View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 8, 2018 - Western Bulldogs V Brisbane Lions at Etihad Stadium, Docklands

11-05-2018, 11:48 AM
Get your predictions in: margin, our first goal kicker and our best on ground

Margin: Dogs by 23 points

Our First Goal Kicker: Patrick Lipinski

Our Best On Ground: Toby McLean

Go Bulldogs!!

11-05-2018, 11:58 AM
Dogs by 15 points
First goal kicker: Gowers
BOG: Macrae

11-05-2018, 12:00 PM
Dogs by 7
1st goal: Dunkley
BOG: Naughton

11-05-2018, 12:17 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2018/8/wb-v-bl

Match review: Western Bulldogs v Brisbane
Ryan Davidson May 8, 2018 2:31 PM

SUMMARY
Many will expect the Bulldogs to chalk up their third win on the trot against a winless Brisbane side on the road, but this clash is unlikely to see the Dogs run rampant. Due to a long injury list, the home side will likely go in younger and less experienced than the Lions, and without a consistent form line. Brisbane was brave against Collingwood last week but couldn't finish off the Pies when they had the chance late in the final term. A mouthwatering match-up between star Lions forward Eric Hipwood and impressive Bulldog draftee Aaron Naughton should be worth the admission price alone, while the Dogs will be hoping superstar midfielder Marcus Bontempelli overcomes a hip complaint, so he can go to head to head with the Lions' brilliant playmaker Dayne Zorko.

WHERE AND WHEN: Etihad Stadium, Saturday, May 5, 7.25pm AEST
TV AND RADIO: Click here for broadcast guide

LAST FIVE MEETINGS
R20, 2017, Western Bulldogs 14.19 (103) d Brisbane 13.11 (89) at the Gabba
R5, 2017, Western Bulldogs 17.20 (122) d Brisbane 14.6 (90) at Etihad Stadium
R5, 2016, Western Bulldogs 17.18 (120) d Brisbane 10.7 (67) at Etihad Stadium
R23, 2015, Brisbane 19.16 (130) d Western Bulldogs 19.8 (122) at the Gabba
R12, 2015, Western Bulldogs 22.14 (146) d Brisbane 11.8 (74) at Etihad Stadium

THE SIX POINTS
1. The Bulldogs sit a lowly 15th for scoring, averaging just 74 points per game, but they’re first for marks inside 50 averaging 14. The Lions are 16th for scoring, 16th for inside 50s and 17th for marks inside 50.

2. The Western Bulldogs have had the better of Brisbane recently, winning the last three matches, and four of the last five.

3. The Lions have yet to win an opening quarter this season, kicking a total of just 88 points while conceding 213. The Bulldogs haven’t started games well either, winning three opening quarters while conceding 157 points to their 147.

4. This is the 14th time the sides will play at Etihad Stadium, with the Bulldogs winning eight games to five. Brisbane doesn’t enjoy a good recent record at the venue, losing seven of their last nine.

5. Another loss for Brisbane and it will be the first time since 2011 they’ve lost their first seven games of a season. The club's worst ever start to a season occurred in 1991 when they lost their first nine matches.

6. Dayne Zorko sits sixth overall in the Schick AFL Player Ratings, with 562 ranking points. Marcus Bontempelli is the Bulldogs' highest ranked player, sitting in 10th position with 528 points.

IT'S A BIG WEEK FOR …
Returning to his brilliant best against Collingwood last week after being subdued by taggers in recent rounds, Dayne Zorko will need to produce another starring performance against a very competent Bulldog midfield.

PREDICTION: Western Bulldogs by 21 points

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-05-10/four-things-to-watch-dogs-v-lions

Four things to watch: Western Bulldogs v Brisbane Lions
Troy Daniel May 10, 2018 7:34 PM

1. Dayne & Dayne

Sounds more like a law firm than a couple of footballers, but Brisbane’s dynamic duo have been in tip-top form lately and the success or not of the Dogs’ decision on how to limit their influence could have a major impact on who’s singing the song on Saturday night and who isn’t.

The Dogs have tagged more regularly this season than they have in the past, which Luke Beveridge put down to ‘our mix and our makeup’ in Tuesday’s press conference.

But who is the target? Dayne Zorko was everywhere against the Pies on the weekend, but fellow Dayne, of the Beams variety, was good too and is a potential game breaker.

A couple of big decisions await. Watch this space.

2. The skipper

From Ballarat to Melbourne, it was easily the week’s most talked about hip.

Both Chris Bell and Luke Beveridge said if it got through training on Thursday Marcus Bontempelli would be picked, and that’s what’s happened, which is good for the Dogs and probably not so good for the Lions.

The 22-year-old will again skipper the side in Easton Wood’s absence, but the big question is where he’ll play?

