metres out? I honestly can't remember him kicking one when we have looked for him in these situations, which is alot.

Young made some crucial errors, but the errors were made well before he got the ball on all occasions. Experienced players not willing to deal with the pressure and deciding to dish it off to the youngest bloke in the league to deal with it.

I'm honestly not sure what's worse, our forward line or the delivery to our forwards. I think they're as worse as eachother which just creates one big mess.

12-08-2017, 12:50 AM
Can we please stop handballing to Suckling when we have a set shot 45 metres out? I honestly can't remember him kicking one when we have looked for him in these situations, which is alot.

Young made some crucial errors, but the errors were made well before he got the ball on all occasions. Experienced players not willing to deal with the pressure and deciding to dish it off to the youngest bloke in the league to deal with it.

I'm honestly not sure what's worse, our forward line or the delivery to our forwards. I think they're as worse as eachother which just creates one big mess.

Good call on Young. In fairness, the kid has been looking close to getting completely overwhelmed since early in the Essendon game - and he made some horrendous blues tonight - BUT - how do we end up going from Macrae being 70 out from goal, to having Young trying to make the play from our defensive 20? Biggs played well overall - but he went backwards twice to Young and transferred the pressure to the kid for 2 of those blues.

There's a time and a place to go back and across, and when we are so inexperienced in defence (and really had no 'kickers' back there) then surely you have to adjust to that.

12-08-2017, 01:16 AM
Macrae was woeful tonight with his skill errors, and won't take the responsibility to have a shot for goal.

Just watch him next time, 90% of the time, he turns back to dish off the ball instead of looking forward. Sick of his kicking and stupid handballing and not taking responsibility.

end of rant

12-08-2017, 01:20 AM
Macrae was woeful tonight with his skill errors, and won't take the responsibility to have a shot for goal.

Just watch him next time, 90% of the time, he turns back to dish off the ball instead of looking forward. Sick of his kicking and stupid handballing and not taking responsibility.

end of rant

In the last few weeks, he had really impressed me with the way he really looked to attacked with the ball and looked up 'in the V' to go forward. Tonight was a complete reversal of that, and he was really really disappointing as one of our senior/top players.

12-08-2017, 01:21 AM
Our midfield was well down tonight particularly in the 2nd half.

12-08-2017, 01:26 AM

I might be on my own - but I don't agree with the suggestions that we gave up - GWS played exceptionally well, absorbed our forward pressure and then picked through us on the way out. Sometimes you just have to admit it when a talented side outclasses you.

And I'll almost certainly be on my own - but I don't think Toby Greene should be rubbed out for his incident. Players raise their legs and feet to protect the space all of the time, he had his eyes on the footy the whole time. Grundy did the same in the Grand Final, and JJ caught his leg - this time Dahlhaus was coming in lower and got caught in the face. And he got the free kick - as he should.

Anyways, back to the game. I'm not anywhere near as disappointed in our efforts - as I am with our inability to put on scoreboard pressure due to our poor goal kicking.

I don't know about not being rubbed out but I'm with you on him not doing much if anything wrong and certainly never took his eyes off the ball. But suspensions are handed out at the moment for the outcome on the other player and Dal looked pretty banged about. I think with his record he might get 3 or 4.

12-08-2017, 01:28 AM
Well. That was a horrible night. But it exposed everything that's been lurking beneath the surface this year and now can't be denied. OUr goalkicking is terrible but so is our field kicking. Something is badly amiss around the clearances. And we haven't been able to take a trick with injury but unlike last year it's been more concentrated. It really is remarkable to think only Biggs remained from our premiership defence.

We've struggled against ordinary sides and not been seriously competitive against most of the better ones.

It really was heartbreaking to see the amazing effort of the second qtr, where I thought we were right back to our best, yield such little reward. It had to be a factor in what seemed like a capitulation. All our goals are so painfully acquired. It must be hard to keep up the effort for so little reward.

THe AFL will probably get their dream of a flag this year for the No 1 Draft Picks. They have to be the most unlikeable bunch of men you'd ever see. While Toby Greene is a standout as the most revolting Patten took huge steps forward this evening.

Incidentally does anyone know what Bevo's sprint down to the bench in Q3 was all about? I think the crowd thought (hoped) he'd gone down there to personally deck Toby Greene.

12-08-2017, 01:34 AM
Well. That was a horrible night. But it exposed everything that's been lurking beneath the surface this year and now can't be denied. OUr goalkicking is terrible but so is our field kicking. Something is badly amiss around the clearances. And we haven't been able to take a trick with injury but unlike last year it's been more concentrated. It really is remarkable to think only Biggs remained from our premiership defence.

We've struggled against ordinary sides and not been seriously competitive against most of the better ones.

It really was heartbreaking to see the amazing effort of the second qtr, where I thought we were right back to our best, yield such little reward. It had to be a factor in what seemed like a capitulation. All our goals are so painfully acquired. It must be hard to keep up the effort for so little reward.

THe AFL will probably get their dream of a flag this year for the No 1 Draft Picks. They have to be the most unlikeable bunch of men you'd ever see. While Toby Greene is a standout as the most revolting Patten took huge steps forward this evening.

Incidentally does anyone know what Bevo's sprint down to the bench in Q3 was all about? I think the crowd thought (hoped) he'd gone down there to personally deck Toby Greene.

