View Full Version : Match Committee - Round 2, 2018 vs West Coast Eagles

16-03-2018, 01:09 AM
If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee what changes would you make for our round 2, 2018 match against West Coast at Etihad Stadium?

As always a brief explanation for your changes would add a lot of value to the discussion.

25-03-2018, 04:25 PM
I have a feeling there might be a few changes for our game against West Coast

25-03-2018, 04:52 PM
Out - 2017/8 Beveridge & Coaching group
In - 2015/6 Beveridge & Coaching group

25-03-2018, 05:03 PM
Tricky one this week. Our notionally last.4 picked were all serviceable and our core experienced midfield group especially was pathetic.

If we drop the likes of Honeychurch and Gowers we aren't addressing the problems from today. You'd almost be inclined to back in the non-injured 22 this week to respond with purpose.

25-03-2018, 05:06 PM
We are a stubborn group so not expecting much in terms of change

Out Liberatore, Crozier, Gowers and Williams
In Wallis, Richards, Young/Redpath and Daniel

25-03-2018, 05:11 PM
We took one of our youngest teams for the past two years, we need some experience back.

25-03-2018, 05:49 PM
Out - Libba, Roberts, Williams, Crozier
In - Wallis, Dickson, Schache, Caleb

Trengrove and Wood to play back.

25-03-2018, 05:51 PM
Out: Libba, Williams, Gowers, Crozier
In: Wallis, Redpath, Young, Daniel

25-03-2018, 05:52 PM
Out - Libba, Roberts, Williams, Crozier
In - Wallis, Dickson, Schache/Boyd, Daniel

Trengrove and Wood must play in the backline.

25-03-2018, 05:53 PM
Trengrove and Wood must play in the backline.

and maybe Cordy forward

25-03-2018, 05:54 PM
Out - Libba, Roberts, Williams
In - Wallis, Dickson, Schache/Boyd.

Trengrove and Wood must play in the backline.Crozier will be out for 3 or 4

25-03-2018, 05:59 PM
Daniel must slot back in

25-03-2018, 06:08 PM
Crozier will be out for 3 or 4

Really? Oh bugger, didn't realise that. OK, Daniel in for Crozier.

25-03-2018, 06:29 PM
Out: Liberatore, Crozier, Williams
In: Daniel, Jong, Richards

JJ and Wood play back, Daniel forward half, Jong add some speed around the contest and an option up front, Richards gets his chance for Williams (who I remain a fan of, but didn’t have a great game).

25-03-2018, 06:54 PM
Probably too early for me to have a dip at ins and team balance....

But, I would say as far as players we need to look at;

Obviously Libba and Crozier are out.
Williams isn’t up to it for mine. Isn’t good enough in the contest, and I have no confidence when he gets the footy.

All of English, Gowers and Honeychurch - who were the ‘suspect’ selections - acquitted themselves well and were good triers - but we have to consider how Boyd, Jong, Dickson and Daniel would have fared in the team given what each of them bring to the side.

25-03-2018, 09:20 PM
Jong in for Libba
Redpath or Boyd to play forward. Wood to defence to replace Crozier.
Dickson or Daniel in for Bailey Dale.
Maybe I'm just clutching at straws!

25-03-2018, 09:41 PM
Jesus that was bloody awful. Our inability to chain possessions together was quite frankly embarrassing to see from a professional football side.

In: Richards, Schache, Wallis

Out: Liberatore, Crozier, Trengove

EDIT - Daniel should also definitely play - probably for Gowers, who maybe doesn't deserve it, but didn't deserve the game in the first place.

25-03-2018, 10:34 PM
Out: Gowers, Liberatore, Crozier, Naughton
In: Dickson, Daniel, Jong, Redpath

25-03-2018, 10:47 PM
Out: Gowers, Liberatore, Crozier, Naughton
In: Dickson, Daniel, Jong, Redpath

Would Naughton or Roberts be the better match-up for Jack Darling or does that fall to Wood?

25-03-2018, 11:29 PM
Would Naughton or Roberts be the better match-up for Jack Darling or does that fall to Wood?

Trengove could go back with Redpath in the side

26-03-2018, 12:27 PM
Thought Trengove was looking ok in the preseason as the forward ruck, so why we played all 3 of he, Rough & English is ...confusing. Jackson was the worst performed of the 3, but was thrown under the bus.

So either they abandon Trengove in that role and throw him back or drop one of English / Rough, who weren't in our worst.

I thought with Gowers coming in (who was ok I thought) they had finally woken up to Wood not working out in F50. Surely this move now lands on the island of best left forgotten.

Stating the obvious, but losing a fit and motivated Libba is a hammer blow.

In: Wallis, Richards, Daniel
Out: Libba, Crozier, Roberts

Do they try and find room for Redpath? IDK....seriously pessimistic (which is fine really)

26-03-2018, 12:29 PM
Out: Libba Crozier
In: Wallis Redpath

Wood to play back in Crozier's spot. Tempted to drop Williams but he gets one more chance.

26-03-2018, 01:12 PM
Out- Libba, Crozier

In- Dickson, Daniel

Dickson in defence for his experience. Roberts up forward to improve his flexibility. I liked what I saw of Dunkley in the ruck and would give him more game time there, so I'd play English off the half back flank. Keep Wood forward. JJ to play more as an inside mid, and move Macrae to our deep forward bail out option. Given Daniel's a bit underdone I'd play him in the back pocket to find some touch and try Williams on a forward flank.

26-03-2018, 01:22 PM
lol :cool:

26-03-2018, 01:27 PM
Out- Libba, Crozier

In- Dickson, Daniel

Dickson in defence for his experience. Roberts up forward to improve his flexibility. I liked what I saw of Dunkley in the ruck and would give him more game time there, so I'd play English off the half back flank. Keep Wood forward. JJ to play more as an inside mid, and move Macrae to our deep forward bail out option. Given Daniel's a bit underdone I'd play him in the back pocket to find some touch and try Williams on a forward flank.

Devlis advocate:

Roberts kicked the goal that put us into the 2014 VFL Grand Final. And Macrae was the deep forward that kicked the goal that put us into a granny.

Moral of the story: Its only a stupid idea if you try it and it doesn't work. ;)

26-03-2018, 01:37 PM
This thread is getting ridiculous to say the least

26-03-2018, 01:57 PM
In: Wallis, Daniel, Red

Out: Liberatore, Crozier, Williams/Cordy....

Trengove to play full back. Wood in backline too.

26-03-2018, 02:07 PM
Out- Libba, Crozier

In- Dickson, Daniel

Beautiful stuff 'Stache. When did you land the job with our match committee mate? You never told us that .

26-03-2018, 03:04 PM
B. Biggs Cordy Naughton
HB. Wood Trengrove JJ
C. Hunter Maclean Macrae
HF. Suckling Roughead Dale
F. Dunkley Schache Dahlhaus.
R. English Wallis Bontempelli
Int. Daniel Jong Williams Roberts
In. Daniel Wallis Jong Schache
Out. Liberatore Crozier Gowers Honeychurch
Wood JJ and Trengrove provides badly needed experience down back. Suckling disposal from defence is erratic but is capable of kicking goals at half forward where he was used by Hawthorn. The recall of Wallis Daniel and Jong provides more flexibility in the midfield weakened by the loss of Liberatore. Roughead at CHF to provide some relief for English in the ruck. Schache should help give us a tall marking target up forward. Trengrove went three quarters against GWS without touching the ball and will be better suited in defence.

