First Goal: Cloke

Best On Ground: JJ

Big game must win

Go Bulldogs!!

18-08-2017, 11:55 AM
Bulldogs by 31
First goal. Magic Maclean
BOG. Bailey Dale. (Needs a nickname, he just signed an extension we need to get onto that)

18-08-2017, 12:00 PM
Port by 13
BOG Bailey Dale
FG Clokey

18-08-2017, 01:47 PM
Dogs by 23
First Goal - Dickson
BOG - Bont

18-08-2017, 01:48 PM
Dogs by 22

First Goal: Stringer

BOG: Macrae

18-08-2017, 02:06 PM
For woofers who are going have a great day in Ballarat and hopefully we can get a great win which will keep our finals hopes alive and keep our premiership defence going.

We need to take our opportunities when they are there kick accurately and really defend well which was a struggle last week.

18-08-2017, 04:12 PM
Unlike last year, 2017's been one marked by an inability to rise to critical moments and opportunities dashed.

Don't think we're about to buck that trend.

Port by 3 points.

18-08-2017, 04:38 PM
I dreamed that we won and that is a good sign. I am expecting every player to lift. For once we will kick straight and win comfortably. Dogs by 25 points.

18-08-2017, 07:23 PM
Patton was too big, expect Dixon to be similiar
Robbie Gray to have a field day
Cold windy conditions will be great for our goal kicking accuracy ;)

Port by 17
Bog for us - Maclean
1st goal- bonti

18-08-2017, 07:52 PM
Surely doggies win. 18 points
First goal - Libba to return to form
BOG - Daniel

18-08-2017, 10:18 PM
We're not done yet

WB by 35
First Goal Stringer
BOG Bonts

18-08-2017, 10:42 PM
Dogs chilled about task against Power

THE WESTERN Bulldogs are prepared for whatever Port Adelaide and a bitterly cold Ballarat will throw at them on Saturday in the latest test of their finals credentials.

Should results not go their way, the Bulldogs could be eliminated from the finals race by losing to the Power.

If West Coast also defeat Greater Western Sydney and Melbourne beat St Kilda, the Bulldogs would need to beat Hawthorn in round 23 by around 100 points to be in contention for a top-eight spot.

As with all finals calculations, it's all a bit complicated, but not to Bulldogs assistant coach Joel Corey.
"It's pretty simple. If we want to go on and play some finals we need to win," he said.
And that's where Ballarat might help.

Initial reports of snow seem far-fetched, but the mercury is expected to be in single figures for the first AFL match in the goldrush town.

The Bulldogs say they're ready to compete with their sixth-placed visitors in windy and cold conditions.
"Let's just say we know we're not going to play on the Gold Coast," Corey said.

"We played a JLT game there so the boys are familiar with the ground and we've got an expectation of what the weather can be like. We're prepared."

The Bulldogs have returned all-rounder Jason Johannisen and Dale Morris to the side, with Jack Redpath (suspended) and Mitch Wallis (omitted) going out.

Speculation that out-of-sorts midfielder Tom Liberatore might be dropped hasn't come to pass, with Corey defending the young gun's form after a 10-touch game last Friday against GWS.

"He's had a bit of a down season, but he's had a good month even if he was quieter last week," he said.

"In terms of helping the midfield generate positive movement, he's performing an extremely good role."

Port have made changes for the match despite beating in-form Collingwood last Sunday, dropping pair Brendon Ah Chee and Jarman Impey, with Jasper Pittard (calf) injured.

Todd Marshall will play his first AFL game, Riley Bonner will line up for his second and Rising Star contender Sam Powell-Pepper resumes.

They'll all run out to a carnival atmosphere at the recently rebadged 11,000-capacity Mars Stadium.
"Living in a smaller town, when something big happens in the town it generates real energy," Corey said.

"Hopefully they'll get to witness a good game of football as well."

18-08-2017, 10:53 PM
Will come out fighting tomorrow. I'm sure after last week we would have been really dissapointed especially after a promising 1st half to end up losing by 8-9 goals. As a merantau said need a big effort from all our players tomorrow.

