View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 7, 2018 - Western Bulldogs V Gold Coast Suns at Eureka Stadium, Ballarat

03-05-2018, 08:35 PM
Get your predictions in:

- Margin
- Our first goal kicker
- Our best on ground

Margin: Dogs by 48 points

Our first goal kicker: Gowers to get us going

Our best on ground: Macrae to keep his good form going and put another strong game together

Go Bulldogs!!

03-05-2018, 08:38 PM
Dogs by 35

First Goal: Dahl

BOG Hunter

03-05-2018, 08:58 PM
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2018-05-01/match-preview-western-bulldogs-v-gold-coast

Match preview: Western Bulldogs v Gold Coast
Ryan Davidson
May 1, 2018 11:45AM

SUMMARY
The Ballarat clash looms as a tipster's nightmare, as both sides are yet to show a consistent form line this season. While the Dogs returned to the winners list against Carlton last week, the performance was far from convincing against a Blues side that hasn't registered a win this year. A positive was the return to form of Marcus Bontempelli, and the superstar playmaker will lead the side in the absence of injured skipper Easton Wood. He'll be opposed to an in-form Gold Coast midfield featuringDavid Swallow, Jarryd Lyons and Lachie Weller. The important trio will need to be at their best with co-captains Tom Lynch and Steven May both missing through injury. With the Bulldogs employing an uncontested game plan and Suns proficient in contested possession, whoever gets the game on their terms will more than likely win the game.

WHERE AND WHEN: Mars Stadium, Saturday, May 5, 1.45pm AEST
TV AND RADIO: Click here for broadcast guide

LAST FIVE MEETINGS
R18, 2017, Western Bulldogs 16.14 (110) d Gold Coast Suns 8.8 (56) at Cazalys Stadium
R17, 2016, Western Bulldogs 15.17 (107) d Gold Coast Suns 8.11 (59) at Cazalys Stadium
R15, 2015, Western Bulldogs 14.11 (95) d Gold Coast Suns 11.7 (73) at Cazalys Stadium
R17, 2014, Western Bulldogs 13.16 (94) d Gold Coast Suns 9.12 (66) at Cazalys Stadium
R10, 2014, Gold Coast Suns 18.11 (119) d Western Bulldogs 10.14 (74) at Metricon Stadium

THE SIX POINTS
1. It will be a contest between the best and worst tackling sides this season, with Gold Coast averaging an AFL-best 72.5 per game and the Bulldogs a lowly 56.2.

2. Another area the Dogs have struggled in this season is contested possessions, where they're ranked last with an average of 125.3 per game. The Suns on the other hand have been impressive, ranked fifth with an average of 153.2.

3. This is the second match played at Mars Stadium after the Bulldogs lost to Port Adelaide in round 22, 2017. So far this season the Suns have played away at five different venues for three wins.

4. The Bulldogs have taken more marks inside 50 this season than any other side, averaging 14.3. The Suns have taken the fewest with just 8.3 per game.

5. The Dogs have dominated the Suns recently, winning the last four contests. Gold Coast last won in round 10, 2014. In total the teams have played nine times with the Dogs winning seven.

6. Marcus Bontempelli is the highest ranked Bulldog in the Schick AFL Player Ratings, with the superstar playmaker in 11th spot on 528.6 points. Jarrad Lyons is the best-placed Sun, with the midfielder in 22nd position (496.8).

IT'S A BIG WEEK FOR … Zaine Cordy
With Easton Wood joining fellow important defenders Dale Morris and Marcus Adams on the club's hefty injury list, Zaine Cordy will need to hold together a young and inexperienced Dogs backline.

PREDICTION: Western Bulldogs by 15 points.

03-05-2018, 09:20 PM
Dogs by 56
First goal, Lewie Young
BOG Tom Boyd

04-05-2018, 07:35 PM
Dogs by 18 (I don't think this'll be the blow out some are suggesting, their midfield has been very decent this year)
1st goal: Lipinski
BOG: McLean

05-05-2018, 12:02 AM
Dogs by 24.
First Goal: Bailey Dale
BOG: Macrae.

05-05-2018, 11:09 AM
Dogs by 28

First Goal: Boyd

BOG The Bont

05-05-2018, 01:26 PM
Bont out late for us. HC his replacement :(

05-05-2018, 01:39 PM

Not sure at this point that this game should be worth 4 points.

05-05-2018, 01:40 PM

HC ? Hayden Crozier ??

05-05-2018, 01:44 PM
HC ? Hayden Crozier ??
Honeychurch

05-05-2018, 01:44 PM
HC ? Hayden Crozier ??

Sorry, Honeychurch.

05-05-2018, 01:55 PM
Honeychurch
Crozier already in the side

05-05-2018, 01:57 PM
Hunter Captain

05-05-2018, 02:01 PM
http://strongfastfitness.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/stick-slump-in-chair.jpg

05-05-2018, 02:01 PM
Hunter Captain

HC = Hunter Captain

Right, got it

05-05-2018, 02:02 PM
Hunter Captain

Hunter and JJ only members of our leadership group still standing. Either would've been a good choice. Congrats to Lachie.