26-03-2018, 03:59 PM
B. Biggs Cordy Naughton
HB. Wood Trengrove JJ
C. Hunter Maclean Macrae
HF. Suckling Roughead Dale
F. Dunkley Schache Dahlhaus.
R. English Wallis Bontempelli
Int. Daniel Jong Williams Roberts
In. Daniel Wallis Jong Schache
Out. Liberatore Crozier Gowers Honeychurch
Wood JJ and Trengrove provides badly needed experience down back. Suckling disposal from defence is erratic but is capable of kicking goals at half forward where he was used by Hawthorn. The recall of Wallis Daniel and Jong provides more flexibility in the midfield weakened by the loss of Liberatore. Roughead at CHF to provide some relief for English in the ruck. Schache should help give us a tall marking target up forward. Trengrove went three quarters against GWS without touching the ball and will be better suited in defence.

I don't believe English is our number one ruckman at this stage. He has played 3 games.

26-03-2018, 06:06 PM
Out: Libba, Crozier, Williams, Honeychurch, Gowers

In: Wallis, Daniel, Redders, Dickson, Jong

26-03-2018, 06:09 PM

I like your ins, I need to think about who goes out

27-03-2018, 01:31 AM

27-03-2018, 10:32 AM

The only player I'd consider not dropping is Gowers, reckon he may deserve another crack at it.

27-03-2018, 11:31 AM
The only player I'd consider not dropping is Gowers, reckon he may deserve another crack at it.

He does.

27-03-2018, 04:22 PM
Bevo Press Conference:

*The mood is good, we’ve just been through first part of the review. Positive thing about dissecting the game is you see areas you can grow this week.

* I said on the weekend, especially in this period of significant change in terms of on field personnel, is support that change. The players are determined to get better this week

* There’s a lot of room for improvement, but GWS were pretty impressive.

* Easton covered as much ground as any, but was chasing orange jumpers for most of it. There’s a chance he might start back, but we will assess that in selection this week

* Tim looks ready to take on challenge of being an AFL ruckman. There was some encouraging things forward. Being tall, he will attract a crowd in the air.

* We will prepare him pretty well for a big test against Nic Naitanui

* Caleb had a bit of an interruption, that’s why he didn’t play in Moe. He had a good session yesterday so he’ll be in contention for Sunday

* Picko is still getting some headaches & training with footballs isn’t working out for him. How far away his return is, we’re still working through that. I think he will play footy again this year

* It’s unfortunate for Hayden, he’s had a good preparation. He’ll be back hopefully within 4-5 weeks.

27-03-2018, 04:26 PM
That's some great spin

The upside of losing so badly is that we've identified so many things to work on. When you win like GWS it's really hard to find things you can do better so if you think about it we're actually better off than they are.

27-03-2018, 04:31 PM
That's some great spin

The upside of losing so badly is that we've identified so many things to work on. When you win like GWS it's really hard to find things you can do better so if you think about it we're actually better off than they are.

Hopefully we get some players back this week with Caleb looking a likely. English won't be dropped and Wood to the backline.

27-03-2018, 04:46 PM
Hopefully we get some players back this week with Caleb looking a likely. English won't be dropped and Wood to the backline.
Like.
A good ball user and playing Wood back will help, and I think English deserves his spot.

27-03-2018, 05:04 PM

Caleb would be a big help but we need the guys at the coalface doing the work for him to be effective. That probably means we need Wallis in the center proving himself in Libba's absence. Wood back would be good and maybe Trengove if there's a matchup for him (no idea who our matchup is for Kennedy but I expect Roberts to be as effective as a wet piece of tissue paper). English was good last week but do we need 3 ruckmen? One of them goes for probably Redpath who is probably the better forward. Or Trengove back and Roberts out for Redpath.

27-03-2018, 05:11 PM
Caleb would be a big help but we need the guys at the coalface doing the work for him to be effective. That probably means we need Wallis in the center proving himself in Libba's absence. Wood back would be good and maybe Trengove if there's a matchup for him (no idea who our matchup is for Kennedy but I expect Roberts to be as effective as a wet piece of tissue paper). English was good last week but do we need 3 ruckmen? One of them goes for probably Redpath who is probably the better forward. Or Trengove back and Roberts out for Redpath.

You will be happy to know Kennedy won't be back for a few rounds, still out with injury.

27-03-2018, 05:13 PM
You will be happy to know Kennedy won't be back for a few rounds, still out with injury.
I AM happy to hear that. Forgot about that little detail.

That said I've not forgotten last time they were here and he was out.

27-03-2018, 06:25 PM
Link (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-03-27/beveridge-press-conference-five-key-takeaways)

Luke Beveridge addressed the media on Tuesday afternoon at Victoria University Whitten Oval, and westernbulldogs.com.au lists the

five key takeaways.

1. Review is done. Mood is good

The Bulldogs completed their review of Sunday’s loss to the Giants and the mood across the group is good according to Beveridge, with a clear understanding of where improvements are needed.
“The mood is good. We’ve just been through the first part of our review.

“The positive thing about dissecting the game is that you see all of the opportunities for improvement. We’ve come out of that meeting feeling pretty good about how we can grow this week and make a pretty good account of ourselves this Sunday.”

2. He’s comfortable being measured against 2016

Asked if the Club was being marked against the premiership year, Beveridge said he welcomed the pressure on his team to again become a side that is difficult to play against.
“I suppose in a way, we welcome that. We’ve created that expectation now that we can be a formidable side, if we don’t win the day we’ll be hard to beat. We weren’t hard to beat on Sunday.

“No matter where we are in the time frame and how we’re evolving, I think it is a good thing because we want to put ourselves under that sort of pressure where we are difficult to play against.
“I think the commentary around us, I haven’t been privy to all of it, I think it’s welcomed and we’re determined to be that side again.”

3. Caleb in contention

There’s at least two spots available this weekend with Caleb Daniel a possibility to fill one of them according to the coach. Strong VFL form from a handful of other players could also see them force their way into the side.
‘’Caleb will be in the mix. He had a bit of an interruption, that’s why he didn’t play in Moe unfortunately. He had a pretty solid training session yesterday and will be in calculations.”

“A handful of the boys played pretty well on the weekend against Geelong in a VFL trial game. We’ve obviously got two spots up for grabs and whether or not there’s any more, time will tell.”

4. English ready to step up

Beveridge said that English’s form was one of the bright spots of the weekend, and a looming battle with Eagles ruckman won’t phase the second year man..
“He looks like he’s ready to take on the challenge of being an AFL ruckman at the tender age of 20.
“We liked the way he contested the ball at ground level, and he uses the ball pretty well for a big fella, so there’s some really encouraging things.
“We’ll prepare him pretty well and he won’t go it alone (against Naitanui). It’ll be a big test, he’s a great athlete, Nick.