19-08-2017, 01:14 PM
At the VFL; Roberts is here, Wallis is not

19-08-2017, 01:26 PM
Dogs by 7 points
BOG: Bont
First goal: Dickson

19-08-2017, 01:27 PM
At the VFL; Roberts is here, Wallis is not

The thanks button is broken. So thanks.

19-08-2017, 01:35 PM
Crowd is comng in early and it will be close to a sell out. Ive never really liked Ballarat so let's see if today changes that view. A win might help :)

19-08-2017, 01:39 PM
Could Wallis be a late in? Conditions suit.

19-08-2017, 01:47 PM
Originally felt Wallis out was odd given the conditions and premium on contested ball - shades of Libba out versus GWS a while back.

We shall see.

19-08-2017, 01:51 PM
Too cold for JJ's hammy' maybe.

19-08-2017, 01:57 PM
I wonder hiw many from WOOF have made the trip?

19-08-2017, 02:06 PM
No changes to either team.

19-08-2017, 02:14 PM
I have run into one

19-08-2017, 02:26 PM

Not me. Too far, too cold.
Good luck, have fun.

19-08-2017, 02:28 PM
I'm here. It's cold but not that bad.

Baked potato a real treat at a footy match.

19-08-2017, 02:32 PM
I'm here. It's cold but not that bad.

Baked potato a real treat at a footy match.
Sun shining as well

19-08-2017, 02:42 PM
Far better for those who have made the trip. For those who haven't, we have Dwayne to put up with for two and half hours :(:(

19-08-2017, 02:45 PM
Far better for those who have made the trip. For those who haven't, we have Dwayne to put up with for two and half hours :(:(

And Spud Frawley for good measure. Kill me now.

On the bright side Lewy Young has the long sleeves on.

19-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Dale!!

Gets the first

Great goal.

19-08-2017, 02:56 PM
Suckers! Booming left foot Goal!

19-08-2017, 03:04 PM
Stringer done for the day. Endemic it tell ya!!!!

19-08-2017, 03:06 PM
Can we actually start a petition to have Dwayne Russell never commentate Bulldogs games? I'm losing the plot listening to him.

19-08-2017, 03:06 PM
Stringer done for the day. Endemic it tell ya!!!!

Yep a hammy again. So frustrating.

19-08-2017, 03:09 PM
Can we actually start a petition to have Dwayne Russell never commentate Bulldogs games? I'm losing the plot listening to him.

I'm losing the plot watching us play

19-08-2017, 03:10 PM
Cloke gets an important one.

19-08-2017, 03:12 PM
Dwayne Russell and Spud Frawley, the best advertisement for not having Foxtel.

19-08-2017, 03:14 PM
Why do we continue to ask Morris to play tall?

19-08-2017, 03:17 PM
Our ball movement is laughable.

19-08-2017, 03:18 PM
I'm backing this is over at halftime

19-08-2017, 03:18 PM
That JJ gimme miss, and then goal to them will be the moment of this game, and maybe season.

We are in trouble.

19-08-2017, 03:19 PM
I think its time to stop the handball club and start the kicking club.

I'm actually not sure there is any benefit to us playing finals this year. Over 20 and a bit games of footy our form line has been established and its ordinary, at times laughable.

I'm backing this is over at halftime

That's good for Matty Boyd getting a farewell game too.

not sure if the wind is huge here.

19-08-2017, 03:20 PM
I think its time to stop the handball club and start the kicking club.

Post of the year. Well done Sir.

We're so awful to watch

No method, no composure, no foot skills.

I'm here!

19-08-2017, 03:21 PM
Only 4 marks kicking with the wind....playing conditions poorly...yep they're marking everything.
Early goals to them in 2nd qtr and we could have a blowout by half time.

If, and that's a big if, we get a set shot in the 2nd qtr, we CANT miss.

19-08-2017, 03:23 PM
I'm actually not sure there is any benefit to us playing finals this year. Over 20 and a bit games of footy our form line has been established and its ordinary, at times laughable.