05-05-2018, 02:17 PM
Hunter and JJ only members of our leadership group still standing. Either would've been a good choice. Congrats to Lachie.
Father son captains

05-05-2018, 02:18 PM
Bont out :(

Good luck to Lachie Hunter today as captain.

05-05-2018, 02:19 PM
HC = Hunter Captain

Right, got it
Sorry should have followed conversation

edit ha ha

05-05-2018, 02:28 PM
Dogs by 31 points
First goal: Gowers
BOG: Macrae

05-05-2018, 02:33 PM
Piss weak crowd. Complaints of a 11k capacity a joke

05-05-2018, 02:34 PM
Piss weak crowd. Complaints of a 11k capacity a joke

Yeah was going to ask about that. Sounds dissapointing.

05-05-2018, 02:51 PM
Good start

05-05-2018, 03:03 PM
And I thought the Carlton game was ordinary.

05-05-2018, 03:03 PM
14 clangers so far. Ordinary start.

05-05-2018, 03:05 PM
English def needs a break. He's been poor so far.

05-05-2018, 03:12 PM
We are a pretty ordinary side.

05-05-2018, 03:13 PM
Absolute garbage so far.

05-05-2018, 03:16 PM
Crap by us. But on track for a 4-52 free count against by the game's end.

Ordinary umpiring 12 frees to our 1

Yeah wow.

Why did I pick us to win..

13 -1 in free kicks , is in the back not a free kick anymore or throwing the ball if your a Gold Coast player?

05-05-2018, 03:17 PM
Why did I change my pick? We are just awful. Umpires not giving us a thing but bloody hell we are just a very ordinary football team.

05-05-2018, 03:19 PM
I'm not going to judge this game on clangers that wind looks incredibly hard to play in.
To win this it's a big kick out of defence and running in waves using the handball.

05-05-2018, 03:24 PM
Really dissapointing so far. Cmon Dogs lift!

05-05-2018, 03:25 PM
Really dissapointing so far. Cmon Dogs lift!
14 clangers to 5.....wind only on for one side?

05-05-2018, 03:25 PM
Looking forward to Crossley’s rising star nom. Jesus the commentary is as bad as we are.

05-05-2018, 03:35 PM
Looking forward to Crossley’s rising star nom. Jesus the commentary is as bad as we are.

I hope someone clocks him one. I was disappointed Cordy didnt earlier this quarter when he had a chance.

05-05-2018, 03:36 PM
Jong great mark off to JJ goal! Needed that badly.

Be calm. I don’t think things have been as bad as the scoreboard shows and half of the listed turnovers have been umpiring related.

Some of the effort has been pretty good.

Gowers! Nice goal.

05-05-2018, 03:37 PM
8 and a half minutes before half time and suddenly we look OK. Nice goal Billy!

05-05-2018, 03:37 PM
Good patch - has someone flicked a switch?

05-05-2018, 03:38 PM
Lippy!

05-05-2018, 03:38 PM
Good little patch with some good finishing.

05-05-2018, 03:39 PM
Gowers having another good game.

05-05-2018, 03:41 PM
Lipinski is kicking goals.

We have some good kids coming through.

05-05-2018, 03:41 PM
Good contest Honey, good spot Lippa.

Excellent clearance from Toby too.

Not sure why Wallis couldn't kick a drop punt then......bloody wasteful.

05-05-2018, 03:42 PM
JJ has really sparked up these last 5 - 10 minutes. Lipa knows what he's doing around the forward 50.

05-05-2018, 03:45 PM
Naughton trying hard down back.

05-05-2018, 03:51 PM
That hurt. Didn't need that.

05-05-2018, 03:51 PM
Williams needed to take that, or at least stay on his feet then. Really poor effort and we've let one slip late when we really didn't need to.

05-05-2018, 03:53 PM
We have played about 10 minutes of football, conditions atrocious but that's Ballarat when it's cold , both sides playing in it so can't use that as an excuse.
That last goal makes me angry.

05-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Not sure why Wallis couldn't kick a drop punt then......bloody wasteful.
Terrible decision to go for the snap. We had the foot on their throat at the time and gifted momentum back to them.

05-05-2018, 03:56 PM
I know we found a bit through JJ and Gowers that quarter, we are truly a bottom 3 club. Has that ever happened 18 months after a club won a flag?

How Honeychurch gets games is absolutely beyond me, while we keep playing Boyd in the ruck.....

I’d like to see a new coaching group to be honest.

05-05-2018, 03:59 PM
Good news is Tom Boyd is getting his hands on the ball. Bad news is Tom Boyd is getting his feet on the ball.
8 tackles for Toby McLean

05-05-2018, 03:59 PM
Poor crowd and average game. We are giving a lot of width to Jack Martin

Its hard to work out how we will go for the balance of the game

05-05-2018, 04:01 PM
Pretty sure west coast hit the bottom quickly after 06. Not disputing were not going as well as we should , but it’s a totally different side from the flag team . More than half aren’t in the side anymore

05-05-2018, 04:02 PM
Wish Cordy would not kick on left when he doesnt need to.