The trouble with our goal kicking was we were having shots from too far out. The real problem is skill errors and decision making around the ground. Delivery into the f50 just isn't good enough.

The 3rd quarter was where we lost it, and Bevo seemed to be very concerned and rushed down to personally deliver messages to players.

12-08-2017, 01:48 AM
The trouble with our goal kicking was we were having shots from too far out. The real problem is skill errors and decision making around the ground. Delivery into the f50 just isn't good enough.

The 3rd quarter was where we lost it, and Bevo seemed to be very concerned and rushed down to personally deliver messages to players.
You begin to wonder whether Cloke and Redpath are good enough as key forwards. Stringer has had a very poor season as well. I thought we lost our way in the second quarter with 22 forward 50 advances to only 3 by GWS, with a poor return on the scoreboard.Our defence without Wood JJ and Morris was very inexperienced and below par tonight. The midfield struggled as well with Libba sadly out of form and Wallis with just one kick simply not good enough. This was a disaster waiting to happen.

12-08-2017, 01:56 AM
I don't know about not being rubbed out but I'm with you on him not doing much if anything wrong and certainly never took his eyes off the ball. But suspensions are handed out at the moment for the outcome on the other player and Dal looked pretty banged about. I think with his record he might get 3 or 4.

Barry Hall was looking downfield and never took his eyes off the play when he ironed out Brent Staker.

Greene knew exactly what he was doing, and I'm frankly amazed anyone is talking it down.

I'm not given to hyperbole, it's a tough game and shit happens, but that was as malicious in intent as just about anything I've seen on the footy field.

12-08-2017, 02:23 AM
Barry Hall was looking downfield and never took his eyes off the play when he ironed out Brent Staker.

Greene knew exactly what he was doing, and I'm frankly amazed anyone is talking it down.

I'm not given to hyperbole, it's a tough game and shit happens, but that was as malicious in intent as just about anything I've seen on the footy field.

Yeah looking at it again that foot is fairly naughty and had no business being in Dal's face. For a start you don't jump and splay your legs. You want to get your feet back on the ground as safely and quickly as possible.

12-08-2017, 06:32 AM
Studs up should mean weeks out.

12-08-2017, 07:59 AM

All we hear about is duty of care, surely he had one when he chose to lift his foot to head height. If guys are getting weeks for meaningless punches to the guts then Green has to go.

12-08-2017, 08:44 AM
I just wished that Dal's face had snapped Green's knee.

12-08-2017, 09:04 AM
Without Morris and Wood we're unorganised in our back half - too many one v one contests where we were easily out-positioned and exposed. We don't know what Morris will do, and having Wood and Adams back will help, but it highlighted why we should be chasing after Lever, too.

Bontempelli is our only consistent, effective winner in the middle who can make things happen at the moment, but he's being spread too thin with our need to play 3 of him and lacks support inside. Wallis came back with a bang but has struggled and Libba remains a mile off the pace.

I think most of us have had concerns about playing Redpath and Cloke in the same forward line, particularly at the fast-paced Etihad against a pretty mobile defensive unit.

Our inability to generate reward for effort continues to hurt us, but we do it to ourselves with skill errors and indecisiveness.

I hate GWS and I hope Greene gets weeks.

12-08-2017, 09:37 AM
All we hear about is duty of care, surely he had one when he chose to lift his foot to head height. If guys are getting weeks for meaningless punches to the guts then Green has to go.

I hate GWS and I hope Greene gets weeks.

I just wished that Dal's face had snapped Green's knee.

Yep I've come around on it. Given it is practically a kick to the face I'd be very suprised, and very upset, if Greene plays again this season. It deserves 6-7 weeks.

12-08-2017, 10:16 AM
Glad im in Samoa and missed the game.

12-08-2017, 10:19 AM
Greene will get off with a fine or 2 weeks at most.

Hate or hate him he is one of the best players in the league and how I'd love a player of his ability to be in our team.

12-08-2017, 10:52 AM
I couldn't care how good he is I wouldn't want him.
He would have been the kid in under 8's that would go out of his way to hurt someone.

I'm all for tough at the contest, Morris, West, Cross and Voss. Those types that go hard at the ball and if the a player gets hurt in the process that's footy.
But this guy is just a thug and has no remorse for his actions.

12-08-2017, 11:13 AM
According to Gaddy Lyon what Greene did was "no different" to if Mumford was charging at you full pelt so you're entitled to put a foot up to protect yourself and if your opponent wants to run into that foot face first it's "their business".

Gee he's a class act.

12-08-2017, 11:19 AM
The scoreboard shows that we had our backsides kicked last night but during all this mayhem I think we did play some good football, although wasteful, during the first half.

Young is getting some criticism but I thought some of his earlier efforts were terrific with his attacking play. He impacted some contests
by attacking the ball and I think this should be encouraged.

We got very little from our 3 ins this week. Dickson was OK, Dunkley perhaps a bit better and Stringer was well down.
We also got very little from 3 of our more experienced guys in Liberatore, Wallis and Picken.
Macrae was in positions to impact the scoreboard and even though I rate him highly he simply shirked taking the game on.

That's a sizeable chunk of the team on the night that didn't really impact the game for us as we would have hoped for.

