View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 2, 2018 - Western Bulldogs V West Coast Eagles at Etihad Stadium

30-03-2018, 02:39 PM
Our first home game of 2018! Lets get those predictions in.

Margin: Dogs by 15 points
First Goalkicker: Dahl
Best On Ground: Macrae

We need a big effort on Sunday. A complete 180 in effort and attitude is needed as it was non existent last week.

Go Bulldogs!!

30-03-2018, 05:13 PM
My fixture says the game starts at 1.10 but then I read ot starts at 3.20. Anyone give me the right info?

30-03-2018, 05:17 PM
My fixture says the game starts at 1.10 but then I read ot starts at 3.20. Anyone give me the right info?

Bulldogs and AFL sites both say 3.20, calendar on my phone says that as well.

30-03-2018, 05:17 PM

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-03-26/match-info-dogs-v-eagles

AFL Round 2 - Western Bulldogs v West Coast Eagles

EASTER SUNDAY FUNDAY!

Sunday 1 April
Etihad Stadium
Gates open: 1:30pm
First Bounce: 3:20pm

All 2018 AFLW members are able to access our Round 2 game v West Coast free of charge by scanning in the barcode on the back of their membership card at any gate.

There will be a special AFLW member bay located on Level 1 Aisle 44 that AFLW members can access by showing their AFLW membership card at the aisle. This bay is strictly limited and once at capacity members will have access to Level 3 general admission seating.

30-03-2018, 05:30 PM
Margin: Eagles by 31 points
First Goalkicker: Wallis
Best On Ground: Macrae

30-03-2018, 07:08 PM
No Boyd is a bit annoying.

Eagles by 36
First Goal The Bont
BOG Jong

30-03-2018, 07:19 PM
Eagles by 37
First goal Hunter
BOG for us JJ

30-03-2018, 07:50 PM
Eagles by 50
BOG for us Macrae
First goal- Umm... Cordy??

30-03-2018, 07:56 PM
Dos by 24, BOG Bontempeli, First goal Hunter

30-03-2018, 08:08 PM
6-2 so far in favour of us not getting up but I think I can understand that after the week we have had.

30-03-2018, 08:32 PM
I am still pissed off by what I saw last Sunday

Eagles by 90
BOG for us: Jong
First goal: we won't score any goals with that forward line, our shithouse delivery and McGovern and Barass intercepting every ball heading into our forward line

30-03-2018, 08:39 PM
Bulldogs and AFL sites both say 3.20, calendar on my phone says that as well.

Thanks Andrew

30-03-2018, 08:40 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-03-26/match-info-dogs-v-eagles

AFL Round 2 - Western Bulldogs v West Coast Eagles

EASTER SUNDAY FUNDAY!

Sunday 1 April
Etihad Stadium
Gates open: 1:30pm
First Bounce: 3:20pm

All 2018 AFLW members are able to access our Round 2 game v West Coast free of charge by scanning in the barcode on the back of their membership card at any gate.

There will be a special AFLW member bay located on Level 1 Aisle 44 that AFLW members can access by showing their AFLW membership card at the aisle. This bay is strictly limited and once at capacity members will have access to Level 3 general admission seating.

Thanks Easty

30-03-2018, 08:44 PM
Dogs by 25 points.
First goal: Bont
BOG: JJ.

30-03-2018, 08:46 PM
No worries merantau. Now to go on and get the 4 points.

30-03-2018, 09:18 PM
I am still pissed off by what I saw last Sunday

Eagles by 90
BOG for us: Jong
First goal: we won't score any goals with that forward line, our shithouse delivery and McGovern and Barass intercepting every ball heading into our forward line

How long have you been a bulldog supporter? Long enough that you should know by now that these are the games that we always win.

30-03-2018, 10:39 PM
How long have you been a bulldog supporter? Long enough that you should know by now that these are the games that we always win.

Long enough to know that we lost to WCE at Docklands in 2017, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2007 and 2004.

If we dish up what we did last Sunday, then 2018 will join that list.

31-03-2018, 03:15 AM
We're favourites according to the bookmakers. In the team lineups it looks like kids versus men. Eagles by 40

31-03-2018, 05:35 PM
Long enough to know that we lost to WCE at Docklands in 2017, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2007 and 2004.

Don't know why but I laughed out loud for a fair while at that.

Eagles by 15
BOG - Bont
First Goal - some time in the second quarter

31-03-2018, 08:54 PM
Dogs by 17

First Goal Dahl

BOG The Bont

31-03-2018, 10:05 PM

If we dish up what we did last Sunday, then 2018 will join that list.

Of course but I'm working on the theory that we won't serve up what we served up last week. There'd be no point otherwise.

31-03-2018, 10:07 PM
Dogs by 41
BOG Macrae
First Goal Bontompelli.

01-04-2018, 01:02 AM
Dogs by 1 and the spark and hunger is found again.
First goal - Dahl
BOG - Wood to lead from the front.

01-04-2018, 01:12 AM
Dogs by 7 points
First goal Dunkley
BOG Bontempelli

01-04-2018, 01:28 AM
Eagles by 17 pts
Macrae will try his guts out

01-04-2018, 09:17 AM
Dogs by 28
First goal HC
BOG Bont

We need a big response today. Let's hope we see it.

01-04-2018, 01:45 PM
Eagles by 38
First goal- Jong
Bog - Macrae

Last week I said Cameron/Patton/Greene to tear us apart

This week- Nic Nat, McGovern and Gaff

01-04-2018, 01:48 PM
Dogs by 7 pts
Bog Bont ( if he’s over his food poisoning)
1st goal ( I don’t know who is playing forward , so I’d say Naughton)

01-04-2018, 01:48 PM
For god sake tag Gaff this year

01-04-2018, 02:13 PM
Dogs by 7 pts
Bog Bont ( if he’s over his food poisoning)
1st goal ( I don’t know who is playing forward , so I’d say Naughton)

Is it true that Bont had food poisoning?

01-04-2018, 02:15 PM
Is it true that Bont had food poisoning?

It was an April Fools joke on SEN.

01-04-2018, 02:18 PM
Adam Simpson not coaching today, his daughter is very ill and he is back to Perth

01-04-2018, 02:19 PM

Not funny. Not funny at all :mad:

01-04-2018, 02:20 PM

Immature morons.

01-04-2018, 02:21 PM
Apparently, roof open

01-04-2018, 02:21 PM
Adam Simpson not coaching today, his daughter is very ill and he is back to Perth

Gee that's terrible. I hope she's ok.

01-04-2018, 02:28 PM

Yes, priorities in life, family always first for mine.

01-04-2018, 02:34 PM
Apparently, roof open

Great - prepare for terrible viewing.

01-04-2018, 02:47 PM

Thanks

01-04-2018, 02:48 PM
Apparently, roof open

And the sun us beaming in. Just as well i brought the sunglasses

01-04-2018, 02:48 PM

Me too. Nothing more worrying than a sick kid, I hope everything is alright.

StanleyD
01-04-2018, 02:49 PM
Really hope we show up today, hopefully last week was just an off week.

01-04-2018, 02:53 PM
No late changes for either side.