“He’s pretty level-headed. Even when he was on the lighter side last year, he played against some pretty big boys in the VFL, and he found a way to play to his strengths, (which was) his agility and his scope to cover ground, so he’ll play to those and we’ll try and work to those as well.”

5. The timeline of Liam Picken’s return is unclear

Beveridge is confident that Picken will return to the side at some point this season, but due to the nature of concussions, it’s difficult to provide an exact timeline.
“We’ve got him down as indefinite and that hasn’t changed. He’s still getting some headaches and training with the balls isn’t working out for him at the moment, so there’s some concerns there and how far away his return is, I just can’t tell you.

“(As I’ve said before) I just can’t see a time when Liam comes to us and says, and we’ll work to that point with him, and says ‘I’m ready’, so I think he’ll play footy before the year is out, I just don’t know when that will be.

“He’s seeing some specialist outside the Club to help him and give our staff some advice so we’re really hitting it head on in looking after his well-being and we’ll be really well advised by the time he comes to us and says ‘I want to play’, as to whether or not that’s a good idea.”

27-03-2018, 08:45 PM
So I’ve watched Bevo’s press conference now.

I obviously need to reset my expectations for 2018 - as we obviously have different expectations internally to what I thought.

And that’s fine. There is a fairly clear message there about how we are changing the side personnel wise, and we are not sure when we will be playing good footy.

27-03-2018, 08:59 PM
So I’ve watched Bevo’s press conference now.

I obviously need to reset my expectations for 2018 - as we obviously have different expectations internally to what I thought.

And that’s fine. There is a fairly clear message there about how we are changing the side personnel wise, and we are not sure when we will be playing good footy.

Yeah-tempering my expectations too. Found it interesting he thought Cordy did ok when I thought he along with a lot of our players had howlers. Got a feeling wood and Trengove will be back in defence a fair bit. My guess is Bevo is reviewing his flexible position mantra a tad and that he puts himself under microscope as much as players.

Out:Libba, Crozier, Williams, Roberts (tried hard but if wood/Trengove go back...)
In: Jong, Wally (if not ready then Dickson), Daniel, Redpath

28-03-2018, 12:40 AM
Bevo Press Conference:

*The mood is good, we’ve just been through first part of the review. Positive thing about dissecting the game is you see areas you can grow this week.

* I said on the weekend, especially in this period of significant change in terms of on field personnel, is support that change. The players are determined to get better this week

* There’s a lot of room for improvement, but GWS were pretty impressive.

* Easton covered as much ground as any, but was chasing orange jumpers for most of it. There’s a chance he might start back, but we will assess that in selection this week

* Tim looks ready to take on challenge of being an AFL ruckman. There was some encouraging things forward. Being tall, he will attract a crowd in the air.

* We will prepare him pretty well for a big test against Nic Naitanui

* Caleb had a bit of an interruption, that’s why he didn’t play in Moe. He had a good session yesterday so he’ll be in contention for Sunday

* Picko is still getting some headaches & training with footballs isn’t working out for him. How far away his return is, we’re still working through that. I think he will play footy again this year

* It’s unfortunate for Hayden, he’s had a good preparation. He’ll be back hopefully within 4-5 weeks.

Amazed the media have just asked about Woods form now, he has been out of form for 12 months. I'm guessing Bevo changed his role to spark him but it hasn't quite worked.

28-03-2018, 03:40 PM
Bevo Press Conference:

Jaysus, this sounds pretty dire. I hope we haven't seen the last of him. I wouldn't begrudge him walking away for a second though, especially with three small kids.

28-03-2018, 05:11 PM
Jaysus, this sounds pretty dire. I hope we haven't seen the last of him. I wouldn't begrudge him walking away for a second though, especially with three small kids.
It would certainly make the decision to play on or finish up at the end of the year easier though.

29-03-2018, 09:41 AM
B: Wood, Trengove, Cordy
HB: JJ, Naughton, Biggs
C: Hunter, Macrae, Dale
HF: McLean, Roughead, Daniel
F: Dahlhaus, Redpath, Dunkley
R: English, Bont, Jong

Int: Suckling, HC, Wallis, Dickson

In: Redpath, Jong, Daniel, Wallis, Dickson
Out: Libba, Crozier, Roberts, Gowers, Williams

Still not entirely happy with the team, but I think it's the best we can do at present.

29-03-2018, 09:44 AM

Still not entirely happy with the team, but I think it's the best we can do at present.

That looks much closer to a football team than what took the field in round 1.

29-03-2018, 09:49 AM

That is how I would go, but I bet Gowers and Williams are retained.

29-03-2018, 12:59 PM

A bloody good team. If we come to play that team would be very hard to beat.

29-03-2018, 02:05 PM
Ok, who has a brilliant memory, because I sure don't, when did we last have an unchanged team?

29-03-2018, 02:39 PM
Ok, who has a brilliant memory, because I sure don't, when did we last have an unchanged team?

Grand Final :)

29-03-2018, 03:34 PM
Biggsy might've offered a small hint ...

http://i64.tinypic.com/10dej29.png

29-03-2018, 03:36 PM
Ed Richards to debut

29-03-2018, 04:03 PM
Ed Richards to debut

Selection a big win for Lou's grand-nephew (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-29/selection-a-big-win-for-lous-grandnephew)

WESTERN Bulldogs' top draft pick Ed Richards will make his debut against West Coast on Sunday to continue the family’s long-standing tradition in the AFL.

Pick 16 in last year's NAB AFL Draft, Richards will replace Hayden Crozier across half-back after an impressive performance in last week's VFL practice match against Geelong.

The 18-year-old is the grandson of Collingwood legend Ron Richards and grand-nephew of AFL icon Lou Richards.

29-03-2018, 04:03 PM
Interesting, confirmed on afl.com.au

An injection of enthusiasm into the side?

29-03-2018, 04:05 PM
Bulldogs set to turn to hulking forward (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-29/bulldogs-set-to-turn-to-hulking-forward)

WESTERN Bulldogs midfielder Lachie Hunter has backed hulking key forward Jack Redpath to return from suspension for Sunday's clash with West Coast at Etihad Stadium.

Redpath missed the Bulldogs' opening round thrashing at the hands of Greater Western Sydney due to a three-week ban he received for striking Giant Phil Davis in round 21 last season.

With Luke Beveridge's men only scoring 7.9 from 51 forward-50 entries at a worrying 37 per cent efficiency in the 82-point loss in Canberra, Hunter said the inclusion of the 27-year-old former rookie would give the side a strong focal point.

Redpath has kicked 54 goals from 34 games and was added to the leadership group this season.

"Hopefully he comes back in (because) he was playing really well in the scratch matches and he was looking like he was in really good form," Hunter said on Thursday.

"He's that old-style forward who is someone to hit up coming out of the goalsquare, so he is nice to have in the team structurally."

The capitulation against the Giants was the worst loss the club has had under Beveridge, and it lead club president Peter Gordon to label the performance "embarrassing".