I was intrigued by our use of Daniel on the night and having him play a lot as a HBF. I don't think that worked for us

I don't like losing games and especially against GWS but we now have to focus on Port and making a positive effort for our new home at Mars stadium.

12-08-2017, 11:23 AM

Yep the leg extension was very obvious.

12-08-2017, 01:58 PM
There are clearly two movements once Greene's leg is lifted to head level - the second was to cause pain and damage to his opponents face, and he succeeded. The entire act was designed with malicious intent, he didn't need to raise his foot studs out to the height he did to protect himself, and as I've said before players of his talent know exactly what they are doing when they complete these acts of bastardy.

Those saying he had eyes for the ball are correct, but having eyes for the ball doesn't mean you all of a sudden lose your peripheral vision and can't broadly target the head area of an opponent running towards you.

Unfortunately for the competition he won't be punished to the extent he should be. But, they will change the rules on studs out contact now which they should have done a long time ago.

As for the rest of the game I knew we were in trouble after getting so little reward for our effort in the first half. Our inaccuracy is partially because of our poor kicking from set shots, but more so a result of how poorly and slowly we tend to move the ball in transition and where we end up taking our set shots from.

Like others I was frustrated we didn't play a territory based game down the line more regularly, we exposed some inexperienced defenders more often than we needed to and the results were there for all to see.

Players like Macrae and Hunter reverted to old habits of pissing around with the football rather than taking responsibility to score or carry it forward with bravery and intent. Once leaders like these two get that funk about them, it's not hard for the rest of the team to follow suit.

Our engine room lacks grunt and polish. Liberatore needs to take a bloody good look at himself and question whether AFL football is for him, as he's phoning it in at the moment. Sure he gets his pressure acts most weeks, but we won't win games with midfielders who bring that alone to games. Wallis was disappointing, I wasn't expecting much from him this season and perhaps our form and injury toll has meant we've not been able to freshen him up as often as we'd like. Unfortunately with these two not providing enough, and Picken not being consistent across the game Bont was left with too much to do. Dunkley probably wasn't ready but will be better for the run.

Fixing the above issues above would make things much easier for our forwards. Stringer needs some good football in the coming weeks for me to keep the faith in him. Cloke and Redpath are limited and need the ball to move quickly to them to get into good scoring positions and look effective. We didn't do this often enough last night, and even in the second quarter the Giants rolled back really well and soaked up the space to make the big guys relatively tame.

Finally, to the players we were missing. Morris, Adams, JJ, Wood and Tom Boyd make a huge difference to how we look. The key is finding the grunt and polish to bring in with them.

We need a big off season, and a preparedness to let some established personnel go.

12-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Wow John Patton has become an unlikeable player. He's a devastating forward when they get clean fast entry but his outrageous mocking of Cordy and Young after kicking goals had me apoplectic. Especially when he was smiling and trying to high five Lewis Young in the third . Fair play I'm all for the mind games but he's just so good at it 😜😡! Damn those plastic mongrels. Hard to see past a Crows v GWS GF .

12-08-2017, 03:44 PM
Not too fussed about Patton - he is just another full of himself footballer who doesn't realise how irrelevant they are to society. We have players who do the same thing, so it's all swings and roundabouts.

As for that little dirty piece of excretement, I have been going to the football since 1977 and that is one of the lowest, dirtiest acts I have ever seen - it was a deliberate action - 1st he raised his leg and then he thrust his foot straight at the head of Dahlhaus. I have seen players do this is marking contests and winced (and been surprised at the lack of repercussion), but this was in play where Luke had every right to tackle. It was the equivalent of a player illegally using an elbow to ward off a tackler, only many times worse.

To hear neanderthals and bogans in the media defending this vile germ has made me sick to the point of giving this game away for good.

12-08-2017, 04:27 PM
I was intrigued by our use of Daniel on the night and having him play a lot as a HBF. I don't think that worked for us

They caught onto that one quickly in the opposition coaches box and exposed him one on one a couple of times didn't they?

12-08-2017, 04:46 PM
Whats the ruling on lifetime deregistration for cumalitive weeks of suspension? I thought that Ali Fahour had his player registration taken away because his number of suspended weeks went past 16 with the 14 week suspension earlier in the year? If it 16 weeks then Greene is in trouble. He's up to 12 already.

12-08-2017, 04:48 PM
Whats the ruling on lifetime deregistration for cumalitive weeks of suspension? I thought that Ali Fahour had his player registration taken away because his number of suspended weeks went past 16 with the 14 week suspension earlier in the year? If it 16 weeks then Greene is in trouble. He's up to 12 already.

My bet is he gets a fine.

It was one of the dirtiest acts on the field I have seen, it was very dangerous and I am surprised Dahl didn't get more than a staple in his face. If the MRP let's this go, then that is the green light to stick your foot into someone, anytime you feel like it.

12-08-2017, 05:34 PM

Is that rule applicable to AFL players?

12-08-2017, 05:51 PM

Anyways, back to the game. I'm not anywhere near as disappointed in our efforts - as I am with our inability to put on scoreboard pressure due to our poor goal kicking.100% agree with the Greene call. Well summed up as he had eyes for the ball.