01-04-2018, 03:05 PM
Really hope we show up today, hopefully last week was just an off week.

Thats exactly what we need to do. I can easily handle a loss providing the effort is there.
Im looking forward to seeing how Ed Richards goes tiday and I'm hoping Naughton gets a bit of the ball as well.

01-04-2018, 03:08 PM

Agree not funny. I thought there was some truth to it.

01-04-2018, 03:34 PM
Unfortunately I can't make it today, hoping they show up!

01-04-2018, 03:40 PM
We just had Bonnie and Libby from our premiership winning AFLW side address the Players Sponsors area. Impressive young ladies who spoke well.

01-04-2018, 03:59 PM
Quite warm here

01-04-2018, 04:16 PM
So excited, my first game since the GF. Go Dogs.

01-04-2018, 04:22 PM
Where are Wood and Trengove playing?

01-04-2018, 04:26 PM
I'm sick to death of tall players having ambition that is well beyond their ability.

Roughead and Trengove deciding to run with the ball and be the kicker rather than playing percentages. The latter's effort cost us their first goal.

01-04-2018, 04:27 PM
Where are Wood and Trengove playing?

Defence.

01-04-2018, 04:35 PM
We were playing really well for little reward, disappointing to let them get an easy one.

01-04-2018, 04:41 PM
Defence.

At last. Thanks

01-04-2018, 04:43 PM
West Coast are kicking at goal as poorly as we're trying to clear defence here.

Can't knock the effort, just the attention to detail is hurting us.

01-04-2018, 04:44 PM
Effort so far much better. Disposal in defense woeful. Turnovers galore. Only poor goalkicking from the Eagles keeping us in front.

01-04-2018, 04:49 PM
I wouldn't mind seeing us set up a touch defensively in the centre square from time to time. We seem to just let them win it without any sort of fight.

01-04-2018, 04:50 PM
Eagles look far more dangerous now. Our defense is really struggling aerially.

01-04-2018, 04:52 PM
Good effort, some errors but we look like we have a fair run at it.

01-04-2018, 04:53 PM
Geez the crowd numbers are down and the team looks flat...

Bit flattening all round, so far..

01-04-2018, 04:54 PM
Poor accountability. Poor decision making. Poor skills. Can see how we got thrashed last week in all honesty

01-04-2018, 04:54 PM
Effort is better but I can’t help but think I’m watching two bottom 4 sides.

01-04-2018, 05:00 PM
We'd better find a way to get even at stoppages or we're in trouble.

We're so raw. Desperately need some of our experienced players to stand up here.

Torched by the Eagles in Melbourne. New low.

01-04-2018, 05:01 PM
That's *!*!*!*!ing disgraceful Cordy. Who the hell do you think you are?

01-04-2018, 05:03 PM
If the Eagles had kicked straight they'd be more than double our score.

Ready yourselves for a year of pain. This formula's going to take a looooong time to click.

01-04-2018, 05:03 PM
And if Cordy, Naughton can't simple targets we're just going to get dispirited very quickly

01-04-2018, 05:06 PM
Jong has copped an errant elbow from English to the head and looks wobbly.

01-04-2018, 05:07 PM
English having a mare with the hands. Wonder if we can hang tough here.

01-04-2018, 05:08 PM
Effort is better but I can’t help but think I’m watching two bottom 4 sides.

9 tackles in the 1st 1/4 tells me otherwise.

About 5-6 players in our team aren’t up to AFL standard.. and I might be being kind.

01-04-2018, 05:09 PM
This is not fun to watch

01-04-2018, 05:10 PM
9 tackles in the 1st 1/4 tells me otherwise.

About 5-6 players in our team aren’t up to AFL standard.. and I might be being kind.

Low base off last week.

Geez we are a ordinary, crap football side. HTF can you go from a Premiership to this?

01-04-2018, 05:11 PM
English couldn’t catch a cold.

01-04-2018, 05:11 PM
Hands!

01-04-2018, 05:12 PM
Richards looks absolutely knackered

01-04-2018, 05:12 PM
Bring in better players Luke FFS

01-04-2018, 05:13 PM
Another 10-15 goal loss on the cards unless there is massive correction here soon.

This really is pathetic.

Not sure what skills training we have been doing, I really don't.

16 tackles to date. Damning.

Missed tackles, dropped marks, elementary turnovers.

01-04-2018, 05:14 PM
Bring in better players Luke FFS

He will, once he sees something completely intangible from them that only he can see.

01-04-2018, 05:16 PM
Nice kick by Hunter?? FMD!

Bye Luke.

Thanks for the flag.

The commentators really don't understand how underdone we are from an experience point of view. BT is trying to make this out to be a follow on from the premiership hangover, but we are cooked from a personnel point of view.

01-04-2018, 05:17 PM
Stick a fork in...we're done

Just punch the thing Wood

We are a real chance for the wooden spoon

He will, once he sees something completely intangible from them that only he can see.

He’s turned himself into a crazy scientist.

Midfield pressure again not up to standard. We've become a bunch of one-way downhill skiers.

01-04-2018, 05:20 PM
Low base off last week.

Geez we are a ordinary, crap football side. HTF can you go from a Premiership to this?

We've bled a ton of experience over the last 12 months. A lot of our promising 23-and-unders have plateaued or haven't improved their limitations. We're routinely playing several who aren't AFL calibre, playing several others out of position, and our prime movers end up having to do too much each week. The team's full of positional holes and also appears to have no confidence. Chuck in a few unhelpful injuries and voila.

01-04-2018, 05:24 PM
This dumb, spiritless, predictable display brings McCartney memories flooding back a little too vividly.

01-04-2018, 05:25 PM
Ah well.. Its a superdraft this year isn't it... ???

01-04-2018, 05:26 PM
English having a mare with the hands. Wonder if we can hang tough here.
Yep he needs to hokd his marks. We need to have a think about 2 ruckman.

01-04-2018, 05:26 PM
Dahlhaus. Long bomb under no pressure straight to Naitanui in our forward line.

01-04-2018, 05:28 PM
That we are not playing one of our available tall forwards is disgusting, that we don't have Redpath available is completely disgusting.

Our club is a bit of a mess at the moment.

01-04-2018, 05:28 PM
Fair chance we’re a bottom 4 team in 2018.

01-04-2018, 05:29 PM
Why didn't Dale get a free kick for in the back then?

01-04-2018, 05:30 PM
Awful quarter no doubt about it but we can easily improve in the 2nd half. Im looking for some effort and cohesion for the balance of the game.

01-04-2018, 05:30 PM
It's not as if the Eagles are world beaters either. They're a thoroughly middle-of-the-pack outfit who might or might not scrape into September playing away from home and doing it easily.

01-04-2018, 05:32 PM
Same lack of pressure from midfielders allowing WCE to run wild. Hate to be a defender with our lazy unaccountable midfield

01-04-2018, 05:34 PM
We are a bottom 4 team. Going to be a long season ahead and a long drive home.

Give me something to smile about second half please doggies

That we are not playing one of our available tall forwards is disgusting, that we don't have Redpath available is completely disgusting.