While he conceded the effort was sub-standard, Hunter said the debrief was measured and the team is confident they can bounce back against the Eagles.

"I did listen to a little bit of (what) Peter Gordon said, (and) it was a disappointing effort from our team in round one and we look to perform a lot better this week," he said.

"I wouldn't say it was a scathing review, we looked at we did wrong and a couple of things we did well, like every week.

"There were clearly a few areas we can improve like ball movement, stuff around the contest and pressure where we let ourselves down.

"Round one performances can be blown up into something they're not, (compared) to round four or five, so you've just got to treat it like it is one game."

"We have to move on as quick as we can."

In better news for the Dogs, Liam Picken did some running drills at training on Friday in his recovery from a concussion received in the JLT Community Series.

The 31-year-old has been suffering reoccurring headaches and has been restricted from doing ball work.

The Dogs are taking a cautious approach with the tough midfielder, with no timeframe given for his return to full training.

29-03-2018, 04:14 PM

As far as I can tell: Round 5 2017 v Brisbane (Bob's 300th). Unfortunately my memory had nothing to do with it.

29-03-2018, 04:19 PM
Selection a big win for Lou's grand-nephew (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-29/selection-a-big-win-for-lous-grandnephew)

WESTERN Bulldogs' top draft pick Ed Richards will make his debut against West Coast on Sunday to continue the family’s long-standing tradition in the AFL.

Pick 16 in last year's NAB AFL Draft, Richards will replace Hayden Crozier across half-back after an impressive performance in last week's VFL practice match against Geelong.

The 18-year-old is the grandson of Collingwood legend Ron Richards and grand-nephew of AFL icon Lou Richards.

Going even younger

29-03-2018, 04:23 PM
Going even younger

I am guessing...

In: Red, Richards, Wallis, Daniel
Out: Libba, Williams, Crozier, Gowers

I like Williams but he plays with the maturity of a rookie, so brining in Richards won't hurt us in terms of composure. Might even help.

29-03-2018, 04:24 PM
Going even younger

Yeah. Just what we need.....

Nothing against Richards. I just hope that by bringing in another debutant, we are also bringing in more experienced players in place of 1 or 2 of last weeks inexperienced players.

29-03-2018, 04:26 PM
Yeah. Just what we need.....

Nothing against Richards. I just hope that by bringing in another debutant, we are also bringing in more experienced players in place of 1 or 2 of last weeks inexperienced players.

As long as they are ready and not in for the sake of being experienced. I think Rocco has nailed it.

29-03-2018, 04:30 PM
Yeah it's about composure. Obviously the most years in the system you have, the more like you are to have it however Bailey Williams' lack of composure/awareness at AFL level the same as a low-average rookie's.

29-03-2018, 04:31 PM
With Naughton I think we are making an error if we see him as a tall-ish option, should only be getting a game if we see him in a mid-sized role.

29-03-2018, 04:32 PM
English has more composure than Tom Campbell (obviously physically very far off him).

29-03-2018, 04:32 PM
With Naughton I think we are making an error if we see him as a tall-ish option, should only be getting a game if we see him in a mid-sized role.

Agree he is only 2cm taller than The Bont - he is not a KPP - yet. He will probably grow a bit.

English grew 2cm since drafting him and is now 207cm

29-03-2018, 04:37 PM
Agree he is only 2cm taller than The Bont - he is not a KPP - yet. He will probably grow a bit.

I think Naughton can and will be a KPP, it’s more about his lack of muscle.

English I’m very pleased with.

29-03-2018, 04:51 PM

He's plenty tall enough for a KPD (he's 3cm taller than Adams if we are doing comparisons). As Rocco said, it's strength he lacks.

This week you wouldn't really want him on Darling or Lycett in a one out contest, but should be fine on fellow 2nd gamer the 191cm Waterman.

29-03-2018, 04:57 PM
He's plenty tall enough for a KPD (he's 3cm taller than Adams if we are doing comparisons). As Rocco said, it's strength he lacks.

This week you wouldn't really want him on Darling or Lycett in a one out contest, but should be fine on fellow 2nd gamer the 191cm Waterman.

Who takes Darling this week? Trengove?

29-03-2018, 05:08 PM
On one hand you don't trot out a performance like last week's without heads rolling.

On the other hand my kingdom for a settled, vaguely-seasoned squad.

Reckon Richards is a goer tho.

29-03-2018, 05:10 PM
Who takes Darling this week? Trengove?

If Trengove plays back we need to drop Roberts as we would have too many tall defenders. Adams would have been a good matchup for Darling.

Something like:
Cordy - Darling
Roberts/Trengove - Lycett
Naughton - Waterman

29-03-2018, 05:27 PM
Let’s just hope two things happen
Kennedy doesn’t play
Somebody sits or goes with Gaff , he murdered us last year

29-03-2018, 05:28 PM
Let’s just hope two things happen
Kennedy doesn’t play
Somebody sits or goes with Gaff , he murdered us last year

Kennedy is injured, so one has happened.

29-03-2018, 05:28 PM
Fair to say the backline is going through a rebuild
Good luck to young Richards

29-03-2018, 05:29 PM
Kennedy is injured, so one has happened.

They way he travels against us I’d wheel him out on crutches

29-03-2018, 05:44 PM
Will this bloke get selected:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DZbed5xU0AA4Dfz.jpg

29-03-2018, 06:42 PM
No Redpath this week as his suspension has been extended... Shouldn’t have played in the VFL practice match last week.

What a *!*!*!*! up!

29-03-2018, 06:48 PM
No Redpath this week as his suspension has been extended... Shouldn’t have played in the VFL practice match last week.

What a *!*!*!*! up!

Part of me wonders how the hell that can be so given it was a practice game - but a bigger part of me wants to know how THE CLUB was unclear on this.

29-03-2018, 06:52 PM
Part of me wonders how the hell that can be so given it was a practice game - but a bigger part of me wants to know how THE CLUB was unclear on this.

This basically means for pushing that douche he gets 3 weeks now.

29-03-2018, 06:55 PM
This basically means for pushing that douche he gets 3 weeks now.

No, that incident cost him a 2 game holiday... Our ineptitude cost him the extra week off.

29-03-2018, 06:56 PM
Tom Boyd come on down

29-03-2018, 06:57 PM

What a *!*!*!*! up!

What an absolute load of crap. A practice match ffs. The AEFL have it in for us I'm sure. Robbie Gray got suspended in the JLT 1 and still played JLT 2 but couldn't play round 1. The AEFL are a bunch of ......... (You fill in the blank using these letters UNTSC)

29-03-2018, 06:58 PM
No, that incident cost him a 2 game holiday... Our ineptitude cost him the extra week off.

Or the AFL admin for confusing us:

Misses the last 2 x AFL matches, plus 2 VFL finals he was eligible for. He is then allowed to play AFLX and plays a VFL practice match. Now he misses a 6th match

29-03-2018, 06:59 PM

Who's running the show down there? It's like a circus atm. It's still bullshit though.

29-03-2018, 07:05 PM
Who's running the show down there? It's like a circus atm. It's still bullshit though.