05-05-2018, 04:09 PM
Terrible decision to go for the snap. We had the foot on their throat at the time and gifted momentum back to them.

The dumb thing about it is that turning both the ball and body to snap the ball actually takes away valuable steadying time, and puts you under more pressure. The ball naturally fits between two hands ready for a drop punt because of its shape. Dumb.

05-05-2018, 04:11 PM
I know we found a bit through JJ and Gowers that quarter, we are truly a bottom 3 club. Has that ever happened 18 months after a club won a flag?

How Honeychurch gets games is absolutely beyond me, while we keep playing Boyd in the ruck.....

I'm not there yet as I haven't really been able to take the year in well, but I'd be lying if there's not some part of me thinking this.

05-05-2018, 04:15 PM
Apparently there's a first gamer for GC called Crossley, has been mentioned once or twice :rolleyes:. And he's SUPER. SUPER.

We are awful; these commentators are worse.

05-05-2018, 04:19 PM
Good boy Jongy. We need to just keep putting on the pressure.

05-05-2018, 04:23 PM
Very good run from Jacko then, and very good ball use.

Good positioning and finishing from Honey.

Outstanding Macrae

That is the play that best highlights Mactae's value.

05-05-2018, 04:25 PM
Outstanding Macrae

Our best player all up this year

05-05-2018, 04:28 PM
Boyds dropped mark was amateurish

05-05-2018, 04:29 PM
Disgraceful effort at goal from Hunter, really didn't show any intent to slot it.

Stupid and unnecessary free kick from Crozier.

05-05-2018, 04:31 PM
Boyds dropped mark was amateurish

He finds reasons for people to take pot shots at him almost better than any player I have seen.

Good run forward Dogs, great finish Jack.

05-05-2018, 04:32 PM
Jack gets a goal! He has been great today and this season. Will poll high for us in the Brownlow.

05-05-2018, 04:36 PM
Young has good athleticism , but needs to work on his tackling.

05-05-2018, 04:37 PM
Young has good athleticism , but needs to work on his tackling.

Yeah I haven't been very happy with his intent when physicality has been required.

05-05-2018, 04:39 PM
Jesus Honey knows how to undo his own good work.

Great goal saving tackle from Crozier.

Really poor and too cute from Daniel at half back then, we should have cleared the pressure but he just had to be clever.

05-05-2018, 04:39 PM
Apparently Gold Coast can't be caught holding the ball or can dispose of the ball anyway they like.

05-05-2018, 04:43 PM
For every moment Honeychurch does something to earn admiration, he soon does 2 things that earn admonition.
Kind of representative of the whole team's performance for last 18 months.

Feel umps are applying a different set of interpretations for similar situations depending on the team. Gold Coast getting a very favourable deal.

For every moment Honeychurch does something to earn admiration, he soon does 2 things that earn admonition.

Feel umps are applying a different set of interpretations for similar situations depending on the team. Gold Coast getting a very favourable deal.
let this be his last game

We’re easily the worst skilled team in the AFL :(

The ruck situation is utterly perplexing.

05-05-2018, 04:44 PM
Apparently Gold Coast can't be caught holding the ball or can dispose of the ball anyway they like.

Some baffling decisions

05-05-2018, 04:44 PM
So how will we go? Do we have it in us to finish off the game strongly?

05-05-2018, 04:45 PM

Yet we keep playing him.

Shouldn’t even be on an afl list let alone playing games. How TF is it that the MC don’t see this!?

05-05-2018, 04:45 PM

Bevo has certaintly reinvented the position

05-05-2018, 04:47 PM
Have they kicked the first and last goal of each quarter?

05-05-2018, 04:47 PM
I think I'd prefer to still have Cloke than Honey still. And I think I'd like another tall rucking option. And I'd love to see good forward leads be honoured with great passes.

I think this is what it looks like. A team virtually full of players who crack in but have poor skills. Don't look good.

05-05-2018, 04:53 PM
I think I'd prefer to still have Cloke than Honey still. And I think I'd like another tall rucking option. And I'd love to see good forward leads be honoured with great passes.

I think this is what it looks like. A team virtually full of players who crack in but have poor skills. Don't look good.

I'd rather Cloke or Crameri than Honeychurch.

05-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Daniel is really pissing me off with how clever he is being.

05-05-2018, 04:55 PM
Can someone please deliver the ball inside 50 with some level of thought??

05-05-2018, 04:59 PM
I hope we complain about the umpiring. How was that not holding the ball on Aaron Young?

05-05-2018, 05:00 PM
Well done Timmy English.

05-05-2018, 05:00 PM
Wow Anthony Hudson has always given us a clip whenever he's had the chance, apparently English was lucky to have been given a free then......

05-05-2018, 05:02 PM
Geez Macrae how could you not see Young

05-05-2018, 05:03 PM
Macrae. Best on ground and just such poor awareness from him could cost us.
We just find ways to shoot ourselves in the foot.

05-05-2018, 05:06 PM
Gowers!

05-05-2018, 05:06 PM
Billy!

05-05-2018, 05:07 PM
Well done Billy, makes up for a few moments before

05-05-2018, 05:09 PM
Good finish Williams.
However Boyd very lucky the GC player fell over as otherwise it would've been an intercept.