Our club is a bit of a mess at the moment.

Boyd is the only one "available", Schache is injured.

This is as bad an effort I’ve seen in some time. The eagles aren’t that great. Our club is a shambles at the moment. I can barely muster up enough desire to stick around the 2nd half. At least look like you give a dam!

01-04-2018, 05:37 PM

I didn't realise Schache was injured. I'm still in a rage though mate!

01-04-2018, 05:39 PM
We are a bottom 4 team. Going to be a long season ahead and a long drive home.

Give me something to smile about second half please doggies

On what I am seeing I agree. Not working hard enough. Is it fitness? Is it hunger? This really feels like 1996 first 3 games

01-04-2018, 05:39 PM
Can’t wait for the press conference about how united we are as a club and how we are still ‘building’ and finding our way.

This is a disgusting display.

01-04-2018, 05:40 PM
We are a real chance for the wooden spoon

Think we will struggle to finish that high.

01-04-2018, 05:40 PM
This dumb, spiritless, predictable display brings McCartney memories flooding back a little too vividly.
Any chance you're being harsh on B-Mac? ☺

01-04-2018, 05:41 PM

Slight injury

01-04-2018, 05:43 PM
On what I am seeing I agree. Not working hard enough. Is it fitness? Is it hunger? This really feels like 1996 first 3 games

It feels like effort/hunger.

01-04-2018, 05:43 PM
I haven't read any of the other posts but I'm guessing that they all say similar things.
I haven't seen such a gutless insipid zero effort from a bulldogs team since Bevo took the raines. No one is working any where near what the eagles players are (well maybe a few but with zero confidence in their own ability or their team mate). We are getting schooled by an average team. We are a below average team right now. What has happened to us?

01-04-2018, 05:45 PM
I can see the media queueing up off the long run if this crap continues in the 2nd half.

01-04-2018, 05:46 PM
I haven't read any of the other posts but I'm guessing that they all say similar things.
I haven't seen such a gutless insipid zero effort from a bulldogs team since Bevo took the raines. No one is working any where near what the eagles players are (well maybe a few but with zero confidence in their own ability or their team mate). We are getting schooled by an average team. We are a below average team right now. What has happened to us?

Aside from the lack of experience and structure, it's the effort that stands out as lacking. That we are rolling over and exposing our soft underbelly so willingly troubles me. It says that we are mentally weak, it says we are not well lead.

01-04-2018, 05:49 PM
There just seems a less than manic intent from the group. And without many players with real 'hurt factor' we need that all in at a million miles an hour effort from all 22 at all times to just be a chance. When we don't get that we just look likeca severely limited team.

01-04-2018, 05:53 PM
Even Jack Macrae is allowing himself to be pathetic, and piss weak. We're in real trouble.

01-04-2018, 05:56 PM
Even Jack Macrae is allowing himself to be pathetic, and piss weak. We're in real trouble.

Deplorable.. just a horrible half-hearted effort.

01-04-2018, 05:57 PM
We've given up 53 points out of 69 from turnovers.

01-04-2018, 05:58 PM
Something is terribly wrong at our club.

We can’t even hit a player 15m away.

Make that 59 points from turnovers.
Glad JJ got himself a juicy payday last year really earning it..

Mad skillz.

01-04-2018, 05:59 PM
The commentators admitting we don't have half of the premiership team, and at the same time asking what is happening to us!

JJ's kicking is pathetic sometimes.

Cordy shouldn't play next week, he has been a disgrace by foot.

01-04-2018, 06:00 PM
The thing that Bevo and our MC see in HC I’m yet to see.. can someone let me know what it is?

01-04-2018, 06:00 PM
A professional football team that can't kick the footy.

01-04-2018, 06:01 PM
Something is terribly wrong at our club.

Nah. Haters just be hatin' according to PG.. nothing to see here.
Insert meme cartoon of relaxed dog smiling with cup of coffee in hand whilst house burns around him

01-04-2018, 06:01 PM
The commentators admitting we don't have half of the premiership team, and at the same time asking what is happening to us!

JJ's kicking is pathetic sometimes.

Cordy shouldn't play next week, he has been a disgrace by foot.

They also said we "haven't had retirements", we're not a young team.

01-04-2018, 06:03 PM
Essendon, Sydney and Freo in WA. Could very easily be zero and 5

01-04-2018, 06:04 PM
The thing that Bevo and our MC see in HC I’m yet to see.. can someone let me know what it is?

He’s probably a good bloke.

01-04-2018, 06:04 PM
They also said we "haven't had retirements", we're not a young team.

Must be from kiss fm

01-04-2018, 06:05 PM

Honeychurch is our barometer in that the fact he's getting a gig speaks volumes about where we're at more generally.

01-04-2018, 06:09 PM
From premiers to laughing stock in 24 games

01-04-2018, 06:10 PM
Surprised but not surprised HC is being called out. Plenty worse than him today.

01-04-2018, 06:12 PM
Must be from kiss fm

Triple M.

01-04-2018, 06:14 PM
Surprised but not surprised HC is being called out. Plenty worse than him today.

He made some errors early, but he's fought hard and has been one of our best out of a very poor bunch

01-04-2018, 06:16 PM
Gowers has really let himself down with his finishing. What's the point of having him in the side if he's just going to butcher his chances?

01-04-2018, 06:17 PM
We have kicked 11 goals in 7 quarters of footy

01-04-2018, 06:17 PM
That Gowers', whom I thought was just a depth addition is getting a gig first two weeks of the year is an indictment on the state of our list.

01-04-2018, 06:18 PM
What the hell does Dahlhaus think he's doing having a shot from so far out? It's just basics.

01-04-2018, 06:18 PM
Well done Naughton

01-04-2018, 06:19 PM
Bevo looks on the verge of tears or a tantrum every time they cut to him in the box.

Augurs well.

01-04-2018, 06:19 PM
Make it 12. All is fine

01-04-2018, 06:20 PM
I don't care if Boyd only has 1% of form or fitness, his presence is needed, certainly over Gowers.

01-04-2018, 06:20 PM
Bevo looks on the verge of tears or a tantrum every time they cut to him in the box.

Augurs well.

Is he on the verge of selecting some forwards next week?

01-04-2018, 06:21 PM
We have kicked 11 goals in 7 quarters of footy

Forced Cloke out under contract for HC.

Is he on the verge of selecting some forwards next week?

Don't get carried away now.

Gowers has really let himself down with his finishing. What's the point of having him in the side if he's just going to butcher his chances?

He's playing his 2nd game. There are far more experienced players doing just as poorly.

5.13... when was the last time we were a well skilled team? Even in our premiership year we made hard work of getting a positive score on the ledger.

01-04-2018, 06:22 PM
Gowers is at least having a crack. Can’t say that about too many players this year

01-04-2018, 06:23 PM
Surely it’s time for Bevo to swing Bont to FB. With his athletic ability and reading of the play, it’d be genius.

Come to think of it let’s line up with 18 in the back half, forwards are overrated.