While some would argue that we won it from 7th last year, our footy this year is a mile off last years best. We'll be done in the first week anyway, but I can't see how we'd make it.

Need to play Bont in the guts Bevo.

Any chace our players can stop falling over?

Not playing that well, but not the end of the world. Still plenty to play with.

19-08-2017, 03:24 PM
Roughy is getting owned.

19-08-2017, 03:29 PM
we are like the team under mc Cartney, trying hard but no team work that sets a plan of attack.

19-08-2017, 03:30 PM
Strange that Dunkley is in the side was poor the last week and hasn't been sighted yet. Why would you rush back at player that isn't a bona fide best 22?

19-08-2017, 03:31 PM
Why do we continue to ask Morris to play tall?

Who else is there though? Roberts? Yeah nah.

19-08-2017, 03:32 PM
I might be on my own, but I don't think we're as bad as many here. Reality is, we're 9th and Port are 6th,there should be a difference between the sides. I'm not there but I don't think the breeze is advantageous as people are saying (happy to be corrected on that though)

Stay the course, Bulldogs.

19-08-2017, 03:34 PM
Bont has been so brave in the air this term. Not getting much footy but he's double teamed in the air and refusing to be out marked

19-08-2017, 03:34 PM
Much better intensity in the last 10min,

19-08-2017, 03:36 PM
Who else is there though? Roberts? Yeah nah.

Cordy is now on Dixon, which is how it should be... but that wasn't his best moment.

19-08-2017, 03:38 PM
JJ needed to put the body on the line in that contest.. Poor effort.

19-08-2017, 03:41 PM
Enough with the needless handball backwards before pointing to the recipient to kick it over your head.

Should have done more there JJ.

How is our forward coach and why do that have a job?

We need him to lift his run and carry could be the difference

19-08-2017, 03:44 PM
Great goal Cloke

19-08-2017, 03:45 PM
Good effort from McLean as well.

19-08-2017, 03:46 PM
Suckers been pretty good.

19-08-2017, 03:48 PM
Great spoil Zaine.

19-08-2017, 03:49 PM
How does Roughead drop that

19-08-2017, 03:50 PM
Where was this in the first qtr? Much better effort.

19-08-2017, 03:50 PM
Bailey Dale 2 goals.

Macrae getting into it.

19-08-2017, 03:51 PM
Supercoach Frawley admonishing us for having twice as many handballs as kicks.

There's a reason we don't kick it Spud.

19-08-2017, 03:52 PM
Great mark Libba.

19-08-2017, 03:54 PM
Bloody hell Bob.

19-08-2017, 03:54 PM
Grandstand shade making it a bit difficult on occasions to tell which player is which on the tv.
Jackson with 20 disposals at 90% second quarter.

19-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Macrae's been huge and Libba's hands have been all quality.

Not thanking Bob for that miss.;)

Good to see Clokey imposing himself. Another half of that would be handy.

19-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Well that's a turn around . Now let's take advantage of the wind this quarter and lower our eyes to our small forwards . And have a shot anytime we are inside 50 .

19-08-2017, 03:57 PM
Much improved as the quarter went on. Macrae has been best on by a mile.

19-08-2017, 03:58 PM
Whatever we paid Bailey Dale to re-sign was dirt cheap.

19-08-2017, 04:00 PM
I hate this thread:D

19-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Gotta utilise the wind better than what we have...can't afford easy goals to them, and we have to take our set shots if we get them.
Do any team in the afl get their kicks smothered as much as ours..?

We need to be harder at the tackle and grab the arm FFS

Need our efficiency to be around the 85% 3rd qtr.

Macrae has been great, Cloke getting involved and Libba doing good things in close.

Just need a cameo qtr from Bont, and roughie to negate the influence of paddy.

19-08-2017, 04:02 PM
Geez one thing that annoys me about our supporters our timid nature.

We need to get a bit more feral and create a cauldron for visiting teams and umpires. Particularly notice it today with the more heavily corporate crowd. I'm a lone wolf getting onto Razor Ray and his belligerent incompetence..