05-05-2018, 05:17 PM
Umps.. wow.. they would've paid the mark if Gower's wascwearing a GC guernsey.

05-05-2018, 05:18 PM
Woo. That was tough viewing

05-05-2018, 05:21 PM
Got there in the end. Wins a win.

I hope we get some footage of Crossley's warm down and maybe an interview.

05-05-2018, 05:22 PM
Tough viewing but we won. That is all that matters.

05-05-2018, 05:23 PM
Grateful to get the win..but that's about the best thing I could say about it.
A good team would've kicked 8 goal in that last quarter...we just slaughtered our opportunities as is our way.

05-05-2018, 05:23 PM
Geez Macrae how could you not see Young

He came out of the shadow and was looking straight into the sun.

05-05-2018, 05:24 PM
It's a win! Was tough watching at home but I'll be a happy Bulldog tonight.

05-05-2018, 05:25 PM
A wins a win without the bont
Another one for the w column

05-05-2018, 05:25 PM

Did I see Dunkley take a ruck tap contest tgat Boyd was roving in the last quarter?

Umps.. wow.. they would've paid the mark if Gower's wascwearing a GC guernsey.

I reckon he got both touches in the marking contest and that was enough for the umpire to decide there was enough confusion for it to be called touched.

That's tge worst umpiring I've ever seen. 12-1 in the first quarter is plain silly. Personally I would have taken my players off at that stage. If they wanted it that badly they can have it.

05-05-2018, 05:28 PM
I did not expect that game to be that stressful.

Tim English has been valiant, but he needs a rest.

Macrae BOG again! Attaboy Jack!

05-05-2018, 05:28 PM
Got there in the end. Wins a win.

I hope we get some footage of Crossley's warm down and maybe an interview.

I hope they do a special on his mum, she is hot.

05-05-2018, 05:30 PM
I hope they do a special on his mum, she is hot.

She looks younger than he does

05-05-2018, 05:48 PM
Macrae's 24 contested possessions today equal the all time record for a Bulldog. Incredible performance from him when Wood and Bont's absence required a leader to stand up.

Really liking the way Naughton and Cordy are working together down back. Naughton was very good again today.

We are easily the youngest team in the comp in terms of the team we field each week. Match day threads on here are so resoundingly negative I actually get a chuckle out of them when reading post match.

05-05-2018, 05:49 PM
Dermie used to date her?

05-05-2018, 05:54 PM
Considering we are so young we do put
together some passages of play that look well above our age.
On another note how bad was the umpiring today , seriously push in the back was non existant and we got pinned for holding the ball in seconds and they got minutes to dispose of it, if I was at the club I would be sending clips into the afl and asking what's with the biased umpiring ?

05-05-2018, 05:56 PM
Liked Naughtons game a lot this week. Rising star nom a big possibility

05-05-2018, 06:05 PM
Liked Naughtons game a lot this week. Rising star nom a big possibility

It hadn't occurred to me that he was eligible. He looks so assured on the field it's like he's played 100 games.

05-05-2018, 06:06 PM
We are easily the youngest team in the comp in terms of the team we field each week. Match day threads on here are so resoundingly negative I actually get a chuckle out of them when reading post match.

Same here. Given the make up of the team, it’s a miracle we’re not a lock for the wooden spoon.

05-05-2018, 06:10 PM
Hard to be negative about that performance, is that the youngest team we have ever put out? Winning in those circumstances really adds to the fabric of the group, so much more than getting rewarded for finishing last does.

Loved how English kept coming at the footy in the last after a dirty day and Bailey Williams is really becoming an important part of our future.

The day belonged to Jack though he was sensational has been all year and displayed leadership qualities that we have been desperately lacking this year.

05-05-2018, 06:12 PM
Paid $150 top up on coterie membership today. Gotta say, copped heat for standing our back of the shit seats I was given (on fence in pocket.) so stood on flank out back of seats and kept getting accoste by local security, asking mate and I to. Clear off.

Complained to Dogs coterie, who explained that they had no influence.

Gotta sort that out. 9k crowd, no wonder.. club need some influence.

05-05-2018, 06:13 PM
Same here. Given the make up of the team, it’s a miracle we’re not a lock for the wooden spoon.

It’s why if we can keep touch and get some blokes back we aren’t cooked. Must win next week

05-05-2018, 06:13 PM
Webby, were you part of the WB lounge ?
The seating is very cramped

05-05-2018, 06:21 PM
The negativity surrounding our position is a funny one. Throughout the game I can be pretty bad, but I usually target it towards personnel I know it's reasonable to expect more from. I'm loving the green shoots I'm seeing across the ground, but despair at some of the things I see from players who should be leading more thoroughly on a week to week basis.

A bit like Slim, I think if we can hang on and put a few wins together with players coming back, a high mid-table 7th to 9th isn't impossible.

05-05-2018, 06:23 PM
Webby, were you part of the WB lounge ?
The seating is very cramped

Yep, WB lounge was it. For the price, thought I could simply stand out back, old school, WONstyle, but kept getting the shove off...