12-08-2017, 05:56 PM
100% agree with the Greene call. Well summed up as he had eyes for the ball.

Who cares if he has eyes on the ball, he can see Dahl was coming in quickly and was about to tackle him. This wasn't a mark Greene was going for, he was receiving a handpass. It was a gutless act to stick your foot out to stop someone tackling you. The MRP needs to give it to him, otherwise it becomes a standard thing you can do.

Watch his leg almost horizontal, he could have just bent his knee to protect himself - this was malicious, I have no doubt in my mind.

12-08-2017, 06:01 PM
Is that rule applicable to AFL players?

Good question. I couldn't see why it wouldn't be? No fact, if anything, it ought to be less because we should hold professional footballer's to higher standards than park footballers because they are role models. Kids don't see park footballers whack someone and decide that's what they are going to do the next time they play. But they do see AFL players do it.

But to answer your original question, my own thought is probably not for some reason.

12-08-2017, 06:04 PM
My bet is he gets a fine.

It was one of the dirtiest acts on the field I have seen, it was very dangerous and I am surprised Dahl didn't get more than a staple in his face. If the MRP let's this go, then that is the green light to stick your foot into someone, anytime you feel like it.

That would be very disappointing. I usually don't care about players getting reported for incidents against our guys because there us no advantage in it for us. But this one is different.

12-08-2017, 06:16 PM
Can't believe the defence of that scum bag. Fair dinkum, you can't kick people! It's that simple.

12-08-2017, 07:04 PM
Can't believe the defence of that scum bag. Fair dinkum, you can't kick people! It's that simple.

Eyes for the ball is thrown around without putting thought into it. I'd imagine any pro AFL footballer not named Justin Kositzke would have pretty good peripheral vision. He meant it and extended his leg out further to make sure he got him.

Also post game didn't even say a word to Dahl. No remorse for his actions at all. Absolute scum.

12-08-2017, 08:16 PM
No suprise he doesnt show remorse. He never really has on or off the field...

12-08-2017, 08:24 PM
He knew what he was doing. Protecting the space? Give me a break! Bloke about to receive the ball and knows a tackle is coming from behind so he throws his foot back or to the side to 'protect the space'! Would we be happy to see that become part of the game?

12-08-2017, 08:50 PM
Anyway, so it seems according to the rules there is no provision for protecting your space through kicking someone's face.

If you have the Footy Live app there's an article titled The Rant: Toby Greene, (and Ch 7) you've done it again that explains why.

Here's a link:

https://sportingchancemag.com/the-rant-volume-2-toby-greene-and-ch-7-youve-done-it-again-599a9681cc8

12-08-2017, 09:23 PM
Looking at the video and yep that was deliberate 100%.

12-08-2017, 10:33 PM
I just heard PHIL Davis's "eyes for the ball" defence from SEN this morning. So using Phil's logic if I see him walking down the street and I kick him in the face as long as I'm looking in the opposite direction then he won't have a problem with it?

PHIL and Leon Cameron and their mates should think long and hard before automatically leaping to the indefensible actions of Toby Greene. Do they really want to sink to his level. It's going to get bad enough just being the captain of the club that Greene plays at (where's the leadership?) without giving him preposterous defence of his actions.

And Cameron Ling is falling over himself to get him off. He makes it sound like Dal head butted Greene in the boot.

12-08-2017, 11:07 PM
The action was punished with a free kick, so, it is immediately outside of the rules. If it was an intentional fist it would be weeks. Given it was an intentional kick it should be more severe.

There's a reason why the jungle drums for leniency are beating so hard. They know Greene should be severely punished.

13-08-2017, 01:57 AM
The action was punished with a free kick, so, it is immediately outside of the rules. If it was an intentional fist it would be weeks. Given it was an intentional kick it should be more severe.

There's a reason why the jungle drums for leniency are beating so hard. They know Greene should be severely punished.

Exactly. And this beer being poured on Greene is a bullshit distraction. The beer isn't poured it's in a cup tgat falls bottom first along the wall of the race nowhere near Greene. It's been dropped accidently pure and simple. Now, enough distractions let's get back to the real issue at hand. Toby Greene is a thug and what GWS are going to do about it they realise that trying to excuse his actions isn't going to wash with most right thinking people.

13-08-2017, 08:08 AM
If you can lose a ruck contest to a free kick for using a straight arm to the body to protect the space then a studs up boot that collects an opposition player in the face who was closing in at a fair pace face has to result in a couple of weeks.
How many other codes of football would diminish the use of boot studs in any sort of contest?

For what it's worth I don't think Greene tried to do what he did but it was at the very least it was clumsy, full force and a high contact.
Dahlhaus left the field for the blood rule and went straight into the change room for treatment.

Head high contact, using a studded boot that resulted in a bloody player leaving the field of play for treatment has to result in weeks.
I can't see how GWS, the player or the media talk themselves out of the fact it deserves weeks.

They can't say he was protecting himself as a defense because it resulted in a bloodied player who had to leave the ground for treatment. As clear cut as it gets from my point of view

13-08-2017, 11:13 AM
He "protected" himself by putting his boot into Dalhaus' face, pure and simple. He is just a thug who warrants no respect at all for his ability. He must get weeks. If he didn't play football he would regularly be fronting a Magistrate. It does Cameron and Ling no credit whatever to try and justify it. Ling is on a par with Dwayne as a media commentator and that is somewhere subterranean. This adds to the Whitfield saga of deceit last year and demonstrates just how low the fake plastic's ethics are.