I shake my head at times... Even got a Dogs fan in front of me with four Port Adelaide guests saying "it was there" when I protest a free kick.

Too timid, Dogs!!!

19-08-2017, 04:06 PM
Much more controlled with footy that quarter. Still too much kicking long to outnumbered forwards though.

19-08-2017, 04:08 PM
Geez one thing that annoys me about our supporters our timid nature.

We need to get a bit more feral and create a cauldron for visiting teams and umpires. Particularly notice it today with the more heavily corporate crowd. I'm a lone wolf getting onto Razor Ray and his belligerent incompetence..

I shake my head at times... Even got a Dogs fan in front of me with four Port Adelaide guests saying "it was there" when I protest a free kick.

Too timid, Dogs!!!

Good post Webby, give it to em all.

19-08-2017, 04:10 PM
Need a big 3 quarter and try and get a bigger lead by the time 3 quarter time comes around.

19-08-2017, 04:12 PM
We wrested back control in the last 10 minutes. Need to play manic football and PUNISH the errors THEY WILL MAKE. GO DOGS!

19-08-2017, 04:14 PM
Young is trying hard.

19-08-2017, 04:16 PM
Macrae been everywhere at the start of this qtr

19-08-2017, 04:17 PM
Bailey Dale been good. Great mark.

19-08-2017, 04:17 PM
Bailey gets it. That's 3.

19-08-2017, 04:18 PM
KT with the leap and goal.

19-08-2017, 04:18 PM
Bailey. Freaking. Dale.

19-08-2017, 04:23 PM
Crap start to this quarter- need to get our hands on it

Time in forward half

Us 21%
Them 79%

They seem to be getting everything umpire wise is that how we all see it ?
Not so much frees but ones that aren't paid .

19-08-2017, 04:25 PM
Daniel gets his helmet ripped off and given against him.

19-08-2017, 04:27 PM
Its bad enough we're barely playing mediocre footy, but the umps are reaming us too.

19-08-2017, 04:27 PM
Cloke nearly!

19-08-2017, 04:28 PM
I have to listen to Frawley andy longer I'm going to spew.

19-08-2017, 04:28 PM
How many times this year have we come out of a break in the game and been as flat as a tack?

19-08-2017, 04:29 PM
Ball use is disgusting

19-08-2017, 04:29 PM
Roughead's kick forward right there exemplifies the biggest problem with our game. We have no idea going forward.

19-08-2017, 04:30 PM
We continue with the same dumb decisions with the football that would see us crucified in any finals we might fall arse-first into.

19-08-2017, 04:30 PM
Roughead's kick forward right there exemplifies the biggest problem with our game. We have no idea going forward.

Young follows up after Roughies example.

19-08-2017, 04:32 PM
Kicking off one step is hard.. even for the best of them, what was that Bont?

19-08-2017, 04:32 PM
Unless we can sneak a couple Port would be feeling pretty bullish with their quarter heading into the last.

Crunch time.

19-08-2017, 04:34 PM
Lochie miracle goal.

I hate these reviews

Goal!

How was that not a free against Ryder vs Roughead?

If Morris used Dixon as stepladder without getting anywhere near I wonder what the call would be.

19-08-2017, 04:35 PM
I hate these reviews

Me too. So much uncertainty for a little bit.

19-08-2017, 04:35 PM
Dunks!

19-08-2017, 04:36 PM
How good is Bailey up forward.

19-08-2017, 04:42 PM
Love my Bailey Williams defensive efforts.

19-08-2017, 04:43 PM
Why the f$&x don't we use Cloke or Bont like other sides use blokes like Dickson at Port??

19-08-2017, 04:45 PM
Foxtel would be better off giving spots in the commentary booth to raffle winners from the general public. These clowns are beyond dreadful.

Need another goal. Power will start to doubt themselves

Time for the Bont to use his magic

19-08-2017, 04:46 PM
Hanging on late that term. Anyone's game here.