Effort was there in the last 10 minutes. Well done dogs. BUT It would be nice if we had some natural forwards, oh yeah they need them for the VFL pracky matches. :mad:

Its hard work isn't it? Id like us to outscore them in some capacity this quarter.
So many players need to lift. Dahlhaus, Bontempelli, Macrae and Johannisen for starters.

01-04-2018, 06:25 PM
Its hard work isn't it? Id like us to outscore them in some capacity this quarter.
So many players need to lift. Dahlhaus, Bontempelli, Macrae and Johannisen for starters.

This is what has me worried. These guys should've come out breathing fire to set the tone for their inexperienced team mates. Very little leading from the front from our entire leadership group thus far this season.

01-04-2018, 06:26 PM
Play schache Boyd Just let them develop in the firsts none of this VFL stuff. They won't learn down there.
Does it with English but won't with older players.
At least have some sort of resemblance to tall forwards.
I think Bevo is outsmarting himself.

01-04-2018, 06:28 PM
He's playing his 2nd game. There are far more experienced players doing just as poorly.

I really like his intent and his attack on the footy, plus he gets in good spots......he just doesn't actually look like kicking a goal, that's all.

01-04-2018, 06:30 PM
Commentary team: "high floating ball inside fifty".

Just put it on endless loop.

01-04-2018, 06:31 PM
Let's leave Ryan to do what he wants with Cordy on him all day

01-04-2018, 06:33 PM
There's a lot concerning me, though I've been especially disheartened by how well the Eagles have set the ground up compared to us.

They have outlet players ready to make space, they don't seem to get caught out as much as we do with the loose ball.

01-04-2018, 06:33 PM
That was hilarious. Honeychurch and Dahlhaus contested the marking contest on our defensive 50...result...goal to WC.. We've lost all shape if those two are our CHB's!

01-04-2018, 06:35 PM
Good to see we've not completely dropped our heads. Honeychurch and Macrae have done better

01-04-2018, 06:36 PM
Daniel on Lycett.. our defenders are just not switched on

01-04-2018, 06:37 PM

Augurs well.

Good. Glad he is frustrated.

01-04-2018, 06:37 PM
That was hilarious. Honeychurch and Dahlhaus contested the marking contest on our defensive 50...result...goal to WC.. We've lost all shape if those two are our CHB's!

Then you'll have loved Lycett contesting against Daniel on the goal line.

01-04-2018, 06:38 PM
Well done Macrae, he's lifted his game

01-04-2018, 06:38 PM
After that one really dreadful effort in the centre, Macrae has atoned somewhat. Good to see him hit the scoreboard.

01-04-2018, 06:43 PM
Clearly major issues on and off the field.

All I know if I performed this poorly at my job for 15 weeks I’d be out on my ear...

01-04-2018, 06:44 PM
Trengove's fitting in nicely.

01-04-2018, 06:45 PM
Trengove's fitting in nicely.

That he could miss that so convincingly isn't surprising.

01-04-2018, 06:46 PM
This season is starting to remind me of the movie "Major League", when the owner's reply to the question of the season's objective was..."We've been losing, this year our goal is to finish dead last."

01-04-2018, 06:52 PM
When your sitting next to the radio commentators and they leave early you know it's terrible.
Roberts just walked out along with a few others.

01-04-2018, 06:57 PM
That was turgid.

01-04-2018, 06:58 PM
Absolutely furious . :mad:
Total lack of want and effort and look like 22 players who have just taken up the sport .
We’ve become a botttom 4 team ! What is going on ? On field ? Off field ? Time for some answers !!
Hope the club gets the blow torch big time this week

01-04-2018, 06:59 PM
Hmmmmm, that was really miserable.

01-04-2018, 07:00 PM
The stuff up with Redpath .. Amauterish and embarrassing!

01-04-2018, 07:03 PM
I guess we're all internet trolls and haters.

But I am hating on the team now. Screw this. We dead set suck and I reckon it's of our own doing. Amateurish at selection, with development, with game day coaching.

01-04-2018, 07:03 PM
"Haters gonna hate"

Rightly or wrongly certain media figures are going to take great pleasure feeding Gordo those words.

01-04-2018, 07:11 PM
That was a percentage booster. We have gone from 38.3 to 47.6%.��

01-04-2018, 07:12 PM
That was a percentage booster. We have gone from 38.3 to 47.6%.��

Judging by the first two games I’m fairly certain our players will hang their hat on that

01-04-2018, 07:32 PM
I have never walked out early but there's always a first time and this was it; left at three quarter time. We have no hope of making the 8 this year - short of a miracle.
That second quarter was as bad as I have ever seen. We had no system and just refused to spread or chase. Turnovers - we mastered the art today.
There is no doubt we are in a lot of trouble at the moment. Our midfield was AWOL today. Our big blokes can't take a mark, our ball users can't hit a target. Only Daniel hit targets but he didn't get a lot of the ball.
Number one priority is to get some goal kickers. Boyd full forward, Redpath CHF, Sasche on one flank and Dickson on the other - and leave them there.
They can't do any worse th

01-04-2018, 07:40 PM

01-04-2018, 07:48 PM
How can we be caught out position time and time again. There is no on field leadership. I know Easton Wood is our gameday premiership captain but without the like of Morris Boyd and Picken, I'm afraid to say but he is found wanting.

That's probably too harsh but I'm pissed off

01-04-2018, 08:03 PM
On the up side the buskers on the bridge have improved this year.

01-04-2018, 08:16 PM
Bevo hanging his hat on a half quarter improvement. Also says you can't question the boys' hunger... Bloody hell.

01-04-2018, 08:39 PM
You can talk all about the MC, or the coach, or shifting players around, but if your best footballers turn over the ball like they did today in that second quarter, you have no hope. eg JJ, a man we are paying 500/600k a year, kicks the ball across the ground and can't hit the player on the chest, in fact kicks it over his head and bang WC goal. This happened time and time again and they kicked easy goals.

01-04-2018, 08:44 PM
You can talk all about the MC, or the coach, or shifting players around, but if your best footballers turn over the ball like they did today in that second quarter, you have no hope. eg JJ, a man we are paying 500/600k a year, kicks the ball across the ground and can't hit the player on the chest, in fact kicks it over his head and bang WC goal. This happened time and time again and they kicked easy goals.

I get that but I'm 99% sure when Bevo arrived at the club he said he was going to improve our skills especially on our opposite foot.
If we think that has happened then the coaches and Bevo get a pass but if they have actually stagnated or perhaps even gone backwards then I think it's more than fair to ask questions if our coaches are getting enough out of the playing list.

01-04-2018, 08:46 PM
Bevo hanging his hat on a half quarter improvement. Also says you can't question the boys' hunger... Bloody hell.

Cherry picking a phrase from what was an otherwise very honest and critical assessment of the team's performance.
He's got 20 games left in the season and he needs to get the group's confidence from falling through the floor. And you want him to say ' Yep clearly this group has no hunger? Gimme a break.
Its one thing for we armchair warriors disconnected from the club to question hunger and intent, but if an AFL coach in Rnd 2 said his team had lost their hunger that coach would be consigning his team and his own job down the drain.

The unforced error count today saw us get eviscerated THAT was the biggest problem today and Beverage called that out.