13-08-2017, 11:18 AM
Every time we plays this horrible club I hate them more and more Greene and Patton are the main two I can't stand but Whitfeld is right up there a couple of times getting right in the face of our young defenders .

13-08-2017, 11:36 AM
I hope that our fan that tipped the beer over Greene gets a long ban from attending AFL games. Weak act

13-08-2017, 11:41 AM
I hope that our fan that tipped the beer over Greene gets a long ban from attending AFL games. Weak act

Apparently that never happened

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?17335-AFL-Game-Day-Round-21-2017-Western-Bulldogs-V-GWS-Giants&p=567942#post567942

Greene will get 4 weeks IMO

13-08-2017, 12:06 PM

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?17335-AFL-Game-Day-Round-21-2017-Western-Bulldogs-V-GWS-Giants&p=567942#post567942

Greene will get 3 down to 2 if it goes through the process

13-08-2017, 12:18 PM

Shouldn't be condoned, but the way it was reported, the beer was all over Greene's head.

https://pbs.twimg.com/card_img/896523531491475456/YNV5EniB?format=jpg&name=800x419

13-08-2017, 01:45 PM
Shouldn't be condoned, but the way it was reported, the beer was all over Greene's head.

https://pbs.twimg.com/card_img/896523531491475456/YNV5EniB?format=jpg&name=800x419

So true the media sure like to twist things.

13-08-2017, 02:18 PM

It was weak, it should of been coffee!

13-08-2017, 02:29 PM
I'm still filthy on Greene for what he did. I hate the 'if it was another player would it change your view' argument. Simply thats rubbish because no other player has ever done that & that says a lot about Greene! He is without doubt the dirtiest player of the modern era. There is no doubt in my mind it was a deliberate act. You're talking about a guy who still maintains he was trying to punch the ball in the Daniel incident last time we played them.
He is a filthy mongrel & always looking for ways to get around the rules to still hurt players & i can't think of another player who has ever done this.
Part of his punishment should be to drop him off in the middle of Whitten Oval & let us members pay the club for a crack. I'd be first in line & would be happy to pay 4 figures to get a piece.

13-08-2017, 03:21 PM
I'm still digesting Nathan Brown saying a boot to the face is no different to a foot in the back, and Chris Judd claiming it is a natural part of jumping. Must be why it happens every game. :rolleyes:

13-08-2017, 03:28 PM
I'm still filthy on Greene for what he did. I hate the 'if it was another player would it change your view' argument. Simply thats rubbish because no other player has ever done that & that says a lot about Greene! He is without doubt the dirtiest player of the modern era. There is no doubt in my mind it was a deliberate act. You're talking about a guy who still maintains he was trying to punch the ball in the Daniel incident last time we played them.
He is a filthy mongrel & always looking for ways to get around the rules to still hurt players & i can't think of another player who has ever done this.
Part of his punishment should be to drop him off in the middle of Whitten Oval & let us members pay the club for a crack. I'd be first in line & would be happy to pay 4 figures to get a piece.

Leigh Matthews did but I can't think of too many others who instead of thinking "try not to hurt other players" think "I can hurt this guy" as Greene must.

13-08-2017, 04:08 PM
I'm still digesting Nathan Brown saying a boot to the face is no different to a foot in the back, and Chris Judd claiming it is a natural part of jumping. Must be why it happens every game. :rolleyes:

If the MRP lets this go, then it should be open slather for every footballer to stick a boot into someone's face.

13-08-2017, 04:22 PM
If the MRP lets this go, then it should be open slather for every footballer to stick a boot into someone's face.

I understand that many are upset about it and understand why, but this kind of comment doesn't help the argument.

For starters the above comment is as if players are now going to be running around sidekicking eachother in the face.

What Greene did is a mostly natural motion when jumping in our game. It is both a way to balance yourself as your body tilts backwards as you reach for the ball, and it is also an approved blocking technique in marking contests players typically use when a player is coming at them from in front.

Yes I acknowledge it wasn't a marking contest, and his boot was higher than would normally happen, but his leg was always straight, it wasn't excessively high, Dahlhaus' height and the fact he crouches over when he runs made him lower than normal and Greenes eyes were for the ball.

It is a freekick for mine, but not suspension or possibly even fine worthy. Any other player and I wouldn't question their intent, Greene has lost the benefit of the doubt by now but even then I'm putting this down to an unfortunate moment.

I imagine the AFL will now bring something out where if contact involving an outstretched leg or foot results in injury then it is punishable, in line with many of their other consequence rather than intent orientated rules.

13-08-2017, 04:24 PM
I understand that many are upset about it and understand why, but this kind of comment doesn't help the argument.

For starters the above comment is as if players are now going to be running around sidekicking eachother in the face.

What Greene did is a mostly natural motion when jumping in our game. It is both a way to balance yourself as your body tilts backwards as you reach for the ball, and it is also an approved blocking technique in marking contests players typically use when a player is coming at them from in front.