In the Round 6 win over the Blues he picked up a season-high 30 touches playing mostly midfield, but with Tim English out and Tom Boyd likely to be carrying the ruck load, we might see Bont in front of goal a bit more.

He’s too good to not kick a bag sooner rather than later, so here’s hoping it’s this week.

3. The magnificant Jack Macrae

Do you think Jack Macrae’s been enjoying reading the papers lately?

He’s been called the competition’s most in-form midfielder and on Monday the Herald Sun asked on whether he was the best player in the AFL on the back of his second straight 40 possession performance at Mars Stadium.

Granted, they were talking about his Supercoach numbers (he’s now in first place ahead of Max Gawn), but there’s no doubting the 23-year-old has found an extra gear this year.

The bad news for Brisbane is he also has a good record against the Lions, averaging 32 touches per game since 2014.* He even had a career high in hitouts (2) against them a couple of years ago, so there’s that.

*This doesn’t include the final round of 2015 where he had 15 touches because it would have ruined the argument.

4. Fight Club

It could be a season defining four weeks coming up for the Dogs.

The next month looks like this: the Lions this weekend, then the Crows in Adelaide, followed by Collingwood and Melbourne back at Etihad.

And Brisbane, who were good last week, will be desperate to register their first win of the season on Saturday, so despite their ladder position it would be unwise to take it this one easy.

So, don’t be fooled by the Fox Sports 3 scheduling, there’ll be a bit in this one, and wherever you sit on the ‘state of the game’ stuff, you’ll be getting a good old fashioned street fight if you tune in.

Is it Saturday yet?

Exclusive to westernbulldogs.com.au

11-05-2018, 04:59 PM
Dogs by 46
First goal, mr William Gowers.
BOG, mr Mitchell J. Wallis.

11-05-2018, 05:00 PM
Dogs by 25
BOG Macrae
First goal Boyd

11-05-2018, 06:13 PM
Dogs by 10
First goal - The Bont
BOG - Macrae

11-05-2018, 08:56 PM
I revised my margin down. Was Dogs by 37 to Dogs by 23.

We need to be on from the start. They have been good in a lot of their games this years despite not winning.

11-05-2018, 09:19 PM
I revised my margin down. Was Dogs by 37 to Dogs by 23.

We need to be on from the start. They have been good in a lot of their games this years despite not winning.

What has changed your mind Easty? Is it the blustery wind?

11-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Dogs by 17 points
First goal Lipinski
BOG: Macrae

11-05-2018, 09:28 PM
What has changed your mind Easty? Is it the blustery wind?

Yeah just on their recent form and they nearly knocked off the Pies last week but we should have enough to win by a few goals again. We are a young side who I think has done well this year so far. It's been tough but we are hanging in there.

11-05-2018, 09:42 PM
Yeah just on their recent form and they nearly knocked off the Pies last week but we should have enough to win by a few goals again. We are a young side who I think has done well this year so far. It's been tough but we are hanging in there.

We are just hanging in and we must win this if we are to have any chance of making the final eight.

I'm worried though. Brisbane have been a bogey side for us over the last few years. That loss we had in BMac's last year was pretty much why he got the lemonade.

12-05-2018, 01:13 AM
We are just hanging in and we must win this if we are to have any chance of making the final eight.

I'm worried though. Brisbane have been a bogey side for us over the last few years. That loss we had in BMac's last year was pretty much why he got the lemonade.

They have only won one of the last 5, and that was the last game in 2015 just before we played finals.

12-05-2018, 03:47 AM
Reckon they'll get us.

Lions by 31
BOG Macrae
First sausage JJ

12-05-2018, 07:01 PM
Dogs by 16 points.
BOG McLean
First goal Dunkley

12-05-2018, 07:01 PM
Dogs by 16 points.
BOG McLean
First goal Dunkley

Any news on The Bont from the players sponsor function?

12-05-2018, 07:03 PM
Any news on The Bont from the players sponsor function?

There might be 20 here at the moment, just waiting on one if them to arrive

12-05-2018, 07:08 PM
No late changes for either side tonight.

12-05-2018, 07:08 PM

Thanks for confirming

12-05-2018, 07:16 PM

Hopefully he doesn't ruck

12-05-2018, 07:20 PM
Hopefully he doesn't ruck

Its his role now to help out. Dunkley and Bont will have to take a turn

12-05-2018, 07:50 PM
Schache and Dickson at the Players Sponsors today. Dickson believes he will be back in 2 weeks. He did a 12km session this morning. Picken and Morris were in the rehab group. Schache happy to get another game under his belt.

12-05-2018, 08:21 PM
I’m very scared about tonight.

12-05-2018, 08:32 PM
The Foxtel barracking brigade are out in force early.........and it's all Brisbane.