I am warning everyone now, Steve Hocking is the worst Operations Manager since Ian Collins. He has no idea about how to run the AFL Operationally, and all he wants to do is form committees to work out how to change the game.

Bookmark it he is *!*!*!*!ing up this great game of ours.

29-03-2018, 07:05 PM
This has now become a 4 match suspension. What an absolute crock. The rule highlighted below states he can play. The AFL are making the rules up as they go. I don't think this is really the clubs fault, it was reasonable to assume he could play.

Red-faced: Dog's ban confusion keeps him out (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-29/redfaced-dogs-ban-confusion-keeps-him-out-redpath)

THE AFL has ruled Jack Redpath can't play at AFL or VFL level this weekend, after a controversial ruling over his three-week suspension.

Redpath was suspended for three games after round 21 last season, which on the surface would have rendered him unavailable for round one only.

However, AFL general counsel Andrew Dillon has ruled that because he played in a VFL practice game last weekend, "his suspension was not completed as required".

"AFL general counsel Andrew Dillon said the club would not face any further sanction beyond Redpath’s ineligibility for this weekend, as the club co-operated fully with the AFL’s enquiries in this matter and it was determined the breach was inadvertent with the club having the belief he could play in a practice match, that was not for premiership points, at state league level," read a League statement late Thursday afternoon.

Redpath copped the three-match ban after striking Phil Davis in the round 21 encounter with Greater Western Sydney.

AFL.com.au understands the Bulldogs had no concerns about Redpath playing in the VFL practice game.

Redpath kicked two goals for Footscray in the VFL-level hit-out against Geelong.

AFL regulation 16.3 states there's an exception for a club practice match.

"A person who is suspended or disqualified may participate in any Pre-Season Competition Match or Club Practice Match unless otherwise directed by the Commission or the body that has imposed the suspension or disqualification," the regulation reads as of March 2017.

It's not certain if Redpath would have been selected at senior level for the round two clash with West Coast, but he had been in the mix.

The club has been contacted for comment.

29-03-2018, 07:06 PM
That's it, I'm triggered.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6T2dMpUAxM

Imagine Redpath took a similar dive after the GWS player elbowed him in the ribs from behind.

29-03-2018, 07:08 PM
3 Matches? Rubbish he was suspended for one match plus one for challenging.

*!*!*!*! this just play him, and go to court with this one too.

29-03-2018, 07:11 PM
3 Matches? Rubbish he was suspended for one match plus one for challenging.

*!*!*!*! this just play him, and go to court with this one too.

No it was 2 matches + 1 for challenging = 3 weeks (rounds 22, 23, 1).

29-03-2018, 07:12 PM
"A person who is suspended or disqualified may participate in any Pre-Season Competition Match or Club Practice Match unless otherwise directed by the Commission or the body that has imposed the suspension or disqualification"

What part of that would lead the club to believe he couldn't play in a practice match at state level? Was it not a pre-season competition match for the VFL?

29-03-2018, 07:14 PM
Haha you would think we would have checked this out first, all that would be needed was a phone call.

I'd rather get games into Boyd/Shaq anyway. Please pick one.

29-03-2018, 07:14 PM
"A person who is suspended or disqualified may participate in any Pre-Season Competition Match or Club Practice Match unless otherwise directed by the Commission or the body that has imposed the suspension or disqualification"

What part of that would lead the club to believe he couldn't play in a practice match at state level? Was it not a pre-season competition match for the VFL?

That's my point, it says he can play, along with it being common practice that suspended players can play in pre-season games, practice matches, etc.

29-03-2018, 07:18 PM
The problem is that the game was on the same weekend of the game he was suspended for. He can play practice games that would otherwise add to the amount of weeks.

29-03-2018, 07:29 PM
Full back
Z Cordy
J Trengove
B Williams

Half back
M Suckling
A Naughton
E Wood

Centreline
L Hunter
J Macrae
B Dale

Half forward
J Johannisen
T English
L Jong

Full forward
L Dahlhaus
M Bontempelli
B Gowers

Followers
J Roughead
T McLean
J Dunkley

Interchange
M Wallis
T Boyd
L Webb

E Richards
M Honeychurch
S Biggs

T Dickson
C Daniel

IN: M. Wallis, T. Boyd, L. Webb, E. Richards, T. Dickson, C. Daniel, L. Jong
OUT: H. Crozier (knee), F. Roberts (omitted), T. Liberatore (knee)

29-03-2018, 07:31 PM
Gotta feel so sorry for Red

29-03-2018, 07:33 PM
Boyds in. Excellent.

29-03-2018, 07:33 PM
Club is an absolute joke on and off the field. Total amateur hour. Amateurs would do a better job.

29-03-2018, 07:35 PM
Club is an absolute joke on and off the field. Total amateur hour. Amateurs would do a better job.
This is confusion by AFL,

29-03-2018, 07:37 PM
Boyd in, Trengove moved to defence, my sanity maintained

29-03-2018, 07:38 PM
In Boyd Richards Wally

out Libba, Crozier Roberts

no Daniel

Extended bench. Daniel on it

29-03-2018, 07:41 PM
Gotta feel so sorry for Red

They have Daniel , Dickson and Webb on the extended bench but not listed in the ins

29-03-2018, 07:44 PM

I really don't think it is. He was suspended for the round, why did we think he could play in the VFL on the same day?

29-03-2018, 07:44 PM
They have Daniel , Dickson and Webb on the extended bench but not listed in the ins

Yep, big list of emergencies is making it confusing.

Dumbfounded re Red.

Great we see Red Jr, and glad Boyd made the squad.

29-03-2018, 07:45 PM

Clearly we are the ones confused as Redpath isn't playing.

BAD this isn't the first instance where we have botched up something off field. Even his tribunal defence at the time was laughable.

29-03-2018, 07:46 PM
I really don't think it is. He was suspended for the round, why did we think he could play in the VFL on the same day?

Because there's a clause that at least seems to say as much

29-03-2018, 08:19 PM
So they can’t read and understand their own rules. The game was a preseason practice match. The rule doesn’t say if not played during the AFL season. Has any other club put up with as much crap from the boys club as we have. Would like to know how many people in AFL house were knocked out by a Footscray player. Their hatred is consuming

29-03-2018, 08:26 PM
What’s a practice match? What isn’t a practice match ?
Gotta admit I was initially surprised when I saw that he played in that practice match last weekend.
Considering it was on the weekend of the first game . What on earth is the football manager doing ?
Is Granty the footy manager ?

29-03-2018, 08:57 PM
Good to see Trengove named fullback and Wood on hbf

29-03-2018, 09:10 PM
In Boyd Richards Wally

no Daniel

Decent ins. Great to see Tom Boyd back and hopefully playing mostly forward.

Good luck to Ed Richards on his debut and great to Mitch Wallis back who will help our midfield.

What's the deal with Caleb?

29-03-2018, 10:13 PM

BAD this isn't the first instance where we have botched up something off field. Even his tribunal defence at the time was laughable.

Did we trot Bob Murphy out?