Yes I acknowledge it wasn't a marking contest, and his boot was higher than would normally happen, but his leg was always straight, it wasn't excessively high, Dahlhaus' height and the fact he crouches over when he runs made him lower than normal and Greenes eyes were for the ball.

It is a freekick for mine, but not suspension or possibly even fine worthy. Any other player and I wouldn't question their intent, Greene has lost the benefit of the doubt by now but even then I'm putting this down to an unfortunate moment.

I imagine the AFL will now bring something out where if contact involving an outstretched leg or foot results in injury then it is punishable, in line with many of their other consequence rather than intent orientated rules.

If it's mostly natural, why don't more players get kicked in the face?

13-08-2017, 04:33 PM
If it's mostly natural, why don't more players get kicked in the face?

Perfect storm of an upright jump, Dahlhaus coming in low, timing, positioning, all that shit.

I'm saying he didn't really do anything a normal player wouldn't, that action happens all the time, it is just very rare for it to happen like that.

13-08-2017, 04:33 PM

I have heard a number of ex media scribes say, "but he had eyes for the ball", I call that defence crap. Greene received a handball, and knew he was going to get crunched by Dahl with a tackle, so he stretched his foot out to stop Dahl. You don't think he has peripheral vision to see a player rushing at him? You can't kick a player in the face with your studs open - full stop. Just like when players accidently bump someone in the head and these days it is not just a free kick, but also a suspension.

Greene could easily have bent his knee for protection, but his sole purpose was to stop the tackle, however, he did that with no due care for the other player, totally unnecessary to stretch his leg. Take a closer look.

13-08-2017, 04:42 PM
I have heard a number of ex media scribes say, "but he had eyes for the ball", I call that defence crap. Greene received a handball, and knew he was going to get crunched by Dahl with a tackle, so he stretched his foot out to stop Dahl. You don't think he has peripheral vision to see a player rushing at him? You can't kick a player in the face with your studs open - full stop. Just like when players accidently bump someone in the head and these days it is not just a free kick, but also a suspension.

Greene could easily have bent his knee for protection, but his sole purpose was to stop the tackle, however, he did that with no due care for the other player, totally unnecessary to stretch his leg. Take a closer look.
That's what I'm saying with my last bit. Along the line with all the other AFL rules where if the player gets injured accept the consequences, if not play on.

But as it stands there is no rule for this particular scenario other than high contact, which the free was paid for.

As for the rest I agree with you, he did put his foot out to stop Dahlhaus. But that was not an unreasonable or necessarily malicious action, and the resulting impact while unfortunate was not necessarily deliberate.

13-08-2017, 04:47 PM
That's what I'm saying with my last bit. Along the line with all the other AFL rules where if the player gets injured accept the consequences, if not play on.

But as it stands there is no rule for this particular scenario other than high contact, which the free was paid for.

As for the rest I agree with you, he did put his foot out to stop Dahlhaus. But that was not an unreasonable or necessarily malicious action, and the resulting impact while unfortunate was not necessarily deliberate.

There is a rule, the head must be protected. Dahl received a staple to his face.

13-08-2017, 04:50 PM
There is a rule, the head must be protected. Dahl received a staple to his face.

And he got a free for it. As he should have.

13-08-2017, 04:58 PM

This is rubbish soupaman! in 30 odd years of watching this game i've never seen a player jumping up to receive a handball lift his leg up like that. Now i now Greene is a super player but you can't tell me he has super jumping skills & was jumping higher to receive a handball then any other player in the history of the game? I ask you how is this a natural act when no other player has ever done this?

I have seen a lot of hospital handballs in my time & have never seen this happen. If he gets off you can bet on it that every player who is jumping to receive a hospital handpass will be kicking people in the chest so they don't give away a free kick for high contact. I don't want to see that rubbish in our game.

13-08-2017, 05:00 PM
I propose an argument that putting your foot into someone's face to stop them is completely unreasonable (and highly reckless, and extremely dangerous).

13-08-2017, 05:05 PM
And he got a free for it. As he should have.

How many suspensions have there been for hitting a player in the head? Plenty, these days it is not just a free kick anymore. I am not talking about the hit that does little damage, I am talking where blood is drawn, concussion etc Don't forget the umpire has reported him, so it wasn't just a free kick.

Anyway, we will find out tomorrow.

13-08-2017, 05:12 PM

Why waste a good beer on that scum

13-08-2017, 05:15 PM
It's in no way 'natural' to stick out your foot when jumping to grab a ball.

13-08-2017, 05:19 PM
This board will be in melt down come 4pm tomorrow when he is issued a fine only.

13-08-2017, 05:28 PM
This board will be in melt down come 4pm tomorrow when he is issued a fine only.

If you go through the normal process the MRP is suppose to follow it was a careless act with a studded boot, with medium impact to the head. That should lead to 3 weeks down to 2 suspension. He hasn't got a clean record to give him more consideration.

He wasn't protecting himself in a marking contest as it was a handball that he jumped high for and he knew he had to fend off an opponent. He chose to use his studded boot to fend off Dahlhaus and the result lead to a player having to leave the ground with the blood rule. To me it's as clear as a deliberate trip or kicking in danger but made worse because the impact was to a players face.

13-08-2017, 05:31 PM

He has already had 2 fines this year. Doesn't that mean he'll get a week for a third fine like Hodge?