12-05-2018, 08:36 PM
What a kick from Daniel. What a kick from Little Red.

12-05-2018, 08:43 PM
Montagna or Riewoldt getting stuck into Eagles for standing offensive side of Bontempelli when the Lions had the ball turned over tells me he was really eager to get stuck into him.

Jesus that was a ripper kick from Jacko. Imagine Jakey improved at the rate Jacko has.

Gowers keeps his goal a game vibe happening.

12-05-2018, 08:44 PM
Loving the effort and execution thus far.

12-05-2018, 08:49 PM
Ok. Right. In the back clearly doesn't apply if you're in a Lions guernsey.

12-05-2018, 08:51 PM
Right. And marks aren't necessarily paid if you're in a dog's guernsey.

12-05-2018, 08:52 PM
Poor positioning by Young giving McStay an easy mark and goal

12-05-2018, 08:52 PM
Right, I've probably not gone as hard on HC as others have, but Jesus, that was a bloody shocker from the middle of the ground to the fat side of the ground.

He needs to be taught to handball at all costs, much like Cross used to.

12-05-2018, 08:54 PM
Is dahl now official the worst kick in the comp? How he missed at target going inside 50 before is beyond.

12-05-2018, 08:54 PM
Poor positioning by Young giving McStay an easy mark and goal

Whatever happened to being shoulder to shoulder with both defences ? They both play too far in front so they just pop it over the top .

12-05-2018, 08:55 PM
Ah here it is . The ole 'lets fall asleep for five and give an outplayed team a decent sniff'

12-05-2018, 08:56 PM
Frustrating first quarter. We've been better but missed some getable goals and not being helped but some non-calls/marks.

Honeychurch is having a mare.

What a soft free kick against HC to Zorko just now.

Bloody disgrace. Two goals from BS. Pathetic umpiring.

Is dahl now official the worst kick in the comp? How he missed at target going inside 50 before is beyond.

That's Honeychurch. He's starting up a new career next year as a butcher

12-05-2018, 08:58 PM
I hate to ask the question but did Bont intentionally not complete the mark when he got his first goal? We drop too many chest marks up forward

For all our domination of possession we have given back some ground with goals in the time on period. The last 5 minutes was poor from us.
I hope Naughton is OK.

12-05-2018, 08:59 PM

BT reckons he's going to be offered $256M over thirty six years and we'll get a first rounder for him, so ssshhhhh.... :)

12-05-2018, 08:59 PM
Looks like Naughton has a very bad rolled ankle. He looks in some trouble.

12-05-2018, 09:00 PM
Another first quarter injury the run continues...

I hate to ask the question but did Bont intentionally not complete the mark when he got his first goal? We drop too many chest marks up forward

For all our domination of possession we have given back some ground with goals in the time on period. The last 5 minutes was poor from us.
I hope Naughton is OK.

Nope, Bont was at full stride and should be commended for his basketball touch keeping the ball in front of himself.

I hope Naughton is OK.

I don't think so; it looked like he only got his outstretched fingertips to it.

12-05-2018, 09:01 PM
Looks like Naughton has a very bad rolled ankle. He looks in some trouble.

God I hope it's an ankle

12-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Are we running with an extra defender when Dunkley takes centre bounces?

12-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Well if we don’t beat them in the midfield we are going to be *!*!*!*!ed. They are a mile in the clear when they get possession

12-05-2018, 09:03 PM
This ruck situation is just bizarre.

12-05-2018, 09:04 PM
BT reckons he's going to be offered $256M over thirty six years and we'll get a first rounder for him, so ssshhhhh.... :)

Ouch. I've just hypothesised is we'd let him walk for compo. But your boy Honeychurch was a mistake to extend. That I did say.

And this umpiring is like dads in the under 9's manipulating kids kicking goals or not kicking too many goals.

If McLean handballs to Gowers in the square for 30 point lead, we were absolutely fine. Now even, Naughton down, still missing easy shots with either no ruck or no full forward. I feel unnerved.

12-05-2018, 09:05 PM

Ouch. I've just hypothesised is we'd let him walk for compo. But your boy Honeychurch :D was a mistake to extend. That I did say.

And this umpiring is like dads in the under 9's manipulating kids kicking goals or not kicking too many goals.

If McLean handballs to Gowers in the square for 30 point lead, we were absolutely fine. Now even, Naughton down, still missing easy shots with either no ruck or no full forward. I feel unnerved.

12-05-2018, 09:05 PM
Duplicate

12-05-2018, 09:07 PM
God I hope it's an ankle

Clearly an ankle by the looks of things.

12-05-2018, 09:11 PM
Over the back city, a familiar look at our games.