29-03-2018, 10:32 PM
In Boyd Richards Wally

no Daniel
You would expect Daniel to be in the starting 22, from our extended bench.

30-03-2018, 09:53 AM
So who are the three dropped from the extended bench (based on form vs need).

I expect Honeychurch to be retained based on his effort last week. Daniel to come in as he only missed Rd 1 due to illness the previous weekend. Wally comes in after being best on ground in VFL practice game. Leaves one more spot.

I don't think Boyd is required given we have two specialised rucks already in the side and his form as a forward is not there yet. Dickson needs another run in the twos. Webb is still behind the other 3 mids added this week ie Jong, Wally and Caleb in regards to his form so he misses out as well.

Leaves the experienced Biggs up against the impressive Richards. I expect experience gets up this week.

Final I/C Wally. Caleb, Honeychurch, Biggs

30-03-2018, 10:01 AM
So who are the three dropped from the extended bench (based on form vs need).

I expect Honeychurch to be retained based on his effort last week. Daniel to come in as he only missed Rd 1 due to illness the previous weekend. Wally comes in after being best on ground in VFL practice game. Leaves one more spot.

I don't think Boyd is required given we have two specialised rucks already in the side and his form as a forward is not there yet. Dickson needs another run in the twos. Webb is still behind the other 3 mids added this week ie Jong, Wally and Caleb in regards to his form so he misses out as well.

Leaves the experienced Biggs up against the impressive Richards. I expect experience gets up this week.

Final I/C Wally. Caleb, Honeychurch, Biggs

Richards has already been told he is playing.

30-03-2018, 10:11 AM

Man I'd rather play an out of form Boyd over shoehorning a English/Roughie forward while they are resting.

If Trengove is back what other tall have we got?

30-03-2018, 10:44 AM
I think a Tom Boyd inclusion will only happen if we feel that he is ahead of Redpath otherwise we might as well wait the extra week

A few backs I could see us playing both Boyd and Schache in the forward line but having two talls forwards now has really been complicated with English being played.
I don't quite get why we we are going in with two ruck man given we have some other players who can take a turn in the ruck and could provide a better balance.

That being said, I think we should play Boyd this week because we need a forward target.

30-03-2018, 11:11 AM
Extended bench is Wallis, Boyd, Webb, Richards, Honeychurch, Biggs, Dickson and Daniel.

I will they will go with Wallis, Richards, Biggs and Daniel.

30-03-2018, 11:33 AM
Not sure how anyone can finger the blame for this stuff-up to the AFL - we own this one, and as you've mentioned we have a long list of botched off-field incidents in recent months.

Don't think I've ever seen a more out of form senior management team in relation to off-field matters than ours at present.

30-03-2018, 11:34 AM
Because there's a clause that at least seems to say as much

I have a feeling the AFL shifted the goal posts on us here. Wouldn't be surprised if others have gone unnoticed and Dillon is looking for opportunities to make an example of us.

30-03-2018, 12:02 PM
Extended bench is Wallis, Boyd, Webb, Richards, Honeychurch, Biggs, Dickson and Daniel.

I will they will go with Wallis, Richards, Biggs and Daniel.

I tend to think that is the right mix but there could be a question mark on Daniel in if that is the case I'm not sure if its Boyd, Honeychurch or Dickson. It would surprise me if Webb made it.

30-03-2018, 12:08 PM
Not sure how anyone can finger the blame for this stuff-up to the AFL - we own this one, and as you've mentioned we have a long list of botched off-field incidents in recent months.

Don't think I've ever seen a more out of form senior management team in relation to off-field matters than ours at present.

It's a surprise that we aren't as focused as we should. Mistakes like that make you question if we have either the right level of professionalism or enough resources.

30-03-2018, 12:21 PM

The AFL make it up as they go along.

AFL regulation 16.3 states there's an exception for a club practice match.

"A person who is suspended or disqualified may participate in any Pre-Season Competition Match or Club Practice Match unless otherwise directed by the Commission or the body that has imposed the suspension or disqualification," the regulation reads as of March 2017.

but, it turns out because there was a senior match on that day, they change the rule. How the hell can the club know what is going on.

30-03-2018, 12:28 PM
The AFL make it up as they go along.

Especially when Red was allowed to play in the AFLX.

30-03-2018, 12:36 PM
It's a surprise that we aren't as focused as we should. Mistakes like that make you question if we have either the right level of professionalism or enough resources.
It's frustrating because we couldn't put a foot wrong late in 2016 - our injury management was perfectly timed to the minute, and we even nailed the little things like taping Jong's good shoulder in the VFL GF.

We've let Redders down massively on this one. Laughable that we're blaming others for our own basic incompetence and lack of due diligence.

30-03-2018, 01:19 PM
Excuse me for enquiring in this thread but does anyone know if there is a membership tent at the game on Sunday to sign up my son and get him into the game?

30-03-2018, 01:30 PM

Can't wait to see how we perform with live trading on draft night.

30-03-2018, 01:37 PM
Can't wait to see how we perform with live trading on draft night.

Good god I’ll have many sleepless nights.

30-03-2018, 02:18 PM
Excuse me for enquiring in this thread but does anyone know if there is a membership tent at the game on Sunday to sign up my son and get him into the game?

There normally is a tent outside gate 1. But it would be best to try contact the club to confirm.

30-03-2018, 02:23 PM

I can't be 100% sure but we run membership tents at the grounds until about the half way mark of the season. Perhaps the shop at the Whitten oval is open tomorrow and you could pop in or give them a call.
I'd bet good money that you wont have a problem on Sunday but get there early.

30-03-2018, 02:28 PM

http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-03-26/match-info-dogs-v-eagles

Membership Enquiries and Sales
Our friendly membership staff will be located in the Membership Club Hub located outside Gate 5 of click here for more information.

Get your three-game membership here and attend 3 of our 4 April home games.

All Western Bulldogs AFLW members will have general admission entry to the Western Bulldogs Round 2 game to celebrate our AFLW premiership at halftime.

30-03-2018, 02:54 PM
I can't be 100% sure but we run membership tents at the grounds until about the half way mark of the season. Perhaps the shop at the Whitten oval is open tomorrow and you could pop in or give them a call.
I'd bet good money that you wont have a problem on Sunday but get there early.

I am certain there will be a membership tent, the club sells a shedload of memberships at the first couple of games. I'm just as certain there will be a delay of some sort with processing them on the day because that is a bit of a tradition too. I'd leave plenty of time.

Or better still go online and sign up via the membership portal and I'm sure you will be able to print out tickets that you can use to just scan in on Sunday and you could save yourself a bit of time. I can attest to how frustrating it is standing outside the ground waiting for them to process your membership while listening to the first siren sound. I missed most of the first quarter against Brisbane a few years ago (Bob Murphy was stand in captain and slotted a goal from the boundary just as I got into the ground.) and swore never again. I'm a bulldog for life now, the money is just taken from my account and the first I know about my membership each year is the notice we get in November asking if I want a cap or a beanie ( which they usually *!*!*!*! up but that is another story for a different day.)