Whats going on we don't seem to have any idea what to do with our kick outs, tipping a big review of our assistants at the end of season.

For that to happen you need to play him midfield.

19-08-2017, 04:47 PM
Simple really. Win the quarter, the finals dream stays alive. Time to bring all the effort we can muster.

19-08-2017, 04:48 PM
Amazing how much Mclean has developed since being in the midfield, he and Dale are brights lights this year.

10 disposals need a big quarter

Bont needs to lift for us to win

How does everyone rate our chances?

19-08-2017, 04:49 PM

Not confident. Wind has picked up a little now and we're up against it.

19-08-2017, 04:50 PM
I feel we can win, we are fighting this out

I think we'll struggle - unless we can get Bont into the game and some winners forward (ie Dickson)

It can be done! Keep the faith. Let's have a big finish and nail our chances. Manic pressure. All lift. This is it. Let do it!

I feel we can win, we are fighting this out

Ditto.

19-08-2017, 04:51 PM
Not confident. Wind has picked up a little now and we're up against it.
We just need our small forwards to keep that scoreboard ticking over. We can crack them if we get a couple of quick ones

19-08-2017, 04:54 PM
Unless we stop squandering the footy and inviting trouble, we're buggered.

19-08-2017, 04:54 PM
With that ass we can't win

19-08-2017, 04:55 PM
Haha what an arsey goal. Port are going to steam over the top of us.

19-08-2017, 04:55 PM
Aaaaand cue the arsey one-in-a-million goal we always seem to cop against us.

19-08-2017, 04:57 PM
Libba! Liked some of the things he has done today.

19-08-2017, 04:58 PM
Libba gets an important one. Great effort.

19-08-2017, 04:58 PM
Libba! Liked some of the things he has done today.
I might be biased here but there is only one player on the ground capable of doing what he just did

19-08-2017, 05:00 PM
Bailey Dale you star!

19-08-2017, 05:01 PM
Clutch goal. Its hard to type

Dale's class is such a shining light.

Great stuff Bailey Dale!

19-08-2017, 05:02 PM
Sign Morris now.

19-08-2017, 05:03 PM
Just need a couple of things to go our way from here.

Hunter picked a bad time to get the fumbles.

Dixon is a monster.

19-08-2017, 05:06 PM
We've really got no answer for Ryder or Dixon. If I'm Port I'm looking for them as often as possible.

19-08-2017, 05:06 PM
Come on Roughead we need something from you this year time is now!

19-08-2017, 05:07 PM
Port going to be hard to stop now. Some poor decision making and poor tackle application in the last few minutes.

High and slow. Someone should be getting a fist in

JJ skills have been deplorable today.

19-08-2017, 05:09 PM
Let's just kick it to wherever Ryder is because we can't out mark him and then let him kick it to Dickson on his own .. That's our game plan.

19-08-2017, 05:13 PM
Has Dickson done anything today beside give frees away?

Did anyone tip a draw?

Dickson has been an absolute liability today

Horrible by Dickson!!

19-08-2017, 05:14 PM
That was a soft goal to give up. Story of our season.

Stick a fork in us.

19-08-2017, 05:14 PM
Game over i feel. Story of our season, unable to play consistent football for 4 quarters.

19-08-2017, 05:15 PM
Young shouldn't be playing. Third week of terrible form.

19-08-2017, 05:16 PM
Dahlhaus. Fair dinkum.

19-08-2017, 05:17 PM
Season over !!!!

19-08-2017, 05:18 PM
*!*!*!*! off dickson and dahlhaus

19-08-2017, 05:18 PM
Book your September hols. That's 2017 done.

19-08-2017, 05:19 PM
Dahlhaus. Fair dinkum.

He's had a howler... Like much of his season.

Love his attack on the ball & tenacity, but the rest is why he was drafted on the rookie list.

19-08-2017, 05:19 PM
Big decisions on a fair number of former premiership heroes coming up this off season.

19-08-2017, 05:20 PM
It's over. It's all over.

19-08-2017, 05:20 PM
Well that is the nail in this season. What a debacle 2017 has been.