12-05-2018, 09:12 PM
why can't we carry on from the first 20 min ?
Gone in our shell or has the Brisbane coach made moves to stop our run ?

12-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Lewie Young looks a bit at sea right now.

I couldn't be happier with how Williams is going at the moment. He is just so composed and willing to use his feet well.

Bad miss from Gowers. He should be nailing those.

12-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Gowers....

12-05-2018, 09:15 PM
Brisbane have been very good with their pressure..but jeez we just constantly find ways to sit on our balls.

12-05-2018, 09:16 PM
I think if you miss from 20 out in front you should be dropped the next week.

12-05-2018, 09:17 PM
Has anyone ever told Bevo taller players don't get any shorter , Brisbane have too many talls for us they can just kick to them all day and we can't stop it.
Thank god for Boyd.

12-05-2018, 09:17 PM
Jacko, you are seriously awesome.

Great finish Boyd.

12-05-2018, 09:18 PM
Macrae is just by far and away the best on ground. He's riding some form wave right now.

We wouldn't have anyone left !

We wouldn't be able to field a side.

12-05-2018, 09:20 PM
How good is Lippa going?

12-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Never thought id say this but Macrae's kicking has been so good this year. Starting to hurt teams its great great to see.

12-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Hahahaha......in Gowers we have our answer to Clive Waterhouse.

Billy makes up for it. Gun.

Gowers. ......this time i mean it in a good way!

12-05-2018, 09:30 PM
Never thought id say this but Macrae's kicking has been so good this year. Starting to hurt teams its great great to see.

Mate as soon as I read this.........Jacko misses Wallis with an easy hit!

12-05-2018, 09:36 PM
Having to play Dunkley in the ruck just goes to show how poor Trengove, Roughead and Campbell are going. Bevo needs to sit down with list management and discuss his philosophies because its a ridiculous situation.

12-05-2018, 09:38 PM
Macrae has developed some Neo in the matrix like skill where he already knows where the ball is going before it gets there.

12-05-2018, 09:39 PM
How good is Lippa going?

7.0 for the year.

Play him like Carey in Pagans paddock. Finally a player that doesn't elevate my BP with an a shot at goal.

He's like the anti-Dunkley. Finesse, class and finish but no bulk, size or rucking ability (yet).

12-05-2018, 09:39 PM
Suckling with the ferocious tackle brutally fended off by the 21 gamer.

12-05-2018, 09:40 PM
Depending on at what point in the 2nd half we have our regulation '10 minute switch off' we are in the box seat.

12-05-2018, 09:40 PM
How good was the Tom Boyd mark and goal in that quarter? For a ruckman he's got some decent forward skills

12-05-2018, 09:41 PM
Having to play Dunkley in the ruck just goes to show how poor Trengove, Roughead and Campbell are going. Bevo needs to sit down with list management and discuss his philosophies because its a ridiculous situation.

This. We've got probably well over a million a year and three list spots dedicated for the VFL to be top heavy. We've got a talented KPP who looks dangerous forward and should give handy minutes, doing arguably the two hardest and most physical jobs on the ground effectively by himself. That's unfair. Most after kicking a goal run to bench. Poor Tommy ran into the circle to run into Martin! :D

12-05-2018, 09:43 PM
If Brisbane decide to tag Macrae at all it might make things interesting.

How good was the Tom Boyd mark and goal in that quarter? For a ruckman he's got some decent forward skills

Worth experimenting with him there more often.

Shh. It was a fluke. Pipe down, or Jeemak will call hyperbole police again :D. I just fell a sleep in my dorm on woof and there they were, they mean business.

12-05-2018, 09:44 PM

A beautiful bit of play.
Ably assisted by a lovely block from Webb and the fact that his opponent was Eagles

12-05-2018, 09:46 PM
Shh. It was a fluke. Pipe down, or Jeemak will call hyperbole police again. I just fell a sleep in my dorm on woof and there they were, they mean business.

Hahaha, you're not bad BT. Legend status in being able to carry on with a running joke.

12-05-2018, 09:48 PM
Im not so sure, Bevo is well planned for this as it gives him 4 midfielders in the centre square contests and if it squeezes forward for the opposition we have a loose man in the back half.
In fairness I think its working for him

12-05-2018, 09:50 PM
Gowers' set shot woes have got to be above the shoulders as he's proving himself to be otherwise a nice finesse, instinctual shot for goal in general play.
If someone can convince him to disconnect his brain when having a set shot he'd be a lovely player.

12-05-2018, 09:51 PM
Im not so sure, Bevo is well planned for this as it gives him 4 midfielders in the centre square contests and if it squeezes forward for the opposition we have a loose man in the back half.
In fairness I think its working for him

If thats his philosophy then all good, lets get rid of Roughead, Trengove and Campbell then.