30-03-2018, 07:12 PM
Ahh no forwards again:confused:

30-03-2018, 07:16 PM
FINAL TEAM
Jong, Webb, Richards, Daniel in for Roberts, Crozier, Liberatore, Biggs.

Strange we dont have the same faith as other teams in young KPFs. Just cant develop them.

30-03-2018, 07:26 PM
FINAL TEAM
Jong, Webb, Richards, Daniel in for Roberts, Crozier, Liberatore, Biggs.

Strange we dont have the same faith as other teams in young KPFs. Just cant develop them.

Wallis and Boyd are certainly struggling to get a spot.

30-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Defence looks much much better than last week.

Fwd line continues to look makeshift at best.

30-03-2018, 08:37 PM
Defence looks much much better than last week.

Fwd line continues to look makeshift at best.

Yeah still no Boyd or Schache. Will have to rely a lot on crumming when the ball goes to ground a lot. Hopefully guys like Dahlhaus, Dunkley help here. Dunks wasn't too bad last week.

Our mids also need to do better and if Macrae, Hunter, Bont can hit the scoreboard that will be very good.

Bailey Dale as well looks very good in the forward line.

30-03-2018, 10:20 PM
Can't see us kicking a winning score

31-03-2018, 11:08 AM
I am still struggling to understand some of our team selections. Bevo has always made left of field selections but this feels different for some reason. I mean why are we rushing in our draftees ahead of proven players, premiership players. Tom Boyd for instance apparently has to have his fitness up to scratch to get through 4 quarters before he's available for selection. Ok that's fine but is Naughton or Richards bodies/fitness better than Boyd's without even playing a single VFL game against men. It is totally possible because draftees do debut in round 1 all the time but its still a bit strange to me.

Biggs gets dropped after 1 week for first gamer Richards. Is Richards going to do a better job than Biggs, maybe but its unlikely. Now don't get me wrong, I'm looking forward to seeing Richards and I'm excited about all the reports about him. I feel for Biggs and even Fletcher Roberts (who I'm not a huge fan of) when I think last weeks result was more about players being played out of their best positions that helped cause an 82 point thumping than Biggs and Roberts being out of form, in other words we lost it in the coaching box. Flipping the team on its head seems to be have players on edge and not playing with any sort of confidence. We are playing to our weaknesses instead of our strengths.

And why isn't Wallis playing? From all reports he was best on in the practice match last weekend. We are looking more like a team in a rebuild than a young team that won the flag less the 2 years ago.

Bevo and co cracked the premiership code so who am I to question what they are doing but I can't see why we continue putting out a team on the park with such little experience ahead of experience players. The thumping last week could of been far less without trying to experiment in round 1. It did nobody any favours. We had all pre-season and JLT for experimenting and from what I saw it didnt work even then. The GWS result wouldn't have given Naughton much confidence throwing him to the wolves like that. Having maybe Trengrove and his captain Wood by his side at the first bounce would of been a lot more settling in my opinion.

I'm definitely jumping at shadows after just one round but these team selections make me nervous. Are we in a rebuild? Because it certainly feels like one.

31-03-2018, 11:42 AM
I'm hearing ya ratsmac.

I'm hoping that Wallis, Boyd and Dickson are late changes.

We have depth that we just aren't using.

31-03-2018, 12:00 PM
My guess is Bevo thinks we can win midfield and spread and run with ball better with inclusions (much as we did in ‘16 elimination final against eagles), and that English played well enough to hold his spot and that Roughy is a better mark around the ground than Boyd. Hope he is right. I would prefer Wallis over Honeychurch but understand Honey’s pressure and tackling last week means he has another go. If we can equalise tuck against nicknat I think we are in with a chance.

31-03-2018, 12:35 PM
Traditionally the first couple of rounds of each season are full on run and gun style football. If you play underdone players you will get caught out. Jong, Daniel, Wallis, Dickson and Boyd have all had limited / interupted pre-seasons and probably are not at 100% full fitness. You can't play them all.

On paper the team looks balanced except for playing both English and Roughead.

I get the feeling if Redpath was free to play he'd be in the team and one of Roughead or English wouldn't be playing.

31-03-2018, 12:42 PM
The concerning thing for me is that its a season after a so called hangover and still we have many premiership players not in the team. Has Bevo lost faith? Are the players on the same page as the coach? Interesting times at the WO, the pressure is about to go up another level.

31-03-2018, 01:35 PM
I am still struggling to understand some of our team selections. Tom Boyd for instance apparently has to have his fitness up to scratch to get through 4 quarters before he's available for selection. Ok that's fine but is Naughton or Richards bodies/fitness better than Boyd's without even playing a single VFL game against men.

Good points. Hopefully he will be in soon. Paying all that money for him. I doubt the media will fail to notice him continually being left out of the side... Buddy has games where he doesn't get much of a touch and just a goal and a few touches. I think we just have to play him. Big men take longer to develop.

31-03-2018, 04:50 PM
Unbelievable that Biggs got dropped before Williams.

31-03-2018, 06:16 PM
I am still struggling to understand some of our team selections. Bevo has always made left of field selections but this feels different for some reason. I mean why are we rushing in our draftees ahead of proven players, premiership players. Tom Boyd for instance apparently has to have his fitness up to scratch to get through 4 quarters before he's available for selection. Ok that's fine but is Naughton or Richards bodies/fitness better than Boyd's without even playing a single VFL game against men. It is totally possible because draftees do debut in round 1 all the time but its still a bit strange to me.

Biggs gets dropped after 1 week for first gamer Richards. Is Richards going to do a better job than Biggs, maybe but its unlikely. Now don't get me wrong, I'm looking forward to seeing Richards and I'm excited about all the reports about him. I feel for Biggs and even Fletcher Roberts (who I'm not a huge fan of) when I think last weeks result was more about players being played out of their best positions that helped cause an 82 point thumping than Biggs and Roberts being out of form, in other words we lost it in the coaching box. Flipping the team on its head seems to be have players on edge and not playing with any sort of confidence. We are playing to our weaknesses instead of our strengths.

And why isn't Wallis playing? From all reports he was best on in the practice match last weekend. We are looking more like a team in a rebuild than a young team that won the flag less the 2 years ago.

Bevo and co cracked the premiership code so who am I to question what they are doing but I can't see why we continue putting out a team on the park with such little experience ahead of experience players. The thumping last week could of been far less without trying to experiment in round 1. It did nobody any favours. We had all pre-season and JLT for experimenting and from what I saw it didnt work even then. The GWS result wouldn't have given Naughton much confidence throwing him to the wolves like that. Having maybe Trengrove and his captain Wood by his side at the first bounce would of been a lot more settling in my opinion.

I'm definitely jumping at shadows after just one round but these team selections make me nervous. Are we in a rebuild? Because it certainly feels like one.

Agree with your thoughts and sentiments.
Very hard to justify leaving Wallis out considering Libba's season ending injury. The selections of Honeychurch Gowers and Richards, I find puzzling. You still wonder where our goals are going to come from. Missing a key forward in Redpath Schache or Tom Boyd is a worry. Happy to see Trengrove and Wood back in defence where they should have been last week. A win would bring about a great degree of confidence, but this is a line up that still appears unsettled.