19-08-2017, 05:21 PM
And the Bont is still in the forward line

19-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Didn't deserve to win...them much harder and much smarter
And certainly don't deserve to play finals.
Some big decisions need to be made.

19-08-2017, 05:22 PM
At least we've been put out of our 2017 misery.

19-08-2017, 05:23 PM
All very much to script. Our limitations make us toothless and predictable. We'd be easy pickings for any finals opponent.

Oh well.

On the bright side, this was the developmental year we had to have for blokes like McLean, Dale, Williams, Cordy, Young et al to help plug holes left by declining and retiring vets. With a few more very much yet to plug ...

All eyes on McCartney from here.

19-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Big decisions on a fair number of former premiership heroes coming up this off season.

Coaching panel for me as well.

19-08-2017, 05:25 PM
He's had a howler... Like much of his season.

Love his attack on the ball & tenacity, but the rest is why he was drafted on the rookie list.

Aye. Too often he's a disruptor of our possession chains with panicked, wayward disposal that puts teammates under pressure.

One of many who need to get their shit together if we're to advance as a unit.

19-08-2017, 05:25 PM
We lost that game playing really stupid football . Story of our season.
Look for the opposition talls every week, amazing how many times we get them exactly where they would want it , you would swear they lead and called it at times.

19-08-2017, 05:26 PM
Time to get rid of our insipid ball users

19-08-2017, 05:26 PM
As proud as i was of the guys last year i am almost equally dissapointed in how many of them have performed this year.
I'll always be grateful for 2016..but this has been one of the most unenjoyable seasons I've watched. Even the games that we've won have not been great performances and our losses have been terrible.

19-08-2017, 05:27 PM
We lost that game playing really stupid football . Story of our season.
Look for the opposition talls every week, amazing how many times we get them exactly where they would want it , you would swear they lead and called it at times.

Dixon/Ryder/westoff would have enjoyed today.

I want to know if the mid field coach and the forward coach actually talked to each other during the year.

Coaching panel for me as well.

Given we changed everything after a premiership, we'll probably keep everything the same for next year.

Irate at how our club has handled this season from top to bottom

19-08-2017, 05:31 PM
As proud as i was of the guys last year i am almost equally disappointed in how many of them have performed this year.
I'll always be grateful for 2016..but this has been one of the most unenjoyable seasons I've watched. Even the games that we've won have not been great performances and our losses have been terrible.

I second this YHF, after last season I would never have dreamt of such a disappointing and half hearted effort.

19-08-2017, 05:31 PM
Just not good enough, we need some mids and a ruckman

19-08-2017, 05:35 PM
Given we changed everything after a premiership, we'll probably keep everything the same for next year.

Irate at how our club has handled this season from top to bottom

I'm with you...there was a wiff of arrogance in changing the coaches around for mine.
But also, the attitude of the players for a lot of the year left a lot to be desired.
Hunger needs to be found again, and we need to go back to what worked in the finals last year.

Murph and Boyd deserved a better, more committed year to go out on some high. The fact murph won't play a final after heartbreak last year is unforgiving.

19-08-2017, 05:35 PM

And some tall forwards and probably some key defence depth....

19-08-2017, 05:37 PM
And some tall forwards and probably some key defence depth....
Yes you are right

19-08-2017, 05:38 PM
Well, I'm glad that year is over. I'm disappointed for the Club, the players and our supporters. For myself, I'm gutted. So much effort this year to paper over the cracks and, whilst it would have been good to play finals again, the harsh reality is that we have been way off for a long time.
I'm going to take a breather and try to analyse the reasons for our demise. Right now I just feel numb.
I won't knock the effort by the players though. We played one short and have been decimated by injury since we won the Flag. Come on 2018!

19-08-2017, 05:41 PM

And a tenacious small forward or two, and a mobile key position backman, and some polished outside run, and ...

19-08-2017, 05:44 PM
At least my drive home will be a bit more scenic. Last game for the year for me. I'll miss Bobby's exit unfortunately.