12-05-2018, 09:53 PM
This. We've got probably well over a million a year and three list spots dedicated for the VFL to be top heavy. We've got a talented KPP who looks dangerous forward and should give handy minutes, doing arguably the two hardest and most physical jobs on the ground effectively by himself. That's unfair. Most after kicking a goal run to bench. Poor Tommy ran into the circle to run into Martin! :D

Exactly.

12-05-2018, 09:54 PM
A beautiful bit of play.
Ably assisted by a lovely block from Webb and the fact that his opponent was Eagles

So many great little things that quarter. I could go on and on, and I will.

That Webby block. No stat for awesome teamsmanship.
The handball from Lippa to draw the holding free kick and goal, just priceless.
Zaine Cordy showing Lewis Taylor the disdain for skills the 339 AFL players showed him on the best first year player award. With a huge hit, tackle shake off and then a big kick inside.
Gowers finish on the run. To me he's 'Cheap Stringer'. Will do the dumb, can do the very good, flies at marks he won't get. But as Grey pointed out, he's two goals ahead of Stringer for goals this year with a half to cone.
Tommy Boyd doing the two hardest and most physical jobs on the ground, pretty well. Love to Tom Boyd.

Some really small things, to hold onto, when good teams start putting us away later on.

12-05-2018, 10:07 PM
Lewis Young is a fair way off at the moment

12-05-2018, 10:07 PM
Why oh why no talls ??
It's Etihad not an open ground ?

12-05-2018, 10:08 PM
Naughton gone for the night is hurting us but for the fact Brisbane are missing their shots.

12-05-2018, 10:11 PM
Lipinski is a dream boat, and just the tonic for our goal kicking woes.

12-05-2018, 10:11 PM
Lukas Webb has been really good with his hands tonight. Doing enough to hold his spot

12-05-2018, 10:13 PM
Seriously loving Ed Richards tonight. He is a ripper. Him and Bailey Williams on HBFs for a long time....

12-05-2018, 10:14 PM
Young has some very poor traits he has to iron out quick. He's very lacklustre in tackle effort.

12-05-2018, 10:16 PM
Loved Lukas Webb's hands this quarter under severe pressure.

12-05-2018, 10:20 PM
Our defensive midfield efforts in keeping Zorko, Beams and Rich quiet have thus far been good. Although HC has had a couple of shockers with ball in hand, he is doing well on Zorko and am enjoying how much he annoys the Brisbane players.

12-05-2018, 10:21 PM
Jeez Hodge is cooked. He is a liability to them.

12-05-2018, 10:23 PM
"There was no Marcus Bontempelli on the recruit".

12-05-2018, 10:24 PM
That was a very handy late goal

12-05-2018, 10:24 PM
Bit of silk from the Bont to close out the quarter.

12-05-2018, 10:25 PM

Yeah I can't believe they're playing him. He's a witches hat.

On another note, is it giving anyone else the shits that Sandy Roberts keeps saying "Caleb Daniels"?

Hang on...we kicked a late quarter goal?

A good team would have made us pay a lot more on the counter tonight but we’re getting away with it.

Still not sure how he's a good fit for 'light and easy' anymore either.

12-05-2018, 10:26 PM
So many great little things that quarter. I could go on and on, and I will.

That Webby block. No stat for awesome teamsmanship.
The handball from Lippa to draw the holding free kick and goal, just priceless.
Zaine Cordy showing Lewis Taylor the disdain for skills the 339 AFL players showed him on the best first year player award. With a huge hit, tackle shake off and then a big kick inside.
Gowers finish on the run. To me he's 'Cheap Stringer'. Will do the dumb, can do the very good, flies at marks he won't get. But as Grey pointed out, he's two goals ahead of Stringer for goals this year with a half to cone.
Tommy Boyd doing the two hardest and most physical jobs on the ground, pretty well. Love to Tom Boyd.

Some really small things, to hold onto, when good teams start putting us away later on.

Freudian slip?

12-05-2018, 10:28 PM
Sucking has been excellent tonight. Its nice to see his foot skills on display and generally defending well.

12-05-2018, 10:28 PM
Honey frustrates more than he earns accolades, but his super quick hands were pivotal to that late goal to Bont eventuating.

12-05-2018, 10:29 PM
It's a funny thing. Jong and Honey had pretty much the same stats last week, but the latter did more clever contested and smart footy stuff, and it's probably what saved him for a role on Zorko. I can see the review this week being high in praise of Webb and his hands, effort and smarts.

12-05-2018, 10:30 PM
We are going ok without being great. Good sign coupled with horrible skill errors. So frustrating. We are the ones keeping them in it.

12-05-2018, 10:31 PM
Lipinski is a dream boat, and just the tonic for our goal kicking woes.