13-08-2017, 05:49 PM
Apparantly Brett Delidio told his brother who then told Kelli who then posted on FB that Toby will be going straight to the tribunal. :)

13-08-2017, 05:57 PM
If you go through the normal process the MRP is suppose to follow it was a careless act with a studded boot, with medium impact to the head. That should lead to 3 weeks down to 2 suspension. He hasn't got a clean record to give him more consideration.

He wasn't protecting himself in a marking contest as it was a handball that he jumped high for and he knew he had to fend off an opponent. He chose to use his studded boot to fend off Dahlhaus and the result lead to a player having to leave the ground with the blood rule. To me it's as clear as a deliberate trip or kicking in danger but made worse because the impact was to a players face.

If the medium becomes low then it becomes a fine. Will be interesting.

13-08-2017, 06:16 PM

I'm not sure how a player leaving the ground with the blood rule can be low impact. It took him a while to clear his head.

You're right though if it's regarded as low impact.

13-08-2017, 06:39 PM

I'm not sure how a player leaving the ground with the blood rule can be low impact. It took him a while to clear his head.

You're right though if it's regarded as low impact.

I'd say that it's leaning more to high impact than medium. Greene used Dalh's face to push off to try shift his momentum moving away.

13-08-2017, 06:57 PM
Straight leg? WTF were you watching?

13-08-2017, 07:05 PM

Now do it with deliberate not careless. As you said:

He chose to use his studded boot to fend off Dahlhaus

13-08-2017, 07:10 PM
This is a normal action and always straight?

http://i.imgur.com/lVuxM1l.jpg

13-08-2017, 07:17 PM
Even Leigh Matthews has said that it would have been a report 30 years ago!

13-08-2017, 07:32 PM
Yep needs to be suspended. I feel like many here do that he did not have to lift his foot.

13-08-2017, 07:37 PM
Now do it with deliberate not careless. As you said:

He chose to jump to receive a handball and then chose to put his foot out. I'd lean towards careless rather then deliberate

13-08-2017, 08:15 PM
I'm off the opinion that the kick was deliberate. Not sure he wanted to kick him in the face but he wanted to use his foot to get a springboard type of impact like when people jump off a wall to get extra height

13-08-2017, 08:47 PM
So - to (quickly) comment on the TG thing, the umpire dealt with it on Friday night...free kick and report. I don't have any problem with him sticking his foot out (probably would have gone with the knee myself, but potato potAto) but since he has made contact with his head he needs to own that and cop what he cops. To me this incident is not in the same ball-park as the one earlier in the year when he belted Daniel who had just taken a mark, but I think I am in the minority.

We are all talking about our backline being the issue (leaving Roberts out etc) yet the ability of our forwards to convert is the problem? I am pretty baffled by the entire conversation truthfully. At issue here is our team selection - specifically Redpath and Cloke in the same forward line - which put the entire team at risk. When the forward line mix is wrong, it doesn't matter how many times you get the ball in...it is going to come out again. And when it does, the defenders are going to be nude and the opposition WILL SCORE. The 2nd quarter was a show-case in 'how an unbalanced forward line is at the heart of modern football problems'. This game was a replica of our game against Melbourne a month or two back when we dominated possession + i50s but simply COULD NOT SCORE. What have we learned from that night??? Sweet all would be generous. Where do we go now? Well...I am guessing nowhere...which teams inside the top 8 do you think we might actually defeat???

13-08-2017, 08:54 PM
Who is available? and of the couple that are, are they really worthy of selection?

Our supposed depth is largely sitting in the medical room.

13-08-2017, 08:58 PM
So - to (quickly) comment on the TG thing, the umpire dealt with it on Friday night...free kick and report. I don't have any problem with him sticking his foot out (probably would have gone with the knee myself, but potato potAto) but since he has made contact with his head he needs to own that and cop what he cops. To me this incident is not in the same ball-park as the one earlier in the year when he belted Daniel who had just taken a mark, but I think I am in the minority.

We are all talking about our backline being the issue (leaving Roberts out etc) yet the ability of our forwards to convert is the problem? I am pretty baffled by the entire conversation truthfully. At issue here is our team selection - specifically Redpath and Cloke in the same forward line - which put the entire team at risk. When the forward line mix is wrong, it doesn't matter how many times you get the ball in...it is going to come out again. And when it does, the defenders are going to be nude and the opposition WILL SCORE. The 2nd quarter was a show-case in 'how an unbalanced forward line is at the heart of modern football problems'. This game was a replica of our game against Melbourne a month or two back when we dominated possession + i50s but simply COULD NOT SCORE. What have we learned from that night??? Sweet all would be generous. Where do we go now? Well...I am guessing nowhere...which teams inside the top 8 do you think we might actually defeat???

I don't disagree with your dissection of our problem MJP. my question, given your background is this.
Surely Bevo and co aren't mugs at this coaching caper, so surely they know this as well. Therefore what compelling tactical outcome did they think would come off that would mitigate the risk?
I'm assuming in selection committee meeting someone pointed out or asked the question 'So where are we risk wise if these two don't clunk it more often than not? How do we stop the ball coming out as quickas it arrives?'

13-08-2017, 08:58 PM
Who is available? and of the couple that are, are they really worthy of selection though?