31-03-2018, 07:11 PM
Reading the match report of the vfl game and understanding why Boyd isn’t playing.

31-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Reading the match report of the vfl game and understanding why Boyd isn’t playing.

Late inclusion?

31-03-2018, 08:13 PM

According to the report he struggled.

31-03-2018, 08:28 PM
Late inclusion?

He struggled and looked as though lacking confidence

31-03-2018, 10:18 PM
I nearly posted something similar today ratsmac.

We appear to be doing a silent "refresh". No idea what it means, other than a small amount of short term pain, but definitely appears as though we aren't selecting our best 22. We can't come out and say we're doing a rebuild, reboot or refresh, so I get it, but it's hard to argue that it's not what we're doing.

31-03-2018, 10:34 PM
He struggled and looked as though lacking confidence

That's quite concerning. This is obviously why he's not selected. He seems to be deprived of all confidence atm. Hopefully he can have some good games and get back on track asap.

01-04-2018, 12:10 AM
Unbelievable that Biggs got dropped before Williams.

Biggs was shocking last week. Williams still making mistakes but also does lots of good things.

01-04-2018, 12:48 AM
Biggs was shocking last week. Williams still making mistakes but also does lots of good things.

I might be one of the few but I don't see why Williams seems to have bedded down a spot.

He has a nice kick but I think his decision making is only okay, he's slow by foot and doesn't defend particularly well.

I'm just not sure where he fits off half back - he doesn't provide much drive, nor is he a lock down player.

I'd like to see him spend some time in the middle. He racked up big numbers there as a junior and you can hide that lack of pace.

01-04-2018, 02:37 AM
I might be one of the few but I don't see why Williams seems to have bedded down a spot.

He has a nice kick but I think his decision making is only okay, he's slow by foot and doesn't defend particularly well.

I'm just not sure where he fits off half back - he doesn't provide much drive, nor is he a lock down player.

I'd like to see him spend some time in the middle. He racked up big numbers there as a junior and you can hide that lack of pace.

You aren't alone.

Williams plays at a level that would render Tom Boyd a 9 year old.. but he's held to different standards.

01-04-2018, 09:14 AM
That's quite concerning. This is obviously why he's not selected. He seems to be deprived of all confidence atm. Hopefully he can have some good games and get back on track asap.

And yet I feel he’s not the sort of guy to ‘regain confidence’ trundling around in a VFL practice match. I don’t know what the answer is, but his absence is like a barometer of where we are at - the breakthrough premiership and his breakout game. We thought we would immediately go from strength to strength but there is hardly one player of the 22 who has improved (except Joel Hamling). !!

01-04-2018, 11:44 AM

He is probably better suited on a wing at the moment but regarding him racking up big numbers as a junior I think that was really more around one standout game. I'm not sure he was a ball magnet.

01-04-2018, 12:56 PM
There is some speculation that there might be a late change for us.

01-04-2018, 01:01 PM
There is some speculation that there might be a late change for us.

Dickson? Was taken off early in the scratch matches.

Really hope it's for Gowers.

01-04-2018, 01:09 PM
Dickson? Was taken off early in the scratch matches.

Really hope it's for Gowers.

Try a bigger name, much bigger. I'm not 100% sure but maybe Bont

01-04-2018, 01:27 PM
Try a bigger name, much bigger. I'm not 100% sure but maybe Bont

I really hope you’re wrong.

01-04-2018, 01:27 PM
Apparently Campbell Brown said Bont has food poisoning but it might be an April Fool's Day joke....

01-04-2018, 02:12 PM

I'm not sure leaving him out of all the preseason games, especially to play Shache instead, then giving him limited game time in the VFL last week would have helped. We seem pretty determined to push him onto the scrap heap.

It's probably not a bad thing he's not in the team this week, playing him as a lock down defender switching with bursts as an inside mid wouldn't exactly have helped. Maybe when some sanity returns to selection and match ups so will Boyd.

01-04-2018, 02:33 PM
I'm not sure leaving him out of all the preseason games, especially to play Shache instead, then giving him limited game time in the VFL last week would have helped. We seem pretty determined to push him onto the scrap heap.

It's probably not a bad thing he's not in the team this week, playing him as a lock down defender switching with bursts as an inside mid wouldn't exactly have helped. Maybe when some sanity returns to selection and match ups so will Boyd.

Sarcasm aside it’s about where I’m at with the faith in our side/club right now.

Boyd will never dominate VFL and it’s laughable that we are paying him a million bucks a year to play 2s, particularly given he is clearly a confidence player who performs better with responsibility (PF and GF). He strikes me as a player who if you show you don’t have faith in him then he won’t have faith in himself.

Hope the kid is OK and can turn it around very soon.

01-04-2018, 02:34 PM
I'm really hoping there's an 'I told you so' moment when it comes to the way we've handled Boyd and he emerges out the other end better for it, and us.

But becoming increasingly less inclined to hold my breath.

01-04-2018, 02:43 PM
I'm really hoping there's an 'I told you so' moment when it comes to the way we've handled Boyd and he emerges out the other end better for it, and us.

But becoming increasingly less inclined to hold my breath.

Do you think his issues in the preseason with glute and a knee problem may have anything to do with it?

01-04-2018, 02:57 PM
Do you think his issues in the preseason with glute and a knee problem may have anything to do with it?

It may well be, but given the club's recent taste for being less than transparent about such matters, who can say?

Frustrating as it is at this early point, you'd hope it *is* simply niggle related.

I suppose I'm also voicing broader confusion about how he's been played over the long haul and team selection in general.

Be lovely if we get up today so we can give the overthinking a spell.

01-04-2018, 05:43 PM
I don't think Boyd would make any difference today

01-04-2018, 06:15 PM
Can't see us kicking a winning score

We didn't kick a winning score

02-04-2018, 10:45 AM
Sarcasm aside it’s about where I’m at with the faith in our side/club right now.

Boyd will never dominate VFL and it’s laughable that we are paying him a million bucks a year to play 2s, particularly given he is clearly a confidence player who performs better with responsibility (PF and GF). He strikes me as a player who if you show you don’t have faith in him then he won’t have faith in himself.

Hope the kid is OK and can turn it around very soon.

I agree with this. He's learned all he can learn at VFL level and he's only going to grow when he's given more responsibility.

02-04-2018, 10:47 AM
I agree with this. He's learned all he can learn at VFL level and he's only going to grow when he's given more responsibility.

Hopefully he has built his fitness back after the knee knock and will be ready this week. I want to see an angry Boyd when he sees Stringer.

02-04-2018, 10:54 AM
Hopefully he has built his fitness back after the knee knock and will be ready this week. I want to see an angry Boyd when he sees Stringer.

Like the angry Minson that tracked GWS player Ryan Griffen in his first match against us. He watches him and follows him until the ball goes near Griffen and the moment Griffen touches the ball Minson roars in and rag dolls him with one of the most brutal tackles I've ever seen. It was beautiful to watch.