I thought he was a bulldog supporter growing up? He certainly hasn't learned that kicking skill from any of his heroes.

Still not sure how he's a good fit for 'light and easy' anymore either.

I figure they've mixed up the 'Before' and 'After' pictures.

12-05-2018, 10:32 PM
Uh oh...

12-05-2018, 10:32 PM
Trouble coming

12-05-2018, 10:33 PM
Awful start. Bringing them right back into it. Missing Naughton. We are in strife now if the Lions get going around stoppages and cut out the turnovers.

12-05-2018, 10:33 PM
I thought he was a bulldog supporter growing up? He certainly hasn't learned that kicking skill from any of his heroes.

He was.

12-05-2018, 10:34 PM
Mclean is elite now. No question.

12-05-2018, 10:34 PM
Geez Christian has had a bipolar game tonight. Some excellent stuff coupled with absolute shite.

12-05-2018, 10:35 PM
Dale and now Suckling easy misses.
Have to nail our chances.

12-05-2018, 10:36 PM

He was in the stands watching us win it all in 2016.

12-05-2018, 10:36 PM
Geez Christian has had a bipolar game tonight. Some excellent stuff coupled with absolute shite.

Who?

12-05-2018, 10:43 PM
How hard the *!*!*!*! is it to pick up a bloke on his own in the forward line ???

12-05-2018, 10:43 PM
And..here it is... 'the 10 minute switch off'

12-05-2018, 10:44 PM
Dahlhaus has had a shocker.

12-05-2018, 10:46 PM
Thank-you Lewis 'Rising Star' Taylor..

12-05-2018, 10:51 PM
Bout *!*!*!*!ing time Suckers

12-05-2018, 10:52 PM
He's been fantastic tonight. Some of his standard errors with defensive play and attention to detail, but probably our best.

12-05-2018, 10:56 PM
Bemoan Honey and Gowers all you like, but what the heck has Crozier done that is positive? He's a liability in the air, hos vaunted kicking ability has not been visible, he loses his feet too often and he's oft looked flaky under pressure.

12-05-2018, 10:58 PM
Ok. So one nice kick by Crozier... had to happen

12-05-2018, 11:00 PM
How was Honey not goal side of Zorko in that contest?

12-05-2018, 11:01 PM
He's been fantastic tonight. Some of his standard errors with defensive play and attention to detail, but probably our best.
Jack Macrae says hello

12-05-2018, 11:17 PM
Jack Macrae says hello

What a game from Jack

12-05-2018, 11:41 PM
Bemoan Honey and Gowers all you like, but what the heck has Crozier done that is positive? He's a liability in the air, hos vaunted kicking ability has not been visible, he loses his feet too often and he's oft looked flaky under pressure.

Funny I was thinking the same. He is not a running defenders a***hole

12-05-2018, 11:46 PM
Jack Macrae says hello

Jack was amazing.....loved his game to bits. I just thought out of defence Suckling was always trying to make things happen and finished off with an excellent goal to seal the game.

12-05-2018, 11:55 PM

As our resident bi-polar (genuinely) sufferer, am I able to sue the AFL (not so genuine)?

He was.

He was in the stands watching us win it all in 2016.

Sorry guys I was wearing my sarcasm hat. My point was that he couldn't have learned to kick for goal such that his first 7 shots have gone through by watching our players kick for goal. Unless he decided to do pretty much the opposite of he saw.

12-05-2018, 11:57 PM

HC and Crozier shouldn't be playing.

We have no depth. We're carrying a lot. Next week will be a flogging and then hopefully we start to get a couple back.

We need to win one of the next 3 and then get closer to our best 22 on the park in the 2nd half of the season.

13-05-2018, 12:04 AM
Jack Macrae you're a star.

We had some good moments and most players found ways to contribute when they needed too.

What's the word with Naughton?

And did anyone else see/hear the bloke take a tumble down the stairs at aisle 12? Initially thought he'd fallen off the balcony.

13-05-2018, 12:06 AM
Jack was amazing.....loved his game to bits. I just thought out of defence Suckling was always trying to make things happen and finished off with an excellent goal to seal the game.

47 disposals equals the club record set by RG (former capitano)

13-05-2018, 12:11 AM

I'd completely forgotten he held that record. Still hard Scooter at 45(?) in my head.

13-05-2018, 12:13 AM

Captain Robert Groenewegen? ��*!✈️

13-05-2018, 12:17 AM
Captain Robert Groenewegen? ��*!✈️

Haha

R for Ryan

13-05-2018, 12:21 AM
Just got home. Good hard tough win tonight so I'm a happy Bulldog. The Lions kept coming but we held firm and got another important win. 4-4 win/loss ratio not too bad although we have played more 'easier' opposition.