Disappointing.

05-05-2018, 06:33 PM
Yep, WB lounge was it. For the price, thought I could simply stand out back, old school, WONstyle, but kept getting the shove off...

Disappointing.

I thought it was $130 but either way its not really a value for money experience. I'll be interested to see the next phase of the grounds development.
It seems to be a bit petty not to allow you to stand behind the seated area but they probably have some reasons why.

I was fortunate to be sitting near Micheal Rowland and Mark Seymour plus Dougie and the darl were just a few more seats along.
Thought the weather was almost perfect

05-05-2018, 06:37 PM
Dermie used to date her?

Is Dermie the boys dad ?

05-05-2018, 06:46 PM
I wish the AFL would publish a copy of the new rules when they decide to change them on a whim.

Taking a juggling mark is now play on.
Deliberately running over the mark is no longer a 50m penalty.
The protected zone on the boundary side now extends into the crowd.
As for the holding the ball/incorrect disposal rule, that is an absolute lottery that always seems to come up snake eyes for the Doggies.

I don't usually complain about the umpiring as it is something that you can't control, but today was not AFL standard.

I still believe that playing games in Ballarat is a huge step backwards for the club. Today's sparce crowd is a terrible look for the team that won a premiership less than 2 years ago.

05-05-2018, 06:47 PM
Just watched the first . Out and about a bit today
Brereton is the kids father . Put your house in it !
Although what I saw a few weeks ago she’s probably going to be a bit old for Dermie

05-05-2018, 06:54 PM
Did I see Dunkley take a ruck tap contest tgat Boyd was roving in the last quarter?

I reckon he got both touches in the marking contest and that was enough for the umpire to decide there was enough confusion for it to be called touched.

That's tge worst umpiring I've ever seen. 12-1 in the first quarter is plain silly. Personally I would have taken my players off at that stage. If they wanted it that badly they can have it.

Agree - worst umpiring I have ever seen. Absolutely disgraceful. Number 29 was the worst. We played against 25 today.

05-05-2018, 07:19 PM
Have a look below. We have been young all year. But today was a new level again. Yes, they are young too, but a clear year and season worth of experience per man (which is massive when you are so young).

Gutsy, gutsy win.

Western Bulldogs Attribute Gold Coast
186.9cm Height 188.3cm
84.5kg Weight 85.2kg
22yr 7mth Age 23yr 9mth
53.3 Games 71.2

05-05-2018, 07:56 PM
It was a horrible game to watch.
Conditions weren't that bad. The wind was blowing across the ground sort of diagonally and favouring the eastern end.
The umpiring was appallingly one-sided at times, baffling at other times and atrocious in between.
They cracked in from go to whoa and for the most part used the ball better than us. They were gifted a couple of goals by the umps.
The 50mt penalty for encroaching on the mark has to GO! Is JJ just expected to allow the bloke with the ball a free hand pass to his team mate who's running past?
Jack Macrae is a really fine player. He just never gives in. His effort to win the hard ball, link up with a couple of team mates and then run around the boundary, take a couple of bounces and then centre the ball for a goal was out of the top drawer.
We are winning - that's a lot better than losing
Win next week and we're 4/4. Who would've thought? Go Dogs! The kids are getting the job done.

05-05-2018, 08:01 PM
So for a while now we've said that if you add a few goals to Macrae he's in the elite category. Seems to me that he's not only kicking goals and looking much more reliable when doing so but even his general kicking has improved enormously. Are we ready to push that button? Is he now elite?

05-05-2018, 08:16 PM
I’m really surprised at the comments here. The skills were poor, yes it’s frustrating but our age profile right now is below that of the Acronyms and Suns in their first year when they were regularly belted. I could not fault the heart of our team and their determination in the last quarter. I’m pretty sure there are only 8 premiership players left so it’s not like the same group have had a catastrophic slide.

I enjoyed a lot of things about today. My god Jack Macrae is a beauty. I am so glad he’s ours. And I love watching our kids...they’re raw, some look fatigued, but the potential is exciting.

We have been decimated by injury but our spirit hasn’t broken like you’d think it may. A very valiant win in the circumstances.

05-05-2018, 08:19 PM
So for a while now we've said that if you add a few goals to Macrae he's in the elite category. Seems to me that he's not only kicking goals and looking much more reliable when doing so but even his general kicking has improved enormously. Are we ready to push that button? Is he now elite?

Yes!

But other things make a player elite.

A guy who runs as hard in the last quarter as the first, who after being poleaxed when blindsided in the last qtr went straight back and won the next centre clearance. He is a gem.

05-05-2018, 08:52 PM
Yeah was going to ask about that. Sounds disappointing.

Too many people won't take the trip up the highway - not looking at anyone.

05-05-2018, 08:53 PM
Average Attributes

Western Bulldogs
Attribute
Gold Coast

186.9cm
Height
188.3cm

84.5kg
Weight
85.2kg

22yr 7mth

Games

This is unbelievable

05-05-2018, 08:56 PM
I'm not there yet as I haven't really been able to take the year in well, but I'd be lying if there's not some part of me thinking this.