01-04-2018, 08:50 PM
Going to be a very long year folks. Devoid of joy. Just sitting, waiting to be dealt with by older, stronger, more skilled and better coached outfits. Lack of experience in the back line a real killer, injuries the twisting knife and the performance of our legendary, drought breaking coaching panel the bitter pill to swallow. These two performances have been terrible from selection through to siren.

Reckon the players mostly were prepared to have a go. Some atrocious skills and physical efforts, lacking in ferocity at times but mostly they looked a team lacking purpose. No confidence in where to go, what to do. The heat is in our coaching panel, in a big way. I can see mid season sackings in the mix.

01-04-2018, 08:56 PM
I get that but I'm 99% sure when Bevo arrived at the club he said he was going to improve our skills especially on our opposite foot.
If we think that has happened then the coaches and Bevo get a pass but if they have actually stagnated or perhaps even gone backwards then I think it's more than fair to ask questions if our coaches are getting enough out of the playing list.

Can't kick it for them - we are talking blokes who have the skills.

01-04-2018, 08:56 PM
What a disappointing afternoon that was again.

Was sitting there at Etihad just watching a train wreck.

No cohesion at all up forward. We desperately need something to change here. Boyd, Schache, Redpath are these guys any closer to coming into the senior team.

Our midfield again not working harder enough Macrae, Mclean, Hunter were ok.

The defence absolutely woeful. We need a big strong defender to take the critical marks down there. It was just way too easy when the Eagles went into attack and so difficult when we went into attack.

Our workrate across the board is down and I'm thinking that there must be something go on behind the scenes at the Whitten Oval. Infighting or something I don't know.

Onto to next Sunday now.

01-04-2018, 08:58 PM

Absolutely agree. Our football department have to really have a good look at their work over the last 2-3 years and ask some hard questions.
Have they placed enough emphasis on the attributes we are falling down in?
Have they not made hard calls on those who haven't improved in those key areas? And have we placed enough emphasis on recruiting players who will improve those skill deficiencies that are hurting us so much?

I can't comment on the first area. The coaches only know that. But since the flag we look to have not been effective in improving the skill short comings of those we've retained and certainly our overall list strength seems to have declined.

01-04-2018, 08:59 PM
Can't kick it for them - we are talking blokes who have the skills.

The question was more around if our skill level is improving or if it has stagnated?

01-04-2018, 09:05 PM
It's a good thing we won in 2016 because it looks very bleak for this year and some to come.

01-04-2018, 09:08 PM
The question was more around if our skill level is improving or if it has stagnated?

Difficult to tell when we have so many young players. We have tried to recruit players who can kick. Maybe we have stagnated?

01-04-2018, 09:26 PM
We can all sit here and blame Gowers and Honey but for mine its about our leaders. Its the elephant in the room but Easton Wood and Jordan Roughead are VFL standard at present and have been for 12 months. The second quarter was crying out for leadership they were as embarrassing as any Gowers kick and Honey turnover. Its starts at the top...

01-04-2018, 09:27 PM
Cherry picking a phrase from what was an otherwise very honest and critical assessment of the team's performance.
He's got 20 games left in the season and he needs to get the group's confidence from falling through the floor. And you want him to say ' Yep clearly this group has no hunger? Gimme a break.
Its one thing for we armchair warriors disconnected from the club to question hunger and intent, but if an AFL coach in Rnd 2 said his team had lost their hunger that coach would be consigning his team and his own job down the drain.

The unforced error count today saw us get eviscerated THAT was the biggest problem today and Beverage called that out.

Fair point on the group confidence, but after watching the whole presser again, I stand by my comment re: hunger. Bevo says they have got the hunger, where does that manifest itself? For 2 weeks running, numerous players lay 1 or 2 tackles or worse, fail to lay a tackle, including the captain - that’s not hunger. When the opponent goes from one end of the ground to the other almost unnoticed by us, that’s not hunger. It’s fine for them to have it, but not much good if it doesn’t show. Who are our leaders? (official or otherwise)...

01-04-2018, 09:35 PM
We can all sit here and blame Gowers and Honey but for mine its about our leaders. Its the elephant in the room but Easton Wood and Jordan Roughead are VFL standard at present and have been for 12 months. The second quarter was crying out for leadership they were as embarrassing as any Gowers kick and Honey turnover. Its starts at the top...

HC still shouldn’t be anywhere near the senior side but the fact that he and Gowers are at least competitive whilst about 17 or 18 others aren’t is damning.

Wood and Dahlhaus should almost be dropped.

01-04-2018, 09:42 PM
Fair point on the group confidence, but after watching the whole presser again, I stand by my comment re: hunger. Bevo says they have got the hunger, where does that manifest itself? For 2 weeks running, numerous players lay 1 or 2 tackles or worse, fail to lay a tackle, including the captain - that’s not hunger. When the opponent goes from one end of the ground to the other almost unnoticed by us, that’s not hunger. It’s fine for them to have it, but not much good if it doesn’t show. Who are our leaders? (official or otherwise)...

I don't disagree with the assessment. I can't. I loved the fact that in 2015, 2016 and for the first few weeks of 2017 you knew one thing. We were going to be hard to play against.
We might not have been pretty to watch and our goalkicking was as bad then as it is now. But you could not question endeavour, effort and attack on ball and man alike.
I miss that.. 2 rounds in, and we're still crap to watch goalscoring wise and we're now soft as butter to play against too.

01-04-2018, 10:13 PM
From what I saw 3 things killed us today:

1) Turnovers;
2) lack of pressure in the 2nd quarter (outside of this I thought it was ok); and
3) Horrible kicking for goal.

All three are linked - not finishing off hard work - looking at you Gowers, Dunkley, Dale - especially from set shots hands the ball back to the opposition.

Missing targets when coming out of the backline or through the midfield - looking at you JJ, Daniel, Jong, Cordy, Wood - hands the ball back to the opposition

Not pressuring the ball carrier or wanting to win the contested ball at all costs simply amplifies any mistake.

If there is a silver lining to all of this, we lost on the scoreboard because of the 6/7 goal burst through the second and our inability to convert when we gained ascendency through the middle. Its not the start we wanted, but it was a much, much better performance than the week before.

01-04-2018, 10:25 PM

Yep, well said Kruder. Spot on the money we have had no onfield leadership willing to step up in the face of adversity at the moment. Granted we have lost nearly a 1000 games with Moyd and Murph retiring and Moz with a LTI but ideally that's when your next level of leader steps up to cover the slack. Wood has taken over the main job but hasn't been in great form for a while now and you'd have to ask if he keeps his spot on form or because he is the captain, Bontompelli is in career worst form at the moment, Redpath has now somehow missed almost it seems like six months of footy because he pushed Phil Davis over, Roughead keeps breaking but you can see his value to us when he is on the ground, is Hunter in the Leadership group?

It's those guys we should be relying on to step up and use their voice out on the field, setting up the zone defence and telling younger teammates where they need to be standing or should be running to, and encouraging their teamates or handing out a bollocking when required too. I see no evidence of any of that happening.