19-08-2017, 06:01 PM
Massive disappointment for all of us , and it's hard list management wise determining a hangover or a player on the down .
Changes will be made regardless

19-08-2017, 06:05 PM
Well that is 2017 pretty much done and dusted unless other results miraculously go our way to keep us in but can't see it happen. A lot to review at the end of the season.

On the match today: Macrae was fantastic today 41 disposals. Bailey Dale another who will do well our club best and fairest this year looked great up in the forward line taking some clean marks and keeping goals. Caleb Daniel, JJ were ok and Libba did some good things that goal in the final term very good. Morris is a star and took some great marks down back - certainly not surprised to see him play on next year.

Very disappointing that we could not close it out when the game was in the balance in the final term to really get a lead which would make it harder for them. Let them back in. Was pretty close all day and really frustrating not to get that one with what was on the line for us.

19-08-2017, 06:06 PM
It's amazing how bad you look when you've had a half arsed pre season. Every small deficiency gets exposed and you never catch up. Great players turn into good players, good players turn into average players and so on. Everything that can go wrong has gone wrong.

We are all dissapointed and rightly so, but I've no doubt so will the players. We need a good old fashion long pre season.

19-08-2017, 06:08 PM
It's amazing how bad you look when you've had a half arsed pre season. Every small deficiency gets exposed and you never catch up. Great players turn into good players, good players turn into average players and so on. Everything that can go wrong has gone wrong.

We are all dissapointed and rightly so, but I've no doubt so will the players. We need a good old fashion long pre season.

Was shorter last year obviously because we won the premiership but having a longer pre season could be the best thing to happen to us.

19-08-2017, 06:13 PM
I still think our list is good, it's more getting the right game plan to suit it.
Its also obvious that most of the players we thought would make us stronger got injured or had issues.
Adams and Boyd leaving a huge gap.
libber I can't pin the problem but what a drop.
Our delivery into the forward line more than anything destroyed us.

19-08-2017, 06:18 PM
Was shorter last year obviously because we won the premiership but having a longer pre season could be the best thing to happen to us.

Finished later than usual too. Not having operations half way through October will be a big difference. But the biggest difference has to be attitude.

19-08-2017, 06:20 PM
Almost a relief to be honest. Would have loved to sneak in but we simply aren't anywhere near the top echelon in 2017. Adelaide, Sydney and GWS all pantsed us so we really would have been making up the numbers.

I will forever appreciate what the club did in 2016, but truth be told we never got going in 2017. I am happy for the club to make whatever changes necessary to get back into contention mode. Premiership heroes or not, we need to look at all 44 players on the list and see who is a keeper and who is tradeable for the right price. It's a small list of keepers for mine.

19-08-2017, 06:26 PM
Sedat, I'd be very interested to know...lever or kelly if we could have 1.
Where are we most deficient?

20-08-2017, 12:13 PM
JJ ran around by himself all day but I didn't see him cleanly take possession once. Fumble after fumble.

Such a frustrating year. What a waste.

20-08-2017, 09:51 PM
Finished later than usual too. Not having operations half way through October will be a big difference. But the biggest difference has to be attitude.

Yes for sure.

Hopefully we get most our players on the park when pre season comes around. No taking it easy really knuckling down and preparing for next season as best as possible.

Attitude also. I think we kind of thought that it would just fall on our lap again in 2017 but what I have learned from this season is if you take a relaxed attitude and think it will happen again you need to think again and hopefully we learn from this and reset and come out strong and a hard team to beat in 2018.

20-08-2017, 10:58 PM
Sedat, I'd be very interested to know...lever or kelly if we could have 1.
Where are we most deficient?
You could mount an argument for both being able to address urgent deficiencies. Kelly is probably the best two-way runner in the comp and has deadly disposal skills, is quick around the ground, can win his own ball inside and also link up outside, and is crazy brave to complete the package. Lever is a gun key defender who can zone off and also compete one-on-one.

We have pressing needs for both types.

20-08-2017, 10:58 PM
duplicate post