Please don't stoop to that level - you are better than that

05-05-2018, 08:58 PM
I’m really surprised at the comments here. The skills were poor, yes it’s frustrating but our age profile right now is below that of the Acronyms and Suns in their first year when they were regularly belted. I could not fault the heart of our team and their determination in the last quarter. I’m pretty sure there are only 8 premiership players left so it’s not like the same group have had a catastrophic slide.

I enjoyed a lot of things about today. My god Jack Macrae is a beauty. I am so glad he’s ours. And I love watching our kids...they’re raw, some look fatigued, but the potential is exciting.

We have been decimated by injury but our spirit hasn’t broken like you’d think it may. A very valiant win in the circumstances.

I think the issue with skills and decision making is that we see players who are experienced and have demonstrated they can be better than what they're displaying now, butcher the ball and make unnecessary errors. I can excuse a Naughton, Richards, Lipinski and Young making errors and not having the appropriate attention to detail, I really struggle with more experienced players who should be better more consistently struggling.

With respect to Jacko, I have been on board for a very long time and I do agree that he's in the elite bracket. Throughout his career to date he has had areas of his game that need working on each year, and each and every one of them has been enhanced - with goal kicking frequency being something that he's brought into his game these first few rounds. When I compare that to the bloke drafted one place before him, and the fact he has not improved in any basic area of the game since being drafted, I thank my lucky stars I get to cheer Jack on weekly. Tough as nails, skillful, and willing to stand up for us.

05-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Average Attributes

Western Bulldogs
Attribute
Gold Coast

186.9cm
Height
188.3cm

84.5kg
Weight
85.2kg

22yr 7mth

Games

This is unbelievable

Why does it matter? This is the team we are selecting. If we don't like the numbers we can select other players, Roberts over Young, Biggs instead of Richards etc. If we are picking the team that we thinks gives us the best chance of winning then we stand by that.

05-05-2018, 09:18 PM
I dunno if @SgtButane is on here, but he tweeted that the side we fielded today (pre-Bont withdrawal) was the 10th least experience side selected by any side over the last 1500ish games, not including the expansion sides first few years.

That is absolutely massive. Regardless of Gold Coasts outs, amazing effort to win! Unfortunately I was playing footy today so didn't get to watch it, but I expected to lose based on our age profile.

05-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Why does it matter? This is the team we are selecting. If we don't like the numbers we can select other players, Roberts over Young, Biggs instead of Richards etc. If we are picking the team that we thinks gives us the best chance of winning then we stand by that.

Matter? I just think it is interesting and a great performance from such a young team.

I dunno if @SgtButane is on here, but he tweeted that the side we fielded today (pre-Bont withdrawal) was the 10th least experience side selected by any side over the last 1500ish games, not including the expansion sides first few years.

That is absolutely massive. Regardless of Gold Coasts outs, amazing effort to win! Unfortunately I was playing footy today so didn't get to watch it, but I expected to lose based on our age profile.

Makes the win even more significant

05-05-2018, 09:29 PM

Bevo's comments in Friday's press conference were interesting around Trengove and Roberts, and starting with the latter, I get the genuine feeling the coaching panel is comfortable with what he can do at the level, but Young has been better in the VFL and gets his chance on merit coupled with future benefit. Fletcher is being challenged to be better at the lower level as a result, and is probably a fair chance to feature should he do so later in the year. Biggs is pretty much the same, he's going to give more than Richards for the most part, but he's not doing what's required at the lower level and for now is parked. He'll feature later in the year.

Trengove will definitely play in the next few weeks though, apparently Bev sees him as a forward ruck. It wouldn't surprise me to see English out this week and Trengove to go tandem with Boyd should he get through tonight's game.

05-05-2018, 09:30 PM

How did you go today? Unscathed and a win?

05-05-2018, 09:47 PM
How did you go today? Unscathed and a win?

Thanks for the query mate, icing up after a loss unfortunately! Was pretty happy to see the Dogs result in the rooms post match.

05-05-2018, 10:00 PM
Thanks for the query mate, icing up after a loss unfortunately! Was pretty happy to see the Dogs result in the rooms post match.

Shame......I do remember that feeling, and it'll be all arms and concrete gumboots at the local discotheque this evening then, I assume........

05-05-2018, 11:57 PM
Apparently the Goober was the story to come out of the game today at Ballarat, if you watch Fox Footy's wrap up of the day.

Johnno has turned himself into a *!*!*!*!ing sycophant, Dermie wants to shag the Goobers mum.

Good TV all round.

06-05-2018, 12:42 AM
I think the issue with skills and decision making is that we see players who are experienced and have demonstrated they can be better than what they're displaying now, butcher the ball and make unnecessary errors. I can excuse a Naughton, Richards, Lipinski and Young making errors and not having the appropriate attention to detail, I really struggle with more experienced players who should be better more consistently struggling.

With respect to Jacko, I have been on board for a very long time and I do agree that he's in the elite bracket. Throughout his career to date he has had areas of his game that need working on each year, and each and every one of them has been enhanced - with goal kicking frequency being something that he's brought into his game these first few rounds. When I compare that to the bloke drafted one place before him, and the fact he has not improved in any basic area of the game since being drafted, I thank my lucky stars I get to cheer Jack on weekly. Tough as nails, skillful, and willing to stand up for us.