02-04-2018, 12:39 AM
From what I saw 3 things killed us today:

1) Turnovers;
2) lack of pressure in the 2nd quarter (outside of this I thought it was ok); and
3) Horrible kicking for goal.

All three are linked - not finishing off hard work - looking at you Gowers, Dunkley, Dale - especially from set shots hands the ball back to the opposition.

Missing targets when coming out of the backline or through the midfield - looking at you JJ, Daniel, Jong, Cordy, Wood - hands the ball back to the opposition

Not pressuring the ball carrier or wanting to win the contested ball at all costs simply amplifies any mistake.

If there is a silver lining to all of this, we lost on the scoreboard because of the 6/7 goal burst through the second and our inability to convert when we gained ascendency through the middle. Its not the start we wanted, but it was a much, much better performance than the week before.

You have summed it up beautifully.

In that 2nd quarter we just handed them back the ball, time and time again. Those turnovers killed us. Up to half time the mids were getting killed, including Macrae, Dahl, Webb, Jong, Daniel - their figures were woeful. In the second half we were only beaten by 12 points, but could easily have won it with accurate goal scoring.

02-04-2018, 01:03 AM

There were certainly some absolutely horrific simple-skill errors that cost goals. No doubting that whatsoever.

However, as the player with the ball - you are also only as good as the options presented to you. And the lack of targets to kick to all over the ground was manifestly discernible. A lot of mistakes were made when players didn’t kick down the line to Naitanui, McGovern and Lycett and took the riskier 45-degree kick. It was exactly the same against GWS, there doesn’t seem to be a clear understanding of the players, in how we want to move the ball.

Macrae and Hunter are the two that consistently work their backsides off to provide an option to their team mates as an ‘out’ when there are no other options (Picken is the other - and we are missing his work rate/athleticism also).
Drives me nuts when these two have the supporters/posters dig the boots into them for the odd error, when they are our clear best workers.

02-04-2018, 06:30 AM
Agree with you Ozza. Hunter, in particular, cops a lotbof flack but no one runs harder than him except Picken maybe and he is sorely missed. I thought McLean really lifted in the second half snd Macrae always gives his all.
Turnovers are killing us at the moment.
Eagles are a different proposition with Natanui in their side and our poor foot skills, positioning and decision were exposed when trying to keep the ball away from him.

02-04-2018, 07:41 AM
How was the differential between hitouts? NicNat and Lycett really dominated us.
I know Bevo is regarded as a bit of a visionary with ruck set-ups and that apparently he doesn't really value the position but we weren't competitive and it really hurt us. They showed you can play 2 ruckman especially when one of them like Lycett was so productive as a forward.

I don't know what we should do with Roughead, he is our best ruckman but he has typically struggled to get through games but he can also get dominated in games by quality opponents.

02-04-2018, 09:48 AM
I'm thinking that Roughie is almost done. He just can't make it from the start of a game to the end.

02-04-2018, 10:50 AM
Agree with you Ozza. Hunter, in particular, cops a lotbof flack but no one runs harder than him except Picken maybe and he is sorely missed. I thought McLean really lifted in the second half snd Macrae always gives his all.
Turnovers are killing us at the moment.
Eagles are a different proposition with Natanui in their side and our poor foot skills, positioning and decision were exposed when trying to keep the ball away from him.
I have a lot of respect for Hunter at the moment. His work rate is elite. And when the match was done and dusted, I saw hm clapping and encouraging Ed Richards who’d just made a mistake by trying to take the game on. That was good to see.

02-04-2018, 10:56 AM
How was the differential between hitouts? NicNat and Lycett really dominated us.
I know Bevo is regarded as a bit of a visionary with ruck set-ups and that apparently he doesn't really value the position but we weren't competitive and it really hurt us. They showed you can play 2 ruckman especially when one of them like Lycett was so productive as a forward.

I don't know what we should do with Roughead, he is our best ruckman but he has typically struggled to get through games but he can also get dominated in games by quality opponents.

Roughhead has never dominated hitouts, and with English as young as he is, we really struggled yesterday. NicNat's leap is incredible and very few can get near him once he is up and running.

Who do we have left in the squad? Boyd and Schache everyone is calling for them to be forwards, Tom Campbell has stagnated.

The cupboard is bare.

02-04-2018, 11:48 AM
Gigs

@AndrewGigacz
2h2 hours ago
More
Nothing to worry about at DoggyLand. Lost by 82 points last week and 51 this week. If we keep following that trajectory, we’ll only lose by 20 points next week, beat Sydney by 11 points in round 4, and then go on a winning run that culminates in a 662-point Grand Final victory.

02-04-2018, 01:06 PM
In the pre-season we played OK against the Hawks and we performed well against Collingwood where they basically had 40 more interchange rotations than us but have now come up with two disappointing results in the H&A season.

Injuries are a factor but shouldn't be an excuse and yet I can't come up with solid reasons why we are performing at the level we are.

Does anyone have some theories?

02-04-2018, 02:10 PM
Not sure if it's been raised but as big of a problem as our kicking to contests was, it was noticeable that when we tried to outlet kick to Roughead or English (or both) there was a severe lack of smalls at the foot of the contest. We'd kick to what was at best 50/50 but be outnumbered 3 to 1 at the base of that contest. I'm not sure whether that was a structural issue or a lack of work rate but it was something that really stuck out to me at times and not indicative of the way we've been in the past.

02-04-2018, 02:13 PM
Work rate. If you want to torture yourself and sit through a replay of either game watch how GWS and WC stream out of contests and then watch where our boys are.

02-04-2018, 02:56 PM
Work rate. If you want to torture yourself and sit through a replay of either game watch how GWS and WC stream out of contests and then watch where our boys are.

We also have very slow mids which doesn't help. Really need an injection of pace, but with no workrate, that won't help either.

02-04-2018, 03:42 PM
Work rate a key word. When this is down you are going to be bad. Need to somehow find a way to get this up.

02-04-2018, 07:31 PM
The lack of leadership on field has been most profound. Without the likes of Morris Murphy MBoyd Picken and Liberatore we have been sadly lacking in experience and direction. It has been a big ask to bring in 4 new players in English Gowers Naughton and Richards which has been too overwhelming.We need the return of stronger bodies in Redpath and Wallis together with the experience of Dickson Biggs and Tom Boyd. This would make for a much more competitive team than what we have seen so far in a very disappointing start to the season.

02-04-2018, 08:42 PM
Not sure if it's been raised but as big of a problem as our kicking to contests was, it was noticeable that when we tried to outlet kick to Roughead or English (or both) there was a severe lack of smalls at the foot of the contest. We'd kick to what was at best 50/50 but be outnumbered 3 to 1 at the base of that contest. I'm not sure whether that was a structural issue or a lack of work rate but it was something that really stuck out to me at times and not indicative of the way we've been in the past.
I was very frustrated by this too. Our set up around the ruck contests doesn’t seem right. Surely these are fixable things, but maybe point to questions over the assistants

02-04-2018, 09:50 PM
In the pre-season we played OK against the Hawks and we performed well against Collingwood where they basically had 40 more interchange rotations than us but have now come up with two disappointing results in the H&A season.