Our supposed depth is largely sitting in the medical room.

I don't disagree but how can things be worse by throwing 'other' solutions at the problem?

I have sat in enough selection rooms to know it isn't that simple and a lot of the time what you think might be 'nice' to do you know you simply cannot do. I am guessing we are in that position but as soon as I saw we planned playing Cloke, Redpath AND bringing Stringer straight back in after injury I changed my tip to the Giants.

Did anyone actually think we could win the game given the personnel/structure we were sending out onto the field?

13-08-2017, 09:07 PM
Therefore what compelling tactical outcome did they think would come off that would mitigate the risk?

Bevo is clearly a brilliant coach but the selection magic wand he was able to wave during 2015 and 2016 - regularly making 4+ changes, playing inexperienced players in unfamiliar positions etc - has been broken all year.

The only mitigating factor to the Cloke, Redpath, Stringer thing was 'Bontempelli will cause them so much trouble it wont matter' - and that might have just worked IF the midfield could have held things together without him. But Libber and Wally are SADLY out of form - Dahl is permanently out of form! (so is Libber probably) - so when Bont went forward we got smashed around the ball...then the forwards couldn't get the lace out delivery they need to be effective.

Cloke and Redpath are dinosaurs and if they can't (at least) hold down the ruck for 5-7 minutes per q then they can't play. How much better did Geelong look without Hawkins getting in the way vs the Rance/Taylor matchup? They aren't good enough to play in our side at the moment and that is the reality of where we are at. They both seem like ripping blokes but don't look like playing any more than a serviceable game of footy ever.

For people who are going to say 'Playing Cloke and Redpath together worked against Brisbane, so there', well, fair enough, I guess it did (and I actually think Brisbane are 'alright' atm). But it was hardly convincing and adding a clearly out of condition Stringer to the mix was unlikely to make things better.

13-08-2017, 09:11 PM
I don't disagree but how can things be worse by throwing 'other' solutions at the problem?

I have sat in enough selection rooms to know it isn't that simple and a lot of the time what you think might be 'nice' to do you know you simply cannot do. I am guessing we are in that position but as soon as I saw we planned playing Cloke, Redpath AND bringing Stringer straight back in after injury I changed my tip to the Giants.

Did anyone actually think we could win the game given the personnel/structure we were sending out onto the field?

I don't disagree with you.

I would like to see English come in for our final 2 games at the expense of Redpath but this doesn't address our deplorable entries into the 50 from the likes of our young leaders in Hunter, Macrae and Dahlhaus. They have become so poor at this that they are now gunshy, devoid of confidence, whenever it's their turn to deliver the required disposal.

13-08-2017, 10:26 PM
Bevo is clearly a brilliant coach but the selection magic wand he was able to wave during 2015 and 2016 - regularly making 4+ changes, playing inexperienced players in unfamiliar positions etc - has been broken all year.

The only mitigating factor to the Cloke, Redpath, Stringer thing was 'Bontempelli will cause them so much trouble it wont matter' - and that might have just worked IF the midfield could have held things together without him. But Libber and Wally are SADLY out of form - Dahl is permanently out of form! (so is Libber probably) - so when Bont went forward we got smashed around the ball...then the forwards couldn't get the lace out delivery they need to be effective.

Cloke and Redpath are dinosaurs and if they can't (at least) hold down the ruck for 5-7 minutes per q then they can't play. How much better did Geelong look without Hawkins getting in the way vs the Rance/Taylor matchup? They aren't good enough to play in our side at the moment and that is the reality of where we are at. They both seem like ripping blokes but don't look like playing any more than a serviceable game of footy ever.

For people who are going to say 'Playing Cloke and Redpath together worked against Brisbane, so there', well, fair enough, I guess it did (and I actually think Brisbane are 'alright' atm). But it was hardly convincing and adding a clearly out of condition Stringer to the mix was unlikely to make things better.
A total of 3 goals from Redpath Cloke and Stringer is a strong indication of how poor the forward line functioned. The recruitment of Cloke was always going to be a risk given his poor previous two years at Collingwood. Both Stringer and Liberatore are extremely lucky to be in the team given their poor form this year. When you look at the attacks of Adelaide GWS and the Sydney Swans we simply do not measure up. Dickson is another whose form has dropped off this year. Redpath gives his all but isn't up to the calibre of the key forwards in other teams such as Walker Patton Daniher Roughead Kennedy Riewoldt and Cameron.We are desperate for a quality key forward and this needs to be our number one priority for 2018.

13-08-2017, 10:32 PM
Here's a vexing question. If Greene gets off he will be pivotal in helping GWS overcome West Coke, which we desperately need in order to keep our finals hopes alive. It is actually a disadvantage to us if Greene cops a week for his Jackie Chan impersonation.

Do we want Greene to get off?

13-08-2017, 10:35 PM
I thought the addition of Stringer with no game time was a massive risk and it failed big time

13-08-2017, 10:40 PM
I thought the addition of Stringer with no game time was a massive risk and it failed big time
He'll be better for the run - he needed the hitout in order to get him some valuable match time for the coming weeks. Also there was no VFL game on so there was no option to get some game time at the lower level - probably why we rushed Dunkley into the senior team after only 1 VFL game.

It failed on Friday night but coming in cold against Port might have failed as well.