I might be reading too much into it, but Macrae looked like he played today's game like he knew he was the best player out there that both sides had to offer.

He was already doing all of the hard stuff, but I think he's playing with a great deal more confidence.

06-05-2018, 11:14 AM
Average Attributes

Western Bulldogs

Attribute

Gold Coast

186.9cm

Height

188.3cm

84.5kg

Weight

85.2kg

22yr 7mth

23yr 9mth

Games

This is unbelievable

These stats always make me think of our 1961 GF team - average age 22.1, average games 45 (Whitten the only 100+). Maybe not pertinent to the discussion at hand but still, amazing facts....

06-05-2018, 11:31 AM
I might be reading too much into it, but Macrae looked like he played today's game like he knew he was the best player out there that both sides had to offer.

He was already doing all of the hard stuff, but I think he's playing with a great deal more confidence.

I am not sure why Jackson is not in the official leadership, but unofficially he’s exactly what you’d like our young guys to work towards. I love the fact that he keeps adding strings to his bow. Running down the wing bouncing the ball, taking contested marks up forward. You get the feeling he’d be the guy who when asked to review his own game, would always find areas to be critical. And for someone relatively low key, you can see he just HATES losing.

06-05-2018, 11:40 AM
Just got in from a long transit, and glad to see we got another win. Also glad it appears I picked a good 3 weeks of matches to be away for...

On Macrae, agree - he must be in the elite category now and if we can get Bont firing consistently we're going to have a very capable midfield group for the balance of the season, when throwing in McLean (based on the stats his game looked OK?), Hunter, Wally and Dahl.

06-05-2018, 12:19 PM
Just got in from a long transit, and glad to see we got another win. Also glad it appears I picked a good 3 weeks of matches to be away for...

On Macrae, agree - he must be in the elite category now and if we can get Bont firing consistently we're going to have a very capable midfield group for the balance of the season, when throwing in McLean (based on the stats his game looked OK?), Hunter, Wally and Dahl.

McLean was very very good, easily our [checks Marmo votes] second best behind Macrae.

06-05-2018, 12:26 PM
Also forgot that he got ironed out by Brayden "Goober" "Hard Working Honest Footballer Young Gun Superstar" Crossley early which didn't look like it didn't hurt.

06-05-2018, 05:38 PM
Macrae loves playing at Mars, had 41 disposals there last year as well.

06-05-2018, 10:14 PM
To be honest, I was pretty pleased with the win.
I knew it would be a frustrating day with tricky conditions and personnel challenges (pretty huge difference between Wood/Bont compared to Young/Honeychurch - as well as the host of other best 22 players we have out injured).
Things weren’t going well, but the boys didn’t turn their toes up - they dug in and eked out a win.

06-05-2018, 10:39 PM
Hugely happy with the win. Gold Coast are talented, and even without Lynch and May they have some very good players, and those two losses were cancelled out by us also losing our best player and captain. Jack Martin continues to impress, he has been awesome for two seasons now and is in the top few players I'd be looking to poach from other clubs.

Can understand how people got upset by the umpires, and i did for a couple of decisions, but by and large i thought they were ok. Especially in the first quarter where the huge discrepency in frees happened I thought we did not help ourselves at all. We constantly held the ball to long or executed stuff poorly so they were almost forced to make the decision.

It cannot be understated how impressed I am by Naughton. I was underwhelmed when we drafted him and completely unimpressed by his first two games, but since then he has been playing to a good standard and his game Saturday was immense.

I am cautiously optimistic about this season, we are still very young and a week to week proposition but I'm hoping much like Hawthorn last year we do a mini-rebuild in the first half of the season before turning it on in the second. The fact we have even been competitive this season with the youth and lack of experience we have been playing with is amazing, and you can see some really good finds coming through mainly in defence.

The trio of Naughton, Cordy and Williams has been fantastic to watch since round 3. They work well together, all are great in the air in different ways and odd turnover aside are more than competent with ball in hand. Richards has also been good there obviously, but they have cemented themselves as best 22. McLean continues to take strides forwards, Wallis has been much better after an indifferent 2017, Macrae is a gun and hopefully is getting to the point where the heat starts to come off Bontempelli and English has shown glimpses of what he can be. The forwardline is still lacking emerging stars, although JJ is starting to lift a little. Gowers has been good and should still get better, and Lipinski has shown elements to his game that are promising but still has a while to go.

This was a shitty game in a lot of respects, but winning without Bont should do wonders for the teams self confidence and I feel much better about this season now, at least until the Lions beat us.

06-05-2018, 11:18 PM
I can seriously recommend making the effort and buying a ticket in the outer at Ballarat. I wasn't too happy about forking out $25 as i'm already paying for a seat at docklands. But the terrace has a lovely thick grass you can sit on at the breaks which goes right up past the wing so it's great viewing. Much better than paying a small fortune for a seat. My 20 year old son, who never really got to experience the suburban grounds, surprisingly loved it.

06-05-2018, 11:37 PM

Is this a serious comment?