Injuries are a factor but shouldn't be an excuse and yet I can't come up with solid reasons why we are performing at the level we are.

I was reasonably optimistic after the Hawthorn game. Then I spoke to a fairly impeccable ‘source’ connected to Hawthorn the week after - and he told me not to read too much into beating the Hawks as they were ‘working on something’ and once the real stuff started they believed they would be a lot better this season - and I was a bit concerned. Unfortunately the first two rounds would suggest that the Hawks source was onto something.

03-04-2018, 10:47 AM
Mitch Cleary
@cleary_mitch
On paper they're replaceable, but the spirit of Dale Morris, Matty Boyd and Bob Murphy can't be underestimated #AFLDogsEagles

5:32 PM - Apr 1, 2018

03-04-2018, 11:42 AM
Mitch Cleary
@cleary_mitch
On paper they're replaceable, but the spirit of Dale Morris, Matty Boyd and Bob Murphy can't be underestimated #AFLDogsEagles

5:32 PM - Apr 1, 2018

Particularly the on field leadership which has been sorely missed.

03-04-2018, 12:56 PM
We won the premiership on contested football. We didn't have great markers or a team of great kicks, rather we had a team committed to cracking in that was taught it in the McCartney era and Bevo provided team bonding and a plan of team defense, running in waves and men of mayhem. The most essential element was our collective fierceness at the contest: Libba, Dahlhaus, Wallis, Macrae (post being dropped by McC).
We have lost that non negotiable cracking in as well as having a large cohort of youngies who had not been drilled in it.
Do not respond to my post with a mocking of McC as if he is my hero, he certainly isn't. However if we can get your troops to collectively be manic at the contest then you can overcome lack of talent in many areas and you have the team working as a team.

03-04-2018, 01:17 PM

Our players look flat.. Have we cooked a young list with a pre-season that was too tough? I know we were trying to get our players match fit with our strategy against Coll, but has it back-fired?

03-04-2018, 08:22 PM
Our players look flat.. Have we cooked a young list with a pre-season that was too tough? I know we were trying to get our players match fit with our strategy against Coll, but has it back-fired?

Good questions

03-04-2018, 08:29 PM
I was wondering whether we had made a mess of the preseason and whether the loss of our conditioning guy has made a difference.

03-04-2018, 10:39 PM
I was wondering whether we had made a mess of the preseason and whether the loss of our conditioning guy has made a difference.

I thought we lost the conditioning guy the previous year?

03-04-2018, 10:52 PM
I thought we lost the conditioning guy the previous year?

Justin Cordy was 'poached' midway through 2015. Matt Innes has headed the Physical Performance Dept since 2016, Andy Barnett strength and conditioning since 2012.

03-04-2018, 10:58 PM
Round 2

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DZ1m-dHU0AEfXw6.jpg

03-04-2018, 11:01 PM
All our fitness guys have been at the club before our GF.
Matt Inness:
Joining the football club in 2014 as the VFL High Performance Manager, Mat Inness was elevated into the role of Strength & Conditioning Coach to the AFL side in 2015, before being promoted into the Physical Performance Manager role for the commencement of the 2016 preseason campaign.
Andy Barnett:
Coming with extensive international credentials, Andy Barnett was appointed to the position of Strength Coach in September 2012, and has been elevated into the role of Senior Strength and Conditioning Coach at the commencement of the 2015 pre-season.
Chris Bell:
Joined the Club at the start of the 2014 season as Head Physiotherapist after seven years at the St Kilda Football Club.

If conditioning was an issue the same guys that got us to the final have modified their program.

03-04-2018, 11:37 PM
We won the premiership on contested football. We didn't have great markers or a team of great kicks, rather we had a team committed to cracking in that was taught it in the McCartney era and Bevo provided team bonding and a plan of team defense, running in waves and men of mayhem. The most essential element was our collective fierceness at the contest: Libba, Dahlhaus, Wallis, Macrae (post being dropped by McC).
We have lost that non negotiable cracking in as well as having a large cohort of youngies who had not been drilled in it.
Do not respond to my post with a mocking of McC as if he is my hero, he certainly isn't. However if we can get your troops to collectively be manic at the contest then you can overcome lack of talent in many areas and you have the team working as a team.

You're right. we've gone from the hardest team in the comp to score against to the easiest. And B-Mac did most of the work in making us the hardest team to score against.

03-04-2018, 11:57 PM
Great table BAD. A post on Big Footy noted how many players we had vs Eagles with 10 or fewer and 50 or fewer games etc. With a horrible injury list and such an inexperienced team I think we need to be more understanding and patient, perhaps for a few years too. I do want to see more Bulldog tenacity though. Whilst we may not win as many matches as we had hoped we can still enjoy the young ones improving bit by bit. Bonti and Macrae have spoilt us such that we expect a lot from our youngsters straight away. We need to give them a bit more leeway, knowing there will some ups and downs on the way. With most of our v.good players still young I think we can afford to be patient.

04-04-2018, 09:48 AM
Round 2

Wow. We are not only the least experienced but the least experienced by a long way. It still does not explain the complete lack of effort and intensity though but it could explain the poor setting up at stoppages and in defence. This is where we really need strong leaders on the field which i'm not seeing at the moment. We are really missing Moz, Boyd and Murph in that regard.

04-04-2018, 10:29 AM
You're right. we've gone from the hardest team in the comp to score against to the easiest. And B-Mac did most of the work in making us the hardest team to score against.

How easily we forget - under B-Mac we were smashed week after week. Out of 66 games we were beaten by 50 points or more 24 times and our winning record was 30%, or 20 games. Let's not go there.

04-04-2018, 10:34 AM

Is this based on anyhing other than just a hunch?

The B-Mac years (2012-2014) - average points against for H&A season

2012 - 105
2013 - 103
2014 - 99

The Bevo years (2015-2017)

2015 - 83
2016 - 73
2017 - 87

Make of that what you want, but the numbers tell the story.

04-04-2018, 11:46 AM

2012 - 105
2013 - 103
2014 - 99

2015 - 83
2016 - 73
2017 - 87

I didn't mean that we were the hardest to score against when B-Mac was coaching us, more B-Mac did the a lot of the work that made us difficult to score against under Bevo. B-Mac did the early work. When Bevo came in he continued a lot of the training drills that B-Mac used to do, in fact preseason training started before Bevo was appointed in 2014 and Rohan Smith started preseason using the same training guide B-Mac used the year before. Bevo made some changes but training in early 2014 was essentially the same as the year before.

Don't get me wrong, I was no B-Mac supporter, if he'd kept coaching us we would have never won a premiership (he'd lost the players apart from anything else, the coach and players were barely speaking to one another) but to say he had no effect on our premiership team isn't right. He deserves some of the credit.

04-04-2018, 12:45 PM
How easily we forget - under B-Mac we were smashed week after week. Out of 66 games we were beaten by 50 points or more 24 times and our winning record was 30%, or 20 games. Let's not go there.

The point is that BMac instilled hardness at the contest that we used when Bevo took over to win the GF, i.e.BMac instilled the hardness not Bevo and that hardness has worn off.