The next few weeks will be tougher against the Crows, Magpies and Demons before the bye.

Go Bulldogs!!

13-05-2018, 12:50 AM
I must be some sort of Pollyanna. Ok, we’re not premiership contenders but we are an incredibly young group. Suckling is the only player over 26, our average age of 22 & 5 months is normally the profile of lambs to the slaughter, but we are winning, not collapsing into a rudderless mess. Our skills were considerably better this week. We haven’t kicked over 100 points for a while; we looked much more potent and dangerous than in any game this year.

I see a future where next year Bont and Macrae will be at their absolute peak, with Wally, Libba, McLean, Daniel, Hunter and Dale all becoming elite. The teenybopper backline will learn together under the stewardship of Zaine ‘ I HATE to be beaten’ Cordy. Who knows, our current no I ruck could even be a forward. The spirit which had seemed to be fraying is there in spades, this team work for each other, which is more than can be said for the mob across the Maribyrnong. Our injury list would have crushed many other teams but we’ve found ways to win, ugly sometimes but I really think there’s the foundation for a red hot crack at a flag in 2019.

13-05-2018, 01:31 AM
That was a pretty solid effort when you consider we were a man down on the bench for most of the game. They kept turning it over and we cashed in when he had to. Tackling was good. We were marking the ball petty well. We kicked a winning score.

13-05-2018, 03:32 AM
Clearly an ankle by the looks of things.

The way his knee wobbled made me think ACL because at this point it's just what I've been conditioned to do.

13-05-2018, 07:19 AM
Can't see Lipinski playing VFL again.
This kid will get better and better, we should put it in his hands as much as we can in front of goal .
Toby Maclean has reached a new level.
But reallity is we have played some pretty poor teams the last three games , Next week really is a test.

13-05-2018, 09:36 AM
Bit of Gia/Alan Didak in Lipinski. Really like what we have there

13-05-2018, 10:05 AM
Not often I genuinely sympathise for an opposition team, but I thought Brisbane had a real crack last night and are much better than a 0-8 team. They have a lot of good young developing talls. I hope they stay the course with them rather than fall apart through the lack of results.

13-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Bit of Gia/Alan Didak in Lipinski. Really like what we have there

Also reminds me of a 2015 model Toby McLean - let's hope he can develop similarly.

13-05-2018, 10:25 AM
Not often I genuinely sympathise for an opposition team, but I thought Brisbane had a real crack last night and are much better than a 0-8 team. They have a lot of good young developing talls. I hope they stay the course with them rather than fall apart through the lack of results.

Probably one of the best 0 and 8 teams we've seen in the AFL. Like us their set shot for goals are very poor and they were very bad last night.

13-05-2018, 10:29 AM
Probably one of the best 0 and 8 teams we've seen in the AFL. Like us their set shot for goals are very poor and they were very bad last night.

They rely too much on Zorko and with Honeychurch curbing his influence around the ground (he got away a bit in the last), there weren't too many mids to step in. Beams had an off night and Richie made too many mistakes.

13-05-2018, 10:46 AM
They rely too much on Zorko and with Honeychurch curbing his influence around the ground (he got away a bit in the last), there weren't too many mids to step in. Beams had an off night and Richie made too many mistakes.

But if they kick better at goal, they win.

Lions aren't as bad as they seem, and last night we weren't as good as it seems.

13-05-2018, 10:51 AM
But if they kick better at goal, they win.

Lions aren't as bad as they seem, and last night we weren't as good as it seems.

But if we kicked better we could have won by more.

What we are talking about is overall as a team, not just last night. I still think they need some more good mids, in fact you need an A grader or two, and they will become a good team.

13-05-2018, 11:21 AM

I was super impressed with Gold Coast last week and Brisbane this week. Both have a heap of talent and seem to have found solid coaches. Assuming they can hold onto the talent, neither are a long way off being vastly improved units.

13-05-2018, 11:55 AM
My favourite moment of the match came very early when Bont totally stitched up Hodge one on one to kick an early goal (maybe the first?). Anything that takes me back to September 2016....

13-05-2018, 01:06 PM

Yep I agree. Their players legitimately have a crack, and if they can get some things to drop into place they'll be ok.

I know he's a lunatic but I can't help but like Mitch Robinson.

I'm not sure about Hipwood anymore. He looked like a gun in the making but last night looked selfish and a bit disinterested.

As for us I think we shouldn't get carried away - I think we're a pretty poor team and we've got some heavy defeats coming our way. That being said I don't feel too bad about it. We've got a decent injury list and a lot of inexperience playing. I think ultimately we're actually headed in the right direction, we've just got a journey ahead of us.

So good to see Tom Boyd out there.