07-05-2018, 02:40 AM
Is this a serious comment?

I think so, Bulldogs Bite can respond but I think he is referring to the fact we've had the same coaching group for a while now and given the way we are playing the message might not be getting through.

07-05-2018, 09:27 AM
I think so, Bulldogs Bite can respond but I think he is referring to the fact we've had the same coaching group for a while now and given the way we are playing the message might not be getting through.

It might have looked better if it read I’d like to see a new coaching group to be honest to help Bevo.

09-05-2018, 03:28 PM

Yep - this is it.

Most clubs make changes yearly or at least every 24 months, but we've had the same group for a number of years. In general I haven't been a fan of our coaching philosophy over the past 18 months, so I'd like to see some new line of thinking injected into the club.

09-05-2018, 03:39 PM
Yep - this is it.

Most clubs make changes yearly or at least every 24 months, but we've had the same group for a number of years. In general I haven't been a fan of our coaching philosophy over the past 18 months, so I'd like to see some new line of thinking injected into the club.

It's still the basic team of assistants that Bevo inherited from B-Mac isn't it? Rohan Smith, Daniel Giansiracusa, Joel Corey and Steven King?

09-05-2018, 04:08 PM
It's still the basic team of assistants that Bevo inherited from B-Mac isn't it? Rohan Smith, Daniel Giansiracusa, Joel Corey and Steven King?

Not exactly. Gia played under B-Mac and joined the coaching panel at pretty much the same time as Bevo.

Smith is now the Development Manager and Hansen an assistant.

It is true there hasn't been much new blood over the past few years with coaches/senior football personnel mostly moving positions.

I find it impossible to form a view about assistant coaches, from the outside we have really little idea whether they are good, bad or otherwise.

09-05-2018, 04:22 PM
Not exactly. Gia played under B-Mac and joined the coaching panel at pretty much the same time as Bevo.

It is true there hasn't been much new blood over the past few years with coaches/senior football personnel mostly moving positions.

I find it impossible to form a view about assistant coaches, from the outside we have really little idea whether they are good, bad or otherwise.

We have had a number of changes over the past couple of years. This year we have Jordan Russell and Jamie Maddocks come in as Development coaches and Steve Grace for the VFL team who is also an assistant.

09-05-2018, 04:43 PM
We have had a number of changes over the past couple of years. This year we have Jordan Russell and Jamie Maddocks come in as Development coaches and Steve Grace for the VFL team who is also an assistant.

Russell has had a coaching role since 2014 and Maddocks started in 2016. Grace is the only outsider to come into the setup in the last couple of years.

09-05-2018, 06:05 PM
I'm not going to judge our coaches as its obvious it's a new bunch of young footballers and it takes Time to get them together , also losing experienced players to injury/ retirement, hasn't helped.
Let's face facts we are the youngest team going around and performing better than teams with better experienced players,
I am interested to see if we improve by the end of the year whether it's tiredness or we aren't getting better .
Next year I believe we will start to gel.
Our backline is terribly young and holding up very well , I think this shows our defence set up is working but we are young in the middle and Dalhaus, Wallis Maclean are doing a lot while the others are missing.

09-05-2018, 06:12 PM
Russell has had a coaching role since 2014 and Maddocks started in 2016. Grace is the only outsider to come into the setup in the last couple of years.

Russell has just started full time since retiring, but I get what you mean, he has been around awhile in a part time role. Maddocks is someone brought in since BMAC days.

09-05-2018, 10:07 PM

Do you think it's a bit weird that Bevo didn't bring in at least a few of his own people? People that he's worked with before that he has confidence in.

Even coming in as senior coach it would still be a little intimidating coming into a club culture where everybody has been in their jobs prior to your appointment. I'd find it a bit overwhelming at first. To take all that in and adjust do well that you win a flag in your second year, Bevo must be quite a guy.

10-05-2018, 04:03 PM
Do you think it's a bit weird that Bevo didn't bring in at least a few of his own people? People that he's worked with before that he has confidence in.

Even coming in as senior coach it would still be a little intimidating coming into a club culture where everybody has been in their jobs prior to your appointment. I'd find it a bit overwhelming at first. To take all that in and adjust do well that you win a flag in your second year, Bevo must be quite a guy.

Hard to know. Did he have any people? He had just signed on at St Kilda after leaving Hawthorn. Probably unlikely to be able to bring someone in from the Hawks in the middle of their league domination.

10-05-2018, 04:31 PM
Hard to know. Did he have any people? He had just signed on at St Kilda after leaving Hawthorn. Probably unlikely to be able to bring someone in from the Hawks in the middle of their league domination.

I guess, but if you were ambitious assistant and someone you worked with had just snagged a senior role wouldn't you feel tempted to pick the phone up and remind him that you existed? I would.

But he must have a network. I've got a bloody network and I'm not important at all. But I know I was ever, I don't know, elected leader of the Coalition (I'm going with really unlikely things) or I finally realised my dream of captaining Australia, they would be on the phone, emailing CVs and I'd want to hand pick a couple because I value their talent and I'd just want a couple of familiar faces in the crowd.