04-04-2018, 01:07 PM
The point is that BMac instilled hardness at the contest that we used when Bevo took over to win the GF, i.e.BMac instilled the hardness not Bevo and that hardness has worn off.

Can't agree with that at all. B-Mac was all talk.

Did you know under Rocket we were in the top three for cont.poss. and under your argument, Rocket set it up for B-Mac.

The men of mayhem is way different to just getting cont.poss.

04-04-2018, 01:19 PM
A true sign of how poor the performance of the team is that it brings out the B-Mac apologists within us.

The worst bit about what's going on is that Bevo is repeating B-Mac's worst mistakes; I can wear that the side is young and woundd, bt shoehorning players into ill-fitting roles and capping their development to the level that he believes they can reach is unacceptable. Look at Webb in the midfield, Boyd in the ruck, etc. All under the guise of flexibility, but the same in substance as B-Mac limiting Picken to tagging, or Wood to key defending.

04-04-2018, 02:07 PM
A true sign of how poor the performance of the team is that it brings out the B-Mac apologists within us.

The worst bit about what's going on is that Bevo is repeating B-Mac's worst mistakes; I can wear that the side is young and woundd, bt shoehorning players into ill-fitting roles and capping their development to the level that he believes they can reach is unacceptable. Look at Webb in the midfield, Boyd in the ruck, etc. All under the guise of flexibility, but the same in substance as B-Mac limiting Picken to tagging, or Wood to key defending.

Mate. I am anything but a B-Mac apologist. I was one of the first to call out the fact that he couldn't coach. In fact after his first couple of games, for one reason and another, I pretty much didn't attend any of the games he coached for 18 months. I was the one organising the street parade when he quit. For a great communicator and teacher of young men to basically not be taking with 90% of the list after 2 years is a massive fail. In a lot of ways he was a terrible senior coach who didn't have a clue how to address people with any respect.

But credit where credit is due, he helped make us very hard to score against. His teams may not have been hard to score against but he provided the base for when it did happen.

04-04-2018, 02:22 PM
Mate. I am anything but a B-Mac apologist. I was one of the first to call out the fact that he couldn't coach. In fact after his first couple of games, for one reason and another, I pretty much didn't attend any of the games he coached for 18 months. I was the one organising the street parade when he quit. For a great communicator and teacher of young men to basically not be taking with 90% of the list after 2 years is a massive fail. In a lot of ways he was a terrible senior coach who didn't have a clue how to address people with any respect.

But credit where credit is due, he helped make us very hard to score against. His teams may not have been hard to score against but he provided the base for when it did happen.

I wasn't potting you specifically my dude, more that we must be going really shit to start pining for Mr. McCrackin.

I think what is making us easy to score against is a combination of most of our first choice backline being injured, and the others being played out of position. We can't help the former but we're causing the latter, and that's what's most infuriating about our current situation - playing guys out of position, or in the twos.

"Playing guys out of position, or in the twos", incidentally, is what could be put on the headstone of B-Mac's coaching career.

04-04-2018, 02:51 PM
what's most infuriating about our current situation - playing guys out of position,

I don't count practise matches, as that is where you experiment.

In AFL first two games:

*Wood played out of position for 1 week - actually 3/4 in GWS game.

* Trengove played Ruck/Fwd for 3/4 against GWS, and Ruck for 1 quarter against WC after Roughy went down.

* JJ has been playing HBF/wing

Who else are we talking about - hardly a big deal.

what's most infuriating about our current situation - , or in the twos

Boyd, Wallis, Dickson - all had interrupted preseasons and are only now hitting their straps. Do you prefer to play under done players, or players in form? Daniel didn't play the first week, but frankly he shouldn't have played the second week.

04-04-2018, 05:34 PM
I wasn't potting you specifically my dude, more that we must be going really shit to start pining for Mr. McCrackin.

I think what is making us easy to score against is a combination of most of our first choice backline being injured, and the others being played out of position. We can't help the former but we're causing the latter, and that's what's most infuriating about our current situation - playing guys out of position, or in the twos.

"Playing guys out of position, or in the twos", incidentally, is what could be put on the headstone of B-Mac's coaching career.

Hang on, that could mean it's not always about me.

Mostly it's players standing and watching their opponents run past them with the ball before kicking it King to the Lycett/Daniel match up in the goal square. It was on the weekend anyway.

Anyway I'm looking forward to selection tomorrow. I'm also looking forward to the fact that it's not me who has to pick the team.

04-04-2018, 06:53 PM
I don't count practise matches, as that is where you experiment.

In AFL first two games:

*Wood played out of position for 1 week - actually 3/4 in GWS game.

* Trengove played Ruck/Fwd for 3/4 against GWS, and Ruck for 1 quarter against WC after Roughy went down.

* JJ has been playing HBF/wing

Who else are we talking about - hardly a big deal.

Boyd, Wallis, Dickson - all had interrupted preseasons and are only now hitting their straps. Do you prefer to play under done players, or players in form? Daniel didn't play the first week, but frankly he shouldn't have played the second week.

And it all started with Boyd as a ruck. And Shache has been trialled there - you can't for a second think that isn't the actual plan for him, given he even said that his first conversation with Bevo included him playing in other positions as a topic.

04-04-2018, 06:56 PM
Round 2

You can analyse our performance from every angle. But you can't escape this fact. Teams simply can't win or compete when they are so young. It's almost impossible. We only had six players on the weekend with more than 100 games. Six!

It's actually a miracle that for large parts of last year that we were so competitive with such a young team (but it did help having more experience around e.g. Bob, M Boyd & Morris). The injuries to Liberatore and Picken and the non selection of Wallis, Dickson, Boyd and Biggs has left us seriously exposed.

They key questions:

1) Why is our list in this state? (We only have 11 players on our entire list who have played 100+ games).
2) Why are we playing some of our experienced players in the VFL when we are so short on experience?
3) How much is down to game plan or hunger versus how young we are?

04-04-2018, 07:07 PM

2012 - 105
2013 - 103
2014 - 99

2015 - 83
2016 - 73
2017 - 87

BMac couldn't defend for shit. He wanted 22 Holden Utes cracking in to win the contested ball while the opposition just waited to win the hack clearance and return it back with interest time and time again - hence why we leaked like a sieve during his 3 years in charge. What moron plays a Rolls Royce like Bob Murphy as a dirty back pocket plumber? Plain and simple he was a shit senior coach. And Bevo with his uber-funky selections is quickly heading in the same direction.

05-04-2018, 02:20 PM
Round 2

Where does this come from BAD? I mentioned it to a friend who questioned the accuracy of it.

05-04-2018, 02:50 PM
Where does this come from BAD? I mentioned it to a friend who questioned the accuracy of it.

Footywire.com

05-04-2018, 02:54 PM
Wow ! 300 games less than the GC !!Doesnt excuse the lack of effort , but puts a few things into perspective.

05-04-2018, 05:56 PM

Our stats are correct in that table, not sure about the other clubs.

Fun fact, if Dale Morris had have taken the field on Sunday there would have been a player older than West Coast's coach on the day, Jaymie Graham.