13-05-2018, 01:23 PM

Tom is now a monster and has a bit of aggression as well, glad he is on our side

13-05-2018, 01:56 PM
Tom is now a monster and has a bit of aggression as well, glad he is on our side

Really enjoyed his game last night, he seems to have added the needed aggression and confidence to be the leading big man for us.

13-05-2018, 02:37 PM
I wonder if there is any correlation between no Jake Stringer & an increase in confidence in Tom Boyd.

13-05-2018, 02:40 PM
I wonder if there is any correlation between no Jake Stringer & an increase in confidence in Tom Boyd.

No need to wonder, I'm all but completely certain of it.

13-05-2018, 02:56 PM
I must be some sort of Pollyanna. Ok, we’re not premiership contenders but we are an incredibly young group. Suckling is the only player over 26, our average age of 22 & 5 months is normally the profile of lambs to the slaughter, but we are winning, not collapsing into a rudderless mess. Our skills were considerably better this week. We haven’t kicked over 100 points for a while; we looked much more potent and dangerous than in any game this year.

I see a future where next year Bont and Macrae will be at their absolute peak, with Wally, Libba, McLean, Daniel, Hunter and Dale all becoming elite. The teenybopper backline will learn together under the stewardship of Zaine ‘ I HATE to be beaten’ Cordy. Who knows, our current no I ruck could even be a forward. The spirit which had seemed to be fraying is there in spades, this team work for each other, which is more than can be said for the mob across the Maribyrnong. Our injury list would have crushed many other teams but we’ve found ways to win, ugly sometimes but I really think there’s the foundation for a red hot crack at a flag in 2019.

We Pollyanas tend to keep quiet in the face of the predominant anxiety and cynicism. Such a young team showing so much potential! The prospect of a couple of years of experience together with our age profile maturing is a dream. Even later in the year with returns form injury, anything could happen.

13-05-2018, 03:00 PM
My favourite moment of the match came very early when Bont totally stitched up Hodge one on one to kick an early goal (maybe the first?). Anything that takes me back to September 2016....

Hodge is Bont's bunny, ha ha ha!

13-05-2018, 05:43 PM
Gee Daniel Rich has been very underwhelming for a long time
He’s just cruises through a well paid career .

13-05-2018, 06:33 PM
Yep I agree. Their players legitimately have a crack, and if they can get some things to drop into place they'll be ok.

I know he's a lunatic but I can't help but like Mitch Robinson.

I'm not sure about Hipwood anymore. He looked like a gun in the making but last night looked selfish and a bit disinterested.

As for us I think we shouldn't get carried away - I think we're a pretty poor team and we've got some heavy defeats coming our way. That being said I don't feel too bad about it. We've got a decent injury list and a lot of inexperience playing. I think ultimately we're actually headed in the right direction, we've just got a journey ahead of us.

Is Hipwood's right foot only there to stop him from falling over?

13-05-2018, 06:54 PM
I just watched the whole game again and Honeychurch really copped it, especially in the second quarter. Brisbane targeted him to try and stop his tagging of Zorko. I thought HC did a great job even though Zorko ended up with 4 goals. He won't be dropped this week.

13-05-2018, 07:01 PM
I think HC might say I got my Most disposals 23, Most handballs 17, Most Clearances 8 with 2 tackles and 4 inside 50's - while Zorko got 24 disposals, 9 clearances, 7 tackles, 8 inside 50's. Just the 4 goals aspect stand out in the direct comparison. But a big aspect.

13-05-2018, 07:24 PM
I think HC might say I got my Most disposals 23, Most handballs 17, Most Clearances 8 with 2 tackles and 4 inside 50's - while Zorko got 24 disposals, 9 clearances, 7 tackles, 8 inside 50's. Just the 4 goals aspect stand out in the direct comparison. But a big aspect.

Hmm I think it's more than big - indicates he lost him at his most dangerous. That goal from the stoppage at the start of the 4th was particularly poor defensive work.

13-05-2018, 07:38 PM
Hmm I think it's more than big - indicates he lost him at his most dangerous. That goal from the stoppage at the start of the 4th was particularly poor defensive work.

This is the convo on HC. He's no small forward. He's no clever half forward. There's no spots off half back available. He's not a damaging midfielder, in fact his howlers are horribly bad there. If he's anything he's a tagger at best, but his opponent has 4 goals from the experiment. Personally, at the time I wanted him gone and I'm not changed my mind on him being on the list. I'm just not sure where he fits in.

13-05-2018, 07:41 PM
Overall though HC did a good job. Yes, 4th quarter Zorko got off the leash, but that aside he was well held. My knock on HC is that he needs to understand the limitations in his game. He's a horrible kick of the footy - up and unders that hang in the air and (though not alone here) doesn't handball to advantage. He got 23 possessions - but gee there were some howlers